Forum: Lifestyle

Religion, Daily Inspiration & Spiritual Upliftment | Sightings & Mysteries of the Universe | Recipes, Nutrition, Health

O God, listen to my cry! Hear my prayer!

From the ends of the earth, I will cry to you for help, for my heart is overwhelmed.

Lead me to the towering rock of safety, for you are my safe refuge, a fortress where my enemies cannot reach me.

Let me live forever in your sanctuary, safe beneath the shelter of your wings!

Psalm 61:1-4 NLT

A request for protection

As the commander of Israel's armies, David was an expert at analyzing an enemy's defenses and planning fortifications. Under David's leadership, the strong fortress of Zion (later called Jerusalem) was captured from the Jebusites. And after he captured it, David oversaw the building of additional fortifications around Zion (2 Samuel 5:6-10). But David didn't place his trust in the fortress he had built. He knew God was his true "towering rock of safety." There was no safer refuge than the Lord's sanctuarythe presence of the Almighty.

Although we might not realize it, we are just as vulnerable as King David was. We need to be led to God's rock of safety. Run to the Almighty in prayer and trust in him to keep you safe.

Prayer for today:

O God, lead me to the towering rock of safety, for you are my safe refuge

from The One YearŽ Book of Bible Prayers edited by Bruce Barton, Tyndale House Publishers (2000), entry for February 5

Discipleship means allegiance to the suffering Christ, and it is therefore not at all surprising that Christians should be called upon to suffer.
DIETRICH BONHOEFFER

Content is derived from the Holy Bible, New Living Translation and other publications of Tyndale Publishing House

The song of triumph has begun

March 26, 2008
Started By Crazypickney0 Comments

For sin is the sting that results in death, and the law gives sin its power. How we thank God, who gives us victory over sin and death through Jesus Christ our Lord!

1 Corinthians 15:56 NLT

The strife is o'erthe battle done, the victory of life is won; the song of triumph has begun: Alleluia!

The three sad days have quickly sped, He rises glorious from the dead; all glory to our risen Head! Alleluia!
The Strife is O'er
Latin Hymn Symphonia Serenum Selectarum, 1695

God exercised His power on our behalf

Note the pattern of this hymn: negative undone, positive done, our response. In each triad we see first the forces of evil that tried to conquer Christ but were beaten. Then we see a more positive expression of what has occurred. Christ had won, He rises, He opens heaven and frees slaves. Finally, we respond with songs and shouts of joy: Alleluia!

The richness of the text was matched by the majesty of the music, written by the sixteenth-century composer Giovanni de Palestrina. He was a devout Roman Catholic who created many wonderful scared works still used in churches and secular settings. This tune was adapted from a "Gloria Patri" in one of his choral works. It first appeared with Francis Pott's translation of this Latin text in 1861.

The Bible describes the work of Christ in many different ways, and the Christian writers through the ages have elaborated on all these ideas. God exercised His power on our behalf when He raised Christ from the dead. Death has no ultimate power over us because we are risen with Christ. Alleluia!

Our "Resurrection Week" readings are adapted from The One YearŽ Book of Hymns by Mark Norton and Robert Brown, Tyndale House Publishers (1995). Today's is taken from the entry for April 10.

Content is derived from the Holy Bible, New Living Translation and other publications of Tyndale Publishing House

Today's Scripture

Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me (Psalm 23:4).

Today's Word from Joel and Victoria

Everyone faces challenges and difficulties in life. If you are going through a valley today, know that you are not alone. God is with you! He is working behind the scenes on your behalf, and He will carry you through. Remember, your challenges didnt come to stay, they came to pass. Dont get stuck in the valley by allowing your setbacks to become the focus of your life. Jesus endured the pain of the cross for the joy that was set before Him, and when you focus on your victory, you will be able to keep walking through that valley! Shake off bitterness and self-pity today and be determined to press forward. With God on your side, no weapon formed against you shall prosper. As you keep an attitude of faith and expectancy, your challenges will become easier, and you will move forward and live the life of victory the Lord has in store for you.

A Prayer for Today

Father in heaven, thank You for Your faithfulness to me. Thank You for giving me strength during the difficult times. I trust that You are with me today and choose to focus on the victory You have in store. In Jesus Name. Amen.

Bless one and all...
Ras ~Q

Up from the Grave He Arose!

March 25, 2008
Started By Crazypickney2 Comments

God released him from the horrors of death and raised him back to life again, for death could not keep him in its grip.

Acts 2:24 NLT

Low in the grave He lay, Jesus my Savior! Waiting the coming day, Jesus my Lord!

Death cannot keep his prey, Jesus my Savior! He tore the bars away, Jesus my Lord!

Vainly they watch His bed, Jesus my Savior! Vainly they seal the dead, Jesus my Lord!

Up from the grave He arose, with a mighty triumph o're His foes; He arose a Victor from the dark domain, and He lives forever with His saints to reign, He arose! He arose! Hallelujah! Christ arose!
Christ Arose Robert Lowry (1826-1899)

Always hearing music

It's hard to match this hymn for sheer drama. The first stanza begins dismally, then strikes a note of hope, and then the chorus explodes with joy. The music itself comes rising up from the depths and celebrates on high.

Robert Lowry wrote both the words and music to this hymn in 1874. At the time, he was professor of literature at Bucknell University in Pennsylvania and pastor of a nearby church. He had written other hymn tunes and texts as he practiced his passion for poetry and song. "Sometimes the music comes and the words follow," he explained once. "I watch my moods, and when anything strikes me, whether words or music, no matter where I am, at home, on the street, I jot it down. My brain is sort of a spinning machine, for there is music running through it all the time."

Our "Resurrection Week" readings are adapted from The One YearŽ Book of Hymns by Mark Norton and Robert Brown, Tyndale House Publishers (1995). Today's is taken from the entry for April 9.

A new meaning for the Cross

March 24, 2008

Because of this, God raised him up to the heights of heaven and gave him a name that is above every other name, so that at the name of Jesus every knee will bow, in heaven and on earth and under the earth, and every tongue will confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.

Philippians 2:9-11 NLT
The head that once was crowned with thorns, is crowned with glory now; a royal diadem adorns the mighty Victor's brow.

The cross He bore is life and health, tho' shame and death to Him. His people's hope, His people's wealth, their everlasting theme.
The Head That Once Was Crowned
Thomas Kelly (1769-1855)

A simple image of stark contrast

Thomas Kelly wrote 765 hymn texts in the span of fifty-one years. That's more than one a month for half a century. Kelly was also known as a popular preacher, and many of his hymns were written to accompany his sermon texts.

Studying law at Trinity College, Dublin, Kelly had a strong conversion experience that redirected his life toward the ministry. He preached powerfully, staunchly defending the doctrine of justification by faith. The Anglican church, still in the wake of reaction against the Wesleys, wanted no more troublemakers, so they kicked Kelly out. He landed with the Congregationalists and gained an even greater reputation. He was not only a gifted preacher but was also very generous, openly contributing to the poor, especially during the Dublin famine of 1847.

The simple image of this hymn is a strong one, a before-and-after picture of stark contrast: the head that once was crowned with thorns is crowned with glory now.

Our "Resurrection Week" readings are adapted from The One YearŽ Book of Hymns by Mark Norton and Robert Brown, Tyndale House Publishers (1995). Today's is taken from the entry for April 7.

Words from Joel and Victoria Osteen

Today's Scripture

Not by might nor by power, but by my Spirit, says the LORD Almighty (Zechariah 4:6).

In this day and age, we are equipped with so many wonderful resources in the natural: technology, education, abilities. Its easy to rely on our own natural strength for so many things. We have to remember that this natural world is only temporary, but the spiritual realm is eternal. We arent limited to the earths resources; we have unlimited spiritual resources by the Spirit of God. There are things in life that cant happen by human thinking and reasoning. There are things that wont be solved by natural power and might. But God is not limited by the resources of this world. When you open the door of faith in your heart, God will move through you in powerful ways by His Spirit. By His Spirit, you can overcome temptation. By His Spirit, you can receive healing. By His Spirit, you can fulfill every dream and desire in your heart. No matter what challenges or obstacles you may be facing today, know that you can live in complete victory by His Spirit!

A Prayer for Today

Father in heaven, thank You for giving me access to all Your spiritual blessings by Your Spirit today. I choose to rely on You and trust that You are working in my life. I praise and bless You, knowing that You are leading me in victory in every area of my life. In Jesus Name. Amen.

Bless Everyone and All,
Ras ~Q

Mustard Seed Faith

March 21, 2008
Started By RastaQKing2 Comments

Today's Scripture

If you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mulberry tree, Be uprooted and planted in the sea and it will obey you (Luke 17:6).

A mustard seed is a very small thing. But when its planted, it grows into a huge tree. In the same way, Jesus is saying that a little bit of faith can bring tremendous results! As a believer in Him, you already have enough faith on the inside of you to overcome any obstacle. The same Spirit that raised Christ from the dead actually dwells in you! It doesnt matter if you grew up in church or not; it doesnt matter what you know or dont know; God wants to work in your life today. And you may not see how, but all you have to do is believe God. With God, all things are possible. Do you have mustard seed faith today? The Bible says that faith without works is dead. When you have faith, your words and actions reflect it. Take a step of faith today and declare your trust in Him. Even if you dont see how, declare that God is working behind the scenes in your life. As you act on your mustard seed faith, youll see it grow stronger and stronger, and you will live in victory all the days of your life!

A Prayer for Today

Father God, today I confess my trust and reliance on You. Thank You for depositing seeds of faith in my heart so that I can live in total victory. I believe that with You all things are possible! In Jesus Name. Amen.

Bless each and everyone...
Ras ~Q

Hope Comes from Him

March 20, 2008
Started By RastaQKing3 Comments

Daily Message From Joel and Victoria Osteen

Today's Scripture

Find rest, o my soul, in God alone; my hope comes from Him (Psalm 62:5).

God is constantly planting seeds of hope and victory in your life. Hes constantly trying to deposit His faith on the inside of you. Often times, when were anxious and worried, its difficult to hear His voice of hope and confidence. But when we stop and quiet ourselves, when we find rest in Him, we will recognize His voice of hope. Youll hear Him saying to your heart, Your best days are still in front of you, you are more than a conqueror, youre the head and not the tail. As you receive His hope, it creates a foundation for faith to rise inside your heart. The Bible says that faith gives substance to things hoped for. In other words, your hope gives your faith something to work toward. If the cares of this world have left you frustrated and empty today, make the decision right now to open your heart and allow the Lord to deposit His hope on the inside of you. It doesnt matter what you are facing today or whats happened in your past, God wants to give you hope today. He wants to pour out His blessing in every area of your life so that you will live the abundant life He has for you!

A Prayer for Today

Father in heaven, I ask for Your hope today. Thank You for lifting me up into heavenly places with You. Show me how to be a vessel of hope to those who are around me today. In Jesus Name. Amen.

Bless One and All....
Ras ~Q

O Sacred Head, Now Wounded

March 22, 2008
Started By Crazypickney1 Comments

e was despised and rejecteda man of sorrows, acquainted with the bitterest grief. We turned our backs on him and looked the other way when he went by.

Isaiah 53:3 NLT

O sacred Head, now wounded, with grief and shame weighed down, now scornfully surrounded with thorns Thine only crown; how pale Thou art with anguish, with sore abuse and scorn!
How does that visage languish which once was bright as morn!

What language shall I borrow to thank Thee, dearest Friend, for this Thy dying sorrow, Thy pity without end? O make me Thine forever; and should I fainting be, Lord, let me never, never outlive my love to Thee.
O Sacred Head, Now Wounded
attributed to Bernard of Clairvaux (1091-1153)

A profoundly personal and awesome vision

Although Bernard was one of the most influential Christians of the Middle Ages, settling disputes between kings and influencing the selection of popes, he remained a devout monk, single-minded in his devotion to Christ.

In his own day Bernard was known as a preacher and churchman; today he is remembered for his hymns of praise. "O Sacred Head, Now Wounded" comes from a poem originally having seven sections, each focusing on a wounded part of the crucified Savior's bodyHis feet, knees, hands, side, breast, heart, and head. The text of this hymn compels us to gaze at the cross until the depth of God's love overwhelms us. Bernard's hymn pictures God's love, not as an abstract theological statement, but as a profoundly personal and awesome vision of the suffering Christ.

Our Holy Week readings are adapted from The One YearŽ Book of Hymns by Mark Norton and Robert Brown, Tyndale House Publishers (1995). Today's is taken from the entry for March 28.

Go to Dark Gethsemane

March 20, 2008

Then Jesus brought them into an olive grove called Gethsemane, and he said, "Sit here while I go on ahead to pray."He went on a little farther and fell face down on the ground, praying, "My Father! If it is possible, let this cup of suffering be taken away from me. Yet I want your will, not mine."

Matthew 26:36-39 NLT

Go to dark Gethsemane, ye that feel the tempter's power; your Redeemer's conflict see; watch Him one bitter hour; turn not from His grief away; learn of Jesus Christ to pray.

See Him at the judgment hall, beaten, bound, reviled, arraigned; see Him meekly bearing all! Love to man His soul sustained. Shun not suffering, shame or loss; learn of Christ to bear the cross.
Go to Dark Gethsemane
James Montgomery (1771-1854)

Learning from Christ's passion

Step by step James Montgomery takes us through Christ's passion. We go with our Lord to the Garden of Gethsemane, where those troublesome thoughts of death assailed Him. While His trusted friends drifted off to sleep, Jesus fought off the temptation to avoid the Cross. Tt was difficult time, and in Montgomery's simple text we feel drops of sweat.

At Jesus' triala shabby excuse for justice if ever there was oneHe bore the beating and badgering without speaking a word. He was carrying our sins with Him to the Cross. At the Cross we can only fall at His feet to worship.

At each point of this journey we have much to learn from our Savior. We can learn to pray when tempted and to endure suffering with patience. And Christ teaches us to rise in newness of life, to live in a way that honors Him, and ultimately to join Him in glory.

Our Holy Week readings are adapted from The One YearŽ Book of Hymns by Mark Norton and Robert Brown, Tyndale House Publishers (1995). Today's is taken from the entry for April 1.

Thursday

032008.jpg

Kathryn Kuhlman touched her generation for Jesus Christ in a manner few men or women have done before or since. She was used mightily to minister the Lords restoring and healing power to millions of people throughout the world through her meetings and broadcasts. To non-Christians sickened with sin, she pointed them to salvation through Jesus Christ. To people struggling with spiritual, emotional, and physical challenges, she pointed them to a God of miracles! On this amazing telecast, Pastor Benny Hinn introduces a very special, anointed glimpse from yesteryear as Kathryn Kuhlman ministers about the precious gift of the Holy Spirit! Dont miss this historic telecast!

God Has Amazing Things in Store for You

(This is a heavy prayer)

Stars do not struggle to shine, rivers do not struggle to flow, and you will never struggle to excel in life, because you deserve the best. Hold on to your dream and it shall be well with you... Amen.

The eyes beholding this message shall not behold evil, the hand that will send this message to others shall not labor in vain, the mouth saying Amen to this prayer shall laugh forever, remain in God's love.

Your dream will not die, your plans will not fail, your destiny will not be aborted, and the desire of your heart will be granted in Jesus' name.

Say a big Amen and if you believe it, send it to all your friends.

Money will know your name and address before the end of this month. If you believe, send it back to all your friends. None goes to the river early in the morning and brings dirty water. As you are up this morning, may your life be clean, calm and clear like the early morning water. May the grace of the Almighty support, sustain and supply all your needs according to His riches in glory. Amen. Love the Lord. Have a wonderful day in Jesus' name.

The will of God will never take you where the grace of God will not protect you. I see something good happening to you, something that you have been waiting to experience.

This is not a joke; you are going to receive a divine visitation that will move your life forward mightily by the outworking of God's unstoppable Power.

Happy moments, PRAISE GOD.
Difficult moments, SEEK GOD.
Quiet moments, WORSHIP GOD.
Painful moments, TRUST GOD.
Every moment, THANK GOD.
Smile...God Loves You!!!

Prayer And Work Conquer All

Today's Inspiration

March 17, 2008
Started By RastaQKing8 Comments
Today's Daily Inspiration                              
Write down who you think you are and then write down who you want to be. Lord, help me realize that with little effort I can be who I want to be and give me the determination and will power to blossom.
Random Daily Inspiration                               
The heart cannot both, doubt and have faith, hate and give love, worry and trust in God for one will soon crowd out the other. Lord, I commit myself to Your way and Your will and open my heart to Your peace. 
Random Daily Inspiration                               
We have two ends; one for sitting and one for thinking. My success depends on which one I use more. Lord, grant me the determination and the necessary energy that I need to accomplish my goals for today and for my future.                                                
Random Daily Inspiration                               
God's plans for you are beyond your imagination. Lord, may I not limit myself to my past experiences, but be willing to accept new opportunities and challenges into my life.
Additional Thought                                                       
What would you attempt if you knew you could not fail?  Robert Schuller

The God Kind of Faith

March 19, 2008
Started By RastaQKing1 Comments

Today's Scripture

the life which I now life in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God (Galatians 2:20).

Faith is all around us. People have faith in so many different things: faith that a friend will be true, faith that your job is taking you on a certain career path, faith that the chair you are sitting on is going to hold you up! Faith is simply believing in something. But there are different kinds, or levels, of faith. Theres a difference between having faith in God and having the faith of God. When you open your heart to the God kind of faith, youre actually allowing Him to believe through you. The God kind of faith will cause you to believe for things when you dont even know how theyll happen. And it probably wont make sense in your mind, but you have to allow your spirit to rise higher than your thinking. Dont talk yourself out of believing. Dont focus on all the reasons why not, instead allow Gods faith to rise up within you. Meditate on His Word that says, you can do all things through Christ and you are strong in the Lord and the power of His might. As you allow Gods faith to flow through you, Hell take you places youve never dreamed. You will rise higher and higher and live the abundant life the Lord has for you!

A Prayer for Today

Heavenly Father, today I humbly open my heart to You. Use me for Your glory and have Your way in my life. I choose to believe in You and invite You to believe through me. In Jesus Name. Amen.

PixelServer?j=Tgg_tXj4tDUQTJBaUsAhaw..
from Joel and Victoria Osteen.

Were You There?

March 19, 2008

As his body was taken away, the women from Galilee followed and saw the t**** where they placed his body. Then they went home and prepared spices and ointments to embalm him. But by the time they were finished it was the Sabbath, so they rested all that day as required by the law.

Luke 23:55-56 NLT

Were you there when they crucified my Lord? Were you there when they crucified my Lord? O! Sometimes it causes me to tremble, tremble, tremble! Were you there when they crucified my Lord?

Were you there when they laid Him in the t****? Were you there when they laid Him in the t****? O! Sometimes it causes me to tremble, tremble, tremble! Were you there when they laid Him in the t****?
Were You There? Traditional spiritual
Please click here.

Experience the "tremble"

This favorite hymn comes from the rich American spiritual tradition, probably developed in the early 1800s by African-American slaves. As in most spirituals, the words are simple, seizing on one central theme or concept.

Spirituals tend to have a lot of emotional appeal. As a result, this hymn, like few others, puts the singer there. We experience the "tremble" as we sing it. And in the triumphant final stanza, we experience the glory of a risen Lord. We are called out of the cold analysis of Christ's death, burial, and resurrection into the moment of living it. We are called out of the theological debate and into the stark reality. We hear the nails pounded into the cross, we see the onlookers wagging their heads, we smell the burial spices, and we feel the rumble of the stone rolling away. And we tremble tremble tremble.

Our Holy Week readings are adapted from The One YearŽ Book of Hymns by Mark Norton and Robert Brown, Tyndale House Publishers (1995). Today's is taken from the entry for March 21.

031808.jpg

This memorable Impartation and Anointing Conference from Christchurch in New Zealand continues to impact those who attended. Pastor Bennys remarkable teaching about the gift of faith included a powerful, intriguing study about the Greek New Testament word for faith. This was followed by his powerful study of the fruit of faith which is produced by Gods presence, not His power. Grab your pen and paper, then get ready for a life-changing teaching from this beautiful island paradise!

Before the mountains were created, before you made the earth and the world, you are God, without beginning or end.

You turn people back to dust, saying, "Return to dust!"

Psalm 90:3-4 NLT

Our help in ages past

O God, our help in ages past,
Our hope for years to come,
Our shelter from the stormy blast,
And our eternal home!
O God, Our Help in Ages Past, ISAAC WATTS (1674-1748)

In 1714, the people of England were anxious. Queen Anne lay dying, and she had no son or daughter to succeed her. Who would be the new monarch, and what changes would that make? Isaac Watts had reason to worry. His father had been imprisoned under the previous regime because his views did not please the ruling family. As a young child, Isaac has been carried by his mother to visit his father in jail. But Queen Anne had brought a new tolerance, and freedom for the elder Watts. Now that she was dying, what would happen?

Isaac Watts turned to Psalm 90 on this occasion and penned what may be the greatest of his more than six hundred hymns. In essence, it is a poem about time. God stands above human time, and in Him all our anxieties can be laid to rest. The greatness of our eternal God was a favorite theme of Watts. When the events of the day bring worry, the God of all ages remains our eternal home.

adapted from The One YearŽ Book of Hymns by Mark Norton and Robert Brown, Tyndale House Publishers (1995), entry for January 29

A person can respond to suffering like an egg, or like a potato. A potato goes into the boiling water hard, but comes out pliable. An egg goes into the boiling water soft and comes out hard.
AUTHOR UNKNOWN

Every word is true

February 18, 2008
Started By Crazypickney5 Comments

Every word is true

Every word of God proves true. He defends all who come to him for protection.

Proverbs 30:5 NLT

We must both affirm the inerrancy of Scripture and then live under it.
Francis Schaeffer

The perfect word

In a world of shifting loyalties, devious cons, and ever-evolving ideas, we need to know where to anchor our souls. We aren't diligent enough to analyze every counterfeit that comes our way, nor are we perceptive enough to expose every false philosophy. Human rationalism is not equipped to establish eternal truth. That's why we need help. Only God can point us in the right direction.

It's a comfort when we are searching for absolutes to actually find them. According to this proverb, such absolute truth will shield us. What from? Every subtle deceit, every malicious word, every doctrinal error, and every false messiah. Much to our dismay, the world is full of empty promises. If we are left to ourselves to figure them all out, we will spend our lives tossed around on tumultuous waves of competing "truths." By the time we obtain understanding by our own efforts, it's too late to settle on the foundation of God's wisdom. In short, we need to be anchored in revelation.

How do we do that? A daily time in God's Word is a good first step. It works truth into our minds on a regular basis. But is that really enough?

Here's a good pattern to follow: First, ask God every day to convince your heart of His truth and to give you discernment of lies. Second, find at least one verse a week to memorize. Chew on it, let it sink in, look at it from every angel, and come up with specific ways to apply it. Third, don't just study God's Word. Fall in love with it. Consume it as voraciously as your favorite meal. God has a way of working into our hearts the things we love. If we love the flawless Word, the flawless Word will dwell within us.

Adapted from The One YearŽ Walk with God Devotional by Chris Tiegreen, Tyndale House Publishers (2004), entry for May 17.

I believe in god I am a born agian christian. there is alot I don't understand it hurt my head everyday:
senseless killings
rape
suicides
natural disasters

I always wondered what happens when we die and how heaven could be forever its hard to comprehend but I hold the faith same weh.

In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth.

Genesis 1:1 NLT

The Master Creator

Genesis 1:1 and the entire creation story reveals God's creativity. He is the Master Creator who delights in diversity and variety.

Creativity is a gift God gives to people by the power of his Holy Spirit. Exodus 31:1-4 described a person who used his artistic skills and craftsmanship to make beautiful things for God's glory.

The Lord also said to Moses, "Look, I have chosen Bezalel son of Uri, grandson of Hur, of the tribe of Judah. I have filled him with the Spirit of God, giving him great wisdom, intelligence, and skill in all kinds of crafts. He is able to create beautiful objects from gold, silver, and bronze.

Hebrews 11:3 proclaims God as the ultimate source of all creativity.

By faith we understood that the entire universe was formed at God's command, that what we now see did not come from anything that can be seen.

from Living Water for Those Who Thirst Tyndale House Publishers (2000), pp 37-8

The "great raveled knot," as the famous English psychologist Sir Charles Sherrington called the brain, is about the size of a grapefruit and weighs approximately three pounds. It is composed of some twelve to fourteen billion cells.

It is the almost limitless number of cells-plus-interconnections that makes the human brain an intellectual instrument of unparalleled supremacy.
JOHN P McNEEL, The Brain of Man

You made all the delicate, inner parts of my body and knit me together in my mother's w****.

Thank you for making me so wonderfully complex! Your workmanship is marvelousand how well I know it.

You watched me as I was being formed in utter seclusion, as I was woven together in the dark of the w****.

You saw me before I was born. Every day of my life was recorded in your book.

Every moment was laid out before a single day had passed.

Psalm 139:13-16 NLT

Praise for God's Workmanship

Any biology text can illustrate how wonderfully complex the human body is. From brain cells to *la*hd cellseach intricate component of our bodies is carefully designed. You don't have to take a biology course to marvel at how our eyes can take in the bright blue color of the sky, how our ears can detect a pin drop, how our nose can enjoy the aroma of ground coffee or the scent of a beautiful flower. How exciting it is to enjoy the body God has made for us!

David expressed this same wonder as he prayed this prayer. Set aside a few minutes today to praise God for his sovereign care.

Prayer for today:

Dear Lord, thank you for making me with such marvelous workmanship

from The One YearŽ Book of Bible Prayers edited by Bruce Barton, Tyndale House Publishers (2000), entry for January 13

Have I looked at the sun shining in the skies, or the moon walking down its silver pathway, and been secretly enticed to worship them? If so, I should be punished by the judges, for it would mean I had denied the God of heaven.

Job 31:26-28 NLT
We understand the entire universe was formed at God's command, that what we now see did not come from anything that can be seen.
Hebrews 11:3

Sunsets and chromosomes

A student stood on the crest of a hill silently admiring the sunset. As the colors came to a brilliant crescendo, he suddenly shouted, "Way to go, God. Fantastic!" Then he raised his hand in praise to the Creator.

Dr. Carl Sagan marveled that a single human chromosome contains 20 billion bits of information. This corresponds to four thousand 500-page booksand that's only one chromosome! Yet Dr. Sagan never professed any belief in God.

When it comes to praising God for his incredible work in creation, some of us are more like Dr. Sagan than the student. We are quick to condemn those who deny that God created the universe, yet we, too, often forget to praise him for all that he has made.

We praise God for salvation but forget to praise him for creation. Whether we look at the grandeur of the heavens or the intricacies of a chromosome, we should stand in awe of our Creator. Praise him today for his masterful work.

The unwearied sun, from day to day
Does His Creator's power display,
And publishes to every land
The work of an Almighty hand.

JOSEPH ADDISON

adapted from The One YearŽ Book of Psalms by William J. Petersen and Randy Petersen,, Tyndale House Publishers (1999), entry for February 5

Monday

030308.jpg

Since becoming a physician, Dr. Colbert has seen over 30,000 patients and written over 40 books that together have sold millions, including several New York Times bestsellers. Mary Colbert is known for her exuberant personality and passion for God to help people with practical nutrition and lifestyle changes. Together they have ministered health and healing to millions around the world. On todays exciting telecast, the Colberts share practical helps toward seeing Gods people healed, delivered, and transformed forever. Grab a pen and paper, then get ready for your life to be changed!

My heart overflows with a beautiful thought! I will recite a lovely poem to the king, for my tongue is like the pen of a skillful poet.

Psalm 45:1 NLT

About this week's promise

Why does an artist paint, a musician play, or an author write? Because they are overflowing with ideas and must express them. Creativity is the overflow of a full heart and mind. But sometimes we're emptyor full of the wrong material. How can we be full of the beauty that will spill out in wonderful visions, sounds, words and movements? Take time to know Godthe author of all creativity. Take time to soak up all that is beautiful. Take time to think. As your inner wells fill up, you can be sure that the creativity will soon be flowing out of your life in productive ways.

adapted from TouchPoint Bible with devotional commentary by Ron Beers and Gilbert Beers, Tyndale House Publishers (1996), p 492

Digging Deeper

For more on this week's promise, see Delight in Your Child's Design by Laurie Winslow Sargent, Tyndale House Publishers (2005)

Laurie Winslow Sargent will help you identify and appreciate your childs unique, God-given temperament and abilities. Her tips on relating to your childno matter how much alike or different from you he or she iswill increase your confidence. And Laurie offers many practical suggestions that will inspire you to show affection and appreciation in ways most meaningful to you and your child.

No philosophical theory which I have yet come across is a radical improvement on the words of Genesis, that "in the beginning God made Heaven and Earth."
C S LEWIS (Miracles)

Remember that the temptations that come into your life are no different from what others experience. And God is faithful. He will keep the temptation from becoming so strong that you can't stand up against it. When you are tempted, he will show you a way out so that you will not give in to it.

1 Corinthians 10:13 NLT
How can a young person stay pure? By obeying your word and following its rules.
Psalm 119:9 NLT

Power over temptation

Because of some long-term unwise spending habits, the Walkers are now facing serious financial troubles. Their economic woes have been the source of constant tension and stress at home. They have no idea how they got into this mess, much less how to get out. The thought of admitting their situation fills them with embarra**ment. Interestingly, in the midst of this major money crunch:

Denise has gained some thirty pounds, is thinking about reneging on a financial commitment to her church's building campaign, and has also begun playing the lottery (something she used to call a stupid waste of money).

Donald has been escaping regularly into the world of internet pornography while he considers partnering with an old college buddy in a "can't lose" (i.e., highly questionable) business deal.

The Walker's situation reminds us that when we feel weakened and worried by the pressures and problems of life, certain temptations can seem irresistible. How would you counsel the Walkers using the above promise of God?

adapted from Praying God's Promises in Tough Times by Len Woods,, Tyndale House Publishers (2002), pp 176-7

Temptation rarely comes in working hours. It is in their leisure time that men are made or marred.
W M TAYLOR

How can I know all the sins lurking in my heart? Cleanse me from these hidden faults.
Keep me from deliberate sins! Don't let them control me.

Psalm 19:12-13 NLT
Now, all glory to God, who is able to keep you from stumbling, and who will bring you into his glorious presence innocent of sin and with great joy.
Jude 1:24 NLT

A Pilgrim making progress

John Bunyan, who wrote the class The Pilgrim's Progress, had been a godless youth with a "great desire to take fill of sin, still studying what sin was yet to be committed, that might taste the sweetness of it." However, while still in his twenties, Bunyan was convicted by the Holy Spirit of his sinfulness and his need for a Redeemer.

After this Bunyan's conscience became so tender that he feared he was committing sins that would not be forgiven. Bunyan spent time studying Scripture, at times finding comfort and at other times being weighed down by guilt.

Looking back on those turbulent days in his life, Bunyan recognized he had made some big mistakes. Although he had prayed for cleansing, he had not prayed to be kept from future sin. In addition, he was not standing firmly on the rock of his salvation, even though he had asked Christ to be his Redeemer (see Psalm 19:12-14).

Perhaps you have trusted Christ to save you, but you still experience spiritual defeat. This is not unusual, but you do need to address the problem. Each new day ask God to help you follow him more closely. But do not be afraid, for, as Bunyan later wrote, our "righteousness is Jesus Christ himself, the same yesterday, today, and forever."

adapted from The One YearŽ Book of Psalms by William J. Petersen and Randy Petersen,, Tyndale House Publishers (1999), entry for February 6

The Scripture Tree

October 20, 2007
Started By Crazypickney4 Comments
Be inspired by one of two verse each day THE SCRIPTURE TREE

The Glory of God’s Presence, Part 4

February 28, 2008
Started By STAINLESS0 Comments
022808.jpg

The Orange County Convention Center in Orlando has been renowned as a premier meeting facility. God did something very special during the recent Training for Ministry Conference. A new wave of outpouring touched the crowd who attended. It was a wonderful time as people from all walks of life coming into a new relationship and intimacy with the Lord Jesus. On this remarkable program, you will see God work mightily among those who attended. Call a friend or loved one to let them know about this telecast!

The Glory of God’s Presence, Part 3

February 28, 2008
Started By STAINLESS0 Comments
022708.jpg

This is an exciting telecast from Orlandos Orange County Convention Center. A great multitude attended by people with a faith-filled atmosphere of expectation for miracles. Local churches throughout the region participated enthusiastically. Get ready for a powerful broadcast that points to a new era of worship"Worship is one of the main themes of the Bible, Pastor Benny teaches. Worship deals with God's holiness. You do not need a revelation to praise God. No one can worship without a revelation of who Jesus is. Thanksgiving and praise are the utterance of the mouth. Worship is the utterance of the heart."

Immediately the Holy Spirit compelled Jesus to go into the wilderness. He was there for forty days, being tempted by Satan. He was out among the wild animals, and angels took care of him.

Mark 1:12-13 NLT

Mourning our sins

Lord, who throughout these forty days
For us didst fast and pray,
Teach us with Thee to mourn our sins,
And close by Thee to stay.

As Thou with Satan didst contend
And didst the victory win,
O give us strength in Thee to fight
In Thee to conquer sin.
Lenten Hymn (v1,2), CLAUDIA FRANCES HERNAMAN (1838-98)

We don't know a lot about the forty days Jesus spent in the desert before His temptation. We know it was a time of fasting and probably of prayer. When the devil came to Him, the conquering words of Scripture were quick on Jesus' tongue, so it may have been a time of meditation, a time of special communion with his Father.

This song draws the comparison between Jesus' forty days in the desert and the forty days of Lent. Traditionally, the Lenten season is a time of fasting. People "give up" something for Lent. The idea is not to punish ourselves, but to put aside something that may distract us from our communion with God. It is a time for special devotion to God, a time when He may "abide with us" in a special way. Lent is a time to refocus on our relationship with Christ.

adapted from The One YearŽ Book of Hymns by Mark Norton and Robert Brown, Tyndale House Publishers (1995), entry for February 16

When you flee temptation, leave no forwarding address.
AUTHOR UNKNOWN

-- Edited by Crazypickney at 10:32, 2008-02-26

A prudent person foresees the danger ahead and takes precautions; the simpleton goes blindly on and suffers the consequences.

Proverbs 22:3 NLT

Anticipating danger

Interestingly, this proverb expects that dangerous situations will arise in our lives. If these situations are indeed inevitable, then we should plan a course of action. For some people taking action means devising endless preventative measures. Still others feel that taking precautions implies that they are not living in faith. Neither of these solutions displays a balanced trust in God.

We must examine where our confidence lies. Are we really trusting in God? Trusting does not mean that we should purposely step into pitfalls. If we see ourselves heading for danger, we can take precautions to avoid the situation. We lack faith when we feel that we alone possess the strength to conquer any temptation. Humbly anticipating our weaknesses will allow us to bypass harsh consequences.

WISE WAYS  Is there a specific temptation you face continually during the week? Take steps to avoid situations that foster that behavior before you come to them.

Lord, help me to live wisely by knowing my weaknesses and anticipating dangerous situations .

adapted from The One YearŽ Book of Proverbs by Neil S. Wilson, Tyndale House Publishers (2002), entry for March 22

Without temptation no sin would be committed; and without temptation no holiness could be attained. The human wrecks that seem beyond all capacity of repair and refitting, and victorious athletes of righteousness whom their fellowmen adore, are alike the products of temptation.
JAMES HASTINGS

This High Priest of ours understands our weaknesses, for he faced all of the temptations we do, yet he did not sin. So let us come boldly to the throne of our gracious God. There we will receive his mercy, and we will find grace to help us when we need it.

Hebrews 4:15-16 NLT
But remember that the temptations that come into your life are no different from others experience. And God is faithful. He will keep the temptation from becoming so strong that you can't stand up against it. When you are tempted, he will show you a way out so that you will not give in to it.
1 Corinthians 10:13 NLT

We experience temptation every day. Jesus himself was tempted in every way, yet his temptation did not lead to sin. It is not a sin to be tempted, but to prevent temptation from becoming sin, we must use all the resources God gives us to recognize, resist, and flee the situation. Since Jesus knows what it is like to be tempted, we can turn to him in all honesty when we're having a battle with temptation. Have you talked with him lately about potential situations that would be difficult for you?

adapted from TouchPoint Bible with devotional commentary by Ron Beers and Gilbert Beers, Tyndale House Publishers (1996), p 1084

Digging Deeper

For more on this week's promise, see Six Battles Every Man Must Win by Bill Perkins, Tyndale House Publishers (2003)

Bill Perkins offers hard-earned wisdom on how you can reset your sights and prevail in the challenges of life. With refreshing honesty, Bill chronicles his own struggles with disappointment, failure, and depression and tells how the little-known biblical story of David's band of "mighty men" transformed his life.

O God, have mercy on me. The enemy troops press in on me. My foes attack me all day long. My slanderers hound me constantly, and many are boldly attacking me.

Psalm 56:1-2 NLT
Without wise leadership, a nation fails; with many counselors, there is safety.
Proverbs 11:14 NLT

The drag on leadership

Leaders have grand vision, and great visions are reached overnight. Leadership by nature pushes against a high drag coefficient. Drag is the resistance air gives to the body of airplanes or automobiles as they move through air. The drag on leadership is so great that it threatens to bring leaders to a grinding halt unless they have an extraordinary level of God-inspired perseverance.

Leadership is more about perseverance than about speed. Psalm 132:1 says, "Lord, remember David and all that he suffered." David was one of the greatestand most successfulleaders in Israel's history, yet his life was marked by continual, extreme hardship.

For example, after the prophet Samuel anointed David as the next king of Israel, King Saul repeatedly attempted to kill David. David had to wander in the desert and in foreign lands for years as a fugitive with several hundred outcasts. David was the anointed leader of Israel, but he endured a lifetime of hardships as Israel's shepherd.

So don't be surprised by the drag coefficient of leadership. With God's help, you can endure it and overcome.
CRAIG BRIAN LARSON

adapted from Leadership Devotions compiled by the editors of Christianity Today International, Tyndale House Publishers (2001), pp 170-71

Being a general calls for different talents from being a soldier.
TITUS LIVY

For the Lord is a great God, the great King above all gods. Psalm 95:3 NLT When the godly are in authority, the people rejoice. But when the wicked are in power, they groan. A just king gives stability to his nation Proverbs 29:2,4 NLT Come, Thou Almighty King Come, Thou Almighty King, Help us Thy name to sing, Help us to praise; Father! all-glorious, O'er all victorious, Come, and reign over us, Ancient of Days. Come, Thou Almighty King (v1), AUTHOR UNKNOWN Presidents, kings, and other ruling officials should be honored and prayed for. So wrote the apostles Peter and Paul, who lived under the Roman emperors. But we must never forget that the King of kings and Lord of lords deserves our ultimate honor and complete allegiance. This hymn appeared anonymously in George Whitfield's Hymn Book, published in 1757. It is usually attributed to Charles Wesley, but was probably published anonymously for a good reason. Scholars think Wesley wrote this hymn as an imitation of the English national anthem, "God Save Our Gracious King." The national anthem had just been written, and it had become popular throughout England. This hymn may have been Wesley's way of keeping priorities straight. Whether the author was trying to remind us that there is an almighty Kind greater than any earthly ruler, or whether he was simply writing it as a special hymn for Trinity Sunday, it is a grand and noble hymn praising our sovereign Lord. adapted from The One YearŽ Book of Hymns by Mark Norton and Robert Brown, Tyndale House Publishers (1995), entry for February 24 Content is derived from the Holy Bible, New Living Translation and other publications of Tyndale Publishing House
O God, declare [my enemies] guilty. Let them be caught in their own traps.

Drive them away because of their many sins, for they rebel against you.
Psalm 5:10 NLT

A refuge to rejoice

Things didn't look good for Martin Luther when he was summoned to Augsburg in late October 1518. He was being charged with heresy. Up to this point Frederick the Wise, elector of Saxony, had protected Luther from the church authorities, but now the prince was under pressure to withdraw his protection. It seemed only a matter of time before he would.

In Augsburg, Luther was asked, "If the elector of Saxony abandons you, where will you find shelter?"

The Reformer responded, "Under the shelter of heaven."

In the last part of Psalm 5, we find that David, like Luther, trusted in the Lord to rescue him from his enemies. Did the psalmist escape from the trap? We don't know, but the psalm closes with "joyful praises," because David knew that he was now surrounded by God's protection. Like Martin Luther, he found refuge under the shelter of heaven.

Under his wings, O what precious enjoyment!
There will I hide till life's trials are o'er.
Sheltered, protected, no evil can harm me;
Resting in Jesus I'm safe evermore.
WILLIAM O. CUSHING

adapted from The One YearŽ Book of Psalms by William J. Petersen and Randy Petersen,, Tyndale House Publishers (1999), entry for January 8
The difference between a politician and a statesman is: A politician thinks of the next election, and a statesman thinks of the next generation.
JAMES F. CLARKE

Pray this way for kings and all others who are in authority, so that we can live in peace and quietness, in godliness and dignity.

1 Timothy 2:2 NLT

Prayers for kings and authorities

There is a reason Paul commands us to consistently pray for all of these people. The decisions they make have a direct, sometimes lasting, impact on our life. When the leaders of my country make good decisions, my life goes better. When the laws they pass are sound and just, my family sleeps better at night. When my church leaders make godly, spirit-directed decisions, my soul is in better hands. When my boss makes wise choices, the company grows and my job is secure. When my parents handle their affairs well and stay in God's will, I can depend on the counsel they give to be solid and sound. The strength of their character will affect our family for generations to come, so I fervently pray that God will grant them wisdom and godliness in all they say and do.

We pray for those in authority over us because it helps us live in "peace and quietness." And because it develops within us the traits of "godliness and dignity." In many ways these simple qualities sum up the whole of our Christian witness on earth.

We are called to be peaceful peopleto be at peace with God, with our salvation, with our situation on earth, and with those around us. And we are to live holy and dignified livesto put "aside the deeds of darkness and put on the armor of light" (Romans 13:12). It is through consistent and deliberate prayerfor others, as well as ourselvesthat these qualities are obtained.

adapted from Embracing Eternity by Tim LaHaye, Jerry Jenkins and Frank M. Martin,, Tyndale House Publishers (2004), p 37

It's difficult to lead farther than you have gone yourself.
AUTHOR UNKNOWN

Thursday

022108.jpg

On this heartwarming telecast, Pastor Benny welcomes his daughter and son-in-law as they share candidly about the time in their lives when both were away from God. Get ready to be encouraged and inspired as they tell how they not only came back to the Lord, but how they are being used mightily in ministry today. Pastor Michael leads the Southern California campus of World Healing Center Church. He and his wife Jessica are powerful examples of God's anointing as they lead people to Jesus Christ and point believers toward spiritual maturity.

A faithful witness

February 18, 2008

A faithful witness

they will see your honorable behavior, and they will believe and give honor to God when he comes to judge the world.

1 Peter 2:12 NLT

it is not my heavenly Father's will that even one of these little ones should perish.
Matthew 18:14 NLT

A prayer for an unsaved tribe

On Sunday afternoon, December 18, [1955] Nate Saint sat at his typewriter to tell the world why then [the missionaries] were going [to work among the Auca Indians]just in case. In speaking these words he spoke for all [those involved in reaching the Aucas]: "As we weigh the future and seek the will of God, does it seem right that we should hazard our lives for just a few savages? As we ask ourselves this question, we realize that it is not the call of the needy thousands, rather it is the simple intimation of the prophetic Word that there shall be some from every tribe in His presence in the last day and in our hearts we feel that it is pleasing to Him that we should interest ourselves in making an opening into the Auca prison for Christ.May God give us a new vision of His will concerning the lost and our responsibility.

"May we know that we could comprehend the lot of these stone-age people who live in mortal fear of ambush on the jungle trail those who think all men in the world are killers like themselves. If God would grant vision, the word sacrifice would disappear from our lips and thoughts; our lives would suddenly be too short, we would despise time-robbing distractions and charge the enemy with all our energies in the name of Christ." [Nate Saint and his four missionary companions were killed by the Auca Indians only two weeks later, in early January 1956].
Elizabeth Elliot in Through Gates of Splendor

Adapted from The Prayer Bible Jean E. Syswerda, general editor, Tyndale House Publishers (2003), p 283.

Is God not hearing you?

February 18, 2008

Is God not hearing you?

Why are you crying out to me? Tell the people to get moving!

Exodus 14:15 NLT

When God waits

There are a lot of why questions that we lift up to God. Every day people are looking to heaven and crying out in frustration, "Lord, why aren't you doing something about this? Why is this happening to me?" We saturate the airwaves with the why questions of life.

I'm convinced that God has one answer for almost every one of those questions. He says, I'm just waiting on you.

When Moses and the Israelites stood on the edge of the Red Sea watching the Egyptian army close in on them, they cried out to God in fear. They began praying that God would somehow rescue them. And look what God said: "Tell the people to get moving!" (Exodus 14:15). To paraphrase, "I'm just waiting for you."

Too often we spend our days waiting for a miracle. When trouble comes, we cry out to God for help. When things don't move fast enough, we blame God for taking his time. And all the while God is saying to us, I haven't gone anywhere. I'm just waiting on you.

And what is it that God is waiting for? Often he is waiting for us to lay aside our own agenda and trust him.Whenever God waits, he waits for a purpose.

And when we finally come to our senses and do the thing that we know he wants us to do, he moves with a vengeance. The Red Sea parts, and things start to happen.

From a devotional thought by Frank M. Martin in Embracing Eternity (Tyndale House) p 289)

Why would God want to forgive?

February 18, 2008

Why would God want to forgive?

""I will cause wonders in the heavens and on the earth*la*hd and fire and pillars of smoke. The sun will be turned into darkness, and the moon will turn *la*hdred before that great and terrible day of the Lord arrives. And anyone who calls on the name of the Lord will be saved. There will be people on Mount Zion in Jerusalem who escape, just as the Lord has said. These will be among the survivors whom the Lord has called."

Joel 2:30-32 NLT

If we say we have no sin, we are only fooling ourselves and refusing to accept the truth. But if we confess our sins to him, he is faithful and just to forgive us and to cleanse us from every wrong.
1 John 1:8-9 NLT
"

Bound by His Word

"Why would God want to forgive people who have spent a lifetime denying him and hurting him? Why doesn't he just zap them? In our humanity we say that certain people don't deserve forgiveness. In his sovereignty and perfect love. God says, "I love and forgive those who, to others, appear unsalvageable." This is just one of the ways in which God's thoughts are beyond our own. His mercy is so overwhelming that it can seem unreasonable to us. Are you willing to let God's mercy do as it wisheswith anyone?1

If His conditions are met, God is bound by His Word to forgive any man or any woman of any sin because of Christ.
Billy Graham2

1from the TouchPoint Bible with commentaries by Ron Beers and Gilbert Beers (Tyndale) p 760
2quoted in Wise Words & Quotes by Vernon McLellan (Tyndale) p 102
"

What kind of person makes a good leader?

He appointed judges throughout the nation in all the fortified cities, and he gave them these instructions: "Always think carefully before pronouncing judgment. Remember that you do not judge to please people but to please the Lord. He will be with you when you render the verdict in each case that comes before you. Fear the Lord and judge with care, for the Lord our God does not tolerate perverted justice, partiality, or the taking of bribes.

2 Chronicles 19:5-7 NLT

Fit for leadership

When Jehoshaphat appointed leaders for the people of Israel, he told them they would represent God in their decisionsa solemn responsibility.

Second Timothy 2 describes the kind of person fit for leadership. Those who want to become leaders should ask God to develop these traits in them: honesty, kindness, patience, purity, and integrity. Verses 24-25 explain:

The Lord's servants must not quarrel but must be kind to everyone. They must be able to teach effectively and be patient with difficult people. They should gently teach those who oppose the truth.

Leaders who teach God's Word have an even greater responsibility to use their authority carefully. Paul urged his friend Titus to model Christian character and to guard his integrity. People watch Christian leaders very carefullythey must be above reproach. Titus 2:7-8 and 15 state:

And you yourself must be an example to them by doing good deeds of every kind. Let everything you do reflect the integrity and seriousness of your teaching. Let your teaching be so correct that it can't be criticized. You have the authority to do this, so don't let anyone ignore or disregard what you say.

from Living Water for Those Who Thirst Tyndale House Publishers (2000), pp 121-22

Would you ever renounce your faith?

Arise, O Lord! Do not let mere mortals defy you! Let the nations be judged in your presence.
Make them tremble in fear, O Lord. Let them know they are merely human.
Psalm 9:19-20 NLT

Forty matryrs

"History knows them as the 40 martyrs of Sebaste. They were soldiers in the famed Twelfth Legion of Rome's imperial army, around A.D. 320. One day the captain informed his troops that Emperor Licinius had sent down an edict commanding all soldiers to offer a sacrifice to his pagan god. Forty of the soldiers were followers of Christ, and they refused.

The emperor decided to make an example of the soldiers, so he marched them onto a frozen lake and stripped them of their clothes. "Renounce your God and you will be spared from death," he told them. Not one man came forward. Throughout the night the men stayed together, singing their song of victory: "Forty Martyrs for Christ."

When morning came, 39 of the men had frozen to death. The one survivor recanted his confession of faith. The officer in charge that night had been so moved by the scene that during his watch he'd come to Jesus, so he broke rank and walked out onto the ice. Stripping his clothes he openly confessed his faith in Christ. He refused to renounce his new faith. When the ordeal was over, the Roman soldiers carried 40 frozen men off of the ice.

In comparison, my life is like a long night on a soft mattress. I may one day be faced with serious consequences for my faith. You may, too. Will we have the strength of character and heart and faith to stand strong just the same?

from Embracing Eternity by Tim LaHaye, Jerry B. Jenkins and Frank M. Martin (Tyndale) p 58"

Have you embarra**ed your heavenly Father?

"Such people claim they know God, but they deny him by the way they live.

Titus 1:16 NLT
"

Embarrasing God

"Not so long ago I saw a man shopping in a grocery store while his young son ran up and down the aisles. The boy was unleashed and hyper, making a complete nuisance of himself. The father kept calling his son's name, but the boy only ran fasterup one aisle and down the other.

Just as the father caught up with him, the boy reached out and grabbed a handful of candy bars. The father tried to take them away, but the boy held on tightly. Then he started to scream. It was a high-pitched, piercing scream that reverberated throughout the store. Clerks and customers turned to look from every direction as the frustrated father tried his best to squelch his son's cries. The boy only screamed louder and started to kick. Finally the father let him go, and once again he ran down the aisle with all his might, chocolate still cl**tched in his greedy little grip.

I caught a glimpse of the father's face. It was the look of complete and total embarra**ment. Although I'm sure he loved his son dearly, at this moment he was ashamed to be his father.

Do you think God ever feels that way with his children? Imagine how he must feel when we become so earthly minded that we run through life, ignoring his voice and oblivious to his warning, grabbing things as we go and holding them tightly.

Do you think God doesn't get embarra**ed by the way his children act? Out life is a reflection of his authority. And when we disobey, he is the One the world scoffs at.

from Embracing Eternity by Tim LaHaye, Jerry B. Jenkins and Frank M. Martin (Tyndale) p 148 "

Has your family been a blessing?

February 18, 2008

The godly walk with integrity; blessed are their children after them.

Proverbs 20:7 NLT

A heritage of blessings

What better motivations exist for us to be people of integrity than that our children will be blessed for it! Parents who are godly, who live with integrity and truthfulness, are wonderful examples to their children. Granted, this does not always guarantee that children will turn out perfectly, but children will nevertheless receive a great blessing from having such parents.

So what does it mean to "walk with integrity"? It means that "walk the talk." In other words, plenty of people know the right thing to do, but when the right time comes, they don't do it. They know they should tell the truth, for example, but if telling the truth will hurt, they opt for a lie instead. Children learn best from models they see and hear, but if they learn to bend the truth whenever needed, they set themselves up for problems in life. But if they learn to follow God and walk their faith, then they will have been greatly blessed.

WISE WAYS  Are you willing to walk with integrity in front of your children or those over whom you have influence? What kinds of blessings will they have from following your example?

Today, Lord, help me walk with integrity so as to be a good example to others.

adapted from The One YearŽ Book of Proverbs by Neil S. Wilson, Tyndale House Publishers (2002), entry for February 20

Happy families own a surface similarity of good cheer. For one thing, they like each other, which is quite a different thing from loving. For another, they have, almost always, one entirely personal treasurea sort of purseful of domestic humor which they have accumulated against rainy days. This humor is not necessarily witty. The jokes may be incomprehensible to outsiders, and the laughter springs from the most trivial of sources. But the jokes and the laughter belong entirely to the family.
PHYLLIS McGINLEY

Are you in need of renewal?

February 18, 2008

For the Lord has driven out great and powerful nations for you, and no one has yet been able to defeat him. Each one of you will put to flight a thousand of the enemy, for the Lord your God fights for you, just as he promised. So be careful to love the Lord your God.

Joshua 23:9-11 NLT

When strength fails and we grow weary, we need someone to come alongside us, show understanding, cheer us up, and inspire us to have the strength and commitment to move on. When bills pile up and money runs short, we need an encourager. When we become single parents and the world seems against us, we need an encourager. When friends and family turn against us, we need an encourager. Our strength and resolve weaken. Oh, for someone to come beside us and lift us up and comfort us. Encouragers help us stir renewed commitment, renewed resolve. They inspire us with courage and hope. Encouragers bring a beautiful gift, often a spiritual gift, when they bring renewal through encouragement.

adapted from TouchPoint Bible with devotional commentary by Ron Beers and Gilbert Beers, Tyndale House Publishers (1996), p 1188

Digging Deeper

For more on God's blessing of courage and encouragement, try Out of Harm's Way by Jack Thompson, Tyndale House Publishers (2005).

Jack, an outraged father and activist lawyer, is on a mission to protect children from the violent and obscene video games, music lyrics, shock jock radio shows, and television programs he says are creating a culture of violence and degradation. Going beyond outrage, Thompson chronicles his own spiritual journey from bystander to activist and offers the sociological, medical, scientific, and legal evidence that will motivate all Americansespecially parentsto get involved.

God Speak To Me

February 6, 2008
Started By Mekhilla6 Comments

God Speak To Me

The man whispered, God, speak to me.
And a meadowlark sang. But the man did not hear.

So the man yelled, God, speak to me!
Thunder rolled across the sky. But the man did not listen.

The man looked around and said, God, let me see you.
A star shone brightly. But he noticed it not.

And the man shouted, God, show me a miracle.
And a life was born. But the man was unaware.

So, the man cried out in despair, Touch me, God, and let me know that you are here!

Whereupon God reached down and touched the man.
But the man brushed the butterfly away and walked on.

Moral: Dont miss out on a blessing because it isnt packaged the way you expect.

mental slavery

February 16, 2008
Started By nexx1 Comments
The system is the chain an shackle of mental slavery, Black pple are the real rulers of earth, we built the first sky scrapers an large infastructures years ago . High school history is f**kry, dem only tell yo bout slavery wen dat a not even 4% a it. God neva gi u a brain an mind fi live by instructions, use it. Di whole a wi a Royalty (seriously) not slave.

THE SCARS OF LIFE

February 11, 2008
Started By Jamecho5 Comments
THE SCARS OF LIFE  

"Love is when God became man."  

Some years ago, on a hot summer day in south Florida, a little boy decided to go for a swim in the old swimming hole behind his house. In a hurry to dive into the cool water, he ran out the back door, leaving behind shoes, socks, and shirt as he went. He flew into the water, not realizing that as he swam toward the middle of the lake, an alligator was swimming toward the

shore.

His father, working in the yard, saw the two as they got closer and closer together. In utter fear, he ran toward the water, yelling to his son as loudly as he could.

Hearing his voice, the little boy became alarmed and made a U-turn to swim to his father. It was too late. Just as he reached his father, the alligator reached him.

From the dock, the father grabbed his little boy by the arms just as the alligator snatched his legs. That began an incredible tug-of-war between the two. The alligator was much stronger than the father, but the father was much too passionate to let go.

A farmer happened to drive by, heard his screams, raced from his truck, took aim and shot the alligator.

Remarkably, after weeks and weeks in the hospital, the little boy survived His legs were extremely scarred by the vicious attack of the animal. And, on his arms, were deep scratches where his father's fingernails dug into his flesh in his effort to hang on to the son he loved.

The newspaper reporter who interviewed the boy after the trauma, asked if he would show him his scars. The boy lifted his pant legs. And then, with obvious pride, he said to the reporter, "But look at my arms. I have great scars on my arms, too. I have them because my Dad wouldn't let go."

You and I can identify with that little boy. We have scars, too. No, not from an alligator, but the scars of a painful past. Some of those scars are unsightly and have caused us deep regret. But some wounds, my friend, are because God has refused to let you go. In the midst of your struggle, He's been there holding on to you.  

The Scripture teaches that God loves you. You are a child of God. He wants to protect you and provide for you in every way. But sometimes we foolishly wade into dangerous situations, not knowing what lies ahead. The swimming hole of life is filled with peril - and we forget that the enemy is waiting to attack. That's when the tug-of-war begins - and if you have the scars of His love on your arms, be very, very grateful. He did not and will not ever let you go.

Please pass this on to those you love. God has blessed you, so that you can be a blessing to others. You just never know where a person is in his/her life and what they are going 
through.  

Never judge another person's scars, because you don't know how they got them. Also, it is so important that we are not selfish, to receive the blessings of these messages, without forwarding them to someone else.

Right now, someone needs to know that God loves them, and you love them, too    - enough to not let them go.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~ 

Always Tell Your Family And Friends How Much You Love Them!!!

-- Edited by Jamecho at 15:45, 2008-02-11

THE FOUR BLESSED LOOKS

November 3, 2007
Started By Crazypickney10 Comments
Look back and thank God Look forward and trust God Look around and serve God Look within and find God

Life Is Not Perfect

January 19, 2008
Started By Crazypickney4 Comments

Life Is Not Perfect

Go ahead with life as it is, with the bumps and pitfalls.
However it is, give your best to every moment.

Don't spend your time waiting for the perfect situation,
something which is not very likely to come.

Life is not perfect;
the way you live can make it perfectly wonderful.
«First  <  111 12 13 14 1517  >  Last»  | Page of 17  sorted by