International reggae artiste Buju Banton will now face a new charge when he returns to court for the second round in his drug battle against the United States.
We understand that the United States District Court Middle District of Florida Tampa Division courts decided to add possession of a firearm to the list of charges that is already tagged to Bujus case.
As previously reported, a mistrial was declared in Buju Bantons first trial in the United States, after the jury was unable to reach a unanimous verdict in September 2010.
Nevertheless, Bantons legal team is contending that the United States government entrapped him.
Banton's first trial charges consist of conspiracy to possess with intent to distribute cocaine
The Gargamel is set to perform on his Buju and Friends concert on Jan 16the at Bayfront Park Amphitheater in Miami. No date yet has been set been set for trial.
A woman who identified herself as Melissa is currently in police custody after she attempted to fleece the Mei Tung Restaurant which is located above the Buddys Pool Hall on Sheriff Street yesterday.
On Monday evening, the manager of New Thriving Restaurant, John, called Kaieteur News to enquire if the newspaper had one Faye as an employee and that she had promised to cause to be published a report that he had served her a meal that contained a ****roach.
He said that the woman was demanding $100,000 to settle the matter. He said that he was prepared to give her $15,000 but she was insistent that she be paid $100,000.
When Kaieteur News Publisher Glenn Lall sent a staff member to New Thriving to confront the woman, the woman told the staff member that she was an employee. When asked in which department, the woman replied, Is that relevant?
Immediately the Kaieteur News staff member ordered that New Thriving call the police. John declined to pay and the woman walked out of the restaurant but vowed to take the matter further.
John said that she even complained to President Bharrat Jagdeo who had just entered the restaurant in Johns presence. The woman had already eaten a meal for which the restaurant declined to accept payment.
Yesterday, when the woman was taken into custody she burst into tears. She had attempted the same scam at the Mei Tung restaurant.
This time she claimed that she had bought a meal the night before and had contracted diarrhea. Staff members there reported serving the woman shortly before midnight.
The woman returned yesterday and demanded that she see the owner of the establishment, Omprakash Buddy Shivraj, who said that he told his staff to give her $5,000 but the woman insisted that she wanted $25,000.She subsequently upped the ante and asked for $50,000 and then $100,000. Again she claimed that she was an employee of Kaieteur News. Shivraj called Glenn Lall and the bubble burst.
Shivraj learnt from Lall that the woman had tried the same thing at New Thriving and it was at this point in time that the police was called in.
But the woman did not quit her bluster. She threatened the photographer with legal action if he caused her photograph to appear in the newspapers.
Hugh Hefner may have just landed his first celebrity for a Playboy cover and photo shoot in 2011.
Toni Braxton asked her Twitter followers yesterday (January 4) what they thought of the idea of her posing for the publication
The 43-year superstar singer who has won six Grammys and sold over 40 million records worldwide during her nearly 22-year career, said that Playboy has been chasing her for a while now.
"I would love to pose with Hugh Hefner though. He's the sexiest guy I know over 30," she tweeted. "Of course it will be tastefully done. Just a lil T and A. They have asked me about 3 times before."
Toni is definitely MILF material, would you guys like to see her in Playboy?
Dyson Kilodavis is a 5-year-old who likes to wear dresses, the color pink, and has dubbed himself Princess Boy. He is also the main character in a childrens book written by his mother, about what its like to want to be a little different from everyone else.
Dyson and his mother stopped by the Today Show this morning, where they chatted about Dysons penchant for dressing up, the response to the book, and Dyson says to people who make fun of his style.
His mother Cheryl told Meredith Viera that she wasnt always okay with Dysons desire to wear dresses, but had a change of heart after his older brother asked her, Why cant you just let it be happy? She realized then that her concern was really an adult issue and something she needed to get over, which is why she wrote the book.
And the response, she says, has been overwhelmingly positive.
Dysons father added: Its not contagious, he told the show. Hes just like any other kid. He plays checkers, he plays in the trees. He just likes to do it in a dress. Big deal.
Dyson, for his part, seems to have a wonderfully supported sense of self. When other kids or people make fun of the way he dresses, his mom says he tells them, If you dont like me in a dress or in pink, then youre not my friend.
And when asked why he wears what he wears, little Dyson responded, Because it makes me feel happy. And who can say no to that?
They baned these sites because they were pornography and obscenity. Sites that featured blogger & political satire were deemed pornographic, stuff we dont like.
They have examined 1.79 million websites, deleted 350 million articles, pictures and videos; shut down 60,000 websites and rounded up 4,965 people, 1,332 received criminal punishment with 58 jailed for five years or more.
WoW, we've got it easy in the US. This is why our Freedom is so important , that we must protect it from those who want to destroy it.
A titlewave of excitement overcame a colossal crowd of 40,000 fans recently when dancehall star Mr. Vegas took center stage at Japan's largest Reggae festival, Yokohama Reggae SAI.
There, the popular artist and his High Energy dancers unleashed a fiery stage performance, which lasted 30 minutes. Mr. Vegas boldly laced the venue with a medley of hits that spanned over a decade. From past chart toppers like "Heads High" and "Go Up" to current smashes "Tek Wey Yuhself" and "Hot Wuk," Mr. Vegas thoroughly entertained the enthusiastic crowd. The dancehall star felt so good mid-way into his performance, that he cataputled himself into the crowd. The fans, who eagerly transported him, didn't seem to mind a bit.
Additionally, given Mr. Vegas' extensive catalogue of music, it was only fair that he amuse his fans with current hits in Japan, "Do You Know" and "Up and Live." In fact, he aptly closed his adrenaline-fueled set with "Up and Live." Mr. Vegas was greeted with loads of praises from his fans in Japan, where he last toured in 2007 with Mighty Crown.
"To me -- performing before such a large crowd is an achievement," says Mr. Vegas. "It's a joy to see legions of fans on the other side of the world......mi tell you, Reggae music is a universal language that transcends race, color, class and creed."
A climactic moment of Mr. Vegas' stage show was a performance of High Energy, his background dancers that constantly bring the fire with kinetic dance moves injected with dancehall flavor. Throughout their segment, High Energy received monstrous forwards. Led by Boricia Anthony Brown and Tishana Ellis, High Energy is blossoming in recognition, with requests for appearances through out the world.
"As this is our first time in Japan, the experience has been quite rewarding," says Tishana. "Clearly, Japanese fans hold the 'dance' element of Dancehall culture with high regard, as evidenced by the outpour of appreciation we are receiving," added Boricia.
Mr. Vegas is riding high with the success of multiple singles/videos including "Daggering" and "Mus Come a Road." He is set to shoot a video for the highly anticipated "dance" tune "Round of Applause" later this month. The danceall singjay has also scored this summer with heavily attended tours and performances in Europe, Africa and Guyana. Surely, Mr. Vegas has lots in store for the remainder of 2008.
Vybz Kartel said in a radio interview with Cliff Hughes that he and his business partner Corey Todd has been getting death threats from 'STING' promoter Isiah Laing and his people.
A fearful Kartel said that after he did not perform at last year 'STING' show, the level of intimidation has increased dramatically to a point where he feels his life is in danger.
CHECK OUT THE AUDIO BELOW
Laing is a former police and promoter, according to Vybz he is using his connections in the police department to close down his show at the Building.
This clip speaks for itself -- literally. The Columbus Dispatch discovered a homeless man along Ohio's I-71 claiming to have "the God-given gift of voice," and what began as your everyday viral video has exploded into a life-changing experience for one man. Yesterday morning he was a panhandler; today he's the most in-demand voice personality in the world, thanks to offers from countless radio stations, voiceover gigs and even the Cleveland Cavaliers.
His name is Ted Williams, and he's an ex-radio announcer according to the note he scrawled on a piece of cardboard that he used to solicit change from drivers. And wow, does Williams ever deliver for a dollar. Williams tells the Dispatch about his struggles, but thankfully "alcohol and drugs and a few other things" haven't diminished Williams' velvety vocal cords, and he says he's two years clean now.
"I have a god given gift of voice. I'm an ex-radio announcer who has fallen on hard times. Please! Any help will be greatfully appreciated. Thank you and God bless. Happy holidays," reads Williams' roadside sign for help.
Deported Belizean emcee Shyne has opened up about his religious practices, and discussed maintaining his street credibility while walking the sanctified path.
According to Shyne, he currently resides in Israel, living as an Orthodox Jew.
All these rules, rules, rules, the rapper said about the strict religious requirements. But you know what you have if you dont have rules? You end up with a bunch of pills in your stomach.
Even though Shyne sports a Hasidic-style hat and a black jacket that hangs to his knees, the Brooklyn-raised rapper said he hasnt lost his street cred.
Theres nothing in the Chumash [a Jewish book] that says I cant drive a Lamborghini, said Shyne, who was released from prison last year after serving nine years.
Shyne is not the first rapper from the Diddy led Bad Boy records to turn their attention to their new found faith.
Ex-Bad Boy artist Loon spoke on his departure from Diddys label last year to pursue Islam.
Loon is working his way out of my system, he said in an interview. Im just happy to be accepting Islam and finding the peace of mind that I was always searching for in the music business and it was very difficult to find this place in my life now but thanks to Islam Ive been able to complete my search and Im very much at peace. Bad Boy days are over, now Im what you would call a good boy. [laughs] Right now Im very much focused on studying Islambeing in the position of influence, I have to be able to protect myself in ways the media sometimes tries to use these transitions that artists make and try to make an opportunity to mock Islam or whatever faith somebody might chooseWith me, I very much love the music but its the lifestyle thats really the bad influence. The music, sometimes, can be geared towards people to do positive things but the actual part that detours people from practicing their faith is really the lifestyle.
Mase, another former Bad Boy artist, retired from rap a decade ago due to his new-found faith in Christianity.
I think people look at me like Ive taken the step that people are most fearful of taking, he said in an interview January 2009. Its not just the giving it up; its the sticking with it. Like most people have seen a lot of entertainers entertain the thought, but we havent seen many stick with it.In order for people to understand, you have to take them from where you were, to where you are. So in taking people from where I was, it would require you to do music that exemplified where you were, then if I would have stayed in it, I was going to musically bring them to where I am. But then I started seeing that what Im thinking and what theyre thinking is totally two different things.
You came to Toronto back in the 60's. What was the reason for you and so many other Jamaicans to move to Canada and especially Toronto?
Pablo: That was a new wave of immigrants, probably the first one to come from the West Indies. And I think mainly there were certain occupations that didn't have enough workers locally, so they were importing workers from the island. In my case, my sister who was a nurse, was brought in, because they had a programm recruiting nurses. So when that first wave was coming they took off to Canada.
So it was not the Jamaicans at first deciding to go to Toronto?
Pablo: It was an import situation.
Jay: My mom came as a domestic worker. After she came, she brought her brothers in the 60's.
How many people from Jamaica would form the jamaican community of Toronto back then?
Pablo: When I came here, if there were a couple of thousands that would have been plenty. When we came here there were very few Jamaicans in the city ...
When did you come here?
Pablo: I came here in 1965, in early spring. I remember driving from the airport saying to my brother in law: 'You guys have a drought here, a serious drought. There are no leaves on the trees. So, %&%*, I came from Jamaica to come to this......' (laughs).
Was there a community?
Pablo: Oh yes, there was a community.
Jay: For example, my mom. She would work with the ladies at the english homes and they would get one day off per week... mostly on thursdays. They didn't have many places to hang out, so they would go to the restaurants and sit there for most of the day until it was time to go back home. But then from that the community started to form. The West Indian Federation, wich is known as the W.I.F.-club down on College. So the west-indian people could go there now and get the meals from the islands and listen to the music from home. That's how it started to shape...
Pablo. That was started by a gentleman, his name was Mr. Geary. He was probably one of the first Jamaicans to migrate to Canada. He founded the W.I.F.-club. with other people that came up about the same time he did.
You also had music coming in and a lot of musicians playing at that time....
Pablo: The first band to come to Toronto from Jamaika were The Sheiks. They were really the pioneers as far as it comes to jamaican music in the city. The Sheiks came up and shortly after, we migrated to Canada.
Jay: The Sheiks went to the United States. They had one of the greates ska- and rocksteady singers of that time, who came from Barbados: Jackie Opel. He was one of the lead singers next to Eddie Spencer, who can also be heard on the "Jamaica To Toronto"-compilation and Bobby Rousseau. From the States they decided to go further north to Canada. When they came here, the Sheiks decided to stay. But Jackie Opel didn't like the cold, so they put him on a Greyhoundbus, back to the States and then back to Barbados, where he got into a caraccident and died. So then The Cougars came up.
Pablo: I knew The Sheiks from Jamaica. I remember when they went on that tour to the United States. After The Sheiks disbanded, I ended up living with Karl Mullings, who used to manage The Sheiks, and Bobby Rousseau, an MC at the time. We all rented a house together. And we were sitting there all bored, you know, and I said: 'Karl, why don't we start another group?'. And we started The Cougars. And how we got the name The Cougars was because at the time Ford came out with a car named 'The Cougar'. And thats where we got the name connected with the hope: 'If were advertising the name lets write to the company to see, if they would give us cars' (laughs), that didn't work.
Jay: They didn't even reply (laughs).
The Cougars (courtecy of Jay Douglas)
Pablo: So we took members of the Sheiks, like Newton Barker, the keyboardplayer, and founded The Cougars....
Where there a lot of places to play in Toronto in those days?
Pablo: There were a lot of places but we wouldn't have gotten into them.
Jay: The barrier wasn't easy to break. As a matter of fact, The Cougars would play at Club Jamaica and the W.I.F.-club, but that was not enough for us. We were really into the music. So we started to open up our minds to the northamerican music too and mixed that with the ska, rocksteady and reggae. So, the number one soul-club at the time on Young Street was Le Coq D'Or. They imported all the groups from the United States. Most of the groups, before they made it big in the US, came to the club, like The Commodores. And they would have a matinee every saturday afternoon, starting at 3 o'clock. And The Cougars decided to show up there with the whole band. They had another Band from the United States called Little Charles and the Sidewinders ... awesome! ... Kick ass, man ... Good frontman, Charles, he could sing, sharp, and they had choreagraphy to come with the package in those days. So when they took their first break we went up to the leader: 'Hey man, can we sit in while you have a break?'. He said: 'You guys wanna do that?" ... Yes, that was all we wanted. And they gave us the break. My first somg, I remember..... 'Bap Baaaaa Dap'..... 'I don't care..' ...
Pablo: James Brown
Jay: "Cold Sweat"!
Pablo: And the rest is history.
Jay: The boss gave us a date in there before the show was over. First local band to penetrate that club. The Cougars. We backed up quite a few artists. And that was how The Cougars started to take off.
The Cougars (courtecy of the Mullings family)
Pablo: Club Jamaica was on Young Street with a lot of other clubs. So that was the street you wanted to be playing on, because that is the main drive where the music was. It was the club scene. The W.I.F.-club was sort of off beat. Of course, we had a great crowd, because we had all the west-indian people with nowhere else to go and they wouldn't go to the Le Coq D'Or. So friday and saturday night the W.I.F.-club was packed.
Did you have anything here in the city that could be compared to the jamaican soundsystem scene?
Pablo: Back then, no. They didn't have that. The city wouldn't allow that. Toronto was very sterilized back then. You couldn't even sell liquor in bars on sunday. They even had men's entrance and women seperate.
Jay: The church dictated very hard in those days.
So there were no comparable soundsystems to Jamaica?
Jay: No, not at all. We had collectors like Harry. He was in England and when he came here he brought his trunks filled with vinyl. And a great soundsystem.
Pablo: We used to go to his basement, he served up some food and some gambling, you know, and he played some music ... man ... he had a collection. Mainly he was into Jazz...
How did you get new records from Jamaica?
Jay: Oh, they had record stores! Selling vinyl. Every friday, saturday new stuff came in from Jamaica or from England. So you went there and the guy would play records.
It's not like that anymore, right!?
Jay: Oh, no....
Pablo: The old record stores dissappeared. But we still have a lot of collectors here.
Jay: It was difficult here when we came with "Simmer Down" from the Wailers. And the radiostations would say: 'No way'. We would call in and ask: 'Could you play us some of this and that?' But they didn't play that kind of music. So we had to tune in to Buffalo for the R'n'B and soulstuff. The english invasion later changed a lot here into a new direction.
Was there some recording of jamaican influenced music going on in Toronto at that time?
Pablo: There were a few guys recording, but I don't recall them getting a lot of music out on vinyl.
Jay: It was hard .... you know, it was a different game. That is why we are now so happy to have young minds like Jesse King (Dubmatix) who embrace that idea and respect it ... and doing what he is doing.... Back then you would think you are nobody in the business unless you were signed by Motown or CBS or so. That was the only sort of hope.
Pablo: From Canada you don't get signed to anything (laughs)...
Jay: And when we got called from Light In The Attic from Seattle about Wayne McGhie's album being out again ... We couldn't even afford to pay for one song, how could he get a whole album out. Then we thought back about Wayne McGhie ... he was sharp. He was always doing music. If he wasn't playing music he was either drinking or playing poker. If you didn't see him for a week or so he was probably playing in New York with some band. So he got an album out with them. But it was a great thing happening, because the studio caught fire. A few copies of that original album slipped to the westcoast, that's how Light In The Attic found out about it. And it was one of the best things for the music. Pablo did a lot of sessions on that album. The young Hip Hop-kids heard one of the songs on that album, "Dirty Funk", and they wanted to cover it. And then Light In The Attic found out. Listen to it...... "Wayne McGhie & The Sounds Of Joy". You should really get that album!
Do you see a special canadian flavour in the music developing here far away from Jamaica?
Pablo: There was a hint of canadian in some of the stuff with Wayne McGhie, you know. There was a band called The Band. They did "Up On Cripple Creek". So they had that beat in there, it was really great and hypnotic. I loved it, so we applied it to our stuff, hoping, since these guys get airplay, maybe if we do it, we will get some airplay too. But it didn't help us. We didn't have enough white guys in the band, you know (laughs).
You never stopped to play music up to this day. What do you like about performing?
Pablo: Oh yes, .... performing. There are many things about performing, that I like. Number one, I love playing! In the process there is this creation that happens. Every time I play there is a different something coming up. Even back in the days with The Cougars, we hardly played the same tune twice the same way. Everybody was on the same brainwave. That is one of the things I like most about it. It also gives me release ... it is the fullness of body for me. I welcome to play music of all kind, Blueg****, Jazz, Blues, Funk ... any kind, I am open for it.
If you look at the reggaescene of Toronto today, how would you describe it?
Jay: It's come a long way.
Pablo: Is there enough of it, I don't think. The problem is, there is a competing music - Hip Hop. The young kids go more for Hip Hop, so when reggaeacts come in they have to be big names, that would pull the crowd. Otherwise a lot of young kids are not really interested in reggae ... compared to Hip Hop. If you go to Montreal or Vancouver and put up a show, there is always a crowd.
And the scene itself. What do you think about that?
Pablo: I would say it is good. It is a good scene, it's strong. But you have to be playing some good reggae to attract the people, you know.
Pablo: What Jesse is doing.... that is some of the baddest thing out there.
Jay: He grew up with it, he paid attention to the foundation... What I love about Jesse's approach to the music is, that he has a great art of listening. In anything you do, that is very important. I can tell that he listened and payed attention. He is very detailed. He goes into every little thing. That is good for the music.
Pablo: He always drops me a copy of what he did. And I listen to it over and over again. I play it until I see how it all comes together. And he is on top of it.
Jay: This is the last frontier to break. And with Jesse's approach, he is going to make a difference. Not only here in Toronto, also in the rest of the world.
Pablo. You know with Barry Gordy and Motwon - there was a discipline ... he said as a producer, they had to follow. In the reggaescene, most producers don't have discipline. There is a lot of crime and homophobic content involved in the messages of the music. And they push that. With no respect for the population in general. Barry Gordy's thing was discipline. You come in and you sing your songs a certain way...
Jay: When he voiced Gladys Knight and all of them.... they had to SING!
Pablo: And your lyrics had to be appropiate, you know. You couldn't just go in and sing any garbage like you hear it today, they sing all kinds of %&%*. b!$%h and.....
Jay: Oh no, that is negative. Also in Studio One it was the same approach. Yo couldn't fool Coxsone. He knew what he wanted. You can tell!
...and you can hear that until today....
Jay: Yeah, same thing with Duke Reid and Treasure Isle....
Pablo: Their lyrics are clean. Anybody can listen to it and appreciate it as a message, you know. Positive message.
Jay: The unfortunate thing about it - when you put that negative energy ou there, it comes back. It is gonna come back and jump into your face.
Pablo: It has gotten to a point now, where a lot of jamaican artists can't go to some places anymore - in Europe or the US for example.
Jay: And I feel bad for them, because they were misguided from the beginning. There are limits and boundaries that you have to respect ... and that's what they didn't do. At the end of the day we will have Jesse and others come in and put it the way it is supposed to be.....
Interview: Karsten Frehe (7/2010)
An estimated 100,000 fish have died in the northwest of Arkansas, the same state where up to 5000 dead birds recently fell from the sky.
The Arkansas Game and Fish Commission said it suspected disease was to blame for the death of the drum fish, which floated in the water and lined the banks of a 30-kilometre stretch of the Arkansas River near Ozark, about 200km northwest of Little Rock, CNN reported on Sunday.
Ozark is about 200km west of the town of Beebe, where game wardens were trying to find out why up to 5000 blackbirds fell from the sky just before midnight on New Year's Eve, CNN said.
Keith Stephens from the game and fish commission said fish kills occurred every year but the size of the latest one was unusual, and suggested some sort of disease was to blame.
"The fish kill only affected one species of fish," he told CNN.
"If it was from a pollutant, it would have affected all of the fish, not just drum fish."
A tugboat operator discovered the dead fish on Friday night, and fisheries officials collected some of the dying animals to conduct tests.
Meanwhile, game and fish commission ornithologist Karen Rowe said the blackbirds found in Beebe showed physical trauma, and she speculated that "the flock could have been hit by lightning or high-altitude hail", the Associated Press reported.
The AP said more than 1000 birds fell from the sky but CNN put the number at up to 5000.
The commission said that New Year's Eve revellers shooting off fireworks in the area could have startled the birds from their roost and caused them to die from stress.
The commission said on Saturday that it began receiving reports about the dead birds about 11.30pm local time the previous night.
The birds fell over a two-kilometre area, and an aerial survey indicated that no other dead birds were found outside of that area.
WASHINGTON, USA (CMC) United States immigration authorities say a new law granting lawful permanent resident status to certain orphaned children from Haiti has gone
into effect.
The US Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) said the Help Haitian Adoptees Immediately to Integrate Act of 2010 (Help HAITI Act of 2010) authorises it to grant green cards to Haitian orphans who were
evacuated to the United States under the Haitian Orphan Parole Programme after
last year's earthquake.
President Barack Obama signed the bill into law last month.
Nebraska Republican Congressman Jeff Fortenberry, the primary sponsor of the bill, said the legislation provides legal certainty to the more than 1,000 Haitian orphans who were evacuated to the United States
after the earthquake.
"It would enable adoptive American families to obtain permanent residency for these children more quickly and efficiently.
"This legislation is the product of dialogue and outreach to the US Department of Homeland Security's US Citizenship and Immigration Service," he added.
Fortenberry, a member of the House of Representatives' Oversight and Government Reform Committee, said he was pleased that the US Congress acted to give "much-needed security" to the Haitian orphans
who were in the process of being adopted by American families before the tragic
earthquake.
"These vulnerable children have endured heartbreaking tragedy to come to this country, and are now united with their adopted families in Nebraska and throughout the United States,"
he said.
"The best thing we could do is give these children and their adoptive families the comfort of knowing they are here to stay," he added.
Following the massive earthquake, Fortenberry said the Haitian orphans were evacuated to American soil by the US Department of Homeland Security, with the Haitian Government's permission, before their
adoptions could be finalised in Haitian courts.
Due to a technicality in the law, however, Fortenberry said these Haitian children, on establishing a legal relationship with their adoptive US parents, would have had to wait two years before they may become
legal permanent residents.
Fortenberry said the Help HAITI Act of 2010 would help to normalise the immigration procedures by allowing adoptive American families to apply immediately to obtain legal permanent residency for their children and
enable to them eventually qualify for US citizenship.
Rihanna said goodbye to 2010 at PURE in Sin City on New Years Eve. The red-haired starlet, dressed in a body-hugging striped dress, hosted a paid gig at the Las Vegas nightclub, counting down to 2011 with thousands of guests who paid hundreds of dollars to party with the pop princess. RiRis girlfriends were by her side as the newly single star
raised a toast to the future.
A young Long Island man who brutally murdered his mother-in-law "is not profiting from her death," his lawyer insisted yesterday, even though the killer stands to collect nearly a half-million dollars from the slain woman's estate as early as this week.
Brandon Palladino's lawyer said the 24-year-old rightfully inherited the money from his wife, Deanna Palladino, who died of an overdose last year.
Deanna was willed the fortune by her mother, Dianne Edwards, 59, whom Palladino choked to death in 2008 when she came home and caught him stealing her jewelry.
Deanna was suspected of conspiring in the theft but was never charged.
"He would be the only heir, because they didn't have any children," Palladino's lawyer, Ray Perini, said.
Deanna loved her husband "dearly and supported him until she died. He's not profiting from [Edwards'] death. The money passed to his wife, and it was hers to do with as she wanted."
Brandon will get a check for up to $500,000 as soon as this week, sources said yesterday.
"Morally, it really shocks the conscience. He shouldn't get a dime!" said Edwards family lawyer Dennis Lemke.
"It's a tough pill to swallow, but action is extremely unlikely to be successful [under current state law]," Lemke said.
Palladino, who admitted to the crime in exchange for a plea deal, is set to be sentenced to just 5 to 25 years next week.
"Perhaps the murderer's family will have a conscience and return the estate to the proper owners -- the family of the victim," Lemke said.
A source said that a Suffolk prosecutor asked him to give up his inheritance as part of the plea bargain and that Palladino refused.
The total estate was estimated at about $680,000 -- $581,000 after debts, according to sources and court documents.
Deanna Palladino received her mom's $190,000 in savings after her death, sources said. She used most of it to bankroll her husband's defense.
The victim's five-bedroom Melville home was sold in November for $340,000.
After debts, the profit from the sale of the home came to $241,000. The slain woman's personal property was estimated at about $150,000.
"It doesn't make sense. He can't profit from this," insisted Donna Larsen, the sister of the murdered woman.
"He robbed her before he murdered her, and now he's robbing her again after her death," said Larsen's husband, Andy.
FAMILY CURSE: Brandon Palladino, the husband of Deanna Palladino (left), killed her mom, Dianne Edwards (right, beside her first husband), and because Deanna committed suicide last year, he is next in line to inherit Edwards' half-million dollar estate
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
A young Long Island man who brutally murdered his mother-in-law "is not profiting from her death," his lawyer insisted yesterday, even though the killer stands to collect nearly a half-million dollars from the slain woman's estate as early as this week.
Brandon Palladino's lawyer said the 24-year-old rightfully inherited the money from his wife, Deanna Palladino, who died of an overdose last year.
Deanna was willed the fortune by her mother, Dianne Edwards, 59, whom Palladino choked to death in 2008 when she came home and caught him stealing her jewelry.
Deanna was suspected of conspiring in the theft but was never charged.
"He would be the only heir, because they didn't have any children," Palladino's lawyer, Ray Perini, said.
Deanna loved her husband "dearly and supported him until she died. He's not profiting from [Edwards'] death. The money passed to his wife, and it was hers to do with as she wanted."
Brandon will get a check for up to $500,000 as soon as this week, sources said yesterday.
"Morally, it really shocks the conscience. He shouldn't get a dime!" said Edwards family lawyer Dennis Lemke.
"It's a tough pill to swallow, but action is extremely unlikely to be successful [under current state law]," Lemke said.
Palladino, who admitted to the crime in exchange for a plea deal, is set to be sentenced to just 5 to 25 years next week.
"Perhaps the murderer's family will have a conscience and return the estate to the proper owners -- the family of the victim," Lemke said.
A source said that a Suffolk prosecutor asked him to give up his inheritance as part of the plea bargain and that Palladino refused.
The total estate was estimated at about $680,000 -- $581,000 after debts, according to sources and court documents.
Deanna Palladino received her mom's $190,000 in savings after her death, sources said. She used most of it to bankroll her husband's defense.
The victim's five-bedroom Melville home was sold in November for $340,000.
After debts, the profit from the sale of the home came to $241,000. The slain woman's personal property was estimated at about $150,000.
"It doesn't make sense. He can't profit from this," insisted Donna Larsen, the sister of the murdered woman.
"He robbed her before he murdered her, and now he's robbing her again after her death," said Larsen's husband, Andy.
After being robbed of his car and money on New Years Day, and running away from his home in Portmore a few months earlier, MC Nuffy says he just wants his life back.
The popular MC said he was robbed of his possessions early Saturday morning while on his way to an event in a rural community. He said he was stopped by some men who took away his money and car.
Nuffy said he negotiated with the robbers to give him back his ID but was later ordered to start the car because the kill switch was armed.
"Mi ask dem fi mi ID and a run mi haffi run fi mi life, bout 200 metres mi run ... an get a taxi drop mi a di police station," he told THE STAR.
After alerting the police and 'big man' for the area, his possessions were returned. Although he reported the matter, Nuffy said he opted not to press any charges.
accusations
But the story does not end there, as Nuffy believes the robbery is connected to the accusations that were made against him in September that he stole money from people in the communities of Gregory Park and Christian Pen in Portmore. However, Nuffy still maintains his innocence and said the persons who accused him know this as well.
Despite this, he says he is still on the run. But luckily, he has been getting help from some good Samaritans.
"Dis a waan serious story 'cause mi fi dead from September. Mi life inna deep stress and danger. Mi a ask di man dem fi ease off a mi 'cause mi neva rob nobody. Mi caan live mi life the way how mi waan fi live mi life. Mi haffi run weh lef everything, even mi new things dem weh mi just done pay fa. All mi and mi woman lef. Mi just a ask the people dem fi give mi back mi life. Di people dem weh claim seh mi tief dem money nah tell the people dem from Gregory Park and Christian Pen dem seh a nuh me tek it," Nuffy told THE STAR.
sleep inna car
"Don't seh mi a tief 'cause mi a nuh tief. Mi a ask the people dem from Gregory Park and Christian Pen fi stop chastise Nuffy. A mi car mi haffi a drive up and down and a sleep inna. Mi nuh have no weh fi go. Fi see the people dem weh mi big up a treat mi so, it hurt mi. Mi a ask dem fi leave me alone so mi can walk freely inna mi community," he added.
The situations that he has found himself in has also caused him to lose his source of income.
"From di Christmas mi nuh mek no money. Mi caan go do no work 'cause mi scared a wah a gwaan out deh. Mi haffi pray to God every day. Who Jah bless no man curse. Mi only do Sting and GT Taylor show," a distressed sounding Nuffy said.
-Sadeke Brooks
Beer, wine and bulls dont mix well. Just ask some of the more than 48 people who have been injured during a week long tournament in Colombia.
Tournaments such as Fair of Manizales, Caldas are week long events highlighted by orchestras, crafts, fireworks, street shows, parades and bullfighting.
Wounded and angry after being stabbed and ha****ed, the bulls inflict maximum damage, often resulting in fighters' deaths.
Attorney General Laurenzo Rudolph Francis has said that the aviation dispute over landing rights for the St. Lucia registered CARICOM Airways has been resolved and a statement to that effect is expected to be released by the Eastern Caribbean Civil Aviation Authority (ECCAA).
Tourism Minister Allan Chastanet had threatened to ground two Vincentian carriers operating here unless authorities in Kingstown allowed the St. Lucia based carrier to land there under a reciprocal CARICOM arrangement.
However, in a recent ruling the ECCAA announced that CARICOM Airways was operating illegally, and has ordered the carrier to immediately discontinue its operations within the Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS).
Francis, who accompanied Chastanet to Antigua and Barbuda for talks on the issue last week, while not providing details of the agreement, indicated that the ECCAA has acted hastily in calling for the grounding of CARICOM Airways.
We have been able to amicably resolve the matter following our talks last week and I am happy to be in a position to help clear up the legal ramifications involved in what is in fact a complicated issue, Francis said.
The matter with ECCAA was primarily a legal one and the outcome of the talks suggested that the regional body acted prematurely in grounding the carrier as they did not have any legal basis.
As Attorney General I considered it my duty to assist the Minister of Tourism and Government in general in this matter and I can assure you that it was very successfully resolved, Francis added.
He said that he expects the carrier to resume flying shortly.
We intend giving CARICOM Airways as much support as possible in keeping with our long term goals of making St, Lucia a hub for tourism development and travel within the region, that essentially is our interest, Francis said.
Reports have surfaced that Yele charity is under fire again amidst reports that the organizations VP
got a $42,000 pay bump in 2009. Evidence of the mishandling of funds was
obtained by the New York Post, which showed that Zakiya
Khatou-Chevassus was
paid $147,000 for her services in 2009 after a promotion from consultant to
vice president seems like a pretty hefty raise considering she is now
earning $15,000 more than the charitys president, Hugh
Locke.
Perhaps the pay hike stems from rumors that the former member of the Fugees is entangled in a romantic relationship with Khatou-Chevassus, who was allegedly Jeans personal assistant before her involvement with the charity.
The Yele Foundation was originally developed to provide immediate relief to hurricane victims, and later expanded its goals to include scholarships and community development programs to Haitian citizens. And the organization really made some ground with support, reportedly receiving $14 million in donations after the initial disaster.
During his presidential bid, Jean stated that, First, I freely admit that missteps were made when Yele was in its infancy as a g****roots movement before the earthquake. And then added, They can knock me down, but Ill always get back up. Especially if its in defense of my good name and my undying devotion to the country I love.The organization is now out of its infancy, and these growing pains are only going to get tougher for Jean.
Manchester City manager Roberto Mancini says the Eastlands club have reached a deal to sign Bosnian striker Edin Dzeko from Wolfsburg for £27 million.
The 24-year-old, scorer of 66 goals in 111 games for the German side, is under contract until 2013 but a bid of about £30m will trigger a buy-out clause.
"We have an important game at Arsenal coming up and I will speak about him after that," said Mancini.
"We've agreed a fee. He's a good player and all the teams in Europe want him."
Wolfsburg boss Steve McClaren said he was reluctant to see Dzeko leave, but added that City would be buying a player who was "ideal" for them.
"He is a goal scorer who gets them with his left foot, his right foot, his head - he can score all types of goals," McClaren told the Daily Telegraph.
"He is a good buy for them. He's a good boy but he needs to work harder now he is in the Premier League than he does at present. But he will adjust, no problem.
"He definitely has something that City miss. He will be ideal for City, especially alongside Carlos Tevez. That will be a very potent partnership."
Meanwhile, one of the players most likely to make way for Dzeko in City's squad, Emmanuel Adebayor, has reportedly been involved in a training ground bust-up.
British newspapers carried photos on Tuesday of the Togo striker and Kolo Toure having to be separated by several team-mates.
Adebayor, a £25m signing from Arsenal in July 2009, has rarely featured in Mancini's thinking this season and looks set to either be sold or loaned out during the January transfer window.
Source: BBC Sport
A man accused of visiting a hair salon and holding his genitals in his hand while he uttered sexual comments at the female owner was remanded in the Corporate Area Resident Magistrate's Court yesterday.
Euter Russell, charged with unlawful wounding, was denied bail after the complainant expressed concerns for her safety. Russell, who pleaded guilty to the charge, is to return to court for sentencing on January 17.
The complainant told the court that on December 10, Russell entered her salon and showed her his penis and told her "all sort of things weh him wah do to me". She said she told him to leave her business place but he refused.
According to her, during that time, the accused used a mop stick to hit her and then punched her causing a wound which bled.
The complainant also told Resident Magistrate (RM) Georgiana Fraser that the accused had his eyes fixed on her throughout the court proceedings. "Him no stop look pon me," she told the RM. The complainant also explained to the court that her medical expenses amounted to $11,800.
Additionally, she asked the court to be compensated $40,000 for her pain and suffering after RM Fraser asked her to provide an estimate for that purpose.
Nonetheless, the accused told the court that he could not afford that amount. Upon being remanded, Russell was ordered to undergo a psychiatric test after the complainant told the RM that she felt he had a mental problem.
This year, it is David Brooks and not deejay Mavado who will be taking to the stage at the Port Kaiser Sports Complex in St Elizabeth on January 15 for the 18th staging of the event.
Speaking at the launch of the festival in Kingston last Thursday, Tony Rebel noted that many have questioned the inclusion of the popular deejay, known for his 'gangster for life' persona, on the festival known for its positive messages.
"Over the years we have been fearless explorers of the music business and this is just one way we are exploring the music of this artiste who does have good material. David Brooks does have a good side, and that's the side we want to encourage," he explained.
Tony Rebel added that there are other artistes including deejays Buju and Capleton who made a change for the better musically and have been embraced, therefore it is possible that the same could be said of David Brooks in the future.
This year's festival will also see two other top reggae artistes appearing on the Rebel Salute Stage for the first time. Tony Rebel announced that Reggae veteran and Grammy Award winner Toots Hibbert is billed for the festival, as well as singer and songwriter Tanya Stephens. The line-up has further been diversified by the inclusion of the Sierra Leone Refugee All Stars.
The eclectic line-up includes a mix of established, current and up-and-coming acts. The roster includes Beres Hammond, who returns after a seven-year absence, Tarrus Riley, Queen Ifrica, I-Octane, Ken Boothe, Khago, Chuck Fenda, Fantan Mojah, Nadine Sutherland, Dennis Alcapone, Jack Radics, AJ Brown and Tristan Palmer.
Source: Jamaica Observer
old peoplel say what ever new years come ketch u a do that what u will be doing 4 the rest a the year our thats the only thing u can do good 4 the rest a the year
so zooners share what u were doing @ the strick of 12 midnight on this new years eve???
Singer of the Year Male I-Octane
I-Octane certainly stamped his superiority in this field throughout the year. He
has maintained a steady presence on both local and international charts
throughout the year with one song after another. He is a staple on most
if not all of the major events. Tracks such as Lose a Friend, My Life
and Puff It were all staples for this artiste during the year. The year
also saw great performances at Reggae Sumfest and Sting 2010.
The execs at telecoms giant Digicel execs quickly caught on and signed him as on of their brand ambassadors.
Best New Artiste Khago
This little man from Manchester continues to shine in Dancehall. From his
debut tune Cyaan Cool, he showed that he was definitely here to make
some moved in the music.
But it was hit take on Seanizzles One Day riddim that set him firmly on course with the music. This track, Nah Sell out Mi Fren Dem was
perfectly timed in the lead up to all the summer parties and of course
the biggest local Reggae stage during that period, Reggae Sumfest.
Khago did not waste time in stamping his signature on the Sumfest Stage with one of the most awesome performance seem at that festival by a
debut artiste.
He completed the year with the follow-up, Part 2 and the response continues to be great. This year was great for Khago, letssee what
2011 holds for him.
Performance of the Year Local Beenie & Bounty at Guiness Greatness
On Saturday October 23, the team from Guinness rolled out a tribute to Arthur Guinness, the founder of the famous dark, rich beverage, inside
Kingstons National Stadium.
The publicity and advertising material did mention that dancehall rivals, Beenie Man and Bounty Killer would appear on stage, however no
one really knew what to expect.
At 1:35 am the curtains open and revealed Beenie Man and Bounty Killer on stage.
What transpired were pricless moments, as these two leaders of dancehall music went head-to-head in the most friendly rivalry seen on a local
stage in years.
Both deejays seemed to be genuinely enjoying themselves, flashing bright smiles, and their fans savoured every moment.
The dancehall vets then continued tune-fi-tune for a good 30 minutes in what was an entertaining back and forth of dancehall hits and anthems
from these two great acts.
Collaboration of the Year Rum & Red Bull Beenie Man and Fambo
This year, the Doctor Beenie Man and the artiste formerly known as Future Troubles, now known as Future Fambo or simply Fambo, knocked heads and came up with the tune going into the summer. Rum and Red Bull was on everyone lips. With a catchy hook set to Seanizzles winning One Day Riddim it was clear from a first listen, that his was a winner.
Song of the Year Hold You Gyptian
Reggae Singjay Wendel Beneto Edwards enjoyed a successful year in 2010. He scored big time with the single Hold Yuh copping the MOBO (Music of Black Origin) and Soul Train Awards for it. The single also made it on the Billboard hot R&B Hip Hop chart.
The artiste might have been denied the added recognition of earning a nod in the Reggae category of the Grammy Award, but his track record this year still stands impressive.
Honourable Mention My Cupp Richie Loop
For the first part of 2010 Richie Loops My Cupp was like an anthem in the dancehall. The single wormed its way on the top radio stations enjoying major rotations across the board. It was on the lips of every dancehall loving teen and it was the norm to hear it blaring as ringtones. My Cupp ensured Richie Loop got to drink from a lot of major events this year including Sumfest.
Singer of the Year Female Etana
The Strong One Etana continued to dominate the field throughout 2010. Her debut album, The Strong One, and it singles, still gave this rootsy empress tonnes of traction two years after its release. In 2010, a series of tours throughout North America and Europe kept her busy, while maintaining a presence back-a-yaad, with appearances on all the major local stages. During the year she dropped the single Free, and her follow-up album is expected in early 2011.
Deejay of the Year Female Spice
There is no doubt that this female deejay didnt have to Jim Screechie to the top of the list. She consistently delivered throughout the year with hard-hitting songs and top-class performances. Her single Jim Screechie can be heard blasting on the airwaves and in the dancehalls. Shes currently taking time off as she awaits the arrival of baby number two, the music fraternity also awaits her return.
Comeback of the Year Fambo
Back in the day he was known as Future Troubles. Remember that Kung Fu tune Hia Hia Hoo, dis yah one yah new, fi all di massive and dancehall crew. That was back in the day.
Fast-forward to 2010 and There is some artiste known as Fambo who has the hottest tune of the summer, Rum and Red Bull, a collaboration with Beenie Man. Surpise surprise, it is the same Furture Troubles who has
now rebranded it is making a comback.
He still has the aura from his drunken master days and his current track Never Sober tells you that despite a name change, old habits die hard.
Sound System of the Year Stone Love
Wee Pow, Rory, Gee Fuss and the other selectors at Stone Love know that it takes hard work to maintain their status as the Immortal Sound.
This is achieved through innovation and just that willingness to keep party patrons entertained, no matter how big or small the event. Having just celebrated their 38th anniversary, this sound truly is a
benchmark for the local industry, and highlights the power of reggae
and dancehall music.
Reggae royalty Ziggy Marley and his very pregnant wife Orly Marley were snapped by paparazzi In LA.
Ziggy along with his wife and their children Gideon(L) and Judah(R) went for breakfast on Christmas Day at Urth cafe in Beverly Hills.
Ziggy and his wife are expecting their third child together. In all, Ziggy has five children, three of whom are from previous relationships.
Vangelis Kapatos felt his world was coming apart before a Manhattan suicide leap that he survived by landing on garbage piled up after the blizzard, relatives said Monday.
The 26-year-old had long battled depression and was struggling with a romantic breakup and his parents'
declining health when he suddenly faced eviction from his childhood home.
"He was in a weak spot. He kept on thinking about it, and it's not easy. He's a young person and he has no parents," said his aunt Katharina Capatos.
"He had a girlfriend. I said, 'How is this girl?' He said, 'We broke up and then she got married,'" she
said.
She said her nephew suffered a spinal cord injury in the nine-story fall and was in a medically induced coma at Bellevue Hospital.
He underwent surgery Sunday, and is expected to have another operation today,
she said."I believe he will be
paralyzed," the aunt said.
Kapatos' mother returned to Greece years ago to live in a home, and his father recently went into one after getting cancer, Capatos said.
The tipping point came when his W. 45th St. building converted to cooperative apartments, and a sponsor bought the
$572-a-month apartment where Kapatos grew up.
It is common practice for investors to buy occupied, rent-stabilized apartments at cut-rate prices and wait for the
tenants to leave or die.
When Kapatos' father moved out, the sponsor filed a suit to get the young man out. Although the case appeared weak,
Kapatos buckled under the pressure.
"He had lived there his whole life and under succession rights the apartment was his. But he was very worried he would lose," said
his lawyer, Charles Small. "There was no merit to the landlord's
case, which makes this very, very shocking."Kapatos was put Bellevue after a meltdown in court last month.
The widow of late Prime Minister David Thompson has confirmed that she is ready to contest the St John by-election on a Democratic Labour Party (DLP) ticket.
Mara Thompson has formally written to the executive of the DLP expressing her interest.
"I am ready to represent the people of St John just as my late, beloved husband did. At this moment I will offer no further comment since there is a process to be followed," she told the Nation newspaper.
For several weeks since the death of her husband on October 23, speculation had been rife about a successor for the 48-year-old leader, who held the seat since the passing in 1987 of then prime minister and Father of Independence Errol Barrow.
The paper reported that some 12 prospective candidates have expressed interest in contesting the seat, but most, if not all, are expected to withdraw from the race now that Thompson has officially declared she is keen to represent the party in St John.
The opposition Barbados Labour Party (BLP) has already nominated businessman Hudson Griffith to contest the seat, a traditional stronghold of the DLP, in the January 20 poll.
A 74 year old miner was tied up and burned to the face by bandits who robbed him after claiming that they were seeking employment with him on Friday morning in the Madhia Backdam area.
Felix Nichols 74, a native of St Lucia, who is nationalised Guyanese, suffered third degree burns to the face and is currently receiving medical treatment at a private city hospital.
According to a source in the Madhia community, the bandits only managed to escape with $2000.
Nichols, who owns and operates a small dredge, was attacked early Friday morning by the two bandits.
A relative of the elderly man told Kaieteur News yesterday that Nichols, who was alone at the worksite, was approached by the two bandits who asked him for bread and tea.
He was in the backdam working.when these two bandits came up to him and asked if he was hiring, the relative explained.
The relative explained that Nichols began telling the two men that business was closed for the season and there was no vacancy.
Kaieteur News was told that Nichols had just turned his back when the two men attacked him.
The bandits tied the elderly man with a rope.
They tied him up like how people tie up iguana, the relative explained.
According to the relative, the bandits then pulled out a can Baygon and sprayed it on Nichols.
They then threw a lighted match on him, causing the elderly man to be engulfed in flames.
Fortunately for Nichols, minutes after the bandits left, he was discovered lying on the ground by some of his employees who had turned up at the work site.
He was immediately rushed to the Mahdia Hospital where medical staff tried to stabilise his condition.
The elderly miner was subsequently transported via minibus to Linden, where his son, instead of an ambulance, brought him to the city.
Angry relatives yesterday expressed their disgust at the crime situation in the mining area.
They should not do this to innocent people who are trying to earn a living, said one relative.
Meanwhile, the police have intensified their efforts in trying to apprehend the perpetrators.
Montserrats former Chief Minister John Alfred Osborne died in the United States Saturday night, official sources have confirmed. He was 74 years old.
The exact cause of death has not been disclosed but Osbornes health had been failing for several months and his family decided to take him to the US for medical care.
Osborne served as Chief Minister from 1978-1991 and again from 2001-2006. He retired from active politics ahead of the last general election in 2009.
The islands airport bears his name.
My fellow Jamaicans...
2010 was a year of mixed fortunes. It was, in some respects, a tumultuous year, most notably with the events surrounding the extradition of Christopher Coke.
In the first half of the year, we experienced the worst drought in more than 30 years and then, in a complete reversal, we had more rains in the latter part of the year than we have had for 30 years. The economy continued to feel the effects of the global recession with weak demand for our exports, reduced levels of investment and, although recovering, remittances are still not back to where they were before the recession.
Even though the rate of decline in the economy has slowed, it has taken a heavy toll on us - many persons are out of work, more families have fallen below the poverty line, spending power has been weak and many find it hard to make ends meet. Recovery from the global recession is proving to be slow, resulting in hesitancy on the part of investors to expand or start new businesses and thereby restore the jobs that were lost. Despite the harsh economic environment, however, we recorded growth in tourism and agriculture.
This past year, we put in place a number of strategic measures to form the basis for future investment and growth. The Jamaica Debt Exchange, a critical element in the Medium-Term Economic Programme, supported by tight fiscal management has resulted in interest rates falling to their lowest level in more than 30 years.
We have been able to source much cheaper loans and while the size of the public debt will not come down for a few years, the burden of that debt on taxpayers has been reduced. The steps we have taken to institutionalize fiscal responsibility and accountability, will ensure that we don't return to the ways of the past but build confidence for the future.
The immediate challenge we faced in responding to the global crisis was to stabilize the economy and create the macro-economic conditions for growth. It required tough and even painful measures but we knew that if we failed to act the pain would eventually be much worse. That task is well advanced.
Interest rates have been coming down, inflation is coming down, debt service costs have come down, the exchange rate is stable, the net international reserves are robust, government spending is being kept tight and loss-making enterprises are being divested.
Our focus must now be on stimulating growth and creating jobs through investment and expansion. This, of course, must be driven by the private sector but the government has an important enabling role to play. The strategies to support this focus on growth are being developed through the PIOJ which has engaged the services of Professor Donald Harris, noted Jamaican economist and Stanford University Professor Emeritus.
This effort will benefit from the consultative machinery of the Partnership for Transformation which brings together the leadership of the private sector, trade unions and government. It will inform the policies on which the new budget will be constructed and presented in April.
Major public sector investment projects such as the JDIP road improvement programme and large housing construction projects, both facilitated through the government of China, started toward the end of last year and much greater impact will be seen this year.
We have virtually completed the privatization of the sugar industry and the new operators will assume management of Frome, Monymusk and Bernard Lodge in July with a commitment for US$127 million in new investment to modernize and expand sugar production.
Similarly, we have divested Air Jamaica which was costing us close to $1 billion per month to maintain.
We have entered into a new agreement to divest our assets in Jamalco. The agreement negotiated includes the cancellation of the forward-sale contracts which have cost taxpayers more than J$12 billion since they were entered into in 2002 and which were projected to cost us another J$15 billion before the contracts come to an end in 2013.
Last year, we saw the reopening of the Ewarton alumina plant. We are currently in discussions with the owners regarding the possible reopening of the other two plants - Kirkvine and Alpart - that were also closed because of the fallout in the global alumina market.
The efforts toward switching much of our energy needs from oil to natural gas is proceeding and long-term contractual arrangements, investment commitments and an appropriate regulatory and pricing framework should be firmly in place early in 2011.
Construction of the new Port of Falmouth is virtually complete and it will receive its first cruise ship next Friday. Next week, we will officially declare open the new Montego Bay Convention Centre which will enable us to enter the huge market for convention business.
The redevelopment of downtown Kingston is being kick-started with the construction of Digicel's global headquarters and the opening of the Kingston Transport Centre scheduled for the middle of January.
On the issue of governance, last year saw the establishment of the Independent Commission of Investigation (INDECOM) to ensure public confidence in the investigation of alleged abuse by members of the security forces. A number of other key commitments such as prime ministerial term limits, impeachment provisions, a special prosecutor to deal with corruption, whistleblower protection, tighter procedures for the award of government contracts, legal sanctions for breaches of the Code of Political Conduct and the regulation of political party financing, are either before Parliament for approval or will shortly be submitted to Parliament.
The Charter of Rights on which deliberations have gone on for more than 17 years will shortly become a reality as the final vote to insert it in the Constitution will be taken in Parliament at the end of March.
The crime-fighting initiatives introduced in May have yielded good results. The murder rate for the second half of the year fell by 30% when compared to the first half. Our security forces must be commended for their hard work. We have also seen a much greater level of cooperation from the public in providing information to the Police and in their willingness to testify. This cooperation is vital if we are to ensure that violent criminals are taken off the streets and kept off the streets.
Despite the improvement we have seen, the level of crime is still too high and reducing it further remains a top priority for the new year. We expect to enact this year tough anti-gang legislation for which Cabinet has already issued drafting instructions. The majority of violent crimes are linked to the activities of organized criminal gangs for which special targeted measures are required. Just as countries throughout the world found it necessary after 9/11 to institute special measures to deal with international terrorists, we too need special measures to deal with organized criminal gangs whose viciousness is just as costly in human lives.
We made a concerted effort last year through the National Road Safety Council to keep the number of persons killed in road accidents to under 300. Although we didn't quite make it, it was still the lowest number of fatalities we have seen in over 10 years. We must improve on that this year and changes to the Road Traffic Act which will shortly be submitted to Cabinet, will strengthen our efforts to ensure more careful use of our roads.
This year our athletes who have brought us so much glory internationally will begin their preparations for the 2012 Olympics in London, England. We must support them. We will shortly be installing new synthetic surfaces at both the National Stadium and the Stadium East to meet our scheduled athletic events for this year as well as to facilitate our athletes in their preparation for next year's Olympics.
This year, as well, preparations will move into high gear for the commemoration of our 50 years of independence in 2012. It is going to be a grand event and a grand homecoming with thousands of overseas Jamaicans coming home for the celebrations.
We begin the New Year with renewed hope. Yes, we have been through some tough times. We have had to endure the worst global economic crisis in 80 years but the worst has passed and we have used the time to put in place measures that will position us not just for recovery but for sustained improvement over the medium and long term.
Let us, together, face the challenges of the New Year with confidence and determination and let us grasp every opportunity that it offers to make Jamaica a better place to live, work, raise our families and do business.
I pray God's blessings on our nation and all our people throughout 2011.
WHEN ETHIOPIAN Emperor Haile Selassie I arrived in Jamaica on April 21,1966, it was considered more than just a state visit by the countrys growing Rastafarian population. It gave the religion
of dreadlocked disciples a sense of legitimacy in their homeland.
People used to call us mad and sey Selassie would not come here. It brought recognition for I and I in Jamaica, said Shephan Fraser, chairman of the Ancient Council and a priest in the Nyabinghi Order.
The various Rasta groups in Jamaica plan to commemorate the 45th anniversary of Selassies three-day visit in April with a series of events dubbed Survival World Culture Music Festival to be held at the
Trelawny Multi-purpose Stadium.
Lance Ho Shing, spokesman for the Ancient Council, toldThe Sunday Gleanerthat several cultural acts are scheduled to perform on the live segment of the event, including some fromAfrica. The series actually starts April 20 with thelightingof a symbolic fire at the Trelawny stadium.
Ho Shing said the events will also mark the 50th anniversary of independence for several African nations from European colonialism.
Embraced RastafariRepatriation to Africa, a cornerstone of the Rastafarian message, will be one of the issues to be discussed during the activities.
Fraser was 27 years old when Selassie came to Jamaica. The St Catherine-born pastors son said he embraced Rastafari at age 15 and suffered social prejudice because of his beliefs.
He was among the hundreds of Rastafarians who showed up at what was then the Palisadoes Airport to welcome Selassie, whom many Jamaicans hailed as a hero, due to his courageousleadershipof Ethiopian troops against armies of the Fascist Italian dictator Benito Mussolini in the 1930s.
Most Rastafarians at the time regarded Selassie as God because he is reportedly a direct descendant of King Solomon and the Queen of Sheba.
The Ethiopian monarchstripcame at a time when Rastafarians were experiencing widespread aggression from Jamaican police and shunned by mainstream society. At
thesametime, the Jamaican Government was taking a studied look at Rastafarians.
In 1960, Rastafarian leaders approached University of the West Indies (UWI) lecturers M.G. Smith, Roy Augier, and Rex Nettleford to conduct a study on the group which many scholars believe originated in
west Kingston during the 1930s. The 50th anniversary of that report was
recognised with the Rastafari Studies Conference at the Mona campus of
the UWI last August.
One year later, three Rastafarians Mortimo Planno, Douglas Mack, and Philmore Alvaranga were part of a government-sanctioned team that went on a fact-finding tour of Africa. A technical mission, again
funded by the Government, also visited the continent that year.
Selassies visit to Jamaica was the second stop in a four-country Caribbean trip that also included visits to Trinidad and Tobago, Haiti, and Barbados. During his Jamaican stay, Selassie met Prime Minister
Alexander Bustamante, was awarded an honorary degree from the UWI and
addressed Parliament.
His visit inspired rebellious Jamaican youth to accept Rastafa-rianism, and by the dawn of the 1970s, the faith was the voice of reggae music standard-bearers like Bob Marley and Burning Spear.
While reggae was making international strides in 1974, Ethiopia
was in the midst of an economic crisis. Selassie was deposed by the
Ethiopian military that year and was reportedly executed in August 1975.
notice: Gleaner
International Reggae star, Sean Paul, is looking forward to a performance in Malawi amidst negotiations for a rescheduled show. Negotiations with promoter Kamphinda Nyasulu to have Sean Paul reschedule his performance in Malawi for alternative dates in late May 2011 are underway. This as a result of a late December cancellation as logistics could not have been worked out.
The exact dates of performance and further details will be made available in early January. In the meantime Sean Paul is looking forward to meeting his fans in Malawi as soon as he completes his studio obligations.
Sean Paul is currently busy in studio working with a number of producers and artiste and is actively engaged in his own productions.
Sean Paul is very popular in Africa, having performed in almost 20 countries on the continent. His recent partnership with world-renowned DJ Bob Sinclar for Tik Tok, an infectious dance-reggae track, has been making waves worldwide since its release in November.
Cricket authorities here have given batting legend Brian Lara an opening invitation to play the Twenty20 format for the national side.
There is only one Brian Lara in this world and if he is interested in representing T&T at T20 cricket, I am sure the selectors will be more than willing to give him a very serious look, said Trinidad and Tobago Cricket Board president Azim Bassarath.
Brian has done a lot for cricket. He is a hero, a legend and we have to take care of our heroes. I would like him to know that the TTCB stands ready to support him in his future endeavours.
Lara is set to resume his playing career after making himself available for next months Indian Premier League. He was one of several big names last week which attracted the top bracket price of US$400 000.
His campaign in the IPL will begin four years after he quit international cricket following the Cricket World Cup in the Caribbean.
The genius left-hander played for T&T in the 2008 first class season but had his season cut short by injury.
Bassarath said he had hoped Lara could play in the Cricket Festival T20 series starting Tuesday but explained that the double world record holder had other commitments.
I spoke to Brian and offered him an opportunity to play in the T20 Invitational, Bassarath said.
However, he flew into Trinidad on Thursday night and said he would be off again on Monday so it will be difficult to take part in the series.
Mediazone Jamaica will reflect on some of the highlights of 2010. Today we look at the personalities who have left us - both in Jamaica and on the international scene.
Sugar Minott
On Sunday, July 11 Jamaicans woke up to the shocking news that Reggae stalwart Sugar Minot had made the transition from life to death. The 'Herbman Hustling' singer will surely be missed.
Gregory Isaacs
October 25 will never be forgotten as it is the day that the cool ruler Gregory Isaacs made his exit from this world. What can we say this one is a really hard blow to take in Reggaeland.
Rex Nettleford
Cultural icon Professor Rex Nettleford died on February 1 leaving behind a rich legacyin the cultural arena that will always be remembered.
Sonia Pottinger
Female producer Sonia Pottinger Passed away in the first week of November. She has produced some of the hottest rocksteady songs and leaves behind an imnpressive catalogue of musical works.
Oneil Edwards
No amount of good wishes and prayers could have prevented the inevitable, Voicemail's Oneil Edward succumbed to his injuries in May of this year leaving behind a void in the dancehall.
On the international scene R&B crooner Teddy Penderg**** died on January 13 leaving behind millions of fans who grooved to his soulful love songs.
Listed below are others who 'dropped out' for the year on the international circuit.
Lena Horne - May 9
Marvin Isley, June 6
Gary Coleman - May 28
Gurru - April 19
Malinda Sap, September 9
Robert Wilson - August 15
Huddy Coombs - Oct 13
Apache - January 22
Solomon Burke - Oct 10
Bobby Farrell of (Boney M) Dec 30
Teena Marie- Dec 26