Forum: News & Topical Issues

News updates, entertainment, hot topics, gossip | Share and discover what is happening right now.

slimm-fox_w370.jpg

The end of a relationship is always difficult, but Kill Bill star Vivica A Fox got dumped in a truly humiliating way -- by press release. The actress's club promoter boyfriend Slimm sent a notice saying they were "no longer dating," to numerous media outlets last Wednesday, without telling her. Just one day later he sent out a second release -- this time announcing that they were actually back together.

Slimm, it seems, had flipped out following an argument and decided to dump his love in the most public way possible -- before realising he was being silly and overreacting. "Love is crazy sometimes!" Vivica, 46, laughed about the short-lived breakup from her 26-year-old toyboy. Slimm, the Atlanta-based co-founder of Plush Blue Entertainment. "Hey this is Slimm, unfortunately me and Vivica are no longer dating," read the promoter's pronouncement. "After eight months, it's time to go our separate ways. In life you can love and have chemistry with a person, but flaws can sometimes outweigh the relationship. I wish her the best and I know she feels the same. Thanks." But not even 24 hours later, Slimm had a change of heart and sent out a second release to announce he and Fox were back together. "I want to clear the air about the rushed statement released yesterday about Vivica and I breaking up. Sometimes a person may act out of anger," he explained, and then apologised for "overreacting instead of letting time take its course." He added: "Vivica is an important part of my life and I would never try to hurt her. Thanks for supporting us as we figure things out." Vivica dismissed the releases in email responses to the story. "Slimm and I r fine!" she emailed the New York Daily News. "All relationships have their ups and their downs. I'm so proud that Slimm was man enough to clear up the air. He is a very good man with a great heart!" The couple have had public rows in the past. Self-confessed cougar Vivica lost her temper when he was seen flirting with girls at his April birthday party.

-- Edited by jubalson on Tuesday 17th of August 2010 02:18:50 PM

TheExpendablesN20100813WS.jpg
Beenie Man and D'Angel - file

After making several public appearances together in recent times, D'Angel says she has forgiven her husband Beenie Man and plans to leave their marriage in God's hands.

The two were recently spotted at the Guinness premiere of The Expendables at the Carib theatre on Friday night. They hugged and walked closely, taking pictures for their fans, and the media, at intervals.

And it was just last month that the couple performed together at Reggae Sumfest.

Despite what was a very bitter, public break-up in 2007, after getting married in 2006, the two seem to be on good terms and D'Angel says she has forgiven him for what transpired between them.

"Most definitely! 'Cause, if God has forgiven us for our sins, who am I not to forgive him. I am stronger now and I am very focused. I have moved on from the past and I have forgiven him," she told THE STAR.

She added, "If I forgive him, that don't make me a stupid woman. I have learnt from it and I am stronger. I have overcome. I can battle any weather. I am like the Rock of Gibraltar."

As for working on their marriage, D'Angel was reluctant to say much.

"Where our personal life is concerned, I would rather not comment. Where the marriage is concerned, we leave that in God's hands. Marriages always have ups and downs," she told THE STAR.

"Regardless of what happened in the past, we have to look beyond that. Me and Moses as husband and wife is something that we have to work on outside of the media," she added.

And not only do they share a marriage, but D'Angel said they also share a child, who she wants to set an example for. In addition, she says she is a role model to many teenagers and women.

"At the end of the day, we entertain and we do music. So we have to set examples," she said, noting that she has to live up to the brands that she represents like Coke Zero, Digicel and Access Financial Services.

D'Angel also noted that they have been making public appearances since 2008. However, she said: "Being with Moses in public, I am not doing it for recognition or hype. I am not looking for no success or fame as a result of this. If every artiste a call peace now, why can't we?"

In the meantime, she said You Are My First, which she did with Beenie Man is doing well. So, too, is her other single Come Over. D'Angel is also set to release another track called Yes Mi Know, which features Beenie Man, in the near future.
images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQNtcnCyLTRGPFfuRc7bCWGjmvxnL-ikOYqGBxmhbsvWH5wXMY&t=1&usg=__-e-YdS1KF3ttAegbtzW-7xjYSgg=4 persons have been named as major persons of interests and asked to surrender themselves to Denham Town Police or the nearest police station.Omar Damian Miller, otherwise called 'Andy Fowl'Andrew Emmanuel Brown, otherwise called 'Presi Face'Stephanie Gayle otherwise called, 'Sue Gayle' or 'First Lady'Horace Hope Lee-Shue, otherwise called 'Monk' or 'Shoe'These names ** I don't know who come up with them......
May 24srt

"the invasion of Tivoli Gardens by Babylon-the enemy- gunshots rang out for hours from every corner of West Kingston and other places of Kingston to protect the man, don of all dons, Christopher Coke aka "Dudus"...my don is free, I will always say Jim Brown, I am loyal to the Coke family and my guns will always be ready...I may never see my don again, mayb years to come, but he knows I will always be there fo ryears to come, but he knows I will always be there for him...I fired my AK until my finger was numb, I eat gun powder until my throat was sore,"  srt

Former St. James most wanted and top lietutenant in the Stone Crusher gang, Cedric Murray, better knwon as 'Doggie', was killed in a special police operation near the border of Clarendon and Manchester early thursday morning. The St. James police chief revealed what might have been Murray's personal fiary, which holds account son various criminal incidents, was recovered during the operation.

He was fingered in at least 30 murders committed in St James alone, and his name was among the island's 10 most wanted criminals in excess of five years, as a result it comes as a bit of surprise that at one point in his life, deceased gang boss Cedric 'Doggie' Murray was a Christian.

Following his demise on Friday THE STAR made contacts with several gangsters from a number of communities in the Corporate Area, St Catherine and St James, who all admitted to knowing the contract killer who gained their highest respects, and who they say was a product of unfortunate circumstances.

According to them, Doggie regularly spoke of his younger days during which he claimed to have devoted seven years of his life to God and was an active church member.

They further told THE STAR that he also claimed to losing his way with God after his mother was brutally murdered by gunmen.

Murray was cut down last Thursday during a daring gun duel with policemen on Manchester-Clarendon border.

true 'warrior'

Members of the chilling criminal underworld, those who knew Murray best, described him a true 'warrior' who took no nonsense but was surprisingly a 'people person'.

"Nuh matter who yuh be, people ago always have this and that fi seh bout yu, but mi naw lie if yu did see dem man deh a road yu probly wudn't guess seh him a real killa," one thug from Tivoli Gardens, west Kingston said.

At the time of his death Murray was said to be travelling with a diary which detailed his admiration for former west Kingston strongman and alleged crime boss Christopher 'Dudus' Coke, for whom he is said to have fought during the May 24 military incursion into Tivoli Gardens.

"Is a yute weh love reason bout life, him will just sit down and just start chat bout fi him life and life pon a whole ... A whole heap a time him deh yah and tell wi how him was a true Christian fi how much years before dem murder him madda inna MoBay," another known gangster also from the community added.

His associates from the infamous Stone Crusher gang for which he was the reputed top lieutenant had similar claims about Murray. They described him as a fearless leader who was also like a father figure to them.

jus' circumstances

"Is a man weh have a caring side to him eno ... Him always tell wi seh him was a Christian so it look like dem ways deh cement inna him and wi always see it even though is a man weh nuh tek foolishness," one man from the gang said. "A jus' circumstances mek dem man deh tek up badness still eno, a supn' weh him talk nuff time ... Is a man weh neva fraid fi seh a casue dem kill him madda mek him change and start kill people."

Meanwhile, several police sources from the second city admitted to hearing the tale of Murray once being a Christian. They were, however, quick to say that the murder of his mother was by no means no excuse for him to become the 'monster' he was.

"Personally it is something I heard but I was never interested in that argument ... Two wrongs don't make one right so there is no way I can say I see the reason why he became such a monster," one high-ranking officer from St James said yesterday.

Despite several police dragnets and even a $1 million bounty, Murray who was described by the police as 'slippery' eluded the police for a number of years.

Among others, Murray, who turned 37 on the day of his death, was fingered in the February 2006 execution style murders of brothers Fenel and Derrick Taylor, and a young woman at *la*hd Lane in Glendevon, St James.

LIGHT THIEF GETS DEADLY SHOCK

August 17, 2010
Started By jubalson4 Comments

It may not have been his first time, but it surely was the last for a 47-year-old man who died while he was reportedly in the process of stealing electricity on Sunday.

Police reports summarise that Donovan Harriot, a labourer of Lionel Town in Clarendon, was electrocuted some time around 7 p.m. after getting entangled in light wires.

Sources from the Clarendon police told THE STAR that another man was severely burnt and had to be rushed to hospital after trying to help Harriot when he was electro-cuted. The police say that their investigations have revealed that Hariott was somewhat of an expert at the activity which led to his death. He was said to be among a handful of men from the community whose 'expertise' was regularly solicited by those who wanted illegal electrical connections, or repairs, done.

"Based on what residents are saying, it seems this was a regular thing for him ... It is really sad that this happened, but people should use this as an example because it is extremely dangerous," an inspector told THE STAR.

When contacted, one resident from the community claimed Hariott was paid at least $1,000 for his service or, in some cases, he would simply request a drink for his labour. "More time, when nobody waan bridge light a dem man deh get di work ... Dem man deh a expert pon it eno...It jus sad seh him lose him life da way deh still ... Him was a good man too eno, him did cool," he said. "A couple man bout di place weh do it, but a him a di real link to it. Dem man deh jump up pon pole like any monkey." Efforts to get in contact with family members of the deceased man were unsuccessful.

Thugs trade guns for safety

August 17, 2010
Started By jubalson5 Comments

Thugs from the Corporate Area and their rural counterparts are exchanging and selling guns used in murders and shootings as a means of trying to ensure that the perpetrators are not caught, THE STAR has found.

Instead of keeping them around and making it easier for the police to match them to any incident, ardent gunmen say they prefer to send away 'hot' guns to other areas.

"A nuh every man believe inna dat but yu have man and man weh do crime and den send weh di gun .... Yu call dem gun deh hot gun and man do dat fi try and distance demself from di crime, even if police find di gun and realise seh it did use in a one murder dem still naw go know a who actually do di murder," a well known thug from east Kingston explained.

Though they claim it is in an effort to stay one step ahead of the law, police are aware of 'hot' guns being rented, sold and exchanged but could not speak to it being an effort to hide the link between the criminal and the crime.

"We know guns are rented and sold and we have found cases where they have been linked to murders and shooting," CIB head Assistant Commissioner Les Green said. He however, claimed to be unaware ofthe STAR's finding.

given a gun

Another thug from Clarendon also claimed to knowing of the practice and admitted that some months ago he was given a gun by friends in Montego Bay, St James, who warned him that it was used in a number of shootings.

He said the choice was his as to whether or not he wanted to take the risk and keep it.

"Yea man dem ting deh gwaan man ... Gun move roun eno, and from a illegal gun den yu know seh man affi fire it, so it ago get link to something or another. Me did have one wah day and is a next man me pass it on to," the 33-year-old man said during a telephone conversation.

Over a year ago, the St Andrew north police seized an illegal gun following a reported shoot-out with members of a patrol team and a group of alleged robbers along Red Hills Road.

One of the alleged robbers was fatally shot and a Beretta 9mm pistol taken from him.

Following investigations, the gun was found to be linked to a number of shootings in St Catherine and was reported stolen from a businessman John Amos in Linstead during a robbery incident in which he was also shot and killed.

Similarly, a .38 revolver which was seized on June 28 by the police in Hanover was later found to be linked to at least three shootings in Kingston earlier this year. Sources say the shootings occurred in the Tavern and Waltham Park areas of St Andrew, and in a section of east Kingston.

"We know guns travel all around the country as criminals share them.What comes to mind though is that a gunman can indeed receive a weapon and not know of its history .. So it is quite possible," an officer attached to the Organised Crime Investigative Division explained.

Angelina.jpg
Angelina - file

Young female artiste and businesswoman Angelina is crying foul after photos alleging to be exposing the most personal parts of her body were released on popular social-network site facebook.com last Thursday evening.

The person who is behind the posting of the pictures is unknown to the public, as the profile picture is a decoy, bearing the image of Beyoncé and a name, Kasian Lee.

Messages posted by Lee directly target Angelina, accusing her of being a whore and asking her to desist from speaking to other people's boyfriends.

"Who supports an [expletive] is a bigger [expletive] that is for you and your fake fans Angelina Jones," read part of the post.

Lee also went on to accuse the artiste of getting pregnant for her boyfriend and said she should ensure she did not abort the child. The claims went on with Lee saying the man embroiled in the controversy with the women only wanted sexual favours from Angelina.

The pictures, Lee said, were retrieved from her boyfriends phone and were sent by Angelina.

No face was shown in the pictures and Angelina denies that the images represent her.

A seemingly upset fan or friend of Angelina, who goes under the name Johnson, also commented on the page, telling Lee to show her face.

"Show yuh face and stop hide under Beyoncé you coward," said Johnson. There was no response by the protagonist behind the profile.

THE STAR contacted Angelina, and the artiste had a different story. According to Angelina, the pictures are not her. "The pictures, and what is being said are only allegations with no truth to it," said Angelina. According to the artiste, some people were just having personal problems and were seeking to bring her down with them.

"I have never had an altercation with anybody over a man. Maybe some people just want to be seen," She told THE STAR.

The artiste also said she had been getting calls locally and overseas from people complaining about the matter.

"Even my boyfriend called and said he saw the pictures, but he says that he trusts me and we are good," Angelina explained.

Angelina, the owner of the Fashionista store at Portmore Town Centre plaza, says that she will not let people get her down and she will continue to be strong and successful.

"My fans should look out for my songs and just be there for me through all of this negative energy," she said.

Angelina's last major performance was Sting 2009. She is currently working with Seanizzle, Clive Hunt and Birch.

The claims went on with Lee

saying the man embroiled in the controversy with the women

only wanted sexual favours

from Angelina.

A man who was given an option of paying a fine or going to jail, chose the latter when he appeared in the Corporate area Resident Magistrate's Court on Friday.

Roy Stewart, who pleaded guilty to removing pieces of lumber from a premises, appeared in the court on charges of unlawful possession of property and possession of an offensive weapon.

The court experienced some amount of laughter after Stewart, who was fined $4,000 or 10 days for possession of an offensive weapon, told the resident magistrate, "I prefer to take the 10 days". He later told the court that he had the knife to protect himself. After composure was restored in court when the laughter subsided, the arresting officer informed the court of the circumstances which led to Stewart's arrest.

Sergeant Stanford Riley told the court that Stewart was seen on Maxfield Avenue about 11 p.m. last Thursday, with three pieces of lumber in his possession. According to Riley, Stewart was asked to explain how he obtained the pieces of lumber. Stewart was reported to have responded that he found the lumber on the roadside.

However, police checks later revealed that the pieces of lumber were actually removed from a work site nearby. Stewart was also found with a knife in his possession when accosted.

Stewart will return to court on August 25 when he will go on trial for the charge of unlawful possession of property.

Vendors in the Half-Way Tree area of St Andrew say that they are concerned about the increased presence of homosexuals in the Mandela Park.

The vendors say that homosexuals have been using the park as a regular meeting spot and are converging there in numbers nightly. There are also reports that some of these men have been using the Emancipation Park as a regular meeting spot on weeknights as well.

When the STAR visited the Half-Way Tree area recently, a group of vendors who were gathered discussing the matter, explained that nightly after 9 p.m., the men are "in deh like sand". One angry vendor said "them tek over, a fi dem park". Another vendor pointed out that on week nights, other suspected homosexuals hang around close to the Half-Way Tree clock waiting for the arrival of luxurious vehicles which come by to pick them up.

One Rastafarian man, who was in discussion with other vendors about the suspected homosexual activities, told THE STAR that he recently returned to Jamaica and had heard the rumours of the men's activities while he was abroad. He said he was shocked to discover that it was true.

The vendors complained that the men make no effort to conceal their actions.

According to the vendors, some of those suspected of homosexual behaviour have bleached faces, braided hairs, pierced ears and lips, and also wear tattoos.

On the other hand, another vendor pointed out that some of them dress normal and so it is sometimes hard to differentiate between them.

According to the vendors, the police make regular patrols in the Mandela Park, sometimes in an effort at preventing the gathering of homosexuals.

However, when the STAR contacted the Half-Way Tree Police Station, we were informed that no official reports have been made in the matter.

A police sergeant attached to the station said that while he is unable to confirm the claims of the vendors, he did not doubt them.

GEORGES PLAIN, Westmoreland The Bureau of Special Investigation (BSI) has commenced a probe into the fatal police shooting on five alleged gunmen in separate incidents in the parish early yesterday morning.

Four of the dead were said to be residents of Spanish Town, St Catherine and the other an ex-convict from Westmoreland. Two handguns, the police said, were seized following the shootings.

The police reported that three of the dead were fingered in the earlier shooting death of 22-year-old businessman Rasheed Golaub of Three Miles, Westmoreland.

According to the police, about 12:10 am, moments after closing his restaurant, Golaub and three of his relatives were walking in the Three Miles River community in Westmoreland when they were pounced upon by a group of armed men who alighted from a Toyota Caldina motor car.

Alleged eyewitnesses say the three relatives ran, leaving Golaub who is said to have recently undergone an operation on one of his feet. One of the gunmen opened fire hitting the businessman all over his body, killing him on the spot.

In a quick response by the police, the Caldina motor car, with four men aboard, was spotted along the Jane Mark road in Georges Plain -- a short distance from the community in which Golaub was shot. The police reportedly signalled the car to stop and the driver obeyed. But occupants of the motor vehicle allegedly opened fire at the police, who returned the fire.

Following the shooting three were discovered suffering from gunshot wounds. They were taken to hospital where they were pronounced dead. Police were last night searching for the fourth man who managed to escape.

Two of the dead men are said to be of Spanish Town addresses, while the other, identified only as Peddie, was said to be an ex-convict of Georges Plain, Westmoreland.

Meanwhile, armed gunmen who engaged members of the Westmoreland police in a shoot-out were shot and killed in West End, Negril during the wee hours in another yesterday morning. Both were said to be residents of Spanish Town.

The Westmoreland police were not willing to provide any information on the incident but persons who claimed to be eyewitnesses said the police came under gunfire after they went to an apartment building in West End, Negril. The two men were killed by the police who returned the fire. A 9mm pistol was reportedly seized after the shooting.

NUFFY/ LISA HYPER SPLIT....

August 16, 2010
Started By TBDGlamma8 Comments

IMG_0096.JPG
Popular MC and deejay, Nuffy, is seeking to clear the air about a recent rumour that has surfaced, stating that he and former Portmore Empire member, Lisa Hyper, are at odds, as it is said that he had been fired as her manager.

Nuffy said "Nutten nuh go suh, I was never Lisa's official manager. I was just someone who guided her using mi knowledge of the industry an all. Furthermore, mi an Lisa nuh ave nuh friction.

He added that, "Lisa is not di problem, har sista is the problem. Har sista a seh Nuffy a get too much money but when Vybz Kartel was doing his thing she couldn't seh nutten, she couldn't even call, but as soon as mi tek up Lisa career, bring har guh Sting an mek she tek di show, is a problem. She jus badmind dat Lisa career a tek off an fi har nah guh nuh weh. She all guh check Beenie Man bredda name Blue fi ask him bout how much money manager get an wah manager fi do."

Mi jus waan Jamaica know seh mi an Lisa nuh have nutten. Mi an har talk good good same way,"

Tasha Gooden, (Lisa Hyper's sister) acting in the capacity of business manager said: "I'm not aware that myself and Nuffy have any friction. He used to play the role of a road manager. Lisa's now on her own and needs proper organisation to bring her career to the next level. We wanted Nuffy on the management team but we had some differences that we were unable to work out, so he decided not to be a part of the team. Everyone wasn't on the same page, he took the option to leave and as far as I'm concerned there is no friction."

http://www.jamaica-star.com/thestar/20100814/ent/ent1.html

ALeqM5goynG05LImRMDvrZ950FtXsyCVow?size=s2

LOS ANGELES Actor-director Mel Gibson lost control at the wheel and crashed his Maserati into a rocky hillside in Malibu, but walked away unharmed, the California Highway Patrol said Monday.

The accident late Sunday west of Los Angeles involved no other vehicle and the Oscar-winning actor was neither drunk nor under the influence of drugs at the wheel (DUI), the police said in a statement.

"For unknown reasons, Mr Gibson steered his car to the right and struck the rock hillside," the CHP said, adding that after making a statement to police officers at the scene, he "received a ride home from a friend."

"His vehicle was towed from the scene, DUI is not suspected in the accident," it added.

The road accident follows a troubled few weeks for the Australia-educated actor, who is under investigation for domestic violence after his former partner Oksana Grigorieva released recordings of abusive telephone calls he allegedly made.

Gibson's driving habits made the headlines in 2006 when he was arrested at the wheel with 1.5 times the legal *la*hd-alcohol limit. He was sentenced to three years probation and fined 1,300 dollars, after undergoing alcohol rehabilitation.

His arrest at the time exploded into a major scandal when he made anti-Semitic remarks to the highway patrol.

A devout Rastafarian is facing medical and emotional challenges because he was forced to cut his locks following what he described as a terrible night in a police jail.

Devon Malcolm, general secretary of the Half Moon Bay Fishermen's Co-operative, pointed to swelling at sections of his head and face, resulting from his having to sleep on a cold floor.

Fishermen%27s-co-op_w370.jpg

Devon Malcolm (left) along with colleagues Kenneth Jenkins (2nd left), Vincent Colash (2nd right) and Gladstone Whyte (Photo: Karl McLarty)

Malcolm, who is facing one count of extortion, following his arrest at Hellshire Beach on Emancipation Day, August 2, could not get anyone to bail him when it was offered close to 11 o'clock that night. He was denied bail with his own surety.

He, along with four other executives and members of the Half Moon Bay Fishermen's Co-operative, was taken into custody after a group of soldiers and policemen swooped down on them while they collected money from patrons entering the Hellshire Beach.

Police said that the men had no right to collect money, but members of the co-operative are challenging that claim, saying that they were the rightful owners of 10 acres of the property and thus had the right to charge if they saw fit.

"I suffered from swelling of the head and my face and I contracted a cold as a result of sleeping on the floor," Malcolm, who holds the name of a West Indian-born former England fast bowler, told the Sunday Observer.

"I got a cold in the eye and in my back because I had to sleep on the floor. There was not even a piece of cardboard or cushion in the cell," he complained.

"Police never treated us bad, but it's just that the conditions were terrible... the cold concrete, the number of prisoners in the cell and the subhuman conditions, everybody doing everything right there. It was wicked," Malcolm said.

A day after he was released from lock-up and booked to appear in the Spanish Town Resident Magistrate's Court on August 17, Malcolm had to face a reality that never remotely entered his mind in his 24 years of wearing locks.

"I had to cut off my locks because I picked up something in the jail and started itching," he said. "This has caused me a whole heap of depression and has left my morale very low. Is the first me go a jail on co-operative business and I need to get my name cleared. My family has suffered from this whole incident, too."

Now low-shaven, Malcolm still keeps his locks for posterity. His first priority is to prove his innocence in a case in which he maintains that the police blundered badly by arresting individuals who were not guilty of wrongdoing.

However, the loss of his locks continues to haunt him and he said that he does not know how to console himself.

"I really don't feel good about the whole thing," he said.

Malcolm's lawyer, Delano Franklyn, described what happened to his client as unfortunate.

"The men said that they were locked in a cell for more than nine hours before three of them were released on bail. Two others had to spend the night in the lock-up, which resulted in medical problems for one," Franklyn said.

"It's unfortunate, because these are ordinary fisher folk, from ordinary families, who have formed themselves into community co-ops since the 1970s to develop them. They are one of the few co-ops that have survived," Franklyn said

A list of countries considering BlackBerry bans over security concerns with data routed abroad:

India The country of almost 1.2 billion people has threatened to block corporate e-mail and messaging services unless RIM makes data more easily available to its intelligence and law enforcement agencies by Aug. 31. Next, the government may ask Google Inc. and Skype SA for greater access to encrypted information sent over their e-mail and phone services.

bb-india_w370.jpg

Indonesia The Southeast Asian country wants RIM to place a server in its country because it fears that e-mails could be intercepted as they pass through RIM's servers overseas. It is considering banning the service, but has no firm plans.

Lebanon The country says it is reviewing whether BlackBerry service raises any security concerns for it.

Saudi Arabia The kingdom's telecom regulator had ordered a halt to BlackBerry service across the kingdom. Saudi Arabia's telecommunications regulator says it will allow service to continue in the country for now, citing "positive developments." It's unclear, however, whether the reprieve is permanent.

United Arab Emirates The Persian Gulf state plans to shut down e-mail, messaging and Web browsing on BlackBerrys starting in October. It says it's still in talks with Research In Motion Ltd, the Canadian maker of the device.

Wayne Chen gets back visa

August 16, 2010
Started By jubalson1 Comments

THE US visa of prominent businessman Wayne Chen was reinstated last week, six months after it was revoked by the Americans in a move that many Jamaicans feared underlined a widening of the diplomatic fissure that had been developing between Jamaica and its most important trading and political partner.

Yesterday, Chen, the chairman of the state-owned Urban Development Corporation (UDC) confirmed in an interview with the Observer, that he had been reissued a US visa. While he could offer no explanation for the initial cancellation, or for that matter, the decision to restore his entry rights into America, he was effusive in his praise for the staff of the US Embassy in Kingston, which he said had been very polite in all their interactions with me throughout the saga.

wayne-chen-visa_w370.jpg

To this day I have no specific reason as to why it was revoked or why it was reinstated, but I want to say thanks to the US embassy in Jamaica, said Chen.

Chen, the architect of the consolidation and rapid growth of the once-fragmented SuperPlus family business into Jamaicas largest retailer until it began to buckle a few years ago, is the only one of the Chen brothers, which includes NCBs billionaire owner Michael Lee Chin, who is not a citizen of North America.

For over 30 years, he held an American visa, travelling at will for business and personal purposes to that country, until the dramatic turn of events at the end of February, when, attempting to board an American Airlines flight for a business trip to the USA, he was informed by an agent of the airline that he was barred from travelling to that country.

My bags were already checked in, my family was on the plane, Chen told the Observer yesterday, in recounting the events which, by that February afternoon, would hit the national news cycle like a firestorm, and later become entangled in the political and diplomatic drama that had been playing out between USA and Jamaica, over this countrys handling of an extradition request for Tivoli Gardens strongman, Christopher Dudus Coke, by American justice authorities.

Coke is now in the USA awaiting trial on allegations of drugs and guns violations in that jurisdiction.

In his interview with this newspaper, Chen explained that it was only in February, when he was barred from travelling, that he learned that his visa had actually been cancelled a month earlier from the end of January and that he immediately contacted the embassy in Kingston to seek an explanation and its advice. He said he was advised by an official to apply right away to seek a restoration of his travel privilege.

They made an appointment right over the phone for me to come in the Monday morning, just with my passport and fill out a form.

Chen declined to say what, if any role Audrey Marks, Jamaicas ambassador to the USA had played in having his visa restored, arguing that any such information would be confidential. Marks, an entrepreneur and the former president of the American Chamber of Commerce of Jamaica, is said to be well-connected within Washington, and is credited with hitting the ground running in the heart of Americas political power, since her appointment in May.

In a twist of irony, Chen has found in the entire experience, a revalidation of his faith in America.

It reinforces my faith in America as a self critical democracy, he declares. In many ways, America is a positive role model for a developing country like Jamaica.

For those that are really feeling the burdens of our current economic positioning, I suggest you click out this story.Birdman aka Baby of the Cash Money Millionaires/Billionaires just dropped a cool $2.1 million on a red Bugatti Veyron. Just typing this makes me feel like I def should be rapping not writing. The New Orleans native stood next to his new toy looking as if he was its human twin in a red Adidas Originals Trefoil Hoodie (which we can all afford at only $50) and matching track pants ($55.)

Heres a little fact based info for you car lovers

Name: Bugatti Veyron

Speed:up to 253.8 mph

Well Baby we officially get it, Your The Man! You have the hottest rappers in the game right now signed to your label, and the hottest and probably most expensive car sitting in front of your house. Life is good if you name is Brain "Baby" Williams.

http://vimeo.com/14062818 <<<< CLICK LINK AND WATCH THE VIDEO<<<<<<

Bugatti Veyron

-- Edited by KrYsIs (Radio Mod) on Saturday 14th of August 2010 01:04:20 PM

20 left homeless by Portmore fire

August 16, 2010
Started By jubalson0 Comments

TWENTY persons were yesterday left homeless after a swift-moving fire badly damaged their townhouses in the community of Hamilton Gardens in Gregory Park, Portmore, St Catherine.

The fire started at approximately 8:30 am at 50 Begona Avenue and, aided by the wind, quickly leapt to the adjoining houses, numbering from 51E to 46E, according to a report prepared by fire brigade authorities

pmf1_w370.jpg

Six children were among the homeless, according to the fire brigade. There were no reports of deaths or injuries. The cause of the fire is yet to be determined. No one was home at the building where the fire started.

Two of the five affected houses were badly damaged and the fire brigade estimates the losses at $30 million. Most of the damage was to the upstairs section of the houses.

Staff members from the St Catherine South office of the Ministry of Labour and Social Security were quick on the scene to assess the immediate needs of the fire victims. Manager Hugh Duhaney told the Observer that help would start arriving today.

When the Observer arrived on the scene yesterday afternoon, there was still a large convergence of people from surrounding communities. Homeowners were being assisted with the clean-up exercise by helpful neighbours.

In the badly affected homes, people lost everything. Especially painful for the victims was the loss of their childrens back-to-school supplies of books, bags and uniforms, and, in one case, school fee. Items not destroyed by fire did not escape the water as firemen fought the blaze.

Keneisha Lowe, a mother of two children 14 and nine years old was a picture of grief. While she was thankful that no one was hurt, she bemoaned the fact that her children may not be able to attend school at the opening of the term next month. The $17,000 school fee for her son, Keron Green, who attends Jamaica College, went up in flames. Her daughter Timeria Johnson attends Bridgeport Primary.

I dont know what to do, she lamented, Its like a dream.

About two other high school students one from Holy Childhood and one Merl Grove were also affected.

Homeowner Errol Scott stood akimbo in his house two homes away from where the fire started. Decked in worn-out shorts and no shirt, he watched as neighbours helped to push water from the house.

What you see me in is all I have [left], he said, somehow managing a smile.

Residents, as well as the fire brigade blamed the extent of the damage on the design of the houses. All the damaged homes are covered under a continuous stretch of roofing.

They must stop build houses like this, said fire victim Clifford Thompson. You buy you house and cant even walk around it.

A relatively young volunteer organisation, Jamaicans for Community Development (JCD), has taken on its biggest assignment yet, launching a programme it hopes will help take illegal guns out of the hands of innercity youths.

The initiative, dubbed Pu dung di gun, is expected to realise its goal through social intervention programmes such as conflict resolution, skills training and job placement, mentoring and sporting activities within troubled communities.

put-gun_w370.jpg

The six-month-old organisation which has chapters in Kingston and St Andrew, St Catherine, Clarendon and St Thomas will be working in conjunction with the Social Development Commission, as well as other local and international groups on the two-year campaign.

Speaking at Saturdays launch of Pu dung di gun at the New Testament Church of God along Waltham Park Road, JCD President Godfrey Lothian bemoaned the prevalence of gun murders across the island. He especially lamented Friday mornings brutal killings of two sets of families in Tredegar Park, St Catherine, including an 11-year-old girl, Alexifia Anderson.

Last year, 1,700 Jamaicans were murdered. This is a serious business, Lothian told a small group of guests. Then two nights ago eight persons were murdered in Tredegar Park. Two families were totally wiped out.

The victims were in bed when a group of about 20 heavily-armed men invaded their homes, an hour after midnight, spraying them with bullets. Two persons including a 15-year-old male believed by the police to be involved in the massacre were fatally shot several hours later. A third man was held Saturday when he turned up at hospital with gunshot wounds. He reportedly furnished a wrong name and address.

For more than a decade now, Jamaica has consistently averaged a gunmurder rate of 1,000 people.

The Pu dung di gun launch comes a week after an Observer article in which Security Minister Dwight Nelson said the Government was exploring the possibility of implementing a gun amnesty. Under an amnesty, owners of illegally-possessed weapons are granted immunity from charge encouraging them to bring in their guns. The last gun amnesty was called by then Prime Minister Michael Manley close to 40 years ago. That initiative saw the handing over of more than 700 guns.

During Saturdays launch, one speaker after another implored women living in troubled communities to rise up and use their influence to make the initiative a success. The speakers were of the view that women were privy to the illegal happenings within their communities. They were also spoken of as prospective agents of change.

Here in Jamaica, if the woman stands up, said JCD member Ann-Marie Lynch, we can cut down crime and violence in our communities.

wakaflockaflame.PNG

Video After The Jump

Stage diving should come with instruction manuals for some people.

Brick Squad member, Waka Flocka attempted to crowd surf during his show at a club in Minnesota and got dropped by the crowd.

It looked like it happened because members of Waka's crew jumped in right after him and it was too much weight for the crowd to handle at one time and that is definitely not the way to do it.

By the time the last guy jumped from the stage, there were only bodies left on the floor to land on. SMH

No worries though, nobody got hurt and Waka made it back to the stage to perform "Hard In The Paint".

TRASH aka BRUCE
black barry
DAVID SMITH
David+Smith.jpg
To: David smith
11/28/2006
David, I must express out thanks for your support in our efforts, especially toward the staging of our recent conference. It was a tremendous success and has significantly boosted our campaign. your assistance went a far way in making it possible. I had a brief word with Peter (Bovell) sometime ago and express the hope that we would be able to meet. i hope that we will be able to arrange to do that. Kindest regards, Bruce Golding.

Wed 12/20/2006
Peter,
There is a concern that phones may be tapped. Be careful what you say over the phone - you should tell David and Wayne and Joe as well.
???
Attorney-at-Law
?? Constant Spring Road,
Kingston 10

To: David Smith
1/24/07
Hi David,
Please find attached 2 articles that were on the front of the respective business sections today. Mark Wignall will have another very interesting piece on Sunday bashing Bunting for a letter he wrote under a jumbled name on Friday last. He will also share with reader some of the feedback he has recieved. Ayesha emailed you a ltter that was in yesterday's Observer. i tried to call you about some quotes from you and Wayne but i didn't get you. The feedback nere on the letter yesterday and the stories today have been very positive. After Sunday we move into Phase 2 with the differentiation between OLINT and Cash Plus. Please Give me a call. Blessings. Don

ToDavid Smith
2/27/07
Hi Dave
Tried getting you yesterday. I am having fun with the news out of Trinidad about Lee-Chin. Apart from getting all the electronic media houses to carry damning reports based on the Trinidad Express article, I got his station (CVM- TV) to do the lost damning of all! (LOL) His Editor has resigned and is in his last week and was only too glad to oblige me and rip Mike. It's called PAYBACK for his comments about you. Wi nuh play.
Secondly, the same editor has carried very positive stories, 2 days running, about FX Trading and used footage of Ralston Hyman, Our latest media convert, Jared and economist John Jackson declaring FX Trading to be sustainable. PR wise, the last few days have been great. I will send you tapes.
Al and Mark have big pieces this weekend as well. Remember the Court Judgment document that I need.
One love

Rootz Underground Tour Budget Hawaii and California @ 10/7/07 Finanacial Request from Rootz Underground to Mr. David and Wayne Smith (Olint Ltd.) 1) For West Coast Tour Rootz Underground is requesting US$7642.00 2) For Video #2 (Aug 07) Rootz Underground is requesting $18,325.00 3) NB. There is a Video servicing fee of $3500.00 which will be used ideally to get airplay of the video in various US and Caribbean markets Total Request = $29,467 US

TECHNOLOGY CAN HELP U OR HURT U....BRUCE THIS LOOKS FAMILIAR? UR THANKS 2 OLITS' DAVID SMITH 4 HIS CONTRIBUTION 2 THE "BRUCE POCKET FUND" THE PRIME MINISTER IS A LIAR.....SIGNED: APPZ W.

aliciababybump-300x218.jpg

Singer/songwriter Alicia Keys was spotted maxin and relaxin poolside in Corsica, France just before her Mediterranean wedding Saturday (Jul 31). Here she can be seen in a bikini showing off her 6 month baby bump as she hangs out with her friends (along with her mom Teresa Augello) before slipping into her beautiful white Vera Wang dress for she and Swizz Beatz wedding.

Later in the day, the expectant couple exchanged vows in an intimate ceremony in front of family friends, including Bono and Queen Latifah at a private home just off the coast of the Mediterranean Sea. After the ceremony, the couple, due to have their first child together in November, and their wedding guests jumped on a boat to continue the celebration.

Check out a few pics of Alicia Keys hanging out at the pool and enjoying the Mediterranean sun shortly before saying her I Dos and becoming Mrs. Beatz below

akbb-3.jpg

akbb-4.jpg

IMG_0567-300x199.jpgIMG_0566-300x199.jpgIMG_0565-300x199.jpg

lmao this ''big'' ooman deh pon di miggle a di grung inna a dance a wallow pon di grung an ppl a look pon har a think wtf laas mth she go a one nxt dance an buss out inna fight an a gyal tump out har teet an a same so u c har pon di grung a look fi it rl look like she nuh find it since den !!rofl.gif
IMG_2091.jpg

IMG_1800.jpg

IMG_1551.jpg

IMG_1500.jpg

IMG_1451.jpg

IMG_1188.jpg

IMG_1080.jpg

lmao seh wah eva unu a seh bout dem ppl ya... ncrl

DI OMGEEZ ADY WEEK......

August 9, 2010
Started By TBDGlamma14 Comments

IMG_0405-199x300.jpg

IMG_02381-199x300.jpgIMG_02371-199x300.jpg

IMG_02361-199x300.jpg

FUNKY ------

lmaorl

GO YENDI !!!

August 11, 2010
Started By TBDGlamma10 Comments
Yendi-Phillips-1.jpg
In Vegas...
Yendi Phillipps, Miss Jamaica 2010, poses in her swimsuit during the registration and fitting process
Miss Jamaica Universe 2010, Yendi Phillips is now amongst the top 10 contestants so far at this year's Miss Universe Pageant in Las Vegas, Nevada.The Miss Universe 2010 competition will conclude with a live telecast on Aug. 23, 2010.
(AP Photo/DarrenDecker/Miss Universe
Shellita Brown, 15, of Central Avenue in Sydenham St. Catherine
Shellita_w370.jpg
13-year-old Laykesha Bowen of Salt Spring St James
Laykeisha_w370.jpg
16-year-old Khadilyn Hill of Maroon Town St James
Kaydilyn_w370.jpg
14-year-old Shawna-Lee Ford of Mendez district in Point Hill St. Catherine
Shawna-Lee_w370.jpg
Something is def. wrong , why is it that so many kids r missing every week? Something just doesn't add up...hmm

o0432032410670916239.jpg?w=432&h=324
23 yr old Kristal Anderson, former student of Marcus Garvey High School
who weighs 200 pounds,was crowned Trelawnys' 1st Fluffy Dancehall Queen Saturday night (July 31) @ Pier One Montego Bay. 2nd was Ericka Okura $250,000 from Japan and Aneika Francis from kingston came 3rd $180,000.
Kristal danced 2 Spice and Pamputtaes Fluffy vs. Slimmers song. She came out on top of 36 other contestants for the title and J$400,000 first prize money.
SHEYLABIGGEST.jpginformerwow

HOUSTON - A Brazilian model who lives in Houston wanted to have the largest breasts in the world; she must now undergo surgery and is in the fight for her life.

Sheyla Hershey
was able to achieve her goal of having the largest breasts in the world when she had M-cup implants put into place. She soon removed them and downgraded to a smaller size when she learned she was pregnant in 2009.

After more than 30 plastic surgeries, Hershey suffered her first complication following her most recent breast augmentation procedure in June. Her youngest child's first birthday was only days away.

A severe staph infection reached both of Hershey's breasts.

She had the augmentation surgery in Brazil, but came home to Houston for help. Hershey says the new surgeon told her she should be concerned for her life. Staph infections can enter the *lo**stream and be life threatening. Hershey is also very concerned about losing one of her breasts. She has had to give herself infusions of intravenous antibiotics every twelve hours to fight the infection.

The treatment has helped one breast, but doctors say the other one is still in jeopardy. That would mean that she will not only lose both implants, but quite possibly need to have the entire breast removed.

Doctors took Hershey into surgery on Tuesday morning to remove the implants.

"I had large fever and painful. I just couldn't breathe properly; it was terrible! I was in bed all day, couldn't get up," says Hershey.

Hershey says she is trying to work through her obsession with plastic surgery. She says she wants to just be a mother. Her young son has asked her for a while to reduce her breast size. Even though she is being forced to do so because of a medical emergency, she admits that it is time.

MAYBE YUH SUDNT HAVE DONE IT lclclclc

DOGGIE DRAGGINGS.......

August 11, 2010
Started By TBDGlamma5 Comments
DSC_09322.jpg

DSC_03443.jpg

DSC_02542.jpg

DSC_02122.jpg

DSC_02063.jpg

DSC_02011.jpgnonoduppyno
DSC_01992.jpg

speechless2-225x300.jpg

speechless-1-225x300.jpg
________________________^^****
wtf

12-201x300.jpg

READY

21-201x300.jpg

OH LAWD

31-201x300.jpg

DASH UP SOME JAZE

32-201x300.jpg

A DOW KNOW..

41-201x300.jpg

BURNT RUBBER..

61-300x201.jpg

BARK LIKE A DOG

71-300x201.jpg

DESE BONES DESE BODY BONES

DSC_0916-300x201.jpg
SIZE LARGE FOLDED INTO AN XX-SMALL
DSC_0917-300x201.jpg

YUP...THATS WHAT IT IS....lmao

ONE HUNDRED and forty-nine rogue cops have been removed from the Jamaica Constabulary Force (JCF) in the first seven months of this year, an indication thatthe policeanti-corruption arm has stepped up efforts to weed out bad apples.

Assistant Commissioner of Police Justin Felice, who is in charge of the Anti-Corruption Branch, said this was an increase over the number recorded for the corresponding period last year.

However, Felice said he was out of office and could not provide that number yesterday.

A breakdown of police statistics released yesterday shows that 105 cops were barred from re-enlisting at the end of their old contracts, 26 were retired in the public interest, while 18 were dismissed for corruption-related matters.

In addition, the statistics show that another 21 police personnel were arrested and charged with breaches of the Corruption Prevention Act between January and July this year.

This means that the number of dismissals from the undermanned force over the first seven months could rise if any of the 21 are convicted.

Felice, who has led the crusade against corruption in the force since he took office in 2007, insisted that there would be no compromise.

''The force is better off without these bad officers than it is with them,'' Felice toldThe Gleaneryesterday, adding that this would allow the good policemen and women to ''get on with their duty''.

Contracts subject to good conduct

He explained that police personnel who are required to sign five-year contracts are barred from re-enlisting whenever there is information that ''they are not efficient or effective in carrying out their duty with integrity''.

''If there is concern about their behaviour by the commissioner (of police), he wont renew their contracts,'' Felice pointed out.

The data show that 36policepersonnel 27 from the JCF and eight from the Island Special Constabulary Force- and 19 civilians were slapped with corruption charges between January and July this year.

Among them are one gazetted officer (from the rank of deputy superintendent up), five sergeants, four corporals, 25 constables and one district constable.

Tencivilians were also charged with corrupting police personnel.

montana-laurence-fishburne1.jpg

Somebody get Nikki D on the phone because Daddys little girl has clearly lost her mind.

Montana Fishburne, aka Chippy D, tells TMZ that she hasnt spoken to her father Laurence Fishburne about her impending sextape, but she heard that he was mad at me.

Morpheuss daughter appears to be in a dream world of her own because she is convinced that he will get over the idea that his daughter wants to be the next Kim Kardashian.

She quells speculation that they must have had a bad relationship telling the site that they spoke almost weekly prior to her decision to take her talents to Vivid. I believe in time he will view it as a positive.

Montana, you think thats air youre breathing? Is there a splinter in your brain? You need to check your alarm clock and wake up!

Fathers everywhere are feeling for Larry as he has clearly failed the Chris Rock keep her off the pole mandate:

Untitled-19_full.jpg

Untitled-119_full.jpg

Untitled-110_full.jpg

Untitled-115_full.jpg

Untitled-17_full.jpg

Untitled-112_full.jpg

Untitled-130_full.jpg

Untitled-133_full.jpg

10 things I bet you never knew

August 3, 2010
Started By jubalson20 Comments

1 'Rhythms' is the longest English word that has no vowels.

2 If you spell out consecutive numbers, you have to go up to one thousand until you would find the letter 'a'.

3 The sentence 'The quick brown fox jumps over a lazy dog', uses every letter of the alphabet

4 Widow is the only female form in the English language that is shorter than its corresponding male term (widower).

5 There is a word in the English language with only one vowel, which occurs five times: 'indivisibility'.

6 There are two words in the English language that have all five vowels in order: 'abstemious' and 'facetious'.

7 The word 'queue' is the only word in the English language that is still pronounced the same way when the last four letters are removed.

8 The letter most in use in the English language is 'E' and the letter 'Q' is least used.

9 'The sixth sick sheik's sixth sheep's sick' is said to be the toughest tongue twister in English.

10 'Four' is the only number whose number of letters in the name equals the number.

Girl Born On 8/9/10 At 11:12

August 12, 2010
Started By Mrs. Modo8 Comments

Montreal's Muzique Nightclub Posts 'NO FAT GIRLS ALLOWED' Invite On Facebook

Muzique nightclub in Montreal is feeling the heat after posting an invitation on its Facebook page that included the message "NO FAT GIRLS ALLOWED!!!!!!!!!!" the Montreal Gazette reports. The invite, for the birthday party of one of the club's partners, was posted last week but deleted over the weekend--after the fete had taken place.

"We didn't even realize (the comment) was there until a couple of days ago, and it was too late to retract it because the event had already happened," Muzique's communication and marketing staffer John Jay told the Gazette, adding, "It was taken down as soon as we found out about it...It was someone thinking he was funny." Jay is even considering posting an apology.

But it seems Muzique prides itself on its elite clientele. From the club's website:

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2010/08/13/muzique-montreal-nightclu_n_681172.html

It's official: 50 Cent's G-Unit has inked a deal with EMI Label Services to market, promote and distribute releases from the popular New York-based record label.

The first release under the new deal with be Lloyd Banks'mag-glass_10x10.gif third solo album H.F.M. 2 (Hunger For More 2), which is slated for a November 23rd, release date.

Lloyd Banks' release will be followed by Tony Yayo's untitled follow-up to his 2008 solo debut Thoughts of a Predicate Felon.

Yayo's album, which will include the single "Pass the Patron," will land in stores in early 2011.

Its refreshing to see the EMI staff excited about my project, they have the passion and energy I havent seen in while," Lloyd Banks told AllHipHop.com in a statement today (August 13th).

Mike Harris, executive Vice President and General Manager for EMI Label Services, was excited to welcome G-Unit, one of Hip-Hop's best known brands, to the label.

G-Unit is a huge force," Harris stated. "Lloyd Banks knows how to deliver a lyrical punch and his single has already generated huge anticipation for the album.. Tony Yayo is a totally unique talent, and Pass the Patron already has the Hip-Hop world buzzing about his album coming out next year.

For weeks, fans speculated where G-Unit might end up, with most of the chatter hinting to a deal with Def Jam, where former G-Unit Records President Sha Money XL serves as Executive Vice President.

With the move to EMI, G-Unit Records is no longer under the Interscope/Universal umbrella of record labels.

The EMI staff is creative and willing to think outside the box," Tony Yayo explained to AllHipHop.com in a statement. "They are fans of my music and career.  Im looking forward to marketing and promoting my upcoming album with them.

HOW BOLT REALLY HURT HIS BACK .....

August 12, 2010
Started By LaDy J19 Comments
http://mediatakeout.com/42863/mto_exclusive_track_star_usain_bolt_injured_during_wild_sex_with_reality_star____his_back_popped_and_will_be_out_for_the_season.html

-- Edited by LaDy J on Thursday 12th of August 2010 08:50:29 PM

-- Edited by LaDy J on Thursday 12th of August 2010 08:53:57 PMCOMMENTS:

mikeharris
1278819081-465-sparks23jpg.jpg DANG SHE MUST BE GOOD IN THE BED WITH HER PRETTY AZZ!! AND USAIN BOLT LOOKS LIKE HE IS PACKING ALOT!! DANG!!! NO HOMO NO SKITTLES NO JOLLY RANCHER NO ELLEN NO COCOPUFFS
---------------
www.twitter.com/sexymikeharris

luu

-- Edited by LaDy J on Thursday 12th of August 2010 08:54:56 PM

-- Edited by LaDy J on Thursday 12th of August 2010 08:55:20 PM

-- Edited by LaDy J on Thursday 12th of August 2010 08:56:12 PM

-- Edited by LaDy J on Thursday 12th of August 2010 09:13:54 PM
Follows similar murder in parish on Sunday

A Northern Caribbean University  (NCU) student was killed last night in a fight with her boyfriend, a JDF soldier.

The student, 23-year-old Shannel Norris, had her throat cut, the police said.

The Constabulary Communication Network said this morning that the soldier is being interviewed by lawmen for the killing.

Reports from the Mandeville Police are that about 6:45 pm, the 47-year-old reserve soldier and the student were travelling in the soldiers motorcar on Heart Road when an argument developed. It is alleged that he pulled a knife and slashed Norris' throat, killing her on the spot. He was later picked up by lawmen at the nearby JDF training camp.

This is the second such incident in Mandeville in the past week.

On Sunday, Tashoy Spencer, a 19-year-old student nurse, was allegedly stabbed to death by her boyfriend, 32-year-old security guard Neil Anthony, during a domestic dispute in Resource District, Manchester.

The Mandeville CIB reports that Spencer was visiting her boyfriend at his home in Resource District when an argument developed between the two, during which Anthony reportedly used an ice pick to stab Spencer. He then fled the scene.

Meanwhile, Councillor for the Mandeville Division Sally Porteous said Norris was the sports director of the United Student Movement and had great promise for a bright and successful future.

It is inconceivable that anyone could allow themselves to get so out of control, to become so vindictive and so pathologically violent that a relationship should end like this, Porteous said. I am appealing to everyone in a relationship, if you find that you are getting obsessive and out of control, go and seek help right away.

She warned young women in relationships with controlling men to leave.

Incarcerated rapper Lil Wayne is once again being sued by his former manager, Melissa Philipian.

In 2006, Philipian filed a lawsuit against Wayne, stating that she was owed $500,000 in commissions, plus 15 percent of his total earnings, after being fired by Wayne the year prior.
Philipian claimed that the Young Money leader had allegedly signed a 3-year agreement with her company, White Tides Entertainment Group, and that she had booked Wayne for 21 shows. Wayne counter-argued that he had no knowledge of such an agreement, and that Philipian had forged his signature on the contract.
The case was ultimately settled for $375,000 out of court, but now Philipian has filed another suit, accusing Wayne, Cash Money and their record label, Universal Music Group, of defamation, fraud and breach of contract, after a YouTube video surfaced suggesting that Wayne had lied under oath during their last legal battle. According to the Hollywood Reporter, Weezy apparently discusses his working relationship with Philipian in the video, saying she was the best thing that had happened to his career.
Philipian further claims that she was blackballed by Wayne, who allegedly refused to work with any artist associated with her or her company, damaging her relationship with one of her other clients, Young Money rapper Tyga. Representatives for Wayne, Cash Money and Universal have yet to comment on the suit.
Wayne is expected to be released from prison in November, after having served eight months of a one-year sentence for weapons possession.

MANHATTAN  NBA superstars Kevin Durant and Rajon Rondo will be hitting the streets of Manhattan this weekend as the World Basketball Festival takes the city by storm starting Thursday night.

Jay-Z will be the opening act for the World Basketball Festival's exhibition game at Radio City Music Hall at 6:30 p.m. on Thursday.
The four-day festival will feature national teams from China, Puerto Rico, France and Brazil, as well as a U.S. national team filled with NBA superstars.
Derek Rose, Danny Granger and Stephon Curry will also play for Team USA.
The national teams will square off in Madison Square Garden after holding open-air scrimmage sessions on a hardwood court built specifically for the occasion in Harlem's Rucker Park.
The Rucker court will be the first to be donated to a community center as part of Nike's collaboration with the NYC Department of Youth and Community Development and the New York City Housing Authority. The groups plan to build new basketball courts and refurbish old ones at 25 community centers around the city.
Nike also teamed up with Jay-Z to design a collection of sneakers called "Air Force Ones" to commemorate this year's festival. Five limited edition pairs will be auctioned off on eBay to raise money for Jay-Z's Shawn Carter Scholarship Foundation.

jay-z-nike.jpg

The U.S. team will use the festival get ready for the 2010 FIBA Basketball Championship games in Turkey at the end of August. We're thrilled with the opportunity to bring the energy and excitement of USA Basketball's men's national team to fans and give them a way to celebrate," said Jerry Colangelo, chair of USA Basketball.
Team USA will play France at Madison Square Garden at 1 p.m. on Sunday. The World Basketball Festival, which runs from Aug. 12-15, will also sponsor championship games for summer basketball leagues citywide.

Jamaican recording artiste Chevaughn Clayton akaChevaughncurrently on the Minnesota leg of his North American Tour with Reggae Hall Of Famer Jimmy Cliff has released another single, this the follow up to his mega hit Holiday with Ding Dong and current chart bubblers Life and Summer Break the latter featuring Bugle & Razz Biggy from the DASECA camp.

The latest single Come My Way featuringZJ Wah Waof Zip Fm and Darkcide International adopts the characteristics of a smooth ballad with that nostalgic reggae feel as Chevaughn and Wah Wa encourages the ladies to come their way.

In only its second week of release the song produced by Notice Production continues to steadily gain momentum and has already found its way onto several popular radio station across Europe and was last week premiered on HOT 97 Boston(hot97boston.com)one of the premium stations in the U.S. for urban music.

Meanwhile Summer Break and Life continues to hold steady on a number of music and video charts across the Caribbean Diaspora.

Chevaughn is due to return to the island in mid August before heading off to Europe for a stint with Reggae royalty Rita Marley.

«First  <  193 94 95 96 97524  >  Last»  | Page of 524  sorted by