Elizabeth Edwards, a best-selling author and the driving force behind her husband John Edwards' political career before it was destroyed by his infidelity, died on Tuesday at age 61.
Edwards died of cancer on Tuesday morning at her home in Chapel Hill, North Carolina surrounded by her family, they said in a statement.
"Today we have lost the comfort of Elizabeth's presence but she remains the heart of this family. We love her and will never know anyone more inspiring or full of life," they said.
Edwards was first diagnosed with breast cancer and treated in 2004. In 2007, the cancer returned and spread to other parts of her body.
She wrote two best-selling books, "Resilience" and "Saving Graces," about her long battle with cancer and the scandal surrounding her husband, a wealthy trial lawyer who served as a U.S. senator from North Carolina and twice ran for president.
Her husband was a rising star in the U.S. Democratic Party who was selected as Massachusetts Senator John Kerry's running mate when Kerry lost narrowly to Republican incumbent George W. Bush in 2004.
"Elizabeth Edwards was an incredibly loving, giving, and devoted mother," Kerry said in a statement.
John Edwards' personal and political fortunes changed after the National Enquirer, a tabloid newspaper, began reporting on his affair with a campaign aide named Rielle Hunter as he sought the 2008 Democratic presidential nomination. John Edwards initially dismissed the reports as "tabloid trash."
Elizabeth Edwards and her husband announced in January 2010 that they had separated after 32 years of marriage. The split came less than a week after John Edwards admitted that he had fathered a baby with Hunter. The little girl was 2 years old when he acknowledged he was her father.
Elizabeth Edwards' marriage disintegrated even as she battled terminal cancer. On Dec. 6, 2010, she said in a Facebook posting: "I have been sustained throughout my life by three saving graces, my family, my friends, and a faith in the power of resilience and hope."
"These graces have carried me through difficult times and they have brought more joy to the good times than I ever could have imagined. The days of our lives, for all of us, are numbered. We know that," she added.
Elizabeth and John Edwards endured a family tragedy before he entered politics.
The couple's eldest child Wade was killed in 1996 at age 16 in a traffic accident in North Carolina when a vehicle he was driving to the family's beach home crashed. The couple had three other children.
They say that it was shot a couple of years ago and stars a younger Nicki Minaj or someone who looks a lot like her. They describe this younger Nicki Minaj 'before she got hot' and says this younger version is doing all kinds of freaky stuff.
The tape is described as 'very explicit and graphic' but we have to take their word for it because we have not seen the video and they have.
Where Can You See the Nicki Minaj Sextape?
Well the people who have the ownership of the video right now are shopping it around and apparently want to sell all the dirty contents for $100,000. According to mto.com, these people have one person interested already.Not in the form of a counteraction or diss track, but instead using his twitter page as a tool to send a message.
Obviously referring to the constant diss tracks being release by Donia, Kartel apparently have no intentions to clash his nemesis.
@DjBizzyt a lyrical tiff is different from pop-dung artiste a call up man name fi get a hype #justsaying
Mi nuh clash artiste in need of a career boost cause me never call nuh man name fi buss. A DUSS! and you can quote me on that. (Vybz Kartel Twitter)
http://tuffchin.com/2010/12/vybz-kartel-states-aidonia-as-pop-dung-artiste/
The plans will include space for galleries and a museum, including a possible permanent home for Abramovich's own art collection, which has been acquired with Miss Zhukova's guiding hand.
A source close to Abramovich told the Sunday Telegraph: "There is a plan for traditional art spaces and cultural spaces within the complex. Daria will be involved."
Abramovich announced his arrival on the art scene in 2008 after spending Ł60 million in just 24 hours at two auctions in New York. He first spent Ł17 million on a painting by Lucien Freud - the most ever spent on a work by a living artist - and then followed it up the next night with the Ł43 million purchase of Francis Bacon's Triptych, 1976 - a record for the artist and a record for any contemporary art work.
It is not clear what other major works Abramovich, who is deeply private, has spent his money on but ARTnews, the world's oldest fine arts magazine, named the oligarch in the summer as one of the world's top 10 art collectors based on intelligence gathered from auction houses, art dealers, curators and other experts.
Abramovich owes his interest in contemporary art to Miss Zhukova, his girlfriend for the past three years and the mother of the youngest of his six children. The oligarch divorced his second wife Irina in 2007 - paying her a settlement in the region of Ł150 million. Miss Zhukova - known as Dasha to friends - has since become a permanent fixture in his life. Miss Zhukova, who at 29 is 15 years' Abramovich's junior, runs her own gallery - the Garage Center for Contemporary Culture (GCCC)- in Moscow. Set up in a former bus garage, it is said to have been paid for by Abramovich.
The island is the latest of Abramovich's lavish spending sprees. In September last year he brought a Ł54 million 70-acre estate on St Barts in the most expensive deal ever for a Caribbean island. He also spent a reported Ł300million on the world's biggest private yacht, Eclipse. The yacht is so large, it too has its own art gallery.
Not only is deejay Vybz Kartel adamant that he will not be attending Sting this year, but he is now saying that without the 'Gully' and 'Gaza' presence this year's event will not be as successful as in previous years.
"The Gaza and the Gully control dancehall music, and in our absence I can guarantee this Sting will be the floppiest Sting ever," the deejay said in an interview with THE STAR yesterday
His comments came after Isaiah Laing, the promoter of the annual event, said in an interview published in THE STAR yesterday that both artistes (Mavado and Vybz Kartel) won't be clashing, and by themselves they would not pull a thousand persons.
two biggest names
Kartel, after seeing Laing's comment, expressed a desire to respond. "Laing says that Vybz Kartel and Mavado, who are the two biggest names in dancehall music right now, can't pull a thousand people. So it would be fair to say then that all the artistes on Sting this year combined will not be pulling more than about 50 people," he said.
Both acts had also previously announced that they would not be performing at the event. Kartel confirmed last week that he will not be at the Boxing Day, December 26 event, slated for Jamworld in Portmore, St Catherine, despite being advertised on the poster. In Tuesday's STAR, it was also confirmed that singjay Mavado will not be on the show.
However, Laing in the article said that any void left by Mavado would be filled by other artistes in the line-up. "We have the likes of Sizzla right in the slot there. We don't think it will make a big difference," he said.
The promoter went on to explain in yesterday's article that there would be other crowd pullers like the Beenie Man and Bounty Killer collaboration, I-Octane and Khago.
Sting promoter Isaiah Laing
"The entire 13 warriors are gonna sell the show. No one person can't do it. This is Sting. This show is going to be huge 'cause we have so much to sell the show. Every angle you look at, it's going to be real excitement," he said, noting that Lady Saw would also be making an appearance after a seven-year absence. Stressing performances this year, Laing said there would also be a bonus cash award for the artiste who gives the best performance.
But while Laing is seeking to encourage patrons to attend Sting, Kartel is trying to pull them to another event. The deejay, in closing, said, "I'd just like to tell my Gaza fans to come party with the Teacha in The Building nightclub (in New Kingston) this Boxing Day."
In just a matter of weeks The New Quad nightclub's Original Dancehall Night dubbed Guinness Stulla Wednesday's became the hottest series on the party scene in Jamaica.
"We named, conceptualised, planned, executed and promoted the series into the established brand that it is," says IB Konteh, PR and marketing officer for The New Quad nightclub. The Wednesday night event saw an average of 800 patrons per night and is the hot spot for some of the movers and shakers in the Jamaican entertainment industry.
"Jah Cure, Sizzla, Bounty Killer, Aidonia, Damian and Stephen Marley, Chino, Ding Dong, Elephant Man, Spragga Benz are some of the entertainers that frequent our Wednesday night series," said Konteh.
Having parted ways with the name Stulla Wednesday's and its promotional team headed by dancehall artiste Mavado, who endorsed and hosted the event each week, The New Quad is now ready to continue its original dancehall night under the new name 'Shell Down Wednesdays'.
High-energy vibes
"As we gear up for another hectic festive season, fans will be treated to the high-energy vibes and entertainment they love each week," says Dane Chin, general manager for The New Quad. "We have added a stellar line-up of some of the best selectors in the dancehall circuit and each week a number of celebrities have confirmed their endorsement of Shell Down Wednesdays," he added.
Additionally, each edition of Shell Down Wednesdays will feature a creative and catchy theme that will give true and original dancehall fans what the club scene has been lacking. There will be giveaways each night and also Guinness bucket deals all night.
PORT-AU-PRINCE, Haiti A French disease expert says there is strong evidence linking United Nations peacekeepers to a cholera outbreak in Haiti that has killed more than 2,000 people.
Renaud Piarroux says in a report that the most likely explanation for the outbreak is that Haiti's Artibonite river was contaminated by a base of UN troops from Nepal.
The scientist conducted his research on behalf of the French and Haitian governments. The Associated Press obtained the report today.
Cholera had not been detected in Haiti until late October. Nearly 100,000 people have been infected so far. The UN has denied that its peacekeepers were to blame for the outbreak.
Pregnant women who regularly use mobile phones could increase the risk of their children behaving badly, claims a startling survey.
If their offspring then start using the devices at an early age, the chance of problems climbs to 50 per cent, according to researchers.
They found those exposed to mobile phones in the womb had a 30 per cent rise in behavioural difficulties at the age of seven.
Pregnant pause: Researchers suggest that pregnant women who regularly use mobile phones are putting their babies at risk of developing behavioural problems
But those exposed before birth and in their childhood, were 50 per cent more likely to have behavioural problems than those exposed to neither.
Children who used mobiles, but were not exposed in the womb, were 20 per cent more likely to display abnormal behaviour.
The findings by researchers in California are likely to reinforce warnings that children should not use mobile phones.
However, some British scientists were sceptical, saying the findings may be due to lifestyle factors rather than mobiles.
In the study of 29,000 youngsters, mothers provided details of their lifestyle, diet and environment during and after pregnancy.
Information on their childrens health and mobile phone use was also recorded. Around three per cent of children scored abnormal on behavioural issues, with another three per cent borderline.
The study found that more than ten per cent of children exposed to mobile phones in the womb had mothers who spoke on them at least four times a day.
Nearly half of the mothers had their phones turned on at all times while around a third of children were using a mobile phone by the age of seven.
Léo Taxil (whose original name was Marie Joseph Gabriel Antoine Jogand-Pagès) was an atheist who had been accused earlier of libel(slander) on account of a book he had written called The Secret Loves of Pius IX. On April 20, 1884, Pope Leo XIII published an encyclical, Humanum Genus, that said that the human race was "separated into two diverse and opposite parts, of which the one steadfastly contends for truth and virtue, the other of those things which are contrary to virtue and to truth. The one is the kingdom of God on earth, namely, the true Church of Jesus Christ ... The other is the kingdom of Satan," which were "led on or assisted" by Freemasonry.
After this encyclical, Taxil underwent a public, feigned conversion to Roman Catholicism, and announced his intention of repairing the damage he had done to the true faith. His real intent, however, was to publicly slander the Freemasons (who had rejected him for membership), and simultaneously embar**** the Roman Catholic Church.
READ FULL THING HERE: http://www.experiencefestival.com/a/Taxil_hoax_-_Taxil_and_Freemasonry/id/2081132
THE CONFESSION
Now, I address myself to the Catholics. I tell them: When you were told that Doctor Bataille, pretending to be devoted to the Catholic cause, spent eleven years of his life exploring the darkest dens of secret societies, Lodges and Back-Lodges,1. and even luciferian Triangles, you fully approved him, you found his behavior admirable. He was overwhelmed with congratulations. Laudatory articles were written even in the publications of the party which, today, can't hurl enough thunderbolts to reduce Miss Diana Vaughan to ashes, here calling her a myth, there an adventuress and a fortune-teller.
Mavado
After not being on the poster or mentioned at the launch, it was confirmed yesterday that dancehall artiste Mavado will not be making an appearance at this year's Sting.
Speaking with THE STAR, Mavado's manager Julian Jones-Griffith said, "He's definitely not doing it."
Sting's promoter Isaiah Laing also confirmed this.
"He won't be on the show. I spoke to his manager and he said he would get back to me and he didn't, so we went ahead with the show," he said.
WON'T BE CLASHING
Laing explained that any void left by Mavado will be filled by other artistes on the line-up.
"We have the likes of Sizzla right in the slot there. We don't think it will make a big difference. They (Mavado and Vybz Kartel) won't be clashing and them by themselves won't pull a thousand people," Laing told THE STAR.
The promoter said there would be other crowd pullers like the Beenie Man and Bounty Killer collaboration, Sizzla, I-Octane and Khago.
"The entire 13 warriors are gonna sell the show. No one person can't do it. This is Sting. This show is going to be huge 'cause we have so much to sell the show. Every angle you look at, it's going to be real excitement," he said, noting that Lady Saw would also be making an appearance after a seven-year absence.
Stressing performances this year, Laing said there would also be a bonus cash award for the artiste who gives the best performance.
"There's going to be a Sting award for the best performer, and it will be in the form of cash for both male and female," Laing said.
THE STREETS of the capital city Port-of-Spain were flooded with colour and revelry yesterday as the launch of Carnival 2011 was declared by Minister of Arts and Multiculturalism, Winston Gypsy Peters.
Scores of spectators, including foreigners were seen gathered at Woodford Square taking photographs and video coverage of the street procession, which commenced shortly before 3 pm from Woodford Square, Port-of Spain.
The procession consisted of traditional mas characters including the Blue Devils, Midnight Robbers, Jab Jab, Sailors and Clowns. There were also Moko Jumbies and Pierrot Grenades.
The street parade, accompanied by huge music trucks and rhythm sections moved along Frederick Street and headed North to the Queens Park Savannah.
Conventional Mas and Steelbands also left simultaneously from Victoria Square and proceeded east along Park Street, joining the traditional mas characters at the corner of Frederick and Park Streets.
At the Savannah, several carnival revellers from various Carnival committees including Couva, South Port-of-Spain, St James, Paramin, Gasparillo, New Carapichaima, Diego Martin, Belmont, San Fernando, Petit Valley and South Oropouche joined in on the street parade.
Spectators and carnival lovers were also entertained by Indian cross-over band Dil-E-Nadan Orchestra, Super Blue, Black Stalin, Shadow, JW & Blaze, Roy Cape All Stars and the Pamberi Steel Orchestra.
The budding romance between Halle Berrys ex- Gabriel Aubry and Kim Kardashian has reportedly horrified Halle Berry. Halle is said to be fuming over the possibility that Nahla, her daughter with Gabriel, could appear on an upcoming episode of Keeping Up with the Kardashians.
Halle would not be happy to see Kim with Nahla, an insider told Star Magazine. She wants her daughter out of the spotlight not with a reality star thats been in a porno.
Halles ex, Gabriel however is said to be ignoring Halles wishes.
He announced that he intends to spend Christmas with the Kardashians and he would be taking Nahla over to meet the whole family, the source revealed.
J-FLAG (Jamaica Forum for Lesbians, All-Sexuals and Gays) activist was found stabbed to death in Kingston, Jamaica. It is believed that the 26 year old was the victim of a hate crime. In Jamaica, there persists a society that tolerates violent and socially acceptable homophobia. The cries are loud and clear: Gays (or men) and lesbians are not welcome in Jamaican culture.In addition, Section 79 of the Offences Against the Person Act, which discriminates against gays by criminalising any form of intimacy between two men, whether done in private or public.
The advocacy group has demanded a full investigation of the death of the man, and his name has been withheld until his relatives can be notified.
A pair of twins accused of harbouring a 15-year-old girl, who ran away from home, and making arrangements with a man to have sex with her for cash, appeared in the Corporate Area Resident Magistrate's Court yesterday.
The accused are both charged with encouraging the prostitution of a minor, and aiding and abetting carnal abuse.
runaway teen
The allegations are that the teen ran away from home and went to live with one of the twins. It is alleged that the twins introduced her to a man, who came to take out the teen sometime after being introduced. It is further alleged that the man took the teen to his home where he had sex with her, before waking up another man who was at the house, to also have sex with the teen. A third man was also reported to have been involved in the act.
It is alleged that the man who took the teen to the house, told her that he would return and give her $3,000. However, he never did and the teen reportedly went back to the twins' house where one of them asked her for the money she was paid.
The Centre for the Investigation of Sexual Offences and Child Abuse received word of the situation at the home and an investigation was launched, resulting in the arrest of the twins. The court was also told that three other persons had been taken into custody in relation to the incident, and are to be taken before the court soon.
The matter is to be mentioned again today. The twins were remanded.
Gully Squad recording artiste Face said that she will not be clashing anyone at this year's Sting, even though she is the pre-eminent female clash artiste in the Dancehall Game since she demolished Queen Paula and Lisa Hype earlier this year.
"Ah just performance mi ah gi dem at Sting, no clash. Mi hear say the one Reggae Queen ah send word say she waan clash me , but mi nah clash no pissing tail gyal who caan wash her draws properly...she no ready yet, ah performance mi a gi dem," she told one876entertainment.com. "Mi kill two big fish ah Settlement, mi nah go back de so right now, so who want to go on Sting and call me name, dem only making me more famous, especially dem little girl who no live no way, dem no own no asset, just some duppy belly mascot, ah dat mi say, Gully fi life!"
2011 will be a good year for the popular energy drink Red Bull as construction on its modern $25 million recording studio and loft in Kingston should be complete.
The Haining Road-based studio should open in February and will be a very modern and environmentally friendly facility, according to Wisynco, local distributors for Red Bull, which will operate the studio on behalf of the label.
Wisynco is lamenting the fact that something like this has never been done in Jamaica especially providing such an opportunity for young artistes.
The studio will not rent studio time but offer it to artiste on an invitation basis for free.
Additionally, it will also set up collaborations with international artistes in some cases.
Red Bull already operates an international label and the studio in Jamaica follows sister studios in New Zealand, the United Kingdom and the United States.
The local studio will boost a modern design that utilises natural lighting and offers a full range recording capabilities with state of the art equipment.
According to hiphopwired.com, a Pennsylvania teen has been charged with murder after confessing to the police that he killed his mother and dumped her body behind their south Philadelphia home.Kendall Anderson, 16, has been charged as an adult in the death of 37-year-old Rashida Anderson who police say he bludgeoned to death with a hammer and piece of wooden furniture.
Police say that Anderson murdered his mother and disposed of the body in an alley behind the house they shared by dumping a dresser on top of the corpse.He then called the police to report her missing.After other family members suspected foul play and notified police, authorities searched the home and found a trail of *la*hd leading to the body. Anderson later confessed to the crimes.
Anderson has no violent criminal record, though records show he was arrested charged with theft of a laptop from his school.He is now charged with murder, abuse of a corpse and related crimes.Police have not released a motive for the killing.
After not being on the posteror mentioned at the launch, it was confirmed yesterday that dancehall artiste Mavado will not be making an appearance at this year's Sting.
Speaking with THE STAR, Mavado's manager Julian Jones-Griffith said, "He's definitely not doing it."
Sting's promoter Isaiah Laing also confirmed this.
"He won't be on the show. I spoke to his manager and he said he would get back to me and he didn't, so we went ahead with the show," he said.
WON'T BE CLASHING
Laing explained that any void left by Mavado will be filled by other artistes on the line-up.
"We have the likes of Sizzla right in the slot there. We don't think it will make a big difference. They (Mavado and Vybz Kartel) won't be clashing and them by themselves won't pull a thousand people," Laing told THE STAR.
The promoter said there would be other crowd pullers like the Beenie Man and Bounty Killer collaboration, Sizzla, I-Octane and Khago.
"The entire 13 warriors are gonna sell the show. No one person can't do it. This is Sting. This show is going to be huge 'cause we have so much to sell the show. Every angle you look at, it's going to be real excitement," he said, noting that Lady Saw would also be making an appearance after a seven-year absence.
Stressing performances this year, Laing said there would also be a bonus cash award for the artiste who gives the best performance.
"There's going to be a Sting award for the best performer, and it will be in the form of cash for both male and female," Laing said.
Dear Pastor,
Some people say long-distance relationships don't work, but mine has. I left my man and went abroad. We were separated for many years and I did not cheat on him. I do not believe he cheated on me either. While I was away, I didn't date any other man. I don't know if he dated any woman. But I know I was faithful to him, and we spoke often on the phone.
When I returned to Jamaica, we got married and I am enjoying my married life. I am never worried about leaving my husband to go abroad. I am faithful to him and he is faithful to me. So if couples love each other, and they have to separate from each other for a while, they don't have to cheat.
Temptations are around, whether in Jamaica or abroad. One does not have to yield to the temptations.
Faithful Wife., Jamaica
Dear Faithful Wife.,
Some long-distance relationships have worked and some have failed. It is not advisable for a man and his woman to be separated for a long period of time. The Bible warns couples not to separate themselves for a long period. The Bible says when a couple separates themselves for a long period, Satan may tempt them to do wrong. That is to become unfaithful to each other. Perhaps you should read the warning given in First Corinthians 7: 1-7.
While I would not condemn couples who separate themselves from each other for a long period, I cannot encourage it. I have seen too many relationships destroyed as a result of that.
Pastor
A 3.8-magnitude earthquake shook sections of Kingston and St Andrew on Sunday night -- the ninth such event felt in Jamaica since the start of the year.
The strength of the seismic activity was not enough to cause any structural damage, but geophysicist Dr Lyndon Brown said it was a reminder to Jamaicans be prepared for earthquakes.
"We are in a very active zone. Earthquakes are always happening. When we have these events, (it is a reminder that) we have to be very conscious of how we build. We can't just have everybody building how they want," Brown, a research fellow at the University of the West Indies (UWI) and head of the Earthquake Unit, told the Observer.
"I would advise that people just always be prepared for such events. Remember the "drop, cover, hold" rule that ODPEM (Office of Disaster Preparedness and Emergency Management) tries to impart," he added.
It was a sentiment echoed by Raymond Stewart, the seismic analyst at the UWI-based Earthquake Unit.
"The thing is that Jamaica is well faulted and so we can always expect earthquakes to occur. Earthquakes have no season, so it is important to be prepared. Who could have predicted we would have had an earthquake on Sunday?" he said.
The epicenter of Sunday's tremor was near Chestervale in St Andrew, which forms a part of the most active seismic zone on the island. With a reported depth of 10.8 kilometres, it was felt in, among other places, Liguanea, Beverley Hills and Washington Gardens.
"(There was) no damage," noted Brown. "We wouldn't expect any damage with this sort of event. If there is anything happening, we would expect things falling off shelves, but no structural damage. In the past, we have seen damage with events over five magnitude and to houses not built to any code."
Four of the other tremors felt on the island this year originated here -- one of them near Hope Bay, Portland on October 7; another near Silver Hill Gap on August 16; and a third near Chestervale, St Andrew on April 14. The precise location of the fourth, felt on August 29, was not determined.
The other events had their epicentre in Northern Haiti, Cayman, and off the southern coast of Cuba.
Dear Pastor,
I have big breasts. Sometimes I am so conscious of them. I know that some women pay a lot of money to make their breasts larger.
Please, give me your advice.
R.,
Dear R.,
Evidently you are very uncomfortable with the size of your breasts. Women who have large breasts and know how to carry them, like to show them off. They wear low-cut blouses to show their cleavage. Of course, if your breasts arevery large, and weighing you down and causing you to have back aches, you may wish to see a doctor.
Pastor
Two illegal firearms were recovered yesterday following a car chase which began along Perkins Boulevard in St Andrew.
Reports are that about 5:30 p.m., a team including members of the Contraband Enforcement Team and the Trans-National Crime Narcotics Division were travelling on their way to conduct an operation.
While driving along Perkins Boulevard, it is said that the occupants of a white Toyota Corolla were seen acting suspiciously.
The driver of the Corolla reportedly sped off and the police gave chase.
With the police close behind, the occupants in the Corolla are alleged to have thrown a brown paper bag through the window and the police stopped to retrieve it.
It is said that two .45 pistols with two rounds of ammunition were found in the bag.
Investigations continue.
A man accused of cutting his neighbour on the neck with a machete told the Corporate Area Resident Magistrate's Court yesterday that he did it because the complainant was sprinkling some kind of powder beneath his window, which was making his baby sick.
Charged with unlawful wounding is Shamarley Jones. She pleaded guilty with explanation to the charge and told Resident Magistrate Lorna Shelly Williams that he has a set of twins that were born prematurely. He told the court that the complainant was sprinkling "things" around the yard and said the "sprinklings" were affecting the babies' health.
bleach
The complainant, however, told the court that the only thing he sprinkled was bleach and that was to get rid of the stench of urine.
The accused further told the court, however, that on the day in question, he saw the complainant peeping into his room. He said he became afraid, grabbed his machete and pushed it through the window.
The complainant when asked about the gravity of his injuries told the court that it was a "deep" cut, despite the fact that he received no stitches and did not spend any time in hospital. He told RM Shelly Williams that it would take $50,000 to compensate for his injury, as he was badly affected. He said "Wa day mi went to di studio your honour and mi couldn't even sing."
The RM inquired whether the medical certificate spoke to any damage to his vocal cords, but she was told there was no such indication. She then told the complainant to quote a realistic figure, to which he replied, "$20,000, your honour."
A relative of the accused paid $10,000 to the complainant and was instructed to return today to pay the rest. Jones was remanded in custody.
A man who is reportedly being held on a murder charge at the Port Maria Police Station in St Mary, created quite a stir recently after he was found with several parcels of ganja all over his body as he was about to be transported to court.
The man, Richard Hanson from the parish, was sentenced to 10 days in prison last Thursday for the find when he appeared in the Port Maria Resident Magistrate's Court and pleaded guilty to the allegations.
Allegations were that some time last month, Hanson was being taken from the lock-up to a police service vehicle as he was scheduled for court. He was said to have been searched after he was noticed acting suspiciously.
It is said that 10 parcels of ganja were found between his buttocks, one parcel under his arm, two in his shoes, and two more parcels found in one of his pants pocket.
He was immediately arrested and charged.
When THE STAR contacted the police station yesterday, the officer in charge was said to be out, however, a corporal said the incident was still a hot topic at the station and surrounding areas.
sentenced
"It happened from last month, but people are still talking about it. Moreso, because he was sentenced last week, so is like it's fresh news again," the cop said.
When asked if the police had arrived at any conclusion as to how the man came in possession of the ganja, the policeman said investigations are still ongoing, and it is being theorised that he was selling the illicit drug to other prisoners.
The corporal said that they were still unsure about how the accused man got the ganja.
"Based on what I'm hearing he was selling ganja but the bigger question is how he got it. But investigations are still ongoing, so I guess that will come to light eventually," he told THE STAR.
A group of about 28 persons who had intentions of travelling to Barbados found themselves at the Norman Manley International Airport Police Station instead of being on an aircraft after they claimed that a promise by a woman that they would get overseas employment did not materialise.
THE STAR understands that the disgruntled men and women were left somewhat stranded at the airport last Wednesday after they came to the realisation that no flight arrangements were made for them.
thousands of dollars
Allegations are that the complainants paid over thousands of dollars after they were told that they would get overseas employment.
According to a police source, who spoke to THE STAR yesterday, the group of mainly tilers are from the parishes of Hanover, Westmoreland and St James.
The accused woman, who is now in police custody, was arrested at a popular New Kingston travel agency later the same day after she fainted while trying to answer a volume of questions that were being posed by some of her clients. She was then rushed to the University Hospital of the West Indies where she was treated and released.
The Kingston Eastern police are investigating.
According to the police, the woman's identify is being withheld pending further investigations and she has not been charged.
Gold thieves struck in the quiet Ensom City community on Saturday night, leaving a man without several items of jewellery including his gold tooth.
Reports reaching THE STAR are that about 11 p.m. the victim was entering his home when he was attacked by the gunmen.
It is said that after opening a grille gate to his house, the man was pounced on by hoodlums who then proceeded to rob him.
They are reported to have taken several pieces of expensive jewellery from him.
THE STAR was informed that before the criminals left, however, they decided to go just a bit further. They decided to take out the victim's gold tooth from his mouth.
"Yes mi bredda, dem tek out di man jewellery. Is di cash-for-gold trade a mek dem tief di gold anywhere it deh," A female resident told THE STAR.
Checks made at the Spanish Town Police Station revealed that the matter is being investigated.
Meanwhile, the residents are concerned with the number of strange persons they are seeing in the community.
"Dem just ride around on bicycles and watch the place. Dem still don't realise dat we'll catch one a dem one day and it nah go nice fi dem," another resident said.
The residents requested more police presence in the area to assist in crime reduction.
It seems the two previous postponements led to a less than expected turn out at ZJ Liquid's birthday party 'Wet' that was held at Caymanas Golf Club, St Catherine, on Friday night.
The party was postponed twice in October due to heavy rains associated with Tropical Storm Nicole and severe weather conditions the following week. This was disappointment to many people who were pumped up to celebrate his birthday with him. Sadly, on Friday night the venue, which also had a spacious pool area, was beautifully decorated but there were not enough patrons to enjoy the décor.
Liquid, however, got good support from members of the entertainment fraternity. Among those spotted at the event were Aidonia, Chino, Laden, Chi Ching Ching, Konshens, Delus, Munga, Keida, Chico, Don Corleone, Rolexx, Foota Hype, Biggy (from Razz and Biggy), Mr G, Timberlee, CéCile, Andrew and Wada *la*hd, Mafia, Crumbs from Liv Up Records, G-Whizz and Bay-C from T.O.K.
At 1:30 a.m. when patrons were slowly filing in, Illusion Sound from Ocho Rios entertained the patrons with many hip-hop and dancehall mixes. Afterwards, Dutty Dex from Miami got off to a lively start with a Denyque dubplate. This was followed by high energy songs like Usher's OMG, Ceelo's F You, Chris Brown's Deuces and Trey Songz and Nicki Minaj's Bottoms Up.
Later he got some occasional 'forwards' when he played dancehall songs like Vybz Kartel's Life Sweet and Assassin's Hand Inna Di Air.
Coppershot came later and seemed to be in a 'loving' mood, as they started off with Jah Cure's Unconditional Love, that was followed by a slew of other R&B and love songs. They gently glided into other songs like Stacious and Mavado's Come Into My Room and Vybz Kartel's Never Get A Gal. Eventually, the patrons got a bit more energetic with songs like Aidonia's Jack Hammer and Spice's Screechie.
DJ Wayne created some impact when he played Seanizzle's 'One Day' and 'Split Personality' rhythms, which featured ZJ Liquid. Chan Dizzy's Nuh Strange Face also got a good reception.
Supa Hype later played songs like Busy Signal's Picante and Mavado's Hold Mi. During this time, there were some couples who were locked into some intense gyrating. But by now, the LIME girls who occupied the centre of the dance floor for most of the night had already left. The selector brought the party to a close at about 4:30 a.m.
For the third consecutive year, singer I-Octane will take the opportunity to give back to his Portmore community with a fun day and concert sponsored by telecoms giant Digicel.
Dubbed 'Different Page' (from his hit single of the same name), the free event will have some of the biggest names in reggae and dancehall in performance, and also great giveaways from Digicel.
Different Page takes place on Friday, December 10, at the HQ Football Field in Daytona, Greater Portmore.
"This is the third edition, and every year it attracts more and more persons," a very pleased-looking I-Octane explained.
added element
He added that he was quite happy to give back to his community in this way, especially during the festive season. This year, the partnership with Digicel, with whom the singer is signed, will prove an added element which will ensure that the event is even bigger and better.
"It will be a day-and-night event that caters to the entire family. The kids can come out early and enjoy all the rides and bounce-a-bouts, and in the evening there will be performances from the artistes. Throughout the day, there will be prizes and surprises from Digicel," I-Octane stated.
Among the artistes slated to perform at Different Page are Beenie Man, Bounty Killer, Mavado, Bling Dawg, Lisa Hyper and others.
Harry Toddler is happy that he is in the company of good friends once more, as he says he is glad that he, Bounty Killer and Elephant Man have put their differences aside.
"Bounty seh right now him and Toddler nuh have nothing, wi a bredda. Ele even call mi wah day an wi a reason and him a seh mi cyaan a roll suh by miself and him a seh mi fi start 'trampooze' wid dem again. A unity wi a deal wid," said Toddler.
He is also looking forward to an upcoming tour in Africa, which he was invited to be a part of by Elephant Man.
"Me and Joseph (Bogdanovich) a talk bout it (African tour) and so far it sound like a really good idea. If it happens it would probably be the best tour mi eva guh pon. Some of my songs popular in that region of the world, suh I think it going to guh good," said Toddler.
"Right now mi just a focus on doing good, quality music. Nuh more low-grade music from the blonde don," he said.
Whether you want to call him Harry Toddler, Blonde Ras or Blonde Don, he's still the same person.
"Wi have whole heap a name. Everybody done know seh a Sunshine give mi the name Blonde Ras, but a Foota Hype now come and seh Blonde Don. A dah name deh wi a work wid, but a di same man weh unu know fi all these years," said Toddler.
Not having a major hit song for more than a year after his Don't Run In single, has not disheartened him, as Toddler is now working on finding his next hit.
He recently recorded Crazy Spanking on the new 'This Is It' rhythm, and the video for the single is also expected to be shot in coming weeks.
Other recently recorded songs include Good Up Good Up, on Truckback's 'Tun It Up' rhythm.
Vybz Kartel is promising to deliver an outstanding performance for this Sunday's Red Stripe Bold Concert (RSB) set for Knutsford Boulevard.
Kartel, easily one of Jamaica's standout modern-era entertainers, is among several acts including Cham, Lady Saw, Tarrus Riley and I-Octane who are down to perform at the concert that signals the start of Red Stripe Bold's Stand Out campaign.
The Stand Out Campaign, that begins with this Sunday's concert, is RSB's latest drive to become a standout brand. Red Stripe Bold is forging alliances with some of the top acts in the dancehall to create an experience for their consumers that will be enjoyable and exciting in many ways.
That is exactly what Kartel plans to do this Sunday. "I plan to give the fans a solid 45-minute set," he tells THE STAR. "No 'pull up dat, after a few seconds in each song, but rather a complete two-to-three-minute journey into each lyric which is seldom seen in dancehall performances. Just clean, tolerant lyrics, so fans can come out and bring the students to the see the teacher. Oh!"
corporate giants
Kartel, who has several achievements notched on his musical résumé, including leaving the Alliance to start his own 'Empire' and Adidjahiem Records. He is also part-owner of Unlimited Daggerin', a company that produced Street Vybz Rum and Daggerin' Condoms. The recording artiste says he embraces working with corporate giants Red Stripe Bold. "Kartel has no problem working with corporate," he says. "I consider myself a good, corporate citizen."
Some other outstanding local entertainment entities will also be on hand to help provide great entertainment. So fans can also look forward to music, courtesy of Liquid, Renaissance and Coppershot.
Sunday's concert is to be followed by the Absinthe and Renaissance Christmas parties and a New Year's Eve Party in Montego Bay.
Like many young women preparing for the weekend, hairdresser Kaylin Ransom has her nails done and picks out her nicest clothes.
But then she drives more than an hour for a weekly appointment she can't miss: having her mug shot taken at the county jail. Every Friday for the past six months, Ransom has traveled to the Lake County Jail as part of her 90-day weekend sentence on aggravated-battery and child-abuse charges.
In May, Ransom pleaded no contest to three counts of battery and child abuse without great bodily harm. Ransom allegedly attacked a woman with a baseball bat and threw her children out of a car. She was sentenced to 90 days in jail, of which she has now served 56.
"Mentally, it kills you because you have to turn yourself in," said the 22-year-old Ocala mother. "In those two days, you probably think about more than someone who's been confined for years."
But the self-described strong-minded "weekender" has found a way to deal with it. Before she has to report to the jail at 5 p.m. every Friday, Ransom undergoes a beauty routine. She draws in her eyebrows, glues on fake eyelashes, chooses a weave and plans the pose she will strike for her booking photo.
The result: Thirty different looks. Thirty different smiles. Thirty different chances to have her glamour shot appear on the Lake County Sheriff's Office website.
Ransom's uncommon weekends-only sentence was part of a plea agreement after she was arrested and accused of hitting a rival woman with a baseball bat and throwing her kids out of the car.
Most county jails that allow weekend time to be served don't keep a separate count of the number of people serving these types of sentences because they move in and out of the system quickly, officials said. Weekenders are lumped in with the roster of people participating in other weekend programs such as work release and community service, which change weekly.
Sgt. John Meeks of the Lake County Jail said there is no extra cost in accommodating weekenders because jails are regularly staffed and there are a relatively small number of them.
Some judges will consider weekend jail time for defendants who aren't deemed dangers to the community or for those with minor, nonviolent offenses, lawyers said. Criminal-defense lawyer Michael Graves said other mitigating circumstances if someone is a single parent, needs medical treatment or has a stable job could sway a judge to agree to the weekends-only sentence.
That was true in Ransom's case, her attorney said.
"If she had gone straight to jail, she would've lost her job and couldn't support her children. Everyone understood that," said lawyer Ben Boylston. "In certain cases, weekend jail is a good outcome that works for everyone, but it's a solution that is not appropriate for every case."
Sara Smith, who was the Lake County prosecutor in Ransom's case, said weekend sentences are usually done with the victim's approval particularly in cases that involve restitution. A defendant who loses a job can't pay back what is owed.
Still, there are some critics, including Toby Hunt, a prosecutor in the 5th Judicial Circuit.
"The criminal-justice system is designed to punish the offender not to make things more convenient for them," he said.
In addition to Lake, both the Polk and Osceola county jails allow sentences to be served during weekends. Orange and Seminole counties do not, officials said, because they fear it may be exploited as a conduit for smuggling contraband into the jail.
Ransom uses her weekly, 48-hour stints of incarceration to "think about how to better myself as a mother and sister," she said. "Sometimes I strategize on ways of being richer. The whole weekend I just strategize."
With only a few weeks left, Ransom, who is the single mother of a toddler, is grateful the sentence has kept her out of the nightclubs where she said trouble tended to find her.
"My son motivates me because I have to do right by him to be there for him," she said. "Jail time is what you make of it."