Forum: News & Topical Issues

News updates, entertainment, hot topics, gossip | Share and discover what is happening right now.

D'Angel new riddim call "Boo"

October 22, 2007
Started By Crazypickney1 Comments
d'angel_smiling.jpg
Yardflex Passa Passa

Who will voice on D'Angel's new riddim?

D'Angel have a new riddim and it's wicked! It's called the Boo riddim and it hot it hot it hot. Ever since her disastrous performance at the Divas in concert held at Fayors over the weekend the people dem a talk bout di riddim.

Dem all did a wonda why har parring partner Macka Diamond never do har combination song whey she have wid D'Angel...it look Sticky fi true.

D'Angel my girl, just cool out fi a while and lef di dancehall scene, yuh nuh si sey di people dem nuh waan si yuh pon di stage. Wuss lacka how yuh mash up di Doctor.

Yardflex
50cent_new.jpg

50 Cent has revealed that he and his G-Unit crew are back in the studio and gearing up to drop their second group album at the end of this year. The G-Unit album Shoot To Kill is coming out December 18th, so cancel Christmas, its over, 50 Cent told XXL Mag. Its a righteous kill.

The groups first album, Beg For Mercy, which was recorded largely during Tony Yayos incarceration, sold over 2 million copies when it was released in 2003. In related news, Funkmaster Flex will be premiering the Shoot To Kills first track Wanna Lick, which features Lil Kim, tomorrow on New Yorks Hot 97.

50 Cent also gets at Lil Wayne again. In the latest issue of King Magazine (November 2007), 50 Cent has some words for Lil Wayne:

You went after Lil Wayne on Part-Time Lover with the rhyme You make me want to kiss you like Baby do Wayne/And make you call me Daddy like Baby do Wayne/Damn, that s**t sounds gay, its insane/I guess thats the price a lil nigga pay for fame. Whats that about?

50 Cent: Ive already baited Lil Wayne to come on out so I can break his little neck. My consistency will break his neck the same way LLs consistency broke Canibus. Lil Wayne is a talented rapper but not a great songwriter. He has had great verses on other peoples projects, but they were not his complete ideas over production that he picked. Hes not marrying the right production and lyrics to make classic hit records.

But if hes not coming after you, why bother him?

50 Cent: Why not break his neck? I got nothing else to do. If they set you up to believe you are in a situation youre not actually in yet, then you go out there See, hes saying what hes saying to Jay because Jay didnt respond to him. Im giving him something to work off. Is that one of 50s laws? Yeah. Sometimes the best defense is a good offense.

Allison Hinds
Hailing from the tropical island of Barbados, and crowned the undisputed "Queen of Soca" by fans worldwide, the British born Alison Hinds is set to introduce the rest of the world to the power and passion of Soca music, which is rapidly gaining popularity among music lovers around the globe.  Since its dominant reign at the top of charts throughout the Caribbean, to New York City's prominent HOT 97 airwaves, to the BBC Radio in England, to Canada's premier music channel Much Music, Alison Hinds first single and videoRoll It Gal has been gaining major global momentum, setting the stage for the highly anticipated U.S. release of her solo debut album, aptly titled Soca Queen (1720 Entertainment/Black Coral) on Tuesday November 6.

Saw 4 - In Threathers October 26

October 22, 2007
Started By DrJayBone6 Comments

SAW 4

Jigsaw and his apprentice Amanda are dead.

Upon the news of Detective Kerry's murder, two seasoned FBI
profilers, Agent Strahm (Scott Patterson) and Agent Perez,
arrive at the depleted police precint and help veteran
Detective Hoffman (Costas Mandylor) sift through Jigsaw's
latest grizzly games of victims and piece together the puzzle.
But then SWAT Commander Rigg (Lyriq Bent), the only local
officer who has yet to experience Jigsaw's (Tobin Bell)
handiwork, is suddenly abducted. Thrust into the madman's
harrowing game, he has but ninety minutes to overcome a
diabocial series of interconnected traps...or face the
deadly consequences.

Rigg's citywide pursuit leaves a wake of dead bodies, and
Detective Hoffman and the FBI uncover long hidden clues
that lead them back to Jigsaw's ex-wife Jill (Bestsy Russell).
The genesis of Jigsaw's evil is unvieiled, exposing the puppet
master's true intentions and the sinister plan for his past,
present and future victims.

Official Website http://movies.break.com/saw4/

Youtube Channel http://youtube.com/user/saw4movie

Wallpapers
saw4-wallpaper-1.jpg

saw4-wallpaper-2.jpg

saw4-wallpaper-3.jpg

Buddy Icons

saw4_icon1.gif

saw4_icon2.gif

saw4_icon3.gif

-- Edited by DrJayBone at 13:51, 2007-10-22
Police said Sunday they have arrested five men in connection with the killing of reggae star Lucky Dube, who was gunned down in an apparent carjacking attempt last Thursday. Police spokesman Eugene Opperman said the men were arrested Sunday morning and will appear in the Johannesburg magistrates court on Tuesday. He said police seized two stolen handguns and a car allegedly used during the crime. Dube, who launched his career with criticism of the apartheid regime, was killed after he dropped two of his teenage sons at his brother's Johannesburg house. His friends told South African Sunday newspapers they believed it was a targeted assassination. But Opperman said police were sticking to the initial theory of a botched carjacking. Carjacking is rife in South Africa, which has gained notoriety for its high rate of violent crime.
He was shot in front of his 2 kids after bringing them to school R.I.P.

1-14.jpg

CLICK HERE TO LISTEN A PREVIEW OF "HEADLINES"

Listen to a snippet of the brand NEW Spice Girls single titled "Headlines (Friendship Never Ends)" which will be officialy released on November as well as the "Greatest Hits" album which includes this new song. Hopefully we'll have the full version this coming week. In other news, the girls already shot the music video for the new single and will premiere on UK's BBC1 channel on November 2nd. Finally; Victoria, Mel C, Geri, Emma and Mel B will begin their worldtour on December 2nd in Vancouver, Canada.

Little X shoots Mavado

October 19, 2007
Started By STAINLESS5 Comments
Little X has signed up to direct the video for Jamaican dancehall artiste Mavado's second single, Last Night from his critically-acclaimed debut album Gangsta for Life.

mavado.jpg"The reason we chose Last Night is because of the feedback we got from radio. We sent out the album to all the mix tape DJs and they all came back with this as the most likely track on the album to blow. Its also the most digitally-downloaded track from the album." said VP Product Manager Chris Goins.

A protégé of Hype Williams, Little X has been noted for his high-budget, visually distinctive videos for popular music singles, including Sean Paul's Gimme the Light,  Mystikal's Shake That Ass and Danger! (Been So Long),  Usher's U Got It Bad & U Don't Have to Call, as well as clips for R Kelly, Ludacris and Kanye West among many others.

"The video will definitely help bring us more promotion to the record," continued Goins. "The album is still going strong and Mavado's popularity in the core has not eased up at all, so we are concentrating the push on the crossover market."

"VP doesn't have the budgets that are available to major labels, but X was hyped to work on the project when I contacted him," said Julian Jones-Griffith, Mavado's manager. "Him and Mavado had met previously so when we reached out he was determined to make it happen."

The video is to be shot on location here in Jamaica on October 30th. Gangsta For Life experienced a 53% jump in sales last week, keeping it in the Billboard Reggae Top 10. Mavado is also slated for an appearance on BET's prime time "Rap City" TV show.
Work is well under way on the much-anticipated Alliance album; fresh off the press is Keeping it Gangsta, featuring an all-star line-up of Bounty Killer, Mavado, Busy Signal, Wayne Marshall and Bling Dawg.

bounty.jpgThe track was recorded this week at the Big Ship studios, with Stephen McGregor as producer. The track is just a preview of what Alliance fans can expect from the upcoming album, chalked up for a 2nd quarter release on VP Records.

"The album is going to be full of crazy collaborations," said Alliance spokesperson Julian Jones-Griffith. "The Alliance has a wealth of talent and we will be showcasing it with a very high level of production. We have recorded some incredible tracks already with some knock-out surprises."

As well as the better-known Alliance members, new comers Bugle, Serani, Flex, K Twins and many others will be featured, including tracks featuring artists who are being dubbed as "friends of the Alliance."

Beats on the album will come from DASECA, Stephen McGregor, Birch, Swizz Beats and many others.

By Richie B - host of "HOT MIX" on HOT 102 FM

TOP 20 DANCEHALL SINGLES
TW LW WC TITLE/ARTISTE/LABEL

01 2 15 Wine Pon It/Talk To Me-Munga- Casper Productions(1wk@#1) 

U-102 3 11 Give It Up-Beenie Man feat Barbee-357 Records

U-1 03 1 13 The Days-Busy Signal-Daseca (4wks@#1)

D-2 04 4 10 Conscience-Cham- Don Corleon

NM 05 5 11 Love Is Wicked-Brick & Lace- 180 Entertainment

NM 06 7 7 Bubble Like Soup-Timber-Lee- Ward 21

U-1 07 8 10 What I'm Gonna Do-Bugle-Daseca

U-1 08 6 10 Take My Place-Munga-Don Corleon(pp#6)

D-2 09 10 5 Dem A Sissy-Assassin-Don Corleon

U-1 10 13 6 Nah Go A Jail-Busy Signal-Jam 2

U-3 11 9 16 Bounce Along-Miss Triniti feat Edee-Unseen Lab(pp#5)

D-2 12 14 4 Tell Dem Don't Follow-Buju Banton-Heart of Love

U-2 13 12 25 Tease Her-Anthony B-Trinity 7 Records (2wks@#1)

D-1 14 11 22 Caan Cool -Chuck Fender-Birchill Records (3wks@#1)

D-3 15 16 3 No Man-TOK-Don Corleon

U-1 16 19 3 Me and My Dogs-Mavado- Baby G

U-3 17 18 4 Crab Inna Barrel -Shane-O-Iceman

U-1 18 15 22 Back It Up -Beenie Man-357 Records (5wks@#1)

D-3 19 - New Everybody Dance-RDX -Apt 19

20 - New Pick It Up & Drop It - Sean Paul-Birchill Records

-- Edited by Crazypickney at 09:33, 2007-10-20

LUCKY DUBE SHOT DEAD

October 19, 2007
Started By Crazypickney1 Comments
lucky_dube.gif

Reggae musician Lucky Dube was shot dead in a hijacking on Thursday in Rosettenville, Johannesburg police said.

Captain Cheryl Engelbrecht said the incident took place at about 8.20pm when Dube (43) was driving a blue Volkswagen Polo in the Johannesburg suburb.

She said Dube was dropping off his son in the area when he was attacked. "His son was already out of the car. When he saw what was happening, he ran to ask for help."

The hijackers were still at large. The boy was too traumatised to provide police with any information, Engelbrecht said.

Dube, born in Johannesburg on August 3 1964, was named "Lucky" as he was born in poor health and doctors thought he would die, according to Wikipedia. But Dube survived and went on to become a front-line artist in the reggae genre. However, the singer's website, Luckydubemusic.com, says: "Giving birth to a boy was considered a blessing and his mother considered his birth so fortunate that she aptly named him Lucky."

He recorded more than 20 albums in his music career, which spanned more than 20 years, according to Luckydubemusic.com. His albums include Rastas Never Die, Think about the Children, Soul Taker and Trinity. His latest, released in 2006, is called Respect.

The build-up to this international success, though, started in 1982 with the release of Kudala Ngikuncenga, an album that was not reggae but mbaqanga, a genre that was to serve him well for four more albums until his transition to reggae in 1985.

"The change was brought about by the fact that I wanted to reach the world. With mbaqanga I would have been seen as a tourist musician," he told the Mail & Guardian in an interview in 2001.

"Dont waste your time and mine, a concert promoter told Richard Siluma, Dubes producer at the time. No one wants to hear reggae.

By 1987, Dube was the sole reggae star among South African "disco" acts and established music acts such as Brenda Fassie, Stimela and the Soul Brothers.

His introduction to the international stage was heartening, such as when he was invited to play at the Sunsplash Festival in Jamaica in 1991. He recalled how the spiritual home of reggae had been waiting for him and his band. "We knew they love the music. They said we remind them of Peter Tosh." On the final evening of the festival they were called back for an encore -- and for another performance the next year.

The reggae sensation, who did not drink or smoke cigarettes or marijuana, despite the association of the substance with Rastafarians, had won more than 20 awards for his music contribution locally and internationally. He is the only South African artist to have a record signed to Motown Records, according to Luckydubemusic.com.

His reception on the international stage had been mixed, however. European audiences had argued that he sang world music and local audiences felt his music had changed to an extent that it flew over them.

This did not seem to bother him. "We have found that locally the audience does not grow with you. People expect me to still be doing Ayobayo, yet that was 1987 and this is 2001," he said in the M&G interview.

Dube always had to fend off questions of whether he was Rastafarian. "If Rastafarianism is about having dreadlocks, smoking marijuana and believing that Haile Selassie is God, then I am not Rastafarian. But if it is about political, social and personal consciousness, then, yes, I am," he said.

Although his idol was Peter Tosh, he acknowledged the unshakeable influence of the king of reggae, Bob Marley, whom he described as "the reason we know reggae".

STARLEFT_1_PMEVTSpicebaAM.jpg

Female deejay Spice, who recently gave birth to a son, says she has returned 'full force' to her music.

Spice says after the birth of her first child, Nicholas Orlando Lall, on August 22, 2007, she is wasting no time in jumping back into making music.

Spice says: "I wasn't away from the music for any extended time, because I did my last show when I was eight months pregnant and that was Portmore Awards and after that I left for the States and gave birth the following month. And I did a show over there in Atlanta with Lady Saw called Wifey and Matey Link Up and I think the baby was only about four weeks old that time.

"So I wasn't away from the music any long time, because from mi pregnant, mi plan out di whole thing because I never want to sit down for no long time," Spice commented.

Having returned to the island last week, Spice told The STAR: "Mi back pon di scene, because already mi have a show this Saturday in Mandeville at Fayers an dat a guh be my first show in Jamaica, an mi have song fi guh voice inna di studio."

Latest fashions

Giving a sample of her single I am Back, the artiste rang out: "I am back, wickeder than ever, dem think mi would a si down fi a year but neva. No mi neva deh yah but mi read di papa, mi hear sey certainan certainis ova."

Spice, also an entrepeneur says she opened a boutique recently.

"Well I just upgraded the salon, so the boutique is at the front. We have the latest fashions and brand like Ed-Hardy, Baby Phat. You name it and we've got it."

Spice has wasted no time in getting back down to business, but as it relates to her child, birth experience and having more children, Spice says that may never happen again.

"Well everybody use to tell mi sey it hot an mi a guh ball, but mi always use to sey no man, mi can manage di pain."

"But when di pain lick mi, a ball, a ball, a ball suh till, mi think mi did a guh dead. Mi never expect anything like that, I never thought I could feel anything worse than period pain. It was the worse pain I ever felt in my whole entire life," Spice said.

"No more children, dem road deh badda dan me, a nuh fi me."

Her son was born in Atlanta, Georgia after she decided that he would have more opportunities, open to him.

"...furthermore, I was told that there was a wider variety in terms of giving birth and seeing that it was my first time, I wanted to make sure I had everything."

Now that Spice is a mother, she says her outlook on life has changed in some ways, but for now, she will continue to be the same old Spice.

"Maybe in the next couple of years when he starts to become a man, I might change in terms of the lyrics and how I perform an him nuh si di whole rudenessÉI don't want him to look and say oh Mummy is so rude."

"But for now, I will do what I can because mi love di slackness, mi cyan lef it guh. Maybe if it was a girl I would have to change right away," Spice says.

However, she admits, "I use to squander a lot on clothes and shoes, but now when mi si how Huggies and baby feed expensive, wi haffi start think bout all kind a thing, his expenses, house, hospital an dem ting deh. Wi haffi guh ease back pon di party and di champagne an dem ting deh."

As a matter of fact, Spice says, being a mom is a great experience and she is enjoying every moment.

"I feel more grown as a woman and just the thought of looking at what I've created and everytime him cry yuh know that he's crying for meÉI love that, dem kind of bond is a nice experience," Spice said.

Spice says she is also happy with the choice of a father for her child.

"The father do everything, I couldn't choose a better father. Since mi come back, it come in like sey mi forget mi even have a baby because mi can sleep right through the night an nuh haffi get up. Him wi get up an mek him feed, change diaper, everythingÉhim good dem way dey; he helps me out a lot."

Spice says, the whole thing has brought them closer together, "because we get to bond more and spend more time doing similar things like watching the baby and trying to figure out who the baby favour more. From wi come back a Jamaica him friend dem nuh stop mout him an a sey bwoy wi cyan si yuh a road again."

As far as her post baby figure is concerned Spice says getting back in shape is going well so far.

"Mi gone back right down, di baby gi more 'boody' and more 'boobs', suh mi even more sexier than before. Di only thing mi haffi do now a exercise fi get di belly back flat like a willy penny."

As far as marriage is concerned, Spice says that will also have to wait.

"Mi nuh think mi ready yet for marriage, but if an when I ever get married, no one will ever know, but I'm definitely not ready yet."

UPLOADING???

October 19, 2007
Started By Jamecho5 Comments
SUMMADY caan send me some instructions how fi upload tunes. Does it cost anything? Mi have nuff tune mi caan push out so some guidance..plz! Mi kinda new to dis way a sharing! Mi nuh wah fi only a tek! - Clueless
KYINO SHOWERS WITH BUDDY - Nude Rising Star contestant and another man on video tape A video tape, featuring Digicel's Rising Stars fifth-place contestant, Kyino Cunningham, bathing with another man, has become quite popular on the Internet. THE STAR recently received an e-mail with two clips entitled, 'Bman ting dat'. The email with the now-infamous clips began being circulated after Kyino became an active contestant on Digicel's Rising Stars. The clips were being featured on the popular Internet site, www.youtube.com, before they were removed. The first clip in the e-mail shows an unseen male videographer entering a well-kept bathroom with a shower stall containing a naked Kyino Cunningham bending down beside a naked dreadlocked man. The naked dreadlocked man has his hand resting on Kyino's head as he tells him not to look up. The videographer responds, "There's not even any camera in here." The videographer then tries to push away the shower stall door as Kyino gets up and keeps his face turned away from the camera. Kyino's partner in the shower tries to protect him by using his hand and his body to block the camera, but the videographer pushes him aside. In the second and longer clip, the videographer tries to get a better view of Kyino as the other man in the shower gets out. The videographer exclaims, "I'm not recording anything Kyino, look here, yuh tink I'm recording anything. Why yuh tink I would record it?" Kyino responds, "Why wouldn't you?" Trust me Kyino then closes the shower stall door and the videographer says, "No hol on ... ." Muffled sounds occur as Kyino attempts to close the shower stall. The stall door is forced open again as Kyino continues to shower, while the videographer seems to taunt him saying, "Kyino yuh don't trust me ... eeh Kyino?" As the man who had been in the shower stands up fully naked and dries off with white towels outside the stall, Kyino continues to bathe, not paying the videographer any attention. At various points throughout, Kyino's face is clearly seen and so is that of the other man. The videographer runs his camera up and down Kyino's naked body and begins his tirade again by referring to him as the "upcoming Rising Star ... phone dis enuh". The videographer continues, "The only way I can delete this enuh Kyino is if yuh gimme a kiss." Kyino responds in a low voice that he doesn't care what the videographer does. He then gets out of the shower and dries off with a towel as the clip comes to a close. Efforts to reach Kyino Cunningham proved futile as his cellular phone was locked off. He was noticeably missing at the Rising Stars final show and concert at Mas Camp on September 27. Officials representing him refused to give any comments, telling THE STAR that the artiste was off the island. When contacted, executive producer for Digicel's Rising Star, Paula Pinnock-MacLeod, said that she had not seen the tape and could not comment on it. She further explained that having not seen the tape, she doesn't believe it affected Kyino's performance on the show.
Clips from the video
STARLEFT_1_P2H7RShowerAAM.jpg

STARLEFT_1_P6FNFShowerDAM.jpg

STARLEFT_1_PQ2T4ShowerBAM.jpg

KYINO SPOTTED IN MIAMI

October 17, 2007
Started By CALOSS6 Comments

New York, Miami, Spanish Town, this ya one ya hot. Somebody email me and tell me say dem spot Kyino inna Miami and him a wear dark glasses and ting like a fugitive. Meanwhile, back in Jamaica, fun and joke aside, the Cunninghams are reportedly distraught over the news. You can imagine what his mother is going through right now, and the rest of his family, his former neighbours, his community. Bwoy it sad. Him mek a wrong turn inna him life, and see where him end up. All me know, him music career done a Jamaica. Memba when him get vote off, and Denise Hunt ask him what was next for him, and him respond: "I'm gonna continue with music. I am using this as a platform to better myself." Him can tink bout a next career cause him shoulden mek man ah climb up pon him like a platform, or give him ickie inna him neck back. WHOI! It deep!AUTOAUTOAUTOAUTO
Nas

On Friday night at New York's Roseland Ballroom, Nas announced the title of his next album: He said it will be called Nigga and released in December. A source close to the project confirmed the name on Saturday.

Nas has said he'd planned to use that title for his last LP before he changed it to Hip-Hop Is Dead. If the December date holds firm, Nas will have a very busy winter. On November 6 he's releasing his Greatest Hits LP. A video for one of the two new songs on the project, "Surviving the Times," will be shot soon. Last week, super producer Jermaine Dupri who has already completed tracks for Jay-Z's American Gangster told MTV News he would love to be involved in Nas' upcoming new LP.

Nas headlined the last stop of the Sneaker Pimps Tour on Friday, where newcomers such as Mista Mal as well as legends EPMD and Slick Rick had sets. Even Jeru Da Damaja showed up and rocked the mic.

Nas kept fans antsy by not going on until well after 1 a.m., but they left visibly and audibly pleased.

He opened with "Hip-Hop Is Dead," then went into his catalog for records such as "One Love" and "Hate Me Now." God's Son ended with "Made You Look," during which he surprised the fans by jumping into the crowd. Once among the people, he began jumping up and down and inciting the people to jump with him. One of Nas' security guards dove into the audience after him, pulling him back to the stage, where he stood none the worse for wear.

"He touched my hand and gave me positive energy," one woman said as the house lights came on.

Besides phat rhymes, spectators saw some of the most exclusive kicks you can hope to get, as sneakers from all over the world were displayed. There was also a pit for professional skaters who sailed up and down ramps. Still, most of the skaters had to put their boards down when the acts came on, especially Nas.

WEBSITE FOR BUY CLOTHES SHOES...

October 17, 2007
Started By highgrade3 Comments
hey me lions
im lookin fah a website where i can buy things like clothes shoes and more from the united states to europe..
if you think you can help me
reply back
big up me friend demweed

How To Develop A Perfect Body

October 16, 2007
Started By STAINLESS0 Comments

2006234580489788290_rs.jpg

HOW TO DEVELOP A PERFECT BODY in 30 minutes a day is a rather audacious title for a book, but if you will allow me to explain what I mean by PERFECT you will see that is actually quite sound and realistic.

In todays society, and indeed in the society of men from
the ages of the ancient Greeks, the men, and women of
society had an image in their minds of a perfect body.
This body has been admired and desired throughout the
ages. Great sculptures, great artists, and great
photographers have tried to capture this PERFECT
BODY in marble, oil and film. We have all seen these
bodies in this artwork again and again and have a clear
picture in our minds of what a PERFECT BODY would
look like. Still for reasons of personal preference, one
may desire a very large chest, or huge arms, or
extremely small waist, but all can agree on the basic
standards for a perfect body.

http://depositfiles.com/files/1955087

Norton Anti-virus

September 21, 2007
Started By CALOSS10 Comments
Whey unuh sey bout Norton antivirus? I think it's crap, what best to use instead?

Rapper T.I. in jail until Friday

October 15, 2007
Started By Crazypickney2 Comments
9569149-9569152-slarge.jpgT.I. was supposed to have his day in an ATL court this afternoon, but a federal magistrate kiboshed that plan, denied his bond and delayed the hearing until Friday. I'm serious!

The rapper, whose real name is Clifford Harris, is currently in custody -- and prosecutors want to keep him there 'til his trial, which could be months away! The magistrate will decide on Friday whether there was probable cause for Harris' arrest and whether he will qualify to be released on bail before the trial.

The Atlanta Journal-Constitution reports Harris was wearing a black shirt and black pants and was led into court with his hands cuffed and his legs chained.

He was arrested Saturday on multiple weapons charges.

This afternoon, the ATF showcased the guns seized in the case (pictured below).

Beenie Man takes Curefest

October 16, 2007
BEENIE AND CAPLETON TAKES CUREFEST
Capleton gwaan good inna the 3 a.m bells, but it was Beenie who tek the show at Curefest inna the daylight. The man go up and sing Bob Marleys Ole Pirates and him go down inna him past hits like Ole Dawg, and him do him new tune dem like Street Life and Back It Up.

beenieweb-thumb.jpgThe Doctor showed once again why he is arguably the greatest dancehall entertainer Jamaica has ever produced. However, the venue was too big for the crowd, which spread over the playfield, and there were even people in the stands as well. But given all the hype, me did expect a bigger crowd, mi nah lie yuh, plus the production was drawn out in stretches and haphazard, but mi still enjoy myself. And mi love how the big man himself, Jah Cure, deal wid it inna the 7 a.m.

ELE'S OBEAH POWERFUL BAD
ele.jpgHow Ele obeah so strong? Yu see how the man X5 mash up and fold up like tin foil? The man mash up the Priory school wall and him walk away with only a few scratches. The man guarded! Ah long time artistes ah talk say Ele write dem name pon parchment paper and have it inna him shoes, but this prove it. The man guard have extra strength like Excedrin, memba!

Layout1_1_PJQLAilleWalkAM.jpg
WALKER

Director of Elections, Danville Anthony Walker, has been named among the shortlisted candidates to succeed Lucius Thomas as Commissioner of Police at the end of the month, Gleaner sources say.

The other candidates are Deputy Commissioner of Police Charles Scarlett and assistant commissioners Carl Williams, Novelette Grant and Owen Ellington.

"No comment," were the words of a smiling Mr. Walker, when contacted yesterday.

Walker approached

However, a senior Government official confirmed yesterday that Mr. Walker had been approached by a member of the Police Services Commission. He was reportedly asked to consider taking up the tough assignment as head of the Jamaica Constabulary Force. "And he said yes," the Government source told The Gleaner.

According to information reaching The Gleaner, this is the second time in under five years that the 48-year-old retired army officer has been approached to take on the Commissioner's job. When former Police Commissioner Francis Forbes retired three years ago, Walker was reportedly among the persons considered for the job.

Mr. Walker, who is also a Justice of the Peace, was born in Kingston on September 29, 1959. He was educated at Excelsior High School and Baruch College and City University of New York. He succeeded another army man, Major Winston Sutherland, as Director of Elections. If Mr. Walker accepts the job, it will be the second time in the history of the JCF that an outsider would be appointed to the position. Retired Colonel Trevor MacMillan, served as Commissioner of Police in the mid 1990s before he was replaced by Francis Forbes.

Of the other candidates being eyed for the job, only DCP Scarlet has completed the Strategic Command Course, at the Bramshill College in London. This course prepares persons for taking on the job of Police Commissioner. In addition, he has also completed several other related courses.

When The Gleaner spoke with him yesterday at the Police Officers' Club where Commissioner Thomas disclosed that he will be leaving at the end of the month, DCP Scarlet declined to comment on whether he had been approached.

ACP Williams who recently returned from study leave overseas also declined to talk. He is highly respected by the diplomatic community and well loved by his colleagues. He did a superb job while he was assigned to the Narcotics Division.

ACP Grant is among the brightest batch of officers in the JCF and it is for this reason that she has been short-listed.

The word on the street is that ACP Ellington is a popular choice to be offered the top job. He was once the staff officer to then Police Commissioner Colonel MacMillan.

Layout1_1_P7IE7rlesScarAM.jpgLayout1_1_PFAW7ACP7419pAM.jpgLayout1_1_PRXMGgMunnRecAM.jpgLayout1_1_PETTTOwenElliAM.jpg
( L - R ) Scarlett, Grant, Williams, Ellington

Giant Lamp Terrorises Old People

August 19, 2007
Started By Glitch2 Comments

Giant Lamp Terrorises Old People

anglepoise lamps.jpg
We are talking B-movie sci-fi classic material here, with a giant alien lamp poised to zap a terrified elderly couple on a park bench. Its OK though, because the crinklies are actors and the lamp is a special celebratory edition to celebrate the 70th birthday of the Original 1227 Anglepoise Lamp. And I love it.

Its up to 2.7m tall and looks like the scary big brother of the hopping Pixar logo lamp. It comes a 100W halogen bulb, casters for easy positioning and a dimmer switch.

This giant reading accessory will set you back around Ł1,660.

Here is a tip on how to shutdown windows without actually shutting down the computer.

When you click on the SHUTDOWN button, make sure to simultaneous press SHIFT Button. If you hold the Shift key down while clicking on SHUTDOWN button, you computer would restart without restarting the Computer. This is equivalent to term "HOT REBOOT".

make sure you are using fast switching for user. For those who don't know here is the method :

goto control panel>> doubleclick user account>> use accounts window opens>>> click on change the way user log and log off, there you will make the changes by marking the two boxes.

Jammie Thomas, 30, a single mother from Brainerd, was ordered to pay the six record companies that sued her $9,250 for each of 24 songs they focused on in the case. They had alleged she shared 1,702 songs in all.

It was the first time one of the industry's lawsuits against individual downloaders had gone to trial. Many other defendants have settled by paying the companies a few thousand dollars, but Thomas decided she would take them on and maintained she had done nothing wrong.

"She was in tears. She's devastated," Thomas' attorney, Brian Toder, told The Associated Press. "This is a girl that lives from paycheck to paycheck, and now all of a sudden she could get a quarter of her paycheck garnished for the rest of her life."

Toder said the plaintiff's attorney fees are automatically awarded in such judgments under copyright law, meaning Thomas could actually owe as much as a half-million dollars. However, he said he suspects the record companies "will probably be people we can deal with."

Gabriel said no decision had yet been made about what the record companies would do, if anything, to pursue collecting the money from Thomas.

The record companies accused Thomas of downloading the songs without permission and offering them online through a Kazaa file-sharing account. Thomas denied wrongdoing and testified that she didn't have a Kazaa account.

Since 2003, record companies have filed some 26,000 lawsuits over file-sharing, which has hurt sales because it allows people to get music for free instead of paying for recordings in stores.

During the trial, the record companies presented evidence they said showed the copyrighted songs were offered by a Kazaa user under the name "tereastarr." Their witnesses, including officials from an Internet provider and a security firm, testified that the Internet address used by "tereastarr" belonged to Thomas.

Toder said in his closing argument that the companies never proved "Jammie Thomas, a human being, got on her keyboard and sent out these things."

"We don't know what happened," Toder told jurors. "All we know is that Jammie Thomas didn't do this."

Copyright law sets a damage range of $750 to $30,000 per infringement, or up to $150,000 if the violation was "willful." Jurors ruled that Thomas' infringement was willful but awarded damages in a middle range; Gabriel said they did not explain the amount to attorneys afterward. Jurors left the courthouse without commenting.

Before the verdict, an official with an industry trade group said he was surprised it had taken so long for one of the industry's lawsuits against individual downloaders to come to trial.

Illegal downloads have "become business as usual. Nobody really thinks about it," said Cary Sherman, president of the Recording Industry Association of America, which coordinates the lawsuits. "This case has put it back in the news. Win or lose, people will understand that we are out there trying to protect our rights."

Thomas' testimony was complicated by the fact that she had replaced her computer's hard drive after the sharing was alleged to have taken place and later than she said in a deposition before trial.

The hard drive in question was not presented at trial by either party.

The record companies said Thomas was sent an instant message in February 2005 warning her that she was violating copyright law. Her hard drive was replaced the following month, not in 2004 as she said in the deposition.

"I don't think the jury believed my client regarding the events concerning the replacement of the hard drive," Toder said.

The record companies involved in the lawsuit are Sony BMG, Arista Records LLC, Interscope Records, UMG Recordings Inc., Capitol Records Inc. and Warner Bros. Records Inc.

Kayne is shockingly humble

October 15, 2007
kanye west

At BET's Hip-Hop Awards in Atlanta last night, Kanye West won "Best Hip-Hop Video" -- and then tried to give it away! Complaining Kanye, who was a major whiner after not winning at this year's MTV Music Video Awards, was suddenly eating humble pie; after accepting the award for his song "Stronger," he tried to give the award to competitors UGK! Ugh!

Kanye accepted the award and then said that UGK's song "International Players," featuring OutKast, was more deserving, and handed the award to OutKast's Big Boi. Is he "stronger," or just "crazier?"

Big Boi handed back the award and told wacky West that he had no reason to be humble. Besides, Big Boi's got plenty awards of his own.

crackerz2006 earthdae

October 14, 2007
Started By mducks4 Comments
yes star,we gwan return the favour, happy earthdae wish u many mo.

-- Edited by mducks at 11:54, 2007-10-14

Building Confidence for Dummies

October 13, 2007
Started By STAINLESS0 Comments
Kate Burton and Brinley PlattsJohn Wiley & Sons, Ltd.ENGLISHPDF5.80 MBpp. 289

Confidence is one of those odd things in life that turn out to be surprisingly difficult to tie down (beauty and quality belong to this strange group too). You may think you know what it is, and you may feel certain that you can recognise it when you see it, but you may struggle to define exactly what ?it? is. Confidence is an everyday experience, something you have quite often, except on those all important occasions when it seems to leave you and you could really use more of it ? whatever ?it? is.
In this book, you can clear up the confusion around confidence, and particularly what you may refer to as self-confidence. You dispel a lot of the mystique around how you can develop and build your self-confidence; perhaps to an extent you feared would never be possible for you.

Mavado aims to 'CONNECT JAMAICA'

October 11, 2007
Popular dancehall entertainer Mavado recently decided to help do something about the low level of access to computers and internet here in Jamaica by launching a new charity called CONNECT JAMAICA.

mavado2.jpgWith the advent of the internet the world has become smaller and a lot more accessible for anyone with access to a computer and an internet connection. Access to information, emails, knowledge, jobs, friends and family abroad, even making visa appointments, is now all much easier through the internet, which has become an integral part of many peoples daily routines around the globe. The majority of Jamaicans, often pinned with the disenfranchising label of living in a third world country, do not have access to a computer, much less the internet.

We are thinking long term and my aim is to try and get a computer and internet connection into every school in Jamaica, announces Mavado. There are hundreds of schools in Jamaica that are in dire need of a computer and access to the internet. My manager and I had bought some computers recently to give away to some schools, and the idea just snowballed from there.

To kick off the charity, Mavado will be giving away computers and printers to Charlie Smith High School (Arnett Gardens,) Constant Spring High, Shortwood Practising and Swallowfield All Age next week. The school principals contacted so far have all been extremely grateful for the donations, all saying they are in desperate need of computers.

CONNECT JAMAICA will be taking advantage of communications company FLOWs offer of a free internet connection to all public high schools, with a view to getting all basic and all age schools on board over the coming years.

CONNECT JAMAICA aims to donate computers every month to schools around the island, raising funds via various events and donations. Mavados annual Birthday Bash dubbed the Real Mckoy will take place this year on Saturday December 1st at the Temple Hall Estate in St Andrew and will be donating a significant portion of the proceeds towards purchasing computers for CONNECT JAMAICA.

I WANT TO SAVE OUR MARRIAGE

October 12, 2007
Started By Glitch1 Comments

shaq-shaunie.jpg

SHAUNIE: I WANT TO SAVE OUR MARRIAGE » Shaquille ONeals divorce battle may be postponed, as his wife Shaunie Nelson has filed papers to the court denying that her marriage is irretrievably broken down. The basketball legend filed for divorce last month claiming that his wife had been secretive about her assets particularly with respect to certain properties owned or titled in either (her) name alone or in other entities. However, Nelson denies this secrecy stating that she has nothing to hide. The wife of Shaquille is asking the court to grant her a three-month continuance so that she can attempt to save her marriage and ignore her husbands divorce application.

Beyonce reveals the "B Phone"..lol

October 12, 2007
Started By STAINLESS4 Comments

bee.jpg

R&B star Beyonce attended to the press conference to announce the "B Phone" by Samsung at the Samsung Experience Store on October 11th in New York City. So she has now her own cellphone! That's Cool. This is now added to her big product lists of; CD's, DVD's, Fashion Line, Perfurmes and Movies. SOURCE

Elephant Man totaled his X5

October 12, 2007
Started By STAINLESS2 Comments
Jamaican dancehall artiste Elephant Man is the latest entertainer to meet in an accident over the last few days. Reports reaching our offices are that the Energy God met in an accident today at approximately 5a.m. in front of Priory School on Hope Road in Kingston.

Elephant_Man.jpgSources close to the artistes management team said that according to his manager Q45 said Elephant Man is lucky he is still alive.

The BMW X5 that Elephant Man was driving was reportedly totaled.

Efforts to contact Elephant Man and Q45 were unsuccessful.
Charah Watson, and indeed all who are watching her case with Neto Meeks, will have to wait until December 6 for the matter to be heard again in the Corporate Area Resident Magistrate's Court. An outstanding medical report was given as the reason for the postponement. Watson and Meeks were both charged after an incident on September 28, which reportedly left both injured. Watson, a 23-year-old student, is facing a unlawful wounding charge, while Meeks has been charged with unlawful wounding, malicious destruction of property and possession of marijuana. Several blows The allegations are that on the day in question, a physical altercation develop-ed between the two. Meeks, it is alleged, was the aggressor. During the confrontation, Watson reportedly suffered several blows to the face and back, chop wounds to the forehead and bites all over her body and left eye. Meeks was reportedly bitten during the fight. The malicious destruction charge arose out of allegations that Meeks destroyed Watson's bedroom door in an attempt to get to her after she had locked herself in. Meeks' lawyer, Christopher Townsend, used the opportunity to tell the court that his client had been subjected to unnecessary public scrutiny and said he had already been tried by public opinion. He said Watson had spent the last two weeks playing up to the public and that Meeks had been receiving threats because of it. He asked Watson's lawyer, Valerie Neita Robertson, to "tell your client to stop." Neita Robertson, however, told the court that her client's actions were within reason and that she had everything under control. Neither of Meeks' parents - Amina Blackwood-Meeks and Professor Brian Meeks was present, but a host of supporters gathered at the courthouse on Watson's behalf. Both persons were ordered to give their fingerprints to the police and their bail was extended.

Ninjaman's X5 meets in accident

October 11, 2007
Started By STAINLESS2 Comments
Ninjaman and his wife, Wendy, are reportedly alright after a minor fender-bender on the Junction main road involving Ninja's X5 and another vehicle.

Ninjaman.jpg"I was coming around the corner when I saw a pool of water, but it come in like oil was in it, so the vehicle slide across the road and touch another vehicle, but everybody alright, nobody no injured," Ninjaman said.

It has been raining in Jamaica since last Sunday as a tropical condition passes over the island.

Ninjaman, who is one of the billed acts for Curefest, recently returned to Jamaica after a successful show, Ninjaman and Friends, in Soho Studios in downtown Miami, Florida.
WATCH Penis got burnt off an the doctor sey fi raise the boy as a girl.

Zebra and tiga Interview!

April 29, 2007
Started By STAINLESS9 Comments

-- Edited by "STAINLESS" at 16:56, 2007-04-29

Mavado's chain causes fight

October 8, 2007

STARLEFT_1_PKYG7SynergyAM.jpg

A man points to the injuries sustained by a patron after he was hit in the face with a bottle during the Heineken Green Synergy finals on Saturday.

The atmosphere of excitement changed in the twinkling of an eye, as mayhem broke out inside of the Mas Camp Village, Oxford Road, on Saturday night, during the finals of the Heineken Green Synergy DJ competition.

Special guest artistes Mavado and Busy Signal were creating a storm onstage at about 2:15 a.m., as they jointly declared that the Mas Camp would be transformed into a 'Badman Place', with nothing but a 'Full Clip' to spare.

However, this vibe was not to last for very long. Mavado, who attempted to serenade some females at the front of the stage, was dragged into the crowd after at least three attempts.

Members of the deejay's entourage jumped to assist him, apparently fired up after hearing Mavado declare that his chain was missing. After some scuffling, one man was left with a bloody face and a shocked Mavado stood onstage demanding that the injured man receive medical attention. He managed to get back his chain.

STARLEFT_1_PEGZOSynergyAM.jpg
A security guard pulls his firearm in an effort to keep the crowd at bay during the Heineken Green Synergy finals at Mas Camp, Oxford road, New Kingston, on Saturday.

One patron, in explaining what transpired, told THE STAR that after the deejay was hauled offstage, a man, believed to be a member of his entourage, punched a young lady accused of pulling him off.

A man standing with the young woman attempted to defend her by retaliating with a blow of his own and a bottle was reportedly used to hit him across the face, causing a wound which began to bleed. This did not go down well with many patrons, especially the friends of the wounded man, and a mini riot broke out. Bottles were hurled at the stage and patrons were sent dashing for cover.

The show came to a premature end at 2:30 a.m., but even as THE STAR team made its way through the exit, gunshots and screams were heard in the general area (off Oxford Road). There were also reports of persons being robbed along Oxford Road.

Officers at the New Kingston police post told THE STAR that they have received no reports about the incident and a senior officer from the St. Andrew Central Division, which encompasses New Kingston, said he had received no such reports from his team that had patrolled the area.

STARLEFT_1_PIAICSynergyAM.jpg
A section of the tense crowd at Mas Camp, Oxford road, on Saturday. - Nathaniel stewart

Jah Cure served eight years in jail. Now the reggae singer's sell-out shows face protests

A bitter row has broken out over the imminent British tour of one of the world's most acclaimed reggae stars, recently released from prison after serving eight years for raping a woman at gunpoint.

Jah Cure, the 29-year-old Jamaican Rastafarian who has been compared to Bob Marley, is drawing international attention for his heartfelt lyrics and melodies. His British tour this month is almost sold out and he is the subject of huge media attention in the US.

But women's rights groups have expressed anger at the way that Cure - real name Siccature Alc**ck - has reassumed his celebrity status just months after being released.

The Voice, the newspaper for Britain's black community, received complaints after it carried adverts for the tour. Campaigner Paulette Coombs has urged people to protest outside Cure's tour venues, while others have demanded he donates some of the millions of pounds he is expected to make from his music to rape victims' charities. 'He is able to move on with his life,' Coombs told the newspaper. 'Who cares about the young woman he raped?'

The victim, Suzanne Ferguson, who waived her anonymity to speak out after she heard Cure was due for release, told the Jamaican press last year: 'Every time there is a lot of publicity about Jah Cure, I have even more flashbacks.

'Sometimes I am so afraid to leave my house. It seems to me that entertainers are more valued than everybody else in Jamaica and, as a woman, I feel seriously undervalued.' She has claimed she was offered money by Cure's supporters to retract her claims.

But other women's groups are reluctant to join the protest. 'Jah Cure was not convicted by a jury and there were serious doubts about his conviction,' said Cristel Amiss, coordinator of the Black Women's Rape Action Project, based in north London. 'He has served eight years in prison. Those who call for a boycott of his tour are losing sight of the real issue, which is that only about 5.6 per cent of reported rapes result in a conviction. They are helping to perpetuate the myth of the rapist as a dark stranger.'

In interviews, Cure, who was released in the summer, says he wants to use his music as a form of rehabilitation. His new album True Reflections... A New Beginning was recorded behind bars.

'He's become such a conscious person, and all his lyrics are about peace and love,' a spokeswoman for his promoter told the Voice. 'Regardless of the hard times he's been through, he's seen it as God's will and he's stronger for the experience.'

Cure has already been the target of hate campaigns. Two years ago, a Jamaican radio station stopped playing his music after it received death threats. After his conviction, however, there was a groundswell of support for Cure, so called because he smokes large amounts of marijuana, which fellow reggae artists say makes him look well preserved or 'cured'.

Internet sites sprang up protesting his innocence and bearing the slogan 'Free Jah Cure'. A large number of reggae artists spoke out in his defence, with many suggesting that he was targeted by police for his Rastafarian beliefs.

Cure has declined to talk about the rape since his release, but his website insists that he wants his fans to know the two words most important to him are 'not guilty'. 'People can do their research, they know my side,' he told one interviewer.

Cure's supporters point out that no DNA evidence was obtained linking him to the crime. There are also concerns about the nature of his arrest: he was picked out by the victim on the street and was held without charge for a week.

At his trial. Ferguson told how she had memorised Cure's car licence plate, which enabled police to track him down. 'I was able to identify him because his voice was distinct. Anywhere I hear that voice, I will always remember it.'

Cure's tour promoter, Castro Brown, is no stranger to controversy. He has also promoted reggae singer Buju Banton, who has been attacked by gay rights groups. Banton's 1992 song, 'Boom Boom Bye', called for the murder of Batty Boys - Jamaican slang for gay men.

Bitter love, broken bodies

October 8, 2007
Started By Crazypickney0 Comments

A relationship gone sour was cited as the reason behind a man's decision to attack and injure his 19-year-old ex-girlfriend and her new boyfriend.

Facing a charge of attempted murder is 39-year-old, Karl Vanhorne, of Zion district in St. James.

But when the matter was mentioned in the Montego Bay Resident Magistrate's Court, on Wednesday, the teenage complainant, who received 13 stab wounds from Vanhorne, told the court that she did not wish to pursue the matter.

RM Winsome Henry said that the complainant would have to give a statement to the police indicating her decision, but at the same time asked that the matter be investigated to ascertain why the complainant had a change of heart. She also suggested that the complainant receive counselling from the Victim Support Unit.

Vanhorne, who turned up at court sporting a neckbrace and crutches, was remanded in custody despite his attorney's pleas for him to be released on humanitarian grounds.

Defence attorney, Charles Sinclair, argued that his client sustained his injuries after he attempted to flee from a group of persons, with whom the complainant was travelling.

The attorney claims that this person attacked his client because they believed he played a role in the death of a man in Zion, who, residents said, was killed in cold blood by the police.

However, the court was informed that the accused jumped from the third floor of the Cornwall Regional Hospital in a bid to escape after he had stabbed the complainant.

Allegations are that on September 8, the complainant and her boyfriend were in downtown Montego Bay when they were attacked by the accused. The complainant's boyfriend was stabbed several times. Subsequently Vanhorne fled the scene.

It is further alleged that the complainant and her boyfriend were at the Cornwall Regional Hospital at the x-ray department to receive treatment for the injuries received when Vanhorne entered the hospital and proceeded to stab the complainant several times. She fell to the ground and the accused continued to stab her.

The court heard that several persons came to the teen's assistance and the accused man ran to the third floor where he proceeded to jump from the building. He fractured both legs, dislocated his hip and sustained injuries to his neck.

Vanhorne is scheduled to return to court on October 17.

TOP 20 DANCEHALL SINGLES

September 7, 2007
Started By STAINLESS3 Comments
Weekly Countdown with Richie B Fridays 4:15pm to 5:00pm on Hot
102 FM
Chuck_Fenda_fire.jpgPrint: Published weekly in X-News

TV: The Top 10 is presented on TVJ's Entertainment Report (ER) -
Fridays at 8:00pm

01 1 16 Caan Cool -Chuck Fender-Birchill Records (2wks@#1) No Move

02 3 7 The Days-Busy Signal-Daseca Up-1

03 2 19 Tease Her-Anthony B-Trinity 7 Records (2wks@#1) Dwn-1

04 4 16 Back It Up -Beenie Man-357 Records (5wks@#1) No Move

05 6 9 Wine Pon It/Talk To Me-Munga- Casper Productions Up-1

06 9 4 Conscience-Cham- Don Corleon Up-3

07 8 10 Bounce Along-Miss Triniti feat Edee-Unseen Lab Up-1

08 5 19 Dance-RDX featuring Jigsy-Apt 19 Dwn-3

09 11 5 Give It Up-Beenie Man feat Barbee-357 Records Up-2

10 7 18 Set Up (No Man) -Monster Twinz-Birch Hill Records Dwn-3

11 13 5 Love Is Wicked-Brick & Lace- 180 Entertainment Up-2

12 10 14 Gully Side - Mavado-Firelinks (pp#6) Dwn-2

13 15 4 Take My Place-Munga-Don Corleon Up-2

14 12 4 Amazing Grace-Mavado- Big Ship Dwn-2

15 19 4 What You Gonna Do-Bugle-Daseca Up-4

16 14 14 Drop Dead-Elephant Man-Big Ship (pp#7) Dwn-2

17 19 2 Dreaming of You-Beenie Man & Alaine-Sleepy Splu Up-2

18 - New Bubble Like Soup-Timber-Lee- Ward 21

19 18 4 Dancing Fever-Voicemail-Don Corleon Dwn-1

20 20 20 Baby Father-Vybz Kartel/D'Angel-Free Willy (pp#5) NM

TOP 20 DANCEHALL SINGLES

October 6, 2007
Started By STAINLESS1 Comments

Busy Signal continues to hold down the #1 Spot

By Richie B - host of "HOT MIX" on HOT 102 FM
TOP 20 DANCEHALL SINGLES

busy_signal.jpgTW LW WC TITLE/ARTISTE/LABEL
01 1 11 The Days-Busy Signal-Day(3wks@#1)         NM
02 2 13 Wine Pon It/Talk To Me-Munga- Casper Productions NM
03 6 9 Give It Up-Beenie Man feat Barbee-357 Records U-3
04 3 8 Conscience-Cham- Don Corleon D-1
05 7 9 Love Is Wicked-Brick & Lace- 180 Entertainment U-2
06 5 14 Bounce Along-Miss Triniti feat Edee-Unseen Lab D-1
07 8 8 Take My Place-Munga-Don Corleon U-1
08 10 5 Bubble Like Soup-Timber-Lee- Ward 21 U-2
09 9 8 What I'm Gonna Do-Bugle-Daseca NM
10 4 20 Caan Cool -Chuck Fender-Birchill Records (3wks@#1) D-6
11 14 3 Dem A Sissy-Assassin-Don Corleon U-3
12 11 23 Tease Her-Anthony B-Trinity 7 Records (2wks@#1) D-1
13 12 20 Back It Up -Beenie Man-357 Records (5wks@#1) D-1
14 16 4 Nah Go A Jail-Busy Signal-Jam 2 U-2
15 18 2 Tell Dem Don't Follow-Buju Banton-Heart of Love U-3
16 15 18 Gully Side - Mavado-Firelinks (pp#6) D-1
17 13 23 Dance-RDX featuring Jigsy-Apt 19(pp#3) D-4
18 - New No Man-TOK-Don Corleon
19 20 2 Crab Inna Barrel -Shane-O-Iceberg U-1
20 - New Me and My Dogs-Mavado- Baby G

STARLEFT_1_PMAB6ExplosiAM.jpg

Dancehall artiste Leonard Bartley, more popularly known as Merciless, is rumoured to have been arrested in the United States. Efforts by THE STAR to contact Merciless himself were unsuccessful, as his phone rang without an answer.

When contacted, however, Merciless' manager, Gadaffie, says he had also been trying to get in contact with the artiste, but met a similar fate.

"Him did book fi do dis show name Carifest in New York, the last week in August an him never show up an mi nuh hear from him since dat," Gadaffie said.

Gadaffie says he too had been hearing some rumours relating to Merciless being in trouble with the law in the U.S. "I saw his brother the other day an him did a sey him hear sey Merciless inna lockup, but dem nuh sure what's happening either," Gadaffie told The STAR.

He added, "one a di time mi did all hear like some people did a try steal him car an him an him brethren rush out an run dem down an dem mussy find a gun pon one a dem, but mi nuh know how true dat is."

In the meantime, Gadaffie says he should be in a better position to say exactly what has happened to Merciless when he goes to the U.S this weekend.

"Mi a guh up dis Saturday, so mi wi definitely find out what's happening and Monday when I return, I should be in a better position to say what is what," Gadaffie said.

Merciless is next billed to perform at the Crystal Spring Family Fun Day in Buff Bay, Portland, on November 11.

I am Charah Tabetha Watson a 23 year old 5 feet 5 inches of slim build
>female. On the night of Friday September 28, 2007, on arriving home on
>shortwood road I was brutally attacked by my sister's boy friend who also
>is the father of my nephew.
>
>I got home at approximately 7:30 pm I put my keys into the door but soon
>realized that the door was bolted from the inside. I knocked on the door
>and my eight 8 year old niece Taiye came to the window and then said " oh,
>its auntie charah" she then unbolted the door and I enter the house. On
>entering the house I saw my attacker =, Neto Meeks son of a prominent media
>personality Amina Blackwood Meeks and Professor Brian Meeks, who had
>treaten to kill me on Wednesday September 26 in front of my mother and my
>niece. On seeing me enter Neto Meeks (son of Amina Blackwood Meeks and
>Professor Brian Meeks) eased up out the chair which he was sitting in. I
>proceed to walk pass him to enter my room, however I didn't make it that
>far. As soon as I was about a foot/step infront of Neto Meeks (son of Amina
>Blackwood Meeks and Professor Brian Meeks) I felt a body pounced on me.
>Neto Meeks (son of Amina Blackwood Meeks and Professor Brian Meeks) jumped
>me from behind engulfing the entire left side of my body ( my school bag
>was still on my shoulder). I immediately reached into the side of my bag
>for a knife which I was advised by my sister Italee Watson to carry because
>she had reason to believe that I might be in danger.
>
>Neto Meeks (son of Amina Blackwood Meeks and Professor Brian Meeks) then
>put his arm around my neck and accosted my right hand which had my only
>source of defence with his right hand (he was still behind me). Neto Meeks
>(son of Amina Blackwood Meeks and Professor Brian Meeks) proceeded to push
>me into a room at the back of the living room. Neto Meeks (son of Amina
>Blackwood Meeks and Professor Brian Meeks)
>Who is a BLACK BELT KARATE EXPERT who trains religiously every morning and
>evening and practice at least 3 different form of Karate and is either a
>3RD OR 4TH DEGREE BLACK BELT HOLDER, started kneeing me in my back and my
>lower body while he was chocking me with his arm. My school back is still
>over my shoulder, and my right hand is still in the custody of Neto Meeks
>(son of Amina Blackwood Meeks and Professor Brian Meeks). I started bitting
>Neto Meeks (son of Amina Blackwood Meeks and Professor Brian Meeks) on his
>left arm trying to get break free from his grip around my neck ( all this
>time my two nieces were screaming and crying). I manage to get my head free
>from his strong manly hold. However he still had my right hand. I started
>pushing him against the wall trying to excape is now punching left hand and
>his powerful knee kicks to my chest and stomach area. I manage to push
>Neto Meeks (son of Amina Blackwood Meeks and Professor Brian Meeks) up
>against the computer desk the 6 +feet muscular man then grab at my left ear
>with his mouth. He managed to grip it and proceeded to dig into the flesh
>of my ear. I some how managed to free my ear from his mouth but not without
>sustaining a wicked bite emcopassing the entire bottom half of my left ear.
>Neto Meeks (son of Amina Blackwood Meeks and Professor Brian Meeks)
>Still had my right hand which held my only defence against this LETHAL
>BLACK BELT KARATE EXPERT. Neto Meeks (son of Amina Blackwood Meeks and
>Professor Brian Meeks) then started bitting me all over my body leaving
>behind life long scars on my right arm and my right shoulder.
>
>I again started pushing him with all my strength, with my school bag still
>over my left shoulder, this was all I could do to fend off my attacker. We
>fell on the floor with Neto Meeks (son of Amina Blackwood Meeks and
>Professor Brian Meeks) on top of me, he then made several attempts to stab
>me with the knife that was in my right hand which he was using all his
>MANLY STRENGH TO CONTROL. I then started biting him on his right arm trying
>to release my right hand from his grip. Neto Meeks (son of Amina Blackwood
>Meeks and Professor Brian Meeks) again grabbed at my left ear aging with
>his powerful jaws. Again by the grace of god I manage to escape another
>attempt to bite off my ear.
>
>Two neighbor on the complex ran in after hearing the children's cries for
>help. They tried to take Neto Meeks (son of Amina Blackwood Meeks and
>Professor Brian Meeks)
>Off me but failed. They pleaded with him to release me but he refused. He
>said "NO TEK THE KNIFE FROM AR FIRST" I REFUSED TO GIVE THEM THE KNIFE
>WHILE I WAS STILL IN THE GRIB OF THIS VISCOUS MAN. One of the ladies manage
>to get him to release his grip from my right hand and the other pulled him
>away from me. Then gave the neighbor the knife and RAN TO MY ROOM which is
>adjacent to the room were Neto Meeks (son of Amina Blackwood Meeks and
>Professor Brian Meeks) was trying to eat me alive and was beating the life
>out of me.
>
>I LOCKED MY SELF IN MY ROOM . I GRAB CELL PHONE FROM MY POCKET AND STARTED
>DIALING THE POLICE. 911. THE CALL DIDN'T GO THROUGH, I THEN TOOK HOME THE
>HOME PHONE AND TRIED CALLING THE POLICE AGAIN.911.911.911.911 NO RESPONSE?
>911.911.911.911.911. I TRIED WITH MY CELL PHONE AGAIN. 911 .911 911
> 911 911..the house was now quite, I couldn't hear my nieces crying
>any more. I though the niegbours had removed Neto Meeks (son of Amina
>Blackwood Meeks and Professor Brian Meeks) from the house. In the mid's of
>me trying to call the police I say Neto Meeks (son of Amina Blackwood Meeks
>and Professor Brian Meeks) approaching my door WITH A LONG BLACK MACHETE in
>his hand (which is a French door with transparent glass and wood in between
>the glass). Neto Meeks (son of Amina Blackwood Meeks and Professor Brian
>Meeks) started saying, " Aa POLICE YOU A CALL GYAL, A MI AN YOU ONE IN YAA
>NOW!.......A DEAD YOU DEAD GYAL, A DEAD YOU DEAD!!!!! Neto Meeks (son of
>Amina Blackwood Meeks and Professor Brian Meeks)
>THEN STARTED KICKING OUT THE GLASS OFF MY ROOM DOOR STILL CHANTING " A DEAD
>YOU DEAD GYAL.A DEAD YOU DEAD!!"
>
>911 911 911 911 9111 911 9111911 911 911 911 911STILL NOTHING!!! s**t
>
>AFTER KICKING OUT THE LAST PIECE OF GLASS WHICH STOOD BETWEEN HIM AND MY
>NOW TREMBLING, BATTERED, BRUSED WEAK BODY Neto Meeks (son of Amina
>Blackwood Meeks and Professor Brian Meeks) step through the door still
>chanting " A DEAD YOU DEAD GYAL!!!"
>
>
> Neto Meeks (son of Amina Blackwood Meeks and Professor Brian Meeks)
>RAISED THE MACHETE, with no other options available I JUMPED AND GRABBED
>THE BLADE OF THE MACHETE WITH BOTH MY HANDS WHICH NOW HAVE SLICES ALL OVER
>MY HAND. I pushed and I pushed trying to counter act his attempts to chop
>me. Neto Meeks (son of Amina Blackwood Meeks and Professor Brian Meeks)
>then started stabbing at me with the machete when he realized he wasn't
>able to swing the machete. He managed to STABBED ME ON MY FORE HEAD ABOVE
>MY LEFT EYE ( I RECEIVE THREE 3 STITCHES FOR THE WOUND). BLOOD STARTED
>SPRAYING EVERY WHERE. MY FACE WAS COVERED IN MY BLOOD. I COULD NO LONGER
>SEE THE HITS COMING. Realiasing what was at stake and WAT WAS ABOUT TO BE
>MY DEAD I sum up what little energy I had for WHAT I BELIEVE WOULD HAVE
>BEEN MY LAST ACT ON EARTH, I FOUGHT. I PUSHED, I PULLED I TWIST AND I
>TURNED.
>
>THROW ME TO THE FLOOR THEN CAME HIS ELBOW DELIVERING BLOWS TO MY FACE AND
>HEAD OVER AND OVER AND OVER WHILE CHANTING " A DEAD YOU DEAD GYAL". Neto
>Meeks (son of Amina Blackwood Meeks and Professor Brian Meeks) WAS KNOCKING
>THE LIFE OUT OF ME. I was now still being too tierd from what was now
>about 45 min of fighting.
>
>I THEN FELT Neto Meeks (son of Amina Blackwood Meeks and Professor Brian
>Meeks) TEETH AT MY LEFT EYE.i pulled away, he came again I pulled away,
>but with body on top of mine I did have much space to pull away to..HE DIG
>IN FOR MY EYE AGAIN AND THIS TIME HE WAS SUCCESSFUL AT GETTING IT.
>
>
>ENGULFED MY ENTIRE LEFT EYE IN HIS MONTH. NETO MEEKS A BLACK BELT KARATE
>EXPERTS WHO WATCHES KONG FOO MOVIES MORNING, EVENING AND NIGHTBEGAN
>SINKING HIS TEETH INTO MY EYE UNTILL HE HAD A TIGHT GRIPNETO MEEKS AMINA
>BLACKWOOD MEEKS SON, THEN BEGAND PULLING MY EYE. I COULD FEEL MY EYE BEING
>LEFTED FROM ITS SOCKET AND COULD FEEL THE BLOOD NOW RUNNING FROM MY EYE..
>I HEARD A POP IN MY EYE.AT THIS POINT I STARTED SCREAMING..
>
>
>Since I could no longer fight for my life , I started screaming, as loud as
>I could I screamed and screamed. Neto Meeks (son of Amina Blackwood Meeks
>and Professor Brian Meeks) then released my eye from his mouth which was
>covered in my blood. I FELT THE BLOOD OOZING FROM MY EYE WHICH NO LONGER
>FELF LIKE IT WAS APART OF MY FACE. Neto Meeks (son of Amina Blackwood Meeks
>and Professor Brian Meeks) THEN STARTED TO LAUGH..ANDSAID "YES SCREAM
>b*t*h SCREAM" A SO DI OLE A UHNUU ALWAYS START SQUELL, SQUELL b*t*h
>SQUELL!!!. Realizing gthis was what he wanted I STOPPED SCREAMING.
>
>I then said to him " ohh so a me you come back yah faaaa" he "yes SO MI CAN
>KILL YOU NOW AND GO BOUT MI BUSINESS". " SO IF MI KILL YOU NOW A NO
>NUTTING RIGHT" I then replied " YOU CAN TRY PUNK".
>
>
>Try he did, but I decided that there was no way I was gonna let this woman
>beater weakling take my life. AND SO I FOUGHT, I FOUGHT AND I FOUGHT.
>
>LUCKLY the same two neighbours who had came to my rescue before had
>returned. I begged then to take the man off me . they tried but he wouldn't
> let me go. I begged them to call the police, the security guard, a nother
>man on the complex.. anyboidy to take this man from off me an to remove the
>machete from his hand. It took some time but they eventully got him to
>release the handle off the machete. After assuring that they were the ones
>now holding the machete I reased my now cut ridden hands from the blade of
>the machete. This time round they removed him from house. I ran to the
>door and bolted it hoping that it would put up a better between me and
>would be killer than my bed room door did.
>
>My neighbour returned and then rushed me to the UWI hospital were I was
>examined and treated. I reached a total of FOUR STITCHES INSIDE MY EYE AT
>WO DIFFERENT LOCSATIONS INSIDE THE EYE. THREE STIRCHES FOR THE CHOP ON MY
>FOREHEAD. There wasn't much that they could do for my other body injuries.
>My entire face is now swollen. My head aces all over, my neck is stiff and
>is in immense pain.
>
>
>NOW WHY AM I TELLING MY STORY? AND WHY AM I GOING OUT OF THE WAY TO
>REPEATEDLY SAY NETO MEEKS SON OF AMINA BLACKWOOD MEEKS AND PROFESSOR BRIAN
>MEEKS?..... WELL THIS IS BECAUSE OF THE DOUBLE STANDARD JUSTICE SYSTEM THAT
>EXIST IN JAMAICA. A JUSTICE SYSTEM WHERE YOUR CLASS AND PLACE IN SOCIETY
>AND YOUR ADDRESS DETERMINES THE OUT COME OF A CONFLICT AND HOW IT IS
>RESOLVED.
>
>True.. this is the first time that I will have to deal with jamaica's
>justice system first hand. However I have lived here all my life and I have
>seen and heard of cases were real and true justice wasn't served only
>because one party had a LAST NAME THAT MEANT SOME THING IN SOCIETY AND THER
>WAS LIKE MYSELF A POOR MAN PICKNEY.the scum and burden of society.
>
>WHY DO I BELIEVE THAT MY CASE JUST MIGHT END UP BEING ONE OF THOSE RICH MAN
>POOR MAN CASES?
>WELL I HAVE ALREADY SEEN IT BEING TO HAPPEN.
>
>On Saturday morning I went to grants pen police station where I was greeted
>by AMINA BLACKWOOD MEEKS, A AUNT OF OF MY ATTACKER WHO IS A CORPAL OR
>SUPERINTENDENT OF THE POLICE FORCE AND A CLOSE FRIEND OF NETO MEEKS WHO IS
>KNOWN TO BE OF QUESTIONABLE BACK GROUND.
>
>
>` I got to the station at about 9:15 am. The police officers were very
>professional, despite the cursing in the waiting area by AMINA BLACK WOOD
>MEEKS. I was taken to interview room 1 were my statement was taken. Some
>time after wards about 20 min later, an officer called me to a room. IN
>THE ROOM I SAW THE MAN WHO TRIED TO KILL ME A FEW HOURS AGO , TWO
>ATTORNEYS THERE ON THE BEHAVE OF AMINA BLACKWOOD MEKKS AND PROFESSOR BRIAN
>MEEKS. My sister Italee Watson, and a family friend who also was a
>counselor and two police officers were in the room.
>
>ONE OF THE ATTORNEYS THERE FOR BRIAN AND AMINA STARTING ASKING ME WHY I WAS
>THERE AND WHY WAS I PRESSING CHARGES, AND WHAT I EXPECTED TO GET FROM ALL
>THIS COURT THING. I ASKED HIM WHAT HE MEANT CAUSE I REALLY DID NOT
>UNDERSTAND WHAT THIS MAN WAS SAYING.
>
>THE MAN THEN PROCEEDED TO SHOUT AT ME LETTING ME KNOW HOW STUPID AND NIEVE
>I AM FOR WANTING TO TAKE THE MATTER TO COURT, SAYING I HAD NO CLUE ABOUT
>THE LEGAL SYSTEM AND BLAH..BLAH BLAH BLAH I STOPPED HIM AND TOLD HIM
>THAT HIS BEHAVIOUR WAS UN CALLED FOR AND TOTALLY UNNECESSARY. I THEN ASKED
>WHY WAS I CALLED INTO A ROOM WITH THE MAN WHO TRIED TO MURDER ME AND NOT
>ONE BUT TWO ATTORNEYS THAT WAS THERE ON HIS BEHALF. THE TWO LAWYER THEN
>BEGUN TO PLEA THEIR CASE, TRYING TO DETER ME FROM FILLING CHARGES AGAINST
>AMINA AND BRIAN SON AND TAKING HIM TO COURT..
>
>I was quick to pick up what was happening. Being aware of two other cases
>with NETO MEEKS EXGIRL FRIENDS WHO HE BEAT AND HOSPITALIZED, JUST LIKE ME,
>ONE OF WHICH HE BEAT WHEN SHE WAS FOUR MONTHS PREGNANT WITH THEIR SECOND
>CHILD..THE BEATING LEAD TO A MISSCHARAGE. THAT BEATING WAS DONE IN THE
>PRESENCE OF HIS FIRST CHILD NIALI.
>They too went to the police but never filled any charges because AMINA
>BLACKWOOD MEEKSAND HER LAWYERS THREATEN THE GIRLS.
>
>SO I KNEW WHAT THEY WERE TRYING TO DO WITH ME. I again stopped the lawyers
>after being with them in the room for over an hour, telling them that they
>are trying to reason with a person who is beyond reasoning with. They are
>trying to reason with with someone who whose life was almost taken by the
>man they were there representing..
>
>They initially tried bulling me into not filling charges, then they tried
>to scare me into not filing charges by telling me that my attacker will be
>filling counter charges too. They said they are only looking out for my
>best interest and that that it will soot no one if I take the matter to the
>courts and I should seriously consider mediation.whatever that is..I
>laughed. This was the first time I laughed.. I actually saw what I heard
>of happening before my "EYE".
>
>They ASSURED ME THAT CHARGES WILL ALSO BE FILED AGAINST ME AND I TOO WILL
>GO TO JAIL FOR WHAT NETO DID TO ME.
>
>
>THEY EVENTUALLY REALISED THAT I WOULD NOT BE MOVED AND LEFT THE ROOM.
>
>THEY CALLED OUT MY FRIEND THAT WAS THERE WITH ME AND WAS TALKING TO HER FOR
>ALMOST HALF HOUR ASKING HER TO TALK TO WHO EVER SHE NEEDS TO TALK TO, TO
>CONVINCE TO NOT TAKE THE MATTER TO COURT. HINTING AT ASKING FOR
>COMPENSATION FOR DAMAGES INCURRED.OF COURSE THE MEEKS GOT MONEY
>ROGHTBUT HOW MUCH DO YOU THINK MY EYE IS WORTH? THE SCARS ON MY BODY AND
>OF COURSE THE MENTAL DAMAGE THAT WILL COME AND HAVE STARTED COMING?
>HOW MUCH WILL THAT COST??
>
>
>THERE IS A LOT MORE THE HAPPEN BETWEEN FRIDAY NIGHT AND SATURDAY NIGHT MY
>EYES ARE NOW HURTING AND MY ONE GOOD EYE IS VERY TIERD AND EVERYTHING IS A
>BLUR TO ME NOWSO I WILL END IT HERE
>
>I PROCEEDED AND FILLED MY CHANGES AGAINST NETO MEEKS
>
>THEY CHARGED NETO MEEKS WITH
>
>UNLAWFUL WOUNDIND
>MALLISCOUS DISTRUCTION OF PROPERTY
>AND FOR THE GANJA HE HAD ON HIM WHEN THEY PICKED HIM UP ON FRIDAY.
>
>
>I TOO WAS CHARGED.:)
>
>WITH
>UNLAWFUL WOUNDING..for the bite which NETO MEEKS sustained when I tried to
>free my neck from NETO MEEKS ' EXPERT CHOCK HOLD.
>
>I WILL APPEAR IN THE HALF-WAY TREE COURT ON TUESDAY OCTOBER 9TH AT 10:00 am
>
>Please come out and lend your support because I will need it if i will any
>chance of a fair and just trial.
>
>I AM ALSO IN NEED OF A GOOD LAWYER WHO IS NOT AFRAID TO TAKE ON ONE OF
>JAMAIC'S MOST PROMMINENT FAMILY.
>
>I WILL NEED ALL THE HELP I CAN GET TO FIGHT THE MIGHTY MEEKS CLAN AND AMINA
>BLACKWOOD MEEKS the very popular and influential WOMAN in Jamaica
>
>Please view the attached photographs of some of the injuries I incurred
>during the BATTLE FOR MY LIFE WITH NETO MEEKS SON OF AMINA BLACKWOOD MEEKS
>AND PROFESSOR BRIAN MEEKS, BLACK BELT KARATE EXPERT.
>
>
>YOURS THANKFULLY
>CHARAH..
>
>
>
>PLEASE PASS THIS ON TO AS MANY PL AS POSSIBLE
>ALL MEDIA ATTENTION ARE WELCOMED
>
>THANKS AGAIN
>CHARAH..

>Me before and after

Beenie Man apologises

October 5, 2007
Started By STAINLESS3 Comments
According to a press release from Beenie Man's PR team, the artiste is offering his humble public apology to the members of the St. Andrew Parish Church, the Christian fraternity, and relatives of deceased whose remains are entered in the church's cemetery.

Beenie_Man111.jpgThe entertainer says he's emphatically sorry about the misunderstanding that has arisen and wants the Christian fraternity who are incensed about the videotaping to know that he would never knowingly do anything to offend the Christian or no other doctrine.

Mr. Davis says he along with the video crew takes full responsibility for their actions and regrets that they hadn't gotten the necessary permission and even after agreeing to pull all the video clips after an injunction was taken out to stop it bring shown.

Unfortunately, after the injunction was filed on Friday (September 28), a late miscommunication between the hosts of the popular entertainment programme ER aired on TVJ and Beenie Man's production team which resulted in the video being shown the same night.

Prior to the airing attempts were made to remove sections of the footage showing the church and the tombstones, but at the time they were unable to find the right person to do the editing.

The video was recorded for Beenie Man's singles Mama's Cry/Gangsta's Prayer and is a depiction of the crime and violence now taking place in the society. Beenie Man said he was tired of seeing how many people and friends of his are ending up in the grave and it is his way of showing his condemnation of the murders and violence.

The church took out an injunction that effectively bars the defendants from publishing, broadcasting or releasing for publication or broadcast in any audiovisual media the music video films or other visual images recorded by Beenie Man's production team.

The matter is scheduled to be heard in the Supreme Court on October 11.

foxybrown.jpg3651167414foxybrown.jpg

With collaborations between Dancehall and Hip hop artist now proving to be commercially viable like in the case of NY Rapper Mims ft both Junoir Reid & Cham, Kat Deluna ft. the likes of the energy god Elephant Man and Eve ft Mr. Sean Paul himself, the cassava piece Gangsta DJ Mavado has joined the club with a scorching hot feature on Foxy Browns KOCH Records Album.

The single entitled FIRE looks to be the first release off the album which has seen some delay due to the female rappers current incarceration. Brown was sentenced to one year in jail for violating her probation on numerous occasions. Producer Bob Perry who represents Koch records visited Jamaica last week to meet with Mavado and management to commence work on the DJs portion of the single. Recorded at Dasecas Red Hills Road Studio Perry tracked Mavados vocals and will be adding it to Browns pre recorded intro and verses said to have been done months before her September 7th court sentencing.

Mavado who released his Gangsta for Life: Symphony of David Brooks album for VP Records in July has been breaking bread with some of hip hops finest including Wyclef, Uncle Sam and Busta Rhymes all of whom feature the Real McKoy DJ on their albums. All in all the collaboration promises to be a hit, KOCH has outlined that they have invested heavily in Foxy Browns current effort and will be rolling out the promotion campaign shortly. Her album is due out in November.

The Cure is almost here

October 5, 2007
Started By STAINLESS1 Comments
With the recent release of Freedom, his first single written and recorded in the 'free world', Jah Cure announces to the world: "Now the day has come you will see me again." And see him we will, for the first time in Jamaica, Cure will perform a full length set on Sunday, October 14 at Longing For, the final night of the 3-day event aptly titled Curefest.

jahcure1.jpgCurefest, the 3-day event celebrating Jah Cure's freedom presented by Danger Promotions, Iyah Cure Promotions and Brass Gate Promotions is set for Friday, October 12 Sunday, October 14, and will be held at 3 venues: Starfish Trelawny Hotel (Oct 12), Pier 1, Montego Bay (Oct 13) and Trelawny Multi Purpose Stadium (Oct 14).

Reflections on Friday October 12 is an all-inclusive birth night celebration party hosted by Jah Cure at the Starfish Trelawny Hotel.   The night will feature Etana, Karen Smith, Live Wyya band, ZJ Smurf and ZJ Electra. Tickets cost $4,000 and the party will start promptly at 8PM.

45 Cure's, the selector spin-off where radio DJ's compete with Sound System DJ's will be held at Pier 1 in Montego Bay on Saturday October 13 and hosted by MC Nuffy.   The party will showcase major sound systems such as Danger Zone, Black Chiney, Stone Love and Rennaisance squaring off with popular radio DJ's including Liquid of Zip FM and Sunshine of Irie FM.  Tickets cost $1,000 and the party starts at 8PM.

Curefest's grand finale: Longing For on Sunday October 14 will be held at the recently built Trelawny Multi Purpose Stadium. Ron Mushette, Elise Kelly, GT Taylor, Richie B & Big A will MC the concert.  The stage will feature renowned artistes such as Barrington Levy, Beres Hammond, Capleton, Sizzla, Morgan Heritage, Ninja Man, Beenie Man and many others.   Jah Cure himself will close the show, performing all his hit songs as well as new never before heard tracks.  Tickets for Longing For start at $1,500 for general admission and go up to $10,000 for VVVIP.   Showtime is 8PM.

Curefest will be donating part of the proceeds to Western Society for the Upliftment of Children and is sponsored by X-News, Hype! TV, Juice TV, Starfish Trelawny Hotel and Kings of Kings.

50_cent.jpgxb

50 Cent has reportedly accused Def Jam Records of manipulating Kanye West's album sales.

According to New York's Daily News, 50 (born Curtis Jackson) made the accusations during an interview with British based magazine Uncut.

"He's never had a fraction of the sales 50 Cent has," Fif said. "They could have only one scan and have it count four times. West's entire career hasn't sold half what I sold on my first album.

2ni5x7o.jpg 2eyccw0.jpg Barbee escorted Desha Beenie rocked his daughter Desha Gayes sweet 16 party Tongues are wagging once again after guests at a sweet 16 party held in honour of Beenies eldest daughter, Desha Gaye, were surprised when Barbee, whose combination hit Give It Up with Beenie Man is all the rage in the dancehall, turned up at the Rebel T headquarters in Half Way Tree, St. Andrew on Saturday night. Held under the theme, Party Like A Rockstar, the venue was decked out in big swatches of clothe in bold psychedelic colours, graffiti spray-painted junk cars, and mini-ramps on which skaters and bikers pulled off stunts. Barbee turned up and escorted Desha Gaye into the venue after the teen exited a bright red Ford car with a souped-up engine. Desha and I were hanging out together for the nightI love all of Beenie Mans kids, they are fun, Barbee told Xtratainment. Barbee, dressed in a sexy black leather and lace mini skirt, looked stunning in her outfit and flawlessly applied makeup. She laughed and chatted with Beenie Mans children, especially Desha Gaye, on her special night. Initially, Barbee had called to wish Desha Gaye a belated birthday, but eventually made the trip from New York to Jamaica. I surprised her and came down for the party, I loved it, I enjoyed myself, it was really fun, she said. Barbee and Beenie Man barely exchanged a word during the party. At one point, he came over and called to her saying Whats up babes? and later offered her a drink of Hennessey and Red Bull. Ever the spark of the party, Beenie Man, attired in a long black coat with silver studs all over it, danced with his daughter while confetti rained down on them. Desha Gayes mother is Denise, who many consider to be Beenie Mans first baby mother. There were a lot of teenagers at the event and there was no strict guest list. Younger kids such as Moses Davis Jr. and Crystal, Beenie Mans daughter with Carlene, were also present. Artistes such as QQ, Fambo, Nitty Kutchie, Chris of Ring Ding fame and Egg Nog were also present. A live band was supposed to be present but there was a technical problem and that aspect never materialized. Beenies estranged wife was not present at the event.

Stephen McGregor son of reggae crooner Freddy McGregor, has been signed to EMI Publishing and has also earned himself a mention in Vibe Magazine as a producer to look out for in the future.

Many companies made offers to the young McGregor but EMI came out on top. As a part of EMI Publishing, he will be more visible on an international level, with more deals; more career opportunities and they will be handling the rights to all of his songs and riddims.

EMI is the world's largest independent music company, operating directly in over 50 countries. EMI Music Publishing is the world's leading publishing company, representing artistes, song writers and producers in all genres. Persons signed to EMI include the Beatles, the Rolling Stones, Eminem, Alicia Keyes, Beyoncé, Kanye West, Janet Jackson and countless others.

Meantime, Stephen is always in the studio going through his 'dark' phase with the riddims 'Darker Shadow' and 'Dark Again', as well as working on albums for artistes such as Vybz Kartel, Sean Paul and Elephant Man.

Beenie, D'Angel saga takes flight

STARRIGHT_1_PCXNHSexyP2AM.jpg
Contributed - English Deejay, 'Sexy P', tackles the Beenie/D'Angel issue.

by Teino Evans, Staff Reporter

English-based artiste Sexy P might be relatively unknown to Jamaicans and dancehall music in general, but doing a song that speaks unreservedly of the Beenie, D'Angel situation is probably the easiest way to be recognised.

Sexy P, whose real name is Marcia Prince, a Jamaican by birth who migrated to London, England, recently recorded a song entitled Moses Moses, which in one verse says:

'You come a talk bout the wickedest slam

Now mi fly dung fi straight born Jamaican

You big talk mek you sound like a Don

So tell me if you right or you wrong (wrong) idea

Bar Bee ass big bare as you dare

When she back it up seh yuh caan reach there

De other slap till she flat

She a swing like a flag

From man to man then inna gal lap'

And, even though Sexy P's lyrical content might seem harsh and disrespectful, she says, "I don't know how they (Beenie Man and D'Angel) will react, if they do react to it, but I hope they see my lyrics as an eye-opener and alter their attitudes."

Sexy P says, "The song is my way of saying this is what it looks like from the outside looking in," and uses the opportunity to offer words of advice for the estranged couple.

"I thought she (D'Angel) should have shown him (Beenie Man) a bit more respect for someone who she said, in her own words, has done so much for her. He even tried to turn her into a lady where others failed. But can you turn a dishcloth into a tablecloth?" she questioned.

Sexy P obviously isn't afraid of speaking her mind and when asked if she was not fearful that associates of Beenie Man or D'Angel might come at her, her response was, "no! not really, he doesn't seem to be like the ignorant type. Hmm! Maybe lyrically but I don't think men would want to go there."

Currently working on her second LP, which is due out this fall, Sexy P says her lead off single will be Moses Moses, which was released on the Bornso label. And, even though she is a newcomer, Sexy P says she has high hopes for this project as she feels quite confident in her talent as an artiste.

"It's good to know I can deliver just like any male artiste out there, it's also good that more women are getting recognition based on their work and not just as a sexual target," she said.

She says females in the business need to "stay focused and don't give in to the males in the business who would try to use you, cause with the blessing of God, whatever you want you can achieve. Your motto should be 'giving up is not an option!'"

Sexy P, while in Jamaica, pursued a career in the fashion industry and was a part-time model, designing clothing for various artistes such as Beenie Man, Buju Banton and Peter Metro. She currently operates her own salon and designs for a boutique in Brixton, South West London.

«First  <  1514 515 516 517 518524  >  Last»  | Page of 524  sorted by