MZ STINGERKILLER

Is Chris Gayle untouchable?

published: Thursday | March 27, 2008

OVER THE past month, Jamaica's cricket captain, Chris Gayle, has made two unacceptable statements, both of which he has been criticised for and deservedly so.

It seems to have been quite some time ago since Gayle, after losing the Stanford 20/20 final, said the Jamaicans were all winners "because we are going home with US$500,000.

Upon his arrival at the Norman Manley International Airport the following day, his comments, when questioned by journalists, were even more disgusting and disrespectful. "A lot of people can talk and say what they want - we have J$5 million in our pocket right now," he said.

"A lot of people out there did not want us in the final. They did not want us to win the money and yet still they are playing hypocrite with us and come and say a lot of things. They can say what they want ...," Gayle was quoted as saying.

The money

Read into it what you wish, but this seems to me like Gayle was trying to say the money was more important than winning for his country, especially the comment he made at a press conference, two days prior to the final.

"I looked at the last tournament and said ooh!, a million dollars, and we eventually lost," said Gayle, "because we were looking at the US$1m and not focusing on the game."

Since these comments, we have not heard the Jamaica Cricket Association (JCA), or anyone associated with cricket at the national level, say anything, which leads me to ask, is Gayle untouchable?

Offences

Yes, maybe he is untouchable, because two weeks ago, according to the West Indies Cricket Umpires Association (WICUA) President Hartley Reid, Gayle's comments against two umpires are punishable by the laws of cricket and he should face the consequences, but again, the JCA has said nothing.

Gayle said then that bad decisions against his Jamaica team were "blatant" and described the umpiring in the game as "terrible for sports" after the side lost a crucial match by 17 runs at Kensington Oval.

"If you look at some of the decisions that went against us, it was really terrible for sports and the game, what happened and it was just blatant," he said.

Though I believe that umpiring at times, locally, regionally and internationally is very, very poor, Gayle as Jamaican captain, West Indies captain and a player, has no right to make that comment.

According to Reid: "It is written clearly that players and officials may not be critical of the umpires, the match referee, nothing like that, but Gayle does as he likes".

"I am hoping that the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) does something with him," Reid said.

Gayle even got off the hook, almost a year ago, when he made some unpleasant comments on the tour of England in which he was summoned to a disciplinary meeting.

In his Digicel Diary, he spoke of his disappointment in the WICB because a few players did not arrive in time for a practise game and the fact that he was not confirmed as captain in time to be a part of the selection committee.

Statement

In a WICB statement then President, Ken Gordon, said: "Mr Gayle appeared to understand that his statement was ill-advised and has caused unnecessary embarra**ment to the WICB. Of greater concern to the board is that the recent statement made by Mr Gayle was preceded by an earlier outburst for which he had been cautioned".

However, despite this, it again was thrown under the carpet when newly-elected president, Dr Julian Hunte, took office.

This cannot and should not be allowed to happen

gayle a big man

seet

up2
d man nuh seh nutten wrong..cuz all wha a gwaan a d money dem did a play fah