Topic: A PAST KILLER INTERVIEW

A PAST KILLER INTERVIEW

bounty_head_eng.gif

Some people say Bounty 2001 is better than ever. Once again ther's no Deejay more controversial than him. Everybody seem to be his enemy. Reason enough for an exclusive interview with Rodney Price. Nadine talked with Bounty Killa about Sting 2001, his new album, the neverending feud with Beenie Man and of course naked men in music videos

wardirector.jpeg

G.O: You said that you would never perform at Sting again, but recently there was a statement from you that you will indeed be performing this year, why the change?
Killa:
Sometimes yuh say something and because of certain reasons yuh have to take it back, but that don't mean that people look down pan yuh or even think less of you. My fans dem ask me to do it and I said 'o.k.' Is just like sometimes a mother have kids and don't want to do a certain job but just fi bring in a little money for her kids she will do it.

G.O: Is it a personal thing between you and the shows' organiser Laing?
Killa:
Yeah it is a personal ting wid me and Laing, it is not a musical thing and Sting is a good show and if you win Sting yuh on top for the next 12 months, and if yuh in the top 10 and flop at Sting yuh flop. It also highlight upcoming artistes.

G.O: Is it a real feud or war between you Beenie Man?
Killa: Beenie Man
and me have feud from a long time and back in the days him used to sound like me and deejay bad man lyrics, but then him change and say him is the girls dem sugar and start deejay fi di girls dem. Bad man no like Beenie Man, Beenie is for the girls, nice guys like Beenie Man and him even act like girl sometimes. Him go pan Ru Paul Show and say him wi do anything fi him career, tell me what Ru Paul have fi do wid music, him is no celebrity, him have no fans, Beenie Man said him do it fi enhance him career. Him go pan Ru Paul show and hug him up...
I did an interview and said that Dancehall music is getting a fight and that we wont win no Grammy till bout 5 to 10 years until wi clean up wi act. The people who dem nominate are Old School and do not represent Dancehall. When Beenie win him Grammy and him broadcast live on Irie Fm, the first ting that come out of his mouth was that him win di Grammy and Bounty did say him not winning no Grammy till 5-10 years, and when dem ask him what him plan to do now, he said that he want a clash wid Bounty Killa. A buy dem buy di Grammy and mi say cho, left him, him happy and him feel good dat him win di Grammy.
Him come on pan di stage at Sting and say him a defend me, him know dat Merciless woulda lose so him come pan my side wid me and Ninja Man because that is the winning side. Him come on and mi say 'low him' and then him turn it round and say him help me. Beenie is not in my class and I am an artist.
Then me do my song name 'Restaurant' and then him do a song what say 'me boss, no boss me caan tek dat boss', any way only one line was for me that was a small ting still and now him do a song that me a sing wid naked man, now tell me is when Gwen (Stephani from No Doubt) turn naked man, him mind too corrupt and fool, there is a naked man in the video but he ain't wid me and dat is a different scene. So me no know what him a chat bout.

gwenkilla.jpeg
Bounty Killa & Gwen Stefani

No Doubt did a song wid Beenie Man and dem reject it, to dem him is just pop, him don't really represent Dancehall. So they came to Jamaica and dem ask the producer (Sly and Robbie produced the single 'Hey Baby') who would be a good person to do a collaboration with and dem say Bounty. I represent Dancehall, is like somebody come to Jamaica and want chicken and you give dem Kentucky, when Jerk Chicken is what dem want. I have the Jerk Chicken and I take it all over the world.
Beenie Man can not do collaborations, him don't bring anything to the collaboration, him just take away. Bounty do so many. Busta Rhymes, Richie Stephens, Barrington Levy, The Fugees, Mobb Deep and others. I don't really go with the people who famous, I have to feel the artist, it's a vibe thing.
Most of the collaborations come bout cause I know people who know dem. Beenie Man performance at Sumfest flop because him come wid a war ting Him neva get no response from the crowd, the people dem expect that from me and then him come pan the stage and mi did afi call him all kinda name.

G.O: What about Merciless, will you be having another clash this year because some people say you won and others that he did?
Killa: Merciless
is mi other copy, him call himself Warhead.

G.O: You recently did a song with Gentleman out of Germany what was that like?
Killa:
Working wid Gentleman was good, it is a Culture song, slow and was produced by Richie Stephens. It is a good song.

G.O: Splash! 2001 in Germany this year what was that like, and what were your expectations?
Killa:
I neva really have any expectations, but Splash! was memorable, working for a white audience is always different. They have a different kind of vibe and most of them read about the music and the culture.

G.O: Are the recent attacks on the US still have a bad effect on the business and people in Jamaica?
Killa:
Well wi still feeling di effects because people losing dem jobs and the cash flow tight..di people dem fraid fi fly cause right now the airport dem can lock down over di Christmas.

G.O: What can people expect from your next album?
Killa:
Well my album the Ghetto Dictionary will be something from the ghetto we keeping it authentic. It is really the lifestyle on the street and the voice of the people of Jamaica, so that's why it is called the Ghetto Dictionary.
There are collaborations with Richie Stephens, newcomers Angel, Aiesha, Nymran and even an unreleased track from 1993 with Dirtsman.

G.O: Why did you decide to go with Lakeshore Entertainment with this album and not VP Records?
Killa:
Well wi neva say dat we were going with Lakeshore Entertainment, we were in negotiation because VP wasn't telling us what we wanted to hear and was unable to meet certain requirements but eventually they started saying what we wanted to hear.

G.O: You no longer work with Dave Kelly and the friendship between you and Baby Cham is no more, rumours are that it is because he didn't perform at your show is that true?
Killa:
: it wasn't because him neva come a mi show beacause a did real frienship, but mi did give an interview pan a radio station and say that some artists trying to sound like the Americans and going back to the old sounds and not sticking to what dem know and coming wid the Hip Hop and him and Dave tek it personal cause dem did a come out wid dem debut hip hop album.

G.O: To the private section of the interview People would say that you are arrogant or even unapproachable what would you say to these people?
Killa:
Only people who don't know Bounty Killa would say that, a mean if a fan see mi and want a autograph anuh nothing fi wi do that or even take a picture with the person, that is my fan. Jamaicans always want to have something negative to say about you, they always have something negative to say, is just so dem stay. Even if nothing don't go so, dem put dem own meaning to it.

G.O: What is the reason for wearing only black on stage when you perform. Does it have anything to do with your mood when you perform?
Killa:
(Laughs) no man Black looks good and goes with everyting, I just love black.

G.O: There are rumours of a clothing line is that true?
Killa:
I don't really have a line, but I have few pieces and the response has been good I have been getting requests for dem.

G.O: Bounty let's say I wanted to be your girl, what would I have to be like?
Killa:
My woman has to be considerate, clean, charming well the browning dem I guess is to go wid my complexion.but colour doesn't matter, beauty is only skin deep.

G.O: See yourself getting married soon?
Killa:
That will be hard because if don't have the qualities of Miss Ivy (his mother), it won't be happening.

G.O: Thanks very much bounty for talking the time out, nuff respect.
Killa:
It was no problem, alrightv

killa di dan........a wa do sum fish

MAAAAAAAAAAAAAD! WEH YU SEH WARLORD

IN THE BEGINNING... THERE WAS ALLIANCE... THEN THERE WAS GULLY & A POP DUNG LOOKING GAZA