Jacksonville (1-0, 1-0 away) |
Pittsburgh (0-1, 0-1 home) |
1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | |
7 | 14 | 7 | 3 | |
7 | 0 | 3 | 19 |
T |
31 |
29 |
The Labour and Social Security Ministry has said it is almost at the end of its drive to source persons for the Canadian and United States farm work programmes for the 2008 season.
Labour and Social Security Minister Pearnel Charles, who had announced on December 18 that the deadline for the receipt of all applications would be the 31st of that month, told the Observer last Friday that the better part of the 4,000 applications have been received by the ministry.
"We are seeking to interview and select 4,000 workers between the United States and Canada," said Charles. "We distributed that amount of applications and the majority of members of parliament have returned applications. but we have not receivedall yet."
Although he was unable to give the definite number of applications now with the ministry, Charles said the outstanding applications would not prove detrimental to the process and there was "no need to extend the deadline".
"We have started recording. Not all the applications have come in, but that is not a serious problem because we have started the process," he said.
Charles said the selection of the workers will take place as soon as the recording of the names that have been recommended is completed. He said persons who are selected will be advised of the date they would be interviewed and the location.
Traditionally, interviews have been carried out in three sections of the island - Kingston, Manchester and St James.
Charles, in a recent statement to Parliament, solicited the help of all members of parliament to carry out the selection of persons from their constituencies to work on the programme.
At the time, Charles said members of parliament who had always played a pivotal role in sourcing persons for these programmes would be expected to play an even greater role in the process because of the many challenges facing the programmes.
KINGSTON, Jamaica (AP):
A massive collection of 1970s music, including original recordings by reggae greats Bob Marley and Peter Tosh, has disappeared from the archives of the former Jamaica Broadcasting Corp., authorities said Saturday.
The possible theft of thousands of vinyl records and compact discs is a blow to the island's history, said Olivia Grange, Jamaica's Information Minister.
Musicians and former JBC employees criticised the Government for not properly maintaining the archives.
"The latest development is a national disgrace," said Gladstone Wilson, former programme manager for JBC radio.
Workers at the newly formed Public Broadcasting Corp. of Jamaica noticed the disappearances earlier this week while touring the old JBC building. They had planned to use the archived material for their first programmes, Grange said.
The archives also contain such iconic videos as the 1977 visit of Fidel Castro and the 1978 'One Love Peace Concert', in which Marley famously called two bitter Jamaican political rivals onstage to join hands.
Photo courtesy Department of Defense Defense Visual Information Center A Marine sniper emerges from the water. See more pictures of snipers. |
When a sniper takes a shot, there are countless variables to consider before squeezing the trigger --- wind speed, wind direction, range, target movement, mirage, light source, temperature, barometric pressure, and that's just the beginning. The work that goes into getting a good position to take a shot is immense. That's why snipers always work in pairs. Surprised? Most people are.
These highly skilled marksmen are often perceived as lone assassins racking up "confirmed kills." In reality, true snipers work for the military and law enforcement agencies and are far more concerned with the number of lives they save than with the ones they take.
Because of the secretive and stealthy nature of the work, not too many people know what's really involved in being a sniper, so we went straight to the source: We interviewed a former U.S. Army Ranger sniper to get the inside information. In the next few sections, we'll go over tools, tricks, and training of these mysterious and deadly warriors.
Photo courtesy Department of Defense Defense Visual Information Center A U.S. Marine Sniper sights a target through a scope on a 12.7 mm .50-caliber light Fifty Model 82A1 Sniper Rifle. |
Military snipers are used in a variety of missions on the battlefield, and the sniper's primary mission has nothing to do with pulling a trigger. The main battlefield role of the sniper is reconnaissance. Because snipers are masters of stealth, they are perfectly suited to sneak behind enemy lines to provide command with information about the enemy's size, strength and location.
When the mission calls for it, snipers can also dismantle and dishearten the enemy with a few well-placed rifle shots. Instead of engaging the entire enemy force like traditional infantry, snipers concentrate their efforts on hunting key people -- officers, pilots, armor drivers, technicians, and communications operators. With deadly shots that kill without warning, military snipers break both the enemy's will and ability to fight.
When there is no specific objective, a sniper will look for targets of opportunity. By tracking enemy movements, snipers wait patiently for the unsuspecting soldiers to present the opportunity for a perfect shot. An officer taking a break to smoke a cigarette, a pilot flight-checking his helicopter, an armed guard on patrol -- these are all targets of opportunity.
"You want to take out what's going to help your buddies the most." This is what Army Ranger Sniper had to say on selecting targets of opportunity. He continues:
... When you're in the military, you have experience knowing how a commander acts. You know a private -- a private Joe Nobody is generally going to be sitting behind a mound or sitting in a hole with his weapon. You can tell who's who by looking -- 'Okay, this guy's in charge and that guy's a nobody' -- just because of the way they act. That's one of the reasons in the field you're not supposed to salute officers. Say, in the field, you're sitting there looking and some guy walks by and salutes somebody and then, 'BAM' -- you know he's an officer. That's one of those things you pick up on.Snipers are also utilized in support roles. These support roles can be an over-watch position or a blocking action. When a sniper is in an over-watch position, he sets himself up in a concealed place that gives him a clear view of the battlefield. There he can support the assault force by taking out enemy forces that are endangering the advancing platoon. In a blocking action, snipers set up to help secure a position that is controlled by their platoon. They may set up on a roof and help ground forces defend their position.
Photo courtesy Department of Defense Defense Visual Information Center Snipers on a rooftop in a blocking action |
Snipers don't just shoot people. They are often ordered to destroy material targets. A sniper may shoot generators, radios, transmitters, or fuel and water supplies. Putting a .50 caliber round in the engine block of a helicopter or transport is just as effective as putting one in the man who drives them.
Snipers are what military strategists refer to as force multipliers. Simply put, a force multiplier is an individual or small team that, through the use of special tactics, can do the damage of a much larger force. What's amazing about snipers is that they are capable of force multiplication without ever directly engaging the enemy.
Because of the nature of their missions, snipers travel with very little gear, patiently moving under the cover of brush or night. But they never travel alone. Snipers teams often have to stay completely still for hours or days at a time to avoid detection, waiting for the right moment to take the shot. In the next section, we'll learn how sniper teams work together to achieve "the perfect shot."
DURING the decade of the 1980s when the economy was rocked by crippling austerity measures, and structural adjustment policies had hit the impoverished areas of Jamaica, a new breed of criminality evolved.
Communities in the lower section of St Andrew such as Waterhouse, Olympic Gardens, Tower Hill and Riverton City were all shelters for vicious hoodlums. Life was unbearable for law-abiding citizens who had no choice but to live under the lawless rule of armed gangs and political thugs, who laid waste to those areas by filling the void left by a poorly equipped and hapless police force. Many times these gangs would kill, rape and terrorise residents with impunity.
The actions of the police at the time, which included batterings and wholesale arrests, further compounded their fight against crime and alienated them from the communities that were under the gun.
Out of this quagmire rose one of the nation's most notorious gangsters. His name was Wayne Smith, known more popularly as 'Sandokhan'.
At the time of Sandokhan's short-term life of crime, residents of the area claimed they were in- between the rock of police brutality and the hard place of plunder by the armed gangs, which ran amok in their communities.
"We couldn't take how the badman dem was a gwaan. Dem rape the woman dem and rob poor people - not to mention the whole heap a people them kill. But the police sometimes not better, as when them pass through them nuh care who them kick up and bruk batten pan. Them kill hole heap a innocent youths and plant gun pan dem to," one woman who lived in Waterhouse said.
According to these residents, Sandokhan's emergence could not have come too soon.
"Him bring order to the area and run whey the man dem who was going on with the wrongs. Him and him gang set the law because him never careless with him power, and treat old people and children with kindness," the woman said.
But while other notorious bad men had shown a penchant for brutality from a tender age, those who knew Sandokhan say while he was a known ganja dealer, he was not one to murder and steal.
"Him start out selling weed and get crucial when a certain policeman try take over the weed business. Them try arrest him one day, but him escape and them lock up him woman," one resident said.
Sandhokan was reportedly riding a motorcycle, with his wife as a pillion passenger when police officers signalled him to stop. Smith managed to wriggle out of the policemen's grasp and managed to escape, but the cops reportedly arrested the woman.
The incident happened on November 19, 1986.
Residents say Sandokhan's foray into murder and *lo**-letting had its genesis in that narrow escape with the law. Reports began to surface in the community that Mrs Smith, who was married to Sandhokan at the age of 15 in 1985, was being 'boxed up' by the police at the Olympic Gardens Police Station. The news infuriated the man, who would grow to become the nation's most wanted fugitive and instilled in him a hatred for law enforcement.
The following night, Sandokhan and his gang undertook what has been the most brazen attack at law enforcement and society since independence from colonial rule.
The brazen gunmen stormed the porous, poorly staffed police station through the roof, and murdered three officers before stealing several weapons, including high-powered assault rifles, from the station armoury.
Another policeman reportedly escaped with his life after he lay on the ground and played possum.
The attack took place hours before dawn, and drew the condemnation of society and was dubbed a 'guerilla style attack' by local media.
The attackers had studied the habits of the cops at the station and knew that about that time the staff complement had dwindled and that those who were rostered to work were most likely asleep.
From that dreadful morning, the capture and castration of Sandokhan and his gang became priority number one for law enforcers.
Among those reported by police as being an accomplice of Smith was Nathaniel 'Natty' Morgan, who would take over the infamous title of most wanted after his former gang leader's demise.
One week after the bare-faced invasion of the police station, the gangster, who managed to get past local Customs officials, was held aboard a departing flight at the Sangster International Airport. A popular artiste at the time had his passport seized and was barred from entering the United States and the United Kingdom after local police accused him of assisting the fugitive in his flight from justice. The ban was lifted several years later after the artiste's work created a huge demand for his performances overseas.
Sandokhan was then dragged before the court after being charged with the triple murder of the cops. However, before he could be sentenced he managed to escape.
At the time, popular talk on the street was that he had powerful backers linked to the drug trade who had managed to corrupt prison warders and police officers, who had aided in his escape.
Sandokhan was recaptured and sentenced in the court to hang for his crimes. But on June 15, 1988, he managed to escape from the St Catherine District Prison (now called the St Catherine Adult Correctional Centre), and went back into the community of Waterhouse and its environs where he was shielded by the residents who welcomed his presence in their midst.
The policeman who had beaten Sandokhan's wife, was identified in a letter by the fugitive to Monsignor Richard Albert as 'D C Colt'.
"Father, Tuesday the police curfew Waterhouse and held my wife, and the same D C Colt boxed up my wife and beat her up and I want some action to take against the policeman soon. If no action don't take against that policeman he is going to go on to do the same. And father, I promise you I will never molest the police but if the police continue doing things to my wife they will get me doing things to them....if no action is taken against that policeman he is going to make things worse on other policeman," the letter read in part.
The Catholic priest had met with the most wanted man a number of times as he reportedly tried to persuade the fugitive to turn himself in, and came under fire from various sections of society when he likened the most wanted fugitive to Robin Hood.
Saturday, January 5 | |||||
RESULT | WINNER HIGH | LOSER HIGH | |||
New Jersey 113, Atlanta 107 | Carter 29 Pts | Smith 34 Pts | |||
Boston 92, Detroit 85 | Davis 20 Pts | Hamilton 18 Pts | |||
Chicago 94, Sacramento 93 | Nocioni 26 Pts | Miller 22 Pts | |||
Houston 103, NY Knicks 91 | Ming 30 Pts | Robinson 25 Pts | |||
New Orleans 118, Phoenix 113 | Paul 28 Pts | Barbosa 28 Pts | |||
Portland 103, Utah 89 | Webster 26 Pts | Williams 23 Pts |
Sunday, January 6 | |||||
RESULT | WINNER HIGH | LOSER HIGH | |||
Washington 108, Seattle 86 | Butler 33 Pts | Durant 19 Pts | |||
Cleveland 93, Toronto 90 | James 39 Pts | Bosh 23 Pts | |||
San Antonio 88, LA Clippers 82 | Parker 26 Pts | Kaman 20 Pts | |||
Dallas 101, Minnesota 78 | Nowitzki 30 Pts | McCants 21 Pts | |||
Memphis 101, Miami 94 | Gasol 28 Pts | Davis 24 Pts |
Jah Cure in an emailed statement first thanked Sizzla Kalonji for his assistance in the music business. "I want to thank Sizzla Kalonji as he was one of the first to believe in my music". Jah Cure continued, "Many may have heard of a recent incident at Cocoa Tea's Dancehall Jam Jam. In light of this, I want to state that I am a positive person whose only aim is to uplift people and live in a positive way."
Sizzla apparently went up and told Jah Cure that he thought the recently released from jail singer needed to brush up on his vocal skills, and recommended he take some vocal training. Jah Cure became incensed by Sizzla's statement and began to jump on top of a car. Eventually entourages backstage had to separate the artists. The were rumours of blows being thrown, but that was quickly discounted.
Cocoa Tea even commented on the incident claiming that media houses blew the entire incident out or proportion and did not focus on the business on hand, the music. Sizzla up to publishing time did not release an official statement but it is confirmed through his publicist that no blows were thrown. Jamaica can reach South Africa, says Simoes
published: Sunday | January 6, 2008
Ricardo Makyn/Staff Photographer
National technical director René Simoes addresses the media upon his return to the island yesterday.
Audley Boyd, Assistant Sport Editor
FULL OF conviction that Jamaica possesses the talent to qualify for the 2010 World Cup Finals in South Africa, Professor René Simoes returned to the island yesterday to begin his second tour of duty as technical director of the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF), under a three-year contract.
Simoes is the coach who guided Jamaica to its first World Cup Finals, in France in 1998. A fan took time out to show his gratitude with a huge sign reading 'Welcome home René Simoes', at the intersection of the Michael Manley and Sir Florizel Glasspole Boulevards, yesterday.
The little Brazilian, neatly dressed in a grey suit, arrived close to 12:30 p.m. at the Norman Manley Inter-national Airport, accompanied by JFF president Captain Horace Burrell, his daughter, Bia, and Chico Santos, one of three coaches from Brazil who will be working with Simoes. Santos' specific responsibilities pertains to the goalkeepers.
In opening remarks at a press conference in the airport's VIP Lounge shortly after their arrival, Burrell said: "Today is a special day in our sporting life because today is the day when we welcome the return of Professor René Simoes, who has done so much for this country.
"Professor Simoes is here on a three-year contract. He's not here as the head coach of the Reggae Boyz. Jamaica simply cannot afford that. He is the technical director for all national teams, including the female teams," he said.
Assistant coach coming
Another Brazilian coach, Alfredo Montesso, who worked with Simoes during his first tenure from 1994 to 2000, is scheduled to arrive tomorrow. He will be the national team's assistant coach.
Glydiston Ananias, another coach who worked here during that period with Simoes, will not be returning as previously announced because he has commitments with Coritiba, the team that Simoes piloted to the Brazilian national Division Two championship and has been promoted to the nation's top-flight league.
His replacement will be Brazilian Jose Alexandre Mon-tenero, who will arrive here at a later date.
Each of these coaches will be paid a monthly salary of US$15,000, while Simoes is contracted at US$600,000 per annum.
Commenting on his reasons for returning, Simoes told journalists that he believed in the Jamaican people.
"Some people in Brazil told me lightning doesn't strike the same place twice," he noted in reference to his first stint. "We qualified because we believed we could qualify as a people and we worked hard for it."
Looking ahead to the next qualifying series that begins in June, Simoes said: "This time will be difficult ... but now we know we can do it. People will not take Jamaica lightly. We have to be better today than the last time because people know what Jamaica can do now.
"But we have the potential, the quality. The strength of the Jamaican people moves me to believe we can do it again ... and this time we need to get everybody together," he said.
In that light, he noted there must be significant input by the private sector, government and the nation's people and warned that all national representatives will be required to be a part of what he calls 'the Reggae Boyz family'.
"Don't believe that because you are a good player you will be a part of my team. You have to be part of the family," Simoes warned. "If the players are not in the family, or for these objectives, they will be out. You cannot qualify a team with only the best players. They must be role models to help people to understand in the society, the players must have responsibility."
He continued: "I think 25 games a year for the Reggae Boyz is a good number. You cannot be afraid to lose games. Without losing you cannot identify who is great and who is not. We cannot improve our football if we don't raise the local players again.
Ready to roll
"Let's discover more Ricardo Gardners," he added of the English Premiership star for Bolton Wanderers, whom he drafted into the Jamaican team as a 16-year-old Wolmer's schoolboy.
Simoes begins working immediately as he is scheduled to watch parts of two Cash Plus Premier League matches today - Waterhouse vs Sporting Central Academy at Drewsland and Harbour View vs August Town game at Compound. Both are slated to begin at 3:30 p.m.
Tomorrow he is scheduled for a briefing with JFF general secretary Horace Reid, then with other JFF staffers on Tuesday, sponsors and potential sponsors on Wednesday. On Thursday, he will be at Jamaica House where he will meet Prime Minister Bruce Golding and on Friday he will meet with the JFF's board of directors.
"I want to make a diagnosis of what's going on," Simoes noted. "After that I'll devise my strategy."
New Orleans rapper Birdman is under fire for allegedly sampling other artists' songs without permission.
According to the Associated Press, the Cash Money co-founder faces a federal lawsuit claiming he used copyrighted songs without licensing agreements and without paying royalties.
The suit doesn't specify any of the copyrighted songs, but does say that Birdman, whose alias is Baby and real name is Bryan Williams, allegedly used the songs on his own albums as well as releases by Cash Money artists Lil' Wayne and the Big Tymers.
High-powered plaintiffs include WB Music Corp., Warner-Tamerlane Publishing Corp., Cotillion Music Inc., Noontime Tunes and W.B.M. Music Corp.
According to court records, an attempt to serve Cash Money with a copy of the lawsuit on Dec. 3 was unsuccessful, as the plaintiffs' attorney encountered a vacant Cash Money office in a New Orleans suburb. Birdman has reportedly relocated to Miami.
The suit, filed on Oct. 29, also names Birdman's brother and Cash Money co-founder, Ronald Williams. It seeks an unnamed sum as well as interest and legal fees.
In other legal woes for the New Orleans mogul, Birdman and 15 members of his entourage were arrested in November and charged with possession of marijuana. He was released on $1,500 bond the following day (Nov. 28).
In non-legal news, Birdman's latest album, 5 * Stunna, debuted at No. 18, selling 86,000 copies in its first week. Meanwhile, surrogate son Lil' Wayne's The Leak EP debuted on SoundScan this week selling 2,400 copies. Weezy quietly released the EP on Christmas strictly via MP3 and without any promotion.
Your Comments Tell us what you think! |
| Redz January 4,2008 Kartel still haffi play cuz adi boss dat a wha Jigsy feel like |
Just looking back at last year the many feuds that took place and the tussles that happened on stage in front of paying patrons is enough to let you "wanna puke."
Wake up dancehall industry people the only losers in all of this are the very people who are supporting your music. Instead of a bang for their buck, what do you give them in return, disrespect and a steady diet of cuss words and total almshouse on stage.
It's time that music lovers demand more for the hard earned cash they have to fork out to go see these guys on stage. Unless you, who are spending your money start setting higher standards then this foolishness will continue.
Promoters too must join the crusade for change. Face it, the only way these artistes will conform and make a change for the better is if you hit them where it really hurts. A puny fine of $1-5000 will not stop them from going on stage and using expletives or being downright offensive.
If promoters (both locally and overseas) choose instead to draw for clean artiste consistently, then sooner or later these so called hype artiste will feel the pinch and start doing what it takes to 'eat a food'.
By Richie B - host of "HOT MIX" on HOT 102 FM
TOP 20 DANCEHALL SINGLES
TW LW WC TITLE/ARTISTE/LABEL
01 1 17 Nah Go A Jail Busy Signal Jam 2 (4wks@#1) NM
02 2 12 Pick It Up & Drop It Sean Paul Birchill Records NM
03 4 15 Tell Dem Don't Follow Buju Banton Heart of Love U-1
04 3 12 Everybody Dance RDX Apt 19 (2wks@#1) D-1
05 7 7 Dandy Shandy Macka Diamond Birch Hill U-2
06 6 9 Empire Army Vybz Kartel Big Ship NM
07 12 3 Click My Finger Erup Truck Back U-5
08 5 16 Dem A Sissy Assassin Don Corleon D-3
09 8 22 Give It Up Beenie Man feat Barbee 357 Records (3wks@#1) D-1
10 11 6 When My Gun Rise Munga Heart of Love U-1
11 13 4 Dreaming Of You Beenie Man & Alaine Sleepy Splu U-2
12 15 3 Pon Di Edge Busy Signal Star Kutt U-3
13 10 26 Wine Pon It/Talk To Me Munga Casper Productions (1wk@#1) D-3
14 9 8 Squeeze Har Mavado H20 (pp#7) D-5
15 17 3 Mama Cry Beenie Man 357 Records U-2
16 18 3 Don't Run In Harry Toddler Truck Back U-2
17 20 2 Doh Serani feat Bugle Daseca U-3
18 - 4 Shoot Out Mykal Rose John John
19 14 21 What I'm Gonna Do Bugle Daseca (pp#4) D-5
20 - 3 Duppy Know Who Fi Frighten Demarco John John
Remember when Spragga Benz, Bounty Killer, Beenie Man, Lady Saw, Cobra, Capleton and others ruled the dancehall in the 80s and 90s creating the culture of dancehall? It wasn't long ago that fans were calling these deejays names in a frenzy as they kept a firm grip on the charts. Over the past three years, however, talk has been circulating of dancehall's new generation who have flourished in 2007.
From the older generation only Beenie Man has really made a grumble this year with Back It Up and others. Yet it is questionable whether his hits are hitting like they used to. In an era of new acts it is yet to be seen if the veterans can live to fight another day with the newcomers clamouring at their heels.
According to Dr. Donna Hope author, lecturer and culture researcher at the University of the West Indies, the older generation of dancehallartistes no longer have the same effect that they once did.
"There is a new generation of dancehall artistes, but they are getting a struggle to claim the top because Beenie and Bounty are still there. You had Aidonia and Busy who were trying a ting and so far Busy Signal has been doing well. Mavado and Munga have definitely made a difference," she said.
Newcomers like Busy Signal have kept it hot with Nah Go A Jail, These Are The Days, while Munga dominated with Bad From Mi Born, and Gangsta Ras. Vybz Kartel has, among other hits, Whine Pon Yuh and Sen Fi Di Army. Erup's new Click Yuh Finga has been dubbed the hit tune for December, while Mavado is arguably the most popular newcomer this year.
With these songs moving up the charts from new artistes, Hope believes it is time that the older generation like Beenie Man and Bounty Killer abdicate the throne.
"They should step down," she said. "They have been reigning since the 90's taking over from Yellowman, Ninja Man and Shabba. They are always trying to find new ways to stay on top. Bounty has gathered a lot of newcomers around him and absorbs from them so they cannot 'kill him' symbolically," Hope claimed.
However, while they may not be turning out the hits like they used to, a number of the older generation artistes have taken the new generation under their wing. For Bounty Killer there is Mavado, Busy and Vybz Kartel who all came from the Alliance. Munga came forth from the Capleton camp and Spragga helped push Assassin. In a way, the legacy of the older generation lives on through their well-trained heirs.
Actress Vivica A. Fox has a sex tape that has been circulated around recently. An inebriated Fox is seen on her knees, performing oral sex to an Atlanta man, who was secretly taping her on his cell phone.
The man then e-mailed the sex tape to his friends, who then e-mailed it to Fox.
Fox then e-mailed it to a friend of hers in the Atlanta Police Department. It is unknown if Fox is filing a complaint against the man or asked the police department to handle the situation in a private manner.
The tape was confirmed by Atlanta hip-hop station V-103's Porsche Foxx, a popular DJ in the city.
For more entertainment news, please check out http://news.finditt.com/NewsList.aspx?cat=2&wcat=6
My problems started last year when a girl called my phone telling me that I should leave him alone because she cannot have him for herself because of me. Each time after they had sex, he would tell her I'm still his number one and he just had sex with her because he does not want to force me into something. I'm not ready for sex. I'm a virgin. She also told me she really loves him, but he does not love her and I am the cause.
Pastor, I try very hard to have a good conversation with her. I try not to say anything I would not like anyone to say to me because I know that is emotional stress. She kept calling me for about a week. I kept our little talks to myself and did not tell my boyfriend, because he was off the island on business. She then called me a week later telling me that she is pregnant and she is asking me to leave him alone, so she does not have to grow her child on her own. I told her I'll think about it.
Crocodile tears?
That night he called me and I told him about it and everything else. He cried while he told me what he said is the truth that he had sex with her twice and that he used condoms so she is lying. He also told me the reason he stopped having sex with her after the second time was because he knew he was doing something wrong and he did not want to hurt me. He asked forgiveness and I gave it to him because I really love him.
When he returned home to Jamaica he came straight from the airport to his uncle's house, who is my neighbour. Not even his mother knew he was back; no one at his workplace either. He spent two weeks with me. I slept with him, kissed etc, but still we did not have sex. He helped me to study, even went to the library with me to do my homework and projects. Whenever we showered together he would wash my underwear, Pastor everything he does takes my breath away. Little did I know that the reason why he was away from work was he was playing sick to be with me on my birthday.
A few weeks ago when he proposed to me, my parents were very happy, but insisted that I finish college before the wedding. He also thinks that too. He left the day after my birthday to go back to work. Two days after the girl called me again telling me that she saw him and called his name, but he just cut his eyes at her. She even said that any obeah I use on him to make him love me she will use a more powerful one on him because any man she wants she has to have, not to mention the ones with money and the pretty hair and she wants him to fill the space her past man left.
Obeah vs angels
Pastor, this is what scares me the most. He says I must change my SIM card so I can have a new number and as for the obeah, it cannot work on him because God is his guiding angel. I'm still worried about him being in the same community with her. I don't believe in obeah, I just don't want him to get hurt.
Please tell me what to do? Do you really think that he loves me based on all the information I gave you? Do you think our relationship will lead into marriage with this girl riding us like horses? I'm 19 and he is 22.
F., Portland, Jamaica.
Dear F,
Time will tell you whether this girl is telling the truth and whether the tears that this guy shed were only crocodile tears to make you feel that all is well, and that he would make you his wife. It is not easy to tell whether a man is speaking the truth when another woman is involved in his life. I don't consider this man to be an angel. He has not had sex with you but he had sex with the other girl to satisfy his sexual appetite. Would you consider him such a wonderful man after using the other girl and telling you what he did? I wonder what he told her about you? He is not a man who can keep his mouth.
What a fortunate girl you are for a man to sleep with you, kiss you up, shower with you etc. and not have sex with you. Am I to understand that he has not penetrated you? I'm sure he did other things to you to make you feel nice and to satisfy himself. This man washes your underwear and you are not ill? No wonder you say he took your breath away. He truly knows how to make a woman feel special. I hope he doesn't disappoint you. I hope that you know the same way he treats that other girl is the same way he may treat you. I hope I am wrong. Tell him that he should end the relationship with her if he is serious about you.
Nineteen-year-old Leroy has accepted his responsibility as father of his two-year-old daughter, despite his still being in school.
Leroy, who conceived the child with his now 17-year-old girlfriend, says fatherhood has made him more prepared to face life's challenges. "Being a father has actually made me more mature and a more aware person," he said. "And I'm still a honour role student."
However, Leroy said once upon a time, the police were threatening to arrest him on charges of carnal abuse and impregnating a minor. He said he found help at the Fathers' Crisis Centre, a non-profit organisation that gives legal advice and other areas of guidance to fathers.
Sympathetic
Founder of Fathers in Action and innovator of the Fathers' Crisis Centre, Lanny Davidson, said the centre helped Leroy by counselling him and providing him with a lawyer that was sympathetic to his situation.
"In situations like these, where the young man impregnated a minor, it's difficult to find a lawyer who will be on his side. Some lawyers think the boy, though a minor too when he impregnated the young girl, should be locked up for his actions," Davidson said. "They [lawyers] don't think that it may have been the girl who wanted it (sexual intercourse)."
He adds that after months of being threatened by the police, Leroy was warned about his actions and the matter was settled out of court. "So they (the police) didn't lock me up," Leroy added.
He said he visited his daughter once per month since she lives in Kingston with her mother and grandparents. "I live outside of Kingston but I still visit and bring things (such as money received from his parents) for her," he said. "When her mother is at school, the grandparents take care of her."
Leroy's parents, who in the first instance claimed the child was not his because of the teen mother's promiscuous behaviour, came to accept the child after a DNA test that proved Leroy was the child's father.
Davidson says he encounters teen fathers on a regular basis. "However, some of these fathers don't come in to the centre for advice, we usually hear about them through word of mouth," Davidson says.
"But I doubt, though, that there are as many single teen fathers as there are single teen mothers, since most boys become single fathers only when the mother is absent," he adds.
Meanwhile, the Statistical Institute of Jamaica (STATIN) reports that in 2005, there was a total of 8,568 reported cases of teenage pregnancies, with 8,267 of these cases occurred among teenage girls between the ages of 15 and 19 while the remaining 301 cases took place among girls under age 15. However, the institute has no statistics on the number of teenage fathers since these cases are not easy to track.Stage name: Pressure
Birth date: August 5
Which high school did you attend? Charlotte Amalie in the United States Virgin Islands
How did you get started in the business?
I have been singing for about 10 years, a put out an album called Pressure Is On the album got a lot of ratings, Don (Corleone) later heard di album an took me to Jamaica where we linked up and started working together.
What has been your greatest challenge in the business yet?
Basically not so much, jus' being accepted as someone that has talent.
What have you been up to lately? Campaigning my new album 'Love and Affection', also recently shot the video for Ghetto Life and Touch The Sky
Do you look up to any specific artiste?
Not really look up to but respect and inspire, artistes like Beres Hammond, Sizzla, Jah Cure and Anthony B.
Are you happy with the way things are going for your career right now?
Yeah satisfy, doing more work and working hard.
Anything you'd like to change about it?
No, none at all
What are your future plans? Plan to tour Europe and Japan. I'm also still in the planning stage.
Do you have any advice for young artistes coming up? Be educated by educating yuhself and try to be yourself
The rumour about the alleged incident has been circulating for approximately three weeks.
The STAR received information that Barbee was rumoured to have been beaten by Beenie Man sometime before Christmas Eve after he approached her about having a threesome with another woman. It was reported that Barbee declined and was subsequently beaten by the artiste.
Insisting that the incident is a fabrication, Barbee explained:
"That is totally false, I was sick to the point where a doctor had to come to the house to visit me. At that time Beenie went to Miami. He wasn't here and I was sick."
For Barbee the recent rumours about her are "sad and hurtful" propagating an image of herself and the 'king of the dancehall' that is far from the truth.
"I just feel these rumours are something vindictive and really mean. We don't need to start the year like that. People need to stop messing with people's characters and keep it strictly to music. They are making Beenie seem like he's beating people and he's not."
As for the supposed threesome Barbee claims: "That's an attack on my character. There is nothing going on like that. It's just horrible and really puzzles me. It was crazy, and when I first heard it, I thought it was like a two-day rumour, not to the point where people were asking about it. They are making it seem like I'm indulging in this behaviour and I'm not."
Barbee, who is hoping to forge ahead in the industry in 2008, added that she and Beenie are 'just friends' and as his protégé is expected to raise her stakes as a singer.
But while she is insisting on the true nature of their relationship, since Wednesday night at television presenter Milk's Birthday party at The Quad, pictures have been circulating of Beenie Man and Barbee dancing very closely with Beenie's head resting on Barbee's ample bosom. Internet sites have claimed that the two were seen snuggling, confirming their love in public.
However, according to Barbee the rumours are untrue. "Once again, he was dancing with many people. If you look at other pictures he was dancing probably more with others. We were just enjoying ourselves. Di pic just look a way," she said.
Beenie Man could not be reached for a comment.
As for the supposed threesome Barbee claims: "That's an attack on my character. There is nothing going on like that. It's just horrible and really puzzles me. It was crazy.
DES MOINES, Iowa - Sen. Barack Obama, bidding to be the first black president in American history, won the Iowa caucuses Thursday night, pushing Sen. Hillary Clinton back to third place in the opening test of the race for the Democratic presidential nomination.
On the Republican side, Mike Huckabee rode a wave of support from evangelical Christians to victory over Mitt Romney.
Obama, 46, told a raucous victory rally his triumph showed that in "big cities and small towns, you came together to say, 'We are one nation, we are one people and our time for change has come.'"
Nearly complete returns showed the first-term senator from Illinois with 38 percent support from Democratic caucus-goers. Former Sen. John Edwards of North Carolina was in second place, relegating Clinton, the former first lady, to a close third.
Sen. Chris Dodd of Connecticut and Sen. Joseph Biden of Delaware dropped out of the Democratic race after poor showings, and Mike Gravel was expected to drop out as well. Rep. Dennis Kucinich of Ohio and New Mexico Gov. Bill Richardson finished well back.
Clinton, a New York senator bidding to become the first female president, congratulated Obama but vowed to continue.
NAIROBI, Kenya (CNN) -- Children's bodies were piled in a Nairobi morgue, churches burned and police on horseback chased pedestrians through the streets as Kenya's political crisis stretched into a fifth day Thursday.
The feet of the dead are shown in a Nairobi morgue on Thursday.
Meanwhile, the country's attorney general called for a recount and independent investigation into the December 27 election in which incumbent President Mwai Kibaki was declared the victor over opposition candidate Raila Odinga.
Violent protests ensued after results were announced Sunday and the number of dead has surpassed 300 people.
At a Nairobi morgue on Thursday, Odinga toured freezing rooms of the dead and saw the bodies of babies and children piled on shelves, according to an Associated Press report. It was unclear when those in the morgue died, but Odinga supporters said some died on Thursday.
"What we have just seen defies description," Odinga told journalists after visiting the morgue. "We can only describe it as genocide on a grand scale."
Odinga called off a "million man" rally planned for a Nairobi park on Thursday, but not before police clashed with Odinga supporters headed to the event.
Images provided to CNN by I-Reporter Duncan Musicha Waswa showed riot police on horseback chasing citizens on Nairobi's Bunyala Road. Those going about their daily business raised their hands to avoid the wrath of police, Waswa told CNN. Watch I-Report of violence on Nairobi street ť
Government forces used tear gas and water cannon to disperse the crowds.
"We are a peaceful people who do not want violence," William Ruto, a top official with Odinga's party told The AP. "That is why we are peacefully dispersing now."
Odinga called the meeting despite a government ban on such gatherings, having been forced to abandon his first attempt on Monday soon after the onset of the conflict.
Despite this week's two failed gatherings, the opposition Orange Democratic Movement now hopes to hold one Friday to protest the result of the elections.
Meanwhile, Kenyan Attorney General Amos Wako called for a recount and a government of national unity, according to a statement from his office.
Wako, who has been Kenya's attorney general since 1991, oversaw the nation's transition from one-party rule to democracy that year. And under his watch in 2002, an incumbent party was ousted by the opposition in national elections, according to Wako's government Web site.
Also Thursday, Archbishop Desmond Tutu began meeting with opposition officials, including Odinga, in an effort to mediate the election dispute.
"We've come to express our solidarity with the people of Kenya to express our sympathy at the carnage that has happened, hoping that we will be able to encourage the leadership to take action that would stop that carnage," Tutu said.
It was not immediately clear if the Nobel laureate would also talk with Kibaki's party. But government spokesman Alfred Mutua told the AP no such plans were in the works and Kenya had no need for mediators because "we are not in a civil war."
Odinga's supporters had slowly made their way to Uhuru Park for the rally, but were met by government security forces.
"There are fewer protesters here than there are guards," journalist David McKenzie said from the Nairobi slum of Kibera before the rally was canceled.
"But earlier, tear gas was thrown at them, and then there were running battles up and down the street ... with water cannon spraying and dispersing the people here."
There were also reports of government troops firing live rounds above protesters' heads, as the smoke of tires being burned in protest began to choke the air over the capital. Flames also could be seen leaping from some of the shacks that fill the capital's slums.
At least one church was burning. Watch as church burns in Nairobi slum ť
As many as 75,000 people have been internally displaced by the violence, the government said on Tuesday.
The government banned political gatherings before the elections, and the ban will remain in place "until the current security situation normalizes," government spokesman Alfred Mutua said Tuesday.
Violence erupted in the normally peaceful African country over the weekend, as frustration mounted at the slow pace of vote counting. It came to a head after the nation's Election Commission announced Sunday that the incumbent Kibaki won with 51.3 percent of the vote, while Odinga had 48.7 percent.
Since then, more than 200 people have been killed, the government said, but other accounts put the death toll at more than 300.
The government has halted all live broadcasts in the country, part of an effort to bring tensions down. The ODM called the move a "direct curtailment of freedom of expression rights that contravenes provisions of our constitution."
A local reporter on Wednesday told CNN he witnessed youths from minority ethnic groups manning checkpoints outside Eldoret, about 185 miles (300 kilometers) northwest of Nairobi, and refusing entry to members of the Kikuyu ethnic group.
Kenyans are required to carry identification cards, and a person's name often indicates what ethnic group they are from.
Kibaki is a member of the Kikuyu, Kenya's largest ethnic group which comprises roughly 22 percent of the country's population. Odinga belongs to the Luo group, which makes up about 13 percent of Kenya'sAs he performed yesterday morning at Reggae Campfire, held at the Windalco Sports Club, Ewarton, St. Catherine, Beenie Man made his agenda for 2008 clear.
Performing ahead of Sizzla, who effectively closed the show, as when he finished there was no music and no announcement, the large crowd that had been waiting for Buju Banton drifting away with many cursing and complaining.
After Anthony B had closed a fiery set in which he had introduced a new song, Satisfaction, with Raid De Barn and Damage among the closing numbers, Beenie Man took the stage to a tremendous welcome.
Opening snatch
After his opening snatches of song, which roused the audience, Beenie Man said, "las year was a very good year. In spite of every ting wha gwaan, it was a good year. Dis year we jus a tell dem sey ..." and deejayed "mi come again, fi rip it up an' mash it up again", to once more ignite the audience.
A few songs later, he asked for the hands of all the Bounty Killer fans and many went up. "A mi deejay dat," he said. "When him sey suppen bout me, low him. When me sey suppen bout him low me," he said, and deejayed "watch it mek me step pon a groun' god."
The women squealed as he instructed the men in the lovemaking process, Beenie Man 'chakkaed' and tap danced away and asked for permission to do a new song.
The audience listened in as he deejayed "dem form Alliance fi lef mi inna oblivion, me a de Grammy man, gal dem sugar pan. got de mos' numba one, people dem champion, dem sey mi nearly mad, cause mi wife tek annada man, so wha, me get anadda gal."
They cheered.
Before, the response to many performers was by and large as cold as the weather, with many a shining reggae light looking dim in the fog, when Campfire went out in the morning light like the large log fire that had blazed at the rear of the field, there was not much to soothe the general anger.
Huge applause
In the earlier going, Queen Ifrica opened to huge applause with Below The Waist. "We naa hype pon de I dem an show off," she said. Her tribute to "sensimilla" hit home and she was recalled to complete Daddy after doing a single line and leaving. And she expressed her disgust for homosexuals, saying "as a woman a my job dat. A our ting dem a juk juk ova de place."
Chuck Fender gashed and lit his way into the audience's good graces, I Swear and Murderer hitting home, then the audience filling in for Cherine Anderson to ask "are you coming over tonight?", while Turbulence was Notorious and pointed.
Sanchez' love songs, among them Lonely Don't Leave Me Alone, hit a mellow groove, Amazing Grace proving a decent closer.
However, many got a generally lukewarm response in the chill, Morgan Heritage working through A Man Is Still a Man, Down By the River and Don't Haffi Dread. John Holt was rescued by a decent response to Police In Helicopter and Love I Can Feel, the rest of his songs generally getting the stand-and-stare treatment.
QQ stookied and rum rammed mightily, but the audience was not impressed, band changes breaking the flow of an already dragging event, with Macka Diamond's 'money o' being devalued.
Etana sang of her Roots and DeMarco hailed the Fallen Soldiers.
nce going missing after recanting accusations that former manager Chris Stokes molested him, former B2K singer Raz-B dined with Stokes last night at the Mr. Chow restaurant in Los Angeles.
TMZ.com captured video footage of Raz-B, his brother Ricky Romance (real name Ricardo Thornton) and Stokes as they left the trendy eatery.
"We love each other man," Raz-B said, encouraging Stokes to pose with him for waiting paparazzi. During the public reconciliation, Raz-B coaxed Chris Stokes outside for the cameras where he thanked him for dinner before the three exchanged hugs and handshakes before parting ways. [Peep video here]
The incident follows the recent confusing chain of events beginning with Raz-B's videotaped allegations that he was abused by Stokes during his B2K days. Chris Stokes immediately responded saying Raz-B's claims "held no merit." Former B2K frontman and current R&B sensation Omarion stepped up to defend Stokes, who is his uncle by marriage as well as a business partner, saying that the Thornton brothers were lying.
Raz, whose real name is De'Mario Monte Thornton, later apologized for the video and recanted his accusations.
Despite Raz-B's apology, his brother Ricky Romance continued to stick with their original claims. As of last night's dinner outting with Stokes and Thornton, Ricky Romance has seemingly backed off, boldly proclaiming the reunion was a moment of "family unity for all you haters."
Afeni Shakur, the mother of slain rapper Tupac, reportedly sought an injunction in federal court on Friday (July 20) to prevent Death Row Records from selling unreleased records by her son, as part of a bankruptcy settlement.
According to the Associated Press, Afeni claims that the unreleased recordings should have been turned over to the rapper's estate as part of a 1997 agreement with Death Row but during the label's bankruptcy proceedings, "it was revealed that an album's worth of unreleased Tupac material was being advertised to potential buyers as the jewel in the crown of the Death Row assets."
Afeni and her company, Amur Entertainment, requested the injunction after Death Row failed to confirm the songs would not be included in the bankruptcy settlement.
The court will consider the request over the next month as it decides whether to allow Death Row to release an album with the unreleased tracks to help pay off its debts.
Death Row founder Suge Knight filed for bankruptcy in April 2006after a judge ordered him to pay $107 million to Lydia Harris, a woman who helped him start Death Row but was later forced out of the label.
Months after his bankruptcy filing, Knight would lose his label and various assets. Last month, the infamous mogul put his Malibu, California mansion on the market for $6.2 million as part of his financial overhaul.
Ronald L. Leibow, an attorney representing Death Row, could not be reached
A $130 million judgment against former Death Row Records boss Marion"Suge" Knight may be set aside.
As SOHH reported in March of 2005, Knight was ordered to pay over a hundred million dollars to singer Lydia Harris, who allegedly helped Knight start Death Row but was later forced out without adequate compensation.
Harris' suit claimed that she and her husband, incarcerated drug dealer Michael 'Harry-O' Harris, were the founders of the label, and that she was prevented from having a career while being slandered by Knight on websites, TV and radio.
According to the Los Angeles Times, attorney Dermot Givens is now asking that the $130-million judgment be set aside because of supposedly new evidence of fraud perpetrated by Harris and her husband.
According to the motion, which is expected to be the focus of a hearing today (Jan. 2), Harris did not tell the court she filed for bankruptcy five years before suing Knight, and never claimed a stake in Death Row during the bankruptcy proceeding.
Knight, incidentally, filed for bankruptcy himself in April of 2006 in response to the lawsuit
A St. James man who stole a laptop computer from his friend's house started the New Year on a sour note when he was sentenced to six months imprisonment on Wednesday.
Twenty-two-year-old Roswell Thomas, a construction site worker of Farm Heights, was sentenced after he pleaded guilty to larceny from the dwelling when he appeared before the Montego Bay Resident Magistrate's Court.
"Thing hard pon mi," was what he told the police when he was held with the stolen item which was later identified by the complainant.
RM Wilson Smith told the accused that he had betrayed his friend's trust, before sentencing Thomas.
The court heard that on December 21, 2007, the complainant was speaking to the accused and mentioned that he had forgotten to lock up his house and said he had left his girlfriend's Toshiba laptop computer in the house. On hearing this, the accused man left.
'When the complainant went home he discovered that the laptop was missing.
The following day, police, on patrol in the Porto Bello area, saw the accused walking with a bag. He was stopped and the bag was searched and a computer found.
He told the police that he got it from his aunt. However, his aunt denied this claim. Subsequently, he admitted that he had stolen the computer from his friend and was taken to his friend's home. His friend identified the computer as that of his girlfriend that was stolen the night before.Jamaican worker died of heart failure |
Thursday, January 03, 2008 |
Jamaican overseas worker Alicia White died in Vail, Colorado on December 23 from heart failure, according to the Eagle County Coroner, Kara Bettis.
Bettis made the diagnosis late Friday. White, 29, was employed to the Two Elk Lodge, built on an 11,220-foot elevation in the winter resort.
Her death led to a call by Minister of Labour and Social security Pearnel Charles for all agencies finding jobs for Jamaicans overseas to be either registered with the ministry, or have their clients registered with the ministry's liaison office in Washington, DC.Dear Pastor,
I am a 16-year-old girl who really needs your fatherly advice. I know this may not be the time for me to be talking about boyfriend at my tender age. But I met this guy two months ago and I fell in love with him. We started talking from we met, up to this day. But the thing is I love this man so much that if I don't hear his voice for one day I feel like I am going crazy. I have done things that I never did in my life before just because he asks me to do them.
He is 27 years old and has five kids. He is really nice but the only thing is that I am not sure if this man feels the same way for me as I feel for him. I have been in three relationships before and all I have got was hurt, pain and a broken heart. Up to this day my heart has not been mended. I don't want this guy to do the same to me because I am looking for someone to love me to the end of time. I hope that this man can do that for me.
I get straight A's on my reports and I am not a bad girl. I am not a girl that gets into contention with others. Instead, I stay inside my house. I know how to wash, cook and clean. I am praying to God to let this guy be my perfect husband because I don't want to be wild, I just want to stay with this guy.
I am not a professional when it comes on to sex, or what people would say I am boring in bed but this guy really knows how to perform. I need your fatherly advice. Do not look at my age, just give me the advice you would give to a 20 or 30-year-old woman, please, please, please.
K .B, St. Andrew, Jamaica
Dear K. B,
You are not easy. Believe me you are not easy, young girl. I don't know your background but I know for sure that you are searching for love and to be loved. You are searching for something that you have not received at home. You wish to be accepted and to be cherished, and perhaps you did not grow up with a father-figure at home. Therefore, you look at this 27-year-old man as someone who is responsible, loving and caring.
I can't answer you as if you were 20 or older because you are not. And although you are only 16 you have had three intimate relation-ships so you might have become sexually active at a tender age. This man has five children and he is only 27 year old. He is playing around. If indeed he had left the other girls, he will use you and leave you, just as he did the other girls. You have nothing special that he isn't used to. He is teaching you new things in bed but a man who has five children cannot support a wife very well unless he is earning lots of money. It is the bed business you like. He'll give you anything you want only if you make yourself available. A sixteen year old girl who is living at home doesn't need much, so he knows that giving you a little money now and then will make you happy. And he will have sex with you as often as possible and one of these days you will hear that he has another girlfriend.
It is not good for a girl to allow men to toy with her body. Right now it's the fourth man you are going with. A girl must not have a reputation as someone who is easy to get. Right now you cannot handle this sex thing, although you think that you can. Learn to behave yourself and work on your lessons. If you are not careful one of these days that guy will get you pregnant and tell you the condom broke. Take time and grow up. Go to Church and serve your God.
End the relationship with this man.
PastorSandor Panton, who designed 'Jamaican Jokes' the first Jamaican-branded application on Facebook.com, is reporting that over 5,000 people have installed it on the social networking website, since becoming available two weeks ago.
Jamaican Jokes simply delivers a new joke to your Facebook page each day. But for Panton it's more serious than that. Since Facebook admitted the application - one of many the website encourages programmers to submit - traffic on his JamaicanJokes.com website has since increased by 50 per cent.
Others should also consider using Facebook to boost their businesses, online or otherwise, believes the founder of the website-directory Top5Jamaica.com.
"Firstly Facebook allows you on the application page to add your own advertisement but the main thing is that it will drive more traffic to your site." he said. "Facebook definitely has more of a yuppie crowd (than MySpace.com), it's clean and more professional and business-wise I've been able to make links with people from and outside of Jamaica."
His success is unsurprising given the local popularity of Facebook, which has over 27,000 people registered to its 'Jamaica network', and has had to be blocked in some workplaces as increasing numbers of employees carry on their social activities via the site during working hours.
More sophisticated than the already popular Hi5.com, Facebook adds 250,000 new users daily, growing faster than MySpace, which is the world's most popular social networking site, used as an online promotional vehicle by many Jamaican entertainers.
Play, of the seminal rap group Kid 'n Play was hospitalized in Durham, NC after his car was hit by a man attempting to evade arrest.
Chris "Play" Martin's SUV was struck by a man who was fleeing a crime scene, according to The News & Observer. The driver, Raul Riva Aldamo, 34, of Greensboro, NC, was shot by police while trying to escape and pronounced dead at the scene.
Others involved in the crash, Luis Cazanova, 26, Alonzo Castillo, 39, were charged with breaking into a house and holding three people at bay.
The incident took place on Saturday (Dec. 28) and Play was released from the hospital by Wednesday. It is not yet known what injuries, if any, the rapper sustained.
As part of Kid 'n Play, Martin scored many hits in the '80s, as well memorable big screen moments starring in the ageless hip-hop romantic comedy House Party. Kid 'n Play were also the first hip-hop figures to have a national cartoon modeled after them. Now Martin teaches a hip-hop course at NC Central University.
Authorities say there were 20 murders among more than 80 shootings documented during the gang's rampage in the hardscrabble Florence-Firestone neighborhood, exceptional even in an area where gang violence has been commonplace for decades. They don't specify the time frame or how many of the killings were racial.
|
Evidence of Florencia 13, or F13, is easy to find in Florence-Firestone. Arrows spray-painted on the wall of a liquor store mark the gang's boundary and graffiti warns rivals to steer clear.
The gang's name comes from the neighborhood that is its stronghold and the 13th letter of the alphabet - M - representing the gang's ties to the Mexican Mafia.
Federal, state and local officials worked together to charge 102 men linked to F13 with racketeering, conspiracy to murder, weapons possession, drug dealing and other crimes. In terms of people charged, it's the largest-ever federal case involving a Southern California gang, prosecutors say. More than 80 of those indicted are in custody.
But eliminating the gang won't be easy. It's survived for decades and is believed to have about 2,000 members. Its reach extends to Nevada, Arizona and into prisons, where prosecutors say incarcerated gang leaders were able to order hits on black gangsters.
|
His followers eagerly obeyed, according to federal prosecutors.
In one case, F13 members came across a black man at a bus stop, shouted "Cheese toast!" and fired. "Cheese toast" is a derogatory name for East Coast Crips, Assistant U.S. Attorney Kevin S. Rosenberg said.
The victim, apparently targeted only because of his skin color, survived being shot several times, Rosenberg said.
F13 isn't the only Latino gang linked to racial killings. Last year, four members of The Avenues, a gang from the Highland Park area east of downtown Los Angeles, were convicted of hate crimes for killing a black man in what prosecutors called a campaign to drive blacks from that neighborhood. And last January, authorities announced a crackdown on the 204th Street gang following the killing of a 14-year-old black girl.
|
During a recent patrol on the east side of the neighborhood, he pointed to a cinderblock wall peppered with bullet holes. Torres said the Crips still control that area and any Hispanic there is at risk of being shot.
Despite the wave of violence, George Tita, a criminologist with the University of California, Irvine, said racially motivated gang killings are an exception. Latinos and blacks are far more likely to be murdered by one of their own.
"You don't see these major black-brown wars, either within the context of gangs or outside the context of gangs," Tita said.
Residents of Florence-Firestone are loath to discuss gangs, fearful they might end up as targets, but there are signs of change. Murders in the neighborhood dropped from 43 in 2005 to 19 in 2006, Baca said. For 2007, there were 19 murders as of Dec. 24.
Jose Garcia sees the difference. The security doors on the store where he works aren't covered with graffiti as often and he hasn't heard a gunshot in two months.
"It used to be at least once or twice a week," he said.
Well, let your mind be ease, and then drop dead of a heart attack. Yeah.... it's that drastic. Well, it seems that Michelle Patterson (a.k.a. Sista Patterson) and Joshua Gallander (a.k.a White Boy) have really been keeping in touch since the show's last season.
White Boy was spotted in a nightclub in Las Vegas last weekend, drinking and partying with "Real", fellow housemate from Season 1 of I Love New York. A nightclub employee said White Boy was spotted getting into a stretch Hummer, followed by Sister Patterson who seemed to be coming from a club across the street. Later that night, the two were seen again checking into the Palms Hotel together.