'Asafa can't beat my son'

STARLEFT_1_PIODIUsainBoAM.jpg
Wellesley and Jennifer Bolt, parents of Usain at home - Ricahrd Morais

WESTERN BUREAU

Former world-record holder, Asafa Powell will never beat the new holder - Usain Bolt.

At least that's what Bolt's mother Jennifer says. And as they say, mom knows best.

Mrs Bolt said her son is too focused and can manage the crowd, the criticism, the big occasions and, unlike Asafa, can never be intimidated by anyone.

"Bolt will beat him, there is no way Asafa can win," she said when THE STAR visited Bolt's family in Sherwood Content, Trelawny, yesterday. "Asafa (is) too nervous and that is what is failing him now."

She believes that when it comes to the big occasion, Asafa will crack under the pressure, but says her son is a survivor.

"He has gone through it before, so he knows what it feels like," Mrs Bolt explained.

Usain Bolt knocked 0.02 seconds off Powell's 9.74s to set his name in the record books Saturday night as the fastest man in the world.

His parents, and literally everyone in Sherwood Content, were elated.

Powell hailed Bolt's historic achievement yesterday but vowed that he would reclaim the world record. "I know I can run in the 9.6s," Powell said in a statement.

But Mrs Bolt advises that if Powell is harbouring thoughts of taking back the spotlight, it would be best for him to keep those thoughts to himself.

"Him must tek time and talk and don't say so mek anybody hear," she warns Powell. "Him have to keep it a secret, 'cause if Bolt know, Bolt will prepare for him."

The dressmaker says she is confident her son will win gold in the sprint double in the Beijing Olympics in August and at the World Championships next year.

Bolt's father, Wellesley, recalls the final moments before his son's record-breaking run.

"When the race false-start, I began to fret 'cause I know the weather condition was not one he was very comfortable with. When it started the second time, I heard that he had a good start then I hear, 'Gay is gaining', then 'Bolt is moving away'. I didn't hear the end of the race because I started screaming because I know he couldn't be caught."

William Knibb Memorial High School (WKMHS) Class Two 200m boys' finalist Davion Wint, who lives in the Trelawny district, said, "I am going to work harder knowing that my community member is the world record holder. It will make all of us at his past school work harder."

Usain's neighbour, George Lewin, said, "From he was growing I knew he had the spirit in him to do anything. We are proud of him."

Another neighbour, Beverley Farquharson, said: "From he was small him used to train, him used to run from here to Windsor and back (about a two-kilometre distance), the mountain and the breeze help him, we proud of him."

Trelawny Custos Roylan Barrett added to the avalanche of tributes.

"I was not feeling well and remembered about the race and turned to the BBC. Immediately I heard the news, I felt better, knowing that a young person from my parish can perform such a fantastic feat," Barrett said.

STARLEFT_1_P5CMKUsainBoAM.jpg
Usain at 10 years. - Contributed

STARLEFT_1_PEWFPUsainBoAM.jpg
Eight-year-old Usain and his sister Christine - Contributed

OMG!! Seriously?! Wha kinda fight genst ting a gwaan....UNNU ON THE SAME TEAM GUYS!!!!

shouldnt av been taped

dis cyaah gwaan unuh...olympics right roun di corner an we need unity...focus on di games an not di werl record...gold medal , recognition an respec is betta dan a werl record.....

[\\<<.>>||_-_-_-_--__--_[J |ä |§|0|Ñ]_--__--_-_-_-_||<<.>>//]

kid stunna wrote:

dis cyaah gwaan unuh...olympics right roun di corner an we need unity...focus on di games an not di werl record...gold medal , recognition an respec is betta dan a werl record.....

clapclapclapclap

MI NUH KNOW Y DEM AFFI GWAN SO YARD PPL DARK INNA A SENSE LOOK HOW CLOSE OLYMPICS DEH AND LOOK AT BOLT PARENTS COMMENTS

bwoy fi get hit ina him ra**

Clarksman to di world!
Obviously somme ah unnu never run track. Ah de most competitive ting dat Iyah. The more motivation de better. Ah nuh fight gainst or Badmind ting ah jus so it set up in the end dem aggo go push each other to over achieve Jamaica gold an silver me say

Me ah nuh smaddy fi dem play wit!

mommy u clod as ice dats all i hav fi say u show mi another reason crime cant done

hear ya now everybody glad but rawse idiot chat dem rawse parents a chat

lmao@ lonji...d ooman jus confident in her son's ability. neways a competition me seh... dem fi use it push demself....JA to gugher heights ya now....gold silva all bronze!!!

۞The Senior'۞
dah woman deh. she chat f**k up eeh star

the boss a retain him title

bolt to di world

shi should a talk bad bout powell, mi no care bout believing in her son thought

she shouldnt have sd that in the first place...

when it clap its not a round of applause....!!!!!! kuf kaf Kwef!!!!!

BOLT SUPPOSED TO FEEL A WAY WHEN HIM MOTHER A TALK SO BOUT ASAFA. SHE NEED FI HUMBLE HER SELF JUST LIKE HOW BOLT HUMBLE HIMSELF EVEN THOUGH A HIM HAVE THE RECORD RIGHT NOW.
HIM MOTHER SHOULDN'T GO INNA PAPERS AND SEH DAT (ASAFA CAN'T BEAT BOLT)

IT BUN FI HEAR SEH SHE SEH DAT.

talk dem a talk dat all dem caan do

i don't c y there is 2 b a compittion between them there both ja'cans we should all focus on bringing home the GOLD

http://www.burstnet.com/gifs/ba_sv_caesar_041603.gif
they schould have not said that, anything is possible

life is one big road with a lots of sign