Forum: News & Topical Issues

News updates, entertainment, hot topics, gossip | Share and discover what is happening right now.

November 05, 2007

Why was "An So" seeking out Barbee's ex

edit_d'angle_rootsvibes.jpgWhooii, a wha really a gwaan inna di place. Yardflex hear from dem New York contact dat An So turned up at Barbee's former boyfriend business place a seek him out. Mi hear sey when di man get wind of the fact him
just run go upstairs and tell one a him worker sey fi tell har sey him nuh de bout.

Suh di big question everybady a ask now, is whey "An
So" did really waan...it deep, it really deep.lc

-- Edited by mz más quería veterano on Tuesday 22nd of June 2010 11:49:53 PM

Guess Who?????

October 30, 2007
Started By Glitch13 Comments
4mv7wxy.png

4vpdm54.jpg

4mv7wxy.png

Oh...
Hope The Person dont ring
ma Neck for using her pic
lol......

Layout1_1_PKBPNSuicideDAM.jpgLayout1_1_PEHE5SuicideCAM.jpgLayout1_1_PRWMNSuicideBAM.jpg

Murder-suicide took on a bizarre face in the tourist capital of Montego Bay, St. James, yesterday, when a 41-year-old critical-care nurse reportedly injected and killed her two children with what is believed to be potassium chloride, before taking her own life.

Their bodies were discovered shortly after 6:00 a.m. yesterday, in the room of a small hotel in Montego Bay, where they had checked in Friday evening.

Dead are Carol Waldron, who was employed to the Savanna-la-Mar Hospital, Kadijah Waldron, a fourth-form student of the Mannings School and three-month-old Ashley Waldron.

Seven-page suicide note

According to the police, Mrs. Waldron left behind a seven-page suicide note in which she detailed marital problems. The police also said several syringes were found inside the hotel room. A security guard employed to the hotel heard strange sounds coming from inside the room. He informed another worker, who then entered the room by breaking the glass door on the balcony. The police were summoned and on their arrival, the bodies of three females were discovered.

Wrists slashed

Mrs. Waldron, according to the police, had attempted to commit suicide by hanging but the rope broke. Her body was found in the bath tub with the wrists slashed. She had also supposedly injected herself with the dangerous substance.

"In the suicide note, she claimed her husband told her that he was going to England to study law. But she later found out that he was having an affair with another woman in England and said she could not take much more of it," one of the police investigators told The Sunday Gleaner.

He further said that Mrs. Waldron in the note repeatedly said she "could not take it anymore" and begged her relatives, especially her mother, to forgive her. She singled out a brother and sister whom she asked to take care of their children.

"There were so many other things in the letter explaining what they (the couple) have been through in the 18 years of the marriage," said one of the senior detectives who read the letter.

Taking it hard

Mrs. Waldron's family is taking it hard.

"Something really go so? Carol really kill herself and the two pickney dem?" asked a tearful Lena Clayton, Nurse Waldron's mother.

Mrs. Clayton was in a crowd of grieving relatives and friends who gathered at the family home in Grange Hill, Westmoreland, as news of the tragedy spread.

The 41-year-old nurse had been married to Michael Waldron, an ex-soldier and businessman of Grange Hill in Westmoreland, for the last 18 years. He was briefly questioned by the police yesterday, during a telephone conversation. Since then, and up to press time yesterday, the police said they were unable to make further contact with him.

The first of four children for her parents, Nurse Waldron was last seen about 3:30 p.m. on Friday, when she drove from home to downtown Savanna-la-Mar.

Her father, James Clayton, said his daughter picked up her eldest daughter at school and subsequently called to say she was spending the night in Montego Bay.

"She was one of the best persons in the world, very quiet, easy-going and dedicated to her job. Up to yesterday (Friday), Carol was the best daughter in the world. But today, I don't know, I wouldn't have expected her to do something like this," Mr. Clayton stated. "My problem is this one (pointing to a photograph of baby Kadijah). She is innocent. Why she didn't leave 'Dijah' give us?"

Commenting on the situation yesterday, psychiatrist, Dr. Wendel Abel, said depression can trigger a sense of nihilism in people: "If somebody is depressed and they are overcome by a sense of hopelessness and helplessness and powerlessness, so when you get to that point (of severe depression) you also begin to get very negative thoughts. You don't want to live any more."

-- Edited by Crazypickney at 20:44, 2007-11-05
Singer Craig Dennis whose radio hit, Skin Fi Burn collaboration with members of the Portmore Empire, was quite popular died in a motorbike accident yesterday. We will try to get more information as this story breaks.

craig.jpg"I got a couple of calls this morning that he had died, I don't know where the accident took place, but it is sad. He is a Big Ship artiste and we had a lot of songs we were working on together," producer Stephen McGregor reported a few minutes ago.

Craig Dennis is also known for the single, Talkie Talkie and Gangsta Prayer with deejay Vybz Kartel.

Spice hits back at D'Angel

October 25, 2007
Started By CALOSS5 Comments

Deejay Spice, who returned to Jamaica triumphant last week after the birth of her baby, took a potshot at D'Angel after the artiste flopped big time at the Dancehall Divas in Action show last week.

During her set, Spice deejayed: "Last year mi did a try warn di rastaman bout di ooman but him wouldn't listen mi." And the crowd bellowed its approval, while DAngel stewed backstage.

Spice1.jpg

Ah she me ah talk, me nah keep no secret, mi no name Victoria, Spice said.

"Me and this b*t*h no have nothing..a who flop? Anno me flop. She ah bling bling and me nah see no ring."

Spice said she felt no sympathy towards DAngel, and laughed off her remarks that (Spice should) act like a mother and be more supportive of women.

Supportive of women? She never de de when Beenie Man come onto me inna the hotel, she never know wha tek place, and she never come to me and ask me wha happened, she just jump up and say Beenie Man doan waan Spice. So tell me, ah who flop now?  Me see her wid her hand ah her jaw, ah who shame now? She lucky! Spice said.

DAngel recently did an interview with a local newspaper where she said, "Shi just gi birth. She fi stop act like a gal. Act like a mother and be more supportive of women. Di same ting weh happen to me can happen to her. She constantly trying to diss mi and mi nuh si har. Shi fi clean up har act man. Mi neva trouble dis gal,"

She never understand what me did a go through. No mek me start it up, yu waan mi release the picture dem?

Late last year, Spice and Beenie Man were involved in a major scandal where she said Beenie Man came on to her in a hotel room while they were to perform at a show in the Caribbean. At the time, she alleged that she had pictures of the encounter and threatened to release them.
November 2, 2007 is a date that will live in the hearts and minds of  the Rastafarian movement because of a major exhibit called Discovering Rastafari will be opened at the prestigious Smithsonian Institute in Washington D.C.

Rasta.jpgThere will be a pilgrimage of sorts by a delegation of Rastafarians who will be flying in from all over the world. This delegation will include 1,974 members of Reggae Ambassadors Worldwide, as well as a sizeable group from Jamaica including rastafarian Junior Manning.

This is not the first time that the Smithsonian is recognizing the work of Rastafari. In 2004, there was a proposed exhibit at the Smithsonian is the showpiece of Jake Homiak and Carol Yawneys International Rastafari Archives Project (IRAP),  the crowning jewel of 20 years of research and study by Jake and Carol.

An IRAP exhibit at the Smithsonian, which boasts of 8 million visitors every year, would far eclipse the reach and impact of a mere book on the Rastafari Movemant. The proposed IRAP exhibit, wherever and whenever it is displayed, is viable in and of itself as an educational tool for the American public, designed to promote an understanding of the Rastafari Movement, a Rastafarian website said.

Maxine Stowe, consultant of the recently formed Ethio-African Diaspora Union Millennium Council (a combination of different mansions in the faith of Rastafari), is helping to co-ordinate the event.

Members of the Rastafari community are celebrating the African Millennium with a year-long series of activities which got off the ground on September 11 with a motorcade from the Scott's Pass' Nyahbinghi Centre in Clarendon to the Mandela Park in Kingston. There was also a cultural rally in the park in that day, and a Millennium Dinner was held at the Hilton poolside on September 12.

It had all the ingredients of a good show - quality performances, massive support and mostly clean music - but the highly anticipated Guyana Music Festival clearly lacked the core item of local talent, which was in very short supply.

But even that was insufficient to put a damper on things and when the curtains came down at around 3 am yesterday morning, the $3000 that the majority of persons parted with, was exhausted mainly due to one man and a band with a music career much older than three quarters of the huge crowd.

'Gargamel' Buju Banton and Third World rocked the show so hard the vibrations probably shifted a few seats in the Guyana National Stadium. Combined the two powerhouses belted out sounds so sweet and conscious it was difficult to determine the best reggae performance of the night. But the night certainly belonged to the dreadlocked, still very much homophobic Jamaican dancehall star, who had no apologies for his discriminatory lyrics lashing the gay community.

"Buju nah like no batty boy and dem batty boy attack Buju", the singer said to an adulating audience who seemed to have been waiting for that exact moment. And perhaps feeling the vibes of the embracing crowd and the urge to sing his controversial song, "Boom boom bye", the singer belted out a few of the lyrics nearing the close of his performance.

But Buju was not the only performer to have walked that line. Kiprich, another Jamaican star who appeared much earlier in the night also sang out against the gay community and the audience largely enjoyed it.

That aside, Buju's entrance on stage just around 2 am was the beginning of a familiar journey of pulsating, classic dancehall tunes stretching over a decade in addition to stirring reggae sounds that have set apart from his contemporaries and catapulted him right up there with Jamaican legend, Bob Marley.

Testimony to his wide reach as an artiste was the fact that the audience was capable of singing nearly every song for him and in a few instances, did since the singer seemed out of it for a few of the tracks. Initially Buju appeared excessively hyper but then simmered down to a more controlled performance. He used his gruff vocals and excessive body movements interchangeably with the desired effect- the crowd was unable to miss a beat throughout the entire performance.

Given all his material and how good they are, every song had the same effect on the crowd except for one. His current hit, 'Driver' proved to be the tune of the night and from the moment he belted out that one word, pandemonium broke loose for a short period. As persons were exiting the concert, he was still on stage belting out the hits proving if he were to sing every tune from his extensive repertoire the show might have ended well into today.

Preceding Buju was Third World, who instantly changed the pace of the evening when they took the stage and mesmerized the crowd with soft, smooth, sweet reggae sounds. The legendary Jamaican band fed the crowd their hits and one member did a tribute to Bob Marley, which was unlike anything seen on a local stage in many years. For the most part, it did not matter whether everyone in the crowd knew any song the group performed because the delivery was excellent. But their biggest number of the night turned out to be '96 Degrees in the shade'.

Much earlier in the night Alaine, Kiprich and Mr. Easy performed creditably but except for Kiprich the performances were generally bland. Alaine has an amazingly wonderful voice and unarguably gave one of the best vocal performances of the night. Kiprich lived up to his 'Drama king' name and displayed so many onstage antics he could have very well been auditioning for a role somewhere. The crowd loved him.

Coolie Buddz, who was another big name that many turned out to see, failed to impact on the crowd largely due to technical difficulties with equipment. His voice was barely audible at times and he chose to open his performance with a song many persons are unfamiliar with.

When the time came for his hit, 'Come Around', Coolie Buddz appeared to have been wearing down and was just flat. The crowd did show him much love though and stayed tuned in throughout his performance.

Locals Fojo and Jory were among the opening acts and of the two, Jory grabbed more attention due to his unpredictable, crazy, onstage persona. Much of what he was singing was inaudible and nothing was wrong with the band or the equipment at the time. Still, people seemed to have been following.

The promoters promised a music festival unlike any other and the biggest Guyana has ever seen and they were right. The show was in a league of its own and so well supported, it made the massive area outside the stadium looked relatively small. If parking for non-VIPs was better organized and controlled after the show and more Guyanese performers were in the line-up, there would be no criticisms of the promotional team, GT Entertainment.

Those who highly waited for Jah Cure's show should keep waiting March 2008 to see him on stage. Originally scheduled for October 21-24, Jah Cures British Tour has been postponed « because the authorities didn't grant us the work visa, the shows have been put back to March 2008 », said promoter Castor Brown.

Consequently and if the matter concerning visa to enter Britain is resolved, Jah Cure should be on stage in UK from March 15 to 17.

Barbee, Beenie Video sell off

videoshoot_beenie.jpg
Barbie and Beenie have just wrapped up their video shoot in New York and no one could be happier about it than the sultry singer. In an interview with Yardflex she bubbled with enthusiasm.

"I'm excited about the out come of the video because it shows a different side of me compared to the first video entitled'Missing You' feat. Junior Kelly. My family, friends and the dollets were involved and it's a colorful, sexy, yet playful video. I find this song to be one of my favorites cause it promotes females to be confident and the beat shows both sides of my culture Jamaican and Nigerian," she stressed.

videoshoot_barbee.jpg

According to Barbee the video will definitely be something to see and she can't wait until it is premiered in about two weeks time. Then she
acknowledged the rest of the world will get to see and love it too.

Shot on location in Forest Park, Queens, New York under the direction of Scenario and Scuba (who has directed videos for the likes of 50 Cent and Fabulous) it features Acid Ladies from the Bronx and six-year-old Grenadian choreographer Hanan.

videoshoot_barbee2.jpg

In addition, there were cameos from the members of G Unit and Sporty Thieves camp. The treatment was done by Paris Reid. Featured are some scenes from the video.

KYINO IN JAPAN

People ah talk say Kyino was being blackmailed by a gay man who is known to go around and target young men. The man, who is a member of the Nerd Squad, and is known to frequent new Kingston, hooks up with young gays and arranges for him and them to be kidnapped and a ransom paid. He also scams young professionals who he gets to trust him, and then threatens them with exposure, mi hear say ah him and Kiss Teet a spar. It look like a him tek Kyino picture and a claim say Kyino haffi kiss him if him no waan him release the picture dem. Anyway, from September, Kyino tek weh himself from Jamaica and gone to Japan gone live, so ah de so the ting de. Him mother all talk to the XNews this week and ah deny that her son is gay, so until Kyino return to Jamaica, we nah go know wha really happen.

Cop who beat Mavado turn deejay now

The policeman, Fast Car, who nook Mavado hand tun deejay now. Him de pon a riddim weh artistes such as Earthworm, Kartel voice pon. Talking about Mavado, why him and the man dem from the JLP part of Cassava caan gree again like one time. Is a man from Grants Pen dead and it tun out inna one political war over Cassava Piece between the top and the bottom, and you know say Mavado live ah Cuba which is on the border between the two sides so it sticky pon him. Even the police dem a pressure him cause him no waan send on no money pon the squaddie dem. Him no realize say yu haffi have bad man friend and bad man police friend, ah so the ting set.

November 04, 2007

Vybz Kartel's baby mother has had enough

vybz_kartel.jpgThreats and abuses have caused Sherika Todd, the mother of deejay Vybz Kartel's child to be contemplating an end to their four-year relationship.

Todd has made a report to the Runaway Bay police, the station closest to her home. "I made the report Monday of this week and I called them [the police] this morning again because he [Kartel] sent me another text saying he's on his way, obviously to my house and he has no reason to come here, he knows that much," Todd told reporters.

According to Todd, "everything has been on and off, we argue every now and then and I told him that I don't want us to be together anymore and that's when he started to threaten me that he was not going to take care of the child and like him going kill mi, cause him a sey me know wa him capable of, cause mi deh roun him long enough."

When contacted, investigating officer Constable Ransford Wisdom, confirmed Todd had reported the matter. The police revealed that they have been unable to get in touch with Kartel, whose real name is Adijah Palmer, face to face, but Constable Wisdom said, "We warned him [Kartel] not to carry out this threat against Ms. Todd." The police have also expressed an interest in meeting with Kartel.

According to Todd, all she wants is for Kartel to take care of his child, but as far as their relationship goes, that part of her life is over.

"I have a daughter to live for," Todd said about their seven month old daughter. She added, "I just don't want to be with him [Kartel] anymore."

Todd said, "He [Kartel] has always wanted me to have a child for him. I was pregnant once for him, I was carrying twins, but I met in a motor vehicle accident and I lost them in April of last year. I got pregnant for him again and I have a child for him now."

bgPROTEC

kartel.jpg

Deejay Vybz Kartel will be the face of a new rum that will hit the local market in November. The rum is called Vybz Rum and will be distributed locally through the distributors of the Pimp Juice product.

The artist is also gearing up to launch his own clothing line 'Vybz Wear' which is presently is the early stages of planning and production. He said all the fashionistas can look out for a very urban and trendy line with some exclusive pieces in the mix.

Kartel drops babymotherWants paternity test
02-Nov-07 | by K'riq

Deejay Vybz Kartel, whose single, Empire Army and My Scheme are racing up the local charts, is denying reports that he threatened his estranged babymother, Sherika Todd. He also plans to do a DNA paternity test to find out whether Sherikas daughter, Adianna, is his child.

Kartel13.jpgI terminated the relationship a few months ago because I dont think that child is mine, I moved in my new girlfriend in the apartment and told her (Sherika) to leave......so big up me girlfriend Toisan and me wife 'Shorty. I didnt know Sherika was so vindictive and lie, she even made me change my phone number and so I left a voice message for her on it....18765721418. Call it, he told One876Entertainment.com in an exclusive interview.

I did not threaten her. She is just angry at me so she is trying to get back at me, thats all.

The voice message says yo, mi change mi number cause mi no waan talk to you, it switch so f##k you b!tch!.

The deejay has said that he plans to do a private DNA paternity test next week so that he can find out whether he is the father or not.

If it is my child, I will take care of her, she can call my mother and I will provide whatever the child needs, he said.

It was reported in todays STAR that Sherika Todd, the mother of the deejays daughter, Adianna, claimed that she had received threats from Kartel and had since made a formal report to the Runaway Bay police.

tons of books online

November 3, 2007
Started By STAINLESS0 Comments

www.flazx.com

http://www.ebooksheaven.org/index.php

Speed Up Windows xp

November 3, 2007
Started By pengo0 Comments
Speed Up Windows xp

-- Edited by Crazypickney at 15:51, 2007-11-03

STARCover_1_PDPPJAdamsCAM.jpg

Senior Superintendent RenEto
Adams is challenging the Police Service Commission to allow the public to choose the next commissioner of police.

The post of Commissioner became available after Commi-ssioner Lucius Thomas left office on Wednesday. The position was openly advertised in the newspaper, and individuals outside the force were encouraged to apply. Applications closed on Tuesday and it is reported that a number of persons including the director of elections, Danville Walker, and former head of the Jamaica Defence Force, Hardley Lewin, were among the contenders.

Confident

SSP Adams, who recently revealed that he also applied for the post, is confident that he can do the job and told THE STAR that he had a nine-in-ten chance of becoming the next commissioner. While aware that there are many who hope he is not chosen, he is confident that he still has enough supporters.

"I am challenging the Services Commission to put it to a public vote. Ask the people who they want because I am sure a large majority of people will say Reneto Adams. People will always say negative things and you will always have detractors.

Even when you have done well, there will still be people criticising. It's been happening from the days of Christ, where people criticised after everything he did for them and 2000 years later, it's still happening," he said.

The SSP told THE STAR that his 40 years of experience in the force prepared him well for the position and he decided to apply because, "I am confident that I've assimilated well and that I have the capabilities to lead the force.

I have experience in management, operations and risk management and many other things.

I have been trained in these areas and I have been successful in many areas over the years."

High on his long list of priorities is ridding the force of the negative image that has been ceated that has been created by corrupt and disruptive officers. If he has his way, guilty parties will be punished, regardless of their rank.

SSP Adams also revealed that he was not impressed with the work done by officers recruited from overseas and said, "There are people taken from abroad and I haven't seen many of them doing better than us. In my estimation, some of them are doing even less. I haven't read one document about the changes or plans that they have brought to the force. I don't see it, hear it or feel it. You can't use one year and jump up and seh 'oh we have done well, crime is reduced', it has to be done over a period of time."

He also promised that if chosen, he would be the " first Commissioner to be on the streets in some of the hot spots on operations. I would be a field Commissioner. My job would be to protect people from criminals, including the tyrants in the force..."

He is aware that many of his plans could make him unpopular, but told THE STAR that he does not care about popularity or who likes him or not.

His approach to crime solving, he said, would be simple. He explained that strong police presence is the first element in crime fighting and said this would be his major strategy. "When the criminal gets up, he should see the police, when he goes to brush his teeth, he should see the police, when he goes on the road to plan his criminal activities, he should see the police and when he gets home and is in his bed, he should be dreaming about the police. That's the kind of presence we need to have and we need to respond quickly to reports."

SSP Adams also said he would ensure that all functional police vehicles are put into use and said it was too often that he saw police cars parked at "bars, cricket match, football match and at people's houses. It mustn't be said that there are no vehicles." He also promised that if chosen, within a year and a half, corruption in the force would be decreased and in less than three months, there would be a "frightening" decline in crime.

When deejay Ninja Man spoke near the end of the official launch of Guinness Sting 2007 on Tuesday night, he began on a peaceful note.

"Me reach de stage whe me get to a higher level," Ninja Man told those gathered at the Country Kitchen, Jamaica Pegasus Hotel, New Kingston.

He spoke of unity and no lyrical violence as well as "we no business bout no gay, we no business bout hurt nobody. We jus' a gi lyrics".

However, he continued "an at de same time" if the crowd wanted a clash he was ready, deejaying "sen out de whol a dem".

"Long time me no commit no murda a Sting. Sen somebody come. Sting no nice again," Ninja Man demanded. "Sen Bounty Killer, Beenie Man, Ele, Cobra, Supercat, mek de whole a dem gang me one time," he said.

"We waan competition come an see how de music can nice."

Ninja Man will perform in the 'Dancehall's Finest' segment, which will also include Chuck Fendah, Busy Signal, Vybz Kartel, Mavado, Beenie Man and Bounty Killer.

The other segments for Guinness Sting 2007 are 'Singer's Paradise', with Jah Cure, Tarrus Riley and Queen Ifrica, among others, 'The Pioneers', which will include Freddie McGreggor, Josey Wales and Burru Banton, and 'The Upcomers', Di Marko, Shane-O, Bennetto and Bugle being among the lot. The 'Beautiful Ladies of Dancehall' will include D'Angel and Barbee and there was laughter when the names of the two ladies, who have a 'Beenie' matter between them, were announced consecutively.

Howard McIntosh of Supreme Promotions emphasised that the entire line-up had not been announced, with the full slate of performers to be made public in December. With Sting having a website, updates will be posted on www.stingjamaica.com.jm.

Joseph Oates of title sponsors Guinness said "we will be holding a series of road shows across the island." On November 16 at the Esso Tiger Mart, May Pen, then Sip's Bar in Yallahs, St. Thomas, on November 30, on December 14 at Ken's Wild Flower in Portmore and two days later at Prendy's On The Beach, also in Portmore, will also serve as auditions for Sting performance hopefuls.

The official Guinness Sting 2007 poster launch is on December 7 at the Asylum Niteclub, Knutsford Boulevard, New Kingston.

Tickets to Guinness Sting 2007 cost $1,500 presold and $2,000 at the gate, with VIP entry costing $5,000. Tickets will be sold at Petcom Portmore, Texaco Naggo Head, Esso Tiger Mart, Dunrobin and Washington Blvd. and Esso Tiger Mart, May Pen.

In a recorded message Minister of Information, Culture, Youth and Sports Olivia Grange wished Supreme Promotions all the best and said "I will never forget that night at Sting when Supercat and Ninja Man clashed".

And Ninja Man had a sharp comment for Digicel Rising Stars, saying "dem a tell people no fi clash an' dem have dem pon TV a clash inna Rising Star. Sting, yu fi tek back yu position roun' ya. Rising Star nah bus who dem fi bus. A Sting put dem out".

McIntosh followed with a disclaimer, that "Mr. Ballentine has made some comments that he is responsible for and those are not necessarily the comments of Guinness Sting".

thumbnail.aspx?type=mm&id=44948

Rapper 50 Cent has blasted TV bosses in America for renaming his new single I Still Kill.

Concerned with the violent message of the title, producers at cable music channels MTV and BET have listed the track as I Still Will, which has enraged the rap star.

He fumed, "I dont think they have a problem with the group The Killers being called The Killers and I dont think anyones protesting that Guns N Roses is called Guns N Roses.

"I just think that their perception of me is dark, so theyre going to ask for those things to be changed." - Wenn
After much public outcry surrounding the use of a textbook in the secondary school system, which states that homosexual unions may be considered a family type, the Ministry of Education has ordered that the controversial textbook be removed from the classroom. A resolute Andrew Holness, Education Minister, told The Gleaner that he has instructed that the book be removed. "We have done so. We have asked them that the book not be used. That book is not recommended. We have given that instruction today," he stressed yesterday. Mr. Holness also admitted to The Gleaner that the book was apparently being used in several schools. "The good thing that has come out of this is that the article (the story was first reported in The Gleaner) has alerted the ministry to this problem and we are taking action against it." Additionally, the ministry has commissioned a full review of its approved textbooks. "We are reviewing all our books to ensure that they adhere to the moral view of the society. "If we are going to have standard education right across the board, then it cannot be that we have several sources of information being presented," the minister reasoned. Requisition Also, Dr. Charlene Ashley, director of communications in the ministry, told our news team that the ministry has requisitioned that all books being used that are not on the approved list be submitted to its offices. "A school bulletin will be issued to all schools, instructing them to submit to the ministry any book of which they are unsure and to further remind them of the approval process," she said. While the ministry continues to deny that its officials endorsed the book, Gleaner checks have confirmed that the book was presented to teachers at a ministry-sponsored event held at its Caenwood Centre in late January, 2006. At least one school has said that the book came highly recommended at the workshop that was put on by the Home Economics Association and attended by officials from the Ministry. In a telephone interview late yesterday from her home in St. Lucia, Norma Maynard, one of the authors of the book, said that they can do nothing about the Minister's decision. "We cannot change his decision but the text is definitely not advocating any one type of family but simply presenting existing forms," said Mrs. Maynard "It is unfortunate that only four sentences on page four in the text Home Economics CSEC and Beyond Management under the subheading family forms were used to label the total text as a gay book," she said in reference to an article published by a media house yesterday.
Senior Superintendent Reneto Adams.

Former Head of the Crime Management Unit (CMU) Senior Superintendent Reneto Adams is among several senior police officers who have applied to fill the post of Police Commissioner.

SSP Adams submitted his application to the Police Service Commission on Wednesday.

SSP Adams, who was placed behind a desk following his arrest in 2004 in the high profile Kraal murder case, confirmed to RJR News that he has applied.

The controversial crime-fighter said he decided to apply because he possesses the requisite skills to lead the men and women of the Jamaica Constabulary Force.

He argued that the crack down on corruption and indiscipline within the force would be high on his agenda if he is appointed Commissioner.

In the meantime, sources say some 15 senior officers have applied to the fill the post since the Service Commission advertised the position.

Sources say retired JDF Chief, Hardley Lewin is being strongly pursued by the authorities to fill the position.

The Service Commission began its search for a new Police Commissioner after Lucius Thomas announced his retirement earlier this month.

The selection process has been embroiled in controversy after the Police Officers Association warned that it will take the matter to court if an outsider is appointed to the post.

Unsigned Jamaican musicians and singers with their own material will get a shot at stardom tomorrow when the BBC World Service and BBC World Television bring their global talent search to Jamaica.

Titled 'The Next Big Thing 2007', the talent search requires all bands and artistes to meet the Next Big Thing team and to hand over a CD or DVD of their music at the Ashanti Oasis Restaurant at Hope Gardens in Kingston between 10:00 am and 6:00 pm.

"This is not an audition, and there will be no performances, but there is a chance to be interviewed for the BBC," a news release from the BBC said. "We are scouring the world looking for exciting new music, bands and performers who will shape the future."

In addition to tomorrow's event, musicians can also enter online at www.bbcworldservice.com/nextbigthing2007, the BBC said, adding that The Next Big Thing 2007 in Jamaica, being held in association with Radio Jamaica and Television Jamaica, "is completely free and unmediated".

Said the BBC: "Forget the big labels and mainstream music business, we're looking for boldness and brilliance - musical pioneers who really deserve attention."

The BBC said that last year the talent search received entries from thousands of musicians from over 40 countries. The winner, Silva, went on to have a number one hit in her home country, Armenia, and played the Hollywood Bowl in Los Angeles.

The BBC World Service is easily the biggest international broadcaster in the world with an audience of 183 million listeners in 33 languages.

For this year's talent search, the BBC World Service will be joined by BBC World Television "to expose the new and establish a platform for musicians to create and perform original music," the news release said.

"We are very glad to have been asked by the BBC to be a part of this," the release quoted Geoff Travis, founder of Rough Trade who signed The Smiths, Travis, The Strokes and many more. "We are astonished at the standard of the entries, we are very very pleasantly surprised."

The BBC have selected a panel of international music experts, including Caspar Llewellyn-Smith, editor of the Observer Music Monthly; Will Hodgkinson, music journalist for Mojo and the Guardian; and Paul Stokes, features editor, NME to help choose five finalists.

Entries close on November 18, 2007, and finalists will perform for an all-star jury in London in December. One act will be crowned The Next Big Thing 2007 and perform to a live audience of 3,000 people at London's O2 stadium to celebrate the BBC World Service's 75th Anniversary in December, alongside some of the most exciting names in music, the news release said.

The highly anticipated British tour by singer Jah Cure has been postponed.
The tour, originally scheduled for October 21-24, ran into problems when the British authorities refused to grant Jah Cure a visa to enter the country because of his prison conviction for rape.

As a result, promoter Castro Brown has rescheduled the tour to March next year, by which time he is hoping the matter concerning Jah Cure's eligibility to enter Britain will be resolved.

"Because the authorities didn't grant us the work visa, the shows have been put back to March 2008, Brown told Splash. "I hope by then the whole thing will be cleared up."
Still upbeat and hopeful, Brown said that he is contemplating adding an extra five days to the tour, which is now scheduled to run March 15-17.

QQ wants court ordeal behind him

November 2, 2007
Started By Crazypickney0 Comments

20071102T010000-0500_128952_OBS_QQ_WANTS_COURT_ORDEAL_BEHIND_HIM_1.jpg

Dancehall child performer Kareem 'QQ' Dawkins wants to put his parents custody battle behind him.

"I don't really think I want to do anymore interviews or talk about it," says the 14-year-old singjay in a telephone conversation on Wednesday night. "I just want to put it behind me. It's just something that happened and that's it," he shares nonchalantly of the just concluded court case.

In July this year, QQ was forced to cancel a number of stage shows abroad as advocates of Jamaica's child labour laws forced the young star to desist from performing - the first step in the onslaught of legal woes.

For several weeks, the custody battle raged on in local courts and made headlines - most of which, the artiste says, were unfounded.

"I saw it on the front page. I was shocked, like 'bombaat' how dem people yah so wicked and lie," he quips.
It's roughly two weeks since the court demanded he spend four days in a private home, away from the influence of both parents. he's reflecting on the state in which the whole ordeal has left him and how this will all unfold into music years from now.

"The day after the headlines I was in school and everybody was asking me if I am alright," he tells Splash. The second form Calabar High School student mentions, too, that several of his peers jeered him for spending time in what they believed was a boys' home. But the young star is quick to dismiss their unkind actions, saying that, "teasing is something you can't escape, not even me".

These days, he just wants to forget about everything, but not before the paperwork is all done.

"The verdict," the young artiste says, "is out, but some little things are still being reviewed" .

QQ also dismisses the reports that his father, known to many on the entertainment circuit as 'GQ', had been abusing him.
"A lot of people ask [if I am abused], but is not true. Daddy don't beat me," he tells Splash, adding that though he did pen the letter procured during the case; it did not, however, contain anything that could be used as evidence of his father abusing him.

As for his time away from home, QQ says it was a normal weekend, except the part where he was barred from contacting either of his parents.

"I played video games and went on the computer. it never really felt weird except I had no contact with my family," he says. "I really felt a way though, star, because I was like I can't talk to my daddy. him is a man I normally talk to everyday."

And though he's compelled not to reveal with whom he lives, he's confident in telling Splash that his ordeal is already translated into song.

"I have something new that's creeping steadily on the radio right now," says QQ of the song aptly titled Justice, "yes, it has something to do with the case".

Unity theme for Sting 2007

November 2, 2007

When Guinness Sting 2007 begins at the Jamworld Entertainment Centre, Portmore, St. Catherine, at 7:00 p.m. on Boxing Day, the official emphasis of the annual concert will be on unity.

However, the chuckles that followed Supreme Promotions' Howard McIntosh's announcement of D'Angel and Barbee in the 'Beautiful Ladies of Dancehall' segment grew into hearty laughter.

And McIntosh told those gathered at the Country Kitchen, Jamaica Pegasus hotel, New Kingston, on Tuesday night "Looks like I got your attention."

D'Angel and Barbee have had a 'Beenie' problem between them since D'Angel's estranged husband sported Barbee on his arm at Red Stripe Reggae Sumfest 2007 earlier this year.

And when McIntosh announced the section for 'Dancehall's Finest', including Chuck Fendah, Busy Signal, Vybz Kartel, Mavado and Ninja Man, he ended by saying "Yu gwine have a little thing with Beenie Man and Bounty Killer."

The other segments for Guinness Sting 2007 are 'Singer's Paradise', with Jah Cure, Tarrus Riley and Queen Ifrica, among others; 'The Pioneers', which will include Freddie McGreggor, Josey Wales and Burru Banton, and 'The Upcomers', Di Marko, Shane-O, Bennetto and Bugle being among the lot.

Joseph Oates, of title sponsors Guinness, said "When I think of Sting, one thing comes to mind - an exceptional night of reggae and dancehall music," while Simon Crosskill of Hitz 92 expressed the the RJR Communications Group's pleasure at being a part of the event.

To ensure the unity among those who attend Guinness Sting 2007, McIntosh saying that the intention is to pull in over 40,000 people, 1,200 security personnel will be on hand. In addition, no bottles, weapons or aerosol spray cans will be allowed inside Jamworld.

Leading up to Wednesday, December 26, a number of Sting road shows will be held across the island. The first is on November 16 at the Esso Tiger Mart, May Pen, it is on to Sip's Bar in Yallahs, St. Thomas, on November 30, with the official poster launch on December 7 at the Asylum Nightclub, Knutsford Boulevard, New Kingston.

Portmore gets the final two road shows, on December 14 at Ken's Wildflower and two days later at Prendy's On The Beach. The shows will not only give a sample of Guinness Sting 2007, but also serve as auditions from which persons will be selected to perform on the big Jamworld stage.

However, one person at the Pegasus on Tuesday night was not impressed with another talent contest. Deejay Ninja Man said "Dem a tell people no fi clash an' dem have dem pon TV a clash inna Rising Star. Sting, yu fi tek back yu position roun' ya. Rising Star nah bus who dem fi bus. A Sting put dem out ... Anthony Miller nah judge fair."

Supercat and Ninja Man clash

McIntosh followed with a disclaimer, that "Mr. Ballentine has made some comments that he is responsible for and those are not necessarily the comments of Guinness Sting."

In a recorded message, Minister of Information, Culture, Youth and Sports, Olivia Grange, wished Supreme Promotions all the best and said "I will never forget that night at Sting when Supercat and Ninja Man clashed."

Updates on the concert will be posted on the website www.stingjamaica.com.jm.

And, at the beginning, McIntosh said that, based on the research of music personnel, Sting "is the only international music event that has been staged for 24 consecutive years on the same date, rain or shine".

International dancehall recording superstar, Moses 'Beenie Man' Davis has offered his humble apology to the Jamaica Labour Party for recent comments made, after his alleged tax evasion case on Monday, October 29. The apology came after Beenie Man was asked by someone in court, not knowing the person was a reporter, if he thought he was being targeted because of his political affiliation. The dancehall artiste without giving it proper thought - immediately responded, saying that he believed he was in fact being targeted, and that it is being strongly said around the music circles. Jamaica Labour Party General Secretary Karl Samuda sent out a press release dismissing the allegation as "misguided, mischievous and absurd." In a statement issued through Davis' publicist Ray Alexander of Khool International, on Wednesday, October 31, Beenie Man apologetically said, "After deep reflection and investigation it has come to my attention that the information and the sources around me were not credible and that my statements were grossly inaccurate. My sources were misinformed and trying to make this issue seem political when it clearly isn't because this matter has been in front of the court from as early as April of this year, but apparently the documentations were submitted to my past management and not forwarded directly to me. I have absolutely no bias towards the JLP government and wouldn't intentionally try to create any animosity but it is a normal human reaction if somebody tells you that somebody is fighting you to try and defend yourself. Again I am very sorry and it was irresponsible to act on impulse before verifying that the information was truthful."

Kanye West To Release Book

November 1, 2007
Kanye West can add a new title to his list of accomplishments: author. The Louis Vuitton Don will make his book store debut early next year with Thank You and You're Welcome. Never one to hold his tongue, Thank You will feature various commentaries and insights form 'Ye. He describes the book as a collection of "creative, humorous and insightful philosophies and anecdotes used in creating his path to success." Fortunately for Kanye, his words won't be chopped up into 30 seconds sound bites by the media. "I deliver my personal message uncensored, without any five-second delay or media distortion," he says on his multimedia website, KanyeUniverseCity. Thank You is co-authored by J. Sakiya Sandifer, who is the author of a similar book of inspirational thoughts titled Think Think Think And Think Again . Fans wishing to purchase a copy of Thank You and You're Welcome can do so at www.kanyeuniversecity.com. The first 500 copies will be autographed by West and Sandifer.
SANTO DOMINGO, Dominican Republic - The tail end of Tropical Storm Noel triggered mudslides and floods in the Dominican Republic and Haiti as the death toll rose to 60 on Wednesday deadlier than all but one Atlantic hurricane this season.

The slow-moving storm lurched out of Cuba and stalled over the Atlantic, but was projected to skirt Florida and batter the Bahamas, the U.S. National Hurricane Center said.

With rain still falling two days after the storm hit, rescuers were struggling to reach communities cut off by flooding on the island of Hispaniola. As they did, they found a rising toll of death and damage at least 41 dead in the Dominican Republic, 18 in Haiti and one in Jamaica.

At least 50,500 Dominicans fled their homes, 12,000 of which were damaged, said Luis Antonio Luna, head of the Emergencies Commission. Flooding also forced the evacuation of about 1,000 prisoners from a prison north of the Dominican capital.

Luna said officials were trying to reach dozens of isolated communities, but bad weather, a lack of helicopters and damage to bridges and highways slowed rescue efforts.

Monica Segura, 28, and her family abandoned their riverside home Tuesday when water rushed in. They fled with some 200 other people to a sports complex in the Dominican town of Barahona.

"I don't even know how I'm alive," she said. "I lost everything. The only thing that I could save was the clothes I was wearing."

In neighboring Haiti, floods rushed through houses in the Cite Soleil slum, carrying away a 3-year-old boy as relatives frantically shouted for help and tried unsuccessfully to reach him through the muddy, debris-filled water.

Two people were killed when their house collapsed in a mudslide in the hillside suburb of Petionville, and at least three others died in Jacmel, where officials said 150 people were trapped on rooftops awaiting aid.

Some Haitian shelters were overwhelmed by evacuees. One in Cite Soleil, guarded by U.N. troops, had one blanket for every two people.

Noel is the deadliest Caribbean storm since Tropical Storm Jeanne hit Haiti in 2004, killing 1,500 people and triggering widespread flooding and mudslides before it became a hurricane. An additional 900 people were reported missing and presumed dead.

This year's deadliest hurricane, Category 5 Felix, killed at least 101 people in September, mostly along the Caribbean coast of Nicaragua and Honduras.

At 2 p.m. EDT, Noel was centered just north of Cuba's Cayo Santa Maria and about 190 miles south-southeast of Nassau in the Bahamas. Forecasters said it was almost stationary but would likely curve north later in the day. It had sustained winds of near 50 mph, up from 40 mph earlier in the day.

Eastern Cuba got soaked but apparently escaped major damage. It also was raining in the Bahamas, where authorities closed most government offices and lines formed at grocery stores and gas stations in Nassau, the capital.

Rough surf warnings were in effect for much of South Florida. Waves were pounding beaches in the Miami area, and residents of a waterfront condominium in South Palm Beach were urged to evacuate after the surf destroyed a retaining wall damaged by another storm.

Forecasters said the rain would likely miss drought-stricken Georgia, Alabama and other southeastern states..

-- Edited by Crazypickney at 17:16, 2007-10-31

A 37-year-old St. Elizabeth woman who tied a length of rope around her eight-year-old daughter's neck and dragged her around the house, was yesterday sentenced to two years probation with supervision, training and counselling.

Claudette Forbes, a farmer of Burnt Ground district, Santa Cruz, pleaded guilty to assault occasioning bodily harm when she appeared in the Santa Cruz Resident Magistrate's Court yesterday. Forbes, the court heard, was under tremendous stress, due to domestic problems with her daughter's father.

The court also heard that her daughter stole money from the home and allegedly did the same at school, bringing shame to the family.

It is alleged that on October 19, when the child returned home from school, Forbes held her in anger, and quarelled about her father and her alleged stealing habits. The mother then reportedly put the rope around her neck and hauled her around the house. When the child went quiet, she reportedly loosened her hold. The young child sustained bruises and cuts to several sections around her neck.

The matter was reported to the Santa Cruz police the same day and Forbes was arrested and charged on October 25.

She is to attend counselling twice a week.

An alleged would-be robber has died in a most alarming and unusual way as he attempted to escape out of the Clarendon Parish Library Saturday morning.

RJR News understands that about 1 o' clock watchmen who were on duty reportedly heard strange sounds coming from one of the bathrooms and went to investigate.

When they went to the room they were confronted by a man sporting dreadlocks.

It is reported that one of the watchmen left the room to alert the nearby May Pen police.

It is alleged that the robber then bolted towards a window in a bid to escape.

He however got stuck in the window as the space was reportedly too small.

The watchmen then tried to assist the would-be robber but in struggling to free himself his head got stuck in the window.

When the watchmen tried to free him, they realized that he was already dead.

The May Pen CIB is awaiting the results of a post mortem of determine the cause of death.

However, they are theorising that he may have broken his neck.

'Beenie was wrong' - Roberts

October 31, 2007
Started By Crazypickney1 Comments

STARRIGHT_1_PUFVGCurefeAM.jpg

Beenie Man's former,
manager Patrick Roberts, has dismissed as rubbish, Beenie's claim that he was being targeted because of his political affiliation.

On Monday following a court hearing in his tax evasion case, Beenie Man told persons gathered outside the court that he was coming under pressure because of his affiliation with the People's National Party.

However, following a press release in which the Jamaica Labour Party denied targeting Beenie Man, Roberts made a statement of his own on behalf of Beenie Man.

Misguided

The press release issued by the JLP yesterday, said it "dismissed as misguided, mischievous and absurd the claim by Mr. Moses Davis, popularly known as Beenie Man, that the tax case against him now before the court is a consequence of his being targeted by the new government because of his support of the PNP."

The JLP release also went on to state that, "the tax assessment levied on Mr. Davis and the action to recover, through the courts, was initiated long before the present government took office after the September 3rd elections."

When he spoke to The STAR yesterday, Roberts said Beenie was misguided. "I fully, ah hundred and fifty per cent back the Honourable Karl Samuda's statement, and it shows again the reality that my former artiste, speaks out of turn at times," Roberts said. Samuda was the contact named in the release.

Roberts said he was shocked by Beenie's claims. "Beenie Man has never been political and as much as I ran as a political candidate, Beenie has never got involved or contributed. He has always remained far from politics, apart from being charitable to both parties."

Spoke out of frustration

According to Roberts, "He (Beenie) probably spoke out of frustration, imagining all the problems that have been coming down on him recently."

Roberts also added that he had the utmost respect for the JLP.

"I don't see any sign of this new government targeting any artiste based on their political affiliation. And I have the highest respect for the Portfolio that this industry falls under. The Honourable Babsy Grange, she is like my second mother, other than my natural mother, Portia is my first, and I have the highest respect for Babsy," Roberts said.

New York, how some gal hole big like the bush fire outta California? A wah do dem? cry Some gal a hype and dem bed de pon four blocks and when rain fall, dem haffi use push broom sweep it out.yearight Jamaica, wah him say! Mi a hot gal, regular mi fly out fi go shopn, ah pure unusual brand mi wear, nothing no regular bout me, mi tile dem come from Italy, mi fridge come from Sweden, ah pure Chippendales furniture inna mi house. Wah happen to some GAL? Some gal 15 minutes of fame dun, dem need fi recognize dat. Money mi say!bgbg

BOUNTY REFUSES BEENIES INVITATION TO PERFORM
bounty.jpgMiami, mi haffi talk English pon da one ya. Will the Beenie-Bounty friction ever cease? Last week, at the Ultimate Storm show, Beenie invited Bounty onstage fi perform in the name of unity. Him say me and Bounty anno friend, but me want him come perform alongside me. He did it four times, and the crowd was there waiting expectantly to see what would happen, but Bounty never responded. Even when the promoter asked what would it take for Bounty to perform, the Warlord just ignored him. On the way back to Jamaica, the two icons sat in first class, only a few feet away from each other and never exchanged a word. Now, is this a case of Beenie trying to satisfy his fans? Or is it Beenie once again provoking the Killer. Beenie has always played the role of provocateur (yea, new word, people) with Bounty, goading him and taunting him over the years, but maybe last year, he went too far and there is no way that he and the Killer can have a cordial working relationship. At least not now, maybe not ever. Beenie should just leave the Killer alone, and sort out his legal woes.pengu

Beenie Man released on J$1.5m bail

October 30, 2007
Started By STAINLESS1 Comments
Dancehall artiste, Beenie Man who surrendered to the authorities today accompanied by his attorney, Garth McBean, was released on J$1.5 million bail this afternoon after a warrant was issued for his arrest last week. He is to return to court on December 3.

Beenie_Man111.jpgThe artiste failed to appear before the Tax Court to answer charges of tax evasion, according to the Jamaican Government, the artiste owes J$47 million in income tax.

When the artiste appeared before Senior Magistrate Owen Parkins today who refused Mr. McBeans appeal to quash the warrant.

The magistrate reminded the attorney that Beenie Man had ignored a previous warrant last year.

Mr. McBean argued that Beenie Man was abroad last week and missed his flight back to Jamaica, which caused him to miss the court date.

The magistrate warned that he would not tolerate any future disrespect to his court.

SPORTS

October 29, 2007
lklklk

-- Edited by Ill-matic on Sunday 16th of May 2010 05:58:18 PM

sports

October 29, 2007
lklklklk
-

-- Edited by mz más quería veterano on Friday 4th of June 2010 07:12:31 PM

Beenie 'slapped' with $1.5m bail

October 30, 2007
Started By Crazypickney1 Comments
STARCover_1_POUIIBeenieAM.jpg

Beenie Man appeared in the Kingston Tax Court yesterday and was offered bail in the sum of $1.5 million with a surety. He is to return to court on December 10.

Resident Magistrate, Owen Parkin, issued a warrant last week for Beenie Man's arrest after he failed to attend court after being bound over to do so.

Beenie's lawyer Garth McBean asked R.M. Parkin to vacate the warrant but the judge turned down the application.

The deejay remained in custody until his bail papers were processed.

He had been summoned to court last month to answer to charges of tax evasion. The deejay reportedly owes $29,290,116 in back taxes and $18,641,254 in penalties, bringing the total amount owed to a whopping $47,931,371.

Last week RM Parkins, clearly upset by Beenie Man's failure to honour his court date had said, "No one is above the law, not even me." He also wondered out aloud about how the deejay could have missed a court date that was publicly mentioned on television and radio.

When THE STAR contacted Beenie Man, however, he explained that he was in New York shooting a music video with Barbee for their Paddy Cake single.

Kartel on a blitz this Christmas

October 26, 2007
Started By STAINLESS7 Comments
Deejay Vybz Kartel has been blitzing the local market with an armada of new singles that are blazing the local street dances and parties all over Jamaica.

Kartel13.jpgSongs such as My Scheme, Weh Mi Come From, Any Man, Weh Dem Feel Like and Fatta than a Pound have all been released for the Christmas.

Were going to be campaigning hard this Christmas, were shooting videos for all these songs, so Vybz Kartel fans can look out for those, Wayne South, the new Empire director, will be shooting them for all the Empire artistes. Weve done a medley with Shawn Storm and Ryno, and he also shot one for Deva Brat, he said.

In the meantime, the single, My Scheme, produced by Stephen Di Genius McGregor of Big Ship Records and Any Man produced by Don Corleone Bennett has already hit the RE charts, while Empire Army, arguably his hottest single, is blazing up the Stampede Street Vibes chart. At the #14 spot.

The song is titled Fatta than a Pound and is produced by Open Ear Music the same producers who gave you the Natural Breeze Riddim.

This tune 'fatta dan a pound' is anodda gyal tune from Kartel, it reminds me of his hit song Tek Buddy so you know seh it a go hit. This looks like one of the songs to watch for the Christmas, it mash up Bembe last week, the producer Preki told
Other artistes on the Natural Breeze riddim include Beenie Man, Delly Ranks, Mr Easy, Burro Banton, Shane-O and more.
nas.jpg

Universal Music Group may face a withdrawal of $84 million in state investments if the company doesnt change the title of Nas forthcoming release, Ni**er.

According to local New York news outlet, The Brooklyn Paper, Assemblyman Hakeem Jeffries (D-Fort Greene) has requested that Comptroller Thomas DiNapoli withdraw the $84 million that New Yorks state pension fund has invested in Universal and its parent company, Vivendi.

"[They are] profiting from a racial slur that has been used to dehumanize people of color for centuries," Jeffries said. "It is time for Nas and other hip-hop artists to clean up their act and stop flooding the airwaves with the N-word."

Despite prior reports that the Queens MCs album title, Ni**a, was shut down by Def Jam, Nas has since clarified that his new album will be called Ni**er.

Although Universal did not respond to The Brooklyn Papers request for comment, a spokesman for DiNapoli, who manages the pension fund, said the comptroller "is concerned about this issue and is intending to contact the company and urge them not to release the album."

In February, the Council passed legislation urging people not to use the racial slur. Jeffries, a former assistant general counsel at CBS and lawyer at Viacom, said he is more interested in impacting the industrys bottom line.

"Its a staggering amount of money, which at least justifies a review of the appropriateness of the content that is flooding the public," he said.

| Munga and Macka top Observer Teenage Teen Choice Awards 2007

29-Oct-07 | by Clipse, Freelance Writer

Despite a late start, the inaugural staging of the Jamaica Observer Teenage Teen Choice Awards took place on Friday October 26 at the Talk of the Town at the Jamaica Pegasus Hotel.

macka_diamond.jpgMunga Honorable and Macka Diamond were the nights big winners. Munga won for Male Artiste of the year while Macka won Female Artiste of the year and Best Dressed Female Artiste.

Producer Donovan Don Corleon Bennett won for Producer of the year, while Alaine won for Vocalist of the Year. Both were noticeably absent from the awards show.

Other winners included Etana for Best Cultural Artiste; Busy Signal copped the 'Sell off' tune of the year for the song Jail which was voted Sell off Tune of the year; gospel artiste Keron Ennis for the Mothers Gospel Artiste of the year award; Mavado for Don DJ of the year; a surprising win came for Bugle who won the ZIP 103 Best new Artiste trophy. Many in the crowd stared in disbelief when his name was announced as winner in a category that included Munga, Christopher Martin and Timberlee.

Vybz Kartel was named Best Dancehall Lyricist; Voice Mail copped the Best Dressed Male Artiste trophy; and Sample Six won the Best Dancer trophy.

Hot Male Model went to Khalil Marks who came on stage to accept his award with a toothpick in his mouth; Saint Internationals Sosheba Griffiths won the Hot Female Model title; and co-host of the event Nikki Z won Favorite Media Personality.

Top Champs Athlete Female went to Neisha DaCosta from Immaculate Conception High; while Romane McKenzie from Calabar won Top Champs Male Athlete.

The Teenage Style Store award went to Cooyah Roots Wear, while Best Place without a Number One went to Little Ochi Seafood Restaurant in St. Elizabeth.

TGIF was voted Favorite Hangout Spot, while Top Fast Food Item went to KFCs Zinger sandwich.

Asafa Powell got the Digicel Top Sports Personality trophy.

The Awards show was hosted by ZIP 103 FMs Nikki Z and RETVs Stephen Supa Hype Davis.
 Blackout Promo Commercial for Britney Spears new cd.

Beenie Man on his way to Dominica

October 27, 2007
Started By JA_CANE2 Comments
Beleaguered deejay Beenie Man is enroute to the English-speaking Caribbean island of Dominica for a festival, and will not return to Jamaica until the weekend to tackle his legal problems with the government regarding his unpaid taxes.

Beenie_Man111.jpgBeenie Mans road manager Kevin said that he left from New York to go to Dominica because it wouldnt make sense for him to come here because he would have to jump back on a plane to head to Dominica, so he went straight there to help promote the festival. Beenies lawyers have been able to broker some sort of agreement with the cops for him to go in with his lawyer,  said a member of Beenie Mans

The case continues to generate international attention and media outlets in New York have picked up the story. Last year, Isley Brothers lead singer Ronald Isley was sentenced to three years and one month in prison for tax evasion. Isley was also ordered to pay $3.1 million in back taxes to the Internal Revenue Service.

Popular entertainers like James Brown in the United States has served time for tax evasion, while actor Wesley Snipes failed to file taxes for six years and is facing a maximum of 16 years behind bars.
STARLEFT_1_PPYIVCurefesAM.jpg

Dancehall deejay Beenie Man, who is now wanted by local authorities for not turning up for a tax evasion case, is planning to turn himself in to the authorities when he returns to the island today.

Resident Magistrate Owen Parkins yesterday issued a warrant for the immediate arrest of the deejay, born Moses Davis, after he failed to appear in the Civil Division of the Corporate Area Resident Magistrate's Court.

The deejay was booked to appear to answer to charges of tax evasion. The deejay reportedly owes $29,290,116 in back taxes and $18,641,254 in penalties, bringing the total amount owed to a whopping $47,931,371.

RM Parkins, clearly upset by Beenie Man's failure to honour yesterday's court date, said, "No one is above the law, not even me." He also wondered out aloud about how the deejay could have missed a court date that was publicly mentioned on television and radio.

When THE STAR contacted Beenie Man, however, he explained that he was in New York shooting a music video with Barbee for their Paddy Cake single.

"Mi did have court today (yesterday) but mi did a shoot a video an mi reach in late, an mi end up wake up late, suh mi miss di flight. Suh a mi lawyer mi did a count on fi guh represent mi but mi nuh know wah happen ...," Beenie told The STAR.

The deejay, who is also in the middle of a court drama with estranged wife D'Angel, said that he had not been aware of his 'wanted' status until The STAR contacted him. "Mi a try get mi lawyer, mi a try get Blue (his brother and road manager) an mi cyan get nobody fi tell mi what a gwaan," Beenie said.

As it relates to the millions he is alleged to owe, Beenie says that his former manager and business partner, Patrick Roberts, had been responsible for his finances.

"Dem (Government) sey mi owe dem from 'bout 1997-2002 an dah time deh mi deh a Shocking Vibes an Patrick Roberts is di man weh responsible fi everything. Him collect all a mi money, suh if mi need a car mi tell him wah model an him deal wid it, if mi want a house, mi tell him which part mi waan fi live an him guh buy it," Beenie said.

Patrick's responsibility
STARLEFT_1_PXFVCtrickRoAM.jpg
He also added, "Suh personal tax an' dem ting deh him (Patrick) suppose fi deal wid. Suh, when me leave Shocking Vibes, mi leave wid mi two long hand dem an' mi talent. Ah just my personal money and resources mi leave wid. Suh every contract, show, tour mi do Shocking Vibes use to deal wid dem."

Beenie says all this time he thought that all his bills were being taken care of, but he was wrong.

"Mi deal wid dem 22 years, an' mi cyan believe dem lef' mi inna suh much debt ...," the deejay said.

Since his tax problems manifested, Beenie says he hasn't attempted to speak to Patrick Roberts to get an explanation, but he says his lawyer and accountant are dealing with the matter.

"Mi nuh talk to Patrick since di tax ting, cause mi only hear bout it since di court date come up. Me wouldn't know sey my tax nuh pay. Memba sey mi bring in a Hummer, mi Benz, all a mi vehicle dem a nuh Jamaica mi buy dem and in order fi mi clear dem mi nuh muss haffi a pay mi tax dem?" Beenie questioned.

The deejay says that he is now wondering what else can go wrong. "Is like dem set dis ting yah pon mi, it come in like a chain reaction, when dis sort out, a nex ting a guh come. Mi nuh know a wah dis it come in like sey mi shouldn't did come out a dah crash deh inna di Humma an every ting jus done deh suh," Beenie said.

When contacted, Roberts, Beenie's former manager and CEO of Shocking Vibes, said that there is an obvious attempt to smear the artiste's career.

"The bottom line is that I remember paying quite a sum in February of last year, then came a ridiculous assessment. I wrote on behalf of the artiste to the Inland Revenue and when I wasn't getting anywhere with them, I then wrote to the Ministry of Finance for their intervention," Roberts said.

He continued, "We got back a letter immediately from them (M.O.F) indicating that they acknowledge the letter and the content and they need time to apprise themselves of the case, but in the meantime they would ask the Inland Revenue not to take any action against the artiste until they hear from them."

So now, Roberts says that he can't understand why they are facing these tax woes.

"I want to find out what is happening. Someone is trying to smear the artiste's character and at the same time we cannot pay what we don't earn. You cannot stay around a desk in an office and assess the music industry. The artiste is about hype and doing and saying things to keep them in the limelight and you cannot base assessment on this hype, the assessment is just ridiculous," he said.

Roberts says, "Beenie Man has never sold gold, he has only gone on interviews and said so and it is based upon utterances like those that these people are making such an assessment."

He, however, said, "What is due to the inland, I am willing to pass it over to them, but I will not pay for what was not earned."

Wots So Different

October 20, 2007
Started By Tommy Didads5 Comments
Since Im bored, & theres not nearly enough forums in the discussion section. Im gona ask a question. Is it worse if a woman cheats on a man. Or is it just as bad as if a man cheats on a woman?
and reasons plz

beenie-man-web.jpg

Sources revealed to RJR News Centre that Beenie Man is currently before the courts answering a total tax evasion claim in the region of $30 million when the interest is included. The revenue department of the Jamaican Government has submitted a claim on the artiste for millions of dollars in outstanding income tax.

When Beenie Man appeared before the Sutton Street Tax Court recently to answer the claim. He told presiding magistrate Owen Parkins that he did not know that he owed the government so much money in outstanding taxes.

According to Beenie Man, his former management was responsible for paying all his taxes. Beenie Man is to return to court on October 23, when he is to tell the court how he intends to pay the outstanding taxes.

producer of the year

September 11, 2007
Started By nibz20 Comments
Who ah go get producer of the year? Stephen Di Genius McGregor or Don Corleone? I have to say di genius going to get it this year

Prenuptial Agreements

October 20, 2007
Started By Crazypickney8 Comments
Would you sign one if ur partner asked or would you make ur partner sign one? why?

Pinchers and son at odds

October 24, 2007

STARRIGHT_1_PXXPSJuniorAM.jpgSTARRIGHT_1_PROUFZenithAM.jpg

Reggae artiste Pinchers
and his singing son Junior Pinchers are having trouble in the family. Junior Pinchers recently told the STAR that his father is not supporting his career and has stopped talking to him.

'Junior Pinchers', aka Kemar Thompson, claims that his father has not been speaking to him for a long time now. "Mi dads nah support di ting to di fullest, him kinda just ignoring me. I don't know if its jealousy or what to mek it happen. I've been trying to call him and asking him what's goin on and he ignores me," he said.

Junior Pinchers had recently hit the scene following in the steps of his father with songs such as Unfaithful Lover. In a previous interview with the STAR Junior Pinchers admits that he owes most of his early musical inspiration to his father.

"Mi father use to tek mi pon di bike guh roun a studio all bout, Jammys, Scorpio, Digital, an him did introduce mi to everybody an him sey listen to mi because he knew that I only needed a listening ear to prove myself," Junior Pinchers said.

Now Junior Pinchers is singing a different tune. He says he has no clue why his father would suddenly stop communicating with him.

Concerned

"Mi just concern, mi a call him bout shows, him nah ansa mi, mi go a show and see him, him nah hail me, mi wonda if is cause mi a Rasta a bother him," Junior Pinchers said.

Rumour reached the STAR that Pinchers and his son had stopped talking when Junior Pinchers started working with a new manager, Rachel Bernard. Many believe the two are involved in more than a professional relationship but Junior Pinchers adamantly refutes and doesn't see why his new manager should cause a problem between him and his father.

While upset by the situation, Junior Pinchers is adamant that he wants to build back the close relationship with his father.

no love lost

"Me love him so much, can't believe this is my biggest role model a go on so. Mi really like how Tarrus and his fadda roll. Mi woulda like fi tell him seh we need to come together, a him son and mi love him, him fi deal wid me like him proud of mi. I need him to own me up, stop act like mi a nobody and him not sure mi a him son," Junior Pinchers cried.

Repeated efforts to contact Pinchers proved futile up to press time.

cassidy.gif

Cassidy has a little advice for mogul Jay-Z. The Swizz Beatz protégé thinks the Def Jam prez should push his album back. "I think right now, the way that I got the hood on smash and the way that my song is poppin off, I dont think it would be a smart decision for Hov to drop on November 6," Cassidy told.

Cass new project, The Barry Adrien Reese Story (B.A.R.S.) is slated to hit shelves the same day as Hovs concept album American Gangster. And though Jays "unofficial soundtrack" to the flick of the same name has been getting good reviews, Cass said American Gangster is not as anticipated as any of Hovs classics.

"It aint like when [The Blueprint] Vol. 1 or Vol. 2 was gonna drop, its a lot different," Cassidy said.

Cassidys third solo effort is the follow up to Im a Hustla, in which he sampled Hovs voice on the title track.

Cassidy compared the projected sales stand-off to that of 50 Cent and Kanye West.

"The same way that Kanye and 50 both benefited from dropping on the same day, I think if I drop with somebody as legendary as Hov, I cant do nothing but benefit from that," Cass said. "Im happy that Hov, a person that really takes lyricism seriously, is coming back out again."

Hov isnt the only one Cass says isnt fit to come against him. The rapper recently smashed rumors of a battle rap with Joe Budden, saying the only emcee fit to battle him was himself.

Nas ‘ni**er’ Album

October 22, 2007
Started By DrJayBone1 Comments

Nas 'ni**er.' Album

610x.jpg

Nas insists his December 11th album will be entitled ni**er, despite reports of opposition from Def Jam.

I dont know where that [report] came from and neither does Def Jam, Nas said early Thursday morning (October 18) in a Manhattan recording studio when asked about a Fox News article published earlier this week. None of us knows where that came from.

You aint got no business worrying about what the word n*gger is or acting like you know what my album is about without talking to me, Nas tells MTV.com about the negative response to the album title from public figures, like Rev. Jesse Jackson.

Original Article http://hiphop.popcrunch.com/nas-ngger-album/

-- Edited by DrJayBone at 17:43, 2007-10-22

-- Edited by DrJayBone at 17:44, 2007-10-22
michael_jackson.jpg

Michael Jackson admitted recently that he is in the process of working on his first studio album since 2001 and who did he enlist to help him? Kanye West.

The rapper/producer recently admitted that he is in the label working on "stuff for Michael Jackson," he said to British newspaper The Sun. But, hes not working with Michael just because of who he is, West said he has to like the person does musically to get into the studio with them. "If I like a persons outlet or what a person brings to the table, then Ill speak to them," West told the paper.

In addition to Kanye, Michael has tapped the Black Eyed Peas Will.i.am as well, who, at first, didnt believe it was Michael when he initially called. "Michael called me out of the blue and I just didnt believe it was him," admits the producer. "I was like, Come on, who is this, how did you get my number? Stop playing around. He said, No its really me, its Michael.

"I still didnt believe it was him and was like, Dude, seriously, I got to go," he continued.

Michael send a message to fans via his official fan club on Wednesday (October 10), announcing the forthcoming album, and also said he would be announcing some "surprising news" very soon.

The album is expected to be released early next year.

«First  <  1513 514 515 516 517524  >  Last»  | Page of 524  sorted by