Acts of reprisals, and the killing of a mother as she hosted a nine-night, have mounted tension in Church Corner, Morant Bay, St. Thomas, forcing police to maintain a strong presence in the area.
This follows Wednesday's killing of Antoinette Williams, 50, and injuring of her 22-year-old daughter after gunmen invaded the nine-night Williams was hosting for her son, an alleged area leader.
Police say about 2 a.m., men, dressed as soldiers and carrying high-powered weapons, invaded the wake for Fiztroy Williams who was killed recently.
The men sprayed the gathering with bullets before making good their escape. Further reports are that police officers were at the event, but the men struck after they had left.
Detectives report that more than 30 spent shells were recovered at the scene.
Police sources say Williams' killing had sparked a series of reprisals in the area which resulted in the death of one man.
The Morant Bay police are investigating.
An LA judge dismissed the wrongful death lawsuit of the Notorious B.I.G. and postponed the trial indefinitely, bad news for Miss Wallace.
According to Bossip.com, District Judge Florence-Marie Cooper ruled that the family had not filed a claim within the required timeframe. She then granted a request made by the city and imprisoned former cop Rafael Perez to dismiss the case. Perez, a corrupt former cop, has been accused of conspiring with his former partner David Mack to murder the rapper.
It's crying shame though.
The women were angered by a statement D'Angel made saying: "My advice to Dave Kelly's ex-artiste, the brown gal and the fat one, is to try and get some hits."
D'Angel was quoted in an article published in THE STAR on Wednesday. Though it is unclear to whom D'Angel was making reference, the women have taken offence to the statement.
The first female to retaliate was Spice, who warned D'Angel: "When yuh si fire a blaze, try fi out it, nuh push yuh finger inna it, or else yuh wi get burn!"
"A wah do Beenie Man wife? I feel so sorry for you, honestly I do. I feel your pain, see your tears and I can hear you screaming. And if I was as heart broken as you and in your shoes, I would probably be blabbing too. But reality is, I have never been dropped like a hot bread, so I really don't know what you are going through," Spice said.
She continued: "let me at least try to enlighten your understanding, 'cause you still seem to be living in shock, or simply just in denial. When you hear an artiste singing songs, don't think they are the only one saying what they are singing, they just have the opportunity to express words through music. So, for your information, even though I'm not the writer for the song that has offended you, those words are coming from the streets."
According to Spice, if D'Angel did not have anything to sing about, then she was more than willing to offer some ideas.
Questions
(L - R )Spice, Miss Diva
"What you are supposed to be talking about, you are not talking about it. Your husband is the one who spilled the bucket on you. Why don't you tell us about the man in New York, tell us why your husband had to do a DNA (test)? Tell us why he took back the ring?"
Ms. Ting, who was a protégée of Beenie Man early in her career, also got in on the brawl.
She called The STAR, claiming that D'Angel's statement was directed at her.
"Everybody know that I use to work with Dave Kelly, an' if is me dat long, dry up giraffe gl a talk bout, she betta nuh bodda wid me an guh deal wid har paternity problems."
The issue of paternity stems from the request Beenie Man made in court to have the paternity of their son, Marco-Dean, verified. Sources close to the estranged couple claim the result confirmed that the child is Beenie's.
"She need fi guh tek on Spice and Danielle. If she want me to be added to the list of females taking her on, I can be added, because mi nuh si dis gyal," Ms. Thing firmly stated.
"She need fi guh think bout Barbee wey tek wey Beenie Man from ar, because a nuh me tell Barbee fi use ar 'Paddy Cake' tek wey Beenie from ar. If a war she want, mi nah back," Ms. Thing warned.
It is widely believed that Beenie's relationship with upcoming artiste Barbee is partially responsible for the breakdown of the marriage after photos published in The Gleaner and The STAR showed Beenie and her cuddling. Barbee has however denied an affair with Beenie Man.
Danielle, who also recorded a diss song against D'Angel, also responded to D'Angel's comment.
"If the song that I did does not affect her, then why comment on it, it's done already so build a bridge and get over it," she said.
In addressing specific issues that D'Angel outlined, Danielle said, "in regards to women sticking together, Angel should have nothing to say, because when I had the hit song with Beenie Man (Brown Girl In The Ring), she was the one who did not want me around Beenie Man and my relationship with him was strictly professional."
"And there is nothing that I could badmind her for, because her life is a public disgrace and no one could want that on themself. So there's nothing that she possess that I could possibly envy her for."
The long list of female artistes wanting to hit back at D'Angel also include Ms. Diva, who also did a song that mentioned D'Angel.
In her song, entitled Weak Fence, Ms. Diva said, 'everybody done know Angel she a weak fence, she have many, many men like she name 50 Cent and so, dirty laundry inna public it nuh decent, but why some gyal afta three years a ball decent.'
However, despite this mention of D'Angel in her song, Ms. Diva commented, "What I said about her is no different than what everybody else was saying about her."
"The song was aimed at Danielle" who was picking on D'angel. She claims that Danielle is doing this because D'Angel is seen as a 'weak fence' and that is what her song is about.
When contacted, however, D'Angel declined to make any further comments on the matter.
Erup came on the dancehall scene last year with a hit song. This year, he is again running the dancehall with Click My Fingers on the Gearbox rhythm.
He says he is pleased with the reception the song has been receiving in the industry.
"Mi get call from everywhere in the world for me to perform. But dis a happen from before Click Mi Finger," said Erup.
He says the song will also be featured on the album, which he plans to release early next year. The album will be produced on his own Fully Governed label and will feature tracks from Ricardo 'Bibi' Gardner's Auto Love Records and the Truck Back label.
"Mi can put out four album based pon the amount a songs weh mi have. A jus di people dem fi play mi music. A nuh song a di problem," he continued.
He came on to the music scene as a product of Bibi Gardner's Auto Love Records with Run Dem Head which was released last year, but this year Erup is producing himself on his Fully Governed Label.
"It's no problem wid nobody. Mi have mi own thing. Dis music thing is bout doing your own thing or people will end up thinking that yuh don't have any strength. Yuh own thing will mek yuh more important an' stronger. It will allow yuh fi bring more people inna di thing," commented Erup.
Based on the popularity that his newest song has received, it was expected that Erup would be one of the featured acts on Sting. However, it was revealed that he will not be on the line-up.
"A nuh every show important to my life. Mi work Sting already. Me not working Sting is for a personal reason. Dat nuh important to me an' mi naah big up no show. Dem show deh a fi who a war," said Erup.
He continued, "Mi nuh worried bout nuh show ting. Mi nuh have dat pon mi mind right now. Things on the verge weh wi can jus leave at any time. Mi jus a chill out right now an' think bout the album fi next year."
The skull and bones which were found in Clarendon on Tuesday have now been identified as those of a reputed gang leader.
The Clarendon police have reported that the skeletal remains are those of Seymour 'Lenky' Smith, gang boss of the One *lo** gang which operates in the parish.
Body found in car
The reputed gang leader's body was found in a burnt-out Toyota Camry, which was reported missing two weeks ago.
Detectives from the division reportedly made the discovery after they were summoned to a canefield in Old Bowen on Tuesday.
Mr. Smith was reportedly last seen alive in the Canaan Heights community about two days prior to the discovery.
Some students had the scare of their life after gunmen, a security guard and a police officer traded bullets in a daylight shoot-out on the campus of the University of the West Indies yesterday.
The incident left one man dead, a security guard injured and three persons, including a sixteen-year-old youth, in police custody.
An illegal firearm was also recovered.
THE STAR learned that men from a nearby community went on to a construction site which was being operated on campus in search of work.
It was further understood that upon entering the worksite, the men encountered rival gang members. The men obviously saw this as the perfect opportunity to challenge their rivals, so they left and returned with guns.
The now-armed men were in for a rude awakening, as a police officer dressed as a civilian saw what was about to happen and decided to intervene.
A gun battle then ensued between the officer and the men, who ran in a bid to escape.
When the shooting ended, one of the men was found suffering from gunshot wounds. He was later pronounced dead.
These reports were confirmed by the police, who also reportedly seized an illegal .38 revolver.
A security guard who allegedly tried to aid the police officer was also shot and injured. Up to press time he was said to be in stable condition at the University Hospital of the West Indies.
The St. Andrew Central police are investigating.
Meanwhile, some students, though a bit shaken up by the incident, are thanking the police officer who braved the situation and challenged the gunmen.
Students of the university with whom THE STAR spoke noted that the situation could have been much worse had the brave cop not decided to intervene.
"I was frightened, of course. I saw everything ... It was a very dangerous situation but had the officer done nothing, who knows what could have happened? Maybe some students would have got hurt," one witness and student of the university said.Fear Of The FAT Punanny!!!!!
Judging by the comments, I have to say there definitely is some mainstream fear of the Black Man's . . uh Penis. While TCOOO didn't regale about size but rather basing the blog on comments made by Nas and Ice Cube - some of the commentators automatically jumped on the SIZE Matters issue. I got quite a good laugh as well as incite. Being a woman of non-virgin persuasion, I know for a fact that not all Black men are hung and tucking it into their socks. Not all White men have little wieners either. I know many women will agree with me. Some men will too - but I really don't care what they think . . . I must say that the only White big one that I saw - was on a Sicilian. Some of you might want to research Sicilian history to understand that statement.
In a discussion with one of my dearest friends who has pretty much only dated Black or Jewish men; listening to her take on the subject, she made me flinch right in my chair with my knees pressed up against my chest. It seems, according to her, the Jews not only share a commonality of kinky hair and big noses with the Brother Man - but they're also packing. Her vagina actually prefers the Jewish penis over the Brother, because a Black penis can be overwhelming at times. For instance - if an average vagina wants a Quickie with a Black penis, a Black penis can leave the owner of The Vagina bowlegged and jumping around for an ice pack. With that said - I'm now going to start up a profile on Jewplanet.com.
The Black race has common physical attributes that we are all aware of: bigger noses, bigger butts, and women tend to be more voluptuous. Yet, with these traits taken into consideration - per TCOOO's blog - many White men refuse to logically believe that Black men are more likely to have larger penises that would be in proper proportion to their often huskier bodies. LOL. Again - this is not always true. The Happy Hooker, Karrine Steffans, stated in her stupid ass tell-all disgrace of faux literature: Confessions of a Video Vixen that 7-foot-1, 325 pound Miami Heat Center- Shaquille O'Neal has a teeny weenie. Of course - she's a ho, so most likely her vagina would not be considered a river - but more like an ocean, right? But Shaq is 325 pounds - he should have been able to do some kind of damage. My thoughts on that were: well who got his share? Gary Coleman? No wonder Mrs. Garrett was always yelling: "Aaaaahhhhnold!" *SMIRKS*
So if there is such a fear of the Black Man's Dick - wouldn't it make sense that there ought to be a fear of the Black Woman's Vagina too? Along with larger, rounder hips and buttocks and larger breasts - African women tend to have rounder, plumper punannys. If you've never heard the term: A fat -not Phat- punanny - it means a pum pum with some extra meat on it. It's thicker and that surrounding fat enables a vagina to have a stronger, tighter warmer grip on a penis. [More cushion for the pushin'] Fat til it buff is a Jamaican slang for that it's so fat that it prints out or protrudes. A Fat Til it Buff Pum Pum is not to be confused with a wide canal or a Camel Toe. A wide canal stems from poor maintenance, while a Camel Toe is a disgusting visual of a commando coochie tackily outlined by outer clothing. Why is it disgusting? Because the little labia is partitioned by a piece of fabric just letting the whole world know that there is only one measly layer of protection between that rug burned cooch and the outside world. TMI. A Fat Punanny can be mouth watering to the lusting eye. A Fat Punanny combined with Sugar Walls (which are a common pair) can cause a man some serious trouble - Black or White. I believe it's that Fat Punanny that Rules the World and in those moist depths of pillowed warmth there lies a cock welcoming committee that snugly grips the head drawing it in with a powerful surge as it creeps its way further inside giving it a buff blow and a pulsating foot massage coiled in a sweet tender grind all at once. That is where that REAL fear is.
Mama Asid and I were having one of our very controversial and thought provoking conversations - re: this subject (I swear we should charge money for people to listen in when we're talking - it can get real meaty) and she educated me on something about fat pum pums and it's high significance during slavery as well as throughout history. We all know that Massa used to rape and sometimes fall in love with a Kizzy. That's right - Black women were Massa's masturbatory Love Glove. White Slave masters revered their White wives, but they revered even more - THE FAT VAGINA that was most found on their Black slave mistresses. On a White woman, a Fat Vagina was most found on a Fat Chick. The Fat Vagina with its desirous bulbous features was even deemed a separate entity from their bodies just as were their uteruses and breasts. Massa could get MORE bucks for her BANG. Black men were castrated as a form of punishment or whatever . . . But did you know that Black women were castrated too! As a matter of fact - the barbaric practices of female circumcision, including what is being practiced in certain African communities today - OUCH FACTOR ALERT GIRLS: was actually originated by White slave masters?! One of the first Black female "castration" was done using Massa's teeth. *bracing cold chill running up spine* If you recall - Massa was already buying bustles for their wives to give the appearance of a bigger hiney, so what could possibly be so enticing about a chubby chocho? Hmmmmmm
If you've ever perused through a catalog or magazine and seen the emaciated models posing in the pretty panties - you will notice that many of those broads have boney ones. [Britney Spears has an EWWW NA NA.] Do you really think they would put the Fat Vagina on display under the panty? No way. Some poor Fatty might even get accused of really being a Buddy.
"Some man ah walk and talk say your poney is boney . . ."
-Roundhead
I really get sick of people making excuses for size - we all know that not all Black men have big willies and not all White guys are hanging like safety pins. It is fair to say that in addition to the supported research on the subject that the majority of Black men have big ones, etc. Same goes for a Fat Pum Pum. Just like in the case of a big willie - if one cannot handle the great pleasure that comes from it - they have to run from it. When some get a hold of it - they cannot control themselves.Seems as if Whitney Houston will have to wait a little longer before she can put her failed marriage behind her and move on with her life.
According to reports posted on the internet the divorce has been put on hold because her estranged husband Bobby Brown has fallen out with his lawyer.
Brown's attorney has quit after a series of rows with the fallen R&B star, according to U.S. reports, and now a scheduled January 4, (08) hearing looks like it will have to be delayed.
That date was arrived at after Brown suffered an alleged mild heart attack in October (07) and was unable to attend his wife's deposition.
In new court papers, obtained by U.S. TV show Extra, officials note, "The relationship (between Brown and his lawyers) has deteriorated to the extent that effective communication is no longer feasible."
A man held in connection with the rape and abduction of a 14-year-old girl was remanded when he appeared in the Corporate Area Resident Magistrate's Court on Tuesday.
Garfield Pryce appeared before Resident Magistrate Glen Brown to answer to charges of abduction and conspiracy to rape and abduct.
The court was told that on the day in question, the teenager was walking across a playing field in her community when she was abducted and taken to a nearby abandoned house by four men. She was reportedly raped by three of those men. The accused man was later pointed out by the complainant.
The lawyer representing Pryce told the court that his client was strongly contesting the allegations and said he was a family man with a nine-year-old daughter.
A preliminary enquiry into the matter is set for January 14.
Tyra Banks thinks Britney Spears should "kill herself", it has been reported.
The outspoken talk show host was overheard saying Britney - who recently released her comeback album Blackout - should follow in the footsteps of Marilyn Monroe and end her life by taking a drugs overdose.
A shocked onlooker said: "Tyra was saying, really loudly, 'Britney should just go ahead and kill herself after the album and go out like Marilyn, very grand. She should have done it after the last album.'
"It was terrible, nobody could believe she was saying it, let alone saying it without caring who heard!"
A representative for America's Next Top Model host Tyra denied the claims, saying: "This is absolutely not true."
Meanwhile, Tyra has herself been on the receiving end of some harsh criticism recently, after America's Next Top Model judge Janice Dickinson labelled her "fat" on TV.
Speaking on US show TODAY Janice said: "You want to see someone who's fat? I'm sorry, Tyra. Tyra Banks is fat."
Later, Janice appeared on evening show Access Hollywood to explain her comments.
She said: "She's large. She admits herself that she has a fat blank, blank, blank, referring to her derriere - she publicly admits it.
"I'm not criticising Tyra, I was not criticising her. It's the truth. She publicly claims she loves to get down on a bunch of waffles. Ms. Banks is a wonderful lady and this is a big brouhaha over nothing."
Being the King of the Dance-hall is not an easy throne to keep, with competition stiff and naysayers trying to take away your crown. STAR Artiste of the Month Beenie Man is confident in his stance as king of the entire dancehall movement, not allowing anybody to take away his crown.
Beenie told The STAR, "They crown mi king in Africa, in Europe, Caribbean. Dem seh a king never get crown in his own country." With this in mind, Beenie Man views himself as the king and Lady Saw as the queen.
Perhaps one of the most vocal persons in the dancehall to counter Beenie Man's claim has been Yellow Man, one of the first dancehall artistes to make it big outside of Jamaica as well as rule in his own country.
Through the years, Yellow Man and Beenie Man have feuded over the title of who is the real big man, the real king.
However, according to Beenie Man, "Yellow Man is not making songs anymore. I am the king of the dancehall, I am not King Beenie Man, King Yellow Man is King Yellow Man that's his name, it's two different titles. Yellow Man wasn't crowned by nobody."
- K.H.
Get an autograph, CDs, DVDs from 'The Doctor'
THE STAR's Artiste of the Month Moses 'Beenie Man' Davis will be at the offices of The Gleaner Company, 7 North Street, Kingston, for the biggest and baddest autograph signing of all time!
On Saturday, December 22, between 1 and 5 p.m., Beenie Man will be getting up close and personal with his multitude of fans to sign autographs and give a short performance to spice up the evening.
Come early with three STAR mastheads from December and receive a special quad CD/DVD package of Beenie's Man music and performances courtesy of the artiste himself.
One quad package per person.
Beenie Man - File
Beenie comes to GAL-TE-GO BAY!
The 'girls dem suga', the STAR Artiste of the Month Moses 'Beenie Man' Davis, will be in concert at Aqua Sol Theme Park in your beautiful city on Friday.
This will be the most extravagant autograph signing and concert of all time. The Doctor will be at Aqua Sol from 9 p.m. to sign autographs for his many fans. Bring three STAR mastheads from December and win a one-of-a-kind CD/DVD quad pack from Beenie Man.
After signing autographs, Beenie Man will then hit the stage for one of his most memorable performances to date in the second city.
It's only $500 to enter and all proceeds will be going to charity. Donations of non-perishable food items are welcome.
... But, we hooked up Kingston too! Beenie will also be at The Gleaner Company's North Street office on Saturday, December 22, between 1 and 5 p.m., getting up close and personal with his multitude of fans. Those in and around Knigston will also get a chance to win a special quad pack and get inked by The Doctor. As if that is not enough, Beenie will top it all off with a special performance.
Following the recent onslaught of lyrical attacks on D'Angel from fellow female artistes like Spice, Danielle, Black Queen and others, the artiste has been forced to take action and defend herself against the "diss songs".
D'Angel, officially withdrewn from Sting, a show noted as a site for lyrical battles and for its hardcore nature. She declined to say why she made such a decision, but it is rumoured that she was not willing to enter into a clash with any artiste, especially in light of the lyrical darts that have been thrown at her recently.
In an earlier interview with THE STAR, D'Angel said, "My career don't need that (a clash) right now."
Spice, in one of her latest singles entitled I'm Back, had a few harsh words for D'Angel, as a section of her song said:
"Dem time a year yah, mi mean mi nuh share yah
Raffling a gwaan, dem nuh know dem babyfadda
Zagga gi yuh Range but yuh shoulda get a Lada
Guh tek back yuh ring, she a nuh wife (hiss teeth)"
According to Spice, "the idea for the song came about because of what she (D'Angel) said in the paper (in an interview with THE STAR) a sey mi a gyal an dem ting deh, so that's where the idea came from."
Another female artiste, Danielle, in her song entitled Man Wey Mi Nuh Want, also lashed out at D'Angel as a part of her song said:
'Mi man nuh haffi have nuh doubt even if mi breed
Him na haffi do nuh DNA, him know a fi him seed
Mi nah fi call nuh name, everybody know a who
Di same gyal wey mash up Shocking Vibes Crew
She get mi cross, angry and miserable too
Now every weh she guh she get boo'
Now, D'Angel has hit back as she told THE STAR in an interview yesterday that, "It goes without saying that I am somebody important and that is the reason why all these female artistes are throwing low blows at me. But we don't take blows, wi just moving on to bigger and better things for 2008. We are not seasonal artistes, we are not just here for the Christmas season (like some artistes), but we are here all year round. And so, to the world!"
D'Angel, also stated in a release how she felt about the lyrical attacks aimed at her by her fellow female artistes.
Unafraid of competition
In a part of the release, D'Angel said, "I have never been afraid of any competition - friendly or otherwise, but I see no reason to answer any of them as it really isn't worth the time nor effort as it isn't me who needs to talk about them but the other way around; proof: They keep calling my name."
The release also said: "I have a responsibility to myself to further my career and to build my catalogue and a verbal catfight isn't going to help. Plus I'm in absolutely no physical danger from these girls."
D'Angel also had a few harsh words for one female artiste, as she said, "My advice to Dave Kelly's ex-artiste, the brown gal and the fat one is to try and get some hits."
According to D'Angel, she has no time to focus on these artistes who are not important or relevant to her or the furthering of her career, and maintains that her focus is on her career and her fans.
"Right now I'm in the studio pre-recording my album, which is highly anticipated for 2008 and my fans can come and check me out at Sean Kingston's show in Ochi, that's going to be a performance to remember," D'Angel said.
The remains of what is believed to be a human body were found in a burnt-out Toyota Camry motor car, in the Old Bowens district of Clarendon yesterday.
The Hayes police made the find just after 1:00 p.m. and, according to their report, they were summoned by residents of the community who came upon the remains.
After a search of the area by the police, the burnt remains of what is believed to be a man were found.
Yesterday, it was rumoured in the parish that the remains were those of One *lo** gang leader, Seymour 'Lenky' Smith.
Gang without a leader
The Clarendon gang has been missing its leader for the past three weeks, with alleged reprisals for his disappearance contributing to the spike in the parish's murder rate.
On a previous occasion, when Lenky's body was rumoured to have been found in the Salt River district, 30-year-old Dwight Dohman was subsequently shot dead in an alleged reprisal.
There have been 121 murders in Clarendon this year and more than 16 this month.
According to Constable Beverley Howell of the the Constabulary Communication Network, patrols have been increased since the find and the military has joined forces with the police to ensure the rumours do not lead to an escalation of violence.
It was not clear yesterday when a positive identification of the body would be made.After Ras Frazer had asked the crowd for support "from yu a bun b.........m an' sodoweak" at the Sting Road Show outside Ken's Wildflower Lounge, Port Henderson Road, Portmore, early Saturday morning, his brief performance did not last much longer.
And there was a tussle with a member of the Supreme Promotions team, organisers of Sting, after the microphone was snatched from his hand when he walked to the back of the stage.
MC Nuffy said that "nodoby cyaan go roun yasso", indicating the rear. However, he explained, there was a condition "when yu have a sponsor show."
"All my show whe no have no sponsor yu can sey anyting," he said. With sponsored shows, though, "the sponsor have suppen inna de paper when de promoter come to dem."
"If yu breach de contrac' yu no get de res' a de money," Nuffy said, pointing out that if there was no sponsor there was no concert. "If yu no like certain man yu no haffi chat bout dem," Nuffy said.
Younger artistes
However, the next performer, another in a slew of younger artistes for the road show, after deejaying that "inna de ghetto we grow, suffaration we know", declared his desire to "shot some b........y."
"Dem no put my face fe go pon poster fe go Sting," he said. When he finished, instead of exiting at the back of the stage he stepped off the front and walked briskly through the audience and out of the venue. Guidance was next to advise "Love what you got," but Nuffy had had enough of the unco-operative artistes.
"When oonu go a Embassy dem sey no cuss no bad wud, dem dress up nice. When oonu a go tru airport oonu tek off oonu shoes," he said.
However, he asked, "Why when de principle sey no sey certain tings pon de show" the performers could not cooperate.
An Nuffy said that a lot of performers were waiting backstage, last year someone caused him not to work on Sting and he was not taking any chances, so it was over to the sound system for the night.
"If Beenie Man does not want to get the wrath of me, he needs to leave my show alone," says fuming Sting promoter, Isaiah Laing.
Speaking to YardFlex on Sunday afternoon, Laing said, "Beenie is a sick man. He is going around and telling persons that I owe him money and all sorts of things as an attempt to destroy my show. Because he is not getting "top billing", it seems that he has decided to campaign against Sting. Beenie's real problem is that he knows that Bounty Killa is coming with his mouth full, and so he is looking for a reason to skip the show."
Laing continued, "I have never done any business with Beenie Man. I have always conducted business through his management; therefore, Beenie Man really needs to speak to Shocking Vibes about such a thing. I paid Beenie $800,000 to perform last-year, and it has only been one year that Beenie has received a small portion of money, and it was a year he decided that he would do Sting for free. Even then, I still gave him $100,000 in advance."
Further, an upset Isaiah Laing told YardFlex that, "Beenie needs to keep quiet, and don't let me begin to talk things which I know about him. If I start talking certain stuff, Beenie Man would have to run away!" Laing added, "I was a police officer in Arnett Gardens when Beenie was a younger fellow, and I saved Beenie Man's life on numerous occasions." Last week, Laing refuted claims that he owes Beenie Man back money, and the renowned promoter said he was optimistic that Beenie Man will turn up at the event.
Despite Beenie Man's determination that he's not doing Sting, Laing then said that he was giving the deejay a few more days. "Knowing Beenie Man he will turn up at the event," Laing stated at that point.
Regarding plans for the show, Laing revealed that, "There will be a stage within the stage. There will be a single door which leads unto the front of the stage. No entourage will be able to accompany performers unto the stage."
Performances will be limited to 30 minutes for all performers, he declared.
Further, an upset Isaiah Laing told YardFlex that, "Beenie needs to keep quiet, and don't let me begin to talk things which I know about him. If I start talking certain stuff, Beenie Man would have to run away!" Laing added, "I was a police officer in Arnett Gardens when Beenie was a younger fellow, and I saved Beenie Man's life on numerous occasions." Last week, Laing refuted claims that he owes Beenie Man back money, and the renowned promoter said he was optimistic that Beenie Man will turn up at the event.
Despite Beenie Man's determination that he's not doing Sting, Laing then said that he was giving the deejay a few more days. "Knowing Beenie Man he will turn up at the event," Laing stated at that point.
Regarding plans for the show, Laing revealed that, "There will be a stage within the stage. There will be a single door which leads unto the front of the stage. No entourage will be able to accompany performers unto the stage."
Performances will be limited to 30 minutes for all performers, he declared
The bi-monthly magazine features Jamaican Nadine Willis, widely accepted as the Caribbean's first supermodel in a striking editorial shot in the streets of Havana by the highly acclaimed photographer Dagmara Mituniewicz. Styled in fashions from John Paul Gautier to Chanel and set amongst the decadent decay of this once great city you will see Nadine as never before. Known for her gregarious and outspoken persona Nadine shares her new passion for music in an interview which touches on her eventful life and colourful personality.
Speaking of covers, Buzz Magazine has also released the latest edition of it's publication which features the bad boys of dancehall on the cover, who are we talking about none other than Mavado, Busy Signal and Munga so make sure to go and cop that at a book store / record shop near you.
Nb. Here are some samples of Nadine's and Mavado's cover (see images below)
With Greg Oden out for the season and trading away star Zach Randolph, it is fair to say not much was expected out of the Portland Trailblazers this year. But a quarter into the NBA season, the Blazers are making a little noise. Under coach Nate McMillan (one of the leagues most underrated coaches), Portland are winners of seven straight games (as of Sunday) and are at exactly .500 which is good enough for 10th place in a tough Western Conference.
The question now is, how good can this Blazers team be? For the short term, they will probably compete for the eighth and final spot- but that may be a stretch. In this seven-game winning streak, three were against sub .500 teams, and another two were against a slumping Jazz team. Prior to that streak they dropped nine out of the previous 10.
They will continue to have a lot of ups and downs like this throughout the season because of their youth and inexperienced. Especially in April, when they will be making their push for a playoff spot, they will have a very tough stretch. Where six of their last eight games will be against western playoff giants like the Lakers, Spurs and Suns.
Even though a postseason may not be in the cards this year, you have to give credit to them for just being competitive. For starters, they are without the Number One pick and the cornerstone of their franchise, Greg Oden, who is out for the season with a knee injury - but several players stepped up and picked up the slack.
Start with LaMarcus Aldridge, who is an early candidate for Most Improved Player, as he has nearly doubled his production from his rookie year by averaging 18.7 points (9 ppg last year) and 7.7 rebounds per game. He is playing more aggressive this year and is picking his spots well, and it shows he is shooting 53 percent from the field. Its going to be a very scary front court next year, when he and Oden clog up the middle together.
Also deserving of some credit, is the Blazers other second year stud, Brandon Roy. Last years Rookie of the Year has stepped into Portlands leader role as team captain. Averaging a very balanced 18.4 points, 5.2 boards and 5.2 dimes per game, Roy is a smart player who can do basically everything on the court. His four years at UW are proof that staying in school prepares you for the next level. No doubt, Brandon Roy is a future All Star that has the leadership skills to take the Blazers to that next level in the future.
Portland has some other nice pieces in their rotation. Travis Outlaw has been solid this year as has Martell Webster, who is coming into his own but is not there yet. Channing Frye has been a disappointment so far, he needs to be the player that we all saw two years ago when he was one of the top rookies as a member of the Knicks.
The split point guard play of Steve Blake and Jarrett Jack has been good, although this is the position that probably needs an upgrade for next season. While both are competent back-ups that can play both guard positions, they probably need a more pure point. D-Miles (remember him) has been hurt for three years, so when he returns at some point this season, it will be interesting if he can give them a lift off the bench.
The three-year outlook in Rip City looks very bright. Kudos to management for finally delivering a product the city of Portland can be proud of. The Jailblazers era that consisted of Isaiah Rider, Bonzi Wells, Qyntel Woods and Zach Randolph has finally passed. Now fans in Portland have something to get excited about for the first time since the Clyde Drexler/Terry Porter day
A bus driver dubbed a bisexual serial rapist was recently sentenced by Mr. Justice Lloyd Hibbert to a total of 32 years' imprisonment after he pleaded guilty in the Home Circuit Court to charges which included buggery.
Obrien Lindo, 45, from Kingston, was charged with four counts of rape and one count of buggery and indecent assault.
Lindo was held by the police during a sting operation in Emancipation Park in January when he attempted to compensate an elderly woman he raped.
Allegations are that about 5:30 p.m. on January 25 last year, a woman was on her way to work and Lindo, driving a bus marked JUTA tours, picked her up at a bus stop. He told her he was going to pick up a passenger on Arthur Wint Drive, St. Andrew. When the woman was about to leave the bus, Lindo pulled an ice pick and ordered her to perform oral sex on him. He then raped her and dropped her off in New Kingston.
He raped another woman on his bus on February 14, 2006, and also ordered her to perform oral sex on him. He also lured a little boy from downtown Kingston on October 30, 2006 under the pretext that he was going to give him a toy. When he went to Portmore, St. Catherine, he buggered the boy.
On December 11, 2006, Lindo picked up a 14-year-old schoolgirl who was on her way to school and raped her.
Lindo, on January 15 this year, picked up an elderly woman on Windward Road, Kingston 2. He forced her to perform oral sex on him and then raped her. The woman knew Lindo before and on January 19 Lindo arranged to reimburse her for her medical expenses. The woman reported the matter to the police. She arranged with Lindo to pay her at Emancipation Park and when he turned up the police held him.According to platinum rapper Eminems mom, Debbie Nelson, Slim Shady is a manic depressive who has lost control of his life.
Nelson has released a tell-all book about her son entitled My Son Marshall, My Son Eminem, in which she says the superstar has battled depression for years. According to Nelson, Eminems condition worsened after his ex-wife Kim Mathers gave birth to their daughter Hailie, who is 11. She said his mood has become even more dangerous since Em and Kim split for a second time in 2006.
A family friend told Life and Style magazine, "[Debbie] just hopes hell read [the book] and realize how loved he is. She fears shell end up burying him unless he gets help We all see him teetering on the edge of self-destruction."
Em and his mother have been involved in a bitter feud for years, and he rapped about his hatred for her in a string of popular singles. Nelson even hit her son with a $7 million lawsuit in 2002, claiming defamation. But reportedly, Em had a change of heart when his mother was diagnosed with breast cancer and he agreed to foot the medical bill in excess of $200,000.
My Son Marshall, My Son Eminem is available in the UK now and will hit the U.S. market in 2008.
Source: SOHH
Beenie Man, like any other artiste has his unusual side so the STAR wanted to explore that with a few offbeat questions.
STAR: If you were stranded on a desert island, what are the three things you must have?
Beenie: "A knife to make a raft, water and food."
STAR: If you were an animal, what animal would you be and why?
Beenie: "Seriously a gorilla. Cause number one, a gorilla dominate his stance and I'm a dominant male."
STAR: What kind of music do you like listening to?
Beenie: "Well, I like relaxing music, more reggae cultural type of music. I listen to dancehall music cause I love dancehall music to the fullest, but when I go out I don't want to listen to di same music. I listen to music dem don't play, I listen to myself a lot cause I mek a lot of music everyday so every two weeks I can make a new CD, a new album."
STAR: If you were the last man on earth, who would be the last woman?
Beenie: "Nuh mus di last woman mi deh wid, mi nah go know. If I could peep inna di future I'd tell yuh."
STAR: Which artistes do you listen to?
Beenie: "I listen to Jah Cure, Richie Spice, Beres Hammond which is my favourite artiste ever not even Micheal Jackson. I listen to Junior Reid old album, some Black Uhuru. Sometimes me go real old like golden oldies. Me love dancehall still but mi like fi hear it through di big box but when mi a relax mostly Beres Hammond and Richie Spice."
STAR: What did you want to be growing up?
Beenie: "What I am."
STAR: What do you find most attractive in a woman?
Beenie: "Personality"
STAR: Personality alone?
Beenie: "Not only personality (laughs). Alrite a woman's toes, fingers, her eyes and her teeth. If yuh have rotten teeth it nah go work cause mi a go give her joke."
STAR: If you were Prime Minister for a day, what would you do?
Beenie: "Lock down di police force and legalise weed, for a day weed woulda legalise."
STAR: What is your favourite song of all time?
Beenie: "Redemption song"
STAR: How did you get your name
Beenie: "Beenie Man given unto me by people cause at age ten I was so brilliant dat dem seh I'm a big man trap in a likkle boy body."
STAR: Which new artiste do you like?
Beenie: "All of dem you know. Mavado, Busy Signal ...is not the artiste dem still is di songs dem sing. Kartel a mi favourite out of all of di new artistes."
STAR: What is your strangest fan encounter?
Beenie: "Its the regular women strip naked at the front of the stage. A lot of things happen. Women throw dem underwear on stage. Sometime you go out dere you see it on TV and never expect it to happen to you cause you sing dancehall. But when you sing the type of music weh mi sing you get to know you attract different fans, you attract fanatic people. Girl that have in dem mind seh yuh a dem babby fadda, yuh get dem pregnant already. Dem baby dem have haffi call yuh daddy...crazy tings."
In the White House, there are 13,092 knives, forks and spoons!
Slugs have 4 noses!
Recycling one glass jar, saves enough energy to watch T.V for 3 hours!
Lightning strikes about 6,000 times per minute on this planet!
From his first major stage appearance at the Nelson Mandela stage show in 1991, Beenie mans career has been splintered with controversy. Unlike his immediate counterpart, Bounti Killa, The self proclaimed King of the Dancehall has kept his career buoyant during rough times by weaving a hypnotic web of hits and heresay.
In early 1996, Beenie Man learned accidentally that no publicity was bad publicity when an appearance on the Rupaul Show sparked the biggest Dancehall Melee of the nineties, when he allegedly kissed the shows host Rupaul, a noted American Transvestite.
This small mistake placed Beenie on the American Social radar. The following year in 1997, his album entitled The Many Moods of Moses sold gold worldwide.
Lauded by the critics as one of the dancehall genres best albums, it placed him on the international entertainment map and on the road to Grammy stardom. This he achieved in 2000 with the album Art&Life, copping the reggae award for that same year.
Throughout his two decade career, he has sparred with many and in most recent times, the best, such as Ninja Man, T.O.K, Twins of Twins, Don Mafia, Patrick Roberts,
The Marley family, Vybez Kartel, and the on again off again fued with his nemesis Bounti Killa, just to keep the list short.
Not to forget his rack of road accidents, partly induced by his daily Hennessey habit, and a dose of impatience, eventually led to his near fatal accident in 2004, almost costing the resilient lucky star a lung. Yet he recovered and during all the mishaps and near-misses, the printing presses and the internet blogs have ricocheted news worldwide, keeping him buoyant in the limelight.
Its ironic. It seems every time the world begins to hate Beenie Man, he has something up his sleeve to make his fans love him again.
Case in point, his alleged 10 month feud starting in mid 2004 with Dancehall Star Bogle aka Mr.Wacky, eventually led to the unsolved murder of the world famous dancer.
Beenie Man cried publicly on national television, even pledging a ransom of one million Jamaican dollars, and subsequently released a heartfelt single Frame I that shot to number one in less than two weeks. At home and abroad we forgave and forgot, even though some doubted.
By the end of the year Beenie was once again on his one man publicity bandwagon sparking the 2005-2006 lyrical war with Bounti Killa that ended with Beenie Man dating Bounti Killas ex-girlfriend, DAngel.
This seeded deep-rooted bad vibes, igniting the 2006-2007 feuds, the most intense lyrical battle between the two since their burgeoning days of the early nineties.
Young *lo**s in the business such as Vybez Kartel, Busy Signal, Idonia amongst others, began choosing battle grounds and the bitterness blew up in to a literal segregation of the Dancehall genre. The Alliance and Mafia House were born.
The intense lyrical battled that ensued dipped Dancehall into a sad déjà vu of the nineties. Lyrical copper shots it seemed had gone nuclear, leaving public radio yearning for good music, and paved the way open for Daville, Etana, Alaine, Tessane Chin, and a slew of patient talents to showcase their wares.
The bold stated fact that the Radio wasnt listening, and the people were weary of the war allowed the fact that the world was leaving them and their allies behind to slowly sink in.
Bounty exited the melee quietly, and placed Mavado in the limelight as his protégé diverting attention from himself to the next big thing. Beenie on the other hand took it to the next level and married DAngel in a whirlwind garden fantasy wedding, setting the notion that they were Jamaicas biggest superstar couple since Bob Marley and Rita.
Once again we became hypnotized by the two step magic of Beenie Man.
Hype and then Hits.
The Husband and wife couple blew 2006 away and Marco Dean the princely offspring of the two, entered early 2007 with a bang. Life was nice and we all loved Beenie Man once more.
But in most recent times, it seems this one man PR press is running out of juice.
His recent breakup with his hit making writer, Don Mafia, his fallout with his stable Shocking Vibes and now his public marital breakup with wife and business partner DAngel, has surely battered the Artistes public image and has reflected poorly to his fans worldwide. The fights, gossip regarding the legitimacy of Marco Dean and public disrespect on both sides have led fans and critics alike to believe the marriage is on the rocks and Beenie is losing his star power.
Could it be true? His questionable financial status, the lack of a major label and a reputable management team leaves us to wonder and question the potency of this once lethal superstar. Still fans have stuck by like loyal subjects giving Beenie Man the Number One single Nation wide in summer 2007, undoubtedly cementing the fact that he is the reigning self-proclaimed King of the Dancehall.
Hype then Hits. The magic of Beenie Man. The King of the Dancehall.
But this time, will he lose his crown to a Queen ?
GibbiGeraz
RiddimJamaica Writer.
CTRL+C (Copy) | |
CTRL+X (Cut) | |
CTRL+V (Paste) | |
CTRL+Z (Undo) | |
DELETE (Delete) | |
SHIFT+DELETE (Delete the selected item permanently without placing the item in the Recycle Bin) | |
CTRL while dragging an item (Copy the selected item) | |
CTRL+SHIFT while dragging an item (Create a shortcut to the selected item) | |
F2 key (Rename the selected item) | |
CTRL+RIGHT ARROW (Move the insertion point to the beginning of the next word) | |
CTRL+LEFT ARROW (Move the insertion point to the beginning of the previous word) | |
CTRL+DOWN ARROW (Move the insertion point to the beginning of the next paragraph) | |
CTRL+UP ARROW (Move the insertion point to the beginning of the previous paragraph) | |
CTRL+SHIFT with any of the arrow keys (Highlight a block of text) | |
SHIFT with any of the arrow keys (Select more than one item in a window or on the desktop, or select text in a document) | |
CTRL+A (Select all) | |
F3 key (Search for a file or a folder) | |
ALT+ENTER (View the properties for the selected item) | |
ALT+F4 (Close the active item, or quit the active program) | |
ALT+ENTER (Display the properties of the selected object) | |
ALT+SPACEBAR (Open the shortcut menu for the active window) | |
CTRL+F4 (Close the active document in programs that enable you to have multiple documents open simultaneously) | |
ALT+TAB (Switch between the open items) | |
ALT+ESC (Cycle through items in the order that they had been opened) | |
F6 key (Cycle through the screen elements in a window or on the desktop) | |
F4 key (Display the Address bar list in My Computer or Windows Explorer) | |
SHIFT+F10 (Display the shortcut menu for the selected item) | |
ALT+SPACEBAR (Display the System menu for the active window) | |
CTRL+ESC (Display the Start menu) | |
ALT+Underlined letter in a menu name (Display the corresponding menu) | |
Underlined letter in a command name on an open menu (Perform the corresponding command) | |
F10 key (Activate the menu bar in the active program) | |
RIGHT ARROW (Open the next menu to the right, or open a submenu) | |
LEFT ARROW (Open the next menu to the left, or close a submenu) | |
F5 key (Update the active window) | |
BACKSPACE (View the folder one level up in My Computer or Windows Explorer) | |
ESC (Cancel the current task) | |
SHIFT when you insert a CD-ROM into the CD-ROM drive (Prevent the CD-ROM from automatically playing) | |
CTRL+SHIFT+ESC (Open Task Manager) |