Word in di streets is that the two young-artistes-on-the-rise are Munga Honorable and DJ Einstein.
Dancehall insiders give a slight edge to Munga Honorable whose Bad From Mi Born with the flange effect is a dancehall favourite and is blowing up all over FM radio. The single has just hit the #10 position on the Richie B charts. Mungas other hits, Flippin Rhymes, Bad Like I, and Earthquake feature tight rhymes and a unique dancehall-hip hop flow that resonates with Jamaican teens.
Check out his sick flow on Bad From Mi Born: Yeah! Munga, mi hail king selassie I di highest king Ah mi par wid shango the baddest king Ah mi link with Kalonji the maddest king If you dis mi your life ah di saddest thing Munga bad from the first day My birthday is next to killa birthday Mi we done in the worse way You diss me Wednesday well yuh d**d before Thursday Cah mi now join nuh conference Hey common sense Tell dem mi seh none a sense Cah we lock the square and global circle friends And mi thugs naah nuh conscience No! rastafari gets the glory Badmind people cyaan tek mi glory Ah David House a run di place yes jah glory Different story
Presently signed to Vendetta Records which is owned by producer Don Corleone, Munga is expected to release his debut album in summer of this year.
Mungas counterpart Einstein prides himself on his reservoir of lyrics. As a member of Skattas Gang Bang group, he showed glimmers of the brilliance that would manifest itself in the style that he uses now. Einstein had long been searching for that elusive first hit till he penned Rise the Machine on Stephen McGregors Power Cut rhythm last year. The song quickly became a monster favourite at Bembe Thursdays uptown and at the weekly Passa Passa session in West Kingston.
Check out these blood-stained lyrics: Rise di machines weh ah 5.56 calibre AA 12 Drop off adversary neck like di Xcalibur Beat it like slave, shot ah run dem dung Gun dem dung, gun dem dung, gun dem dung
He followed up that with Rifle Dem on Stephen McGregors Tremor rhythm. Rise up the rifle dem Shot big so till we can licence dem Bwoy diss, dem die Like gramazone, shot a poison dem
Surprisingly, the c**cky Einstein, who is the latest member of the Bounty Killer-led Alliance, gives Munga the edge in terms of promotion and structure, and concedes that Munga may make it to the next level before him.
Munga have a proper management team, so yes, right now, me and him ah chap it up on the streets, but in terms of strong promotion, him get more, his team is stronger and more organized. It is not that I am not organised, but I only have a booking agency, me and him ah chap the road the same, but him have the agency and the management line up so Bung Bang, him ting ah connect outta road! he told the media.
Look out for Einsteins girl tune, Pon Di Track on a rhythm by DJ Ice from ZIP. He will also be performing in Margaritaville in Montego Bay on May 17th and he is booked to appear at a show on May 26th at Burwood Beach in Trelawny.