Forum: News & Topical Issues

News updates, entertainment, hot topics, gossip | Share and discover what is happening right now.

Cougar on the prowl

January 14, 2008
Started By linko2 Comments

I am a 56-year-old woman who is in love with an 18-year-old man. I love him very much and I think he loves me too. I have not kissed him or done anything with him because we are afraid of what people will say. I am a happily married woman for 20 years, but my husband does not know that I am having a relationship with a man who could be my grandson.

His mother found out about us and told his girlfriend. Both of them thought I was sick and beat the crap out of me, but I still love him all the same. I give him money, I buy him clothes, but most of all I give him love. I do not work but I take part of my husband's pay every month and give it to him. I am deeply in love with this sexy boy that could be my grandson.

Pastor, I am desperately in need of your advice. Please help me!

A.M., Hanover, Jamaica

Dear A.M.,

What a way you are hot and wicked. You are taking your husband's hard-earned cash and giving to this young man. What would happen if your husband should find out? How could you be so silly? What has gone into your head?

Come lady, stay far away from this young man. The next time his girlfriend beats you, you may end up in the hospital. Then you would not be able to hide what is going on between you and this guy from your husband. Stop playing around, woman. Read your Bible and pray and keep away from this young man.

Pastor

American Gangster'' Hit With 55 Mil Lawsuit, Ex-DEA Agents Claim Slander

Makers of the Denzel Washington blockbuster American Gangster are facing a $55 million libel suit levied by three former Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) agents who say the film inaccurately portrayed them as criminals and diminished their role in taking down Harlem heroin dealer Frank Lucas.

According to New York's Daily News, the former agents say they were slandered by the quote appearing at the end of the film, which stated that Lucas' "collaboration led to the convictions of three-quarters of New York City's Drug Enforcement agency."

Their lawsuit says the film inaccurately asserts that Lucas cooperated with New Jersey police officer and prosecutor Richie Roberts in order to help convict corrupt law enforcement officers.

"Millions of people were induced to pay for viewing this film who would not have paid had they known the truth," the suit says. "The movie is riddled with falsity. ... The whole premise of American Gangster would have been eviscerated if the truth were revealed and the defendant would not have made the money it did make if the libel was not made."

Dominic Amorosa, the lawyer handling the libel suit, also led the prosecution team who convicted Lucas and 18 others in their 1975 federal trial. He said with certainty that Lucas' testimony did not lead to the conviction of a single officer of the law.

"He [Lucas] cooperated very substantially, no question about it, but not against officers of the law," Amorosa told the Daily News. "He cooperated against his competitors."

"It's really egregious," Former DEA agent Jack Toal, one of the plaintiffs in the suit, said of the film. "It doesn't make any sense, and maybe they should answer why they did it."

The suit follows on the heels of numerous previous complaints about inaccuracies by former DEA agents who were involved in the case, as well as the real Richie Roberts, portrayed in the film by Russell Crowe. In November, retired New York DEA agent Gregory Korniloff sent a cease and desist letter to NBC Universal and demanded a retraction of statements made in the film.

Michael Moses, a spokesman for Universal Pictures, said the suit is "entirely without merit ... American Gangster does not defame these or any federal agents."

A DEA spokesman said no agents were ever charged with wrongdoing in the case.

The plaintiffs are asking for part of the $130 million box-office gross, a statement from producer NBC Universal telling "the truth" about the agency's role in the Lucas case and a "class-action" certification that could allow hundreds of DEA agents to share in any award.

American Gangster comes to DVD on February 19.

souce: sohh

Oops, I missed the kids again

TROUBLED Britney Spears missed a vital court hearing about her kids yesterday despite warnings she may never get her two boys back.

As a result Superior Court Commissioner Scott Gordon left in place a ruling that barred Brit from visiting with her two young sons for at least a MONTH - until at least another hearing on Feb. 19, lawyers said outside court.

Britney was meant to be at Los Angeles Superior Court at 9am but eventually turned up outside 4½ hours late.

Reportedly, the singer has claimed her late arrival was due to her waiting for some home furniture to be delivered.

Then after being mobbed by photographers she fled back home.

The singer, wearing a white mini-dress, had been driven to the courthouse in a black 4X4.

Her car circled the block when the media scrum was spotted.

She stopped and got out of the car, but quickly changed her mind when the pack approached.

She screamed: Move back. I'm scared. Stop it. I want to get back in the car. Stop it. Let me get in the car, please.

Big delay ... reporters outside court

An onlooker said: Britney couldnt handle the mob scene. She looked terrified.

It is believed her lawyers jumped into the car to persuade her to go into court but Britney refused and ordered her driver to leave.

Britney and her British lover Adnan Ghalib, were driven away with a police escort and went to CHURCH.

She was expected to return to the court, but was driven home.

A source close to her legal team said: She was strongly advised to attend. She was told this hearing could be her only hope of getting visitation rights to her children back before their full custody trial in April.

Britney, 26, had not been ordered to turn up at court so she wont face criminal charges.

Meltdown

But her lawyers warned her she has no chance of getting her kids back if she does not explain herself to the judge.

On time ... Federline

Details of the Toxic singers mental health and bizarre behaviour were revealed at the crunch hearing over custody of Sean Preston, two, and Jayden James, one.

Commissioner Scott Gordon wanted to quiz her over her meltdown on January 3 that ended with her in a psychiatric ward.

Britneys ex-husband Kevin Federline, 29, arrived on time with his lawyer MARK KAPLAN, who said it was the most significant hearing in the case.

Speaking through Kaplan, Kevin said after the hearing that there was no sense of joy about the outcome and that his ultimate goal was for Britney to one day be a capable mother to their sons.

Kaplan said: "The word victory is not something that Mister Federline nor his counsel would ascribe to the result of the court ruling today.

"There is no joyous feeling. This is grave situation for everyone. At some point, it is Mister Federline's hope to parent the minor children with particiation from the mother."

Testimony, heard behind closed doors, included evidence and reports from police and emergency medical staff that were called to Britneys mansion two weeks ago when she refused to return the children to Federline.

Britney was forcibly hospitalised by authorities who feared for her mental state.

Federlines lawyers used evidence about the incident to persuade a judge to temporarily revoke her right to visit her sons.

Her late arrival yesterday followed a dash to four pharmacies in the early hours of yesterday morning apparently for drugs.

Britney and Ghalib went to four drug stores at 1am.

Wearing dark glasses, a glum and dazed-looking Britney was led around by Ghalib, who told photographers: Were ready for some sleep.

Onlookers said she was after sleeping pills and something to make her feel better. But she and Ghalib, 35, left empty-handed.

Mavado On A Mission

January 18, 2008
Started By ZJSnyper8 Comments
findImg.php?pic_size=200&table_name=news_img_tab&table_field=img_id&img_id=1133 Dancehall bad boy Mavado has launched out into the new year with a fiery new track describing the ordeal he faced recently at his Birthday Party, held at Temple Hall Estate.

The tracks dubbed "The Mission" recorded on a riddim with a similar title, sees the sinjay belting out some serious vocals that makes one has to stop and take note.

Throughout the song he poses several questions to the people in the upper echolons of society as to why are they trying to make him fall from grace, instead to trying to embrace the ghetto youths into becoming better individuals.

Just last month members of the security forces raided the event bringing it to a premature halt.

Some patron who were in attendance lamented that they felt as though they were in a concentration camp, with helicopter hovering above and everyone being searched, while others were hoarded into a truck before taken away for further questioning.

The tracks in the view of 876radio.com is set to become another bonafide hit for the sinjay and is expected to be heard soon across the local airwaves creating quite a stir.

We have acquired a 30 second snippet of the track, which we have embedded below for your listening pleasure. (see track below)
Prepare yourself for this one guys. MediaTakeOut.com is hearing whispers that Usher and his new wife Tameka Foster are planning on releasing a duet together.

Word coming out of Atlanta is that the newlyweds are working with top producers to come up with a hit song. And one source tells MediaTakeOut.com that Tameka's singing isn't half bad. The insider explained, "You really should hear [Tameka] sing, you'd be surprised at how good she sounds."

You knew Tameka had big plans when she landed Usher - but a singing career???? In the immortal words of Whitney Houston, AWW HEEEELLLLS TO THE NAW!!!

Men, be graceful losers

January 16, 2008
Started By linko2 Comments
Over the past few weeks in Jamaica there have been some horrifying cases of women being killed, brutalized and badly beaten because they want to call it a day where their bad relationships are concerned.

You can't imagine the lengths some men go to in ensuring they keep the relationship going.

Got a link up from a woman living in Miami on the trials and tribulations she had shaking this man out of her life.

Apparently she was working along with him, building up his business and he was making her all kinds of promises, including the fact that he would be buying her a house.

The woman realized he was playing around and plus the relationship was going nowhere so she quietly "teck weh herself" and got involved with someone else. The man was married, but he treated her one hundred times better and eventually she got pregnant for him.

Now, the man she was living with decided he wasn't nowhere ready for her to walk out of his life and started spreading one bag of rumors about how she was sleeping around and had HIV.

He even contacted her baby father's wife and told her that her husband was along with a HIV positive woman. They panicked and the husband had to beg her to do a test to satisfy both of them that it wasn't so.

The man started telling people how she was pregnant with his child, even though he knew very well it wasn't his.

When she went to the hospital to give birth would you believe that her stalker ex turned up and had the heart to threaten the baby father.

He almost created one stink in the hospital until the poor woman who was in labor had to beg the baby father to leave!

Crazy, obsessed ex told her he would pay the baby father 1/2 million dollars to give up his rights to the child! When she refused, he started ranting and raving about how he already told others she was pregnant with his child. Like duh...who told him to lie?

When he realized that his money could not do the trick in getting them back together, he went on the campaign trail assassinating her character!

According to the woman who shared her story with YardFlex, she went through a trying time keeping her head above the water with this man badmouthing her at every opportunity.

Guys...if it's over it's over...let it go.

NEWS BRIEFS

January 17, 2008
Started By linko1 Comments

An unidentified man who, allegedly, attempted to break into a house at Church Lane, Hart Hill, Portland, was chopped to death by a group of persons in the community on Tuesday.

The dead man, believed to be in the mid-20s, is of dark complexion, slim build and about 175 centimetres (5'10") tall.

Reports are that at about 11 a.m., the man was seen breaking into a residence in the community. An alarm was raised and he was chased by a group of persons and chopped several times. He was taken to the Annotto Bay Hospital where he was pronounced dead.

The Portland police are investigating.

'Rassie' killed

Rushan Campbell, 28, otherwise called 'Rassie' was shot dead at his home in Tryall Heights, St. Catherine, on Tuesday night.

The CCN's liaison officer for the parish reported that about 10:30 p.m., Campbell was sitting on a wall at his home in Tryall Heights, when a white Toyota Corolla motor car drove up. Men armed with guns alighted from the vehicle and shot him several times. The police were alerted and Campbell was taken to the Spanish Town Hospital where he died.

The Spanish Town police are investigating.

Cops probe death

The Kingston Central Police have launched investigations into the circumstances surrounding the death of a man along Anderson Road, Kingston 4, yesterday.

Dead is Ryan Buckley, 18, of Woodford Street, Kingston 4.

Reports from the CCN's Metro Officer are that at about 6:40 a.m., residents heard explosions and alerted the police. The officers discovered Buckley on a gully bank suffering from a gunshot wound. The crime scene was processed and the body removed to the morgue for post-mortem examination.

Junior Reid, Eve: Strictly business

January 17, 2008
Started By linko1 Comments

'Making sweet music together but nothing else' is what Reggae singer Junior Reid is saying about his relationship with American rapper Eve.

Rumours have been circulating since the recent Christmas period that Reid and Eve are an item as the two were seen rolling together.

It was Reid who brought Eve on stage at Sting where she gave a brief performance and the two were spotted together, often very close, at various locations such as the weekly street dance Dutty Fridaze.

However, Junior Reid recently told The STAR, "We're just working together. It's strictly professional. She was down here for the Christmas and we were rolling together as friends."

According to Reid, the two are expected to release a song together some time this year.

While in Jamaica, Reid says that Eve enjoyed the local culture.

"She loved Jamaica...to see a big hip hop artiste come down here to spend di entire Christmas is good. She really loved it," he said.

While the rumours were all over the Internet and on the radio, Reid was too busy working on his upcoming album to notice.

Grateful for his much sought after time in Jamaica during the holiday season, Reid was busy at work with the release of songs such as Waan Tek Life with his two sons.

"I'm in the process of making my album Junior One *lo** Reid the Living Legend which has 15 tracks on it. There are songs with Snoop Dogg, Lil Weasley, Rik Rok and more," Reid explained.

According to Reid he has over 50 collaborations with international artistes, including his remix of Alicia Keys hit song No One.

Reid has also touched numerous stage shows recently such as Sting, Unity Splash, Original Jam Jam and Rebel Salute.

For him its a pleasure to be in his home country as he states: "It feels good to be back home, the international market have me busy, busy. Its been a long time since I've got a two to three weeks to come to Jamaica. I try mek myself available on shows over the Christmas as well as in the studio 'cause I don't waan record a hip hop album ... I want some conscious roots, dancehall and pop."

Pop diva Mariah Carey

January 18, 2008
Started By CALOSS3 Comments

1-31.jpg

The upcoming studio album of Pop diva Mariah Carey will be titled "That Chick" and will hit stores in April! Thiswas confirmed by Chairman of the The Island Def Jam Music Group, L.A Reid, who recently previewed Mariah's new album In London. Some confirmed new titles included on the upcoming album are; "Bye Bye", "Migrate" (Feat. T-Pain), "Touch My Body" and "Lovin You Long Time". BTW L.A said he has plans to release SIX singles off the album! Isn't that great?. "That Chick" will become Mariah's eleventh effort and the follow up to her mega succesful disc "The Emancipation of Mimi" released in 2005. Can't wait! SOURCE

· CLICK HERE to see the first promotional picture for Mimi's new album!

jen-marc-split.jpg

News is out the couple are splitting and it seems to me like she must be really hard work to live with. High maintance is not the word for Mrs Lopez, it does not matter how much money and attention you give her it will never be enough.

Ok Magazine Reports Despite marriage counseling, the couple

had a huge argument last summer, causing Lopez to flee to a friends New York apartment. Another argument came in December. Instead of spending New Years Eve together, the mag reports, Lopez came to a Miami party solo. Marc expected Jennifer to follow him back to New York and beg for forgiveness, but she didnt, a friend tells OK! Marc is very machismo, the mag quotes a source as saying. Marc wont let her even do a photo shoot by herself. He is always there watching, waiting. At a Golden Globes party, Marc [dragged] Jennifer away after spotting her dancing with another man. He has also insisted that Jennifer sell her beloved Miami home and the Los Angeles house where they wed.

1-32.jpg

· In a recent talk with MTV News, Rapper Bow Wow denied the rumor that he allegedly spat in Chris Brown's face during a verbal confrontation after their concert at Dallas' American Airlines Center last Saturday. "I just got off the phone with Chris. My mom called me and told me about the rumor. I called him and told him, and he started laughing. We was dying", the rapper said via phone to MTV News.

More into the music scene, Bow Wow revealed plans for a future repackaging of his joint album with Omarion, "Face off" (released December 11th, 2007). In this new version, it'd be included the track "Slam" that features Chris Brown and R.Kelly. I gotta say that "Slam" leaked last year, months before the release of "Face Off" but for our surprise it was NOT then included on the album, also to say that the version leaked didn't feature R.Kelly. Can't to listen to the new version!

· R&B singer Chris Brown will release "Picture Perfect" as the 4th single from his "Exclusive" album. Chris has recently done a remix for the track with Bow Wow and Hurricane Chris and seems that this remix will serve as the official single version.

Britney Spears is a danger to Kevin Federline!

The cops have issued against the mother of two, who took her children hostage last week.

Called an emergency protective order, it is enforced for five business days.

Officers did it to stabilize the situation, confirmed K-Feds lawyer, Mark Vincent Kaplan.

It remains unclear whether Federline will seek to extend the restraining order, but for the safety and well-being of those children, he should.

Says Kaplan, Kevin doesnt want to keep his kids from being involved in [Spearss] life. But foremost is that the kids be in an environment of structure [and] stability. The next goal is to get things to a point where both parents are able to participate fully in their [childrens] lives.

For the time being, Spears cant get within 100 feet of Federline. If she does, then she faces arrest.

Do it, Brit! Do it!

findImg.php?pic_size=200&table_name=news_img_tab&table_field=img_id&img_id=1128 In the most recent publication of the Jamaica Teenage Observer, teenage writer Brandon Allwood had to lot to say about the entertainment fraternity flops and mishaps, it seem no one was spared, but surprisingly the former first lady of dancehall D'Angel came out with high marks as constant referrals were made to her as being a better artiste and a real fashionista, Here's his recap of the hits and misses in 2007.

Worst female DJ

Which lady of music would get this dishonour? AND SO! Just kidding, D'Angel could do no musical wrong for us in 2007. However, the annoying Danielle could. and she did, which is why she is, hands down, the worst female DJ of 2007. Talent is a gift she needs to shop for.

Worst male DJ

There's only one word for this - Sadeke. Why do these dancers feel the need do things that they aren't good at? Sadeke, in the words of the better part of dancing dynamos doing music recordings, RDX, "just dance".

Worst female singer

One word. Two syllables. One 'special' sound. Bar-Bee. Jamaica wasn't really receptive to the protégée of Beenie Man (we still haven't decided whether or not that's a good thing). Though we like how she dresses (sometimes), she really should take style (and music video) tips from dancehall lady D'Angel. Bar-Bee, we like you, but you're just not 'blazin'. But, she's not the only female talent that Jamaica really didn't like this year.

Worst male singer

Hands down, it's I-Maroon. Do we need to elaborate? OK, if we must. We didn't like his approach to his career this year... what with him making that annoying song Salt. Your insipiration needs some pepper to spice it up, Ima!

Worst song

Yes, I-Maroon is really salt. His song Mi Salt had us so nauseated, that several focus group members cringed as the first few chords of the song emanated from a committee member's mouth.

Worst video

OK, so we have Mavado's Squeeze Har, and Beenie Man's Back It Up. But we couldn't pick out a definite 'winner'. So, both videos land here, and are officially, the worst videos 2007 had to offer. In May, TEENage said Back It Up "neva reach, it nuh sell off and it nah happ'n", and the sentiments pretty much carried forward through to the end of the year. We can't say much about Mavado's Squeeze Har video except for. porno.

Worst dance move

Richie Stephens is a living musical legend. However, developing a dance move might not have been the best thing he did. The Richie Stephens dance is, at best, a good stretch move... but certainly not a good dance move. And for all the people who are making up stupid dance moves and naming them things like 'New York' and 'LA'. You don't have to let everyone know you've got a US Visa, and no creativity, OK?

Worst attempt at a comeback

Queen Paula, Miss Universe. whatever her name is, whatsoever way she spins it, she still naah happ'n. She's been attempting a comeback for quite some time now, and it's just not happening for her. Maybe, it's because she doesn't have any flow anymore. Whatever name you go by now, find something else to do with your time other than deejaying. It honestly isn't working anymore.

Worst rivalry

Hands down, it has to be the rivalry among Spice, Queen Paula, Danielle. and themselves. The three of them are trying hard to 'draw' out the Downtown Girl in D'Angel, but they just seem like attention-starved children, who are just tired of being ignored by 'mommy'. Spice already has some semblance of a career, but who are Danielle and Queen Paula? Can you say. trying to be somebody off somebody's problems.

Worst party experience

So, a little before summer, we were told that the Jonkunno Lounge at the Hilton Kingston would come alive as the party Unleashed would be taking it over. So we went, and after having to throw our names around, and some assistance from ace selector DJ Smurf, the organisers decided that we would be privileged enough to get in. Well, we're still waiting for the party to start. The party was so lacking, on several occasions, members of our team fell asleep.

Not only wasn't Unleashed actually let loose on patrons, it seemed as if the organisers had caught nothing in the first place. Oh yeah, the Stone Love Anniversary wasn't really what we expected either.

Please note the views above reflects the opinion of the teen writer and not those of 876radio.com, but in closing we know that you may not all be in agreement with his list, so we would like to give you all the opportunity to tell us who you thought excelled (or should we say royally flopped) in the various categories listed above.

Britney Spears Sex Tape With K-Fed

January 18, 2008
Started By CALOSS4 Comments
C'MON PEOPLE WE ARE DROPPING THE BALL I NEED TO SEE THIS, WE SHUD HAVE GOTTEN THIS ALREADY .lol

A guy who met Britney while she was on vacation in June tells In Touch that he made a video of them having sex and that the tape might become public.

The 28-year-old man, who was living on Hawaiis Big Island at the time, says he left his camera rolling without Britneys knowledge as they did the sucky f**ky at a bungalow at the Four Seasons hotel on the Kona-Kohala Coast on June 7th.

So far, the only thing, he claims, holding him back from releasing the video is that he was so disappointed by his own performance, he is embarrassed to let the rest of the world see it!

He tells In Touch he met the mother of two in the bar at 1 a.m. and they ended up partying together in Brits room before hooking up. It was just normal sex, we didnt do anything crazy, he says. It was a little disappointing. It lasted for about 25 minutes and then we passed out.

Dad arrests own son

January 17, 2008
Started By ZJSnyper3 Comments

A positive stance taken by a policeman in Spanish Town on January 5 is still a source of debate, as he arrested his son for throwing firecrackers and took him to court where he was fined after pleading guilty.

The policeman, Rudolph Gray, who is attached to the Spanish Town Police Station, arrested his son, Dane Gray.

Reports are that the 21-year-old accused was caught by his no-nonsense father in the Spanish Town bus park, lighting and throwing the firecrackers which is against the law. The elder Gray, showing that not even his son was above the law, arrested him under the Explosives Act.

The young Gray was, reportedly, later taken to the Spanish Town Resident Magistrate's Court where he was fined for the offence.

When THE STAR went to the park following the incident, several persons commented on the policeman's diligence. "Dem man deh no kin teet', and it no matter a who, dem jus' do straight police work. So mi don't tek him lightly. A long time him deh 'bout ya," remarked one woman.

Others echoed similar sentiments while some persons could not believe the incident took place.

Even some officers at the Spanish Town Police Station seemed surprised about the incident. "Bwoy, this man is serious like a judge. It takes a man with guts to really arrest a relative, moreover his son. But that is what the law seh, (you) should have no malice, affection or ill-will, he was only doing his job," remarked a constable.

There were some lawmen who praised Gray openly and commented that they wanted to walk in his footsteps one day.

Aidonia is innocent!!!

January 10, 2008
Started By j_anthony18 Comments
Aidonia is innocent - Lawyer

Dancehall artiste Sheldon Lawrence more popularly known as Aidonia is innocent according to a statement released by his lawyer Mrs. Neita Robertson.

One876Entertainment.com received a copy of a statement sent out by the prominent Kingston-based lawyer to media houses today. Please read the statement below:

Aidonia.jpg"Further to what transpired and subsequently has been published by Press Agencies both print and web based myself and Aidonia's family would like to publicly emphasize the innocence of Mr. Lawrence. At no point in time was he even involved in any violent activities, he is a very prominent entertainer who has the highest regard for the law.

It's unfortunate the way he has been treated since he was detained on January 5th after he in good faith took the initiative to visit the Grants Pen Police Station after receiving word that a shooting had occur in his community.

I am both confident and comfortable that his account of what transpired on Saturday is accurate and will exonerate his alleged involvement in the shooting incident.

Contrary to previous reports printed in yesterdays copy of the Star, Aidonia was actually the victim of an extortion plot which involved several men who has been targeting him for some time now and it was upon his refusal to comply with their demands that men came into the community in search of him.

It should also be noted that it was when these men became hostile that Mr. Lawrence and his group left the scene, shots were reportedly fired after and according to sources it was by the same individuals one of who is now in hospital.

On the matter of his car tyres being slashed and the shooting being viewed as a reprisal thats ludicrous, we can state boldly at no point in time was his vehicle or any of his personal property ever damaged, those were false reports.
He had been threatened several times prior to the incident and even went as far as to file formal reports at the Grants Pen Police Station, this can easily be verified by them.

Currently he is still being held as he has still not been formally charged of any offense, we are actively conducting our own investigations as we believe persons in the community may have witnessed what happened.

It is said some witnesses have come forward and made statements, but the matter is still being probed. At this point we are requesting a fair and detailed investigation from the Police as the shooting was in broad daylight. I am conducting my own investigations and soon the DJ's name should be cleared of all ill-repute.

The family would also like to thank the friends and fans of Aidonia for their support, they truly appreciate the loyalty in this a time of need."
findImg.php?pic_size=200&table_name=news_img_tab&table_field=img_id&img_id=1131 International gossip website mediatakeout.com is reporting that Rihanna bleaches her skin according to the reports it received the information from one of their faithful readers in Barbados. Here's what they are saying:

I read a quote in a magazine from Rihanna saying that she feels like she's getting too White because she hasn't been in the sun. Don't believe her.

I have known of Rihanna since she was a child and she uses Ambi (skin bleaching) cream to lighten herself. When she was a child her mother used to smear (Ambi) on her face so that she could be lighter.

And I know that whenever she comes to Barbados, one of her assistants goes to the store and pick up a fresh batch.

I'm not sure if people in (the United States) know about Ambi, but it's a very big thing here in the Caribbean. But if you use it too much you get cancer so she better be careful.

Well if there is any truth to these claims it seem that's Jamaica is not only place the epidemic of skin lightening is affecting and soon at the rate things are going it could become a widespread problem across the rest of the Caribbean.
findImg.php?pic_size=200&table_name=news_img_tab&table_field=img_id&img_id=1132 The queen of morning gossip Nikki-Z from Zip 103FM is taking the new year by storm. She is now moving from the airwaves into cyberspace, and we have the exclusive for you.

Apparently she will be unveiling her new website titled "Diva Nikki-Z" tomorrow (Jan.18.2007) morning, but as usual we always have the exclusive. Needless to say it's still ok to act surprise when she make the announcement, it helps to heighten the moment.

We got a first look at the site and though it may lack content, the Oscars has nothing on it as far as making a grand entrance, hopefully the content will be on par with it's appearance.

Many fans that listen to the jock in the morning will be pleased to know that her infamous celebrity "SUSS" segment will be continued as she had a section exclusively built for all that dirt.

At this time we're not sure if the contents will be written, but the little magic fairy tipped us that it may be in video format.

Of course by now you are all just itching to see the site so without further ado we give you Diva Nikki-Z
Former Scare Dem member Harry Toddler and Alliance leader Bounty Killer got into a physical tussle at the 'Fashion Sundays' event in the Corporate Area last week Sunday. As a result of the physical altercation, Toddler's left eye is now *lo**shot and he has had to seek medical attention.

Harry_Toddler2.jpgBounty Killer jook me inna mi eye, buss mi chain and him wet me up wid Hennessey, mi caan believe say this happen, mi nah look fi Killa do that to me, he told One876Entertainment.com.

Toddler explained what transpired:
We inna the club and ting and Bounty send Ele fi call me, and mi say, Ele, mi not going over there, cause ah same way dem send go call Jigsy, wet him up and beat him up. Mi is a street yute so mi neva ah go over there wid him and him friend dem fi dem diss me. Then mi see Killa walk come over, and start talk loud bout wha happen to the bwoy Toddla? And then a yute name Mendez start move in close to me, and mi brace him off, and same time Killa jook me inna mi eye, and mi chuck Killa back."

The next series of events seem to mirror the actions which occurred at a Bembe dance between selector Jigsy and Vybz Kartel.

"Killa buss off mi chain and wet me up wid liquor, and Ele and him friends dem start hold on pon me and say me fi easy because him caan tek the embarrassment, and ting. Harry Toddler said that he is surprised at the act because he recorded a song for the Scare Dem Alliance a few weeks ago.

Before the Alliance tune do, ah my phone Rodney used to call, so mi no know how this drop in? he said.

Sharon Burke of the Solid Agency, which handles bookings for Bounty Killer, said that this was the first time she had heard of the incident. Deejay Bounty Killer could not be reached for comment while Alliance member Elephant Man denied that he was even at the event.

However, Toddler said that he would continue to press along with his recording career, given that his latest song, Don't Run In on the Gearbox rhythm is a bonafide hit, and is roaring up the Jamaica Music Countdown charts.

"I will start shooting the video today (Tuesday) at the Rebel T headquarters, and there will be scenes from Bembe and Weddy Weddy in it. The tune connect with the people inna the streets and mi nah go mek nobody bridge my current right now," Toddler told One876Entertainment.com.

Another first brought to you by the good people at One876Entertainment.com.

Aidonia for Gun Court tomorrow

January 17, 2008
Started By ZJSnyper3 Comments

Aidonia for Gun Court tomorrow

STARRIGHT_1_PURKONoViolAM.jpg
Aidonia - file

Resident Magistrate Glen Brown has ordered that deejay 'Aidonia', born Sheldon Lawrence, be charged and brought before the Gun Court on Friday.

Lawrence has been in police custody since January 5, 2008 in connection with the shooting of a man on Saturday night.

The order was made following the hearing of an habeus corpus application filed by Valerie Neita-Robertson, Aidonia's lawyer. The application was made in the Corporate Area Resident Magistrate's Court on Wednesday.

She told the court that her client had spent several days in jail without being charged.

Neita-Robertson also denied her client's involvement in the shooting noting that he had been threatened by men who wanted him to give them money to pay a lawyer for a friend who had been charged with murder. She said Lawrence refused and as he left the scene he heard gunshots. She said that some eye witnesses claimed that the complainant was actually shot during crossfire with his friends.

She said he went to the police station that night and was taken into custody.

When RM Brown enquired from the investigating officer the reason for the delay in charging Lawrence and the other two men arrested along with him, he could not provide any reason for the delay, prompting the Resident Magistrate to ruling.

Allegations are that the incident, reportedly, occurred after a man had stabbed up a car belonging to either Aidonia or someone from his entourage.

Man shot

The police say two other men came on the scene shortly after and were thought to be the person(s) who had damaged the car. They were allegedly driven down and held by Aidonia and his entourage. The police say ,according to the information received, the men were cornered and a gun was pulled and they were beaten and one of them shot. The other man, reportedly, escaped, while the injured man was taken to hospital where he was admitted.

The man who managed to escape, Demar 'Demmy' Palmer, was, reportedly, shot and killed the following day. The other two men who were taken into custody with Lawrence are to face an identification parade next Wednesday and the matter involving them is to be mentioned in court on January 24.

AIDONIA FOR COURT THIS MORNING

January 15, 2008
Started By ZJSnyper85 Comments
On Sunday, friends, relatives and well-wishers of deejay Aidonia gathered at a Corporate Area lockup to give support to the incarnated deejay. Members of the Big Ship family, the deejays brothers Lav and Travis, CVM personality Milk, Jody J.O.P and scores of other well-wishers came to see the deejay. Vybz Kartel, who was in Ocho Rios at the time, made special arrangements to have a bucket of KFC delivered to his protégé and friend. The deejay appeared to be in high spirits and appeared to appreciate the large contingent of people who had turned up to offer emotional support.

Aidonia will appear in the Half Way Tree Resident Magistrates court as his team of lawyers attempt to negotiate bail for the deejay who has been detained since last week in connection with a shooting incident involving a man who has since been hospitalised.
He has not been formally charged as yet.

To smoke or not to smoke

January 6, 2008
Started By Kushy Z22 Comments
i like to smoke my ganja and i was wondering if im the only one who inna love wit di herb. dont gotta leave a reply but mek sure a respond to di poll deh

Negril's 'tribute' turns sweet 16

January 17, 2008
Started By linko0 Comments

The annual 'Tribute to Bob Marley', the stellar attraction on Negril's entertainment calendar, will be celebrating its 16th anniversary this year and to commemorate this major milestone, the event has been expanded from a one-night to a five-night event, spanning February 2-6.

"Sixteen years has been a very long time so we feel compelled to mark this special anniversary with something extra," said businessman Clive 'Cubba' Pringle, the proprietor of MXIII Negril and founder of the event, "We want to make this year very special."

Strong commercial flavour

The year's event, which has a strong musical, cultural and commercial flavour, is being staged in tandem with MXIII and the Negril and Western Jamaica Cluster Initiative, which was recently formed by the Medium, Small and Micro Enterprise (MSME), a group of business operators predominantly from the West End Road area of Negril.

"We are heavily impacted by the hospitality industry in this area so we would naturally gravitate to projects like these," said Pringle. "We are quite pleased that we continue to enjoy the endorsement of the Marley family."

The 'tribute concert', which is expected to take pride of place, already has confirmed top-flight reggae artistes such as the Tamlins, Tony Rebel, Luciano, Anthony B, Queen Ifrica, Gyptian, Mickey General, Tonya P, Ali C. Princess Tia, Iyahblaze and Anthony Able alongside backing band SANE.

"This cluster partnership is to build on the brand (Negril) so as to develop a worldwide product that will be a high-value calendar event for both foreigners and locals," said Pringle. "The approach and partnership is also intended to broaden the offering for patrons while expanding the product to have a far and more reaching impact on the local economy."

Negril is fast becoming Jamaica's entertainment capital sometimes featuring one major show each night of the week. Interestingly, approximately 70 per cent of the patrons at these events are tourists.

The five days of activities are as follows:

Day 1: Saturday, February 2 - Bob Marley Funky Reggae Party at Jungle Night Club Negril.

Day 2: Sunday, February 3 - Beach Party and Football Competition at Negril Beach Park.

Day 3: Monday, February 4 - Mi Yard- Bob Marley Star Search at MXIII

Day 4: Tuesday, February 5- Dancehall session featuring Stone Love alongside GT Taylor and Barry G @ MX 3.

Day 5: Wednesday, February 6 - Bob Marley Tribute Concert at MXIII West End Negril.

Dad arrests own son

January 17, 2008
Dad arrests own son

A positive stance taken by a policeman in Spanish Town on January 5 is still a source of debate, as he arrested his son for throwing firecrackers and took him to court where he was fined after pleading guilty.

The policeman, Rudolph Gray, who is attached to the Spanish Town Police Station, arrested his son, Dane Gray.

Reports are that the 21-year-old accused was caught by his no-nonsense father in the Spanish Town bus park, lighting and throwing the firecrackers which is against the law. The elder Gray, showing that not even his son was above the law, arrested him under the Explosives Act.

The young Gray was, reportedly, later taken to the Spanish Town Resident Magistrate's Court where he was fined for the offence.

When THE STAR went to the park following the incident, several persons commented on the policeman's diligence. "Dem man deh no kin teet', and it no matter a who, dem jus' do straight police work. So mi don't tek him lightly. A long time him deh 'bout ya," remarked one woman.

Others echoed similar sentiments while some persons could not believe the incident took place.

Even some officers at the Spanish Town Police Station seemed surprised about the incident. "Bwoy, this man is serious like a judge. It takes a man with guts to really arrest a relative, moreover his son. But that is what the law seh, (you) should have no malice, affection or ill-will, he was only doing his job," remarked a constable.

There were some lawmen who praised Gray openly and commented that they wanted to walk in his footsteps one day.

Facts

December 6, 2007
Started By bLaCkBeatZ5 Comments

1. Dalmatians are born without spots.

2. Bats always turn left when exiting a cave.

3. The v in the name of a court case does not stand for versus, but for and (in civil proceedings) or against (in criminal proceedings).

4. Mens shirts have the buttons on the right, but womens shirts have the buttons on the left.

5. The owl is the only bird to drop its upper eyelid to wink. All other birds raise their lower eyelids.

6. The reason honey is so easy to digest is that its already been digested by a bee.

7. Roosters cannot crow if they cannot extend their necks.

8. The color blue has a calming effect. It causes the brain to release calming hormones.

9. Every time you sneeze some of your brain cells die.(daamn)

10. Your left lung is smaller than your right lung to make room for your heart.

is impossible to dispute Beenie Man's self-proclaimed 'King of the Dancehall' title when the Jamaican stood alone for nearly two hours appeasing and pleasing the largely jaded Guyanese crowd that turned up at the National Park recently, expecting a packed show which turned out to be a one-man performance.

More than half of the patrons at the year-end show were female, some so richly dressed the dancehall king could have easily found his queen. Throughout his entire performance the women screamed, positioned themselves and even jumped onstage to get his attention. But he wasted no time in making it known that he is not ready to rule with a queen with at his side just yet.

Future Fambo, the other Jamaican who came with Beenie Man for the event, spent a disappointing seven minutes onstage bowing out after the crowd ignored whatever it was he was doing. His songs, some of which have made it big back in his native country, failed to move anyone. Fambo realized this and left saying he was making way for Beenie Man. Maybe some time in the future Guyanese will respond to him differently.

With the weight of an entire promotion, dubbed the 'Guinness Christmas Jam', riding on his crown - owing to the bombed out performances that preceded his - Beenie Man delivered as expected yet again; proving that his claim to the dancehall king title is not arrogance but a fact -- one that anyone present at the National Park last Saturday would find hard to dispute.

Long before he was seen on stage, the Jamaican was heard. From backstage, he belted out one of his better known tunes then made a grand entrance elaborately attired in a three-piece, white tailored pants suit and matching cloak. There was no official drum roll, but the thunderous roar that erupted was enough to announce that the king had arrived.

For about five minutes most of what rolled off the Jamaican's lips was inaudible because of the roar, but Beenie's subjects soon realized they were in the presence of dancehall royalty and the atmosphere quickly simmered to an electric yet controlled one. And as if appreciative of the respect, he dished out song after song after song beginning with his dated hits.

Dancehall classics such as "Who Am I", "Romie", "World Gone Mad", "Modelling", Be My Lady" and a host of others off his six albums prior to the 2006 release of 'Undisputed' rang out in the park and the crowd ate them up.

Beenie Man's legion of fans sang along with him and recognizing this very early he gave them a chance to sing a few songs with him barely assisting.

As with most Jamaican singers who perform here the dancehall king gave a lesson on how to please a woman in bed and though it was hard to rate his tutoring above the others, he struck a note the women. Countless screams of "Beenie Man do it with me", rang out during the demonstration.

Throughout his nearly two-hour long performance, Beenie Man entertained with his music and infectious dance moves. He had the crowd moving to old styles and new dancehall ones challenging persons to keep up something many were unable to do.

Drenched in sweat, stripped down to half of the clothing he was wearing when he first appeared on stage and well into his performance, the Jamaican kept churning out the hits in the wee hours of the morning as the crowd soaked up everything he was sharing. At one time, someone asked whether he was ever going to finish because at that point the Jamaican had offloaded quite a bit of his sizeable collection of hits but still had some more to go.

"Beenie Man come home with me tonight", a female gyrating to music shouted as his performance neared a close. Persons were already filing out of the National Park but the crowd was so thickly gathered, persons were still shoulder to shoulder. The dancehall king waited until the majority of persons had exited the park to take a final bow and disappear into the night.

Friday Juice - Cop who Cop who beat Mavado turn deejay now
mavado2.jpgThe policeman, Fast Car, who nook Mavado hand tun deejay now. Him de pon a riddim weh artistes such as Earthworm, Kartel voice pon. Talking about Mavado, why him and the man dem from the JLP part of Cassava caan gree again like one time. Is a man from Grants Pen dead and it tun out inna one political war over Cassava Piece between the top and the bottom, and you know say Mavado live ah Cuba which is on the border between the two sides so it sticky pon him. Even the police dem a pressure him cause him no waan send on no money pon the squaddie dem. Him noattacked Mavado records trackrealize say yu haffi have bad man friend and bad man police friend, ah so the ting set.
ro

Aidoina still in custody

January 11, 2008
Started By linko9 Comments
Sheldon Lawrence, more popularly known as Dancehall deejay, Aidoina, who was to do an ID parade is still in jail.

According to reports from the Constabulary Communication Network CCN liaison office, due to miscommunication the identification parade was put off for a date to be mentioned.

The CCN liaison officer further states that the investigator says that
Aidonia may not be on the id parade based on the new information received.

According to reports Aidonia is alleged to have been involved in a shooting incident where one man was shot and killed.

Fluffy, a 24-foot python billed as the largest snake in captivity, is staying put to lure visitors into the Columbus Zoo and Aquarium.

The zoo paid $35,000 to the snake's breeder in Oklahoma to keep the reticulated python on permanent display. While on loan last year, the python helped draw 1.53 million visitors, just under the zoo's attendance record of 1.56 million set in 2006, said Pete Fingerhut, the zoo's associate director.

Fluffy is about as long as a moving van and thick as a telephone pole.

Bob Clark, the breeder from Oklahoma City who raised the python from a hatchling, initially resisted the zoo's purchase offer but said he's happy with the outcome.

"I really love that snake; I think it's a special animal," he said. "It's so big and tame and wonderful. But I have to deal with the realities of life like everyone else. I like to have the money, and I know she's got a great place to live there."

The Columbus Zoo doesn't buy animals very often, said Executive Director Jerry Borin. Its animals generally come as exchanges from other zoos or through breeding loans or donations, he said.

Fluffy is on display in a 25-foot enclosure with a pool and a few plants, where he eats two 10-pound rabbits a week. In the wild, pythons native to Asia eat whatever they can catch, starting with mice and lizards when they're small and graduating to pigs and goats. There are a few reports of human victims.

The largest known reticulated python, named for the cross-hatching patterns on their skin, was 32 feet, 9 1/2 inches when killed in 1912 in Indonesia.

findImg.php?pic_size=200&table_name=news_img_tab&table_field=img_id&img_id=1127 A recent story carried by 876radio.com about Platinum producer Patrick "Roach" Samuels verbally threatening Zip Jock Liquid seems to have struck a nerve with the producer. In an effort to set the record straight and let the public know what's really happening he agreed to do an exclusive video interview with our team.

During the almost one hour interview, Roach used the opportunity to catergorically state that at no point in time did he threaten the zip jock, and said he was just upset about the way the industry was being runned by the radio jocks and other personnel and decided to vent his case as to why his music was not being played. Unfortunately he decided to use the platform of the local radio station to do so.

He also used the opportunity to expose some of the alleged injustices and bureaucracy being dished out to players in the industry by a selected few.

According to Roach "Don, Liquid and DJ Wayne is three a the most corrupt man inna the business who a sell out reggae music, but wait till Bob Marley hold dem him ago kill dem wid beaten fi the wickedness weh dem duh".

In contrast though he did have high praised for acclaimed producer King Jammy and said "Man like him and me inna the business long before dem and look weh dem come inna it a duh to it" ...

For more on Roach's interview please watch the exclusive videos (part 1 & 2 see videos below)

read 370 times

Olympic Gardens area don killed?

January 16, 2008
In the wake of a drive-by shooting, a reputed area don was shot and killed, while five others - including a two-year-old girl - were shot and injured last Friday. Dead is Keith Hibbert, known in his circles as 'Barber Keith', reputed 'big man' of a section of the West Central St. Andrew community of Olympic Gardens, while injured are a 2-year-old girl, her 34-year-old father, a 17-year-old youth, his aunt and a 22-year-old woman. Police reports are that some time after 1:30 p.m., gunmen alighted from two motor vehicles and opened fire on a premises along McKinley Crescent before making good their escape. The Hunts Bay police are investigating.

Barbee Dubbed 'Worst Female Singer

January 16, 2008
Started By ZJSnyper2 Comments
findImg.php?pic_size=200&table_name=news_img_tab&table_field=img_id&img_id=1128 In the most recent publication of the Jamaica Teenage Observer, teenage writer Brandon Allwood had to lot to say about the entertainment fraternity flops and mishaps, it seem no one was spared, but surprisingly the former first lady of dancehall D'Angel came out with high marks as constant referrals were made to her as being a better artiste and a real fashionista, Here's his recap of the hits and misses in 2007.

Worst female DJ

Which lady of music would get this dishonour? AND SO! Just kidding, D'Angel could do no musical wrong for us in 2007. However, the annoying Danielle could. and she did, which is why she is, hands down, the worst female DJ of 2007. Talent is a gift she needs to shop for.

Worst male DJ

There's only one word for this - Sadeke. Why do these dancers feel the need do things that they aren't good at? Sadeke, in the words of the better part of dancing dynamos doing music recordings, RDX, "just dance".

Worst female singer

One word. Two syllables. One 'special' sound. Bar-Bee. Jamaica wasn't really receptive to the protégée of Beenie Man (we still haven't decided whether or not that's a good thing). Though we like how she dresses (sometimes), she really should take style (and music video) tips from dancehall lady D'Angel. Bar-Bee, we like you, but you're just not 'blazin'. But, she's not the only female talent that Jamaica really didn't like this year.

Worst male singer

Hands down, it's I-Maroon. Do we need to elaborate? OK, if we must. We didn't like his approach to his career this year... what with him making that annoying song Salt. Your insipiration needs some pepper to spice it up, Ima!

Worst song

Yes, I-Maroon is really salt. His song Mi Salt had us so nauseated, that several focus group members cringed as the first few chords of the song emanated from a committee member's mouth.

Worst video

OK, so we have Mavado's Squeeze Har, and Beenie Man's Back It Up. But we couldn't pick out a definite 'winner'. So, both videos land here, and are officially, the worst videos 2007 had to offer. In May, TEENage said Back It Up "neva reach, it nuh sell off and it nah happ'n", and the sentiments pretty much carried forward through to the end of the year. We can't say much about Mavado's Squeeze Har video except for. porno.

Worst dance move

Richie Stephens is a living musical legend. However, developing a dance move might not have been the best thing he did. The Richie Stephens dance is, at best, a good stretch move... but certainly not a good dance move. And for all the people who are making up stupid dance moves and naming them things like 'New York' and 'LA'. You don't have to let everyone know you've got a US Visa, and no creativity, OK?

Worst attempt at a comeback

Queen Paula, Miss Universe. whatever her name is, whatsoever way she spins it, she still naah happ'n. She's been attempting a comeback for quite some time now, and it's just not happening for her. Maybe, it's because she doesn't have any flow anymore. Whatever name you go by now, find something else to do with your time other than deejaying. It honestly isn't working anymore.

Worst rivalry

Hands down, it has to be the rivalry among Spice, Queen Paula, Danielle. and themselves. The three of them are trying hard to 'draw' out the Downtown Girl in D'Angel, but they just seem like attention-starved children, who are just tired of being ignored by 'mommy'. Spice already has some semblance of a career, but who are Danielle and Queen Paula? Can you say. trying to be somebody off somebody's problems.

Worst party experience

So, a little before summer, we were told that the Jonkunno Lounge at the Hilton Kingston would come alive as the party Unleashed would be taking it over. So we went, and after having to throw our names around, and some assistance from ace selector DJ Smurf, the organisers decided that we would be privileged enough to get in. Well, we're still waiting for the party to start. The party was so lacking, on several occasions, members of our team fell asleep.

Not only wasn't Unleashed actually let loose on patrons, it seemed as if the organisers had caught nothing in the first place. Oh yeah, the Stone Love Anniversary wasn't really what we expected either.

In closing we at 876radio.com know that you may not all agree with the opinion of this young writer so we would like to give you all the opportunity to tell us who you thought excelled (or should we say royally flopped) in the various categories listed above.

Dad sniffs girl's crotch?

January 16, 2008
A labourer from Stony Hill, St. Andrew, who reportedly held his 20-year-old daughter at knife point and sniffed her private parts, appeared in the Corporate Area Resident Magistrate's Court on Tuesday. The court heard that the accused, who is charged with indecent assault, locked his daughter inside a room and told her that he was jealous of her spending so much time with her boyfriend. According to court documents, the accused was released from jail sometime in July of 2007 and was reunited with his daughter who had previously only heard of him. The complainant reportedly visited the accused on several occasions, during which she either slept with an aunt or with her father. The complainant reportedly decided to live with her father after losing her job. The accused, on one occasion, reportedly got angry because he did not think she was sleeping with him enough. Statements from the complainant reveal that on January 7, just as she had come from the bathroom, the accused man, who was wielding a knife, locked her in a room and reportedly told her that she was not going anywhere. He reportedly also told her, "Yu nuh hear wha mi seh? Every night yu gone a man yard." It is alleged that the following day, the complainant was awakened by the accused standing over her. While holding a knife at her throat, he reportedly told her, "Hey gal. Get up. Today a mi birthday, open up mek mi enjoy miself. If yu nuh open yu foot and tek off yu panty, mi a go kill yu, an' kill miself cause mi jealous." The accused then reportedly kissed the complainant on her breasts and other parts of her body and then proceeded to sniff her private parts. He, then reportedly, told the complainant that he did not enjoy himself and told her not to tell anyone. A report was made to a family member, however, and later to the police, and the accused was arrested and charged. When he appeared in court, the accused told RM Glen Brown that he was not able to afford a lawyer. He was remanded and is to return to court on January 25, when a lawyer will be assigned

Tired of the feuds

January 11, 2008
Started By linko7 Comments

'Beef' in the dancehall has been a historical fact dating to the beginning when artistes would lyrically clash to show their dominance. Yet, in recent times the clashes have gone past the lyrical and into the battlefield, often resulting in a violent end.

While the entertainers carry on the warfare well into 2008, the entertainment community is fed up, dubbing this year 'Two thousand and love,' hoping the entertainers will take a hint.

According to Boswell 'Stam-pede' Lammie from Stampede Street Charts, violence among entertainers should not happen. "Dem a role model for the yutes. When di yutes see dem how dem, mus feel? Dem nah set the right example. When yuh sing bout peace one instance and sing bout war later and a act so is contrary," he told the STAR.

According to popular Fame FM disc jockey Arif Cooper, the violence is unnecessary. He said: "Its ridiculous and not a good image for the dancehall. The artistes would benefit more financially and socially if they were more peaceful." Cooper claims that the music is good but the image of the entertainers is negative.

This image carries on to the international level and according to Lammie it affects the business outside of Jamaica as well.He explained that when persons hear the music and read the negative news, they will not want to listen to reggae and dancehall music anymore because of its violent nature.

Persons from the entertainment fraternity aren't the only ones that are tired of the feuds, as the fans, patrons and the general population have become vocal in their dislike.

STARLEFT_1_PZCCMexplosiAM.jpg
Vybz Kartel - File

In recent months, the feuds have extended beyond the stage, affecting the artistes and the fans. Munga Honourable experienced the after effects of his feud with Deva Brat at Stone Love anniversary when he appeared at 'East Fest', in St. Thomas. Some patrons went from being pleased with Munga's performance to shouting boos when he tried to address his rival. "Mi nuh haffi call nuh name, everybody know a who mi a talk," he said, and unleashed some lyrical artillery at Deva Brat. The artiste soon changed his tune when he saw the crowd's reaction.

At the weekly event, 'Bembe Thursdays', held on Constant Spring Road, patrons recently got up, close and personal with the feuding. The event was disrupted for two consecutive weeks when fights erupted first between Kartel's and Mavado's entourages. The following week, there was a dispute between Vybz Kartel and Bembe selector Jigsy King where Jigsy was allegedly boxed. Bembe was prematurely shut down. One female exclaimed: "Mi caan bodda wid dis foolishness. Last week, mi haffi run outta Bembe like fool cause di people dem a war. Now mi come again and it done early. Dem entertainers need to stop di foolishness. Dem ruining people's good time."

One disgusted citizen also voiced discontent when he said: "There is too much commotion going on in the new year already, everybody needs to relax. Soon there will be a dancehall police out here like they do with the rappers and they will begin denying all reggae/dancehall artistes entry to other countries, citing that violence occurs at their shows. The artistes, management, publicists and entourages all need a wake up call. They are not Hollywood actors or rock singers. If entertainers cannot make money out there, that's a big loss to everyone's pockets including the small economies of Caribbean nations."

While some fans may be fed up, according to Lammie, there are some fans that love the feuding. "Some people love it, they are caught up in the hype. Di people who want positive music, they don't like it. Some artistes love it cause it gives them a 'media hype' where they will be in the papers" Lammie said.

Cooper reiterates by saying: "Its only good for the hype. People will talk about it but after the reaction has died down people look on the artiste wid shame for what they did."

List of Most Auto-tune users

January 12, 2008
Started By Zeex922 Comments
1. T-Pain
2. Munga
3. Demarco
4. Snoop Dogg
5. Jemaine Dupree
6. Mavado
7. Vybz Kartel

If you kno anymore tell me.......
The eagerly anticipated Buju Banton Inna Heights - 10th Anniversary Edition CD/DVD will drop digitally tomorrow, Tuesday, January 15th and be available in stores next Tuesday, January 22nd.

The follow up to Banton's classic 'Til Shiloh album, Inna Heights, originally released in November 1997, furthered the artist's exploration of roots reggae with such spiritually enriching tunes as Destiny, Hills & Valleys, Give I Strength and Close One Yesterday. The album received rave reviews from a host of international media outlets, including All Music Guide:

"And with Inna Heights he succeeds beyond most people's greatest expectations, capturing the glory of Jamaican music in virtually all its forms, imbuing it with the excitement of the dancehalls, yet ensuring that its cultural underpinnings shine forth...The thoughtful Hills, the lovely, introspective Destiny, the optimism and strength of Close One Yesterday, the infectious prayer Give I Strength, and the heartfelt appreciation of the Single Parent -- every one is a classic. In fact, virtually every song on this album is phenomenal.

Digitally-remastered, the Inna Heights - 10th Anniversary Edition boasts 3 previously unreleased tracks from the time period: Bad Boy, Politics Time Again and Situations featuring Morgan Heritage. The 2 Disc Deluxe package also includes a Bonus DVD containing 40 minutes of live footage from Reggae Sumfest, circa 1996, and the accompanying music video for the smash single Destiny. Click to preview clips from the performance: www.myspace.com/bujubanton

WHAT U THINK ABOUT BUGLE ?

January 13, 2008
Started By linko38 Comments
EWDYE PEEPS IVE BEEN PAYING CLOSE ATTENTION TO BUGLE, AND BELEIVE ME AM IMPRESS TO WHAT IVE SEEN AND HEARD FROM HIM, AND ABOUT HIM. HIS MUSIC IS PROMISING HUMBLE AND UPLIFTING, HE BRINGS POSITIVITY TO THE MUSIC, SUMTHING THAT THE INDUSTRY LOCKS..........SO WAT I REALLY WANNA KNOW IS, WHAT DOES OTHER DANCEHALL LOVERS THINK ABOUT THISE KID?

Aidonia to face an ID parade

January 7, 2008
Started By Rakeem9 Comments
Word on the streets is that Aidonia was arrested and is to face an ID parade... It had something to with some shooting incident that took place in Grants Pen..

| Shane O reunites with Sno Cone

January 10, 2008
Started By ZJSnyper2 Comments
Billboard chart-topping producer Rohan Sno Cone Fuller has reunited with his former protégé Shane O, reigniting a partnership that produced several chart hits including Shane Os impressive Lightning Flash number one hit a few years ago.

Shane-o.jpgWhen I was overseas, me and Shane O mek the link, and everything good, we ah go mek some good music. He is older and wiser now, and we all make mistakes, it wasnt like me and him have no harsh words or anything, mi just never like how him a move at the time, and mi regard him as a son so mi did have to mek him know that. But him older and wiser now, and we ah link again, Jah Sno Cone.

Sno Cone, who recently returned to Jamaica to work on a number of new projects, was the producer of the Alicia Keys-Junior Reid remix of No One, and he did the Sean Kingston-Spragga Benz Me Love remix as well.

Desmond betrays Tivoli?

January 15, 2008
Started By ZJSnyper1 Comments

By Dwayne Mcleod, Staff Reporter

STARCover_1_PEHFCKsacbrAM.jpg
Desmond McKenzie

In the aftermath of the fatal shooting of five men from their community on Sunday, residents of Tivoli Gardens in Kingston say that they have been betrayed.

They are furious at councillor for their division and Mayor of Kingston, Desmond McKenzie, accusing him of siding with the security forces based on statements he made to the media.

Mayor McKenzie had told the media after the incident that the operation was conducted in a professional manner.

While in the community yesterday, he told THE STAR that "I'm just here to ensure that the community respect the police while they carry out their duty, we want to ensure that things are done professionally."

Five men were on Sunday fatally shot and a police officer and a soldier injured in what police reports summarise as a gunfight with gunmen in the community.

Nine illegal firearms were also reportedly seized in the incident, which residents are describing as murder.

The police further report that they had gone into the community in search of wanted men. Two of the dead men were identified as 24-year-old Kwesi Cunningham and 20-year-old Roland Mitchell, also known as Randy, both from west Kingston.

The names of the other men were not released up to press time.

When THE STAR visited the community yesterday, members of the security forces were not present, suggesting that calm had returned.

However a group of residents who converged on Spanish Town Road, held nothing back as they recalled the incident. They first lashed out at the security forces before directing their words of fury towards the mayor.

"A traitor that, him a mek some talk like him waa go roun our ting eno," one resident simply said.

Other residents say they can clearly remember instances when Mayor McKenzie would stick by their side no matter what. This time around, they say it is totally different.

"A wha happen to McKenzie, is like him a side wid di police and soldier and a support dem...Him well an know seh a foolishness dem gwaan wid yesterday and all now wi nuh hear him a lick out pon dem. Everything him seh is like him want fi seh is a good job dem do," one resident said.

"A wha now, usually Desmond back wi to di fullest, now it come in like seh a nuh nuttin big to him...A wha so, a true him party inna power now so him done get weh him want already."

Inside the community, the talks were the same as another resident Joysaid, "Wi can tek simple things and mark death enuh...look pon dis, wi seh di helicopter fire shot afta wi and him come and a seh a lie we a tell di helicopter neva fire nuh shot..We look like fool," she said.

Mayor McKenzie could not be reached for a comment as THE STAR team tried for hours to contact him. A visit to his office also yielded no success also as upon arrival we were told that he was not in.

Meanwhile, some other residents noted that they will be watching the situation before any serious judgement is passed on their councillor.

"Right ya now wi a talk how wi really feel, but wi a watch and si what really a gwaan tho..Wi naw seh nuttin too tough yet," Petera resident explained.

One876Entertainment.com understands that the switchboard of the XNews office was inundated with threatening and abusive phone calls last week following the publication of a story involving an altercation between Bounty Killer and Harry Toddler at a Corporate Area club. Employees of the newspaper fielded these intense and often obscene phone calls over a four-day period from males who expressed anger at the slant of a story that was carried in the paper. The story which appeared to have provoked their anger appeared in the January 9 15 publication with the headline Bounty Killer Attacks Harry Toddler and this appeared to be the catalyst for the phone calls. The calls came over several phone lines and were answered by various staff members. Some of the abusive comments that staff had to endure from callers who claimed XNews dissed Bounty Killer were S--k yuh madda, gunshot fi unno, one a unno a guh dead among other more graphic comments which we cannot repeat here as this is a family publication. Efforts to contact Bounty Killer or his publicist to enquire whether they were aware that these phone calls were being made on their behalf proved futile. This is the second time that employees of this publication have been threatened after doing an expose about Bounty Killer. The management of the CVM Communications Group, under which the XNews operates, has taken a stance that they will not be intimidated by thugs or common criminals as the media group strives to bring the public accurate, well-researched stories that highlight the ills in our society. The management has also beefed up security arrangements at the newspapers headquarters and implemented a number of new high-tech security measures to protect its editorial, marketing and advertising staff. If this trend of threatening phone calls continues, they say they will be forced to use other measures at our disposal to combat this grave threat to our editorial integrity.

Dear Dr. Flex,
I have been experiencing severe itching on the underside of my penis for the past two months. I have been on a course of antibiotics and administering cream prescribed by my doctor. It feels as if the itching is underneath the skin or inside, but not all over my penis. It gets worse when I have sex. My girlfriend received the same medication as a precaution. She does not experience any itching or burning. Neither of us have discharge of any sort. Could this be due to an STD or fungal infection? Neither of us has had another sexual partner in the past two years.
O.H., Kingston 10

Dear O.H.,
Your problem may be due to either neurodermatitis or contact dermatitis (to topical applications resorted). In either case, you could stop all those medications, apply plain steroid (Betamethasone valerate) cream (Betnovate cream) or Fusidic acid cream with above steroid (Fucibet cream) twice daily and wash the area with saline before their application. Avoid Dettol or other soap application there. You could also take one antihistamine tablet (Tab. Atarax 10 mg daily at night) daily. Use these medicines for two weeks and slowly decrease the frequency of application over two weeks. If the problem does not get solved, consult a dermatologist.

Dear Dr. Flex, I am having a problem I need your help with. My boyfriend and I have never had sex before. The other day he was petting me and he licked my clit just once very quickly. The day after I felt this burning, itching sensation which lasted for about five days. I am wondering what could have caused it, as he didnt have any cuts or sores of any kind in the mouth, on his lips or tongue. Please, I need to know what went wrong.
M.L., St. Catherine

Dear M.L.,

It is important that you understand that even though you and your boyfriend have not actually had intercourse, engaging in oral sex- particularly unprotected oral sex- is not without risk and not something that should be taken lightly.

Although you cannot get pregnant through straight oral sex as long as the genitals do not come in contact with each other and there is no exchange of semen, it is still risky for STDs. Having oral sex does not protect against herpes and other sexually transmitted diseases. The membranes in the mouth are thin and easily penetrated. There is also the chance that you or your partner can have open sores or cuts in the mouth region and not know about them. It is important to get into the habit of using some form of protection. Condoms work well when performing oral sex on a man.

On the other hand, it could be as simple as your boyfriend may have ate something spicy or peppery and the residue of it was on his tongue when he licked your privates.

In any case, you and your partner should both go to the doctor to get checked out. The doctor can diagnose you and hopefully help alleviate the symptoms you are experiencing.

Dear Dr. Flex, I am in love with a wonderful Christian man who has a lot of close relationships with other women. I have always been careful not to develop close relationships with members of the opposite sex, but he doesnt seem to care. Is it okay to have close friends of the opposite sex if you are in a serious relationship? Could it cause problems down the road? ?
C.R., St. Catherine

Dear C.R., I dont exactly know what a serious relationship is and what youre talking about, but certainly the idea of having friends of the opposite sex is perfectly all right. Men and women work together, and the relationship doesnt have to be sexual. It could be really friendship. There is nothing with friendship. But friendship, if it gets too close, can deepen into something else, and thats just the way we are. Nothing

Dear Dr. Flex,
I am a 36-year-old woman who has recently started to experience *lo** clots during my periods. On my last period I had 24 hours where the *lo** clots were so large that they completely bypassed my tampons. My partner and I are trying for our first baby and I am now concerned that all is not well or that my body is changing and my chance of conceiving has passed. If anyone else has experienced this or can put my mind at rest I would love to hear from you, as I know that worrying wont help me to conceive either. I am afraid to go to my doctor in case I get the answer that I really dont want to hear.
SL., Kingston 5

Dear S.L.,
There are other women who are experiencing the same problem as you. Any change in your cycle is a cause for concern and should be checked out by a doctor.You are responsible for your own health, dont delay going to a doctor.If something is wrong, you want to find out sooner rather than later.

Why are my teeth yellow?

January 9, 2008
Started By ZJSnyper13 Comments

Dear Flex, I need your advice on how to get my yellow teeth pearly white. I brush them a lot but it doesnt seem to be enough. I have even used baking soda, but that tastes like salt water and on top of that it did nothing. When I am brushing I scrub for like 30 minutes or more just to see if they will get white. Am I not brushing the right way or my teeth are just yellow.
L.K., St. Catherine

Dear L.K., Our teeth go through a lot and we do not even realise it. Many of us will subject them to coffee, cola, cigarette smoke, alcohol, acidic juices and highly pigmented foods. Our teeth tell the tale in the form of stains.

Because it is hard to give up that one extra cup of coffee or drink one less can of coke, there are other things you can try to at least slow down the staining process. Use whitening toothpaste each time you brush. You can also use the whitening mouthwash after you brush.

It is quite possible, however, that you may need to get your teeth professionally whitened by a dentist, but the procedure is costly. Make an appointment to see one.
You definitely should not be scrubbing excessively as it really does not do much and can actually harm your gum.

Billboard Top 10 Reggae Artistes

January 7, 2008
Started By ZJSnyper29 Comments
1 Matisyahu
2 Bob Marley
3 Stephen Marley
4 Damian 'Jr Gong' Marley
5 Sean Paul
6 Bob Marley & The Wailers
7 Collie Budz
8 Buju Banton
9 Notch
10 Beenie Man

Top 10 Parties

January 9, 2008

1. Boom - Circus Maximus

Boom should be called the bomb! Worth every penny, Boom came with the added incentive of being a great spot to network for business professionals in Jamaica. Oh, but did we mention dance? Yep, folks danced to their hearts' content till the wee hours of the morning.

2. Frenchmen

What a fete! Let's face it, Frenchmen doesn't disappoint. Both the New Year 2007 edition at Caymanas Golf Club and Heroes Weekend in Ohco Rios were hits on the party scale.

3. Utopia

Catering to your every whim and fancy, Utopia hasn't lost its flair. The annual Boxing Day party held at the Blue Mountain Inn continued its reign as one of the best parties of the year. With great music, sumptuous food, Jamaica's SS and a picturesque atmosphere, how could it not make the list?

4. Maiden Cay

Kingston's social set took to Maiden Cay on December 28 and had a whale of a time. Although organisers wish to remain nameless, they deserve praise for the beautiful day.

5. Bacchanal Fridays at Mas Camp

For soca lovers this was the go-to spot every Friday night during the carnival season. And we suspect it will be the same this year!

6. Daydreams - All White Summer Edition

It can in no way compare to the Daydreams of past, but this year's summer edition still rocked in white.

7. Red Planet Series

They were held in various locations; kicking off cricket and ringing in the New Year. But never were they drab; instead, each was filled with life and patrons painting the town red.

8. Marlin Madness

To kick off the annual Marlin fishing tournament on the shores of Portland was Marlin Madness and trust us when we tell you it was madness.

9. Spiritz

Nice vibe and music, but what set this party apart from others was the beautiful people. The new venue at American International School works a lot better that the hilled one.

10. Osmosis - Sky Box

The chemistry worked. Even with a few glitches, Osmosis made the cut.

Cougar on the prowl

January 14, 2008

Dear Pastor,

I am a 56-year-old woman who is in love with an 18-year-old man. I love him very much and I think he loves me too. I have not kissed him or done anything with him because we are afraid of what people will say. I am a happily married woman for 20 years, but my husband does not know that I am having a relationship with a man who could be my grandson.

His mother found out about us and told his girlfriend. Both of them thought I was sick and beat the crap out of me, but I still love him all the same. I give him money, I buy him clothes, but most of all I give him love. I do not work but I take part of my husband's pay every month and give it to him. I am deeply in love with this sexy boy that could be my grandson.

Pastor, I am desperately in need of your advice. Please help me!

A.M., Hanover, Jamaica

Dear A.M.,

What a way you are hot and wicked. You are taking your husband's hard-earned cash and giving to this young man. What would happen if your husband should find out? How could you be so silly? What has gone into your head?

Come lady, stay far away from this young man. The next time his girlfriend beats you, you may end up in the hospital. Then you would not be able to hide what is going on between you and this guy from your husband. Stop playing around, woman. Read your Bible and pray and keep away from this young man.

Pastor

to di man dem..which gyal

January 3, 2008
Started By fyahhype23 Comments
will you kidnapp and spoil to death? meanin which gyal would you want to take out on date and f**k?  that posted on mediazoneja.com.....
«First  <  1500 501 502 503 504524  >  Last»  | Page of 524  sorted by