Forum: News & Topical Issues

News updates, entertainment, hot topics, gossip | Share and discover what is happening right now.

A 50 Cent associate's house on Staten Island was sprayed with bullets and firebombed in the wee hours of the morning yesterday (Jan. 8).

The house and bulletproof SUV of a man reported to be Tony Yayo's road manager was shot more than a dozen times in a storm of led before a Molotov cocktail was thrown on the lawn, according to the New York Post.

The residence belongs to G-Unit associate Barja Walter, who lives there with his girlfriend and three children.

No one was injured in the hail of gunfire, but a neighboring house was hit with bullets. According to neighbors, Walter has been the target of at least one other violent attack.

"Last year, there were shots, but this time, there was gasoline - this one was worse," one neighbor told the Post. "We shouldn't be afraid to live in our own homes."

Walter, also goes by the alias Jahlill Bethel, is an ex-con who's done time in the Sing Sing Correctional Facility for robbery and weapons possession.

Walter and Yayo were both questioned in the 2006 murder of Busta Rhymes' body guard, Israel Ramirez.

Back in April of 2007, Tony's mother's house was shot up in a similar incident, while his sister and two-year-old niece were in the house.

Yayo (born Marvin Bernard) will head to court tomorrow (Jan. 10) facing allegations that he struck the 14-year-old son of Czar Entertainment CEO Jimmy Rosemond.

He's pleaded not guilty to assault and harassment charges surrounding the alleged altercation

Dj SLR

January 9, 2008
Started By eekamouse17 Comments
Who you think I am? I can't fool you? Before you get suspicious and get me kick off here I want to tell everyone that I'm a bartender and i work hard for everything I get and I tief nobodys money.

I don't know you.

WOMEN'S manipulation of men has been listed by anthropologist Dr Herbert Gayle among the reasons for male suicides, and more so murder-suicides in Jamaica.

"I can't say in the short term that we can begin to change the culture to be less male hostile. It is going to take years. But a part of what needs to be done is to re-socialise not only our males but also our females. Frankly, some of our females are far too manipulative," Gayle told the Sunday Observer, adding that it should come as little surprise that men were killing their women and themselves.

20080105T230000-0500_131067_OBS_FEMALES_TO_BLAME_FOR_MALE_SUICIDES___1.jpg

"The country needs a support system for young men. There is a women's centre, a crisis centre - both marked female. Males have nowhere to turn when the pressure reaches them," said Gayle. "The pub (bar) is overworked. The bartender, who is female, is overworked," he said. "I think men deserve more than a bartender as their psychologist. We need to have a centre where men can go to solve their problems."

He added that a part of what was needed was a re-socialisation of girls and boys, men and women in the society.

Last year saw 44 people committing suicide compared to 48 in 2006, according to information from the Constabulary Communication Network (CCN). It is, however, unclear how many of those numbers were murder-suicides. But numbered among the murder-suicides last year was that of Shellese Dawkins and Omel Williams, both of a Rock River address in Clarendon.

20080105T230000-0500_131067_OBS_FEMALES_TO_BLAME_FOR_MALE_SUICIDES___2.jpg
BELL... when a suicide occurs there is the likelihood that you are going to have a copycat suicide

According to the police, at around 12:30 am on Saturday, October 27, a passerby came across Dawkins' body just outside the rented apartment the couple occupied on Mount Zion road in the community. The passerby alerted the police, and on arrival they discovered that Dawkins' throat had been cut.

A trail of *lo** led investigators through the couple's home which was ransacked, indicating that the deceased duo had been involved in a struggle, and outside to an ackee tree from which Williams was found hanging from a piece of electrical wire.

They left behind a two-year-old daughter, who is now in the care of Dawkins' parents.

Psychologist Dr Sidney McGill agreed with Gayle's view, noting that murder-suicides were often driven by a "brooding bitterness" on the part of the perpetrator, who was usually male.

"Murder-suicide includes a sort of brooding bitterness and anxiety that is unresolved or unrelieved, and you might have some amount of catastrocising," said McGill. "In other words, everything looks worse than it really is, and so you blame the other person and become paranoid. It gets to the place where there is really no resolution of the conflict in the relationship, nor is there any insight into the long-standing problem."

According to the psychologist, who runs the St Ann-based Family and Counselling Centre, men have a difficulty dealing with emotional issues - more so than women - and as such they are more likely to use violence as a coping strategy.

"The problem I find is that men have a difficulty dealing with strong emotions and so are unwilling to seek help," he said. "Some do, but usually in the company of a mistress or another woman. However, most do not, especially if there is a lot of emotional dependence in the particular relationship that is causing the problem. There is a feeling of isolation, of worthlessness and a feeling of rejection. And so if the person's self-esteem is very low and bound up within the relationship, the person will feel like a non-person."

The result, he said, is that "some men will lash out, or even in a very cool way plan the demise of the person that they once loved and that of themselves."

In this regard, he agreed with Gayle that women have the advantage.

"Women have grown up without restrictions on expressing their emotions and so they are more emotionally developed than most men and pretty much manipulate men and make them feel incompetent and inferior," McGill said.

"Men cannot compete on that level, and the next thing for them to do is to lash out physically with violence. Women have to realise that men's weakness is their sexuality, so women have that sort of power. They also have skills in home management and nurturing so that they are pretty much in charge of their homes, leaving men to feel (at times) that they are strangers in their home."

Gayle said it was past time that society acknowledges women were the ones making significant material progress and often at the expense of men.

"There are a lot of men helping women, and the implications are many - including men killing women. We don't want that to become a pathology. Men need to begin to think about self-investment," the anthropologist said. "Young men need to understand that they are the ones who are important first, and that they need to have something for themselves first before they can help anyone. It cannot be a push up situation, but a pull up."

Psychologist Dr Pearnel Bell did not share Gayle's view, but noted that relationships gone bad were often to be blamed for suicides and more so murder-suicides, while noting that people killed themselves when pain exceeded resources.

"It is that the person is experiencing pain that far outweighs their coping capacity," she said. "If we are going to talk about adult suicide, there are certain conditions associated that can increase that risk of suicide. It could be death or terminal illness. It could also be divorce, separation, broken relationships, stress on family, or loss of a job, home, money, status, your self-esteem or your personal security."

Beyond that, Bell said there was also the need to look out for psychological disorders that could prompt that kind of action. These conditions, she said, included depression, bipolar disorder, alcoholism and substance abuse.

At the same time, she said that the society needed to be wary of copycat suicides.

"Usually when a suicide occurs, there is the likelihood that you are going to have a copycat suicide, which is suicide committed as a result of hearing that someone else has done it," noted Bell. "The media play an important role in terms of this type of suicide and should be extremely careful about telling people why other people have killed themselves."

At the same time, she said that care should be taken not to have the story be headline news, even as there should be information on alternatives to suicide included in the reports.
"I have seen quite a few children, since the reporting of the nurse (Carol Waldron) who killed herself, whose parents are very frightened by the homicidal and suicidal thoughts they have been experiencing," Bell told the Sunday Observer, adding that there were also cases of women who had complained of husbands having similar thoughts.

Waldron's body and those of her two daughters - Kadjah, three months old and Ashley Waldron, 14 - were found in a hotel room in Montego Bay on the morning of November 3 last year.

Detectives noted at the time that they had found a suicide note and unconfirmed reports were that Waldron, who was said to be having marital problems, injected the children with a lethal substance before taking her own life. A number of syringes were found in the room.

McGill noted in the interim that critical to resolving some of the issues were communication and respect between the sexes.
"It boils down to respect. If a man does not feel he is respected, then he will feel intimidated and will lash out - and not only in terms of violence but also in terms of finding someone else who respects him more," he said. "Talking is a most effective way of relieving anxiety. Men need to be communicating with someone who is able to give a more realistic perspective on the issues they are grappling with. If that is not happening then you will have murder-suicides.

January 08, 2008. MediaTakeOut.com is hearing whispers that Def Jam Records is in serious financial trouble and may be on the verge of folding. Check out a report coming from our blogging buddies at Mahogany Girl
We're hearing that Def jam has lost so much money from bad business etc. they may have trouble moving forward ... There could be another shake up coming soon.
January 9th, 2008 | Author: Slava Kuperstein

West Coast mainstays Ice Cube and DJ Pooh are teaming up with Microsoft to launch an online television network, UVNTV.com.

The network takes advantage of Microsoft's Silverlight 1.0 platform, a plug-in that allows the user to have a richer experience online. Not only will it have real-time transmission (the first of its kind online), UNTV's channels are capable of full screen DVD quality resolution, Dolby surround sound and a channel guide.

"We are thrilled to work with Ice Cube and DJ Pooh, both whom have proven track records and have been at the forefront in music, film and television," said John Case, general manager, Developer Division, Microsoft Corp. "We see UNVTV as a leading example of the changing landscape of how consumers experience entertainment, and how the industry is seeking new interactive platforms to better reach their target audiences. By using Silverlight, UVNTV will have the capabilities needed to take the user experience to another level."

The network has been in the making for over 2 years, and will feature such channels such as Snoop Dogg's Snoopadelic TV and Cube's Hip Hop 24/7 channel.

UNTV is currently undergoing a soft launch, and expects completion in the following weeks.

Microsoft on Friday listed the most played games on Xbox Live last year, in addition to revealing that 77 percent of 360 owners are paying Gold members.

According to Major Nelson, the top games based on connectivity of unique users (read: Gamertags) from Jan. 1, 2007 through Dec. 31, 2007 are:

1. Halo 3

2. Gears of War

3. Call of Duty 4

4. Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six Vegas

5. Call Of Duty 3

6. Crackdown

7. Oblivion

8. Guitar Hero II

9. Forza Motorsport 2

10. Lost Planet

Nelson also named the top-selling Xbox Live Arcade games in the following order:

1. TMNT 1989 Arcade

2. Worms

3. Castlevania: SOTN

4. UNO

5. Bomberman LIVE

6. 3D Ultra Minigolf Adventures

7. Sonic The Hedgehog

8. Pinball FX

9. Geometry Wars Evolved

10. Texas Hold 'em

Additionally, Microsoft said on Sunday that there are now more than 10 million Xbox Live Gold members (read: paying subscribers) representing 77 percent of 360 owners (not including Silver members).

Mobb Deep rapper Prodigy got a break in Manhattan Supreme Court Tuesday when a judge postponed his sentencing to give doctors time to gather medical records documenting his sickle cell anemia.

Prodigy, whose real name is Albert Johnson, 33, was supposed to begin a 3-1/2-year sentence in state prison for carrying a loaded, unregistered .22-caliber gun in his $150,000 bulletproof SUV in 2006.

But Supreme Court Justice Edward McLaughlin decided the rapper's doctors should get five weeks to produce records documenting his life-long illness.

McLaughlin agreed to talk to state correction officials about assigning the Mobb Deep star to a prison with easy access to medical personnel.

Johnson's lawyer, Irving Cohen, said his client has been in and out of hospitals his entire life with sickle cell disease, a genetic, incurable *lo** disorder that can lead to organ damage, stroke and other problems.

Johnson has claimed cops unsuccessfully tried to get him to implicate superstar rapper 50 Cent in crimes. Johnson said he refused to cooperate.

**VYBZ PARTY SELL OFF LAST NIGHT**
Father Romie's Exodus studio was the venue for a surprise party, organized by Jeffrey Hype, for deejay Vybz Kartel on his birthday yesterday. The party had one notable absence, that of Aidonia who had been detained by the police in questioning with a shooting. Several of the deejay's contemporaries and friends were in attendance. Empire members Baby Doll, Doza Medicine, Deva Bratt, foreigner Omeil, Nuclear, Foxx from Big Yard, Earthworm, Jay, the Gaza crew, Avalanche, Flawless, deejay Blasé from Portmore, selector Moschino, singer Tony Curtis, deejay Shane O, and Corey Todd, head of Vybz Rum Distillers.

The deejay, dressed in full white, was in an excellent mood, cracking jokes with his friends and posing for several pictures with female fans.

WHO HAVE THE FATTEST CAT?
Stacious1.jpgWho have the fattest naany inna the business? Stacious or Danielle? Stacious nuh ramp fi show off her buffilous ah Sting the other day, and Danielle have on a cat suit from England that have the man dem heart ah beat fast. Check out Stacious picture from Sting, the ting print out proper, doan?

JOOK INNA EYE TEK OVER THE BUSINESS
Yo, how so much jook inna eye ah gwaan inna the business? First Barbee get a jook from Blue, and fi her get black and blue, and then, Harry Toddler get fi him eye jook from the Killa the following day. What is going on in the business?

JAGGA B DANCEHALL BIGGEST GIVEAWAY SELL OFF
How Beenie Man stay so? Even when Bounty Killer was onstage at Jagga B dance over Arizon Inn, him de inna the VIP ah dance, laugh and ah rail fi deejay Bounty Killer as him a bun out the 'fish' dem inna Jamaica. Killa, pointing in the direction of the sea, suggested that all "the fish-man and woman dem fi come out, see de sea de!'. Even when Bounty Killer asked the question, 'who ah the biggest gal clown inna Jamaica?', there was a big smile planted on Beenie's face, even when a section of the crowd cried out 'Beenie!' in response to the question.

PICTURES ADDED CLICK HERE

After Bounty performed, the crowd began to chant Beenie in anticipation of him performing at the event, but it was not to be, Beenie was content to just hang out and party for the night. Big up Tony Matterhorn.

does this make sense?

January 2, 2008
Started By tantan5 Comments
I dont care to explain the actions of my people
Nor can I defend words spoken during high evil

As time moves different when tear drops mixing with *lo** keeps track

At which point
Eye for an eye takes on a new meaning that one cannot give back

Fore sight

See if you can keep up
I though all this up
While laying in my bed
Eyes closed
Cause I cant cry the tears that bled
During famines droughts and deaths
Wondering
What I did to provoke the life I led

Cause people back home
Envy the life that I live
While the ones who live with me
Look to me for an answers I cannot give
Yet
Im no longer ahead of it
Cause I stopped racing
Once upon a time
I would fight a few racists
Just to KNOW I was the better than
Feared cause simply put
I was the unknown man
But I knew

Theres more to the horn
Than black hawk down
Theres more to the horn
The warlords and gun sounds
Theres more to the horn
And I cant explain how

My people are poets
We used to tell stories via drums and chants
The young men chew khat and speak of romance
As the elders grow old and teach the new born the past
Our women gave birth
And birth gave love
Love gave maturity
That made young men evolve

You cannot fathom the cycle of life
When a fool learns the errors of his ways
Steady steps the child takes
The more this fool grows with the passing days
Only to be called
Gramps
One day
As he tells stories of a fool
Who one day grew
And the young men laugh
As the elder just smiles
Thinking
I USED TO BE YOU

Many like myself
Were born outside all of this
But not a moment lost
As we listen to parent reminisce

Once upon a time
I cared to explain
Tell my story till I was drained
To kids who knew nothing about pain
Only tears they ever cried
Was for scraping their knee

Imagine a culture
Where every older female
Was called aunty
In a tongue where the word aunt
Meant SMALL MOMMY

Then war breaks out
And all the little moms
Slowly die out
The few you can remember
Become fewer by the day
No longer crying out

Simply cause the fools forgot
He had a role to play
Neglected the sons
And kept on his foolish ways

Now our women
Can only Give birth to pain
Praying its a daughter
As sons only bare bad news
The elders are far apartnot to mention few
Acting like they have no hearts
Bombing any different view

But during all this *lo**
There are tears of joy
Imagine red tears dripping
Out the eyes of a young boy
Knowing his role and path
But cant decide
Because he has no choice
Our wise die young
And fools grow old
And outsiders ask
Why are the men in your culture so cold
Were not
We love laughing and telling jokes
We love chanting poems about hope
We love BEING
But too often its mistook
And what outsiders read
Is simply the cover to the book
This is the new form of poetry
We all cry red tears
But our smiles never die
Painting humble fears
To words unrealized.

Careful who advises you

January 8, 2008
Started By linko3 Comments
Girlfriends let's have a little chat and please don't think I am picking on you, but how in the world can you sit down and take advise from so called friends who do't know how to keep a man but they are telling you how to handle your relationship.

Come on now, you have it going on, boyfriend or hubby may not be the most perfect guy around but at least he is supportive and he is in your beds at nights and YOU have someone you can turn to. But then one little hitch in paradise and suddenly your girlfriend who for one reason or another can't seem to find a man of her own is laying out all your man's faults, telling you he is no good and encouraging you to walk out on him.

Yeah right. I will take that advise from another girlfriend who has a man of her own and knows what it is to give her all to a relationship ...chances are her advise will be far different too!

You know why I am sharing this with you? I am tired of many women throwing away their relationships because of someone who secretly holds a grudge at your relationship and would do anything to have you in her pathetic shoes, then she comes on like this great friend who only has your best interest at heart.

Of course her advise sounds real good (yeah right) and fool fool you follows it to the T and then that man walks out and leaves you in exactly the same position your helpful friend is in...misery sure do
loves company.

I am not saying that men are saints and that they don't have faults, it's just that many of you women are too quick to kick the poor man to the curb and then you end up picking up someone who is far worse!

Any woman who is quick to tell you to 'leave the man' check out her motive I think Morgan Heritage says it best in "Best Friends" that woman could well have her eyes on what you are planning to throw away!

Of course there are some relationships you have to walk away from, you don't need any genius to tell you to leave a man who is abusing the heck out of you...some decisions are just too plain to ignore.

But in the meantime, be careful of your friends...not all of them have your best interest at heart. Another resolution you should also make for the New Year is that you will take less gossip about your man... start exercising a little trust...it could be worth your while!

Sex remedy

December 27, 2007
Started By linko10 Comments

I am an 18-year-old girl who needs your help. I am currently in a relationship with a 25-year-old man. He treats me well. I love him so much. He takes good care of me. My parents won't allow me to see him. They think he's too old and not right for me. We have to be secretive of our relationship. The problem is he's too jealous and abusive to me. I mean he's nice, but he doesn't want me out of his sight. And if I go somewhere and go home late, he curses and accuses me of cheating. He also has his friends watching me. If I go out and they see me talking to a guy they tell him and he beats me. Everytime I make up my mind to leave, I change my mind because the sex is sooooo great between us. I can't leave. As soon as we argue we have sex and then I just forget all about it.

I recently found out he has a baby mother. She constantly calls and when I tell him I don't like the fact that she's always calling, he gets upset. He doesn't like people telling him what to do. I left him recently, but he kept constantly following me and threatening me. I went back and we made out and here I am again.

Pastor, I don't know what to do. Please, help me.

Confused Teen, St. Andrew, Jamaica

Dear Confused Teen,

No woman should stay with an abusive man. This man doesn't only curse you, but he beats you and you keep going back to him. Your parents are quite correct about this man. They know that he is not a good man. But you continue to allow him to have his way because you enjoy having sex with him. I am really sorry for you because as the old saying goes 'if you can't hear, you will feel'.

I am asking you to have some pride in yourself and stop seeing this guy. You are going to get hurt if you continue with him. He is a wicked fellow. He is taking advantage of you. If he hits you again, report him to the police. Unless you do something, this guy is going to continue to abuse you.

Feeling sex for cuz' ex

December 24, 2007
Started By linko11 Comments
 live in the States and I go to Jamaica every year for Christmas.

When I'm down there I stay with my cousin. While in Jamaica, I was really attracted to a guy who I later found out was her boyfriend.

After being down there for a month I started to develop strong feelings for him, but I didn't show it. After coming back to the States, I found out they broke up. Her ex and I started calling each other and now we are going together. But I feel like I'm deceiving my cousin by going out with him although I'm in love with him.

Should I continue seeing him or stop? I'm really torn between the two.

C., USA

Dear C.,

I am sure that your cousin would not like what you are doing. I would like to discourage you from going further with this relationship.

Others may disagree with me, but that is the way I see it. Don't cause any rift between you and your cousin.

Wednesday, 02 January 2008 Image  The St. Catherine South Police are promising a major offensive on crime this New Year.

Despite a heavy crime figure last year, they are celebrating what they claim were major successes.

Based on their statistics, they recovered 76 illegal firearms, five more than the previous year.

CCN Liaison Officer for the St. Catherine South Police Division, Constable Verdane Wright told the RJR News Centre they also recovered more than 500 rounds of ammunition, hundreds of kilograms of marijuana and also nabbed several wanted men.

He says the objectives for this year include restoring public confidence and improving community relations.

According to Constable Wright these plans are part of the division's major onslaught on crime.

Gareth Manning, Gleaner Reporter

THE INCREASED use of herbicides and steroids in food and meat production, as well as the smoking of marijuana are being linked to increasing low fertility in Jamaican men, health officials have revealed.

According to the World Health Organisation (WHO), the man is responsible in about 60 per cent of infertile couples. In Jamaica, doctors think the statistics are similar, with the male factor responsible in about 50 per cent of cases. Worldwide, it is believed that the male sperm count has decreased by 50 per cent over the past 50 years.

"It (marijuana) definitely has an effect. There are no studies to confirm it but it is associated," says professor of reproductive medicine at the University of the West Indies, Joseph Frederick.

Findings in the US

Professor Frederick's thoughts are backed by other findings in the United States. The American Society for Reproductive Medicine notes that while studies on how marijuana affects male fertility are inconclusive, smoking does in fact lower sperm count and reduces motility. It also increases abnormalities in sperm shape and function that can lower fertility.

Burn out

A 2003 study by researchers at the University of Buffalo in the United States also found that frequent marijuana smokers produced less seminal fluid, a lower total sperm count and their sperm behaved abnormally. According to the study led by Dr. Lani Burkman, the active compound in marijuana, tertahydrocannabinol (THC), causes sperm to swim too fast too early therefore causing it to burn out before it could attach itself to an egg.

Professor Frederick, who is also director of the Advanced Fertility and Research Management Unit, adds that herbicides, which often find their way into water sources, "tend to have more oestrogen (a female hormone) and that tends to have an effect on males."

He says oestrogen can be obtained from several sources including from steroids that are given to poultry to accelerate their growth.

Medical therapist Dr. Anthony Vendryes says these chemicals act like female hormones in the body.

"They are called endocrine disrupters and are a major cause of male infertility," he states.

Other lifestyle illnesses, such as diabetes and hypertension, also affect sperm production in men, as well as injuries to the testicles and the wearing of close fitting underwear or pants. The latter tends to affect the temperature at which sperms are produced.

Professor Frederick posits that certain viruses might also be affecting men. He theorises that the human Papilloma virus (HPV) for instance, which causes cervical cancer in women, but is not known to affect men (though they carry the virus), might be affecting male fertility and might even be causing early prostate cancer. There are some 200 subtypes of the HPV.

"Up to now nobody has said anything as to how it affects males. It could be very well that a mutant strain may be affecting males in several ways," he says. The research, however is yet to be done.

Knowing that one suffers fertility problems can damage a man's ego, likewise his relationship with his spouse.

"In our environment, males tend to put a lot of emphasis on their prowess and when a man finds that he has a problem with his sperm count, he is daunted by the fact that he will go to any limit to get it sorted out," comments Professor Frederick.

There are ways to treat male infertility. According to the professor there are different types of fertility problems and each one is treated differently. There are men, for example, who produce no sperm at all when they ejaculate, while others produce a low percentage or average number of sperm that cannot swim.

In the case of the latter, an intrauterine insemination (IUI) can be done, where the sperms are introduced 40 hours after the woman has ovulated. Chemical drugs can also be used to increase sperm count, but most cases end up in assisted conception, where the female is stimulated and her eggs harvested. It then goes through a process called intracytoplasmic sperm injection (ICSI), that is injecting the ovary with sperm for it to be fertilised. After two days the fertilised egg would be placed back into the female for implantation.

A study is currently being conducted by the Fertility Management Unit to determine the quality of sperm in Jamaican men.

New Fiat 500 Has Microsoft Inside

July 20, 2007
Started By Glitch3 Comments
New Fiat 500 Has Microsoft Inside

fiat_500_2.jpg

The old Fiat 500 was voted by Top Gear readers are the sexiest car of all time and the new one has a lot of tongues wagging too, most notably because it retains much of its predecessor charm while spicing up pretty much everything else.

But not a lot of people know that as soon as they sit in they will see a prominent Microsoft logo, right next to the cigarette lighter. This is because the new City runaround sports Microsoft Blue&Me Bluetooth technology for handling mobile phone calls, MP3 players and sat-nav devices wirelessly.

Sound pumps from the cars speakers and drivers can control it all from the steering wheel controls. You can hook up Flash-based MP3 players directly to the USB socket, make voice activated calls and even have text messages read out to you.

Pre-orders are already through the roof and Fiat thinks [and hopes] that the new 500 could be its iPod. It certainly looking likely. Check out pics of the new and old Fiat 500 after the jump.-Martin Lynch

HAVE A HEART!

January 8, 2008
Started By littlemisslinkz1 Comments

HAVE A HEART!

The mum of a three-year-old girl with kidney problems last week begged the black community to help save her sick toddler from being deported.

The mum and 3-year-old Adedoyin Fadairo could be deported to different countries. The mother is currently fighting deportation to Nigeria while Home Office officials want to deport the little girl to the United States where she was born, even though the child has no family there.

The Home Office has since been forced to temporarily stop the order on the childs deportation after the European Court of Human Rights began its own investigation into the childs case.

The Voice has learned that the European Court is expecting answers from the Government by this Friday, January 11.

In the meantime, 3-year-old Adedoyin Fadairo, who currently lives with her grandmother in west London, and her 32-year-old mum, detained at Yarls Wood Immigration Detention Centre in Bedfordshire, wait in limbo.

The 3-year-olds mum, who says she fled from persecution to the UK 10 years ago, was detained in 2007, accused of passport fraud and breaking other immigration rules. One of the broken rules included seeking NHS medical care for Adedoyin when the 3-year-old, who has a kidney disorder, was not entitled to such care.

I try to be strong but I have cried. I keep looking for relief but I cant get any, grieved the 32-year Nigerian mum, who said she has rarely seen her sick daughter in the last 10 months.

The Home Office claims that some parents use their children to try to frustrate immigration rules but that it takes the welfare of children seriously and handles cases involving children with care and sensitivity.

But the mum, who does not want her name used to prevent victimisation, argued: If the Government says it cares about children, why is it doing everything to separate mothers from children?

The mum added: Any little that can be done by the black community can go a long way to helping me and other black women in here, she said.

Amanda Shah, of campaign group, Bail for Immigration Detainees, told The Voice that being locked up in immigration centres leads to emotional distress in adults and children.

We have supported families where the children have suffered weight loss, developmental difficulties and regressive bedwetting or soiling as a result of being in detention, she said.

Published: 07 January 2008

Munga and Deva Bratt fight onstage during S/Love show
16-Dec-07 |

At about 4:40 this morning, Munga and Deva Bratt got into a fist fight onstage, after Deva Bratt walked up onstage during Munga's set at the Stone Love anniversary show.

Deva.jpgMunga had just been about to do one of his diss songs directed at Deva when the latter walked onstage. A member of Munga's entourage then walked up but Deva pushed himm offstage immediately, and then Munga took a swing at him. The two exchanged a flurry of blows and Munga then pulled a knife before security personnel stormed the stage to part the would-be pugilists.

Several men, presumed to be fans of both artistes, also jumped the barriers and attempted to go onstage to join in the scuffle, and for a few moments, the situation threatened to spin dangerously out of control before order was restored and the stage cleared.

Afterwards, Beenie Man and Anthony B performed, and ignited the venue with a number of hit tunes.

Sean Paul Rocks Trindad!!!!!!!!

January 8, 2008
Started By blackspyda5 Comments

Sean Paul Rocks Trindad

findImg.php?pic_size=200&table_name=news_img_tab&table_field=img_id&img_id=1106 Sean Paul's performance in "Temperature" was one of the best performances by the Grammy award winning and Jamaican dancehall icon in Trinidad and Tobago. Sean Paul performed at King George V Park and later attempted to perform with Destra Garcia at the National Stadium. According to reports in one of the islands local paper the Trinidad Express, Sean Paul's performance was excellent.

"Jamaican dancehall star Sean Paul took to the stage around midnight and delivered a high energy set complete with all his hits and even a few new songs. Brazenly, this popular artiste used obscene language several times and was neither warned, nor chastised by the authorities. The audience danced and sang along throughout his performance, which included several acrobatic dancers and his brother/hype-man Jason "Jigzagula" Henriques of the Coppershot sound system."

After his performance, Sean Paul said,
"Yo, Trinidad nice and lively man. So we always do we ting when we come here. It have a set ah people whey jus enjoy dancehall all throughout the world and one of the main set, are people from Trinidad. So we just give thanks to you."

After Sean Paul left "Temperature" and headed to the National Stadium, a different story played out however. Sean was going there for a surprise guest apperance with soca diva Destra Garcia on their Carnival 2008 collaboration entitled "Free It Up". The stage manager at the Fire Services' Carnival Fete proved to be the boss.

As Destra Garcia and Atlantik were waiting for Sean Paul to arrive the stage manager began laying down demands that if Atlantik did not take the stage as soon as Bunji Garlin and Asylum finished their set, then they would wait until after Shurwayne Winchester was done. In the extremely short wait, Sean Paul arrived and was mingling with Destra Garcia backstage, when it was announced that Shurwayne Winchester was taking the stage.

Halfway through Traffik's set, Sean Paul, Destra Garcia and Atlantik left the venue refusing to perform. An anonymous source stated, "Destra decided to wait for Sean Paul to arrive before taking the stage and the stage manager got angry and told the band leader that if Atlantik did not take the stage now, they would not perform at all because time was running out. Around that time Sean Paul arrived and while he was talking with Destra in her tent, everyone heard Traffik begin their set."

Jason Henriques, Sean Paul's brother said, "We have to catch a plane at 6:00am, so we can't wait here no more. We gone again. Trinidad we love you still and we soon come back."
TELL ME WHAT YALL THINK    http://www.gearwire.com/media/snamm07-rolandsp555.mov
wat do u think about alien vs predator 2 ??

I AM LEGEND

December 15, 2007
Started By DJ Romeo30 Comments
I just saw the movie and I don't want to give away anything but maximum respect to Will Smith for promoting Bob Marley's message and his music. I was suprised at how many people in the theater knew the words to the music and was singing along. Bob's message was to transend all boundries and differences and unite all people with love and music. Long live Bob Marley and his legacy, so say we all.

-- Edited by DJ Romeo at 06:29, 2007-12-15

Who do you find most annoying?

January 2, 2008
Started By ZJSnyper20 Comments
Rosie O'Donnell
Paris Hilton
Ann Coulter
Heather Mills
Perez Hilton
| Aidonia to face ID parade today
08 Jan 2008 |

Deejay Aidonia is set to face an identification parade today after the deejay was held in connection with a shooting incident.

Details are sketchy but according to the investigating officers at the Constant Spring C.I.B, there was reportedly a shooting incident involving members of Aidonias entourage and two other men. One of the men was shot, and the other escaped. Later that night, Aidonia and members of his entourage turned up at the Grants Pen Police Station and were taken into custody.

However, the man who managed to escape, a bus conductor called Demar Palmer, was reportedly shot and killed the following day. The deejay has not been officially charged, but One876Entertainment.com will have more on this story as it breaks.

Vybz Party sell off

January 8, 2008
Started By linko1 Comments
VYBZ PARTY SELL OFF LAST NIGHT Father Romie's Exodus studio was the venue for a surprise party, organized by Jeffrey Hype, for deejay Vybz Kartel on his birthday yesterday. The party had one notable absence, that of Aidonia who had been detained by the police in questioning with a shooting. Several of the deejay's contemporaries and friends were in attendance. Empire members Baby Doll, Doza Medicine, Deva Bratt, foreigner Omeil, Nuclear, Foxx from Big Yard, Earthworm, Jay, the Gaza crew, Avalanche, Flawless, deejay Blasé from Portmore, selector Moschino, singer Tony Curtis, deejay Shane O, and Corey Todd, head of Vybz Rum Distillers. The deejay, dressed in full white, was in an excellent mood, cracking jokes with his friends and posing for several pictures with female fans. WHO HAVE THE FATTEST CAT? Who have the fattest naany inna the business? Stacious or Danielle? Stacious nuh ramp fi show off her buffilous ah Sting the other day, and Danielle have on a cat suit from England that have the man dem heart ah beat fast. Check out Stacious picture from Sting, the ting print out proper, doan? JOOK INNA EYE TEK OVER THE BUSINESS Yo, how so much jook inna eye ah gwaan inna the business? First Barbee get a jook from Blue, and fi her get black and blue, and then, Harry Toddler get fi him eye jook from the Killa the following day. What is going on in the business? JAGGA B DANCEHALL BIGGEST GIVEAWAY SELL OFF How Beenie Man stay so? Even when Bounty Killer was onstage at Jagga B dance over Arizon Inn, him de inna the VIP ah dance, laugh and ah rail fi deejay Bounty Killer as him a bun out the 'fish' dem inna Jamaica. Killa, pointing in the direction of the sea, suggested that all "the fish-man and woman dem fi come out, see de sea de!'. Even when Bounty Killer asked the question, 'who ah the biggest gal clown inna Jamaica?', there was a big smile planted on Beenie's face, even when a section of the crowd cried out 'Beenie!' in response to the question. After Bounty performed, the crowd began to chant Beenie in anticipation of him performing at the event, but it was not to be, Beenie was content to just hang out and party for the night. Big up Tony Matterhorn. Pics coming later today

Harry Toddler and Bounty Killer kicks off

toddler_killer.jpgWhy can't we all just get along! In the midst of all the passa passa with the dancehall artistes comes this latest one now involving Bounty Killer and Harry Toddler.

According to a story carried in the XtraNews Harry Toddler and Bounty Killer kicked off at a 'round town' dance with Harry left nursing an injured left eye after the so called altercation with Bounty.

Toddler told the paper "Bounty Killer juck me inna mi eye, buss mi chain and him wet me up wid Hennessey. Mi caan believe say this happen, mi nah look fi Killa do that to me."

"Right now, mi eye *lo**shot bad, di man juck me inna mi eye like a blind him waan blind me. And then him buss off mi chain and wet me up wid liquor, and Ele and him friends dem start hold on pon me and say me fi easy because him caan tek the embarrassment and ting."

Well, well, well seems like the same old foolishness will be continuing for quite a while. Come on guys it's now a New Year...come with some new attitudes!

Quoted" From yardflexx...

Tuesday, 08 January 2008 The Seaview Gardens Police say the body of a man was discovered with gunshot wounds in Phase One, Kingston 11 on Tuesday morning.

He has been identified as 30-year-old Shawn Christian of Bald Pate Way, Phase One.

Reports are that about 3 o'clock, residents heard explosions and called the police.

Investigators say Mr. Christian's body was found slumped on a chair in the roadway.

Closer examination revealed that he was shot several times.

No motive has been established for the killing.

And 23-year-old Sheldon Phillips of Gregory Park, St. Catherine was shot and killed on Cottage Drive in the community Monday night.

According to the St. Catherine South Police about nine Monday night, residents heard explosions.

When the police arrived at the scene, Mr. Phillip's body was seen on the road with what appeared to be multiple gunshot wounds.
Tuesday, 08 January 2008 Image  Four policemen assigned to the Constant Spring Police Station in St. Andrew, who were linked to the controversial shooting of a 19-year-old Grants Pen resident, are scheduled to return to court Tuesday.

The four, Noel Bryan, Phillip Dunstan, Clayton Fearon and Omar Miller, were charged with murder last month.

The charges followed the September 28 fatal shooting of Aundre Thomas and an October ruling by the Director of Public Prosecutions.

The initial police report stated that he was killed in a shoot-out with the police.

But Mr. Thomas' relatives say he was killed in cold *lo** by the policemen.

In the wake of the shooting, the policemen were also accused of tampering with the service vehicle which was used to transport the wounded man to hospital.                          

When they appeared before the Half Way Tree Criminal Court on December 28, they were each offered $1 million bail.

Deejay Aidonia Detained

findImg.php?pic_size=200&table_name=news_img_tab&table_field=img_id&img_id=1104 Rising Dancehall deejay Aidonia has found himself on the wrong side of the law after he was picked up by members of the security forces for alleged involvement in a shooting incident over the weekend.

According to an unofficially reports by a member of the police force, there was a shooting last weekend in the proximity of Wedcombe Avenue off Shortwood Road and when the police arrived on the scene upon further investigation it was revealed that the deejays name was one of those being called as being involved.

The victim just days later unfortunately succumbed to his injuries.

The officer told 876radio.com that Aidonia has been detained since last Friday and is being held for questioning regarding the incident at the Red Hills Police station.

So far no charges have been laid against him, and they are not sure if any will be, but new developments have just revealed that he is set to face an identification parade in the coming week.

Aidonia to face ID parade today

January 8, 2008
Started By ZJSnyper3 Comments
Deejay Aidonia is set to face an identification parade today after the deejay was held in connection with a shooting incident.

Aidonia.jpgDetails are sketchy but according to the investigating officers at the Constant Spring C.I.B, there was reportedly a shooting incident involving members of Aidonias entourage and two other men. One of the men was shot, and the other escaped. Later that night, Aidonia and members of his entourage turned up at the Grants Pen Police Station and were taken into custody.

However, the man who managed to escape, a bus conductor called Demar Palmer, was reportedly shot and killed the following day. The deejay has not been officially charged, but One876Entertainment.com will have more on this story as it breaks.

The Riversdale police in St. Catherine are searching for the common-law husband of a 39-year-old woman who was chopped to death in the Top Mountain area of St. Catherine on Saturday night.

THE STAR learnt that Junior Clarke, a construction worker had a dispute with Evan Patterson. It is said that the dispute became heated, during which a machete was used to chop Patterson repeatedly in the face, killing her on the spot. Clarke fled the area and has not been seen since.

When THE STAR visited the community, Patterson's father, Thomas, was too grief-stricken to speak and when he was asked about his daughter, he kept shaking his head.

Persons who spoke say the death of the woman has left nine children - between the ages of four and thirteen - motherless. Six of those belong to Clarke.

They claim that Patterson was a quiet and kind person, but the couple was having problems for the last two years.

In the meanwhile, the police said that they have launched an investigation into the death of the woman.

Patterson is the fourth person to be killed in the St. Catherine North Division since the start of the year.

How Beenie Man stay so? Even when Bounty Killer was onstage at Jagga B dance over Arizon Inn, him de inna the VIP ah dance, laugh and ah rail fi deejay Bounty Killer as him a bun out the 'fish' dem inna Jamaica. Killa, pointing in the direction of the sea, suggested that all "the fish-man and woman dem fi come out, see de sea de!'. Even when Bounty Killer asked the question, 'who ah the biggest gal clown inna Jamaica?', there was a big smile planted on Beenie's face, even when a section of the crowd cried out 'Beenie!' in response to the question.
By Chris Richburg

Cash Money Records rapper Lil Wayne is at the center of a new lawsuit for breach of contract over a 1999 Bentley Arnage.

The breach of contract lawsuit was filed by attorney Daniel R. Price, on behalf of his client LeMarck deAndre on, Dec. 18, 2007 in the Superior Court of California in Alameda County.

The lawsuit the New Orleans bred rapper of "non-payment" of over $91,000 dollars left to be paid on the Bentley, which is burgundy, with a cream/tan interior.

In addition to Lil Wayne (born Dwayne M. Carter), the suit names Cash Money Records and Carter's record label Young Money Entertainment as defendants.

The case is the latest legal situation involving Cash Money Records and Lil Wayne.

In August, a woman filed a $1 million lawsuit against Lil Wayne, claiming that she was injured during a concert at Morgan State University following a mini-riot that erupted, after he threw a wad of money into the crowd.

In September, a second $1 million dollar lawsuit was filed against the rapper by another student, who claims she was "impaled" on a fence during the money tossing incident.

Cash Money CEO Bryan "Birdman" Williams was also the subject of a recent copyright lawsuit last week, brought on by various publishing companies.

The music publishers accuse Cash Money Records of failing to pay sampled artists royalties on records the label has sold.

Musically, Lil Wayne is gearing up to release his long awaited new album The Carter III.

The release, which is preceded by the rappers online album The Leak EP, is slated to hit stores in February.

The Leak EP is available now online through Amazon, Rhapsody and iTunes.

thumb.aspxthumb.aspxthumb.aspx

News from Bascom X Camp is that the artiste will be home this afternoon. Bail was granted yesterday for the sum of $120,000 and the paperworks are now being done for the singer to hit the streets again.

YardFlex will have a one on one with the artiste later...so stay posted.

Kartel Gets Birthday Surprise

findImg.php?pic_size=200&table_name=news_img_tab&table_field=img_id&img_id=1105 The Emperor from the Sunshine city of Portmore was thoroughly surprised today by members of his entourage.

Deejay Vybz Kartel who celebrates his birthday today (Jan.07) probably for the first in a long time was caught off guard when his close friend Jeffrey Hype and other members of the Portmore Empire surprised him with a private party to mark another milestone in his life.

Kartel who was in a very jovial mood, said a few words in appreciation of their effort and thanked his friends who have remained loyal to him over the years and said he looks forward to greater things in the coming year.

When 876radio.com got to the event there were a few popular faces on hand to congratulate the deejay such as Chris Diamond from Code Red, Nico Bam Bam from Hype TV, Alex Frass, Black Ryno, Shawn Storm, Baby Doll, Jay, Dose-A-Medicine, Earthworm, Pimpin and many more too numerous to mention

Kartel said it was a welcome feeling to have his family and friends around him to share in such a great moment before offering a toast with his own Vybz Rum which was the premier drink of the evening.

Now with that said we at 876radio.com would like to take this opportunity to extend our heartiest congratulations to the Deejay and wish him a prosperous 2008 full of hits.

NB. Here are a few photos from the event. (see pictures below)

Vybz Kartel Birthday

Former Reggae Boy back in court

January 8, 2008
Started By ZJSnyper1 Comments
Tuesday, 08 January 2008 Onandi Lowe.  Former striker for the national football team, Onandi Lowe, is scheduled to appear in court on drug charges on Tuesday.

He was arrested last month in Spanish Town, St. Catherine in relation to ganja.

Lowe claimed he was unfairly targeted by the police as the marijuana was not found in his possession.

He said he was arrested and charged despite someone else confessing to being the owner of the drug.  

He was released on $20,000 bail.

The police say they stopped a vehicle in which the former Reggae Boy was travelling in, along the Spanish Town bypass and conducted a search.

Forty-two sticks of ganja were allegedly discovered.

Four other persons, who were in the vehicle, including a woman, were also arrested.

BELLE GLADE, Fla. (AP) -- A 19-year-old woman in a coma because she was shot in the head has given birth in Palm Beach County.

Ronkeysha Thomas was eight months pregnant when she was shot Saturday night. Family members say doctors performed an emergency Caesarean section Sunday to deliver the baby boy.

Authorities say Thomas was out with friends in Belle Glade when the group heard popping noises.

Investigators are still seeking suspects.

Eve and Jr Reid dating

January 5, 2008
Started By ZJSnyper22 Comments
Word on the street is that platinum-selling rapper Eve and remix wizard Junior One *lo** Reid have been spotted dancing provocatively and partying up a storm at clubs and hot spots all over the Corporate Area. There has been no confirmation that the two are an item but given the hip-grinding and close cuddling, maybe these two may actually share one love in the 2000 and love.

HE was never without a Bible, and possessed a charming smile that would disarm many an unsuspecting female.

20071229T150000-0500_130853_OBS_NATTY_MORGAN_S_PENCHANT_FOR_CRIMINALITY_EMERGES_AT_AGE___1.jpg
MORGAN... rumoured to have sired more than nine children

But Nathaniel 'Natty' Morgan was a deadly criminal described by police in the latter part of the 1980s as 'the most feared criminal by society since the death of Rhygin in the 1950s'.

During his descent into the depths of crime and violence, Natty Morgan drove fear into law-abiding citizens, while at the same time earning the status of 'hero' from residents of the communities he used as his stomping ground.

Nathaniel Morgan was born on New Year's Day, 1966. His mother dumped him on his father, who lived close to the Riverton City landfill, before he was one year old. He was the only son of his father's six children.

The appalling conditions of filth, squalor and refuse which filled the squalid community at the edge of the City dump provided the perfect training ground for this youth, who would grow up to become the nation's most-wanted man.

During his formative years, Natty Morgan learned the power of violence through the constant beatings he received from his father and elder sister who were convinced that tough treatment would curb his mischievous ways.

Morgan would more often than not be absent from classes at the Seaward All-Age School where his father sent him to get an education.

By the time Morgan was seven, his penchant for criminality began to emerge. By the time he celebrated his 10th birthday, he had been absent from home for weeks at a time.

Those who lived in Riverton City said the youth was attracted to the ways of the older gangsters in the community and would willingly run errands for them or alert them of the presence of the police.
Frustrated that his efforts to keep his son on the straight and narrow path were failing, Morgan's father shipped him off to live with his mother in St Mary.

But Natty Morgan was back in the capital city about five years later, and immediately linked up with his boyhood friends who, by this time, had grown into reckless teenagers.

It would not be long before he had his first of many brushes with the law and, for the next five years, he was a regular occupant of jail for charges, including shooting with intent and illegal possession of a firearm and robbery.

Police have blamed Natty Morgan and his gang for the multiple murders of seven men who attended a wake in Seaview Gardens on February 25, 1989. The men were all put to lie down and were shot in the back of the head. The killings drew the condemnation of society and were dubbed 'the Seaview Massacre'. Popular talk at the time was that the men were killed because they attended the wake of a person whose life was snuffed out by Morgan's gang.
After the massacre, a police post was set up in Seaview Gardens to ease the fear of terrified residents.

Morgan and his crony, Peter Lawrence, were captured by police who organised a massive operation a few months after the massacre and were dragged before the court after being charged with nine murders.

But the criminals would not stay behind bars for too long as, on December 19 of that year, Natty Morgan and Lawrence both walked out of the Gun Court after they had appeared there to answer to the multiple murder charges.

The two were handed over to prison warders after the court had adjourned and were discovered missing hours later.

After his flight from justice, Natty Morgan became a thorn in the side of law enforcement and eluded several attempts to collar him. He used the swampy terrain near the dump as his hideout and would often leave his lair to carry out heinous crimes.

The police then named Natty Morgan as the most wanted fugitive, and blamed him for 11 murders during his time on the run. In all, police say Morgan and his gang were believed to be responsible for 19 murders, 41 robberies, shooting with intent, arson, attempted robbery and three cases of abduction.

The crimes were carried out in several parishes.

Among his murder victims were University of the West Indies (UWI) lecturer Dr Garfield Saddler and his female companion Rosemary Stewart, who was vacationing in Jamaica at the time. Their bodies have never been found, and police theorise that they were burnt and buried somewhere in the Riverton landfill. The couple were believed to have been abducted at the Red Hills Mall in St Andrew. It is believed that the gang wanted their motor car to carry out a robbery.

Morgan was also suspected of being the triggerman behind the killing of his gang members Evon Jones, Peaches Gordon and a man known only as 'Wasp'.

Natty Morgan was also suspected of running a massive extortion racket, in which he allegedly collected payments from all of the big businesses on Spanish Town Road.

He was also known to wear dresses and wigs in order to hide his true identity.

Those who knew Morgan describe him as having a calm disposition and a warm smile which masked his evil intent.
"Him was a man who would laugh with people and shoot them. He was very cold, and killing to him was like taking a breath of air, a natural body function," said one woman who claimed to have lived in Riverton City at the time.

Not even his siblings were free from the fear of the nefarious criminal.

In an article which appeared in the Daily Gleaner of August 25, 1991, one of Morgan's sisters, identified as Joan, said her brother had once threatened to shoot out her teeth after she questioned him about an edict he gave to three women to leave the Riverton City community.

The women were friends of Joan but were branded as informers by Natty Morgan.

But despite his thirst for *lo**, Natty Morgan was also described as a man who would spend hours reading his Bible which he also carried in his back pocket.

He was also said to be pursued by women in Riverton City who saw it as an honour to sleep with him. He has been rumoured to have slept with four women in a single night. Those who knew him say the women, some young teenagers, would brave attacks from alligators and trek the swamps to copulate with Natty Morgan. It is said that young girls willingly gave up their virginity to him.

Natty Morgan is rumoured to have sired more than nine children.
He was also a lover of guns and was said to have owned a large cache of assorted weapons.

"Some of them I don't even know exist on the face of this earth. I don't know where he get the guns from but he was always up here with them. Up to two, three at a time," Morgan's sister told the Gleaner days after his reign of terror, like most badmen, came to a *lo**y end.

After eight months on the run, Natty Morgan was cut down in a hail of police bullets in Lakes Pen, St Catherine, near to the Lakes Pen dump.

Acting on a tip, a police team cornered Natty Morgan and three of his cronies who were travelling in a van on the lonely strip of road and a gun battle ensued. When the smoke cleared, Morgan was found clutching an M16 Colt AR assault rifle. He also had his Bible in his back pocket. His crony Arthur 'Bomber' Hamilton was also found clutching a Remington repeater shotgun.

Morgan's face was so badly damaged by the police bullets that the police had to use fingerprints and a missing finger, which was said to have been shot off during an earlier shootout with the police, to officially identify him.

Responses:

Dear Editor,
I am not sure of the journalistic value of this article or of others of the same nature, but I do know this, that this one has brought me back to the saddest day of my life. My father is numbered among Shabba's victims. He was the first police officer to have been killed in 1978; January 5th to be exact. Shot in the back of the head, while standing at the bus stop on North street by the Gleaner Company.

Thirty years have not lessened the pain. You have done a great job in bringing everything back in focus. Perhaps you could tell me the real purpose of this article.

ERAZORSHARPE@aol.com

After a display of musical versatility by Javaughn, who sang of Peer Pressure and played keyboards, drums and bass guitar, the regal prowl of Etana as she sang of the Wrong Address and encouraged all to hold on their Roots, the extended reggae rockers of Rootz Underground came to 'Welcome To Jamrock'.

Those gathered at the Constant Spring football field on Friday evening at The Gleaner-sponsored show which started just before its slated 9:00 p.m., cheered on Tarrus Riley's advice to Beware, held up their Lion Paw and agreed that She's Royal. Then the third Jamrock went dancehall with Collie Buddz, who worked to tracks and delivered his material in true Jamaican style, his honouring of the lady who "only dance to reggae and calypso" and celebration that "finally the herbs come around", striking a familiar note.

Killer's good mood

Bounty Killer came out with a smile, a "ka-boom!" and Mystery to start a somewhat extended showing in a good mood, going through songs for the women (Wutless Bwoy, Follow Di Arrow) and removing his dark glasses to do Look Into My Eyes.

The good mood continued through a second request to have more sound on stage, with Bounty saying the second time around "engineer, I asked to be heard on the stage"; then laughing, "I am all lovely tonight. I am in off-white."

Still, he later said "likkle passa haffi gwaan" and there were 'Beenie' matters on his mind, as "whe day me put dung some trash" and a certain deejay had taken it up and felt good about it.

"Dem get bright. Dem get hype. When yu a neva see come see yu frighten. When yu no use to ppan' yu a get it, it seem like de bes' ting," Bounty said, his voice screeching as he imitated Beenie Man going on and on over D'Angel and saying "me dun wid me Muma. Dun wid me manager."

"Den she drop him," Bounty said. "She gi him one shut. Now im a bawl. Yu a bawl, bway?" he demanded and the audience roared as he deejayed "if me waan me can get it back".

They had roared as well when he cautioned organisations which sponsor concerts that "when yu sponsor understand the culture yu sponsoring".

"There are certain things in the culture yu can't go around. An' de bigges' one," he said, voice rising as he said "no chi chi bway! No chi chi gal! No sodomite!" And the crowd roared as he went into Cyaan Believe Me Eye, then Anytime.

There was a collective howl when Mavado walked out with Real McKoy and Full Clip, then alternated snatches of songs with his 'dads', Bounty Killer, the pair closing with Gully Side and the observation, "a me same one", respectively.

Gong started out calmly enough with "the master has come back", which proved prophetic. Justice and In Too Deep, the songs done in full, came before the first guest, saxophonist Dean Fraser, on Beautiful. Cat Coore's cello was utilised on There For You and a new song was sent out "fi mi fren dem".

He delivered a suite of his father's songs in good fashion, Who The Cap Fits and Zimbabwe being especially appreciated, then was back to his own with his take on Exodus, a cry of 'sugar!', signalling a restart for a leaping audience.

It was time for more guests, Elephant man leaping to a Higher Level and signalling the plane, the roars going up as Bounty donned his Khaki Suit.

Jr. Gong requested that Busy Signal repeat Nah Go a Jail Again, then it was time for the final guest, Stephen Marley. The pair hailed from Waterhouse to Drewsland and hit a Traffic Jam, Jr. Gong pointing to the full moon on Pimper's Paradise, with Stephen's expressive voice very effective on It Was Written.

They closed with Stephen singing Could You Be Loved, Damian inviting "Simone inna me love zone", but more was demanded and Jr. Gong asked the police for "two more tune", saying "a Christmas". Those two were Road To Zion and the concert's title song.

And earlier, Bounty Killer had had a word for another sexual practice. "Some a de man dem fe stop sex de girl dem inna dem anal," he said.

Cancellation

The STAR Artiste of the Month online and phone chat session scheduled for today, Monday, December 24, has been cancelled.

The STAR regrets any inconvenience

By: Joseph Cunningham

steven.jpgHe has been heralded as "the genius," but for what? That was the popular question two years ago when this kind of adoration was bestowed on a Jamaican teenager, who was new to the fraternity of music producers.

Many had reservations, but YardFlex interviewed Steven McGregor on Friday morning and cleared up all the misgivings. For starters, there is an obvious self-confidence that has propelled Steven McGregor ahead of his fellows in the new generation of Jamaican music producers.

He is also currently the most popular producer in the reggae industry,
delivering the kind of rhythms that make music students think of the
peculiar sounds of the likes of Swizz Beats. I asked the youth, age 17, turns 18 on Sunday; if he were to handpick artistes for a special rhythm, what would be his thought process?

Steven said, "While I take into consideration the type of artiste it is, no matter how famous the artiste, I always reserve the right to input my creativity in a significant way."

What is his source of confidence? He is a son of Freddie McGregor, and was exposed to music as a much younger boy. He virtually lives in the Big Ship studio, the McGregor's home studio where he has built over 500 rhythms.

At age 5, Stephen wrote his first song "School Done Rule," a song about the importance of staying in school, and it enjoyed airplay, locally as well as abroad in 1995. By age 10 he could play five instruments, the piano, violin, drums, bass and guitar, which provided him with the basis for much of his work. In addition he also gained the experience of traveling and performing all over the globe with his family. Stephen has performed in the USA, Canada, Asia, Europe and the Caribbean and knows the different tastes and preferences of music that people have.

As a past student of the Ardenne High School, where he played in the school band, Stephen has the steering wheel of the Big Ship in his grip.

He works hard alongside his brother Daniel aka Chino to manifest their visions and to ensure that the Ship is sailing with full blown sails into the future.

His latest efforts are the Chiny K and the Bee Hive rhythms, which both feature the Likes of Vybz Kartel, Lady Saw and many more. He told YardFlex, "There are big things on the horizon for 2008...just keep listening keenly."

http://www.mediatakeout.com/20766/throwback_pic_wipe_her_down_beyonce_dripping_with_sweat.html?image=9940

Agents steal money transfers?

January 7, 2008
Started By linko2 Comments
Over the recent holiday period, customers who visited some Western Union outlets were shocked to hear that the funds which they had come to collect had already been paid out to them. Investigators from the Fraud Squad told THE STAR that it was discovered that individuals employed to the company were providing sensitive information to outsiders regarding the accounts of persons who were scheduled to collect money. Investigations also revealed that the outsiders, possessing relevant information, proceeded to prepare fictitious identification cards in the names of the persons expecting to receive funds from abroad. As a result, the company was forced to launch investigations after frustrated customers were told that they had already collected their remittances. The Fraud Squad was called in to aid in the investigations and two employees from one branch have so far reportedly been charged in connection with the scam. Those charged in connection with the scam are Adrinne Cameron and Nordia Bennett, both employed to the Seaward Drive branch of Western Union. The two, who were reportedly arrested on Christmas Eve, appeared in court last week and were offered bail. The police have also discovered that half-a-million dollars has been lost in the scam, a figure which could rise as investigations continue, a police source told THE STAR. Cameron and Bennett are scheduled to return to court on January 11.
The police are keeping a close watch on sections of the Homestead community in St. Catherine, after gun men went on a shooting spree in the area.

The incident left 18 year old Ricardo Alexander of Pittsburgh in Homestead dead and two other persons nursing gunshot wounds.

It is reported that a group of heavily armed men went to the home of a 25-year old man who is an alleged Area Don.

The gunmen, who were reportedly posing as lawmen, kicked down the door to the house and opened fire.

The alleged area don is now in hospital in serious condition.

And the gunmen then reportedly invaded Mr. Alexander's house where they opened fire at him.

He was pronounced dead at hospital.

Four and half hours later the gunmen again struck in another section of the community, injuring another man.   

KINGSTON, Jamaica: A massive collection of 1970s music including original recordings by reggae greats Bob Marley and Peter Tosh has disappeared from the archives of the former Jamaica Broadcasting Corp., authorities said Saturday.

The possible theft of thousands of vinyl records and compact discs is a blow to the island's history, said Olivia Grange, Jamaica's information minister.

Musicians and former JBC employees criticized the government for not properly maintaining the archives.

"The latest development is a national disgrace," said Gladstone Wilson, former program manager for JBC radio.

Workers at the newly formed Public Broadcasting Corp. of Jamaica noticed the disappearances earlier this week while touring the old JBC building. They had planned to use the archived material for their first programs, Grange said.

The archives also contain such iconic videos as the 1977 visit of Fidel Castro and the 1978 "One Love Peace Concert," in which Marley famously called two bitter Jamaican political rivals onstage to join hands.

Simoes back and ready to work

January 6, 2008
Started By ZJSnyper7 Comments
Rene Simoes, the man who led the Jamaica to the 1998 World Cup, is confident that the Reggae Boyz could repeat and qualify for the 2010 finals in South Africa.

Simoes, returned as Saturday as technical director in time for the start of CONCACAF World Cup qualifying, after a 7 year absence.

He said Jamaica has the potential to do it get to the World Cup finals again, but it will be more difficult this time.

The 54-year-old Brazilian, who also coached Trinidad & Tobago, led the Brazil women's national team to the gold medal match at the 2004 Olympics.

He also spent the past two seasons helping in the promotion of Cortiba FC to the premier league in Brazil.

He said local based players need not worry as his principles will be the same as before.  

Goal keeper Coach, Chico Santos also arrived Saturday, while   assistant coach, Alfredo Montesso is set to arrive on Monday.

Jose Aleyandre Monteiro will be the new physical trainer.                    

Simoes, who plans to play at least 25 games per year, will begin his first competitive assignment on February 6, when the Reggae Boyz oppose Costa Rica.       

Dear Dr. Flex,
I am a 25-year-old who has been masturbating for the past 10 years. After masturbation my head starts paining and this pain lasts for up to 5 days. I become physically very weak and cannot concentrate on anything be it my work, reading or even driving. My shoulder blades start paining and I cannot sleep sideways. The semen that comes out after masturbation is passed along with stool in the subsequent days. I experience pain in knee joints, hip joints after masturbation. My frequency of urination also increases. Could this be as a result of too much masturbating?
B.M., Kingston 16

Dear B.M.,
 It is quite unlikely that masturbation is the cause of any of the symptoms or problems mentioned by you. It is an absolutely safe and risk free activity. The myths and misconceptions propagated by the so-called sex specialists mislead a large number of persons like you and consequently, they start believing that masturbation is a wrongful and sinful act. This leads to a huge guilt feeling and affects the person psychologically. These manifest themselves in a variety of psychosomatic symptoms. The headaches could be as a result of you concentrating too hard during the course of masturbation. I would suggest that you go speak to your doctor as something more serious could be contributing to your problem.

T.O.K BIO

January 7, 2008
Started By tantan0 Comments
 Straight from Jamaica, T.O.K. has emerged as dancehalls hottest foursome. The band, made up of Alex, Flexx, Bay-C and Craig T, have shown their true strength with their sophomore VP Records set.

The group started out in high school doing R&B covers, and it was only a matter of time before they began to blend hardcore dancehall into their music to create their trademark style. After building a fan base on their home island, the group was recognized in the U.S. with their 2001 debut album, "My Crew, My Dawgs," which peaked at No. 6 on Billboard's Top Reggae Albums chart.

With their new single, "Gal You Ah Lead," T.O.K. has become a crossover hit. The single has re-introduced the group to fans both stateside and abroad, as America's current fascination with dancehall continues to grow. T.O.K. sees it as their duty to continue doing more quality songs that everybody loves to sing because more eyes are on us and the whole dancehall fraternity on a whole," says Flexx. "We hope that our fans will see that we have grown as artists," says Bay-C. "We will be around for a very long time."
January 4th, 2008 | Author: Slava Kuperstein

In two weeks, Method Man's latest film, "The Wackness," will be shown at the Sundance Film Festival.

"It's cool as shit," said Method to MTV News. "This [guy] feels his life is wack. The lead character is played by Josh Peck, and it's the story of a high school student [who's] about to graduate that's addicted to pot. His psychiatrist is also a drug addict that's played by Ben Kingsley. Peck falls in love with Ben Kingsley's daughter, who's also a drug addict. Peck comes for advice from his supplier, who is me. I play a Rastafarian drug dealer. I really transformed. ... I hired my own coach. ... The dialogue they had was so Hollywood Jamaican, it was ridiculous. The person I worked with went in and wrote it over."

Method Man is certainly making himself a presence in the acting world, as the rapper will also have a role in the upcoming spoof "Meet the Spartans,"  while briefly joining "Law & Order" playing the part of what he describes as an "all-around bad dude."

"I don't like following behind other rap niggas, but I found out [the show's producers] hired a lot of muthaf**kas from 'The Wire,' ...So they probably seen my 'Wire' reel and was like, 'Let's f**k with this dude.'"

In addition to the roles mentioned, Tical will continue to play the part of Melvin "Cheese" Wagstaff on HBO's "The Wire."

"The show gets real deep this season," said Meth of the long-awaited fifth season. "It's not to be missed...Cheese, he's that nigga. Cheese is making his move in season five. He's a survivor."

Finally, Method Man spoke briefly on his upcoming album Crystal Method, and disputed any rumors of him not being signed to Def Jam. "I'm tired of niggas sleeping on the kid," he said. "They must be on dope or dog food. I'm not putting no [release] date on it. I'm four songs deep, but I just started. That's good for me."

Even out a di water mi see police a come from".

soldiers-beach.jpgPopular dancehall session Prendies On The Beach last night was certainly not the place to be as patrons were search in side out by the Jamaican Defense Force and the Police Force.

According to one patron who sent OutAroad.com an email early this morning claims that she was shocked with what took place on the beach last night.

Mi nuh love what gwaan because mi guh fi enjoy mi self and then planned to left early so mi could wake up in time to go work - but by the time mi fi do that, mi nuh know where so much soldiers and police come from. Helicopter, Tanker, even out a di water mi see police a come from.

Even though some patrons might be upset that their fun came to an abrupt end, others are praising the police and soldiers for their new way of fighting crime.

Between late 2007 and January 2008 more than four sessions have been raided by soldiers and cops in search of illegal guns and wanted men. Some of the events that have been raided so far are Mavados Birthday Bash, Asylum Night Club, Quad Night Club, a session held in Clarendon to name a few.

Did Aidonia shoot a man?

January 7, 2008
Started By linko0 Comments
YardFlex understands that dancehall artiste Aidonia could be having some trouble with the law. From what we understand his name is being called in connection with a shooting incident where it is alleged he pulled the trigger.

YardFlex called the Constabulary Communication Network CCN, but was told "we are unable to make any sort of comment on this issue right now."

Stay tuned YardFlex will definitely be keeping you posted on new developments.
«First  <  1503 504 505 506 507524  >  Last»  | Page of 524  sorted by