The main difference between http:// and https:// is It's all about keeping you secure
HTTP stands for Hypertext Transport Protocol,
Which is just a fancy way of saying it's a protocol (a language, in a manner of speaking) For information to be passed back and forth between web servers and clients.. The important thing is the letter S which makes the difference between HTTP and HTTPS.
The S (big surprise) stands for "Secure". If you visit a website or webpage, and look at the address in the web browser, it will likely begin with the following: http://.
This means that the website is talking to your browser using the regular 'unsecure' language. In other words, it is possible for someone to "eavesdrop" on your computer's conversation with the website. If you fill out a form on the website, someone might see the information you send to that site.
This is why you never ever enter your credit card number in an http website! But if the web address begins with https://, that basically means your computer is talking to the website in a secure code that no one can eavesdrop on.
You understand why this is so important, right?
If a website ever asks you to enter your credit card information, you should automatically look to see if the web address begins with https://. If it doesn't, there's no way you should enter sensitive information like a credit card number.
PASS IT ON (You may save someone a lot of grief).
18:44 02/12 2009
ok gud 2 know..
dj slr said
18:45 02/12 2009
RiddimRyder said
18:46 02/12 2009
good tip for those unsure!
shottafiyah said
18:46 02/12 2009
interesting info
didnt even know httpS existed!
grippa said
18:48 02/12 2009
good info....
18:49 02/12 2009
damnnnnnnnnn everday u learn something new
18:50 02/12 2009
me neither shotta lol thanx 4 d info
butler23 said
18:51 02/12 2009
bless yute
18:52 02/12 2009
shottafiyah wrote:
interesting info didnt even know httpS existed!
18:54 02/12 2009
This is why you never ever enter your credit card number in an http website!
WHOA GOOD INFO MAN
kranky said
19:00 02/12 2009
bless good info
Ranade said
19:02 02/12 2009
i knew this because i did computers :D
shottafiyah said
19:03 02/12 2009
STAINLESS wrote:
shottafiyah wrote:
interesting info didnt even know httpS existed!
a wha sweet u
kevin.x said
13:31 03/11 2009
Yes mi breda...thanks for the valuable information on the difference between http and https.it is well appreciated and i'll will be sure to pass it on ok
13:32 03/11 2009
i knew this cuz i do alotta online shopping...thanks for the info though darling
ICE_COLD said
13:37 03/11 2009
Real valuable info
dontayeb said
13:39 03/11 2009
zeen
Pr0n said
13:43 03/11 2009
https doesn't mean the whole page or site is secure. It's still possible the form submits over a regular unsecured protocol, so you should still be careful, a good browser should tell you this.
HTTP stands for Hypertext Transport Protocol,
Which is just a fancy way of saying it's a protocol (a language, in a manner of speaking)
For information to be passed back and forth between web servers and clients..
The important thing is the letter S which makes the difference between HTTP and HTTPS.
The S (big surprise) stands for "Secure".
If you visit a website or webpage, and look at the address in the web browser, it will likely
begin with the following: http://.
This means that the website is talking to your browser using the regular 'unsecure' language.
In other words, it is possible for someone to "eavesdrop" on your computer's conversation
with the website. If you fill out a form on the website, someone might see the information
you send to that site.
This is why you never ever enter your credit card number in an http website!
But if the web address begins with https://, that basically means your computer is talking
to the website in a secure code that no one can eavesdrop on.
You understand why this is so important, right?
If a website ever asks you to enter your credit card information, you should automatically
look to see if the web address begins with https://. If it doesn't, there's no way
you should enter sensitive information like a credit card number.
PASS IT ON (You may save someone a lot of grief).
a wha sweet u
nerd read: http://my.opera.com/yngve/blog/2007/06/19/it-aint-ev-til-its-ev-all-ev
-- Edited by Pr0n at 15:03, 2009-03-11