Topic: Hundreds of Cockfighting Roosters Found on Westside

Hundreds of Cockfighting Roosters Found on Westside

JACKSONVILLE, FL -- According to a Jacksonville Sheriff's Office police report, inside a Westside home, stimulants used to increase endurance, scales, knives, trophies, and a sign saying, 'All States Humane Game Fowl Organization,' were found.

Investigators say 314 roosters used in a cockfighting ring were also found there.

"We arrived to find several hundred roosters couped up in ring," said an officer with Animal Control.

The officer can't be identified for safety reasons. He says people running those rings sometimes retaliate.

In the few years he's been working at Animal Care and Control, he says he's only had to process birds from a couple of operations.

"We know it's out there, it's pretty hard to infiltrate and get into, but we know it's out there," said the officer.

Along with the roosters at a home on the Westside, officers found razor blades attached to the legs of the roosters.

"We found slashers. They're used to cut each other when they fight. We also found mini fake spurs, they're used to wound the chickens when they fight each other," said the officer.

He says the blades were attached with superglue.

All 314 had to be euthanized because of their aggressive training.

"I'm still to this day surprised that people can do stuff like this and not feel bad about it," said the officer.

The officer says there were hundreds of roosters and hens on the property.

JSO said no arrests were made, but that the investigation continues.

wha wrong wid cockfight...big corporations can kill chicken 2 mek money, but 1 chicken cyaan kill another chicken....dont see di dilema atall

rorororororororo i cant even comment on this one

The Doc