POPULAR dancehall deejay Vybz Kartel, who tied the knot just two years ago with New York bank supervisor, Stacy Elliott, wants out of their marriage.
In papers filed with the Jamaican Supreme Court, Kartel, whose real name is Adidjah Palmer, alleged that his 31-year-old bride had given birth to a son who was fathered by another man.
He said he had never lived with his wife since the January 9, 2006 private wedding, pictures of which are posted on the Internet. Kartel also provided for the court a copy of the child's birth certificate.
Kartel said also that his wife never visited him in Jamaica after the US revoked his visa to that country some time after the wedding.
The two met at a stage show in Brooklyn, New York and had been dating four years prior to tying the knot in a private ceremony before a marriage officer at the Registrar General Department branch on Trevennion Park Road in Cross Roads, Kingston.
The website yardflex.com on which the wedding photos were posted, quoted the artiste on his big day as saying, "... Mi just get up mad and decide fi do it, is like mi get a wedding fever from wha day because my babymother's mother got married recently, and I was the best man for the groom, so I just decided to do it. I flew her in from New York for the wedding, and it's all good, I am in love, I am happy, this is just glorious.
"From the first time I met her, I knew she was special. So we talked a couple of times on the phone, it wasn't a groupie thing, and we just fell in love little by little."
Elliott, who was born in Jamaica, is also quoted in the same story as saying that she too was deeply in love.
"I love his personality, he is fun-loving, and very smart, and I believe he is misunderstood, he has good qualities. From the moment I met him, I fell in love with him...," she added.
nexx said
11:44 02/16 2008
couple more years from now di difference between JA an US ago bi race (black/white) not di livity anymore
11:48 02/16 2008
oh my, didnt realise he was still married
12:23 02/16 2008
now dat mi kno seh him maried.............. MI AGO LOOK SHORTY
DJ Romeo said
13:00 02/16 2008
Dis man was married....what a tolerant wife.
Casino said
13:14 02/16 2008
so dem tings deh go more time
youngbux said
14:33 02/16 2008
seen
brammo said
15:30 02/16 2008
mi afi wonder if celebrities can really be happy dem way deh. so it go kartel. man is jus a man no matter how popular he is
chronic_387 said
15:37 02/16 2008
yo press on Teacha!!!
XavHew said
16:05 02/16 2008
suh unu a look pon it from d bleacher view, suh wha bout d wife, she nuh hav rights to.... a crazy dis d man deh a yard a dis har wid other woman... mek him gweh, lol
DekaNo said
16:48 02/16 2008
yeh teacha do yu ting
Krazily Insane said
20:00 02/16 2008
a tru...dem way deh
Tweeta said
01:14 02/17 2008
"big up mi wife and mi girlfriend" kartels own words...........yea i expected there was gonna be a divorce soon
Garrick said
07:40 02/17 2008
So it go Teacha.
08:29 02/17 2008
lol at least him kno wen fi let go....
Riddim Daddy said
09:08 02/17 2008
unno ah miss the point , unno nuh seet that it was an arrainged marriage
uho am marry wan man an nah come see him ova 2 years
Kawtel married to get permanent status inna de states
but thier application got rejected
In papers filed with the Jamaican Supreme Court, Kartel, whose real name is Adidjah Palmer, alleged that his 31-year-old bride had given birth to a son who was fathered by another man.
He said he had never lived with his wife since the January 9, 2006 private wedding, pictures of which are posted on the Internet. Kartel also provided for the court a copy of the child's birth certificate.
Kartel said also that his wife never visited him in Jamaica after the US revoked his visa to that country some time after the wedding.
The two met at a stage show in Brooklyn, New York and had been dating four years prior to tying the knot in a private ceremony before a marriage officer at the Registrar General Department branch on Trevennion Park Road in Cross Roads, Kingston.
The website yardflex.com on which the wedding photos were posted, quoted the artiste on his big day as saying, "... Mi just get up mad and decide fi do it, is like mi get a wedding fever from wha day because my babymother's mother got married recently, and I was the best man for the groom, so I just decided to do it. I flew her in from New York for the wedding, and it's all good, I am in love, I am happy, this is just glorious.
"From the first time I met her, I knew she was special. So we talked a couple of times on the phone, it wasn't a groupie thing, and we just fell in love little by little."
Elliott, who was born in Jamaica, is also quoted in the same story as saying that she too was deeply in love.
"I love his personality, he is fun-loving, and very smart, and I believe he is misunderstood, he has good qualities. From the moment I met him, I fell in love with him...," she added.