Ricky Williams' perpetual comeback apparently will include the 2008 NFL season.
Williams
The Miami Herald reported Thursday that the agent for the Dolphins running back received a letter dated Dec. 31 and signed by Bill Parcells stating his contract would be renewed for next season.
Williams' agent, Leigh Steinberg, told the Herald via e-mail that he will allow Parcells, who was hired Dec. 27 as the Dolphins' executive vice president of football operations, time to get acclimated before contacting him.
Williams returned to the Dolphins Nov. 19 following the lifting of a lengthy suspension for violating the NFL's substance abuse policy due to multiple failed drug tests. He has played in only 12 games since retiring before the 2004 season, then returning.
His 2007 comeback, however, lasted six carries. Williams suffered a torn pectoral muscle against the Steelers on Nov. 26, ending his season.
According to the Herald, Steinberg wrote in an e-mail to the paper that Williams' injury rehabilitation is going well.
Williams is scheduled to make $730,000 next season. In 2005, his last regular appearance in the league, Williams averaged 4.4 yards per carry and finished with 743 yards for Miami. He led the league with 1,853 yards in 2002, his first season with the Dolphins, and has clearly been an offensive spark before.
The Dolphins have had a whirlwind of hirings and firings in the last seven days. After Parcells was hired by Dolphins owner Wayne Huizenga, Parcells fired general manager Randy Mueller and hired Jeff Ireland from the Cowboys as his replacement. Early Thursday, first-year coach Cam Cameron was fired just days after Miami finished 1-15.
Information from The Associated Press was used in this report.
Delivering the hook is the multi-platinum, Grammy award winning reggae toaster, Sean Paul. On 'Serious', Sean Paul makes a dramatic departure from his usual up beat topics to highlight the grave dangers of violence.
"when I heard the beat, the hook came instantly, Sean Paul explained to 876radio.com.
Anxious to share the spotlight, Sean Paul called on hot dancehall deejay, Busy Signal.
"I was at home when Sean called me and played the beat. We met up at the studio that same afternoon to lay the track, elaborated Busy Signal.
In Busys verse, he endorses Seans chorus to emphasise the point that gun ting a nuh joke ting.
Sean Paul describes himself as a Busy Signal fan, while Busy has long admired Seans humble demeanour. A collaboration between the two was overdue. 'Serious', the debut collaboration between the two artistes was produced by another young talent, News. Son of Michigan from the duo Michigan and Smiley, News received the completed track and played it for hip hop star, Busta Rhymes, who added a verse for the remix.
Nehemiah Brown was one of the first casualties on the road when he was hit from his bicycle and died on Tuesday evening.
Brown, 65 years old, from Kemps Hill in Clarendon died as a result of injuries he received when he was knocked off his bicycle while riding along the Kemps Hill main road in Clarendon.
Police reports are that at 5:30 pm, Brown was riding his bicycle along the Kemps Hill main road. On reaching a section of the roadway he was involved in a collision with a Mitsubishi Pajero. He sustained injuries and was taken to the Lionel Town Hospital where he was pronounced dead.
The Exeter Police are investigating.Dear Dr. Flex,
I would like to know why my vagina smells like fish. I have not had sex or done anything and it smells really bad and I am embarrassed to see my boyfriend because I am afraid he will smell my vagina. I bathe twice a day and scrub down there and it still smells. It scratches a bit in my pubic area whenever I shave. Please, I need to know whats happening.
J.L., St. Catherine
Dear J.L.,
If you shave your hair, it is very possible that that is what is causing the itch. Shaving can be very itchy and can actually increase your chances of getting infections, and its possible that you have one. The female genitalia is supposed to have some smell, but it should not be a very strong fishy smell that you have to worry about other people smelling from across the room or anything like that. You may have a yeast infection or a urinary tract infection. If it starts to burn while you pee go to a doctor as soon as possible as you could be suffering from a urinary tract infection. I would also recommend that you drink a lot of water and cranberry juice.
| |
Here are a pair of Gap Athletic Pants that Gary Coleman wore. He signed the back pocket. The material is 100% Polyester. The color is Khaki, with blue, green, and white stripes down the Sides. The pants are from Gap Kids the Size is XL 12 Regular. This pair would be perfect for any child who loves Gary or for anyone who loves his memorabilia. Here is a great gift to have. I also have more memorabilia so please check into my Site often. Thanks for Visiting and good Luck to all who bid thanks!!!
DAVIE, Fla. (AP) -- Cam Cameron was fired as the Miami Dolphins' coach Thursday by new boss Bill Parcells after plunging to an 0-13 start in his first year on the job and finishing with just one victory.
The dismissal comes three days after Parcells ousted general manager Randy Mueller and means the reeling franchise will have its fifth coach in five seasons.
Parcells began work Dec. 27 as executive vice president of football operations and quickly concluded the Dolphins need another fresh start.
It has been 37 years since the Dolphins fired a coach. But they never finished 1-15 before.
All but two members of Cameron's coaching staff were also fired, although some might be rehired by the new head coach, the Dolphins said. Retained were assistant special teams coach Steve Hoffman and linebackers coach George Edwards.
Parcells made the decision to fire Cameron in consultation with new general manager Jeff Ireland, hired Wednesday after seven years in player personnel with the Dallas Cowboys.
"We just felt in order to move forward and not look back, we needed someone in place who shared the same philosophical compatibilities we shared," Ireland said. "We didn't really know the guy that well. We were going to try to get someone that does share those things, and we weren't completely sold that he did."
Ireland said the philosophy he and Parcells share involves creating a culture of winning.
"We want strong character around here," Ireland said. "The vision of the team will be discipline, passionate players, highly competitive. And we'll be a big team."
Ireland said he will have final say regarding all player personnel decisions.
The early front-runner to replace Cameron is another Cowboys employee, assistant head coach Tony Sparano. He's scheduled to interview Friday for the head coaching vacancy in Atlanta.
Ireland said plans for the coaching search were still being formulated.
"We're going to try to make a quick decision, but we don't have a timetable," Ireland said. "We'll have a broad range of candidates. We'll look into every possibility."
Less than a year ago, owner Wayne Huizenga hired Cameron over at least 12 other candidates after a two-week search, the most extensive since the franchise's first season in 1966.
Cameron was on the job 11 months before he earned his first victory as an NFL head coach. Until Miami beat Baltimore in overtime Dec. 16, he was in danger of becoming the first coach to go 0-16.
Miami has missed the playoffs six consecutive seasons, a franchise record.
Other coaches, including some good ones, have been fired after only one season with a team. The list includes Cameron mentor Marty Schottenheimer (Washington in 2001), Art Shell (Oakland in 2006) and Pete Carroll (New York Jets in 1994).
Cameron, who was under contract through 2010, maintained a consistently low-key demeanor with the media and his team. The approach won praise from the locker room during training camp, but as losses mounted, players became coy when asked if they believed in Cameron.
He was hired after five years as offensive coordinator for the high-scoring San Diego Chargers, and the Dolphins' offense improved early in the season. But when John Beck became the third starter at quarterback this year, the unit failed to score a touchdown in three consecutive games, and the rookie returned to the bench.
Cameron took over a team that had gone 19-29 the previous three years and was in decline following a series of bad drafts. Poor depth made this season's wave of injuries catastrophic.
Running back Ronnie Brown led the league in yards from scrimmage when he was sidelined for the season by a knee injury, and Trent Green and linebacker Zach Thomas also went on injured reserve. When 2002 NFL rushing champion Ricky Williams returned from a suspension, he lasted only six carries before a chest injury ended his season.
In addition, top receiver Chris Chambers was traded after six games.
The coach's office became a revolving door in 2004, when Dave Wannstedt quit after nine games and was replaced by Jim Bates. Nick Saban became the coach in 2005 but lasted only two years before leaving for Alabama. He was succeeded by Cameron.
Seven coaches started a season with a team that went 1-15, and only two returned the following year. Jimmy Johnson went 1-15 his first season in Dallas in 1989 but soon was winning Super Bowls, and Mike Riley remained with San Diego despite winning only once in 2000.
Cameron's only other head coaching job was at Indiana, where he was fired after five seasons. His career record as a head coach is 19-52.
While many Jamaicans celebrated the New Year with family and friends, the sons of Livingston Roberts were listening to their father being robbed and killed by gunmen early yesterday morning.
Roberts, 62, also known as 'Starie', a taxi driver from Rasta Corner, Freetown, Clarendon, was also the first reported murder case in the island for the New Year. He was ambushed by thieves waiting outside his home.
According to police reports, shortly after 2:30 a.m., Roberts, who has been a taxi driver for eight years, came home and parked his car when he was accosted by the men, with knives and handguns, who demanded money.
His relatives who were in the house heard him crying for help and made attempts to assist him but were sent back in by his attackers. Shortly after, explosions were heard.
"I heard when the car drove up and he closed the door, then I heard him saying 'let me give it to unnuh no'. One of the men then forced entry into the house and fist me in the face and told me to get flat; so I cooperate by getting under the bed. He did not see my other brother because he was already under the bed. He demanded money and took my phone," one of the sons said.
"As I was under the bed, I heard a shot and my father crying for murder. I then heard like my father was running and I heard two more shots. We left the house and hide in the bushes, when they were gone, until morning because we were afraid that they would come back for us," he added.
Several stab wounds
Four hours after the attack, residents found Roberts on a dirt road about eight feet from his gate lying in a pool *lo**. The police, who were summoned, inspected the body and found several stab wounds. The scene was processed and the body removed to the morgue. The May Pen police are investigating.
The sons say that although they wanted to call for help during the incident, they were barred from doing so. "We could not make a call to the police because they took the phone and no one from the community even made an attempt to call the police.''
In the meantime, the distraught sons are struggling to understand why their father, who they described as a humble, quiet and hard-working man, was killed even though he complied with the thieves' requests. "Daddy give dem everything him have and dem still kill him," one son said.
Roberts death was not the only killing since the start of the New Year. Michael Robinson, 31, of Angola was shot dead at 3:45 p.m. while playing dominoes at a shop. The Denham Town police are investigating.
The police in Cross Roads are also awaiting the results of a post-mortem to determine what killed Lance Pryce, 44, a vendor from Linstead, St. Catherine, whose body was found slumped over a chair in the Cross Roads Market.
There were also reports of a fatal shooting in St. James but the details were not available up to press time.
( L - R ) DJ Spice , Ninja Man - file
At the beginning of a new year people set resolutions that they do not necessarily keep but others, like Ninja Man, have their plans of attaining some achievable goals.
He says he wants to be more active in the communities in the Corporate Area. He says this goal will be achieved through his recently started The Jamaica All For Peace One Umbrella Movement, which is essentially for the purpose of uplifting the youth in Jamaica.
"We going to try to cut out crime and violence an' get the youths more active inna di community an' do positive things," said Ninja Man.
He cited that he has already been successful on stage shows and wants the Jamaican people to behave in a positive manner so that the country's image can be uplifted.
"Mi want the younger artiste dem fi leggo di badness an' unite fi mek di music betta so that we can move reggae music to another level and take it from the deterioration," he pleaded.
Queen Ifrika's main resolution is more personal as she is bent on quitting smoking, a habit she started during her teenage years.
"It's not necessary and it is not good for health and being in music. After I smoke, I get hoarse so I need to stop. Every year mi seh mi ago stop and don't stop," she says.
While this is the aim, she says she wants to stay focused on her musical journey and will not be pulled into the 'passa passa' that is currently surfacing in the dancehall industry.
More wealth
( L - R ) Serani, Queen Ifrica - file
She says she will put the finishing touches on her album, which will be released in March and will feature Daddy and a few unreleased tracks.
DeMarco, too, has his eyes set on improving his career as he will be releasing Face Life this month which features Busy Signal. He will also complete his album through Koch and Sony Records.
"I plan to do more work, do my best and keep getting hit songs. I just want to be more positive and walk straight, bless up mi God, give thanks for life and hope for prosperity.
While Spice's main goal is to gain more wealth to take care of her big family, she says she will also get anger management.
"I want to be a calmer person in spirit 'cause I tend to be ignorant and easily triggered off. My friends and family say I need to do it," says the artiste who is known for her harsh lyrics.
Based on the content of some of her songs, she says her aim is to make more radio-friendly songs, get more corporate fans and become more internationally known.
Some artistes have not set any definite goals.
"I am just going to work harder, live better, show more love and have more control over the negatives," said Serani.
He says the positive vibes will be seen through songs like I'm Not A Bad Man and Wanting You.
lues musician Syl Johnson recently filed a lawsuit against the estate of the late Tupac Shakur and others for apparently not being paid royalties from the sampling of his songs.
Johnson (real name Sylvester Thompson), who performed with acts like Junior Wells and Howlin' Wolf in his heyday, along with his Syl-Zel Music and Twilight Records is alleging that he has not been compensated for several songs that have sampled his work. Among the songs that he is suing for are Tupac's "Peep Game," Michael Jackson's "*lo** On The Dance Floor" and Will Smith's "Who Stole The DJ." Johnson alleges that all three of the songs sampled his 1967 song "Different Strokes" and, despite the high profiles of all of the aforementioned artists, that he has not been paid any royalties from the tracks.
The suit, which seeks an unspecified amount in damages, also names KRS One and his Boogie Down Productions, Peedi Crack, Young Chris, N.W.A., Sony BMG, Universal Music Group andUniversal Publishing as defendants for also allegedly sampling the artist's work without compensation.
No representatives from any of the defendants named in the case have officially responded to the suit.
On Saturday January 5 Jamaica will be able to begin choosing who they think are the Magnum Kings and Queens of Dancehall. Anybody can win and everybody has an equal opportunity to 'buss'.
Delly Ranks:
Lol. (Laughs) Well today a Monday December 31, so the last time would have been Saturday December 29th.
OutAroad.com:
What position gets you aroused?
Delly Ranks:
You see when me a give it to my girl from back, when mi bend her over and a send it and she a call out mi name DELLY DELLY DONT STOP, DELLY GIVE IT TO ME ah the greatest ting. Back shot mad.
OutAroad.com:
What was it like having sex for the first time?
OutAroad.com:
Have you ever had sex with a 300 pound mama?
Delly Ranks:
No I never really venture that route yet but fi tell you the truth right now mi nuh fear nothing, nothing at all. Slimas or a Fatty send dem on.
OutAroad.com:
What advise would you give to a guy that cum quick?
Delly Ranks:
If a man have him girl an ah cum quick just make sure that your girl come quicker than you, always remember this, sex is the only race you should always cum last in. Just use your big brain and control the small brain.
Dear Dr. Flex, My girlfriend was giving me head the other day and she accidentally bit me. I think it is serious and I may need stitches, but I am too ashamed to go to the doctor. What should I do?
D.G., Kingston
Dear D.G.,
By John Whitesides, Political Correspondent
DES MOINES, Iowa (Reuters) - Democrat Barack Obama surged to a four-point lead over John Edwards in Iowa, with Hillary Clinton fading to third just hours before the first presidential nominating contest, according to a Reuters/C-SPAN/Zogby poll released on Thursday.
Obama and Edwards gained ground overnight in the tracking poll, and Clinton fell four points to third place -- a finish that, if it held, would deal a dramatic setback to the one-time Democratic front-runner.
Obama was at 31 percent among likely Democratic caucus-goers, Edwards at 27 percent and Clinton 24 percent. No other Democrat was in double digits.
In the Republican race, Mike Huckabee expanded his lead to six points, 31 to 25 percent, over former Massachusetts Gov. Mitt Romney, the one-time leader in Iowa who has attacked Huckabee for his record as Arkansas governor.
Former Tennessee Sen. Fred Thompson is in third place in the Republican race at 11 percent and Arizona Sen. John McCain slipped two points to 10 percent. Texas Rep. Ron Paul also registered 10 percent.
"There is a clear Clinton fade," pollster John Zogby said. "None of it has been dramatic, but it has been steady."
He said Clinton, a New York senator, was losing ground to Obama, an Illinois senator, among Democrats -- as opposed to independents -- and self-described liberals.
"Under any circumstance, a 31-27-24 spread is still very close," he said of the margins for the top three Democratic contenders. "Edwards is right in the mix and he has made gains too."Blink and you would not have believed it! At midnight December 29 at The Chinese Benevolent Association, Old Hope Road. The STAR team found themselves among the 30 patrons at Appleton YUSH, a party that was about to go down as one of the scantiest events of the year.
You only had to blink to realise that what at first seemed obvious, was going to end up being very far from the truth. Yush turned out to be one of the most attended events to close 2007.
At 12:45 a.m. there was hardly any room to sashay across what had become a crowded dance floor and by 1:30 a.m. it was a genuine case of renting a tile. Step out of that tile and you would lose the place for the entire night.
Okay so there was the outside downstairs section, but as those areas were close to the bar and the jerk pans, tile for rent was just as scarce as on the inside. If you are a heavy drinker, the best thing would be to stand by the bar all night and spare yourself the difficulty of grinding your way through the crowd for another drink, the way many patrons did.
No option
There was no option really. The music and the crowd made it inevitable that you bump and grind with the music to get by or be wined on by the patrons. It was a case of 'blending in by grinding in.'
So imagine what happened when Lady Saw bellowed from the juke box, "If the man lef," rent a tile was thrown out in unison and the female audience grabbed unto their spouses in attendance and worked the butterfly down to the ground.
Those who came alone were only too glad to oblige the single men who 'begged' a dance, and the frolics carried on way into the morning as DJs Richie Ras, Marlon Campbell and Arif Cooper worked with the vibes of the audience and drew out some of the best music from the dancehall decade 1990-2000.
Simply the best
The hotties stroll in to what was a hype year end event.
By the time the headliners Doctor Dre and Delano, both Renaissance veterans, took to the mixing boards, they lit the crowd on fire. It was the first collaboration for the two and the patrons were treated to nothing short of the best.
The approximately 3000 patrons in attendance were truly satisfied with the mix of Calypso, R&B, Mo-Town, and hard-core original Reggae music, all of which kept the crowd screaming for more.
Tunes like Batty Rider, Go-Go Wine, Cocoa Cola Bottle Shape and Buju Banton's Stamina Daddy, set the mood for the party that would, by 3:30 a.m. stop traffic, cause a near stampede and reunite the pleasure of dancing with feeling safe at a public event. Security was rigid and tight.
It would take another 2 hours before the crowd started to filter away from Appleton YUSH 2007, but not before queuing up once again in the 'jerk' line.
They could not be blamed. The aroma of the food, offered as a part of the all-inclusive entrance fee, was as good as how amazing the grand event turned out to be. It was interesting to watch the crowd gyrate as they reluctantly left what YUSH organiser Quizz confirmed to be "the best one so far".
"We have outdone ourselves, and look forward to planning the next big event," she said.
Appleton YUSH ended on a very high note at approximately 5:30 a.m. Sunday, well past the legal permit, but as rules are rules, the police turned up and the only way to stop the music was for the cops to eventually escort DJ Rush, who was playing the final set, off the premises wearing cuffs and a smile. Guess it is true then, 'When the music hits you feel no pain.'
Stunning dance moves helped to catapult MC Hammer to fame, and now they may help to revive his sagging entertainment career.
According to Business Week, the former rap star (real name Stanley Burrell) is hoping to edge out Internet giant YouTube with a new website called DanceJam.com, an online spot for sharing and watching dance videos.
The site will reportedly provide dance demonstrations and hold head-to-head competitions between user-submitted dance videos.
Hammer is co-founder and chief strategy officer of the new website, which is set to launch in mid-January.
Along with partners Geoffrey Arone, the chief executive, and Anthony Young, the chief technology officer, Hammer has spent months stockpiling video of people dancing in preparation for the launch.
The timing for the dance-based site may be right, considering the ballooning populariy of dance-oriented snap music, Soulja Boy's choreography hit "Crank Dat" and shows like "Dancing With The Stars," but some say that competing with YouTube may be easier said than done.
"When people are looking for any video, whether it be about skateboarding, dancing or a science project, they don't stop to think about where's the best place to find it," said James McQuivey, a media analyst with Forrester Research. "They just start off by going to YouTube."
Although Hammer went bankrupt in 1996 after becoming a rap sensation, several entrepreneurial heavyweights co-sign the former rapper's business savvy, including Marc Benioff, CEO of Salesforce.com, which is worth $7 billion.
"We really learned a lot from Hammer," said Benioff, who enlisted advice from Hammer when Salesforce.com was just taking off. "He is the most entrepreneurial individual I have ever met."
Hammer seems confident in his own abilities as well.
"There is no high-tech lingo or business strategy that you can talk that is above my head," Hammer said. "I breathe this stuff."
Beyonce has won an appeal to uphold a court decision to dismiss a copyright infringement lawsuit, relating to her 2003 chart-topping and Grammy award-winning song, 'Baby Boy'.
According to a statement released on January 2, the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit "upheld the 2006 trial court decision dismissing a copyright infringement lawsuit brought against Beyonce".
Jennifer Armour alleged in the lawsuit that her former manager had submitted demo recordings of a song to Matthew Knowles, Beyonce's father and President of Music World Entertainment, and to representatives of Beyonce's record label Columbia Records in late February or early March 2003.
She discovered in litigation, however, that the writing and recording of 'Baby Boy' was substantially complete before Armour claimed to have submitted her demo recording.
The trial court dismissed the case due to the fact that "no reasonable person could conclude that the two songs sounded substantially similar to one another, and the appellate court upheld the dismissal of the case on the grounds that 'Baby Boy' was in existence before Armour allegedly submitted her demos.
Beyonce is relieved that the case was resolved, saying, "It's unfortunate that we had to endure this long legal process, but I am hopeful this decision will allow all of us that were involved to finally move on."
Reputed Klansman gang leader, Tesha Miller, was arrested early Thursday morning while at the Boxing Day show, Sting.
The reputed boss of the Spanish Town-based gang was arrested after he allegedly breached a curfew order imposed by the court.
Miller was reportedly out on bail on murder and other gun-related charges.
THE STAR learnt that as a condition of his bail, Miller was subjected to a 9 p.m. curfew.
Broke curfew
The Greater Portmore Police Station reported that Miller was nabbed by policemen shortly after midnight, while at the event which was staged at the Jamworld Entertainment Complex.
Meanwhile, Miller was slapped with a nine-month sentence earlier this year for violating the conditions of a previous bail, and is facing charges relating to the shooting deaths of Oraine Jackson, Nicole Allen and Jeffery Johnson in Braeton, St. Catherine almost three years ago.
He was said to have absconded bail last year and fled to the United States but was later deported.
He was subsequently charged for the triple murderAccording to Police, these cameras will be monitored 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Multiple cameras are being set up and geared at cars and pointing at people. "The beauty of these cameras, first and foremost is eyes for us out there in the event, God forbid, there's a suspicious package," said Chief of Miami Police John Timoney. "We'll be watching crowd controls and traffic controls, as well."
Authorities also say these cameras will serve to search for key elements pertaining to homeland security, like terrorist suspects.
Passa passa, mix up, brawls, the good, the bad and the ugly were all part of what we called entertainment during the year. There were moments when you felt so proud you wanted to cry, then there were those moments when you wanted to bury your heads and pretend this couldn't be the culture you loved. But all in all it would have been a boring year if we didn't have all these elements to get you talking, cussing or praising.
January kicked off with some great shows which saw the best of the local and overseas camp delivering. Unity Splash and Trelawny Family Fun Day were the first events to kick off the New Year, then later on Rebel Salute kicked in. Of course Air Jamaica Jazz and Blues Festival put the cap on the biggie for January with country and western crooner Kenny Rogers and of course locals Richie Stephens, Freddie McGregor, Sanchez and Sean Paul.
February belonged to the Marleys in every sense of the word. There were the remembering Bob Marley celebrations and of course the late singer's son walked away with the Grammy making it number four with the Tuff Gong produced album "Love Is My Religion."
It was also the month where Beenie Man took the spotlight and from there things just went downhill for the artiste. With D'Angel by his side he parted ways with Don Mafia who started Mafia House. Mavado and Vybz Kartel also went at it too but they both cried peace eventually.
March was a bit 'quiet' but it still did not come without it's little passa passa. Dancehall Queen Stacie had some words for dancer Keiva letting her know she was the real diva and she chided her for some unfair comments she made about Wee Pow. All eyes were turned on Beauty Queen Sara Lawrence's child's paternity and the fact that she was pregnant before she finished her reign.
April was the month we first started hearing about Vegas' illness and it was also the first mention of trouble being in the Beenie Man, D'Angel camp. March is also a month Capleton will remember as he got a fright with a pin in his food. Jamaica lost one of its Mento stalwarts in the death of Stanley Beckford who died from throat cancer. It was also the month when three rastas took alms with Lutan Fyah over a comment he made bigging up Bounty never went over well with Anthony B, Capleton and Sizzla!
May was an action packed month where the entertainment buzz was concerned. Nadine Sutherland launched her album Call My Name at the Grogge Shop and this is after not putting out one for some time. Tarrus Riley completed his video shoot for "She's Royal" a song which is still blazing the place. Beenie Man's show in South London had to be cancelled due to threat of gun violence. Gays came out loud and clear on a dancehall video that took Jamaica by storm. Sean Paul took six trophies at the International Reggae and World Music Awards held at the Apollo Theatre in New York and Ninja Man and Bounty Killer were again with some battle axe lyrics. Speaking of Bounty Killer there was a CD circulating the scene with an alleged conversation between himself and a woman...man the taxis and buses had a field day with it...didn't I tell you May was crammed!
June saw Daville scoring his first number one hit in the UK with Always On My Mind. Sasha inked a deal with Downsound Records and then the big story that Beenie, Capleton and Sizzla signed to be more respectful of gays...only thing the artistes denied the signatures were theirs! This was the month that IRIE FM Big Break winner Natasja Saad died in a car accident. During this time Sean Kingston made a "Beautiful" entry on the scene.
July was the month that Jah Cure finally got his release papers from prison. It was also a month that saw quite a few dancehall brawls. Munga and his producer Casper were involved in knife play, Mavado and alliance faced off and Mavado was also arrested and charged after Barbados brawl. QQ's career was also put on hold as his father was before the courts accused of breaking child labor laws. DJ Danny English was arrested for carnal abuse...and our winner for newsmaker of the year Beenie Man again made the headlines when he moved out of the matrimonial home...D'Angel claimed she was physically abused by Beenie and it was the month that Barbee entered the mix!
August was the month Sizzla and Norris Man went at it on stage at Capleton's St Mary Mi Come From Show. Norris Man accused Sizzla of being a coward. Yendi Phillips was crowned Miss World. Chuck Fenda was attacked in Bahamas and it was a month which saw young, bright upcoming star Craig Dennis being laid to rest. Beenie Man was again in the news when her stormed his Mafia House office to reclaim his furniture and other belonging...but not so says D'Angel who blocked the move.
September the new Digicel Rising Star winner was chosen and it was the teen idol Romain Virgo. Mavado was robbed in Toronto forcing him to miss his shows in Trinidad and Tobago and Atlanta. Ninja Man got the chance to perform on US soil again and he totally ripped New Jersey apart. And rumours spread far and wide that Elephant Man barged into P Diddy's office and socked it to him!!! Maad!
October again saw Beenie Man making the headlines with his tax woes resurfacing. Mavado made the news in a positive way through his Connect Jamaica effort. Jah Cure served up a musical treat at Curefest and Macka Diamond and Ray Alexander were at odds. Beenie Man wasn't through with this month as he apologised to the St. Andrew Parish church for shooting the music video in the church's cemetery. The horrifying photos of Charah Watson flooded the Internet and papers where Amina Blackwood Meeks' son Neto Meeks badly beat her...by the way what the 411 with that case? Did Charah get any justice...how come we haven't heard anything else on it! Kyno Cunningham also made headlines when he was caught on tape in the shower with another man. This was the month that we(YardFlex Inc.) opened our new office in Kingston.
In November Publicist Ray Alexander's house was shot up, D'Angel broke her silence with a long letter outlining her side of the story. Angry patrons threw bottles and stones on stage at Full Clip held at Puerto Seco Beach. Two dancehall artistes demanded DNA test as proof they were the fathers Vybz Kartel and Beenie Man. And speaking of Beenie it was a big moment for him when he performed at the American Music Awards in California in front of over 40 million viewers!
It's the closing moments of December we look back...Veteran Singer Tyrone Taylor passed away. For the first time in ages Beenie Man was absent off Sting...and the vibes too was not there. Munga and Diva went at it on stage Bratt at Stone Love Anniversary and made peace after! Pity they didn't do that first. Mavado and Vybz Kartel's camp faced off at Bembe Thursday. Beenie must always be in the mix as he formed his new company KODE King of the Dancehall Entertainment.
So there you have it the best and the worst of 2007. For the New Year let's hope we see the dancehall moving away from the negativity and focusing on taking the business to another level.
A scorching dub for dub between long-time rivals King Jammys and Jack Scorpio and some commendable performances decorated Saturday night's 'Giants of the '80s' show.
Patrons cheered on the veteran sound system operators as they exchanged items from their musical repertoire and brought the nearly full Mas Camp, Oxford Road, St. Andrew venue to life. At the end of the segment, however, it was not a clash as both veterans pointed out, and so a winner was not decided.
The patrons were earlier also treated to some classic '80s music that had them 'skanking' and bursting a flew blanks by selectors from the same two sound systems. However, they made their intentions known when they began asking for the performances to start.
Thus, when deejay Flourgon took the stage he was warmly received and after doing some of his past hits including some done by his bother deejay Red Dragon, he was joined by his cousin Daddy Lizard.
They earned a few forwards before exiting and making way for Echo Minott who came out to loud applause. The singer started off well and had the patrons singing along but just when it seemed he was overstaying his time he called on deejay General Trees and the tempo and temperature in the Mas Camp jumped a few degrees. Trees, with his usual stage walking and hand swinging, placed a spell on the patrons, which was only broken after he was called back a third time. With his catalogue of past hits including Gone a Negril, Minivan, Eye No See among others, he clearly had the patrons wanting to hear his each and every word. This was very evident when before going into his lyrics he would tell the music man to lower the rhythm and say 'shhhhh' and the venue would immediately get quiet.
Good reception
Peter Metro
Singer Little John was next and he got a good reception and, after giving off a string of hits, introduced an upcoming artiste.
Johnny P was his usual vibrant self and took the patrons through a musical journey of his '80s songs. The deejay made sure to stop and introduce every song he did and for his hit songs Stick By Me and Only Sixteen that he did in combination with Thriller U who was not present, he simply sang those parts himself.
Leroy Gibbons dashed on the stage singing his trademark Four Season Lover and followed up with This Magic Moment before being recalled for an encore.
Peter Metro reminded the patrons he was the first deejay to 'talk backways' and talk in Spanish before reeling off a string of hits including Nuh Put It Deh, Backway Talk and Police Inna London among others. Upon exiting, he asked Jamaica not to support gunmen as they were running the country to a wreck.
His sentiments were echoed by Pinchers who sang a chilling piece about how he spoke to a gunman who told him he would continue to kill and rob because people kept supporting his bad deeds. Pinchers gave some short pieces from his catalogue of songs of the '80s and even did two of his more recent recordings. He, too, earned two encores as the patrons were determined to hear him do quite a number of his songs and some were even calling for him to return again.
King Yellowman rocked the patrons as only King Yellowman could and he invited Sasa Frass who also delighted and thrilled the patrons.
Charlie Chaplin 'the Principal' took the stage shortly after 3 a.m. and immediately asked that Brigadier Jerry and Josie Wales join him. Only the brigadier answered the call however and the two worked masterfully with the brigadier showing his style and versatility that left some patrons in awe.
When they exited Josie Wales entered and without delaying went straight into a song which talked about the Beenie Man/D'Angel/ Bounty Killer situation. He had to start over the song at least four times because of the numerous forwards it got. From there The Outlaw took the patrons through a musical journey and they must have left feeling satisfied with his and all the other performances.
Animal instincts
Dear Pastor ,
I have a big problem. I have been having sex since I was nine years old. I have had sex with approximately 260 women. I also have had sex with goats, cows and donkeys. The sad part is I find myself preferring to have sex with the animals than with women.
Could you please tell me why I am behaving in this manner? Any woman I want, I can get. I listen to you on my computer at home and I also read what people write to you. It has never crossed my mind to rape any woman, but I just want to be with the animals.
Why, pastor, why? I am a Jamaican currently living in America.
T. G.,
New York, U.S.A.
Dear T. G.,
The Bible says that man is depraved and I have always insisted that the Bible is indeed correct in describing man. Only a depraved person would have sex with animals. I will go further in saying that only a person who is sick would think of such corrupt and beastly practice. May God have mercy on your soul.
You need psychiatric care. You need to call a psychiatrist and have him or her meet with you for sessions. It is unnatural for human beings to have sex with animals. And anyone who does so, needs professional help urgently.
Pastor
NEW YORK -- Adrian Peterson is impressed. Not so much by his achievements, though he ran away with The Associated Press NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year voting the same way he surged past opposing tacklers this season.
What has gotten the attention of the Minnesota Vikings running back is whom he joins as winners of the award.
"It's a great honor to join a list with names like those," Peterson said Wednesday when told that Jim Brown, Emmitt Smith, Eric Dickerson and Billy Sims also won the award. "They are guys that I looked up to growing up. It's a goal that I set before the year started, to win rookie of the year, so it feels great to accomplish that."
Adrian Peterson was named the league's Offensive Rookie of the Year, running away with the award even after missing two games because of a knee injury. He set an NFL single-game rushing record (296 yards) against the Chargers in Week 9, and set the league record for most rushing yards through the first eight games (1,036).
Category | Total | NFL rank |
Rushing yds | 1,341 | 2nd* |
Rushing TDs | 12 | T-2nd* |
Yards per carry | 5.6 | 2nd |
*=Led NFC |
Peterson, who set the league mark for rushing in a game with 296 yards in a 35-17 victory over San Diego, also had a 224-yarder in a win against Chicago. The key to Minnesota's improvement to an 8-8 record this season, he led the NFC with 1,341 yards rushing, second only to San Diego's LaDainian Tomlinson in the league. His 78 points on 13 touchdowns were second in the conference.
Those numbers, compiled in 14 games, and his overall impact -- the Vikings struggled to pass the ball, yet were in the wild-card race until the final game -- earned Peterson 46˝ votes from a nationwide panel of 50 media members who regularly cover the NFL. Cleveland Browns tackle Joe Thomas was the only other player receiving votes, 3˝.
"I added to things they already had," Peterson said. "I am a playmaker. That's why I say if there is anything I could do to put me out there, just put me out there.
"I wanted to come in and be a difference and help the team turn around. I came with the attitude to do whatever I had to do to get on the field."
Peterson was not a starter until the sixth game, a week after his big performance against the Bears. While veteran Chester Taylor opened the first five games and was coming off a strong year, it was clear that Peterson could be a difference-maker.
There appears to be a production pitfall awaiting recent running backs who have won the Offensive Rookie of the Year award. Only Clinton Portis escaped the curse.
Player | Rushing yds as rookie | Rushing yds following year |
2007 Adrian Peterson, Vikings | 1,341 | ? |
2005 Cadillac Williams, Buccaneers | 1,178 | 798 |
2002 Clinton Portis, Redskins | 1,508 | 1,591 |
2001 Anthony Thomas, Bears | 1,183 | 721 |
2000 Mike Anderson, Broncos | 1,500 | 678 |
So coach Brad Childress had to turn him loose.
"From an early time, a week after the draft when we had about 50 free agents in here, you knew he was going to be a special guy," Childress said.
The seventh selection in the draft, Peterson brought some durability issues with him after suffering several injuries at Oklahoma. He did miss two games with a knee problem and wasn't particularly effective for much of December when he returned to the lineup.
But at his best, Peterson was as good as any rookie runner the league has seen; halfway through the schedule, he was on pace to break Eric Dickerson's rookie rushing record of 1,808 yards. And even though he slowed because of the injury, Peterson had little competition for the award.
"I knew what I was bringing to the table. I'm pretty sure those guys knew by drafting me," Peterson said. "I came in with the attitude to just contribute any way I could. Get in game shape and be valuable to play."
Vikings cornerback Cedric Griffin played at Texas and faced Peterson each season. That Peterson was the NFL's top offensive rookie was no surprise to Griffin.
"I knew what he possessed. He's just a great back, and I respect that of him," Griffin said. "I don't think he needs any praises, because he knows that he has that capability of carrying this team. He's been doing a great job, and everyone knows that."
Now, Peterson is ready for some R&R. Sure, he'd prefer being in the postseason, but with the Vikings eliminated, there's nothing wrong with some time to recharge.
"I got to get away and just relax," he said. "It feels like I've been on a world tour for so long since I started playing in the league. But this is what it's all about. This is what you dream about when you were little. But it's definitely going to feel good to get some time to relax my mind."
Dead is Evadney Windette of New Hall district in the parish.
Reports are that about 7:10 p.m., Windette was walking along the Melrose bypass when she was hit by a Toyota Ipsum motor car registered 9565 EM. The injured woman was taken to the Mandeville Regional Hospital where she was pronounced dead.
The Mandeville police are investigating
The singer Ne-Yo (real name: Shaffer Smith) claims that he was set to earn $785,000 for opening for Kelly at a minimum of 25 concerts. But he says was bounced from the tour after a pair of shows in mid-November, though audience reaction to his set was strong. In a December 31 Los Angeles Superior Court lawsuit, Shaffer, 28, alleges that he was dumped because crowd and press reaction to his performance was "more favorable" than R. Kelly's notices.
The Spanish Town police have taken a man into custody after he was caught with a high-powered weapon in the town centre on Boxing Day.
Charged with illegal possession of firearm and ammunition is Wayne Liscomb, 26-year-old mason of Seaview Gardens, St. Andrew.
Reports reaching THE STAR are that about 6:30 a.m., the police was conducting a patrol along March Pen Road in the vicinity of the Oasis Plaza when Liscomb was seen acting suspiciously after alighting from a bus.
He was accosted and searched and one intra-tec sub-machine gun taken from a 'compartment' of a big pants he was wearing.
and a magazine containing 14 rounds taken from another section of his clothing. He was charged by the police and is booked to appear in court on January 8 next year.
Gay son's confession
Dear Pastor,
I hope you can help me. I am gay and I do not know how to deal with being gay in Jamaica. I have been deported and I have been here for eight months. Being home is not the same. I do not know when I will be able to travel again which is depressing me because I miss my lover.
How do I tell my mother and father that I am gay?
T. D., Clarendon, Jamaica
Dear T. D.,
Your parents will eventually find out. So, if that is your lifestyle and you don't want to receive any help in changing your lifestyle, you should tell your parents. Don't allow them to hear from someone else. Tell them when both of them are together.
I cannot encourage anybody to practise homosexuality. I believe its abnormal behaviour. I am not condemning you, but I trust that you would consider your lifestyle and seek to change it.
Pastor
Police and residents are still trying to determine the reason why a 15-year-old schoolgirl would allegedly commit suicide.
This question revolves around the death of Samantha Campbell, also known as 'Stuchie', a student of Eltham High School who resided at Frazer Content outside Spanish Town, St. Catherine.
Police told THE STAR that about 11:30 p.m. last Friday, relatives heard a male voice call the teen and she went to talk to whomever it was. As customary, Campbell would turn up the radio in the living room and about 20 minutes after not seeing her, relatives made checks.
Her body was found hanging from the ceiling.
Several persons told THE STAR that the case of Stuchie is really a strange one. The police, however, have ruled the death as suicide.Dear Pastor,
I am a 19-year-old cosmetologist. I am currently living with my 40-year-old fiancé. We have been together for three years now. The problem is, one year ago I became pregnant and had a miscarriage. From then, I have been trying to get pregnant, but I have to be on medication to help me. My fiancé and I were to get married in January, but he postponed it until April 2007. Since then, he has not said anything to me.
I think it is because I have been taking medication to get pregnant why he has changed his mind. A few days ago, he mentioned that the day I say that I am pregnant we are going to be married. I thought he was joking, but he is not. I'm worried. As a result, I have become depressed.
Please, help me. I need your fatherly advice.
S., Kingston, Jamaica
Dear S.,
I cannot encourage you to get pregnant. What I can encourage you to do is to go to school and get an education. Always remember that some men are liars and although this man has promised that when you become pregnant he will marry you, he may never keep his promise. Having a child by a man does not guarantee that he will marry you. So please, instead of yearning to become a mother, aim high, learn a skill or try to go to school. Sometimes men promise women silver and gold if the woman becomes pregnant but when this happens they don't want to support their children. Don't let this happen to you.
If this man is a real man and he truly loves you he will marry you because you don't have to prove that you are a woman by becoming pregnant.
Pastor