Rap superstar Rick Ross was in full command during the Shorts Circuit show at the Tropical Beach park in Montego Bay on Sunday night. http://www.one876entertainment.com/gallery/index.php?album=2008__Short_Circuit Dressed in a simple white t-shirt and black pants, Ross's super-size kingpin persona seemed to wow the crowd as he did the popular Push It to the Limit. He gave a shut-out to Vybz Kartel who would later close the show, and to Danielle aka DI, DJ Hollywood and Bobby Valentino who had all appeared earlier.
He then asked the crowd: If you from Jamaica, put your hands up. If you have love for the legend Bob Marley, put your hands up.
Our music is taking over the world, you cant stop it, thats why we make music, we represent the struggles, the ghetto, the projects, thats who we represent in Miami, the hustlers, he said, before he launched full throttle into We Taking Over and the beach was a sea of hands and lighters.
Its time to make some money, all the people who trying to get a million in the 08, let me see your hands, he said, as the familiar crunching chords of the epic track "Hustlin'" kicked up.
The whole beach seemed to rock under the spell of Ross booming voice and his catchy Thrilla shout-outs and incantations. Dont take Rick Ross lightly. He's had two number-one albums now, which makes him one of the few rap stars left in the game. He outsold Miley Cyrus, Snoop Dogg and Fat Joe last week to make Thrilla the number one album on the Billboard 200 album charts. He is definitely the biggest boss that you seen thus far.
Next up was Vybz Kartel who seemed to be in the mood to perform well that night. Dressed in a sophisticated-looking long-sleeved shirt with purple and red colours and black straight pants, he hit the stage with a medley of his older hits, Mi Nah Climb Pon.., Send On and PJaw to a large ovation from the audience of mostly teenagers and twenty-somethings.
He took time to big up all the girls with the tight vagina before doing I Neva. The next tune by saying, when dem come ah St. James, yu tink yu a get lass chap, no.
Yu diss Mobay, yu get gunshot! he said, and the 3,000 strong crowd gave up a mighty roar. He then gave the crowd one of his signature phrases baby. The girls screamed, and he smiled broadly.Ah long time mi no forward a Montego Bay, respect, mi love you, this ah my place, he said.
He then barreled headfirst into the girls section of his set, doing a medley of songs such as Fatter than a Pound, Seductive Wine and Hickey the Breast.
He then informed the crowd that if my woman gimme trouble, me nah go box her, hear wah mi a go do. Then he deejayed a line from P PDeserve a Beating.
However, he got the biggest forward when he deejayed Daylight, just the line three o clock inna the morning and the beach seemed to lift up with a massive forward.
Flankers, Gully, Norwood, Hopewell, we murder people inna broad daylight, he declared. The crowd roared its approval.
He also got massive forwards for his current chart-burner, Money Fi Spend and Empire Army.
Blak Ryno represented well from the Portmore Empire doing his hits, Mek Di Paper, Evil People and a new song which he recently voiced for Stephen. Shawn Storm got a forward when he deejayed diss Mobay, yu get a fat shot. Sassy D, Baby Doll, the Merital Family, Avalanche and Doza Medicine also performed.
DefJam Recordings artiste Bobby Valentino thrilled the ladies with his caramel-coated voice. One lucky young lady to sit on a chair while he serenaded her onstage. Not bashful by any stretch of the imagination, the young lady openly fondled him while he gyrated his hips and crooned a love song for her. Afterwards, he had the crowd rocking with his rendition of Georgia and his monster hit, Slow Down where he had the audience singing in unison impress me with your beauty, cutie.
Danielle, dressed in a revealing top that showcased her impressive breasts and a tight pair of jeans that put her most precious assets in clear profile, hit the stage and immediately declared what she was all about.
Ironshore, Canterbury, whe the man dem who know say a strictly p__p__m dem a deal wid? she said. Then she did Rudey a capella before seguing into Beat It.
She also got extremely lewd when she sought to give the crowd a hygiene lesson based loosely around what she called two types of vagina, or as it is known in the local vernacular, p-mp-m.
Ladies, yu have two type a p-m p-m, the clean one and the not-so-good, dutty p-m p-m. So all the gal dem who know say it proper, this ah fi yu, she said, before doing a
She then asked for the Ole Axle riddim, and deejayed her radio hit, Man Weh Mi No Need. The audience looked a bit bewildered at first as she began to lyrically crush DAngel, but then she got the forward when she asked come on girl, where is your pride? She closed her set with a new song with an old-school flavour called Ready Body where she also got a few forwards and lighters held aloft to signal approval.
The event was organised by Yardie Media Promotions based in Montego Bay.