The Heineken Green Synergy show is now down to three DJs vying for the over $1 million in cash and prizes courtesy of Heineken after another exciting episode unfolded last Friday on TVJ.
It was Ricky Eminence who first got eliminated after coming out the loser in a keenly contested clash with DJ Banka. Both had been placed in the clash after scoring the lowest points in a previous challenge.
Banka, who hails from Mocho, Clarendon, and has become one of the favourites with viewers of the show, was in his comfort zone for the clash being a more hardcore dancehall DJ. However, Ricky Eminence, a well experienced DJ rose to the occasion and did a very entertaining set.
In the end Banka came out on top by a a nail-biting one point, keeping his place on the show. Banka's joy was however short lived as in the next challenge he was eliminated.
For that challenge the DJs were given 24 hours to prepare and execute a live remix with at least 4 songs. They had no time limit to play but the remix should sound like a song itself.
In this challenge it was DJ 47 who again came out tops after displaying a very creative set choosing Wayne Wonder's No Letting Go, and mixing in at least three different genres.
Commenting on DJ 47's set Judge Alric said, "I like the innovation and use of tools, it created movement in remixing."
DJ Naz also did well for herself. Her song of choice was Grand Master Flash and the Furious Five's Message, and she stuck to the task and did a good job of it.
DJ Banka set was a total mess. Having gotten the song Good Times by Chic to remix, it was evident that he didn't spend much time and effort on planning his set. As Collin Hinds described it, "You obviously weren't having a good time, you killed the song, literally, I pause to shed a tear."
DJ Jerry was his usual efficient self, remixing Third World's 96 Degrees. Jerry's set was well thought out and got the approving nod from the judges. Judge Boyd described it as, "A very good job".
In the end DJ 47 scored the highest with 40 points, DJ Naz for her effort got 39.6, DJ Jerry got 38, while DJ Banka got a dismal 28.
So it's now down to DJ 47, DJ Jerry, DJ Naz in the hunt. The top two from the show will battle for the 2010 Championship at the Heineken Green Synergy Grand Finals which will be held at the National Indoor Centre in Kingston on October 29.
This big event will have three of the baddest DJs on the planet wrecking the place, the turn table legend Grand Master Flash, a celebrity guest judge on the show, many time DMC World Champion DJ Qbert, and the former DJ of Notorious BIG, DJ Enuf.
The next episode of the Heineken Green Synergy will be aired tomorrow on TVJ at 11:30 pm.
Source:http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/Entertainment/Green-Synergy-and-then-there-were-three_8066187
MIAMI , Aug. 6 (UPI) -- A Miami beekeeper said he removed the second largest hive he has encountered in his 20-year career -- about 3 million bees -- from a home.
Beekeeper Adrian Valero said he was called to remove the hive after three people in the area were stung by the bees, which residents of the house said had been around for about a year, WSVN-TV, Miami, reported Wednesday.
Valero said it was not surprising that the bees had stung locals.
"These are Italian bees," he said. "They are a little bit aggressive if you bother them too much."
The beekeeper said the hive, which was large enough to produce 60 pounds of honey, was moved to a bee farm far from the neighborhood.
Is the common nature of cancer worldwide purely a man-made phenomenon? That is what some researchers now suggest.
Still, other specialists in cancer and in human fossils have strong doubts about this notion.
Cancer is a leading cause of death worldwide, accounting for roughly one in eight of all deaths in 2004, according to the World Health Organization. However, scientists have only found one case of the disease in investigations of hundreds of Egyptian mummies, researcher Rosalie David at the University of Manchester in England said in a statement. (The researchers did not reply to repeated queries made via phone and e-mail.)
The rarity of cancer in mummies suggests it was scarce in antiquity, and "that cancer-causing factors are limited to societies affected by modern industrialization," researcher Michael Zimmerman at Villanova University in Pennsylvania said in a statement. "In an ancient society lacking surgical intervention, evidence of cancer should remain in all cases."
Zimmerman was the first to diagnose cancer in an Egyptian mummy by analyzing its tissues on a microscopic level, identifying rectal cancerin an unnamed mummy who had lived in the Dakhleh Oasis during the Ptolemaic period 1,600 to 1,800 years ago.
Story: Is it time to return to caveman parenting?
David and Zimmerman also analyzed ancient literature from Egypt and Greece for hints of cancer, as well as medical studies of human and animal remains going back to the age of dinosaurs. They suggested evidence of cancer in animal fossils, non-human primates and early humans was scarce, with a few dozen uncertain examples. As they analyzed ancient literature, they did not find descriptions of operations for breast and other cancers until the 17th century, and the first reports in the scientific literature of distinctive tumors have only occurred in the past 200 years, such as scrotal cancer in chimney sweepers in 1775, nasal cancer in snuff users in 1761 and Hodgkin's disease in 1832.
One possible reason cancers might have been comparatively rare in antiquity is that the short life span of individuals back then precluded the development of the disease. Still, the researchers did note some people in ancient Egypt and Greece did live long enough to develop such diseases as atherosclerosis, Paget's disease of bone, and osteoporosis.
'Sin' of modern societies
David and Zimmerman therefore argue that cancer nowadays is largely caused by man-made environmental factors such as pollution and diet. They detailed their findings in the October issue of the journal Nature Reviews Cancer.
"In industrialized societies, cancer is second only to cardiovascular disease as a cause of death, but in ancient times, it was extremely rare," David said in a statement. "There is nothing in the natural environment that can cause cancer."
Despite that statement, dinosaurs did develop cancer well before humans were on the scene. Also, others argue the short life spans of antiquity could be a profoundly effective reason as to why cancer might have been rare then.
"Cancer is very rare in modern societies in humans under age 30," oncologist Dr. John Glaspy at UCLA's Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center told LiveScience. "In ancient times, people rarely lived to be much older than that. So cancer was rare. The 'sin' of modern societies is having people live to be much older."
At least 40 persons were injured and another killed last night after a Jamaica Urban Transit Company (JUTC) bus transporting churchgoers, overturned along the Faiths Pen main road in St Ann.
Those injured in the accident were taken to the St Ann's Bay and Linstead hospitals for treatment.
Up to press time late last night, the identity of the person killed was not known. There were also concerns that other persons might have been killed, but were trapped under the bus.
Corporate Communications Manager of the JUTC, Reginald Allen, who was present at the scene of the accident, told THE STAR that, "we are examining the possibilities that other persons are lying under the bus."
accident
The accident occurred at around 8:45 p.m.
It was believed that there might have been approximately 54 persons, including the driver, aboard the bus at the time when it overturned and fell into a ditch.
Allen also told THE STAR that the accident might have occurred as the bus tried to negotiate a corner.
"It involved negotiating a corner and the road was wet,"Allen explained.
It was reported that the JUTC bus was transporting members of the Bayside New Testament Church of God from Portmore in St Catherine to a retreat at the Moneague College at the time of the accident.
The bus is said to have been one of four JUTC buses chartered for the retreat.
However, at the time of the accident, the other three had not yet started out on the journey.
JAILED Reggae artiste Buju Banton was this afternoon offered $250,000 bail in the Sam M Gibbons Federal Court in the United States.
But Banton, real name Mark Myrie, is still not in the clear as his lawyer David Oscar Markus will now have to seek bond in the immigration court to prevent his deportation to Jamaica. Bantons entertainment visa was revoked when he was arrested last December.
As part of Banton's bail condition, he will have to wear a monitoring device and will be subject to house arrest and 24 hour security, to be paid for by the defence.
He can only leave his house for meetings with his attorney and for doctors appointments and to purchase medication. He will also be subjected to drug testing.
Stage Name: Nikki Z
Birth Month: November
How did you get started in the business?
Nikki Z: My godfather in Connecticut was a promoter. I was a girl Friday (efficient female aide) on his shows, starting at age 16. I got on radio when a radio guy name Donovan Longmore based in Hartford, Connecticut asked me to recap a show that was in town. I was 22 at the time. I fell in love with radio after that interview and the rest is history.
What has been your greatest challenge in the business yet?
Nikki Z: Being taken seriously.
What have you been up to lately?
Nikki Z: Creating, producing and marketing my own syndicated programme.
Do you look up to any specific artiste and why?
Nikki Z: Lady Saw - she is the definition of a great woman and soul.
Are you happy with the way things are going for your musical career right now?
Nikki Z: Yes, definitely.
Do you have any advice for young artistes coming up?
Nikki Z: Don't ever give up and always believe you can do better.
Where do you see yourself in the future?
Nikki Z: Retired, living on the beach, watching my money work for me.
-Krista HenryFireworks erupted on the set of 'The View' today when hosts Whoopi Goldberg and Joy Behar left the set during an interview with Bill O'Reilly while discussing the proposed "Ground Zero mosque."
"The mosque down here on 9/11. That's inappropriate," O'Reilly said of the planned Islamic community center being built near the site of the former World Trade Center.
"Sure, they have a right to do it," he continued. "But it's inappropriate because a lot of the 9/11 families who I know, say, 'Look, we don't want that.'"
When Joy, Whoopi and the other ladies expressed their opposition to 'The O'Reilly Factor' star's opinion, he attempted to shut them down.
"Listen to me because you'll learn," he exclaimed, adding that he believes President Obama's numbers are falling because of his unwillingness to comment on "the wisdom of" building the community center.
"You're saying that Americans are not smart enough to recognize that while it is part of our Constitution to say freedom of religion and freedom to worship and there were 70 families who are Muslim who also died in that building. So you're saying that his saying that they have the right to do it and not saying anymore is why his approval ratings have gone down?" Goldberg questioned.
The heated discussion went back and forth, but the blowout came after O'Reilly said "Muslims killed us on 9/11." Goldberg and Behar attempted to specify that it was an extremist sect within Islam and not the religion itself that attacked the U.S. When O'Reilly continued to argue his point, the enraged hosts walked off the set. Watch:
Barbara Walters then chimed in. "I want to say something to all of you. You have just seen what should not happen. We should be able to have discussions without washing our hands and screaming and walking off stage. I love my colleagues, but that should not have happened."
The two women did return to the show and were able to continue their conversation with the FOX News anchor, when the chatter turned to Christine O'Donnell and George W. Bush.
UPDATE: Just hours after Joy Behar and Whoopi Goldberg stormed off the set following Bill O'Reilly's controversial remarks, PopEater's Rob Shuter found himself backstage at Behar's hit HLN Show where the host seemed to have little idea about the media storm that was brewing.
"Really, is anyone talking about it? He's a idiot," Behar told PE. "I just couldn't sit there any longer and listen to him."
As for Behar and Goldberg heading back out to finish the interview with O'Reilly, Behar added, "No one made us go back out. After he apologized, Whoopi and I walked back out and sat down. I have no regrets."
For the first time since July 2002, when 72 murders were recorded, the countrys murder rate has dipped below the 80 mark.
Police crime statistics for September 2010 indicate a major decline of 42% in the number of murders when compared to September of 2009.
The figure is also the lowest for murders recorded in any one month since the start of the year.
The overall reduction in recorded murders for September 2010 when compared to September 2009 is 55.
The Police say the September 2010 murder figures continue the trend of the last three months, where murders recorded have fallen below 100.
Five of the six other major crimes, Shooting, Rape, Carnal Abuse, Robbery, and Larceny also recorded significant declines for an overall 14% drop in September 2010, when compared to August 2009.
Murder leads the reduction figures for serious crimes with a 42% decline.
Deputy Police Commissioner Glenmore Hinds, who is in charge of operations, heaped praises on the members of the Force.
This is the fourth consecutive month that we would have recorded a decline in murders and its attributable to the strategies we would have employed which are arresting gang members, the leadership of gang members, coordinating raids, cordon and searches and the proactive activity of our street crimes unit has also helped significantly, DCP Hinds said.
Of the 19, Police Geographic Divisions, 15 recorded declines in murders, with the Hanover Division leading the way with a 300% drop.
Seven of the eight Metro Divisions, those located in Kingston, St. Andrew and St. Catherine all recorded declines.
The St. James Police Division recorded a 70% decline in its murder rate, moving downwards from 27 in September 2009 to eight in 2010.
The Clarendon Police Division recorded five fewer murders in September 2010.
It is often said that men are dogs, but one young man from Clarendon is said to have taken that statement a bit too seriously for at least two days recently.
THE WEEKEND STAR learnt that two weeks ago, for several hours, a 20-odd-year-old man from Chapelton, created quite a stir in May Pen when he ran around 'on fours' like a dog.
And what made the incident even more weird is that the man is said to have had on a dog leash and barked at people and even passing vehicles. It was also said that he attempted to bite persons who tried to collar him.
The man's actions is said to have left residents of the town quite puzzled and is still being talked about there.
"Yu waa see di youth a run up and dung like a dog and a bark ... Him a run pon all him hand dem fi look like him a run pon four foot like dog," Trevor, a fruit vendor who plies his wares in the town said when THE WEEKEND STAR visited on Wednesday afternoon.
"Yea man, a pure tings gwaan a May Pen eno, di man draw big crowd dung yah di day," he added as two men at his stall spoke of the incident and cracked jokes about it.
so bizarre
The incident was so bizarre that even the police in the town were quickly able to recall it when asked. "I didn't see him but the day it allegedly happened I heard about it from some of my colleagues," a corporal from the May Pen Police Station said.
While there is no doubt that the incident occurred, the reason behind the young man's action is where there is some doubt. While some persons think the young man simply went mad, there are several persons who claim that his dog-like behaviour was caused by obeah.
The theory is that some money was stolen from a young woman and her family members visited an obeah man in another parish after being convinced that he was responsible for the theft.
They say that the dog transformation incident was brought to an end when the young man's relatives through much effort finally apprehended him on the second day.
"A pure joke when dem a try hold him. Him a run and a bark and all bite off a some a them. Yu waa see how much a dem affi team up fi hold him," another vendor, Miss Cheryl, said.
Miss Cheryl also told THE WEEKEND STAR that a large number of persons who saw the incident used it as a 'rake' to buy specific numbers in the popular Cash Pot betting game.
Their money dreams were, however, short-lived as the number they all thought would play, 11, simply never did.
The man who is said to be a regular visitor to May Pen has not been seen since the incident and is said to have moved from his community. Efforts by THE WEEKEND STAR to locate him were unsuccessful.
Buju Banton - File
After being locked away in a US jail for ten months, reggae artiste Buju Banton was finally offered bail yesterday, making his friends, well-wishers and fans extremely happy.
Yesterday, United States judge Anthony Porcelli offered bail to the artiste, whose real name is Mark Myrie.
However, bail was granted at US$250,000 (J$21,375,000) and under strict conditions. Porcelli also ordered that Banton be placed under 24-hour surveillance, the cost being incurred by the defence and it will also have to be approved by the court. He will also have to wear an electronic monitor and undergo drug testing. He will also have to receive an immigration bond to prevent deportation, as his US visa had been revoked.
Despite the conditions of bail, Banton's close friend, Spragga Benz is ready and raring to go see the artiste who has been incarcerated since December last year.
"I am feeling elated. Mi feel good. A lot of the prayers were answered. Give thanks to the Most High for showing that he still listens to our prayers. Mi just glad seh it a work out. Thanks to those who support him throughout," he said.
While pleased that he was offered bail, Banton's former mentor Donovan Germain was far from blown over by the conditions under which it was granted.
"I am happy that he is given the opportunity for bail even though the conditions are a bit ridiculous to me," he said.
stipulations
He added that he hopes some of the stipulations are removed when Banton's lawyer goes back to court on the matter.
Like Germain and Spragga Benz, popular entertainment figure and executive vice-president of 21st-Hapilos, Johnny Wonder, said he is extremely pleased that Banton was offered bail.
"Me and everyone at 21st-Hapilos & Hapilos International are excited for Buju that he was offered bail. We are waiting patiently on what the outcome will be. Hopefully, he will be exonerated of these alleged charges and be allowed to go back to family and children and return to making the music we all know and love. Bless up Gargamel," he told THE WEEKEND STAR.
When contacted, Banton's lead attorney, David Markus said the bail offer was "a positive development", even though he did not indicate whether Banton would be able to meet all the conditions.
Marc Seitles, another member of Banton's legal team, said the entertainer would "essentially be under house arrest" if he is able to satisfy the bail conditions. He said that this means the artiste would only be able to leave his Florida home to buy medications, attend court-ordered hearings or for meetings with his attorneys.
On October 6, the judge heard arguments from the US prosecution as well as Buju's lawyers and reserved his judgement.
Banton's lawyer had filed the motion for a bail hearing on September 27, after federal judge, James Moody declared a mistrial in the drug case against Buju. The ruling was made after the 12-member jury was unable to reach a unanimous decision in the case.
The judge says a new trial is to be held in December on a date to be announced.
Source:http://www.jamaica-star.com/thestar/20101015/ent/ent2.html
Shutters at a number of stores in downtown Kingston were pulled down by irate vendors yesterday, as they protested against the police and their operations geared at clamping down on illegal vending.
It took the efforts of a large number of police personnel to restore order and reopen these legitimate stores after vendors ordered them closed while claiming if they would not be allowed to sell, then the stores could not.
"How yu mean, a protest wi a protest and a lock dung some a di store dem. A stop dem a stop wi food eno, weh wi ago go?" questioned one irate vendor who gave her name as Jackie.
destroyed stalls
From as early as 2 a.m., a number of stalls in sections of the commercial district were reportedly destroyed by police personnel as they carried out the operation.
By 9:30 a.m., the police say a number of streets including the usually heavily congested Heywood Street were cleared of not only illegal stalls but also debris.
Approximately 10 tonnes of debris and other material is said to have been cleared from sections of downtown.
At least 300 illegal electricity connections were also reportedly disconnected by personnel from the Jamaica Public Service, who were a part of the operation.
The police say they will be maintaining a strong presence in the area as sections of the district will remain under curfew until 1 a.m. on Saturday.An amount of $20,000 which was to be paid over to a complainant to settle a matter of unlawful wounding was done so the second time around in the Corporate Area Resident Magis-trate Court yesterday.
The accused man in the matter, Richard Medwinter, had told the court that he did not have the required amount on him and asked the court for a few days to accumulate the money.
However, shortly after Medwinter was granted his request, he was seen returning to the court room with the money in hand.
Upon his return, Resident Magistrate Judith Pusey commented, "I don't know what kind a game you playing."
The cash was then counted by a police sergeant to ensure accuracy of the amount before it was handed over to the complainant. A no order was then made in the matter.
Allegations are that on the day of the incident, Medwinter and the complainant became involved in a fight because of an apparent disagreement over the sharing of money.
demanding money
The court heard that the complainant was at work when Medwinter approached him demanding money. When the demand was not met, Medwinter used a shovel and hit the complainant in his head causing a cut above the forehead.
It was revealed that Medwinter and the complainant were friends, because Medwinter actually got a job for the complainant at an haberdashery. As a means of showing his gratitude, the complainant decided to pay Medwinter a portion of his pay.
However, after Medwinter accepted the money, days later he returned demanding another portion of the money. This later led to the altercation.
A very pregnant Spice alongside fiancé Nicholas Lall and with her son. - Kyle McPherson
Deejay Spice, at more than five months pregnant, is glowingly anticipating the birth of her second child with fiancé Nicholas Lall.
Speaking with THE WEEKEND STAR, the deejay said her second pregnancy was an unexpected one. She said, "it wasn't planned but I'm happy. Pregnancy is a gift from God, I didn't think I'd have any kids and here I am. This time around I'm keeping the sex of the baby as a surprise for us, its always fun to be guessing and having everyone guess what its going to be."
Already sharing a son, three-year old Nicholas Lall Jr, both Spice, real name Grace Hamilton, and her fiancee are hoping for a girl. Having recently shot the video for her single Jim Screechy while four months pregnant, not much suspicion was raised, and so Spice decided to keep her pregnancy out of the spotlight for as long as possible.
"Basically I'm trying to keep my private life on the low. The Jim Screechy song had just gotten out there and people were talking about it so I didn't want my pregnant to overshadow Spice as the artiste. Now people have been calling me saying they've been hearing the pregnancy rumours and I don't want to keep my fans in the dark any longer," she explained.
missing events
While Spice worked right through her first pregnancy, this time around she plans to 'take it easy'. She will not be taking any shows and will be missing events such as Sting in December. For the deejay, she will miss being on stage but is still as motivated as ever to not only achieve more success as a deejay but in her businesses like her store Spicey Couture, her Spicey Salon and her bar 8 Ball.
Having a lot on the table, Spice says its with the support of her fiancee and family that she manages to juggle it all. She said, "I have a really good support system, my fiancee is fabulous in terms of taking care of Nicholas (Jr). My sister and mom is always there as well."
As for plans for her wedding, Spice says that will have to wait until next year after the birth of her baby. "My fiancee he can't wait for it to happen more than ever but I insist on waiting till after the birth of this child," she said. The two have been together for four years and got officially engaged last year.
As for rumours that the two have been on rocky terms she said, "people say we're apart cause of a crazy comment I made on Facebook but yuh know every relationship has its ups and downs, but yes we're happy. The good thing is that when we have our differences we mend it easily, we can't live widdout each other."
Coming soon for Spice are singles such as Tell Me Why and Official Girl with rapper Jay Young.
Source:http://www.jamaica-star.com/thestar/20101015/ent/ent1.html
A man who appeared in the Corporate Area Resident Magistrate's Court to answer breaches of the Main Road Act was ordered to receive psychiatric evaluation by Resident Magistrate Judith Pusey before his matter was even mentioned.
Ricardo Richards, who found his appearance in court quite amusing, could not contain his laughing. He was asked to be quiet on several occasions by police officers and Resident Magistrate Judith Pusey alike. But instead, he continued his disturbance nevertheless.
continued his laughter
Richards further delayed his case when he was removed from the holding area and placed in the dock for his matter to be heard as he continued his laughter. "My name is Richards Ricardo and not Ricardo Richards," he said, which caused some persons to laugh.
Richards also attempted to jump from the dock. He was eventually removed from court.
The accused man was arrested after it is alleged that he blocked a road in the Corporate Area.
Merline Phillips - Sheldon Williams
Merline Phillips is 46 years old. she suffers from retinal detachment and needs your immediate help to do laser surgery before her sight deteriorates.
If treatment is not received as soon as possible, there is a risk Phillips' retinas may detach entirely, resulting in permanent blindness or vision loss.
Phillips needs at least $25,000 to pay for the required surgery and she's finding it difficult to accumulate all the money in time.
"The earlier I do it, the best for me because my sight is going," Phillips remarked. "I'm partially blind, darkness and fogginess in my eyes ... I can't even see danger. God has to just keep me. Right now, I'm just seeing shadows."
To make matters more difficult, Phillips is unemployed and has no support system, family members or friends, to assist her in gathering the money to pay for her much needed surgery. "There's no one to help me," Phillips, who also suffers from hypertension, said.
Furthermore, because of the deterioration of her sight, Phillips was forced to quit her self-employed job as a dressmaker some years ago, because she couldn't see clearly. She has been unemployed for the past six years and has two children to take care of.
As a result of the condition of her eyes, Phillips faces difficulties daily, carrying out tasks that would have been simple for her before her ailment. "It slow me down in everything, not even wash I can wash because it slow me down a great deal," she said.
Anyone wishing to help Phillips, can contact her at 580-4903 or 417-2892.Looking almost as fresh as the day it was bought, this McDonalds Happy Meal is in fact a staggering six months old.
Photographed every day for the past half a year by Manhattan artist Sally Davies the kids meal of fries and burger is without a hint of mould or decay.
In a work entitled The Happy Meal Project, Mrs Davies, 54, has charted the seemingly indestructible fast food meals progress as it refuses to yield to the forces of nature.
Looking almost as fresh as the day it was bought, this McDonalds Happy Meal is in fact a staggering six months old.
Photographed every day for the past half a year by Manhattan artist Sally Davies the kids meal of fries and burger is without a hint of mould or decay.
In a work entitled The Happy Meal Project, Mrs Davies, 54, has charted the seemingly indestructible fast food meals progress as it refuses to yield to the forces of nature.
Sitting on a shelf in her apartment, Sally has watched the Happy Meal with increasing shock and even her dogs have resisted the urge to try and steal a free tasty snack.
I bought the meal on April 10 of this year and brought it home with the express intention of leaving it out to see how it fared, she said.
I chose McDonalds because it was nearest to my house, but the project could have been about any other of the myriad of fast food joints in New York.
The first thing that struck me on day two of the experiment was that it no longer emitted any smell.
And then the second point of note was that on the second day, my dogs stopped circling the shelf it was sitting on trying to see what was up there.
Fast food: Five months into the experiment, and although the burger patty has shrunk a bit it doesnt look that different to the original
Worrying: More than three months in and the usual effects of time appear to have had no impact
Expecting the food to begin moulding after a few days, Mrs Davies surprise turned to shock as the fries and burger still had not shown any signs of decomposition after two weeks.
It was then that I realised that something strange might be going on with this food that I had bought, she explained.
The fries shrivelled slightly as did the burger patty, but the overall appearance of the food did not change as the weeks turned to months.
And now, at six months old, the food is plastic to the touch and has an acrylic sheen to it.
The only change that I can see is that it has become hard as a rock.
Tucking in: Mrs Davies bought the Happy Meal and put it on a shelf in her home. She said even her dogs are no longer interested in eating it
Even though she is a vegan, Mrs Davies experiment has brought her amusement rather than fear.
I dont really see this experiment as scary, I see it almost as an amusement, she said.
Although, I would be frightened at seeing this if I was a meat eater. Why hasnt even the bun become speckled with mould? It is odd.
When asked if their food was not biodegradable, McDonalds spokeswoman Danya Proud said: This is nothing more than an outlandish claim and is completely false.
It comes after Denver grandmother Joann Bruso left a Happy Meal to decay for a year until March to highlight the nutritional dangers of fast food.
Morgan Spurlock also made the film Super Size Me in 2004 charting the changes to his body eating just fast food for 28 days had.SEDRUN, Switzerland Engineers smashed through a last section of rock Friday to create the world's longest tunnel in the Swiss Alps.
A gigantic drilling machine broke the remaining wall 8,200 feet below the imposing Piz Vatgira peak in the Gotthard massif several minutes ahead of schedule Friday afternoon.
Miners, VIPs and journalists inside the 35.4-mile Gotthard Base Tunnel cheered as Switzerland reclaimed the record from Japan's 33.5-mile Seikan Tunnel as the world's longest excluding aqueducts.
Swiss officials had declared a day of joy Friday ahead of the awaited breakthrough moment for the tunnel, a project some 60 years in the making.
It is seen as an important milestone in the creation of a high-speed transportation network connecting all corners of Europe.
The new route will allow millions of tons of goods that are currently transported through the Alps on heavy trucks to be shifted onto the rails, particularly the economically important link between the Dutch port of Rotterdam and Italy's Mediterranean port of Genoa.
"It's a day of joy for Switzerland," Peter Fueglistaler, director of Switzerland's Federal Office of Transport, said shortly before the tunnel was completed. "We are not a very emotional people but if we have the longest tunnel in the world, this also for us is very, very emotional."
Two further tunnels one connecting connect Lyons, France, to Turin in Italy, and the other replacing the Brenner road tunnel between Austria and Italy are still a long way from completion.
Some 2,500 workers have spent nearly 20 years smashing through the rock beneath the towering Gotthard massif.
he $10 billion tunnel is due to be opened for rail traffic in 2017 and will let passenger and cargo trains pass underneath the Alps at speeds of up to 155 miles an hour on their way from Germany to Italy.
Yes 27 Stories!
An Indian businessman and his family have moved into their newly constructed 27-story home in Mumbai. Yeah you read that right, its IN INDIA, where there are more cell phones than there are toilets. This house has both toilets, and phones. And a couple other interesting things:
Mukesh Ambani, Indias richest man according to Forbes, just moved his family into a $1 billion Mumbai skyscraper occupying all 27 stories. The 53-year-old tycoons new home is larger than the Palace of Versailles and needs a staff of 600 to keep things running. The building has underground parking for 160 cars, three helicopter pads and a theater that seats 50. The Ambani family will occupy all 27 stories, which include a ballroom, several lounges, a health club, a dance studio and an elevated garden large enough to accommodate trees.
Did I mention that this is in INDIA, where over a fifth of the population lives under the international poverty line of $1.25 a day, whose per capita GDP is about 40 times less than the United States. You could probably build a mansion there for a thousand dollars. But this dude dropped a thousand million dollars on his pad. Hes basically like Biff in Back to the Future II, only real. Living the dream.
DO YOU REALLY NEED 27 FLOORS ??????
Popular dancehall entertainer Bounty Killer, who has recently been before the courts after multiple altercations with female companions, is among a number of Caribbean artistes who have pledged their support for the eradication of violence against women in the region.
"He's definitely going to be getting involved in it. He acknowledges that he has been in situations like that before, so he wants to try and become a positive example by contributing to a cause like this and being able to talk to others who find themselves in these situations. So he will be putting a lot of energy into this project," said Bounty's manager, Julian Jones-Griffith.
However, he said they are yet to formulate exactly what form his contribution will take.
Minister of Culture, Youth and Sports, Olivia 'Babsy' Grange, made the announcement during the Caribbean launch of the UNiTE campaign to end violence against women, held at the Hilton Barbados, this week.
Grange said Bounty Killer, whose real name is Rodney Pryce, had sent a message to her while she was at the conference, stating that he wanted to turn a new page in his life and was willing to be part of any programme that addresses the issue of violence against women.
The United Nations Secretary-General's campaign has been using Caribbean artistes to convey messages for a change from the form of abuse which continues to increase in the region.
reap success
Grange, who was chairing a panel on Caribbean artistes at the conference, said using artistes to convey the message for a transformed society was a positive move which would reap success.
"There is no doubt that if you want to increase public awareness and social mobilisation you have to use music," she said.
Dominican artiste Nelly Stharre expressed her delight for the opportunity to contribute to the change in society. She said artistes can make a difference through music by conveying the right messages in music. "A lot of time artistes don't understand the opportunity and responsibility we have to make a difference in society, more effective than our parents and teachers, even politicians," she said.
Stharre noted that it would take hard work and determination to tackle the problem which has been plaguing society for so long.
Adisa Jelani Andwele, an artiste, who is the UNDP spokesperson for peace and poverty eradication, and reggae artiste Masud Sadiki from St Kitts, are also working with the group.
The United Nations Development Fund for Women (UNIFEM) said artistes, due to their power of voice and personality, can make a tremendous contribution to the campaign by educating and sensitising everyone, who needs to join in the fight to end gender-based violence.
In the meantime, UNIFEM has pledged to work along with the 'Sisters for Sisters' and the 'Brothers for Sisters' programme in Jamaica, as well as several artistes, to extend their cultural Caribbean artistes UNiTE to the island.
Marvin Sparks caught up with Jamaican dancehall artist Busy Signal to discuss why he feels underrated, his reception in Europe compared with Jamaica, substance in dancehall music, what inspires his content and musical infulences, and whether he'll work with foe, Aidionia. All exclusively for The Wrap Up...
Since his explosion on the dancehall scene with the anthem Step Out in 2005, Busy Signal has become one of the best-known and most respected dancehall acts internationally. Busy is what his friends used to call him based on his busy body never staying in one place when he snuck out of his house to attend parties with friends as a teenager against his mothers wishes. Signal was added to complete the stage name. July 2010 saw the release of his third album, D.O.B. which stands for Difference Of Busy Signal or the Dominance Of Busy Signal, aiming to showcase his class and his level as a dancehall artist that thinks outside of the box.
Online editing: Joseph 'JP' Patterson
Biko Kennedy, Gleaner Writer
Dancehall songstress Bridgett 'Bridgez' Roache has had a passion for music from a very tender age. The single Roll Out, featuring Bounty Killer, has been receiving favourable airplay but, as Saturday Life found out, there is much more to this melodic singer-songwriter than that which meets the eye.
Saturday Life (SL): You were in a church group, was the intention ever to become a gospel artiste?
Bridgez (B): At the time I was only 11 and really shy, plus it was my first time performing, so at that time my focus wasn't on becoming an artiste at all.
SL: Who would you say you admire musically?
B: Mariah Carey, Aaliyah, Nadine Sutherland and Diana King.
SL: What kind of technology did you use to record your demos back then? And, what were the main topics your songs at that time focused on?
B: I'd mostly record using the mic on my computer, then immediately saving them. Back then, my songs evolved as I matured. First, I wrote mostly gospel, then love songs, then songs about relationships and social activities, basically anything people can relate to.
SL: Do you think that you are made to be a solo artiste?
B: Yep (lol)! 'Cause when you are in a group, you'll always find someone who will always want things to go their way and I'm not up for that 'cause I'm the type of person now who has a lot to say and my opinion must count!
SL: What contests and auditions did you participate in throughout your lifetime, which would you say were memorable?
B: I auditioned in the second staging of the Digicel Rising Stars competition and I didn't get to see the judges because there was this massive crowd, so we had to perform in front of Digicel personnel and you can conclude what happened (lol).
SL: Why do you think your songs 'If Love's a Game' and 'Shy' didn't get much attention?
B: Mainly because it wasn't released the right way.
SL: Of all the songs you've recorded which would you recommend individuals to listen to? What do you think is extra special about that track?
B: Hmm ... Take my Breath Away. It was recorded in only 10 minutes and I think people can relate to it more than my other songs.
SL: How were you approached by Bounty Killer to join The Alliance?
B: It really was a gradual thing as Bounty was always there from I was recording with Jah Snowcone Entertainment - always there encouraging and motivating me until one day he just said he wanted to manage me and I was like sure (lol).
SL: How would you say your career has changed since joining The Alliance?
B: Definitely booking more shows and getting more recognition locally and internationally.
SL: Have you seen any drawbacks in being associated with The Alliance?
B: (lol) No. I know The Alliance is known for various altercations but it comes down to my personality and staying out of beef with our rivals is the best thing.
SL: What can we look forward to seeing Bridgez doing in the future?
B: A whole lot more creative material.
Reggae singer/songwriter Duane Stephenson was recently invited by the World Food Program (WFP) to perform in honor of the United States Secretary of State, Hillary Rodham Clinton. The event took place at the George McGovern Leadership Awardceremony in Washington, D.C. on Tuesday, October 5.
Stephenson was at the tail end of his U.S. tour with the Wailers, and the two parties previously teamed up for a song that manifested a partnership with the WFP. "The Wailers and I are partners with the World Food Program," says Stephenson. "Our song 'A Step for Mankind' has helped to spread the message of the need for more action in addressing the issue of world hunger."
Stephenson was thus invited to perform at the ceremony that included political dignitaries and social activists from around the world at the prestigious event, where Secretary Clintonwas presented with The George McGovern Leadership Award for her work to curb global hunger.
NOW AFTAH BUSY BREED U AND DID WAA DISOWN DI SWEET LIKKLE BABY.. U LOVE DI DRINKIN DI SMOKING N DI ROAD SUH MUCH NOW U LEF COUNTRY COME A TOWN A BOX BOUT!
PEOPLE SHANTAL PICKUP A BEATING WHEY DAY FROMA GYAL WHEY SHE A TEK HAR MAN! DEM SEH IT WAS A NEAT BEATING SHE GET! FIXUP SEAL UP TIE DUNG COVA UP AND WHEN DI GYAL BEAT HAR DI MAN RUN HAR LAKKA DOG INFRONT A EVERYBADDIEEEE! DI WAY U LOW U TEK UPA BRITE WID DI GYAL MAN AND DEM SEH DI MAN CYAA EVEN SORT OUT.....NOTHING HIM BRING TO DI BED FOOT! SUH DI GYAL WHEY BEAT U SHANTAL....YES SHE..... MS NEAT BEATER RUN HIM.... SUH NOW DI MAN A TEK DI FREE SAWTING FROM U AND HIM RUN A LOOK BACK HIM OOMAN CAUSE HIM SHAME.........BUT DEM SEH DI GYAL NUH WANT HIM OOOOOO SHE PICKUP A BETTA PIPELAYER....AND U A RUN ROUN A GET DI FREE NUH GOOD STRIKING SHANTAL!.....HOW U COME SUH LIKKLE GYALL? PRETTY AS U IS U SKIN CLEAN U SHAPE NICE BUT U OLE A RUN LIKE A IT NAME USIAN BOLT... N U NUH SI ALL HIM TEK A BREAK? ROSIE FOCKOUT DI WHOLE A UPTOWN....ANY MAN WHEY LEF A BAWN DEM NUH BAWN YET SUH WHEY U COME N A TEK UP WHEY SHE PUDUNG FAH DAT OOMAN CAN A BEAT U N MAN A SHAME U N BARE TINGS! GO HOME TO U DAWTA IYAH
DI SMADDY SEH DIS: Unu need to help her. start a fund, a project, be like oprah and make a wish or some %&%* like that, cause i honestly feel sorry for her. a young girl with no direction, and no future. she need to go back to ochi and hopefully find a rich white tourist."
A man the cops say used his cellphone to advertise the type of gun he owns, reportedly learnt the folly of his ways after the police secured a warrant and allegedly seized the weapon at his home.
He is Craig Paul Clarke, labourer, of Braeton, Portmore, St Catherine.
When the case was mentioned in the Spanish Town Resident Magistrate's Court yesterday, defence attorney Tom Tavares-Finson asked that the matter be transferred to the Gun Court.
THE STAR learnt that on September 26, about 4:30 p.m., Clarke was arrested and taken to the Portmore Police Station, after it was alleged that he stole a package of sliced fish from a business establishment.
reacting strangely
He was being processed for simple larceny when an alert policeman was said to have observed a picture of a pistol as a screen saver on his phone.
The policeman became suspicious and reportedly told Clarke that he wanted the gun that he had seen on the phone. It is reported that the accused then started reacting strangely.
A warrant was later secured by the police and they took the accused to his home in Braeton, St Catherine.
During a search of the house, it is alleged that a Sig Sauer 9mm pistol loaded with 16 rounds was reportedly seized from a chest of drawers. Five additional rounds were also alleged to be in a foot of sock.
Source:http://www.jamaica-star.com/thestar/20101013/news/news5.html
Female singer Timberlee yesterday dismissed claims that there was a rift in TNT, which is a group comprising herself, Tifa and Natalie Storm.
With Timberlee's absence from Tifa's latest medley video for Nah Stop Shine/ Move Your Body and its premiere last week, questions were raised about whether or not the group was still together. There were also rumours circulating that the two were no longer as close as they once were. The speculations were further fuelled by the fact that Natalie Storm was present for all the activities.
However, when asked if there was in fact a split, Timberlee said, "no, definitely not." She said her schedule simply clashed with Tifa's.
"I was trying to make it. I was late for the club scene, and on the day of the white T-shirt scene I had car troubles. As for the video premiere, I was sick and there was no way I could leave out," she told THE STAR.
Meanwhile, Timberlee said she has been keeping a low profile, while busy voicing new songs. She said she recently recorded a song for Jam 2 and a collaboration with Ce'Cile. In addition, the music video for one of her most recent singles The General will be released by the end of November.
"I am doing the work. I am not really promoting because I am working on some projects that I am not talking about just yet. I am keeping a low-profile, just writing and voicing.
There's a lot of stuff, dem just nuh come out yet," Timberlee said.
Manchester City hope to tie up former Barcelona kid Gai Assulin.
The talented young Israeli, once dubbed the "new Messi", has flown in for a medical ahead of signing for City and fulfilling his dream of coming to England.
Assulin, just 19, can sign for City immediately as he is a free agent after cancelling his deal at the Camp Nou. He impressed Roberto Mancini's staff on his previous visit two months ago.
The teenage starlet hopes to be clear of the injury that stopped him signing on his first trip - and City are poised to bring him into their squad as soon as possible if he is fit.
Assulin could not play in the Premier League at this stage and with City out of the Carling Cup he would probably be groomed in the reserves or even sent out on loan.
City insiders were raving about Assulin on his arrival as he has qualities they lack in their emerging group of players and he could make a future for himself despite the huge opposition in their expensive squad.
THERE is a saying that states that there is a first time for everything and TEENage agrees with that 100 per cent. A little history lesson never hurts and so, this week, we take a look at some 'first time' facts.
1 The greatest snow fall ever in a single storm was 189 inches at the Mount Shasta Ski Bowl in February, 1959. The snow storm lasted from February 13-19.
2 The first feature-length animated film, released by Disney Studios in 1937, was Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs.
3 The town of Tidikelt in the Sahara Desert once went 10 years without rainfall.
4 The word 'earthling' was first found in print in 1593.
5 The coldest outdoor temperature ever recorded on earth was 127 below zero in Antarctica on August 24, 1960.
6 An earthquake on December 16, 1811 caused parts of the Mississippi River to flow backwards.
7 The Beatles were depicted in wax at Madame Tussaud's Wax Museum in London, in 1964, the first pop album stars to be honoured.
8 The crew of Apollo 11, who put the first man on the moon have the same initials as the first men on earth. Armstrong: Adam, Aldine: Abel and Collins: Cain.
9 The first man-made object to circle the earth was Sputnik I, a satellite, was launched in 1957.
10 The record for the biggest one day rainfall was set on Reunion Island in the Indian Ocean, on March 15, 1952, where 74 inches of rain fell in 24 hours.
Source:http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/teenage/10--things-I-bet-you-never-knew_8042251