Forum: News & Topical Issues

News updates, entertainment, hot topics, gossip | Share and discover what is happening right now.
| Entertainment fraternity launch Operation Santa 876

15-Nov-07 |

With Christmas fast approaching a group of Jamaican organizations have created ties in bringing holiday cheer to those children who have been riddled with abuse, neglect and misfortune in their lives.

Operation Santa 876, the annual holiday charity campaign spearheaded by Goldie Lox Productions, ZIP 103FM, HYPE TV and One876Entertainment.com is the campaign ready to help those children in group homes, low income homes and with special needs to have a happy and blessed holiday.

While the average family enjoys the benefits of a happy holiday whether it's a holiday feast, decorations, toys or gifts, there are children who don't have any of those benefits because they lack even the basic needs. These forgotten children yearn for the bare necessities, of not just food, clothing or shelter, but love and family.

Organizers of the campaign will be collecting as much toys, decorations, food and other donations before December 20, 2007 then have some of our Jamaican celebrities hand the gifts to them. This will be a great package for these children, most will never have the opportunity to meet these persons whose songs soothes them when there sad, whose jokes makes them laugh when they'd rather cry,  faces they see on T.V being brought into their reality can give a child a hope that dreams do come true.

How donations will be collected:
1. With the help of local media sponsors we will solicit holiday shoppers to by an extra toy or gift and drop the donation off at one of the designated locations (to be announced).
2. Solicit local shops and businesses who carry any holiday type item to donate.
3. Solicit international media sponsors to have toy drives in their respective areas to carry out "holiday barrel drives." (Listeners will drop off items to designated locations and the media sponsors will have barrel shipped.)

Confirmed celebrities include:
Shaggy, Yendi Phillips (Miss Jamaica 2007), Beenie Man, Daville, Wayne Marshall, Tami & Tesse Anne Chin, Busy Signal, Macka Diamond, Spice, Mavado, Leftside, Esco, Romaine (Rising Star), Nikki Z (Zip 103 & Hype T.V),  Deadra (Hype T.V). More to be confirmed.

November 06, 2007

Phone Sex can be great fun

By: Rootzgirl

Rasta-Girl-Posters.jpgYeah yeah, this one is not for the prim and proper out there. It's for people who just love excitement and like doing something different. How you think I keep my man happy...cause whether him beside me or out of the country...him get him pleasure same way!

So this one is for all the lovers who have to separate from time to time and straight up you have no desire to cheat, here's a good alternative.

Well, who says sex between both of you can only happen when you are physically in the same place. Why not eliminate the distance by taking the excitement to your lover?

The next time he calls you on the phone, just blow his mind. Let him know you are missing him like crazy and that you are burning up and need some satisfaction.

Remember, this is not for those who are shy; you have to open up and come on as tantalizingly and seductively as you can, or else this will never work.

Make sure you are alone in your room with no distractions, then set the play in motion. If you don't have a vivid imagination, this might not be as successful.

Listed below are some tips to aid you in giving that man of yours a whale of a time on the phone trust me, phone conversation will never be the same again!

Put that sweet tongue of yours to good use. Your voice should range from softly seductive to cooing. Know when to whisper and when to inject urgency in your voice. Remember, you determine the mood.

Set the scene as if he is at home. Candles, negligee, pour yourself over the bed or floor like a cat, then dial the number...and start the action. Prepare him for the whole play. Take his mind back to a stormy session you had. Tell him to close his eyes, and lean back against the couch, or bed. Slowly undress him. Tell him what you are doing to him...get the drift?

Don't leave anything to his imagination. Tell him in vivid details just what you are doing to him (and yourself). Tell him how it's making you feel.

Knowledge is power. Isn't it great that you know your lover's weaknesses. Well use them to drive him crazy. If he's sensitive at a particular spot, tell him just what you are doing to it. If he eats you alive when you are in a particular outfit, then describe it in detail.

Open up. Since he's not beside you and dont have to feel self- conscious, ask him what's his wildest fantasy and see if you can bring it to pass over the phone.

When you feel that moment coming on don't be afraid to let him hear your increased breathing, make all the sex noise you normally do. Urge him along with you until you have both climbed that stimulating peak.

If your lover is away, expect a phone call later...don't put these valuable tips to wastehave the experience of a lifetime.

EMBARRASED

Einstein - lyrically armed
15-Nov-07 |

Dancehall has long been the genre of showdowns & clashes with anyone bold enough to step in its arena earning the chance to compete with the best of the best. Lyrically driven it takes skillful artists to compose melodies and hooks that have a shelf-life of longer than a few weeks, not to mention the appeal needed to grace highly competitive local charts.

Einstein1.jpgThe year is 2007 and a bubbling young deejay Einstein is preparing for a musical assault. Having only recently received One876: What was your first break out single?
EINSTEIN: Well the first single that I did was a song called Love Your Life on True Blue Recording Label in 2001 and the second one was Nah Run that I did for Scatta Dancehall Rock Riddim inna 2003 and the third one was Wet Up Yourself for Scatta also but the real break out single was Rise The Machine / Excalibur that I did for Steven McGregor on the Power Cut Riddim, Yea that was the big one.

One876: What are some of the strides youve made so far, how has things been progressing?
EINSTEIN: Well a long time mi inna the music business and nothing never really use to gwan, even when we a do the first set a songs but since me sing the tune for Steven Genius McGregor it really tek mi places cause all people a call from foreign now dem want to book me for shows, a Jamaica mi start get a whole lot of shows to do. I have some small island shows coming up, one in New York a tour in Germany, so since that song progress has been made.

One876: How would you describe your style of deejay?
EINSTEIN: Well my style is a type of Singjay but it hardcore, it not really soft (laughing). It have hooks, it catchy, I sing for the punch lines and just flow but when mi touch the verses mi really meditate cause mi like lyrics, mi like when someone can listen and get substance out of it.

One876: Who are some of the producers youve worked with?
EINSTEIN: Mi work with Steven McGregor everybody done know that, mi work with Jam 2, Birch, Delly Ranks a real good producer and DJ, mi work with Baby G that a Jam Two brother King Jammys youth dem, Disc Jock Ice from Coppershot and nuff other producers.

One876: I saw a video clip of your latest single Black Rain Fall, talk to me about that project?
EINSTEIN: Well Demarco is the producer of the song, he called me one night and ask me to voice on his riddim so I jumped on my bike and go down to King Jammys studio and me and him sit down a vibe till mi come up with the melody Black Rain Fall. After it done mix mi decide say me ago give them a video for it so mi check mi video director friend Smokie and do a video, right now it a get crazy rotation but Black Rain Fall is not the only new single out, Mi have a ting call Shoot Dem Up on Delly Ranks Shoota Riddim and mi have High Rise on Jam Two Slash Out Riddim.

One876: Ok and you have a mix tape out?
EINSTEIN: Yea mon the mix tape a go hard people love it cause me is a man that promote my ting dem, mi nuh feel shame fi tek a money outta mi pocket and buy 2000 CD and burn it and give them away free just like how mi tek my money outta my pocket and shoot my video fi promote the ting.

One876: Aright go ahead and big up all who help Einstein along in music, call some names.
EINSTEIN: As mi say big up the producer dem, big up Scatta, Jam Two, Demarco, Delly Ranks, Steven McGregor, DJ Ice, Baby G, DJ Marvin, DJ Quami, ZJ Liquid, Troy Porter and all other disc jocks that hear Einstein and say yow da youth ya have potential cause at the end of the day me only make the first moverecognition as a true lyricist Einstein exudes confidence in his work. Judging by his string off break out singles he is ready for warfare with sharp flows flipping verse in, verse out with the deep texture of a well trained voice powering over most of the summers hottest rhythm tracks. Einstein who is an independent artist with no label ties is however the first to tell you that this is only the beginning and dancehall is no one man band, connections and goodwill goes a far way in getting your work out to the masses. Now coming into his own Einstein has an attentive audience craving new records, mix that with the respect of most local Radio DJs and in a few years dancehall could see a next crossover prospect.

His image is crisp and with a distinct personality that seems to explode once he steps foot on stage mic in hand the Rise up the Rifle deejay is strapped with extra clips in hand scoping a successful career in music.

One876Entertainment.com went in search of the rising artist to better understand what he has to offer dancehall music.

Community: Spoilers/ Central Kingston/ South Side/ Jungle
Management: Independent

One876: Ok Einstein what made you decide to become a deejay?
EINSTEIN: Well it was good music first of all; all type of music Hip hop, Rap, Souls, Dancehall and more so the artists. The artists dem that put out good work, the lyricist dem because what draw me to music is lyrics, me a DJ from me a 10 y.o but mi really start pay attention at 14 to Bounty Killa, Spragga Benz and many more.

November 13, 2007

Steel Pan music to replace dancehall!

patrick_manning.jpgIn an article in the Trinidad Express Prime Minister of Trinidad Patrick Manning at the official launch of the steel band Divine Echoes expressed the hope that it would replace their desires for music forms such as reggae/dancehall, hip-hop and other popular genres which in his opinion "do not result, in the kinds of directions that we consider ideal for the young people of Trinidad and Tobago."

The T&T PM is hopeful that the recently launched band, Divine Echoes, will sway the youth away from illicit living by turning them on to a more pristine form of music as opposed to the fare they are presently exposed to via the mass media.

Just how one will convince the young people to turn away from their cherished Jay-Z, Bounty Killa, Beenie Man, Soulja Boy, Munga, Fiddy, T-Pain and others of such ilk for the "Green Green Grass Of Home", none including Manning have yet explained.

Well, from where Yardflex stands he has his job cut out for him!

SYDNEY (AFP) - Santas in Australia's largest city have been told not to use Father Christmas's traditional "ho ho ho" greeting because it may be offensive to women, it was reported Thursday.

Sydney's Santa Clauses have instead been instructed to say "ha ha ha" instead, the Daily Telegraph reported.

One disgruntled Santa told the newspaper a recruitment firm warned him not to use "ho ho ho" because it could frighten children and was too close to "ho", a US slang term for prostitute.

"Gimme a break," said Julie Gale, who runs the campaign against sexualising children called Kids Free 2B Kids.

"We are talking about little kids who do not understand that "ho, ho, ho" has any other connotation and nor should they," she told the Telegraph.

"Leave Santa alone."

A local spokesman for the US-based Westaff recruitment firm said it was "misleading" to say the company had banned Santa's traditional greeting and it was being left up to the discretion of the individual Santa himself.

Ninja Man is taking his peace initiative project in the Marl Road Community, near Waterhouse to another level!

The veteran deejay tells Music News he was so impressed with the involvement of the Marl Road Community that he has extended his plans to quell the crime and violence in the area. His plans include painting the sidewalks, fixing potholes, cleaning of the streets and finding a trade for the youths of the community.

Ninja Man who is presently funding the project adds that he is determine to create peace and love in the Marl Road Community.

Court date for Kartel, babymother

November 15, 2007
Started By Crazypickney1 Comments
STARLEFT_1_PIAOMexplosiIK.jpg

The mother of Vybz Kartel's child, Sherika Todd, is taking him to court for child support. The court date is set for December 21 in St. Ann.

This comes more than a week after Todd filed a report at the Runaway Bay Police Station claiming that her life was threatened after she ended her four-year long relationship with the deejay.

According to Todd, the lawmen have been so far unsuccessful in contacting Kartel, whose real name is Adijah Palmer. She says she has, however, been assured that the week will not pass without the deejay being served the summons.

When contacted, an officer attached to the Runaway Bay Police Station informed THE STAR that, "Only the officer (Constable Wisdom) who got the report could give an update and he is currently on sick leave."

In the meantime, Todd says she also wants to make it clear that "Addi (Kartel) has been going around doing interviews and telling lies," and that she wants to set the record straight.

"How could you have ended the relationship months ago (which Kartel said on a recent radio interview) when I was with you two weeks ago and I was the one who decided to call it a day?" she asked.

"I've also been trying to figure out how he could have said that he moved me out of an apartment in Kingston to move in his new girl when I've been living at my own place in Runaway Bay all my life," Todd said.

Todd, however, warns that if Kartel does not stop spreading the lies and owns up to the responsibility of his seven-month-old daughter Adi'anna, she will be forced to use her last line of defence.

"If I really wanted to become vindictive, I could just sit at my computer and destroy his whole life with the click of my mouse," Todd warned.

She also added, "Addi, I will not be caught up in a 'he says/she says' dispute as I will be settling this in the courts by late December. Addi can continue to do what he does best, talk a bag a tings."

Efforts to reach Vybz Kartel for a comment on the matter again proved unsuccessful as his cellphone went straight to voicemail. According to Todd, she heard that he changed his cellphone number because of her.

A recorded message was also left by Kartel on his old cellphone number, apparently for Todd, which said: "yow mi change mi numba, cause mi nuh waan talk to you, suh it switch. Suh fcyou bic."

November 08, 2007

Passa Passa

beenieman@.jpgBeenie beg fans to stick with him.
Bwoy Beenie wi know sooner or later yuh woudda bruck dung emotionally...but memba sey yuh fan base still strong - straight!

At Early Mondays a Standpipe di floodwater buss as Beenie Man teck di mic and start to tell the crowd sey a di wuss year fi him.

Him sey him lose three brothers, him owe government and pon top a it him haffi dash weh him woman. Massa, di DJ put dung a piece a bawling fi bout five minutes. Him beg him fans dem fi stick wid him but from how dem react to di doc in tears...dem nah guh no weh lef him! Beenie yuh safe.

Joint Account with your partner

October 20, 2007
Started By Crazypickney16 Comments
Would you have a joint account with your partner out of marriage or during marriage?
D'Angel release 'Blaze' video
13-Nov-07 | by K'riq

Jamaican artiste, Michelle Downer-Davis more popularly known as DAngel released the video for her latest single Blaze, produced by Fresh Ear Productions.

The video, directed by Kimala Lala Bennett and edited by the Kritik, has clean scenes that enhance the audio. Over the last few years, directors have improved their game by improving their equipment to increase the visual quality.

For the most part the video was shot in a runway setting with girls modeling and camera's flashing.

Artiste: DAngel
Track: Blaze

-- Edited by mz más quería veterano on Friday 4th of June 2010 05:55:26 PM

ALTERNATIVE QUESTION ?

November 13, 2007
Started By jahblem7 Comments
bless everyone. me know some alternative yes but i need some help. this friday me have a dance but me want to throw in a alternative segment. i need someone who can tell me the best alternatoves to play to get a GARUANTEED FORWARD. i dont mean your personal favorite but something u see buss a dance before. me already ahve like linkin park numb, marron 5 this love but me need some more. please keep in mind the people weh me play for only know the BIG HITS. link up

CHINEY GONE MAD!!!!

November 14, 2007
Started By skendon1 Comments
qwhati caa source di article rite bout now but s**t is...di chiney man dem a recycle USED condoms...yes ppl condom weh juice up. wat for yu mite ask...bwoi...inna hedbands enuh n dem s**t deh.di lastic weh mek it stretchy...yes ute. suh yu is like a buddy hed wen yu wear dat. hed grouns out...juice out:| yu bow:| the source for the condoms is at nite clubs n strip joints...suh trus me..all sum aids up drugs unuh a beat!!! later mi source mi primary data source.qwhat

November 14, 2007

Kanye West's mom death leaves more questions than

west_adams.jpgMedia reports have surfaced that Kanye West's mom may have fallen victim to a surgeon with a shady past. According to tmz.com the tummy tuck and breast reduction performed on her by Dr. Jan Adams took eight hours, which is twice as long as such a procedure warrants.

According to TMZ just weeks before Donda West died, a plastic surgeon refused to perform procedures on her because of a health condition that could have led to a heart attack.

If only Donda had listened to the voice of wisdom that came to her in the form of a Beverly Hills physician, TMZ reports. Dr. Andre Aboolian, reportedly refused to perform the surgery for her until she was cleared by an internist who he recommended. West never went for that clearance and changed doctors completely.

An autopsy on Dr. West is scheduled to be completed by Wednesday. The Los Angeles Coroner stated Monday that Donda West, 58, died Saturday because of "possible complications due to surgery."

According to MediaTakeOut.com the doctor who performed the cosmetic surgery on Kanye West's mother has been in trouble before. Documents obtained by them show that Dr. Jan Adams had a disciplinary action filed against him earlier this year. It also shows that Dr Adams paid close to $500,000 in malpractice judgments against him.

There are also questions surrounding the doctor being certified with the American Board of Plastic Surgeon.

Other doctors from the Centinela Hospital where West was rushed to the emergency room Saturday night, reported that they believe the excessive amount of time it took to perform the procedure suggests either something went wrong during the operation or the doctor was just too inexperienced.

Jordan's Divorce Costs Him $168 Million

nascar-jordan.jpgWe knew all along that Michael Jordan's divorce could break all types of records. But until now, we didn't have a final number. Now, thanks to The Sunday Times, we do:
The final severance package for Juanita Jordan, which includes the couple's seven-acre estate in Chicago and custody of their three children, is expected to be agreed before the first anniversary of their last row which was said to be about money.

The settlement eclipses the most expensive celebrity divorce on public record, in which Neil Diamond paid his ex-wife Marcia Murphey £75m. After licking his wounds, the singer, who had married the television production assistant before he became famous, won plaudits for his chivalrous verdict. "She's worth every penny," he said.
Deuce of Davenport thinks this could spark another MJ comeback; that's a little far-fetched, seeing as Jordan's still insanely wealthy. But who knows, maybe this will heighten his involvement in the Charlotte Bobcats. He's invested in them heavily, and all of a sudden those dollars count just a little bit more. In the days before the draft, Jordan emerged as more than a letter-writing figurehead, but he could probably run the organization if he wanted to.

Oh, and if you're wondering, that means Kobe Bryant would have to talk to Juanita about buying that house.

Tuesday Coffee Break - Deva Brat links with Skatta's network
13-Nov-07 |

DEVA LINKS WITH SKATTAS NETWORK
Jamaica, New York, Canada, U.K, dah news yah hot. Deva Brat start link up wid the Network now, and the streets love what a gwaan. The man song, Bundle a Gal deh pon crazy mixtape, crazy money ah spend pon him now, and now him have a big producer, Skatta Burrell innah the camp.

Deva ah tek on the big deejay dem inna the business one by one, see dem push him offa stage last week Friday innah Asylum because the man energy have dem worried. People ah wonder how him and Skatta ah link, because memba say Donia and Skatta was linky before dem split, and Deva did a try clash wid Aidonia last year, so it look like Skatta find a next deejay him believe innah, so some people worried.

Deva, wah yu say? Portmore Empire to the World and Network Up and Live to the world. Actually, factually, ah so de ting set.

MOB MASHES UP FULL CLIP SHOW
Everybody ah talk about the bottle-flinging that go down at Full Clip over the weekend. Dem say the promoter fi just rename the show Full Bottle because ah bear ah that gwaan, three round of bottling because the show did so long and drawn out, and it come in like the big artistes dem never did a come ah the show.

The first bottling start when Nuffy call out the bands and the bands never reach yet. Ah crazy bottle reach him, him forced to take evasive action, all Nuffy woman get lick backstage. Then Ninjaman calm the people dem down, and bring on Teflon, but as soon as him done, bottle start rain again. The people dem mash up the public address equipment, so by the time Beenie reach, yuh coulda barely hear wah the artiste dem ah say. Still, Beenie, Capleton and Ninja nice it up, but as soon as dem leave, the people dem mash up the stage, lighting and everything even though the promoter say Mavado and Killer de pon the way. Now everybody ah blame everybody else, Nuffy ah blame the stage manager, Milk. The promoter ah say is Nuffy call up the bands when it neva de de. Pure confusion.

FEMALE ARTISTE FACE OFF
Who and who and who anno friend again? The season look competitive. Spice vs Angel. Spice vs Macka Diamond. Queen Paula vs Spice. Danielle vs Angel. Face vs Ruffian. Stacious vs Macka Diamond. But where is Timberlee inna the war?

BIG UP
Large up Nekita Thomas, di man celebrate him birthday yesterday and crazy partying di man gwaan wid. Wi get di photograph dem and mi love off di browning yuh did hug up pon di right.
Deva_Brat.jpgDeva

November 13, 2007

Passa Passa

foota-hype.jpgFoota Hype try nuh guh a jail again.
Foota Hype we a warn yuh if yuh nuh waan guh a jail again, yuh affi behave yuhself. Yardflex cum across certain information weh yuh gwaan wid and it nuh sound good at all. If yuh do it again, this time we a guh talk up di tings dem. Memba Foota sey everybady have rights even baby maddas. Wi nuh back foolishness, kip yuh cool and kip yuh head...meck di whole a we stay pon friendly terms...nuh do it again! Caan sey wi neva warn yuh.

November 14, 2007

Macka Diamond takes Bun Him to the World

MackaDiamond.jpgMacka Diamond's Diamond District Ja. takes new novel, "Bun Him", on tour

Macka Diamond has a full schedule for the rest of the year. Between her book tour, voicing singles and shooting music videos and running her recently started company her calendar is full for the rest of the year.

With the release of "Bun Him", Macka Diamond's critically acclaimed debut novel, she has been on the road, locally, regionally and internationally, making promotional appearances and signings. "I can't get anything done around here! Reading the book and loving it! It's a great story and very very, very believable!" exclaimed Lady Cham from Virginia Radio.

Macka is not however, neglecting her die-hard Dancehall fans, so she has recorded new tunes to keep the party going, including "Laptop", produced by Damion Morsby on the Laptop riddim for the D'Ice label. However, in December, she will be shooting a new music video for another single, 'Dandy Shandy', under the direction of the very esteemed, Jay Will.

Macka Diamond has indeed expanded her repertoire and now it also includes the title of "businesswoman" as she recently launched her own company called "Diamond District Ja.", which she'll now be operating under. Already in the pipeline, the company is planning a Christmas treat for blind children who are housed at various Children's Homes across Jamaica . Macka will try to make as much appearances as her schedule will allow during this festive season.

Following that, the company will be focusing on Macka Diamond's Birthday Bash, which will be a three night celebration, starting on Friday, January 25. It will kick off in fine-style by means of "Bingo With The Stars", at the Ranny William's Entertainment Centre. Saturday, January 26, will be the main show, featuring Macka Diamond and friends, Venue TBA, and on Sunday, January 27, we will wind things down with the hosting of an all- white pool side party, set tentatively for the Morgans' Harbour Hotel.

Was shot by a popular director, who did videos for fabolous an 50 cent, lets see how it turn out.
Bounty ago card beenie tho, bcuz at one point Barbee hav ice cream between her legs,lol. wa dem a deal wid!!

Everything is every thing, bwoy a bwoy King a King!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
i think i was da 1 who lost my virginity first...how old were u when u lost it

Curtis vs. Graduation

September 11, 2007
Started By Glitch10 Comments

Curtis vs. Graduation

[kanye+&+50+cent.jpg]

Today marks Hip Hop history as two of the most anticipated albums 50 Cent's "Curtis", and Kanye West's "Graduation" are being released on the same day. Adding to the hype, they are both being released on 9/11. Go out and support these artists, and we will see who wins, when the Soundscan numbers are released next week.

Brop Brop.....

HAPPY MOMENTS

November 12, 2007
Started By pengo1 Comments
                     ClickroMe
http://www.bbc.co.uk/1xtra/robboranx/

-- Edited by Crazypickney at 16:17, 2007-11-08

November 12, 2007

Beenie Man saves the day

Beeniman2.jpgAll hell broke loose at "Full Clip" last Saturday at the Puerto Seco Beach. We are talking bottles and stones raining in all directions and patrons jumping into the sea to get away. But what was causing all this? It was 4 am Sunday morning and still there were no big named acts to grace the stage.

Mavado, one of the advertised acts was busy hosting a show in Old Harbour and he didn't leave that venue until about 3:30 am, Macka another advertised name Yardflex understands was in England and Bounty Killer it is alleged had issues with the promoter because he was working on tracks while Beenie would be working with his band.

The melee was temporarily averted when Ninja Man went on stage and took command like a pro. He distracted them from their grouse and the place was nice again...until Ninja eventually left the stage, then bottles and stones reigned again!

This time the promoters put in a frantic call to Beenie Man who in trying to accommodate Bounty offered to close the show so as not be a distraction with his band.

Beenie Man had to drive like a mad man to the venue to perform on tracks as the crowd was out of control.

The doctor had the remedy and he effectively had them dancing and enjoying themselves. It was total pandemonium when Ninja Man and Capleton joined him on stage. The three kept the niceness vibes flowing until the end of the show.

The crowd left leaving behind evidence of the frustration lying all over the ground.

Kanye West's Mother is Dead

November 11, 2007
Started By Crazypickney11 Comments

RaisingKanyeDondaWest.jpg

Kanye West's Mother, Donda, Dies | Kanye West

Sadly, Kanye Wests mother, Donda West, passed away Saturday in Los Angeles, the rappers publicist said late Sunday.

We had heard a rumor that Donda died while having plastic surgery, but that is just a rumor at this point.

Wests publicist did not reveal a cause of death.

Donda West recently released a book about her son called Raising Kanye: Life Lessons From The Mother Of A Hip-Hop Superstar.

A former English professor, Donda was very close to Kanye, most recently working as his manager and for his companies.

November 10, 2007

Record 57 medals for Jamaica at Special Olympic World Games

special_olympic_team.jpg

Jamaica secured a record 57 medals at the 12th Special Olympic World Games In China in October, shattering the previous best of 37 garnered in Ireland in 2003.

The Jamaicans participated in eight sporting disciplines. They were: Track and Field, Football, Basketball, Volleyball, Bocce, Badminton, Swimming and Roller Skating.

Virtually lighting up Shanghai, the Jamaicans developed a cult like following ....never mind the peas bread, and the vegetarian goose with blended carrot Yangzhou style.

That 13 hour flight across the Atlantic only served to rev up the Black Green and Gold delegation of 55 Athletes and 11 coaches.

The Special Olympic Reggae Boys took China by storm, in living up to Munga Honourables, 'Bad from mi Baan', beating everything in front of them. Led by Sydney Manyan and Rocky Lindsay, they wrapped up a memorable sting with a five nil win over China, in the final.

Jamaican Swimmers secured 11 Medals in their splash led by Kadian "good like gold" Ingleton, who secured 1 gold, 2 silver and 1 bronze.

In addition three other athletes who stood out with excellent performances were Coy Briscoe in Track and Field, Ryan Farquarhson in Track and Field, and Terry Burgess in Bocce.

Briscoe with two bronze medals, one in the half marathon event and the other in the 1500 meters, taking third place in the grueling Marathon event in just 1 hour and 36 minutes.

Farquarhson in his third stint at the World Games level, secured 1 bronze in the 500 meters, a silver in the 2x300 meter relay, with compatriot Richard Habib, getting his gold in the 300 meters. While Terry Burgess was responsible for raking in a gold in the men's singles event, a silver in the doubles and a bronze in the team section.

Executive Director of Special Olympic Jamaica Lorna Bell explained that she was satisfied with the performance of the coaches, and athletes for their effort in flying the banner high in the Oriental Pearl. Bell was given the Order of Distinction (Officer Class) upon her return from China.

One athlete said, on the night before Jamaica left Shanghai that - the Jamaicans sell off!

Comments
Unconfirmed reports are circulating that the brother of popular and influential Jamaican entertainer Elehant Man was detained by the police in relation to the kidnapped and murdered of Jhanel Whyte and Jamaican underground rapper Tyawo McKenzie aka Rap Brown. Jhanel Whyte and Tyawo McKenzie were merely playing the role of good Samasritans never lived to tell the tale of the good deed they were in the process of doing as they were kidnapped, murdered and their bodies dumped in the bushes of Mount Salus, Red Hills, in St. Andrew.

Assistant Commissioner of Police, Les Green, head of the Major Investigation Task Force (MIT) revealed that "The throats were slashed,".

Jhanel Whyte and Tyawo McKenzie had gone to a community off Red Hills Road, on Wednesday, to look for and compensate a motorcyclist and his pillion rider, with whom they had a motor vehicle accident on Tuesday while travelling in Havendale area. The motorcyclist and his pillion rider were taken by the young couple to the University Hospital of the West Indies, where they were treated and released.

Arrangements were made and the following day, the couple went to look for the men. When they did not return home, an alarm was made and the police alerted. The. However, they never returned home.

ACP Green said the bodies which fit the profile of the missing couple, were discovered by a farmer yesterday morning in a bushy crack, on top of Mount Salus.

Mr. Green believes the bodies could have been there for at least 24 hours

As the atmosphere intensifies in anticipation of some big clashes at Sting this year, deejay Spice has already began to ruffle a few feathers with her latest single,I'm Back. In the song, Spice lashes out at a woman whom many believe to be fellow artiste and Beenie Man's estranged wife, D'Angel. The two have been at odds since allegations that Beenie Man solicited Spice shortly after the couple's 2006 nuptials. In a section of her song, Spice declares, "Dem time a year yah, mi mean mi nuh share yah Raffling a gwaan, dem nuh know dem babyfadda Zagga gi yuh Range but yuh shoulda get a Lada Guh tek back yuh ring, she a nuh wife (hiss teeth)" According to Spice, "the idea for the song came about because of what she (D'Angel) said in the paper. A sey mi a gyal an dem ting deh, so that's where the idea came from." In an earlier interview with THE STAR following a stage show at which D'Angel was booed and Spice lashed out at her, D'Angel was quoted as saying, "Shi (Spice) just gi birth. She fi stop act like a gal. Act like a mother and be more supportive of women. Di same ting weh happen to me can happen to her. She constantly trying to diss mi and mi nuh si har. Shi fi clean up har act man. Mi neva trouble dis gal." Spice, however, admitted that she was not the one who wrote the scathing lyrics and that the song is not directed at D'Angel. "Ghandi wrote the song and he called me up and made me hear it and I liked the vibes, but the song is not directed at any one particular person but if somebody waan pick out a part an sey a dem mi a talk, who di cap fit, let dem wear it, cause mi neva call nuh nameÉbut the song is basically letting everybody know that I am back." However, Spice, who, along with D'Angel is on the line-up for Sting, says she is ready for anything at the traditionally hardcore show. "Any ting a any ting," Spice said, "Who waan bring it, bring it, mi nah back from nutt'n." Spice continued, "I've been away for five months an a ten tune a day mi write suh sen dem fi come run up inna dis. Nuffy sey dem sey dem a guh beat mi, an dem know who 'dem' is, suh when dem ready dem fi come, cause dem si weak fence suh dem fi come skate it. Don't trouble trouble till trouble trouble you. Mi modda tell mi sey when mi si fiya mi fi out it." In the meantime, rumours have also been spiralling that persons affiliated with Sting have begged Spice to 'ease off' D'Angel's back for the time being as there was hope of organizing a clash between D'Angel and her nemesis Barbee. It is widely believed that Beenie's relationship with Barbee was a factor in the breakdown of the marriage. However, when Spice was asked to confirm whether or not these rumours were true, she declined to comment saying, "mi cyan talk bout dat." D'Angel, who confirmed that she would in fact be on Sting this year however says she is not preparing for a clash. "Me always keep my ting clean. I do good music and I aim to entertain and please my fans, that's it. Right now I'm going for the Grammys. Dem ting deh (clashing) don't put you anywhereÉI'm not in it for the hype, I'm in it for the longevityÉI promote good music, nothing else. I'm not known to be a clash artiste, that's not my style," she told The STAR. "If somebody walk out pon mi (at Sting) mi a guh lef di stage gi dem," she said. Efforts to reach Isiah Laing of Supreme Promotions, the body responsible for staging Sting, were unsuccessful, as he was said to be out of office for the day and his cell phone went straight to voicemail.

MERCILESS FOUND!!

November 10, 2007
Started By Crazypickney3 Comments
STARRIGHT_1_PACPSExplosAM.jpg

The whereabouts of deejay Merciless, have now been ascertained.

Gadaffi, the deejays manager told The STAR that he has finally made contact with Merciless, whose real name is Leonard Bartley, who was believed to be incarcerated.

"Leonard deh a road. It wasn't fi him case, di person he was driving with, the police wanted and they held both of them," Godaffi said.

Godaffi, who spoke with THE STAR in an earlier interview had said, he could not reach Merciless, but had heard that he was in jail in the US.

"I saw his (Merciless) brother the other day an him did a sey him hear sey Merciless inna lock up, but dem nuh sure what's happening either," he had said.

While Godaffi said he was still unclear as to the full details surrounding Merciless' arrest and subsequent release, he says he is sure of one thing: "Merciless will be in Jamaica soon, he'll be heading to Crystal Spring this Sunday at my show in Portland."

Merciless, who is scheduled to return to the island next week Sunday, can be seen in live action on stage at the Crystal Springs Family fun day, alongside other acts like Tarrus Riley, Richie Spice, Ninja Man, Capleton, Chuck Fender and Sizzla.

Godaffi says, "the family fun day is a show that will start from 10 a.m. for the kids and show time is at 2 p.m."

But what else is in store for Merciless?

Gadaffi says, a stint on Sting might be in the works.

"Wi a pass tru Sting to an he is back, ready fi every ting. He's more lyrical than before and he says he is still the Warhead," Godaffi said.

Merciless also sent out his own warning saying, "mi cyan mash up, cyan dead, I'm still di Warhead."

"I'm back, wicked than ever" Spice

By Joan Wilson

Spice2.jpgSpice is back! She is making no bones about it either. Pregnancy might have slowed her down, but definitely didn't hamper her progress on the dancehall scene.

Now that she has her precious bundle of joy, Spice is even more determined to eat a bigger slice of the pie out of dancehall and according to her, "I'm back, wicked than ever, all dem gal weh tink dem a run di place...watch out..." was the ominous warning from the lyrically sharp DJ.

Those are no idle threats considering she has pitted her deejaying skills against the very energetic DJ Elephant Man at Sting 2002 and that contest was just too close to call. She has the respect of other top male DJs who has seen her in lethal action.

And to think that the sexy, almost shy DJ once contemplated a career as a Chartered Accountant!

"Yup I was doing business in school and I passed eight subjects...was gearing up for sixth form at St. Catherine High and decided I couldn't deal with all those numbers for the rest of my life," Spice confessed.

After that Grace Hamilton aka Spice enrolled at the Edna Manley College for the Visual and Performing Arts to do voicing and drama...during that time she also joined the group Ashe.

Outstanding performances are not strange to Spice as while a student at St. Catherine High she entered the Jamaica Cultural Development Commission (J.C.D.C) festival competition year after year in the singing category, all the time earning for her school 5 gold medals in total.

Spice finally got the break she was seeking in 1999 to sing when she went on Nuffy's programme called "Many Moods of Nuffy" which featured her Portmore community.

After that her friends started encouraging her to pursue a career in singing, but Spice soon found out that she much rathered the effect she had on her fans when she deejayed!

It was that side of her that impressed Supreme Promotion's Heavy D who took her under his wings and gave her, her first big performance on Sting 2000. Spice earned for herself four encores...she had arrived!

Spice.jpgNow a mother Spice admits to being motivated by her son and that is the catalyst to push her career to a more professional level and as such she is working with the best to take her to the next level in the biz. Her team members include publicity firm Khool International headed by Ray Alexander, booking agent, stylist, road manager, street team and of course she already has Madhouse dealing with most of her production. Spice is also working with other top ranked producers.

"I am also doing more radio and television friendly songs...of course I still have rude girls songs for dancehall fans," she hurriedly pointed out as she stressed the need to be more 'corporate friendly.' "I am flexible like that...I can even work at a gospel show if I have to," she teased.

Spice has just wrapped up recording three singles, "I'm Back" on the North Coast Riddim for House of Vibes, "Done Out", on Dem riddim for Ward 21 and "Inna Di Light", on the Gear Box riddim for Truck Back.

Next week she will begin the shooting of the video for all three songs.

Spice has a very active calendar for the holiday including Sting, Island Explosion, Tivoli Jamboree and so far a show in Canada and Atlanta.

November 08, 2007

Jay Z cheating on Beyonce

jayzandbeyonce.jpgHmm, Beyonce's away touring in Asia and her fiancé Jay Z is wasting no time in seeking female attention!

According to website mediatakeout.com they have exclusive information which points to the fact that the hip hop superstar has struck up an intimate friendship with a biracial exotic dancer.

The young woman, who dances part time at an upscale New York gentleman's club, has been spotted all over town with Jay Z in recent weeks. And word is that she's officially on Jay Z's payroll.

We spoke with one of Jay Z's colleagues at Def Jam who told us all about the label head's new gal pal. The insider told MediaTakeout.com, "It's shameless. [Jay Z] takes her to [promotional] events like she's one of the team. No one here even knows what she does... well we know what she does, but we don't know what she does for [Def Jam]." The insider added, "If you're going to sleep with that stripper then fine - but why do you have to bring her into your business. That's just plain dumb."

Well I guess the real hottaclaps will take place when Beyonce returns and gets wind of all the gossip...but then again we never did see what she saw in him

Avah denies being the 'Gangster's' girl
09-Nov-07 | by K'riQ

What seemed to be a brewing battle for Jamaicas Gangster for Life deejay, Mavado was wielded into another direction when One876Entertainment.com got an interview with one of the alleged fighters for rights to the artistes affection.

Avah_Taylor.jpgAvah Taylor contacted our offices to share what she said is her side of the story in a bid to set the record straight.

According to her, To my knowledge, Gavesha is a little girl who I have never met and if Mavado is her boyfriend, I wish them both the best.

We are friends and always will be friends, no one can change that. However at this time there is nothing more to tell. Avah told One876Entertianment.com.

She said her focus will not be swayed by her detractors and people who tell stories just to get in the limelight. Currently I am focused on my family, my business and my man, who shall remain nameless, she added.

When asked if she will be attending the celebratory party for Mavado on December 14 she replied: Yes I will be attending the party in NYC. Why would I not? We are friends after all.

Efforts to contact Gavesha proved futile.

-- Edited by Crazypickney at 22:04, 2007-11-09

The Big Problem riddim is the latest from the Q45 stables. On board for the ride are Lost Without You by Lady Saw; Rehab by Beenie Man; Teach Dem by Capleton; Round and Round by Egg Nog; Bounce A Gal by Elephant Man; Beg It Out by Mr G; Drop Pants by Mr Vegas; Bad Man/Bad Gal by Captain Barkey and Macka Diamond; Chicken Problem by Mr Chicken; No Fraid A Dem by Monster Shack; and Pretty Inna Pink by Mr Lexx.

Also available in record shops this week is the Soundbank Music label's Pure, And Clean riddim.

Tracks include Hold Firm by Turbulence; One Bright Day by Jah Mason; They Don't Care by Munga; Nothing Matters Me by Perfect; Hold Firm by Turbulence; Better Must Come by Norris Man; Dip Him by Lutan Fyah; Special Loving by Natural Black; Why Are You Fighting by TOK; Nothing Else Will Do by Ce'Cile and Father And Child by Empress.

The aforementioned projects are distributed by All Access.

A former police officer from Jamaica was found guilty Thursday of murdering his pregnant girlfriend and was immediately sentenced to life in prison, the Sun-Sentinel reported yesterday.

According to the newspaper, a Palm Beach County jury deliberated two hours before returning the verdict, finding Marlon Monroe guilty of premeditated first-degree murder. Monroe, 33, had no reaction as the verdict was read.

Rather than be rejected by the woman carrying his unborn child, Monroe beat and strangled Marvia Kinlocke, then left her body inside her BMW motorcar on the side of a road west of Boynton Beach, Assistant State Attorney Angela Miller told jurors during her closing arguments Thursday.

Coral Springs resident Aneita Clarke, Kinlocke's aunt, was relieved by the swift verdict, said the Sun-Sentinel.
"We are very, very happy that the justice system worked," the newspaper quoted Clarke.

Earlier Thursday, Miller outlined the state's case against Monroe, pointing to Monroe's DNA and a confession to a pastor.

Kinlocke, a 34-year-old nurse who lived in Lauderhill, was about to leave Monroe, but he wouldn't let her, Miller said.

"He was mean, he was violent, and she rightfully wanted him gone," Miller said.

Monroe, also of Lauderhill, was arrested three weeks after the January 2006 slaying of Kinlocke, who was three months pregnant. A passer-by found Kinlocke in her car on the side of Hagen Ranch Road, according to the newspaper report.
Her face had been beaten and she had been strangled.

In the days after Monroe had reported his girlfriend missing to Lauderhill authorities and detectives in Palm Beach County had begun their investigation, Monroe told details of his crime to his pastor, Miller said.

He told the pastor that he had punched Kinlocke several times, then strangled her because he knew she would call police if he didn't kill her, Miller said. To 'make it right', Monroe planned to turn himself in. But he instead decided to get an attorney, Miller said.

Monroe's DNA was found on Kinlocke's neck, left wrist, hands and fingernails, Miller added.

| Assassin rocks London
10-Nov-07 |

Jamaican dancehall artiste Assassin is back from giving his U.K. fans a sample of the sounds from his latest album, Gully Sit'n (VP Records). Assassin performed for sold out crowds at two back-to-back shows in London, on November 3-4.

Assassin1.jpgNow the artiste is bringing his dancehall anthems to the Karib Feva: Best of Both Worlds event - a showdown of the hottest faces in reggae and soca, with an incredible lineup that includes Machel Montano, Jadine, Mr. Vegas and more, on November 11th in New Jersey.

Assassin will also be celebrating his birthday in December and will soon make the announcement for his official soiree in Kingston, Jamaica.
High anticipation for 'MC ' in Bahamas tonight
10-Nov-07 | by Phlex, Staff Writer

Nassau, Bahamas: Anticipation has reached fever pitch in Bahamas as tonight's 'Millennium Countdown 7' show at the Queen Elizabeth Sports Centre has become the marquis event of this holiday weekend.

Jah_Cure_show.jpgJah Cure, who is staying at the posh Atlantis hotel in the island, has been heavily promoting the event and last night, turned up at a pre-party show at 'c**cktails' nightclub that was crammed with partygoers. The girls screamed in alcohol-fuelled ecstasy when he entered the club, showing that he is a regarded as a monumental reggae icon in The Bahamas.

"The buzz has been incredible so far, we have thousands of pre-sold tickets so far, especially the platinum arm bands, everyone wants to be close to the stars," Downsound Records CEO Josef Bogdanovich said.

Yesterday, Downsound Recording artistes Natalie, I-Maroon and Millennium did a series of live radio interviews and went to the popular Jukebox record shop where they signed autographs for adoring fans. As soon as the artistes stepped out of a Hummer limo, theri fans rushed to meet them. Even the cameraman and this reporter got major attention from sexy Bahamian girls.

"I was overwhelmed by the response, is like dem see me video on MTV Tempo and dem love it, as dem see me, dem start sing 'mi salt mi salt mi salt'," I-Maroon told One876Entertainment.com. The singer's Mi Salt song has occupied the pole position of reggae charts in Jamaica, and in Europe over the last few weeks. His video, Mi Salt also enjoys regular rotation on RE TV and MTV Tempo.

Artistes such as Tanya Stephens, Turbulance and Sasha are also billed to perform tonight.

Beenie Man is barred from attending his son Marco Deans birthday party.

The self-proclaimed king of the dancehall tells music news that because of an injunction he is unable to go to the house and it hurts to know that he cant see his own son on his birthday. However, his estranged wife Dangle says “if Beenie Man really wanted to make contact with his son he would have made an effort.”

Music news understands that the party is slated for later tonight at an undisclosed location.

The injunction which bars Beenie Man from going anywhere near Dangel came in effect after the self-proclaimed king of the dancehall went to Mafia House to take out furniture that he claim was his.

Dangle and Beenie Man who tied the knot on August 22 of last year had a nasty break up that was hauled into media, earlier this year.
20071108T190000-0500_129164_OBS_JC_LODGE_S_SELFISH_LOVER_RE_RELEASED_FOR_GREENSLEEVES__ANNIVERSARY_1.jpg

Seventeen years after its initial release, Greensleeves Records has dug deep into its vaults and has resurfaced with JC Lodge's landmark disc Selfish Lover. The 16-track set, which was produced by Augustus 'Gussie' Clark for Anchor Recordings, has been re-released to commemorate the 30th anniversary of London's Greensleeves Records.

Selfish Lover features some of JC Lodge's more familiar material which gained notoriety on radio and in the dancehall. Tracks include Love Me Baby featuring Tiger; a faithful reading of Cilla Black's Conversations; Selfish Lover; the Billboard hit Telephone Love; Hardcore Loving; and Lonely Nights.

Lodge who debuted in 1981 with her cover of Charlie Pride's Someone Loves You Honey (which went on to sell platinum and gold in countries across Europe), currently resides in England. The past recipient of the Female Vocalist of the Year title, Lodge who is married to her manager Errol O'Meally, broke onto the Billboard charts in 1992 with the mid-tempo Home is Where the Hurt Is.

Over the years, Lodge has maintained an international fan base especially in Japan where she tours regularly. Her forthcoming album of new material Passion Fruit is due out before yearend.

Selfish Lover is a nice reminder of the goods that JC Lodge delivered at the height of her career.

Danielle will be doing a remix of the combination single, Sexual Healing with the singer Gramps from the group, Morgan Heritage.

Danielle.jpg"We did the Sexual Healing song last year for Sly and Robbie on the Taxi label, and we thought it would be fun to remix that single," the singer who first came to public attention with the Brown Girl in the Ring single with Beenie Man.

Asked why that single fizzled out when it had seemed destined to be a big hit, Danielle responded:

"D'Angel, who had just started a relationship with Beenie at the time, did not want me anywhere near Beenie even on a professional basis, so when I saw that vibe, I just backed off because I did not want my name to be dragged through the mud. I am really glad I did because I don't regret it, I have not looked back. God bless both of them."
| Portmore 'DON' turns to positive music
08-Nov-07

Mikey Pelpa, has turned his talents to creating positive music. He who has always been interested in the music industry has teamed up with Danger Zone records to showcase a more positive image. This showcase begun at Cure Fest in October where Mikey Pelpa graced the stage with some lyrical samples from his catalogue to the satisfaction of the crowded stadium.

Mikey_Pelpa.jpg"Danger Zone Records' motto is unification through music. We are trying to set an example by producing music that will both unify and edify the people." said Delmar 'Della' Drummond, CEO of Danger Zone Records explains.  "Danger Zone is dedicated to developing young talent."

Many music fans will remember the acrimonious circumstances in which Mikey Pelpa came to public light after the Jamaica Star labelled him "Portmore DON". The Jamaica Star carried a front-page report on July 30, 2007 of Mikey Pelpa and DJ Vybes Kartel making peace after being involved in a bitter feud.

Mikey Pelpa has released several quality tracks of positive vibrations, which have been receiving credible airplay. His recent collaboration with Limey Murray, Emergency on the Jam Down rhythm has shown that he has the quality and the depth to survive in the music business. Jigsy King and Della produced Emergency for the Danger Zone label. The track is now available in record stores and on the internet. The video for Emergency is number three on the Tempo Cross Caribbean Countdown.

He has also released Parental Guide on the Cloud Nine rhythm. Parental Guide is being spun by disc jocks both in Jamaica and abroad and gave Mikey Pelpa the opportunity to appear on Richie B's, The Hot Mix on Hot 102 FM. Parental Guide is Pelpa's way of positively influencing young fans to never forget the good teachings they receive from their parents. "Di yute dem haffi show respect and remember seh dem parents a di real guide." said Mikey Pelpa

Mikey Pelpa is on Payback, one of the hit rhythms to come out of Danger Zone records. Pelpa's song Say What U Want was released last week.  Mikey Pelpa is currently in studio working on more positive tracks, these include: Mamma Don't Worry At All, What Kinda Livity is This and A Nuh Money Mek I Know You.

Mikey Pelpa believes that his music will positively influence everyone who hears it. He wants to cause change and bring about worldwide "Unification Through Music".
Danielle to work with Sara Stokes of Da Band

Deejay Danielle, whose single Beat It is blowing up all over FM radio, will be returning to Jamaica today after a highly successful promotional whirlwind tour in the Windy City of Chicago, Illinois. She also took the opportunity to meet with a number of studio execs who are interested in her unique sound, and to do a number of professional photo shoots.

Danielle1.jpgI now have a major deal on the table through a super-hot major independent label, so I am really enthusiastic about my prospects, she told One876Entertainment.com.

I have been working my butt off. I had a couple of interviews with Chicago radio stations, I did a show with Munga, and I have been doing some work with a French producer out of New Jersey who has worked with KRS-1.

There is also a deal in the works for her to do a remix of her Beat It hit with Sara Stokes of Da Band fame. According to Danielles manager, Todd Lee of Chi-West Entertainment Inc., Danielle is about to blow up like a Roman candle.

Danielle is about do real big things. She ended up in Detriot where she hung out with Tony and Sara Stokes, and they have been talking about the single and video. She has also been working with a hot new producer, J Storm, who has been doing work with Gwen Stefani, Tweet and Missy Elliott. When the video with her and Sara Stokes comes out, that will be a double dose of eye candy because both of them are cutie pies, he said.

A couple of modelling agencies are waiting on her photos, shes going to be big, I am talking commercials, modeling, music, the whole nine yards, Mr. Lee said.

Queen Ifrika Speaks Out!

November 8, 2007
Started By Crazypickney2 Comments
Queen Ifrika is speaking out after it was suggested that her infectious hit Daddy Dont should be banned from prime time. The conscious entertainer tells Music News that she was confronted and told that a ban of her song is being contemplated. However, she adds that she needs a logical explanation as to why something so positive and educational needs to be banned from the airwaves. In relating news there are talks in the pipeline for Queen Ifrika to be a guest on the Oprah Winfrey show. She leaves the island tomorrow for a performance in Virginia featuring Morgan Heritage and others.

RIHANNA GETS CARRIED AWAY!

No, some dude didnt pick her up. But Rihanna is asking that. The Sun reports that Ri Ri demanded a police escort to a concert date in Dublin. Ri Ri says that the traffic is way too bad for her to NOT be escorted. What if she was late or something? Well, I also heard it is for security reasons, but no matter the answer is, NO. I heard they said they will accommodate a bunch of other things, but all the police escort stuff is a no no for Ri Ri

Thanks Bossip!

rihannatouchyfeely.JPG

RIHANNA'S...INTO THE LADIES?

Thanks Bossip!

rihannatouchyfeely.JPG

Millenium Countdown postponed
07-Nov-07 | by K'riq

The Downsound-produced Millennium Countdown 7 show had been postponed last Saturday, November 3 because of the inclement weather associated with Tropical Storm Noel.

jahcure1.jpgThe show is now confirmed for Saturday, November 10 but there will be a few changes because Queen Ifrica and I Wayne have previous engagements and will be unable to make it, however, the main headliner Jah Cure is still on the show. Bahamians are looking forward to the show whose theme is Unity and Love, especially in the aftermath of the storm, a representative of Downsound Records said.

The show was also slated to feature I-Maroon, Natalie, Harry Toddler, Lion Cub and Tanya Stephens.

2yr old girl borned with 8 limbs

November 6, 2007
Started By Crazypickney3 Comments
lakshmioperation1.jpg

Surgeons have begun a marathon operation on Lakshmi, born with eight limbs.

36 doctors began a 40-hour operation on a 2-year-old born with 8 limbs today in India. Lakshmi, the patient, was born attached to a headless conjoined twin that stopped developing in the womb. Many people in the little girl's village believe she is a reincarnated Hindu goddess. 
So far her surgery has been going quite well. She has an 80% chance of survival.
Doctors have to perform one surgery at a time removing extra limbs, organs and other body parts.
Lakshmi's parents kept her in hiding for 2 years, because the circus tried to buy her! Those circus people! You can't trust them.

Big celebrity matey war!

gabrielle_dwayne_siohvaughn.jpgBasketball star Dwayne Wade's wife is hanging onto him for dear life...so much so that she literally took the fight to her matey actress Gabrielle Union.

According mediatakeout.com Siohvaughn Wade recently traveled to Miami to physically confront Dwayne's latest fling - Gabrielle.

The website tracked down one of the more colorful members of the Wade family who told them all the details of Siohvaughn's recent Miami excursion. The tipster explained, "Dwayne and Siohvaughn have been trying to work out their marriage, but it's hard to do that when there are so many thirsty women all up under him."

And according to the insider, Dwayne's intimate relationship with actress Gabrielle Union was one of the main impediments to the couple's reconciliation. Siohvaughn's kin explained, "You have to understand, those two were friends. For [Gabrielle] to now be dating [Siohvaughn's] husband is just plain wrong...So [Siohvaughn] packed her bags and went down [to Miami] with two of her girlfriends from the Chi and they were ready to get crazy."

And according to the family member, things were about to get explosive. The insider explained, "Siovaughn called around and found out that Gabrielle was going to be appearing at a [local Miami club] - so they all planned to go get her...It was like a scene out of
'Waiting To Exhale'."

But luckily for Gabrielle, our insider tells, Dwayne tipped her off to his wife's plans. The insider told MediaTakeOut.com, "Siohvaughn's made one mistake - and that was telling Dwayne what she was going to do...But maybe it was for the best, because if they would have caught Gabrielle, someone would probably gone to jail."

While Siohvaughn didn't get what she came for, she may have gotten something better. According to the insider, "Siohvaughn and Dwayne spent the entire week together...I think they are going to make it."

Whew...the things a woman will do to keep her man

D’Angel roundly booed

October 23, 2007
Started By STAINLESS15 Comments
D'Angel booed at 'Dancehall Divas in Action'

Spice, Lady G and Queen Paula were in awesome form during last nights Dancehall Divas in Action show at the Fayors Entertainment Centre in Mandeville, but DAngel, a controversial figure in dancehall, was roundly booed by the 3,000 strong audience throughout her entire set.

DAngel2.jpgCentral Jamaica is widely regarded as Beenie Man country because other artistes who have attempted to smear him have got the royal boo treatment. Last year, it was Mavado, this time it was DAngels turn. And she got the full brunt of the crowds animosity.

The writing was clearly on the wall even before her set began as whenever the emcee mentioned her name, a smattering of boos automatically went up. And as soon as she walked out on stage, the boos began in earnest, swelling like a black wave and gobbling her up. The venue seemed to quake under the mere force of the hostile shouts and vocal violence of the boos. To her credit, she attempted to ride the cresting anger of the crowd, singing Its Good Day, and got a few nods of encouragement for Downtown Girl, but the boos drowned everything else. At one point, she seemed to be performing to the musical accompaniment of boos, and whenever she shouted her signature phrase, anso!, the volume of the boos seemed to increase two-fold. When some fans began to walk out, the organizers were forced to turn on the lights in the venue to discourage anyone who might have wanted to begin hurling missiles at the stage to reinforce their point.

So the crowd suffered through DAngels performance and she exited the way she had begun her set with a chorus of boos. Emcee Lady Camille came out afterwards and made a half-hearted attempted at livity commenting that she rounda backstage ah bawl wid Angel cause dah boo deh nuh normal.

While DAngel was horrendous, Spice was simply superb and her promise to talk de tings was met with huge cheers that almost competed with the intensity of DAngels boos. She dissed the size of Beenies genitals, and elaborated on the gripping quality, circumference and pleasure derived from her vagina, and the crowd ate up every word. She exited the stage saying, if yu waan hear more, come ah Sting. There were also marquis performances from Queen Paula and Lady G. Lady Saw held her own, Cecile represented, while DJ Sunshine earned one of the biggest forwards of the night when she played Beenie Mans Give It Up featuring Barbee.

MUNGA DISS BIG

November 5, 2007
 Munga diss Big Ship Again!
05-NOV-O7

Yo, the Munga and Big Ship war ah get deeper. Munga have a new song name Gwaan Pree mi hear DJ Liquid and DJ Wayne dem a play weh a give it to Big Ship, Munga diss Stephen wicked and talk up pure tings about Chino, and even diss up Casper the man who give him the big number one.

Munga.jpgHim do all this inna the first verse, so it come in like Munga ah tek it to dem this Christmas. What will Chino's response be? Is a lyrical ting or dem a go tek it to the streets?

The song was voiced on Stephen McGregors Shadow Riddim which features songs such as Vybz Kartels My Scheme and Mavados Road Model.
Listen track
One876Entertainment.com tried to get in touch with Chino but he did not answer our calls, however, we eventually spoke to Stephen McGregor who said, "I don't really have any time to waste on Munga, I won't respond to this musically, I have too many other things to do."

Still, the jibes regarding the proud McGregor name are hard to take, especially for Chino who is protective of his younger brother. Will the Big Ship roll out on the high seas of lyrical warfare with all their cannons blazing at the Gangsta Ras? Or just ignore the troublemakers who are trying to draw them out? We shall see. xdxd

Has ne1 noticed

October 17, 2007
Started By Tommy Didads19 Comments
Has ne1 else noticed? Or is it just me. The quality of dancehall music declining over the last year. 2-3 years ago whole riddims wuld sell off. Now its only 1-2 tune,& most riddims r wack U can count on ur 1 hand d amount of hits weve had dis yr. n 75% of dem were made by 1 man. Vado. I blame it on da riddims cumming out 2 quick & di artists losing creativity. Wen last Kartel mek a tune weh wwwwwwwwwwicked? Weh uno tink?LO
Macka Diamond has now formed her own entertainment company DiamondDistrict Ja.
The money oh deejay who has recently severed all ties with her former representative, Ray Alexander of Khool Booking Agency says there are no hard feelings, "a jus progress and growth, we cyaan stay inna di same place all wi life, what would we have accomplished?”

Music News reported recently that Macka Diamond and her Publicist of three years, Ray Alexander, had some type of falling out. The word was out, speculation was in the air, and instead of adding fuel to fire the Diva fired back hard …… Introducing to the world, DiamondDistrict Ja.

Yes its official, Macka Diamond has taken it to the next level, doing just like her song said, nuh inna nuh war ting wid nuh one, and doing what every independent and strong black woman seems to be doing these days, (taking charge of their own situation) by setting up her own entertainment entity, DiamondDistrict Ja.

Macka explains the reasons behind such a bold and daring move. I wont even get into what happened between me and Mr. Alexander, because whats done is done, I wish him all the best and thank him for all he did for me, but this is a new day, same book but a new chapter, and right now I see it as only fitting to take charge of my career in an official way, because to tell the truth, I have never had a manager, I have always handled most of my own affairs, so all I am doing is making it official now.

Macka explained further. None of what I am about to do is new to me, because all of us as entertainers have done it before, and as time goes on, we learn the more professional approach, and can deal with things more in depth because of the passion wha drive wi, because at the end of the day, this is our (Entertainers) careers, not our managers or publicists.
But what about her hectic schedule? Answered like a true diplomat Macka said, no man or woman is an island, so I am not going to try and do this on my own; I have a competent support team, said Macka with a smile, refusing to elaborate further on the matter, but was quick to make it clear that Diamond District Ja is not only about Macka Diamond, but about the development of any artiste that her company decides to work with.

Just recently an official ceremony, attended mostly by officials from the National Library of Jamaica, was held in Macka Diamonds honor at their East Street Premises, in which a copy of her spicy novel, BUN HIM!!! was signed over for preservation as a piece of Jamaicas Cultural History.

On the issue of business she states that all previous confirmed bookings will still be honoured, but effective immediately, all business-related matters will be handled by her office.
«First  <  1512 513 514 515 516524  >  Last»  | Page of 524  sorted by