Topic: Last chance for Arsenal

Last chance for Arsenal

Only one thing can keep Arsenal in contention for a trophy this season - a victory at Manchester United on Sunday.

After exiting the Champions League to Liverpool on Tuesday, the Gunners need to win at Old Trafford against the Premier League leader if they are to have any realistic chance of wresting the title from United's grip.

But Arsenal have already lost 4-0 at United in the FA Cup this season and needed a last-minute equaliser to salvage a 2-2 draw at Emirates Stadium in November's previous Premier League .

With morale low after a five-point lead turned into a six-point deficit in less than two months, Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger faces one of his toughest ever tasks when he tries to make his players believe they can win.

"He will talk about that for sure,'' Arsenal striker Emmanuel Adebayor said. ''We will meet in the dressing room and he will tell us what to do.

"He has more experience than anyone here, and he knows the words to use so that we can come back on the pitch, be more successful, and want it more.''

Lack of experience

But that reliance on Wenger, who has won three Premier League titles and four FA Cups in 11 years at Arsenal, because of a lack of experience on the field could be what costs Arsenal a shot at success this season.

Wenger has spurned the chance to spend the club's reserves of cash on new players, preferring to rely upon the young talent he has brought through the youth teams.

The move paid dividends for the first six months of the season as the likes of Cesc Fabregas and Adebayor produced some of the most vibrant and penetrating football of the Premier League's 16-year history.

Unbeaten in the league until December, Arsenal's season disintegrated following a pair of cup defeats to two of their fiercest rivals.

Tottenham routed Arsenal 5-1 in a League Cup semi-final in January and United then beat the Gunners 4-0 in the FA Cup less than a month later.

Wenger's decision to field weakened teams in both matches seemed to have backfired because of the hit taken by the squad's confidence. Arsenal, who have not won the league since their unbeaten season of 2003-04, have won just two of their next 11 matches - a run that culminated with Tuesday's loss at Anfield.

"We were so close to the Champions League semi-finals but football decided it the other way,'' Adebayor said. ''As a player, these things are very difficult to take. We scored, it was 2-2 with only a few minutes to go and I do not know how they managed to get a penalty.

"You can imagine it ... within seven minutes we were in the semi-final. Then that all went away.''

And Arsenal's chances looked even slimmer Thursday when key midfielder Mathieu Flamini was ruled out for three weeks because of an ankle injury he sustained against Liverpool.

United, meanwhile, is flying after beating AS Roma 1-0 on Wednesday to reach the Champions League semi-finals.

Cristiano Ronaldo and Wayne Rooney should be fresh after being rested against the Italian league title contender, and United got another boost when captain Gary Neville came on as a late substitute after more than a year out injured.

"Missing the end of last season was bad,'' Neville said. ''So it's good to be back to help the team now. People kept asking me when I was coming back and it was a bit embarra**ing.

"I'd try and give them a date and then it wouldn't materialise. But the fans have always supported me.''

Victory is just as important for United since Chelsea are only three points back in second place and host lowly Wigan on Monday.

Arsenal is Arsenal ,
i believe in the young players, 2-2 in November but Arsenal can win against Man U

Arsenal lost 2 games and Man U lost 4..... i hope 5
lol lol :)

I'm french n From Gwada 971 , represent

Big fos pa tout moun isidan ! ;)

nutt'n fi di gunners dem dis year lol...MAN U TO DI WERL

WHAT A RAWSE IMPOSIBLE THING GUESS ARSENAL GET FCUK CUSE GALCHESTER NAW MECK DEM WIN

bannerrkm.jpg
ALLIANCE RUN DI WORLD EVEN DEM MUMA AND DEM GIRLLLLL BULLETTT !!!

ARSENAL TO D WERLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL

MANchester Ah good team stil. But Ah mi feel seh mi Gunner dem ah goh gih dem ah beatn still. As long as Senderos ain't playin

DIDOS HE GOIN PLAY.....BUT WE WISH DEM LUK..............VICOTRY TRU HARMONY!!!!!!!!!!!!

p*u**yyhole Sanderos cost we a champions leage place in de semi finals

Me ah nuh smaddy fi dem play wit!

if ronaldo own clichy, everything good

cry.gif

CV
DK tell dme agen VICTORIA CONCORDIA CRESCIT -VICTORY THROUGH HARMONY
never give up

Evretym Ronaldo n Clichy meet up Clichy tame him. But Dis yr Ronaldo ah gwaan wid sum phuccry soh mi nuh know. But it luk like batty bwoy Senderos ah play. Mi nuh know y Wenger nuh put Eboue right bk n Toure central. Hleb left, Walcott right. But bwoyyy

if eboue play him might get red card cuz him wild already plus i think him have a red card...but dat line up wah u say tommy gd cuz i want WALCOTT to start ver piece a shit adebayor

** No Affiliations **
hmmm

8xv6yp.gif

MY Net-Worth Make chicks wanna Network

*MZJA MAD MAN!!!*
WELL ALL ME WANT IS FOR ARSENAL TO GIVE MAN U EVEN A 1-0...SO THAT MY SIDE CAN TAKE THEIR RIGHTFUL PLACE EL NUMBER UNO...LOL

CHELSEA 4EVA!

KRAZILY INSANE!

up2
time now for us to show manure that they are jus that..manure

Gunners str8