Forum: News & Topical Issues

News updates, entertainment, hot topics, gossip | Share and discover what is happening right now.

Beenie Man makes peace

March 12, 2007
Started By STAINLESS1 Comments
IPB Image
A low-grade fever of reconciliation seems to running through the dancehall fraternity like a contagious virus as word is that Beenie has made peace with Father Dozer and the Rebel T fraternity including Don Mafia.

I saw one of Dozers security guards and he told me that the Doctor was out there begging it out with Dozer, apologizing and working things out. It nuh mek no sense to me still because him perform free pon the show when because of him hype, him woulda get pay for it, one source told One876Entertainment.com.

Over the last few weeks, Beenie Mans refusal to make peace with Don Mafia caused a rift between him and Father Dozer, one of his staunchest supporters. Beenie Man even declared that he would not be working on Dozers Spring Break show this year. However, on Saturday, Mafia House first lady DAngel confirmed that Beenie Man would be heading to Negril and perhaps performing. And so it happened.

This last minute reconciliation though a bit surprising, but welcomed by most.

Beenie Man just a do a big man ting. Him realize say it nuh mek no sense make enemies of his long-time friends when The Alliance ah fight him inna the streets and the dances, another source said.

After making amends, the Doctor gave an impromptu high-octane performance at the show. Will the Rebel T powers that be re-do the Beenie Man mural on their wall?

Beenie Man ah my deejay from long time, we just did have a little vibes over the Don Mafia ting because me ask him fi come in and make peace and him refuse to, Father Dozer had explained to One876Entertainment.com about the rift before Saturdays reconciliation.

Efforts to get a comment from Father Dozer and Beenie Man since Saturdays show have not been successful, but stay logged, we will have more soon.

Kelis - Arrested in Miami

March 8, 2007
IPB Image
Kelis and Nas were spotted courtside at a Miami Heat game but later that night it seems as if Kelis was protecting her husband, Nas when she was arrested in Miami last Friday.

According to a police report, Kelis Rogers-Jones, 27, was detained at 4:30 a.m. and charged with disorderly conduct and resisting arrest without violence after she allegedly accosted police officers screaming racial profanities.

The report further details that the officers were in the midst of an undercover prostitution sting on the strip in the South Beachnightclub district. They were questioning a group of men about two suspected female prostitutes who were spotted in the area when Kelis got in the mix to defend her husband. It further alleges that the officers asked Kelis to step away, she continued shouting and rushed towards them. The famous singer had to be restrained by her friends.

Onlookers stopped but after a brief calm, Kelis began her tirade again. Police then arrested her for disorderly conduct. Police also say Kelis resisted arrest while being handcuffed. She was detained for several hours at the Dade County Jail until her release on $1,500 bond.

Razr for gay favour

March 9, 2007
Started By STAINLESS2 Comments
A man and a teenage boy who were allegedly caught in a compromising position at a fast food outlet in May Pen, Clarendon, had to be rescued by the police after an angry mob attempted to beat them.

The incident occurred at 7:30 p.m., while the restaurant was still open for business. It is said that a patron went to use the bathroom, heard strange sounds coming from one of the stalls, and upon closer examination, found the adult male in a compromising position behind the juvenile.

The patron reportedly raised an alarm and an angry mob descended upon them. The mob allegedly started to reign blows on them, before they were rescued by a police party on patrol in the area.

It is alleged that the adult had promised the boy a Motorola Razr cellphone in exchange for certain favours.

The May Pen police have confirmed the incident and added that they are conducting further investigation into the matter. The police say that they have also heard of the allegations that a cellphone was the reason for the encounter.

When THE STAR visited the town, several persons verified that the incident had taken place, and those who spoke were still fuming that they did not get to do bodily harm to the men.

"A nasty the boy dem nasty. A go the man go een deh fi guh use the bathroom an see dem a .... like man and woman, a weh the country gone doah eh?" remarked a vendor.

The adult male, who was led away from the scene in handcuffs, was said to be still in police custody. Up to press time yesterday, he had not been charged.
IPB Image
It is official, deejay Mavado has signed a record deal with VP Records and will look to release his debut album shortly.

According to Mavado's manager, Julian Jones-Griffiths: "VP Records, and Mavado's newly formed record label, Cassava Piece Records have entered a three-album deal. The first album is called Gangster For Life and should be released by this summer."

According to Jones-Griffiths: "VP Records, they are committing a lot of marketing money to promote Mavado. They have some big budget videos lined up and there are a lot of exclusive tracks on the upcoming album. The album will also be accompanied with a DVD which will take a look into the 'gangsta' world."

Young voices

Some of the producers who have worked on Mavado's album include Daseca, Stephen McGregor, TJ and Famous.

Neil 'Diamond' Edwards, Mavado's A&R at VP Records said they were happy to have him on board, as there is a lot of raw talent to be harnessed.

"Mavado represents the young voices in the streets so we are going to harness his unlimited, raw potential and carry him to the next level. If you look beyond certain things, you can see it and he has yet to tap into even a quarter of his talent," Edwards said.

Edwards also felt that Mavado had the talent to cross over into the U.S. market.

"We always like to work with young talent and present them to the wider world and really and truly he (Mavado) already has one foot in the (American) market already with his song Whe Dem A Do. It was being played heavily on one of our radio stations, I think it was HOT 97," Edwards said.

The STAR was, however, unable to reach Mavado for a comment.

Panty thief stalks residents

March 7, 2007
Started By STAINLESS4 Comments
There is a pervert running loose in Milk River, Clarendon, and according to the residents, not even the police can stop him.

The notorious 'panty man', as he is commonly called, has allegedly been stealing female underwear for several years. Residents accuse him of stealing the underwear when they are hung out to dry and say he often ejaculates in them and then discards them close by. They say however, that he recently 'stepped up his game' when he began breaking into homes, hiding under beds and then ejaculating on or near the occupants while they sleep.

"Is a man like this, whe you cant leave nothing pan line, especially you panty. Sometime im use di panty dem and discharge in it and jus lef it same place. Yeh man, dem haffi tek up dem panty dem, is a terrible, terrible man. People ketch him inna dem house nuff time, im bareface man," said Jacko, a taxi operator.

The Milk River police have confirmed the residents' claims. They say that they have received several reports about the elusive 'panty man' and admitted that they have tried in vain, to capture him. They say however, that they will continue to hunt him down.

One other resident, Kerry* told THE STAR that she has been terrorised by the 'panty man' for as long as she can remember. She revealed, "Im come all di while an push tings unda di window, draw whe di curtain and try tek out di blade dem. Mi tired fi go dung a di station. Im always tek whe mi panty dem and im discharge all di while in dem. One time im throw mi panty nex door and mi jus go bun it up. All inna di day like 11 0' clock, im jus want see mi back turn and im come tek mi panty offa di line. Mi sister see him already a run whe wid mi panty. All Saturday night im did ova yah, mi tired a it man."

She says she is certain of his identity as "mi see him face and call to him and im tek up im cutlass and run."

One other male resident, Billy, also told THE STAR that his wife had fallen victim to the 'panty man' at least once before. "Yeah man, mi wife come an tell mi seh she see har panty seat white but she nuh know wha wrong, a later on wi a get fi find out seh im tief it and go discharge pan it." He also added, "Wha day ya im go ina a house, hide unda di bed and when di people dem a sleep im tek out im private, start pump it up and jus let it out pan di woman. She wake up and feel crawny and den realise."

Residents have tried on several occasions to apprehend the suspect but say he manages to always escape. "One morning bout 5 0'clock , mi hear foot a run and man a shout out 'hol him', so wi start chase im but im jump inna di river and get whe," Billy said.
IPB Image

While Djimon Hounsou has moved on from his brief dalliance with Cameron Diaz into the scarier arms of fashionista Kimora Lee Simmons, Diaz wasted no time finding another buff bald actor to hook up with. She was seen making out with Tyrese Gibson at LA nightspot Xenii, and was out at an Oscars party with him:
Looks like the tide went out and took surfer Kelly Slater with it. A Gatecrasher spy caught Tyrese Gibson and Cameron Diaz in full lip-lock at the hip L.A. club Xenii. They made out right in front of me on the dance floor, says the spy.

They also came (and left) together to a pre-Oscars party thrown by Harvey Weinstein, Tamara Mellon and Tracey Edmonds, although Diazs rep tells us the two are not dating.

Gibson is 28 while Diaz is 34. She certainly seems to be enjoying her single status since splitting with Justin Timberlake. Hopefully shell find a guy willing to commit this time.
IPB Image
Flava, head of No Doubt Records, has filed a report that he has been threatened by Vernal Lyfe Newman, chief executive officer of Real Lyfe Production, over his planned release of a Gyptian album.

The man come up here with several other man and threaten me in front of Dean Fraser and the whole ah dem, bout say me caan release no Gyptian album when me and Gyptian already have an understanding, he said.

One876Entertainment.com confirmed that the threat had been reported to the Matildas Corner police station in St. Andrew.

When contacted, Mr. Newman denied the allegations but admitted that he had spoken to Flava at his Wellington Drive studio.

Mi neva even have a heated argument with this man, so this is surprising, its like hes trying to ruin my reputation, that is why I have contacted my lawyer about this.

Mr. Newman suggested that the reasons behind the allegations stemmed from Flavas frustrations over a collapsed album deal with VP Records.

Apparently, he thought he had a contract with VP to do a Gyptian album, and he must have tried to call them but they were not talking to him, so this must be his way to get some publicity because he has no money to push the project forward, but I cannot allow him to piggyback on Real Lyfe thing, that cannot happen.

Miss Nevada: 'You're Fired!' PT2

March 6, 2007
Started By JA_CANE3 Comments

spacer.gif

FORMER MS.NEVADA... DI GIRL IN THE RED..
PPL KEEP IN MIND THAT DIS GIRL IS AT A PARTY.... DONALD TRUMP HAVE A RITE TO FIRED DI DUTTY BITCH
... th_disgust1.gif th_disgust1.gif

IPB Image

IPB Image

IPB Image

IPB Image

IPB Image

IPB Image

IPB Image

IPB Image

IPB Image

IPB Image
 Donald Trump, owner of the Miss USA pageant, stripped 22-year-old Katie Rees ( Miss Nevada)of her tiara after checking out the raunchy photos of her that hit the internet
Miss Nevada IS DI GIRL IN THE RED TOP...

IPB Image

SHE LOOK SWEET DUH!!..I HOPE U R SAYING THAT WHEN U SEE THESE PIC..

IPB Image

IPB Image

IPB Image

IPB Image

IPB Image

THIS GIRL LOOK LIKE SHE LOVE WOMAN BREAST
IPB Image
Chuck Fenda, aka "The Poor People's Defender" is releasing his first album on Greensleeeves on March 27th entitled "The Living Fire".

The album includes the Jamaican chart topping social commentary track "Gash Dem", which was banned from Jamaican airwaves because of its incendiary lyrical content. It also includes "Coming Over", a track that features Cherine Anderson (actress from the film "Dancehall Queen" and "One Love"), which has been undoubtedly one of the biggest hits of the year so far.

Chuck Fenda rose to prominence in the dancehall scene in the late 90's, where he was a hardcore dancehall dj with tunes like "Shut Yuh Mouth" and 'Badda Badda". Fender soon after had found Rastafarianism and his sound has evolved into a more conscious sound. He linked up with 5th Element Records (home to Richie Spice) and put out his debut album "Better Days" which included such hits as "I Swear", "Better Days", and "Haffi Win".

Now on a solo roll, Fenda is still on fire, blazing up the streets and the charts. His new album "The Living Fire" features collaborations with artists such as Tanya Stephens, Richie Spice, and Cherine Anderson.
IPB Image
Jamaican reggae superstar Buju Bantons hit single, Driver A which has been enjoying high rotations on radio will now be seeking equal popularity on television. Bujus label, Gargamel Music, Inc. has wrapped production on the hotly anticipated music video.
The video was directed by rising young filmmaker Troy Antonio (Magic City, Nothing Refix), the clip was shot on location in and around Brooklyn, New York by esteemed director of photography Philip Martinez. Veteran reggae radio host Jeff Sarge stars as our hero Driver A. Actor Laurence Gates plays Cop. Actress Chyna Layne plays our Mystery Lady and of course, Buju Banton is The Boss.

Sneak preview additional photos from the Driver A video shoot at Buju Banton's official myspace page: http://myspace.com/bujubanton

Gargamel Music is also pleased to announce that Buju Banton will perform two songs with the legendary Sly & Robbie at the Cricket World Cup Opening Ceremony being held in Jamaica this Sunday.
IPB Image
London, Mar 05: Staff at the Promises clinic, where Britney Spears checked herself into last month, has been put on a 'suicide watch', after the singer reportedly tried to hang herself with a bed sheet.

Britney had friends and family worried sick when paramedics were rushed to the clinic recently, and now a friend has revealed that medics were called because she tried to commit suicide.

Just before she tried to hang herself, the pal said, Britney wrote 666 on her shaved head, and ran around the clinic screaming "I am the Antichrist!"

"She is still very vulnerable. Last Saturday she said she had the number 666 written onto her bald head. She was crying, and shouting, 'I am the Antichrist!' The clinic people just didn't know what to do. Then she started screaming, 'I'm a fake! I'm a fake!' It must have been really frightening," the News of the World quoted the pal, as saying.

"Later that night she tried to kill herself. She attached a sheet to a light and tied it around her neck. Paramedics were called, but luckily she was unhurt," the pal added.

A source at the clinic also revealed to the paper that Britney had realised what a 'rock' her estranged hubby was, and that she not only wanted them to get back together, but also to have another baby.

"Britney has realised what a rock Kevin has been to her, and how out of control she has acted recently. She has been talking to Kevin every night for hours on the phone, telling him she still loves him. She just wants to be with him again, and thinks having another baby will seal their marriage," the source said.

The source insisted that the singer was also much happier and calmer than she was at the time she checked herself into the clinic.

"Britney seems much happier and has calmed down a lot. She's a completely different Britney from the beginning of the week," the source said.

Another source close to Britney said that the singer was now thinking about renewing her vows with K-Fed.

"Kevin has been a real tower of strength for her and she has finally decided to give their marriage another shot. She thought things were over between her and Kevin after his wild partying and gambling," the source said.

"She felt he had deserted her and left her to bring up their two children on her own. She never even dreamed she would take him back. But Kevin's like a different man now. He's never been so caring before, and is really worried about Britney.

"He's been Britney's rock during her difficult time, and she wants to give him another chance. This week she even asked if she could have a night away from the Promises Clinic with Kevin. She's still waiting to hear if they will give her a pass so that they can go out for a romantic meal together.

"Kevin has also taken their two little boys to see their mum in rehab," the source added.

Much to the dismay of her family, friends and fans, the singer's life has been spiralling out of control ever since she dumped Federline last year.

Since then, she has been indulging in wild and boozy parties, been snapped without panties, and the latest shaving of her head and getting tattooed.

The singer also hopped in and out of rehab before seeking help for a third time when Federline threatened to take away their sons if she didn't get professional help.
IPB Image
More than a dozen persons have been arrested and charged in recent weeks for urinating in public areas in the Corporate Area.

The police have been cracking down on the persons who breach the Towns and Communities Act by exposing their persons and making the air unpleasant by urinating in open public spaces.

Deputy Commandant at the Island Special Constabulary Force (ISCF), Neville George, told THE STAR yesterday that the persons were arrested and charged for breaches committed in the Corporate Area. "Our men have been briefed and have been carrying out special operations with a view of curtailing this practice," he said.

The police in the Corporate Area, Dpt. Commandant George said, are on the lookout for persons who commit the breach in the Half-Way Tree, Cross Roads and downtown Kingston areas. He said that, while the men and women under his watch have been given instructions to be vigilant and to adopt a zero tolerance approach, the police are engaged in warning the men.

The scent of urine and faeces in public spaces has been a sore problem, especially at the St. William Grant Park, downtown Kingston.

On Sunday, THE STAR observed a fire unit from the York Park Fire Station hosing down the perimeter wall of the St. William Grant Park. One fireman told our news team that the work is Cricket World Cup-related.

Law is unfair

The fireman said the exercise was aimed at washing away the stale smell of urine which stains the area.

An old man blamed young men whom he said used the walls as urinals. In corroborating police claims about arrests being made, he said that in recent weeks he has observed police slapping handcuffs on several persons and taking them away for "renking up di place."

One 23-year-old, who admits to urinating in public, feels the law is unfair. He told THE STAR, "I believe the law makes no sense. You can't prosecute people and there aren't enough proper facilities in the first place. You go to a place like Half-Way Tree where there are 100s and 1000s of people and no proper restrooms. When people have urges they can't do any better."

Desmond McKenzie, Mayor of Kingston, three years ago called for the fine for urinating in a public place to be increased from the current $1,000 to $20,000 as a deterrent to such acts. He said the police need to start taking action against those who urinate against Kingston's walls.

Dpt. Commandant George said the police have become more vigilant in recent weeks, but have noted that many persons refuse to use public sanitary conveniences because they are often in a state of disrepair.
IPB Image

Feuding dancehall artistes Vybz Kartel and Mavado ended their dispute at the Pegasus Hotel yesterday at a press conference. It has been reported that the two had met before in a private meeting with DCP Mark Shields who orchestrated the press conference for yesterday (February 28) along with Kimani Robinson from RE TV.

In an interview with Mark Shields yesterday, he told YardFlex.com, " myself and Kimani Robinson from RE TV were discussing the feud between the artistes, which have cause fans and entourages turning the lyrical feud into violence. However, "myself and Kimani share the same entities and that is for music and art to stay positive, however the feud had gotten a little too far so we decided to contact the parties for a meeting and they both came and the result was to conduct a public meeting. Both Kimani and I were surprised, they were hesitant to unite, and explain to the fans what was happening".

In the press conference yesterday both artistes reconciled and showed a sense of unity between themselves. Questions were posed to the artistes about the ongoing lyrical feud which escalated in to a physical feud between their fans and entourages. They both apologized to their fans; and also urged them to stop using their music as a tool to start violence between each other. Kartel expresses that "both myself and Mavado were jus singing and writing song against each other because it's music and one has to be creative, but the fans should know at no time at all did you see or hear me and Mavado fight or shoot each other, I've been out and seen him and him entourage an mi on the left and him on the right." Wi never war yet nuh knife ting a just lyrical feud, we nuh say in our songs be violent to your friends or enemies for us". He went on to say that, now we are here today is breathing example of meaning progress."

Mavado commented to YardFlex.com, "the reconciliation is real, a me seh di Real Mckoy and a me seh Gangster fi life suh a real ting, di unity real and it ago stay real, Bless". YardFlex.com asked Vybz Kartel if we can expect a link between him and the alliance however he replied "Alliance will always be apart of Vybz Kartel that where I emerged, but they have their own entity while I have mine Portmore Empire which is focused on bussing new artistes around we. Me and Bounty never war on stage yet and that brings me back here with Mavado, we never war on stage suh u see is just the music".

However throughout all this most, of the media houses were not convinced about the unity; most asked if it were for real while YardFlex.com asked DCP Mark Shields if this was just a symbolic gesture, he replied that, "yes it is because when the fans see the unity it will denounce the violence which have been created. Also we asked how he would feel if this was used as a publicity stunt. "Perhaps I would be upset if it was there idea and I was dragged into it, but its my idea along with Kimani's, so I have no regrets, however it's good publicity because it will stop violence and that's great and I don't have a problem with it".

However when YardFlex.com spoke to both artistes yesterday they were happy to tell us that the fans can expect a new combination from both parties.

16-y-o sex slave?

March 5, 2007
Started By STAINLESS0 Comments
A 16-year-old girl who was abducted said she was used as a sex slave. She is stricken with fear that her abductor, an obsessed former boyfriend may return to commit the act again.

The girl, who attends a prominent high school, was the victim of an abduction on Christmas Eve in Old Harbour Bay where she lives. And although she was returned on February 6 by her abductor, she told THE STAR she is still suffering from trauma, as the man, a 37-year-old mason says that he is coming back for her.

She told THE STAR that, it was at 1 o'clock on the morning of Christmas Eve, last year, when the man with whom she had a relationship which ended two weeks earlier, placed a knife at her neck and took her to a house where she remained for one night.

Vitrual prisoner

"He then took me to Clarendon and I was in a house like a virtual prisoner where he sexually assaulted me, repeatedly. I begged him to let me go but he told me to keep quiet or else, he was going to kill my family," the young girl told The STAR.

She said she was later taken to a house in the Aviary Housing Scheme in St. Catherine where she was then held again as a prisoner for several weeks until February 6, when the police got wind of where she was.

Her abductor left her near the road in Aviary and ran away, and is now being sought by the police.

"He told me that police a guh tek set pon him and that even though him release me now, 'im a guh come back fi me, anytime him ready," remarked the fearful looking girl. Her fear has prevented her from returning to school following the incident.

The mother of the 16-year-old, says that the family is glad that the teen has returned home. She says her daughter has been taken to the hospital and tested.

"When I saw her the Saturday morning, tears run down my eyes and mi hear her eight-year-old sister seh, thank you Jesus mi prayer answer, mi sister come home," the mother told The STAR.

Although happily reunited, the family lives in fear as it is not known if and when the man will carry out his threat.

The mother says it is because she ended the relationship between her underage daughter and the 37-year-old man, that he became obsessed with the child. She said that she is hoping that the law will catch up with him before he carries out his threat.

Corporal Clarence Campbell, sub-officer in charge of the Old Harbour Bay police station says that the police has prepared warrants for the arrest of the man for carnal abuse and abduction.

"We are treating this case as very serious and have collected the required statements from the complainant as no stone will be left unturned to apprehend the suspect," Corporal Campbell said. Meanwhile, the family of the girl is hoping that the police apprehend the man before he again abducts their daughter or anyone else.

Experts at SophosLab, Sophos's global network of virus, spyware and spam analysis centers, have reported that an internet child abuser has been sentenced to jail following a lengthy case involving evidence gathered by illegal hacking.
66-year-old Ronald C Kline, a former senior judge from California, has been sentenced to 27 months in jail for possessing child pornography. Kline was initially brought to the attention of the authorities after his computer was infected by a Trojan horse planted by Canadian hacker Brad Willman.
Willman planted the Trojan horse, disguised as images of child abuse, on an internet newsgroup visited by pedophiles in 1999. The hacker (who used the handle Omni-Potent) broke into the PCs of those he infected, focusing on those he suspected of being involved in child abuse.
"Ronald Kline's conviction has brought to the end six years of legal arguments about whether evidence gathered by the Trojan horse was admissible," said Graham Cluley, senior technology consultant for Sophos. "Few will shed tears over Kline going to prison, but the case does raise interesting questions over whether illegal hacking and the distribution of malware can ever be justified. Some may worry that this case will be viewed as a green light for other hackers to infect computers with their malicious code."
rj_jimmy.jpg

Jones weighs in on Cam vs 50 feud. Jones finally addressed the bubbling feud between Killa and Fif earlier this week. During a lengthy interview on Funkmaster Flex's Hot 97 show in New York, the always charismatic Jones addressed Jay-Z and Memphis Bleek before speaking on Tru Life. "I knew dude. At first, he was trying to get a deal. He was trying to do the Dipset thing," Jones alleged. "Then, he must have gotten an opportunity with Hovie the old head. He probably wanted to show that he was tough and was doing something for the old head." Interestingly, the interview also revealed Jones' new nicknames, including LL Cool J "cause the ladies love cool James," "Mr. New York City" and "Tru Life?" "That's my name," Jones mocked. Jim also claimed to have given Tru an opportunity to box when the two randomly met at NYC's Quad Studios a while back. "I had a real talk with him. He knows he was out of pocket. He lifts his shirt up, showing me he's not armed, he start talking fast, and sweating and all that," Jones told Flex. "I gave him the opportunity. I said, 'I been hearing a lot of things. You know how I get down, I'll wait till I see you. We can shoot, stab, fight...right here in this Quad hallway.' And I got witnesses. He goes into this whole thing. I said, "aight, just leave it. He said he never said nothing about Jim Jones in his life."

This is a "NO-NO"

February 27, 2007
WATCH

103 students cram into a 30-seater bus ..........Jamaica Never changebiggrin.gifbiggrin.gifbiggrin.gif
foota_hype_mavado.jpg
Bounty Killer will be performing in Barbados tomorrow at a show as The Alliance makes a whirlwind tour in the south Caribbean.

Mavado is in Guyana tonight and will join Killer tomorrow in Barbados, they are touring with Flex, so you could say that the Alliance is on a Caribbean campaign of sorts. Needless to say, shows are coming in more than ever before, Sharon Williams of the Solid Agency, said.

Bounty Killer will be appearing on the Miami Foota Hype show on March 4. He will also be going to the United Kingdom for a series of gigs on March 9th , March 10th and March 11th. Bounty Killer will also be in Negril on the 20th , and in Atlanta, Georgia on the 24th.

The agency also said that there are a couple of local shows over the weekend of the March 30th.
bee.jpg

Beenie Man plays it tough during Macka Diamond's Birthnite Bash, held at Fayors Entertainment Centre, Mandeville. - Nathaniel Stewart

by Teino Evans, Staff Reporter

The tables have turned on Beenie Man. His efforts to get other artistes dropped from shows has him being dropped instead. Promoters say they are now standing their ground.
In an earlier interview with The STAR, published on January 26, promoter for Magnum Follow Di Arrow, Dexton Ennis, said he would not bow to Beenie's demands of dropping Spice from his show.

Now, in a recent television interview, Beenie Man has declared that neither he nor his wife (D'Angel) would be performing at 'Magnum Follow Di Arrow'.

Ennis says he decided to challenge Beenie Man's professionalism and principle, stand for what was right and keep Spice for the show.

"On a recently aired television programme, Beenie Man declared that the promoter is not showing him any love. His wife is doing a very good job of that. Is taking off Spice off the show, showing love?" Ennis questioned.

Ennis said he had nothing personal against Beenie Man but, "It is all about business, principle and professionalism."

He continued, "The theme for this year's show is 'Magnum Follow Di Arrow, Unite Di Music'. If I were to adhere to Beenie Man's request, I would have to change the theme for this year's show to 'Magnum Follow Beenie Man - Divide the Music'."

"It is time that Beenie Man starts respecting his profession. In the working world you have to work with people you don't like and people who disrespect you, but you have to remain professional," Ennis said.

Ennis says Beenie has since returned his deposit, nine days before the staging of 'Magnum Follow di Arrow'. Ennis has therefore declared that Beenie Man and D'Angel are no longer a part of the line-up.

He is confident, however, that although Beenie Man's fans will be disappointed, "the show will go on successfully, with the still spectacular line up of artistes that includes Buju Banton, Sizzla, Capleton, Ninja Man, Twin of Twins, George Nooks, General B and Round Head, Mr. Vegas, Kiprich, Captain Barkey and Wickerman, Terror Fabulous, Leroy Smart, Turbulence, Anthony B, Elephant Man, Little Hero, Fantan Moja, Nitty Kutchie, Professor Nuts Spice, Macka Diamond and Queen Paula."

Ennis also added that "Follow Di Arrow is Dexton Ennis' show, not Moses Davis' show."

Ennis is adamant that other promoters should take the same stance and stop short changing the fans.

And some promoters have been doing just that, as Beenie was officially dropped from the Spring Break show, scheduled to take place on March 10 in Negril.

"My posters were printed already but the commercials were not yet done, so I go ahead and paint out all Beenie Man's face from off my posters because him (Beenie) an Sizzla were headliners so their pictures were at the top ... I'm not running no risk with him," Derrick 'Chin' Reynolds, one of the promoters for spring break told The STAR.

Reynolds says, "Beenie Man begged to come on the show, suh we guh ahead an put him on it an him seh tru Spice an Don Mafia on di show him not going to do it. Him decide seh him going to be at the show but he's not going to perform."

Don Mafia a member of the Alliance?

February 24, 2007
Don_Maffia.jpg
Rumours circulating in the entertainment community are that deejay Don Mafia aka Gringo is being courted by the Bounty Killer-led Alliance, and that the two have been spotted in the Corporate Area fraternizing.
Don Mafia has contributed to the business, helped out Beenie, he and Beenie is in problems, he come around and Alliance show him love. If a man down, we show him love, it is not a recruitment or application, just mutual respectnobody nuh interested inna news, everything public already. Nobody nuh interested inna gossip, he is a human being like everyone elseKilla nah shun him, or kick him when he is down, he is not that kind of person, Michael Lunan of Solid Agency told One876Entertainment.com.

Don Mafia, a long-time songwriter for Beenie Man split from the Grammy-winning deejay last year over a dispute of equity in the newly formed Mafia House Productions company.

Matterhorn's 'Martian' party in NYC

February 23, 2007
TonyMatterhorn.jpg
Not even the impending snow storm could stop the specially invited guests, media and well-wishers from coming out in large numbers at Tony Matterhorn's welcome back party and VIP press reception.

The self-styled 'Man from Mars' celebrated his return to New York after a three-year absence, at the trendy Mars 2112 restaurant, nightclub and bar in Manhattan last Tuesday night.
The occasion was hosted by Matterhorn's management company, VIP Connected. Scores of mainstream and urban media personnel from the US, England, Europe and even Jamaica, were on hand to mark the milestone.

Matterhorn's US visa was revoked in 2003. His management company with assistance from various entities in the US petitioned for the visa to be reinstated. The loss of the visa had prevented Matterhorn from fulfilling numerous performance obligations in the USA, which resulted from the mainstream success of his hot Dutty Wine and Goodas Fi Dem singles.

Dutty Wine was heralded by the prestigious urban publication Vibe magazine as one of the 60 most influential records of 2006. The song enjoyed runaway success in the US, Europe and in several Caribbean countries. Matterhorn performed in almost every country where the song took off, with the obvious exception of going stateside.

In an earlier interview, Matterhorn had expressed his sentiments about being able to perform in the US again. "I can now reach out to my extended fans, the real Matterhorn fans. It feels good to be able to reunite with them, but in some ways I have been interacting with them on myspace a lot," said Matterhorn.

His manager Julie 'Lexy' Brooks of VIP Connected said that since the announcement that the selector-turned-vocalist can once again visit the US, several offers for performances have been popping up. "We have a lot of offers on the table right now. He might be travelling to the US almost every weekend just to perform," said Brooks.

At his welcome back party, Matterhorn greeted the media and spoke about plans for his career. He revealed that a collaboration with himself, Wyclef Jean and Elephant Man (featuring a new female Hispanic singer) is set to be a big hit this summer. He also hinted that he was in negotiations with at least three major US record companies for the release of his debut album.

Rob Kenner, editor-at-large at Vibe magazine told this writer that New Yorkers were familiar with Matterhorn from his days with the King Addies sound system and that his return could further help in capitalising on opportunities that could come his way. "Dutty Wine did very well in the urban market and a lot of mainstream artistes would want to work with him. Now that he is back, many of these opportunities can now bear fruit," said Kenner.

Singer Suzanne Couch, Linkup Media CEO David 'Squeeze' Annakie, Dave Rodney of Jamrock magazine, Patricia Meschino of Billboard and Skywritings magazine, and Jabba from urban radio station Hot 97 FM and Tempo, were among those in attendance.

After the press reception, an after-party took place at the T-NY Club in Manhattan. Matterhorn performed his hits as well as new material. He kept the crowd in stitches with his side-splitting anecdotes.
Anna Nicole Smith was murdered by her lover Howard K. Stern, lawyers claimed on Tuesday.

The accusation was made during a Florida court hearing to determine where the former Playboy Playmate will be buried.

Stern, Anna Nicole's former lover, Larry Birkhead and the late model's mother, Virgie Arthur, attended the hearing which descended into chaos when Stern's lawyer Krista Barth accused Birkhead's attorney, Debra Opri, of claiming her client had killed Anna Nicole.

Barth fumed: "Ms. Opri just made a statement to my client that he actually killed Ms. Smith. I have to protect him."

Judge Larry Seidlin cut dead the accusation, saying the matter of her burial needed to be resolved as Anna Nicole's remains were decomposing faster than expected.

After taking a phone call from Joshua Perper, the county's chief medical examiner, Seidlin said: "Time is of the essence. I'm running out of clock."

He demanded a clean legal fight from all sides and said he intends to reach a decision by Friday regarding her resting place.

The custody battle for the model's body is between Stern, who claims she wanted to be buried in The Bahamas, and Arthur, who wants her daughter to be laid to rest in Texas.

Judge Seidlin offered to take over jurisdiction of the ongoing paternity case between Stern and Birkhead, who both claim to be father to Anna Nicole's five-month-old daughter Dannielynn.

He said it would help with the burial issue if he knew who the father was.

His offer was declined.

Meanwhile, evidence has emerged that Anna Nicole's will, which left everything to her dead son Daniel, was faxed at 2:18 a.m. on 03.02.07, six days before she died.

It lists a phone number with the initials RAR - believed to be Ron A. Rale, Stern's lawyer.

Beenie Man's backlash

February 21, 2007
Started By GA4 Comments
beenie_man_for_sum_2_.jpg
What does the Beenie boo at Striptease 3: Jungle Extasy really mean? Is Beenie losing his touch or are the fans finally fed up of the ongoing Beenie-Bounty conflict?
Last week Saturday, Beenie was roundly booed by fans where he was the major headliner alongside Lady Saw and Mavado. The size of the audience was nothing to write home about either as fewer than 1,000 people showed up at the Students Activity Centre at UTech.

Some media personnel are actually dubbing it the boo heard around the world.

But how did it all go wrong so fast?

The stage was set for Beenie Man. He hit the stage singing Dun Know Di P---y Dem No Like Me before he eased into Come Again, and the crowd was eating up every word he said.

Then things took a turn for the worse.

He was performing well until him draw Bulleta, and then started talking bout Angel and then the crowd start boo. Is one man start it and it spread, is like Beenie Man is not the same commanding artiste him used to be, one patron said later to a One876Entertainment.com reporter.

Beenie Man invited out his wife, Michelle DAngel Downer to perform. DAngel did her top ten hit, Downtown Girl before another round of boos drowned out her attempt at doing Baby Daddy.

Unperturbed, the Doctor then did Hump Inna Yu and they exited the stage

Earlier, introduced onstage by his musical son, Mavado, Bounty Killer had performed 50 Calliba, and had left the stage with the terse warning, Alliance Yu Diss, Yu Get Bullet.

Beenie Man's withdrawal
Beenies fans will have to wait a few weeks to see him again as he is not on this weekends Follow Di Arrow show. In the meantime, the Beenie backlash continues full force.

A press release from Dexton Ennis, promoter of the show, advised the public that Moses Davis a.k.a Beenie Man has removed himself along with Michelle Davis, a.k.a. DAngel, from show.

The release said: At an advance stage of advertising & promotion, Beenie Man has decided that he would not perform with Grace Hamilton a.k.a. Spice.

As the promoter of the show, promoting uniting the music I was not willing to remove any Artiste to suite another, from the line up. As a result, Beenie Man has decided that he will not perform at the event, Mr. Ennis said.

Magnum Follow Di Arrow will go on as planned on Saturday, February 24th, at James Bond Beach, Oracabessa St. Mary and promises to deliver first class performance as evident from the line up below.

The line up features heavyweight names such as Buju Banton Sizzla, Capleton, Ninja Man, Mr. Vegas, Elephant Man and Anthony B. Don Mafia and Spice, two of Beenie's most vocal adversaries, are also billed for the show.

Red Rat father dies

February 22, 2007
red_rat.jpg
Jamaican dancehall artiste Red Rat, born Wallace Wilson learnt today that his father, who resides in Miami, passed away this morning.
One876Entertainment.com spoke to the artiste on his way to the Norman Manley airport in Jamaica and he said all he heard was that a blood vessel in his head burst. I got the call this morning and I have to rush to the airport, he wasnt sick or anything, the artiste said.

Red Rat is one of the main acts on the local RE TV High School Tour, a team of Jamaican artistes who travels across several parishes to promote abstinence and safe sex in high schools.

Red Rat's recording debut "Can't Live Without You" with his brother's band brought him to the attention of Danny Browne the producer/musician CEO of Main Street Records. Impressed by the young performer's musical abilities and natural stage charisma, Browne mentored Red Rat allowing him to nurture his talent and gain valuable experience alongside Main Street artists such as General Degree, Buccaneer and Papa San.

While still in school Red Rat recorded his first single "Itsy Bitsy" for Browne's Main Street Records, however on his father's insistence he decided to put his career on hold until completing his education. In 1996 after graduating from Meadowbrook High Red Rat under the watchful eye of Browne moved full steam ahead releasing a string of hit singles including "Shelly-Ann" and "Dwayne" that catapulted him to the top of Reggae charts Worldwide while showcasing his unmistakable voice, unique sense of humor and his unforgettable trademark "Oh-No!"

Sex in the fast lane

February 19, 2007
Started By STAINLESS3 Comments
JERUSALEM (Reuters) - Israeli police investigating why a car was blocking traffic in the fast lane of a major highway Sunday found a couple inside having sex.

ADVERTISEMENT

A police spokesman said the female driver and her male passenger gave in to their passions without pulling over to the side of the road, causing congestion and leaving other motorists having to swerve to dodge their stationary vehicle.

A patrolman gave the woman a ticket for holding up traffic.

Don Mafia and Beenie Man feud

February 19, 2007

beenie-man-mafia-house-don-mafia-sexy-girls-sexygirls.jpg

YES!! yes mi deh yah sah it deh pon we in a dis country yah, di police dem a dead like woah! A wha happen man, jus other day again a police get shot a Brook Valley no sah sumtin nuh rite. Please mi a beg unu maintain di peace.

Pon di topic of death - YardSuss send condolences fi Curly Locks from Twins of Twins his child died from Tomaine poisoning but im a question the cause, im say im nuh tink a dat still . All our love goes out to you.

Don Mafia wearing bulletproof vest

No sah a how Don Mafia a talk di tings dem suh pon BeenieMan, if u neva tune in to Onstage pon CVM unu miss out. Keep wearing yuh bullet proof vest cus we nuh wah hear seh u drop out like the unsolved mystery. Lawd god! Don Mafia it all look like seh a di ole a Beenie Man hits u write, gwaan yah Mafia carry yuh lawyer dem come from farin and sue im cause im nuh memba weh yuh do fi him, but wen u get di money memba mi.

Ray-J Sextape(Brandy's little brother)

February 9, 2007
Started By CALOSS3 Comments
Due to Graphic content we can only show clips od RAY-J's and KIM-K SEX Tape

http://www.avn.com/movieplayercoms/kimk

Zion’s death a cult killing?

February 15, 2007
twin_of_twins.jpg
The circumstances surrounding the death of Patrick 'Curly Lox' Gaynors six year old son, Zion, may have a touch of the macabre, according to police investigators.

It was reported earlier this week that Zion, the son of Curly Lox, one half of the dancehall comedic duo, Twin of Twins, had died in controversial circumstances involving the childs stepfather. It had also been said that the stepfather had failed to give consistent statements regarding the childs death.

One876Entertainment.com went to the offices of the St. Catherine North station on Burke Road in Spanish Town to get more information regarding the death.

The investigating officer was not there but we were able to get information from other officers who were familiar with some of the details in the case.

The wife and biological father were here last night giving a statementthe statement lasted about five hours and I overheard some of the stuff and it sounded weird, as if it involved some sort of cult activity was going on because at one point, they said that the child had begun to act differently after drinking some special water and dem tings deh, one police officer confided.

It was like a twisted story, with whole heap a different parts, and it tek a long time fi tell because it tek about five hours, and right now, we cannot say much more as the police are still investigating it. Right now, it is not even being classified as a homicidewe will make a decision after the autopsy is completed and the results made available to us.

The mother and stepfather, whose names are being withheld, were questioned and released.

The incident happened in the Greendale community of Spanish Town.

Efforts to get a comment from Deputy Superintendent Meveral Smith of St. Catherine North proved futile.

There were at least two incidents last year which were widely reported where cult-like activity was involved.
daville_reggae_dancehall_sexy_girls.jpg
Daville had a monster year in 2006 where his On My Mind album spawned several hits and firmly cemented the singer as a heavyweight in the reggae world.

The industry has embraced him, and he racked up five nominations in the recent EME awards, winning the Vocalist of the Year category. He has also been nominated in five categories in the IRIE FM awards as well.

My focus for 2007 is to the repeat the success I had in 2006 and take it to the next level. I want to create an even bigger trend, but I cant dictate what will happen, all I can do is just do the work and continue doing it to the best of my ability, he said.

Daville has a new single out called Give Thanks For What You Got on the Guardian Angel rhythm. There are also plans to shoot a video for another single, This Time I Promise which is at #5 on the RE TV charts as well as #10 on the Richie B Tru Juice charts. The single has also charted on the Bahamas and New York reggae charts.

He recently returned from Antigua after doing a club show there. The week before that, he was in the islands of Cayman and Belize.

I am truly grateful and I have a whole lot of things in store for my fans this year, he said.

Davilles album, On My Mind, will be released by VP Records in March.
beenieman.jpg
The ongoing animosities surrounding Beenie Man appear to be gaining considerable momentum given reports that the tyres of the deejays vehicle were found slashed at the end of the weekly Weddy Weddy session at Stone Love headquarters in Kingston.
Sources close to the deejay were upset that the incident took place but the streets are saying that Beenie Man has many enemies in the dancehall now so the brazen act could have been made by almost anyone.

'Mi de inna the dance and mi overhear Beenie ah say to someone say dem cut up him tyre dem, and it look kinda sticky pon him right nowit coulda be anyone because him inna so much passa passa wid people right now, it coulda even be a lickle man who ah walk past and just run him knife inna the tyrethe business get a way rightanyway, me ah go Bembe tonight (Thursday) fi hear what a gwaan,' a source told One876entertainment yesterday.
STARLEFT_1_PVP7KtmoreAwAM.jpgSTARLEFT_1_PZLR3ieAngelAM.jpg
Dancehall entertainer Moses Davis a.k.a 'Beenie Man' is about to be in the hot seat again. The artiste is about to be sued for royalty rights for the shocking sum of 10 million (JA$1.31billion).

Songwriter Michael 'Rasta Voice' Morgan claims to have written over 30 songs for Beenie Man including some of his major earlier hits such as Memories, Blessed Be Thy Name, Healer, Murderer, and Which One, among others.

Blessed Be Thy Name spent five weeks in the number one position in Jamaica, and Launch From My Father Pump Rifle spent a total of nine weeks in the number one spot on the U.K. Reggae Chart.

Morgan claims that though these songs became the basis for the launch of Beenie Man's Grammy Award winning career, he has not received the required royalties.

Morgan, a well-known song-writer, signed a contract with the United Kingdom-based Per-forming Rights Society (PRS), in March 1995 and entered into a five-year contract to write songs for Shocking Vibes Production.

Attorney-at-Law Conrad Powell, practitioner of the law office of Conrad Powell, contacted THE STAR recently on behalf of his client Michael Morgan. He told The STAR: "We're about to sue Beenie Man, also Shocking Vibes, Patrick Roberts individually, Beenie Man's Shocking Vibes music company and Dubplate Music, which is an administrator of Shocking Vibes. We're suing for 10 million."

According to Powell, the lawsuit (which will be filed within the next two weeks) will be suing for copyright infringement, breach of the writer's rights associated with compositions, and breach of contract action with respect to reporting and accounting of royalties.

"My client has been with them for 10 years and has done about 30 songs, all recorded by Beenie Man," Powell said.

"There has been minimal royalties (de minimus). He had legal contracts with Shocking Vibes music which have been cancelled. We have strong hard evidence. My client has a lot of personal issues that he needs to attend to. He hasn't gotten royalties, his family has been stressed and we're hoping they make good," Powell said.

Augustus 'Gussy' Clarke, who is the CEO of Dub Plate Music Publishers, says: "We are not the publishers for Beenie Man, we are the sub-publishers for Shocking Vibes and any and all copyright information was submitted to us by Shocking Vibes and we act on behalf of Shocking Vibes and their writers."

He further commented: "I am aware of his claim and we have researched it and our information and data base reflect that he was credited as a writer of these songs and further to that and to the best of my knowledge, he was signed to Shocking Vibes as a writer. So we are like a middle man and we have honoured all our obligations to Shocking Vibes Music in relation to their writers and catalogue of work."

Morgan, who has been a registered writer from 1992, says he has known Beenie Man for years since the two were teenagers. He says he made attempts to confront Beenie, but the issue was not fully dealt with.

"I've spoken to Beenie Man. He used to live wid me for like six-seven years. I talk to him bout it but not in depth cause it would have caused conflict. They haven't been giving me royalties every three months, sometimes all five or six months later I get paid. 1999 was the last slip I received," he said.

"I was getting very embarrassing figures like JA$7,000 to JA$11,000. Its difficult to say the exact amount I should be getting, but it's at least US$200,000-$300,000 and that's multiplied by 30 songs," Morgan claims.

Morgan says that he has vigorously tried talking to Patrick Roberts but to no avail. "I went to Patrick Roberts and he said my contract bun up."

However, when contacted, Patrick Roberts, head of Shocking Vibes Limited, claims he knows nothing of the claim.

"I know nothing of that, the claims have to be first verified between himself and Beenie Man and to my knowledge those songs were done over a 12-year period. Beenie has his publishing company and it is not Shocking Vibes. There is a chain of command and the first chain is to deal with Beenie Man and find out the real authenticity of the claim and then it comes to us. We are only the administrator of Dub Plate Music," Patrick Roberts told The STAR.

However, Powell says he has been in discussion with Clyde McKenzie, co-owner of Shocking Vibes. "We've spoken to Clyde McKenzie. The response at one point was that he was interested in settling but they have been evading and no more response has come from that camp."

Patrick Roberts, however, said: "We have no statements here for him. (Morgan) I can't tell the last time I saw his name on a statement. And those songs, dem only play now and then - but first and foremost, he has to find Beenie Man and settle whatever claims."

Efforts were made to contact Beenie Man but were unsuccessful up until press time.
STARCover_1_PUVGKStingBHK.jpgSTARCover_1_PHP52BounceSK.jpgSTARCover_1_PGPULVybzKaNK.jpg
Your musical preference could be a matter of life and death in Maverley, as warring factions in the community have aligned themselves to feuding factions in dancehall.

The Kingston 20 community that was rumoured to be a Beenie Man musical stronghold, is now feuding as to which artistes the community should support, the STAR understands.

It is rumoured that for sometime there has been some tension in the area between an existing don from 'bottom Maverley' and Ricardo 'Tristan' Palmer, friend of Beenie Man, from 'top Maverley'. Recently however Vybz Kartel, who left the Alliance and is being associated with Beenie, did a song giving props to Palmer. It was then, some residents claim, that those in the don's area started siding with the Alliance.

THE WEEKEND STAR became aware of the situation shortly after a dramatic shooting incident occurred on Campden Crescent (Maverley) on January 20. One man, identified as Jamar 'Bin Laden' Johnson was shot and killed by the police and Palmer was taken into custody for charges of shooting with intent at the police.

Investigating rival groups

Deputy Superintendent Michael Phipps, head of crime for the St. Andrew South police, affirms that they are conducting investigations into the two sides' connection with opposing music fraternities, but have so far found no evidence to implicate the musicians themselves.

"Our information suggests that one side favours Mavado and the Alliance, while the other is with the Beenie Man thing... This may have been the cause of the argument, but no evidence implicates the musicians. These are criminal gangs going against each other," said DSP Phipps.

Whatever the cause for the recent upsurge, the police facts are that it led to an incident in which a 'left hand man' of Tristan was shot at by members of 'bottom Maverley,' causing a gun battle between the gangs, wherein police intervened and engaged several men said to be aligned to Tristan in another shootout.

A resident visited THE STAR offices to 'clarify' why Maverley is currently divided between the two feuding camps. "The recent shooting come bout because Kartel record a song seh who a di real big man. It nuh reach road yet, but dem hear bout it and get vex and nuh want it come out," he said.

In an effort to confirm these disturbing reports, the STAR team visited the Maverley area, where conflicting views were shared with the media team. The consensus however, is there is definite tension between both areas of Maverley. Although the feud between the two sides is said to be long-standing, most agree that it has been reignited by the Alliance, Mafia House feud.

A resident of Campden Crescent, who is aligned to the now incarcerated 'Tristan', said that hours before the incident in which Palmer was implicated, men from 'bottom side' began an organised attack on the 'top side,' due to Kartel's song. He says when police came however, they went straight for 'Tristan'.

"Tristan dem neva involve an' police guh straight fi him. A kill dem would kill him too if him madder nevi deh deh... Some bad-minded people jus out fi di man true Beenie a lif' him up," said the resident.

But 'bottom Maverley' residents sang quite a different tune, regarding the now infamous incident as just one of many other kinds of 'trouble' the young men were causing in the area.

"Long time dem boy dem a keep up bear idiot ting inna di area...di man dem bus muss 30 odd shot from top side, dem nuh expect di residents fi sick a dem?" said a resident of Gremlin road.

An associate of one of the slated dons confirms that the two area leaders, that some describe as philanthropic Maverley businessmen, now strongly endorse the Alliance group.

Pointing to a dilapidated poster, he declared, "nuh jus ova Christmas pon di 23rd di don keep a treat an di whole a di Alliance deh deh...nuh boy pickney caan lock nuh Maverley, a di elder dem run it an dem big man deh nuh follow hype," said the resident.

Another resident confirmed that Bounty Killer and Mavado regularly visit Gremlin road.

Alliance member, Mavado, confirms that he and other Alliance members frequent the area, but clarified that he is not endorsing a war in the community.

"Mi hear seh Maverley split up 'cause a me an Beenie, but a jus di people a show mi love, an dem rate di Alliance, a nuh war ting," he said.

"A di people dem invite me come down deh. Wi plan fi deh deh fi bout ten minutes, an everywhere mi look more people a come out dem yard. Pickney come out, granny come out, gal come out...is jus two box (sound system speakers) dem we string up fi keep a dance to how di place full a people," said Mavado.

Mavado cited that in his time spent there, he spoke nothing but positive encouragement to the Maverley residents.

"Everywhere mi go, mi a preach positive to di youths, but when mi lef it cum like a negative mi guh seh...Mavado caan guh a garrison an dem (police) nuh seh a negativity mi deh pon, when a positive mi deh pon," he said.

Beenie Man could not be reached for comment.

Kartel heads to Amsterdam

February 14, 2007
kartel.jpg
Greensleeves recording artiste Vybz Kartel returned to Jamaica this week after an ultra-successful show in the twin island republic of Trinidad and Tobago.

Based on the response so far, were going to get a lot of shows for the deejay in the Caribbean, Denise Smith of Topline Booking Agency, an all-purpose entertainment firm, said.

The deejay has already been confirmed for a show in Amsterdam in April.

Mi a look forward to it because yu know that right there is the weed capital of Europe and it will be my first time there, the deejay whose latest single, Hot F on the SSMG is at #12 , and on the verge of breaking into the top ten of local charts this week.

The deejay is known for his weed odes such as 'Most High' and 'High Altitude' with Bounty Killer, and 'In My Eyes' with Wayne Marshall and Bounty Killer
IPB Image IPB Image
Popular deejay Elephant Man is strongly denying that he is the person in an X-rated picture that is currently being circulated via the Internet and cellphones.

The picture shows a man that looks like Elepahnt Man, performing what appears to be an act of oral sex on a female.

However, when contacted, the 'Energy God' said the man in the photo is not him.

"Mek dem know seh full time uno done wid di foolish rumours, how can you si an know seh is not me an bad mind a guh mek uno call my name? Everybody know seh Ele a one a di yout dem weh keep it real, dem seh mi have AIDS an mi stay far from di war, but mi tell dem, when dem a dig hole, don't dig one, dig two," Elephant Man warned.

He continued, "Wi jus a mek di fans dem know, don't follow dem likkle bad mind people weh a try bring down mi career. Wah me a do pon phone? Dat's a bwoy from foreign weh a live freaky life," he said.

The Internet

There is another email in circulation, which compares pictures of Elephant Man and a porn star found on the Internet, believed to be the same man on the phone image.

When asked if he knew the person in the photo, Ele said, "Mi nuh meet freak, mi nuh waan know dem, fire fi dem."

According to Elephant Man, the man in the photo is "a foreign porn star," that persons are claiming resemble him.

"How can 'look like' be di same as me? Dat deh far from Elephant Man. Look pon ugly, ugly me. My nose big, my hair yellow, my mouth long...I don't put my mouth weh it nuh suppose to guh. Jamaican people fi jus wise up an live fi di real ting. Some bad mind people guh pon dem computa an put Elephant Man name, but me neva si dem fi guh kick out dem face," Ele said.

Ele also says that such malicious rumours were not the first to be directed at him and this will not be the last.

"I'm the house for rumours, me a di burden-bearer, dem a guh come wid many more rumours. But mi happy wid mi life an mi music, mi good, Elephant still love uno same way, wi leave dem to God," Ele said.

The STAR tried unsuccessfully to contact the man in the photo up to press time yesterday.

In the meantime, Ele says he has been busy releasing a number of singles and videos, among them, Drop Dead, Think Wi Nuh Si Uno and Bring It Come.

"Suh right now a lot of things out there coming for the Easter. Wi also jus shoot a video fi Guh Ring Yuh Madda, Pick Up Di Phone pon di Sly an Robbie label an wi have di big tour coming up in May in Europe. Also di first single from di Bad Boy album fi release soon, dem jus a try decide which one fi use an den a jus bare promotion," Ele said.

According to Ele, it's all work and his aim is "to continue doing some nice music an bring di people dem outa di bad vibe."

-- Edited by "STAINLESS" at 16:25, 2007-02-07

Twin of Twins mourn loss

February 15, 2007
STARRIGHT_1_PXYK3zionE2AM.jpgSTARRIGHT_1_PR4SZzionB2AM.jpg
Patrick 'Curly Lox' Gaynor is today mourning the death of his six-year-old son, Zion who died on the weekend.

However, Patrick is even more bereaved that he will have to await an autopsy report to determine exactly when and how his son died. Zion was in the care of his mother.

"Right now my lord, words cyan describe dah grief yah, cause is not like him neva wake up from him sleep or sum'n like dat, although death a still death, but mi really disappointed. None a di story weh di stepfather a tell nuh consistent, him tell bout four different story, bout Ptomaine poisoning an all sort a ting, but based on what I saw and what I observed bout my yout, he was beaten to death, him teeth lick out and di whole a him face buss up," Patrick said.

He also added, "Him nuh guh school Thursday-Saturday night mi hear seh him dead an a Sunday morning mi guh look pon him, mi sweet likkle son dead."

"All dat we do is for di children," he said.

Patrick says, "dat a mi whole reason for living, a him why wi a try suh hard inna di business. All when wi a guh tru dem bag a ting, like wid Beenie a try get wi off a show, a nuh toss up wi waan inna, a di pickney dem food wi a look, suh wi defend wi food inna music by any means. Right now Tu-Lox (Paul) cyan even talk."

Undoubtedly, the Twins' loss will sooner than later be reflected lyrically, as they are known to put pen to paper on real life issues.

However, this one might not be so humourous. "Some tings mi cyan seh yah now, but my music wi always reflect how mi feel bout mi yout but mi know seh him gone to a better place. Gone him gone, yuh nuh," Patrick said.

The officer in charge of crime for the division (St. Catherine North), Deputy Superintendent Meveral Smith confirmed investigations into the death of the child.

"A report was made today (yesterday) on the incident...investigations are being done, but we are awaiting the result of the post-mortem on the child, which will be done on Thursday," he said.

In the meantime, The Twin of Twins have put everything on hold. "Wi fi guh all a Harvard di 18th a dis month an wi did have couple show a Canada, but every ting jus deh pon hold," Patrick said. "Wi new album, Volume 7 release already, suh wi jus haffi push on."

Patrick also wanted to make an appeal to fans and parents to keep the peace. "Wi a appeal to all a di fans dem weh a mek some talk, jus refrain an mek di police do dem work. An wi a appeal to the mothers out there, nuh put nuh man over dem yout. An' to the fathers, always put yuh yout first," he said.
Don_Maffia.jpg
Crushed by the emotional torment and stress from his split with Beenie Man over equity in the Mafia House production label, deejay Don Mafia found himself hospitalized for three days for stress-related problems over two weeks ago.

Mi end up a hospital over this thing, deh pon saline and drop, m go St. Josephs (hospital) first and dem recommend me to UC fast fast. When mi reach up deh, mi knee, mi foot, mi eye, mi head ah hurt me, mi no waan no food fi eat, mi feel sick straight, he told One876Entertainment.com.

The doctors said that he was undergoing a high level of stress, and that triggered the pain-related symptoms he experienced.

It come in like dem waan me mad inna reggae music, more time, mi waan roll and mi caan roll, dem a threaten fi kill man, dem a diss mi pon TV say mi nah no hook, and how me jealous of Angel. Me neva have nothing bad fi say bout Angel, so mi did haffi go pon TV fi get it offa mi chest and correct the tings dem say bout me. Right now, mi kinda free up back and ah relieve the stress, Don Mafia who wrote Beenie Mans huge hit, One Bag a Lie, said.

Right now, ah mi career me a deal wid, no negativity, no mix up, Beenie ah big artiste, me nah dwell pon them, right now me waan have a career too, he said.

God's heavenly unions

February 14, 2007
Started By GA1 Comments
STARRIGHT_1_PNLEEalProdAM.jpg
Three different couples, but not that much difference of a story.

What God has put together let no man put asunder. The fact that Tommy Cowan and Carlene Davis; Robert and Genieve Bailey; and Calvin 'Prodigal Son' and Joan Whilby are all a part of the gospel fraternity, means their vows cannot be taken lightly.

Robert and Genieve once sang together with no intention of having a relationship. But soon people began talking about what seemed inevitable.

"We weren't attracted to each other. Then people just kept asking when wi going get married," Genieve said.

It was not until a friend of Robert's gave him a reality check that he began to think about asking Genieve out. The friend asked 'what if Genieve were to marry someone else, what would you do?' That was all he needed to put the move on his singing partner. But apart from her physical beauty, Robert saw something else.

"She is the kind of Christian woman who is committed to the Lord. That is what I needed. I needed someone who is compatible with my beliefs. And as you can see, she is also a beautiful woman," Robert said of his wife of 14 years.

Different worlds

For Prodigal Son and Joan, it was a different story. Both are from different backgrounds and many objected to the two becoming an item. That did not stop them. When Prodigal first laid his eyes on Joan, he liked what he saw. However, he was a recent convert, from the inner city and came with what some saw as 'baby mother drama'. He was also a high school drop out.

Joan, on the other hand, is a university graduate, but Prodigal said it was in the Lord's plan for them to be together. Seven and a half years later, the couple is still committed to each other.

"I was attracted to his spirituality and his humility. It wasn't just an outward attraction," Joan said.

She could not help but disclose that she is now married to 'Mr. Romantic'.

"He is very romantic. He does the whole rose on the floor and on the bed thing for me," she said.

It has not all been paradise for Prodigal and Joan. There was the time when the family migrated to the United States and their marriage was in jeopardy. There were interventions from other members of the fraternity and now they are happy again. What is responsible for the turnaround? Joan said, "It's our commitment to God."

Tommy and Carlene's love affair is also one that inspires. The two first got together when they were secular artistes.

"Carlene is quite an attractive lady, plus, I was attracted to her talent." Cowan said.

"I loved his warm smile and he was easy to get along with. He is easy to approach. That was enough even if I was interested in him," Carlene said.

The couples are now at different stages of their lives, but they all seem to think that a commitment to God is enough to bring them through.

Valentine's Day will consist of work and probably dinner for Robert and Genieve, while Prodigal and Joan will be in Negril. Tommy Cowan says he does not know what he will do today.
angel.jpg
She is known as the first lady of Mafia House. Other people have less savoury names for her, but Michelle DAngel Downer is a woman who projects the silent threat that she will not be derailed. There are things she wants to achieve, and nobody can stop her from realizing her goals.

She has announced her re-entry into the dancehall world after a sabbatical to have her child with the radio hit, Baby Daddy with Vybz Kartel. The video is currently in heavy rotation on cable stations all across the island. The controversy generated by the subtext surrounding the song, has given it wings. Check it, number one, the animosities between Kartel and DAngels former lover, Bounty Killer, and number twice, the content of the song which seems to validate Beenie Man as the father, have combined to make the song a surefire hit.

If DAngel neva marry Beenie, all the things that happen in dancehall wouldn happen. Look at what Patrick (Roberts) say when dem ask him about the split with Shocking Vibes, the first thing he said was that Beenie Man is married now, so yu see everything change since wedding, everything, one source said. And look at the Kartel issue, ever since him attend the wedding, the rift between him and Killer widen, so ah fi har arrival change up everything.

The questions remain unanswered, but you can tell us what you think. Is it pointless to blame DAngel just like how sexist males blame Eve for original sin? Or would Beenie still be a member of the Shocking Vibes camp? Would Don Mafia still be writing hit tunes for Beenie Man? Would Vybz Kartel still be in the Alliance? Would Aidonia? Would Beenie and Bounty be able to finally bury the hatchet and end the animosity?

Sanchez poisoned

February 15, 2007
STARCover_1_PMQ4GsancheOM.jpg
Reggae singer Sanchez, real name, Anthony Jackson was reportedly poisoned after performing at a show in London, England recently.

According to Vonnie McGowan-Arscott, publicist and marketing consultant for Sanchez, it was a near-death experience for the singer.

"We just came back from London, where we did a show at the Hammersmith Apollo Theatre last Sunday. Sanchez did the show with Freddie McGregor, the Millennium Band and Chronic. They played to about 5,000 people and it could easily be described as his best performance yet," McGowan-Arscott said.

She continued, "After the show, we were backstage. Everybody has their individual dressing room and they provided refreshment, but as a rule Sanchez doesn't normally take refreshment, but someone offered him a drink and apparently the cup was switched and he was poisoned."

McGowan-Arscott stated, "After he returned to his hotel, some fans came there and he was complaining of being very, very tired and that was unlike him, so he only signed autographs for about half an hour. After about an hour, he called my room and said he felt sick, and by the time I went over his pulse was barely there, he was basically lifeless."

Heart attack-like symptoms

"He was in intensive care for about 15 hours. The symptoms were that of heart attack but given his clean medical history, they discovered that it was something that he ingested."

Sanchez, who has made a miraculous recovery and is now at home in Jamaica resting, says he is counting his blessing.

"Tell yuh di truth, mi just give God thanks fi be alive one more time an' mi want mi fellow workers to be careful about who an' who come around you because it was almost fatal," Sanchez told The Star in a brief telephone interview.

McGowan-Arscott continued, "It appeared to be a robbery attempt, because there were some persons who wanted him to attend an after party, but he didn't want to, so they stayed at the hotel. It was like a set up for a robbery. Because even when we came from the hospital, the room was totally ransacked. We managed to safeguard his valuables and although he had quite a bit of cash, it was not on him."

"This should serve as a warning to all our artistes who go overseas to do shows. Be careful who comes backstage with you and who knows which hotel you are staying at."

Sanchez, who is expected to perform at Symphony, Together Under The Stars, this Saturday on the Lawns of King's House says fans can definitely look out because, "I'll definitely be there in full flight."
STARRIGHT_1_PEMG6mav122AM.jpgSTARRIGHT_1_PQP6FddleEaAM.jpg
'Every man inna Alliance me giving shots

All Sharon Burke haffi pay frigging tax

Shot spot Marshall like chicken pox

Mince up Killa head wid a kitchen axe'

(Vybz Kartel)

It is nothing new to dancehall music, where artistes use their real life conflicts and experiences to generate their lyrical content. However, one thing is evident, the lyrics nowadays have become much more prolific and witty.

Information age

According to deejay Vybz Kartel, artistes nowadays are living in the information age and so have more access to a broader scope of knowledge.

"Is a science to music like every ting else. And more words are being used now, we can express more, cause wi have cable an internet fi learn from. Back den wi only did have like Nike Air an dem ting deh, now wi have Versace an with new words yuh get new rhymes," Kartel said.

Kartel says it's not only about just spitting lyrics, but the content must reflect some amount of knowledge.

"A years worth a grooming and mi build pon dat when mi a guh school, cause mi have English, History, Geography and Literature inna CXC, an mi love read. Yuh si reading, neva stop, it help yuh a lot is not jus deejaying gangsta lyrics, it tek education and having a broader understanding. Like when mi seh, 'some breed a gun weh mi a buss some bwoy nuh have dem, di binili, di A-Kalizmic (AK) mi have dem, mi war colda dan Reagan and Gorbachev dem' suh mi still a gi dem a likle history, cause dat was representative of the cold war between America and Russia," Kartel said.

Even the latest round of lyrical battle between Kartel and Mavado is indicative of the skills that these deejays nowadays possess, the ability to build lyrical counteractions within minutes of hearing a song.

Greatest writer

Since Kartel parted company with the Bounty Killer-led Alliance, he has been spitting lyrics at every member and person affiliated to the Alliance. So far, only Mavado has sought to engage him in lyrical battle.

"Well basically, dah song deh, Mofraudo Dis, about 20 minutes it tek fi write, cause mi listen fi him song fi bout a hour an listen di mistake dem weh him mek an inna my mind mi a put together the counteraction an den mi put pen to papa. I have myself as di greatest writer, because all of the artiste dem weh come out inna di early 90's till now, all a dem a mostly producer write dem song or dem have ghost writer, mi nah call nuh name. Every single Kartel lyrics a me write it, if I'm on it, I done it. All like di three syllable an four syllable rhyme, a me bring dat to di game," Kartel said.

Mavado, in his lyrical combat with Kartel, uttered, "New name fi informa ah Mr. Palmer grudge me fi X5 so mi sing dah pslams yah, strap wid mi hamma clip longer dan banana, bwoy come pass di corna, gunshot ring inna yuh ears like llama"

Although Mavado could not be reached for a comment on how he came by his lyrical content, the counteraction songs created by both artistes have been hailed in the streets as being awesome pieces of work.

"Fi Aidonia, is a inborn thing, him don't write. Him wi deh deh, get a riddim an him wi get a gangsta vibes or a girl vibes. But most a di things, a things weh happen to either him or people weh deh roun him, an wi si down an him talk to wi like a story him a tell wi and afta dat wi jus form it into music," Kurt his road manager said.

Marshall's creativity

Adding, "all Ukku, Aidonia guh a Left Side an Esco studio fi do dub, an Left Side play di riddim mek him hear, an di song build pon di spot an record in about 40 minutes."

However, artistes like Wayne Marshall have used their creativity to tone things down a bit, as he says, "a long time di people dem a hit out 'gainst dancehall, a talk bout it too raw and now, I am just exercising my creativity, so it's saying the same thing only in a more subtle way."

Marshall was referring to one of his hit singles, I Forgot Them which had multiple meanings and interpretations.

Valentine's Day

February 9, 2007
Started By Crazypickney11 Comments
I hate the day now cause i have no one. cry

-- Edited by Crazypickney at 20:25, 2007-02-09
IPB Image
Top dancehall group for 2006, Voice Mail, will this weekend participate in a number of pre and post parties associated with the Super Bowl sporting series in the Florida, USA.

In a release, group member Oneil Edwards was quoted saying 'We are happy to be going off to attend the Super Bowl series. We were specially invited by the organizers to come and party with the stars. It's an opportunity for us to maximize as best as we can'.

Voice Mail capped off a successful year in 2006. The group topped the charts for three weeks with their debut album Hey which was released by VP Records. The first single Get Crazy hit the top 10 on the charts. But it was the single Let's Dance produced by Donovan Bennett on the Higher Altitude rhythm, which soared to the top of the charts.

Additionally, Voice Mail snagged an endorsement deal with mobile giant bmobile. "We signed up with bmobile and it has been a great experience for us. We also signed an endorsement with Bashco', Edwards pointed out.

Voice Mail's sophomore album Hello is to be released later this year. The album will feature production work from luminaries including Tony 'CD' Kelly, Danny Champagnie, Rohan 'Sno Cone' Fuller, Donovan 'Don Corleon' Bennett, Big yard, Nigel Staff and Christopher Birch among others.

Said Edwards, 'Our debut album Hey did well for us in Japan where it went gold. It allowed us to tour many places around the world'.

Last year, Voice Mail performed in the US, Canada, England, Japan, Guyana, Cayman, Bermuda and Trinidad and Tobago.

Later this month, the members of the group will head to Japan to commence a photo shoot for their forthcoming album.
IPB Image
There will be a seismic shift in the reggae universe as of July 28th, 2007.

Why, you ask.
Well, that is the earliest possible release date for Jah Cure, the singer known for huge hits such as 'True Reflections' and 'Love Is'.
YardFlex confirmed that the singer could be released on this date.
"Jah Cure's earliest date of release (EDR) is July 28, 2007 and his latest release date (LDR) in July 18, 2011," Major Richard Reese, Commissioner of Corrections, told YardFlex earlier this week.

"As long as there are no institutional breaches or any serious breaches committed which warrant a serious investigation before this date, he should be released at this time, on July 28th, 2007."

Jah Cure was sentenced to 15 years imprisonment on April 26, 1999, for two counts of rape, robbery with aggravation, and illegal possession of firearm, all arising from the same incident. He received this sentence at age 19. He will be 27 years old when he is released.
"If he commits a breach while released on EDR, the prosecuting judge would take into account his previous conviction and he could get a longer penalty," Major Reese reasoned.

The Commissioner said he did not know if Jah Cure would come up before the parole board before his release date. One prominent entertainment female personality actually commented: "Why is it that Jah Cure who is a criminal is applauded by members of this society for a heinous crime committed against women? Jah Cure must serve his full sentence, I don't care what he sings, he has not apologized, and any man who could do such a vicious act deserves to remain in prison for a long time. Where do people get off with this 'Free Up Jah Cure!" foolishness?!"

Two years ago, Jah Cure was buffeted by an avalanche of bad press arising from an interview conducted by a Gleaner reporter with his victim. Women's groups were particularly incensed by a follow-up interview where he seemed to be less than penitent about his conviction.

Last year, combination singles 'Nah Build Great Man' with Fantan Mojah hit local charts while the combination with Gentleman, 'Share the Love' hit the top ten of the Choice FM charts in London.
Jah Cure is a very bankable star and his release will start earnest jockeying by promoters and producers in the entertainment fraternity to use his considerable talents. There is already talk that he may appear on this year's Reggae Sunsplash and could provide a shot in the arm for reggae music which lacks a major international star since the death of Bob Marley.

Married but didn't know

February 1, 2007
Paula Dixon is an unmarried lady. She was therefore shocked to learn in February 2006 that the Registrar General's Department (RGD) had record of her getting married in Seaview Gardens in 1997. Dixon learnt the disturbing news when she applied to the RGD for a non-impediment certificate that would allow her filing process to be complete. The non-impediment certificate is required by the U.S. Embassy to prove that an applicant is not married or otherwise bound. A day after she applied for the certificate, she received a letter from the RGD stating that they had a marriage certificate with her name on it. Needless to say, Dixon was taken aback. She had never met the man she was supposedly married to and she had no idea who the supposed officiating minister was. What is even more interesting is that Dixon told THE STAR that she had never been to Seaview Gardens before. It is not a case of someone just having the same name, as even the birthday, middle name and father's name are the same. Dixon also learnt that her 'husband' had remarried and that the second marriage was also officiated by the minister who is said to have done hers. She told the STAR that she has been to the RGD several times and has spoken to several persons, but has made no strides in her quest to clear her name. The false record has severely affected Dixon's life as she only has one month left for the filing to be completed. As long as the record says she is married, however, she will never get the non-impediment certificate. If the filing is not completed within the month that is left, the process will have to start all over again and could take up to five years. Her children who were living abroad, came to Jamaica for interviews at the embassy, and are now trapped here. Dixon was forced to get them into school. "It is costing me a lot to run up and down and for lunch money, bus fare and school fee. I just want to go about my life, my life has been on hold," she said. The matter was reported to the Fraud Squad last year and when THE STAR contacted them yesterday, a police officer, involved in the matter, confirmed that investigations were ongoing. She says that she has made several visits to the RGD office but still has not received the marriage certificate. She also revealed that once they received the certificate, they would ques-tion the minister involved. Dixon has also been doing her own investigations. She also revealed that she met with the minister who said he could not remember much about the wedding because it was so long ago. He reportedly said he was asked to do a marriage by someone named 'Mark' but said he did not know where to find this person. Her desperate attempts to have the matter resolved led her to meet with the CEO of the RGD and Deputy Keeper of the Records, Patricia Holness. Dixon said that during a visit to the RGD, she also paid to get a copy of the marriage certificate but was told that because of the ongoing investigations, she could not get it. Holness, when contacted by THE STAR, said that she is aware of the case and sympathised with Dixon. She also added that the RGD has done everything it could to help the police and is willing to do more. "It is such a sad case. It's very strange for us. We provided the information to the police and we even sent a letter to them. We have no reason to doubt her credibility," she said. Checks done by the RGD, she said, revealed that the minister was legitimate and she added that the RGD does not create records. She, however, admitted that they were hesitant to release the marriage certificate and "wouldn't want to put it out until everything is resolved." She said though, that once investigations were complete, they would have no problem doing this.

Mystikal Released From Prison

January 25, 2007
Started By GA2 Comments
New Orleans rapper Mystikal was released from a Louisiana Federal Prison last week, according to the Federal Bureau of Prisons. The rapper was sentenced to six-years in prison after pleading guilty to extortion and sexual battery charges, stemming from an incident in which he forced a woman to perform oral sex on camera, after he caught her writing $80,000 in bogus checks. A representative with the Federal Bureau of Prisons confirmed with AllHipHop.com that the rapper, born Michael L. Tyler, was released from prison on Jan. 11, almost one-year after being denied parole. On Jan. 19, 2006, the 36-year-old rapper went before the prison systems parole board, which denied his release. Just seven days earlier, on Jan. 12, a judge had sentenced Mystikal to an additional year on two misdemeanor counts of failing to report almost $2 million in earnings from 1998-1999. Mystikal was allowed to serve the misdemeanor tax sentence concurrently. The representative told AllHipHop.com that the Desert Storm war veteran was labeled a "full term release, " but will be placed under court-ordered supervision in Middle Louisiana, or the district he resides in.

Lil wayne and Baby kissing

January 23, 2007
Started By GA7 Comments
IPB Image

I DIS LOOK A WAY START..furious.giffurious.gifListen both sides! watch part 1 whey juvenille a Diss Cash money Part 2 a Lil wayne and Baby a Answer

-- Edited by ADMIN at 20:27, 2007-01-23

--

-- Edited by ADMIN at 20:53, 2007-01-23

79-y-o attempts rape?

January 16, 2007
A 79-year-old man who allegedly attempted to sex-ually a assault an 11-year-old child will stand trial in the Corporate Area Resident Mag-istrate's Court on Friday.

Senior citizen Alphanso Tennant, a vendor from a Cor-porate Area address, pleaded not guilty to the charge of assault with intent to rape when he appeared before Resident Magistrate Lorraine Smith.

Allegations say on January 13 at 7:30 a.m., the accused was at home when he called the complainant in his room. It is reported that when the com-plainant entered his home, the accused held her, took off her shorts and underwear and put her on the bed. He reportedly took out his penis and climbed on top of her. He however was unable to continue the act as two children reportedly saw him and called out for help.

The police were called and Tennant was arrested and charged.

When the matter came up for mention, Tennant dragged himself slowly out of the holding area into the docks. While the allegations were being read, the accused said "mi nuh do nutten". He told the court he did not have a lawyer but said he would get one by Friday. The accused also asked for bail but this was denied.

He was remanded until Friday when the trial will begin. In the meantime, the investigating officer was asked to collect a statement from the children who saw him.
«First  <  1521 522 523 524  >  Last»  | Page of 524  sorted by