| Mavado drops 'Last Night' video and records for Obama
06:51 03/12 2008
Jamaican dancehall artiste David Mavado Brooks' long-awaited video for hit single Last Night, directed by famed director Little X, has now been officially released. The video premiered on HYPE TV last Friday night and is now available to view on the web.
There are two versions of the cinematic video, one edited, the other a hardcore movie-like clip. The clean version is the only one online at the moment, with the X-rated version being released on Thursday on the net. Plans are also underway for the video for On the Rock, for which Mavado's camp are hoping Jay Z will make an appearance.
"We will be getting the track for Mavado's upcoming album, which we hope to drop by May," manager Julian Jones-Griffith said. "Whether or not we can get Jay Z for the video depends on a lot of factors - he's about to go on tour and he also didnt even do a video for the last single from his own album but we are working on it same way."
Jones-Griffith added that Mavado will be making some appearances on the tour alongside Jay Z to perform the song, which is in rotation on HOT 97 and getting a lot of spins across the country. Those dates will be announced soon.
During a recent promotional tour of New York, Mavado was asked to contribute to an official Barack Obama mixtape being put together by Russell Simmons and Green Lantern that will be used as part of Obama's presidential campaign. Mavado cleverly flipped his popular On the Rock track to fit the occasion.
Amongst other contributors to the mixtape are Lenny Kravitz, Kanye West, Jay Z, Common and Mos Def. 100,000 copies of the CD will be printed and given away as part of the campaign.
Heavily booked out, Mavado will be making an appearance this week for the Spring Breakers in Negril, before going on to Brooklyn then Foota Hype's dance in Miami, before joining Bounty Killer in the U.K. for some dates. Mavado has just returned to Jamaica from a sold-out show in Queens and is in the studio putting the finishing touches to his sophomore album.
-- Edited by Dj Rohan at 07:54, 2008-03-12
Major Krazy said
06:58 03/12 2008
A few artist getting behind Barack Obama den. Cocoa Tea did tune...
DJ Miggs said
06:58 03/12 2008
sick vid
Kenzie said
11:01 03/12 2008
the video mad!!
11:04 03/12 2008
ALLIANCE FA LIFE!
11:07 03/12 2008
eee album sophomore album alreadi ...mad
11:07 03/12 2008
vadooooooooooooo fi life
Yoshi said
11:10 03/12 2008
GULLY GOD HE'S STRONG THAN EVER
kurt said
11:14 03/12 2008
b*m*oclaat alliance mi seh, do yuh ting mi artiste str88, cant stop u, big things a gwaan
DJ O.P. said
11:16 03/12 2008
mi seh di video maddddddddd
11:16 03/12 2008
THE VID IS SHITTTTTTTTT........... I LIKE MAVADO BUT 10months 4 this
i can't wait till tha next album drop.. i know it gonna be maddddddd
but this vid is
-- Edited by IWALLACE12 at 12:18, 2008-03-12
Shockwave Ent said
11:17 03/12 2008
wallace f**k off and mi daddy video sell off
mercurymecca said
11:23 03/12 2008
VIDEO MAD MI LIKE D FACT SEY IT REAL GULLY 1 & FEW GYAL YEAH GULLY GAD TO D FLIPPIN WORLD !
11:23 03/12 2008
MAVADO was rob.......... 10 months 4 this
i am sorry ...........but i am tellin tha true..
Menkz said
11:33 03/12 2008
video mad still!!!
12:46 03/12 2008
bout time
pistolvaniasfinest said
19:06 03/13 2008
Di Gully God a do big tings.....mi glad fi see yard man step up inna life.....
There are two versions of the cinematic video, one edited, the other a hardcore movie-like clip. The clean version is the only one online at the moment, with the X-rated version being released on Thursday on the net. Plans are also underway for the video for On the Rock, for which Mavado's camp are hoping Jay Z will make an appearance.
"We will be getting the track for Mavado's upcoming album, which we hope to drop by May," manager Julian Jones-Griffith said. "Whether or not we can get Jay Z for the video depends on a lot of factors - he's about to go on tour and he also didnt even do a video for the last single from his own album but we are working on it same way."
Jones-Griffith added that Mavado will be making some appearances on the tour alongside Jay Z to perform the song, which is in rotation on HOT 97 and getting a lot of spins across the country. Those dates will be announced soon.
During a recent promotional tour of New York, Mavado was asked to contribute to an official Barack Obama mixtape being put together by Russell Simmons and Green Lantern that will be used as part of Obama's presidential campaign. Mavado cleverly flipped his popular On the Rock track to fit the occasion.
Amongst other contributors to the mixtape are Lenny Kravitz, Kanye West, Jay Z, Common and Mos Def. 100,000 copies of the CD will be printed and given away as part of the campaign.
Heavily booked out, Mavado will be making an appearance this week for the Spring Breakers in Negril, before going on to Brooklyn then Foota Hype's dance in Miami, before joining Bounty Killer in the U.K. for some dates. Mavado has just returned to Jamaica from a sold-out show in Queens and is in the studio putting the finishing touches to his sophomore album.
-- Edited by Dj Rohan at 07:54, 2008-03-12
I LIKE MAVADO BUT
10months 4 this
i can't wait till tha next album drop.. i know it gonna be maddddddd
but this vid is
-- Edited by IWALLACE12 at 12:18, 2008-03-12
10 months 4 this
i am sorry ...........but i am tellin tha true..