Forum: News & Topical Issues

News updates, entertainment, hot topics, gossip | Share and discover what is happening right now.

Duane Stephenson has been invited by the World Food Programme to The George McGovern Leadership Award ceremony for United States Secretary of State Hillary Clinton on Tuesday October 5 in Washington DC.

Stephenson is being invited to join the WFP's Board of Directors, US Congressional Committee Members and Special Representative for Global Partnerships in the Office of the Secretary of State, Ambassador Elizabeth Frawley Bagley. At the prestigious event, US Secretary of State, Hillary Rodham Clinton, will be presented with The George McGovern Leadership Award for her work in addressing the issue of global hunger. This award is given to individuals who have done stellar work in tackling the issue and Mrs Clinton is the tenth awardee.

DUANE-STEPHENSON_w370.jpg

Asked how he feels about being in such powerful company, Stephenson says he is humbled and excited at the same time: "It's so inspiring to be in the company of global leaders and dedicated corporate partners who share the same values and aspirations to eradicate hunger. Food is a common bond that unites every single life form on this planet, we all require it to live, yet a billion people each night go to bed hungry and 25,000 of them die," he states.

Stephenson continues, "the Wailers and I are partners with the World Food Programme and our song, A Step for Mankind, has helped to spread the message of the need for more action in addressing the issue of world hunger".

The young Reggae act says his work with the World Food Programme will continue as he sees the issue of world hunger as one that is very important to him: "I am happy to be there to see Secretary Clinton get this award as she has helped over the years to bring the problem of world hunger to the fore. The issue is one that affects a billion of our brothers, sisters and children in 80 countries. This award will bring added attention and raise awareness of the issue".

Duane Stephenson is currently touring the US promoting his sophomore album Black Gold which was released on September 28. Black Gold follows Stephenson's debut album, From August Town which was release by VP Records in 2007 and was hailed as one of that year's best reggae albums.

Source:http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/Entertainment/Duane-Stephenson-invited-to-honour-Hillary-Clinton_8024430

DJ Narity seemingly 'shot himself in the foot' as another nail-biting episode of the Heineken Green Synergy Reality TV Show unfolded on TVJ last Friday.

The DJs got the challenge of a 6 minute-set, playing one genre of music. Narity, a wild card on the show, after scoring the highest in the previous Vinyl test, got the opportunity to choose the genre that each DJ played and the order which they played. The genres to choose from were Dancehall, Soca, Reggae, Dance Music, Hip Hop and Alternative.

banka-6-(2)_w370.jpg

Surprisingly, DJ Narity gave his fellow competitors genres that they are comfortable with DJ 47 got Hip Hop, Naz Reggae, Banka Soca, Ricky Eminence Dance Music and chose alternative music for himself, considered to be the most difficult challenge of all.

As it played out, the other DJs pretty much did well as they were some what at ease with the genres they got. DJ Narity on the other hand, was way off in playing Alternative music and especially in his transition of the songs. Alric who is considered a 'master' of Alternative music said, "It (Alternative music) is one of the most difficult energy beat to manage and you were pretty much all over the place."

Grand Master Flash said that he admired him for taking up the challenge of playing the most difficult genre but that his set was not well organised.

Boyd said that he (Narity) should have picked his strongest genre for himself because he should have taken into consideration that it is a competition.

DJ Jerry the 'silent assassin', got the highest score 40.6 which was a bounce back after faltering in some of the earlier challenges, DJ 47 scored 38.6, DJ Naz scored 36.6, DJ Banka 34, Ricky Eminence got 33.6 and DJ Narity scored 30.

Prior to that challenge, the DJs got a chance to have a one and one session with Flash where they got to ask him questions relating to his career and DJing in general.

Meanwhile the big buzz on the streets is the Grand Finals of the Heineken Green Synergy show which will be staged at the National Indoor Sports Centre in Kingston, on October 29.

The event will see the two finalists from the show battling for the 2010 Heineken Green Synergy Championship. They will be vying for cash and prizes valued at more than $1 Million, an internship on FAME FM, as well as many other prizes.

Also making a big appearance on the night is the 'big man' himself Grand Master Flash who in his own words, will be coming to "shell down the place." The event will also be rocked by some of the hottest DJs from Jamaica including Delano from Renaissance, Kurt 'The Party Animal' Riley and Geefus from Stone Love.

Source:http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/Entertainment/DJ-Narity-blunders-on--Green-Synergy_8024647

PRISONER ESCAPES WHILE COURT WAITS

October 5, 2010
Started By jubalson2 Comments
A prisoner taken to the Corporate Area Resident Magistrate's Court last Thursday was discovered missing when his case was called up and he could not be found.

When the matter for Andrew Beale, 32, was mentioned, the court waited as an officer went for him at the holding area. However, the officer returned to the court empty-handed, as Beale, who was earlier seen in the holding area, was no longer in custody.

Beale, otherwise called 'Raymond Folkes', 'Wickerman' and 'Liquerman', escaped between 11 a.m. and 1:15 p.m. He is a suspect in a murder case before the court. Beale was arrested last March and was awaiting trial on charges for murder and illegal possession of firearm and ammunition.

He is of dark complexion, medium build, and is about 170 centimetres or five feet seven inches tall.

confirmed the escape

The Constabulary Communications Network, which confirmed the escape, said Beale has scars on the upper part of his left arm and on his right shoulder, and is last known to have resided at Bayshore Park, St Andrew.

Beale is known to frequent Grants Pen and Elletson Road in St Andrew; Yallahs, St Thomas; Manchioneal, Portland; Gregory Park, St Catherine and Orange Street, Kingston.

Just recently, Jason 'Power Ranger' Scott of Damhead district, St Catherine, jumped to freedom from the St Catherine Adult Correctional Centre. He was serving 30 years for murder.

Source;http://www.jamaica-star.com/thestar/20101005/news/news5.html

Criminals break into school twice

October 5, 2010
Started By jubalson3 Comments

RellianceBreakingsB.jpg
Principal of the Reliance Basic School Judith Gardener points to where the robbers entered the school's office. - Rasbert Turner

Classes were not held at the Reliance Basic School at Ferdie Neita Park in Portmore, St Catherine, yesterday as criminals broke into the school twice since Friday, leaving teachers,children and parents saddened.

"They have no mercy on us, as it was Friday last week that they broke into the offices here and stole $37,000, that we made from our fund-raising last week," said Principal Judith Gardener, while pointing to the entry point.

Gardener said the four teachers at the 22-year-old institution are despondent over the situation that have hit the school at the back-to-school period.

fed up

One teacher told THE STAR that she was really fed up of the situation and felt like giving up. "The school has suffered too much from hurricanes, floods and now theft. It cannot be fair that even the sweets for the children were stolen. It is really hurting," Sophia Smith, a teacher said.

Her point was endorsed by a parent who called the culprit(s) heartless and blind. "I have to be here now with my son. He should be in school, but he is missing school. This is very bad and I really hope these blind, heartless persons are caught by the police," Nordia Hall, a parent said.

THE STAR was shown the small area that was used as an entry point by the thieves. Inside, half-boxes of drinks, ice cones and other condiments were strewn about.

Primary school robbed

Classes had to be suspended at a school in St Andrew after thieves reportedly broke into the institution, stole 10 computers, other equipment and damaged furniture.

Police from the Kingston west division were called in to the Trench Town Primary School, St Andrew, after it was discovered that at least 10 computers, along with other items, were stolen.

Merline Sewell, the school's principal, told THE STAR that in addition to the computers, two radios, a printer and a fan were stolen.

A number of desks were also said to be damaged.

The items were reportedly stolen from the school's Resource Centre and an office utilised by the guidance counsellor.

"And to think a school is a place which benefits society, this is really a sad case," Sullivan said, before expressing her thoughts as to how the situation will negatively affect preparations for the Grade Six Achievement Test next year.

Meanwhile, nearby residents also added their voices of disapproval to the act and claimed to see no reason why persons would want to rob the school.

"In all fairness, mi nuh think nobody a come from road and come rob a school inna da place yah, but mi cyaa see why somebody from 'round here would a want rob a school inna dem own community. A foolishness dem a gwaan wid," reasoned a 54-year-old woman, who gave her name as Aunt Pearl, when THE STAR visited the Trench Town community yesterday.

The Trench Town police, who are investigating, say they have no suspects in connection with the incident.

12 to 12 beach party

October 4, 2010
Started By Bellview0 Comments
this party madd and it ago sell of as always so reach pon di beach nuh

Chilando "Mr. Future" Spencer

Strong, dedicated, influencial and hardwroking is Chilando Spencer aka Mr. Future. Born July 18, 1989 and rasied in the Country of Jamaica, St. James, Flankers which is a strong area of Montego Bay's music foundation where he developed a strong passion for entertainment. He is a music producer, dancehall, reggae, hip hop artiste, a new comer to graphics, fashion designing and video editing, a entrepreneur of the second city, Montego Bay.

Mr. Future is currently working on a number of projects which includes a host of artistes which hales from Montego Bay, Kingston, Belize, and the UK(Untied Kingdom). On releasing his anticipated new project called Gal Endz Riddim October 2010, it will show the excellent work of art from Chilando Spencer which consists of Raw and Edited versions. Working with Ova Head Records in London is very good for the young aspiring entrepreneur as well, he was released on there confusion riddim with his song "She Need More" at the peak of the summer season 2010, this juggling also consists of 4 of his artistes from Future Productions, "F****wel, KG-9 aka Hyporak, Shane-e" and other artistes like Anthony B and Teflon. Completely produced by him is the "Like A Game Riddim" and the video directed by Abraham Lincoln films which is a project released in September 2010 from Future Productions, is making a stamp on what Mr. Future hopes to accomplish in the music faternity. As a producer of the second city he has released the 120 Volt Riddim, Night Walker Riddim, Rat Bat Riddim, Spread Out It Riddim, Krucial Sign Riddim and a Lot of Single Tracks on the Future Productions Label with artistes in and around the western region of Jamaica. Mr. Future believes that without interacting with the people, dj personnels and other important persons in the entertainment circle the publishing aspect of the music for a artiste or production would be on the beginners level and stay there. This is Why you will be seeing a lot more of Mr. Future on a number of upcoming events promoting the music, interacting with his fans, signing autographs, radio and television interviews locally and internationally.

Mr. Future is doing a lot of work lately as an artiste and producer. He as been released on Gjay production Swaggy Swaggy Riddim with his hit single " We Gonna Party" August 2010 with other artistes, Black Rhyno, Pamputae and more from Kingston, On Flava Squad Entertainment Fern Gully Riddim with his tack "Girl Me Nah Play" with other artistes, Beenie Man, Sizzla, etc. Both projects was posted on the internet in summer 2010 by Future Productions. Chilando Spencer otherwise known as Mr. Future has been in recording sessions with "I-Octane, Deva Bratt, Harry Todler, Merital Family, Crazy Chris, Tommy Lee, Goofy Brother, Telawest and more which is very interesting, educational and motivating especially when you are seeking creative ideas in the music industry. In late november 2009 Mr. Future did his first official Video which is a collaboration with him and the Second City Entertainment owner Duwayne Reid aka TQ, with the track called "Leaf of Life" performing various dance moves from Jamaica's top dancers, "Iyla, Dyma, Cartoon, Jilian, Federation Squad, Global Squad, Goofy Brothers, Marvin, Ricky Famous and more. Mr. Future follow up Video will be released soon by his management team. Mr. Future also keeps a good communication with recording studios in and around Montego Bay sharing new ideas to take the music forward. Chilando Spencer is a past student of William Knibb Memorial High and a Diploma Tourism student at Western Hopsitality Institute, a motivator and educator in the community of Rose Heights where he resides.

At a tender age Chilando Spencer's mother and father saw his persistence in entertainment and decided to contribute all they could to help him towards success. Chilando stated Buju Banton's song which consist the phrase " It's Not An Easy Road", are words to always remember because whenever you put your mind, heart, soul, energy, trust and believe in God, throughout your journey, you will strive for excellence. Chilando Spencer aka Mr. Future is ready to deliver for his fans so check him out on facebook.com(Chilando Spencer), myspace(mrfuture3), the chalidonia channel on youtube, outdeh.com, yardyvibes.com in your monthy magazines, newspapers, on your radio , television and upcoming events.

For Bookings Contact Management Team: CALL 876-290-6088 OR 876-294-6461

Email Address- futureproductionsja@yahoo.com

1286113316chingy_tranney_friend1.jpg

Hip Hop will NEVER be the same. There have been TONS of rumored HOMOSEXUAL relationships in the industry. But for the FIRST TIME EVER . . . a gay man (well, actually a Tranney) is coming forward to confirm that he had GAY RELATIONS with hip hop stars.

In an interview with San Francisco radio, transexual Sidney Star CONFIRMED that she and Chingy have had relations. Here is what she said:

Von: Did you date Chingy?

Ummm . . . Im gonna say we had a relationship, a friendship/relationship. There was definitely something with us. We had a relationship going on for almost two years.

Von: So off the top, he knew [you were born a man]?

Sidney: Yes.

Von: So wow, yall are not cool no more.

Sidney: Right now, since all of this has happened, Im steering myself away from it all . . . the haters messed it up. I do want to say that I tried to use this to get some type of fame. If I wanted to do this to get fame, I would have done this two years ago.

Von: How many other popular dudes were involved.

Sidney: Chingy is NOT the only celebrity that Ive been with.

And MediaTakeOut.com can OFFICIALLY confirm that. Since posting the initial report an EXTREMELY POPULAR ATLANTA RAPPER had his lawyers THREATEN US. Even though we have NEVER mentioned in ANY story that he and Sidney dated, the rap stars lawyers are ALREADY on our azz.
This story is like a dude smoking in a gas station . . . it's about to BLOWWWW UPPPP!!!

With their CEO still behind bars, the Liv Up Records team says they have been unable to put out the volume of work they were planning for this year.

Speaking with THE STAR recently, Oneil Coke said the team has been getting numerous calls and emails asking why they have not been releasing new material. However, he said the reason for their low output is the incarceration of their boss, Leighton 'Livity' Coke.

"People identify us for 'Good Life' rhythm and they are looking for a follow-up. But the reason why we are not in full motion is because our CEO has been behind bars since the state of emergency, and that's the reason why we haven't been at the forefront. We have a bag of things that we have been working on. We still have faith in the justice system to prove his innocence," he said.

"Your mind haffi be at peace fi build music with substance. The CEO being held behind bars is a break in our spirit. Him a di man weh call the shots and mek sure seh everything is well put together. So, as a team, we are missing the most essential parts."

Nonetheless, Coke said Liv Up Records will officially release 'Double Dose' rhythm on iTunes next week.

Source:http://www.jamaica-star.com/thestar/20101004/ent/ent3.html

50cent1.jpg

Fifty Cents mouth has gotten him into trouble again. Hes now defending his outrageous tweets this past week about oral sex.

If you a man and your over 25 and you dont eat pu**y just kill your self damn it. The world will be a better place. Lol, he tweeted on Thursday.

Even though his statement was a flippant comment to men, it was interpreted by some in the gay community as being offensive in light of the gay teen suicide at Rutgers, one of four similar tragedies within a month.

In the process of trying to clarify his comment, Fiddy may have offended again by saying that gays choose an alternative lifestyle. In a series of tweets he wrote:

The other night I made a joke about a blow job. My male followers enjoyed it. So I then went on to joke about women receiving the same. Some how they turned a simple joke about oral sex into a anti gay statement.

I have nothing against people who choose and alternative lifestyle in fact iv publicly stated my mom loved women. It funny how people think negative statements are news worthy but positive statements are not worthy of coverage. Access holly wood for got to put laughing out loud lol that was at the end of that statement.

In 2004, 50 Cent told Playboy that his mother was bisexual. He also said this:

I aint into f-ts. I dont like gay people around me, because Im not comfortable with what their thoughts are. Im not prejudiced. I just dont go with gay people and kick itwe dont have that much in common. Id rather hang out with a straight dude. But women who like women, thats cool.

buriedalive1.PNG

I don't know who's crazier, the group that claims being buried alive for 20 minutes will cure you of stress and depression, or the people lining up to try it.

This extreme form of therapy is being practiced in Russia by Enlightenment Territory. Willing participants pay $160.00 for the opportunity to literally take a dirt nap.

"The first thing you experience is panic. Once your face is covered with earth, you start tasting it and thinking, 'what the hell am I doing down here?' But once you calm down there's simply no other place like this," says one "death" trainer.

As I watched this video, the one thing I didn't see was any proof that the people who run Enlightenment Territory, have any formal training as a doctor, or psychotherapist. Are they equipped to resuscitate a person if their heart stops while underground, breathing only through a garden hose?

I didn't see one defibrillator or oxygen tank anywhere around.

Maybe all of that is in the fine print of the contract you sign before allowing this to happen, if there is a contract.

"Panic conditions can be subconscious, uncontrollable. There are different ways to overcome them," says ET Director Andrey Gorbov. "Working with mental images,rhythm, breathing. There is an array of means for a person to subdue their fear. We teach them that,"

Gorbov also recommends you not try this at home because it could be dangerous, if the dirt is not distributed properly along the body.

The maximum burial time is 40 minutes, beyond that the mind struggles to cope with the lack of function. The maximum burial depth is one foot.

This all sounds entirely insane to me and I damn sure wouldn't try it, would you?

Entertainment businesses are borrowing less from commerical banks compared to a year ago, reflecting the first decline since the recession began in 2008.

The entertainment sector had $472.6 million in loans up to June 2010, which was 3.6 per cent below the figure for 12 months prior, according to justreleased Bank of Jamaica (BOJ) data. The decline matched the 3.6 per cent decline in total commercial bank loans over the same period to $249.8 billion.

ent-loans_w370.jpg

Neither the BOJ data, nor bank financials disclose which entertainment entities are borrowing these funds. The banks however, previously noted that the recession has hurt their loans growth because cautious investors wont increase debt via loans. The remainder of the year isnt expected to see increased economic activity, as Jamaica is projected to grow by only 0.5 per cent this year, which is 10 times slower than the Caribbean and Latin America region at 5.2 per cent, according to data from the Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC) in July.

The rise in entertainment loans when tracked over the past decade has trended below most other sectors of the economy. Specifically, entertainment loans grew 2.5 times, from a low of $151.3 million in 1999 to $530.7 million in 2009. Over the same period however, total commercial bank loans grew six times from $36.7 billion to $256.38 billion.

Economist Dr Vanus James, who led a World Intellectual Property Organisation (WIPO) study, stated that entertainment was not adequately funded. The WIPO data showed that US$1 million was invested in the core copyright sector which includes entertainment earnings of J$6.18 million in value-added versus J$1.49 million for cable and communications including cellphones.

...It stands to reason that the country is underinvesting in the sector and the country cannot afford this, James stated about the study published in August 2007.

Entertainment loans comprise 0.2 per cent of total loans despite the core copyright industry contributing 1.7 per cent of gross domestic product (GDP). The core and partial copyright industries collectively contribute 4.8 per cent to GDP.

Source:http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/Entertainment/Entertainment-loans-down

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQLtzoEG6pJlXdudkUkvYufvZCg6C1lJ_AF6AxipAOIU9u1wPY&t=1&usg=__YxVLdXQRMdsz8mB0aTKbsMAG-sE=images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQLtzoEG6pJlXdudkUkvYufvZCg6C1lJ_AF6AxipAOIU9u1wPY&t=1&usg=__YxVLdXQRMdsz8mB0aTKbsMAG-sE=
EUROPEAN BALLERS ARE SO.........elmo
Fambo-Videoshoot-3.jpg
Ding Dong and his companion were all smiles at the shoot.

It's a busy time for deejay Future Fambo. The artiste shot his video for This Life featuring Unga from Notice Productions on Thursday at Victoria House.

Produced by Notice Productions, This Life was shot by Kirk Lee of RoadBlock Films. Dancer turned deejay Ding Dong was on set as well as the Notice crew and Dance Xpressionz.

Fambo told THE STAR: "I have a next video I'm doing wid Chevaughn that's wid Notice Production called Hands Up and I got a next video coming up on Seanizzle Records, I'm Never Sober, so I guess I have a lot of projects."

Adding: "I'm also working on my album with Notice and Seanizzle and a couple tracks with Stephen McGregor and a couple tracks from Leftside. I also have Supa Hype on the album too. I'm working on my new project with my new artiste Pretti Kitti and she has a new track coming out called Gangsta Loving."

-Krista Henry

Fambo-Videoshoot-4.jpg
The ladies of Dance Xpressionz.

Fambo-Videoshoot-5.jpg
(From left) Daddy P and Kirk Lee of Roadblock Films with Fambo at the shoot of 'This Life' held on Thursday, September 30. - Contributed photos

source:http://www.jamaica-star.com/thestar/20101004/ent/ent4.html

Black Rhyno and his baby mother were in a fight with Cory Todd and his baby mother... for reasons that seems unclear. One report indicated that Ryno was approached by Mr Todd and a fight ensued from whatever words were exchanged, the wives started their brawl ..we are not certain who through the first blow here but it does seem to be Todds babymother is at a disadvantage as the report indicated that charges maybe laid against her. Charges are being layed againt Blak Ryno for the tossle... it was also indicated that the incident was caught on MegaMart camera where both tag teams were engaged in the busy shopping due to stormy like weather.
Blak Ryno who recently completed stints in Trinidad, Guyana and French Guiana as well as upcoming stints in Costa Rica and Belize according to reports took out a knife after being knocked to the ground by the bigger Todd. Speculations are that Ryno was not amused by the lack of rotations he is getting form the now Gaza controled Di Building sessions in street vybz thurdays etc. Other speculations are that its a strong case of bad mind on the part of Todd who is Vybz Kartel's business manager in the street vybz rum, daggering condoms and businesses associated with the building nite club, that Ryno seem to be doing well without the influence of the empire camp... Others theories are that Boom Boom who was thrashed by Ryno's team recently might have had some input in this incident.. though this one is very far fetched one cannot rule out potential influences in this crazy world of Jamaican Dancehall Music...

"Di big man approached Ryno then immediately they started pushing each other which left Ryno pon di groundwithin minutes Ryno was back up with a knife that he used to cut off a di big man but missedthe big man then grab likkle Rhyno and sail him a mile away...

10 Things I bet you never knew

October 4, 2010
Started By jubalson0 Comments

1 Over 97 per cent of the Earth's water supply is contained in the oceans. Most of the rest is frozen solid in ice sheets and glaciers.

2 The average depth of the ocean is 3,800 metres which is approximately 12467 feet.

3 The Marianas Trench, off the coast of the Philippines, is one of the deepest parts of the ocean. It descends to 11,033 metres -- more than 2,000 metres deeper than the height of Mount Everest.

4 The oceans occupy nearly 71 per cent of our planet's surface.

5 The Antarctic ice sheet that forms and melts over the ocean each year is nearly twice the size of the United States.

6 The world's oceans contain nearly 20 million tonnes of gold.

7 More than 3.5 billion people depend on the ocean for their primary source of food. In 20 years, this number could double to 7 billion.

8. Ninety per cent of all volcanic activity occurs in the oceans.

9 The pressure at the deepest point in the ocean is more than 11,318 tons/sq m, or the equivalent of one person trying to support 50 jumbo jets.

10 The top 10 feet of the ocean hold as much heat as the entire atmosphere.

Source:http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/teenage/10-Things-I-bet-you-never-knew_7991621

Major Lazer recording in Jamaica

October 4, 2010
Started By jubalson1 Comments

Major Lazer the duo who produced the mega hit Paper Planes by MIA are in Jamaica for a week recording a new album.

They will record for 10 days at the Portland-based Geejam studio according to Geejam head Jon Baker in a Sunday Observer interview this week.

"They are an electronica outfit but they use a lot of dancehall artistes so a lot of Jamaican artistes will be guest on the production," stated Baker whose studio already had visits by Drake, Santigold and Amy Winehouse this year.

It's not the first time the duo will record in Jamaica, last year they recorded their debut album at Tuff Gong studio in Kingston. The album, Guns Don't Kill People... Lazers Do, was released on Downtown Records featuring Santigold, Vybz Kartel, Busy Signal, Ward 21, Nina Sky, Mr Vegas, Turbulence, Mapei, TOK, Prince Zim***bo, Leftside and others.

Paper Planes was co-produced by Diplo and Switch prior to forming Major Lazer. The song peaked in many markets including number four on the US Billboard Hot 100 in 2008. The song received a second life when it was sampled by Rap stars TI and Jay-Z and renamed Swagga like Us which peaked at number five on Billboard Hot 100.

Geejam studio is part of the Geejam group which includes a production media company, studio and villas located on eight acres. Geejam is also responsible for the international success of Portland mento band, The Jolly Boys, who are having a great run on charts especially in Europe.

Source:http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/Entertainment/Major-Lazer-recording-in-Jamaica_8005725

ATLANTA (AP) Facing fallout from a recent arrest, rapper TI raised money on Sunday for his family's new Alzheimer's disease charity and explained how the idea for it took shape during a previous period of legal trouble.

The rapper, whose real name is Clifford Harris Jr, and his wife, Tameka 'Tiny' Cottle, held a luncheon for the foundation called For The Love Of Our Fathers, which honours their fathers' battles with Alzheimer's disease.

The Grammy winner would not talk about his arrest last month on suspicion of drug offenses, but said the inspiration for the foundation came in the aftermath of his 2007 arrest on weapons charges.

"It's very, very personally close to our family," said TI, who served seven months in prison for the firearms offenses. "And while I was, you know, while I was going through my ... period of hiatus, Tameka had the idea of ... starting this foundation. And I thought it was an outstanding idea."

Cottle's father, Charles Pope, has Alzheimer's, an irreversible neurological disorder that causes its victims to lose their memory, become disoriented and suffer personality changes. No cure is known. T.I. said his father and grandmother also had the disease when they died.

The couple said the charity will raise funds for disease research and possibly offer relief to caregivers.

Source:http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/Entertainment/Rapper-TI--wife-raise-money-for-Alzheimer-s_8022030

IN 2002 when the Planning Institute of Jamaica (PIOJ) named St Mary the poorest parish in the country, few eyebrows were raised.

It was hardly a surprise. Having seen a decline in all of its main economic activities, including the once powerful agricultural sector, the north-eastern parish had become a mere shadow of its former glory days, where many of its residents were living below the poverty line.

That, however, was only the beginning. What residents and officials were not prepared for was how the parish suddenly became the butt of jokes -- fodder for columnists and cartoonists.

The dubious distinction also carried over into commerce where businesses suffered as according to one resident, "nobody wanted to invest their money in the poorest parish in the nation".

But three years later the PIOJ, using the same methodology, came out with another survey. And in a shocker, St Mary was replaced by St Ann as the poorest parish.

However, unlike how the 2002 survey was received in St Mary, for St Ann it was no laughing matter. The PIOJ's methodology had to be flawed, the parish's citizens said and officials came out swinging.

"We in St Ann cannot understand the method used by the PIOJ to arrive at this," said an irate Pauline Haughton, then president of the St Ann Chamber of Commerce.

"Where are these figures coming from? They must be inaccurate because we know that the country benefits a lot from revenue generated in St Ann," she said.

Then Mayor Delroy Giscombe dismissed the PIOJ's findings as a "sad joke" and was in no mood to mince words.

"The one main industry in St Mary, the banana industry, is still struggling while St Ann continues to benefit from tourism, mining and agriculture," he said. "Whoever did this survey needs to have his head examined," he added.

Now in 2010 the debate, it appears, is about to be rekindled.

"I would love to see another PIOJ survey of living conditions in Jamaica and see where St Ann and St Mary would fall," said Maureen Lee, a Tower Isle, St Mary, resident.

"St Ann has been counting on the fact that Ocho Rios is a major resort town and that there's a lot of United States dollars passing through. That reasoning is, however, flawed as a lot of the money that passes through Ocho Rios is channelled overseas and has no trickling-down value. This explains why St Ann has been dubbed the poorest parish," Lee said.

St Ann businessman Junior Tingle is, however, not convinced.

"Yes, it is true that the people of Ocho Rios hardly see any of the United States currency that is generated from the attractions, including Dunn's River Falls," he said. "However, St Ann has far more by way of employment going for it than St Mary. Everything of significance is down in St Mary. How could anyone in their right mind say St Ann is poorer than St Mary?" Tingle asked.

In its last survey, the PIOJ found that the per capita mean average consumption in St Ann was $48,508, or 42.2 per cent below the national mean. The estimates also revealed that the parish with the highest incidence of poverty, 37 per cent, was St Ann.

At the time of the survey, the poverty line was set at $47,128.70 per year for an individual, against the national mean average per capita consumption of $84,253 per annum.

Camille Miller, a resident of Ocean Ridge, St Mary said that it has become "fashionable for St Mary, to be robbed of its identity" by neighbouring St Ann.

"Everything over the White River Bridge belongs to St Mary," she said. "Even though this is a fact we still hear people loosely referring to Couples Sans Souci, Couples Hotel, Beaches Boscobel, Reggae Beach and James Bond Beach as Ocho Rios. This needs to stop.

"So which parish is poorer? "I would love to hear from the PIOJ," Miller said.

Source:http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/St-Mary-St-Ann-rekindle-poorest-parish-debate_8021660

MONTEGO BAY, St James Three juveniles implicated in the grisly murder of 54-year-old Lionel Maitland a homeless man who was set ablaze late last month were remanded in custody when they appeared before the Montego Bay Family Court last week.

The three all of St James addresses plus two others who were charged but are being held at a childrens home in Manchester, are scheduled to reappear in court with their parents Wednesday.

One of the children a 13-year-old is charged with murder while the others between eight and 12 are charged as uncontrollable juveniles.

All but one of the parents who were charged with child neglect, were also remanded.

One parent the mother of a two-year-old child was offered bail to the sum of $10,000.

Police reports are that Maitland was asleep on the pavement of the Super Plus Supermarket along Barnett Street on September 11, when he was set ablaze by the juveniles.

He was taken to the Cornwall Regional Hospital where he was pronounced dead.

A subsequent post mortem revealed that he died as a result of severe burns.

Source:http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/Juveniles-who-set-fire-to-homeless-man-remanded

A former bank employee who stole $421,000 from a client's pension account to pay her school fee, was spared incarceration when she appeared in the Corporate Area Resident Magistrate's Court last Friday.

Chloe Reynolds, 24, from Queensborough, St Andrew, was slapped with a fine after Resident Magistrate Judith Pusey was apparently touched by seeing her sick father crying in court.

"It is only for your father's sake why I am not sending you to prison today, but this is going to follow you like a bad odour, don't try it again." RM Pusey warned Reynolds who was charged with larceny and breaches of the Cyber Crimes Act.

A no order was made on the larceny charge but she was fined $10,000 or six months on the other.

father weeps

Reynolds father, who was ill, wept when he saw his daughter in the deck preparing herself to be sentenced.

Defence attorney Diane Edwards told the court that the father has already repaid the bank the stolen funds and that her client has sent in her resignation. Edwards pleaded with RM Pusey to be lenient with Reynolds as she is from a reputable family and has no previous convictions.

She said the father is just recovering from a stroke and Reynolds' mother is also ill, which is why the family could not afford the accused school fees.

Allegations are that on September 14, Reynolds carried out a computer wire transfer of money from the customer's account to her Mona School of Business account. Reynolds was employed to a St Andrew branch of the financial institution and was reportedly arrested by detectives from the Organised Crime Investigation Division.

source:http://www.jamaica-star.com/thestar/20101004/news/news4.html

Cop kills peeping Tom?

October 4, 2010

Said to have looked into couple's car parked on beach

Murder charges may be laid against a policeman in connection with the killing of a man who was reportedly shot dead in Runaway Bay, St Ann, when he looked inside a car in which a man and a woman were said to be enjoying each other's company.

Sources from the Bureau of Special Investigations (BSI) told THE STAR that the constable, who is from the St Ann Division, was arrested on Tuesday. His identification is, however, being withheld pending further investigations.

The lawman is implicated in the August 18 murder of musician, Charles Murphy, 34, at Pear Tree Bottom, Fisherman's Beach.

Initial reports from the Runaway Bay police were that about 10:45 p.m., Murphy was at a beachfront property when he was shot dead by gunmen. It was reported that residents alerted police upon hearing gunshots in the area. On arrival Murphy was seen lying on the ground and was rushed to the St Ann's Bay Hospital where he died.

parked on premises

Detectives told THE STAR that investigations suggest that Murphy was shot after opening a car parked on the premises and looking inside. A man and a woman were said to be inside the vehicle.

It is alleged that the gunshot was fired from the vehicle in which the man and the woman were. It is further alleged that the detained constable left his post unattended and drove to the property with a woman.

"The constable has been detained in connection with the murder but investigations are still ongoing, whoever shot the man did so because he may have been a little too curious and probably interrupted those who were in the vehicle. That is one of the theories we are looking into. A file will be sent to the director of public prosecutions for ruling," an investigator told THE STAR.

Source:http://jamaica-star.com/thestar/20101002/news/news1.html

LifeFestL20100502WS.jpg
Konshens - File

Dancehall artiste Konshenswill take on his first movie role early next year in a film that will be directed by Gareth Cobran.

Speaking with THE STAR recently, Cobran, who is popular for music videos like Konshens' Realest Song and Protoje's Dread, said he would be doing his first film next year, with the dancehall artiste playing the lead role.

"I am in the process of developing a script. I am also looking for some funding for this script that I am going to be shooting next year and it will have Konshens as one of the stars," he said, while remaining tight-lipped about the name of the film.

Cobran said the film will be an adaptation of a play written by Omall Wright.

"It's not the everyday kind of story that comes out of Jamaica but still very relevant to our culture," he told THE STAR.

The film will also be a first for the dancehall artiste, who is excited about this new venture.

"First of all Gareth a mi nigga. As for being in a movie it would be my first time but I'm definitely looking forward to the experience, and I think Jamaican artistes should jump at opportunities like this to work on local projects, build and expand their selling power and star qualities. And who knows, my young fans in music might see me in a movie and get the inspiration to make themselves the next Will Smith or Julia Roberts," Konshens told THE STAR.

Having worked with Konshens on several projects, Cobran said he thought he would be perfect for the role.

"The writer asked me if I thought Konshens would be interested in doing it. The second he asked me, I thought he would be perfect for that role," Cobran said.

"I know he's a good actor and I know he can step into character. He's going to be Garfield Spence, he will not be Konshens. I'm quite excited about that," added Cobran.

ChrisShooE2010C.jpg

Source:http://www.jamaica-star.com/thestar/20101004/ent/ent1.html

3 Month Baby molested and killed

October 4, 2010
A baby, believed to be about three months old, whose body was found in a St Andrew gully, may have been sexually assaulted and killed, police said yesterday.

The male infant, who was unidentified up to late yesterday, was found in a gully at the Mother White bridge, on Spanish Town Road, St Andrew, last Saturday. The Denham Town police, who are investigating, say they are now treating the infant's death as a murder and have launched a full-scale probe.

According to reports reaching THE STAR, the baby's body was discovered in the gully about 7:10 a.m.

post-mortem

The police said an immediate post-mortem was ordered, the results of which indicate that foul play may have been at work. Further investigations also revealed that the baby may have been sexually assaulted.

Up to late yesterday, the police said they had not identified any suspect(s) in connection with the death.

source:http://www.jamaica-star.com/thestar/20101004/news/news3.html

STARCover_1_P6UZJtantopQM.jpg

Fast rising dancehall artiste Tanto Blacks was stabbed at least three times last Friday night, after he had an altercation with another man.

"A pure stab reach inna me back ... unno coulda hear seh Tanto Blacks dead," he told THE STAR.

Tanto explained that he was stabbed after he had asked the man, who he said is his friend, to vacate a place he had rented to him. He said he rented the place to the man for a while now but recently gave him an eviction notice.

According to Tanto, the tenant was reluctant to leave and decided to stay despite being given adequate time to leave and identify somewhere else.

Tanto said last Friday, he confronted the man who showed no immediate sign of wanting to leave. He said he went into the house and began removing the blades from a window when he was stabbed in his back. "Him stab me up and then him run ... him stab me three times," Tanto said. "A 17 years me know this yute yah and him stab me inna mi back inna mi own place."

arrested and charged

A report was made to the police and following investigations, the alleged assaulter was arrested and charged. The incident was confirmed by the investigating officer, Constable S Sewell from the Spanish Town Police Station. No immediate court date was given.

Tanto received treatment at the Spanish Town Hospital before getting additional treatment at a private medical practice. "Me alright inno ... me glad seh him deh a jail ... me no wah nothing happen to him," he told THE STAR.

source:http://www.jamaica-star.com/thestar/20101004/news/news1.html
untitled40.bmp

You're toast! The dead mouse - minus its tail - was found embedded into three slices of the loaf of bread

A shocked father found a dead mouse in a loaf of bread he was using to make sandwiches for his children.Stephen Forse said he had already used some of the bread when he noticed 'a dark-coloured object embedded in the corner of three or four slices'.The 41-year-old from Kidlington in Oxfordshire initially thought it was just a hard spot where the dough had failed to mix.'As I looked closer I saw that the object had fur on it,' he said.Mr Forse had bought the Hovis Best of Both from Tesco Online, through a branch in Bicester.He said his ordeal was made worse when an environmental health officer visited the family home to collect evidence - and identified that the mouse had lost its tail.'Her comments made me feel ill once again as there was no indication as to where the tail was,' said Mr Forse.'Had it fallen off prior to the bread being wrapped or had any of my family eaten it with another slice of bread on a previous day?'Manufacturer Premier Foods was fined $8700 and ordered to over $17k in costs at Oxford Crown Court for failing to maintain acceptable standards at their site in Mitcham, south London.A spokesman for Premier Foods said: 'We apologise profusely for the distress caused as a result of this isolated incident.'

untitled26.bmp

A Lake Orion pastor accused of soliciting a minor for sex carried two condoms at the time of his arrest but expressed hesitation whether he would "go through with it," according to prosecutors.

U.S. Magistrate Judge Virginia M. Morgan on Tuesday denied bail for Rev. William Bendert, arrested Friday at a Troy motel where he was set to meet an undercover agent posing as a mother willing to let him provide her 11-year-old daughter with "sexual training."

The FBI says Bendert, pastor of King of Kings Lutheran Church, set up the meeting after repeated online chats -- often quite graphic -- with an undercover agent.

"He indicated he didnt know if he would go through with it," Assistant U.S. Attorney Kevin Mulcahy told the judge on Tuesday, according to The Oakland Press. "He indicated he had thoughts he would not want someone to do this to his own daughter."

Regardless, it appears he came prepared: The FBI says Bendert brought two condoms to the hotel. The newspaper reports agents also recovered handcuffs and rope from his car and a Kama Sutra guide from his church office.

Defense attorney David Burgess pointed out investigators did not find child pornography on Bendert's computer and requested a psychiatric evaluation.

DAVID SMITH (OLINT) PLED GUILTY....

September 24, 2010
Started By TBDGlamma2 Comments

David_Smith.jpg
DAVID Smith was today sentenced to six-and-a-half-years in prison after he pleaded guilty to two counts of conspiracy to money laundering and two counts of conspiracy to the fraud in the Turks and Caicos Islands.

Oliver Smith (no relation), lawyer for the head of the failed Olint investment scheme, told the Observer a few minutes ago that his clients decision to plead guilty was driven by his wife's exposure.

According to the lawyer, David Smiths guilty plea means that the three charges against his wife Tracy have been dropped and her right to travel has been reinstated.

Kat-Stacks-1.jpg

You would think that Kat Stacks learned her lesson after Fabs goons smacked her up but noshes back at it!

Kat Stacks and her friend Jennashea tweeted some interesting things about Fabolous, Bow Wow and Gucci Mane. According to them, Gucci Manes lips are like sand paper, Fabolous is well-endowed and Bow Wow likes vibrating eggs in his butt.

untitled5.bmp

Chicago - A Rockford teenager died in a house fire after firefighters were unable to rescue her because, they said, she weighed over 500 pounds.

Jamaya Herron, 18, was pronounced dead at the home. Emergency officials said the cause of death was smoke inhalation.

Firefighters said the fire started after someone left a candle burning overnight on a wooden table.

The teens parents and younger foster brothers were rushed to the hospital to be treated for smoke inhalation.

Two firefighters were also checked out by doctors after they hurt their backs trying to save the girl.

garina_fearon.jpg

She's been homeless, bankrupt, a robbery victim and assaulted on the job -- but radiant Rikers Island guard Garina Fearon now has 54 million glorious reasons to start living la dolce vita.

The 34-year-old single mom from East New York, Brooklyn, who has endured a lifetime of hardship and poverty, told The Post she's the mystery winner of last Friday's Mega Millions drawing.

"I wanted a better life. I was struggling as a single parent," a beaming Fearon said yesterday. "I've really come back from nothing."

She never imagined such joy was possible when she was down to her last $25 six years ago and forced to file for bankruptcy.

Hard times struck again two years later, when burglars robbed her apartment while she was at work guarding dangerous inmates.

Fearon, who spent part of her youth in a homeless shelter with no stable family, went on to endure sickening abuse from the monsters in her care.

"She's had feces thrown in her face and on her uniform in the years that she's been there," said a fellow jail guard. "She's a tough young lady."

How she won is as remarkable as her change of fortune.

Fearon said she bought the wrong ticket at a Sutter Avenue bodega, where she went to play Powerball, not Mega Millions.

"I only play every six months or so," said Fearon, who has a 16-year-old son and a 14-year-old daughter.

She held on to the ticket all weekend, and didn't think about it until Monday, when she asked a co-worker for a newspaper. She scribbled the winning numbers on the back of an inmate pass as her shift ended.

As she waited for the bus, she made the amazing discovery.

"I was about to fold up the lottery ticket," Fearon said. "Then I saw the numbers, and I started running from one part of the parking lot to the other screaming."

She still hasn't come down from her high.

"I don't know what I'm going to do," she said. "It's something unexpected."

The first thing on her "to-do" list was to talk to supervisors at the Correction Department. She said she feels too loyal to the job to let it go, even with all that money coming her way.

"I'm going to go to my job to get some days off," Fearon said. "I don't want to resign."

Fearon said it was her correction career that rescued her from her financial ruin.

Her top priority is taking care of her ailing mom.

"I'm from Jamaica," Fearon said. "I have a sick mother. She has diabetes, and I'm going to buy my mom a house in Jamaica."

Fearon said she will take the lump-sum option, which will pay her about $30 million before taxes. Beyond that, she's not sure what she'll do next.

"I don't know anything about all this kind of money," she said.

untitled6.bmp

Chicago - A Roseland neighborhood registered child sex offender was charged with having inappropriate contact with an 8-year-old boy inside a washroom in a McDonalds restaurant outside Wrigley Field Tuesday evening on the North Side.

Cortez Lewis, 29, was identified as a man who allegedly had inappropriate contact with an 8-year-old against the child's will inside a McDonalds bathroom Tuesday about 6 p.m. in the 3600 block of North Clark Street, according to police News Affairs Officer Ronald Gaines.

A police report said that Lewis, of the 11300 block of South Wentworth Avenue, allegedly took the boy into a stall, closed the door and pulled his and the childs pants down. The boy ran away and began yelling saying Lewis had tried to rape him.

Lewis was charged with felony unlawful restraint and felony failure to register [as a sex offender] within 10 days, according to Gaines. Lewis was also charged with two misdemeanors -- disorderly conduct and battery, according to Gaines.

He is scheduled to appear in court later Thursday.

Lewis is listed on the Illinois Sex Offender website as a child sex offender who was convicted of unlawful restraint of a child who was 10 when he was 28.

Belmont Area detectives are investigating.

The world's only immortal animal

March 19, 2010
Started By badnick7 Comments

The turritopsis nutricula species of jellyfish may be the only animal in the world to have truly discovered the fountain of youth.

Since it is capable of cycling from a mature adult stage to an immature polyp stage and back again, there may be no natural limit to its life span. Scientists say the hydrozoan jellyfish is the only known animal that can repeatedly turn back the hands of time and revert to its polyp state (its first stage of life).

The key lies in a process called transdifferentiation, where one type of cell is transformed into another type of cell. Some animals can undergo limited transdifferentiation and regenerate organs, such as salamanders, which can regrow limbs. Turritopsi nutricula, on the other hand, can regenerate its entire body over and over again. Researchers are studying the jellyfish to discover how it is able to reverse its aging process.

Because they are able to bypass death, the number of individuals is spiking. They're now found in oceans around the globe rather than just in their native Caribbean waters.  "We are looking at a worldwide silent invasion," says Dr. Maria Miglietta of the Smithsonian Tropical Marine Institute.

Bryan Nelson is a regular contributor to Mother Nature Network, where a version of this post originally appeared.

untitled22.bmpuntitled23.bmpSandy Springs police have charged an 11-year-old girl with murder and child cruelty in the death of a toddler she was babysitting.

The babysitter, whose name has not been released, was taken to a juvenile Youth Detention Center in Fulton County, where she will be held while prosecutors decide how to proceed.

Zyda White, 2, died over the weekend as a result of a head injury and blunt force trauma to her body and her buttocks.

Sandy Spring Police spokesman Lt. Steve Rose said the charges brought against the babysitter indicate the physical fury Zyda endured.

But the law restricts the kinds of charges and punishment that can be brought against children younger than 13, according to legal experts. The law says children 12 and younger are prosecuted in the juvenile court system. They can be incarcerated up to five years or their 21st birthday if the juvenile system determines more time is needed.

District Attorney Paul Howard will determine the final charges that will be brought. Howard said through his spokeswoman, "Our office is awaiting a full report on this mater from the Sandy Springs Police Department. On receipt of that report we will conduct our own investigation and make a decision on the appropriate charges."

The 11-year-old is the daughter of a co-worker of Zyda's mother. The toddler's mother called 911 when she saw her daughter's condition when she picked her up Saturday night. The child died later at Scottish Rite Hospital.

Ron Carlson, University of Georgia Law School dean emeritus, questioned whether a murder charge could be sought against someone so young.

"The serious question is whether or not the state can go ahead with an adult charge," Carlson said. "We're going to have to let the courts decide that one because criminal responsibility is limited to those older than 12 years old.

"The traditional understanding in the courts is you have to be over 12 years old, even by one day, to be charged with homicide," Carlson said.

He wondered why authorities were "saying we can charge this kid as an adult?"

In 2004, Carroll County prosecutors had a similar problem in the strangulation of 8-year-old Amy Yates.

Amy vanished shortly after leaving her family's trailer on her bicycle to visit a friend in the Twin Oaks Mobile Home Park. About four hours later, police found her body in a ditch about 100 yards from her trailer.

A 12-year-old boy who was a known troublemaker in the trailer park eventually pleaded guilty. He was locked up for two years, the longest the law allowed at that time.

In 2006, the Georgia General Assembly passed Amy's Law, which lengthened the time a juvenile could be confined for a crime that would be a felony if committed by anyone 13 years or older. When Amy was killed, the maximum time was two years, and now it is five years or until the 21st birthday.

la.jpg

LA LEWIS IS A DUMB ASS WHE LOVE ATTENTION ANY WAY HIM CAN GET IT. How di hell him get ppl fi follow him? http://plixi.com/p/47062010 about 2 hours ago via ÜberTwitter

weirdweirdweirdweirdweirdweirdlclclclclc

63804_432789028340_668343340_5183085_1029177_n.jpg
above.gifabove.gifTHIS IS A CHURCHabove.gifabove.gif

39301_432795323340_668343340_5183158_6106906_n.jpg

63026_432795908340_668343340_5183163_3733446_n.jpg

61706_432859213340_668343340_5184264_2745978_n.jpginformerSMADDY HOUSE

60521_432673193340_668343340_5181330_5442089_n.jpg

62211_158711024147715_116080545077430_413303_6844670_n.jpg
above.gifCHURCH AGENabove.gif

37919_158711234147694_116080545077430_413308_7811484_n.jpg

37919_158711244147693_116080545077430_413311_6342843_n.jpg

62211_158711004147717_116080545077430_413297_4430243_n.jpg

62211_158711007481050_116080545077430_413298_5355242_n.jpg
Must read!!! written by Jamaican to inspire Jamaicans....... http://www.mediafire.com/?kmafhotjwi22iyw

tashkent.jpg

Latest figures released by the U.S. Census` American Community Survey continue to show the West Indian or Caribbean Non-Hispanic population in the United States at below the 2.3 million mark.

caribbean_cuisine.jpgThe ACS Survey released this week put the West Indian population again at just 2,299,595, a number that continues to repeat each year and shows absolutely no growth. The ACS is an annual sampling or an estimate of urban and rural population across the U.S. The number of West Indians is largely believed to be those individuals who are sampled and state their ancestry on the forms mailed to their homes.
It does not reflect the general U.S. Census count, which is done every ten years and which has no means of measuring ancestry unless it is written in by the respondent.

The number of Jamaicans in the U.S. was put at 778,164 while Haitians were put at 759,145. Guyanese reported across the U.S. by the ACS Survey was put at 170,878 while nationals from Trinidad and Tobago nationals were put at 147,069. According to ACS, there were 30,935 Bahamians, 42,088 Barbadians, 38,158 Belizeans, 13,028 USVI nationals and 77,047 who considered themselves British West Indians. 
Some 18,284 reportedly said they were Dutch West Indians while 5,131 said they were from Bermuda. Some 3,853 were tagged by ACS as `Other West Indians` since other West Indian ancestry were unreported by ACS.

Of the estimated total nationally, ACS says 1,709 are in Alaska, 3,227 in Arkansas, 5,810 in Alabama and 6,797 in Arizona. Some 6,223 were said to be in Colorado, 9,433 in Delaware, 6,122 in the District of Columbia and 57,895 were reportedly in California.

Some 707,226 were estimated to be living in Florida, 99,918 in Georgia, 449 in Idaho and 24,800 in Illinois. An estimated 2,913 were put in Indiana, 886 in Iowa, 3,442 in Kansas, 4,369 in Kentucky and 3,966 in Louisiana. In Maine, ACS said there were 1,334 West Indians while 52,508 were estimated in Maryland, 96,823 in Massachusetts and 9,741 in Michigan.

In Minnesota, there were an estimated 3,079 while 793 were listed in Mississippi, 4,360 in Missouri and 266 in Montana. Some 1,253 were counted in Nebraska, 6,582 in Nevada, 3,573 in New Hampshire and just 140,059 in New Jersey.

The number of West Indians in New York was put at just 735,522 while there were 24,180 in North Carolina, 187 in North Dakota and 13,467 in Ohio. An estimated 15,739 were said to be living in Oklahoma, 3,405 in Oregon, 3,979 in Rhode Island, 8,149 in South Carolina and just 50,321 in Pennsylvania. In South Dakota, 83 West Indians were counted while 6,685 were identified in Tennessee. In Utah there were 621 while in Texas the number was put at 43,471. Some 111 were placed in Vermont while 30,449 were found in Virginia, 6,142 in Washington State, 941 in West Virginia, 10 in Wyoming and 5,096 in Wisconsin.

Carib ID officials, who have been fighting for an origin category on future Census forms for Caribbean nationals, said the ACS numbers again proves why the congress and Census officials need to awaken from their slumber to the fact that America has changed and ancestry must be absolutely added to future Census forms in order to ensure an accurate presentation of the U.S. population so their needs can be met.

`There are more than two million Caribbean nationals on Eastern Parkway in Brooklyn, NY each Labor Day,` said Carib ID founder Felicia Persaud. `To say we are just 2.3 million nationally is completely erroneous, absolutely nonsensical and in 2010, discriminatory.`

Tiger Woods SEX TAPE?

September 30, 2010
Started By GA3 Comments

A Tiger Woods sex tape is being shopped by one of his alleged former mistresses, according to RadarOnline. The web site reports that Devon James, the curvy Floridian who calls herself a "porn queen," is trying to sell the steamy footage to the adult film company Vivid Entertainment.

"The tape is 62 minutes long and 37 minutes of it is us having sex," James claims.

http://goo.gl/gQoj

FB.pngWhat began as a comment on Facebook ended with one mother in the hospital and the other in jail.
Tiffany Scott, 39, says she was stabbed several times over comments her 18-year-old daughter made about a friends 4-day-old baby on the social networking site.
When you read the comments and you read what was said, youd never think your mother would get stabbed over something you said, verbally or on a computer, said Natia Robinson, who admits she called 18-year-old Briana Smiths baby ugly.
The families both live in the Briarcliff townhouse subdivision but knew each other for years after the two girls became friends in the fourth grade in Carol Stream. Tiffany Scott said she moved into the Wheaton cul-de-sac about six years ago, while Scott-Booker moved there just two days before the stabbing, the Daily Herald reported.
Scott said things got violent when Smiths mother, Judith Scott-Booker, came over to the house to discuss the comment.
The daughter came over to my house with the mom to see the messages and she hit me in my eye trying to hit my daughter, Scott recalled of the Sept. 3 incident.
Fifteen minutes later, Scott said there was another encounter outside.
I was going to my daughters car and she came out with the knives, she said.
Scott-Booker has been charged with felony aggravated battery and remains in jail. Her daughter is accused of aggravated assault.

http://www.theglobeandmail.com/news/video/hunting-death-trial/article1705341/

The first day of the highly anticipated trial of a U.S. woman extradited to face charges in the hunting death of her husband began Monday with riveting testimony from a guide who described the shooting.

Mary Beth Harshbarger, 45, of Meshoppen, Pa., maintains she mistakenly thought her husband was a bear when she shot him on Sept. 14, 2006.

Lambert Greene had been acting as a guide for Harshbarger and her husband Mark, who had brought their two small children and were hunting at a lodge near Buchans Junction in the centre of the province.

Greene described the evening of the shooting, when he and Mark Harshbarger were working their way out of the woods on foot. He said Mary Beth Harshbarger had been waiting at a pickup truck on a nearby woods road.

The guide said he had stopped for a moment and Mark Harshbarger continued on.

Greene said he heard a gun shot, followed by a loud "scream."

He called out to Harshbarger, asking if she had fired her rifle.

"She said 'yes.' I said 'What did you shoot at?' She said 'I shot at a bear, did I get him?' No, I said. 'You got Mark,' " Greene recalled.

She then asked if her husband was all right, Greene said.

"I said, 'No, he's dead,' " Greene told the court.

Read more: http://www.edmontonjournal.com/news/shot+bear+wife+asked+after+killing+husband/3520970/story.html#ixzz1197cDxiS

-- Edited by MZJ on Friday 1st of October 2010 04:48:40 PM

Jamaica's Singjay Mavado is on a high after signing an endorsement deal with telecommunications giant Lime.

The singjay officially inked the deal two days ago and, according to
his manager, Julian Jones-Griffith, is pleased by what they believe is
another positive move.

Jones-Griffith told media reporters, they were approached by Lime
more than a month ago and are now officially part of the Lime family.
This will be the first major endorsement deal signed by the artiste. As
part of his deal, Mavado will be involved in advertisements,
billboards and appearances for the company.

Read More: http://thehypelife.com/2010/09/27/mavado-signs-endorsement-deal-with-lime#ixzz10uwki1i0

A Jamaican market vendor who lives in Falmouth, Trelawny has a harrowing story about her relationship with a Haitian man that ended on a sour note when she found out about his double life as a voodoo preacher and practitioner of the black arts.

"Him throw on some wicked voodoo pon me, mi haffi tek Jamaica fi it fi get weh from him and under some strong prayer fi get him outta mi life," Darcia* (not her real name) explained during a phone call to our offices this week.

She said that she met the man, Pierre* (not his real name), when he came to Jamaica to live over two decades ago. She said that it was a good marriage, nothing spectacular, but they were happy and the union bore three children, two boys and one girl.

She said she went to live in Haiti fifteen years ago, where they lived in a middle-class neighbourhood about twenty miles outside of Port-au-Prince. She said her husband was a self-employed businessman but she had no clue that he practised voodoo.

"He was such a gentleman, the only thing he had a secret room which he kept as a study, but he always kept it locked and mi never have no reason fi open it because mi like gi man dem space," she said.

She said that one day, he inadvertently left the door open and curiousity got the better of her, and walked in to find a room of horrors.

"One side of the wall was painted with what looked like a black bull with two huge horns, and there were candles everywhere, some of them in glass cases, and in de was stink, mi never know say ah voodoo him practise," she said.

She said that she tried to keep quiet about her discovery but he suspected something and confessed to him and confronted him about it. He became withdrawn from her, she said.

"Him start show mi bad face and then mi start having some breeda nightmares where tings ah pursue mi and mi start find all kinda tings inna mi clothes dem. One day mi find a scorpion inna mi sneakers and then a next day, bout three small frog jump outta mi dress, it frighten mi too backfoot," she said.

What she called a "series of unfortunate events" began to happen to her, and eventually, she couldn't take it anymore and one day, when he was gone on a business trip to neighbouring country of Dominican Republic, she took the children and ran. But before she left, she burned everything that she owned that she would not be carrying with her back to Jamaica.

She returned to Jamaica without incident and tried to re-start her life. Her children were upset but soon got over the shock of leaving a country they had called home for years. However, her ordeal was not over as after three months, she began to feel ill. She began to vomit a lot and began to lose weight because she couldn't keep down any food.

"Mi meagre right down and then, mi start have a smell..down there," she said, gesturing to her pubic area.

A visit to her gynaecologist led to one of the most bizarre sentences that have ever come from a woman's mouth.

"Frogs came out of my pumpum. If mi never see it wid mi owna eye when the gynae ah deal wid it, mi woulda say ah lie too," she said.

"The dutty man guzum mi, mi haffi go outta Old Harbour to some prayer warrior fi defeat him, him put a wicked ting pon mi, mek mi coulden get no man or something, ah six months before mi start feel better and even now, mi haffi under mi guard. Mi have a feeling say him still ah look fi mi, but mi hope say him never mek it through the earthquake wah day ya because him is a wicked man," she said.

"Sake a him, mi caan go back a St. Ann's go live."

ma.jpg
Baltimore police arrested Mario this morning after his mother called the police and accused her son of beating her twice within the last week. According to TMZ , Mario pushed his mom around and threw things around the apartment they share and was breaking things. She also said that earlier in the week he threw her into a wall where she banged her head.

So, Mario was on Dancing With The Stars and has sold millions of records yet he is living in an apartment with his mom in Baltimore. Not a house, but an apartment he rents with his mom. I wonder what happened to all his money. I can't imagine beating my mom or throwing her into a wall. Who thinks of something like that?

-- Edited by gamepun ( Mod ) on Saturday 2nd of October 2010 11:10:04 AM
bruce-brady-war_w370.jpg

THE public brawl between Prime Minister Bruce Golding and long-time Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) supporter, attorney-at-law Harold Brady took a dramatic twist yesterday when Golding, in response to a libel action filed against him by Brady, defiantly said he would not back down from statements he made in relation to the lawyer in the contentious Manatt, Phelps and Phillips (MPP) affair.

"The suit now filed by Harold Brady is frivolous and vexatious in law and shall be vigorously defended," Golding said in a short news release issued yesterday afternoon after word started circulating that Brady had filed the suit.

Golding had last month told journalists during a press conference organised by the Press Association of Jamaica at Jamaica House that Brady was no longer a member of the JLP and that he had been asked to resign from several state boards.

The prime minister made the comments in response to a question as to who, as he had stated before, disobeyed his orders in the Manatt affair.

Golding had maintained that Brady misled Manatt the United States law firm -- into believing that he was retaining its services on behalf of the Jamaican Government instead of the JLP, to lobby US authorities in the extradition case of Christopher 'Dudus' Coke, who the Americans have accused of trafficking in drugs and arms.

But shortly after the press conference Brady, contacted by journalists, said he was still a member of the ruling party. In fact, he said he was a member of its Central Executive, the JLP's highest decision-making body outside of its annual conference. Brady also denied that he was asked to resign from any state board.

Brady's response plunged the party into crisis, which got worse when JLP general secretary Karl Samuda confirmed Brady's comments.

Talking to journalists outside the JLP's Belmont Road headquarters in Kingston following an emergency meeting on September 16, Samuda said although Brady had not paid his membership fees, this did not prevent the lawyer from remaining a party member.

Samuda said that the prime minister was unaware of this fact when he made his announcement.

In his statement yesterday, Golding said: "On September 15, 2010, attorneys representing Mr Harold Brady wrote to me making certain allegations regarding my actions and instructions to him on the engagement of the US law firm Manatt, Phelps and Phillips. Mr Brady's lawyers demanded a retraction of certain public statements I made on his involvement in the MPP matter. I will not withdraw from positions taken by me in relation to the engagement of MPP and Mr Brady's conduct in the matter as these positions are true and will be corroborated."

Yesterday, when the Sunday Observer contacted Brady, he confirmed that he was suing Golding.

"Yes, I am suing for libel," Brady told the Sunday Observer. "He said I am not a member of the party and I was fired from boards. The matter is before the court and I won't comment on that."

Brady also said he was being represented by attorneys Henlin, Gibson and Henlin.

Golding has consistently denied any arrangement between the US law firm and the Government, and has even challenged Manatt to produce any document showing that it was retained by his administration.

The firm was reportedly paid US$50,000.

The Manatt affair has dogged the Government since March when Opposition parliamentarian Dr Peter Phillips raised questions about the issue in the House.

Since then, Dr Ronald Robinson, who met with a Manatt official in Washington, DC, has resigned as junior foreign minister.

DEAR JPS

ON BEHALF OF OUR MEMBERS AND STAFF OF CUSTOMERS OF JAMAICA PUBLIC SERVICE...WE REGRET TO INFORM YOU THAT DUE TO THE RECESSION OUR POCKETS ARE EXPERIENCING LOW SHEDDING. THEREFORE WE ARE UNABLE TO PAY OUR BILL ON TIME..WE ADVISE YOU PLEASE TO BEAR WITH US AS WE DO ALL WE CAN TO RESTORES FULL SERVICE OF PAYMENT TO YOUR ESTABLISHMENT

SINCERLY YOURS

CUSTOMER

«First  <  182 83 84 85 86524  >  Last»  | Page of 524  sorted by