Forum: News & Topical Issues

News updates, entertainment, hot topics, gossip | Share and discover what is happening right now.

Threat to Barbee reported to the police

September 11, 2007
Started By nibz1 Comments

Barbee1.JPGThe Constant Spring Police in Jamaica have confirmed that their investigators have received a statement from the management team of Faith 'Barbee' Jackson-Eselebor regarding a telephone death threat issued on the life of the young singer two weeks ago.

I have received a statement, the report has been written and will be submitted to Inspector Jones," Corporal B. Robinson of the Constant Spring police in St. Andrew, told a One876Entertainment.com reporter today.

The report will also be submitted to the Special Branch for investigations to be initiated.

In the meantime, Barbee's security detail has been beefed up to handle the threat.

"Based on the incident that took place in Tawes Pen where a member of a gang was approached to throw Barbee out of a dance there, we are not taking any chances," publicist Ray Alexander of Khool Booking said.

In the meantime, Barbee is still in New York, auditioning dancers for her upcoming Paddy Cake video with Beenie Man.

"She has auditioned over 300 dancers for the video shoot so far, trying to get the right mix of talent for the production," Mr. Alexander said.

Twins absent locally due to fight

September 6, 2007
Started By STAINLESS7 Comments
The Jamaican fans of dancehalls comical duo, Twin of Twins have been wondering what has happened to their source of laughter on serious issues affecting the country.

twin_of_twins.jpgHow come unnuh nah see we pon shows? Ask Beenie Man, said Patrick Curly Lox Gaynor, He said it is the self-proclaimed King of the Dancehall, Beenie Man who has been forcing them off stage shows locally.

He has been taking us off 90% of the shows locally, he uses his clout to remove us from shows. Curly Lox said.

Many may be wondering what caused the friction between the artistes.

We never trouble Beenie, Beenie trouble we, it start because we have links wid Bounty Killer, Curly Lox said.

The friction got so tense the Twin said that his life, along with his brothers was threatened by Beenie Man. Our life has been threatened but nobody nuh hear bout threat till Don Mafia a.k.a  Gringo come out ah talk bout threat, nobody nuh know seh people ah get drop off shows till Spice come out, he said.

He is no God, he is flesh and blood like me and mi brother, put the Range Rover and them material things deh aside.

According to Curly Lox, everyone can relate to the Twins experience, This is a job just like people out a road, and mi sure seh everybody have a coworker who wah get rid of them.

We just a gwaan do our ting same way, Ah just music, we nah change nuh element of how we do wi ting, nuttn we seh nuh personal, he continued.

They will not give up though, they will keep making their music. Everybody. mi nuh bizniz who a fight wi, from yuh ah fight we, we ah fight back.

Curly Lox says they are gearing up for a show in Egypt in approximately two weeks. It nuh final yet but we suppose to do a show in Egypt innah two weeks, no other dancehall artiste has ever perform there, he said.

Kanye worried about 'gay image'

September 11, 2007
Started By Crazypickney1 Comments
STARLEFT_1_PWGKAsicKanyAM.jpg

Kanye West is worried people think he is gay.

The hip-hop star admits he has "feminine ways" but now realises they helped make him a success.

Kanye told Britain's GQ magazine: "What if your drawbacks ended up being your superpower? I've always had an issue with masculinity. I'm like, 'I hope this person isn't looking at me like I'm a fag.'

"I do have feminine ways. Maybe I'm not the guy who kicks off a fight in a club. Now I'm 30 I've accepted that. Because of that I ended up having a number one album - people are tired of that.

"I've realised everything I'm not made me everything I am."

Kanye also revealed he once had a close encounter with a drunken fan in the toilet.

He said: "I was in a club taking a ps and this guy was making comments like, 'Mr. East!', just drunk and acting stupid, and he slaps me on the back to get my attention. And I told him, 'Look, I don't feel comfortable holding my dk with another man's hand on me. Unless you want me to turn around in the middle of this.'"
Photo

The MTV Video Music Awards began with the back of Britney Spears' head. The performance that followed was not much more inspiring.

Spears kicked off the VMAs Sunday night with the much-anticipated premiere performance of her new single, "Gimme More" which the singer hoped was the feeling felt by her legions of fans, many of whom have grown bewildered by her increasingly bizarre behavior.

Spears soon turned around to reveal herself clad in a sparkly black and white bikini and black boots. Not as fit as she was in her "...Baby One More Time" days, Spears still had the look of the young pop star though notably aged by motherhood and endless tabloid tension.

This was Spears' first step on the comeback trail, which will peak when her album comes out in November. Surrounded by a few dozen backup dancers several of whom gyrated on poles Spears seemed to feel the pressure.

She appeared to have lost her ability to hide her lip-synching. Playing it safe, she generally kept the dance moves simple and free of any potentially damaging mistakes. The tentative performance failed to cause the sensation that Spears managed with her famous lip-lock with Madonna in 2003, her last appearance at the VMAs.

She concluded: "I just want more." The question is: do her fans?

Host Sarah Silverman saw a punch line and jumped at the opportunity. She opened her monologue with the backhanded compliment that Spears, at 25, had already accomplished in her life everything she ever will.

For MTV, it was an awkward start to the VMAs, providing neither a memorably good nor infamously weird opening. Spears' desperation wasn't entirely separate from MTV's, which gambled by giving Spears top billing. Hoping to reverse dwindling ratings, the network moved the award show to the Palms Casino and Hotel in Las Vegas this year.

Watch Video of britney Performance

Photo

RIETI, Italy (AP) -- Asafa Powell bettered his world record in the 100 meters Sunday, running 9.74 seconds at the Rieti Grand Prix.

The Jamaican set the mark in the second of two heats to reach the 100 final

"That's what happens when I start to listen to the coach," said Powell, who appeared to ease up before the finish line.

Powell lowered the mark by 0.03 seconds, having run 9.77 three times despite never winning a major competition.

"It's just to remind my fans that Asafa Powell is still here," Powell said. "I made a couple of mistakes and I corrected them."

The heat was run with a strong tail wind, but it was below the maximum allowed by track and field's governing body, making the record valid.

In the final, Powell won in 9.78. Michael Frater of Jamaica was second in 10.03, followed by Jaysuma Saidy Ndure of Norway in 10.10.

In the heat, Ndure was second to Powell in 10.07, and Kim Collins of St. Kitts and Nevis was third in 10.14.

After the final, the Jamaican celebrated amid a crowd of photographers on the field of Raul Guidobaldi Stadium, throwing a bouquet of flowers into the stands.

"Me and my coach have been working to getting myself back to normal," Powell added. "I came here today and I executed properly and did what I was supposed to do."

Powell finished third in the 100 last month at the world athletics championships in Osaka, Japan. Rieti is known for a fast track on which six middle-distance world records have been set. Powell said he was attracted by the quick track as he sought to bounce back from his disappointing performance at the worlds.

"It's a very fast track. I love this track. It's very bouncy," said Powell, who trains in Italy three months of the year. "Italy is a good place for me. It's my second home."

Powell first set the world record of 9.77 in June 2005 in Athens, Greece. Justin Gatlin matched the time in May 2006, but the American faces a suspension of up to eight years following a positive doping test for testosterone and other steroids at the Kansas Relays a month earlier.

In June 2006, Powell again ran 9.77, and then did it a third time in August 2006.

But despite the fast times, Powell has struggled at major competitions, missing a medal at the 2004 Athens Olympics. At the worlds, he finished behind gold medalist Tyson Gay and Derrick Atkins, running 9.96. The bronze was Powell's first major medal.

-- Edited by Crazypickney at 15:02, 2007-09-09
Photo

LAS VEGAS - Sour grapes from Kanye West again. Shut out at the Video Music Awards, Kanye West threw a tantrum Sunday night in front of media and crew backstage as the MTV show was ending.

West, waiting for an elevator in a crowded hallway, began yelling about losing all five categories for which he was nominated.

"That's two years in a row, man ... give a black man a chance," West said, stomping around his entourage and directing his comments at a reporter. "I'm trying hard man, I have the ... number one record, man."

West said he never will return to MTV.

The rapper was nomination for five awards, including male artist of the year. This is the latest in a series of awards show outburst for West. Last year, he crashed the stage at the MTV Europe Awards after not winning for best video.

bgFormer dancehall queen and popular dancer, Mad Michelle, has come out and expressed her disgust at what she describes as malicious rumours that have been circulating in dancehall circles about her.

Mad Michelle, whose real name is Ann-Marie McKoy, says there is a rumour going around that she is involved with dancehall selector Fire Links, but according to her, "Him (Fire Links) neva eva step to me dem way deh. Di most him wi come to mi an sey is gi mi yuh fren nuh."

But life has become almost unbearable since that rumour started, Mad Michelle said, that it has caused her to get into a physical altercation with her partner, Harry Toddler.

"Everybody in Jaamaica and all over the world know that Toddler and Mad Michelle is together, we're together like for five years now, from 2003 when I got Dancehall Queen. Now, because of the rumour, me an Harry Toddler had an altercation pertaining to the whole thing about Fire Links an di argument became physical, we had a fight. People been telling him that Mad Michelle have dis yah man an dat an nutt'n nuh guh suh," Mad Michelle said.

Domestic dispute

In the heat of their domestic dispute, Mad Michelle says things were said that have hurt her feelings. The argument between the two apparently got so bad that Mad Michelle is now advising other female dancers to stay away from relationships with persons in their profession.

"Mi a advise the dancehall queen dem, don't tek up no artiste, selecta, nobody inna di same profession - right yah now mi heart full, mi feel like mi woulda stop dance an all lef Jamaica. Why me haffi tek up a man an show him all my love an now him turn roun an a mek all dem tings yah a happen to mi? Sometime yuh haffi jus leave some man to dem conscience," Mad Michelle said.

Mad Michelle, who says she turned 25 years old last June, says her career is still doing well as "I'm just coming off a tour from places like Montreal, Martinique and Cayman and I'm booked from now until September, October. I'm also working on a new dance song to be released in the next two months or so, but a just to sort out certain things."

Efforts to reach Harry Toddler for a comment were unsuccessful

Bday.

September 7, 2007
Started By booty16 Comments
Well today is my bday and i havent anything in the mail or by courier from anyone in here, im giving ya'll until 5, which is when i leave for home or else... somebody gonna get a hurt real bad, im not saying who it is but im sure alot of you guy here know them very well.

-- Edited by "STAINLESS" at 13:54, 2007-09-07

-- Edited by booty at 17:15, 2007-09-07

Deejays go for degrees

September 9, 2007

Layout1_1_PU3UWassasinsAM.jpgLayout1_1_PXFCYastephenAM.jpg

Artistes inspire their listeners through their music, but it is few of them who inspire through their actions. Having aspired to higher education, deejays Tanya Stephens and Jeffrey Campbell, aka Assassin, are opening the eyes of others to the value of education.

In a time when some entertainers are involved in somewhat shady deals, lyrical warfare and a fast and loose lifestyle, it is not common to find an artiste with their head firmly in place. In 2006, Assassin was awarded a scholarship to study by Resource Development International (RDI) to pursue a degree online and this year, Tanya Stephens was awarded the same scholarship.

Both deejays are studying at the University of Sunderland in England, where they pursue degrees in Business Management through Internet-based classes. However, the likelihood that both scholarships (which are offered to one recipient each year) should be awarded to entertainers is a coincidence says Aldain Reid, regional director of RDI, North Caribbean.

The RDI is the world's largest independent provider of UK university distance learning education. According to Reid, RDI is a marketing firm that provides opportunities for students to study abroad. The programmes focus on management, information technology and education and azal institution, RDI looks for non-traditional students to promote the programme and inspire others. In Assassin and Tanya Stephens they found two intelligent public figures who have the potential to do just that.

Scholarship recipients have to qualify for entry academically in the first place.

However, seeing that it is likely both entertainers could easily afford to study on their own, the question is always asked why were they chosen? According to Reid, "we came up with the scholarship to expose as wide cross-section as possible to opportunities of higher learning. We looked for persons who were excelling in whatever field they are in, people who others know about. Persons who were looking to study might be inspired by these persons. So far Jeffrey (Assassin) is doing very well. I think he has shown people that if Assassin shows the need to go back to school than maybe there something there for me too. He has been so good, going around to schools and talking to kids".

However Reid emphasises that it is not a reggae scholarship; both persons were chosen and given the chance to accept or decline and both accepted. Reid testifies that having the two as recipients of the scholarship has sparked more interest in the programme by the general public.

Both entertainers are also ecstactic for the opportunity. In a previous article entitled 'Tanya Stephens thankful for scholarship', Stephens said "I have tried to apply to many places and I have been told that I have to be there 90 per cent of the time. And 10 per cent can't pay for the course".

She said that the set-up was ideal for "not just artiste, but people who have to hustle and not just sit out at the airport waiting for people like me. I have already begun to work. I enjoy a good challenge and I have already begun to rise to it. If you think local artiste stupid try come do some business with we. We shrewd. We a formalise what we know. This is a good step for artistes, good step for our culture, good step as role models".

Assassin has also been a standard bearer in promoting higher learning, telling the press that having a degree will not affect his street credibility but he is flattered to be offered the opportunity. At the end of his first year, he is top of his class

Word on the street is that Jamaican dancehall artiste and Alliance leader, Bounty Killer has recorded a song that contains lyrics which poke fun at the marital woes of D'Angel and Beenie Man.

bounty.jpgHowever, checks with a member of the Solid Agency management team revealed that these rumours are false.

"That (rumour) is not true. Bounty Killer is avoiding the whole situation, he does not want to get caught up in their problems. He is focussing on his career and the Alliance,"

Beenie Man buy house in New York?

September 6, 2007
Started By STAINLESS4 Comments
Beenie Man buy house in New York?
beenie_man_for_sum_2_.jpgIs the Doctor making house calls in New York? Beenie has been spending a lot of time in New York over the past few weeks as he tries to move on from his train wreck of a relationship with his estranged wife. He was spotted in the arms of a certain singer who we will not name here, plus, he has been hanging out with former female lovers who have been ahem helping him get over his heartbreak. Plus, there are rumours he will be spending more time in the Big Apple, and that he plans to buy a brownstone in the city. All me know Angel head nuh supposed to stop hot har when she hear da news ya!

TALK THE TINGS DEM
Which female artiste go pon a certain New York television station and ah talk up tings about the reason SHE lef the man is because him de wid other man. How some ah dem females ya so devilish and b*t*hy? MI have a couple questions: Why she wait so long fi talk the tings dem? And further, why she fly all the way to New York fi talk up dem tings de? She no tink say we ah go hear back a Jamaica? Wah she feel like? People, we no believe her, ah just malice and spite ah talk right now, but she nah get no sympathy round ere.

HOW SOME DANCEHALL FANS DESPISE DI ARTISTE SO?
 Ah we a rub out the competition right now, we have all the passa passa and the latest on the artistes dem. Yu nuh see the last article on Angel? Over 900 comments and counting. Wow, and thank you. Thats all we can say regarding the online comments on the Web site which were very harsh, a veritable stream of vitriol directed against the artiste formerly known as Angel. Big up Racquel, Yvette, Candy, Rrrr, Spanish Town, Gerri Curl and their new catchphase, F---K RIGHT OFF DUTTY ANGEL F---K OFF. The ting sell off. Big up Angels supporters, people like Slim, Smith, Tek Wek Uself, and all those people hating on our crazier-than-a-rat-in-a-drainpipe writer, Claude Mills. Dont mind Millsy a.k.a Jigga Mattic, he is a brilliant and evocative writer who has a curious knack for getting under peoples skin. Smile, hes just entertaining yall, dont take it so personal.  Big up the War Panel, anywhere oonu de right now!

-- Edited by "STAINLESS" at 21:31, 2007-09-06

Man takes life after losing house

September 5, 2007
Started By nibz6 Comments
A Manchester farmer died Wednesday in the Percy Junor Hospital after he had ingested a weedkiller following the destruction of his house by Hurricane Dean last Sunday. Dead is Alvin Pusey, a 62-year-old man of Contrivance district in the outskirts of Walderston. Reports are that Pusey's concrete and timber house lost its roof during Hurricane Ivan in 2004. He then threatened that if his house was damaged by 'Dean', he would drink Gramo-zone, a weedkiller. Weedicide His house lost its roof again in Hurricane Dean, after which Pusey drank the deadly substance the following Tuesday and was admitted to the hospital, where he died.

Shaquille O'Neal wants divorce

September 5, 2007
NBA player Shaquille O'Neal and wife Shaunie O'Neal arrive at the 15th annual ESPY Awards in this July 11, 2007 file photo, in Los Angeles. O'Neal has filed for divorce from his wife after nearly five years of marriage, his attorney said Tuesday night.

Shaquille O'Neal has filed to divorce his wife after nearly five years of marriage, his attorney said Tuesday night.

Attorney Ira Elegant said the petition was filed on behalf of the Miami Heat center in Miami-Dade Circuit Court on Tuesday. It was not immediately clear who is representing Shaunie O'Neal in the case.

The Heat did not have an immediate comment, and Shaquille O'Neal did not respond to a request for comment made through the team.

According to the filing, which was first reported by The Miami Herald on its Web site Tuesday night, Shaquille O'Neal is asking Shaunie O'Neal to provide a "correct accounting of all money, funds, stocks, bonds, and other securities" that she had access to or obtained during the marriage.

They are the parents of six children; Shaquille and Shaunie O'Neal had four together, and each had one other before their Dec. 26, 2002, wedding.

Shaquille O'Neal makes $20 million annually in his contract with the Heat, plus endorsement deals that are estimated to be worth several million more each year. The couple has also listed their home on Miami Beach's posh Star Island for about $32 million, or roughly $13 million more than they paid for it after O'Neal was traded to the Heat by the Los Angeles Lakers before the 2004-05 season.

Pavarotti dies at age 71

September 5, 2007
Started By Crazypickney0 Comments
Photo

Luciano Pavarotti, whose vibrant high C's and ebullient showmanship made him the most beloved and celebrated tenor since Caruso and one of the few opera singers to win crossover fame as a popular superstar, died Thursday. He was 71.

His manager, Terri Robson, told the AP in an e-mailed statement that Pavarotti died at his home in Modena, Italy, at 5 a.m. local time. Pavarotti had been diagnosed with pancreatic cancer last year and underwent further treatment in August.

"The Maestro fought a long, tough battle against the pancreatic cancer which eventually took his life. In fitting with the approach that characterised his life and work, he remained positive until finally succumbing to the last stages of his illness," the statement said.

Shift in results - 32: JLP 28: PNP

Labour party (JLP) supporters celebrate the party's victory in Monday's general election during a tour of sections of Central St. Catherine, by the party's winning candidate, Olivia 'Babsy' Grange. Ms. Grange travelled through several areas of her constituency, including Homestead, St. John's Road, Old Harbour Road, and on to Tawes Pen, where she addressed hundreds of her supporters who turned up to welcome her. - Ian Allen/Staff Photographer jamaica

The People's National Party (PNP) last night conceded defeat in Monday's general election, but maintained it would reserve its right to challengethe results of some seats once the final counts are made public.

At the same time, the Electoral Office of Jamaica (EOJ) said yesterday that the Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) has picked up an additional seat, moving the preliminary count to JLP: 32, PNP: 28. The South St. James constituency first declared for the PNP's Derrick Kellier later went to the JLP's Noel Donaldson.

Constitutional issues

In a statement, PNP president and outgoing Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller stressed that a determination of the "constitutional issues" by the court, as well as the final count in all seats could still have a bearing on the outcome of the election.

She, however, added: "The People's National Party accepts the announced preliminary results, while reserving all legal rights under the Jamaican constitution and our electoral laws."

Mrs. Simpson Miller had come in for bitter criticism from some quarters after declaring Monday night that her party would not immediately concede defeat, claiming there were incidents of voter intimidation and criminality that led to the preliminary results.

However, in her statement last night, she said: "The People's National Party, as part of its highest traditions, respects and will always respect the voice of the Jamaican people and their will as expressed in the vote."

The PNP president's statement suggested the party may still pursue legal challenges against the eligibility of at least four JLP candidates who were elected at the polls. The PNP has claimed these persons have pledged allegiance or obedience to foreign countries and, under the Constitution, do not qualify to sit in Parliament.

Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) General Secretary Karl Samuda told The Gleaner last night that it was unfortunate Mrs. Simpson Miller had to "qualify" her concession statement.

Fast-track results

Yesterday, returning officers and candidates of the 60 constituencies islandwide were asked to 'burn the midnight oil' to count election ballots, in an attempt to fast-track the final results from the polls.

According to Director of Elections Danville Walker, the results may now be released tonight, instead of tomorrow as first suggested by the EOJ.

Mr. Walker said he had recommended that returning officers and the 60 candidates put in place the necessary arrangements to work late Tuesday night to "be able to finish this count as quickly as possible".

Several calls were made to The Gleaner's newsroom yesterday from persons in constituencies where the results in the general elections were marginal. The callers suggested there was growing tension in their respective constituencies as a result of unconfirmed reports about the results of the recounts.

There were also reported incidents of clashes between PNP and Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) supporters in the Clarendon north West constituency. Roadblocks were mounted in Bull Bay, St. Thomas, reportedly by political thugs. The police however cleared the blockade.

briit.jpg

Four Britney Spears songs have recently leaked. They are; "Been A While", "Got Me High", "Your" and "Everybody". It's not totally clear yet if they're indeed new or songs she recorded time ago.

"The new Britney tracks that leaked today (except Everybody) all appeared on a demo CD that was recorded in 2005 for The Original Doll album. Because the songs won't be used, Jive records decided to send them to different sources so they'd leak them and this way, make good promotion for Brit's new album by giving a preview of the new sound she's going for and to also give fans something to listen to until the new record is out. About 18 more demos are said to become available throughout the week"

Britney's new album is due out on November 13th.

britney spears - been a while .mp3 - 3.62MB

britney spears - everybody.mp3 - 3.72MB

britney spears - got me high.mp3 - 3.50MB

britney spears - your.mp3 - 5.56MB

m_864d8b07a59683f4ad9bafae2aac097d.jpgThey want Sean Kingston's mega hit "Beautiful Girl" to be cut from radio play lists! Yes, Joan Murphy, chairman of the New Mexico Suicide Prevention Coalition, while addressing reporters, protested that, "Record companies that promote artists whose message is that suicide is an acceptable solution to problems, don't help reduce the incidence of suicide anywhere. Radio stations have a responsibility to be sensitive to this issue."

A member of staff at the state Department of Health said local radio stations were e-mailed letters reminding them of the dangers of glorifying suicide in song. "I haven't received any response," Murphy said Monday, a week after the letters were sent out.

"Beautiful Girls" reached the No. 2 spot on the national Top 40 play list. It has dropped in popularity but is still in the top 10, said Justin Riley, program director at KKOB-FM (93.3).

The station had the song in heavy rotation, playing it about 30 times a week, he said. It is now being played far less - a reflection of ever-changing listener taste. Riley said he received no e-mail from any person or organization complaining about the content of the song.

"These kinds of issues come up from time to time," he said. "Somebody could find something wrong with nearly every song that gets played. We are a mass appeal radio station and have a lot of factors to consider."

"We apologize to any person who gets offended by any song, but at the end of the day if a song is popular it's likely going to get played. A song doesn't become No. 2 in the country without people calling to request it."

The Suicide Prevention Coalition works with the Department of Health. "Our mission is suicide prevention," Murphy said, adding, "We provide education, support and advocacy to reduce the suicide rate in New Mexico." Murphy said suicide is the 11th leading cause of death in the country and the leading cause among people age 10 to 24.

New Mexico consistently ranks among the top five states per capital in suicides, with a rate 1.5 to 2 times higher than the national average. Suicide is the ninth leading cause of death for New Mexicans. Darleene Edwards, vice chairperson and treasurer of the coalition, said New Mexico is also "the lowest state in the country for the amount we spend on mental health care."

Her message to everyone involved in the media - the recording and movie industries, radio and television stations and newspapers is to "use the issue of suicide in a responsible manner and not glorify it and make people think it's the best option for people when they're in pain or when their life isn't going as they like.

"Suicide should be portrayed as the tragedy it is," she said.

Facts about Bill Gates

August 30, 2007
Started By STAINLESS3 Comments

Fact #1

Bill Gates earns US$250 every second, thats about US$20 million a day and US$7.8 billion a year!

Fact #2

If he drops a thousand dollar, he wont even bother to pick it up because the 4 seconds he picks it, he wouldve already earned it back.

Fact #3

The US national debt is about 5.62 trillion, if Bill Gates were to pay the debt by himself; he will finish it in less then 10 years.

Fact #4

Bill Gates can donate US$15 to everyone on earth but still be left with US$5 million for his pocket money.

Fact #5

Michael Jordan is the highest paid athlete in US. If he doesnt drink and eat, and keeps up his annual income i.e. US$30 million, hell have to wait for 277 years to become as rich as Bill Gates is now.

Fact #6

If Bill Gates was a country, he would be the 37th richest country on earth.

Fact #7

If you change all of Bill Gates money to US$1 notes, you can make a road from earth to moon, 14 times back and forth. But you have to make that road non-stop for 1,400 years, and use a total of 713 Boeing 747 planes to transport all the money.

Fact #8

Bill Gates is 51 this year. If we assume that he will live for another 25 years, he has to spend US$6.78 Million per day to finish all his money before he can go to heaven.

Fact #9

If Microsoft Windows users can claim US$1 for every time their computers hang because of Microsoft Windows, Bill Gates will be bankrupt in 3 years!

Today is Beenie Man’s birthday

August 22, 2007
Started By GA13 Comments
Join us today as we commemorate Beenie Man's birthday. Today should also have been the deejay's first anniversary but things have soured in his marriage. We hope that Beenie Man can find peace and happiness in his life, and we wish the Davises, Beenie Man and D'Angel all the best, and hope they can reconcile for the sake of their son, Marco Dean.

BeenieMan11.jpgBeenie Man is arguably the greatest entertainer that Jamaica has ever produced. He has won a Grammy award and countless deejay of the year crowns. He has scored the most number one hits of any Jamaican artiste, even the reggae legend, Bob Marley. We hope that he can continue to entertain us for several decades to come.

Happy birthday Beenie Man

David Blaine's Street Magic Revealed

September 1, 2007
Started By STAINLESS0 Comments

4ze11cz.jpg

David Blaine began his career by bringing street magic to the public, performing card tricks and illusions such as levitation or bringing dead flies back to life.

His first television appearance was on Conan O'Brien, where he also performed card tricks, and promoted his Street Magic special. He used a small camera crew to record his act live in front of everyday people providing the basis for his television specials, David Blaine: Street Magic and David Blaine: Magic Man. His first television special, David Blaine: Street Magic influenced the way magic is performed and portrayed on television. With its strong focus on spectators' reactions and showmanship, Blaine entertained unsuspecting pedestrians without the use of the typical magic props used by other magicians.

His most famous stunts include Buried Alive(April 5, 1999)NYC, Frozen in Time (November 27, 2000)NYC,Vertigo (22 May 2002)NYC, Above the Below (September 5, 2003)London,Drowned Alive (May 1, 2006)NYC, Revolution(November 19, 2006)NYC.

This pack includes 5 e-books
David Blaine Card Tricks.pdf
David Blaine Magic Revealed.pdf
David Blaine Magic Secrets.pdf
Street Magic Revealed.pdf
General Card Tricks.pdf

Covering A to Z about David Blaine's magic & card tricks including levitation ,Arm twist secret and stuff like that....

Learn and make your friends speechless! Coool!

New York, Miami, Kingston, we de ya same way pon the gullyside after Hurricane Dean. We get back we light, and we water, but NO CABLE. And now we ah stare down the throat of a tightly contested election, right ya now, we ah try survive the Gideon because the island ah run hot right now; over 900 people dead since January but nobody nah really talk 'bout it. Ah just so the ting set. 

Who wants to Harm Barbee?
Barbee2_thumb.jpgXNews reporters Claude Mills and Cecelia Campbell-Livingston have stumbled upon a story which suggests that Barbee is in fear of her life after a threatening call made to her management team which suggested that she betta have her bodyguard around her at all times, and that somebody would f---k her up. Sources close to Barbee believe that the threat is coming from a particular female artiste in Jamaica. The threat has not been reported to the relevant authorities. 

Norris Man Working on 'Survivor' album
Norris_Man_thumb.jpgNorris Man has put the recent Sizzla incident behind him and is working hard on an album with Aston Barretts son. The album is called Survivor.

Right now, ah just positivity me a deal with. From the incident, mi no see none of them, nobody nuh call me, so me just a move on, me nah get entangle with them and their livity. I leave them to Jah, I have some positive works to do, .

Promoter to return to Bahamian court on Thursday
Chuck_Fenda_thumb.jpgAlpha Sounds owner and promoter Trevor Davis, 40, of Marathon Estates in Nassau, Bahamas will be appearing in Court #6, Parliament Street on Thursday, August 30 to answer to charges of armed assault and robbery arising out an incident last week with Rastafarian deejay Leshorn Chuck Fenda Whitehead.

Chuck Fenda was reportedly robbed of a platinum chain worth US$3,000 and a Mavado watch worth US$1,000 during an armed assault by several men. He was also injured as one of the men used a gun to strike the deejay over his right eye. Fenda received stitches for the injury which will be removed today.

davechappelle.jpg

You know how people in show business say it's not what you know, but who you blow?

Well, Dave Chapelle did a show in Atlanta this weekend and he spoke about walking away from 50 million dollars over at Comedy Central.

He said: "Once you get to the big money you meet the real white people."

"The money was in a big pile and then a dude stood over it, unzipped his pants, let his dick out and looked at me."

lmmao  dave nuh easy a bloodclawt
bounty_killer_002.jpgAlliance leader Bounty Killer recorded a single called
Ghetto Gladiator last year at the height of the animosities with former protégé and ex-friend Adidja Vybz Kartel Palmer.

A member of the deejays management and booking team who
assured us that the song was not entirely a new swipe
at Vybz Kartel a.k.a Addi the Teacha.

It was recorded last year before Sting but never released, maybe the producer is just getting around to doing it now because he feels that the time is right, but I remember when this song was done and it was
several months ago, the team member said.

vybzkartel.jpgThe song which attempts to portray Vybz Kartel as a
traitor and a Judas, begins with the lines Maggie the
bleacher, yu nuh have no character, no image, no
impact/ Yu look like a bleacher inna tin frock

The chorus goes:

I will always be the ghetto gladiator
And you will be remembered as the f**king traitor
Who try to run me over like Navigator
My bulletsleave yu like a f**king grater

Other hardhitting lines include If a neva me build you, mi woulda kill yu bloodcloth

Beenie Man spotted in New York with Barbee
24-Aug-07 | by A.K.A., Contributing Writer

Jamaican dancehall artiste, Beenie Man was spotted in New York last night with singer, Barbee at the Cue Lounge in the Bronx.

BeenieMan1.jpgA source told One876Entertainment.com that they spotted the two in the VIP section of the venue signing autographs, meeting and greeting fans and posing for photographs. Though Beenie Man has appeared in local television denying rumours that they are a couple, that has not quelled such rumours.

"They (Beenie Man and Barbee) looked like a couple, they were dancing and talking closely in a dark area in the VIP room." the source said.

Beenie Man's marriage with Michelle 'D'Angel' Downer-Davis is on the rocks and according to him, is not too far from divorce. He accused his wife of being unfaithful with a 'friend' of his who resides in New York.

The allegations became public and became a media frenzy when a local newspaper publish a photo of the two (Beenie Man and Barbee) at the Red Stripe Reggae Sumfest embracing each other while enjoying the performances of the night.

Beenie Man celebrated his birthday a few days ago which was also his one year wedding anniversary.

-- Edited by "STAINLESS" at 01:05, 2007-08-24

Entertainers trade in mics for brooms

STARRIGHT_1_PZONXDAYDREAM.jpg
Elephant Man - Contributed

Since the passage of Hurricane Dean, some entertainers have traded in their mics for mops, water boots and pans.

Reggae artiste Coco Tea lives in Hayes, Clarendon, and says a portion of his roof was damaged during the hurricane.

"Bwoy, 'Dean' crush me. It blow off part of my roof and from 4 p.m. Sunday to bout 3 a.m. Monday mi still a sweep out water. It mash me up wicked and wet up all my things," he said.

Coco Tea says though he didn't expect the Category Four hurricane to go smoothly, he didn't see the damage to his roof coming. "Because of how my structure stay, I was never expecting it, but I still give thanks and praise in life. There are people out there worse than me; places like all Rocky Point, Portland Cottage, Lionel Town mash up and me really get a portion of damage," he said.

Since Coco Tea is an artiste, it wouldn't seem strange if life's tragedies lent themselves, to his pen. Coco Tea, however says, "Mi nuh choose fi accumulate songs on the expense of the people. Me nuh see it too pretty. I want to help the people; mi nuh waah sing bout mi satellite dish wha blow off and di roof. A nuff a dem livity gone. What I want to do is more to raise funds fi see who I can help out and appeal to the Government at home and abroad. Right now, it don't warrant an election. What going to happen after the people go vote and then come back to homelessness and hopelessness?"

Singer Da'Ville on the other hand is singing praises for his new-found friend, 'plastic'. "Mi find a new thing name plastic weh work miracles during the storm an keep the water outside. I was home di whole time an mi did jus deh deh a hope sey everybody else safe an ting," Da'Ville said.

Da'Ville was, however, disappointed that a couple of his shows and plans fell through because of the hurricane, as he said, "I was looking forward so much to 'Champions In Action'. That was one show definitely and mi kinda have a bunch of rehearsals that back up now because of the light situation."

Nothing positive

But despite other artistes in the past, like Lovindeer, who had a major hit song about Hurricane Gilbert, Da'Ville says he wasn't really inspired to write any such songs.

"Nuh really, di storm is nothing positive, nuff people lose dem life, house yuh nuh, mi cyan sing "bout something negative even though is a whole nature thing an wi nuh have no control ova dat, but wi jus haffi try buil back yah now," Da'Ville said.

Elephant Man says he too was very prepared for the storm as he went around to check on his family before getting in some last-minute shopping.

"Mi all run guh down a mi modda, chop down couple tree an mek sure sey mi family an everybody all right an lef some mackerel money an den mi guh buy one Delco, cause yuh done know sey wi a artiste an mi haffi have mi A/C an TV an ting, an mi buy one drum fi water an ting yuh nuh. Mi did fully prepared," Ele said.

Now, after weathering the storm in comfort, Ele says he is still in storm mode.

"Mi tek off Elephant Man an put him down an come out wid Oneil, cause a storm ting an mi deh yah a feed mi pit bull dem cause mi jus pull down back mi storm shutta an deh yah inna mi wata boots an mi gloves a clean up an help mi neighbours. Suh wi nuh deh indoors, wi deh in di streets an some dumpling an chicken back deh yah a gwaan curry down pon di fire, yuh nuh, an whole heap a cornmeal.

Unlike Da'Ville, Ele is already preparing a song for Hurricane Dean as he says, "Mi a gwaan hook up a likkle ting bout 'Dean', it a guh name 'Who Sen 'Dean?' suh by now Monday when di whole country recuperate an light come back an ting."

It's hard to believe, but 'Dean' didn't leave everyone mourning. Matthew Gray of Coppershot sound says no real damage was sustained to his home or studio. "Is just the loss of power which still is a problem, but basically everyone in the sound is okay, just one person roof gone, but he is abroad right now. But before the hurricane, we cleared out all the equipment out of the studio and everything was boarded up." He also says the sound's income was not greatly affected because it came on a Sunday.

FOOTA HYPE VS LEXXUS

August 24, 2007
Started By jahblem8 Comments
DONT KNOW IF YALL SAW THIS BUT JUST A POST IT FOR THOSE WHO HAVENBT SEEN IT YET.
IPB Image

1st.- Copy the link of sendspace you want to download.

2nd.-Enter to google and select Language Tools.

3rd.-Then paste the sendspace link in the Translate BoxTranslate a web page section, and then hit Translate buton:

IPB Image

And the result is ever a working link from sendspace.

Chino responds to Big Ship diss

August 16, 2007
Started By STAINLESS14 Comments
Chino, the son of Jamaican reggae legend Freddie McGregor, has responded to the diss that the dancehall world was talking about a few weeks ago when a not-too-subtle song by Munga threatened to sink the Big Ship.

Chino.jpgNow, Chino, who first scored a hit with Leggo the Boy with Kip Rich several years ago, attempts to separate the rookie from the pros in Punga Don a Pebble on the Dark Again rhythm.

Chino threatens Munga with physical violence in no uncertain terms when he sings: Bout my ship a sink, what dem tinking about/Shot tear out dem grills inna mouth.

He then lowers the boom on Munga, slighting him as an artiste with robot voice and then punking him out for his half-hearted attempt to diss the Big Ship when he spits:
Call up man name like dem tink is a joke
Tell dem watch dem blinking approach
Mi neva mean it, is just a little hype me a look
Hear the little wimp him a shout

He then addresses the origin on the diss, Don Corleon of Vendetta when he snarls:
Last boy try violate, him get
Permanent Colgate like Vendettas
What dem a do? Try send threat as
Gun shot through dem friend sweaters

What do you think of this effort?

Ninja vs Beenie

August 28, 2007
Started By dj_remix3 Comments
ppPROTECPROTEChshootninja kill him beenie just a think

NINJA GWANN BADD

August 28, 2007
Started By dj_remix0 Comments
PROTECPROTECClash Ninja vs hshootcapt Barkey, hshootWickerman andthegun merciless

sizzla vs norris man

August 27, 2007
Started By warhawk1 Comments
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xgEraR0MQIM

who was wrong here people?

dem cyan diss mi fren sizzla man name mean he bun dem dung

Drag Queen Exposed

August 18, 2007
Started By Crazypickney11 Comments
The antics of a local drag queen and his gay friends has become the latest subject of public outcry after photos taken at a birthday party in St. Catherine hit the Internet recently. The STAR has learnt that the popular drag queen, Carla, who is also from an address in the parish, celebrated his birthday at a party on June 10 and that photos intended to be shared among friends were instead issued to persons outside their immediate circle. The photos, which capture party scenes, show the drag queen cutting a cake with a husky tattooed male companion, whom he kisses and hugs intimately. During one of the kisses, the cross-dresser's hot pink dress rides up, revealing his penis. The event seemed quite a fashionable affair and rivalled the trends of young female fashionistas. Young men, many of them teenagers, wore wigs, make-up and tube tops, tight-fitting jeans, bustier, stilettos, clutch purses and fine jewellery. "The whole thing is so shocking. Me all see people who me know and me never know say dem into dem nastiness deh. God know, it really look bad," said a man who called THE STAR to voice his disgust. "An de yout dem so young. Is like dem a bring in de likkle yout dem into it." When contacted Carla told The STAR: "I am very concerned about the photos. I do not know how they got out." "They were taken by a friend and sent to other friends and I do not know how they are all over the place now," he stated. Carla said that since the exposure, two men who were snapped at the party have lost their jobs. "They are persons who are in the pictures who are working and they are already feeling the effects. People are being recognised. I know of two people who have already lost their jobs." "I am not too worried about myself. I am scared about the other people. My family knows all about me and the things I do but there are some guys in the pictures who live in garrisons, things could get bad." The 24-year-old who is not employed says that he is able to convincingly dress and behave like a woman and had been doing so for years. "I have been doing it for about four to five years now and I go to major shows and parties as a woman. The guys that go after me are the thug type. They are the ones who like me." Name changed
potter.jpg

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Latest Release | 1.49 MB

http://depositfiles.com/files/1281834

$100,000 Wrist Watch

August 19, 2007
Started By Crazypickney2 Comments
patterson-356909080-1187385355.jpg?ymNQ6.9C6av8y7II

Check out this platinum watch from Swiss timepiece-maker Ulysse Nardin, a one of a kind (or rather, 99 of a kind) gem that gives you a UFO's-eye view of the Earthall for the bargain price of $100,000. No, it's not encrusted with jewels and it doesn't do Bluetooth, but the Tellurium J. Kepler Limited Edition watch (only 99 were made) has something you won't find on your everyday Timex: a rotating representation of the globe as it might be seen from above the North Pole, complete with a flexible spring representing the terminator between day and night, plus a perpetual calendar that makes a complete rotation once a year. Oh, and it's water resistant to 30 meters, although I'm not sure how the leather wrist strap will handle salt water.
Norris Man is not backing down from any future confrontation with Sizzla or his entourage following his beat-down at the hands of Sizzla's turban-wearing Rastafarian supporters at the 'St. Mary Mi Come From' over the weekend.

Ah country Sizzla come from, me ah original West Kingston man, me no haffi buy friend. Him fi know that as long as him live, him diss me,

Norris_Man.jpgThe major television stations have been carrying footage of the incident that occurred during Lady Saws set when Sizzla walked on and began to deejay. Norris Man entered the stage and declared that he had rehearsed with the Jah Prophecy band and was there to perform.

He then deejayed his hit, Big Long Gun Go Over Dem Yardon the Red Bull & Guinness rhythm to a roar of approval from the crowd.

Hope anno me you a talk, Norris Man. Come offa me (expletive) stage, Sizzla said.

Chastened, Norris Man then uttered what many believe to be his death warrant when he responded with a derogatory remark about Sizzlas mother.  He was then attacked and punched several times by several men, even when he had thrown up his hands in apparent surrender; the blows seemed to come from all sides.

After Capleton rushed in to part the melee, Sizzla continued to perform, saying:

Norris Man, me a badman, mi nuh haffi cuss bad word, a Kingston me come from. Then he promised that some big long gun ah run out pon dem", and the crowd went wild.

Some people have said that the two had had some amount of friction because Sizzla felt Norris Mans song on the RBG was a counteraction to Big Long Gun on the Applause rhythm.

Two days after the incident, Norris Man is still angry at the onstage attack. He promised that he would see Sizzlas entourage soon, and that they were hiding from him.

Sizzla violate me...mi no punk inna war,biggrin why dem nah drive out? Nuh dem have all the machines dem? Right now, mi waan hear wah dem haffi say about this ting 'cause right now, mi nah go to no police wid my ting. Me know the whole ah dem who lick me, tell dem say dem nuffi run and hide, me ah see the whole ah dem. Dem anno artiste, and my fans waan see dem, he said.

He said he was ready for a lyrical and a physical confrontation with those who were responsible for attacking him.

In the meantime, Claudette Kemp, Capletons manager, said that the David House camp would soon be issuing a press release regarding the annual show.

-- Edited by "STAINLESS" at 20:35, 2007-08-08

Norris Man beaten

August 6, 2007
Started By STAINLESS15 Comments
Norris_Man.jpgWhat a way Norris Man persistent! The man cause two riot at St. Mary Mi Come From when an army of bobos descended on him and beat him to a pulp after he told Sizzla to 'suck his madda' while both of them were onstage.

Norris Man had been performing an extended set when Sizzla walked on and began to perform. He told Norris Man to leave the stage, Norris left but later returned with microphone in hand, Sizzla told him to leave once more, and then Norris Man blurted out what could have been his death warrant when he said 'suck yu madda'.

Sizzla simply said, 'what yu tell me 'bout mi madda' and suddenly, a small army of turban-wearing men began to beat Norris Man savagely. In the meantime, Sizzla continued to deejay as if nothing had happened.lmmaolmmaolmmaolmmao

The onstage altercation caused a melee at the front of the stage, as some rastafarians in the crowd began to jump onstage in an earnest attempt to beat Norris Man as well. Capleton was able to restore order with a long stream of expletives and the show resumed. However, later, Norris Man returned onstage and appealed to the people, 'see what dem do me' and this time, he was boxed and mauled, lmmaolmmaolmmaolmmaoand dragged off the stage like a ragdoll lmmaolmmaolmmaolmmaoby another set of angry rastafarians. The crowd was terrified by what they were witnessing and there were several mini-stampedes throughout the packed venue.

One man shouted in awe: "Ah suicide Norris Man waah commit, why him go up there again?'

more to come..........

-- Edited by "STAINLESS" at 06:43, 2007-08-07

Time to check your kids back to school list: new books, uniform, gym kit, pencil case, bad haircut, healthy lunch, bulletproof backpack. Huh?

A couple of Boston fathers have decided that you cant be too careful about going to school these days in the US so have created a couple of bulletproof backpacks. The MyChild backpack will stop most bullets, including 9mm hollow points, the makers claim.

It sounds mad but they say that since 1999 there have been 328 school shootings, leaving 229 dead and 422 injured.

Too paranoid or worth £90?

look pon "carla" an it batty bwoy fren dem at a so called birthday batty fest

The CD Turns 25 Years Old August 18, 2007

philips cd.jpg Philips has rolled out the nostalgia carpet with news that the humble CD is 25 years old. Apart from having to re-buy much of my collection to replace vinyl and tapes, I love CDs even if they were in no way as indestructible as once claimed by manufacturers. "Scratch resistant", anyone? Here are some of the highlights:

- Worlds first CD manufactured at Philips factory near Hanover, Germany, on August 17, 1982
- Co-developed with Sony, over 200 billion CDs sold in last 25 years
- The first CD to be manufactured at the plant was The Visitors by ABBA.
- Most of the first 150 CDs on the market by November 1982 [in Japan nothing new there then] were classical
- CDs arrived in Europe in March 1983
- The original target storage capacity for a CD was one hour of audio content, and a disc diameter of 115mm was sufficient for this, however Sony and Philips extended the capacity to 74 minutes to accommodate a complete performance of Beethovens 9th Symphony.
- By the time CDs were introduced on the market in November 1982, a catalogue of around 150 titles mainly classical music had been produced.
- In 1985, Dire Straits, adopted the CD and the album Brothers in Arms, became the biggest selling CD then and the third biggest seller of the 1980s.

52kslf9.jpg

61ah19ofqylaa240bp7.jpg51v1nsay9jlaa240vu9.jpg

ez all hip hop heads!!!

as we all know sept 11th is approaching and da biggest controversy is 50 cent and kayne west albums are dropping on the same day.Will the college dropout take it or will queens last savior?I would make this an anonymous poll but im giving out ratings to those who chose the correct person.Ratings will be given out at the end of the week the album drops......so with that said RUN DI POLL!!!!!

Portmore Suss

August 18, 2007
Started By Crazypickney0 Comments
Portmore, mi hot, mi look good and mi no fraida Hurricane Dean neither. SUSS Time! ANGEL AND BEENIE AH REAL POPPY SHOW Dis whole ting start when mi meet Angel ... HEH HEH. Beenie, yu shoulden tek up Bounty - (not sayin it) fi real because ah pure disgrace ah reach yuh. Bwoy, Angel, mi wish mi coulda say mi sorry fi yuh, but yuh too hype, yuh even a look a hype offa yuh owna marriage break-up. Yu a tour all of the media house dem a seek attention 'cause look when the big disgrace drop pon yuh, when yuh a head come down a STAR fi interview. Yuh need fi stay home and tek care of yu son and stop talk 'bout abuse, how yuh neva did a talk about abuse until when Beenie buss it out say yuh a give him bun? NOT EVEN A 'PENNY'FOR RED BULL Red Bull soapbox sell off, people it was a perfect getaway last Sunday. Till mi did all 'penny' everybody get wings, di food was nuff Red Bull caan dun. Mi di a wanda if a deh it manufactor. A only one ting mi neva like how mi did really ave fi 'penny'. Imagine mi deh in a one VIP section wit mi girls dem a chill. And a happen to si di STAR team approach. Rite dere and den mi know sey mi deh amongs STAR. Until mi start 'penny' a little ting a miss sumady a ask STAR team sey wat happen to dem VIP band. Mi nuh know wat really gwaan cuz a was not that close. And in di end everyone was nice. But mi jus really ave fi 'penny' it cuz, if it free nuh give all who want it. BOUNTY STANDs ALONE Who is the one? Mr. Rodney 'Bounty Killer' Pryce, of course. People di man did dun tell yuh bout di bicycle sey it nuh it nuh ave nuh brake. And a love how di boss nuh sey nuttin more bout it. Him tell yuh like it is and lef it let it unfold. And now di world know sey di 'cycle' out a control. A scrape any and every ting it see in sight. GUIDANCE MARK II LICK THREE TIME INNA ONE WEEK People ah talk say ah obeah dem obeah Guidance since him Mark II get lick three time inna one week. But Guidance, ah you say Love What You Got, and yu nah worship vanity so stay inna the lane weh yuh deh and avoid the dutty people dem. Sandri, him good good babymother love him same way. She did love when him did ah ride a bicycle and she nah complain so why it shoulda matter to oonu? Right now, the man fi just keep up the good work, stay on the same track, we love the new song, Wise Up too. RETURN OF THE FLAVA Wah dis mi a hear? Dem a try smear the Flava but it nah go work. Mitzy come back from farin and she nuh stop visit Western Union regular, har Samsung phone weh a talk to her ah mad dem. But people ah say she discriminate against black people 'cause ah pure browning inna her crew, Rachel and Carla de a farin, but Faith Ann and Mitzy dem still out yah ah represent. Annnyywaaay! Flava fi life mi say! DRE Z AH HAPPEN OUTTA WEST What is happening with Dre Z? Like how the studio finish inna record time and ting, and the song, Bun Down Babylon Yard ah get crazy play pon the sound system a Negril and Montego Bay, when yuh a guh come town come lock Asylum and dem tings deh. Jamaica waan see who is Dre Z, di man from Miami. MUNGA MOVES TO PORTMORE Big up the Gangsta Ras, him family rest over Portmore now, but mi nah tell oonu weh him live. Munga have some crazy new song weh a come run the place, and him have a song wid Akon weh sell off. Yes, yes! Gangsta Ras for Portmore. QUESTION TIME Which girl outta the Global crew have the sister whofa nose big like sweet potato? What a way Harry Toddler mash up Mad Michelle when him hear say she ah give him bun wid Firelinks' The Blonde Ras. Who kill the three yute outta Newlands wah day yah? How the condition rough so wid some people till Birdman ah drive taxi? How the Summer girls dem so ugly and ah not even morning yet? Tiney, how yuh love say happen so and yu doan know the meaning of the word because yu pap down? Yu tink say Jah Cure and Sasha woulda mek a nice couple fi true? How Titi look so crawny? She ugly eh! Which gal get beatn over Nuffy ting the other Tuesday? Why Poochie ah run down Ghandi and him no want her? Ah true say Boom Dandimite sister from Back To ah the leader fi the Spice Girls? Keisha, yu a cramp inna yu house? We caan see yu noweh! Cowboy, the dancer, wi hear sey yu a gwaan good in the streets, but why yu caan get yuself some clothes? Yu need a wardrobe! And yuh dance 'Ras Moses' sell off. Deva Brat, when yu a go release the 'Vote' song mi hear the whole ah Portmore ah talk about?

Latest News Summarized

August 18, 2007
Started By STAINLESS1 Comments

Hurricane Dean will hit Jamaica tomorrow

Hurricane Dean could cause chaos in the Carribean.

It is already in Category Four, if it goes up to five it'll be the strongest storm on record.

It is expected to hit land tomorrow.

Tourists are being told not to travel to Jamaica unless they have to.

Evacuations are under way on the island.

HURRICANE (MARCO) DEAN AH FORWARD
Everything is all about the Davises, and just when we ah look fi get over Hurricane Beenie and Tropical Storm Angel, here comes the dean of the family fi claat we under we nastiness this Sunday. Jamaica, it look like we salt inna this month of August fi true. Election and hurricane inna the same month, the last time we have an election and hurricane so close together, there was a change of government. So what will happen this time? Mi just hope say Jah guide and protect we during this stressful time.

CRAIG DENNIS FUNERAL AH POSTPONE?
Craig_Dennis_thumb.jpgRight ya now, me ah try find out if dem a go postpone Craig Dennis funeral because mi no tink nobody ah go out inna the storm, mi tink say dem fi put it off so we can attend later in the week because one876 nah pay its workers no hazard insurance fi cover event inna national disaster. DAngel and her six fans dem still ah go have autograph signing today? And what about Champions in Action?

IRIE JAMBOREE WILL BE HOT
New York's biggest reggae and dancehall stage show, Irie Jamboree, was launched recently at the Asylum nightclub. The show, which is in its fifth year, is promoted by New York reggae radio station Irie Jam Radio.

The show will take place on Sunday, September 2 at the Roy Wilkins Park in Queens, New York. Among the artistes scheduled to perform are Steven Marley, Luciano, Anthony B, Morgan Heritage, Etana, Pressure, Munga, Mr Vegas, Tony Matterhorn, Assassin, Beenie Man, Lady Saw, Mr Easy, Da'Ville and Jovi Rockwell. http://www.iriejamboree.com/

Sean Kingston Hits the #6 spot on Billboard
seankingston_thumb.jpgBig up Sean Kingston who debuts on the Billboard 200 AT #6 with more than 50,000 copies sold in its first week of release. The album has been buoyed by the number one single Beautiful Girls, which topped the Billboard Hot 100 singles chart last week.Kingston's new single, Me Love, debuted at number 28 on the Billboard Hot 100 last week. Big up to Sean Kingston who has now been added to the line-up for this year's staging of Reggae Carifest at Randalls Island in New York.
winehouse270706_228x310.jpg
Amy Winehouse has entered drug rehab, it has been announced today (August 15).
The star has been moved to a treatment facility after she was treated in hospital for an overdose last week. According to The Sun, the singer has been admitted to the Causeway rehab centre in Essex, a remote £10,000-a-week retreat. It is quite obvious in the pics above, that drugs took a major toll on her life. She quite frankly went from mack to wack, or maybe should I say "crack"!

Isn't it ironic the very place Amy Winehouse sings about, she checks into?

Kanye West changes release date?...

August 15, 2007
Started By Glitch7 Comments

fifty.jpg

According to Media*******.com, rumors are circulating that Kanye West will change his release date, for his album "Graduation" of September 11th. Sources claim Def Jam reps say 50 Cent's team, is turning this friendly competition into a "battle to the death". The insider source at Def Jam, also says "we're not going to risk damaging his career with this feud". Well if these speculations are true, I'm totally shocked, because I was looking forward to this battle of these great Hip Hop titans.

Tell me what you think, about these developing speculations about the Kanye West release date change?.....LOL

'I came to stop him'- D'Angel

August 15, 2007
Started By Crazypickney4 Comments

'I came to stop him'- D'Angel

STARRIGHT_1_PPHLXBadbloAM.jpg
D'Angel being followed to her vehicle by Asst. Supt. Cameron.

The staff of several New Kingston establishments rushed from their desks and on to the streets to make the stand-off between D'Angel and her husband, Beenie Man, their business, yesterday.

Beenie who had gone to the studio (Mafia House) to remove items was in for a surprise after he was barred by his wife, her attorney and the police.

"Moses come roun' here and did what he did, I came to stop him, a Angel dis," D'Angel said in defiance.

Not surprisingly, sections of the crowd took side, cheering for either husband or wife.

"Go way, me a Angel sista," said an obviously angry woman.

Putting her fingers at her throat to mimic slashing, she shouted: "A Spanish Town me come from wey wi cut throat. Go way bwoy bout you a call me sista ...ch. Tek flight. Why you have to call her a ..tch?"

"Dem a husban' and wife and me no gone peep out dem business. I don't go inside there. It is between them," she said.

Forcibly blocked

STARRIGHT_1_PAT5UBadbloAM.jpg
Beenie Man address the crowd.

In the heat of the afternoon sun the two removal trucks laden with an array of furniture and office equipment and their hapless drivers bore testimony to Beenie's efforts to reclaim what he said was his.

D'Angel's car forcibly blocked the trucks inside the venue as she dealt with her husband in full view of the lawmen.

"Beenie caan manage Angel, she gi him some ralick a while ago," said an onlooker who was quick to tell the STAR team on arrival what he had seen.

He also disclosed that D'Angel was raucous when she first arrived, but had since calmed down.

Inside the venue stood 'The Doctor' Beenie Man surrounded by the police as his wife flipped through files taken from a desk that was perched on one one of the trucks.

She calmly checked all the furniture that her husband was attempting to remove from their shared establishment.

According to sources close to D'Angel, all the furniture that Beenie Man was trying to remove was bought and owned by D'Angel.

While persons affiliated with the artistes said that the media should leave the entertainers to 'their business', one onlooker commented, "Low di media. When dem did a married dem call media. Now dem must mek di media see what going on here. Jamaica want to know."

Confused husband

STARRIGHT_1_PXU3HBadbloAM.jpg
Beenie and a friend. - Ricard Makyn

Soon a barrage of police personnel arrived on the scene to attempt to bring some order.

At one point D'Angel was seen pointing to her husband as she explained to the police that she had bought the furniture.

A defeated Beenie Man was heard asking the police officer: "Can I close it down, can I close down my offices?"

"I am the owner and founder," he declared.

Sadly, D'Angel stood and watched her confused husband as he talked to the police.

Obviously upset, Beenie Man then approached a videographer and ordered him to turn on his camera as he angrily said his piece.

A short tussle ensued as D'Angel's lawyer prevented 'The Doctor' from talking to the media.

D'Angel then sauntered to the cameraman and simply said, "Erase di tape."

Men and women on the premises shouted, "Angel mek your say", but she refused and walked away.

However, Mr. and Mrs. Davis are not ones to refuse the limelight, as in the midst of their dilemma, a group of children asked Beenie Man for an autograph, after getting one they stomped over to D'Angel, who graciously agreed to sign on the same piece of paper.

Beenie Man powerlessly stormed outside to his car as every media possible crowded the gates vying for an interview with 'The Doctor'.

Inside, a sad D'Angel took pictures with fans who inquired about Marco Dean, who she said was at home.

While the persons inside Mafia House were sympathetic to the artiste, outside they spared no love for D'Angel as they slurred her name.

One robust woman loudly shouted, "She talk bout Beenie Man nuh wah Spice and look wah happen to har, Angel ever a hype. See wah happen to har. She shoulda neva seh dat."

Onlookers stood by making speculations at what happened. One woman asked another, "Whey di D'Angel is?" The other snidely replied "She roun di back, a try construct her sentences."

Another female made reference to D'Angel's famous 'cooking' abilities, which had impressed Beenie Man and shouted, "A likkle powder a sprinkle here." One male was overheard commenting, "Right now, next stage show she go pon a million dollar stage show dat."

While the crowd battered D'Angel's reputation outside, a source close to the artiste told the STAR that all men should be ashamed of their behaviour after what happened. By the time the STAR team left Mafia House crowds of media personnel were on the scene as the onlookers slowly dispersed.

Eventually, the movers reversed the trucks and order was restored.

Photo

Hip-hop star Jay-Z's talent for extending beyond rap to the executive worlds of music, fashion and other businesses has earned him the top spot on Forbes magazine's "Hip-Hop Cash Kings" list.

Forbes on Thursday said Jay-Z, whose real name is Shawn Carter, raked in $34 million in 2006, the year he released a comeback album "Kingdom Come."

But the boyfriend of pop singer Beyonce earned much of that income as chief executive of New York-based Def Jam Recordings, owner of a sports bar franchise and holder of endorsements deals with Budweiser, Hewlett-Packard and General Motors, Forbes said.

In March, Jay-Z, 36, sold his Rocawear fashion label for $204 million -- a sum that will again place him high up in the music world's earnings for 2007.

Coming in at No. 2 was rapper 50 Cent, a.k.a Curtis Jackson. He earned $32 million from his music and businesses such as a record label, video games and a line of books, the survey said.

Diddy -- real name Sean Combs -- came in third. He owns the Sean John clothing label and a cologne that he licensed to Estee Lauder. He also is an MTV television producer. Timbaland, whose real name is Timothy Mosley, was No. 4 with earnings of $21 million from collaborations and running Mosley Music Group.

Dr. Dre
, a.k.a. Andre Young, grabbed fifth place with $20 million from ventures that include running Aftermath Entertainment, followed by Eminem at No. 6, who brought in $18 million, and Snoop Dogg at No. 7, who earned $17 million.

Forbes associate editor Lea Goldman said the hip-hop stars are "masters at branding and cross-promotion" so that "they're still making a killing as the rest of the music industry suffers."

"They get that it's not just about selling albums, but about selling a lifestyle," she said. "So they've plowed their earnings into media empires that include their own record labels, clothing lines, restaurants and bars."

Grammy award winner Kanye West was No. 8 with $17 million followed by Pharrell Williams, who has his own sneaker and clothing lines, and Scott Storch, a former keyboardist with the Roots turned hip-hop and pop writer and producer. Both also earned $17 million.

«First  <  1516 517 518 519 520524  >  Last»  | Page of 524  sorted by