Forum: News & Topical Issues

News updates, entertainment, hot topics, gossip | Share and discover what is happening right now.

After thrilling a jam-packed audience at Saturday nights FAME road party in New Kingston, deejay Vybz Kartel is readying himself to head to England for three shows.

Its going to be crazy at the end of this month. I will be performing at one show at the Stratford Rex, one of the biggest venues in London, one in Birmingham on Sunday, two in London on the Monday and Tuesday," the deejay told One876Entertainment.com.
Artiste: Vybz Kartel
Album: ...

The Stratford Rex, located on Stratford High Street in London has a capacity of 2,500 patrons and has hosted concert appearances for big rock and roll stars like the Foo Fighters in the past.

After that sojourn to England, Kartel will return to the island before jetting off to Canada. In Montreal, he will be headlining a series of shows hosted by Zone1 Entertainment (of Toronto) in collaboration with CB Productions Inc. (of Montreal) and Triple AAA Records (of Montreal). He will be performing alongside Red Rat, performing live at Le Medley (1170 St-Denis) on Friday, June 8th, 2007. Then the action will shift to Toronto on Saturday, June 9th at Kool Haus and in Windsor on Sunday, June 10th at Dirty.
No battyman round here" and "God made Adam and Eve not Adam and
Steve", were placated on the window of a beauty salon at the Portmore
Town Centre Plaza in Portmore, Jamaica, after it was alleged that four
male employees of the salon are gay.
"I'm not going to get rid of my man workers, but I'm going to
leave and find a new place. I think this is disgraceful," the salon
owner declared. People have also accused the four employees in
appearing in a video of a homosexual party in Montego Bay.

Removal of antigay signs on beauty salon in Portmore, Jamaica

"No gays are not in my shop; you would never find any man putting
arguments to another man in my shop," the owner said. She continued,
"They feel bad, they feel really intimidated. How would you feel if
somebody threatened you to leave your place in 24 hours. What I am
going to do next is to report it to the police."

The owner of Portmore Town Centre Plaza, although condemning the
incident, did warn the owner of the salon on the number of men who
visit the salon. The owner of the beauty salon did not heed the
warning. Recently in Jamaica, a cross dresser was beaten in the streets of Trelawny. Also, Jamaica Star, also broke news last month, where residents of McGregor Gully community in East Kingston declared a "Gay Eradication Day". The backlash may also have been caused by the recent threat by Jamaican gays to come out the closet.

Some Facts ...

May 19, 2007
Started By CALOSS0 Comments

Should you hunt tigers at night?

Due to a retinal adaptation that reflects light back to the retina, the night vision of tigers is six times better than that of humans.

What makes a penguin so special?

The penguin is the only bird that can swim, but not fly. It is also the only bird that walks upright.

-- June 13

1983: The U.S. space probe Pioneer 10 became the first spacecraft to leave the solar system as it crossed the orbit of Neptune. AP Photo/NASA (13K)

1971: The New York Times began publishing the "Pentagon Papers," a secret study of America's involvement in Vietnam.

When was helium discovered?

During an eclipse of the sun in 1868, spectral lines were located that were attributed to an unknown element that was called "helium," from the Greek word for "sun." Thirty years later, helium was discovered on Earth.

How is a penny different from other coins?

Other than its color, the Penny is the only coin currently minted in the United States with a profile that faces to the right. All other coins the silver dollar, half dollar, quarter, dime, and nickel all feature profiles that face to the left.

Why shouldn't you yell "Fire!" at a movie house?

Someone maliciously shouted "Fire!" at a copper miners' Christmas party in Calumet, Michigan in 1913. Panic ensued and 72 lives -- mostly children's -- were lost.

Warning About Bacon Grease

April 24, 2007
Started By Slim3 Comments
Warning About Bacon Grease

DO YOU USE BACON GREASE?

The question is: Do you use bacon grease?
We were raised on bacon grease (lard) as kids and even into adulthood. I will never use it again. I hope you will throw yours away whenever you fry bacon from now on. It seems as though nothing is safe to eat anymore.

COOKING WITH BACON GREASE

This is what happens when you keep cooking with bacon grease. This is a warning, send this to everyone you care about.
It could happen to you......or them.

IPB Image

Bacon grease will make your feet small!! Warn everyone!!
Britney Spears relationship with her mother has turned toxic.

The singer, who once was so close to Lynne Spears that she co-wrote a book with her and gushed that her mom was her best friend, is so furious with the woman that she refused to visit her in the hospital on Mothers Day, according to several reports.

Britney has cut off all communication with her mom, a friend of the 25-year-old singer told the National Enquirer. Shes gone from calling Lynne ten times a day to flat-out refusing to speak to her.

Lynne, 52, was hospitalized in southern California recently when a bout of the flu turned into pneumonia. Spears reportedly is furious with her mother for urging the Oops I Did It Again singer to enter rehab, and didnt call her earlier this month for her birthday, either. The Star is reporting a similar story.

Britney says her mom betrayed her and she refuses to get over it, the source told the Enquirer. When she was told to give her mom a call, Britney said: Im busy, I have my own kids now.

Duppy wages war!

May 17, 2007
Started By Crazypickney3 Comments

Residents of a section of Old Harbour Bay, St. Catherine, yesterday lined the streets and burned incense and myrrh in a desperate effort to chase away a duppy they say has been haunting them.

'Duppy Derrick' has been slamming doors and throwing fans and other objects in one house, and has also tried to scare several residents in the normally quiet fishing village known as Panton Town.

The residents say that 'Derrick' claims he was sent from McCook's Pen, and has come for his woman and his little boy and will not leave until he gets them.

When THE STAR visited the house where the alleged duppy sightings took place, one woman, Dianne, who claims she had to be taken to a church so that the ghost could be exorcised, told THE STAR of her encounter.

"Is I it happen to ennuh sah. Monday mawnin about four o'clock, mi go 'roun a di back cause mi 'ear seh one duppy roun deh, mi jus feel wen mi bady start jerk and mi feel totally different," said Dianne, who had gone to the house out of curiosity, after hearing about the ghost.

For the owner of the house, however, it is a different story. She said that the ghost claims that she looks like his woman and has been haunting her as a result.

"Him determine seh him naw lef yah but mi naw come outta mi house gi im. Dats why wi a burn fire wid pepper, incense and myrrh," said the owner, who spoke to THE STAR on condition of anonymity.

Another resident, Mark Tyson, said the duppy's scaring tactics have stretched much further than the house.

"Last night im throw sand inna one woman eye an start stink up di place but wi naw leave," he said.

It is said that Derrick claims that the residents are too 'faas' and he is going to teach them a lesson.

As the antics of Derrick transform the sleepy fishing village, several persons have been quivering in fear when night falls, while others are excited about the prospect of entertainment from the ghost's various activities.

Spears ex, Kevin Federline, apparently doesnt have what it takes to be a reality-show star.

K-Fed has been in talks with a number of networks reportedly including Fox and MTV about making his life as a single dad into a show.

The show will show him for who he is but [will] not smear [Spears], executive director Kenneth Crear had said when the show was in the developmental stages. It was just a marriage that didnt work out, but it will show who he is beyond that. 

Apparently, beyond that is just too boring. His life just isnt wild enough to make a great show, a source tells Us.

"Great songs" and an acknowledged great voice are what will facilitate a Whitney Houston comeback, according to Akon, who's signed on to write and produce material for the dormant diva's next album.

"We haven't actually gone into the studio yet; right now I'm just coming up with a lot of different ideas and directions," Akon tells Billboard.com in an interview conducted before the recent controversy over his onstage dance with a teenager in Trinidad. "I just think she needs to come with great songs. I think the music will overcome all the things she's been through."

"The voice is there; I don't think anyone could ever take that from her," he continued. "As long as we apply that voice to hit records, she'll be right back where she left off."

The Grammy-winning Houston hasn't released new material since 2003's "One Wish: The Holiday Album," and a full set of new songs since "Just Whitney" in 2002. She's been dogged in recent years by drug and health issues -- including rehab stints in 2004 and 2005 -- a legal dispute with her father, John Houston, rumored financial problems and a troubled, and recently ended, marriage to fellow singer Bobby Brown.

Akon says all of that will likely be reflected in the songs, "so people can get a better sense of what that was and the truth. Because it's coming from (Houston), it means a lot more. And then, of course, you just forget about all the trouble, all the negative stuff and just come with happy records, things that warm your heart -- where your life is now, the direction you want to go in."

There's no word yet on when Houston's album will come out, but she's working with other producers and songwriters, reportedly including Ne-Yo.

Akon, meanwhile, is keeping his plate full with other collaborations, including 50 Cent (who appears on a new version of "Mama Africa" from Akon's latest album, "Konvicted"), Fabolous, T.I., Three 6 Mafia, Bones Thugs-N-Harmony and younger artists on his Konvict Music label. He's also working with Michael Jackson and Elton John but says, "I just can't comment on those."

A police officer ate marijuana brownies, and was possibly unprepared for the effects. This is his phone call to 911.(Click on the image twice to play)
LISTEN

-- Edited by ADMIN at 06:53, 2007-05-14
Trinidad and Tobago

Trinidad and Tobago Chief Immigration Officer Herman Browne, issued a special permit to openly gay Sir Elton John, to ensure he had no problems when visiting Tobago for the Plymouth Jazz Festival 2007.

Pastors from Tobago were using an old law to propose banning the flamboyant homosexual from performing in the sister isle, Tobago. To be specific, Section 8 (E) of the Prohibition Class of the Immigration Act states:
Elton John during his performance at the Plymouth Jazz Festival 2007
"Prostitutes, homosexuals or persons living on the earnings of prostitutes or homosexuals, or persons reasonably suspected as coming to Trinidad and Tobago for these and any other immoral purposes"

Browne in an interview with the Trinidad Express, stated he did not give Elton John the permit based on his sexual orientation, but to prevent any unforeseen incidents when the mega star arrived. According to Browne, a special permit can be issued to anyone, at anytime, for any reason.

"It was a recommendation that came from the Chief Immigration Officer. There was a lot of public controversy surrounding the whole thing, so it was just a judgment call on my part," Browne said. "All's well that ends well," Browne said. "He came, he performed and he left."

Sir Elton John stay in the twin republic lasted a total of four hours, with two of those four hours spent on stage at the Plymouth Jazz Festival.

-- Edited by ADMIN at 07:08, 2007-05-14

The media understands that Beenie Man's tour of Europe hit a small bump after
British police cancelled a concert at the Coronet club in south London
where three persons were shot last weekend.

beenieweb-thumb.jpg'The
Doctor' was scheduled to perform at the club on Sunday, but the London
Metropolitan Police say intelligence indicated that a shooting would
take place during the show forcing organisers to stop the show.

The
move followed a shooting incident last Saturday in which one man was
shot in the arm while two other men were hit in the stomach. They were
all taken to hospital where one remains in serious condition.

Over
1,200 patrons were expected to attend the Beenie Man show and the
police believe there would have been chaos if another shooting were to
take place.

They have now called for a review of the club's licence as questions regarding how a weapon got past security remain unanswered.

IPB Image

BUN HIM!!!... ...The novel, picks up where the controversial hit song of the same name, by Macka Diamond and Black-Er, left off not so long ago. If you liked the song, you will DEFINATELY love the novel.

BUN HIM!!! Is set in today's day and age, using today's vernacular, familiar names and places, making it relevant to the times as it captures every aspect of the dancehall vibes. To add authenticity and depth, Macka uses Kingston as the backdrop and dancehall music as the soundtrack.

The target audience is bound to relate .....

Finally you will get the full hundred on who's bunning who, and why, and even sweeter than that, you'll discover the third party's identity. Think that's interesting? ... ... Wait, there's more, because like the saying goes, 'do unto others as you would have them do unto you,' something which applies very much to the laws of bunning.

Just like the song, the novel steps on corns, even coming across a bit bold, maybe even a bit risky at times, but at the end of the day, 'BUN HIM!!!' depicts a harsh and heartbreaking reality, but at the same time, does exactly what it was designed to do; teach a very valuable lesson... ... a lesson that so many in society need to be reminded of....

'The grass is not always greener on the other side.'

'BUN HIM!!!' Flirts with the all too familiar scenario of unfaithfulness in society as a whole. We have all heard the stories, or may even have been a participating party, but either way; one thing is for sure, if you are Jamaican, you know what 'BUN' means.

IPB Image

And with that said, let me introduce you to Sandra.
Sandra is from the ghetto, but if you think she is your average 'ghetto girl,' think again! No, she is not average by a long shot. On the contrary, if Sandra was to tell it, she was not just one, but more like a few cuts above that reality.

Some think she is just a little too much at times, but then again, the girl does have reasons to act the way she does. Not only is she is young, beautiful, smart and sexy, able to make heads turn constantly, with a body that would make a Christian become a certified sinner, but beyond all that, she is also married to man who worships the very ground she walks on. Compared to the life she was accustomed to, (prior to getting married to Larry, a successful businessman from an upper-class family, who incidentally, is almost twice her age), a lot has changed. No longer does she have to deal with the discomfort of public transportation, lack of anything, or the depression and vulgarity of the ghetto. No!.... All those things are of her past, a past she has no interest in even remembering, let alone re-visit, - Why should she, when the finer things in life are hers for the taking?

Women can't seem to stand her, but damn near every man wants her. From head to toe she's got it going on, but beyond the calm, a storm is raging!

Some women would do anything to be in Sandra's designer shoes, especially Tiffany, her so-called best friend, but beyond all the material and financial elevation, Sandra is unhappy, frustrated with Larry's inability to satisfy her, both emotionally and sexually - She grits her teeth and bears it, but...

With Calvin, a friend from the past, stepping into her present, with eyes set on the future, things become just a little complicated, especially with him not only delivering what Larry hasn't in months, satisfying her sexual appetite, but at the same time, Calvin does almost instantly, what Larry has failed at for over a year, (getting her pregnant). - Things get real tricky with a child on the way, and takes a turn for the worst with Calvin demanding that she leave Larry and move in with him. The plot thickness when she realizes what she stands to lose, if she should leave her husband for Calvin. A man, who if the truth be told, had nothing to offer except what Larry couldn't seem to deliver if his life depended on it, some HOT WUK!

In Sandra's book, only two things mattered in life, hot wuk and money, plenty of it. With Larry she had the money, but with Calvin, the story was slightly different.... Yea, she had it all, just not in one place, and if she was brave enough to admit it, she would do exactly what she really wanted to do; leave Larry for the man who brought out her high pitched voice and made her tingle with delight.

But figet dat, 'cause wata dey yah more dan flour ... ...

'Puss gone, rat tek charge!' ... Because while Sandra is busy dealing with emotional drama and Calvin's ever growing demands, Tiffany, (Sandra's best friend) has a few plans of her own for Larry, (Sandra's husband).

With Sandra so caught up with baby father drama and making life-changing decisions, she misses what is happening right under her nose, because in the midst of all her doings, what she fails to realize is that she is on the verge of not only being replaced, but on the verge of being replaced by her best friend!

Is 'Glamity' a bad word?

May 9, 2007
Started By CALOSS3 Comments

Red Rat banned? Dancehall fans have been stunned by the latest move by the Broadcasting Commission to ban Red Rat's popular It Good song because of the use of the word 'glamity' in one of the verses.

red_rat.jpg"I just got word that it was banned from Hitz and FAME because they said that I used the word 'glamity'. I can't believe it all now, they ban my song because of that word and yet you have man ah kill people inna song, mi nah call no name, and yet he is not banned," an incensed Red Rat told the media .

"I won't accept it, my management is writing a letter to the Broadcasting Commission right now, I don't understand this at all, 'glamity' is not even in the dictionary, it is not a swear word, it is a Jamaican slang term, and my song is not even derogatory, it is bigging up the girls dem," Red Rat, who buried his father a few weeks ago, said.

Red Rat is known for the dancehall girls, Shelly Ann and Charlene Have Pretty Car Eye.

News Summary!

May 11, 2007
Started By CALOSS1 Comments

BEENIE UNDER GAY PRESSURE
What a way the gays dem a pressure Beenie? Hear Eugeni Rodriguez, speaker of the Catalan Gay Liberation Front, who told the Spanish press, "the artiste has never apologised and has encouraged the persecution of homosexuals in Jamaica." But one question, how Beenie dem ah talk bout tour sold out when the venue inna Spain can accommodate up to 1,000 patrons, but only bout 400 tickets sell?

RETURN OF FANTAN MOJAH
From the story drop say Nanko lef Downsound, a crazy laughing Fantan de pon, but mi hear say this week, him go up a the DSR and knock pon the gate and dem let him in, and when him reach inside, him shout out: the king is back, and everybody start roll pon the ground and a laugh and dem tings de. Yo, see how life funny.

SPICE TALK DI TING DEM
Spice1.jpgWhat a way Spice nuh stop talk the tings dem inna de paper? What will be the ataclapse when the borrowed man former woman start talk up the tings dem too? But Spice alright, she rich, she have her RAV 4 and her nail salon, and she have the people dem man so she quite alright.

-- Edited by CALOSS at 06:35, 2007-05-12

Kartel scores another #1

May 10, 2007
Started By LOST0 Comments
Kartel scores another #1
10-May-07 | by Phlex

Vybz Kartel aka Addi Di Teachas smash hit single, Wine Pon You hit the #1 spot on both the RE and the Richie B charts this week as the deejays popularity continues to surge among dancehall fans.

kartel3.jpgThe deejay was in high spirits today and he cracked jokes and spoke glibly about this latest achievement.Now that I am number one on both charts, it just means that I am hotter than Beethoven and Mozart. It feels natural because I was always number one without official acclaim, now it just feels officially natural, he told a reporter.

On the RE charts, this is the deejays second number one single this year as Beyonce Wine spent four weeks on top of the charts. In the meantime, Wine Pon You is the deejays first number one on Richie Bs chart this year, but he had already scored a top ten hit with Beyonce Wine.

'Wine Pon You' is also in the top 20 of the HYPE TV charts and last week, was at the #2 spot on the Stampede Street Vibes chart.

Beenie Tour sold out in Europe

May 10, 2007

According to D'Angel, Beenie Man's Undisputed European tour is rolling through the continent, attracting large crowds and mega publicity for the Mafia House recording artiste.

beenie_man_for_sum_2_.jpg"Beenie Man's tour is going great so far, he is now heading to Spain, and he told me that he is getting a great turnout at the events, but that goes without saying because it is Beenie Man. I will maybe join him at a later date but right now, I am focussing on taking care of my son, he is the only reason I am not on the tour right now," his wife, DAngel told the media.

D'Angel is also juggling her recording career along with motherhood. There are plans to shoot two videos within the next few weeks, one for her combination single, Hide with Macka Diamond and the other, a solo single, Nah Pap Down.

"Nah Pap Down is a female empowerment song where I say pickney nuh haffi pap you down as a woman," she said.

In the meantime, D'Angel is devoting a lot of time to her son, Marco Dean, who turned six months old yesterday. She said that she is trying her best to keep her son out of the spotlight.

"My son is my life, he is the only person I would kill someone for, so I am keeping him out of the press, I want him to have a normal life, and when he is older, he can make a decision if he wants to be involved in entertainment. He is amazing, just outstanding," she said.

Akon under investigation

May 10, 2007
Started By STAINLESS1 Comments
IPB Image

During an April 12 concert in Trinidad, Akon announced a "dance contest" that featured a grand-prize trip to Africa. Danah Alleyne, the 14-year-old daughter of a pastor, was among seven females that joined Akon on stage to compete for a chance to dance with the Senegalese rapper. Danah won the "contest" but the reward was not a trip to the Continent of Africa. Akon announced that he was "Africa" and proceeded to simulate multiple aggressive sexual positions with the girl as the crowd cheered.

After a local TV station aired the footage and websites broadcast the dry rape around the globe, Danah made a public apology that she "got carried away." In her statement she explained that she started to dance as well, "But I never thought it was going to be like that. I was shocked. My head was hitting the floor." Her rendition of the incident seemed much milder than the video, that showed her entire body being tossed around the stage as Akon forcefully had his way with her.

Danah's father, Pastor Dave Alleyne of the Flaming Word Ministry of Chaguanas, who described the situation as "atrocious", told The Trinidad Express that his daughter was not in control of the situation. "She likes dancing and won a competition," Alleyne said. Many members of his congregation want Akon banned from public performances in the area.

The Prime Minister of Trinidad, Patrick Manning, has demanded a formal investigation into the incident. In a statement, he said, "That kind of thing should never be allowed to happen in this country."

Internet videos exposed that this isn't the first time that Akon has been caught on tape dancing in this atrocious way. The online video networks quickly jumped on the bandwagon and aired actress Tara Reid dancing to Akon's smash hit "Smack Dat." In the equally offensive video, Akon playfully smacked the Hollywood actress on her ass and was then sandwiched between the singer and another man.

As the investigation continues,the self-proclaimed "Konvict" is definitely being penalized for his crime. Verizon pulled their TV spots featuring Akon watching his own Verizon Wireless V Cast. The communications company severed ties with the Senegalese singer. They have removed Akon's featured ringtones, as well as music and artwork from Akon's platinum-selling album "Konvicted," from Verizon Wireless stores and handsets. The Company also pulled their sponsorship of the Stefani/Akon tour. In a statement to Fox News, Verizon's representative said, "The partnership ended."
R. Kelly has written a new song, Rise Up, about healing in the aftermath of the April 16 shootings at Virginia Tech. A gunman killed 32 people and himself on the universitys campus in Blacksburg, Va.

Rise Up will be available digitally May 15, and 100 percent of the net proceeds from its sale will go to the Hokie Spirit Memorial Fund, said Jive Records, Kellys record label.

Kelly, 40, wrote the inspirational ballad after watching the events unfold on television while he was on route to a performance, Jive said.

The lyrics include the lines: Rise up, when you feel you cant go on, rise up, and all of your hope is gone, rise up, when youre weak and you cant be strong.

The Hokie Spirit Memorial Fund was created to provide assistance to the victims of the families, as well as grief counseling and other needs for those affected by the shootings.
Rapper Xzibit lost his license and was fined in Holland, while taking part in The Gumball 3000 Rally.

The Gumball 3000 is an annual 3000 mile international tour that occurs on public roads, typically in Europe.

The event, which is modeled after coast-to-coast competitions in the United States, includes stops at tourist attractions or in large urban centers.

Film, television, music, fashion, and modeling celebrities traditionally compete in the annual event.

Xzibit, who hosts MTV's hit automotive series Pimp My Ride, was among a group of rally participants who, according to reports, were pulled over on Sunday (Apr. 29) by Holland as the cars passed through the Netherlands.

Xzibit was one of seven drivers who had their licenses taken by the police. The rapper was reportedly driving 100 mph in a 60 mph speedzone.

After paying the fine, Xzibit's teammate Farid Nassar assumed driving duties for the rapper's Lamborghini Gallardo.

Over 70 drivers were cited for speeding as the procession sped through Germany.

The race is now in jeopardy, after a 67-year-old man was killed and his wife critically injured in a hit and run accident involving British drivers Nick Morley and Matthew McConville in Macedonia on May 3.

The pair were driving a Porsche at high speed when they struck a VW Golf.

Morley and McConville allegedly climbed out of the Porsche and into a BMW and attempted to leave the country.

Local police arrested the two men at the border.

"All of the sponsors, including adidas, who sponsored Xzibit, basically dropped out after that," the source said.
A 16-year-old schoolgirl from St. Mary had to flee her district recently when a video clip showing her performing oral sex on her boyfriend was distributed at her school.

Allegations are that her boyfriend, a 23-year-old truck driver of an Islington address in the parish, used his cellphone to record the act. It is reported that the incident was made public after he loaned the instrument to two youngsters who had asked him to transfer some ringtones to their cellphones.

It is alleged that the boys accidentally stumbled upon the video and transferred it to their phones without the man's consent.

THE STAR understands that the boys, who happened to be schoolmates of the female, tried to bribe her into giving them oral sex as well in return for their silence. When she refused, the boys began to show the video clip to other schoolmates after charging them a fee of $150.

As news of the video spread throughout the school, officials at the institution reported the matter to the police and the girl's boyfriend was taken into custody.

The boyfriend appeared in the Port Maria Resident Magistrate's Court on April 27 to answer to the charge of indecent assault before RM Sarah Thompson-James.

Oral sex

Allegations are that shortly before the Easter holidays, the girl received a call from him. He reportedly told the girl to meet him at Trinity, near Port Maria in the parish. Upon her arrival, she was allegedly forced into performing oral sex on him.

The court also heard that she was reportedly threatened to comply or be killed. It was further alleged that while performing the act, Nelson used his phone to record the act.

THE STAR viewed video showing the girl committing the act, but at one instance it could be heard saying "no" after she realised that she was being recorded.

One female resident of the parish told THE STAR that the schoolgirl was part of a crew of girls who allegedly have oral sex with men for money.

"Is a crew a dem par, you know, an dem specialise inna dem ting deh. Once a man want a ting him jus need fi get any one a dem numba an gi dem a link an it set," she said.

It was also said that the girl had tried to commit suicide on two occasions and shaved her head to hide her identity. Her family has since denied these claims.

When contacted, the teenager's mother told The Star she will not condemn her daughter as she is understanding and said that everybody makes mistakes.

"I was the one that walked around with her for nine months before she was born, and I's still here, so why would I turn my back on her now?" she asked.

She also said that her daughter was in the care of close relatives away from the district. She said she was thankful for the support that both she and her daughter were receiving from personnel from the Victim Support Unit in the parish and also from school officials.

Meanwhile, the man was granted bail in the sum of $500,000 with up to five sureties. He was also ordered by RM Thompson-James to report to the Port Maria Police Station two times per week. He is to return to court on June 14.
LA VISTA, Neb. (AP) A La Vista man was charged with felony theft after he spent $80,000 his bank deposited by mistake in his account.

George J. Costa, 45, is charged with theft of lost or mislaid property. It is a crime to take money that's been "delivered under a mistake."

More than $106,000 was deposited into Costa's account between August 2006 and February after a Pinnacle Bank employee mixed up account numbers, according to the Nebraska State Patrol.

The bank was able to recover $26,000 from Costa's account after the mistake was recovered.

"'Finder's keepers' and 'possession is nine-tenths of the law' aren't legal principles," said Sarpy County Attorney Lee Polikov.

Costa's lawyer, James Martin Davis, said Costa is willing to work out repayment in civil court but shouldn't be charged criminally.

"If somebody sticks money in your pocket and you spend it, you can't be convicted of theft," he said.

BATTY MAN INNA TROPICAL PLAZA,

May 4, 2007
Started By LOST4 Comments
IPB Image
IPB Image
COME OUT PU**Y!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
IPB Image
IPB Image
IPB Image
IPB Image
WATCH DEM A GUARD HIM
IPB Image
IPB Image

ME WANT KNOW DAH POLICE YAH...................BOUT HIM A GUARD DI FISH dry.gif

IPB Image
IPB Image
ME BEX, MI BEX, ME BL***lAAT BEX! mad.gif

International reggae icon Buju Banton aka Gargamel is set to blaze the Theater at Madison Square Garden this Sunday May 6th at 8:00pm. Billed as a "Pre-Mother's Day Driver Concert," the historic event will also feature live performances by dancehall legend Shabba Ranks, the man from mars DJ Tony Matterhorn, plus some very special guests.

buju_shoot.jpgBuju Banton and his Shiloh Band are guaranteed to electrify Madison Square Garden with blazing dancehall cuts from the Grammy-nominated new album Too Bad, as well as older classics and roots selections from his critically acclaimed early collections Mr. Mention, 'Til Shiloh, Inna Heights, Unchained Spirit and Friends For Life.

This highly anticipated show is being promoted by veteran Caribbean radio personality Dahved Levy through his Devonish Promotions company, with partners GB God Bless and Don Grant of Harlem's infamous Roti Plus restaurant (www.rotiplus.net). Sponsors include Air Jamaica, Moet/Hennessy and CaribbeanFever.com. Tickets are available at all Ticketmaster locations and also online at www.ticketmaster.com or www.thegarden.com
IPB Image

Super-producer Timbaland is intent on reuniting former lovers Justin Timberlake and Britney Spears - in the recording studio.

The SexyBack singer and the Toxic star enjoyed a long-term relationship after working together on the Mickey Mouse Club as kids, but split up in 2002.

Timberlake has since dated actress Cameron Diaz and Spears has been married to Kevin Federline, but they're both currently single.

Although refusing to comment on a romantic reunion, Timbaland makes no secret he hopes to be a recording matchmaker.

He says, "I want her in my camp, around Justin."

Timbaland recently sparked a collaboration with Timberlake and Nelly Furtado on hit single Give It To Me.
Ace Jamaican deejay Beenie Man will be going on an extended tour of Europe this month which will see him perform at clubs and venues across the continent.

beenieweb-thumb.jpgHe will be performing alongside new reggae sensation Collie Buddz on at least two of these events in Germany. And will be sharing the stage with Stephen Marley at a festival in Munich in July.

Even though he has parted ways with his recording company, Virgin Records, Beenie Man is plowing ahead in his bid to establish Mafia House Records as a strong independent player in the marketplace. It is not clear whether his wife, DAngel will accompany him on all these dates as efforts to contact them proved futile.

Tour Calendar
Tue May 8th : Petrol Club, d'Herbouvillekaai, Antwerp, Belgium
Thu May 10th : Salla Apolo, Barcelona, Spain
Wed May 16th : Elysée Montmartre, Paris, France
Thu May 17th : Zapata, Stuttgart, Germany
Fri May 18th : Laiterie, Strasbourg, France
Mon May 21st : Havana Café, Ramonville, France
Wed May 23rd : Moulin, Marseille, France
Wed May 30th : Alcatraz, Milan, Italy
Sat June 16th : 4 Sans, Bordeaux, France
Wed July 4th : (with Collie Buddz) Kesselhaus, Berlin, Germany
Thu July 5th : (with Collie Buddz & Stephen Marley) Festival, Munich, Germany

Downsound to sue Nanko

May 3, 2007
Started By STAINLESS0 Comments

It had been rumoured in dancehall circles that Nanko was on the verge of parting ways with Downsound Records and now it appears to be official. Downsound Records now plans to sue Nanko for breach of contract.

nanko.jpgWe received a statement from the company that scored two number one hits with Nanko outlines their position on the recent breakdown between the two parties.

Nanko has been signed to Downsound Records and Jo Bogdanovich in production and management contracts since December, 2005. By virtue of these agreements Downsound has expended a significant sum of US dollars for recordings, videos, personal expenses and the promotion of recordings and the artist Nanko, the release said.

In response to concerns raised by Nanko, his mother and their representative Vonnie McGowan, the management contract between Downsound and Nanko was modified and a new agreement signed on March 23rd 2007.

Immediately upon the signing of the new contract Nanko left Jamaica and has refused to take calls from Downsound or to respond to emails and other attempts to communicate with a view to following up on performance obligations secured by booking agents engaged by Downsound to represent Nanko.

As a consequence Downsound has had to contact several promoters to cancel engagements and has suffered sever damage to its business reputation and incurred significant financial losses.

GAYS MUST LEAVE TODAY

April 26, 2007
Started By STAINLESS5 Comments
Today has been proclaimed 'Gay Eradication Day' by residents of the McGregor Gully community in East Kingston. Residents say that they will be taking action as a two-week notice given to all gays and lesbians to flee the community has now expired.

THE STAR learnt that about two weeks ago angry residents who declared that they were fed up with seeing the activities of several gay persons in their community, ordered that they leave by today or suffer the consequences.

Some residents who admitted to THE STAR that they are a part of the "gay clearing out" scheme said that it is being done to protect their families and the community on a whole.

"Yu nuh si seh dem waa mash up di place an gi wi bad name, me haffi protect my yute dem from dem type a influence deh," one resident said while pointing out that they will not sit back and watch while their community falls into disrepute.

When THE STAR visited the area, a small group of residents pointed out an old community centre which is said to be the main 'hang out' spot for the lesbians. According to the residents the lesbians gather there almost nightly and can be seen hugging, kissing and even "touching".

The residents say they are mostly worried about the lesbian group as they are most prevalent and influential. The number of persons in this group is said to be steadily increasing.

In terms of the suspected gay men, the residents claim they are not as bold as the lesbians and are fewer but they too are expected to comply with the two-week notice.

Good source

"Some yute deh bout di place whe wi hear seh gone di nex way. Wi neva actually ketch dem, but wi hear from good source who si dem out a road a par wid man weh known as 'fish'. Dem nuh nuff still eno, but dem affi lef to, wi nuh want none a dem in ya," another female resident added.

Another resident who was not afraid to point fingers at a specific group of youngsters said that the alleged gays are all friends and are well-known in the community. "Yu si dem bway deh weh a walk up an dung inna dem tight pants an ah bleach out dem face, a dem enuh, nuff a dem a f .... t an a talk bout dem a danca," he told THE STAR.

Since the notice was handed down, at least one person has already fled the community. "... a nuh joke ting eno, one a dem cut out since week, him not even wait pon di last day, him jus cut, nobady not even kno weh him gone," THE STAR was told by a resident.

The residents say they will not stop until their community is "gay free" and are not afraid of resorting to extreme measures.

"Mi nuh know how dem come an a gwaan like seh dem tink a farin dem deh, dem tink seh dem can come inna gangsta town wid dem wrong up behaviour an nuttin nuh happen? Dem haffi leave, anyting a anyting," one obviously angry male said.

Efforts by THE STAR to speak to at least two of the persons alleged to be lesbians were unsuccessful.

IPB Image

"We should control the destiny of Jamaica as creators and managers of the Jamaican music entity," remarked Prime Minister Portia Simpson-Miller during her keynote address at the historical launching of the Reggae Academy Awards. In support of the awards, she suggested to create a homegrown supermodel international music industry that will service the market and vowed to develop a State of the Art Cultural Performance Center in Jamaica.

Held April 23, 2007 at the Caribbean Business Club in New Kingston, the launch was hosted by eloquent Queen Mother Elise Kelly of Irie Fm. The list of invited guests included many amongst the who's who in Jamaican society. Minister of Tourism, Aliouna Samba, M.P. Babsy Grange and Minister of Entertainment Wicker McNeal were present, as well as many distinguished members of the music and media fraternity.

Dubbed the Grammy's of Reggae Music, the Reggae Academy Awards has been described by founder, Lloyd Stanbury as "An international Reggae recording industry project that will recognize and celebrate the artistic achievements of talented musicians and singers. It will also recognize important, behind-the-scenes contributors such as producers, songwriters, engineers, and music video directors."

The Reggae Academy Awards grew out of the Reggae Industry Academy Jamaica (RIAJam), that was founded in 2003 with the view of providing a vehicle for promotion as well as facilitating music business practitioners' upgrading of recorded music and music video products. RIAJam has a mission to raise the level of professionalism in the recording industry and return financial and other benefits to the Jamaican economy from music products released by locally based artists and music professionals in the global market.

Slated to take place in February 2008, The Reggae Academy Awards will feature the granting of over 30 awards determined by votes of Reggae Academy members and two Peoples Choice Awards" There will also be inductions of outstanding personalities into the Reggae Hall of Fame. A three day series of activities will take place which will include seminars, workshops, and business networking.

The Reggae Academy Awards will be the first awards project to be based on nominations and voting, without regard to popularity, music sales or chart position. Voting will be made by members of an industry body, comprised of persons involved in the making and promotion of sound recordings. Membership to the Academy is open to all Reggae music industry practitioners around the world through an annual membership fee at www.reggaeacademy.com

IPB Image
Corporal Encil Bent of the Linstead police directing traffic on the busy Linstead streets on Thursday. - Ricardo Makyn/Staff Photographer

Rasbert Turner, Gleaner Writer

Encil Bent is a 21-year veteran of the Jamaica Constabulary Force who goes about his normal duties just like any other policeman. There is, however, one major difference between himself and other members of the force: Mr. Bent, because of his Christian convictions, does not carry a firearm.

The corporal who is now attached to the St. Catherine North Traffic Department said that while he is not against his colleagues bearing arms, he finds it absolutely fulfilling to serve his country without the use of a gun.

"I find that I am serviceable to the nation without the use of a firearm and I am no less effective," he said.

The senior policeman who has worked in the tough St. Andrew Central area said that his not having a gun might evoke mixed reactions, especially from motorists who might see him as being powerless. As a devoted Christian for more than a decade, he finds comfort in the armour of the Saviour around him.

Fair, firm

A member of the Seventh-day Church of God, Spanish Town, Mr. Bent said that he is fair, firm and also fearless in his day-to-day interactions as there is a divine guidance that keeps him on track.

"I would encourage any of my colleagues to seek God, as he is the ultimate power and the glory," he said.

His words of inspiration were echoed by Sergeant Cebert Nelson and Constable Raymond Roberts, both of the Traffic Department, who described Bent as being very inspirational and professional in his day-to-day working habits.

Although called Christian police by many, Bent who was seen directing traffic on a busy Linstead street, said he does not take his job for granted and explained that he knows that God can really change lives in a positive way.

The corporal who has been married for eight years and has a son, said his decision to serve the Lord and not to rely on the gun, came in 1994 while he lived in a garrison community. He said that even though persons there knew he was a policeman, his yard was constantly used as a thoroughfare for criminals on the run after committing crimes. He found it necessary to seek divine intervention and since then, he has been resting totally on the trust of his Maker, whom he says guards him and protects him.
MONTEGO BAY, St James - The Western Mirror newspaper, based in this city, was yesterday forced to review its security arrangements in the face of threats from two men over a story alleging that gay men were responsible for a panty shortage here.

Angered by the allegations in the papers lead story - 'Panty Shortage Hits MoBay' - the men yesterday stormed the newspaper's offices and threatened the staff responsible for writing the story.

According to the story, gay men in the city were 'buying out' women's underwear, prompting the shortage. The article said that on one occasion a well-known gay couple was seen buying 35 underwear from a higgler at an arcade in the city.

The men allegedly entered the newspaper's offices yesterday and demanded to speak to the editor, Lloyd B Smith. Smith was, however, at lunch and according to one reporter, the duo became boisterous and insisted on knowing who had written the article.

"I did not see them myself, but members of staff who know them said it was them," Smith said last night. "They were expressing their concerns over the story and got very boisterous then threatened the staff, the property and the company," he alleged.

Smith said the men insisted that the reference in the article to a well-known gay couple was referring to them.
The Western Mirror editor, who described the men's action as 'brazen', said the company was reviewing its security arrangements to prevent a repeat of yesterday's occurrence.

Meanwhile, commanding officer for the St James police, Steve McGregor, said the matter was being investigated. "We have taken a statement from the management of the organisation and are pursuing the matter,".

This is the second time this month that alleged homosexual men have come to public attention in Montego Bay. In the previous incident, several men were chased, beaten and stabbed, resulting in one of them being hospitalised, during the Supreme Ventures carnival on Gloucester Avenue on April 2, after they went onstage and gyrated on each other.
wasp a dun di whole a France,UK,GERMANY DI GLOBE

-- Edited by dmoneyy at 09:16, 2007-04-25
The entertainment industry has been flooded with rumours of Jamaican dancehall artistes and lovebirds Beenie Man and DAngel signing a pre-nuptial agreement.

beenie&dangel.jpgThe couple could not be reached for comments but according to a source at Shocking Vibes, there was no secret pre-nup between Beenie Man and DAngel as a number of blogs on the internet have been implying.

We would have known about that because we would have been the ones to have approached a lawyer to get that done, there was no pre-nup that we know of, and people should leave Beenie Man alone so that he can give his marriage a chance to really work, a high-ranking member of the Shocking Vibes executive said.

Some of these entertainment blogs have made statements that if Beenie Man was smart he would have her sign the agreement as to cover his assets from the former lover of his main rival Bounty Killer.

Beenie and DAngel got married in August last year after a whirlwind courtship that graced the front pages of all the major tabloids in Jamaica and a considerable number of overseas media. 
Following a statement made by Bounty Killer at a show in Montego Bay, where he made mention of the notorious Stone Crusher gang during his set on-stage, a number of persons have called for his bmobile sponsors to abandon him and pull their ads.

"Nuff respect to Stone Crusher," Bounty was reported to have said during his closing performance for StarJam 2k7 at Aquasol Theme Park, in Montego Bay, on Saturday, March 31.

In a story carried in The STAR on April 2, 'Killer, Mavado Anger MoBay', residents of Montego Bay were livid following the statement, which they said celabrated the wrongdoings of the vicious gang.

Since then there have been many calls for the boycott of Bounty Killer.

According to one member of the public who requested anonymity, "I called the Cable and Wireless office and asked what they planned to do about this situation because I am a shareholder and individuals like this only give bad representation," the man told The STAR.

"The man that I spoke with told me that persons had been calling, raising similar concerns and that they (Cable and Wireless) planned to withdraw their advertisements with Bounty," he said.

However, when contacted, although they confirmed that they had been getting a number of calls about the situation, a member of the Cable and Wireless Corporate Affairs team, Camille Taylor, told The STAR in an emailed response that, "Cable and Wireless Jamaica has no comment on the matter at this time."

Another member of the public added, "I watch the Cricket World Cup everyday on television and they always carry the three ads with Bounty, Beenie and another artiste. But since last week Friday, I have not been seeing the Bounty Killer ad."

New ads

New bmobile ads featuring Voicemail and Aidonia have also joined the lot being aired recently.

While unable to speak with Bounty Killer directly, he issued a statement saying, "Mi nuh support criminal an dem senseless behaviour, mi jus hail up people every weh mi guh. Mi jus mek a hail an people a blow it out a proportion," Killer said through a representative.

Michael Lunan of Solid Agency, Bounty's Management Company said he understood people's concern "but is not like di Killa a give dem (Stone Crusher) endorsement, because over the years, Bounty Killa is a man weh nobody can ever link to any known or unknown criminals. Bounty hang out with his friends who are mostly business people or people in the entertainment industry."

He continued, "We who work with Bounty Killer would like to apologise to the people who feel offended because these are people who are involved in some heinous crimes, but people should stop trying to use this one issue to demonise him. When a man deh pon stage an a lot a guh through him head, him jus a memba all the known factions. People should look at the countless good that Bounty has done and stop blow this minor issue out of proportion," Lunan said.

Did Beenie Man stab his wife D'Angel?

April 20, 2007
IPB Image

Jamaica's most talked about celebrity couple of the music fraternity, Beenie Man and D'Angel recently had a minor domestic dispute that resulted in Beenie Man suffering from a cut on his hand.

As early as before the sun could rise Tuesday morning, news rooms began fielding numerous phone calls from both local and international concerned fans wanting to know if the rumour circulating was of any truth. Some callers said that they heard Beenie Man stabbed up his wife and then cut the veins on his wrist, while others said D'Angel went clubbing and got back home too late causing friction. Some people were saying feuding between the two had something to do with Marco Dean and they even went as far as to say it's probably because she was still making links with the Warlord Bounty Killer. But after careful investigation all of these nasty allegations turn out not be true.

Several attempts were made to get in touch with the couple to clear the air of this bloody rumour but was not successful in reaching any of them. After making a final attempt late Tuesday evening a close member of the Mafia House family had this to say.

"None of what people are saying is true, the couple is at home relaxing, no more comments," the source said before hanging up the phone.

According to one artiste close to the couple who did not wish to have his name on the record explained that, "They had a little fight nothing big, and we all know that in every relationship there will be disagreements, but I think it's time for the public to stop wishing bad for the couple because they are living happily than how most of us are living right and I respect both of them."
IPB Image
This boy left school only to be greeted with the news that his brother was among two persons killed by police in western Kingston following gun violence in the capital city yesterday. - Rudolph Brown/Chief Photographer

Four persons were shot and killed in Kingston yesterday as gunshots rang out across the western end of the city.

Two of the men were killed in the western Kingston area and the others in nearby Trench Town.

Police have claimed responsibility for one of the deaths in western Kingston, which was the scene of a major operation. However, they said they would have to wait for forensic experts to determine who killed a man who was hit in a crossfire.

Sergeant Jubert Llewelyn of the Constabulary Communication Network told The Gleaner that police were on foot patrol in a section of Denham Town when they came under fire from gunmen. The police returned the fire and a man was hit and a 9mm pistol taken from him.

Sgt. Llewelyn said that shortly afterwards, the men regrouped and again challenged the police. Another man was shot and killed but he said "it is yet to be determined from whose gun (police or gunmen) the bullet came".

According to the police, because of the intensity of the gunfight in the Denham Town and Tivoli Gardens area, police who were on duty in Trench Town went to offer support and this depleted their presence in Trench Town. This reportedly allowed men from Angola in Jones Town to invade the community and shoot four persons.

Under a close watch

Delroy Hewitt, the superintendent in charge of the Kingston West Police Division, said police are keeping a close watch on the situation in both communities.

In downtown Kingston, parents and guardians hurriedly tried to get their children home while other adults watched curiously from various points inside western Kingston communities as the sound of gunfire echoed in the air.

Debris was used to block the roads in various parts of these communities and in some places fire blazed in the street.

At least two of these fires have been blamed on the police, one being a parked motorbike which the residents said police fired on to, causing it to explode and another being a stall which they said they police lit.

"Justice" is the residents' cry and many disobeyed the request of Mayor Desmond McKenzie and Member of Parliament Bruce Golding to keep off the streets.

According to the residents, the attacks are politically motivated and they can take it no more.

"Wi naah retreat, wi naah surrender. Wi naah give up. Wi ready," one man with a bullhorn coerced dozens of people into shouting.

Even while Mr. Golding and other members of the JLP top brass took to the streets to reassure residents, gunshots rang out in the air with great regularity. However, The Gleaner witnessed no evidence of an exchange between heavily armed police personnel and gunmen.

The presence of police on the streets decreased and so did the rapidity of gunfire as soon Mr. Golding and his team began making their way through the constituency.

Mr. Golding later told journalists that there was something familiar about yesterday's shooting.

"This operation in West Kingston has a familiar ring to it," he said.

"Whenever we are close to an election, as we have found in previous elections, some operation of this nature is carried out in West Kingston," Mr. Golding said.

The opposition leader displayed a bag containing spent-shells which he said was collected metres from the Denham Town high school.

"We can't live under this," one elderly woman screamed.

Mr. Golding said the residents have enjoyed a good relationship with the Denham Town police. The residents said this was true and added that yesterday's incident was triggered by the actions of a certain policeman who they claim has been terrorising them.

"What happened to Dr. Jephthah Ford a week and a half ago is the daily fear that is meted out to them at his hands," Mr. Golding said of the policeman, about whom he said he has lodged a complaint at the police high command.

Prominent medical doctor and politician, Dr. Ford was battered by at least three policemen on Easter Monday as he intervened to protect his sister who was being roughed up by the policemen at a party in Portmore.

COPS HOLD PANTY THIEF?

April 18, 2007
Jason Rowe, the elusive 'panty man' who has been accused of terrorising the female residents of Milk River, Clarendon, for more than three years has finally been caught by the police.

Rowe will answer to burglary and assault charges when he faces the May Pen Resident Magistrate's Court on Thursday.

According to the May Pen police, Rowe was taken into custody on April 10, following a report by a female who was awakened by strange sounds at her home in Milk River and allegedly found the 25-year-old man ejaculating on her legs. She called out to him and he ran away.

A report was made to the police and they went in search of Rowe. He was reportedly found in another woman's yard trying to take her panties off the line. He was subsequently taken into custody. This, according to residents, was not without a struggle, however. One resident, Cherry, who had also been victimised by the '"panty man", told THE STAR, "Dem did haffi run him down di morning, the police and about three other citizens."

According to the CCN Liaison Officer for Clarendon, the police had been getting several complaints about Rowe since last March. He was accused of stealing panties off lines in his community. According to the police, Rowe's habit continued whether the panties were wet or dry. He is also further accused of ejaculating in the panties and then discarding them.

THE STAR recently published a story about Rowe's strange behaviour.

Many residents view Rowe's arrest as a long-deserved victory for the community. One taxi operator, who had also spoken to THE STAR in the initial story said yesterday; "A hear mi hear seh dem pick him up. Dem finally do it and everybody a seh dem want him go jail. Dem hold on pan him inna di Easter wen im a eat him bun and cheese."

Cherry, also told THE STAR, "Bwoy, mi feel good seh him gone. I wouldn't mind him no come home at all. Yes man, mi feel good seh im gone." She also told THE STAR that she gave a statement to the police but has not yet received a summons to go to court.
IPB Image We understand that Dr. Marcus Day, Director of the St. Lucia-based Caribbean Drug Abuse Research Institute , has written a letter to Police Commissioner Ausbert Regis, calling for Jamaican dancehall artiste Sizzla to be prevented from performing in that country because of what he claimed as the artistes violent, anti-gay lyrics.

"This guy should not be allowed to enter St. Lucia as far as I am concerned. These guys who sing this kind of crap should learn that if they want to do that in Jamaica and the Jamaica Government does not want to do anything about it, that's fine; but when they come out in the real world where people are supposed to be civilised then that stuff doesn't cut," he told a news conference Friday

He also lashed out at Jamaica for what he claimed was its culture of violence which is being imported into St. Lucia. Dr. Day requested the commissioner to pay particular attention to this "delicate legal matter" and called on the police to warn the promoters and producers of the show that they might be guilty of aiding and abetting criminal offences by giving a platform to Sizzla.

Sizzla is one of those artistes who have been targeted by the powerful UK activist group, Outrage! for the violent homophobic content of his lyrics. Since 2003, the gay rights groups mainly in Europe and the United States have launched a sustained campaign against dancehall artistes who include gay-bashing lyrics in their songs or who, while on stage, are prone to decry the rights of gays. Other artistes targeted are T.O.K, Bounty Killer, Vybz Kartel, Beenie Man, Elephant Man and Buju Banton.
IPB Image
I was surprised last week when I went to British Link Up: The Rebirth and I saw DAngel dancing to Bounty Killers song, Nutten Nuh Change.

She give out a reh and gave him a gun salute, and you should have seen Beenie Mans face. But the Doctor just played it cool and start dance behind her and everything did alright again. But that is something to make you go hhhmmmm, isnt it? I was really surprised, can I tell you? Why would she even be dancing to the song of a man who diss her up so many times? It shows that either she has feelings for him, or that he doesnt really matter that much anyway, he is just another deejay, but she already has all the man that she wants in her life. What do you think?

Dancehall nice again
I was at Passa Passa last Thursday morning and I felt great when I saw Ding Dong walk across to hail up John Hype, and after that, al the other dancers broke ranks and hailed him as well. As you may or may not know, John Hype and Ding Dong had had a disagreement in the dancehall. But why the dancers are bringing so much bad vibes into the business.

John_Hype.jpgBlack Blingas vs Overmars. Syck-N-Head vs Sample 6. Sadiki vs Cadillac dancers. And why Ravers Clavers werent dancing to everybody song ah the dance, and just doing their thing when Ding Dong song was playing? That is why Maestro had to course them up at the last Passa Passa.

Who breed Spice?
After a month of we trying to get her to admit, dancehall artiste Spice admitted last week that she is indeed pregnant. So is however still tight-lipped as to the name of the father.
Spice 6-7-8? Who did the damage? Could it be Beenie Mans baby? Or is too long after the alleged hotel encounter overseas?

-- Edited by "STAINLESS" at 20:24, 2007-04-16

1000 Questions for Couples

April 15, 2007
Started By JA_CANE0 Comments

1000 Questions for Couples by Michael Webb
Pdf: 89 pages

What you absolutely must know about the one you're with. After going through these questions, you will really know the things your sweetheart is passionate about. You will know how you can give them much joy and happiness. You will also discover what irritates them and makes them blue. There are hundreds of fun, "getting to know you" questions, but there are also important questions that most people don't even think of asking.

Code:DOWNLOAD

CROC ATTACK

April 13, 2007
Started By JA_CANE2 Comments
IPB Image

A crocodile at a zoo in the southern Taiwan city of Kaohsiung holds the forearm of a zoo veterinarian in between its teeth, April 11, 2007. The crocodile bit off the arm of the zoo veterinarian treating it, an official reported. Picture taken April 11, 2007.
IPB Image
Members of the Alliance are in mourning this evening as a close personal friend and entourage member of deejay David 'Mavado' Brooks was gunned down in Cassia Park, St. Andrew today.

"When the deejay hear today, him shock, him get a seizure 'cause the man, Troy, ah him personal parry (friend), ah him de pon stage all 'bout wid him, he was a key member of Mavado's entourage and him neva did expect a ting like that fi happen outta the blue so," a source told us.

Mavado, who has a battery of songs such as Last Night, Amazing Grace and Dreaming which are assaulting the local dancehall charts, often deals with themes of violence, death and trigger-pulling in his work. And the singer is no stranger to violence in his personal life as his father was gunned down in Switzerland early last year, and he was questioned by the police in connection with a shooting incident at a studio in Havendale this year.

This website offers condolences to the Alliance family at this difficult time.
IPB Image
Traditionally, the reigning champion of 'Death Before Dishonour' is the last of the five sound systems to play in the current contest.

However, on Easter Monday at Pier 1, Montego Bay, it was Bass Odyssey who went last by the luck of the draw, not the 2006 champion Ricky Trooper by right.

Before the clash started, Chin of the event's production team Irish and Chin, explained to the audience that "Trooper gave us a price that is unfair to everyone on the stage. He overpriced himself out of World Clash. No disrespect to Ricky Trooper, but certain tings we cyaan condone in the business. An we naa mek true one man de clash no gwaan. Big up Ricky Trooper anyweh him stan up, but de clash haffi gwaan".

David Rodigan, playing his first round, after dropping 'Traffic Jam' on dub plate and a Junior Reid and Baby Cham combination that rocked Pier 1, said "Trooper. You are the World Champion Trooper. You must defend your title. If you are here, come on stage and defend your title. I respect you as a selector".

In their first round, Bass Odyssey's selector Worm said to the audience "Trooper, him no rate oonu. Tell him fi shim mumma", before dropping a Mavado dub plate that Odyssey "kill dem pon de war side" that ripped up the house.

In their second round, Mighty Crown said "last year we give it to Ricky Trooper. Where is f......g Trooper", before dropping Tarrus Riley on dub plate with an adjustment to his remake of Stay With You, singing "las' year them give Ricky Trooper/him no deh ya dis year ya/he don't care for you/Mighty Crown will play for you". It was not their final dig at the missing champion, as two dubs later Beenie Man demanded "why Ricky Trooper run from de war?/how Black Reaction get inna de war?"

And Squingy, when he came out for Bass Odyssey's second round, said "hey Ricky Trooper, go syu mumma. Yu no waan defen' yu trophy, 'cause yu know Squingy would step inna yu face".

Einstein to join the Alliance

April 12, 2007
IPB Image
Deejay Einstein whose hardcore Rise the Machine hit on the Power Cut rhythm last year brought attention to his mic skills has been accepted for membership in the high-flying, Bounty Killer-led Alliance.

His application has been accepted, he is a really good deejay and he will bring energy to the Alliance and we welcome him in our midst, a high-ranking member of the Alliance .

Einstein will now be among the likes of singing sensation Mavado, Busy Signal and a host of other artiste which should help him sharpen his skills and catapult his career.

Einstein was once a member of producer Cordell Skatta Burrells music camp but failed to deliver a hit record and was eventually axed along with Problem Child and Platinum Kid in 2005. Skatta dropped the three artistes and kept Hollow Point and Aidonia who eventually left under Skattas wing and have had confrontations both lyrically and physically.

BRITISH PIMP UP
Why are the British Link Up people so hype, especially the males? Who was that elderly gentleman in the black suit with ruffles of white cloth emblazoned across his chest? And who was the player-pimp decked out in a gold suit and yellow shirt combination that reflected the sun like diamonds on fire in the early morning? The British Link: The Rebirth was fully pimped!

GAY BASHING TEMPERATURE ON RED
Jamaica can no longer even pretend that gay bashing is a rare occurrence nowadays given the events over the last two months. The latest occurred over the weekend at a church in Manchester which was wrecked by angry residents who claimed that the businessman being buried was an out-and-out gay male. The preacher chastised the residents for their behaviour but to no avail, they were determined to have their say and to besmirch the mans memory.

This incident follows closely on the heels of an incident last week where three men were beaten during a carnival event and another incident on February 14 when three men had to be rescued by an angry mob in HWT after one of the gay males had assaulted a female. One wonders if the anti-gay sentiments stem from the gay sex tape that has been circulating in Westmoreland and St. James over the last three weeks. But who exactly is watching these tapes? Heterosexuals? Or men on the down low?

CREATIVE DRUG MEN
It would be deplorable of us to attempt to laud the cunning of drug dealers, but we must admit that we are in awe at the diverse and creative ways these guys devise to beat the authorities just to earn a buck. Whats their latest thing? Cannisters packed with drugs and attached to the hull of boats heading to the United States.

The Jamaica Defence Force Coast Guard divers have found 11 so far on a boat docked in Discovery Bay, St Ann. People are wondering if the discovery of the canisters is linked to the death of a diver last week. The divers body was found floating in Gordon Cay. Cannisters? What wont they think of next?

NANKO FLIPS OUT, DISAPPEARS
Has Nanko lost it or has he just taken a sabbatical from performing? Word is that the Loco Amore star may have pulled a David Chapelle by getting up and disappearing off the face of the earth. He has missed three gigs and counting and the head honchos at DSR are flipping their wigs over what they are calling Nankos MIA stunt. If anyone has seen Nanko, give DSR a call muy pronto.

WHADDUP?
Where is Empress? She is no longer working for RE anymore? Where is she now? Did she make the cut for Rising Stars or was she giving the axe by Mssrs. Anthony Miller and Co.

Why did the police beat Dr. Jephthah Ford until he was a bloody pulp over the Wet Wet Party at his own Fun Citi venue on the Portmore back road?

Can the West Indies win the match today against South Africa?

Who was the JCDC man who gave that malaprop-ridden speech last week at the Ms. Portmore Festival Queen contest? The man even pluralized runner up to runner-ups. Good God man! Take a refresher English course or something before you attempt to give a speech.
Exiting Windows the Cool and Quick Way Normally it takes a hell lot of time just Shutting down Windows, you have to move your mouse to the Start Button, click on it, move it again over Shut Down, click, then move it over the necessary option and click, then move the cursor over the OK button and once again (you guessed it) click.This whole process can be shortened by creating shortcuts on the Desktop which will shut down Windows at the click of a button. Start by creating a new shortcut( right click and select New> Shortcut). Then in the command line box, type (without the quotes.) 'C:\windows
undll.exe user.exe,exitwindowsexec' This Shortcut on clicking will restart Windows immediately without any Warning. To create a Shortcut to Restarting Windows, type the following in the Command Line box: 'c:\windows
undll.exe user.exe,exitwindows' This Shortcut on clicking will shut down Windows immediately without any Warning. Ban Shutdowns : A trick to Play on Lamers This is a neat trick you can play on that lamer that has a huge ego, in this section I teach you, how to disable the Shut Down option in the Shut Down Dialog Box. This trick involves editing the registry, so please make backups. Launch regedit.exe and go to : HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\Explorer In the right pane look for the NoClose Key. If it is not already there then create it by right clicking in the right pane and selecting New > String Value.(Name it NoCloseKey ) Now once you see the NoCloseKey in the right pane, right click on it and select Modify. Then Type 1 in the Value Data Box. Doing the above on a Win98 system disables the Shut Down option in the Shut Down Dialog Box. But on a Win95 machine if the value of NoCloseKey is set to 1 then click on the Start > Shut Down button displays the following error message: This operation has been cancelled due to restrictions in effect on this computer. Please contact your system administrator. You can enable the shut down option by changing the value of NoCloseKey to 0 or simply deleting the particular entry i.e. deleting NoCloseKey. Instead of performing the above difficult to remember process, simply save the following with an extension of .reg and add it's contents to the registry by double clicking on it. REGEDIT4 [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\Explorer] "NoClose"="1" Disabling Display of Drives in My Computer This is yet another trick you can play on your geek friend. To disable the display of local or networked drives when you click My Computer go to : HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\Explorer Now in the right pane create a new DWORD item and name it NoDrives. Now modify it's value and set it to 3FFFFFF (Hexadecimal) Now press F5 to refresh. When you click on My Computer, no drives will be shown. To enable display of drives in My Computer, simply delete this DWORD item. It's .reg file is as follows: REGEDIT4 [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\Explorer] "NoDrives"=dword:03ffffff Pop a banner each time Windows Boots To pop a banner which can contain any message you want to display just before a user is going to log on, go to the key: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\WinLogon Now create a new string Value in the right pane named LegalNoticeCaption and enter the value that you want to see in the Menu Bar. Now create yet another new string value and name it: LegalNoticeText. Modify it and insert the message you want to display each time Windows boots. This can be effectively used to display the company's private policy each time the user logs on to his NT box. It's .reg file would be: REGEDIT4 [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Winlogon] "LegalNoticeCaption"="Caption here." Making the Internet Explorer & the Explorer Toolbars Fancy The Internet Explorer toolbar looks pretty simple. Want to make it fancy and kewl? Why not add a background image to it. To do this kewl hack launch the Windows Registry Editor and go to the following key: HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\ Internet Explorer\Toolbar\. Now in the right pane create a new String Value and name it BackBitmap and modify it's value to the path of the Bitmap you want to dress it up with by rightclicking on it and choosing Modify. When you reboot the Internet Explorer and the Windows Explorer toolbars will have a new look. Change Internet Explorer's Caption Don't like the caption of Internet Explorer caption? Want to change it? Open the registry editor and go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main. In the right pane create a new String Value names Window Title (Note the space between Window and Title). Right click on this newly created String Value and select Modify. Type in the new caption you want to be displayed. Restart for the settings to take place. Hacking Secrets Almost all system administrators make certain changes and make the system restricted. System Administrators can hide the RUN option, the FIND command, the entire Control Panel, drives in My Computer like D: A: etc. They can even restrict activities of a hacker my disabling or hiding, even the tiniest options or tools. Most commonly these restrictions are imposed locally and are controlled by the Windows Registry. But sometimes the smart system administrators control the activities of the hacker by imposing restrictions remotely through the main server. Poledit or Policy Editor is a small kewl tool which is being commonly used by system administrators to alter the settings of a system. This utility is not installed by default by Windows. You need to install in manually from the Windows 98 Installation Kit from the Resource Kit folder. user.dat file that we saw earlier. The Policy Editor tool imposes restrictions on the user's system by editing the user.dat file which in turn means that it edits the Windows Registry to change the settings. It can be used to control or restrict access to each and every folder and option you could ever think of. It has the power to even restrict access to individual folders, files, the Control Panel, MS DOS, the drives available etc. Sometimes this software does make life really hard for a Hacker. So how can we remove the restrictions imposed by the Policy Editor? Well read ahead to learn more. You see the Policy Editor is not the only way to restrict a user's activities. As we already know that the Policy Editor edits the Windows Registry(user.dat) file to impose such restrictions. So this in turn would mean that we can directly make changes to the Windows Registry using a .reg file or directly to remove or add restrictions. Launch Regedit and go to the following Registry Key: HKEY_CURRENT_USER/Software/Microsoft/CurrentVersion/Policies Under this key, there will definitely be a key named explorer. Now under this explorer key we can create new DWORD values and modify it's value to 1 in order to impose the restriction. If you want to remove the Restriction, then you can simply delete the respective DWORD values or instead change their values to 0. The following is a list of DWORD values that can be created under the Explorer Key-: NoDeletePrinter: Disables Deletion of already installed Printers NoAddPrinter: Disables Addition of new Printers NoRun : Disables or hides the Run Command NoSetFolders: Removes Folders from the Settings option on Start Menu (Control Panel, Printers, Taskbar) NoSetTaskbar: Removes Taskbar system folder from the Settings option on Start Menu NoFind: Removes the Find Tool (Start >Find) NoDrives: Hides and does not display any Drives in My Computer NoSaveSettings: Means to say, 'Don't save settings on exit' DisableRegistryTools: Disable Registry Editing Tools (If you disable this option, the Windows Registry Editor(regedit.exe) too will not work.) NoRecentDocsHistory: Removes Recent Document system folder from the Start Menu (IE 4 and above) ClearRecentDocsOnExit: Clears the Recent Documents system folder on Exit. Nolnternetlcon: Removes the Internet (system folder) icon from the Desktop Under the same key: HKEY_CURRENT_USER/Software/Microsoft/CurrentVersion/Policies you can create new subkeys other than the already existing Explorer key. Now create a new key and name it System. Under this new key, system we can create the following new DWORD values(1 for enabling the particular option and 0 for disabling the particular option): NODispCPL: Hides Control Panel NoDispBackgroundPage: Hides Background page. NoDispScrsavPage: Hides Screen Saver Page NoDispAppearancePage: Hides Appearance Page NoDispSettingsPage: Hides Settings Page NoSecCPL: Disables Password Control Panel NoPwdPage: Hides Password Change Page NoAdminPaqe: Hides Remote Administration Page NoProfilePage: Hides User Profiles Page NoDevMgrPage: Hides Device Manager Page NoConfigPage: Hides Hardware Profiles Page NoFileSysPage: Hides File System Button NoVirtMemPage: Hides Virtual Memory Button Similarly, if we create a new subkey named Network, we can add the following DWORD values under it(1 for enabling the particular option and 0 for disabling the particular option): NoNetSetupSecurityPage: Hides Network Security Page NoNelSetup: Hides or disables the Network option in the Control Panel NoNetSetupIDPage: Hides the Identification Page NoNetSetupSecurityPage: Hides the Access Control Page NoFileSharingControl: Disables File Sharing Controls NoPrintSharing: Disables Print Sharing Controls Similarly, if we create a new subkey named WinOldApp, we can add the following DWORD values under it(1 for enabling the particular option and 0 for disabling the particular option) NoNetHood: Hides or removes the Network Neighborhood icon from the desktop NoDesktop: Hides all items including, file, folders and system folders from the Desktop NoClose: Disables Shutdown and prevents the user from normally shutting down Windows.
smile.gifyes mi know sey mi fast but.... mi waan have some good conversations.... and get to know peoples opinion and views.... something wrong wid dat???? mi really waan know..lolsmile.gifsmile.gif

Is Beenie Man broke?

April 9, 2007
Started By STAINLESS2 Comments
IPB Image
Rumours have recently been circulating that Jamaican dancehall artiste and self-proclaimed King of the Dancehall Beenie Man aka Moses Davis is broke and almost bankrupt.

Sources close to Beenie Man have denied reports that his extravagant lifestyle has sent him careening towards possible bankruptcy, especially in light of rumours that bills were still outstanding from last years elaborate wedding ceremony.

Beenie Man is in good financial standing, he paid off all his wedding debts from the profits made at the Summer Sizzle show in August last year, so it is all lies circulating that he still owes money on the wedding, a highly placed source told One876Entertainment.com.

The Range Rover that he bought for his wife is fully paid for, no apartment was sold to buy it as the rumour mill has been saying, and the apartment that he is living in now is fully paid for as well. He owns several other houses, and all his vehicles, the Benz, the Hummer, the Chevrolet, are paid for cash, he could sell them fi he had no money so how could he be broke?

The source suggested that there were people with a vested interest in seeing Beenie Mans marriage fail, and thats why those vicious rumours have been circulating in the entertainment community.

Theyre just trying to get at him, but they should just give him a break and mek him buck him foot on his own, if that is going to happen, dem fi just low him mek him mek marriage work, the source said.

Mr. Vegas ordered bed rest

April 11, 2007
Started By STAINLESS0 Comments
After complaints of excruciating chest pains, Mr. Vegas was last week ordered strict bed rest for two - three weeks by his physician or face long term complications. Due this untimely illness the Singjay had no choice but to cancel booked shows in Belize, Jamaica and St. Croix.This is the first time the Sinjay has missed shows that he has been booked for and apologizes to his fans and promoters for any inconveniences caused.The 2006 come-back artiste has recently crossed over into the dance-crzed songs with hits such as the sexual-oriented Hot Wuk, Tek Weh Yuhself and collaboration with dancer Overmars on Raging Bull.Mr. Vegas recently performed in Trinidad and Cayman Islands to sold out venues and states that he cant wait to get back on stage to do what he does best
IPB Imageget song
On My Mind remix with Da'ville featuring Sean Paul doing well locally and internationally

Da'Ville's remix of 'On My Mind' featuring Sean Paul has been enjoying extensive maximum airplay locally and internationally.

The single, which is a production of Fashozy Records, was sent to over eight hundred sound system selectors and radio disc jockeys worldwide.

It is being played extensively in Holland, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Australia, Germany, France, England, Switzerland and the Caribbean islands among other places and the response from fans have been overwhelming.

Not only has 'On My Mind' being enjoying great airplay, but it has also entered on several charts and steadily ascending.

The feedback from the disc jockeys is overwhelming so too is the request from fans.

One New York jock said that 'On My Mind' is highly requested by both men and women especially on special occasions such as birthdays and anniversaries.

One Italian jock said, "It is the biggest remix since 'slice bread'.

The album 'On My Mind', is slated to be released this month.
IPB Image
Don Mafia is a happy man these days. When we caught up with him, he was seated under a tree in a compound adjacent to Rebel T headquarters, chomping on an apple and cracking jokes with his manager Dozer Williams. He was in a pair of sunglasses, an apt accessory given the fact that he believes his future is so bright, he has to wear shades.

don_mafia.jpgMi hot! Busy! Mi de pon nuff show, he exclaimed. Mi calendar busy right now, all three show mi de pon inna one night. Rich! Hot! Reggae music we ah do, no animosity and the people de love it, ah mad ting, mad!

He appeared at the recent Starjam show at the Aquasol Beach park as well as Hype 2K7 featuring Rik Ross, Bounty Killer, and Mavado at Font Hill Beach park in rural Jamaica.

Bounty fans dem inna Mafia World, dem understand the ting, and Beenie fans dem love me same way. I am hotter than before ever since me start link with Rebel T, he said.

Mi ah circle the 14 parish dem, dem and dem spouse tek the Mafia house, but mi gone with the world, he quipped, a thinly veiled reference to the dispute he had with former friend Beenie Man over the origins and ownership of Mafia House Productions.

Mafia World ah happen, mi picture de pon nuff flyers, me ah perform all over the place, mi a lock show, Dozer ah mi new management. Beenie picture is back on the wall at Rebel T, him call the boss and say sorry, and admit how he was wrong, management ah negotiate with him right now about couple million, so till the cheque clear, mi just a easy, he said.

A jovial person, it is hard to tell when DM is cracking jokes or being serious. To him, it appears to be all the same, but he did inject a note of gravity into the interview.

Right now, me nah support no bad vibes inna the music, as an artiste, yu have to defend your rights but that doesnt mean we no respect and love every artiste, but me have to get that respect too. Beenie Man is Beenie Man and Don Mafia is Don Mafia but we dont have to be enemies, he said.

DM also has a new single called Looking a Hype featuring Tru Blacks and he will be aggressively promoting it this month. He will also be performing at a show called Real Patriot on April 6th in Mandeville alongside Bounty Killer and Mavado.

Maybe its a Mafia World after all.

-- Edited by "STAINLESS" at 17:00, 2007-04-08
«First  <  1519 520 521 522 523 524  >  Last»  | Page of 524  sorted by