Rapper Yung Joc was arrested in Cleveland, Ohio on Saturday morning, after he allegedly tried to pass through an airport security check point with a fully loaded handgun.
According to police, Yung Joc attempted to pass through a security checkpoint at the Cleveland Hopkins International Airport, when police found the fully loaded firearm.
The Atlanta-bred rapper, born Jasiel Robinson, is currently facing local firearms charges, although he may face charges under the Air Piracy Act.
Yung Joc is currently in the Cuyahoga County Jail. Information on his bail was unavailable as of press time.
The arrest comes on the heels of a banner year for Yung Joc, according to recently released data released by The Nielsen Company.
The rapper is featured on T-Pain's hit single "Buy You A Drank," which was the top selling master tone of 2007, as well as the most played single of the year, tallying almost 400,000 spins.
Does this guy have a death wish or something...wish we could get into his head!
Dear Dr. Flex,
I am a 26-year-old unmarried woman who is sexually active with my boyfriend for the past three years. I often get infected with pus formation in my vagina. After I make love to him, my vagina starts burning and soon gets infected. I feel like peeing again and again. Every minute I feel like using the toilet. My boyfriend is very clean but still I get infected. I have visited my doctor and tired of taking tablets. Can you please advise me on this?
M.P., Kingston 5
Dear M.P.,
Your problem is likely to be Sexually Transmitted Infection (STI). Since this problem is recurrent, despite repeated treatments from gynaecologist, it is better that both you and your partner get examined together and take treatment. Sometimes the male partner may not have symptoms, but that does not mean he is clean. More importantly, you should search for one stable relationship and get married. Get yourself and your partner screened for HIV antibodies and VDRL test. If your partner does not co-operate, avoid him and search for a durable stable partnership.
When you were a kid, did you hate to go back to school once your Christmas holidays were over? If you answered yes to that question, you probably remember a lot of things you might have tried to get out of it. But one kid near Monterrey, Mexico took his fear of returning to class too far.
The 10-year-old was so frightened of having to go back to the old routine that he glued his hand to his bed. Diego Palacios crept down to his mother's kitchen in the wee hours of the morning, grabbed a bottle of the industrial strength sticky material, went back up to his bedroom and smeared it all over his hand.
Hours later, when he hadn't gotten up for breakfast or shown any signs he was getting ready for school, his mother went upstairs to discover the kid lying in bed watching TV - with his hand stubbornly attached to the frame.
A stunned Sandra Palacios tried everything to detach her recalcitrant son from his precarious post - water, oil, even nail polish remover. She finally had to call in the authorities for help. "I don't know why he did it," she told a local newspaper. "He's a good boy, but mischievous like all kids."
Her son has a different explanation for his actions. "I didn't want to go to school because vacation was so much fun," he responds.
Still, the best laid plans of mice and little boys often goes awry and it did in this case. Paramedics managed to free the reluctant student, whose hand was unharmed - and he made it to class in time.
KARTEL AND DANIELLE VOICE BEAT IT REMIX
Word on the streets is that Kartel ah work wid Danielle a.k.a DI on a Beat It remix for producer Kareem. People ah say it sound like a sure hit already, and the video ah go shoot by next week. Empire ah roll out!
I-OCTANE BURNS A FIRE
I-Octane get a nomination fi New Artiste of the Year inna the Excellence in Music and Entertainment (EME) awards that ah go show pon CVM TV and air pon HOT 102. The man have a good year with the Gun Rise song wid Teflon, and the Stab Vampire ting tek off. The people dem love the vampire suit at Sting, especially with the wooden stake and ting. But ah over East Fest him get the biggest forward, people ah work wid the octane, the man ah burn the petrol, and the highest grade 90 him ah push, memba! All the best inna the 2000 straight.
ALL-ISLAND POWER CUT
A wah really a gwaan a Jamaica? Look how mi almost miss Weddy Weddy last night because JPS caan sort out dem dutty self. When dem nah send mi some fictitious $12,000 plus bill, dem ah have power surge fi mash up mi TV and mi fridge. JPS, sort out oonu dutty self.
WAH PEOPLE AH CHAT BOUT
Will DAngel give a good performance inna Brooklyn Friday night alongside Alison Hinds dem?
We love the new range but why Killa neva jus buy a 2008 Range and done?
Wha dat Barbee have on at Jagga B dance? She neva look right, even before she get the jook inna her eye.
Where Ms. Kitty from RE get da purple dress de from ah Jagga B dance? She ah occur. Gwaan Ms. Kitty.
How Toya ah go so hard inna the mermaid outfit at Jagga B dance? She just look rich so, and she nah hail nobody, she come in like a ice queen. Rich!
Jonique Gaynor/Diana Hall, Staff Reporters
If Ida Stewart's date of birth is what she says it is, she may very well be the oldest person alive. Stewart, who lives in Devon, a small community outside of Brown's Town, St. Ann, told THE STAR that she was born on November 5, 1886. This would make her 121 years old.
Although she has completely lost her vision in one eye and the other is quickly going, Stewart was a gracious host and engaged THE STAR team with various stories of her life as a young girl. Apart from having some trouble hearing, Stewart is in good health and is able to move around her house. Her mind is as sharp as a tack and she seems to remember quite a lot. She is also very witty and sharp-tongued.
Absolutely sure
When THE STAR team asked Stewart if she was sure of her date of birth, her quick response was, "Den if u nuh tink mi sure why yu ask mi dat question?" She revealed that she was born in Longhill, which is a district a few miles up from Devon. She also told THE STAR that she got married to Leonard Stewart on June 2, 1928, and moved to Devon shortly after. Her husband died in 1988 and the couple's only daughter was born in the 1920s. Stewart has nine grandchildren, countless great grandchildren and even a few great great grandchildren. Though she only has one biological child, Stewart said, "mi only have one but mi raise a whole heap."
Miss Ida, as she is called, told THE STAR that a lot has changed since her days as a young girl. She said, "Is di first mi see seh people in di world change because dem doomed to hell. Nuff a dem a di generation of vipers whe mi read bout inna di Bible. First time manners did deh wid children, none nuh deh again and everyting raise. Every day price raise like aeroplane. Kerosene oil whe mi used to buy one gallon fi a shilling, now dat a sell fi bout $300."
She also revealed that she was quite a catch back in her day, and told THE STAR about her experience at a party she attended. "Mi go di party and everybody waan dance wid mi, mi haffi tell dem seh mi young man a come meet mi. Nuh young man naw come ennuh, but jus fi keep dem off."
Stewart told THE STAR she held several jobs while she was young, many of them in Kingston. "Di work whe mi do, Missis, it nuff till mi can't even tell yu. Di first work mi do is carry lunch go Sutton Street fi police and di las work mi do a mek coffee a Port Royal Street."
She also told THE STAR that she believes that her time on earth is done as these days are not for her. "My time done. Mi jus a watch and wait fi go to di place whe all mi loved ones gone. Dis ya time a nuh fi mi. Mi read dat man would leave dem woman an go to man. Those people belong to the devil. A better day is coming."
She continued, "Nuff a wha mi read, mi see it a happen. God seh wi mus be ready, so mi deh ready up miself fi be wid God and anyting whe nuh right inna mi life mi a beg im correct it."
Miss Ida believes that her long life is a reward for the respect she showed her parents and how she lived her life. "Mi honour mi parents and mi neva box box bout wid mi body and mi love everybody, up to mi enemies dem. Mi married and mi put miself inna di hands of God and God keep mi. Mi close to God ya now."
Tombstone verification
She said her birth certificate was destroyed but told THE STAR that if we went to the community of her birth, we could check the tombstones of her parents. "Whatever dem tell mi from mi a pickney, mi keep it in ya so [her head]. Mi nuh lose reason."
According to the Guinness Book of Records, the world's oldest person is 114-year-old Edna Parker, who resides in Shelbyville, Indiana, USA. She turned 114 last year.
To be considered as a Guinness world record holder, one has to visit the Guinness website at: www.guinness-worldrecords.com and complete the application form. The company will then verify the information and confirm the claim once the applicant provides Guinness with evidence that a record has been set or broken.
To be an eligible candidate for breaking the record for the world's oldest person, that person has to provide evidence that proves age and date of birth.Dear Pastor,
I am a 27-year-old female working in the U.S.A. for a year. My fiancé and I have been together for nine years. Our sex life used to be excellent, but it's no longer so. Whenever it's time for us to have sex and he touches me, my body cringes. I told him that he should try giving me oral sex because that will get me in the mood and he said that he doesn't do that stuff.
I gave him oral sex to see if he would return the favour, but he didn't, so I don't do it anymore. He proposed to me last summer when I came to Jamaica and I am now wondering what our life is going to be like when we get married, because we used to live together in 2001 and he didn't treat me well.
Moved out
Sometimes he hits me for no reason. I knew I didn't deserve that treatment, so I moved out and I have been living in my own apartment until early last year when I got the job in the U.S.A. I gave up the apartment and left all my stuff at his place.
We have a five-year-old child and I am now pregnant with the second child. I am not happy. Everytime I think about living with him when I go back home, I become worried. He is someone who likes to rule and whatever he says that's the way it must go.
Can you please advise me on what to do? This is stressing me out.
T.B., New York, U.S.A.
Dear T.B.,
You had one child by this man and you knew he is an abuser, and yet you allowed him to get you pregnant again. What you have done is to tie up yourself further. So now you are going to have two children to take care of for a man you are not happy with. I cannot tell you what to do. You should make your own decision.
When I was told recently about Third World's plans to celebrate their 35th anniversary this year, naturally, I immediately thought about Stone Love Movements celebrating its 35th anniversary in December.
And, I thought about how Jamaican music has developed since the two outstanding organisations, one a band of live musicians and the other a sound system playing recorded music, were formed.
I was all of one-year-old when Third World and Stone Love were formed, so, of course, I do not have first-hand knowledge of the entertainment scene then. But, we should all know that Third World was one of a number of 70s roots bands, among them Inner Circle (with which it is genetically linked, musically), Zap Pow (for which Beres Hammond was at one point lead singer) and The Wailers (which morphed from the Wailing Wailers of the previous decade and would further evolve - some would say devolve - into Bob Marley and the Wailers).
They were all self-contained units, carrying on in the tradition, if not the musical format, of those which preceded them, such as Byron Lee and the Dragonaires, Carlos Malcolm and the Afro-Caribbean Rhythms and the Skatalites.
These days there are very few of those bands around, which came after that 70s wave. Morgan Heritage is well established and Rootz Underground is fighting the good fight with Victims of the System, making a U.S. trod recently and performing regularly enough in Jamaica, a recent high-profile outing being 'Welcome to Jamrock 2007'.
Stone Love was one of the inheritors of the sound system movement, V Rocket, Tom The Great Sebastian, Downbeat, and Merritone among their many predecessors. Today, there are more selectors than actual sound systems, with many a young lad walking around with a CD pouch and his name being labelled a sound system.
So, 35 years after these two landmark organisations were founded it is the sound system that has come to rule in terms of the sheer numbers of young persons who are getting involved in the music business via that route, as well as a mass audience. However, with a very heavy annual touring schedule that takes them truly worldwide, from Australia to Antigua and Barbuda, from Japan to the U.S., Third World is a flagbearer for Jamaican music.
I wonder if, 35 years ago, coming up to the heady days of socialist exuberance and the explosion of black consciousness, those involved in the music business could have envisioned that this was the way that it would go.
And, I wonder if 35 years from now, the hip-hop/dancehall fusion that Mavado and Busy Signal record on regularly will have replaced the straight dancehall beat that we have become used to. It might seem laughable now, but look what has happened over the past 35 years.
When Capleton said "A Rasta ting, yuh know" as a feud erupted between Norris Man and Sizzla on his 'A St. Mary Mi Come From' show held in 2007 he had no hint of the Rasta warfares that were brewing among entertainers.
From verbal exchanges to physical disputes and artistes walking out on others on stage, Rastafarian artistes have been causing controversy among themselves. Viewed as conscious and lyrically uplifting, there is a perception that Rastafarians should not be engaging in violent acts among themselves and other entertainers. Instead, these artistes should be setting an example for others to follow. However, over the past year or two, these same entertainers have found themselves in the midst of controversy.
Lutan Fyah raised hairs on some Rastas at 'Reggae In The Valley' when he made disparaging comments about his fellow Rastafarians. Lutan Fyah commented on-stage: "Big up Rodney. Him is a man weh tun nuff yutes inna millionaire. Mi nuh see no Rasta weh a buss nuh yute." After which Luciano and Anthony B, who were scheduled to perform, left the venue without doing so.
Lutan Fyah says he currently has no disputes with other artistes in the industry. "Rasta nuh really feud, a negative vibe jus' spill off. Wi nuh have any ongoing fight against Rasta. I and I nuh have no beef wid no man, I is a vegetarian," commented Lutan.
As for the statement he made at the show, he says he does not think he was wrong for making such a statement. He says he is not concerned about what they have to say regarding his statement as he merely stated his own opinion.
His statement angered other Rastafarians such as Capleton, who later told the STAR "First an foremost, wi nuh waan people feel seh Rasta a build no negative vibes toward people. A warrior jus seh som'n weh him nuh fi seh an him haffi sort out dat. If me neva strong, to di vibe weh a gwaan, me woulda leave an nuh perform to. Everybody know how much youths Rasta buss over di years. A man nuh haffi literally tek a yout into the studio, cause youths emulate we. An mi never feel good seh Anthony B and Luciano did haffi leave di show an nuh perform due to dat either," he said.
It would seem that the Rastas have developed a bad-man mentality in their behaviour and their image. From Munga calling himself the 'Gangsta Ras' to acting as such on stage. This was seen at Capleton's own show 'St. Mary Mi Come From' when Norris Man was attacked on-stage by persons after he insulted Sizzla.Norris Man made a fuss when he believed Sizzla tried to rush him off stage. A throwing of words began when Norris Man commented: "Run di riddim, mi a bad man! A mi name Norris Man." After a tussle on stage, Capleton had to come on stage reminding the artistes: "A St. Mary mi come from, a love mi seh, a unity."
Another feud is going on between Munga Honourable and Deva Brat. The two battled it out on stage at Stone Love's anniversary held at the Mas Camp. Deva Brat went on stage during Munga's performance singing Talk Dem A Talk and pushed someone off stage, to which Munga responded by hitting him. However, the most recent clash was between Sizzla and Jah Cure at 'Original Jam Jam'. The two allegedly got into a dispute backstage for unknown reasons.
A peaceful people
Despite all the fueds, some still believe Rastas are peaceful. "Rasta is a peaceful set of people. Wi a nuh gansta, wi a Rasta. Wi a nuh bad man, wi a good man," said Lutan Fyah. He says those Rastafarians who sing about violent lyrics are doing so out of their own experience and not based on the Rasta experience.
Bass-C of TOK supports the statements made by Lutan Fyah. He says Rastafarianism speaks about peace and love, while Rastas may have their differences, he says they do not have to display it publicly. It is, therefore, contradictory to see Rastas fighting against each other on stage or otherwise. As a result their fans may follow their actions.
Popular dub poet, Mutabaruka, says he is not pleased with the behaviour of some persons who have taken on the Rasta name on to themselves. He especially has a problem with those in the industry who are involved in feuds and who have violent lyrics.
"Obviously, is a contradiction. The music has gone a different way. These people coming up claim dat dem come from the ghetto. They have these feelings and project it like is normal behaviour," said Mutabaruka.
He sees their behaviour as being on an individual level as most of the Rastas in the music industry come from ghetto areas, but not all of them react in a violent way. He cited I-Wayne as one of the many new Rasta artistes who has been delivering positive music to the people.
Mutabaruka says one cannot be both a Rasta and a badman. He says many of these "badman entertainers" are merely living out their "craziness" on stage and then pin it on the Rasta name. He says it is unfortunate that these persons are being highlighted in the media or otherwise, as they are only destroying the fabric of society.
He says feuds are nothing new in the Rasta community as Bob Marley and Peter Tosh had their own disagreements. However, these disagreements did not materialise on stage.
Senator Barack Obama plans to use Hip Hop artists to educate the American public if he wins the Democratic candidacy and becomes President.
Obama, who lost to Hillary Clinton in yesterday's New Hampshire primary, says he has been a Hip Hop fan for years. Although neither Jay-Z nor Kanye West have come out to publicly support Obama's candidacy, Obama has already talked with the two regarding ways in which they can use their music in a positive way, and also how to branch out and fill the gap between older generations who dismiss Hip Hop as a negative, inferior art form.
"I've met with Jay-Z; I've met with Kanye. And I've talked to other artists about how potentially to bridge that gap. I think the potential for them to deliver a message of extraordinary power that gets people thinking (is massive)," Obama told Jeff Johnson during BET's political special What's In It For Us?.
Though he supports using Hip Hop as a catalyst for good, Obama is also aware of Hip Hop's negative side too, acknowledging that messages of crime and misogyny overshadow the many positive aspects of rap music.
"There are times, even on the artists I've named, the artists that I love, that there is a message that's sometimes degrading to women, uses the N-word a little too frequently. But also something that I'm really concerned about is (they're) always talking about material things about how I can get something; more money, more cars."
With the primaries in full swing, the voice of young Black America and the Hip Hop vote will continue to be a focal point in the media. So far, rappers including Common, Rhymefest and Talib Kweli have voiced their support for Obama.
Beanie Sigel, right, and his attorney enter a Philadelphia courthouse Wednesday.
A judge found that Sigel took an unauthorized trip to Atlantic City, New Jersey, and had contact with a convicted felon.
U.S. District Judge R. Barclay Surrick ordered Sigel to spend a day in prison and extended his probation by 18 months, including the halfway house stint.
During those six months, Sigel can pursue his work in Philadelphia by day but cannot travel to promote his latest album, "The Solution."
The 33-year-old rapper (real name: Dwight Grant) has had a string of legal problems in recent years but insists he is a changed man.
"I'm human, but I'm working on my mistakes," he told Surrick. "I do believe that other people do get a chance to go back into society and do the work that they do."
In recent months, Sigel has led an anti-violence march with Philadelphia native Bill Cosby, spoken at several city high schools about making good life choices and filmed a public-service announcement aimed at young people.
Surrick acknowledged the positive contributions but said Sigel's actions must have consequences.
"If they're looking at you as a role model, you've got to do the right thing," Surrick said.
The judge could have sent Sigel back to prison for three to nine months.
Sigel spent a year in federal prison on a gun charge, then was acquitted of attempted murder in September 2005, a month after being released. He was briefly jailed in late 2005 for failing to pay $27,000 in child support. The following year, he told police he was shot by men who surrounded him and stole his cash and jewelry.
In 2007, Surrick extended Sigel's supervised release because of his contact with a felon.
Sigel, who has been allowed to travel for work during his probation, admitted he did not seek permission for the Atlantic City trip.
But he denied being with the felon on December 3, saying he was at a studio giving media interviews. A probation officer testified Wednesday that he saw the pair together at the home of Sigel's mother.
Sigel's albums include "The Truth," "The Reason," "The B. Coming" and "The Solution." He also starred in the movie "State Property" and its sequel
Lawyers for G-Unit rapper Tony Yayo (born Marvin Bernard) plan to file a motion for dismissal, after one of Yayo's associates confessed to assaulting 14-year-old James Rosemond. According to an Associated Press report, Lowell "Lodi Mack" Fletcher confessed to the crime during an unrelated jail interview.
In a written statement, authorities report that "Fletcher saw a young boy [Rosemond] wearing a Czar Entertainment T-shirt. Fletcher further stated that he slapped the boy across the face and began to grab the boy's shirt. At this point Marvin Bernard [Yayo] exited the vehicle, tried to restrain him [Fletcher] and get him back in the vehicle."
In March of 2007 Yayo was charged with assault and endangering the welfare of a child, after Rosemond accused him of slapping and punching him. According to the misdemeanor complaint Yayo allegedly spotted Rosemond near a building at Sixth Avenue and 25th Street and hit Rosemond with his hand "causing his face to strike the door of a building." The case gained national attention due to the fact that Rosemond's father, Jimmy, manages ex G-Unit member and rival artist The Game under Czar Entertainment.
Tony Yayo maintained his innocence from the outset, and has remained free on $5,000 bail. In June of 2007 the rapper also rejected a plea deal that would have called for him to serve nine months of jail time in exchange for pleading guilty to the crime. Authorities are now likely to shift their attention to Fletcher, who confessed to the assault while serving a two-and-a-half-year sentence for drug possession.
Fletcher's lawyer, Robert Macedonio, says the statement was taken "in violation of [Fletcher's] constitutional rights," since police questioned him without a lawyer present. According to a recent MTV News report [available HERE], Yayo's lawyer, Scott Leemon says Fletcher's confession came after being interviewed by the New York Police Department's "Hip Hop Squad." However, other than the motion for dismissal filed by Yayo's legal team, no further action has been taken. Since the initial incident, both the houses of Tony Yayo's mother and road manager have been shot at.
Iraq War veteran Jase Cook will soon be throwing his hat into the rap game with his upcoming album, Troublesome 08: The Life. I was glad to be traveling, and not being back home doing ignorant stuff. I just had to get my grown man mind together," Cook says of his initial time with the U.S. Army.
A lot of my views come from being in that environment. Ive been around the world, seen how different governments operate. My last CD was driven off of the anger I had when I was in the Army, admits Jase, who lost 15 friends in service during their military tours around the world.
Troublesome 08: The Life, is tentatively set to be released on January 29th. Currently fielding offers from majors for distribution, Jase spoke with HipHopDX about the album. The rapper revealed that the majority of the production on the album would be handled by South Carolinas Juice.
I dont record songs for the army, says Jase of his music. I dont put too much focus on it. Thats part of me of course; I use that in there. [But] I try to make sure theres a purpose behind every song. Theres not no meaningless music on there theres music for everyones enjoyment. Im not gonna try to bore people, or [oversell] the army thing. It is apparent though the last song and a couple references throughout youll hear me reference it but its not the basis of the album.
Over there, we try to entertain ourselves, says Jase of music as a diversion from the difficulties of war. Because we know, once we pull those headphones off, its back to work.
Despite the welcome distraction of music, Jase made no secret of how he felt about many of todays Hip Hop artists. Todays artists, to me, from what weve been hearingis really not going nowhere. Its like people just getting into the studio and putting songs together and thats it. I dont like just going to do songs, I like going and making statements.
When you think about the war, its people like you and Iits people that volunteered their time, and have no guarantee of coming back. So anyone that supports that, they got a got heart and a good head on their soldier, said Jase, concerning the mixed support that the War in Iraq and the troops fighting it has gotten. And some people dont support it because of the political [aspects] of it, which is understandable. But at the same time, youve got innocent people going over there fulfilling their duty and their job. So I think everyone should support it in that sense. We didnt ask to go over there; if you dont support the message behind it, at least support the troops over there.
Troublesome 08: The Life is tentatively set to hit stores January 29.
Collins, who is responsible for reggae and dancehall hits such as Nah Apologise, Black Woman And Child, Rise To The Occasion and Solid As A Rock, was yesterday sentenced to pay a fine of J$100 or serve 10 days behind bars after pleading guilty to possession of marijuana.
Collins' ability to travel overseas may be jeopardised, however, after the presiding magistrate Glen Brown ordered that Collins be fingerprinted, which also signified that the conviction would be recorded on Collins' criminal record.
The court was yesterday told that on January 4, Collins was seen by police sitting in his car, which was parked along Windward Road in Kingston. The officers subsequently searched his car and found a small bag of the drug under a mat in the car. He was subsequently arrested and charged.
Collins has allegedly appeared in the Half- Way-Tree Court at least once before in connection with a drug-related offence.
Collins is, however, not the first reggae/dancehall artiste to be convicted on drug charges. In April 2004 Mark 'Buju Banton' Myrie was found guilty of possession of marijuana charge in 2004. Myrie was arrested and charged after police searched his studio in Red Hills, St Andrew and found three marijuana plants.
NEW ORLEANS - Hurricane Katrina's victims have put a price tag on their suffering and it is staggering including one plaintiff seeking the unlikely sum of $3 quadrillion.
The total number $3,014,170,389,176,410 is the dollar figure so far sought from some 489,000 claims filed against the federal government over damage from the failure of levees and flood walls following the Aug. 29, 2005, hurricane.
Of the total number of claims, the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers said it has received 247 for at least $1 billion apiece, including the one for $3 quadrillion.
"That's the mother of all high numbers," said Loren Scott, a Baton Rouge-based economist.
For the sake of perspective: A mere $1 quadrillion would dwarf the U.S. gross domestic product, which Scott said was $13.2 trillion in 2007. A stack of one quadrillion pennies would reach Saturn.
Some residents may have grossly exaggerated their claims to send a message to the corps, which has accepted blame for poorly designing the failed levees.
"I understand the anger," Scott said. "I also understand it's a negotiating tactic: Aim high and negotiate down."
Daniel Becnel, Jr., a lawyer who said his clients have filed more than 60,000 claims, said measuring Katrina's devastation in dollars and cents is a nearly impossible task.
"There's no way on earth you can figure it out," he said. "The trauma these people have undergone is unlike anything that has occurred in the history of our country."
The corps released zip codes, but no names, for the 247 claims of at least $1 billion. The list includes a $77 billion claim by the city of New Orleans. Fourteen involve a wrongful death claim. Fifteen were filed by businesses, including several insurance companies.
Little is known about the person who claimed $3 quadrillion. It was filed in Baker, 93 miles northwest of New Orleans. Baker is far from the epicenter of Katrina's destruction, but the city has a trailer park where hundreds of evacuees have lived since the storm.
Katrina, which is blamed for more than 1,600 deaths in Louisiana and Mississippi, is considered the most destructive storm to ever hit the U.S. It caused at least $60 billion in insured losses and could cost Gulf Coast states up to $125 billion, according to the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.
Most of the claims were filed before a deadline that coincided with Katrina's second anniversary, but the Corps is still receiving them about 100 claims have arrived over the past three weeks and is feeding them into a computer database.
The Corps said it isn't passing judgment on the merits of each claim. Federal courts are in charge of deciding if a claim is valid and how much compensation is warranted.
"It's important to the person who filed it, so we're taking every single claim seriously," Corps spokeswoman Amanda Jones said.
Section 002 How to be Gay: Male Homosexuality and Initiation.
Credits: (3; 2 in the half-term).
Instructor(s): David M Halperin (halperin@umich.edu)
Course Description:
Just because you happen to be a gay man doesn't mean that you don't have to learn how to become one. Gay men do some of that learning on their own, but often we learn how to be gay from others, either because we look to them for instruction or because they simply tell us what they think we need to know, whether we ask for their advice or not.
This course will examine the general topic of the role that initiation plays in the formation of gay male identity. We will approach it from three angles: (1) as a sub-cultural practice subtle, complex, and difficult to theorize which a small but significant body of work in queer studies has begun to explore; (2) as a theme in gay male writing; and (3) as a class project, since the course itself will constitute an experiment in the very process of initiation that it hopes to understand.
In particular, we will examine a number of cultural artifacts and activities that seem to play a prominent role in learning how to be gay: Hollywood movies, grand opera, Broadway musicals, and other works of classical and popular music, as well as camp, diva-worship, drag, muscle culture, taste, style, and political activism. Are there a number of classically 'gay' works such that, despite changing tastes and generations, all gay men, of whatever class, race, or ethnicity, need to know them, in order to be gay? What is there about gay identity that explains the gay appropriation of these works? What do we learn about gay male identity by asking not who gay men are but what it is that gay men do or like? One aim of exploring these questions is to approach gay identity from the perspective of social practices and cultural identifications rather than from the perspective of gay sexuality itself. What can such an approach tell us about the sentimental, affective, or subjective dimensions of gay identity, including gay sexuality, that an exclusive focus on gay sexuality cannot?
At the core of gay experience there is not only identification but disidentification. Almost as soon as I learn how to be gay, or perhaps even before, I also learn how not to be gay. I say to myself, 'Well, I may be gay, but at least I'm not like that!' Rather than attempting to promote one version of gay identity at the expense of others, this course will investigate the stakes in gay identifications and disidentifications, seeking ultimately to create the basis for a wider acceptance of the plurality of ways in which people determine how to be gay.
Additional note. This course is not a basic introduction to gay male culture, but an exploration of certain issues arising from it. It assumes some background knowledge. Students wishing to inform themselves about gay men and gay culture in a preliminary way should enroll in an introductory course in lesbian/gay studies.
Ray Alexander publicist for both Beenie Man and Barbie, has informed the Jamaican music fraternity that he is suing the management of 876 Radio after it reported that Beenie Man had beaten Barbie because she refused to give him a threesome.
Ray said they have since received a letter of apology from the management of 876 Radio. He said the accusations are false and that during the time of the alleged incident Beeine Man was in Miami and Barbie was at home sick and in bed.
Ray says they are however contemplating suing and may just demand that
they (the management of 876 Radio) send a public apology to all media
houses.
He further revealed that Beenie Man's lawyer has all the details and is ready to take action.
JPS system failure plunges island into darkness |
PATRICK FOSTER, Observer writer fosterp@jamaicaobserver.com Thursday, January 10, 2008 |
A policeman directs traffic at the Oxford Road/Knutsford Boulevard intersection in Kingston last night after an islandwide power failure caused the traffic lights to go out. (Photo: Garfield Robinson) |
A power cut yesterday evening plunged the entire island into darkness minutes after six o' clock leaving Jamaica Public Service (JPS) customers bewildered as the lights flickered on and off for seconds before eventually going out.
Last night JPS corporate communications manager, Winsome Callum, said a system failure resulted in the islandwide blackout, but she was not immediately in a position to say exactly what had caused the massive failure.
She said, however, that the problem appeared to have originated in St Catherine at the Tredegar substation.
"Preliminary indications are that the source of the problem is from the Tredegar station in St Catherine," Callum told the Observer at press time, adding that JPS customers were gradually being brought back online.
In the meantime, residents related their experiences with the sudden outage that also resulted in late evening traffic snarls across the Corporate Area.
"The light flickered in and out before there was a total blackout," Kayann Powell, a Corporate Area resident told the Observer last night.
The tale was the same in St Catherine and as far away as Montego Bay.
"When I saw my lights blinking, I was wondering what the hell was happening. I only realised that it was a power outage when I went outside and saw total darkness," a resident of the rural St Catherine community of Riversdale said.
A port worker heading home from work said there was chaos at the Three Miles/Spanish Town Road intersection as impatient motorists tried to force their vehicles through.
"It was not a pretty sight," he said. "There has always been delays at the intersection, but this evening it was much worse."
There were also reports of disorder at the Hope and Trafalgar roads intersection as well as along Eastwood Park Road where motorists were already subjected to delays resulting from work being carried out to facilitate the opening of the Half-Way-Tree Transport Centre.
In July 2006 the country was plunged in a similar unscheduled, islandwide power outage that resulted in the then government calling for investigations by a team of professionals from Canada into the cause.
Not satisfied with the reasons given by JPS, the services of the Canadian experts were requested to conduct an independent investigation.
The consultants were also asked to propose long-term corrective measures which should be implemented by JPS to prevent another islandwide or widespread power blackout.
But in August 2007 the island experienced another extensive outage causing customers in several parishes to suffer inconvenience.
Having only been inconvenienced recently in Canada and not jacked up, stripped or mobbed, as is the popular opinion 'Gangsta for Life,' Mavado was back in studio last week to record a track for incarcerated rapper, Foxy Brown's upcoming album, set to drop in November. It is official, that Mavados possessions were stolen by unscrupulous persons, reportedly connected to the Toronto hotel he stayed in. This incident was just another stumbling block and has effectively been overcome.
So "Feisty Foxy" and de 'Gangsta for Life,' have a tentative title for the new collaboration - "Fire." It was recorded at DASECA's studio with Koch Records' Bob Perry as producer. A report explained how Foxy planned this collaboration for some time now, shouting out Mavado on the intro and laying down her verses around 2 months ago.
"Foxy had been in dialogue with my manager for some time now talking about doing the track," said Mavado. "You know Foxy's a hothead so the combination with me and her was fire!"
"Koch has a lot of money invested in Foxy's project," said Perry. "Her going to jail obviously threw a spanner in the works, but we have to try and capitalize on the publicity that it has generated, which is why we are pushing out the record as quickly as we can."
Koch Records has an impressive and ever-growing roster of acts from all genres of music and this has thrust them to the top spot in the world as an independent record label. "Koch had some great success recently with the Sean Kingston single," Perry explained, "So our radio department is very strong at the moment. We were hoping Mavado would give us a great record that we could push as the single and we weren't disappointed."
Mavado has been spreading his wings with collaborations with overseas acts, teaming up with Busta Rhymes, Wyclef Jean and Uncle Murder recently for songs on their albums. Sales of his album, "Gangsta For Life - the Symphony of David Brooks" have been going well, keeping him in the Billboard Reggae Top 10 since its release.
BY: Kemesha Bolton
News has been spreading around regarding the recent confrontation between DJ Vybz Kartel and Bembe Selector Jigsy.
YardFlex spoke to Jigsy earlier today via a telephone interview to find out from him the true story.
When asked about the incident Jigsy jumped right at the opportunity to 'talk di tings dem.' "I was on stage playing some music, bigging up Bounty Killa and Mikey Pelpa when somebody come tell mi seh di DJ (Vybz Kartel) call me, so mi jus laugh cause mi neva tink nutten."
According to him by the time him reached, him chain pop off and "Vybz Kartel himself gun butt mi, yuh hear me Vybz Kartel himself," as he reiterated it.
He continued by telling us that "a di second time now him try mash up Bembe, two weeks straight, him dis every selecta a Bembe, so him BAN from Bembe fi life." When asked what would happen if he should show up he said "Den di police a go deal wid it cause wi put out a restraint gainst him, nuh Vybz Kartel song naw play a Bembe again." "Vybz Kartel Banned, him a walking distruction," said Jigsy.
A protégé and close friend of dancehalls newest bad boy Mavado's, Flexxx has proven himself to fans and his peers in the dancehall fraternity that he is a very focused artiste and unique writer with his witty but very grimy style.
An avid writer he has written a number of hit tracks for Mavado such as "How High", "Say What You Wanna Say" and the current chart topper on Stephens McGregors "Bee Hive Riddim" titled "Which Gyal" just to name a few from his extensive catalog.
As an artiste he has recorded with a number of Jamaicas top producers most notably Don Corleone, who is also responsible for the careers of artistes such as Munga Honourable, Alaine, Pressure just to name a few and Big Ships Delly Ranks & Stephen "Di Genius" McGregror.
Flexxx a member of the Bounty Killer led musical group Alliance is also an entrepreneur with his own cadre of artistes and record label named "Fagan Fraternity".
Currently he has been working acidulously in the studios and the streets promoting himself as an artiste and has been receiving a lot of love on the airwaves and party circuit locally and internationally.
Even though his songs are well known throughout the urban demographic of Jamaica, U.S and the United Kingston a lot of people are still not familiar with the face behind the music, but he plans to change that in 2008.
According to Flexxx all that will change as there are a number of videos set for release in the coming weeks. Many who are not familiar with the artiste may consider him to be a new act but ironically he has been in the industry for a number of year now.
His first attempt at stardom was with a group called MAFIDI which consisted of himself, Mavado, Rackilla, and Terror Kid, before eventually pursuing a solo career.
Flexxx has also been a part of the Alliance long before the named came into existence as he and Mavado were friends with the Five Star General Bounty Killer since 1995.
Some of his musical accomplishments includes being featured on a number of top local shows including the recently concluded Guinness STING 2007 and touring with Mavado
For 2008 fans can expect to see a lot more visibility from Flexxx has he plans to take the dancehall scene with a no hold bars attitude promising some great songs coined with his signature tag line Weh dem a deal wid, Flexxx in the complex, perplex them body bwoy get dump next ...Grants Pen , South Side , Tivoli Garden, Fagan Fraternity tDwayne Mcleod, Staff Reporter
Aidonia - File
Sheldon Lawrence, also known as Aidonia, is denying any involvement in a shooting incident which led to him being in police custody.
Aidonia, who is still in police custody awaiting an identification parade, was arrested on Saturday. He was taken into custody after the incident.
A press release issued yesterday stated that "He (Aidonia) wishes to assure the public, local and international, and his many fans that he is innocent of all allegations and that in due course his name will be cleared. His management is extremely surprised at the allegations as they appeared in THE STAR January 8, 2008."
The Grants Pen police told THE STAR that investigations had unearthed that the shooting incident occurred on Saturday, January 5, after a man had allegedly stabbed up a car belonging to either Aidonia or someone from his entourage.
The release further went on to claim that the incident did not involve two men but a group of men who came to the artiste's community to make demands on him, which he refused to comply with. It added that Aidonia fled the area when it appeared that he was going to be attacked. It was when he left the community that he received a call about the shooting and went to the Grants Pen Police Station to make a report.
Initial police reports are that two other men came on the scene shortly after and were thought to be the person(s) who damaged the car.
They were allegedly driven down by Aidonia and his entourage. The police further went on to say that according to the information received, the men were cornered, a gun brought into play and they were beaten and one of them shot.
One man, Demar 'Demmy' Palmer, managed to escape but was reportedly killed the following day as he stood among a group of friends in a lane off Red Hill Road St. Andrew.
In ending, the release also added that "Aidonia and his management wish to disassociate themselves from any involvement in or support for criminal activity or violence of any nature."
The German active wear company Puma has teamed up with many elite companies over the years, launching some of the most elite footwear in the industry. Puma has merged with Ferrari in the past creating the ultimate running shoe with the candy paint colors seen on most Ferrari automobiles, i.e. fire engine red, canary yellow and official Puma and Ferrari logos embedded in the shoe.
Recently Puma also came out with the first running shoe to have actual fangs!!! The "Bieser" looks pretty ordinary from the birds eye view, holding the basic silhouette of any other Puma kick. The sole of the "Bieser" however is only for those confident in fashion and none other than Batman himself. The molded rubber soles are carved to look like fangs, needless to say the name "Beisser" translates to "Bites". If you want to get bit by these elite kicks, let your search begin, there were only 500 pairs of the "Biesser" manufactured making them a definite collector's item.
Most recently, however Puma has teamed up with Alexander McQueen, one of the most creative minds in high fashion in launching a new range of men and women's footwear and clothing. The new line is expected to be seen in London during fashion week in September.
Even for the once-notorious Hells Kitchen neighborhood, it may have been a first: Two men were arrested on Tuesday after pushing a corpse, seated in an office chair, along the sidewalk to a check-cashing store to cash the dead mans Social Security check, the police said.
When Virgilio Cintron, 66, died at his apartment at 436 West 52nd Street recently, his roommate and a friend saw an opportunity to cash his $355 check, the police said.
They did not go about it the easy way, the police said, choosing a ruse that resembled the plot of Weekend at Bernies, a film about two young men who prop up their dead employer to pretend that he is alive.
Hells Kitchen has a rich history, said Paul J. Browne, a police spokesman, but this is one for the books.
There was no sign of foul play in Mr. Cintrons death, he added.
The roommate, James P. OHare, and his friend, David J. Dalaia, both 65 and unemployed, placed Mr. Cintrons body in the chair and wheeled it around the corner, south along Ninth Avenue on Tuesday afternoon, the police said. The men parked the chair with the corpse in front of Pay-O-Matic at 763 Ninth Avenue, a check-cashing business that Mr. Cintron had patronized.
They went inside to present the check, but a clerk said Mr. Cintron would have to cash it himself, and asked where he was, the police said.
He is outside, Mr. OHare said, indicating the body in the chair, according to Mr. Browne.
The two men started to bring the chair inside, but it was too late.
Their sidewalk procession had already attracted the stares of passers-by who were startled by the sight of the body flopping from side to side as the two men tried to prop it up, the police said. The late Mr. Cintron was dressed in a faded black T-shirt and blue-and-white sneakers. His pants were pulled up part of the way, and his midsection was covered by a jacket, the police said. While the two men were inside the check-cashing office, a small crowd had gathered around the chair. A detective, Travis Rapp, eating a late lunch at a nearby Empanada Mama saw the crowd and notified the Midtown North station house.
Police officers and an ambulance arrived as the two men were trying to maneuver the corpse and chair into the check-cashing office.
The two men were taken into custody and questioned. The police said they were considering charging them with check-cashing fraud.
Mr. Cintrons body was taken to a hospital morgue. The medical examiners office said its preliminary assessment was that he had died of natural causes within the past 24 hours.
Dear Pastor,
My former girlfriend raped me when I was 19 years old to be exact. Is this wrong? I have bad dreams at nights about being tied up and punished by women. They say men can't be raped but, pastor, I know I was, repeatedly. It happened whenever she was in the mood, whether I was or not.
Please give me your advice.
T., St. Andrew, Jamaica
Dear T.,
I am tempted to call you a liar. No man is going to allow a woman to have her way with him if he didn't like it. Even if the woman starts to fool around and play with sensitive areas that will turn a man on, he can stop her if he does not want to have sex with her. I don't believe that you were raped.
It is true, however, that a woman can do things to a man that will cause him to have sex with her even if he had not planned to do so. The same is true for a woman. If you were honest, you would say that you like bondage sex so you dream about it all the time, instead of writing the nonsense that you have written.
Sometime ago, a man told me that a woman pulled a gun on him and demanded that he had sex with her and he complied. I wondered how he got 'it' up and was able to perform.
Juliet, the mother of singer Sanchez' 3-year-old son is hopping mad right now as she claims the singer refuses to take care of his child.
"From I got pregnant I haven't received a thing from him till now. I can't do this alone anymore," she shared with YardFlex almost on the brink of tears.
According her all along she has been playing nice, refusing to bring down any scandal on him, but that is not getting her anywhere, or gaining any help for her child.
Her next move will be to seek child support from him. "If he doesn't want to take care of his child then the law will have to serve it course she revealed."
According to the Fort Lauderdale-based baby mother everything was just great with the singer until he found out she was pregnant.
Then things changed although not enough to keep him away from the hospital as he was there for her when she gave birth, he even signed his name to the birth certificate.
My buddy Mike M., from Dripping Springs, Texas, started pestering me. "You're still using that pile of junk browser?" he wrote, referring to Microsoft Internet Explorer.
Yes and no, I told him. I'm still using Maxthon 1.0, that marvelous browser that sits on top of IE. It works fine, I said, and no, I insisted, I'm not switching to Mozilla Firefox.
It didn't stop him from telling me about two add-ons to Firefox that he finds extremely useful, so I decided to pass along Mike's pearls.
The first is CoolIris, an add-on that allows you to preview a page by floating your mouse over a link. Once you're floating, a smaller, resizable preview window pops up, saving you from having to fully open another page. Mike says that's especially handy when reading news stories from Google News and reviewing search results from Google.
The other nifty add-on is PicLens. If you ever search Google Images, you'll appreciate how PicLens turns all those little thumbnail images into a full-screen slide show. It also works with Facebook, Picasa, Flickr, and other image management tools.
Dig This: Watch this woman and lion bonding. If you didn't know better, you'd think something awful was about to happen.
Dig This, Too: Not impressed with the lion hugging? Okay, how about Guinness's $10 million "Tipping Point" TV commercial? [Thanks, Kris.]
Did you know you can color Gmail labels? That's perfect for highlighting incoming mail by color. You can also have a "preview bubble" that will show you a floating window when you right-click a piece of incoming mail. I love this because I don't have to open the e-mail in another tab or window.
It'll take three short steps to make this work.
First, if you haven't already done it, you've got to install Greasemonkey. It's a Firefox add-on that allows the implementation of user scripts. Just head for the site, click "Install Now" to get it, and restart Firefox.
Second, to install the label colors, go to the Google Code site and click on "Label Colors" from the list on the right-hand side of the page under "Links." You'll get a pop-up asking you to confirm the install by clicking the "Install" button when it lights up. The install will happen pretty quickly; you may not even notice that it occurred. No Firefox restart is required.
Finally, stay on the Google Code's page and in the Links section, click on "Conversation Preview." Follow the same routine as with Label Colors, and it will install quickly.
To color the labels, just rename them and add "color" to the name. For instance, Michael is renamed Michael red; e-mail from Steve is Steve blue. Read the full description if you want to get fancier colors.
BTW, Mike said that Gmail has recently started to roll out a "new" interface. If you're using the newer version of Gmail, you can now directly color labels by clicking the gray box to the right of the label name and choosing a color. How can you tell if you're using the "new version"? If you are, there will be a link in the top right corner of the screen that says "Older version." Google temporarily left a link to let users go back to the old if they don't like the new.
Dig This: These pictures from the Endeavour are something else: They make you feel like you're up there with the astronauts circling the Earth. [Thanks, Don G.]
Dig This, Too: I never get tired of watching squirrels work their way through obstacle courses.
Identify Tracking Cookies: Lincoln Spector tells you about the cookies you accumulate while surfing the Net.
Undocumented Firefox Tips: Lincoln's favorite browser is--you guessed it--Firefox. He's got 15 tips to customize Firefox.
Firefox 3 Beta 1 Review: Curious about the next version of Firefox? Here are some details.
PCWorld.com Year-End Stats: Are you the only one using Firefox? Editor-in-Chief Harry McCracken shows us the numbers.
Rein in Firefox: Scott Spanbauer tells you how to get back the memory Firefox gobbles in its cache.
Okay, I exaggerated, but I do have freebies, extensions, add-ons, and other software for you to download and try out.
Firefox Portable: This version of Firefox is customized to run from a USB drive.
Foxmarks Bookmarks Synchronizer Firefox Extension: Synchronize your bookmarks between multiple computers.
Gmail Notifier Firefox Extension: At-a-glance browser indicator for new Gmail messages.
Loki for Mozilla Firefox: Turn your laptop into a virtual GPS device.
Del.icio.us Bookmarks for Firefox: Convert to social bookmarks with the latest del.icio.us Firefox plugin.
1-Click Answers for Firefox: Get quick info on any word or phrase on your screen.
MR Tech Local Install Firefox Extension: A powerful metatool for managing Firefox add-ons.
Chromatab Firefox Extension: Colorize Firefox tabs for quicker navigation.
Tweak Network Settings Firefox Extension: Change Firefox internal settings to speed page loads and downloads.
AllPeers: Easily share files online.
Yahoo Toolbar for Mozilla Firefox: Search Yahoo from Firefox, without opening a new tab or window.
NoScript: Protect your PC by customizing your JavaScript preferences in Firefox, Flock, or Mozilla.
ThumbStrips: Browse your Firefox session with thumbnails of recently visited sites.
IE Tab: Open pages that require Internet Explorer in Firefox.
Tab Mix Plus: This add-on provides a raft of useful tab controls for Firefox fans.
Snap Links: Open or save multiple search results with one mouse click.
The following is a statement issued by Vybz Kartel a.k.a Addi the Techa in response to the allegations made by the Bembe selector Jigsy that the deejay attacked him.
I am surprised that Jigsy has gone to the media with all these outlandish accusations, some of which border on slander and defamation, and serve to damage my reputation as an entertainer. I was not even in the venue at the time of this alleged incident at Bembe. I had been promoting my new liquor Vybz Rum, and partying with friends at the session, and had left some time during Jigsy's set. I only heard about the incident several hours afterwards through a third party, and then reporters informed me of his ridiculous tirade on the radio. I don't know if Jigsy is still in shock after the incident or if the moment has simply overwhelmed him, but he should desist from making these malicious statements for which there is no basis or proof.
It is most unfortunate that my fans took this decision to attack Jigsy, who is one of the better selectors in the dancehall business, but I apologise to him on their behalf. This act was done in a moment of overzealousness on their part and I condemn it without reservation. I do not condone the use of violence against any member of the entertainment fraternity, and I am a firm believer in the inalienable right of any selector to play whatever music he sees fit, and to espouse his personal opinions. I have never sought to influence a selector not to play a particular artiste, or to play with any particular bias, and I have no intention of doing so in the future.
In closing, I would like to use this forum to appeal to the general public, especially in light of the recent incident reported in THE STAR where a gun was pointed at Flexx of TOK, to continue to respect and love its entertainers. I wish you all a happy and prosperous new year.
Vybz Kartel
Posted by yardFlex at December 31, 2007 11:49 AM
Dr Kings dream began to be realized when President Lyndon Johnson passed the civil rights act of 1964 The power of that dream became real in people's lives because we had a president capable of action.
Tourists at Passa Passa (Photos: Gabriel Holzner/www.seen-site.com)
To outsiders Miles Enterprises at 47 1/2 might have been just another address on Spanish Town Road in Tivoli Gardens, west Kingston. But thanks to younger members of the Miles family, that established the business in the 1940's, the stretch of street outside the store has become a favourite destination amongst the relative handful of tourists who venture into the capital and its cultural hotspots.
Each Wednesday night, or rather early the next morning when it really gets going, Passa Passa regularly draws tourists and uptown/downtown partygoers all interested in attending an authentic street dance, safely. Now, Swatch International - the family sound system started by Oneil Miles, which provides the music at Passa - want to leverage more out of the brand, believing that it is a model for community tourism and has the potential to generate significant revenue.
Admittance to Passa, is of course like any other street dance, free of charge. But believes Oneil Miless cousin Dylan Powe, who is responsible for Swatchs international bookings and marketing, the strength of the Passa brand means that after four years Swatch should contend for a greater share of the entertainment market, here and abroad.
The long term plan is to grow Passa into a truly international event with sub-events occurring in different communities throughout the country and throughout the world along the lines of what Reggae Splash did in the 80s with Japan Splash and touring in the United States. I think its a good brand to put globally and then with all the associated benefits of having of brand to be able to carry different artists and cultural entities - being able to replicate a piece of inner city Jamaican dancehall brand wherever we take it, said Powe.
The Passa story is well documented: that it is hosted in Tivoli Gardens, the so-called 'mother-of-all garisons', yet has recorded no single act of violence during its four years of operation.
Kingston is devoid of tourist attraction and what we have done is to give a weekly tourist attractions and people who who would otherwise have stayed in Montego Bay or Negril, will find their way up to Kingston on a Wednesday night, said Powe.
It shows that Jamaica could be a tourist-friendly destination instead of tourists being caged into the all-inclusives. People are on their best behaviour (towards the tourists) and they have an incentive in how their community is perceived. Its something that should be embraced as a model for community development.
This popularity, and international media coverage, has helped Swatch get bookings abroad where Powe has prior experience. After graduating from New York's Columbia University in the early 1990's, he worked as an A&R for Big Beat/Atlantic records, signing the likes of Dawn Penn, Garnett Silk and Inner Circle to Atlantic Records, in between stints as a radio disc jockey.
Cross-promotion with local brands should also be a possibility, he believes.
Sadeke Brooks, STAR Writer
Munga - File
There are several artistes who broke out in 2007 and many of the more seasoned artistes managed to maintain their presence. But there are mixed views among industry players about their prospects for 2008.
"Di competition different an' it more competitive. Dem not even know who a di DJ a di year yet 'cause everybody a gwaan so good. But it sound like Erup a go gwaan wid a ting 'cause him Click Mi Finger hot," says G-Fuss, a seasoned selector from the 35-year-old Stone Love Sound System.
He says Erup did not capitalise on the popularity he gained from Run Dem Head in 2006 but has learnt that lesson and is already following up with at least five other songs that are expected to be big for 2008.
( L - R ) Erup, Bugle
He says he cannot name one artiste who will be big for the year as many artistes are still writing their lyrics. He says most of the newer artistes have a bright future as the industry is changing to accommodate them. He added that artistes like Vbyz Kartel, Busy Signal, Mavado, Beenie Man and Bounty Killer will continue to maintain their presence in the dance hall.
"It will be the younger generation for 2008. The younger artistes are putting in a lot of work and the younger producers like Stephen (McGregor), Daseca and Don Corleon will step it up with quality productions because they are putting out good songs," commented Matthew from Coppershot.
He says Serani, Deva Bratt, Busy Signal, Bugle, Einstein, Munga, Mavado, Vybz Kartel and Sean Paul will be productive for the year. He declined to speak about the more seasoned and older artistes but says the public should look out for female artistes like Queen Ifrika, Alaine and Spice as he expects them to continue on the trend from last year.
Super producer Stephen McGregor added to Matthew's list with Tifa, Timberlee, Chino and Erup. He says Erup has learnt from the mistakes he made in the business last year. He was indecisive about the prospects of the older, more seasoned artiste but says they will have a good year as they did well in 2007.
Zip Jock Liquid says he has high hopes for most entertainers in the dancehall industry.
"Many will be hot but it depends on who will continue. Wi need fi see some Beenie and Bounty pon BET. Dem need fi tek it to the next level 'cause dem been there already. Wi tired a di controversy bout woman an' dem ting deh. Dem have di power so dem need fi use it," says Liquid.
He says he thinks Queen Ifrika, Bugle and Pressure will do well. He says Munga had a challenging year that was filled with controversy but he needs to stay focused to maintain his current momentum.
While it is important to keep focused, producer Scatta says the artistes need to promote themselves and release singles. He says songs like Doh, Back It Up, Fallen Soldiers, Jail and The Days did well because they were singles.
"It hard fi yuh song buss when it deh pon a rhythm wid ten other songs," maintained Scatta.
Nonetheless, he believes Demarco, Deva Bratt, Flexx, Black Ryhino and Queen Ifrika are poised for success in 2008.
Serani
By Krista Henry and Sadeke Brooks, Staff Reporters
DJ Busy Signal was detained by police for over two hours during a raid at a recent show because he looked like a wanted man.
Police raids on entertainment activities were carried out at the end of last year, with five events coming under siege across the island. In an attempt to capture wanted men the police are looking to the most-frequented spots, such as stage shows.
Top cop for the St. Andrew South division, Senior Super-intendent Derrick 'Cowboy' Knight, explained to THE STAR that the increase in police activity is not due to the search for cop killers but simply due to an increase in police intelligence. "This is not about the police per se. Look at the number of murders over the last three months ... The country is fed up," he said.
SSP Knight explained that as a result, the security forces have embarked on an all-out search for criminals and the places they are known to visit. "Intelligence-led operations have found us targeting criminals, wanted men and the places they frequent such as dances, parties, and corners where they hang out," the division head said.
Anti-crime initiative
Patrons being escorted by military personnel from the Country Club where Island Explosion was held on Monday. The joint police-military team detained over 10 people, including a wanted man.
These places include stage shows where thousands of persons gather at a time.
Police raids began on December 1 at Mavado's Birthday Bash held at Temple Hall Estate. The police and military personnel swarmed the venue, carrying out checks on all patrons from 3:00 a.m. to past 7:00 a.m.
On Saturday, December 8, three shows in western Jamaica fell prey to the security force's new anti-crime initiative as police invaded 'Riding West' at the Llandilo Cultural Centre, in Savanna-la-Mar, 'Rasta Bash' in Negril, and 'Reggae Fever' at the Catherine Hall Centre in Montego Bay.
The last raid occurred at Island Explosion on December 24 in Clarendon as police and military personnel conducted a search for guns and other ammunition. Thousands of patrons were forced to wait for over five hours until the search was concluded.
Director of Communications at the Jamaica Constabulary Force, Karl Angel, told the STAR that the law states that shows are allowed to continue up to 2 a.m. and the police will ensure that the law is complied with.
He said: "We can't always get compliance from everybody but the police will try to use the little resources they have to do their job. The stage shows are targeted because they are the most celebrated ones. There are no favours from the police in doing their policing. If people are willing to come forward, we would be willing to look at it and make the necessary changes."
DJ Assailant was detained by the police after using profane language onstage at Island Explosion, held on Monday. The joint police-military team detained over 10 people, including a wanted man. - Nathaniel Stewart photos
However, for some, police interference is coming at a loss. Sidney Campbell, a promoter of Island Explosion, claimed that his show was treated unfairly by the police. He claims that in the five years that the show was being held, there has been no incidents of violence. According to Campbell, the police stopped letting patrons into the venue at 3 a.m. when approximately 5,000 patrons were present. After 3 a.m., an approximate 5,000-6,000 patrons were turned back. This caused the event to lose $3.7 million.
"Di police dem seh dem looking fi wanted men and gunmen in di show. But if they were there they would have found dem, but they found nuting. We got treated unfairly because every odder show keep and dem nuh go dere," he said. Campbell further elaborated that the move was unnecessary as personnel from the May Pen Police Station were present, checking persons as they entered the venue.
Wanted men
Even the artistes are feeling the sting of police lockdowns as seen with dancehall artiste Busy Signal at Reggae Fever in Montego Bay. Similar to Island Explosion, the police were searching for wanted men. According to Busy's manager Shane Brown, Busy and his crew were caught in the curfew that took place at the event at 2 a.m.
Brown recounts: "They had a curfew before he was scheduled to perform. Dem search the bus. Signal and I got out and they searched us as well. Dem stop Signal and tell him to go sit down cause Signal looked like somebody that was wanted. He sat dere for over an hour or two."
According to Brown, the manner in which the the police treated the patrons could be considered brutal as one patron was shot with a stun gun when he began cursing loudly.
For Ken, a patron at the recently held Mavado Birthday Bash, police locking off dances is not fair to the patrons. He said: "It cyaan right fi dem lock off the show like dat. Mi spend my thousand dollars to go there and the people pay dem money fi go too, so dem cyaan do dat. If they lock off parties, it is going to be boring. Ghetto people start the whole dance thing and start up the late culture so they always want to party til late in the morning. The culture can't change."
The issue seems to boil down to whether promoters and patrons can comply with the 2 a.m. lock-off time for entertainment shows.