Forum: Lifestyle

Religion, Daily Inspiration & Spiritual Upliftment | Sightings & Mysteries of the Universe | Recipes, Nutrition, Health

For Ladies
1)DOn't Come On Too Strong
2)If u Like Him Affta A While Tell Him
3)If Him TEll U HIm Like U(If U Like Him Give Him Sum Forward,If U DOn't,Don't Play Wid Him Jus Tell Him

For Guys
1)Don't Guh Up To Har An Calll HAr Baby An Dem TIng Deh Until U An Her Are Together
2)Call Her Beautiful Instead Of HOT(It Makes Them Feel Special)
3)If U Like Her Don't Stop(Unless She Seh "MI NUH WAH U PUUUHHLLEEEZZZZ" Den U Lef Har Alone)

N One On GOd's Earth Can Say U Can't do That Or U CAN Never Be WAt U Wanna

A Little Advice:

There Is Nothing On This Earth U CAn't Do Jus Belive IN This Sentence
"Anything U Do Belive In God And Anything Is Posible"

REMEMBA DAT

-- Edited by dimmit at 19:35, 2008-05-31

Today's Daily Inspiration

May 29, 2008
Started By RastaQKing2 Comments

Today's Daily Inspiration

To feel good about yourself, do things that really matter to you.  Lord, help me to know my priorities and act in a manner that will fulfill them.

Random Daily Inspiration

Never make the mistake of taking more credit than is due or less credit than you are worth.  Lord, You have created me in Your image. Therefore, I am goodness and with You can accomplish great things.

Random Daily Inspiration

One of God's greatest gifts to us is eternal life.  Lord, may I daily care for the needs of my soul, grow strong in my love for You, and be an extension of You during my time on earth.

Random Daily Inspiration

We are not always what we ought to be or want to be, but through God's love we are not what we would be without Him. Lord, thank you for raising me to heights in this world that alone I could not reach and for giving me eternal life in the next

Bless One and All
Ras ~Q
Happy Monday!

If you expect to be told what or how without taking the time
to understand why, then you can also expect to often be
deceived. When you are unwilling to think for yourself,
there are plenty of people eagerly waiting to take advantage
of you.

You have an extraordinarily powerful and capable mind. Go to
the trouble and make the effort to make full use of it,
particularly when it concerns your own affairs.

Life is increasingly complex, and you can't be expected to
know every little detail about every little thing. But you
will be vastly more effective when you take the time to
learn the fundamental principles of what you're doing and
utilize good, solid reasoning.

When it's your health, your money, your career, your
property, your family or your future that's at stake, it's
your responsibility to understand the situation. The person
best suited to act in your best interest is you.

Certainly it is wise to seek the advice of experts. But stay
away from anyone who promises to do your thinking for you.

Make the effort to be informed and then put that information
to good, positive use. Think for yourself, and successfully
live life on your own terms.

Ralph Marston
When you're not headed in any particular direction, that's
where you'll end up arriving -- nowhere. When you have no
specific goal in mind, that's what you'll end up
accomplishing -- not much.

Sometimes it can be truly helpful and enlightening to wander
without a clear destination and to explore new territory.
Yet if that's all you ever do, all that enlightenment will
never be put to use.

When you give yourself a clear, specific goal, your actions
take on the power of purpose. That can help to make you more
creative, resourceful, persistent and effective.

Set a couple of goals for today, and you become far more
likely to get those things done. Powerful forces, some of
which you may not even realize or understand, are set in
motion by your intentions.

Before you start to move forward, decide for yourself
exactly what it means to move forward. Before you begin to
take action, be sure you know the reason for that action.

You'll accomplish much more when you clearly know what you
intend to accomplish. Get a goal, and you'll make it happen.

Ralph Marston
There is something new you can learn today. Learn the lesson
well and carry the wisdom with you.

There is some improvement you can make today. Make that
improvement and your efforts to do so will continue to
reward you for a long time to come.

There is someone who would dearly appreciate a kind word
from you today. Offer your kindness sincerely and often, and
you'll find your world growing ever brighter.

There is a purpose within you today. Express that purpose
through your actions and commitments, and you'll know the
sweet taste of true fulfillment.

There is a way for you to make a positive difference today.
Change the world in your own special way, and you'll find it
to be an even more beautiful place to live.

This day is filled with many possibilities, and you are here
now to live them. There is so much you can do today, and now
is the moment to begin.

Ralph Marston

UNSURPASSED ENTHUSIASM

May 31, 2008
Started By YUNG_BERRY2 Comments
When the going gets rough, that's not a sign that you must
lower your expectations. It is precisely during such times
that your best strategy is to raise those expectations.

If your goal is to merely get by, to do nothing more than
just break even, there's nothing in it to motivate or
inspire you. Set your sights on a destination so compelling
that you'll be pulled toward it just by thinking about it.

Giving up and settling for less is never the answer to
life's challenges. See those challenges as the tremendously
valuable opportunities that they are.

Always, always, always there are rich rewards waiting for
those who can produce and provide real value to life. That
is even more acutely true in times of turmoil and
uncertainty.

You have so very much to offer, for you are smart,
experienced, adaptable, curious, open-minded and willing to
make a positive difference. So by all means, get busy making
your own unique contribution to life with every opportunity
that comes your way.

This is your time to shine more brightly than ever before.
Greet this day, and every day, with the unsurpassed
enthusiasm of knowing what a truly grand opportunity is now
in your hands.

Ralph Marston
Is it best to be a dreamer or is it best to be a doer?
Actually, it is helpful to be both.

In all great creations, the idealistic exists with the
pragmatic in elegant proportions. A dream is of little value
unless you put action into it, and action won't get you very
far unless there is meaningful purpose behind it.

Allow yourself to dream grand, magnificent dreams that
express the deepest essence of who you are. Then let those
dreams pull you steadily through the practical,
nuts-and-bolts work of making them real.

Work through each day with diligence and persistence, doing
what there is to be done. And as you do, stay close to the
dreamer that always lives within you.

As a dreamer, you can envision a world and a life with no
limits. As a doer, you can focus on something that has never
existed before and make it real.

Let your most treasured dreams focus your actions and let
your actions express your dreams. Be both a dreamer and a
doer, and dive deeply into the multifaceted treasure that is
your life.

Ralph Marston
Wealth is not a specific number or amount. It is an attitude.

There is more than enough abundance in the world. It is
yours to the extent that you imagine it to be and then
proceed to live and to genuinely act according to your
expectations.

The less you need, the more you have. When you need nothing,
you have it all.

What you grab from others will be of no use to you. It is
the value you're able to provide to others that creates
enduring wealth.

You can be wealthy this very moment. For when you sincerely
see yourself as wealthy, you truly are.

Look within yourself and discover the true wealth that is
unique to you. And find real joy in building upon that
wealth, day after day.

Ralph Marston

IN GOOD TIME

May 29, 2008
Started By YUNG_BERRY1 Comments
Are you looking for instant results? Then you'll likely put
forth great effort and expense while encountering much
frustration, with no guarantee that you'll reach your goal.

There is a much more reliable and easily accessible way to
achieve the results you seek. It is with patience.

Instead of fighting against time and making time your enemy,
use time as your friend. Instead of being resentful that you
can't have it all now, be thankful that you can savor the
process of working your way toward a meaningful goal.

To obtain anything of great value, you must provide great
value and exert great effort. Spreading that effort over a
reasonable amount of time is a key to dependable success.

Rushing through life is neither enjoyable nor effective.
Slow down, spend your time and resources wisely and
thoughtfully, and enjoy the journey.

With your efforts steady and consistent, have the patience
to let life unfold at a sustainable pace. And the results
you seek will surely come to you in good time.

Ralph Marston
Often you are called upon to make decisions both big and
small. Sometimes it is not clear which choice will bring the
most positive value to your life.

Give care and thoughtful consideration to your decisions.
But don't obsess over those decisions so much that you fail
to make them.

Though it can at times be impossible to know which choice is
best for you, it is usually very easy to know what the worst
choice is. Almost always, the worst choice is to avoid
making a choice.

Life offers many attractive choices. And yet you cannot
choose all of them at once.

Make your choice, and then put your commitment behind it.
Even if it doesn't work out as you expected, at the very
least you will have gained valuable knowledge and experience
for making the next choice.

Each choice leads to other choices, and with every choice
you improve your ability to wisely choose. Be consistently
decisive, and the choices you make will bring real value
into your world.

Ralph Marston

052908.jpg

A Call to the Nations

In 1962, Dr. Cerullo realized there were more people alive around the world who had not heard the Gospel of Jesus Christ than could possibly be reached by any ministry through the traditional missionary approach. He realized the key to reaching the world was to train Nationals to reach their own people. This vision and specific call from God has resulted in an army of the Body of Christ being raised up to reach their nations. On this very special broadcast, hear Dr. Cerullo share his vision and what God is doing through believers to finance the coming international harvest of souls. This is a must-see telecast with Pastor Benny Hinn and Dr. Morris Cerullo!

No Batty Sex

February 18, 2008
Started By nexx27 Comments
 Yo av some man an some woman who a indulge inna batty sex an a talk bout dem no tink nutt'n wrong wid it cauz a man an woman NOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!, it wrong an if u dweet an a read dis, BUN U! No blutclaat XQs ... gyal a talk bout dem like it up di ass, bomnoclaat nasty!!

What is trust?

May 27, 2008
Started By Crazypickney0 Comments
This week's promise: God is our security

What is trust?

Those who know your name trust in you, for you, O Lord, have never abandoned anyone who searches for you.

Psalm 9:10 NLT

Trust involves letting go and knowing God will catch you.
James Dobson

Why Not?

Something is holding us back. Perhaps it is a fear that maybe we are wrong about God. Maybe we feel presumptuous. It is possible, if we have been disappointed in the past, that our misunderstanding is haunting us. We hear a voice in the back of our minds that says, "What if God doesn't come through? What if he makes it more difficult than I can handle? What if all my hopes are illusions?" So we hesitate to trust God. We pray and we hope, but faith remains incomplete and doubts linger. We'll ask Him to help us, but we withhold judgment until we've seen His response.

We are called to believe God with reckless abandonnot just believe that He is there and that He is involved with us somehow; but that He is actively, personally seeking our good and answering our prayers. We are to give up our own strategies and ambitions, to relinquish all "Plan Bs," to recklessly, irrevocably cast ourselves completely into His arms.

God called Abraham to leave Haran and go to a place to be revealed later. Jesus invited Peter to step out of the boat and walk on water. That kind of call is scary, though typical in God's Kingdom. But why is it scary? Where could He lead us that we'd regret? Would He ever lead us into danger but not out of it?

God calls us to "reckless" trust, the kind that prepares no safety net and reserves nothing for a spiritually rainy day. Try to find someone God had forsaken, observe His faithfulness, and ask yourself: "Why wouldn't I trust Him wholeheartedly? Think about it. Why not?

Adapted from The One YearŽ Walk with God Devotional by Chris Tiegreen, Tyndale House Publishers (2004), entry for May 12.

Content is derived from the Holy Bible, New Living Translation and other publications of Tyndale Publishing House

"I will come back"

May 27, 2008
This week's promise: Christ will return

"I will come back"

[Jesus said], "When everything is ready, I will come and get you, so that you will always be with me where I am. And you know where I am going and how to get there."

John 14:3-4 NLT

His promise to return

As a child, George Tulloch was fascinated by stories of the Titanic.In 1996 he put together a team of the best scientists and sailors and set out to the exact spot where the Titanic sank in 1912. He and his crew were able to recover numerous artifacts from the shipeyeglasses, jewelry, dishware, some coins and the like. But the most exciting thing they found was a large piece of the hull resting several hundred yards away.

The team did it's best to raise the twenty-ton piece of iron, but to no avail. At one point the team almost had it.but a storm blew in and.the Atlantic reclaimed its treasure. Then Tulloch did something surprising before they were forced to retreat. He descended into the deep once more in a small submarine, and using a robotic arm, he attached a small handmade placard onto the section. It said, "I will come back. George Tulloch."

For a lot of the same reasons, Jesus left us a similar message. "I am going to prepare a place for you..When everything is ready, I will come and get you" (John 14:2-3). Some may wonder why he cared in the first place. Why would he even want to reclaim us? What good are we to him? In many ways we're just as worthless and cumbersome and unyielding as that lazy piece of iron in the Atlantic.

But Jesus doesn't see us that way. He's dreamed of this moment since the beginning of creation, and now that the time is near he can't help but leave this mark on our hearts. "I'm leaving now. But don't worry, I'll be back.

Adapted from Embracing Eternity by Tim LaHaye, Jerry Jenkins and Frank M. Martin, Tyndale House Publishers (2004), entry for January 1.

Digging Deeper: This week (Tuesday) is the release of the The Rapture , the last of three prequel stories to the Left Behind series.

Content is derived from the Holy Bible, New Living Translation and other publications of Tyndale Publishing House

Everyone will see

May 27, 2008
Started By Crazypickney1 Comments

Everyone will see

[Jesus said], "Then everyone will see the Son of Man arrive on the clouds with power and great glory. So when all these things begin to happen, stand straight and look up, for your salvation is near!"

Luke 21:27-28 NLT

No fear of judgment

What images come to mind when you think of "end times prophecies"?Most people, if they were honest, would admit that their view of the end times is a frightening one.They imagine an angry and vengeful God hovering high above it all, bent on destruction and raining terror on all who have rejected him.

Have we missed something? In many ways I think we have. God didn't reveal these graphic images of the coming judgment to express his wrath or even to frighten us into believing. He revealed them to show us his wonderful grace and mercy in the midst of our sin and unworthiness. The story isn't about pending gloom and doom, but it's about a loving Father who will do anything he can to help people escape the consequences of evil.

Bible prophecy isn't intended to frighten us, but it's to prove beyond a shadow of a doubt that God is real and omnipotent and active in our lives; to warn us of the very real danger lying ahead for those who reject his love and mercy; and to encourage us to accept his gracious and free offer of salvation through his Son, Jesus.

In his first letter to Timothy, Paul tells us that God "wants everyone to be saved and to understand the truth" (2:4).Time and again in Scripture we are told that God longs for his people to be with him in heaven. The Bible is not a story of wrath and judgment but of unconditional love and redemption. God longs to be with us and wants desperately for us to accept his hand of salvation. What we do is up to us.

Adapted from Embracing Eternity by Tim LaHaye, Jerry Jenkins and Frank M. Martin, Tyndale House Publishers (2004), entry for January 3.

A heavenly vision

May 27, 2008

A heavenly vision

After I saw a vast crowd, too great to count, from every nation and people and language, standing in front of the throne and before the Lamb. They were clothed in white and held palm branches in their hands. And they were shouting with a mighty shout, "Salvation comes from our God on the throne and from the Lamb!"

Revelation 7:9-10 NLT

Heavenly praise for the Lamb

Many times our prayers tend to focus on this world and the struggles we encounter in our lives. God understands and accepts these prayers, but we must also direct our thoughts and prayers to the victory we will share with Christ. In Revelation, God gives us a splendid portrayal of that final victory. In a vision, the apostle John sees a magnificent scene: a vast multitude celebrating the triumph of the Lamb of God. Waving palm branches, the traditional symbol of victory, people from all over the world extol God for the salvation he had provided through his Son.

As followers of Christ, today, we are privileged to be part of this multitudethe communion of believers. Because Jesus has overcome death, a new life of wholeness and peace through him has opened up to us. This is worth shouting aboutpraising God with all that is in us!

A prayer for today

Dear Lord, I join your praying people through the ages to shout about that salvation that comes from you

Adapted from The One YearŽ Book of Bible Prayers edited by Bruce Barton, Tyndale House Publishers (2000), entry for April 3.

Today is the release of the The Rapture , the last of three prequel stories to the Left Behind series. It provides a glimpse of heaven for those who are raptured.

Today's Scripture

We are Christs Ambassadors (II Corinthians 5:20).

Today's Word from Joel and Victoria

As believers in Jesus, we are His ambassadors or representatives in the earth. In the natural, an ambassador is privileged. They are a diplomat with the highest rank. They walk in the authority of the name of the one who sent them. The ambassador makes decisions and solves problems, but their primary role is to promote diplomatic relationships. As Gods ambassadors in the earth, we walk in His power and authority. We are to promote relationship with Him. The Bible also calls us ministers of reconciliation in the earth. That means that we are to share the message of the gospelthat mans relationship to God has been reconciled through Jesus Christ. When you see yourself as Gods ambassador, it will change the way you think and act. It will change the way you approach people. Remember, you are a representative of Almighty God. Look for ways to promote relationship with Him. Show kindness because His kindness leads people to change. Speak words of healing that will draw people to Him. As you fulfill your role as an ambassador of God, He will honor your faithfulness and pour out His blessing upon you all the days of your life.

A Prayer for Today

Heavenly Father, thank You for choosing me as Your ambassador. Help me to fully understand the authority Youve given. Show me ways to promote relationship with You and build Your kingdom in the earth. In Jesus Name. Amen.

Bless One and All,
Ras ~Q

Our only safety

May 23, 2008

Our only safety

The Lord protects the upright but destroys the wicked.

Proverbs 10:29 NLT

The center of God's will is our only safety.
Betsie ten Boom

A refuge and a ruin

Early explorers who dared to cross oceans quickly learned a valuable lesson: The currents of the sea could carry them to their destination, if followed correctly. Those currents could also divert them from their journey, if ignored. The very same current can have either a positive effect or a negative effect on a sailing vessel; it all depends on the knowledge and the response of the crew.

God's wisdom is, in some ways, like the currents of the sea. It can carry us where we need to go. It is our refuge, the means to keep us safe and bring us to our desired destination. But only if we follow it. The benefit of His wisdom only applies to those who are willing to line up with it and set their course accordingly. Otherwise, those same beneficial currents will lead to ruin.

History is filled with millions who have tried to follow a path contrary to God's wisdom. It may be a false religion or philosophy, a personal ambition, a political agenda, an economic strategy, or any other things that we humans, in our ignorance, may set our hearts on. Millions have sailed against the currents of God and failed. Their end is miserable. What looked so promising was found to be futile.

Do you have a personal agenda? Plans for your future? Examine them closely and ask yourself if they are thoroughly consistent with God's ways. If not, you could sail comfortably for thousands of miles, thinking you're headed toward the right destination, only to find out you're far, far away. Even slight variations in the beginning can lead you way off course in the end. Plan now. Learn the currents. Take refuges in the wisdom of God.

Adapted from The One YearŽ Walk with God Devotional by Chris Tiegreen, Tyndale House Publishers (2004), entry for May 14.

God will catch you

May 23, 2008

God will catch you

There is no one like the God of Israel. He rides across the heavens to help you, across the skies in majestic splendor. The eternal God is your refuge, and his everlasting arms are under you.

Deuteronomy 33:26-27 NLT

When you are at the end of your rope, God is there to catch youbut not before.
Erwin W. Lutzer

God's everlasting arms

Our world seemed to be falling apart. My husband was severely depressed, and his business was crumbling. As I tried to support and nurture our children, help my husband, and take up the slack financially, I became drained physically, spiritually, and mentally. I cried out to God in exhaustion, and I felt his everlasting arms underneath me. Quieting my racing heart, the Lord reminded me that although my own resources might be exhausted, his resources were limitless.

During that difficult season I experienced God as my refuge when there was nowhere else to turn, and I felt his security in the middle of a very uncertain, insecure time.

In today's passage Moses praises the Lord and assures the Israelites that God will be with them no matter what adversity or trial they encounterthat he is their refuge and underneath them are his everlasting arms. Do you need to feel God's everlasting arms carrying you today because your strength is exhausted? Do you know someone who is in desperate straits and needs God's help? Pray these verses for yourself or for someone else, and proclaim God's faithfulness.

LORD, there is no one like you! You ride across the heavens in majestic splendor to help us when we cry out to you. May we experience you today as our refuge and sense your everlasting arms of protection and love holding us. I praise you for your faithfulness and unparalleled power!

Adapted from The One YearŽ Book of Praying through the Bible by Cheri Fuller, Tyndale House Publishers (2003), entry for April 9.

What is security?

May 23, 2008

What is security?

Put on the whole armor, and take up your shield. Prepare for battle, and come to my aid.

Psalm 35:2 NLT

Security is our nearness to God, not our distance from danger.
Kenneth R. Hendre

In the gun sights

When Ira Sankey was at the height of his ministry, he was traveling on a steamer in the Delaware River. Some passengers had seen his picture in the newspaper and knew he was associated with evangelist D. L. Moody. When they asked him to sing one of his own compositions, Sankey said he preferred a hymn by William Bradbury, "Savior, Like a Shepherd Lead Us." One of the stanzas begins, "We are thine, do thou befriend us; be the guardian of our way."

When he finished, a man stepped out and inquired, "Were you in the army, Mr. Sankey?"

"Yes, I joined up in 1860."

"Did you ever do guard duty at night in Maryland, about 1862?"

"Yes, I did."

"Well, I was in the Confederate Army," said the stranger. "I saw you one night at Sharpsburg. I had you in my gun sight as you stood there in the light of the full moon. Just as I was about the pull the trigger, you began to sing. It was the same hymn you sang tonight," the man told an astonished Sankey. "I couldn't shoot you."
I. M. Anderson in Moody

Life is filled with near misses. We know only a fraction of the many situations in which God preserves us from severe physical and emotional injury.

Adapted from Men of Integrity Devotional Bible with devotions from the editors of Men of Integrity, a publication of Christianity Today International (Tyndale, 2002), entry for May 14.

Open Gates Of Life

November 15, 2007
Started By Crazypickney2 Comments
We are all inventors. Each sailing out on a voyage of discovery. Each guided by a private chart, of which there is no duplicate. The world is all gates, all opportunities. All you have to do is... decide which one you want to explore.

Unsurpassed enthusiasm

April 29, 2008
Started By Jamecho3 Comments

Unsurpassed enthusiasm

When the going gets rough, that's not a sign that you must lower your expectations. It is precisely during such times that your best strategy is to raise those expectations.

If your goal is to merely get by, to do nothing more than just break even, there's nothing in it to motivate or inspire you. Set your sights on a destination so compelling that you'll be pulled toward it just by thinking about it.

Giving up and settling for less is never the answer to life's challenges. See those challenges as the tremendously valuable opportunities that they are.

Always, always, always there are rich rewards waiting for those who can produce and provide real value to life. That is even more acutely true in times of turmoil and uncertainty.

You have so very much to offer, for you are smart, experienced, adaptable, curious, open-minded and willing to make a positive difference. So by all means, get busy making your own unique contribution to life with every opportunity that comes your way.

This is your time to shine more brightly than ever before. Greet this day, and every day, with the unsurpassed enthusiasm of knowing what a truly grand opportunity is now in your hands.

-- Ralph Marston

Today's Scripture

Wisdom is supreme; therefore get wisdom (Proverbs 4:7).

God wants us to know Him better. He wants us to know what to do in every situation. He wants us to have His wisdom so we can live the abundant life He has prepared for us. Wisdom is simply knowing the mind of God about a particular thing. Its found in the Word of God. Proverbs says that when we reverence and honor the Lord, it opens the door to wisdom in our life. Gods wisdom is not like earthly wisdom. In other words, Gods wisdom wont always make sense to your natural mind. For instance, the worlds wisdom says in order to increase, keep what you have. Gods wisdom says to give what you have and it shall be given back to you in greater measure. Gods wisdom is supreme. How do you get wisdom? First of all, James tells us simply to ask for it. And then open your heart to the Word of God; obey His commands and honor Him. As you are diligent to seek wisdom, you will find it. As you honor the Lord, He will honor you. Hell pour out His favor on you, and youll live in wisdom and blessing all the days of your life.

A Prayer for Today

Father in heaven, thank You for the privilege to boldly come before Your throne of grace. I humbly ask You for wisdom, for understanding, for Your direction. I receive it all now, in Jesus Name. Amen.

Bless One and All,
Ras ~Q

Today's Scripture

Therefore encourage one another and build each other up (I Thessalonians 5:11).

God designed us to live in relationship with others. He wants us to help each other grow. None of us will reach our highest potential by ourselves. We need people in our lives to encourage us, and we need to encourage the people in our lives and help them reach their potential. The word encourage means to urge forward. Many times you can see things in other people that they dont see themselves. You can see their strengths and talents. You can see that God has a special plan for them even though they may be going through a difficult time. Dont assume that people see what you see in them. Take a moment and encourage them either with a kind word or a simple note. There might be a special gift you can give that will remind them of their goal or dream. In whatever way you can, urge the people in your life to keep moving forward. If youll be a people builder and help others fulfill their dreams, God will help you fulfill your dreams also, and youll live in blessing all the days of your life.

A Prayer for Today

Father in heaven, thank You for the people You have placed in my life. Help me build them up and find creative ways to urge them forward to Your glory. In Jesus Name. Amen.

Bless One And All
Ras ~Q

Today's Scripture

But now since you have been set free from sinyou have your present reward in holiness and its end is eternal life (Romans 6:22).

Holiness is a powerful force in our lives. It leads us to eternal life. Holiness simply means being set apart. You are set apart when you accept Jesus as your Lord and Savior. He makes His home in you, and His holiness lives on the inside of you, too. The Bible tells us that without holiness, no one can see God. God sets us apart and calls us His own, but its up to us to continue living a life that is set apart from sin and destructive influences. We have to set ourselves apart from our old ways, old behaviors, and old mindsets. Remember, God chose to set you apart for Himself because He loves you. He doesnt want anything to keep you from His promises and blessings. Make the decision to let go of anything that would hold you back today. Remember, you are set apart for Gods purposes. Let that sink down into your heart today and fill you with hope. As you embrace holiness and live a life that is set apart, you will see God, and you will live the abundant life He has in store for you!

A Prayer for Today

Father in heaven, thank You for setting me apart and making me holy in Your sight. I choose to live a life that is set apart and pleasing to You. Fill me with Your peace and power today so I can honor You always. In Jesus Name. Amen.

Bless One and All,
Ras ~Q

Trusting in God's promises

May 19, 2008

Trusting in God's promises

I bow before your holy Temple as I worship. I will give thanks to your name for your unfailing love and faithfulness, because your promises are backed by all the honor of your name.
Psalm 138:2 NLT

God makes a promise, faith believes it, hope anticipates it, patience quietly awaits it.
unknown

Precious promises

When David Livingstone had to pass through the most dangerous country of the fierce native chief Mburuma and decide whether to furtively sneak through at night or go by day and risk being killed, he staked his life on the promise of Jesus' presence in Matthew 29:19-20: "Go and make disciples of all nations.And be sure of this: I am with you always, even to the end of the age." He wrote in his journal, "t is the word of a Gentleman of the most sacred and strictest honor, so there's an end on it!" Livingstone knew that God backs up his promises with all the honor of his name, so he proceeded in broad daylight, trusting in his Savior's promise. God fulfilled his Word, and Livingstone made the crossing safely because the Lord Jesus was beside him, just as he said he would be. God's promises are just as true and alive today for those who will pray them, trust them, stand on them, and walk in them.

THANK YOU, FATHER, for backing your promises by all the honor of your name. It is a mighty and powerful and trustworthy name! I give thanks to you for your unfailing love and faithfulness. Help me to move forward under your direction in the light of your unfailing and precious promises.

Adapted from The One YearŽ Book of Praying through the Bible by Cheri Fuller, Tyndale House Publishers (2003), entry for June 20.

This week's promise: God honors truth What do you serve your mind? Fix your thoughts on what is true and honorable and right. Think about things that are pure and lovely and admirable. Think about things that are excellent and worthy of praise. Philippians 4:8 NLT No one would allow garbage at his table, but many allow it served into their minds. Fulton John Sheen Watch your diet What would we expect of someone who feeds only on fast food and unhealthy snacks filled with sugar and fats? A healthy body? Long life? No, we would expect physical health to be largely the product of physical intake. Is it any different in the spirit? Modern culture is saturated with unhealthy spiritual foodfrom the lusts of the flesh and the eyes, to the human pride of the self-life, to elaborate and deceptive worldviews and philosophies. Hundreds of television channels, dozens of newspapers and magazines, unlimited cyberspace images, and a number of other media compete for our attention. We let many of them actually win our attention. And much of what we feed on is unhealthy. In our pursuit of wisdom, our minds often hunger for genuine nutrition. "You are what you eat" applies not only in the physical world, but also in the spiritual. There's no way to take in junk without becoming junky. God calls us to watch our diets. It pleases Him when we care for His temple, our bodies. But it pleases HIm much more when we care for our minds. Our thought life is where His Spirit most prefers to work, shaping uncl**ttered hearts and imparting wisdom to uncl**ttered minds. Even so, we do not make a smooth highway for Him into our souls. Through our entertainment, we let ourselves be b****arded by an incessant PR campaign for the ways of the world. Find a balance. Watch what goes into your mind. Without hindrance, let His thoughts nourish you. Adapted from The One YearŽ Walk with God Devotional by Chris Tiegreen, Tyndale House Publishers (2004), entry for April 4. Content is derived from the Holy Bible, New Living Translation and other publications of Tyndale Publishing House
This week's promise: God honors truth

So good, it has to be true!

Yes, what joy for those whose record the Lord has cleared of sin, whose lives are lived in complete honesty!

Psalm 32:2 NLT

No, it's so good it has to be true.
George MacDonald (when someone protested
that the plan of salvation is too good to be true)

I never paid the bill

When I was boy, my mother would go to Margulie's grocery store, get what she needed, and tell Mr. Margulie to put it on her bill. Every once in a while, Mama would send me to Margulie's for something and tell me to put it on our bill. As I got older, I realized that Daddy had paid the bill. By the time I charged the next piece of bologna, the first piece had already been paid for.

God says blessed is he who goes down to Mr. Margulie's store. When he gets there, his books are clean because Daddy has already paid the bill. God says that when you come before him and sincerely repent, the record of that sin is paid for in full. There's no record of your past bill.
Kenneth G. Ulmer
in Spiritually Fit to Run the Race

Some of us can confess to bringing home something from a toy store without paying for it. We were probably six or seven years old, and we thought we'd pulled a fast one. But, of course, Mom and Dad always found out. They warned us that we might be doing time on the rock pile for pilfering that box of Legos, and they dragged us back to the store. As we walked up to the owner with the Legos, we thought we were doomed. In most cases, grace entered the picture. The owner didn't call the police, but he did scare us half to death with a warning never to steal again. For most of us, that fixed our wagon once and for all.

Like the storeowner, God could hold our sins against us, but he doesn't. He doesn't because Jesus has already paid for the Legos. For that, we "sing with joy to the Lord" (Psalm 33:1).

Adapted from Men of Integrity Devotional Bible with devotions from the editors of Men of Integrity, a publication of Christianity Today International (Tyndale, 2002), entry for May 12.

Bound to be true

May 16, 2008

Bound to be true

Who may enter your presence on your holy hill? Those whokeep their promise even when it hurts.

Psalm 15:1,4 NLT

I am not bound to win, but I am bound to be true. I am not bound to succeed, but I am bound to live by the light that I have.
Abraham Lincoln

Breach of contract

A man I was discipling was involved in a difficult suit with his partners; they had committed acts that had breached contracts and given them substantial liability.

His business partners wouldn't admit, much less deal with, the problem. So my friend arranged a luncheon during which he introduced me as his personal lawyer. His partners were surprised and even irritated as we began talking about the case, but after about 30 minutes they seemed relieved to finally be confronting the issues.

After about two hours, everyone agreed they would try to settle the case. My friend, who was mostly responsible for the problem, agreed to bear a disproportionately larger part of the financial settlement.

The case was settled within 30 days. Its impact on the reputation and customer base of the firm was minimal, and the partners saw my friend in a new light. He was someone who had courage, conviction, and conscience. He was a man of character.
Phil Downer in Eternal Impact

Rather than looking out for selfish gain in the courts, believers are commanded to work out disputes with justice and fairness. At the heart of such resolution of problems is the commitment of believers to "keep their promises even when it hurts" (Psalm 15:4).

Adapted from Men of Integrity Devotional Bible with devotions from the editors of Men of Integrity, a publication of Christianity Today International (Tyndale, 2002), entry for May 3.

Teach the truth

May 16, 2008

Teach the truth

Make them pure and holy by teaching them your words of truth.

John 17:17 NLT

Truth is unchanging

"Hey, Mom, guess what we learned in school today?" Victor took off his raincoat and dropped it on the floor inside the back door.

"Did you know that people used to think the world was flat?" Victor said.

"Did they?" Mom said, dropping her mouth in an expression of shock. "If it's not flat, what shape is it?"

"It's round," Victor said. "You know that."

"You're right," Mom admitted. They sat down in a chair next to a freestanding globe in the corner of the front room. "But all those years people  thought the world was flat, was it flat or was it round?"

Victor thought for a moment before answering firmly, "Round."

Mom nodded, "That's right, Victor. You see what people thought didn't change what was true, did it? Let me ask you one more question, Victor. Some people say the Word of God isn't true. What do you think about that?"

Victor pondered his mom's question for a long minute before answering. "What they  think doesn't matter, does it, Mommy?" Victor answered.

"You're right, Victor," Mom said. "Because truth doesn't change."

Adapted from The One YearŽ Book of Josh MacDowell's Family Devotions by Bob Hostetler, Tyndale House Publishers (1997), p 122.

Our topic on truthfulness was timed to the scheduled release of The Da Vinci Code movie. The book has been an unprecedented success and stirred considerable debate about its theology. It has also aroused much anticipation for the movie. A number of Tyndale authors have prepared books examining "the Code" and Tyndale has created a website specifically as a resource: www.davincideception.com.

Today's Scripture

I have set before you life and death, the blessing and the curse. So choose life in order that you may live (Deuteronomy 30:19).

God desires that you live in blessing in every area of your life. Hes given promises in His Word and has established a plan for you to live in total victory. He promises to give you the answers, but you have to be the one to decide to obey His voice. You have the final choice, so choose life and blessing! Every time you choose to obey the Word of God, you are choosing blessing. When you put God first in your life; when you walk in love towards others even when its difficult, you are choosing blessing. When you turn away from ungodly influences and when you give to others, God will pour out His blessing on you in return. Start today and do what you know to do. Obey His word and His blessing will overtake you! Youll rise higher and higher and live the abundant life He has for you.

A Prayer for Today

Father in heaven, today I choose life. I choose blessing by obeying Your Word. Keep me close to You so that I can honor You in all I say and do. In Jesus Name. Amen.

Bless one and all,
Ras ~Q

Today's Scripture

Send your grain across the seas, and in time, profits will flow back to you (Ecclesiastes 11:1 NLT).

Gods system works on the principle of sowing and reaping. What you pour out will come back to you in increased measure. When you give generously, a generous harvest will return to you. When you help others succeed, you will find abundant success on your path, too. What are you investing in the lives of the people around you? Are you helping others get ahead? There are people in your life who hold the keys for you to reach your full potential. These are people that God has placed in your life for you to help along. The higher they rise up, the higher you will rise up. When you give generously of your time, talent, and resources, you are setting yourself up for greater success. People will come across your path that will help you grow and reach your full potential. But you have to do your part to step out and sow the seed. Be on the lookout for ways you can help others. As you give of yourself to help others grow, youll rise higher and live the abundant life He has in store for you.

A Prayer for Today

Father in heaven, I open my heart to Your heart. I invite You to use me to be a blessing in the lives of others. Show me where to invest my time, talent, and resources for Your glory. In Jesus Name. Amen.

Bless One and All,
Ras ~Q

Israel's future

May 10, 2008
Started By Crazypickney3 Comments
This week's promise: God protects his people

Israel's future

In that day the mountains will drip with sweet wine.

Joel 3:18 NLT

Live in God's blessing

After all is said and done, what does it look like when God's restoration is complete? How does the blessing of God's redemption manifest itself when he's finished reinstating his people?

When we move away from God and disobey his commands, he brings us under his hand of discipline. His purpose is to keep us from harm and to bring us back into communion with him. He restores our blessings, even greater than before.

The prophet Joel described it like this: "In that day the mountains will drip with sweet wine, and the hills will flow with milk. Water will fill the dry streambeds of Judah, and a fountain will burst forth from the Lord's Temple, watering the arid valley of acacias.Judah will remain forever, and Jerusalem will endure through all future generations." (Joel 3:18-21).

Simply put, it looks like heaven on earth: God's people living in the light of God's blessing, moving in his will, bathing in his mercy, feeling his presence, singing his praises, experiencing his glorious love. When we live the way God wants us to live, he brings blessings too great to describe. He shelters and defends us. He provides for our every need. He hears our prayers and answers them. He resides among us.

It's hard for so many of us to imagine that because we live so much of our life in rebellion. God doesn't want us to spend our life under his hand of disciplinehe has much greater plans. If only we could learn to rest in his love and give ourselves over to his perfect will. That's when we would know firsthand that God's provision and goodness are far beyond anything we could expect or imagine.

Adapted from Embracing Eternity by Tim LaHaye, Jerry Jenkins and Frank M. Martin, Tyndale House Publishers (2004), entry for March 1.

Today's Scripture

Jesus said to them, Only in his hometown, among his relatives and in his own house is a prophet without honor. He could not do any miracles thereAnd he was amazed at their lack of faith (Mark 6:4-6)

Did you know that honor and faith work together? When Jesus walked the earth, the people in His own hometown couldnt believe that He was the Son of God because they were too familiar with Him. They didnt honor Him, which affected their ability to have faith in Him. When you honor the Lord, when you respect and make room for Him in your life by following the Word of God, it impacts your faith in Him. Part of honoring the Lord is honoring the people Hes placed in your life. God works through people, and the Bible says that the way you treat others is the way you treat Him. Choose to honor people and make room for the Lord to work in your life, today. Look for the greatness in the people around you: your spouse, your children, your friends and family. Treat others with respect, knowing that God is building His character in you. As you choose honor, you open the door for faith to grow. Youll see Gods hand working in your life, and you will see His hand of blessing on everything you do!

A Prayer for Today

Heavenly Father, today I choose to honor You by honoring the people You have placed in my life. Show me how to love others the way You love me so that faith will grow stronger in my heart. In Jesus Name. Amen.

Bless One and All,
Ras ~Q

Today's Scripture

As long as the earth remains, there will be seedtime and harvest (Genesis 8:22).

God loves you so much, and He wants you to live in abundance in every area of your life. In the book of Genesis, in the very beginning, He established a system for increase. Everything in life operates off of seedtime and harvest. As long as you have seed, you have increase in your hand. But a seed will lay dormant until it is placed in the right conditions. You have to plant that seed and water it in order for it to grow. What are the seeds you have in your hand? It can be as simple as the seed of a smile that will produce happiness in your life. It can be a financial seed that will produce provision in your life. Give and it shall be given back to you in greater measure. The Bible says that Gods Word is water and when you speak the Word, you are watering your seeds. Ask the Lord today to show you what seeds you have in your hand. Hell show you where to plant them, and Hell watch over those seeds to produce an abundant harvest in every area of your life!

A Prayer for Today

Father in heaven, thank You for seedtime and harvest. Thank You for the system to activate blessing in my life. Show me where to give the seed I have in my hand so that I can reap the harvest You have prepared for me. In Jesus Name. Amen.

Bless One and All
Ras ~Q

Today's Scripture

Many are the afflictions of the righteous, but the LORD delivers him out of them all (Psalm 34:19).

Everyone goes through seasons of difficulty and challenge in life. One of the enemys traps is to isolate you and convince you that you wont make it. But God promises that He will deliver the righteous out of all of their afflictions. You are righteous because of your relationship with God through Christ Jesus. You are righteous simply by having faith in Him, His goodness, and the promises in His Word. If youre going through a tough time today, keep an attitude of faith and expectancy. Declare His promises over your life. You are more than a conqueror through Him! The joy of the Lord is your strength! As you continue to stand, even during the difficult times, you can be assured that victory is on the way. It might be todayit might be next weeknext month, or next year, but God is faithful! Through faith and patience, you will inherit the promise. You will get beyond your difficulty, and youll increase in wisdom and strength and live the abundant life He has for you!

A Prayer for Today

Heavenly Father, thank You for Your promise of victory in every area of life. I choose to trust You, knowing that You are working behind the scenes on my behalf. In Jesus Name. Amen.

Bless one and all,
Ras ~Q

Secure as Mount Zion

May 6, 2008

Secure as Mount Zion

Those who trust in the Lord are as secure as Mount Zion; they will not be defeated but will endure forever. Just as the mountains surround and protect Jerusalem, so the Lord surrounds and protects his people, both now and forever.

Psalm 125:1-2 NLT

It is wise to break off the contemplation of enemies and dangers by crying out to God. Prayer is a good interruption of a catalogue of perils.
Alexander Maclaren (1826-1910)

True Security

What does it mean to trust the Lord? It means looking to him as the source of our security and putting our faith in the grace, love, power, and protection of God when the inevitable pressures of life come. It means knowing as the psalmist did that the mountains surround Jerusalem, God himself surrounds and shields his people. When we trust the Lord, we don't have to focus on the wicked and what they are doing or might do to us. We don't have to rehash our own woes. Even though there are problems the size of mountains facing us, we can cry out to the Lord who created the mountains and is able to move them. As we focus on him and his truth, he will encourage our hearts and help us to claim the great promise of verse 2: The Lord will surround and protect his people, now and forever.

LORD, I put my trust in you today. You are my security and protection, my shield, my fortress, and my hiding place, and I praise you. When enemies surround me and troubles multiply, help me to remember that you are ever faithful and that you surround and protect me, both now and forever.

Adapted from The One YearŽ Book of Praying through the Bible by Cheri Fuller, Tyndale House Publishers (2003), entry for June 7.

Digging Deeper: read the new release of The Gates of Zion by Bodie and Brock Thoene (Tyndale, 2006), the first of The Zion Chronicles novels based on events surrounding Israel's statehood in 1948.

The land of Israel

May 6, 2008

The land of Israel

O my people, I will open your graves of exile and cause you to rise again. Then I will bring you back to the land of Israel.
Ezekiel 37:12 NLT

Birth of a Nation

In 63 B.C. the Roman armies invaded the land of Israel and made it part of the Roman Empire. Then Jesus came, and in response to the Jews' rejection of him as their Messiah, he predicted that the Jewish temple would be completely destroyed (Luke 21:6), a prediction fulfilled in A.D. 70. After a second revolt in A.D. 135, no Jews lived in Jerusalem, and they became scattered through the world.

Then in the late 1800s, in response to anti-Semitism, particularly in eastern Europe, a Jewish movement called Zionism arose. In 1917 in an attempt to win Jewish support for World War I, England issued the Balfour Declaration, supporting the creation "in Palestine of a national home for the Jewish people."

Following War World II, Britain turned the matter of a Jewish state to the newly created U.N., which voted on November 29, 1947 to endorse a plan to create separate Jewish and Arab states, with Jerusalem as an international zone.

The British Mandate was scheduled to end on May 15, 1948, at which time their troops would begin leaving. The day before, a historic meeting was held in Tel Aviv. At exactly 4:00 p.m. the meeting was called to order by David Ben-Gurion. The audience rose and sang "Hatikvah," the Jewish national anthem. Then Ben-Gurion read in Hebrew Israel's Declaration of Independence. Everyone in the audience stood to their feet and applauded, many with tears streaming down their faces. For the first time in two thousand years there was an independent Jewish state of Israel.

The very existence of present-day Israel is a reminder to us of God's faithfulness in keeping his promises. (Ezekiel 37:1-13)

Adapted from The One YearŽ Book of Christian History by E. Michael and Sharon Rusten (Tyndale, 2003), entry for May 15.

Today's Scripture

Do you see a man skilled in his work? He will serve before kings (Proverbs 22:29).

Too often times, its easy to get stuck in a rut in life, doing the same thing the same way. But if we are going to live at our best, we should constantly be growing and sharpening our skills. We should strive to learn and grow every single day; because when you stop learning, you stop growing, and when you stop growing, you stop living. What are you doing to stretch yourself? What are you doing to improve your skills? Dont get trapped into thinking that good enough is good enough. You are created for more than just average. Today is a new day and there are new heights for you to climb. Pursue what you love, and keep developing that area of your life. Take a class or find a mentor that will help you live skillfully. As you do, youll rise up higher and higher. You will stand before kings and rulers and youll live the blessed life He has in store for you.

A Prayer for Today

Heavenly Father, thank you for giving me the ability to grow and increase in every area of my life. Show me ways to improve my skills so that I can honor You in everything I do. In Jesus Name. Amen.

Bless one and all,
Ras ~Q

Today's Scripture

For out of the overflow of the heart the mouth speaks (Matthew 12:34).

Have you said something recently that you wish you hadnt? The Bible says that your words reveal whats going on inside of you. If you go around speaking negative words of defeat, putting others down, and complaining all the time, its a sign that you need to refocus your heart and mind. Its a sign that your overflow is polluted. Our bodies work a lot like a computer. What you put on the hard drive of your heart will show up on the monitor of your mouth. The good news is that you can reprogram your mind the same way you can reprogram a computer. The Bible says that our minds are renewedor reprogrammedby the Word of God. The more you read and study His Word, the more it will transform you from the inside out. Start today by asking the Lord to reveal anything in your heart that needs changing. Make Him first place in your life. Fill your heart with the good treasure of Gods Word so that blessings come out of your mouth. Let the overflow of your heart be filled with faith and expectancy, and youll see Gods hand of blessing in every area of your life.

A Prayer for Today

Father in heaven, I humbly come before You and ask that You cleanse my heart and mind of anything that isnt pleasing to You. Fill me with Your faith, peace, joy, and love so that I can overflow with Your goodness today. In Jesus Name. Amen.

Bless one and all,
Ras ~Q

Do not be afraid

May 2, 2008
Started By Crazypickney3 Comments

The Lord who created you says: "Do not be afraid, for I have ransomed you. I have called you by name; you are mine. When you go through deep waters and great trouble, I will be with you."

Isaiah 43:1-2 NLT

Two Margarets

Margaret MacLachlan and Margaret Wilson, Covenanters in Wigtown, Scotland, were tried for their faith on April 13, 1865, for refusing to take the Oath of Abjuration, which stated that the Church of God is a department of the State. Found guilty of rebellion, attending field meetings, and worshiping in places other than a church, they were ordered to receive their sentences on their knees. When they refused to bow before anyone but God, they were forced down to their knees and then were sentenced to death by drowning.

On May 11, 1685, the two faithful Margarets were tied to posts and staked in the sea as the tide was rising. The older Margaret (MacLachlan) was farther out. They were given many chances to recant their beliefs, but they stood firm and resolute.

Margaret MacLachlan remained silent, her eyes closed throughout the ordeal, communing with Christ until death. As the tide rose eighteen-year-old Margaret Wilson began to sing a Covenanter rendition of Psalm 25:7. Then, she recited from Romans 8: "We are more than conquerors through him that loves us."

After the waves washed over her head, the soldiers pulled her out, pleading with her one last time to "pray for the king!" She prayed, but her pray was, "Lord, give him repentance, forgiveness, and salvation, if it be Thy holy will." The angry soldiers threw her back into the water, and she joined Margaret MacLachlan before the throne.

We may never face the rising tide of the sea, but the deep waters of trouble and loss can be just as overwhelming. How do you react when you feel you are about to drown in the rising tide of your own troubles?

Adapted from The One YearŽ Book of Christian History by E. Michael and Sharon Rusten (Tyndale, 2003), entry for May 11.

Above all else, guard your heart, for it affects everything you do.

Proverbs 4:23 NLT

Let us learn to cast our hearts into God.
Bernard of Clairvaux

Guard the inside

If you're typical, you think of guarding your heart in terms of keeping things out. Corruption, false ideas, temptationsall are to be held at arm's length, never to be allowed in the inner depths of your affections. But there's another side to this vigilance. We are to keep things in. In fact, if we can master that, the corruptions and temptations will often take care of themselves.

Think about it: The things that can assail a heart from the outside are innumerable, far too overwhelming to manage. But the things we are told to keep withinthe spirit of Jesus, the humility and gentleness, the servanthood and sacrifice, the worship and thankfulnessthese are one Spirit. Most religions tell us to avoid the bad; God tells us to embrace Him. We are better equipped to focus on His character than on the enemy's devices. Nowhere are we told to live against the sinful nature and hope that the Spirit will show up. We're told to live by the Spirit and expect the sinful nature to have no power. We often get confused about that.

Too many Christians guard the way into their hearts to keep things out. That may be appropriate at times, but try a different approach. Guard the way out. Stand at the inside of the gate, and be careful about what may be leaving. Once in a while, we get a life-altering glimpse of true worship. By all means, keep it in! From time to time, we'll see a picture of true servanthood. Don't let that picture go! Hold on to these things! Treasuring the wellspring that God has birthed in your heart will leave little rom for those corruptions you once obsessed over. And the wellspring is a much more pleasant preoccupation.

Adapted from The One YearŽ Walk with God Devotional by Chris Tiegreen, Tyndale House Publishers (2004), entry for May 10.

Today's Scripture

Two are better than one If one falls down, his friend can help him up (Ecclesiastes 4:9-10).

God likes two together. The Bible says in Matthew 18 that there is power when two or more pray in agreement. One can put a thousand to flight, but two can put ten thousand to flight! Where there are two or more gathered in His name, God is there. And just like Jesus sent the disciples out in pairs of two to fulfill their mission, God will send a friend or partner to come along side you to help you fulfill your lifes mission. You may not see that special friend or partner right now; but remember, you are never alone because you and God are a majority. Why dont you step out and be that friend that someone needs today. Is there someone in your life that you can reach out to and offer encouragement and support? Can you be that friend that helps someone when they fall? Sometimes a simple phone call or note of encouragement is all it takes. Be willing to support your friends. Get behind their dreams and encourage them to press forward. As you sow those seeds of hope and faith, God will bring people in your life to encourage you, too, and youll move forward in victory all the days of your life.

A Prayer for Today

Father God, thank You for the privilege to come before Your throne. Thank You for empowering me by Your Spirit. I ask that You show me ways to be a blessing and encouragement to the people around me. In Jesus Name. Amen.

Bless One and All,
Ras ~Q

A cheerful spirit

April 30, 2008

For the poor, every day brings trouble; for the happy heart, life is a continual feast.

Proverbs 15:15 NLT

When I think of God, my heart is so full of joy that the notes leap and dance as they leave my pen; and since God has given me a cheerful heart, I serve Him with a cheerful spirit.
Franz Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)

A happy heart

A person's heart is a major concern of the Lord. God's Word tells us that he doesn't look at the things people look at. We look at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart; that is, our "thoughts and intentions" (1 Samuel 16:7). Today's verse tells us that a happy, or cheerful, heart make life "a continual feast." How do we obtainand maintainthis happy heart? There are many clues throughout the book of Proverbs. We should not let our hearts be anxious or proud because anxiety and pride are deterrents to a cheerful heart (Proverbs 12:25; 16:5). Instead, God calls us to have pure hearts and to keep them on the right path (Proverbs 22:11; 23:19). These are positive steps to achieving a happy heart because when we are being obedient to God's Word and experiencing his smile of approval, our hearts will be lighter, even in difficult times. The Bibles gives us many other instructions about how to have "healthy" hearts, but a good place to start is to embrace the truth of Proverbs 15:15 and ask God to show us how to develop hearts that are happy, no matter what challenges we are facing.

FATHER, help me to have a happy heart. Remove the anxiety that sometimes weighs my heart down. Keep my heart from growing proud. Instead, give me a pure hearta heart that is pleasing to you. Help me to hide your Word in my heart so that I can walk in your ways and enjoy life that is a continual feast.

Adapted from The One YearŽ Book of Praying through the Bible by Cheri Fuller, Tyndale House Publishers (2003), entry for May 17.

Today's Scripture

Where no wise guidance is, the people fall, but in the multitude of counselors there is safety (Proverbs 11:14).

Are you facing an important decision today? God wants to give you the answer. He wants to direct your steps. Many times, He will speak to us through the people He has placed in our lives. The Bible says that safety is found in a multitude of advisors. God designed us to live in families, communities, and congregations. We need to be open to receiving input from the people who are close to us. That doesnt mean you have to follow everything everyone tells you, but if youre in a particular situation or relationship, and all the people around you are giving you the same word of caution, it might be God trying to get a message to you. Take that advice and bring it before the Lord in prayer. Ask Him to confirm His perfect plan to your heart. Remember, wisdom comes from God, and wise counsel will always be in agreement with Gods Word. He will always confirm the answer when you ask Him. What ever you are facing today, be open to receiving wise counsel. As you do, you will be blessed and protected and walk in confidence down the path the Lord has prepared for you!

A Prayer for Today

Heavenly Father, thank You for the people You have placed in my life as wise counsel. Help me understand Your truth so that I can make Godly choices. Keep me close to You always. In Jesus Name. Amen.

Bless One and All,
Ras ~Q

043008.jpg

Few ministers have had such an impact on the destiny of the nations of the world. Morris Cerullos life has been sacrificially dedicated to training and spiritually equipping pastors, lay people and evangelists to reach their nations for Christ with a supernatural endowment of Gods power. On this program, Dr. Cerullo points to the growing financial shaking, yet a powerful season of financial outpouring is coming for believers who understand and obey during these amazing days. He shares how God desires to pour out a powerful supernatural financial harvest upon believers so we can take the life-changing and miracle-working power of the Gospel to the nations!

Today's Scripture

The earth is the Lords and the fullness of it (Psalm 24:1).

God wants you to live an abundant and satisfied life. He wants you to enjoy the fullness of the earth and lifes experiences. When you open your mind to new things and new situations, you are broadening your horizons and opening yourself to new opportunities. Its easy to get stuck in a rut, doing the same thing the same way all the time. But when you open yourself to new people and new ideas, you are making room for God to reveal Himself to you. You are making room for Him to work in your life. Make the decision to explore something new this week. Take a different route home from work. Try something new on the menu at lunch. Be open to new people who may not necessarily look like you or act like you. Let God direct and broaden your horizons. As you do, youll encounter new opportunities and live the satisfied, full life the Lord has in store for you!

A Prayer for Today

Heavenly Father, I open my heart and mind to You today. I ask that You help me broaden my perspective so I can experience the full life You have for me. In Jesus Name. Amen.

Bless One and All,
Ras ~Q

What we owe God

April 28, 2008

The strength of a horse does not impress him; how puny in his sight is the strength of man. Rather, the Lord's delight is in those who honor him, those who put their hope in his unfailing love.

Psalm 147:10-11 NLT

God being who and what He is, and we being who and what we are, the only thinkable relation between us is one of full lordship on His part and complete submission on ours. We owe him every honor that it is in our power to give Him.
A. W. Tozer (1897-1963)

What God delights in

In Psalm 147 we discover an important secret about relating to the Lord. Our great and mighty God, who has absolute power over everything in heaven and on earth, is not impressed with powerful people. Those who are strong and mighty in their own strength don't get God's attention. Instead, it is the brokenhearted and humble he notices and supports (vv. 3,6).

He chooses to work not through those who are strong but through those who are weak. And most of all, we don't earn his approval by being great or strong. He delights in those who reverently honor him and put their hope and trust in his unfailing love and mercy, not in their own ability. Today, if you've put your hope in anyone or anything else, ask the Lord to forgive you. But don't stop there. Ask his Spirit to so work in your life that your primary goal becomes honoring and pleasing God.

DEAR LORD, there have been timeseven manywhen I have relied on someone or something other than you. Forgive me.

Adapted from The One YearŽ Book of Praying through the Bible by Cheri Fuller, Tyndale House Publishers (2003), entry for June 29.

Digging Deeper: read Total Abandon by Gary Witherall and Elizabeth Cody Newenhuyse (Tyndale, 2005)

I love all who love me. Those who search for me will surely find me.

Proverbs 8:17 NLT

A sight of His crucifixion crucifies sin.
Charles Spurgeon

Sin and a way out

Though the bad news is devastatingthat we are, in our sinful nature, contrary to God's character and out of line with His foundation of wisdomthe good news is that we can change. Wisdom does not remain forever elusive, no matter how firmly we have rejected it in the past.

The wisdom of God will lead us to the cross of Jesus, of course. That is where all of our former futility is redeemed and our rebellion forgiven. A humble bow before the sacrificial Lamb will cleanse us of the muck of this world and put us on a path of discipleship. But once we have passed through that Cross, we must cultivate our love for the eternal. We must pursue wisdom with a passion. We must become enamored with the righteous ways of the world as it was meant to be.

If you are ever lacking in perspective, read the first two and the last two chapters of the Bible. Genesis 1-2 and Revelation 21-22 are pictures of perfection. From paradise to paradise, from the Garden of Eden to the city of God, from the dust of the earth to the bride of Christ, wisdom rules. Take away the huge parentheses on the sin problemGenesis 3 through Revelation 20 and you'll clearly see the holiness of God and the beauty of His handiwork. It's often hard, in this parenthetical interim, to see such beauty, but it's there. It's our origin and our destiny, all rolled into one.

As you read those four chapters, the eternal bookends on either side of the temporal sin-problem, let your love grow deep for your Creator and Redeemer. As a plant stretches toward the sunlight, let your life grow toward His wisdom. Open up before Him, and let yourself love His ways.

Adapted from The One YearŽ Walk with God Devotional by Chris Tiegreen, Tyndale House Publishers (2004), entry for May 6.

Please click here. Please click here.

«First  <  19 10 11 12 1317  >  Last»  | Page of 17  sorted by