Forum: News & Topical Issues

News updates, entertainment, hot topics, gossip | Share and discover what is happening right now.

CREATE YOUR OWN DANCEHALL RIDDIM

August 6, 2010
Started By dark_law0 Comments
hmm if yall cud create ur own riddim what wud u name it and who wud u voice on it? mi wuda mek: CROTCHES RIDDIM VYBZ KARTEL-I DONT EAT IT, I BEAT IT MAVADO-ALL INNA DI GULLY AIDONIA-SOME RAASc**t STAB DEVA BRATT-HOW U MEAN NO? GAZA SLIM-TEK POSSY BWAI(TEK BUDDY COUNTERACTION 2010) KYM-L.O.V.E. BEENIE MAN & BOUNTY KILLER-THE GIRL(CROTCHES) IS MINE CHINO-NO WEAR NO JACKET LEFTSIDE(OLD MAN)-VIAGRA SELL OUT PON MI RYNO DI STINGER-DEM A EET DEH

2010 Popcaan Interview On MTV UK

August 5, 2010
Started By godfather1 Comments

popcaan.jpg

Marvin Sparks speaks to Jamaican artist Popcaan for The Wrap Up about his troubled upbringing in the Gangsta City, avoiding temptation to enter a life of crime and tells us what makes Clarks an essential purchase for the summer and the winter!

(( THE LINK TO THE ARTICLE ))

Born Andre Sutherland in St. Thomas and raised in a rough district of Portmore in St. Catherine, Jamaica, from the age of 7, Popcaans began as a performer at his high school concerts. He never took his music career seriously until being scouted by leading dancehall artist, Vybz Kartel to join Kartel-led group, Portmore Empire in 2007 after spotting his talent at a local party. Kartel signed the youngster to his record label, Addijaheim soon thereafter. The 22-year-old counts reggae legend Sizzla Kalonji as his biggest musical inspiration alongside Vybz Kartel. Popcaans appearance on Vybz Kartels 2010 dancehall anthem Clarks is currently taking dance floors by storm
The Wrap Up: Where did the name Popcaan come from?

Popcaan: Me and you can reason about that name at a different location one day [laughs], but it was from a friend who passed on.

TWU: How would you describe yourself?

Popcaan: Hot skull, fry yiy [eye], boil brainz! [laughs]. Where my families concerned, Im a loving person, where the ladies are concerned Im a very loving person and Im full of hype.

TWU: What have you learnt from being around Vybz Kartel?

Popcaan: Ive learnt countless things from Kartel. You see di Teacha, he is the real teacher. Hes taught me loads of things outside of music too, so hes a teacher in every way.

TWU: Most people will know you from your intro on Vybz Kartels hit song Clarks. How did your feature come about?

Popcaan: Clarks are shoes weve worn from school days. Everybody wants Clarks. For a while me and di Teacha have only worn Clarks. One day a girl saw him and said, Them Clarks are bad you know! He went home, called me and said, Yo Poppy, you know we need to do a tune about Clarks. He couldnt find a better person to record the song with, because we only wear Clarks!

TWU: What is it about Clarks that make them a big fashion statement?

Popcaan: We wear Clarks for many different reasons. The main reason why I like Clarks is because they are comfortable; we run in it, play ball in it, they are all purpose shoes for different weather. You have the leather and them things there. Everybody has their own Clarks; for ladies and for big man.

TWU: Of the various styles which one is your favourite?

Popcaan: My favourite Clarks are the bank robber Clarks, the ones with the stitch in the centre. Some call it the centre stitch, but we call it the bank robber. I love the desert Clarks. Those are my favourite Clarks, in every colour.

TWU: Have you got a favourite pair of Clarks that you have for special occasions?

Popcaan: I have a special one and I never wore it again until the day of the video. I wore them on the first Reggae Sumfest I did, that was last year. You see me in the video with ones with the fur? Ah di special Clarks that!

TWU: People in the UK were a bit confused with the question Whe you get da new Clarks deh daadi? Because Clarks have stores over here. Where is the best place to get Clarks in Jamaica?

Popcaan: Downtown Kingston. You get the best Clarks in downtown Kingston, but you have a few fake ones, still. If youre a real Clarks fan, youll know the real ones so nobody can trick you for your money [laughs]. They sell them in every store and on the street with people selling them from their car on the road side. As long as youre in the town you will see Clarks inside and outside the stores, they are everywhere.

TWU: Which are the fake ones/ones to avoid?

Popcaan: Well you have some fake Clarks made in some different places like China. The real Clarks are made in Vietnam and England. Some man have some Clarks made in Jamaica [LAUGHS], they have their own Clarks. But you see the made in China Clarks? Those are the diseased Clarks [laughs]. They dry up like a dry leaf on your foot after you wear them two times!

TWU: What is the fashion to go with the Clarks?

Popcaan: [Sings Vybz Kartel song] Straight jeans and fitted, white t-shirt, rosary chain, fitted baseball hat and Clarks. Thats the dress code.

TWU: Where did the slang term hot skull originate?

Popcaan: Its like a nickname for our friends. Like I would say Wha gwarn darg? We just say hot skull. We always try to do our thing different; we dont try to say anything other people are saying. Anywhere a word comes from we try to make it our own thing and thats where hot skull came from. Kartel said Wha gwarn Popcaan? and I said Dehya inuh hot skull and the whole world start saying hot skull. Thats why I started saying, Fry yiy [eye] and boil brainz.

TWU: Thats my next question; the name of your mixtape is Hot Skull, Fry yiy, Boil Brainz. Wheres all that from?

Popcaan: True my skull is hot, that means the whole top half is hot, so I get a fry yiy [eye], and a boil brain, roast brain [laughs]. Its the same thing; its just hot, always hot. Fry is hot, if its boil its hot, if its roast its still hot. At the end of the day, its all hot skull

TWU: Another popular song you have right now is Gangsta City where you talk of your experiences living in the ghetto. What was it like growing up in the gangsta city?

Popcaan: Life was a whole heap of ups-and-downs. Some good times, some bad times. Lose a few friends, police killed a few friends, bad man killed a few friends. Good times were before some of my friends passed on. When me and my friends would go on the road, wed rap together, wed cook together, and wed go parties together. When certain people pass on, life changes you. You have people that mean a lot to you and they pass on, life changes you. But we had a lot of happy times even though we never had a lot. We never had fame, no one never knew me them times. We had a mixture of good and bad. Its garrison living, gangsta city!

TWU: How did you manage to overcome those things and stay strong?

Popcaan: To tell you the truth, I had to take away myself for a minute and dedicate myself to music. I had to make sure that right now, its music Im doing because I dont have time to waste. If I dont have fare to go to the studio, I make sure I find a fare, because I know this is going to make me buy a vehicle to drive and buy a house for my mother, I have my daughter, and can uplift my friends. I had to stay far away from the same and the whole heap of excitement. I could have got caught in certain things, but I decided to get caught in music.

TWU: Was there a lot of temptation to go down the wrong road to live and survive?

Popcaan: Yeah man, remember we live in the gangsta city. Everything that you can think of is in the city. You have to go past it and do what you want to do and get what you want in life. If a youth wants to become a pastor and he puts his mind to it, he can become a pastor. Thats why I say all of this comes like a dream. It comes in like a dream even though Im living it. If you want to do something you have to just do it. Dont bother getting caught up in the wrong thing, that is my advice to the youth, because there is nuff temptation to do all kinds of things. You know everybody cant sing and not everybody can rap, not everyone has what it takes to become a doctor or a lawyer, but you have to put your mind to doing what you can do in those areas where you are living.

TWU: So you thank Vybz Kartel for helping you?

Popcaan: Yeah man, thats my daddy in real life. Right now, hes in his jail cell, but ah Gaza said way.

TWU: When you were younger, what did you want to become when you were older?

Popcaan: Well I always wanted to become a soldier. I actually took a soldier test once, but I was at the soldier test too long and it was just running over things so I just left [laughs].

TWU: What are you aiming to achieve in the future?

Popcaan: Were aiming to achieve the best; house, land, car, assets. Just hoping for the best in the future, always recording, writing songs and doing the work. I have to enjoy it, because hard work will be the key to success, because the harder you work is the superstar you become.

TWU: So what can people expect on the mixtape?

Popcaan: We have a few old tracks and a few new and we have a mix. I have a freestyle medley where I do about 9 songs on one riddim. My big hits are on there; Clarks, Gangsta City, Dreams, Up Inna di Club, New Year, Hot Grabba and a few new things on there.

TWU: And what inspires your subject matter?

Popcaan: Well, life you know. I put things that happen in my lyrics. I will always rap about something that happened close to me. Sometimes I put something in my song and people wonder where it comes from, but its just something that happened and I just put it in my lyrics. Even sometimes me and someone saw something happen and they forgot it happened, they hear it in the song, they say, You made me feel that.

DJSpiceBcut20061016AM.jpg
Deejay Spice - Contributed

One of Dancehall's number one divas wants her fans to celebrate her birthday party with her this Friday night, even if they have to 'screechie' out of the house to be there.

Spice, known for a plethora of songs including the hits Fight Ova Man, Rampin' Shop, Slim vs Fluffy and more recently Jim Screechie, will be ringing in her birthday at her '8 Ball' Bar & Lounge, above Genus Pharmacy, Bayside, Portmore. The lounge which was opened last month has seen a steady flow of young persons and Spice wants to keep it as such.

"I want the lounge to continue to reflect my personality and that of my fans. It's a fun, hip place for persons to come out and lyme and I decided for my birthday party, why not just have it there for my fans to come and have some fun with me and the other artistes who will be there. There will be lots of food, drinks, games and all that there, so everyone come on out Friday at 7 p.m.," said Spice, whose correct name is Grace Hamilton.

In addition to making her birthday plans, Spice has been busy promoting her new single, Jim Screechie in addition to doing interviews both locally and overseas, namely with the Trinidad Guardian, where she appeared last week discussing life, motherhood, business plans and the need for parents to monitor what their children watch and listen to.

Cops shut down gospel festival

January 2, 2009
Started By Garrick2 Comments

Not even the fervent prayers of gospel artiste Kevin Downswell could stop members of the Montego Bay police from bringing the annual Genesis gospel festival to a close on New Year's Day for breaching the Noise Abatement Act.

A patron who decided to ring in the New Year at Genesis said the police team, led by Superintendent Maurice Robinson, turned up about 8:15 a.m at the festival which was being held at the Montego Bay Community College, just a stone's throw away from the Area One Headquarters at Freeport.

"Kevin Downswell was on stage performing and when he realised that the police were going to shut down the event, he began to pray and worship, but the police still insisted that the show should end because it had gone over the time," the patron said. "So the music stopped, but we had a big prayer meeting before we left the venue."

Robinson told The Gleaner yesterday that he had no comment on the matter, except to say that the event should have ended at midnight as it was being held on a weekday. He also said charges should be levelled against the organisers for the breach.

As a result of the police intervention, Joan Flemmings, who was scheduled to close the show, was unable to perform.

This was the first time in the history of the 20-year-old event, which features gospel acts such as Goddy Goddy and DJ Nicholas, among others, that the police have had to close the show. Efforts to reach the organisers for a comment proved futile.

boo :lame: Dem Police yah no have no shame

Young Buck's Tennessee home was just ransacked by several armed federal agents ... TMZ has learned -- and it was all over $300,000 in allegedly unpaid taxes.

0803_young_buck_ex_getty_irs
According to Young's rep, IRS agents rolled up to the platinum-selling rapper's house in Nashville this morning to go on a repossession rampage over the alleged tax debt -- seizing assets like recording equipment, jewelry, furniture, his platinum wall plaques ... and even his kids' PlayStation.

The rep tells us, the feds in question were packing heat -- in the form of a shotgun -- and warned Buck not to interfere with the raid.

As for how he fell so far behind in debt, the former G-Unit member tells us, "This IRS situation came about because I trusted accountants, lawyers, and managers to handle my business for me while I focused on making music. From now on, I am going to stay on top of my own business."

cash-money_w370.jpg
GOVERNMENT has its eyes on millions of dollars from thousands of unclaimed bank accounts some holding hundreds of thousands of dollars to add to its coffers at the end of the year. On Saturday, the Ministry of Finance published a list of some 3,000 depositors with accounts at Scotiabank and Citibank whose acounts have remained dormant for at least 15 years and whose balances collectively totalling over $30 million, according to Business Observer estimates will be acquired by the Government if left unclaimed at the end of the year.

ANYBODY HAV A BANK ACCOUNT THAT U HAVEN'T USED IN A WHILE? I WUD ADVISE U 2 CHECK ON ITnod.gif. THE GOVT. NEEDS MONEY N THEY R LOOKING 2 EMPTY PIGGY BANKS, LOOKING UNDER MATTRESSES, EVEN IN SOME OLD WOMAN BOSSOM 2 FIND A PENNYlc. DESPERATE TIMES CALL 4 DESPERATE MEASURES N THEY R VERY DESPERATE RIGHT NOW SO BEWARElk

BettyPortrait%20for%20Websitev1.jpg
JAMAICA'S newest political party, the New Nation Coalition (NNC) headed by childrens advocate Betty Ann Blaine was launched earlier today.

The Coalition consisting of 10 founding members, is promising tax reformation, urban housing, rural land reform and a foundation built on strong Christian principles among some of its objectives.Speaking at the launch at the Wyndham Hotel in New Kingston, she said that after 48 years of independence Jamaica is moving backwards. Blaine is an Observer columnist and former talk show host.

34966_415731211565_15015151565_5091140_4246619_n-copy.jpgSean A. Bennett, Star Writer

For reggae singer Windel Edwards, more popularly known as Gyptian, the past few months have been extremely hectic and currently show no signs of slowing down.

Cristy Barber, vice-president of marketing and promotions at VP Records, yesterday told THE WEEKEND STAR that the singer would begin touring with Nas and Damian Junior Gong Marley come the end of the August on their Distant Relatives Tour.

The news broke yesterday while on set of his video for his second single Nah Let You Go, but the STAR of the month is not at all daunted by his growing schedule. Instead, the singer said he was happy for his success despite everything that has happened.

Well you know its all good. Im giving thanks and praises for life. Very happy about the tour coming up, naturally its all about music, so we haffi endorse it, he said, adding that his focus right now was to get the album out.

On June 7, Gyptian was involved in a motorbike accident along Molynes Road in St Andrew, in which he sustained minor head and shoulder injuries. He released his fourth studio album Hold You a little over two weeks ago.

The albums lead single of the same name entered the Billboards Hot R&B/Hip Hop charts on March 27 at No 78 and has risen steadily. According to Billboard.com, the single currently sits at No 41, and has the greatest airplay and sales gain this week. So far, the song has peaked at number Four on Billboards Heatseekers songs chart which maps this weeks most popular songs across all formats by new or developing artistes.

buju_banton-copy.jpgKrista Henry, Staff Reporter

Deejay Buju Banton may be behind bars but that hasnt stopped his musical career. His record label, Gargamel Music, is looking to release his ninth studio album soon.

In jail on drug charges since last December, Banton has been in the headlines but relatively quiet on the musical scene. According to his official website thisisbujubanton.-wordpress.com, Gargamel Music is preparing for the release of his newest album titled Before The Dawn.

The album is set for release in North America on Tuesday, September 28. The website stated, The 10 powerful tracks that comprise this very special project are some of the more prophetic songs written by Banton since his extraordinary entry into the music business over 20 years ago.

It added: Recorded mostly at his Gargamel Music studio in Kingston, Jamaica, Before The Dawn literally pierces the soul with traditional roots, easy rock and especially heartfelt reggae. The albums unofficial anthem Innocent, strikes a highly personal chord that will resonate deeply with longtime Buju Banton fans.

The website also added that Banton will be appearing in court for the start of his trial on Monday, September 13, at the Sam M Gibbons US District Courthouse in Tampa, Florida. This is the fourth time the trial has been rescheduled.

As previously reported in THE WEEKEND STAR, a request for Banton to be tried separately from his two co-accused has been rejected by a court in the United States in July. Banton had applied to the US District Court in the Middle District of Florida, Tampa Division, to have his trial separated from Ian Thomas and James Spencer Clarke Mack on the basis that this could be the reason the trial was being delayed.

Banton and his two co-accused were arrested late last year and charged with conspiracy with intent to distribute five kilograms or more of cocaine and possession of a firearm in furtherance of a drug-trafficking crime. The three have been in custody since then awaiting trial.

DSC_0264.jpgDSC_0268.jpgDSC_0307.jpgDSC_0373.jpgDSC_0375.jpgDSC_0221.jpgDSC_0505.jpg
Pic1 n 2 ...Ronald Mcdonald n Bozo...underneath the box of crayola I hope it's not any worse. Makeup shud accent ure features not mek u look like dem dig u up over May Pen Cemetry. Wats going on with the dead man powder these dayz?hmm

Pic 3...2 misguided frenz not 1 to save the other. Firestone or Good year? Either way they shud be on cars not around ure waists. Unu need fi deworm.lc

Pic 4 n 5...I don't know Gary,sigh 4 the 1st time I am willing 2 bypass u han n foot dem n Shizzle ridiculous outfit n address this big woman wearing depends 2 di ppl dem dance. U r way past the years of wearing *la*hmers my dear. Then again look who u parring wit, one fool makes many.lol

Pic 6... U look like wen dem put cornmeal inna hot water unmixedlol. That's not cellulite mi luv that's celluheavy (California  surfer dude voice) Ride the waves !!...muu

Pic 7...The man behind u, his face sayz it alllc. When his frenz c this pic that will be torture enufhehe. So why u leave the likkle bit a curls up tophmm. JPS cut off the light wen u in the barber chair?

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTfiSmGJ_YpZpprDMJqejwaalVcmv0FAX5UlK29t585ohH0WIQ&t=1&usg=__TeoI2KVzu6ak8Rc2pcXtKTr0rJo=
2 alleged members of the Presidential Click gang from Tivoli Gardens are in connection with the murder of a district constable whose body was found in a shallow grave in that community in June. 39 yr old Colin Man, otherwise called Gummy Bear of Christopher Road, Denham Town and Derrick Pathway in Tivoli Gardens, and Paul Ignatius Williams, otherwise called Sexy Paul, 51-year-old bus operator of Levy Pathway, Tivoli Gardens, were pointed out on an identification parade at the Major Investigation Taskforce yesterday. District constable Kevin Paul Bartley 32, was attached to the Half-Way-Tree Police station since 2005.His body was found by JDF soldiers who were patrolling an area in Tivoli Gardens known as Rasta City'.
"Sexy Paul" n " Gummy Bear" wah kinda bad man name dem herewtf. Waapen 2 Chopper, Dawg face, Bull n dem name dehhmm. No sahlc I hope unu change those names wen unu start serve time please..

untitled1.bmpAUGUST 4Wyclef Jean, who appears ready to announce his candidacy for Haitis presidency, owes the Internal Revenue Service more than $2.1 million, according to federal tax liens filed against the musician, The Smoking Gun has learned.

In May, the IRS filed a $724,332 tax lien against Jean. Last July, the agency filed a $599,167 lien against the performer. And a $792,269 lien was lodged against Jean in July 2007. The liens cover taxes due on Jeans individual 1040 returns for 2006, 2007 and 2008. Copies of the liens, which were filed at the Bergen County clerks office in New Jersey, can be viewed at left.

In 1998, Jeanwhose given name is Nel Wyclef Jeanpurchased a $1.85 million home at 8 Cameron Road in Saddle River, where he lives with his wife Claudinette and their family. The three IRS liens were filed against Nel W. Jean at the Cameron Road address.

Other records show that Jean, 37, has previously been the subject of two smaller tax liens filed against him by the State of New Jersey and the New York State Tax Commission, both of which were eventually satisfied.

Following the Haitian earthquake, TSG reported on Jeans questionable handling of the finances of his charitable foundation. Along with filing tax returns years late, Jean used his foundation to pay himself and a business partner more than $410,000 for rent, production services, and Jeans appearance at a benefit concert.

Though the Wyclef Jean Foundation had operated at a deficit and experienced cash flow problems, Jean actually paid himself and a partner (his cousin Jerry Duplessis) $65,000 in upfront rent payments for space at a Manhattan recording studio the duo owns. The prepaid 25 months worth of rent covered the foundations use of a café table in the studios kitchen. Jeans foundation has received millions in donations since the Haiti tragedy, but it is unknown how the group has spent those funds.

Along with attempting to rebuild a devastated country, the next Haitian president will be in charge of handling foreign aid payments as well as the nations own limited financial resources. (3 pages)
View Documents: http://www.thesmokinggun.com/documents/celebrity/irs-hits-wyclef-21.

486682_M23.jpg
The showdown between the three fastest men in history has been reduced to a duel now that Asafa Powell has pulled out of the race with Usain Bolt and American Tyson Gay in the 100m at the Diamond League. According to a statement released by Powell's agent Paul Doyle, Powell suffered a minor groin injury in his loss to Bolt at the Diamond League Paris meet on July 16 and has endured a number of setbacks since, including hamstring and back issues. Bolt and Powell share the fastest time in the world this year at 9.82, while Gay has run 9.89. Bolt and Gay will still square off on Friday. "I am absolutely devastated," Powell said in the statement. "I was really looking forward to the race against Usain and Tyson. hmm

Gyptian to tour with Nas, Jr Gong

August 5, 2010
Started By jubalson2 Comments

gyptian1.jpg
Gyptian - File

For reggae singer Windel Edwards, more popularly known as Gyptian, the past few months have been extremely hectic and currently show no signs of slowing down.

Cristy Barber, vice-president of marketing and promotions at VP Records, yesterday told THE WEEKEND STAR that the singer would begin touring with Nas and Damian 'Junior Gong' Marley come the end of the August on their Distant Relatives Tour.

The news broke yesterday while on set of his video for his second single Nah Let You Go, but the STAR of the month is not at all daunted by his growing schedule. Instead, the singer said he was happy for his success despite everything that has happened.

"Well you know it's all good. I'm giving thanks and praises for life. Very happy about the tour coming up, naturally it's all about music, so we haffi endorse it," he said, adding that his focus right now was to get the album out.

On June 7, Gyptian was involved in a motorbike accident along Molynes Road in St Andrew, in which he sustained minor head and shoulder injuries. He released his fourth studio album Hold You a little over two weeks ago.

The album's lead single of the same name entered the Billboard's Hot R&B/Hip HopBillboard.com, the single currently sits at No 41, and has the greatest airplay and sales gain this week. So far, the song has peaked at number Four on Billboard's 'Heatseekers songs' chart which maps this week's most popular songs across all formats by new or developing artistes. charts on March 27 at No 78 and has risen steadily. According to

Centerstage with richie loop

August 5, 2010
Started By jubalson0 Comments

RockStar.jpg

Richie Loop - Contributed

Stage Name: Richie Loops

Birth Month: December

How did you get started in the business?

Richie Loops: I started off by dancing, then I moved on from that to building beats at my home, then to studios like Gumption, then back to studios in Clarendon, and from there to Big Yard.

What has been your greatest challenge in the business yet?

Richie Loops: Getting someone to believe in me and I found that person.

What have you been up to lately?

Richie Loops: I've been doing some singles like All I Already Know and Party Time.

Do you look up to any specific artiste and why?

Richie Loops: Lil Wayne, cause he's just crazy, Busy (Signal) too, cause his meds is just different, Lady Gaga who is also crazy; I just like crazy people musically.

Are you happy with the way things are going for your musical career right now?

Richie Loops: Definitely, couldn't be more blessed, and I have to thank God cause he makes it possible.

Do you have any advice for young artistes coming up?

Richie Loops: Yeah! work hard, don't give up, don't make no one demotivate you, find some real people, don't listen to your friends who are gonna tell yuh it bad. Talk to people who know what the song needs.

Where do you see yourself in the future?

Richie Loops: I see myself as one of Jamaica's biggest artistes, maybe the world's too, just to move towards tha
I-OctaneJ20100302WS.jpg
I-Octane - Winston Sill

Fresh off a crowd conquering performance at Reggae Sumfest 2010, I-Octane has wasted no time in heading back to the place he calls home, the studio, to record yet another ode of lamentation, No More.

Working once again with Dj F**** from Fras Records with whom he found a winning combination with My Life, which has gained presence in the Top 2 of a number of respected charts, this next generation artiste has penned a rather pensive song.

'Tired fi a weep and wail' and seeing his friends' *lo** 'splash in the streets', the deeply penetrating lyrics which addresses betrayal, death and plodding forward beyond the negativity which pervades the society; I-Octane has mastered the art of roping his vocals around one's mind. His vocals filled with sincere pain will compel you to do some amount of introspection.

Laid on a haunting beat with backing vocals, that ride the instruments like a professional surfer on a big wave, No More will move you to tears. Even if a music video is not done for this song, you will be able to visualise the agony and sufferation that is brought about by I-Octane's expressed burden because it is a topic to which we can all relate.

Another day, another SEXTAPE. Word on the street is that Laurence Fisburne's daughter made ANOTHER SEXTAPE - and it may be released in just a few days.

Here's what we know. Montana signed a deal with VIVID VIDEO to release her sextape (with some white dude) in about a month. Well now that everyone sees how POPULAR SHE IS . . . people are coming out of the woodwork with sextapes of her that they want to sell.

And the belief is, the first one to get to the market - will make the most paper.

So her ex, Brian Pumper is trying to release his SEXTAPE WITH HER first. Expect screenshots in the next few day. For now, you'll just have to live with the full cover:

UNITED States Secretary of State Hillary Clinton has congratulated Jamaica on its 48th year of Independence, lauding the country for its rich history and culture and the accomplishments of the people.

Our two nations are united by our shared history, values, and hopes for the future, Clinton said in a news release issued through the US Embassy. We work together through Caricom to promote regional security and stability, widen opportunity and prosperity, and strengthen democratic governance and the rule of law throughout the Caribbean and across the Americas.

Clinton said Jamaicas contributions to the relief and rebuilding efforts in Haiti, as well as its commitment to protecting its citizens, have distinguished the  country as a determined and engaged regional partner.

The United States is a stronger nation thanks to the bonds of family, commerce, and culture we share with Jamaica, she said. Former secretary of state Colin Powell is among the many Americans of Jamaican heritage who have shaped our country and made important contributions to the global community. Today, we honor all Jamaicans and celebrate the vibrant friendship between our countries.

Independence Day is celebrated tomorrow, August 6.

PNP ahead of JLP in polls

August 5, 2010

THE main opposition Peoples National Party (PNP) is making up ground on the ruling Jamaica Labour Party (JLP), according to the latest public opinion survey conducted here.

The Boxhill poll commissioned by RJR/TVJ found that neither of the countrys two largest political entities currently enjoys majority support of the population.

Leader of the Opposition Portia Simpson Miller
Prime Minister Bruce Golding

pollportia_w370.jpg

The PNP got 33 per cent support of those polled, while the JLP trailed with 28 per cent. The National Democratic Movement, which does not have a parliamentary seat, registered one per cent support.

However, 20 per cent of those who took part in the survey indicated that they would not be casting votes for any candidate or party, while 12 per cent had not made up their mind. Five per cent offered no answer.

On the issue of whether there should be a fixed date for general elections, 53 per cent supported such a change, while 18 per cent did not agree.

The pollsters said their research was conducted from July 17 to 21 involving a nationally representative sample.

The JLP controls 32 seats in the 60-seat Parliament. The PNP has 28.

POPULAR COMEDIAN'S HOUSE GETS SHOT UP WITH AUTOMATIC GUNFIRE. . . AND HIS WIFE GETS MURDERED!!! (DETAILS)
1280930558stop_violence.jpg

SAD NEWS. Comedian Willie Hawkins, a comedian best known for his role as DOPE FIEND WILLY in Master P's movie I'm Bout It, suffered a terrible loss. His wife, Barbara Jonson (37) was MURDERED on the streets of Indianapolis in a SENSELESS act of violence.

Here's what happened. On Monday evening, there was a BAR-B-Q on Willie and Barbara's block. And while it's not clear whether Willie attended, Barbara was there.

Then, from out of nowhere a group of goons OPENED FIRE on the crowd with AUTOMATIC RIFLES. The gunmen let off between 25 and 30 shots in a matter of seconds. And when it was all over, Barbara and another man lay on the ground DEAD.

Our condolences to Willie and the entire family.

If any of you have ANY information about this shooting, please contact the Indianapolis Police Department. Or, if you don't trust the police - send in any tips to us, and we'll forward them to the police ANONYMOUSLY.

Members of the press are REQUIRED to credit MediaTakeOut.com for this EXCLUSIVE report. Failure to do so is PLAGIARISM.

For those who don't remember Willie, here is some of his work

3260187839.jpg

ST. CROIX Maybe it was tired of waiting in lines for milk vouchers, or perhaps it had dreams of becoming a fat cat in America, but a tiny Cuban kitten risked one of its nine lives last week to stowaway on a military plane headed for U.S. soil.

After the arduous journey, curled up in a box in the cargo hull of the plane, the feline defector was found upon arrival at Rohlsen Airport on Friday, looking tired and hungry, but in fairly good condition, said veterinarian Stacia Boswell.

I think he was tired, but happy to find a nice, comfortable place to stay, Boswell said.

Boswell was called when the furry surprise popped its head out of the box, she said. She runs Sugar Mill Veterinary Center in Estate La Grande Princesse the estates Spanish origins, no doubt, coming as a welcome sense of familiarity to the kitten.

The 2-month old is a smoky-gray domestic long-hair, and it looks as if it may be part of the Havana Blue breed, Boswell said.

The kitten has been dubbed Tony Montana by the staff an ode to Al Pacinos frightening power-hungry Cuban gangster in Scarface.

But the young Tony looks far less menacing than its current namesake. The kitten has to be held in quarantine for 10 days to make sure it is not harboring any diseases, Boswell said, and it seems to be in good health.

During the quarantine, tiny Tony will be taking a crash course on the benefits of capitalism as it purrs in the lap of luxury at Sugar Mill, which runs a pet hotel that offers a turn-down service, hiking trails, spa treatment and paw-cures for its guests.
Ten minute feature highlighting and honoring one of dancehall's greatest icons , for his contributions to Jamaica and his and accomplishments in Dancehall music.....

MI SEE SOME PPL GI DEM KIDS SOME NAMES WEH NOT  EVEN THE TEACHER AND PICKNEY CAN PRONOUNCE pity UNU PARENTS WANT A RA.WS.E BEATING.....WHAT NAME WUD U CHOOSE

-- Edited by gamepun ( Mod ) on Sunday 1st of August 2010 09:45:05 AM

STARRING 2 POPULAR RAPPERS' BABYS MOTHERS!!
1280838661real_babymamas.jpg
MediaTakeOut.com learned that a production company out of Atlanta is producing a new reality show -tentatively called the REAL BABYS MAMAS OF ATLANTA.

And according to our snitch, the show has already signed on two very HIGH PROFILE BABYS MOTHERS - Nas' baby's mother Carmen, and TI's babys mama LaShon Dixon.

No word yet on when the show is going to come out, or on what network ...
1280838662real_babymamas1.jpg

Omar Thornton: "I Killed the Five Racists That Were Bothering Me"

Omar Thornton (WFSB)

MANCHESTER, Conn.(CBS/WFSB/AP) Family members say Omar Thornton, the man suspected in the Tuesday morning massacre at Hartford Distributors, was a quiet, hard-working man who wasn't a violent person, but was pushed to the breaking point by ha****ment at work.

PICTURES: Hartford Distributors Shooting

Thornton's mother, who lives in East Hartford, said she received a phone call from him shortly after 7 a.m. Tuesday.

According to CBS affiliate WFSB, she says he told her he had shot several people at the beer distribution plant where he worked, and that he planned to take his own life. She said she spent 10 minutes trying to talk to her son, pleading with him to change his mind, but she said she couldn't.

Minutes later, Thornton was dead.

"He said, 'I killed the five racists that was there bothering me,'" said Will Holliday, Thornton's uncle. "He said, 'That's it. The cops are going to come in so I'm going to take care of it myself.'"

Omar Thornton: "I Killed the Five Racists That Were Bothering Me"

Hartford Distributors (AP)

Holliday said Thornton had been complaining to relatives that in the several years he worked at Hartford Distributors he was confronted with blatant racism.

PICTURES: Hartford Distributors Shooting

Holliday said, "He had some instances of racism at the company. They were hanging nooses in the bathroom and writing stuff like that. They were singling him out because he was the only black person there in that area."

Thornton's family said he had taken pictures of the threats and said they believe he just snapped Tuesday morning.

They said they expressed condolences to the families of the victims, but they said they were mourning, too.

"This all could have been avoided," Holliday said. "He went to the Union a couple of times with issues concerning what was going on, and it was not dealt with appropriately."

Thornton had been caught on videotape stealing beer from Hartford Distributors and was supposed to meet with company officials when the shootings began, Teamsters official Christopher Roos said.

"It's got nothing to do with race," Roos said. "This is a disgruntled employee who shot a bunch of people."

Thornton's ex-girlfriend spoke to WFSB and said, "He's never been violent that I know of." She told the affiliate that "I don't know what happened inside of him" and said that "Something snapped inside his head."

Union officials said Thornton entered the business with a rifle and a red satchel filled with ammunition.

Authorities say the shooter killed eight employees and injured two others before committing suicide.

1280838814richard_pryor_son.jpg
Good for Richard Jr - for being out and living his life. It is kinda IRONIC though, the way his dad used to through around the word f***t. 

We just wonder if he came out to his father . . . . hmm

1280838846richard_pryor_son1.jpg
1280838847richard_pryor_son2.jpg
1280838848richard_pryor_son3.jpg

35579_131101530250548_100000521048401_262657_3824301_n-225x300.jpg

Yes Jam2.. di baby mother dis dow?

35717_134145269946174_100000521048401_278605_2731971_n-300x225.jpg

dem man yah bold bad!

ANONYMOUS SAID....

Apparently a she a di new girl weh a breed fi Jam2. Now now now mi a look pan dis picha an to **** dis nuh look like no fling. No man a who a really him wife she or Krystle.  Dis girl name Alicia Turnbull but big mix up  cya I dont understand mi here sey she is married and have har family suh how shi fi a breed fi Jam2. WTF? No really cya dis look like some photoshoot or some family protrait ting an him well inna it.   Mi get fi understand sey a da picha ya did deh pan facebook an a it cause all the contraversy cya mi fren si it an ask  a wa really a gwan.  But met before mi get the picha mi mek sure sey mi get the right scoop.  All along him look like did a lie to the 2 girl dem an a tell dem sey him nuh deh wid the other. Well right yah now the scoop is dat Alicia mussi get tired a him a use har an depend pan har an shi lef him an him run back to Krytle.  Now Now Krystle if dat really is the case then why the **** would you tek him back. Girl yuh a move like toni-ann love tek bun!!! Dem kind a man ya nuh change a**** look how him well love out wid har inna dis pic an mi have a nex one

Mi nah lie still the Alicia she well hot mi woulda gi my woman bun wid har too.  Shi have tha draw mi in closer look deh.  But mi nuh know much bout har mi not even know if she is a groupie suh feel free fi comment if unu have the scoop cya from shi deh wid Jam2 summn mus deh deh fi chat bouttalk the tings dem please

LEGAL CHUBBLESS

Jam2 Sues Hulk Hogan DaughterContrary to the reality tv show, Brooke Hogan (daughter of wrestling superstar Hulk Hogan) doesnt seem to know whats best. A lawsuit has been filed in Manhattan, USA against the Sobe Entertainment artiste for failing to compensate nor credit Jam 2 Productions, members Jammy James (Jam 2) & Camar Doyles (Flavaunit) who were approached in 2006/2007 for production work on her sophomore album, The Redemption which was released in 2009.

The production also included a song performed & written by Camar Doyles aka Flavaunit entitled Come On, Come, On, back in 2001. Brooke and Sobe used the song, but changed it up, adding her own lyrics, and changing the name of the song to Trust Me. Again, Brooke and Sobe said theyd pay and credit Jam 2 Productions, which to this day has not been forthcoming.

evileyeboo

carlos-hill_w370.jpg
The Corporate Area Resident Magistrate's Court ruled yesterday that the case against former Cash Plus boss Carlos Hill will in September be transferred to the Home Circuit Court, where he will be tried on a charge of fraud.The matter is being transferred because the charge under Section 28 of the Larceny Act requires that the case be tried before a jury. If convicted, Hill could be sentenced to a maximum of seven years.

Maximum of 7 years???wtf so him can get all 1yr...wat kinda BS is thiso. So a man can rob so many millions n only get up to 7yrs in prison. A schoolboy holiday datlc....Dem need fi let u out 2 walk freely amongst some of those ppl u robbed n then they will surely giv u the justice u deserve stomp2

Despite claims by the TSA that electronic body scan images "cannot be stored or recorded," some federal police agencies are in fact saving tens of thousands of images, according to a report by CNET News.

The body scanners, increasingly found in airports, courthouses and other places where security is high, use an assortment of technologies. These include millimeter wave scanners (shown below) in which the subject is harmlessly pelted with extremely high frequency radio waves which reflect a picture back to the device and backscatter X-ray (shown above) which measures low-powered reflective X-rays to produce clearer body shots, shots that can reveal alarmingly precise anatomical detail.

According to CNET, the U.S. Marshals Service admitted this week that it had saved thousands of images that had been recorded from a security checkpoint in a Florida courthouse.

The revelation comes at a tense time. Two weeks ago, when Homeland Security Secretary Janet Napolitano said such scanners would appear in every major airport, privacy advocates such as the Electronic Privacy Information Center in Washington D.C. filed a lawsuit to stop the device rollout.

The reason is because the devices were "designed and deployed in a way that allows the images to be routinely stored and recorded," EPIC executive director Marc Rotenberg told CNET, adding that this "is exactly what the Marshals Service is doing."

As CNET's Declan McCullagh explains, it's the mystery of the devices' potential that is most unnerving: "This trickle of disclosures about the true capabilities of body scanners and how they're being used in practice is probably what alarms privacy advocates more than anything else," he wrote.

The TSA maintains that body scanning is "constitutional" and the CNET report notes that while the machines are built to "allow exporting of image data in real time" and provide networked "high-speed transfer of image data," the system are built with filters to "protect the identity, modesty, and privacy of the passenger."

Backscatter X-Ray

backscatter_large.grid-6x2.jpg

Millimeter Wave Scanner

mmw_large.grid-6x2.jpg

-- Edited by NoKTurnaL on Wednesday 4th of August 2010 04:27:55 PM

NEW YORK (AP) A new Michael Jackson album is expected by the end of the year, culled from unreleased material in his vaults. But Jackson collaborator and Black Eyed Peas frontman will.i.am is vehemently opposed to the idea.

"I don't think that should ever come out. That's bad," he said. "He was a perfectionist and he wouldn't have wanted it that way. How you gonna release Michael Jackson when Michael Jackson ain't here to bless it?"

Will.i.am collaborated with Jackson on the rerelease of "Thriller" in 2008 with remixed versions of some of the album's classic songs. He said Jackson was very particular about all aspects of his musical productions, from his vocals to arrangements to instrumentation.

"Now that he is not part of the process, what are they doing? Why would you put a record out like that? Because he was a friend of mine, I just think that's disrespectful," he said. "What's wrong with what he already contributed to the world?"

The Jackson estate did not respond to a request for comment.

When asked about the high demand for any new Jackson music, will.i.am replied: "So what? You don't disrespect someone when they're gone. ... How much can you suck from his energy? ... Freaking parasites!"

Not much is known about what will be on the album, but Michael's brother Jackie has said he and brother Marlon were working on the record with John McClain, Jackson's former manager and executor of his estate.

Eclipseb20100802.jpg
Bounty and Beenie performing together. - Contributed photos

Deejay Bounty Killer says his performance alongside long-time musical foe, Beenie Man, on Sunday in Negril, Westmoreland, was not planned.

On Sunday, Bounty brought a memorable end to the Guinness Summer Eclipse at The Jungle, when he invited Beenie onstage.

"It was nothing planned. I was booked and was doing my thing an' a do some counteraction to some Beenie songs. Den mi stop an' sey mi a leggo off a da vibe dey an mi big up Beenie. But mi neva know sey Beenie was in di house," said Bounty when contacted by THE STAR yesterday.

The deejay said, at that point, Beenie Man made it known that he was present and the crowd urged him to call 'The Doc' onstage.

"The crowd was indicating for me to call him up, an' true a me sey unity it was only right that wi put wi differences aside. Is a good ting and is the honourable thing to do, lead by example an' use di music to uplift the people," he said

"Weh di Docta deh?" Bounty had quizzed during his performance on Sunday, shortly after Beenie had arrived in the venue. Patrons then erupted as Beenie Man came onstage and shared a brief embrace with Bounty.

The two then went into a medley of their old favourites, reminiscent of their 1993 Sting appearance.

The performance was a rare dancehall moment by two of the genres most endearing artistes. Despite the many public spats over the past 18 years, their performance signified that both were appreciative of each other's musical greatness.

tremendous vibe

During yesterday's interview, Bounty who was still in good spirits after Sunday's performance, said that "Di vibe was tremendous an di people dem love every moment of it," he said.

The deejay said the onstage performance between him and Beenie is something he hopes to repeat.

"It is something we should do again, cause mi know sey Kingston an all ova waan see dat. And I think it will set di precedence for the Gully-Gaza conflict. Suh even if dem waan sen Kartel, a guh be di same vibe. Anything fi uplift di people, I'm for it."

He, however, made sure to point out that, "the difference wid me an Beenie neva died, it jus put aside."

Before Beenie Man's cameo on Sunday, Bounty had been in peak form with songs from his vast catalogue from 'Look into my eyes' to 'Mama she's not in a good mood' to 'This is how we do it'.

He was commanding, strong in his delivery and also philosophical. Bounty spoke on several social issues and said that after voicing his support for the police at Reggaenews report of two officers shooting an unarmed man last Friday. Sumfest, he was disappointed to see a

Also performing at the event were Agent Sasco, also known as Assassin, who connected with 'Same Ting Again', 'Hand to Mouth' and 'EeediatTing Dat', Wayne Marshall, Ikaya, Chi Ching Ching and the Big Ship family of Chino, Laden, Bramma and Di Genius .

The Guinness Summer Eclipse was a two-night event of superb performances, featuring dancehall's hottest artistes.

After the event, commenting on the Bounty and Beenie performance, Guinness brand manager Gary Dixon said; "This was a truly great moment. Two of dancehall's most enduring and significant artistes sharing a rare moment together onstage."

Eclipse20100802.jpg
Bounty and Beenie greet just before performing.

NOT ONE BUT 5 PEOPLE GET SHOT A HOW ''MI LOOK THURSDEH'' LAST WEEKlc... ONE TIME GONE U BARLEY HEAR DOG BARK A FLORIDA NOW IT LOOK LIKE TUH MUCH A WE DEH ONE PLACE SUH A BARE ****LE N JASSLE A GWAAN NOWsad...WHEY DAY IT WAS NEISHA N HAR ADDA RESLESS SET A HEADED NOWHERE FREN DEM... NOW A ADDA PPLlc

A Croatian man has impersonated Superman by catching a bullet in his teeth and spitting out the hot lead. Just like in the comics his attacker fled. The drama occurred after Stipe and Mirna Cavlovic, both 37, got caught up in a row between two men. One of the men fired at the couple but the bullet ricocheted off Mirna's cheek and got stuck in Stipe's false teeth. The surprised Stipe then spat out the hot bullet, terrifying his attacker, according to Telegraph.co.uk. I thought I was dead for sure," he told police. "I didn't even see the bullet hit my wife. I just saw the flash of the gun's barrel. "The next thing I knew was something hit my false tooth and I spat out the hot lead. It hurt like hell but we're both still alive." Police believe he survived because the bullet lost so much speed when it grazed Marla's cheek. She was also uninjured. The 58-year-old gunman was arrested.

makeba20100803.jpg
Makeba Rodney is in deep thought. - Contributed

THE STAR has learnt that the woman who was murdered last week in Buckfield, St Ann, by a man who was himself shot by a cop, was the mother of two of Reggae superstar Burning Spear's children.

Much has been said about an incident in which Ian Lloyd was allegedly shot by the police, while lying subdued on the ground. The incident was videotaped by a resident and has caused quite an uproar since with some persons lashing out at the cops while some have sided with them for their action.

stabbed to death

However, little or nothing has been heard or said about 66-year-old Lovelita Wilson, the woman who eyewitnesses said Lloyd savagely stabbed to death, resulting in him being cornered by citizens and the police being called.

Wilson, who was also called 'Cherry' and 'Jill', was the mother of Spear's first child, Makeba, and also Marcus Rodney. Both Rodneys expressed shock at their mom's slaying and claim that justice has been served with Lloyd's death. Makeba told THE STAR that she was upset about the portrayal of the incident on television.

" ... When I saw the clip of what the policeman did to the man ... , I was like "My God, man dem nuh haffi do him so bad!" but when I hear di full hundred of what happened, because my mother wasn't the only one that he stabbed after, him stab after a young miss and the shopkeeper who tried to help my mom," she said.

She denied that her mother was stabbed about a money issue. "She went to get something at the shop and I heard the man get up and seh him feel like him could a kill somebody today and is just so it happen, that my mom was the victim and that's very sad."

Makeba said that while she wasn't very close to her mother "she wasn't a bad person, she used to stop by and we sit and we talk, wonderful person, get along with anyone."

While saying that she understood why viewers have reacted negatively to the video clip, she was asking that; "They should really look into what the man did before the cameraman step in. I'm upset about it because everyone is saying the policeman wicked, them shouldn't shoot the man like that, but at the same time, him nuh have no right fi tek my mother life."

"The bible seh an eye for an eye, the Lord said leave all vengeance to me and guess what? Whatever you live by, ah dat you goin die by". Justice prevail, that's how I see it, justice prevail," she said. "My condolences go to the family member of the deceased but at the same time justice did prevail."Burning Spear, whose real name is Winston Rodney, is a two-time Grammy winning reggae star. He is known for other hits such as Tradition, Man in the Hills and Slavery Days.

A Jamaican enlisted in the British Army was killed in the battlefield in Afghanistan on Sunday.

Dead is 31-year-old Lance Sergeant Dale McCallum, who was fatally shot by insurgents as he commanded his men in an operation to provide security to Afghan local nationals in Helmand province

dale-mccallum_w370.jpg

According to Britain's Ministry of Defence, McCallum was shot as he moved into position to engage insurgents who had attacked a checkpoint.

McCallum, who was born in Hanover, is said to have enlisted in the British Army in June 1998 where he quickly gained a reputation for being an immensely strong, fit and robust individual.

Having joined the 1st Battalion Irish Guards in Germany in March 1999, he was later deployed to Kosovo in 1999 and then to Iraq in 2003. He was promoted to the rank of lance corporal in September 2002.

He was again promoted to the rank of lance sergeant in July 2006 and was recommended for a promotion to sergeant to take effect this October, although he was already performing the duties of a platoon sergeant with the Fire Support Group. The Fire Support Group had spent the past four months increasing the level of security for the people of Loy Adera.

"He loved this role and thrived on the responsibility he held, especially his responsibility to his men," the department said in a statement.

A tribute from his family described him as a wonderful father, brilliant brother a loving son.

"He was cherished and highly respected by everyone that knew him. He will be deeply and sadly missed. We all loved Dale for his easy going attitude and his sunshine smile, for his mannerisms and his charm."

Lieutenant Colonel Lincoln Jopp MC, commanding officer, 1st Battalion Scots Guards, said that McCallum was a consummate soldier.

"A veteran of operational tours in Kosovo, and three tours of Iraq, he was a reconnaissance Section Commander and here in Afghanistan, the Platoon Sergeant of a 27-man Fire Support Group.

"I never once heard him raise his voice or lose his temper. He had control. He was also a gentleman," the commanding officer wrote.

Yesterday scores of tributes poured in on the Ministry of Defence's website from his colleagues.

"The whole battalion has been struck by his loss and we send our sincerest and deepest condolences to his son Kevin, Kevin's mother Edith, Dale's mother Lurline Watson, father Paul McCallum, step-father Errol Watson, and all his wider family and friends," one colleague wrote.

"Dale was one in a million and his boots will be exceptionally hard to fill. He was a phenomenal soldier with considerable experience from his time in both the Irish and the Scots Guards, having spent much of his career deployed on operations," another said.

In a statement issued yesterday the British High Commission in Kingston expressed regret at McCallum's death. Jamaica and the Defence Section, it noted, were working closely with the relevant Jamaican and British authorities to get his father to the UK to attend the funeral.

McCallum's mother lives in the UK.

DonkeyRacingY20100803IA.jpg
Member of Parliament Robert Pickersgill (2nd left), watches as a rider romps to victory in one of the races. - Ian Allen photos

The 10th staging of the Top Hill Donkey race once again brought life to the rural St Catherine community, as residents expressed their love for the annual Emancipation Day event which, they said, has become a staple.

"The race allows the community to enjoy themselves and have something to look forward to, so I think it is great for them to have it yearly," Kerine Pryce, a visitor, said. She told THE STAR it was her second year at the event and she thoroughly enjoyed the activities.

" Lawd, massa, fi mi bone too old to ride donkey, mi a 72, so it can't mend again, so mi just watch it," Mary Williamson said while sitting with her grandchildren.

It was simply a carnival atmosphere for residents. The buzz of the anticipation of the event could be seen as the news team entered the community. Many pots of food and other goods lined the streets.

With fewer 'beast of burden', there were only five races on the day, but residents enjoyed the occasion nonetheless.

As for the races, a number of top racers saw themselves losing to younger, more stronger riders.

One such is veteran rider John Dawkins, who lost to his younger counterpart, Emiel Fearon, in several races between them.

However, as the day progressed, Dawkins used his experience to finally beat Emiel, who was riding 'Warrior'.

DonkeyRacingV20100803IA.jpg
Men share cash after a donkey race. - Ian Allen

Bolt dating new TV star?

August 4, 2010
Started By jubalson1 Comments
boltpic2.jpgMsJaFinalsZZZD20090823WS.jpg
Left: Usain Bolt. Right: Lesa-Gayle Wee Tom, was one of the finalists in the Miss Jamaica World 2009 contest. - File

Track star Usain Bolt made overseas headlines again with yet another reality star. Pictures of Bolt and his supposed new 'love interest' was posted on popular celebrity gossip site media takeout.com yesterday.

The website called 21-year-old reality star Lesa-Gayle 'Milan' Wee Tom Bolt's latest girlfriend as the site stated, "track superstar Usain Bolt is the most eligible bachelor on the island of Jamaica, and he's been spotted around with a number of beauties. But a lil birdie tells MediaTakeOut.com that Usain may be ready to settle down - with a beauty queen/reality star named Milan. They make a cute couple."

The Jamaica-born Milan is no stranger to the limelight when she appeared as a cast member on BET's College Hill, a reality show that follows the lives of students at historical colleges.

several titles

She has also secured several titles in pageantry including: first runner-up - Miss Hollywood Teen USA, second runner-up Miss Jamaica Florida, second runner-up Miss Miami Tropic, queen Miss Florida Caribbean, queen Miss Jamaica Caribbean World and she also participated in Miss Caribbean World 2010 pageant and is also pursuing a modelling career.

The model was recently in Jamaica for the just concluded Dream/ATI weekend, where the pictures of her and Bolt, that are on media takeout.com, were taken.

This is the second reality star Bolt has been linked to. Months ago, the sprinter was romantically linked to Taneish Simpson, a former cast member of popular VH1 reality show, For The Love of Ray J.

Simpson, 24, was named Lava on the show and is originally from Portland, but now lives in Florida. Various Internet sources list her occupations as a model and make-up artist.

ATI ends on musical high

August 4, 2010

StagesB20100803sg.jpg
Elephant Man represented well at ATI's Stages in Negril on Monday.- Sheena Gayle

It was sounds of musical greatest from several local and international music selectors to bring ATI's Stages to an exhilarating end following days of non-stop partying in Negril.

From Black Chiney, Tony Matterhorn, DJ Karyzma to VJ Elite, Renaissance and Miami-based selector Renegade, the ultra all inclusive Stages party delivered on the expectations to provide a variety of musical entertainment for patrons.

Absolute Entertainment, the promoter of the ATI series of parties transformed the lawns of Yaard Negril into a den of entertainment. VIP band holders had an opportunity to experience exclusivity at its best when the air-conditioned Red Bull-sponsored VIP tent was created to feel as if one was in a nightclub.

Patrons also experienced a high-end fashion show as an added benefit to the party. The usual pile up of traffic which usually create hours of frustration each year in Negril was absent as there were strictly enforced no parking along the roadway. In turn, this was excellent news for partygoers who were able to get to their respective parties in time with little or no hassle.

different vibe

According to Alex Chin of Absolute Entertainment, this year saw each party for ATI being hosted at different locations. This logic, he noted was "to offer patrons a different experience each night, so persons did not have to come back to the same venue of each event. We wanted everyone to feel a different vibe every day."

He further added that the line up of music selectors was much more varied than in previous years. This he noted was to ensure that the events did not become monotonous when you have the same disc jockeys playing at every event.

"One of the complaints that we had was that there was too much of the same music selection being played at each event, so we decided to change it up a bit this year and added others into the mix and it has worked well so far," Chin explained. Dubbed the Pathway to Paris the final party Dolcé offered a fashionable close to four days of untamed entertainment.

StagesC20100803sg.jpg
Designer Ernesto (centre) was surrounded by these beautiful females who wore his lingerie designs at Stages in Negril.

Hugh Tate, the man who had pleaded guilty to chopping up a dog at least 36 times, reappeared in court yesterday.

When he was brought before Resident Magistrate Judith Pusey in the Corporate Area Resident Magistrate's Court, Tate seemed nervous as he listened keenly before sentence was decided upon.

Tate was eventually fined $15,000 or six months in prison.

Tate was last in court on July 30 when he pleaded guilty to the charge of cruelty to an animal.

On Tate's initial appearance in court, the complainant had told the court that the accused was known to her because she had rented a room from his sister. She also revealed that the dog in question belonged to her and was chopped by Tate at least 36 times, who then threw a stone in its head to ensure that he died.

The complainant also told the court that the dog bled from its ears after receiving the blow from the rock. The court also heard that this was the third dog that the complainant owned that was killed by Tate.

CON MAN ROBS UTILITY CUSTOMERS

August 4, 2010

Residents of Bay Farm Road in St Andrew, say that a mysterious man claiming to be an employee of the Jamaica Public Service (JPS) has being illegally collecting money from persons who have failed to pay their bills on time.

According to a resident, who encountered the man, she was threatened that her electricity would be disconnected because she had an overdue balance on her account. She told THE STAR, that she went for her bill and showed him and he left.

"Im come inna di yaad and a tell mi sey im a go cut off mi light cause mi nuh pay mi bill ... Afta mi go inside fi di bill and come out and show him it, im go ova di next yaad.

Another resident echoed a similar statement. He said that the imposter wanted money from him because he had an overdue bill. The man told THE STAR that the fake JPS employee asked him for $2,000 to ensure that his light remain connected, however, he refused and the man left.

ignorant

Winsome Callum, JPS Head of Corporate Communications, told THE STAR that she is aware of individuals who have tried to defraud persons, however, she was ignorant of this present situation.

"From time to time we have unscrupulous Jamaicans who try to defraud people. I am not aware of this particular situation but we consistently remind our customers, that JPS employees are not allowed to collect money from anybody. That is a standard!", said Callum.

She said that customers who have been asked by a JPS employee for money should report this to the police.

"We encourage persons who are approached by anyone who are posing as JPS employees to go to the police. Anybody who comes to them to demand money for any service, they must report it to the police," she said.

Sergeant Canute Naire attached to the Olympic Gardens Police Station told THE STAR that he has not received any report of the incident and asked persons affected by this imposter to report the matter.
POLICE Commissioner Owen Ellington yesterday raised the threat level against members of the constabulary to severe, as the force mourns the loss of a third member in just over a week.

Special Constable James Lemmie, 22, became the ninth police officer to be murdered by criminals since the start of the year and the third since last Monday when he was shot dead along Young Street in the volatile former capital of Spanish Town, St Catherine. The young policeman was stationed to the St Catherine North Police Division in Spanish Town.

police-patrol_w370.jpg

The policeman's 17-year-old attacker was shot dead by another policeman.

The Police High Command said yesterday that the raising of the threat level to severe means that the risk of attacks by criminals on police personnel and facilities was imminent.

"Our intelligence and the actions of criminals over the last week indicate calculated assaults on police personnel as we continue to disrupt and displace criminal gangs across the island. It is, therefore, imperative that all police personnel be on high alert at all times by taking extra security precautions to protect themselves and their colleagues," Commissioner Ellington said after a meeting yesterday morning with his executive management board.

Commissioner Ellington, at the same time, ordered that the Police Control Centre broadcast security reminders to all police personnel on a regular basis in order to keep members alert.

Minister of National Security Dwight Nelson also decried the attempt to undermine the security of the nation by what he said was the continued and unabated assault on police personnel over the past week.

Senator Nelson described the killing of three policemen since last Monday as a deliberate and vicious assault on the agents of the State who are duty bound to risk their lives to protect the people of Jamaica.

Senator Nelson said the concerted nature of the assaults had left no doubt in that criminals have felt emboldened to strike out at members of the security forces who have been doing a superb job in containing crime. He urged police and soldiers to be on heightened alert to preserve their lives and to try to be strong in the face of the attacks. "Do what you must to protect yourselves," said Senator Nelson.

Spokesman on security, Peter Bunting, meanwhile, said the Opposition was troubled by the third fatal assault on the police in just over a week.

"...The nature of this killing reveals a stark reality in our country of young men who are too easily opting for a criminal lifestyle.

"The PNP remains concerned with the fact that those elements who feel brave enough to challenge the agents of the Jamaican state appear to be getting younger," Bunting said.

POLICE statistics indicate continued reduction in murder shooting, rape, carnal abuse, robbery, break-in and larceny during July when compared to the same period in 2009.

In a release to the media today police reported that major crimes fell by 38 per cent in July this year compared to the corresponding month last year.

jcfmajor_w370.jpg

jcfdiv_w370.jpg

Murders have dropped by 48 per cent to 84 last month from 160 in July 2009. When compared to May this year the murder rate has declined by eight per cent.

Shootings fell from 171 in July 2009 to 67 in July 2010 a decline of 61 per cent.

The police report that rape has dropped by 37 per cent, carnal abuse by 42 per cent, robbery by 43 per cent, Break in by 13 per cent and larceny by 39 per cent.

The statistics also indicate that police have seized almost three times more ammunition and some 15 per cent more illegal firearms last month when compared to the corresponding period last year.

A total of 53 guns and 1091 rounds of assorted ammunition were taken off the streets last month compared to 46 guns 412 rounds of ammunition in July 2009 a 165 per cent increase.

WORLD RECORDS....

June 27, 2010
Started By Kelia4 Comments
  • Turinah, a woman of 157 years found in Indonesia

157ans.jpg

The longevity record of the French Jeanne Calment of 122 years has been defeated in Indonesia.Turinah, the current record holder, 157 years old, was born in 1853 and was discovered in a small village in Sumatra by enumerators who gave information to the Bureau of Statistics. According to statements gathered to establish the proof of age which has no authenticity. The reference probative of his adopted daughter aged 108 years corroborates the thesis of his age lifting the veil of doubt.

• The World's Heaviest Baby born

bebégros.jpg

A woman in Indonesia has given birth to the country's biggest ever baby - tipping the scales at a whopping 19.2lbs (8.7kgs). The 62cms (24.4ins) boy, who has not yet been given a name, was born by caesarean section at a hospital in North Sumatra province.

• The world's shortest man who was able to walk

petit.jpg

He Pingping measured 74 cm (2 ft 5 in) tall. According to his father, He Yun, at birth He Pingping was small enough to fit in the palm of his parents' hands.

• The worlds longest legs

jambe.jpg

While Svetlana Pankratova is not the world's tallest woman, her legs are 132 centimetres (4 ft 4 in) long. Because her upper body is of much more typical dimensions, she is 196 centimetres (6 ft 5 in) tall. She has also very large feet, size 13 (US) / 46 (EU)

• The hairiest man

poil.jpg

China's hairiest man, Yu Zhenhuan, suffers from a rare condition with hair covering 96 percent of his body.

• The tree man

ARBRE.jpg

Dede Koswara, 37, who is also known as The Tree Man of Java had underwent four major operations that hacked away the bark like tissue sprouting from his hands and feet. Dede was able to see the outline of his toes for the first time as medics removed more than 4lbs of warts from his body. Spending his last 20 years (his ordeal started when he was 15 and cut his knee where a small wart developed and spread) with the bizarre condition, Dede expressed that he wants to get better and find a job and hopes that one day he will meet a girl and get married.
"This is the most remarkable case, the most severe case, I have seen in my career," said American doctor Anthony Gaspari at a news conference in Bandung, about a two-hour drive from capital city Jakarta.

• The world's Heaviest man

gros.jpg

Manuel Uribe Garza (born June 11, 1965) is a man from Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico, and was one of the heaviest people in medical history. After reaching a peak weight of around 597 kg (1,316 lb) and being unable to leave his bed since 2001, Uribe lost approximately 400 lbs (one third of his body weight) with the help of doctors and nutritionists, and by following the Zone diet. His weight loss efforts continue.

• Plastic Surgery

CHIRURGIE.jpg

This 49 year old former Playboy model is in the Guiness Book of World Records for her over 100 cosmetic surgeries. Also known as the "Real Life Barbie," Sarah Burge has reportedly spent around $850,000 on rejuvenation surgery. Her major surgeries include rhinoplasty, buttocks lift, breast enhancements, liposuction of the face, hips, thighs, and jawline, tummy tuck, eyelid lift, and chin augmentation. All in all, this beach-blonde babe has transformed herself to be the plastic doll she's always dreamed of being.
«First  <  195 96 97 98 99524  >  Last»  | Page of 524  sorted by