Forum: Sports...Traditional & Extreme

Traditional & extreme...soccer/football, cricket, wrestling, skydiving, etc
Italy coach Marcello Lippi was not impressed by Carlos Dunga's constant ranting and raving from the touchline, slamming the Brazil tactician for his behaviour towards Gianluca Zambrotta.

Italy were beaten 2-0 at the Emirates Stadium in London amid controversy as a legitimate Fabio Grosso goal was disallowed. However, there was more trouble after Dunga clapped at Gianluca Zambrottas yellow card, leading to a minor spat between the two men.

Lippi was angered by the Brazilian's action and he shared his views after a Goal.com journalist asked the coach for his opinion on the tit-for-tat battle between his defender and the 1994 World Cup winner.

The Brazil coach protested too much for some of our fouls; if we had done the same then there would have been total confusion," Lippi told Goal.com during the post match press conference.

"When players are tired then they may commit fouls. Jumping off the bench and doing what Dunga did is not nice at all."

The Italians will be hoping to put this latest defeat behind them as they prepare for some crucial World Cup qualifiers in the spring, which will be followed by the Confederations Cup in the summer.
With England set to face Spain tonight, memories of what happened the last time the two teams met in Madrid in 2004 have been cast up.

During La Roja's 1-0 win over the Three Lions in November 2004, Shaun Wright-Phillips, Jermain Defoe and Ashley Cole were subjected to racist jeers from certain sections of the crowd.

When Rio Ferdinand was recently asked whether the players had discussed how they might react should they receive similar treatment tonight, he replied, "It is extraordinary that we're discussing racism in this day and age.

"It is not something we have discussed over lunch or at training. All we are talking about as a squad is the result we are looking for in Spain."

However, England captain John Terry has admitted that, while they hope it does not happen, the players would follow the referee's lead if he feels that the game needed to be abandoned.

"If it gets as bad as last time, the referee would have to step in and make a decision," Terry is quoted as saying in The Telegraph.

"If he decides to lead both teams off the field, we'll have to support that. It's not nice, but I'm fully behind my team and my players. If any one of the referee or players decide that, we'll follow suit."
Spain meet England this Wednesday evening in a game which looks incredibly tough to call, bearing in mind the recent undefeated good form of both sides.

The various international editors at Goal.com have decided to put their necks on the line though and predict not only what they believe the scoreline will be, but also who they think will find the net...

The Predictions

Juan Lirman, Goal.com Spain:

Spain 0 - England 1 (Heskey).

Thomas Bauer, Goal.com Germany:

Spain 1 (Xavi) - England 1 (Heskey).

Ewan Macdonald,Goal.com International:

Spain 2 (Xavi and Villa)- England 0.

Lee Cheolgyu, Goal.com Korea:

Spain 3 (Torres, Xavi y Villa) - England 0.

Sergio Stanco, Goal.com Italy:

Spain 1 (Villa) - England 1 (Beckham).

Alexandre Walraevens, Goal.com France:

Spain 1 (Villa) - England 1 (Ferdinand).

Sulmaan Ahmad, Goal.com International:

Spain 2 (Villa and Iniesta) - England 1 (Terry).

Atishay Agarwal, Goal.com India:

Spain 1 (Xavi) - England 1 (Heskey).

Daniele Perticari, Goal.com Italy:

Spain 0 - England 1 (Beckham).

Bima Said, Goal.com Indonesia:

Spain 1 (Torres) - England 2 (Beckham and Lampard).

Greg Lalas, Goal.com America:

Spain 2 (Torres and Iniesta) - England 1 (Young).

Martín Decaux, Goal.com Latin America:

Spain 0 - England 0.

Results

Spain Victory: 4 votes.

England Victory: 3 votes.

Draw: 5 votes.

wha unu seh?

Mazzola Slams Lippi's Italy Tactics

February 11, 2009
Started By stonejah1 Comments
Italy were clearly second-best in a 2-0 loss to Brazil on Tuesday in London, a match that showed several frailties in the Italian national team.

Former Inter and Italy great, Sandro Mazzola, believes that the Azzurri lost the match because they adopted the wrong tactics from the outset.

"The first half played by the national team last night was completely wrong. After the goal wrongly disallowed [for an offside] by [Fabio] Grosso, we literally went haywire," sighed Mazzola to Radio Kiss Kiss.

"From the first minute, we were deployed in error against Brazil, you cannot afford to have three attackers and [Ricardo] Montolivo in midfield."

However, Mazzola believes that Italy did improve in the second half, when the formation was changed.

"They [Brazil] proved to have something more in terms of possessing the ball, but we were much better in attack when we switched to a midfield four, from then onwards we had the best opportunities," he claimed.

Italy will now go back to the drawing board, as they look to continue their World Cup qualifying campaign at the end of March. It remains to be seen if Lippi will respond to Mazzola's critique.

Flintoff backs England character

February 11, 2009

Andrew Flintoff is confident England can come through the "huge test" of recovering from last week's thrashing by the West Indies in the second Test.

The star all-rounder also insisted that despite rumours of off-field discord the spirit in the camp remained "good".

"There's a Test match in three days' time and we've got to put a better performance in," he told BBC Sport.

"It's a huge test of everyone's skill and character but it's one I'm sure we can come through."

The former captain said England needed to pull together to try to win the remaining three Tests in the series.

"The spirit's been good but maybe we need to draw on each other a little bit more," Flintoff said.

"We have all the ingredients of a successful side and we have to put them all together.

"That's going to be the test for people, when you go through something like that you still have to back yourself and that's going to be the big test of character.

"You can talk about technique and work in the nets but it is all about how people respond to what's happened. It's very important we come back strong on Friday."

On Monday England opener Alastair Cook claimed there was no need for radical change ahead of the second Test, which starts in Antigua on Friday.

Cook, who was the first man dismissed as England were skittled for a humiliating 51 at Sabina Park, insisted: "We cannot act too hastily. The players are ultimately responsible, we've got to take it on the chin."

England have limited options when it comes to changing to their batting line-up, with only Owais Shah in reserve.

The current batting unit has come in for heavy criticism after it also collapsed in Adelaide during the 2006-07 Ashes tour to hand Australia victory, and was dismissed for just 81 against Sri Lanka in Galle last winter, but Cook denied that England's batsmen are too comfortable.

"If you don't perform then you know what is going to happen," he said.

"If it happens again, then things have to change. But those are three isolated incidents over three years, so it is not as though it is happening every week."

The West Indies will make at least one change to their winning line-up from Kingston.

Xavier Marshall has been dropped from the 14-man squad after his second ball duck with Lendl Simmons, who hit a stunning 282 against England for West Indies A, and Ryan Hinds in the frame to replace him.

Windies triumph delights Bolt

February 11, 2009
Started By stonejah2 Comments

As England's batting line-up fell apart in Jamaica, I was waiting in one of the corporate boxes at Sabina Park to try and secure an interview with the island's current sporting superstar Usain Bolt.

Well, I say 'current star' - maybe Jerome Taylor and Chris Gayle have a pretty good claims on that title after inspiring West Indies to a famous victory.

Man of the Match Taylor was the hero of an incredible final afternoon's cricket, taking 5-11, with captain Gayle having helped lay the foundation for victory earlier in the match with his first Test hundred on his home ground.

It was a great sight to see Gayle hugging Bolt at the end of the game as hundreds of Jamaican cricket fans swarmed onto the outfield.

Bolt certainly enjoyed his day at the cricket. The double Olympic champion, who became world famous after his record-breaking performances in Beijing, told Test Match Special: "I certainly picked the right day to come to watch."

Every time an English wicket fell, Bolt leapt from his chair in celebration - but he also told us how, in different circumstances, he could have been out there playing: "I was a good fast bowler as a youngster. I was quick and I also batted. I was actually good at it. But my cricket coach introduced me to track and field as he thought I was pretty quick and so I continued doing that."

Although brought up in Jamaica, it was not local fast bowlers like Courtney Walsh and Michael Holding who were Bolt's early cricket heroes.

"The person I looked up to was Waqar Younis because he had a great in-swinging yorker. He was wonderful. Pakistan was my team when I was six when I started watching cricket. I enjoyed watching them play," he revealed.

Botl does not stray from home, however, when looking for heroes in the current West Indies team. He continued: "Chris Gayle is my favourite player because when I was younger I was an aggressive batsman. That's how Chris Gayle plays. I really enjoy watching him play cricket."

Life has been "hectic", according to Bolt, since Beijing. "I don't even like to go out onto the streets sometimes because I can't get anything done. People want pictures and autographs all the time."

But despite all the attention, he is not ready to leave. "I decided to stay because I'm a mama's boy, I have to live close to my mother," he said.

As for future plans, there are reports he is planning to compete in the 400 metres at London 2012 and he admitted: "We're looking at that. Next season I'll probably start but I'm looking forward to it."

Many assume he is contemplating the switch in distance so he can try and break another Michael Johnson world record, having already beaten his 200m mark, but Bolt insisted: "I really don't think about records I just go out there and try to do my best."

But is there any chance of a return to the cricket field by the fastest man on the planet? "I was talking to Chris Gayle and I was telling him one day I'll have to get him in the nets and bowl him a few balls and show him that I was pretty good back in the days," Bolt laughed.

Next up for Gayle, however, is the second Test in Antigua and Test Match Special will be back on air on Friday the 13th - not a date England would have chosen as they look to improve their fortunes.

We'll be on the air from 1330 GMT on Five Live Sports Extra, Radio Four Long wave and on-line - and don't forget the Test Match Special p*o*dcast after each days play..

Men's Tennis Rankings

February 11, 2009

Men's rankings

Men's ATP tour rankings
9 Feb
1 R Nadal Spa 11 J Blake US
2 R Federer Swi 12 G Monfils Fra
3 N Djokovic Ser 13 J-W Tsonga Fra
4 A Murray GB 14 D Ferrer Spa
5 N Davydenko Rus 15 F Gonzalez Chi
6 A Roddick US 16 R Soderling Swe
7 JM Del Potro Arg 17 S Wawrinka Swi
8 G Simon Fra 18 N Almagro Spa
9 F Verdasco Spa 19 T Robredo Spa
10 D Nalbandian Arg 20 M Cilic Cro

Jayawardene quits Sri Lanka role

February 11, 2009
Started By stonejah4 Comments

Batsman Mahela Jayawardene is to step down as Sri Lanka captain.

He will give up the job following a two-match Test series in Pakistan, which begins on 22 February.

Jayawardene has been in charge since 2006 and has led the team to 15 wins in 26 Tests, losing only seven, and to the final of the 2007 World Cup.

But the 31-year-old said: "After much thought, I have concluded that the right time has now come for fresh leadership to take over."

Sri Lanka won a one-day series in Pakistan 2-1 last month but have since lost five out of six home matches to India and Jayawardene was dropped from the team for Tuesday's Twenty20 match in Col****o, when they were led by Tillakaratne Dilshan, because of his own poor form.

Dilshan could be a candidate to succeed Jayawardene as full-time skipper, although Kumar Sangakkara may be favourite for the job.

Jayawardene, who was voted ICC captain of the year in 2006, is Sri Lanka's most successful skipper in statistical terms, having won 62.5% of Tests and 57% of limited overs matches.

And he explained that giving up the job was "not an easy decision" because it had been a "source of enormous pride".

But he said: "This is something I have been considering for some time as it has been my long-held belief that my successor should have at least 18 months in the job to imprint his vision on the team for the 2011 World Cup.

"I look forward now to extending my full support to my successor and hope to play a major part in the team's success during the coming years as a batsman."

Jayawardene has played 100 Tests and 299 one-day internationals and has scored more than 16,000 runs for Sri Lanka in all forms of the game.

His 24 Test centuries are a national record and he is still ranked the sixth best batsman in the world Test rankings, currently headed by Shivnarine Chanderpaul of West Indies.

Women's Tennis Rankings

February 11, 2009

Women's rankings

Women's WTA tour rankings
9 Feb
1 S Williams US 11 F Pennetta Ita
2 D Safina Rus 12 C Wozniacki Den
3 J Jankovic Ser 13 A Cornet Fra
4 E Dementieva Rus 14 M Bartoli Fra
5 V Zvonareva Rus 15 V Azarenka Blr
6 V Williams US 16 P Schnyder Swi
7 S Kuznetsova Rus 17 M Sharapova Rus
8 A Ivanovic Ser 18 D Cibulkova Svk
9 N Petrova Rus 19 J Zheng Chn
10 A Radwanska Pol 20 A Medina G Spa
Lionel Messi has declared his admiration for his Barcelona team-mate Thierry Henry today.

The pair meet when France and Argentina clash in the Stade Velodrome this evening, and Messi has spoken about his first thoughts when he saw the Frenchman at Barcelona.

"The first day that he came into the dressing room, I did not dare to look him in the face. I knew everything that he had done in England," he told Sport.

"I had an image of him, and suddenly we were in the same team. What I feel for 'Titi' is a form of admiration."

Despite the glowing praise from Messi though, it is he who he is the star of the Barcelona side rather than the Frenchman.

Indeed, Henry struggled to settle in the side during his first year with the club, but has been much better this season with Barcelona in full flight.

The French international has started to score some of the typical goals that he grabbed at Arsenal, and Messi admits that is one of his best attributes.

"He has the ability to finish a move, as he gets the ball and puts it away. He gives the impression that it is natural. His career, his dribbling, his finishing...It is all fluid and well thought out," he mused.

Along with Samuel Eto'o, Messi and Henry have been responsible for most of the goals in the Barcelona side this season, but the Argentine admits they will be no good if they do not bring titles to the Camp Nou.

"If the forwards score so many goals, it is thanks to the defence and the midfield. Chances cannot be created and scored with the rest of the team. Even so, we do not want a high scoring team that does not win titles," he concluded.

Back to business for Hamilton

February 11, 2009
Started By stonejah3 Comments

Amidst an atmosphere of cost-cutting and rules changes, even Lewis Hamilton, Formula One's newest and youngest world champion, has put the champagne back on ice.

At the launch of his new MP4-24 car at McLaren's Technology Centre in Woking on Friday, it was clear the Englishman's heroics last season marked the end of an era - for both McLaren and the sport.

After unhooking the car's grey cover - which had unceremoniously snagged on the steering wheel - Hamilton finally unveiled the team's 2009 challenger, saying: "You're supposed to clap, you know!"

But he knows as well as anyone that the celebrations following his 2008 triumph have been practically over since he left Brazil, where he clinched the title in a dramatic final Grand Prix of the season in November.

"I've not really thought about the last race or last season," said Hamilton, who pipped Ferrari rival Felipe Massa to the crown by a single point.

"I just put it behind me and now I'm working on preparing for this season.

"I'm not sitting here saying 'I am world champion', I'm saying 'I want to be world champion'. I've just reset my goals."

The team have wiped the slate clean for the challenges of 2009, when Hamilton's task is to defend his title in a wholly new environment.

Spanish giants Real Madrid are the richest club in the world, edging European champions Manchester United into second place, according to a report by global accounting firm Deloitte.

Il Corriere Dello Sport has released the figures from Deloitte, which make for some interesting reading, particularly in the case of Juventus.

Los Merengues lead the rich list as they generated a massive 366 million during season 2007-08. Manchester United are second with 325m while Barcelona are ranked third with an income of 309m for the same period.

The Premier League has the greatest influence in the top 20, with Manchester United, Chelsea, Arsenal, Liverpool, Newcastle United, Manchester City and Tottenham Hotspur all present.

Milan are the richest Italian club, however, they are eighth overall with 210m.

The Old Lady of Italian football, Juventus, are 11th in the list. The Bianconeri are the poorest earners out of the top four clubs in Serie A. Roma are behind Milan on 175m, followed by Inter on 173m and finally Juve on 168.

The top 20 includes Bayern Munich, Schalke 04, Hamburg and Stuttgart from the Bundesliga. France's Ligue 1 is also represented with Olympique Lyonnais and Olympique de Marseille making the rich list. Fenerbahce of Turkey are also present.
LONDON (AP) - Russia coach Guus Hiddink will manage Chelsea until the end of the season, the Premier League club said Wednesday.
The 62-year-old Dutchman will meet his new players later this week ahead of Saturday's FA Cup match at Watford. He replaces Luiz Felipe Scolari, who was fired on Monday after six months as manager.

Hiddink will remain as coach of the Russian national side.

"The club would like to take this opportunity to thank the Russian Football Union for their understanding and cooperation," Chelsea said in a statement.

Hiddink is currently in Turkey with the Russian side.

"We are in a great position and there will be no damage for the Russian national team," Hiddink said. "I will be focused now and in the future on the Russian national team."

It is likely Hiddink will only be a spectator Saturday, and then be in charge for the following weekend's Premier League match at Aston Villa. Assistant Ray Wilkins is coaching the team on an interim basis.

Before the official announcement, Hiddink said he was ready to take the Chelsea job out of solidarity with owner Roman Abramovich, who is the financial backer of the Russian national team.

"It's a favor for a friend. Abramovich does so much for Russian football that I wanted to give something back. He called me personally," Hiddink said. "I can do it because we (Russia) are only playing two matches in April and one in June, but the English league is finished then."

Hiddink hasn't ruled out staying at Chelsea permanently.

"There are two scenarios," he said. "Either they say: 'Go back to the East' or it all goes well, and then ... but that is not ideal."

AC Milan coach Carlo Ancelotti is considered the favorite to take over on a permanent basis next summer.

"If the position will be open in July then I think he might consider it," Milan director Umberto Gandini said. "He did already have a chance to consider it when he was approached last summer."

Scolari was fired following a string of poor results left Chelsea fourth in the standings - nine points behind leader Manchester United.

Russia has two World Cup qualifying games over the course of the rest of the English league season - at home to Azerbaijan on March 28 and away to Liechtenstein four days later.

Those dates should not conflict with Chelsea league games, and the qualifiers are games Russia should win comfortably as it chases Germany for the top spot in Group 4. Only the group winner is guaranteed to qualify for the 2010 World Cup in South Africa, with the runner-up then chasing a playoff spot.

"The national team is undoubtedly a priority for the coach. There is no talking about it," Russian Football Union President Vitaly Mutko said. "We are strictly following the contract terms. He will continue to be the chief coach of the national (team)."

As for c****ining the two jobs, Mutko said, "It doesn't influence the situation in Russia in any way. It's a common practice for the coach to come here when the team is being trained for the games, on the days of the games to support it. Such practice will continue."

Hiddink won domestic and European club titles with PSV Eindhoven and, at international level, led the Netherlands to the 1998 World Cup semifinals, South Korea to the same stage four years later and took underdog Australia to the second round in 2006. At Euro 2008, he guided outsider Russia to the semifinals.

Red Bull expect wins from new car

February 11, 2009

Red Bull have said they expect to be in the fight for race victories in 2009 as they unveiled their new car on Monday.

Sebastian Vettel, who put the first miles on the new Renault-powered RB9 later in the day, unveiled the car alongside team-mate Mark Webber.

And team boss Christian Horner said there was "no reason" why the team could not join the fight at the front.

"The new rules present an opportunity for teams to compete on a more level playing field," Horner said.

F1 bosses have introduced major changes to the cars in an attempt to make overtaking easier and improve the quality of racing.

And Horner believes his design team, led by the highly-regarded former Williams and McLaren engineer Adrian Newey, are in a good position to capitalise.

Vettel took the first victory for a Red Bull-designed car last year when he won the Italian Grand Prix while driving for junior team Toro Rosso.

There is no reason to believe we cannot do that again with these new rules," Horner said.

"The regulation changes almost constitute a new formula for the sport and it will be interesting to see how the teams interpret them."

Vettel gave the car its first outing around the Jerez circuit.

"It's much too early to say anything about performance," Vettel said after a few laps.

Webber is hoping to get behind the wheel for the first time since breaking his leg in November when he tests the new car on Wednesday.

"I thought I'd let Seb do the boring installation laps and the running-in," the Australian joked.

"Wednesday's run will be as much a test for me as for the car, as it will be my first go in an F1 car since I broke my leg."

Newey's new car was one of the year's most eagerly anticipated: he is regarded as one of F1's most innovative designers, as well as the most highly paid.

The car appears to include a number of innovative features - including a top to the chassis in front of the c**kpit which is lower than on other cars, and a more extreme aerodynamic treatment in front of the sidepods alongside the driver.

It also has longer rear-wing endplates than have been seen on other cars so far, and a very tightly-waisted rear.

Managing Bolt

February 11, 2009

Usain Bolt's exploits over the past year have meant an increased workload for his manager Ricky Simms but you won't hear the Donegal native complaining.

The London-based athletics agent is on his way to a meeting concerned with a possible new sponsorship deal for the Jamaican star when he takes time out to speak to BBC Sport Interactive.

"We always had a very big client list and we've been busy for the last couple of years but yes, his success has generated new types of work and new interest," says Simms, the managing director of PACE International.

"We, and a company in Jamaica, jointly deal with all the endorsement and sponsorship issues."

Bolt's manager has had to politely decline requests for the double world record holder to appear on popular BBC shows Top Gear, Friday Night with Jonathan Ross, A Question of Sport as well as a visit to a Manchester United home match.

"He's only in the UK for two months of the summer when he's competing.

"If he was based in London, he would be all over British TV but he's based in Jamaica and there are all those local things there that they want him to do in his home country."

The UK interest in the BBC Overseas Sports Personality of 2008 is mirrored by TV stations throughout the globe and he also has received an invitation from Spanish football giants Real Madrid.

"The interest is not at the level of the top footballers or golfers but he has potential if he has another year at that level to break away from athletics and get into being a global star."

However, Simms knows full well the danger that over-exposure to commercial opportunities could affect Bolt's performances out on the track.

"He still has to train and be an athlete for four or five years so we're going to try and partner up with three or four major brands and that will be him until 2012.

"He has to take the opportunities now while he has them but it's not the case of going to an opening of an envelope but a longer-term strategy that we're working on."

Six months on from his incredible performances in Beijing, Simms is pleased to report that Bolt's personality "hasn't changed".

"He is very much in demand in Jamaica.

"He gets a lot of invitations but he just has to make sure that he keeps training and keeps performing at this level for a number of years.

"Last year, he was very well-advanced. At this stage, he's probably a little bit behind where he was last year but his coach Glenn Mills is very happy with him."

Bolt's first outing of 2009 will be a low-key meeting in Jamaica on St Valentine's Day but his first serious action of the year will be at the Kingston International meeting in his native land in early May.

Serena cruises through in Paris

February 11, 2009

Serena Williams coasted through the first round of the Paris Open with a 6-1 6-4 win over Iveta Benesova.

In her first tournament since clinching a fourth Australian Open title, the American rattled off six successive games to claim the first set.

Although her Czech opponent rallied in the second, world number one Williams was always in control and closed out the match with a backhand winner.

"I was OK. I wasn't great, but I was so glad to win," said Williams.

"This was a little better than Australia because I didn't play well in my first two rounds there."

Williams also paid tribute to her opponent who briefly threatened to impede her progress with a break in the first game of the second set.

"She raised her game and I made some key errors on some key points. But then I was able to get a little confidence and that's pretty much what happened," she added.

Williams will contest a quarter-final spot with Croatia's Karolina Sprem in the next round.

Number eight seed Amelie Mauresmo also advanced with a comfortable 6-2 6-0 win over Italy's Sara Errani, setting up a meeting with Romania's Monica Niculescu.

Jelena Jankovic, who recently slipped from top spot in the women's rankings after a fourth-round exit in Melbourne, will play Francesca Schiavone in her opening match of the tournament later on Wednesday.

Nigeria Hold Jamaica To A Draw

February 11, 2009
Started By stonejah12 Comments

It was the third draw between the two teams in six matches.

The Super Eagles capped Tunisia-based striker Michael Eneramo late in a game which produced few chances between both teams.

The main talking point of this encounter was the sending off in the 44th minute of Jermaine Johnson of Jamaica and Nigeria's Taye Taiwo after both players were involved in an altercation.

After a tentative start, mostly due to the bitterly cold weather in London, the Reggae Boys of Jamaica gradually warmed up to take control of the game but could not get behind the Nigerian defence.

Nigeria's best chance of the first half fell to Russia-based Osaze Odemwingie in the 28th minute when his glancing header missed target narrowly.

Otherwise, it was a largely disappointing shift for the Eagles as they struggled to put together passes among themselves, and relied more on their individual skills to get around.

Jamaica came closest to taking the lead on 50 minutes when Norway-based striker Luton Shelton exploited slack defending by Danny Shittu but his final effort let him down.

In the 56th minute, Uche's shot off a right-wing cross by Nsofor was scrambled away by the Jamaica goalkeeper. And moments later Shittu's goal-bound header was tipped away by the Jamaica goalkeeper.

Getafe striker Uche produced a downward header from a cross by substitute Onyekachi Apam only to be denied again by Sawyer.

In the end though, the draw was a fair outcome for both teams.

A late Cristiano Ronaldo penalty was enough to see off a lacklustre Finland side in Faro on Wednesday night. The Portuguese ace led the charge with his side missing a host of chances before the penalty sealed the win.

The two previous games between both nations ended in 1-1 draws. Portugal were keen on changing that trend while Finland were hoping to come away with their pride still intact and hoping to avoid a repeat of the recent 5-1 defeat to Japan. Ronaldo made his 62 appearance for his side, and was presented with an award by the Portuguese federation in recognition for his FIFA World Player of the Year award before kick off.

First Half

Ronaldo showed his tricks and got the crowd roaring early on as he raced down the line to feed Duda. The winger crossed in a decent ball across the box but none of the strikers took a gamble as the chance fizzed out. Minutes later the Portuguese team showed their signs of quality with some exquisite football. Manchester United star Nani c****ined well with Ronaldo who flicked it into the path of Chelsea's Deco. However, the midfielder's striker was straight into the arms of Jussi Jasskelainen. The Portuguese dynamo tried to bend the ball into the top corner, but sliced the ball wide.

It was a sign of things to come though as the home side kept up the pressure on their opponents. Finland were slow and struggled to get going and hardly created any chances worthy of mention. Ronaldo was in for a tough night though. Roman Eremenko was lucky to have escaped punishment after he hacked the winger down from behind. It was a nasty challenge from the midfielder as Portugal enjoyed the lions share of the possession.

The Finnish side were allowing their opponents too much space and it wasn't long before the shots started to fly. Jasskelainen was in top form and he was alert on Tiago's smash from distance as he parried the ball into safety. Almeida was guilty of missing an excellent chance when Nani found his head with a pinpoint cross. However, the Werder Bremen star glanced his header just wide of the far post.

The chances kept on coming as Pepe fed Tiago. The Juventus midfielder cut a great cross back to Ronaldo, who was in acres of space, but his volley was just inches wide as the goalkeeper breathed a sigh of relief. Finland's only real chance fell to Mikael Forssell. The Hannover striker tested Edoardo with a thunderous drive from range, but the Portugal keeper made a decent save.

The away side did have the ball in the net minutes later but it was disallowed for offside and Forseell's celebrations were cut short after he bungled the ball over the line.

Second Half

Carlos Queiroz's men came back out fighting and they began with the same intensity and pace that they showed in the first half. Nani kept on pulling the strings as Ronaldo moved over to the left flank. The Red Devils star whipped in a fantastic cross for Almeida but it came to no fruition as another chance went begging. The chances kept on coming for the Portuguese.

However they were wasted as poor finishing saw the game remain goalless. Queiroz watched on from the bench in frustration knowing he needed a positive result to silence his critics. His side were creating plenty, but the final product was not of the standard you would expect. Ronaldo released Almeida, who just checked his run to beat the offside trap, but his shot was easy for the Maenpaa to punch clear.

Substitute Orlando Sa, who made his debut for Portugal was guilty of missing the chance of the game when Ronaldo put him through with a perfect pass. However, the 20-year-old Braga striker dragged his effort wide of the mark when he was one-on-one with Maenpaa. It seemed like it would be one of those days where nothing goes for the dominating team as a flurry of shots flew into the crowd rather than hit the net.

Danny came on for Nani and the Zenit St Petersburg star won a penalty with his first touch of the game as Pasanen was *u*ked in to make the challenge and the referee had no choice but to award the spot kick. Ronaldo stepped up and calmly dispatched his kick into the bottom corner.

Teams

Portugal:
Eduardo (Fernandes); Miguel, Bruno Alves, Rolando, Duda; Deco, Pepe(Mierles), Tiago(Maniche); Nani, Hugo Almeida(Orlando Sa), Ronaldo.

Finland: Jääskeläinen(Maenpaa); Pasanen, Tihinen, Hyypia, Kallio; Johannson, Heikinen, Eremenko, Kolkka; Litmanen(Kuqui), Forssell(Sjollund).

t may not have been a vintage performance by Argentina, who spent much of the match soaking up pressure from les Bleus, however, their strength on the counter-attack was evident as they ultimately ran out 2-0 victors, leaving head coach Diego Maradona a contended man as he claimed his second international win in as many attempts.

A skimming shot from Jonas Gutierrez gave the visitors a first half lead before Lionel Messi spun Baraky Sagna with typical brilliance to thump home a second goal in the closing stages of the game.

My guys played well, Maradona told TF1 in a very brief interview at the end of the game. I am very glad. I am happy with their performance.

Particularly impressive in the Argentine side, apart from Messi, was the performance of their defence, which reduced France to very few chances, with Javier Mascherano and Fernando Gago particularly disruptive players in the centre of the park.

The French crowd appreciated the craft of the Argentine side, even supporting them to an extent in the closing stages of the game as they cried ole! after every completed pass by a member of the visiting side. On their hosts, Maradona smiled, They were very, very good.

Doubtless Maradona will not receive such a warm welcome when the competitive action starts for his side in the spring. Argentina host Col****ia on March 28 before travelling to Bolivia for a match on April 1
Republic of Ireland:

Given 7.0
Dependable as ever; made some good stops and could do little with the goal. Top rate distribution.

Kelly 4.0
Endured a horrid first-half, even if he improved slightly after the break. Indecisiveness and rash judgement littered his performance.

Kilbane 6.5
Willing to lend himself to the attack constantly, and gave another solid, disciplined show.

O'Shea 7.5
Has eradicated the errors that once blighted his game; seems to have acquired a no-nonsense, no-mistake attitude from his club colleagues. Top showing.

Dunne 7.0
Showed little of the rustiness of his recent Manchester City displays; marked and headed well in defence, was a presence at the business end too.

Whelan 6.5
A neat display punctuated with accurate passing and a desire to get things going for his side.

Andrews 7.5
Stamped a degree of his own authority on the midfield with swift challenges. Got forward well to support his attackers and was another bright spot in a fine second half performance.

Duff 7.0
Caused problems to both full-backs with his ability to go inside and out. Sent over some decent crosses and was generally at the hub of Ireland's sorties forward.

McGeady 9.0
The standout; his best game in an Ireland shirt to date. Precise, determined dribbling was matched with a willingness to take on the shot. Efficiency in possession is a new facet to his game, and a welcome one.

Keane 8.0
Got the bit between his teeth after the penalty and sealed the win to register a phenomenal 37 goals in 86 internationals. Lethal. 

Doyle 8.0
Looked dangerous every time he took up the ball. Drove at the heart of the defence to make the Georgians uncomfortable and caused numerous problems with his presence in the opposition box.

Subs:

S Hunt n/a
Hit the target twice.

Georgia:

Lomaia 5.5
Didn't inspire confidence with his handling and could have done better on Keane's second goal.

Lobjanidze 6.0
Unlucky to have conceded a penalty as his contribution until then had been solid. Supported his attack when permitted and defended well against all but McGeady.

Kaladze 7.0
Used his experience to compete well in challenges and was an outlet for a simple pass throughout.

Khizanishvili 6.5
Had to do the mucky stuff for the less mobile Kaladze and looked rusty in the execution of his duties.

Kvirkvelia 4.5
The weakest link of the Georgia back-four; given a torrid time by both Duff and McGeady and saw possession turned over regularly from his boot.

Mentesahshvili 7.0
Got through a fair amount of work in the first half with crisp challenges and short accurate passes. Was withdrawn due to a caution and Georgia were weaker for his absence.

Gotsiridze 6.0
Tried hard to influence the encounter when in possession and showed a good willingness to receive the ball. Could do with a few more outings at this level.

Kobiashvili 8.0
The veteran showed guile and class throughout; visionary passing and sound positioning.

Iashvili 7.5
Snatched his goal bravely and was the Georgian's biggest attacking threat all night. Gave Kelly a horrid return to the international stage.

Razmadze 6.0
Enjoyed nice link-ups with Kobiashvili and had one or two chances of his own.

Siradze 5.5
Dropped deep to give his side an extra presence in midfield and was a handful, if not a goal threat, for the Irish back four.

Subs:

Khmaladze

Merebashvili

Aleksidze
Diego Maradona continued his winning start as Argentinean coach as the Albiceleste beat France in a highly competitive game in Marseille. A first half strike from Jonas Gutierrez was doubled by Lionel Messi in the closing stages of the match. Les Bleus would certainly enjoy their spells of pressure; however, the Argentine defence was hugely impressive and held out impassively to maintain a clean sheet.

France head coach Raymond Domenech had promised before the game that there would be no quarter given by his men, who were keen to play the fixture as close to a competitive match as possible. Many fouls broke up play, giving the match a disjointed feel at times and, as a result, the two sides failed to create a good number of clear-cut opportunities.

Those chances that did arrive tended to fall towards the French, who would enjoy marginal dominance and territory over the opening 45 minutes. Les Bleus first tentative opening came after good work from Franck Ribery, who would give Emiliano Papa a torrid time, saw the Bayern Munich star create room for a cross that was inadequately cleared. Thierry Henry pounced on the ball but his effort was comfortably off target.

Lionel Messi was not be outdone by the home favourite. Fed by Sergio Aguero, he burst into the box with a characteristic turn of speed but his effort was blocked by the giant boot of William Gallas.

After a slight lull in proceedings, France would enjoy a significant spell of pressure. Nicolas Anelka would be superbly denied by the impressive Juan Pablo Carrizo has he attempted to score from just inside the box. Henry was given room to shoot from 25 yards, something he dually did, finding the Argentine goalkeepers handling uncertain as he needed two attempts to hold his stinging shot. Riberys dancing feet then created space down the right again but his effort was blocked by the custodian.

Messi and Aguero were being well marshalled by the French defence, however, les Bleus had not reckoned on the force of Newcastle United star Jonas Gutierrez. Moments after seriously testing home goalkeeper Steve Mandanda for the first time, the midfielder would win the ball on the left, bustle into the box and strike a crisp shot into the net with his right foot.

Shaken by conceding minutes before the interval, France threatened to fall further behind as Javier Zanetti pushed up to the edge of the box, however, the full-backs effort was repelled by Mandanda.

Openings were few in the early stages of the second half as France wanted to push on but were quickly shut down by the impressive visiting defence. When Diego Maradonas men received possession, they frequently looked to counter quickly, with Messi and Aguero particular thorns to the French defenders, however, the tricky strike duo were unable to threaten Mandandas goal despite scaring the home defence with their pace and skill.

Waves of French attacks continued to break against the Argentine defensive wall rather peacefully. Philippe Mexes headed a Ribery corner over the bar while the quiet Yoann Gourcuff delivered a dangerous free-kick that was gobbled up solidly by the visiting goalkeeper.

The intensity of the match, for a friendly, was quite remarkable, yet the brilliance of Fernando Gago and Javier Mascherano in the Argentine midfield was notable by the few opportunities France had to strike at goal.

Just as the game appeared to be drifting towards a tame conclusion, Messi capped his performance with an excellent goal. Substitute Carlos Teves powered forward, finding the diminutive striker, who spun Bakari Sagna before beating Mandanda with a shot that ripped past the goalkeeper.

Content to keep possession where possible in the closing stages, this goal effectively finished the match off. The home crowd shouted ole with every completed Argentine pass on an evening that a very enjoyable, and very watchable, international friendly had been played out in front of them.

Diego Maradona can be pleased with the manner in which his side won. Defensively they were solid while, in Frances half, they always posed a significant threat to their opposition with the dangerous duo of Messi and Aguero leading the line.

Other than Ribery, who was electric at times in the first half before fading a little in the second, France lacked such inspiration when attacking. With a key World Cup double-header against Lithuania fast approaching in the spring, Domenech will need to find some additional flair from somewhere or else les Bleus dreams of South Africa could be in tatters.

FRANCE 0-2 ARGENTINA

0-1 40 Jonas Gutierrez
0-2 82 Lionel Messi

France: Mandanda; Sagna, Abidal, Mexes, Gallas; L. Diarra, Toulalan; Ribery, Gourcuff, Henry; Anelka (Benzema, 65)

Yellow Cards: Toulalan 18, Gallas 38

Argentina: Carrizo; Zanetti, Papa, Heinze, Demichelis; Mascherano, Gago, Maxi Rodriguez (Angeleri, 81), Jonas Gutierrez; Messi, Aguero (Tevez, 81)
Prior to kick-off, head coach of France, Raymond Domenech, had said that les Bleus would treat the fixture as they would a competitive encounter. The capacity crowd was not be let down as Argentina responded, contributing to a highly intense fixture, which the Albiceleste would win 2-0 thanks to goals from Jonas Gutierrez and Lionel Messi.

Even in defeat, Domenech has treated the encounter as a largely positive affair, stating that his players would have taken a great deal from the match. We learned tonight, he declared to television station TF1 in the immediate aftermath of the game. The players have learned a lot. It was a good team against a great team. We showed that we too have quality. We must now confirm that in the [World Cup] qualifiers because the opposition we faced this evening was strong.

Question marks will still be raised about the defence. After keeping a clean sheet against Uruguay in November, the French rearguard once again looked suspect. Goalkeeper Steve Mandanda had an unconvincing match while both goals came down the flank of right-back Bacary Sagna. Even the central defensive pairing of William Gallas and Philippe Mexes did not look entirely convincing.

Domenech has just over a month to iron these problems out or hope his players were schooled sufficiently this evening to eradicate their errors.

Player Ratings: Germany 0-1 Norway

February 11, 2009
Germany:  

Rene Adler-6.0: The young keeper was given the nod for the full 90 minutes ahead of Tim Wiese. He didnt look totally secure when fumbling an early shot from Skjelbred, but did produce two fine saves from Helstad and Pedersen.  

Andreas Hinkel-6.5: The Celtic full-back was impressive in the 45 minutes he was given in the first-half. He was more often to be found in the opposition half going forward and c****ined well with Bastian Schweinsteiger.   

Per Mertesacker-6.0:  Rarely in trouble at the back against the lone striker Thorstein Helstad. Did well when called upon before being replaced at half-time.     

Heiko Westermann- 6.0: A solid enough performance from Westermann, but not as dangerous going forward as he is for his club side. Did very well just before half-time to deny Helstad.     

Philipp Lahm-6.5: Didnt get forward as much in the first-half as Hinkel in the first half but did in the second. Had one effort that he curled just wide of the far post having cut in well from the flank.   

Torsten Frings-6.0:  Frings showed good energy early on as he looked to impress on his recall, but never really stamped his authority on the game. Sacrificed midway through the second half for the more attack minded Marin.     

Michael Ballack-5.5: A very pedestrian performance from Ballack. He started brightly enough with a good shot and headed chance in the first half, but he largely left the initiative to Schweinsteiger and failed to lead by example.   

Bastian Schweinsteiger-7.0:  The Bayern midfielder was probably the pick of the bunch for Germany.  He seemed to be the one with all the drive and ideas going forward when those around seemed to be lacking in drive.  He looks a prime candidate for a move into the centre, where he looked more dangerous.       

Piotr Trochowski- 6.0: His crosses were not as dangerous as normal, and it was rather an unspectacular performance from the Hamburg man. 

Miroslav Klose-5.0: Klose was the hero for Bayern at the weekend, but was a non-entity tonight. He has just two meaningful touches in the first half before Patrick Helmes replaced him at the interval.   

Mario Gomez-5.0: Tonight was the chance for Super Mario to prove all the doubters wrong, but he failed to do that.  He missed a great chance in the 10th minute, and never looked confident.  Caught offside too often and didnt click with Miroslav Klose at all.      

Substitutes  

Serdar Tasci- 6.0: Nothing negative to say about Tasci as he settled in well alongside Westermann.  

Andreas Beck- 6.0
:  At fault a little for the goal, but showed some good touches going forward.  

Patrick Helmes- 5.5
: Didnt really have the impact his substitution had hoped for and didnt really have a sniff at goal.    

Stefan Kiessling- n/a

Marko Marin- n/a

Mesut Oezil- n/a  

Norway:  

Rune Jarstein- 6.5:  The Norway keeper was only really called upon once and he saved well from Gomez after 57 minutes.  He must have thought he would be in for a much busier evening.     

Tom Hoegli-6.5: Played his part in the massed ranks defence employed by Egil Olsen and thwarted all German attacks that came his way. Solid rather than spectacular.   

Brede Hangeland-7.0:  The giant centre-back led the back line well and always seemed to be on hand to clear the danger.  Part of a well organised back line.     

Kjetil Waehler- 6-0:  Quiet, unassuming yet efficient and solid member of the back four. Never caught out and deserved to be part of a clean sheet. 

Trond Erik Bertelsen-7.0
: The full-back was kept busy by Andreas Hinkel in the first-half, but ventured forward much more in the second 45 minutes.  

Per Ciljan Skjelbred-7.0: The midfielder tested Adler with a fine shot early on and came very close to scoring Norways second goal in the second half, but he fizzed his shot over the bar.  

Martin Andresen- 7.0: He performed the important holding role very well and provided a good screen in front on the back four.   

Christian Grindheim-6.5
: The goal scorer will grab the headlines and he played solidly throughout. Had more freedom in the second half and joined in with Norways counter attacks well as his goal testified.   

Morten Gamst Pedersen-6.5:  Quiet in the first half, but livelier in the second.  It was his long throw and then low cross which set up the goal.  He also went close with a shot towards the end of the game.   

Daniel Braaten-7.0: Braaten was the one who looked to get forward and support the lone striker Helstad the most.  He could have won a penalty in the first half after a direct run towards the German box.  He was a threat throughout the time he was on the pitch.   

Thorstein Helstad-7.0: Playing the lone role up front wasnt easy, but Helstad caused problems for the German defence and went close twice in the first-half.  Taken off in the second-half as coach Olsen wanted to tighten things up even more.   

Substitutes  

Bjorn Helge Riise-6.0: Did well with the time he was on the pitch.

Fredrik Stromstad- n/a

Erik Huseklepp- n/a

Erik Nevland- n/a
Wednesday February 11, 2009 (CET)
19:00 Cameroon 3-1 Guinea
19:30 Turkey 1-1 Ivory Coast
19:45 Romania 1-2 Croatia
20:00 Macedonia 1-1 Moldova
20:00 Morocco 0-0 Czech Republic
20:30 Austria 0-2 Sweden
20:30 Switzerland 1-1 Bulgaria
20:45 Belgium 1-0 Slovenia

Cameroon 3-1 Guinea

Samuel Eto'o set the Stade Robert Bobin de Bondoufle in Paris  alight as he led Cameroon to a convincing win over struggling Guinea.

It was Geremi Njitap who opened the scoring with a fantastic free-kick, but Barcelona star Eto'o doubled the advantage shortly after the break after a lovely counter-attack led by Geremi and Rigobert Song.

Syli Nationale captain Pascal Feindouno pulled one back after being put through by Fode Mansare, but Eto'o was on hand with a sensational strike that beat Kemoko Camara from fully thirty yards to round off the evening.

Turkey 1-1 Ivory Coast

Turkey were pegged back to a 1-1 draw against the Ivory Coast in Izmir thanks to a late, late goal from Didier Drogba.

Gokhan Unal opened the scoring for the Crescent-Stars after good work from Tuncay Sanli and Caner Erkin.

From there the hosts pressed further, Unal coming close again after an Arda Turan cross, but at the other end Emmanuel Eboue skimmed the post with an opportunistic drive.

Turkey began to lose the initiative towards the end of the game as Yaya Toure looked especially active, but it was up to Drogba to seal that last-gasp leveler with a well-placed finish following Bakari Kone's cross.

Romania 1-2 Croatia

Croatia came from behind to pick up a 2-1 victory over a disappointing Romania in Bucharest.

Arguably even more important than the result was the fact that Arsenal's Eduardo returned to competitive football tonight, playing the final half hour after coming on for Ivica Olic.

Still, the first stages belonged to the Tricolorii, who despite having fewer moments of possession took the lead through Ciprian Marica, who got on the end of Razvan Cocis' through ball - albeit via a deflection - to open the scoring with a nutmegged finish.

But five minutes before the break Croatia were right back in it after Ivan Rakitic netted from forty yards with a looping free-kick that everyone in the box - not least Romania 'keeper Bogdan Lobont - completely missed.

The comeback was complete fifteen minutes from time after Niko Kranjcar was eventually able to steer the ball home after a goalmouth scramble following Rakitic's corner.

FYR Macedonia 1-1 Moldova

Moldova held their Macedonian visitors to a draw despite an ongoing personnel crisis, the result leaving the boys in red more than a bit disappointed considering the strength of their linup.

The visitors held the bulk of the possession in the early stages, and although chances were at a premium they did seem the more likely side to score.

This they did when Darko Tasevski set up Goran Pandev for the opener eight minutes after the break.

But complacency cost The Red Lions as Valeriu Andronic of Inter-Gaz Bucharest equalised just seven minutes later with a long-range effort.

Tasevski hit the bar right at the death, but Moldova had done enough for the draw.

Morocco 0-0 Czech Republic

The partisan Morocco crowd in Casablanca witnessed their heroes hold the Czech Republic to a 0-0 draw this evening.

A sedate first half, though, offered little by way of excitement: there were only two chances of note, the first coming after a Marek Matejovsky error let Hamdavi through, and the next at the other end as Jaroslav Plasil narrowly missed the target.

But the second half brought plenty more drama, with Roman Bednar scraping the crossbar with a header soon after the restart after good work from substitute Tomas Necid.

Morocco, though, twice almost seized the win, with 19-year-old Tottenham Hotspur prodigy Adel Taarabt hitting the bar and Youssouf Hadji nearly netting at the death.

Austria 0-2 Sweden

Any concerns over Sweden's forward line were dispelled after the boys in yellow beat Austria 2-0 in Graz.

The Austrians came close through Paul Scharner just before the break, but in fact young prodigy Rasmus Elm drew first *lo** with a delicious volley from just inside the box.

Minutes later Kim Kallstrom floated a lovely free-kick in off the woodwork to make it 2-0.

Home coach Karel Bruckner attempted to turn things around by introducing Christoph Saurer and Mario Kienzl, but despite some increased midfield invention there was no conviction in the hosts' finishes.

Switzerland 1-1 Bulgaria

A dour encounter in Geneva saw the Swiss hosts held by entertaining but somehow lacking Bulgaria.

Dimitar Berbatov and Ivelin Popov were best for the Lions, who had the best of the opportunities in the early stages of the game.

Indeed, it was Popov who linked up with Stanislav Manolev to open the scoring midway through the first half.

But the Switzerland outfit did not give up, and Alex Frei soon set up Benjamin Huggel for the equaliser.

Although the Swiss were second best in the second half, too, the 9,500 home fans would at least have been pleased by Marco Padalino's impressive debut.

Belgium 1-0 Slovenia

A Daniel Van Buyten double was sufficient to put Belgium en route to victory past disappointing Slovenia in Genk.

Admittedly the visitors may have been somewhat perturbed by the fact that the Slovakian anthem, rather than the Slovenian, greeted them at kick-off.

The Bayern outcast netted first 20 minutes in after being left unmarked in a crowded box to fire past Samir Handanovic.

Kevin Mirallas could have made it 2-0 soon afterwards after a mistake by Miso Brecko, but he missed the target as Belgium continued to dominate the first half.

Steeled by hearing the correct national anthem at half-time, the heavily-altered Slovenia outfit came out stronger for the second period.

But despite enjoying plenty of possession, and the Belgian defence's looking less than solid, only Milivoje Novakovic and Dalibor Stevanovic were to enjoy chances, both of which they squandered.

Thus it was left up to 'Big Dan' Van Buyten to tap home for the second right at the end after Tom de Sutter hit the post.

Jamaica vs Nigeria Live

February 11, 2009
Started By scyaffy0 Comments
http://footballtodewurl.blogspot.com/

Shivnarine Chanderpaul enjoys long stays, both at the crease and currently at the top of the Test cricket's world rankings.

The West Indian star sits comfortably above the likes of Graeme Smith, Ricky Ponting, Kevin Pietersen or Sachin Tendulkar. But unlike them, he is the epitome of substance over style.

Considering the West Indies managed only one win in nine Tests in 2008, Chanderpaul's coronation as the International Cricket Council's Cricketer of the Year last September is nothing short of a remarkable achievement.

So if 2009 is anything like the previous two years, England's biggest challenge in the Caribbean in the Test series which starts on Wednesday will be penetrating fortress Chanderpaul.

In his last two series against England, the left-hander has averaged 72.83 and an astonishing 148.67 - even the great Don Bradman could not match the latter over a single series.

In the 2007 series in England, he averaged nearly 12 hours at the crease in total, compiling 448 mostly unspectacular, yet equally priceless runs.

"He doesn't give anything away," England fast bowler Ryan Sidebottom has said. "Even when you beat the bat, he still hangs in there.

"Nothing seems to affect him and if you are slightly off line, he will punish you.

"He plays the ball very late, which may be why he plays and misses quite a bit because he doesn't follow the ball. You have just got to be patient yourself and make him play as much as possible."

Attempting to describe Chanderpaul's technique to someone who has never seen him bat without using the word "unorthodox" is impossible
INDIANAPOLIS (AP) - LeBron James grudgingly lived with the NBA's non-star treatment Tuesday night.
Cleveland coach Mike Brown could not.

After James scored 47 points and almost single-handedly rallied the Cavaliers to force overtime, the unthinkable happened. James, the NBA's No. 2 scorer, drew a foul with 0.2 seconds left, and Danny Granger made 1-of-2 free throws to seal an improbable 96-95 victory that sent James to the locker room in disgust and the usually composed Brown into a tirade.

"That last call, on the run, is the worst call that I have ever been a part of," Brown said. "I cannot imagine another worse call than that. It was an awful call and for him to take away a basketball game from a team with .4 seconds on the clock is irresponsible."

A few moments earlier, the Pacers thought they had been wronged.

Leading 95-93 with 0.8 seconds left, the Cavs tried an alley-oop play to James off the inbounds pass. Granger stepped in front of James, who couldn't catch the ball but drew the foul, and then made both free throws to tie it at 95.

After a timeout, the Pacers ran the same play. This time, with Granger cutting to the basket and James chasing, Granger got the call.

"Luckily, we ran a good play and got the same call," Granger said.

But NBA stars, especially those in the realm of James, aren't supposed to be treated this way - especially in a game they've dominated.

It didn't make any difference Tuesday, much to the chagrin of James and his fuming coach.

"For it to end that way, it's definitely tough on us," a subdued James said. "You never want a game to end that way."

Brown, however, was less diplomatic.

He repeatedly criticized the officials in his postgame interview, possibly setting himself up for a league fine that he, apparently, is willing to pay after watching this one.

"I don't care if I get fined. It is what it is. I saw the two plays; just a bad call determined the outcome of that game," Brown said. "If they want to fine me for telling the truth, fine me. This isn't me. I never do this."

For 47 minutes, 59.8 seconds, James was his usual spectacular self.

He connected on 15 of 21 shots, 13 of 14 free throws, made 4 of 7 3-pointers, had seven rebounds and four assists. He repeatedly had the crowd on its feet with high-flying dunks, nifty no-look passes, one spectacular block and an array of head fakes, crossover dribbles and acrobatic moves.

Yet somehow, perhaps with a little help from the officials, the short-handed Pacers absorbed the body blows and survived.

Troy Murphy scored 18 to lead Indiana, while Granger, playing on a sore right knee, added 16. Indiana was also missing three key contributors - Marquis Daniels, Mike Dunleavy and Jeff Foster - but got key plays late from backups like Travis Diener and Brandon Rush.

The c****ination ended Cleveland's nine-game winning streak over the Pacers, and the Cavs were in disbelief after losing their second straight for the first time all season.

"The last call against me was not questionable at all," James contended. "No contact was made. The pass was short. You couldn't go to the rim. I was able to get a hand on it."

James spent most of the night turning Conseco Fieldhouse into his own personal showcase.

He scored 17 in the first quarter, and his three-point play late in the first half gave Cleveland a 43-42 halftime lead.

Yet after three quarters, Indiana was still within 68-67 and opened the fourth quarter with a seven-point flurry to take a 74-67 lead.

Cleveland never led again and didn't tie it until James found the cutting Wally Szczerbiak for a layup with 20.8 seconds left to make it 93-93.

Indiana wanted the final shot, and it appeared T.J. Ford hit the winner with a 17-foot fadeaway with 0.8 seconds left.

But the crazy finish changed everything, including the role of goat and the tenor of the coaches.

"It was predetermined from the call that was made at the other end of the floor, and it is very unfortunate," Brown said. "We got the game taken away from us. Absolutely horrible."

Notes: Pete Rose, baseball's all-time hits leader, attended the game. Also in the stands were NBA Hall of Famer Larry Bird, the Pacers president, and new Colts coach Jim Caldwell. ... Swingman Sasha Pavlovic missed his first game since spraining his right ankle Sunday. ... Newly named All-Star Mo Williams had 15 points and six rebounds for Cleveland. ... The Pacers are now 6-10 in games decided by three points or fewer. ... Indiana has beaten the three teams with the NBA's best records this season: Boston, Cleveland and Los Angeles.

Brazil turned on the style to beat world champions Italy 2-0 in a friendly on Tuesday and end coach Marcello Lippi's bid for a record 32-match unbeaten run. Elano and Robinho scored first-half goals to help Brazil make light of Kaka's absence and put on a performance at Arsenal's Emirates Stadium which belied their coach Dunga's reputation as a dour tactician. "We all know what Robinho can do but we talked about putting pressure on the Italians to recover the ball. He showed good personality and fitted well into the team," Dunga told a news conference. Elano added to the two goals he scored for Brazil against Argentina at the same stadium in 2006 with a fine opener in the 13th minute. He laid the ball back to Manchester City team mate Robinho and picked up the return pass before slotting it past Gianluigi Buffon. Robinho then had the Brazilian section of the crowd at the Emirates in raptures with a brilliant solo goal. Italy captain Fabio Cannavaro's attempted overhead shot was cleared and his opposite number Lucio broke fast downfield before laying the ball off to the right. Ronaldinho, who mixed silky skills with wayward passing all night, crossed poorly and Italy's Andrea Pirlo appeared to have control of the situation. But Robinho robbed him of possession and tricked his way past two other defenders before shooting clinically into the far corner off the post. The defending was poor on both sides but Brazil built their victory on the commitment of their players to win back the ball whenever they lost it, as epitomised by Robinho when he scored his goal. Italy twice had the ball in the net but were denied first when a high Pirlo ball into the Brazil box was brilliantly volleyed past Julio Cesar by left back Fabio Grosso from an offside position. Substitute striker Luca Toni had a second-half effort ruled out after he controlled the ball with his arm under pressure from Lucio and Juan before steering it into the net. Toni might have pulled one back near the end but Julio Cesar blocked his neat close-range flick from a low cross. Lippi said his team had not approached the match positively enough. "We played with some fear," he said. "We had too much respect for Brazil."

Dyson wants more

February 10, 2009
Started By dj rushie1 Comments

West Indies coach John Dyson was still excited Sunday from his side's famous innings and 23-run victory over England in the opening Test inside four days at Sabina Park.

It allowed Dyson the luxury of 'lyming' by the pool at the team's hotel and a few laps in the aquamarine water on what would have been the fifth and final day of the Test.

"I was pleased with the way the whole team stuck at the task," he told reporters on Sunday just minutes before taking a celebratory dip in the pool.

"There were lots of contributions, including some major contributions from the high-profile players, and there were well assisted by some of the other players.

"I also liked the way that when we had England on the ropes [on Saturday], we actually drove that advantage home and won the game."

Dyson was not quite prepared to refer to the victory as a turning point, but he was glad that many of the things he had preached to his players in the year had finally been grasped and bore fruit.

"I think we are showing that some of those things are coming into our game," Dyson said.

"As I said about 12 months ago, people that want someone to come to the Caribbean and snap their fingers and do a Merlin the Magician and change things overnight will not see it happen.

"They are some long-term things and aspects of our game that take time to change and consistently reproduce in the middle."

Dyson thinks his side is beginning to show more consistency, and once they can maintain this, the results will get better.

"In the last 12 months, we have had a number of good performances, and every time we have a good performance, people want to know if this is the turning point, is the West Indies on the way up," he said.

"But I keep saying that we have to be really patient because there are days when we have some terrific performances, and there are some other days when we are not so good.

"We have become more consistent. We played a few consistent matches in New Zealand, and we have continued here.

"What we need now is for some of the other players to show the ability which they have and put some consistent performances on the board.

"When we can put all the things together that is when we will play consistently good cricket."

The second Test at the Vivian Richards Cricket Ground in Antigua begins on Friday.

In a stinging indictment of what went wrong with the American athletics teams at the Beijing Olympics, a task force lashed out at the relay system, recommended streamlining Olympic trials, and called for a more stringent policy for drug cheats who want to be reinstated.

The 69-page report released yesterday was commissioned by USA Track and Field's new CEO, Doug Logan.

Americans led all countries with 23 athletics medals in Beijing but failed to live up to expectations in many areas. Their seven gold medals were the lowest haul since the 1997 World Championships. The task force is called 'Project 30,' a reference to the goal of winning 30 medals at the 2012 London Olympics.

The nine-person panel, which included sprint great Carl Lewis, decried an overall "lack of accountability, professionalism and cohesion" among staff, coaches and athletes. The group suggested athletes focus more on winning Olympic medals, less on things such as appearance fees and access to TVs in the Olympic village.

To spearhead all the changes, the task force called for the hiring of a general manager to oversee all aspects of USA Track and Field (USATF), which long has been criticised as being too political and balkanised.

Most important issue

Though not specifically asked to cover the doping issue, the task force said, "This is the single most important issue to the long-term success of track and field, domestically and internationally."

It called for current anti-doping standards to be augmented by the USATF, saying cheaters should be reinstated only if they provide depositions under oath "detailing what went into their decision to cheat, how they obtained and used their drugs, and who contributed to their cheating". It also called for dopers who want to return to enter a "rehab" programme so they could learn how to compete cleanly after their suspensions.

The task force conceded it was likely the system they recommend would be challenged in the courts, but believes the USATF "has a moral obligation to make the effort".

The panel called for the American Relay Program, which spent more than US$1 million and trained 173 athletes from 2003-08 , to be disbanded immediately, saying the concept was good but the execution wasn't.

The panel described a general atmosphere of confusion, politicking and anxiety that ultimately led to bad exchanges between Darvis Patton and Tyson Gay in the men's race and Torri Edwards and Lauryn Williams in the women's

Portsmouth fires Adams

February 10, 2009

Tony Adams yesterday became the latest England captain to flop as a topflight club manager when Premier League side Portsmouth announced he had been fired after four months in charge.

The 42-year-old former Arsenal defender, who took over after Harry Redknapp moved to Tottenham, follows in the long line of England stars who failed to succeed as managers.

Seventh manager to leave

Bobby Moore, Bobby Charlton, Bryan Robson and, more recently, Blackburn's Paul Ince, were among those who struggled as managers. Ince was sacked in December, and Adams became the seventh Premier League manager to leave this season.

"It's not turned me off management, I just have to make sure I get all the parameters sorted out before I walk into the next one," Adams said. "I have seven years now in my coaching and management positions and it's all learning.

"In an ideal world, I would go in at the beginning of the season, you get your group of players, you get a fair budget for the league and realistic expectations. It has certainly not been my case."

Adams guided Pompey to only two points from a possible 27 in its last nine Premier League games.

The club has also been knocked out of all cup competitions, including the UEFA Cup. Portsmouth is 16th in the league standings, one point above the relegation zone after losing 3-2 at home to Liverpool on Saturday.

Taylor shoots up ICC ranking

February 10, 2009

Fast bowler Jerome Taylor's heroics against England on Saturday has propelled him 11 places up the ICC Test-bowling rankings to sixth, his highest-ever spot in international cricket's rating system.

The giant leap has put the 24-year-old just behind the fifth-place South African Makhaya Ntini and the fourth-place Australian Mitchell Johnson. Ace Sri Lankan off-spinner, Muttiah Muralitharan, remains on top of the rankings.

Taylor fired West Indies to a comprehensive innings and 23-run win, when he helped rout the English for a paltry 51 with a devastating haul of five for 11 in the first Test at Sabina Park.

The right-arm pacer, who made his debut six years ago, has so far taken 76 wickets from 23 Tests.

Simmons eyes debut

February 10, 2009

PORT-OF-SPAIN, Trinidad (CMC)

Already having tasted international one-day action, opening batsman Lendl Simmons says he is eager to make his Test debut following his call-up to the West Indies squad for the second Test against England.

"I am very happy with the fact that the selectors have shown faith in me once more and that I am back in the West Indies team," said the 24-year-old who has played eight One-Day Internationals.

"I have played one-day cricket for the West Indies already but never Test cricket and I am hoping to be on the Test team for the second Test on Friday.

"I have worked very hard on my game and it has resulted with this call-up and I am hoping to make the best of it."

Simmons was one of two changes to the West Indies squad with left-handed batsman Ryan Hinds also chosen for the second Test of the four-match series starting Friday in Antigua.

The Trinidadian gave the selectors perhaps their firmest nudge when he slammed a career-best 282 for West Indies A against England, in a three-day tour match in St Kitts last week.

He said despite this, he would take nothing for granted against England's attack if given the chance in the upcoming Test.

"I thought that their bowling was pretty ordinary during the tour game but having said that, on different surfaces they might prove a challenge," he noted.

"Once given the opportunity to play, I will be playing each ball on merit and looking to make a significant contribution to the West Indies cause."

Simmons, who has not played for West Indies in almost two years, said becoming a senior player in the Trinidad and Tobago side had lifted his game.

"Ever since I became one of the senior batsmen on the national team, my game started to improve," he said.

"I think that this added responsibility has really helped my batting and taken me from strength to strength."

West Indies won the first Test against England by an innings and 23 runs inside four days last Saturday, after routing the tourists for 51 in their second innings.

Marshall axed!

February 10, 2009
Started By dj rushie2 Comments

West Indies have fortified their batting by bringing Ryan Hinds and Lendl Simmons into their squad for the second Test against England, starting on Friday at the Vivian Richards Cricket Ground.

Though West Indies would have few complaints about their batting in the opening Test, which they won by an innings and 23 runs at Sabina Park to take a 1-0 lead in the four-Test series, Hinds and Simmons have been rewarded for strong performances in the last few weeks.

They replace Xavier Marshall and Amit Jaggernauth in the squad, with the injury to uncapped opener Dale Richards ruling him out of consideration for selection.

No justice

Marshall, whose place in the side was in serious question, did his chances no justice, when he fell for a two-ball duck in the only innings West Indies batted, and off-spinner Jaggernauth did not play and was sent home to take part in the WICB regional four-day competition over the weekend.

Hinds currently leads the batting aggregates in the regional first-class competition with 585 runs for his native Barbados at an average of 83.57. This includes a career-best 240 against the Leewards, and 134 against Guyana over the weekend.

He has also taken 18 wickets at 18.66 with his left-arm spin. Simmons has played eight One-day Internationals for the West Indies, but he must now feel his Test debut is imminent, following a first-class career best 282 for West Indies-A in England's second tour match in St Kitts just prior to the first Test.

Few options

The inclusion of Hinds and Simmons offers the selectors a few options for Antigua, since right now there is only place up for consideration in the batting, and that's the position vacated by Marshall.

The selectors could, however, take the hard decision and break Devon Smith's heart on Friday morning and penalise him by allowing Simmons to open the batting, a situation with which he is not altogether unfamiliar, leaving Hinds to slot into the number four position.

Nigerian squad:

Goalkeepers - Vincent Enyeama, Austin Ejide, Dele Aiyenugba.

Defenders - Daniel Shittu, Joseph Yobo, Obinna Nwaneri, Taiye Taiwo, Chidi Odiah, Adeleye Ayodele, Onyekachi Apam, Olubayo Adefemi.

Midfielders - John Mikel Obi, Kalu Uche, Paul Obiefule, Sani Kaita, Seyi Olofinjana, Femi Ajilore, Yusuf Ayila.

Forwards - Nwankwo Kanu, Ikechukwu Uche, Obinna Nsofor, Osaze Odemwingie, Joseph Akpala, Michael Eneramo.

Jamaican squad:

Goalkeepers - Dwayne Miller, Shawn Sawyers

Defenders - Tyrone Marshall (Toronto FC), Claude Davis (Derby County), Damion Stewart, (Queens Park Rangers), Tyrone Mears (Marseille, France), Eric Vernan (Portmore United), Demar Phillips (Aelesunds, Norway).

Midfielders - Rodolph Austin (SK Brann), Jason Morrison (Ferencvaros), Jermaine Johnson (Sheffield Wednesday), Wolry Wolfe (Portmore United), Omar Daley (Bradford City), Jamal Campbell-Ryce (Barnsley).

Forwards - Marlon King (Middlesbrough), Dane Richards (Red Bull New York), Deon Burton (Charlton Athletic), Zavon Hines (West Ham United) and Luton Shelton (Aalborg, Denmark).

Newcomer Darren Pratley, of English championship club Swansea City, also saw his debut for the national team put off by injury, as he sustained a serious shoulder injury only a few weeks ago. With so many players unable to report for duty, new national coach John Barnes has had to ring in the replacements, which include 20-year-old debutant striker Zavon Hines of West Ham United, veteran goalscorer Deon Burton and locally based players Wolry Wolfe and custodian Dwayne Miller.

Headed into the game, the Nigerians will be faced with their own injury woes, as they will be without both first-string strikers Yakubu Aiyegbeni of Everton and Newcaslte United's Obafemi Martins. However, minus the forwards, the team will be full strength as the Super Eagles prepare for the World Cup qualifiers. In four games against the Nigerians, Jamaica have won one, lost two and drawn one. Nigeria have been drawn in Group B along with Tunisia, Kenya and Mozambique.

Nigerian squad:

Jamaica's Reggae Boyz could face a much tougher than expected challenge, when they tackle Nigeria's Super Eagles at 2:45 p.m. local time tomorrow, at the New Den Stadium in London, following the absence of several key players due to injuries.

Captain Ricardo Gardner, striker Ricardo Fuller, defensive stalwart Ian Goodison and first-string goalkeeper Donovan Ricketts have all been forced out of the squad set to tackle the Nigerians, due to various ailments.

Gardner, who plies his trade for English Premier League team Bolton Wanderers, did not take part in his team's game against Everton on the weekend because of a sore knee and will not recover in time to suit up against the Eagles. Fuller had to be helped from the pitch after an awkward fall in the first half of his team, Stoke City's, weekend matchup against Sunderland, and could be out for up to three months after surgery to repair a shoulder injury.

Pre-season training

Goodison, who was rock solid for the national team during a failed World Cup qualification bid, could also be set for a lengthy spell on the sidelines, after sustaining an ankle injury in a recent English League One encounter. While Ricketts, who recently moved to Major League Soccer (MLS) team Los Angeles Galaxy, aggravated a finger injury during pre-season training for his new team.

Having only made his senior debut for Inter earlier this year, Davide Santon is already being denoted as one of Italys star players for the future.

He made his debut against Roma in the Coppa Italia quarter-finals back in January, and he was certainly an impressive performer in that match, as he held his own and assisted his side to a commendable 2-1 victory in the process.

As a result of his early promise, Arsene Wenger and Arsenal have stepped in to declare their interest in the 18-year-old, as they wish to lure him to the Emirates Stadium.

According to The Daily Mirror, the Arsenal manager will send an emissary to monitor the progress of the young Italian this weekend, as Inter do battle with Milan in the Derby della Madonnina.

If they like what they see, then expect Wenger and the club to pursue their interest a lot further, as they look to bolster their defence for the future.

Serie A Team Of The Week: Round 23

February 10, 2009
BEST XI

Formation: 3-4-3

Goalkeeper

Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus)/ Sebastien Frey (Fiorentina):
These two masters could not be separated as they both single-handedly won their sides three points against Catania and Lazio respectively. Buffon made at least three world class stops, while Frey also put on a goalkeeping clinic, which included three one-on-one saves.

Defence

Cristian Zapata (Udinese):
Starting to find his feet after a long injury layoff, playing a key role at the back for the Zebrette during the clean-sheet win over Bologna.

Juan (Roma): Has been in dominant form of late, and was rock solid once again, helping to silence Diego Militos Genoa at the Stadio Olimpico. Imperious alongside Philippe Mexes.

Thomas Manfredini (Atalanta):
Keeps his place in Team of the Week with another solid showing, as Atalanta made it two 1-0 wins on the bounce at Cagliari. Suffocated the dangerous Jeda and Robert Acquafresca.

Midfield

Fabio Simplicio (Palermo):
Continued his fine campaign with an impressive display against Napoli, where he outshone the likes of Gargano and Hamsik. Also got on the scoresheet to ensure that the Rosanero won all three points.

Daniele De Rossi (Roma):
Emperor of Rome during the 3-0 win over fellow Champions League challengers Genoa. Ran the show in the middle-of-the-park, and provided a wondrous assist for Vucnics stunning second. De Rossi has hit top form just in time for Arsenal.

Esteban Cambiasso (Inter):
Outstanding during Inters 3-0 win at Lecce. Supplied the pass for Ibrahimovics opener, and dominated the midfield for the entire 90 minutes.

Antonio Cassano (Sampdoria):
A clear message to Marcello Lippi after his latest international snub. Cassanos assist for Pazzinis goal was pure genius, as he dribbled past four players. Such a wasted talent.

Attack

Davide Di Gennaro (Reggina): The former Milan youth product, and Rossoneri supporter, returned to hurt the club of his heart. Scored for the Amaranto, and went close on two other occasions. A very talented player, it will be interesting to see how Di Gennaro develops in the coming years.

Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Inter): Gives a rather machine-like Inter team that little bit of unpredictable quality, and he was again crucial in the win at Lecce. Broke the deadlock with a clinical finish and was class-personified throughout.

Mirko Vucinic (Roma): When the big games come around, Vucinic never fails to perform. Excellent all afternoon against Genoa, his goal brought back memories of Marco Van Bastens amazing volley for Holland against the USSR in the final of Euro 88.

Buffon/Frey

Zapata- Juan- Manfredini

Simplicio- De Rossi- Cambiasso- Cassano

Di Gennaro- Ibrahimovic- Vucinic

Honourable Mentions

Julio Cesar (Inter)
Mathieu Flamini (Milan)
Santos (Reggina)
Luca Cigarini (Atalanta)
Cristiano Doni (Atalanta)
Giuseppe Mascara (Catania)
Takayuki Morimoto (Catania)
Momo Sissoko (Juventus)
Amauri (Juventus)
Alberto Gilardino (Fiorentina)
Pasquale Foggia (Lazio)
Francesco Totti (Roma)
Marius Stankevicius (Sampdoria)
Daniele Galloppa (Siena)
Stefano Sorrentino (Chievo)
Alexis Sanchez (Udinese)
Fabrizio Miccoli (Palermo)

Defensor Sporting Sneak Past America

February 10, 2009
Uruguayan champions Defensor Sporting claimed a precious 1-0 victory over Col****ian champions America de Cali, in the inaugurating match of Group 4 of the Copa Libertadores.

Argentine midfielder Julio Marchant was the man-of-the-match, as he provided the service for his teammates throughout the entire ninety minutes. The former Boca Juniors player was at the heart of Defensor's best attacks.

The first half was played under torrential rainfall at the legendary Centenario stadium in Montevideo, and this was the main reason why the fans stayed away.

As the minutes ticked by Defensor completely played in America's half, and it seemed that at any moment they would take the lead.

After much pressure, Defensor finally went ahead in the 37th minute, when Pablo Gaglianone beat America goalkeeper Julian Mesa with a fine header.

After the break the Col****ians picked up their game, as they searched for an equalizer. They came closest to scoring through Gustavo Ramos, but his close-range effort was kept out by Martin Silva.

America continued to threaten the Defensor goal, but the hard working Uruguayans managed to hang on to three vital home points.

The other two teams in their group are Brazilian champions Sao Paulo and Independiente Medellin.
BEST XI

Formation: 4-3-3

Goalkeeper

Shay Given (Newcastle United)
Put on a fine goalkeeping clinic in his first outing in Manchester City colours. His relentless and instinctive shot-stopping thwarted numerous opposition advances, and he had the better of Afonso Alves on each and every one of his four chances. Fair play to you Seamus. Top marks for the fella.

Defence

William Gallas (Arsenal)
Arsenal had not lost in ten games going into the north London derby, and that was extended to 11 as Willy Gee and co helped shut out Tottenham's advances, made the more arduous of tasks with the first half dismissal of Emmanuel Eboue. Gallas was strong in the air, and contained Roman Pavlyuchenko with ease.

Nemanja Vidic (Manchester United)
I'm fast running out of unique superlative-heavy anecdotes to rhyme out on this rock of a man. So instead I'll lay a little fact out there. Vidic is the one mainstay of a defence that has changed nine times during the club's record-breaking 20+ hours without a goal concession. He was again on invincible form.

Curtis Davies (Aston Villa)
Gabriel Agbonlahor has hailed the Villans' defence by saying it's been as pivotal as the efficiency of the forward line. The rearguard was lacking the presence of Martin Laursen, but defensive leaders still popped up, young Curt being one of them.

Michael Turner (Hull City)
He's spent a lengthy spell away from the Team of the Week, but has made a good return to the squad for his part in the shutting out of Chelsea, on their home ground no less, in a result that was to see Luiz Felipe Scolari relieved of his managerial duties.

Midfield

Yossi Benayoun (Liverpool)
In a midfield that lacked both Xabi Alonso and Steven Gerrard, together with a forward line where Fernando Torres did not start, it would not have been absurd to bet against the Reds scoring thrice. That they did though, and Benayoun was one of the most creative in the Liverpool line-up. Had a hand in the decisive last-minute goal.

Wilson Palacios (Tottenham Hotspur)
Another debutant has done enough to impress and ensure his position in the Goal.com Best XI. This time Palacios, who strides out for his third club in the Premier League. It is ironic that he was originally brought to England under an Arsene Wenger recommendation, and is now playing for Spurs, yet is a player who could have proved a formidable partner for Cesc Fabregas. As it happens, he will cut an equally effective  understanding with Luka Modric.

James Milner (Aston Villa)
The tactics from set-play that Villa employ seem to come straight from the training ground. Milner opened the scoring by finishing from an acute angle following a corner kick. And he could have doubled his account during the second half after some good interplay with Ashley Young.

Attack

Craig Bellamy
(Manchester City)
The Welshman scored for the second time in front of his new home crowd with a cool, calm, and collected finish. It proved to be the only goal of the game, so well done Craig.

Gabriel Agbonlahor (Aston Villa)
His deflected drive sealed the win for Villa, and ensured that Fabio Capello may have some serious thinking to do as to whom to field in the Spain game on Wednesday. Surely Gabby deserves the nod? That's ten now. The highest-ranked Englishman. And, as Villa fans will bellow out on every matchday: "Gabby, Gabby, Gabby Agbonlahor... he's fast as f***, he's fast as f**-**" [to the tune of Karma Chameleon, bizarrely enough].

Jo (Everton)
Who would have thought that the expensive Brazilian import from Russia who had flunked so spectacularly at Manchester City, could slot in at Everton and record a deuce? David Moyes, apparently. The Scot even admitted that he wanted to sign him last summer.

Given
Turner - Davies - Vidic -Gallas
Milner - Palacios -Benayoun
Agbonlahor                        Bellamy
Jo

Honourable Mentions

Ryan Giggs (Manchester United)
Kenwyne Jones (Sunderland)
Alexandre Song (Arsenal)
Scott Parker (West Ham United)
Fernando Torres (Liverpool)
Peter Lovendkrands (Newcastle United)
Luka Modric (Tottenham Hotspur)
Stephen Ireland (Manchester City)
Ashley Young (Aston Villa)
Manuel Almunia (Arsenal)
British tabloid The Sun reports that doctors have advised Joe Kinnear, the Newcastle United manager, to undergo a coronary artery bypass procedure.

The Irishman was taken to hospital last weekend after suffering heart palpitations prior to the Magpies' Premier League clash with West Bromwich Albion.

Initial reports claimed that 62-year-old had been diagnosed with high *lo**, and that he was determined to get back to work as soon as possible.

However, this latest news - if at all accurate - could spell the end not only of Kinnear's tenure at St. James' Park, but of his managerial career in general.

The former Tottenham Hotspur defender has a history of health problems, and in 1999 he was forced to step down as Wimbledon boss after having a heart attack before a league game against Sheffield Wednesday.

It must be mentioned, though, that these reports conflict with the line coming from Newcastle and Kinnear himself, who seems confident of returning to action by the end of the month.

Spain coach, Vicente del Bosque continues to tinker with his midfield line-up as he ponders who to play alongside Xavi at the centre of the park.

The two front-runners have always been Villarreals Marcos Senna and Liverpools Xabi Alonso, with the pair often alternating for each other in matches but it appears that the latters inside knowledge of the English game may have won him a place in the starting line-up for tonights friendly clash with England.

Del Bosque yesterday completed Spains last training session in front of 2,000 fans at the Ramon Sanchez Pizjuan where he experimented with various midfield c****inations. He finally settled for the Xabi-Xavi partnership in the centre, with David Silva certain to occupy the left flank and Barcelonas Andres Iniesta preferred on the right, leaving Santi Cazorla to start from the bench.

The Euro 2008 champions only concern is in defence after Real Betis centre-back Juanito picked up a last minute niggle, casting his participation in doubt. With Carles Puyol already out, Valencia duo, Raul Albiol and Carlos Marchena will now anchor the heart of the rearguard, with regular full-backs, Sergio Ramos and Joan Capdevila completing the four-man backline. 
Milans recent slip up at home to Reggina has left the club eight points adrift of Inter, who made no mistakes on the road against Lecce in the corresponding round of fixtures last Saturday.

With this in mind, the Rossoneri can ill-afford to lose against their cross town rivals this weekend, as defeat will see them slip a further three points behind the Nerazzurri, which will all but end their hopes of clinching this seasons Scudetto.

In the lead up to this match, Adriano Galliani has given his thoughts on the significance of this particular clash, as well as the importance of claiming as many points as possible from here on end.

We are all very calm at present, as we are still dealing with the problems that were associated with our poor performance against Reggina, Galliani affirmed in the interview with Sportsmediaset.

We have to keep in mind throughout the remainder of the season that the difference in the standings with Inter will come from the results we obtain against the weaker opponents.

In fact, against the bottom five sides in the Serie A, we have managed to record 12 points from seven matches, whilst Inter have got 19 from the same amount.

Against the top fifteen in the league however, we have recorded only one less point than the Nerazzurri, he added.

Fortunately we get the chance to play Inter this weekend, and I am sure that we will do well.

Furthermore in 2008 we won both derbies, so we are hoping to do that again this time around.

When we play at our best, it is extremely hard to stop us, he continued.

Compared with our neighbors, we have traditionally been much better in Europe, where you play big games against big teams, which is why we are confident of overcoming them this weekend, he concluded.

Inter and Milan do battle at the San Siro this Sunday evening, with the play set to get underway at 20:30 CET.

Having just recently recovered from injury, Barcelona and Spains utility man, Andres Iniesta, is hoping to regain the sizzling form he showed throughout 2008.

Despite being absent for two months with a thigh injury, the 24-year-old has been roped straight into Vicente del Bosques La Seleccion for tonights friendly against England, where he looks certain to start the match.

Prior to the game, however, the Blaugrana was asked to compare the football played by his club and country.

Barca and Spain share the same ideas when it comes to the football style and philosophy, he said during the pre-match banter.

Both sides like to have control of the ball, to elaborate the plays, to move the ball around constantly, to attack, but also without forgetting about defending.

We are two different teams, but when it comes to talent, both are the same, he explained.

Iniesta, nicknamed El Nino de Coro [The Choir Boy] then revealed that he was delighted to see his young club-mates, Gerard Pique and Sergio Busquets earn their first call-ups the senior squad.

I am very happy for them and I think they will do well.

They have been doing really great so far this season and it is important to be rewarded with a call to the national team.

I hope they will get to make their debut tomorrow [tonight]. It will be a very special day for them, he concluded.

The friendly encounter will take place at Sevillas Estadio Ramon Sanchez Pizjuan with kick-off scheduled at 22:00 CET.  

Lippi: Brazil Are Stronger Than Italy

February 10, 2009
Started By stonejah0 Comments
The Italians were defeated for the first time since 2004, under the guidance of Marcello Lippi, as Brazil ran away with a fairly convincing 2-0 victory.

Despite playing extremely poorly in the first half, the Azzurri fought back in the second, and had a number of opportunities to give themselves a chance of taking a result away from the clash, mainly through the likes of Luca Toni and Giuseppe Rossi, who impressed at times in the latter stages.

At the completion of the contest, Marcello Lippi was understandably disappointed with the result, however he did stress the fact that at this point in time, their South American opponents are in much better shape, and are a much stronger squad, meaning that his men have a lot more work to do.

At this moment, Brazil are stronger than us, Lippi confessed to Rai in an interview.

Maybe in a year and a half we will be ourselves again or hopefully even before then.

They won the derby of the world, but only for now, he added.

They have players with special features, most of whom are technically gifted.

We are not as strong as we would like to be at the moment and we have a lot of improving to do.

We were a little frightened at times, so we made it hard for ourselves tonight, Lippi concluded.

The Azzurri will have another crack at the Brazilians later in the year, when the two nations do battle in South Africa in the Confederations Cup.
Brazil were the dominant force in their international friendly meeting with Italy, and they deservedly ran away with a 2-0 victory, thanks to first half strikes from Elano and Robinho.

It was an impressive display by the 2002 World Champions, as they made a statement ahead of this years Confederations Cup, and more importantly next years World Cup, both of which are to be held in South Africa.

Following the match, Brazil coach, Dunga, gave his thoughts on the performance of his players, and his content with the result on the night.

Tonight was one of the best games we've played and we are very pleased with the outcome, Dunga declared in a post-match press conference.

Prior to the match we studied the Italians in many areas, mainly on their tactics.

As a result of this, we were able to match them with our depth of talent and the great quality we possess. However, we must also be humble and respectful to our opponents, he added.

Everyone knows the quality of Robinho and Ronaldinho, but everyone played well tonight, including Felipe Melo, who has learned a lot from his Fiorentina boss [Cesare] Prandelli, as well as Adriano, who fought well," he praised.

Dunga had one final comment to make, in regards to a spat he had immediately after the final whistle with Italy right-back, Gianluca Zambrotta.

He [Zambrotta] came to me complaining about the failure of his team, because of the tactics I employed.

But, if I had spoken to, I would have said that every foul they received was worthy of being in a soap opera.

Football is a tough game, and at the end of the day, despite what happened throughout, the scoreboard tells the real story of the night, he concluded.

These latest comments are sure to spark the rivalry between the two nations, prior to their meeting in June, when they will do battle in Group B of the Confederations Cup.
According to The Daily Mail, the Chelsea players want West Ham United boss Gianfranco Zola to take the reins after Luiz Felipe Scolari was sacked as manager on Monday.

Furthermore, the Stamford Bridge stars are also eager for Steve Clarke to return as the Blues' first-team coach, having left last year to join his former team-mate at Upton Park.

Zola, regarded by many as Chelsea's greatest ever player, would naturally be a popular choice with the fans, especially given his recent success with the Hammers.

Under the Italian's guidance, the Green Street club have vaulted up to eighth in the Premier League after the rocky period that followed Alan Curbishley's departure early in the season.

Few would dare dismiss Clarke's role in that turnaround.

During his last years with the Pensioners, the Scot was widely credited with keeping the team together after Jose Mourinho quit. In the end, only Manchester United prevented Avram Grant's side from claiming Premier League and Champions League honours in 2007-08.

And one would be loath to call it a coincidence that Chelsea's form has suffered considerably since Clarke trade the Bridge for the Boleyn Ground.

However, Zola said earlier this week that he was determined to repay West Ham's faith in him, meaning a return to his old stomping ground looks unlikely at the moment.

Furthermore, Roman Abramovich & Co. are deep in talks with Russia coach Guus Hiddink, who is expected to take charge of the team until the summer.

It has been a miserable few days for Daniele De Rossi. On Monday, the Roma midfielder suffered an allergic reaction to a bug bite that caused his calf to swell up, but he quickly recovered.

Furthermore, on Tuesday, his side were defeated 2-0 by Brazil in a friendly match that he had to leave because of injury.

The Roma midfield general was substituted for Alberto Aquilani early in the second half after picking up a knock to his right ankle, according to Calciomercato.

The first indications from the Italian national team medical staff are that the injury is not particularly serious, but more tests will be done tomorrow to determine the extent of the damage.

The 25-year-old was one of the few bright spots for the Azzurri in his time on the pitch against Brazil.

Player Ratings: Brazil 2-0 Italy

February 10, 2009
Brazil:

Julio Cesar 8.0
Forced into action on more than one occasion and impressed with a range of stops.

Maicon 7.5
Defensive question-marks will linger after his part in Grosso's early chance but proved again that going forward, no right-back in the world is his equal.

Marcelo 8.0
More even-handed in his duties than Maicon; his attacking sorties were matched by a solid defensive display. Looks infinitely more at ease in yellow than Blanco.

Juan 7.5
Solid, no nonsense defending. Good usage of the ball. Looked justifiably jaded as the game ebbed out.

Lucio 8.0
Led the charge forward in characteristic fashion for the second goal and was a tireless energy in his defensive duties. Made vital blocks and won his challenges. Good show.

Felipe Melo 8.0
Had an unexpectedly easy debut; had the space to use the ball, feeding it to his more accomplished frontmen. Rarely had to press the Italian midfield, but was swift in the execution of challenges and led breaks with gusto.

Gilberto 8.0
Much like Melo, had a quiet night. His positional awareness meant he swept up the majority of Italian threats.

Elano 8.5
Why buy Kaka when Elano can do this? His approach play, positivity and indeed, finishing skills will have given Mark Hughes food for thought.

Ronaldinho 8.5
A different 'Dinho, and one with a point to prove. Matched his marquee skills with some determined roving in midfield. A consistent 90 minutes that proved his best days are not beyond him.

Robinho 9.0
Enjoyed himself. The busy frontman gave Zambrotta more than he cared to deal with and the World Cup winner could not hang with the former Santos man. A standout tonight, his goal is among the best seen at the Emirates.

Adriano 7.0
Used more as an axis for the attack, rather than the spearhead of it. Laid off well and showed good movement, but his best work was selflessly done far from goal.

Subs:

Dani Alves 7.0
Charged around like a man on a mission; threw himself into challenges and demanded possession right on the right.

Pato 6.0
Had limited involvement, all with his back to goal.

Thiago Silva 6.0
Just a run-out for the new Milan defender. He will have enjoyed it.

Josue n/a

Julio Baptista n/a

Italy:

Buffon 6.0
A long way off his own high standards; looked uneasy on crossed and spilled some dead balls. The more games Gigi plays the better for Italy and Juventus.

Zambrotta 4.5
Booked in frustration at his own ineptitude tonight. Could barely catch Robinho's shadow and endured a thoroughly uncomfortable evening.

Grosso 8.0
The best-in-show for the Azzurri; solid at the back and also willing and able to contribute to attacks. Good movement and accurate passing.

Cannavaro 5.5
Unsure of his marking positions in the first-half, when he looked a little off the pace. Second half was more to his liking when the Azzurri weighed in with the heavy stuff.

Legrottaglie 6.0
A committed display buy below the technical standard required. Took some dubious positions as the Brazil attacks approached but let no one down with his determination for the cause.

Montolivo 6.5
An uneventful display. Passed well and tried to tackle the balls he saw. Replaced and was no real loss. There is work to be done for his potential to reveal international ability.

Pirlo 4.0
Horror show. Unrecognisable from his usual unflappable self. Gave the ball away in vital areas continually and was profligate in the pass during a disastrous first half in particular.

De Rossi 7.5
Along with Grosso, can hold his head high. Tried to fight against the tide during the first half, in which he was the only fully functioning component of the Italy midfield. Shot and tackled well and showed energy lacking in his colleagues.

Pepe 4.0
Anonymous aside from one header. Hauled off at half time after a worryingly under-par display. A long way off international standard.

Di  Natale 5.0
Showed nothing of his club class, even with a potential loose link in Maicon facing him. Rarely passed his full-back and disappeared after some early neat work.

Gilardino 4.5
Contributed little or nothing. Blows too hot and cold to be considered a dependable member of La Nazionale.

Subs:

Perrotta 5.5
His cynicism prevented Melo from marching towards a third goal; for this he deserves commendation. Aside from that, he added perhaps a degree more in midfield than Pirlo.

Toni 7.0
Showed indefatigable fight; a willing runner, even if his technique is sorely lacking. Made the right movement and was ultimately unlucky not to register a strike.

Camoranesi 6.0
Saw more action than Pepe and gave Italy a semblance of a right-wing option.

Rossi 7.0
Sprightly and lively; he looked Italy's most likely outlet after the break.

Aquilani 6.0
Involved himself in the midfield quagmire.

Dossena n/a
«First  <  16 7 8 9 1033  >  Last»  | Page of 33  sorted by