Munga is not only THE STAR deejay, but if he is as good as he boasts, he may also be a star baller.
Football, Munga says is one of his favourite pastimes, with midfield, right field or forward being his positions of choice. The artiste says he tries to 'buss a sweat' at least once per week or anytime he gets the chance. Munga is so serious about the game, he carries a football with him almost every time he leaves the island. Any lawn he sees, "we jus run a 15-minute sweat". Like all true athletes, Munga can boast of his injuries. "Me bruk toe and sprain ankle. Right now me right wrist partially sprain like 7-10 years. Dem say me too fancy. I did a pile an de bredda kick me dung say im nah tek no pile."
Known as 'Choppy boo' because of his fancy plays, he says these positions are fitting to his petite size. "From me likkle, a nuh defence type a body, me like score. A me name Choppy, can cut tru de team, mek a bad pass an score a goal," he said.
But Munga did not pursue this love in high school. Instead, he was on the track team running the 200m. "But a neva really dat me did waan do. I wanted to be an artiste. I neva go training, jus go hang out pon de bench. Me an de coach always a war. Im a say 'you can do it but you nah pay attention'," Munga said, laughing.
He says he never seriously pursued football because his friends were already on the team and he was comfortable just being the deejay.
But while he loves the game, he says it is fitness that is important to him. Along with football, "I do 30 push-ups and 40 sit-ups almost everyday, literally. If me miss a morning or two me mek sure catch up." He explained that these are things he can do everyday, even if time is limited.
"Sweating is something very good. Me waan feel how 70 feel in the same vibrant way. Me not even a push it, 70, and that depends on how I keep it right now. Me waan live long," he said. To ensure this, he tries to keep in good health.
"I do 30 push-ups and 40 sit-ups almost everyday, literally. If me miss a morning or two me mek sure catch up." He explained that these are things he can do everyday, even if time is limited.