Forum: Promote

Promote new releases, new/upcoming artistes, events, contests, websites, etc...

http://www.mediafire.com/?naiyolhmudd
This song maad. the merital song cant play without this one. it crawp up dont???
comments plzzzz

-- Edited by amin on Sunday 1st of November 2009 06:00:14 PM

Adobe CS4 For Dummies - >> *REQUESTED*

January 25, 2009
Started By brainz7 Comments

52ybhft.jpg

Photoshop CS4 For Dummies
Peter Bauer
ISBN: 978-0-470-32725-8
Paperback
416 pages
October 2008
22.6 MB

This latest version of Photoshop has a few new tricks up its sleeve and Adobe Photoshop CS4 For Dummies will teach you how to use them. From the basics like getting your images into and out of Photoshop to enhancing, cropping, and color correction, its all here!

Youll get all of the basics of digital images and master the importing and exporting of images. Youll find out how to create easy enhancements like adding shadows and highlights and making color natural, in addition to learning how to use the Adobe camera raw plug-in. Before you know it, youll be making beautiful art with Photoshop by c****ining images, precision edges, dressing up images, painting in Photoshop, and using filters. You can even streamline your work in Photoshop using advanced techniques. Find out how to:

* Import images and use all the tools and processes
* Reduce digital noise, make colors look natural, add highlights and shadows
* Optimize images for print or the Web
* Edit images
* Explore the Painting function and master the daunting Brushes panel
* Add layer styles
* Create on-screen presentations, contact prints, and more

Complete with lists of ten reasons to love your Wacom tablet, ten reasons to own a digital camera, and ten favorite tips and tricks, Adobe CS4For Dummies is your one-stop guide to setting up, working with, and making the most of Photoshop CS4 for all your digital photography needs.

Download : Photoshop CS4 For Dummies - Download

Password: http://dotnxt.com

Unnecessary Windows Services

May 9, 2009
Started By AJ3 Comments

pelpa's list of disabled services in win xp -------->

<!-- <br /><! <br /> /* Font Definitions */<br /> @font-face<br /> {font-family:"Cambria Math";<br /> panose-1:0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0;<br /> mso-font-charset:1;<br /> mso-generic-font-family:roman;<br /> mso-font-format:other;<br /> mso-font-pitch:variable;<br /> mso-font-signature:0 0 0 0 0 0;}<br />@font-face<br /> {font-family:Calibri;<br /> panose-1:2 15 5 2 2 2 4 3 2 4;<br /> mso-font-charset:0;<br /> mso-generic-font-family:swiss;<br /> mso-font-pitch:variable;<br /> mso-font-signature:-1610611985 1073750139 0 0 159 0;}<br /> /* Style Definitions */<br /> p.MsoNormal, li.MsoNormal, div.MsoNormal<br /> {mso-style-unhide:no;<br /> mso-style-qformat:yes;<br /> mso-style-parent:"";<br /> margin-top:0in;<br /> margin-right:0in;<br /> margin-bottom:10.0pt;<br /> margin-left:0in;<br /> line-height:115%;<br /> mso-pagination:widow-orphan;<br /> font-size:11.0pt;<br /> font-family:"Calibri","sans-serif";<br /> mso-ascii-font-family:Calibri;<br /> mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin;<br /> mso-fareast-font-family:"Times New Roman";<br /> mso-fareast-theme-font:minor-fareast;<br /> mso-hansi-font-family:Calibri;<br /> mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin;<br /> mso-bidi-font-family:"Times New Roman";<br /> mso-bidi-theme-font:minor-bidi;}<br />.MsoChpDefault<br /> {mso-style-type:export-only;<br /> mso-default-props:yes;<br /> mso-ascii-font-family:Calibri;<br /> mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin;<br /> mso-fareast-font-family:"Times New Roman";<br /> mso-fareast-theme-font:minor-fareast;<br /> mso-hansi-font-family:Calibri;<br /> mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin;<br /> mso-bidi-font-family:"Times New Roman";<br /> mso-bidi-theme-font:minor-bidi;}<br />.MsoPapDefault<br /> {mso-style-type:export-only;<br /> margin-bottom:10.0pt;<br /> line-height:115%;}<br />@page Section1<br /> {size:8.5in 11.0in;<br /> margin:1.0in 1.0in 1.0in 1.0in;<br /> mso-header-margin:.5in;<br /> mso-footer-margin:.5in;<br /> mso-paper-source:0;}<br />div.Section1<br /> {page:Section1;}<br /> /* List Definitions */<br /> @list l0<br /> {mso-list-id:-2;<br /> mso-list-type:simple;<br /> mso-list-template-ids:-233140768;}<br />@list l0:level1<br /> {mso-level-start-at:0;<br /> mso-level-number-format:bullet;<br /> mso-level-text:*;<br /> mso-level-tab-stop:none;<br /> mso-level-number-position:left;<br /> margin-left:0in;<br /> text-indent:0in;}<br />@list l0:level1 lfo1<br /> {mso-level-numbering:continue;<br /> mso-level-text:;<br /> mso-level-tab-stop:none;<br /> mso-level-number-position:left;<br /> mso-level-legacy:yes;<br /> mso-level-legacy-indent:.25in;<br /> mso-level-legacy-space:0in;<br /> margin-left:0in;<br /> text-indent:0in;<br /> font-family:Symbol;}<br />ol<br /> {margin-bottom:0in;}<br />ul<br /> {margin-bottom:0in;}<br /> ><br /> -->

Unnecessary Windows Services:

·AdobeLM Service: Not all computers have this service, still it is useless, just disable it if you have it.

·Alerter: Disable this one if you are not on a network because you dont need to receive alerts.

·Application Management: Set this to manual.

·Automatic Updates: Disable it if you dont require auto updating and patching of Windows.

·ClipBook: Disable this if you are not on a network, since you dont need to share anything.

·Computer Browser: Disable this too if you are not on a network, as you dont need to browse and monitor connected computers.

·Cryptographic Services: Set this to manual if you are not sure you need it.

·Distributed Transaction Service: Set this to manual.

Fats - Party (Sprite Riddim)

August 16, 2010
Started By Raze3 Comments

Fats - Party (Sprite Riddim)

http://www.mediafire.com/?mhxp01w0f74sl8i

http://www.sendspace.com/file/su600j

MADRIGAL MUSIQUE FIRST RELEASE

November 3, 2010
Started By MadrigalMusic0 Comments
youth.gif

Madrigal musique presents
THE YOUTH RIDDIM produced by FOODJ & LE YOUTH:
1- Warrior King (Mellody-dubplate) 0.41
2- Dignatiry Stylish (Jah jah) 1.17
3- Natural Melody (Stand up sojah) 2.28
4- Melloquence & Tiyarro (nah go betta) 3.39
5- Wildlife (Gyanja town) 4.51
6- Sky-i (Liberated) 5.38
7- CALADO (Call right back) 6.49
8- SANGA (Intemporel) 7.36
9- CALDHINO & D'VERCITY (Too show off) 9.00
10- RAS NYAH (Jah roads) 10.21
11- NSB (A l'instinct)

AVAILABLE ON DEEZER AND ITUNES ON DECEMBER 2010 !!!!!

[

-- Edited by MadrigalMusic on Thursday 4th of November 2010 04:24:37 PM
[DACECA PRODUCTIONS]

Deseca Productions. SOON RELEASED

Dj Flamez wrote:
GOT IT FROM ISLANDMIX BUT IT STILL CAN PLAY

-- Edited by Glitch (Mod) on Monday 21st of June 2010 05:42:52 PM

-- Edited by +0p$h0++@ (Mod) on Monday 21st of June 2010 07:25:52 PM

bebepy1CALLING ALL DEEJAY'S CALLING ALL PRESENTERS BRAND NEW INTRNET RADIO STATION LOOKING FOR UNU TO FILL SLOTS SO COME LINK ME ON MSN OR EMAIL ME ON DJFROSTMAN2K7@HOTMAIL.CO.UK  SO COME ONE AND ALL NOW TIME TO WASTE

For computer repairs and to setup and maintain a computer network for Internet cafe,offices etc. at extremely low rates call> 284-4698

Check out riddims and if interested send an email to  murci4ever@yahoo.com

DANCEHALL/CULTURAL > http://www.myspace.com/dappabeatz

HIP HOP/R&B > http://www.myspace.com/thugzbeatz

We specialize in Script installation of all kind, website design and free consultation. Also provide custome jobs for facebook profiles and myspace. Also many more things.

Check out some of the few sites we have worked on.

http://www.nhpservice.nl/

http://www.idaswebwinkel.nl/

http://www.topmanhittismadmixvideos.com/ (warning adult content)

http://www.xtraxratedvideos.com/ (warning adult content)

http://xylopiadating.com/

http://www.besttoo.com/

http://dwaynenews.blogspot.com/

http://profilefriend.com/

musiczoner.ismywebsite.com

We focus on:

Video websites

Social websites like facebook and myspace

Custom blogs

Script Installation of all kind.

Website design

Custom Widgets

Stores/ shopping cart

Custom Facebook/ Myspace Profiles

Free Consultations.

Add us on skype: Jamaicadude1

Email profilefriend@gmail.com

http://musiczoner.ismywebsite.com is a demo of what We can do.
2upwj2b.jpg
Zone needs to stop dis heck man.. i know it's for getting payed/getting the word out but seriously, it killing the mood of the forum wid all dis auto stuff being implemented. See nuff people complaining so I decided to post how to turn it to permanent mute. Thanks to Kon for giving me the info. Click on the volume icon and the volume slide will show... slide the button to the left and it will mute.

Advertisment.jpg

OCTOBER 29TH GREEN SYNERGYS FINALS ...MIXXING UP A STORM

OCTOBER 29TH CLUB JAMAICA JAMAICA.....VYBES RUM EVENT SUH SWICK

OCTOBER 30TH ROMEICH RECORDS FISH FRY ..MUSIC BY DJ NAZ & ZJ SPARKS

NOVEMBER 26th MAYPEN DENBIGH EVENT (OVER DWEET ) DJ NAZ ROCKING IT

NOVEMEBER 26th LISA FISH FRY (EARLY TING ) CROSS ROADS (more info to come )

11TH DEC WEMBLEY (JAMALCO BALL GROUND)

DEC 25th BELLFIELD ST CATHRINE EVENT ABSOLUTE ..........

DEC 23rd PORLAND SPLASH CLUB EVENT (MORE INFO TO COME)

HAPILOS GUINNESS HAPPY THURZDAYZ - GIRLS RUSH INVADES HAPPY THURZDAYZ - FEMALE SELECTORS#MANGORANCH @Zjsparks @ZJELEKTRA @DJNAZGURLPOWER(Rezident dj)

NOV 6 TH BLAZE NIGHT CLUB COMPARI RED PASSION SERIES COUPLE UP(rezident dj)

GUEST DANCERS CARTOON &DANCA BLING

also look out for my new riddim (NAME CHANGE ) big up brainz designz n all my well wishersbherry party.jpg[BrainzDesignz]-NameChangeRiddim-Art.jpg

-- Edited by dj naz on Thursday 28th of October 2010 08:05:49 AM
http://www.mediafire.com/file/dul1c777tnk86zi/GoodLife Music-Flawless - Empty Gun.mp3

how to upload songs on mediazone?

October 9, 2010
Started By Qneil3 Comments
how to upload songs on mediazone?disbelief
74 Muirhead Ave., Denbigh (across from the show ground)
Denbigh (across from the show ground)
May Pen, Jamaica

Guess selectors: Dj Naz from Green Synergy, Dj Ricky Reds

Dress Code: wear weh u have

For More Info Call: 8384216

absolutely no weapons allowed
bherry party.jpg
The Club Promotions presents Ryno di Stinger @ The Club Croydon on Thursday November 11th 2010! As part of the Ryno Stinger tour!

Performing hits: Thug Anthem, Bike Back, Wine & Dip + Many More!!

Admission: £10 limited tickets. £15 On the door.

Call: Alastair for tickets & info!...07508577417

DJs on the night Chris Goldfinger, Daggerin' Squad + More!

Join the D-Squad Entertainment group page on Facebook! http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=89315133736

ryno.jpg

Panta Son Booking Agency

To Book All Top Selecters And  Top Artist

Top Artist Like:

Einstein

G Whizz

Bramma

Wasp

T'nez

Patexxx

Chedda

Chozenn

Singer J

Buccaneer

Hyah Slyce

Chi Ching Ching

TOP  SELECTORS/SOUND SYSTEM  LIKE:

Black Kat Sound

Khaos  International

Nico Bam Bam

Gary Chucks

DJ Kenny

ZJ  ICE

Khago & Copper Cat - Leave My Baby Alone

FI ALL A DI MAN DEM WEH A PLAY JOE WID DEM BREDDRIN GIRL

DOWNLOAD: http://www.mediafire.com/?dmqnwznw0jn
rideGyal Banga's Saturdae @ Albion Lane, Mobaybackas
For all your Promotional Needs link D-mixlive.com

D-MixLive.com exists solely to bring quality entertainment to young adults. With the motto 'illuminating oblivion', d-mix focuses on bringing credible information to all who log on. The aim is to take Jamaica to the world and beyond highlighting its people, diverse culture and way of life to offset typical stereotypes (illuminating oblivion).

Top Features on D-Mix:
D-Mix News
D-Mix Reviews
Movie Reviews
Artiste Reviews
Restaurant Reviews
Party/Event Reviews
D-Mix Report
D-Gallery
D-Vids
D-Lifestyle
D-Affiliates
D-Downloads
Weh Fi Go- Jamaicas Party Guide

We Do a wide Range of Promotion such as:
-Site Radio
-Facebook Promo
-Email Blast
-Sms Blast
-Video Promo
-+ more->

D-mixlive.com is one of the best Entertainment Websites in Jamaica.

MISSION STATEMENT:
To develop an insatiable thirst of quailty entertainment in youth.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

JOIN THE D-MIX OFFICIAL FACEBOOK GROUP
http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=201276192400&ref=ts

JOIN D-Mix FAN PAGE!!!
http://www.facebook.com/pages/D-Mixlivecom/160122028674?ref=mf

FOLLOW US ON TWITTER
http://twitter.com/dmixlive

CONTACT US FOR PROMOTIONS AND SITE RELATED ISSUSES

++++++++++++++ JOIN D-MOVEMENTS AND WIN WIN WIN +++++++++++++++++
www.d-mixlive.com

http://d-mixlive.com/
LISTEN THIS YAH.. IT MADDDDDDDDDD.. ITS MY COUSIN AND I LOOKING FEEDBACK.. TELL ME HOW IT SOUND..

-- Edited by Dagga16 on Wednesday 13th of October 2010 01:30:27 PM

-- Edited by Dagga16 on Wednesday 13th of October 2010 01:37:06 PM
ridddims on here www.myspace.com/lenkemz
www.soundcloud.com/lenkemz

For am opportunity to perform at the Jamaica Family Fest all interested persons can send a email to raykinglive@live.com

60472_142540549124435_136438249734665_253176_785520_n.jpg

BRAND NEW DANCEHALL WEAR AVAILABLE

October 11, 2010
Started By jolokal6 Comments

MA'TING IS A DANCEHALL TING ONLINE SHOP IS OFFICIALY OPEN!!! WWW.MA-TING.COM SHIP TO DI WORLD, CREDIT CARD - PAYPAL & WESTERN UNION ACCEPTED!!!

boz8402.jpg
boz8407.jpgboz8408.jpgboz8417.jpgboz8412.jpgboz8423.jpgboz8427.jpgboz8430.jpgboz8435.jpgboz8432.jpgboz8439.jpgboz8440.jpgboz8444.jpgboz8460.jpg
WaveStorm Entertainment
The Premier Entertainment Company, In Artist Development, Artist Promotion,Music Production, Consultation, And Global Networking.
Presents
Columbo Muzic's  New Single
"DREAMS"
For Your Listening PleasureClick or copy link for Wave formathttp://www.mediafire.com/?jei7i048d3w3j4t-- 
Andrew P. Watson (ColumboMuzic)[Anson Storm]
Composer/Writer/Producer/Artist

Creative Director/Executive Producer
WAVESTORM ENTERTAINMENT inc.

www.reverbnation.com/columbomuzic
Mc Big Oz is a young upcoming reggae n dancehall artist from Zagreb, Croatia he is a member of King Shango soundsystem n E- llegal productions crew!More bio soon!

Nina was born in 1988. Since 1990., she sang like a likkle bird. Then some people found out about that. So she did some kid shows back in the day. And then other people started to ask questions like 'Who's that girl la la la la'. Did a lot of contests with her choirs back in elementary school and highschool. Sang with 'Putokazi' for about 4 years when she first realized that the only music she could ever rock is soul, funk, dancehall and reggae. Oh yea, she can rock a lot of different styles. So, she started recording choruses with her friends as a favor to them back in 2004. From that time till now, learned a lot, sang a lot, rocked the place out a lot. R&B and soul were her premium style, but recently she found out that she can do reggae and dancehall, too. So she did a show with Kingston, King Shango Soundsystem and Lar-plur-lar sound some time ago, and it was pretty awesome!

THEIR SONGS:

BIG OZ & NINA DAVIS - 24 -7

BIG OZ & NINA DAVIS - Musical affair

BIG OZ - Whine test

BIG OZ- One mission (Hold you riddim)

BIG OZ - Bad gyal (Self defence riddim)

BIG OZ - Herbs ( Everyday riddim)

BIG OZ - Just call me

BIG OZ & STINKY RANKS - BAD GYAL

STINKY RANKS WITH WICKED FLOW AND VOICE
STINKY RANKS - BADDA DAN DAT

STINKY RANKS - Lyrical flow ( Swagga dagga riddim)

STINKY RANKS - Pretty pretty

STINKY RANKS - Hotta dan peppa

STINKY RANKS - We nuh badda

BIG OZ in the dubplate style :

http://soundcloud.com/djverso/big-oz-dagga-king-dj-verso-special-2010-maaaaaaaaadddd

http://soundcloud.com/djverso/big-oz-verso-dubplate

http://soundcloud.com/dubsystem-sound/big-oz-dubsystem-sound-dubplate-2010

FEEDBACK PLEASE !!

BLESS

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vBhAdLi9oTU

http://www.mediafire.com/?wijs7xznjon4q4d

-- Edited by steptodem on Friday 3rd of September 2010 03:08:19 PM
NEW MIX

TARANTINO MIX SHOW 4 streaming on....
http://www.mixcloud.com/djfestertarantino/tarantino-mix-show-4/

bless up!!

Exodus

October 7, 2010
Started By abolques2 Comments

l_3f0ae615eeb44cc1aee0cba6416aa9a9.jpg

PTA=.gif
t.gifpx?u=reverbnation&rtv=721225wd,World%2FReggae,Roots%20Reggae,Dancehall%20ReggaeListen Now!!

-- Edited by abolques on Thursday 7th of October 2010 02:29:25 PM

COLUMBO MUZIC

October 6, 2010
Started By GOLD MASTER0 Comments
COLUMBO MUZIC

ColumboMuzic: Born Andrew Phillip Watson On December 4 1980,

ColumboMuzic has been one with music since his beginning, music has always influenced every part of his essence. As a child, (as many Jamaican children have experienced, his mother went to America to work to make living conditions for her family better back home,) growing with his grandmother(his father's mother), he often imaged himself playing musical instruments, but, Andrew was from a family that did not believe in doing music for a living or career,and his father was totally against it, so therefore he did not received any music lessons. Nevertheless his passion for music grew with his age, and as he became older the want and need to do music became stronger.

During Columbo's high school years, he attempted to form a music group with and a few friends,which did not last long due to lack of co-operation and organization. No matter, the fire within him kept on burning, Columbo became very rebellious and started to hang with the thugs in the streets. At age 16 he was a Rude Bwoy, he became more exposed to the way of Jamaican gangsta life and life on the streets, But he could not escape his passion for doing music.

In 1999 Tragedy struck, Columbo Found out his Father had Cancer,and only had two months to live.Columbo was heart broken, he loved his father very much and wanted to prove that he could make him proud,..... his father died in the third month after being diagnosed.

Columbo was lost for a year but found himself after he went to friend's house who had a home studio, the friend was composing an instrumental on a computer,
it fascinated Columbo, amazingly, thats how his musical career started.
Over a period of time, Columbo nurtured his talent, and during the learning process he was exposed to a number of Jamaica's Big Name Artist and exceptionally great aspiring young artist.

COLUMBOMUZIC THE PRODUCER

Columbo Has now produced some of Jamaica's top Artist for his label WAVESTORM ENTERTAINMENT/Cold Fusion Records at his Studio Cold Fusion Studios that was in OCHO RIOS ST.Ann. Now in St.Elizabeth.
Artist such as ;
PERFECT,
CHEZIDEK,
TEFLON,
ANTHONY B
LITTLE HERO,
PZED,
DEVA BRATT,
VYBZ KARTEL
SASHA(who got number1 with Sean Paul)
And alot more,
Columbo is also the producer of all 2007-2009 Ochi Empire projects.
Columbo also worked at Jamaica's no.1 Radio Station IRIE FM, in the Production department.
Currently Columbomuzic Masterminding tracks for his upcoming albums,
and is also working on a catalog of beats to start production in the fall season of this year which is 2010

COLUMBOMUZIC THE ARTIST

Columbomuzic is an Artist with simple complexity, and unpredictable versatility to hit the international market.
He sings,raps & djs anything he feels and keeps within boundary of the moral standard,
His Album "Judge Me Not"(yet to be released) authenticates this with proof of his musical skills.
With tracks like "Do No Wrong","City Life","Be Myself","What Is It About You","I Know(Try)","Plastic Soldier","Sell Out","As Far As I Can See" and many more
Columbo is on a journey heading for greatness.
Currently he is working on two new albums entitled
"Dreams" and "Culture Shock",
his music has evovled with his vocals and writing skills,
he is now movement to represent the people in the world who can't represent themselves(the poor,the sick,the uneducated ect..)he is for Peace,Love and Unity.

Finally, ColumboMuzic keeps it real with himself and the people around him he inspires everyone who comes around, with his deep philosophy and morals. Family is dear to him, But he is a loner by nature, On the Musical Journey!!

And the Journey continues...........
PARTY TO BE @ THIS HERO'S WEEKEND IN OCHO RIOS ST.ANN PARTY PPL

FT TONY MATTERHORN,RENAISSANCE,SOUND FUZE,CODE RED

LADIES FREE B4 12MIDNITE

ADM 700JA

@ TURTLE PARK OCHI

ON OCTOBER 15,2010

lklklkcpcpcppy1py1 MAWDDDDDDDDDDD!!
Danny English - Peeping Tom
Di Yung Shottaz - Bullet
Joshua - Record A Turn
Lady Shelly - Bulletproof
Natty Chris - Moggle
Shattie Mar - Bulleting (New Style)
Strappa - Nah Go Obeah Man
Sugar Minott - Give My Love To You
Winstrong - Give It To Dem

promo-mix:

http://soundcloud.com/prenzlbergrecordz/bullet-promo-mix

MUSRICH-BILLIONAIRE

September 25, 2010
Started By janbigsproduction0 Comments
MUSRICH-BILLIONAIRE
http://usershare.net/a5y6tihogs8m
J - Yunng da baddest rapper from tha west yo.show me the money Bran new mix tape out. Di boss too sickk man. sayhello we a go hard u zi mi. 3rd Set mi seh u zeeet.mw $ WE OWN THE RADIO NOW MAN $ We takin OVA . Download the mix tape HERE ========> http://www.mediafire.com/?2fs5e6ytydwuxxb
dzw4ut.jpg

The 2nd Chances Riddim is the first official release out of the J-Rod Records camp. The riddim is a soothing and melodic one-drop riddim and features a mixture of some of the biggest names in reggae music and some vibrant upcoming artists. Executive Producer Jarrod J-Rod Faria put together a collection of artists that each put their own strength towards the riddim.

The collection boasts love songs by Sizzla Kalonji (Baby I Love You) and Anthony B (Its True), positive and empowering songs from "The Fire Man" Capelton (Reality), the veteran Cocoa Tea (Keep It Real) and the iva-burning Teflon (Words of the Wise) and also features upcoming artists Junior Brown (Mystic) and the silky smooth voice of Nicky Silk (No More), the cousin of the late, great crooner Garnett Silk.

From across the Caribbean Sea, the riddim also features submissions from Trinidad and Tobagos Mark Hardy (Gone) and King David (Ready to Prove)

Log on to http://www.myspace.com/jrodrecordsonline to hear the tracks

TRY GOOGLE TRICKS

April 8, 2010
Started By jubalson2 Comments

The popular Google is often used for just run-of-the-mill web searches, but it's not widely known that the handy search engine can be utilised in many more ways.

And while many of these simple functions can be done by other means (such as with built-in computer applications), techies who perhaps spend most of their day brooding over a browser might find this method more efficient.

Though the 'Search the Web' slot is the most prominent feature on the Google homepage (a given since it's the most used), focus on the top left tabs, the last of which reads 'more'.

It gives you a smaller window, which lists 'Calendar', 'Documents', 'Reader', 'Sites', 'Groups' and lastly 'even more'. Click 'even more' and uncover a host of other functions that are categorised.

The easiest thing to do is use Google as a spelling aid. Entering a word into the search engine is a good way to gauge whether or not you have the correct spelling (the website can also be used to search for both American and British spelling). If it's incorrect, Google will suggest the correct spelling instead. Additionally, if you want to get the definition of a word, you may opt to enter "define: [insert word]" and the search will return meanings from various dictionaries across cyberspace.

Users may also use Google as a calculator -- try entering a calculation like '110* (335/8 + 3)' or '678* 8' and the answer will appear.

And speaking of computing numbers, the search engine is also able to tell users what time it is anywhere in the world. Search for time and then the name of the city. For example, enter: 'time Japan' to get the current local time. Google can also do currency conversion, for example; '100 pounds in Jamaican dollars'.

Many are aware that if you add a plus sign the search field opens up all websites that contain that information, but the search engine may also be used to diminish the result. For example, if you're searching for information about Rihanna, but don't want anything on her latest album you could try: 'Rihanna' -Rated R. This omits all the info concerning this album and would only present prior content.

Google may also search the web for specific datelines; if a user wants to look for information about Olympic events that took place in the 1950s, then try entering 'Olympics 1950...1960'.

So whether you're a casual user or someone who spends many hours searching the world's most popular online resource, these are great shortcuts and tips to make finding data a little more efficient... enjoy these Google tricks!

-- Edited by jubalson on Wednesday 22nd of September 2010 02:47:38 PM
«First  <  123 24 25 26 2798  >  Last»  | Page of 98  sorted by