Former NBA player Latrell Sprewell officially lost his house Monday
19:52 05/13 2008
Former NBA player Latrell Sprewell officially lost his house Monday. From the Milwaukee Journal-Sentinel:
A River Hills home belonging to former NBA star Latrell Sprewell was foreclosed on today when he failed to show up in court to contest the action brought by a bank that held his mortgage.
The holder of the mortgage, RBS Citizens Bank, told Milwaukee County Circuit Court Judge David Hansher that Sprewell owes $320,284. According to River Hills records, the house is assessed at $610,000 and has an estimated fair market value of $667,980. Spreewell bought the house in 1994 for $405,000.
I know the automatic reaction among fans is to point and laugh at the silly athlete who didn't know how to manage his money, but there's nothing funny about foreclosure. I'm in the process of buying a house, and over half of the houses I walked through were both empty and in a sad state of disrepair as a result of frustrated owners taking it out on their property before losing it to foreclosure, which is becoming a sad trend in my state. After awhile, it's just depressing.
Money mismanagement affects people of all stripes and income levels, and it's sad when it's entirely self-inflicted by somebody who seemingly had it all before letting it slip away. So while some may crack jokes about Spree's regrettable "I've got a family to feed" quote he made while turning down millions of dollars toward the end of his career, I've lost my sense of humor about people losing their homes. Wherever Sprewell is, I feel for him. Former NBA player Latrell Sprewell officially lost his house Monday
01:03 05/14 2008
so it go when u wanna live big and cant afford it
kolonji said
14:30 05/14 2008
look like sprewell rims stop spin
RiddimRyder said
14:34 05/14 2008
no sympathy from me...he didn't have to buy a $400,000USD house in the first place!
Junior_J1 said
14:36 05/14 2008
kmt
Keneilb said
14:38 05/14 2008
ah bwoy
asian said
14:51 05/14 2008
MAD
17:09 05/14 2008
him good days dem done
17:37 05/14 2008
DAM
22:19 05/14 2008
RR the man mek millions him could have afford it a whey the fcuk him do wid the money?????????
22:42 05/14 2008
kolonji wrote:
22:44 05/14 2008
hmmmmm how quickly it comes and goes!!!!
22:45 05/14 2008
RiddimRyder wrote:
no sympathy from me...he didn't have to buy a $400,000USD house in the first place!
$400,000 !!! dats cheap RIDDIM R. most nba players buy der home 4 1million plus+
kmt a chumb change that fi him
xForcex said
now thats some shit....
22:48 05/14 2008
dwllllllll@kolonji poor him ,him shudda save
22:48 05/14 2008
IWALLACE12 wrote:
kolonji wrote:
LMAO
22:49 05/14 2008
how sad but him must have some money stash off & ting him probab;y have another house & ppl nuh know BADANG!!!
Former NBA player Latrell Sprewell officially lost his house Monday. From the Milwaukee Journal-Sentinel:
A River Hills home belonging to former NBA star Latrell Sprewell was foreclosed on today when he failed to show up in court to contest the action brought by a bank that held his mortgage.
The holder of the mortgage, RBS Citizens Bank, told Milwaukee County Circuit Court Judge David Hansher that Sprewell owes $320,284. According to River Hills records, the house is assessed at $610,000 and has an estimated fair market value of $667,980. Spreewell bought the house in 1994 for $405,000.
I know the automatic reaction among fans is to point and laugh at the silly athlete who didn't know how to manage his money, but there's nothing funny about foreclosure. I'm in the process of buying a house, and over half of the houses I walked through were both empty and in a sad state of disrepair as a result of frustrated owners taking it out on their property before losing it to foreclosure, which is becoming a sad trend in my state. After awhile, it's just depressing.
Money mismanagement affects people of all stripes and income levels, and it's sad when it's entirely self-inflicted by somebody who seemingly had it all before letting it slip away. So while some may crack jokes about Spree's regrettable "I've got a family to feed" quote he made while turning down millions of dollars toward the end of his career, I've lost my sense of humor about people losing their homes. Wherever Sprewell is, I feel for him. Former NBA player Latrell Sprewell officially lost his house Monday
LMAO