Forum: News & Topical Issues

News updates, entertainment, hot topics, gossip | Share and discover what is happening right now.

Trinidad born Jennifer Caroll made history last week.

The conservative Republican became the first black person and first woman elected Lieutenant Governor of Florida.

"I'm a true Trinidadian. A true Trini. Trini to the bone declared Carroll, 51, the number two to new Florida governor Rick Scott, in an interview in the Trinidad Express.

But though Carroll, who moved to the US when she was 8, is proud of her Caribbean roots, some Caribbean-Americans say her victory might prove to be a defeat for them.

Tea Party ties a concern

Her Caribbean-born critics say Carroll, a businesswoman, a former US Navy mechanic and a former Florida lawmaker, has ties to the radical right wing Tea Party movement.

They are also concerned because she has said she would like to see Florida pass a tough immigration law which would give the authorities the right to arrest anyone suspected of being an undocumented immigrant.

Our people didnt vote for her, for the Republicans, so they might make us suffer says Bevan Earle, editor of Floridas Caribbean Voice newspaper. Carroll is not in tune with our Caribbean community.

But Jennifer Carroll wouldnt agree.

Caribbean "Republicans"

She says Caribbean people are by nature Republicans and points as an example to her adoptive parents, her great aunt, a cleaner, and her great uncle, a labourer.

I felt more in line with the Republican philosophy and principles because my parents worked very hard she told the South Florida Times.

My dad always told me, Nobody owes you anything. You have to work through any obstacles that come your way.

Carroll has had her share of obstacles, both personal and political.

She was raised by relatives in the absence of her parents and she failed twice in bids to win election to the US Congress.

Still, Jennifer Carroll hopes her victory will encourage African-Americans and Caribbean-Americans to view the Republicans as a party worthy of their vote.

When asked, they want less government control, less taxes, and less government intrusion in your life Jennifer Caroll says of black voters, but they are so tied to the Democratic Party."

Katie Holmes pictures
This unseemly grudge against Trinidad must end. We are family. Jamaica is a US$2b market for Caricom; what stops the JMA from making the goods and keeping the money here? Are Trinidad's goods unique? Why the shrill threats of boycott of our CSME friend? There's a problem with energy and Bruce should act. JMA wants to level-down, which would hurt Trini citizens; but Bruce can level-up the playing field at the stroke of a pen by setting an industrial energy tariff! Kamla Persad-Bissessar is not our enemy! Do we buy from them as charity? No! It's business. CSME rests on a false premise so we can't cede our economy to this body in Guyana. Is it her fault that CSME can't defy physics? That the largest member is destitute - distant and economic integration with Mars might be easier?

FRANKLIN-JOHNSTON_w95.jpg

FRANKLIN JOHNSTON

Our private sector is rightly annoyed. Minister Shaw and Samuda are in stealth mode and leave JMA to fight what is really their political battle. Political unions of states are hard to manage. President Obama is head of a federal government of 50 states and they just gave him a *la*hdy nose. World applause is good but a leader must please his people first. These unions can't please everyone - worse our CSME as it is poor, lacks critical mass; we are destitute and distant from the core. Unions require their federal HQ to have strategic stockpiles. We are CSME's distant border. Georgetown, like DC, is capital of a union, but DC has federal assets all over its domain, quite separate from each state's assets - not so Guyana. Trinidad should be the CSME's hub for the EC, being close to them; we at the far border should be CSME's north Atlantic hub and have some federal jobs, troops, food, transport, stores, etc. But CSME is too poor, so it won't happen.

The case of Irish cheese is instructive. Ireland is giving all citizens a free block of cheese to boost morale and nutrition, given the awful taxes, job losses and poverty. It is Irish cheese and the EU pays Irish farmers for it. Can CSME help us like this? St Vincent de Paul charity says, "Half the calls we take are about food and energy". Fr Ho Lung might say this applies to us here too. Can Caricom give a Xmas gift to the 11m Haitians? (No cholera here please!) What nutritional food like cheese do we produce in the quantity that CSME could buy to give to our 3m people? None! We hide behind debt, but debt is no barrier to local food production. We destroyed our dairy industry with subsidised imports. Ireland is the sixth most indebted nation but it produces food. Japan, first with debt of 225 per cent of GDP is the second biggest economy. Debt doesn't stop them. The JLP grows our debt mountain, but Minister Tufton has no local food to give each citizen a Christmas hamper in this hard time. We are work-shy people with visionless, selfish leaders! Tufton says we produced more food than last year. It means little as he did not tell us in advance what were the national targets. No Christmas hamper for him either!

Can Caricom survive our truculence? Do we bully Kamla because she is a woman? Why do we buy Trini goods? Buy elsewhere! We carry a grudge, but Kamla did not mess up Jamaica - we did. Why not tell Bruce to do for JMA what she does for her manufacturers?

Humanitarian relief is not the same as building assistance. Kamla gave unconditional humanitarian aid to St Vincent and St Lucia (water, food, mattresses, etc). She got a request for housing materials and said "If we are giving assistance...for housing...then we may be able to use T&T builders so that whatever assistance is given redounds back in some measure to the people of T&T." This is sense! If she buys these from the USA and donates them, why can't Trini contractors build the houses? The sheer hypocrisy of her critics! This is what the US, UK and Canada do here and not once did PSOJ, JMA, the media or Cabinet ask them to use our consultants, contractors or architects. The IMCJ - local consultants - asked Cabinet to get US aid projects to use our experts; ministers ignored them, yet criticise PM Kamla. Where did we get the sense of entitlement? This means three things: First, we are only team players when we lead the team; next, the "don" culture has reached business - intimidate when you can't compete; third, we "get uppity" only with Caricom partners, we dare not say a word to the US or UK who give with long strings attached and our trade deficit is larger with them than with Caricom!

Now, let me share some tit-bits from the EU as it is the model for CSME. Caricom's food strategy is based on a crop focus for a member. The EU model of subsidy and stockpile works, as for the US federal government. They are now eroding their food mountain as the cold war is over. The EU model means members produce more and get paid. Subsidy, stockpile and dispersal on demand is the route to food security for us and for CSME!

Recently the EU directed that prisoners be given the vote and PM Cameron is "furious" as the British have other views. Would we tolerate edicts like this from Guyana? Many Brits oppose the EU and we must oppose CSME unless it works for us. Britain kept its currency, control of its economy and there is a UK Independence Party (UKIP) with 13 MEPs in the European Parliament, working to take Britain out of the EU. The fact that rich EU members had to pay for Greece's mistakes to save their own economies proves a point. CSME is a distraction for our economy. With the energy we spend to cuss Trini we could find new markets. Let's be like Britain in the EU; control our economy but ride with CSME? What about an Independence party? Food for thought, my friend!

Barry Chevannes

Barry was a revolutionary. He envisioned a just Jamaica and worked at it. I can't dispel the feeling that were he a politician he would have been airlifted abroad to benefit from cutting-edge medicine, and would still be with us. He was our special one; driven by Jesuit ideals; alumnus of the Social Action Centre - the "Kane" crucible of brain-led revolution, championing growth and fairness - other alumni serve in all walks of life. His concern for the disadvantaged, his soft-spoken intellect and quiet activism were impressive. He was of the original Abeng family and did saffron our activism with music. Barry was my beloved friend. We proved that "my father's house" can hold "many mansions" - one old VW van held many families; wife Paulette, daughters Amba and Abena are mine too, his vision my cause. Stay strong, he is now in his mansion! Live on, Barry!

Dr Franklin Johnston is an international project manager with Teape-Johnston Consultants currently on assignment in the UK. franklinjohnston@hotmail.com

top 35 Riddim name you most have

February 4, 2008
Started By asian15 Comments
Armshouse Action anthology Arab attack ba ba b***booo Bag It Up bitter *lo** riddim Book Shelf Riddim Bug BROCK OUT RIDDIM HAPPY HAPPY RIDDIM Feat Riddem CLOAK & DAGGAR DIGITAL IMPACT RIDDIM JOY RIDE RIDDIM HEAD ACE RIDDIM hargazim riddim Bada Bada - Riddim Badis riddim greetings RIDDIM GROWING RIDDIM Tushumpeng Riddim Slow Down Riddim PEENIE PEENIE RIDDIM Baby Why Riddim cuss cuss riddim soap riddim TAXI RIDDIM TAXI ORIGINAL RIDDIM M 16 RIDDIM kuchi full up riddim kuchi riddim China town RIDDIM four season fly the gate riddim score originol PUNAANEY RIDDIM

alg_harveywestmoreland.jpg

Most fights between old friends usually involve some cursing, maybe a few punches thrown. But in Kentucky, they're off that old school stuff. You got beef in Kentucky, you best be ready to eat your own beard if you lose a dispute.

In one of the weirdest stories of the week, a Kentucky man had his beard shaved off, stuffed it in his mouth and was forced to to swallow it, following a fight with two former friends during a dispute over a lawnmower.

Harvey Westmoreland told Lexington tv station WLEX-18 he never would have expected this from his former friends Troy Holt and James Hill.

"They were pretty good guys," Westmoreland said.

This all stemmed from the attempted sale of a lawnmower.

"Troy offered to buy it from me for $250 dollars, I paid $20 bucks for it. One thing led to another and before I know'd it, there was knives, guns, everything just went haywire."

hillholt.PNG

While Westmoreland's brother was held at knifepoint, Holt and Hill took his most prized possesion and shoved it down his throat.

"They cut my beard, and forced me to eat it," he said.

Eventually Holt and Hill left and were later arrested after the police were called, but Westmoreland is still mourning the loss of his beard.

"It's not as long as it was."

THE St Andrew North Police this morning detained more than 60 persons during an operation in the troubled community of 'Big Yard' which runs off Mannings Hill Road.

According to head of crime for the division Deputy Superintendent Altermoth 'Parra' Campbell one of the persons detained is wanted in connection with several crimes committed in the Kingston West Police Division.

"I am not sure if he has been listed as a person of interest but he is a major player in crimes committed in that division according to our intelligence," Campbell told the Observer.

The Jamaica Public Service Company also sent contractors on the operation and disconnected a number of illegal electricity connections in the community which is situated at 59 Mannings Hill Road.

"A number of persons will be charged for trespassing on the works of the JPS," Campbell said.

The cops also seized several rounds of ammunition, knives and other offensive weapons.

Last week two men were shot dead at the entrance of the community in what police suspect is an internal war in Big Yard. The dead men, 26-year-old Randal White also called 'Troy' and Kevon Brown, 23, were being sought by the police for several shootings and other serious crimes in the community.

t1larg.sarkozy.fillon.afp_.gi_-300x168.jpgFrench Prime Minister Francois Fillon resigned Saturday, setting the stage for an expected cabinet reshuffling.

President Nicolas Sarkozy accepted the resignation of Fillon and his government, Sarkozys office said.

The expected move came weeks after the French parliament passed controversial pension reform, sparking protests.

Fillons resignation gives Sarkozy the opportunity to shake up the current leadership of some ministries, said Christian Mallard, senior foreign policy analyst for France 3 television.

Its very possible Sarkozy may reappoint Fillon, as early as Sunday, Mallard told CNN. The new prime minister would form a government.

The French like him, Mallard said of Fillon, a moderate conservative. A lot of people think it would be a mistake for Sarkozy to fire him.

The resignation may accomplish something else.

The future government will be downsized, maybe from 28 to 16 (ministers), Mallard said.

Sarkozy faces re-election in about 18 months and has many issues on his plate, including the economy and unemployment.

Fillon has been a calming influence, Mallard told CNN. He is always the guy who never loses his temper.

fantasia-barrino-picture-1.jpg

After meeting with her boyfriends Antwaun Cooks wife Paula Cook for 14 hours, Fantasia may still be facing a lawsuit for stealing Cooks husband.

Radaronline is reporting the American Idol winner met with her boyfriends scorned wife, Paula Cook, earlier this month in an attempt to keep the details of Barrinos alleged affair with Antwaun Cook private and out of the Mecklenburg County courthouse.

A source close to the situation says the two women attempted to settle their dispute through private mediation but the ladies were unable to reach a settlement, propelling Cook to move forward with a civil lawsuit against the singer.

Fantasia was prepared to pay Paula as much as $100,000 to settle during their mediation, but it fell through, another source told RadarOnline.com.

Paula plans on going all the way and is going to sue Fantasia for Alienation of Affection.

Poor Fanny!!! Can you really sue for ALIENATION OF AFFECTION?

Add Janet Jacksons name to the list of Jackson family members upset by Oprah Winfreys interview with the kids of their late brother, Michael. Even though Janet has appeared on Oprah several times, she didnt think the kids should have done it, says an insider. Jacksons handlers did not respond to requests for comment. Her brother Randy Jackson recently voiced his displeasure in a more public fashion.
IS IT ME OR HIM SEEM A BIT DRUNK???pree2

HOW U MEAN YUTE !!!! THERES NUTTING MORE TO SAY !!!bigup di muu2 DEM!! RRRRRRRRRRR!

A Haitian resident suffering from cholera waits for help on a street at the slum of Cite-Soleil in Port-au-Prince November 10, 2010. REUTERS/St-Felix Evens

The death toll in Haiti's cholera epidemic climbed on Thursday to 800, according to an American medical expert, but U.S. health authorities said the risk of widespread transmission to the United States was low, given good sanitation there.

Fatalities from the diarrheal disease have risen steadily since the start of the outbreak more than three weeks ago in the poor Caribbean nation, which is struggling to recover from the effects of a devastating January 12 earthquake.

Ezra Barzilay, an epidemiologist at the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), said the emergency in Haiti created by the epidemic was worsening.

"As of November 8, we had about 640 deaths. Today we are at 800," he said in a call from Haiti to participants at a medical conference in Biloxi, Mississippi.

"The situation here is more dire every day. Haitians are in line (for treatment). Hospital beds are gone. Hospitals are completely overrun," he said, adding local medical staff were being forced into choices over which patients they treated.

Haiti's health ministry said on Thursday that up to Tuesday, November 9, confirmed deaths from cholera totaled 724, with 11,125 hospitalized cases registered. Ten deaths had been recorded in the capital Port-au-Prince, where authorities fear contagion in crowded camps housing earthquake survivors.

Neighboring Dominican Republic was on high alert to prevent possible transmission. In the United States, just two hours flying time away from Haiti, authorities said there was a possibility of a few cholera cases emerging through travel links. But the risk of widespread transmission was low.

"Good sanitation which includes plumbing, separation of fecal wastes and similar measures, and access to safe drinking water in the United States would work against widespread transmission," CDC spokesman David Daigle told Reuters.

On its website, the Florida Department of Health said travel to and from Haiti had increased since the Haitian earthquake with travelers including relief workers and local Haitian residents visiting family in Haiti.

"Cholera does not spread easily in developed countries such as the U.S., but we want to be sure we do not miss any high-risk situations, like cholera in a food-handler, or clusters or outbreaks," the department said.

Florida has some 241,000 Haitian-born residents, 46 percent of the Haitian-born population in the United States.

Haiti's epidemic, which experts believe was worsened by flooding caused by Hurricane Tomas this month, has piled another humanitarian emergency on the Western Hemisphere's poorest state, whose capital was wrecked by the January earthquake that killed more than 250,000 people.

Presidential and legislative elections scheduled for November 28 in the Caribbean nation are set to go ahead.

(Reporting by Joseph Guyler Delva in Port-au-Prince, Leigh Coleman in Biloxi, Maggie Fox in Washington; Editing by Pascal Fletcher and Xavier Briand)

usain-bolt_1297104c.jpg

THIS is part three of the Observer's 10-part serialisation of Usain Bolt: My Story 9.58 - Being the World's Fastest Man, chronicling the life of triple Olympic and world champion Usain Bolt, from his early primary school days to the present time.

Bolt speaks from the heart in this revealing autobiography. From his experiences as a schoolboy athlete and his struggles with injuries; to his family life and performances at the 2008 Beijing Olympics and 2009 World Championships in Berlin, he recounts and shares, in his customary easy-going and candid style, his hopes and his regrets, and his plans for the future.

Inspiring and entertaining, this easy to read book at over 280 pages is in full colour and contains never-before-seen photographs of Bolt at work and at play. Testimonials from those who have had a major influence in the young athlete's life give the book a truly authentic voice. Enjoy:

Whenever I get stressed by life, Trelawny, the parish where I was born, is where I return. It's quiet, with a slower pace to life. I can chill, and nobody bothers me. In Kingston where I live because of my training demands, people are always calling up and coming to see me. That's good, but sometimes you need to get away from it all. In Trelawny, I can sit on the verandah outside mom and dad's house, relax and clear my mind. People walk past and say 'hi' but that's it, man. They've known me since I was a youngster, so seeing me is no big deal.

I'm a normal human being who can get stressed out once in a while, not about track and field, which never worries me, but personal things like girls, business and stuff that needs organising. Back home I'll stay at mom and dad's in Coxeath near Sherwood Content, go around to Aunty Lilly's, visit my grandmother, and meet up with the guys who were my friends from way back when we played cricket together on the road outside our front door...

I'm still in touch with many of my old teachers from my very first school, Peidmont Basic school, as well as Waldensia Primary and William Knibb High School. I started basic School when I was two, and one of the teachers, Mrs. Sheron Seivwright, is still there. My Principal at Waldensia, Miss Mamrie Flash, who always looked out for me, helps out there, even though she has retired. My sports coach at William Knibb, Miss Lorna Thorpe, who was like a second mother, is still going strong too. I owe so much to all of them for bringing me up in the right way.

The drive home to Coxeath takes you off the main highway and away into the country along a winding single-track road... The approach to home takes me past Piedmont and Waldensia and the little athletics track where it all started for me. It's a tight, 250m, not quite properly proportioned oval with an 80m flat track and that two-foot drop towards the finish line...

As a child I was good at all sports, especially running, cricket and football. I liked being a goalkeeper and got loads of cuts and bruises from diving around on the stones in the g**** making saves. Cricket was the big sport in primary school. I was a fast bowler as well as a number three batsman. We were too young to use a proper cricket bat, but I was lethal with a plastic one and by grade six had learned to swing it through the air; which takes some doing.

I was a bit of a prankster in school and would find myself being disciplined a few times...We actually had a lot of fun in school, like in grade five with Miss Roberts, who had false teeth which were always falling out. Once we went to a nearby sugar factory on a class field trip, and when we were giving her trouble she screamed so loudly that her teeth shot out of her mouth and fell down to the bottom of this hill. We couldn't stop laughing.

9.58 - Being the World's Fastest Man by Usain Bolt, published by Ian Randle Publishers, price J$2,000/US$22.95.

CharlesMarleyR_800x586.jpg

Rita Marley, widow of Reggae superstar Bob Marley, is to receive the Institute of Caribbean Studies' (ICS) 2010 Marcus Garvey Lifetime Achievement Award.

The award will be presented to her at the ICS 17th Annual Caribbean American Heritage Awards Gala this evening (November 12), at the JW Marriott Hotel in downtown Washington D.C.

According to President and Founder of ICS, Dr. Claire Nelson, Rita Marley is the perfect recipient for the award this year. She told JIS news that the award recognizes persons who, unselfishly, advocate to empower and uplift people of Caribbean and African descent.

Dr. Nelson said that throughout the life of Rita Marley, her music and actions have demonstrated an unconditional will to help lift the image of Africa on the global stage, while assisting Jamaicans.

The Marcus Garvey Lifetime Award is presented annually, by the ICS, to an individual or organization that has demonstrated a commitment to the principles of human empowerment of the people of African descent. Since its inception, recipients have included Reggae superstar, Jimmy Cliff; Trinidad and Tobago's Calypso star, Slinger Francisco (The Mighty Sparrow); and Frederick "Toots" Hibberts of Toots and the Maytals fame.

Last year, the ICS conferred the Vanguard Award on world and Olympic champion sprinter, Usain Bolt.

Haiti cholera death toll reaches 724

November 11, 2010
Started By jubalson3 Comments

Health centres in Port-au-Prince overwhelmed

PORT-AU-PRINCE, Haiti The cholera death toll in Haiti reached 724 today, with three of the deaths reported in this capital, where health centres are overwhelmed by new cases.

The Ministry of Public Health reported that the number of infected people nationwide exceeds 11,000.

regis_w370.jpg

Authorities expect a worst-case scenario given the terrible conditions of drainage and water systems in the capital, inhabited by at least three million people.

The government is also working to strengthen its medical presence, shipments of supplies and drinking water in the northeast and in the department of Artibonite, the source of the epidemic, given the alarming increase in infections and deaths.

Since the outbreak began on October 20, nearly a dozen people have died daily, and 50 to 60 cases are confirmed every 24 hours.

Source;http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/Haiti-cholera-death-toll-reaches-724

Kartel, Mavado freed

November 11, 2010
Started By jubalson9 Comments

Supporters asked to remain calm

POPULAR deejays David 'Mavado' Brooks and Adijah 'Vybz Kartel' Palmer were this afternoon released by the police after spending a night in jail. Chris Tavares-Finson and Valerie Neita-Robertson, the attorneys representing Brooks and Kartel, confirmed their clients had been released.

Brooks' release came a few hours after his attorney filed a writ of habeas corpus in court, demanding the police either charge or release his client.

Both deejays were named by the police as persons of interest and were questioned this morning.

"All I can say at this point is that he is freed and the police have no further interest in him," Tavares-Finson told the Observer.

Neita-Robertson said the same for her client, Kartel, but also warned that supporters associating themselves with the artistes "must be careful of the things they do as this is casting a bad light on the artiste".

Police said both men wield considerable influence in the communities of Big Yard and Cassava Piece, which run off Mannings Hill Road. The cops say they were being questioned about several serious crimes that have been committed in the communities in recent times.

Source;http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/kartel--mavado-free

The nominees for the 2010 Soul Train Awards were announced yesterday, and the nominees for the BEST REGGAE ARTIST award are:
- Damian Marley
- Gramps Morgan
- Gyptian
- Jah Cure
- Mr. Vegas
- Vybz Kartel

The Soul Train Music Awards

is an annual award show which honors the best in Black music and entertainment, with the reggae category award being added just last year (Sean Paul was the winner).

The 2010 Soul Train Awards will be taped at the Cobb Energy Performing Arts Centre in Northwest Atlanton Wednesday, November 10. It will be aired on BET at 9 p.m. ET on Sunday, November 28

Gyptian

Gyptian

The Jamaican born artist has been riding high off the success of his global chart topping hit Hold Yuh, that was dubbed a 2010 summer anthem.

Damian Marley

Distant Relatives, Marleys recent collaboration with rapper Nas, proved the artist isnt resting on the legacy of his father and is out to make his own path.

Mr. Vegas

Mr. Vegas

Crowned the Dance Hall King, Mr. Vegas has been serving up hits for the past twelve years.

Jah Cure

Jah Cure

Jah Cure has been steaming up dance floors with Hot Long Time featuring Junior Reid, Flo Rida, and Movado.

Vybz Kartel

Vybz Kartel

His latest album Pon de Gaza has been heating up the reggae charts in the U.S and Europe.

Gramps Morgan

His recent album 2 Sides to my Heart has four hit singles that really speaks to reggae lovers.

vo-1447-p13-gregory-isaacs.jpg
Gregory Isaacs - Contributed

London, United Kingdom:

Family, fans and well-wishers yesterday said their final goodbye to Reggae legend Gregory Isaacs as hundreds turned out at the All Saints Anglican Church in Harrow Weald, North London.

The Gregory Isaacs All Star band played all the popular rhythms over which Gregory Isaacs delivered numerous number one songs over a 40-year career.

The Cool Ruler looked restful, lean from having shed much weight during his final battles with cancer, as he lay draped in silk, dressed in a white suit with glistening studs and a beautifully engraved bible placed in his hands. The artistically carved dark oak coffin was draped in a red, gold and green flag bearing the image of the Lion of Judah. A single wreath made of white roses sat atop, beside his trademark white fedora.

Jamaican High Commissioner to the United Kingdom gave a tribute on behalf of Prime Minister Hon. Bruce Golding, Minister of Youth, Sports and Culture, Hon Olivia 'Babsy' Grange, all the members of the Jamaican parliament and the Jamaican community in the UK.

He said Gregory Isaacs' life and work showed Jamaica's true potential in his rise from very humble beginnings to become a global superstar. "

Long-time friend and band leader Clifton 'Bigga' Morrison recounted his years with Isaacs in a tribute that was anecdotally engaging and informative. He gave a moving account of Isaacs' last days as he visited with him at his bedside. The audience joined him in a frequent chant "We love you Gregory".

Reggae journalist Mandingo gave a detailed account of Gregory Isaacs' life from the early days at 'Idlers' Rest' in downtown Kingston. He detailed Isaacs' contribution to the growth of reggae music and placed into context the impact he had on the development of modern reggae.

Veteran reggae singer King Sounds paid tribute in song with a rendition of You're My Pilot.

Among the members of the entertainment industry in attendance were J.C. Lodge, Winston Francis, Sylvia Tella, Janet Kay, Niney the Observer, Audrey Reid and Carl Bradshaw.

Following the ceremony, Gregory Isaacs' remains were taken to a rest home at Gatwick Airport from where he will be flown to Jamaica today for an official funeral on November 20. Gregory Isaacs died in London on October 25. He was 60 years old.

GregoryIsaacs11.jpg
Wake for Gregory Isaacs in north London

Source:http://www.jamaica-star.com/thestar/20101111/ent/ent1.html

CONSIDER THIS SH!T.......

November 11, 2010
Started By TBDGlamma4 Comments

Consider this sh!t...

..the next time u buy something from AMAZON.COM/.CA

An e-book for sale on Amazon.com that appears to defend pedophilia has sparked hundreds of angry user comments and threats to boycott the online retailer unless it pulls the title.

Nearly 1,700 users who had commented on the title as of 9:40 p.m. ET deplored its publication and vowed to boycott Amazon until it removes the self-published title from the site. At least two Facebook pages have been set up dedicated to boycotting Amazon because of the book.

The stated content appears to violate two of Amazon's content guidelines for digital publication. The company has not returned CNN's repeated requests for comment.

The author of "The Pedophile's Guide to Love and Pleasure: A Child-Lover's Code of Conduct" said he published the controversial tome to address what he considers unfair portrayals of pedophiles in the media.
http://news.blogs.cnn.com/2010/11/10...call/?hpt=Sbin

http://ac360.blogs.cnn.com/2010/11/1...iref=allsearch lc

REGGAEMARATHON1_w370.jpg

A record number of countries is expected for the 10th staging of the Reggae Marathon, Half Marathon and 10K events set for December 4, it was revealed at the launch of the event at the Altamont Court Hotel in Kingston yesterday.

Last year, a whopping 21 nations were represented, which was a big boost for Jamaica's sport's tourism, and expectation are high this year.

Diane Ellis, director of sponsorship, of the event, told the Observer that the "entries are still coming in" and anticipation is high that last year's figure will increase.

The Reggae Marathon, Half-Marathon and 10k event will start at the Long Bay Beach Park situated along Negril's famed seven-mile white sand beach. The course loops into the town of Negril, then heads towards the town of Green Island.

Sports Tourism is one of the island's fastest growing sectors and the event is seen as very important, hence, a plethora of sponsors, in conjunction with the Ministry of Sports and the Jamaica Tourism Board (JTB), is on board.

John Lynch, chairman and director of the JTB, said the event makes perfect sense for tourism.

Said Lynch: "It promotes Jamaica in all markets. This is a great event for Negril, the start of the Winter season and the timing could not have been better."

Reggae Marathon chairman Barclay Ewart said in his speech read by Dianne Ellis, that the vision was to create an annual event built on an activity that they love -- running -- that would not only have an impact on Jamaica, but also the world.

"Having seen the success of international marathons such as Boston and New York, they (organisers) decided that this was the way to go," said Ewart.

The Jamdammers Running Club, organisers of the event, said this year marks the 15th anniversary and was in keeping with their mandate of promoting healthy lifestyle through running and exposing and developing world-class talent at middle distances.

Club chairman Emile Leiba said after 10 years "we can safely say that the Marathon is achieving some of the goals and objective".

The Reggae Marathon will bring visitors to the island and Minister of Sports, Olivia "Babsy" Grange, said this demonstrates that sports tourism works.

Said Grange: "I truly believe that the world of sports respects and has fallen in love with Jamaica. If we organise our events the way we know how to, and if we invite the world, they will come," she noted.

Registration for the event opens on December 2 at the Couples Swept Away Sporting Complex between the hours of 1:00 and 5:00 pm.

On December3, there will be the Jamaica Hotel Tourism Association's (JHTA) "World Best" Pasta party from 5:30 pm to 9:00 pm, also at Couples Swept Away, and Village Bash at the Burger King Parking Lot in Negril Town Square, starting at 8:00 pm.

Saturday will see the races starting and finishing on the Long Bay Beach Park on the Norman Manley Boulevard, starting at 5:15 am.

There will be water/aid station every mile; cooling stations with misters and iced towel wraps, reggae music at every mile and medical stations positioned along the course with a helicopter on call for airlift to hospital in needed.

The male and female winners will receive the Bob and Rita Marley trophies and all participants will receive commemorative finishers medals.

Race director Alfredo Francis said they have taken great pride that the event continues to hold its own and bring economic benefits to Negril and Jamaica.

"Many events like the Reggae Marathon have not managed to stay the course because of financial difficulties. Some major international cities have been left in debt and have faced financial disaster after staging international games and marathon events," said Francis.

Approximately J$1 milion will be available in total prize monies. Entry fees for the marathon and Half-Marathon is US$95 per person and US$70 for the 10K. Deadline for entries close on November 24.

Tavaries a u lawyer eeehmm

Buju Banton FREE

November 10, 2010
Started By SVG8 Comments
Free at last Free at last thank god almight Buju Banton is free for the moment. After spending over a year in a Florida State jail Jamaican Dancehall Reggae star Buju Banton walked a slightly free man today. Buju will be free to visit his lawyers and his doctor and will be staying at his Florida home. There is no word yet as to when he will be available for interviews ...chances are he will not be able to participate in any revenue generating event, nor any event deem to be in breach of his bail conditions. His lawyers are now preparing for the next trial said to begin in February 2011.
I dont know after this I think Buju Banton should trim dem locks and stop smoking weed as punishment for getting himself in this mix up in the first place.

Police want Kartel & Mavado

November 10, 2010
Started By SVG9 Comments
Wanted for questioning in relation to recent crimes in St Andrew North Police Division

THE St Andrew North police have tonight named dancehall deejays Vybz Kartel and Mavado as persons of interest.

Vybz Kartel, whose real name is Adijah Palmer and Mavado, whose name is David Brooks are wanted by investigators to face interviews in relation to recent crimes committed in the division.

Police say Kartel wields considerable influence in a community known as 'Big Yard' while Mavado hails from a nearby community of Cassava Piece and is very influential there.

Last week Friday evening two men 26-year-old Randal White otherwise called 'Troy' and Kevon Brown, 23 both of Big Yard addresses were shot dead On Mannings Hill Road near the entrance to Big Yard.

Investigators said the double murder was the result of an internal conflict in Big Yard and named the two dead men as suspects in a number of shootings that took place in the area. The police said even though they were well known in Big Yard no one was seen mourning at the crime scene.

Palmer and Brooks are to report to the Constant Spring Police Station by 3:00 pm tomorrow.

Bounty set for Trial in 2011

November 10, 2010
Started By SVG1 Comments
Bountyk.jpg
While Mavado and Vybz Kartel remain wanted until they turn up tomorrow for questioning, the man that was instrumental in their musical careers, Bounty Killer, has his share of troubles pushed further in 2011 for resolution and closer.
The case relating to him zapping and hammering a 19 year old young lady appear to be in limbo as the young lady did not turn up today for the hearing and had indicated the last time that she wish to drop the charges against the DJ and enter into some form of Mediation. The case will be recalled January 11, 2011 whilst the other case pending for Bounty was set forward to March of 2011.

Vybze.jpg

Mavado.jpg

Mi likkle birdie tell me seh Reportimbusycome inna di Gleaner dis mawninreadingseh di Jamaican dancehall superstar dem - Adijah Palmer A.K.A Vybz Kartel an David Brooks A.K.A Mavado fi report to di Constant Spring Police Station by 3:00 pm dis afternoon (Wednesday, November 10).omi wonda a wah soh!!

Mi hear seh dem name down as persons ah interest by di St. Andrew North Police.hmmFrom a likkle release me hear she dem waan interview Kartel n Movado fi a numba a tings weh did a gwaan inna di area.o

MI WILL MEL SURE GI MORE NEWS WEN DEM COME EEN ZEENimbusySTAY TUNEDpc.gif

CruiseShip.jpg

The Carnival Splendor was 200 miles south of San Diego when an engine room fire cut its power early Monday, stranding the 3,299 passengers and 1,167 crew members on board. The 952-foot ship had no air conditioning, hot water or telephone service. Auxiliary power allowed toilets and cold running water to be restored Monday night.

The Mexican Riviera-bound ship, which was drifting about 55 miles off the northern Baja California coast, was in contact with the U.S. Coast Guard, which deployed aircraft and ships along with the U.S. Navy and Mexican Navy.Two Mexican seagoing tugboats contracted out of the port of Ensenada were expected to reach the cruise ship at middayTuesday and arrive back at the port around 8 p.m. PST Wednesday, Coast Guard Petty Officer Kevin Metcalf said.

Passengers will be taken by bus to California, said Joyce Oliva, a Carnival spokeswoman. She said she was unaware of any safety concerns from passengers or their families about traveling by bus in Mexico.

Ensenada is about 50 miles south of the nearest U.S. border crossing, in San Diego.

Once passengers are dropped off, the Splendor will be towed back to Long Beach, Calif., a journey that will take days. That's why the passengers will be dropped off in Mexico first.

"They didn't want to keep them aboard any longer than they had to," Metcalf said. "They're running only critical systems as of now."The U.S. Navy aircraft carrier USS Ronald Reagan, conducting maneuvers 120 miles south of San Diego, was diverted to help the ship. About 70,000 pounds of supplies, including bread, utensils, cups, milk, canned food and other items, will be flown to the 
Reagan, where helicopters will transfer them to the stricken cruise ship, Cmdr. Greg Hicks said.

The Splendor's seven-day voyage, which beganin Long Beach, was canceled and guests will get refunds, reimbursement for transportation costs and a free future cruise of equal value, the

cruise line said. After the fire, passengers were first asked to move from their cabins to the ship's upper deck, but eventually allowed to go back to their rooms. Bottled water and cold food were 
being provided. "We know this has been an extremely trying situation for our guests and we sincerely thank them for their patience," Carnival President and CEO Gerry Cahill said in the statement. "Conditions on board the ship are very challenging and we sincerely apologize for the discomfort and inconvenience our guests are currently enduring."

Carnival Corp.'s stock was down about 1 percent Tuesday.

Maskedman.jpg?width=721

Calling it an "unbelievable case of concealment," officials are trying to determine how a young Asian man in Hong Kong was able to disguise himself as an elderly Caucasian man and slip onto a Canada-bound flight.

It is believed that the man managed to get on the plane with only a boarding pass and Aeroplan card, both of which belonged to a 55-year-old U.S. citizen.

The unnamed young man at the centre of the curious case, which occurred late last month, is currently in detention in Vancouver following a refugee claim.

Public Safety Minister Vic Toews said that the case is "very disconcerting" and officials are probing if all of the visual compliance regulations were carried out as the man boarded the plane.

"These regulations are passed for specific reasons to identify individuals before they board a plane. And how something like this has happened needs to be determined," Toews told CTV's Power Play.

The incident was detailed in a confidential Nov. 1 Canada Border Services Agency, obtained by CNN.

The bulletin says the passenger was seen at the start of the flight as an elderly Caucasian man, wearing a brown leather cap, glasses and a thin brown cardigan.

He also appeared to have young-looking hands and was carrying It appears the man had been wearing a silicone head and neck mask. During the flight, he went into the washroom and emerged as "an Asian-looking male who appeared to be in his early 20s."

The bulletin calls it an "unbelievable case of concealment."

Arne Kislenko, a former senior immigration officer, told Power Play that "something's gone horribly wrong here."

He added that it remains to be seen which documents the man actually had, but that "it exposes a weakness in the system."

"In all my years I've never seen anything like this."

When asked about the incident during question period on Friday, Government House Leader John Baird said the incident is not only of "deep concern", but also demands more questions be answered.

Speculating on how someone might have slipped through the various levels of airport security, former CSIS intelligence officer Michel Juneau-Katsuya said the man likely passed through the first rigourous security check using his own identity.

"But it's only when he came to the last stage before boarding that he probably met his accomplice, swiped the boarding pass, went to the washroom and put on his disguise," Juneau-Katsuya told CTV News Channel on Friday.

"Where the problem comes is with the Air Canada employees, unfortunately, who did not ask for photo ID."

After landing in Vancouver on Oct. 29, Border Services Officers escorted the man off the plane where he "proceeded to make a claim for refugee protection," the bulletin said.

The security breach is potentially embar****ing for Air Canada, given that the airline made headlines last summer when British tourists filmed Muslim women boarding a flight without revealing their faces.

Beyond the embar****ment, Juneau-Katsuya believes the carrier may be making itself a target.

"We've got Air Canada flagging itself as a weak point, and my preoccupation is that they might be now used by terrorists as a weak point," he said, adding that air travellers can take some consolation from the incident.

In response, Air Canada spokesperson John Reber said the airline could not comment on the matter, as it is still an open case.

"The matter is still under investigation by the CBSA," Reber told The Canadian Press.

The man is due to appear at an Immigration and Refugee Board hearing.

Makeup artist Colin Penman said many people could be fooled by a good-quality disguise.

"I might have probably picked up on the nuances that weren't quite right, but to the average person, he's just another old man walking on to a plane," he told CTV's Daniele Hamamdjian.

Such disguises can also be purchased online for about $600, Hamamdjian reported

Wiz Khalifa, the Pittsburgh MC who has been climbing the Hot 100 with his single "Black & Yellow," was arrested last night (Nov. 8) on marijuana charges in Greenville, NC, the Associated Press reports. The rapper (real name: Cameron Thomaz) was charged with three drug counts after officers smelled marijuana backstage at an East Carolina University performance on Monday, according to college spokesman John Durham.

In this video of the arrest posted by Nah Right, students can be heard booing the policemen taking Khalifa into custody and yelling "Free Wiz!" and "Smoke weed every day."

Khalifa reportedly posted a $300,000 bond on Tuesday morning and left the Pitt County Detention Center. Before his arrest, the rapper wrote, "Smoke outs in Greenville NC tonite. Fall thru wit ur finest plant life," on his Twitter account. "Man, jail sux!" he wrote following his release this morning.

The arrest comes in the midst of a breakout year for the 23-year-old rapper, who released an acclaimed mixtape "Kush & Orange Juice," performed at Rock The Bells this summer and successfully toured as a headliner year-round. He was offered an opener slot on Drake's Lights Dreams and Nightmares fall tour, but declined in order to focus on his Waken Baken tour. 

"Black & Yellow," the lead single from Wiz Khalifa's 2011 debut album on Rostrum Records/Atlantic Records, is approaching the Top 40 of the Hot 100 (No. 43) after being released in September.

Jamaican dancehall superstars Adijah Palmer otherwise called Vybz Kartel and David Brooks otherwise called Movado have been listed as persons of interest by the St. Andrew North Police.

According to a release from the police investigators want to interview Palmer and Brooks on a number of recent incidents in the Division.

Palmer and Brooks are to report to the Constant Spring Police Station by 3:00 pm tomorrow afternoon (Wednesday, November 10).

I.D. 4 LIFE MIXTAPE FEATURING G-MONEY, SLIM I.D., SAUCE AND TWIG OF I.D. CREW (ILLEGAL DISTURBANCE)

A COMBINATION OF DANCEHALL, RAP AND HIP-HOP MUSIC. SUPPORT THE FUTURE OF MUSIC!

DOWNLOAD LINK - http://www.mediafire.com/?7b8fbdn8sux3ls4

Katurah Perry, an Alliance, OH  pregnant woman was arrested on Thursday after busted stealing  from a local a Wal-Mart and went into labor during her arrest.

The new mother  and her accomplice Staniel Petty reportedly stole approximately $271 worth of computer software by using computer generated serial number labels to steal the merchandise.

Both women were charged with theft of property and Pettywas taken to the hospital where she delivered her baby.

<object classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" width="420" height="340" id="gorillaPlayer_hhpw001"><param name="swliveconnect" value="true"><param name="allowfullscreen" value="true"><param name="allowScriptAccess" value="always"><param name="movie" value="http://cdn.springboard.gorillanation.com/storage/xplayer/yo033.swf"><param name="flashvars" value="e=4bffc0037b3a3a49328d685cccfc7c21cc002973d57a44951a38fddf065f5c696a66be9b89ee2d2f0947d4e15d253124c7d296b9a2a5d695fdd446d15f64f11765e48b3e76ea9b28f0c1de0d028862a02723d09accafe3f4ff222bb8b0&width=420&height=340&pid=hhpw001&autostart=false&allowscriptaccess=always&usefullscreen=true"><embed src="http://cdn.springboard.gorillanation.com/storage/xplayer/yo033.swf" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" name="gorillaPlayer_hhpw001" width="420" height="340" allowscriptaccess="always" swliveconnect="true" allowfullscreen="true"  flashvars="e=4bffc0037b3a3a49328d685cccfc7c21cc002973d57a44951a38fddf065f5c696a66be9b89ee2d2f0947d4e15d253124c7d296b9a2a5d695fdd446d15f64f11765e48b3e76ea9b28f0c1de0d028862a02723d09accafe3f4ff222bb8b0&width=420&height=340&pid=hhpw001&autostart=false&allowscriptaccess=always&usefullscreen=true&esnapshot=4bffc0037b3a3a493b90685cccfc7c21cc002973d57a44951a38fddf065f5c696a66be9b89ee2d2f094ccde2702233248cc9a0a8aebcc78cf7c3479a1869fa1f32b8d76936b6c068b683c709038f7ba0393d95da84&trueurl=http://hiphopwired.com/2010/11/09/pregnant-woman-goes-into-labor-while-robbing-wal-mart-video/"></embed></object>

73710_1483564372620_1339182333_31237425_6616701_n-300x225.jpg72578_1483551572300_1339182333_31237410_854655_n-300x225.jpg36149_1497368277709_1339182333_31263995_7469692_n.jpg36149_1497368237708_1339182333_31263994_4335157_n.jpg36149_1497368197707_1339182333_31263993_2845341_n-300x242.jpg36149_1497368157706_1339182333_31263992_7688632_n-300x225.jpg36149_1497368117705_1339182333_31263991_2381700_n-300x244.jpg33646_1483528251717_1339182333_31237338_8285560_n-300x225.jpg

DI WATER BOOTS , DI 60 MILLION BOXERS AND DI LIKKLE WATER BUCKET CYAR YUH ALL DI WAY A CANADA ......WHAT A GOOD TING IS PENIS HEE??lol URS PAY HAAF BIG TIMEnod.gif..... CAN WI GET A HAYMEN?? SESAME STREET INA BED N BARE TINGSrl......SHUEOFF BRING DISGRACE N BARE TINGS......ALL INA U SLEEP U A HOLE ON PAN DI BLOCK A SILVER ONE A DI TIME MI TINK U WAS BEENIE /PEELIE (n.b the weave)whis...JERMAINE FROM JERMAINE SQUAD U TINK FB NEED FI KNOW ALL A DIS??hmm

-- Edited by *Glama* (Mzja Dj) on Tuesday 9th of November 2010 02:21:14 AM

haile_gebrselassie.jpg

Haile Gebreselassie, arguably the greatest distance runner in history, announced at the end of the New York Marathon that he is retiring . Haile has made history by breaking numerous records. He still holds the marathon world record. We wish his all the best.

NEW YORK (AP) World-record holder Haile Gebrselassie stunned the running world by announcing his retirement Sunday after dropping out of the New York City Marathon.

The 37-year-old Ethiopian great, widely considered the greatest distance runner ever, pulled out at the 16-mile mark with a right knee injury.

I never think about to retire. But for the first time, this is the day, Gebrselassie said at a brief news conference afterward. Let me stop and do other work after this.

He has a string of business interests in Ethiopia, including a car dealership, a cinema, real estate and a newly opened hotel. Two days before making his NYC Marathon debut, Gebrselassie spoke passionately about improving lives in his home country.

He had said his training was going well, but in a TV interview minutes before Sundays race, Gebrselassie revealed his knee was bothering him. He had an MRI on Saturday that showed fluid and tendinitis in the joint.

I dont want to complain anymore after this, which means its better to stop here, he said.

Running with the large lead pack, Gebrselassie pulled up grimacing on the downhill of the Queensboro Bridge after running 16 miles in 1:19:40.

Gebrselassie set the marathon world record of 2 hours, 3 minutes, 59 seconds in Berlin in 2008. He won two Olympic gold medals in the 10,000 meters.

In an interview with The Associated Press in Addis Ababa late last month, Gebrselassie insisted he wanted to compete through at least the 2012 London Games.

Why should I retire? Why should I say I will retire in three or four years? You retire the very moment you utter those words, he said. I still think about doing more.

Just as this Ethiopian star was retiring, a new one was emerging. Gebre Gebremariam won Sundays race in his marathon debut at the age of 26.

Haile is special. Haile is king, Gebremariam said. So even Hailes retiring, we have to learn so many things from Haile. Hailes a good guy, even in business and in athletics. So I think we have to push to run more. Im so disappointed when I hear this one. Maybe in my country just I have to do something about this.

New York Road Runners President Mary Wittenberg said that as of Saturday, the odds were low that Gebrselassie would even start the race. She said he had his knee drained and was given cortisone.

At that point you realize you might not have the dream finish, she said.

Pittsburgh, PA rapper Wiz Khalifa was arrested in Greensville, North Carolina for unknown reasons, it's being reported. 

While details are sketchy, early reports state that Wiz Khalifa was at a show at Eastern Carolina University when police reportedly stopped his show 45 minutes into his set. 

He was arrested later, as he attempted to board his tour bus.  

Sources suggest the arrest is related to Khalifas penchant for smoking marijuana. 

The popular Pittsburgh rapper, known for his hit single "Black and Yellow," has boasted about smoking about $10,000 in weed per month.

The 22-year-old rapper was in town to perform at Wright Auditorium, as part of the national "Waken Baken Tour 2010."

The 60-date-tour kicked off September 16th and ends in Boston on November 21st. Tonight, rapper Big Krit was tapped to open for Wiz Khalifa.

Wiz' last tweet came around 4:30 PM EST when he sent the message: "Smoke outs greenville, nc tonight. fall thru wit ur finest plant life."

Earlier, his told his 482,000 followers that he enjoyed waking up and "smoking" on his tour bus each morning. 

In October, Wiz Khalifa launched his own line of rolling papers. 

At press time, no reason for the arrest was available.
R&B singer/musicA mogul Akon has announced the launch of a new foundation to help serve under privileged children in Africa.

According to Akon, the Konfidence Foundation was established to create a better future for the children of Africa. 

"It all strung from concept of creating a better future for the kids in Africa," Akon told AllHipHop.com. "I started realizing as I was growing up and as I was coming up in this business, I allowed myself to be educated, period.  And I think that was the moment where I became more of an entrepreneur; I understood what the essence of business was."

Akon has experienced major success over the course of 2010 with the runaway success of Lady Gaga, who is signed to his record label Konlive. 

Other acts on Akon's label include T-Pain, Kardinal Offishall, Ya Boy, Red Cafe, Rock City, French Montana and others. 

Akon, who was born in Senegal, applied the knowledge and education he received from mentors and successful executives like Michael Jackson, Quincy Jones, Jimmy Iovine and Steve Rifkind, to his own label. 

And the new foundation is his way of reinvesting his money into the African continent. The mogul recently opened an elementary school in his Senegal, using the proceeds he earned from touring. 

"You start to realize education really is the key," Akon told AllHipHop.com. "You just got to allow yourself to absorb the information and properly use it. With that thought in mind, when we created the Konfidence Foundation, it was more so to find a platform to educate all these children so that they can have a better future with whats left to develop in Africa. We built my first elementary school in Senegal, which is an incredible accomplishment because I did it with my own money, my tour money and did it myself."

According to Akon, his next project will be to create and establish a new University in Senegal for students, in addition to future plans to build hospitals in the country. 

"We feel like education doesnt mean anything if you arent healthy," Akon told AllHipHop.com. "Between health and education those are the two key things to rebuild any country. We want to start with the kids because they have a lot more growing up to do and a lot more to give in order to create a future for ourselves."

NPqTc0d0pgql.jpg

The mistresses of Tiger Woods, Reggie Bush, and Sandra Bullocks ex-husband Jesse James, are getting plastic surgery together in an attempt to be sculpted into the ideal woman.

The stars of this years biggest sex scandals are set to undergo head-to-toe transformations.

The reason the girls are doing this is because they want a fresh start, says Gina Rodriguez, the owner of DD Management Group, who is organizing the convention.

It is for no other reason than to help these women re-invent themselves for there own personal reasons, including career and dating.

Rodriguez, who runs the top agency representing porn actresses, has signed Tiger Woods ladies Joslyn James and Jamie Jungers, Reggie Bushs one-night waitress January Gessert, and Jesse James mistress Melissa Smith.

While the makeovers would make for a great reality show, Rodriguez has insisted it is not.

It is not for a reality show, she said. But of course we are hoping the press will cover it, to salute the girls and their doctors, physicians and contributors who are going to do an amazing job.

You can expect from the ladies breast implants, butt implants, botox, nose jobs, collagen, hair extensions, spray tans, and teeth veneers and whitening.

untitled41.bmp

MIAMI Lil Wayne is a man of many words when it comes to his rhymes, but the superstar MC was short and to the point when describing how he's moving on past his experience in prison the past eight months.

"I forgot about yesterday," Wayne told MTV News exclusively on the red carpet of his "Welcome Home Tunechi" party in downtown Miami on Sunday night (November 7).

The comments were the first the rapper has made in public since his release on Thursday day (November 4).

The rapper was accompanied by his label head, Bryan "Baby" Williams, and a bevy of beautiful women as the recently freed Weezy walked the red carpet.

untitled43.bmp

Drake, Nicki Minaj, Cool & Dre, and more helped celebrate Wayne's freedom during the late night fete.

The night before, on Saturday, Wayne surprised fans and Drake by appearing on stage next to his protege during Drake's last tour stop in Las Vegas for his Light Dreams and Nightmares jaunt.

"It's unexplainable," Wayne said of returning to the stage. "Words can't explain. I'm good with words and I can't explain."

Since his release, Lil Wanye has reported to Arizona where he finalized his unsupervised release stemming from a separate case.

The next day, on Friday (November 4), Weezy was spotted attending a New Orleans Hornets/Miami Heat game in his hometown of New Orleans.

untitled42.bmp

On Friday (November 6), Wayne jetted to Las Vegas to make a cameo appearance during Drake's set, joining the Toronto star for their collaborative cut "Miss Me."

Before Wayne partied, he took a moment to reflect on all the support he received during his jail stint.

"I just wanna thank everybody," he said. "Not only MTV fans, but the fans across the whole world. Most of all, my family. I couldn't do it without them and I would never do it without them."

tarrus-riley540.jpg

Reggae singer Tarrus Riley recently completed what could be said is his best music video to date. Riley teamed up with US based video director Rik Cordero to work on the video for Superman, a track on his most recent album Contagious.

Superman has been generating strong buzz across the Caribbean and this prompted Rileys decision to shoot a video.

In a release to the media, Riley outlined his reasons for deciding to work the US based director. Rik is friends with one of my friends Mabricio Wilson (owner of the Futbulr clothing line) and he suggested that I try a different look for my next video, said Riley.

He added Superman has been doing well in the Caribbean islands for over a year now, so based on the feedback from the fans, I decided to get the video done. Persons who are not familiar with the song will get to know it.

Superman is a remake of an original recording by blue eyed soul singer Robin Thicke. Rileys version was produced by Dean Cannon Fraser.

The video for Superman was released to Tempo, as well as television stations in Jamaica last week. The video was also serviced to internet websites across the Caribbean.

Rileys newest single is the powerful Nyabinghi Pickney in which he pays homage to his African ancestry as well as the national heroes of Jamaica. The track was produced by Roshaun Bay C Clarke of TOK for Bombrush Records.

British health officials are hard at work on a new app that will allow users to pee into their cell phones and find out within minutes if they have an STD.

Seriously, we could not make this stuff up if we tried.

According to The Guardian, 4 million pounds have been invested in the UK Clinical Research Collaboration, which is creating a smartphone app that will allow users, "to put urine or saliva on to a computer chip about the size of a USB chip, plug it into their phone or computer and receive a diagnosis within minutes."

The techno-savvy approached is aimed at young brits, who apparently are too embarrased to visit the doctor face to face and have been experiencing rising rates of STD (or STI as they call them cross the pond).

"Your mobile phone can be your mobile doctor. It diagnoses whether you've got one of a range of STIs, such as chlamydia or gonorrhea and tells you where to go next to get treatment," Dr Tariq Sadiq, a senior lecturer and consultant physician in sexual health and HIV at St George's, University of London, who is leading the project, told The Guardian.

If it's really that simple, why wait till after the deed is done? Wouldn't it make more sense for prospective partners to swap fluids before hand, get a reading on their cell phones, and then decide whether or not to "finish the download"?

10-year-old-mother-newborns1-299x300.jpg

A 10-year-old girl gave birth last week in a Spanish hospital, as TIME's NewsFeed posted earlier today. The new mother's young age may be shocking, but she isn't the youngest mother on record by far.

Earlier this year, a 9-year-old schoolgirl in northeast China gave birth to a healthy baby boy. In 2008, another 10-year-old girl in Idaho, who got pregnant at age 9, carried a baby to term. And back in 1939, as TIME reported, Lina Medina of Peru, became pregnant at the age of 5 years, 8 months, and became a mother by age 6 years, 5 months.

Spanish newspapers are reporting that according to the mother of the young girl who gave birth last week, a first pregnancy at age 10 is not uncommon in their native country of Romania. Although we could not find find exact figures for births to children in that country or elsewhere, it is of course well known that teen motherhood is not unusual: the World Health Organization (WHO) reports that 10% of girls in low- and middle-income countries become mothers by the age of 16, and 11% of all births worldwide are to mothers age 10 to 19. (More on Time.com: Moms: Guilty of Driving Their Daughters to Early Puberty?)

Teenage mothers account for 23% of the global burden of disease related to childbirth, according to WHO. There are myriad health consequences to both mother and child, when a young girl becomes pregnant before her own body has fully developed. Mothers under age 16 are four times more likely to die during childbirth and are at greater risk for related conditions including anemia, postpartum hemorrhage, depression and other mental disorders. In addition, 65% of women who develop obstetric fistula in which a hole occurs in the perineum or between the vagina and bladder due to difficulties during labor do so during adolescence.

Infants born to mothers under 20 may also be at increased risk of death, compared with babies born to women over 20; the younger the teen mother, the more likely infant death becomes. Babies who survive tend to be premature, have low birth weight and are more likely to suffer from respiratory problems during labor, which increases health risks later on. (More on Time.com: Another Cause of Early Puberty in Girls: Absent Dads)

In the case of the young Romanian mother, both mom and baby are reported to be healthy and safe. However, the Associated Press reports that Spanish authorities are uncertain about how to handle custody of the baby. It is not immediately clear whether either new parent (the father is also reported to be underage) or their parents will get custody.

Lindsey Fiddler washer 10 day old Maggie May

A ten-day-old baby girl died after being placed in a washing machine as it went through an entire spin cycle.

The newborns mother Lyndsey Fiddler put her daughter into the washing machine along with a pile of laundry.

The tiny baby was inside the top loading washing machine for up to 40 minutes before being discovered.

A relative who called in to see Fiddler found her passed out and the baby, called Maggie May, missing.

She also heard a strange sound from the washing machine and when she opened the door found the crumpled body of Maggie mixed in with the clothes.

In a frantic call to emergency dispatchers 26-year-old Fiddler is heard saying :My baby is dead.

She can then be heard arguing with her aunt Rhonda Coshatt who is heard on the call saying: No I did not kill your baby, you did.

Police have charged Fiddler with second degree manslaughter after initially arresting her on drug charges.

Family members had been concerned about Fiddler because of her past drug use.

Earlier this year they had tried to get her parental rights revoked before the birth of her third child.

The young mother had been arrested in April for taking drugs when she was four months pregnant.

She is suspected of being hooked on crystal meth and taking the drug the night her daughter died.

The mother was asleep and she had trouble waking her and heard the washer out of balance, clanging, so went to lift the lid so it would stop and in the washing machine, saw the baby, Holland said.

Fiddlers two other boys, aged four and three, were taken into care by social workers.

The infants father, Benjamin Trammel, said he cant believe his girlfriend deliberately killed their daughter.

Inside my heart, I cant believe Lyndsey would have hurt our little girl. I dont believe it in my heart to be honest with you, Trammel said.

Paramedics had desperately tried to revive the newborn baby after she was pulled out of the washing machine, but she was already dead on arrival at hospital.

Paramedic John Houser,who worked on the baby, said: Terrible. I dont even know how to describe it.

Fiddler has a long criminal history with arrests for assault, driving without a licence and not having her two older children in car seats.

During a performance of the song "Go Go Club" a female fan went on stage to dance with Kartel and ...

45063_458267648627_93396223627_6474467_5074626_n.jpg

45012_458274813627_93396223627_6474610_4337696_n.jpg

45012_458274818627_93396223627_6474611_1256867_n.jpg

45012_458274823627_93396223627_6474612_2132597_n.jpg

cant believe me eyes

um... did Kartel read the words printed on his shirt before wearing it in public?
w2ls83.jpg

i'm not referring to the AGS on the sleeve. It's pretty damn obvious what I'm talking about. I'll just assume he didn't read the shirt before purchasing.

Hugh Mundell Discography at Discogs

Hugh Mundell. Profile: Born 1962. Died 1983. A teenage prodigy who made one of the great Roots records "Africa Must Be Free By 1983" at the age of 16. ...Large animated Dutch flag graphic for a white background

A Ugandan newspaper today published photos, names and home addresses of gay Ugandans - for the second time. Last month's front page is pictured

The editor of a tabloid in Uganda who argues that homosexuality is more dangerous than smoking, has published a list of 10 gay and lesbian people in the African nation, urging readers to report them to the police.

It's the second time that Rolling Stone -- no relation to the iconic U.S. music magazine -- has published such a list.

Last time it listed 100 of what it called the country's top gays and lesbians, with photos and addresses alongside a yellow banner reading "hang them." 

Gay rights groups in Uganda say at least four people have been attacked since then.
And a bill that would make homosexuality potentially punishable by death is working its way through Uganda's parliament.

The new gay list includes addresses and alleged intimate details about the anatomy of people on it.

Editor Giles Muhame, 22, has discouraged readers to physically attack people on the list, but he claims gay people are going to schools and "recruiting" schoolchildren.

He says the bill imposing harsh penalties for homosexuality will become law when Uganda begins drilling oil and becomes less dependent on foreign donors.

The Ugandan lawmaker behind the bill told CNN last week it will become law "soon."

HOMOSX390.jpg

A controversial newspaper in Kampala published photos, names and home addresses of gay Ugandans today - for the second time.

The action has prompted a rights group to seek a legal injunction against the publication, although managing editor Giles Muhame said he plans to continue printing photos of gay men in order to 'help them live responsible lives.'

Earlier this month the paper - called Rolling Stone but not linked to the American magazine of the same name - published a front page story featuring a list of what the paper said were Uganda's 100 'top' homosexuals.

Rights activists said the story prompted attacks against at least four gay Ugandans.
Sexual Minorities Uganda has asked the country's highest court to issue an injunction against publishing the faces of gays in future editions.

'We now live in fear,' said Julian Onzeima, the group's coordinator. 'The Rolling Stone paper has led to people turning against us.'

Gays in Uganda say they have faced a year of attacks and ha****ment since a lawmaker introduced a bill in October 2009 that would impose the death penalty for some homosexual acts and life in prison for others.

The bill has not come up for a vote.

The legislation was drawn up following a visit by leaders of U.S. conservative Christian ministries that promote therapy they say allows gays to become heterosexual.

The bill became political poison after international condemnation, and many Christian leaders have denounced it.

«First  <  170 71 72 73 74524  >  Last»  | Page of 524  sorted by