Forum: News & Topical Issues

News updates, entertainment, hot topics, gossip | Share and discover what is happening right now.

LOOK AT THIS FILTHY KITCHEN

December 5, 2010
Started By nuff money5 Comments
1291560947nasty_kitchen.jpg

1291647863kanye_kim_baby.jpg

We've been wondering why Kim Kardashian was growing recently. Well MediaTakeOut.com spoke with a person VERY CLOSE to Kim Kardashian this morning. And according to them, Kim is PREGNANT!!

The insider, who asked to remain nameless told MediaTakeOut.com, "Kim has been seeing Kanye [West] off and on for years now. But this summer, they [hooked up] five or six times." The insider continued, "Kanye told her that he didn't want anything serious, but Kim really likes him."

And now, according to the insider, she suspects that Kim Kardashian is PREGNANT. The insider explains, "Kim is being very secretive about everything. She calls [Kanye] almost non-stop and wants to know what she should do." The insider reportedly OVERHEARD the conversation between Kanye and Kim, with her OWN EARS.

So when can we expect an announcement. MediaTakeOut.com's snitch explained, "Knowing Kim, she'll coincide it with her show, in one episode her and Kanye go out on a date."

WOOOOOW . . . Big loss for Yeezy. Big GAIN for Kim K . . .

Him seh, "ppl seh mi must guh a hell"... and him reponse to that is, "p*u**yy mi nuh must know God".... as if to say God is d least

Let Bounty Be Free To Fly

December 6, 2010
Started By SVG1 Comments
bounty+hair+cut.jpg
Bounty Killa who has been in the court room more often than a judge these days .. is now free to fly. The DJ was given his traveling documents last week after an application by his attorney Christopher Townsend. The Five Star General aka Poor People Governor was stripped of his traveling documents following the infamous incident between himself and the young model and university student whom he allegedly hammered. Bounty Killer aka Rodney Price who still does not have the ability to travel to the United States at the moment has a number of shows lined up in the Caribbean and Italy over the Christmas season...
Bounty worries continues in January of next year when the case re the hammering would be up for mention.

Kartel13.jpgXavHew understands that after a grueling three-hour interrogation by Operation Kingfish investigators, dancehall deejays Aidonia and Vybz Kartel were released just hours ago without any formal charges being laid against them.

Top-notch Attorney-at-law Valerie Neita-Roberston said that the cops were satisfied that the pictures had been taken backstage at a stage show overseas and that the guns "were video props".

The artistes were wanted by the Operation Kingfish officers after they received a very disturbing photograph with men who they said were Vybz Kartel and Aidonia allegedly posing with high powered weapons.

FATHER SEEKS CHILD

April 26, 2008
Started By XavHew5 Comments

news_splash.gif
  FATHER SEEKS CHILD  

Tashieka Mair, Star Writer

Donavon Francis

WESTERN BUREAU:

Donavon Francis is desperate to find his daughter, whom he has never had the opportunity to meet since her birth some 18 years ago.

His daughter, Tiffaney Rene Solomon was born on December 31, 1989, Francis was then a ward at Copse Boys Home in Hanover because of bad behaviour.

He and the girl's mother, Stethania, were just 14 years old. He told The Star that the child was sent to a children's home and may have been adopted.

"I use to give some proper trouble up in Norwood (St James), all a chop up people but now my life has changed and I really want to see my little girl and to get a chance to be the father that I was not able to be then," Mr. Francis, who now lives in London, England, told The Star.

He is in the island for six months and vows that he will use this time to find his daughter.

"My brother and I were talking about our kids and I just felt the urge to find my daughter. Her mother is desperate to find her too. She's been searching the Internet to see what she can come up with," he said.

Mr Francis said that despite the fact that his daughter is now an adult and may have children or have made mistakes, all that does not matter; he is willing to let her live at his mother's home in Cambridge, St James.

"I just want her to know that if she wants any help, I am here and her mother is also here waiting with open arms to offer any kind of assistance, because she's still my little girl," he pleaded.

-- Edited by XavHew at 14:25, 2008-04-26
April 19, 2008. It seems like 50 Cent is looking to make even more enemies. MediaZoneJa.com has learned that in a recent interview, 50 started talking sideways about our girl Alicia Keys. Here are some of the highlights of the interview:
I dont like Alicia Keys no more. If she thinks what they consider gangsta music is [made] to bring black people down then I think my sh*t falls into that category. I dont like people who dont like me. I dont like her then because thats what provides the life for me.

I think if you ask Ice Cube the same shit, hell tell you, F*ck Alicia Keys for even saying that. Because the success hes had as an actor and a businessman, there was no opportunity for that sh*t without N.W.A. But I dont think that [her] classical sh*t is cool. I dont give a f*ck if you can classically play the piano. I havent been classically trained, because my upbringing, nobody put me in front of a piano at that time. If they did, I would know how to do it as well as she does. I could learn how to play the piano if I was passionate about it right now.

Thats obviously my perspective evaluating what she does, and I could f*cking care less about the sh*t. So she dont like the music that embodies the harsh realities because theyre not her realities. She hasnt been subjected to the same things.

Hey 50, your name ain't never come out of Alicia's mouth ... how you gonna call her out like that????

4685982579_b8c3fd00a0.jpgIVOR Ruddock, the manager of Gyptian, has issued a statement in response to rumours about the health of the Reggae star, clarifying that he is suffering from dehydration following a 60-day tour of Europe and Africa.

After a hectic period of shows, interviews and promotion, the artiste, real name Windel Edwards, said that he was feeling faint after arriving in New York City earlier this week from Tanzania for two last performances. Gyptian reported feeling faint and was taken to a hospital in the city.

A decision was taken to cancel the shows but he reportedly insisted on performing. However, on completion of the last show he again reported feeling faint but with added stomach cramps and was rushed to the emergency room. A doctor there prescribed him medication and ordered him to rest and rehydrate as he was now severely dehydrated.

To my fans in Barbados, I apologise profusely and I am currently renegotiating a date with the promoters to complete my obligations and please my fans. There is no Gyptian without my fans and I am very grateful for all the concern that has been shown but I assure everyone that I will be back to work for all of you as soon as I am back in peak form because as me seh, Me Nah Let Go, said the artiste in reference to his recent international breakthrough hit, which precipitated his rise in workload.

Gyptian is returning home to rest and consult with his personal doctor and dietician. He will rest for a few days so that he can return to work in good health.

Nah Let Go has been added to rotation on several major stations worldwide and seen him win a British MOBO award and United States Soul train award.

After the runaway success of the top ten hit single, Slim vs Fluffy featuring Spice last year,  female deejay Pamputtae is cranking out an armada of new singles to rock local dancehalls.

She recently shot a video to Bad Mind which she will be releasing in two weeks.

"I am working hard, sometimes four or five songs mi voice each week. The work never stops, I just have to go harder if I want to make it in this competitive industry," said Pamputae.

Pamputtae has emerged as one of the standouts in an ocean of female artistes all gunning for the top spot.

"There are a number of female artistes who are all trying to make a name for themselves. It hard fi a female get noticed because half a the time wi nuh get the recognition wi deserve. Wi haffi guh hard fi it. But everybody know seh Pamputae a bad artiste, mi nuh have nuh threat still. Everybody know seh when mi go stage show, mi work it an shell it dung. The competition is always on," she said confidently.

She bemoaned the lack of airplay that she receives in Jamaica but said that her songs are generating interest in the Caribbean territories, Europe and even Africa.

"I get crazy calls and Facebook message from Europe because Neighbourhood and Stress Free a mash up di place but yet still yuh nah hear dem a Jamaica. Next year, a Europe wi a go deh a bring it to di people them, and we have shows lined up for  St Lucia, Trinidad, Barbados. so things are looking up for Pamputtae," she said.

Pamputae has upcoming performances at Jamfest to be held in Montego Bay on Christmas Day, Ragasahti's upcoming show, and others in Canada later this month.

MAN BITES OFF COP'S LIP

December 6, 2010
Started By nuff money3 Comments

A man who is accused of biting off a piece of a policeman's lower lip and punching a conductor in his face was sentenced to two years' imprisonment at hard labour in the Corporate Area Resident Magistrate's Court on Friday.

He is Carlton Shepherd who was charged with two counts assault occasioning bodily harm, assaulting police and resisting arrest.

Allegations are that on August 2 about 9:15 p.m., Shepherd and a conductor got into an heated argument when he punched the conductor in his face causing him to lose a tooth and threatening him not to report the incident.

According to the complainant, the accused said "if mi get lock up, remember seh you can't work nuh more bus."

It is alleged that on November 21, about 9 p.m., when the police went to arrest Shepherd and while escorting him to the Half-Way Tree Police Station, the accused punched a policeman on the left side of his face and and bit off a piece of his lower lip.

on his knees

It is alleged that when the 51-year-old officer approached Shepherd and told him to accompany him to the police station, he told the officer that he is not going anywhere; however, the accused said "we can talk".

It is alleged that when the policeman told him they could talk at the police station, he went down on his knees and started begging the officer not to take him to the station. It is further alleged that during the process of escorting shepherd, he told the policeman that he wanted to urinate. It is alleged that the accused started screaming and began hitting the officer all over his body before biting him on his lip. The arresting officer who allegedly fell to the ground was further hit several times.

The court heard that a passing police radio car was just in time to offer assistance, taking the injured cop to the Kingston Public Hospital where he was treated and released.

The accused was arrested and charged.

mavado1.jpg

We know there will be thousands of disappointed fans who had planned to attend, Mavado shares your disappointment.

We received a police permit on October 20 for the original venue, Coruba Beach Club, but were shocked to receive another letter from the same branch of the JCF revoking that permit just last week.

Mavado has taken a huge financial loss in this endeavour as the promotion team did not spend a dollar until the police permit was in place. Alas, it seems not even that can be relied upon.

Since we received the letter of refusal at least 3 events have been held at that same venue, so while we are not surprised that Mavado's event has been targeted, its still a bitter pill. Alternative venues were sought out but the logistics were just too much to take on at the last minute so the decision was taken to pull the plug on the event for 2010.

If you can recall, this is something that seems to blight Mavado's birthday bash year after year, we leave it to the public to make up their own minds as to why that is.

We would like to thank our title sponsor LIME, a fantastic company who believes in Mavado and the positive image and music he outputs and continues to stand by him.

Likewise Jagra, who played a big part in last year's staging of the event, alongside Appleton who came on board for the first time this year.

See you next year!

Ninja Man wants To Be at Sting 2010

December 5, 2010
Started By SVG4 Comments
ninja-man.jpg
Ninja Man is making yet another attempt to be at Sting 2010... another bail hearing is set for December 15... this is the latest for Ninja Man and his lawyers in trying to see if the veteran DJ can be released just for the sting show. Now seeing that Buju Banton got a bligh... then chances are the "gold teeth front teeth don gorgon" is pressing his luck.. though its a completely different jurisdiction, nature of charges and circumstances.
Ninja Man has not performed at Sting since 2008 and has reportedly expressed that he wish to be at this year's event. It will reside with the judge to determine his release.

Cop implicated in bar robbery

December 5, 2010
Started By nuff money1 Comments

THREE men, including a special constable, were arrested for robbery with aggravation in May Pen, Clarendon last night.

Information received from the May Pen CIB is that about 7:40 pm, the men were apprehended after reportedly robbing a bar in the parish earlier and escaping in a waiting motor vehicle. Their getaway car was later intercepted along the Bustamante Highway. 

A search of the vehicle resulted in the seizure of a .38 revolver, serial number 3043431, with 12 rounds.

The names of the men are being withheld pending further investigations.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/Cop-implicated-in-bar-robbery#ixzz17Iivfesj

Busy year ahead for Gully Squad

December 4, 2010
Started By nuff money3 Comments

Members of the Gully Squad are anxiously anticipating the upcoming Christmas season as they have a number of shows lined up. In addition, they say 2011 will be their time to shine.

The show count for the group is so many that member Flexx says he is not sure how he is going to manage the workload.

"A one whole heap a show line up for the Christmas, enuh. Yuh done know a Hapilos Entertainment, alongside Solid Agency, a deal wid the management. Wi have a show in Guyana the 31st, after that, inna the new year, mi have about 12 shows in the United States. Mi new song on Chrome's new Dancehall Effects rhythm a go mad the place too," said Flexxx.

doing the work

He continued, "Yuh know seh Mavado big show cancel and the visa trouble weh him a guh through, so a just we a bring the music to the people, in a sense, then. We just doing the work, getting it out there. Yuh zeeeet!"

Another member, Savage, also gave similar comments saying, "The squad up to crazy things, enuh. Mi have a new song out, Mi Nah. Da song deh tun up loud inna the road, a crazy feedback. A just because man humble more while, mek mi nuh really out deh yet. But this Christmas name 'Gully Christmas', a ours it. Nuff show wi have fi work, mi cyan complain because a music mi do, nuff work inna it."

When contacted, a busy Chase Cross, who was just about to head into the studio to record a song for DJ F****, told THE STAR, "Right about now, mi a mek plans fi shoot the video for Can't Stop Us, on DJ F****' Gully Bomb rhythm. An mi a go a England with Mavado in about two weeks time."

Adding, "When we come back, the whole Gully Squad have a show on December 26 weh Mavado a set up. We ago close off the year wid a show inna Guyana, and bring in the new year wid some new song weh wi just voice fi Stephen, F**** and Jordan dem. 2011 a go see the Gully Squad a guh haad," he added.

The Gully Squad consists of Mavado, Kibaki, Chase Cross, Flexxx, Savage, 3 Star, Stacious

Name: Julie Rambally
Date of Birth 20-5-73
Weight: 120
Nationality: Jamaican Indian
Ambition: To launch my clothing line JBally internationally
What do you like most about yourself: being an Indian girl with a black girl's a*s
Favourite dish: Oxtail with rice & peas
Most embarra**c*ating moment: being dragged across the street from a party by my baby father.
Happiest moment: When my son kisses me and tells me that he loves me.
Favourite colour & why: White it represents purity
Favourite travelling destination: New York
Advice to upcoming models: Never forget where you're coming from or you'll lose sight of where you're going sometimes ending up where you should never be
Philosophy: I live my life for God not for people therefore the ugliness of life never breaks me it only makes me stronger and wiser.

julie-SexyGirls-bounty-killer-beyonceB.jpg

julie-SexyGirls-bounty-killer-beyonceA.jpg

julie-SexyGirls-bounty-killer-beyonce.jpg

-- Edited by XavHew at 20:16, 2008-02-04
00nickiminaj.jpg

What's beef? If Nicki Minaj has anything to say about it, she will never get to find out.

There's definitely been a few shots fired in her ongoing squabble with Lil Kim. Nicki goes at Kim on "Roman's Revenge". The Queen Bee fired right back with "Black Friday."

Maybe Nicki just wants to avoid any more drama. He debut cd 'Pink Friday' moved a very respectable 375,000 units the 1st week out of the gate. Nicki has also talked of getting into acting. So it's plausible that, for her rap beef is the last thing she needs.

Or it's possible she heard "Black Friday" and realizing Kim's claws are still sharp, wants to bow out before publicly taking an L.

Either way, during her recent sit down with New York Times' Horacio Silva, the Harajuku Barbie made it clear she wants to play nice now.

"The thing that I want to promote is that if you see someone doing their thing, give them their props. We all have it hard and face the same challenges as female emcees. Show some mutual love and respect for each other so that it doesnt get nasty. And she can be a nasty character." Nicki said

This is a situation we should keep our eye on, something tells me more sparks are going to fly before it's all said and done.

Jay Z and Beyonce spent Jay Z's birthday in Miami . . . where Bey presented Jigga with his birthday present. According to a member of Jigga's INNER CIRCLE, Beyonce bought her husband (who is a car LOVER) a new $2 MILLION Bugatti.

DANG . . . definitely can't hate on that. Oh, and according to our snitch, there'll be pics of the BADDEST couple in the game driving the BADDEST CAR in the game in a few days.

1291561434jigga_bdaypres1.jpg
1291561435jigga_bdaypres2.jpg

Media personality Nikki Z will be making her return to Jamaican radio on SunCity FM, which will start airing by mid-December.

It is expected that Nikki Z, who is currently in the United States (US), will start doing her show from there before making her return to local soil.

"As it is, her show will be done from New York but her intention is to come back to Jamaica and be the face for the thing," said Steven Alexander, CEO of SunCity Fm.

Nikki Z said she will start off on the station with her show World Caribbean Countdown that is currently aired in the US and Caribbean. She said it is pre-recorded so it can be aired on the station at any time. She said they are also working on doing some live broadcasts from there.

As for when she will move back to Jamaica, she is unsure.

"That is something that is inevitable but it's just a matter of timing. It is something that definitely means a lot to me. In Jamaica, it (radio) was meaningful and fun but over here it's more fun," Nikki Z told THE STAR.

"If everything works out that will be a fabulous thing but that's not gonna happen in the next couple months. One thing I can tell you is that I miss Jamaica. But I have responsibilities over here, so I can't just pick up and move quickly."

Alexander said Nikki Z was not the only known name that will be on the station. Other disc jocks, he said, will also be coming onboard but could not be named yet.

"All of the DJs are known and some of them are working on other stations as we speak," he told THE STAR.

The new radio station, which is registered by the non-governmental organisation, Mothers In Crisis, will be aired on the 104.9 band. It will operate out of Portmore Pines Plaza.

rebuilding of Jamaica

"It was really built for the rebuilding of Jamaica and it is going to be disseminating positive music and positive talk programmes that will be able to educate, entertain and promote positive culture. The target audience is 13 to 35 years old," Alexander said, while noting that 10 per cent of all the station earns will be going back to charity.

Alexander explained that test transmissions will start today and last for a week. Actual airing is expected to begin by the third week in December.

While the aim is to reach the entire island, he said it will only be aired in Kingston, St Andrew and St Catherine.

"It is our intention within the next three to five years to go island wide. But we will also be broadcasting on the Internet because we want to tap into the diaspora market. Although the station is regional, our reach is global," Alexander told THE STAR, noting that many young people will be working at the station.

"It's still work in progress. As it grows and expands there might be a need for additional staff or even a change in location."

Currently, there are 15 persons on staff. In addition, there is a studio for broadcasting, one for production and another for pre-production.

"Two days before my birthday, this is no joke," said Ity.

The popular comedian, given name Ian Ellis from the Jamaican comedic duo Ity and Fancy Cat, was reportedly robbed at a shopping plaza on Saturday evening.

"It happened about 5:45 p.m. at the Tropical Plaza when me and my family were out getting some things done. Me leave di car and went into a store only to find out seh dem bruk into di car. But I feel seh it was that big red bag on di seat dat catch dem eye because my lady jus buy me two brand new sneakers," Ity said.

When THE STAR contacted the comedian yesterday, he said "I jus hope seh dat dem will return mi bag with my laptop and the documents because di laptop have on some very important works such as the history of the Ity and Fancy Cat show, scripts, developing scripts for the new season of our show and jus stuff from the inception. This is something that I never really expected because me did think seh dat from the way we move good wid people and the way di people dem receive we that something like this wouldn't happen."

Some of the other valuables stolen, the comedian says, include jewellery, a BlackBerry smartphone and charger, earphone, two sneakers, clothes and his daughter's iPod.

"Fancy Cat did all buy me a wicked piece a gold set for my birthday which is Monday (today). Di jewellery well clean and thing, something that I never wear yet," Ity said.

The comedian also told THE STAR that this is the second time since the start of the year that he has been robbed. Recently, Ity explained, his car was broken into at the Ranny Williams Entertainment Centre. However, all the stolen items were returned except $3000.

In the meantime, the comedian is asking anyone with any information that can assist with the return of his laptop to call 408-4411 or the Half-Way Tree police at 926-8184.

WafaaBilal.PNG

In the name of art, an NYU photography professor has surgically implanted a camera into the back of his head.

New York University photography professor Wafaa Bilal, previously known for his work on a videogame mod called The Night of Bush Capturing: A Virtual Jihadi that cast players as a suicide bomber, is making waves once again. This time, he's gone and implanted a camera into the back of his skull for a new photography experiment that sounds really painful.

A magnetic camera mount was surgically attached to the back of Bilal's head by a body modification artist. The artist gave Bilal a "transdermal implant" which includes three titanium plates and posts, which the base for a 10-megapixel camera was screwed into. He says it "hurt a lot."

Bilal underwent the painful operation for a project called "The 3rd I." The camera will take photos at one-minute intervals for an entire year and beam them to an exhibit at the new Mathaf: Arab Museum of Modern Art in Qatar, which opens on December 30, 2010. According to his website, the project will begin on December 15.

The premise behind the project is to comment on the "inaccessibility of time and the inability to capture memory and experience," Bilal says. He adds that he's interested in "what he leaves behind." For now this has only been a shower curtain and a bunch of other boring stuff, but he's sure to capture a lot of interesting moments in the hundreds of thousands of photos he plans to take over the next year.

He could have just worn a helmet cam, but that'd be too obvious to bystanders and wouldn't work for the premise of the project, it seems. Bilal has agreed to cap the lens of his head camera while on campus at NYU to protect the school's students, but it'll be on for every other portion of his life. It's even waterproof and will work in the shower.

Bilal's friends are already starting to uninvite him to gatherings because of the camera, but he doesn't care. It's an extreme project, but it also has a compelling nature that should see some cool results.

It is being asked ..which songs is the song of the year?.. im not sure myself which is the best but I can only tell you .what i prefer... The criteria is which impacts on me more than the other and has to do the with the melody, riddim, lyrical content and delivery of the song. Im not sure what you would base your pick on but some of the later should be apart of it..
Now the me selected songs

Beenie Man & Fambo - Redbull
Khago - Nah Sell Out
Vybz Kartel, Popcaan & Slim - Clarks
Gyptian - Hold Yuh
Vybz Kartel - Clarks Pt2
Mavado - Stulla
Mavado - Messiah
Jah Cure & Phylisia - Unconditional Love
I-Octane - My Life 123
Shawn Storm - My Life

Perhaps there is more to be added to the list,, but right now those are the songs that are up there for song of the year for me...
My pick is the Beenie Man track alongside Fambo ..Redbull...
woman-behind-bars-edited_w370.jpg

Three women who served time in prisons in the United Kingdom (UK) and have since returned to Jamaica to pick up the pieces of their lives, shared their experiences with the Sunday Observer on condition that the newspaper protect their identities. Here are their stories:

WHEN she left her dilapidated one-room wooden house in St Catherine for the UK in 2001, she was looking for a way out of poverty. She had stocked enough food to last her three children five days. That was how long her trip to London should have lasted

The desperate mom had left her five-year-old daughter and 10-year-old son in the care of their 14-year-old sister until she could get back with the £1,500 she had been promised to smuggle 720 grammes of cocaine into Britain.

This money could buy her and her three children several weeks' supply of food and some new clothes. It could also keep the children in school for a couple months. Against this background, the unemployed mom needed very little encouragement to ingest about 86 pellets of cocaine wrapped in condoms. If she made it through customs, she would pass these out later and hand them over to the dealer for the UK drug market.

But her five-day trip turned into a seven-year nightmare after she was arrested with the cocaine at Heathrow Airport in London. The woman was subsequently sentenced and locked away at HM Prison Morton Hall in Lincolnshire, home to more than 50 Jamaican prisoners at the time.

She was one of 98 women the UK police said they caught during the first eight months of 2001 attempting to leave Gatwick and Heathrow airports with drugs concealed inside their body cavities or luggage.

Debbie, 33, and Melissa, 31, also served time in UK prisons for cocaine. Their lives were not that different from this desperate mom, who still lives in fear of being "found" by the "people" who had given her the drugs to take to the UK almost 10 years ago. In fact, all three women shared a common bond. They were unemployed and had little or no skills, making them easy prey for the drug dons.

On a Friday, Debbie and Melissa shared their stories with the Sunday Observer at the Kingston office of Hibiscus Jamaica.

Debbie was sentenced to three years in 2002 for "importation of cocaine", but served only half that time. The mother of two children, aged nine and 13, said at the time she was desperate and wanted to secure a future for her children.

"Honestly speaking, I did need the money. I am from a poor family, and I used to do a little hustling. I used to go to my mom's stall and help her sell, but this could not take care of the two children, plus the rent, food and clothes," she said, adding, "I wanted better for myself and my children."

She therefore jumped at the promised chance of earning £3,500 to transport about half-a-kilo of cocaine into the UK.

"Somebody told me about this man who could make me go to England, and pay me money, and I went to him," she recalled. She had planned to use the money to purchase "an old car" to "start a little business" to assist her family. "I was going to use the car to run taxi to make some money, even though it would have been an illegal taxi," she said candidly.

She was given the option of swallowing the cocaine, but decided against it. "I could not swallow, and so they put it inside the suitcase (the handle)," she continued.

This was the first time Debbie was travelling, and she had left the children with family members, thinking she would only be gone "for about a month".

But when she got to London, she was stopped and searched by immigration at Heathrow. "The woman asked me to strip and squat, but they did not find anything. Then the man told her it was in the suitcase because the dog had sniffed it out," she said.

Recalling her time in prison, Debbie told the Sunday Observer that it was "tough" and that she was "scared" at first and missed her children terribly. "But I would write to them or call them as often as I could. I would also download educational stuff off the Internet and mail it to them," she explained.

During that period, she also got a chance to further her education, studying computer, Mathematics and English. "I also got a lot of support from the church (prison ministry); different denominations. The church helped me to survive," Debbie admitted.

She spent three months at Foston Hall and more than a year at Morton Hall before she was deported to Jamaica.

But even though Debbie tried to maintain contact with her children, she said the hardest part was returning home to find that she was a stranger to her children, particularly her daughter.

"She was a baby when I left, so when I came home she asked, 'who is this person?' She did not know me, and I felt very bad. She cried, and did not want to stay with me and I felt guilty, like I had done her wrong," Debbie said, her voice trailing off.

In retrospect, Debbie said she would have made different choices had she stopped to think about the consequences of smuggling drugs.

"My imprisonment had a great impact on the kids, and I had to work really hard to win back that love -- that bond that we once had," she said. "It is not worth it. I would say to any woman contemplating this: don't do it! It is not good, and the drug dealers lie; they cannot be trusted. They will use you and once you get caught, there will be no one there to help you."

Melissa knows all too well how it feels to be "used by drug dealers" and then discarded at will. She told the Sunday Observer that she was "set up".

"It was a big, big set-up," she said. According to Melissa, after she agreed to swallow "a couple pellets" of cocaine and transported the larger portion in a suitcase on a trip to the UK in exchange for cash, "somebody else pushed through the suitcase".

She explained: "When I got to Heathrow, I could not find the suitcase, and this made Immigration suspicious. It did look a way; here I was arriving for a visit without a suitcase. But what happened was that they got somebody else to push through the suitcase and left me hanging," she said.

Melissa said that after a search failed to turn up the suitcase, she was taken into a room and questioned. "They then told me that if I had swallowed the drug that I would die, and I got scared as I did not know that. Nobody had told me that," Melissa said. She "passed out" the portion of cocaine that she had ingested and was subsequently sentenced to three-and-a-half years in prison, but she only served half that time.

Like Debbie, the former hairdresser said she rued the day she agreed to transport drugs to the UK.

"Life was tough, and I was struggling, but that decision turned into the worst nightmare of my life," Melissa said. "And to make matters worse, my little boy did not know me when I came home. He ran from me. You know how dat mek mi feel, yuh own pickney run from you?" She has three children, aged 12, 10 and three. The last one was born after she returned to Jamaica.

Her advice to women: "This is not a good road, don't let nobody fool you."

Today, the women still struggle to make ends meet, but they told the Sunday Observer that never again will they fall prey to "these evil drug dons".

Debbie is still unemployed and doing a little "hustling, selling slippers, Scotch-brite, steel wool and panties".

"I have applied for several jobs since I came back, but I can't seem to find any," she said. "I need a job. I have computer skills and I am willing to work."

Her dream is to own a house and further her studies in computers so that she can support herself and her children.

Meanwhile, Melissa, who operates a small grocery store, told the Sunday Observer that "business gone down since is me one". She is hoping that she can get some assistance to restock supplies.

The women get "some support" from Hibiscus Jamaica, but wish there were some additional programmes that would allow them to realise their dreams.

K%20BAUGH-DR%20LOWE-sld.jpg

JAMAICAN scientist Dr Henry Lowe last night threw a lifeline to men worldwide when he announced that he had developed a formula that can reduce and eliminate prostate cancer, the number one cause of cancer deaths among males.

"I am pleased to announce that we have reached the final stages in the development of the Alpha Prostate Formula, which will be on the market in the next three months under the Eden Gardens brand," Dr Lowe told guests at the launch of Bio-Tech R&D Institute at the Terra Nova Hotel in Kingston.

Lowe, executive chairman of Environmental Health Foundation which is based at his Eden Gardens complex in Kingston, explained that the formula will be locally produced, first as a nutraceutical.

"The drug takes time and millions of US dollars to develop, so that is why we're making it available in its semi-purified form," Dr Lowe told the Observer in an interview outside of the launch.

Dr Joseph Bryant from the University of Maryland Medical School and a shareholder in Bio-Tech R&D Institute, agreed. "We have to go by the rules and the regulations as to how fast we can get it out there, but the nutraceutical thing now allows us to get it out much faster," he told the Observer.

"We cannot overemphasise the point of what this means for the country, and I hope that the younger generation will carry it on," Dr Bryant added.

Lowe's cancer research work attracted world attention when he announced that he had found properties in the Jamaican ball moss that had the potential to fight cancer.

Yesterday, he said that the formula is derived from the main ingredient in the ball moss and has been shown to have major prostate anti-cancer activity.

Jamaica has one of the highest prostate cancer rates in the world with approximately 150 men diagnosed each year. Medical experts believe that a large percentage of affected men are undiagnosed.

Yesterday, Lowe, who won the Observer Business Leader Award for 2006, noted that in addition to Jamaica, numerous cases of prostate cancer have been reported among black Americans and Africans.

"The market for that is tremendous and there are only two other products as nutraceuticals for this," he said. "This is going in there, brand Jamaica, and if we get the right thrust and the right support we have hundreds of millions of US dollars which can come to Jamaica."

Yesterday, in his prepared remarks, Lowe said that as a first step in the development of the nutraceutical industry, Bio-Tech R&D Institute has already secured capital of $25 million, which will contribute to the overall development of the institute in the next 24 months. Further capitalisation of $25 million is expected within the next 48 months.

"As a result, the only thing that could impede success is our will to succeed," said Dr Lowe.

"We will be working toward seizing a five per cent share of the global nutraceutical industry within the next two years, which translates to a multi-billion-dollar local industry -- approximately $726 billion," he said.

The Bio-Tech R&D Institute brings together Jamaica's four leading research institutions -- the University of the West Indies, University of Technology, Northern Caribbean University and the Scientific Research Council -- all of which will receive 2.5 per cent of the total shares of the institute free of cost.

In addition to his other shareholders -- Federated Pharmaceutical/Lascelles Limited and the Environmental Health Foundation Dr Lowe said he has forged a partnership with the largest nutraceutical company in China, which will distribute the formula in that Asian country.

"We expect that gaining even one per cent of the Chinese market will amount to tremendous US dollar value export earnings perhaps the most rewarding endeavours and investments in our country in recent times," said Dr Lowe.

THE SMOKE debate is heating up

December 5, 2010
Started By nuff money0 Comments
KE6W1449.jpg

THE SMOKE debate is heating up as the production of ganja falls in Jamaica and illegal importation of cigarettes swirls across local borders.

Minister of National Security Dwight Nelson told his counterparts in the region that data showed that marijuana production was steadily dipping.

But with each passing month, Customs has seized illegal cigarettes in massive bulk, signalling that smokers are being given expanding choices - both legal and illegal.

In the latest of a flurry of activities that have been affecting the industry, Finance Minister Audley Shaw's attempt to inject additional funds into government coffers has served to level the playing field for weed and cigarette smokers.

Many Jamaicans are known to smoke both cigarettes and ganja.

carreras not benefiting

But Michael Bernard, managing director of Carreras Limited, controller of the major bulk of the tobacco, is not of the view that the two are interrelated.

"I believe that any reduction in marijuana production or use is as a result of the efforts on the part of the authorities, but Carreras is definitely not benefiting from it," he declared.

When Jamaica Customs Contraband Enforcement Team seized a container with more than 400 cases of illegal cigarettes valued at $120 million destined for St Maarten, there was no doubt that illegal cigarettes were big business.

Shaw's announcement last Tuesday gave Carreras a fillip to press for more action from the Ministry of Health and the Customs Department.

The finance minister announced that the 10.5 per cent special consumption tax that normal cigarettes attract would be imposed on 'beedie', 'little cigars' and 'grabba' (locally grown tobacco). Two of these items - beedie and grabba - are generally mixed with ganja for smoking.

A 100 per cent increase in 2008, another 30 per cent hike in 2009, and a near 30 per cent jump in 2010 sent the taxes on cigarettes swirling and left the cigarette company in a cloud of gloom.

However, other smokers were not required to pay the hefty taxes for their habit, resulting in the prices of other sources of smoking being less than half that of normal cigarettes.

But last week, smokers of other shapes and forms got the blow cigarettes had been getting when Shaw expanded the range of sin tax on the products.

Bernard complains that the Ministry of Health imposes strict guidelines for his company but ignores ganja use, as well as beedie and grabba, and marijuana consumption.

"The focus of the Ministry of Health is on cigarette smoking," he charged. "They must of necessity extend that focus to ensure that health warnings with specifications are enforced and ensure that those requirements are met."

Customs and the Organised Crime Investigation Division have been swooping down on smugglers and holders of hundreds of thousands of illegal cigarettes that have been sneaked into Jamaica.

While Carreras Limited exhaled last week with the news that other forms of smoking would be taxed as heavily as cigarettes, the company's managing director wants more to be done to level the playing field.

wants more

Bernard appeared quite satisfied with the efforts of some Customs and law-enforcement officers, but called for more.

However, he conceded that the objective of marijuana producers and growers is the same: access to easy money.

Bernard postured that it is for this reason that illegal cigarettes are finding their way on or under shop shelves and are being sold cheaply.

"I am confident that, by their action, Jamaica Customs will do what is necessary to prevent illegal cigarettes from circulating in Jamaica," Bernard asserted.

However, he said Customs must go further to ensure that labelling requirements are met in relation to all cigarettes entering the island, and the correct amount of duties paid.

"We are concerned that Customs and law enforcement must meet those requirements," Bernard told The Sunday Gleaner. "They are making efforts, but we would like to see these efforts accelerated."

gary.spaulding@gleanerjm.com

National Drugs Statistics

Seizures of cured marijuana (kg):

January to September 2007:

January to September 2008:

January to September 2009:

January to September 2010:

Between January and September 2007 and January and September 2010, seizures of cured marijuana declined by 47.6 per cent.

Source: Ministry of National Security

Earthquake felt in Kingston

December 5, 2010
Started By nuff money0 Comments

A tremor was felt in sections of Kingston about 8:45 tonight.

There is no official confirmation from the Earthquake Unit yet, but persons reported feeling their beds and other furniture shake.

Reports are that the tremor was felt in Stony Hill, Barbican, Mona, Molynes Road, Liguanea and other areas.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/Earthquake-in-Kingston#ixzz17IiZDVkH

Gyptian coudnt Hold on to His Health

December 5, 2010
Started By SVG1 Comments
gyptian3.jpg
Gyptian ..apparently lost the grip on his health recently when he was rushed to the hospital after suffering from dehydration. Gyptian ..not so fresh off a 60 day European and African tour was told by a doctor to get some rest. According to reports the Reggae artiste persisted on completing a number of shows while not feeling up to scratch ... which resulted in stomach pains and dizziness.
Gyptian is making the most of the Hold Yuh era.. making all the hay while the sun shine, the side effect thus being sacrificing his health. Gyptian reportedly apologies to his Bajan fans for a show that he will be missing there...and at the same time making plans with the promoters for a new show date.
This is the second time for the year Gptian has been hospitalised, earlier this year the artiste fell off his bike sustain minor cuts and bruises

Vybz Kartel to Sell Gaza T -Shirts?

December 5, 2010
Started By SVG0 Comments
Copy and Paste
Kartel+Gaza+Shirt-2.jpeg
It seems that ..Kartel is not planning on letting up on the Business side of his empire any time soon. The DJ who has been without a visa for the last half of the decade has been seeking alternative means (i.e. other than the Jamaican Club market in the US and UK) to an generate income... Vybz Kartel and his empire is not a fancy for most Jamaican promoters and are rarely featured on local stage shows due to pass incidents and current stigma.
So it comes as no surprise for the DJ and his partner to engage in Street Vybz Rum, the Building night club, condom production and now he is apparently venturing into apparel.
This time though the nature of the current venture will perhaps have problems with a Patent... the term Gaza is very much universal and has a political and biblical conflict issues attached to it.. to stamp the name on the shirt and say its yours at some point will go beyond intellectual property rights... The plight of the people in the middle east and the music that potmore empire puts out.. really does not have much in common apart from being the under dogs in their particular jurisdictions..
Good luck with this one w h i t e m a n... we looking to see the 'cake soap type clarks' next....what ever is necessary.. the Benz must be paid for...

Buju should be Smiling this Christmas

December 5, 2010
Started By SVG0 Comments
BujuBanton.jpg
Ho..Ho Ho... how what a merry christmas Buju Banton is gonna be having ..in comparison to how things look a couple of weeks ago...
The Reggae artiste will be allowed to perform.. Buju was granted permission to perform at a live show in Miami in a few weeks. This was due to the appeal by Buju's attorney after they provided an affidavit from the security company detailing that Buju will be "secured" by at least half a dozen security guards while he is at the concert. It was just last week that the judge denied Buju the request to perform on the basis that his financial situation does not exceed the risk of him escaping...
The money from the concert will help to offset Buju expenses associated with his legal team and bail conditions.
Another reason why Buju will be merry this Christmas is that he was nominated for best Reggae Album that being "Before the Dwan". ..for the 2011 Grammy Awards... Other nominees include Andrew Tosh, Sly and Robbie, Lee Scratch Perry and the late Gregory Isaacs ...perhaps one of Gregory's widow will represent him at the Grammy's.... Buju awaits the start of the retrial which should commence in February 2011.
Check out ..one of Buju latest release.. tune called "Things a Come Up"

products.jpg

Trinidad-based manufacturer, CGA Limited, is claiming that it has suffered boycotts of its products in the Jamaican market.

Phillippe Agostini, Executive Chairman of CGA Limited, was quoted in the Trinidad Express Newspaper as saying that his agent in Jamaica, GraceKennedy, told him supermarket customers were looking at product labels to see where they were made.

He said he was told that customers chose another brand if the products werelabelled 'made Trinidad and Tobago'.

In addition, Greig Laughlin, President of the Trinidad and Tobago Manufacturers' Association, said other manufacturers in the twin island republic were also concerned about boycotts in Jamaica.

The boycott is believed to be in response to controversial statements made by Trinidad and Tobago Prime Minister, Kamla Persad Bissessar, that she will help CARICOM countries affected by Hurricane Tomas only if Trinidad benefits.

Kamla.jpg
Kamla Persad-Bissessar,
Prime Minister Trinidad and Tobago.
AIDONIA hmm that can gwaan i guess

SUHVERTO hmm

DEABLO blankstare.gif

BRANXX hmm is that a dog? lol

SIZE 10 oooookkkkk

INIUM hmm minerals???

SHOW KRYME hmm i guess the likes mortal kombat? lol

hmm yow mi rate dem originallity still nah lie

rlrlrl

This weekend Digicel will be bringing the 'spirit of Christmas' to the Caribbean's largest municipality.

As part of its promise to deliver a 'Loaded Christmas' to its over 2 million customers, Digicel will be on board with the annual Christmas tree-lighting ceremony that takes place this year on Sunday, December 12 at the Edgewater roundabout.

Digicel will sponsor an additional 10 mini treats in communities across the Portmore municipality that will include tree lighting exercises and family fun days.

The initiative, which will kick off with two mini-tree-lighting ceremonies in Edgewater and Indepen-dence City on December 4 and 5 respectively, is as a result of a partnership between the Portmore Municipal Council and Digicel.

The already vibrant communities of Edgewater and Independence City will come alive today and tomorrow as the telecommunications company fetes the residents with exciting treats for the children including a fun zone and explosive entertainment by some of Jamaica's hottest young artistes. These include Popcaan, Shawn Storm, Digicel ambassadors Jermaine Edwards and Dalton Harris and local talents from each community.

islandwide stops

"From early this year, Digicel has been on the road making islandwide stops with our community fun days and most recently our Christmas road shows - to further connect with our customers in their communities and tell them thanks for their support for Digicel. This series of 'Christmas in the City' is therefore an extension of our existing community initiatives," said Donovan White, head of marketing at Digicel.

White also stated that the Portmore tree-lighting was one of several that Digicel would be doing this Christmas, with New Kingston and Montego Bay also being on their agenda.

Commenting on the partnership, Councillor Keith Blake from the Independence City Division, said, "Certainly Digicel is on board with us in the municipality to ensure a good Christmas for the residents of Portmore and respectively in the divisions that councillors are in charge. It is going to be a different type of Christmas, a well-lit Digi-Christmas, and the residents of Independence City are looking forward to it. They can expect bigger and better things from Digicel, as the children will be fêted also, with lots of rides, with lots of surprises in store, including a fun zone filled with attractions as they look toward a break in the Christmas season."

The annual Portmore tree-lighting ceremony, to be held on December 12, will feature the likes of veteran reggae artistes Freddie McGregor, Digicel's brand ambassador I-Octane, Violinist Jessica Yap, and many more.

MINISTER of Agriculture and Fisheries Dr Christopher Tufton has urged young people to refrain from the negative uses of technology but to embrace its positives, particularly how it can be used for self-development.

"Technology can be used in negative way, you can use technology to hurt people and you can use technology to hurt yourself," said the minister. "Video games are not all good, the computer does not have only good things and therefore technology requires some guidance."

Warren Newby (Photo: Lionel Rookwood)
SRC1_w370.jpg
loading.gif
x.pngWarren Newby (Photo: Lionel Rookwood)
restore.png
left.png 1/1right.png

"When used in the correct manner, when applied towards self-development and community development, the development of new innovations and products, technology can give you the edge in society, in your life, in your career to put you above and beyond others who you have to compete with," he said.

Dr Tufton was addressing scores of students from across the island Tuesday at the Scientific Research Council's (SRC) Open Day at Hope Gardens in Kingston.

The open day, a collaboration among the SRC, agriculture and fisheries ministry, and the Ministry of Youth, Sports and Culture, was held under the theme 'Technologies For Youth Development'.

Dr Tufton, at the same time, urged the students to learn all that they could at the expo, which focused on how technology can be used in a positive and productive way.

Meanwhile, state minister in the Ministry of Industry, Investment and Commerce Michael Stern, and his counterpart from the youth, sport and culture ministry, Senator Warren Newby who brought greetings both underlined the importance of science and technology in the development of the country.

"Government is committed to the practical use of science and technology and innovation, not just to create jobs and attract new investments, but more importantly to improve the nation's health and nutrition," said Stern.

Senator Newby added: "We at the Ministry of Youth recognise that if we are to transform the Jamaican society, if we are to create new opportunities and avenues for wealth creation it rests in youth entrepreneurship. Entrepreneurship itself is innovation and innovation is the product of science and technology."

Jamaica, he said, has the ability to achieve Vision 2030 but requires youth, who are empowered to take charge of their future, accept responsibilities and take risks to advance the country's cause.

The expo, which had more than 30 exhibitors in the fields of science and technology, also featured presentations on HIV, renewable energy and GPS navigation.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/Youth-urged-to-use-technology-for-self-development_8203473#ixzz17D23ctxX

New power plant in West Kingston

December 4, 2010
Started By nuff money2 Comments

KINGSTON, Jamaica Jamaica is building a US$126 million power plant in the capital that Prime Minister Bruce Golding says will help reduce light bills.

Golding says West Kingston Power Partners is expected to produce 66 megawatts of power with engines that can run on gas oil and natural gas. He says the plant will lessen the island's dependence on costly imported oil.

Ground is broken for the West Kingston Power Partners electricity plant. Participating in the ceremony on Thursday with Prime Minister Bruce Golding (far right) are from left: partner at Conduit Capital Partners, Juan Paez; General Manager, Jamaica Energy Partners, Wayne McKenzie and Minister of Energy, James Robertson.
power_w370.jpg
loading.gif
x.pngGround is broken for the West Kingston Power Partners electricity plant. Participating in the ceremony on Thursday with Prime Minister Bruce Golding (far right) are from left: partner at Conduit Capital Partners, Juan Paez; General Manager, Jamaica Energy Partners, Wayne McKenzie and Minister of Energy, James Robertson.
restore.png
left.png 1/1right.png

The power will be sold by the Jamaica Public Service Company, the island's sole distributor of electricity, which serves nearly 600,000 people.

The plant is expected to operate by 2012 and to create 100 temporary jobs and 60 permanent positions.

Golding said in a statement Friday that the World Bank's International Finance Corporation is financing the project.

Jamaica has four main power stations, eight hydroelectric plants and one wind farm.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/New-power-plant-in-West-Kingston#ixzz17D14f9x1

GEORGETOWN, Guyana A regional trade bloc has agreed to give Haiti special trade concessions to help the impoverished country recover from a devastating earthquake.

Caricom officials say Haiti will be allowed to export 42 items for three years without having to open its market in return.

Caribbean trade ministers drew up the list of items late yesterday at the end of a two-day summit. They say Haiti asked for help in May to stimulate its economic activity.

The agreement takes effect next January.

More than 1.5 million people in Haiti are still homeless nearly a year after the January 12, 2010 earthquake. The country has received only a trickle of the billions of aid dollars promised by the United States and other nations.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/Haiti-obtains-special-access-to-Caribbean-market#ixzz17D1ZDoLd

National Environment and Planning Agency, along with a multi-agency team are currently responding to an oil spill in Kingston Harbour. The spill is located between the Petrojam Oil Refinery and Hunts Bay Power Station, operated by the Jamaica Public Service.

The agency said in a statement that it received a report at approximately 9:00 am this morning from the Marine Police who were on patrol in the harbour. The Jamaica Defence Force Coast Guard visited the scene earlier today and conducted the initial investigations. NEPA and Marine Police are now at the site conducting further assessments.  

NEPA has contacted the ODPEM, Maritime Authority, Petrojam and the Port Authority to get additional assistance to investigate the spill.

A previous spill occurred on November 22.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/Oil-spill-in-Kingston-harbour2010-12-04T13-18-23#ixzz17D0f8Evr

Stephen Marley, Five-time GrammyAward-winning producer, singer-songwriter and multi-instrumentalist, alongside his brothers Damian and Julian, is proud to announce the signing of reggae music singing sensation Christopher Ellis to the growing roster of musical talent featured on the Marley brothers record label imprint, Ghetto Youths International, Inc.

Christopher Lamour Ellis was born the youngest male progeny to 'The Godfather of Jamaican Rocksteady', the late Alton Ellis. Talented in his own right, the soulful, London-born 28-year-old roots reggae, r&b crooner has been astounding audiences with his incredibly natural, smooth vocal styling since the age of 11.

In 2009, a mutual friend introduced Stephen Marley to Christopher Ellis in Jamaica. During that meeting on Hope Road, Christopher sang a cappella for the iconic reggae producer. Coincidentally, the very same day that Stephen Marley met with Christopher Ellis, Marley was also contacted by producer Baby G, son of the legendary producer King Jammy, who had a remix track by Alton Ellis that he wanted Stephen to hear. Stephen listened to the Alton Ellis remix and immediately invited Christopher Ellis to join him at King Jammy's studio in Jamaica to sing on the track.

The session resulted in Marley recording Christopher Ellis' first single titled, End of Time, produced by Baby G. The track features Christopher Ellis, Stephen Marley and Jah Cure, and is inspired by Alton Ellis' rendition of You Made Me So Happy.

magnificent opportunity

The magnificent opportunity of working with Stephen Marley and the Marley family has continued in 2010 in Miami where Christopher Ellis has spent quality time working in the studio on material that is being helmed and produced by the mega- producer.

"I feel so incredibly blessed to be working on my debut album with Stephen Marley for the Ghetto Youths Records family," said Ellis.

To date, Stephen Marley has produced and recorded two singles for Ellis, including End of Time and a rendition of Alton Ellis' song titled Willow Tree, a sweetly seductive lover's ballad.

End of Time has an anticipated release, while a ballad version and a reggae version of Ellis' Willow Tree is available now on iTunes. Later this year, a video launch accompanying Ellis' Willow Tree single will mark Christopher Ellis' international debut, including in the territories of London, Jamaica and the United States.

Willow Tree is available for purchase at www.itunes.com, and the song's video can be viewed on YouTube.

«First  <  160 61 62 63 64524  >  Last»  | Page of 524  sorted by