Topic: Movado named best reggae artist since Bob Marley

1 2 39  >  Last»  | Page of 9  sorted by

Movado named best reggae artist since Bob Marley

It is evident that Jamaica's dancehall artiste Mavado's career has been facing a chain of mix-reactions ("good & bad"). But this time around it's 100% good news as the Gangsta was listed as "Best New Reggae Artiste" on Rolling Stone Magazine list of The 125 Plus People, Places and Things Ruling The Rock and Roll Universe.

According to EVAN SERPICK (Associate Editor), "If you think reggae died with Bob Marley and Peter Tosh, think again. Jamaica's latest star, Mavado, c****ines hip-hop-influenced beats with ominous minor-key vocals about street life and salvation. "I started singing when I was four or five years old, and people always wanted me to sing more," says Mavado, who grew up in Cassava Piece, a rough dirt-road section of Kingston.

Over the past few years, the 27-year-old singer - who has a heavily scarred face and dark, *lo**shot eyes - has catapulted to the top of Jamaica's MC circuit on the strength of songs such as the taunting "Real McKoy." Last year, he released his debut album, Gangsta for Life; his thuggish style has won him fans in the U.S., where hip-hop stations have started playing tracks like "Weh Dem a Do" and "Last Night." Jay-Z was so impressed that he cut a remixed version of Mavado's "On the Rock," stepping out of his comfort zone to rhyme in a hyperspeed flow. Mavado recently played a number of U.S. shows and was surprised to discover how many fans he has here. "The fans in the U.S. are more hyperactive," he says, "because they don't see Mavado that much."

proppa
wayyy!!!

24otwcj.jpg

Yes Vado. I dunno if I agree, but im ah do im ting

WTF, there have been way better artisites than Mavado since B. Marley WTFFFFFFF

agreein with Uv tons od artist is better such as Buju, beenie, Bounty and the future KARtel

this is reaaaal interesting WTF....so many odda artiste my god a now di man head a go swell him already a talk bout every tongue a go confess 2 him

yea man, no disrespect to di gully gad but ah true dem yah artists weh come before him at least big fi 5 years and more, mavado a big artist for a year and a half

like wat kelly said him a start think him a 1 GOD not Gad cuz him dem pon di rock now instead a under di rock sayin dat hes above god

Vado career jus start di right time wid the right crowd BUT it way too early fi him get dem ratings deh or deh pan di level wid the man weh invent reggae music and cave di way fi all dem now. Rubbish dem a chat

inneresting...

You have GOTTT to be kidding me...how the hell can they compare movado with BOB MARLEY...i wont even continue cuz i jus goin get vex...lc

nooo not evenn vado just start he isnt that qood they are way better artist

HOW YUH MEAN

GULLY GAD TO DI WORLD

"MZ XXC|u$!v3"
huh him not even betta dan Sizzla

*MZJA MAD MAN!!!*
fuccry post dis...mi rate vado but dem a tek it too bludclaat far now...

bout...hiss teeth in disgust...

eh vado cant walk no weh near buju....beres...and mi wont even continue...

furthermore da writer deh fi get a bullet fi compare bob wid vado

KRAZILY INSANE!

That title too big for him... poor Rolling Stone.

Knowing is not enough. We must apply - Johann Wolfgang von Goethe
ANYWAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY DEAD DEM DEAD .........AYYYI!

RITE NOW DI GULLY GAD FI BUSS IM ON THE ROCK VIDEO PON BET

hmm load rubbidh 2 different leagues

unu fool u nuh see seh di ppl dem a look fi a artist wid a image, just like how white ppl have dis liking fi 50 cent, thats why him a get props.....

1 2 39  >  Last»  | Page of 9  sorted by