MZ STINGERKILLER

Sarwan says Guyana surface suits Sri Lanka better

CMC
Tuesday, March 25, 2008

GEORGETOWN, Guyana (CMC) - West Indies vice-captain Ramnaresh Sarwan believes the conditions at the Guyana National Stadium for the first Digicel Test match against Sri Lanka are more suited to the visitors.

Sarwan made the observation after making 80 on the third day which the opponents ended in an advantageous position after a disappointing batting performance by the home team yesterday.

"What we've got to understand clearly is that the surface here we are playing on is very similar to ones that they play on in Sri Lanka," Sarwan told reporters.

"When I toured Sri Lanka a few years ago, it was the same sort of surface. Mahela (Jayawardene) seems to know the conditions pretty well with the sort of field-placements he is putting forward."

West Indies, replying to Sri Lanka's 476 for eight declared, struggled to 269 for nine at stumps, still needing another eight runs to avoid the follow-on.

Sarwan echoed the comment of teammate Jerome Taylor, who said at the end of the opening day that he expected a pitch with more assistance to the bowlers.

"I don't want to lament too much on whether it is a problem, but the sort of surface we are playing on here in Guyana ... we know Guyana is traditionally flat and slow, but you have to take into consideration the opposition you are playing against - whether you want a wicket that is faster and bouncier," Sarwan said.

"Probably we should have had the opportunity to play on something that had some more pace and bounce."
It was Sarwan's first Test innings since last May and he batted solidly before edging a catch to the keeper off left-arm fast bowler Chaminda Vaas.

The dismissal left his hometown supporters disappointed that he missed out on a century.

"I'm very disappointed, but at the same time I have to be thankful that I've actually had the opportunity to participate in the game and be batting in my original position at No 3," Sarwan said.

"I had a bit of a scare with my small finger, but fortunately, I was able to take part."

On the first day, he damaged his left little finger while trying to catch at short mid-off, but an x-ray revealed there was no serious damage.

Having endured a series of injuries over the past year-and-a-half, Sarwan thought at one stage that this might have been another one.

"I can't repeat what I said. It was a sort of déjà vu feeling, but nevertheless, it slipped out and it slipped back in," Sarwan said.

"Everything seems to be okay now. It is just a matter of trying not to get hit on it again. I just have to careful and try and guard against it.

"It did bother me a bit, but I tried not to show it to the opposition."

aaahhh

up2
a it mek dem loose d game