Topic: SAF....2 retire in 3 years???

SAF....2 retire in 3 years???

Sir Alex to retire from Man Utd within three years

MANCHESTER, England (AP) - Alex Ferguson announced plans to quit Manchester United within three years and assistant Carlos Queiroz got a boost as the veteran manager's possible successor.

Ferguson's revelation came days after winning the European Champions League - the 22nd trophy of his 22-year Old Trafford reign.

"I won't be managing here any more than three years at the very, very most," Ferguson said. "Without question. I can assure you of that."

Sir Alex Ferguson
8129842_36_2.jpg

The 66-year-old Scot's farewell to management might not be at United, but by steering a potential British soccer team to gold at the 2012 London Olympics.

Ferguson is English soccer's most decorated manager with 20 trophies in 20 seasons. He already knows what can happen by making retirement plans public.

The 2001-02 season was set to have been the Scot's last as United manager, but the team's performance declined after the announcement and he rescinded his decision.

United rebounded to win the 2003 Premier League title and Ferguson, who is on a one-year rolling contract, has not been specific about his plans since.

Ferguson was indebted to his wife Cathy for "bullying" him into scrapping those retirement plans.

"I think my wife deserves a bit of my time, too," he said. "The older you get, the more you feel guilty about it. My wife, Cathy, was the one who talked me out of retiring last time but she wouldn't do that now."

With its 17th English league title won earlier this month, Ferguson has guided United within one of matching Liverpool's record of 18. Wednesday's second European Cup triumph bettered Matt Busby's lone victory with the Red Devils in 1968.

"I know I would find it hard to give up managing United," he said. "I can't do it, not at the moment anyway."

Ferguson lavished praise Friday on Queiroz, but wouldn't directly anoint the former Real Madrid coach to take over.

But chief executive David Gill, who was unaware of Ferguson's exit plans, said Sunday the Portuguese is "very much in the frame."

"He's clearly a key part of our success," Gill said. "If you look at what Liverpool achieved in their very successful years during the '70s and '80s (that) was through internal appointments.

"Carlos is a key factor in all the success we've achieved over the last couple of seasons."

Such a succession would likely please Ferguson.

"What happens after I go is not my domain," Ferguson said. "But there is no doubt I think Carlos will be here for a long time."

Ferguson previously has refused to set a timetable for his departure, but he has been discussing his exit from Old Trafford with increasing frequency in recent months.

The one-time apprentice toolmaker in Glasgow's shipyards came close to being fired just three years into his United career.

While he had led Aberdeen to consecutive Scottish titles and a European Cup Winners Cup, guiding United to its first English title since 1967 was a struggle.

The turning point was an FA Cup triumph in 1990 and the European Cup Winners' Cup the following season, beating Barcelona in the title match.

Then in 1992 - the first season of the Premier League - Ferguson's United finally became England's top side.

Spurring Ferguson's decision to quit is his desire to explore the world - particularly America.

"What I would like to do is travel to places I have never been to," he said. "I would love to go to the States and spend about three or four months there. But that is only one year - you can only do that once."

K17
DezinA BwaI
hear da one ya from wa day enuh quiroz ago tek di post wen di grat alex leff enuh man u mi seh

manu to d world

hmmm...retirement...*sigh*
AW next...pity