Forum: News & Topical Issues

News updates, entertainment, hot topics, gossip | Share and discover what is happening right now.
The stars came out in their numbers. Bounty Killer showed up, and later in the night Mavado appeared and then Aidonia arrived after 4 .a.m after mashing up Spectrum 2k8. DAngel, Harry Toddler and Voicemail were also present. Elephant Man, who is Sidonies babyfather, was front and centre, soaking in the aura of his babymother who was glowing and radiant that night. CLICK HERE FOR PICTURES

Sidonie.jpgSidonie greeted her fans and danced with them and was a great hostess for the night. She changed twice and the lace outfit was the talk of the party. The ZIP and IRIE massive was there and in full effect, girls like Zanica, Audra, Sherae, Candy, and hot girls like the Elite models Marsha and Claudia. Music video director Julia Braham seemed to be having ball, posing for pictures. ZIP Boss D. Williams, and radio personality Nikki Z were also present.

Juggling was provided by Sidonies friend Gregory Sinclair in the early runnings.

One question though: why did her friend Bobbie go on the mike and procced to run two girls out of the party? That was slightly embarra**ing. Last question though: Do you think that Elephant Man wants back Sidonie inna him life? He was drooling all over her at the party.
Dancehall superstar Mavado has started the year where he left off; his "On The Rock" track has become an instant hit and coupled with winning several awards, 2008 has jumped off with a bang. Determined to put his charity - Connect Jamaica - to the forefront, Mavado gave away two computers to the Golden Spring Basic School and Stony Hill Junior High on Friday. "I promised that I would use proceeds form my Real McKoy Birthday Bash in December to buy computers," said the Alliance member. "The whole country knows what happened with the police conducting their operation that night, which cut the dance very short and caused us to lose a lot of money. However I had made my promise so I had to fulfill it, hence the computers and printers being given away in communities near to the venue in Temple Hall." Principal of Golden Spring Basic School, Marcia Mitchell, was over the moon with the donation by Mavado; "When I heard we were getting computers I really had to thank the Lord and know that he really answered my prayers," she beamed upon receiving the computers and printers. "We have 165 children at the school and I don't even have a computer in my office. I usually have to write everything in a book for administration so it will be good to come into the age of technology. The children will be using it also so Mavado's donation will have double benefit. Not many people remember the little ones so for him to do this is truly special We are so thankful to him." The children of the Golden Spring school made a huge Thank You card for Mavado to show their appreciation. Stony Hill Junior High Principal Earl Samuels ensured the whole school was assembled in the playground to show their appreciation to Mavado. As these children are of an older and more impressionable age group, Mavado gave them a motivational speech about the necessity of education and staying in school. "We live in a world that is run by technology so make sure you are computer literate," he urged. "Education is the key so stay in school and do you best to learn while you are here."

Intimate details

February 10, 2008
You have jus stepped into a new relationship: What intimate detail would you rather know about your partner? ** opn question to male and females**
Sunday, 10 February 2008 Image The police have captured one of Jamaica's most wanted men.

Robert Brown also called "Dinero" who was wanted for a series of murders in Commons, Red Hills Road, St. Andrew was detained during an operation in Lawrence Tavern on Saturday.

The operation was carried out by officials from the police task force Operation Kingfish and the Jamaica Defence Force.

Brown was captured when the security officials swooped down on premises in Lawrence Tavern.

He was wanted for murder, shooting with intent and illegal possession of a firearm.

With Brown's capture, the police have now held five of ten men on their recently published "most wanted" list.  

| Kingfish question Kartel and Aidonia

February 11, 2008
Started By linko8 Comments
Jamaican deejays Vybz Kartel and Aidonia are presently being questioned by investigators of Operation Kingfish in the presence of their lawyer Valerie Neita-Robertson, who is representing both artistes. Last week Tuesday, Operation Kingfish had announced that they wanted to question both deejays with regard to a photo that showed them posing with high-powered weapons. However, the deejays' lawyer Mrs. Neita-Robertson has questioned the authenticity of the photos and suggested that the photos were even taken outside of the jurisdiction of Jamaica. Assistant Commissioner Glenmore Hinds, head of Operation Kingfish, is reportedly overseeing the questioning of the entertainers. One876Entertainment.com will have more on this story as it breaks.
If there's a list of rules for committing burglary, the first one might be, "Don't pass out in the home you're burglarizing."Police said Joseph Williams Jr. didn't heed that rule early Sunday morning.Officers said Williams, 45, was found unconscious inside an Erie Avenue home just after 2 a.m. Police said Williams apparently overdosed on an unknown drug. He was transported to University Hospital for treatment.Charges against Williams are pending, police said.

Stephen Marley Cops Reggae Grammy

February 10, 2008
Started By Casino8 Comments

Stephen joins his other brothers in grammy camp (ziggy & Damian)

Best Reggae Album
(Vocal or Instrumental.)

The Burning Spear Experience
Burning Spear
[Burning Music Production]

Mind Control
Stephen Marley
[Tuff Gong/Ghetto Youths/Universal Republic]

The End Of An American Dream
Lee "Scratch" Perry
[Megawave]

Anniversary
Sly & Robbie And The Taxi Gang
[Taxi Records]

Light Your Light
Toots & The Maytals
[Fantasy]

BRITS on a Gatwick-bound 757 flight were terrified when a bolt of lightning tore into their jet's nosecone.

People started screaming on the Continental Airways Boeing plane which was forced to abandon its flight after passengers heard a loud bang and saw a flash of white light.

One passenger was yelling: Get me off the plane, get me off the plane, said radiographer Rachael Bamber, from Swindon, Wiltshire.

The incident happened on Saturday night as the plane climbed to around 4,000ft after taking off from Newark Airport near New York.

The cockpit crew decided to return to Newark, where the plane, with 122 passengers on board, landed safely. Passengers switched to another aircraft and finally reached Gatwick around two hours 40 minutes late.

Ms Bamber said that after the landing at Newark she had seen a two-foot gash in the nosecone, a hole with metal ripped back.

She went on: I saw the pilot at a bar getting a coffee. I gave him a big hug and thanked him for getting us down safely. He said the crew had been completely blinded for about three seconds.

A Continental Airways spokesman said today: After the lightning strike the pilot immediately returned to Newark. There was damage to the nosecone.

This was the kind of lightning strike that does happen occasionally but it must have been alarming for the customers on board.

YAHOO has formally rejected Microsoft's £22.4billion takeover bid as inadequate.

The response had been expected after Yahoo's intentions were leaked over the weekend.

Yahoo's knock-back raises the stakes in a battle involving two of the world's most prominent technology companies.

Microsoft's first offer, which was made public on February 1, was originally valued at £16 per share. Microsoft also could take its bid directly to Yahoo shareholders.

Breaking News, Cops to talk to DJs

February 7, 2008
Started By ZJSnyper19 Comments

Dwayne Mcleod/Teino Evans, Staff Reporters

STARCover_1_PF6IUAidoniAM.jpg
This is the photograph that the police have in their possession. - Contributed

Members of the anti-crime unit, Operation Kingfish, say that they will be speaking to two of the country's leading deejays, Vybz Kartel and Aidonia, before this weekend about a picture police have in their possession.The cops say that the picture they have show persons resembling the deejays Kartel, whose real name is Adidjah Palmer, and Aidonia (Sheldon Lawrence) posing with guns. Spokesman for Operation Kingfish, Inspector Steve Brown, who described the photograph as disturbing said, "We have a photograph of four men, two of whom we have identified as Vybz Kartel and Aidonia ... The two were seen posing with two high-powered weapons." While the police were reluctant to disclose how they received the photograph and how long they have had it in their possession, Inspector Brown adamantly expressed that the picture was not tampered with. "No, the picture is not doctored," Inspector Brown said before continuing "those guns are 100 per cent real." Inspector Brown said that up to yesterday afternoon they had not spoken with the two dancehall artistes. However, plans are set for them to do so before the end of the week. When asked if the men can be charged if they are the ones in the picture, Inspector Brown ex-plained that after speaking with them the police will decide their next move. The police say that based on their records, neither of the two men are licensed firearm holders. Efforts by THE STAR to get a comment from Vybz Kartel and Aidonia were unsuccessful, as both artistes cellphones rang without an answer on several occasions. Aidonia and Vybz Kartel are among Jamaica's most promising deejays, and have had a slew of hits. Aidonia is known for songs like Ukku and That's Up, while Kartel has hits like Wine Pon You and Picture This.
hey yall bless up from ya boy dj troop , i wanted 2 know which way should i upload the bulk of my riddims , or should i post them individually
lemme know yall bless up

MARLEY WINS GRAMMY AGAIN
Yawn. All the Marley clan has to do is show up and they win the reggae grammy, it has become oh so monotonous now. Last night, Stephen Marley won the Best Reggae Album grammy for his album Mind Control. Bravo. Bravissimo and all that. But come on, is this just a Marley award?

UNAUTHORISED BEENIE BOOK REVEALS ALL
Embarra**ing details of the good doctor's life could be revealed in a riveting tell-all that has been completed and will go to press soon. The book reportedly digs up the seamy details of the Doc's early years in Craig Town, delves into his musical friendship with Patrick Roberts, and never-before-revealed information on the Doc's relationships with Dancehall Queen Carlene, uptown girls of prominent political families, and other dalliances of the Doc. The authors have promised us a sneak preview, we will keep you informed.

MILK AND LIQUID BACK TOGETHER
Mi go drop mi girlfriend at the airport on Saturday and guess who me see? Nuh Milk and Liquid inna one piece ah hugging and kissing at the airport, you'd a tink say a war him a go fight overseas and not just a show wid Alaine and Don dem. Anyhow, mi haffi tek off mi glasses and look good because me swear say dem did done and Liquid's coochie privileges were permanently revoked. It come in like she give him a drop to the airport but the hugging and kissing de never normal. No sah, somebody better tell Renee and the other one weh a gwaan that Milk ah the ants inna fi dem milk. Well, I guess when all is said and done, yu caan help who yu love. Good luck wid dat de one deh.

NEW VENUE FOR BOUNTY KILLER SUNDAYS
Bounty Killer Sundays moved to Seaview Gardens this week as the Hunts Bay Police had objected to the weekly session being held in the Majestic Gardens community because of another request by residents there to host a Beenie Tuesdays. The policemen were afraid of a possible conflict because of the antagonistic relationship which exists between the two deejays.

"It mad last night, it keep over Bawly Bawly yard over Seaview, it nice," Mumma Spice, a regular at the event told MZJAEntertainment.com a short time ago. "Ah the Spice girls tek it, Spice to the world, ah dat we say."

GUIDANCE AND DETERMINE WAR
Why are the rastas warring amongst themselves? First, Determine start talk the tings say ah science mash up Beenie and Angel, and how much Guidance can only find the one hit, and him did a laugh and tik everyting peachy, only fi hear say Guidance have the counteraction that talk 'bout how management drop Determine and how much say Determine ah sex the monkey up ah the obeah hotel fi find back a hit, ah pure sitten sitten, Right now, people shock but the two song dem a get crazy airplay.

COURTNEY JOHN GIVEAWAY
Less than 24hr to WIN2 Night retreat at THE CAVES for YOU and your OTHER Plus $500us...Thats right $500us dollarsLink www.iriefm.net  and CLICK on 14 Ways to Romance for YOUR CHANCE TO WIN. There are other prizes to win like---Aveda-Spa Treatments at Strawberry Hill- An Island Outpost Resort, Courtney John CDs, Gift Certificates from Susies Bakery & Chocolate Dreams as well as DOVE product gift bags -----Dont FORGET LESS THAN 24 HOURS BEFORE THE CONTEST IS OVER--- www.iriefm.net 14 WAYS TO ROMANCE

SHOUT OUT

Melissa Dunkley, the designer who did such a fab job on DJ Flames' outfit at Rebel Salute

USA: IRS TAX RELIEF CHECKS DATES

February 11, 2008
Started By Jamecho0 Comments

IRS TAX RELIEF CHECKS DATESPLEASE SEND THIS OUT. 

THE DATES FOR RECEIVING OUR TAX RELIEF CHECKS. 

IT IS SCHEDULED BY THE LAST 2 NUMBERS OF YOUR

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER. 

IF YOU FILED A JOINT RETURN IT WILL BE UNDER THE

HUSBANDS SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

JULIE VANN 

OES PUBLIC REALTIONS

The Check is in the mail
Week Last 2 digits of Your SSNReceive Your check by Week of
100 - 09July 23
210 - 19July 30
320 - 29Aug. 6
430 - 39 Aug. 13
540 - 49 Aug. 20
650 - 59 Aug. 27
760 - 69Sept. 3
870 - 79  Sept. 10
980 - 89  Sept. 17
1090 - 99  Sept. 24
For married Taxpayers who filed a Joint return, the first Social Security Number on the return determines the mailing date.   Source: Internal Revenue Service

THEIR last encounter was a heated affair. It resulted in two-match bans for Orane Simpson and Garfield Reid, who scrapped throughout and after the Cash Plus Premier League second-round match, which Waterhouse won 2-0 at Drewsland, avenging a 1-0 first-round loss at Tivoli. Tomorrow's second-round final, featuring both teams, starting 6:30 p.m. at Harbour View, is set to be another cracker, especially after Tivoli's 4-0 embarra**ment in Jackie Bell quarter-final action at Arnett Gardens on Thursday. Tivoli, who also made the first round final and were beaten 1-0 by Portmore United, started a full-strength side against Arnett but were trounced in a match, which manager Brian Rose said his players took for granted. "I don't think the guys were focussed and took our opponents a bit lightly," said Rose, referring to Arnett, who sit 10th in the overall Premier League standings, 16 points below joint leaders Tivoli.

very disturbing

It was Tivoli's second loss in four days following a 1-0 defeat in the Premiership at promoted St. Georges last Sunday. "It was very disappointing. Everybody was dejected and we are set to have a meeting today to discuss the loss," Rose said yesterday. "We have not taken it lightly as it was very disturbing to management and players. "Waterhouse is a good team, which performs well in one-off games. After losing two matches in succession, if we're not a hundred per cent focussed for this team, they can hurt us badly," the Tivoli manager added. In addition to Simpson still being out on suspension, Tivoli have Kasai Hinds, Kevin Blackford and Leon Gordon on the injury list. Tivoli felt Waterhouse's wrath last time out as goals from Kevin Lamey and Jomo Gordon snapped Tivoli's unbeaten second round streak. Waterhouse coach, Wayne Fairclough, anticipates a Tivoli onslaught. "They will be coming at full strength. A final is a final," said Fairclough. "They lost the first-round final to Portmore and will be giving their all." Fairclough described Tivoli as a strong, physical team with excellent tactical teamwork. "They will be coming to prove but we know what it takes," he said. Waterhouse drew their last Premiership match 1-1 at August Town last Sunday. They have been playing well in the Jackie Bell knockout, beating Boys' Town 2-1 and rallying from a goal down to stop Cavalier 3-1 on Thursday. New signing Leon Strickland was on target for Waterhouse against Cavalier and Fairclough confirmed the former Arnett player will start on Sunday. "He has been playing well so far. Come Sunday he will be trying to create more opportunities," he said. Fairclough said Strickland's strike partner is to be decided. However, the pair of Lamey and Strickland could strike terror in the heart of Tivoli's defence.

Measure of a man

February 11, 2008
Started By ZJSnyper0 Comments

Dear Pastor,

I am in a three-year relationship with a man I love dearly. But he doesn't please me in bed because of his small sexual organ, which forces me to get sexual gratification elsewhere. I have read and researched about pills that can increase his size, but I'm scared to mention the topic because I don't want to embarra** or offend him. I love him and he has asked me to be his wife, but I need to be sexually satisfied so I won't commit adultery. Please, pastor, help me. S.W., New York, USA Dear S.W., People have questions about whether these so-called pills really work. What I do know is that in the United States of America men do surgery to enlarge their penises. I understand that such surgery is very costly, but those who could afford them are satisfied with the results. You did not mention what is this man's penis size. Perhaps he needs to be taught how to use what God has given him. Perhaps a sex therapist can help both of you. Why not consider going to see one? Pastor
February 09, 2008

The Hamilton Spectator
OAKVILLE (Feb 9, 2008)

Thousands of frightened Sheridan College students huddled in their classrooms yesterday as heavily armed police searched for a gunman.

The school was in lockdown for three hours. No gunman was found.

The sighting is now believed to have been a false alarm, but the incident shows how seriously officials take reports of gunmen in the wake of fatal and tragic campus shootings at Virginia Tech and Montreal's Dawson College.

The incident occurred the same day as the killing of three female students on a Louisiana university campus.

Sheridan's students were ordered to remain in their classrooms when a teacher and several students claimed to have seen a man, wearing a camouflage jacket, walking near the library hall and carrying what looked like a rifle or shotgun.

The man was wearing a camouflage jacket. It now appears he was carrying a piece of camera equipment, although police said they will continue their investigation. The three-hour lockdown began at about 2:15 p.m.

There's a possibility it could have been a tripod, said Inspector Jackie Gordon.

Sheridan president Dr. Robert Turner also said the witnesses were not sure they saw a gun. "I think this is a false alarm. That's our hope and our expectation."

Police are still looking for a man described as 6-foot, medium build, brown hair with a prominent bald spot and long side burns. He wore blue jeans, a green lumber-style jacket and thin glasses. Anyone with information is asked to call 905-825-4777, ext. 2215 or Crime Stoppers at 1-800-222-8477.

Tactical teams from Halton, Hamilton and Peel police descended on the campus. One man matching the description was taken into police custody, but later released. On any given day the campus could have 9,000 students and up to 1,300 staff members.

Allison Summers, 22, of Hamilton, was in her art history class with about 30 other students in B wing where the library is. After the announcement, they barricaded the door with chairs and garbage cans because the door does not lock. They went on the Internet to read media websites to find out why the school was locked down.

She said at about 3:15 p.m. the police burst into the room. "They came in with their guns and everything. They told us all to get down on the floor and asked if there was anyone who did not belong here."

Michelle Campbell, at her home in Waterdown, got word about a problem at the college after receiving a call from her husband Robert who was in Georgia on business. Her daughter Meaghan, hiding under a desk in a classroom, had tried to call home but in her anxiety hung up before her mother could reach the phone. She tried her dad's cell and got him right away. He phoned home.

Meaghan also sent a text message via her phone to her sister-in-law in Waterdown, her fiance Jay Ducarme at work in Milton and called her grandmother in Oakville. All scrambled to get to the college, fearing the worst.

Although Meaghan spent almost three hours under a desk, "the scariest part was leaving the room" after the OK was given. "Me and my girlfriends, we were all holding hands; some people were crying."

Samantha Gary, 20, was in her documentary class with about 10 other students. "We were all very anxious. It was pretty scary."

*-*From Model To Musician*-*

February 11, 2008
Started By rrDesignZ 1 Comments
findImg.php?pic_size=200&table_name=news_img_tab&table_field=img_id&img_id=1191 According to a recent publication in the Jamaica Observer, Jamaican supermodel Nadine Willis is taking a journey down a new pathway, strange as it may sound the Gucci cover model is now dabbling into music with the release of her debut single, What If, a song written by Grub Cooper and produced by Pulse Music.

"It's a passion my brother wanted for me for a very long time and I loved it before I even started modelling. My brother was actually training me but at the time I wasn't ready yet," Nadine added after a recent performance of her song at the Pulse Miss Jamaica Universe road show in Ocho Rios.

Nadine's foray into music occurred last year when she recorded a song for former Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller. That helped to build her confidence, she explained, and gave her the courage to approach Pulse boss, Kingsley Cooper, about a possible sojourn in music.

"He said, 'well, it's something we can try, we can go ahead and see what happens,'" Nadine disclosed. So far, the response to the song has been encouraging. In Ocho Rios, the response was also positive."I got a good response today, I was nervous but I'm very happy," said Nadine after her performance.

The song is actually the first of six or seven that Nadine plans to record for a debut album, which should be ready by the end of the year.

Please vote for either Contestant A or B for the hottest Girl of the Week.

Choose the image you like best and vote by placing the letter A or B in your comments.

contest_7.jpg

>Would like to have a poetry contest
>The contest would test which man on mediazone has the best peotry skills
>Poems will be submitted on valentine's day (Thu Feb-14-2008)
>So you must figure by now that they are to be love poems
>The ladies on mediazone will be the judges and if anybody else wah comment dem leave it lol
>So men you think you can be the best POET in the mediazone family

> Just leave a reply if your interested and make the event one to remember
> Im sure alot of you want to knock some ladies off their feet lol

Who Fa LYRICS Dem Badda?????

January 17, 2008
Started By shardo36 Comments
WARHAWK

chorus
yuh know wha shardo stand fah dont yuh
shit has a rotten dirty odor
please my ute nuh come any closer
retardo i thought i tol yuh
mi ah warhawk mi anno vulture
put yuh someweh mi mek di fyah roast yuh

verse 1
shardo yuh smell worser den a toilet
battle me bwoy yuh nuh feed cool it
cause yuh know sey yuh nuttin but ah likkle school kid
mi nuh hesitant mi pop mi tool quick
like aidonia dem say hawk is so sick
cause wen mi a war mi left throats slit
mi attack without any form of notice
yuh death yuh family cyan even cope with

verse 2
shardo yuh smell worsa den garbage
yuh di scum of di earth bwoy yuh a varmit
my life ja kno yuh could neva harm it
cause mi cause di maximum carnage
any gyal weh ev did meet you
haffi hold dem nose and say P U
nuh gyal would ever whan freak yuh
yuh odor mek gyals nuh seek yuh

verse 3
wen will yuh learn dat yuh just stink
yuh tink yuh bettta den mi well yuh just tink
guh wash yuh self inna tub or a sink
hol a fresh and maybe gyal will gi yuh di link
but really nuttin caan rid yuh off yuh stench
mi ah get play but yuh a get benched
inna yuh own *lo** yuh will get drenched
wen mi buss mi tool and mi nuh talk wrench

verse 4
shardo why yuh whan di test
wen mi guns will mek a mess
wha yuh expect from di best
nuh whan get laid to rest
mi use laser but it nuh sound effects
rrrrrrrrrrrraatatttttat that is di sound of techs
warhawk di champion fi yuh dat is di sound of death
mi yuh should never try guh anodda round against

SHARDO
Chorus
Warhawk Diss
Claat di rifle
di bwoy marrow fly
lyke di eifle
wen gun shot buss
di bwoy get frighten
Hawk Time dun
wen gunshot strike him

Verse-1
b*odclaat
bwoy dead to b*odclaat
shot fly thru bwoy head to b*odclaat
shot wrink Warhawk head lyke claat
say anotha wurd nd choppa shot fly fly thru yuh heart
WARHAWK dunt talk
cause yuh breathe stink ah dan dog whe bark
BBBWWWWOYYYY dunt dis
Stainless gwaan fi di Ak dem shoot nd dunt miss

Chorus

Verse-2
My war nuh easy lyke planna
Stop DJ nd try be ah rappa
yute dis annu Crackaz
Walk out lyke yuh ah Shotta
look deh yuh b*od post pon di wall lyk Banna
War Start mi dunt hav nuh mannaz
Warhawk wid him batty man Poze
People walk past him nd haffi hold dem noze

Chorus

Verse-3
Blacksypda Gwaan fi Tall up tall up
di slug inna di bwoy head ah crawl up crawl up
Rohan di bwoy nuh kno seh we gun stock frm di floor 2 di wall up
shot fire di bwoy start bawl up
inna head bullet far up
Afta da song yah Warhawk aggo vex
ah talk 'bout mi naw get nuh sex
yute stop DJ nd go back yuh fist
JB gwaan fi di gun dem SHOOT DUNT MISSSAUTO

Chorus x2
LIUanggrinnup

-- Edited by shardo at 10:35, 2008-02-14

BLEARY-EYED Philip Skeates suffered a 17-year waking nightmare getting just FOURTEEN minutes sleep a night.

The desperate dad of three was woken up every 45 seconds by a sleep disorder which closed his airways and stopped him breathing.

The problem left him constantly exhausted and short-tempered with wife Lisa and their kids.

Joy ... Philip and missus

But now he is finally enjoying his first decent nights kip in more than a decade and a half thanks to a special machine installed in his home.

It includes an oxygen mask and tube which Philip wears while he sleeps. The device forces air into his lungs and keeps his airways clear.

Philip, 39, said: Its changed my life. The first night I had it, I noticed a difference next morning.

Now I wake up feeling refreshed. Delivery driver Philip, who cannot work due to a spinal problem, has also stopped his ear-splitting snoring. And he has shed six of his original 25st after gaining the energy to attend a local slimming group.

Old daze ... asleep in chair

He was given his Continuous Positive Airway Pressure machine after long-suffering Lisa persuaded him to get help.

Doctors found he had chronic sleep apnoea a condition thought to affect 300,000 Brits. It causes muscles in the throat to collapse, forcing the patient to wake as they resume breathing producing a snoring sound.

Philip said: I was spending 12 hours in bed every night. But the doctors found my apnoea was stopping me breathing ninety times every hour.

They said it was one of the worst cases theyd ever seen. It meant I only got 14 minutes sleep.

I couldnt understand it as Id fall asleep by 8pm and not get up for hours. But, in fact, I was hardly getting any sleep at all. I was exhausted.

Teaching assistant Lisa, 40, of Swindon, Wilts, had tried a variety of remedies without success.

She said: Phils snoring was like sleeping next to a pneumatic drill. The kids could hear it too.

I bought him medicines, mouth guards, a gum shield he found really uncomfortable. Nothing worked, but the machine has been a godsend.

Its reawakened our marriage its wonderful. Phils so much more energetic and cheerful.

Deva.jpgPortmore Empire artiste, Deva Bratt will face the courts on Tuesday of next week to answer to a charge of carnal abuse. His close friends in Westchester have been denying the teen's version of events, saying that she was not raped.

According to the police, the 14 year-old was pulled into a house by two men and raped, before being released. Whatever the case, it does not reflect well on Deva Bratt because he should not have been in situation which could be deemed as sexual with an underage minor, but we will see how this story plays out before we comment further.

ALLIANCE ROCKS STADIUM
What a way Mavado and Bounty Killer mash up over the national stadium on Wednesday, when Mavado buss the place, Bounty Killer run in and the place lift up again and the man just gwaan wicked over there. All when the whistle blow fi the second half, it come in like the man just ready fi perform.

Sorry say the police dem stop Bounty Killer Sundays because of Beenie Man Tuesdays, but ah just so the ting set up.

THE PEOPLE WAAN FI KNOW...
What a way Arnett Gardens drop a wicked 4-0 pon Tivoli Gardens inna the knock out competition?

** Gytian's new single soars**

February 8, 2008
Started By rrDesignZ 8 Comments
Reggae singing sensation Gyptian is serving up his new single, I Can Feel Your Pain, to the charts, and with the recent debut of the steamy video, Gyptian's fans are now coming out to support his latest studio effort.

The video recently debuted on a viewer's choice show on one of Jamaica's premiere entertainment channels, RE-TV. Already in regular rotation throughout Jamaica, I Can Feel Your Pain blasted onto RE-TV's MVP Top 10 Video Countdown, coming in at a solid #4 this week.

What makes this mention extra special is that this particular countdown depends solely on viewers' votes to determine chart position. Not only does Gyptian enter the MVP Top 10 lineup at this peak position, he's also cruising in at the very top of the latest videos that are also making the countdown for the first time.

"I Can Feel Your Pain" is already a crowd pleaser, especially with female fans. A poignant ballad sung in his unique buttery falsetto, this is the first single from Gyptian's much-anticipated follow-up to his debut album, My Name is Gyptian (VP Records, 2006), due out later this year. The video was shot on location in New York City and directed by Rhona Fox.

Gyptian is currently busy touring and bringing his old and new hits to life for international fans, including his chart-topping conscious anthem Serious Times, and the captivating lover's tune, Beautiful Lady. Recently performing in Connecticut and Philadelphia, he is now preparing for some high profile shows in the Caribbean, including Barbados and back home in Jamaica, in the upcoming weeks.
findImg.php?pic_size=200&table_name=news_img_tab&table_field=img_id&img_id=1188 In a recent publication carried by the Jamaica Star, The Police have decided not to grant any permits for two street dances in Majesty Gardens more popularly known as 'Back To'.

According to the lawmen they fear that the events, named after two of Jamaica's longest feuding Dancehall deejays Bounty Killer and Beenie Man, might influence a divide in the community and possible start a war. The sessions, named 'Bounty Sundays' and 'Beenie Tuesdays', have become anticipated fixtures with the residence, but reports surfaced that men from the top of the community are now at odds with those from the lower section which holds 'Beenie Tuesday'.

However residents have denied these claims, saying there is nothing but peace and love. "Dem ting deh a two year ago, everything nice ya now," uttered a member of the 'Bounty Sundays' promotion team. Bounty Sundays has been a weekly event in the community since Last December. According to the promoter, residents of both sections of the community are looking forward to the staging of Beenie Tuesdays, as they both enjoy the happening at Bounty Sundays. "Everything nice...up yahso a up di road and dung deh so a dung di road so more or less dem (dung di road) ago want fi dem niceness to," he says, adding "of course di whole a we party, dem come up ya so and we ago go dung deh so," he further added.

Regardless of what the residents profess, the lawmen are taking no chances. In an interview with the paper, Senior Superintendent Derrick 'Cowboy' Knight said "We are not granting any permission for none of them...That is going to cause conflict and we have to step on conflict because conflict leads to crime"

Chief of the division, Deputy Superintendent Michael Phipps, agrees. "I heard that there was a Bounty Sunday in the area, and all of a sudden there is a Beenie party," he says. "Beenie and Bounty are not friends so anywhere you have both of them there is going to be friction."

Nonetheless the Police said all is not lost for the residents, as they are willing to grant the permits as long as both deejays speak with them. "Until they can both come in and let us know their intentions and let us look at it from the security perspective, then they will not be granted a permit," DSP Phipps said.
February 09, 2008
The Associated Press
SAN FRANCISCO -- Yahoo Inc.'s board plans to reject Microsoft Corp.'s $44.6 billion bid to buy the Internet pioneer, The Wall Street Journal reported on its website Saturday.

Board members concluded the unsolicited offer massively undervalues the company, a person familiar with the situation told the newspaper.

The $31 per share bid was made public on Feb. 1. Board members so far would only say they were studying the offer.

Yahoo's board intends to send a letter to Microsoft on Monday explaining its decision, persons close to the company said.

Microsoft and Yahoo representatives did not immediately return calls for comment.

The slumping Internet company's rejection of the offer might mean Yahoo is getting ready for a long battle, analysts said.

Board members believe Microsoft is attempting to take advantage of a recent slump in share price to take over. But they're not ready to consider any offer below $40 per share, according to a person knowledgeable about the discussions.

Yahoo appears to be counting on Microsoft's reluctance to engage in a hostile takeover.

Ignoring the wishes of management and the board and creating resentment among the web giant's engineers could also make it harder to push the deal past authorities, as Yahoo officials could try to convince regulators that the deal is anticompetitive.

But analysts are uncertain whether Microsoft would be up to paying the higher price per share, which would raise its bid by about $12 billion.

50 Cent recently appeared on Kay Slays Streetsweeper Radio show on Sirius Shade 45 and spoke on Young Bucks noticeable absence from the latest G-Unit mixtape.

The new mixtape Return Of The Body Snatchers release sparked controversy because, while Tony Yayo and Lloyd Banks appear alongside 50 Cent on the mixtape cover, while G-Unit member Young Buck is nowhere to be seen. Buck only appeared on one track on the mixtape.

Bucks absence from the cover and most of the mixtape songs have ofueled rumors of trouble between the Cashville representer, however 50 rebutted those claims.

It looks crazy because he just aint there, then you come back and see the tape and he aint there, but its not what people think it is, 50 told Kay Slay.

50 Cent said that the scheduling conflicts are to blame from both Bucks absence from the G-Unit international tour and the Return of the Bodysnatchers Vol.1 mixtape.

It felt like there was nothing out there, so we went in and recorded it in one weekend, the Return of the Bodysnatchers, 50 explained. Theres been a lot of speculation because Buck is just on that one joint, that wasnt recorded during the process of making this tape, that joint was something we did awhile back.

During the actual international tour, Buck was scheduled to go on the Young Rich Tour - the tour Sha MoneyRich Boy - and I didnt know that didnt actually materialize while I was overseas, he added. [And] thats why they didnt see Buck overseas with us. He was in Nashville while we was in New York the weekend we decided to put the tape together. was putting together for him and Rich Boy - and I didnt know that didnt actually materialize while I was overseas, he added. [And] thats why they didnt see Buck overseas with us. He was in Nashville while we was in New York the weekend we decided to put the tape together.

weh uno think them ready fi a next world cup
That's the question on the lips of the residents of Majestic Gardens (Back-to) this week as Bounty Killer Sundays has revitalized their community and has become a source of joy for the poor residents there.

Bounty_Killer.jpg"The residents met the Superintendent at Hunts Bay yesterday. He will not stop it, he wants to talk to Bounty, mi no know what exactly he wants to say, but my common sense is telling me he wants certain assurance from Killa that there will be no violence. From what the people are telling me, he is not going to make the next one keep, he wants no vibes in the community like what happened in Maverly a few months ago because anywhere Beenie and Bounty link up, ah vibes always gwaan. The Supe say like how it start already, him nah go trouble Bounty Killer Sundays, the other one just nah keep,but him waan talk to Killer," Leroy, one of the promoters of Bounty Killer Sundays told MediaZoneJAEntertainment.com.

Superintendent Newton Amos was not in office when our reporters called this morning but the police officers on duty did not know whether the dance would be permitted tonight.
This series of articles is not intended to lionise or glorify the acts of criminals but to put a historical perspective on criminality in Jamaica, with the hope of shedding light on why the country is now teetering on the edge of lawlessness. Of significant note, as well, is the fact that the subjects of these stories die violently and very young.

IN the 1990s the modern political thug had evolved into a lord of the underworld and, for the most part, had stolen the love shown to political representatives by residents of garrison communities.

20080209T000000-0500_132366_OBS_BULBIE_S_RUTHLESS_REIGN__SHIELDED_BY_POLITICIANS_1.jpg

Politicians and the thugs they supported and used to secure power had had three decades to fine-tune their relationship. By this time, extortion and drug trafficking had become the main money earners for criminal gangs which had less need to feed directly from the political trough.

But there were still areas where gangsters aligned themselves to the dominant party in their garrison communities and, in the process, kept political order.

One gangster who amassed a massive fortune and whose criminal activities created a long list of murder victims was Donovan 'Bulbie' Bennett, former leader of the Spanish Town-based Clansman gang.

Bennett was shielded by politicians, despite the protests of a member of parliament.

Just after the December 1944 general elections, former Prime Minister and National Hero, Alexander Bustamante, set the stage for the 'dog eat dog' style of Jamaican politics when he rewarded his party's supporters with jobs, political favours and other scarce benefits.

Since then, the dogfight for political spoils has never ended.
Bulbie, who was born at King Street in the old capital of Spanish Town in 1964, emerged in the 1990s just as former member of parliament for South Central St Catherine, Heather Robinson, was asked to serve in that constituency by the PJ Patterson-led People's National Party.

During that period, Bulbie was a party strongman, who carried out the bidding of PNP candidate for Central St Catherine, Clinton 'Jingles' Davy, who eventually lost in his bid to unseat incumbent member of parliament, Bruce Golding.

Bulbie was Davy's head honcho who kept order in PNP-aligned communities in the constituency before and after the March 1993 general elections.

Before those elections, a returning officer for South St Catherine was attacked and shot dead. Police say Bulbie and his cronies were suspected to be behind that murder.

When the votes were counted, Robinson had won her seat, but Davy lost by a landslide to Golding. However, victory would prove bittersweet for Robinson when Bulbie and his cronies attached themselves to her political team and began to make several demands.

After summoning the member of parliament to a meeting, Bulbie reportedly told Robinson that his ambition was to be the only don in Spanish Town and its environs. Bulbie reportedly threatened several senior members of the party who were also at the meeting, which was held at Robinson's constituency office, when he said, "All old don ago dead".

Out of concern for her party workers, Robinson called up Davy and asked him to intervene and rein in Bennett. But to Robinson's surprise, her request would be met with a cold response from her former colleague who reportedly told her, "If you won't feed them, I will".

Just days after the meeting, Bulbie and his Clansmen made good on his promise and murdered a popular party worker who worked closely with Robinson.

But it was the murder of Derrick Eccleston, also called 'Puppy String', that brought Bulbie under the police microscope.
Police say Bulbie gained leadership of the Clansman gang after he and three of his cronies launched a gun attack in the PNP enclave of De La Vega City on Eccleston and a group of persons with whom he was conversing. The attack was the third attempt on Eccleston's life, and this time Bulbie and his gang were successful. After shooting and wounding Eccleston, Bulbie reportedly went over the wounded man and pumped several shots into him.

After that killing, Bulbie was listed as wanted for murder. His three cronies who had gone with him into De La Vega City that night were held by police and were later convicted and given lengthy prison terms after being found guilty in the High Court.

The men were convicted after an eyewitness gave evidence which implicated Bulbie and his cronies. But Bulbie was never held by the police and continued to trod on his path of destruction and death.

At the time of his death in October 2005, police say they linked Bulbie to at least 80 murders.

Among those killed by Bulbie and his cronies were a number of PNP workers who worked for the bewildered Robinson. At the time the former politician threatened to resign after accusing a PNP councillor of colluding with Bulbie and facilitating garrison politics.

While her workers were being killed like flies, Robinson appealed to her colleagues in Parliament to dismantle tribalism and dismantle the power base of the dons. In an impassioned plea, Robinson told Parliament that she would not hug up criminals and was not able to give birth to a 'don'.

"In that regard I am truly barren," Robinson said in the famous speech in Gordon House. "Are there any of us in this House who would dare to go to the constituency that they represent and declare to these number one dons or now super predators, that we are finished with them and no longer need their services?"
She also hit out at the old style of politics.

"Some of the old dogs in our Parliament need to be taught new approaches," she also said.

But Robinson would come in for a rude awakening as her plea was met with a stony silence and fell on deaf ears. Instead of supporting their colleague in the drive to clean up the political landscape, the politicians ostracised Robinson and treated her like a traitor. In short she got no help and was left out on a limb.
Weeks after that speech, when it was clear that no action would be taken, Robinson resigned from her position in Parliament in May 1996 after three years in the position.

Bulbie, in the meantime, stuck to his goal and continued building his evil empire by snuffing out his rivals and expanding the turf of his Clansman gang.

Soon the Clansman gang would set up bases in Old Harbour, Dam Head, Linstead and other areas of St Catherine and Clarendon.

By the turn of the millennium, Bennett's criminal empire was worth millions, as he and his gang built a massive extortion racket which targeted fearful business owners and taxi drivers. The main centre of the extortion, according to police, was and still is the Spanish Town municipal bus park.

At the time Bulbie was now a permanent fixture on the police most wanted list, a spot he occupied for the last decade of his life.
But Bulbie's rise to the top of the dung heap of criminality was not unhindered, as a bitter fight for extortion rights erupted between his PNP-aligned Clansmen and the One Order gang, which supports the Jamaica Labour Party.

The war which ensued resulted in hundreds of lives being snuffed out on both sides of the conflict. While the Clansman has bases in the Rivoli, Lime Tree Grove, Lakes Pen, Jones Avenue, Manchester Avenue, Dam Head, Waterford and Fish Ground communities, the One Order gang's bases included Tawes Pen, Ellerslie Pen, Dempshire Pen, Shelter Rock and Oxford Road.

By this time, Bulbie was the beneficiary of a multitude of government contracts, even though he was a wanted man. Like most infamous criminals before him, Bulbie had eyes and ears in the security forces and managed to elude many police dragnets.
In 2001, police suspect that he briefly fled from authorities in Kingston to Great Britain under a false identity.

But like most before him, Donovan 'Bulbie' Bennett would not live to a ripe old age and enjoy the benefits of his ill-gotten gains.
On October 30, 2005, the security forces swooped down on a palatial residence the nation's most wanted man had built in the rustic district of Tanaky nestled in the hills of Clarendon.

The police say as they approached the house they were fired on, and during a shoot-out, Bennett and his driver, identified only as 'Nathan', were killed.

Police say they found Bulbie cl**tching a .50 Desert Eagle pistol, which is valued at US$2,000 and a Ruger pistol from his driver. A quantity of cash and a large cache of jewellery were also found in the house.

At the time of his death, Bulbie's wealth was estimated at over $100 million.

Days after Bulbie's death, the head of the St Catherine Central police division, Superintendent Kenneth Wade, blasted PNP politicians for assisting Bennett who, he said, was given political support and supplied with information while he operated in areas dominated by the party.

During the days following his death, members of Bulbie's gang and persons who were loyal to him rioted by blocking roads, firing on the Spanish Town Police Station and burning T-shirts with the image of former National Security Minister Dr Peter Phillips.

Responses:

Hi mate,
I am a PROUD Jamaican living overseas for a while. It's very generous of you to enlighten a lot of us who weren't around in that era. Greatly appreciated.
How can I get the full series of your excellent research?
Thanks
Leerex65@aol.com

Hello,
I'm Clayton Richards, a Jamaican living in Atlanta, USA. I lived in one of those garrison communities (Waterhouse) for more than 34 years, so I have first-hand knowledge of those so-called "Area Dons".

I love your article on Starkey and your description is right on point. I went to KC 1979 - 1986, so my daily commute to school and back took me through downtown when I took the JOS 91 and "Jungle" when I took the JOS 15.

I have seen the bodies on carts on Darling Street, ducked for cover during the running gun battles on King Street. The stabbings because you wear green, or the mobbings just for wearing your red shirt. The weekly gunpoint robbings of "ductas" and passengers while driving past May Pen Cemetery, Two Miles or Payne Land.

With all that being said, the History Channel has a series called American Gangsters. It basically does the same thing you do, depict the lives of gangsters, killers, drug dons, etc, and like your series, it's not for glorification but knowledge. Your articles should let everyone know that if you choose to recall history you have to show both good and bad. How can you highlight the bravery, courage, "badnis" of a hero without similarly showing the evil, wicked, "dawgheartness" of the "badman".

I would love to know if you have a website where I can get articles of this nature. My son is 3, born here, and I would like to show him in the future the good and bad of his Jamaican culture.

Thanks, and continue your professional journalism.

Clayton Richards
richie_poo@hotmail.com

I enjoy reading your articles but there is a problem with the Starkey story. He was actually, as far as I know, executed by the police after questioning.

Jamaica is faced with two types of criminals - the criminal mind of a harsh police department and the criminal mind of the society.

That is a double whammy. Where the police force is harsh, people are also harsh. Living in metropolitan Toronto someone can surrender to a white police officer and get a fair trial. The Jamaican police are judge, jury and you are most likely to be executed. They believe in that kind of justice. Police must lead by example, must not take the law into their own hands. They must treat criminals with respect so they can learn respect.

Chuck James
chukkjames@yahoo.com

Brother, is there anyway I can get copies of your previous articles on these infamous personalities? Is it possible to go to your archive and re-read some of your past publications?

My younger brother was a police officer in Jamaica during those times and would love to get copies of all of those stories. He was stationed in 'no-man's land' and Denham Town Police Station.

Dennis Wilson
megaboy56@yahoo.com

‘Daddy, Don’t Touch Me

February 10, 2008
Started By ZJSnyper11 Comments

Contrary to popular belief that the rural cane beltway is the main area where the crimes of incest occur, police statistics actually indicate that the parish of St. Catherine has the dubious honour of having the lions share of incest cases in Jamaica.

The cane beltway includes St. Elizabeth, Westmoreland and rural areas of Clarendon.
 Since the year 2000, there have been 45 cases of incest reported in the parish of St. Catherine, a whopping 17 per cent of the 262 of the total cases reported for the entire island between the year 2000 and September 2007.

DE2_incest.jpg
 The St. Catherine courts are choked with cases of a sexual nature, including rape, carnal abuse and incest. 
 There was an unusual one reported in St. Catherine of mother-son incest last year when a 15-year-old schoolboy pleaded guilty to having sexual intercourse with his mentally-ill 44-year-old mother. He was remanded to a place of safety. The boys father was charged with aiding and abetting the offence, and was offered $80,000 bail with surety. The boy reportedly admitted that he had sex with his mother in the one-room shack he shared with three siblings, at least six times, opting to use a condom once.

The boy was charged with incest and defilement of a female imbecile, while his father was slapped with charges of aiding and abetting carnal abuse and aiding and abetting the defilement of a female imbecile.
 St. James was second with a total of 31 cases, while Westmoreland had 29 such cases and St. Andrew had 27 reported cases of incest. Portland had the fewest cases in the last seven years with only five reported.
 The parish of St. Elizabeth had one of the lowest incidences of incest in the island. There was, however, a case last year in that parish which drew public attention and dominated talk radio when a St. Elizabeth farmer was arrested after his four-month-old infant daughter was sexually molested. The 46-year-old farmer was charged with two counts of indecent assault, after eluding the police for a few days.

Investigating officers at the Centre for the Investigation of Sexual Offences and Child Abuse (CISOCA) said that the mother of the child suspected that the child was being molested from February, when she was only two months of age.
 In 1990, there were only six reported cases of incest, and five arrests made. The numbers have increased dramatically since then, reaching a high of 61 reported cases in 1996, with 21 arrests. Last year, there were 40 reported cases islandwide.

Experts feel that the crime is under-reported and that the stigma attached to the practice had led many to believe that it only happens in poor and rural communities. This is a misconception.
 Many persons tend to associate incest with people downtown, but this is a misconception, said one psychologist. It could be your minister of religion, your next-door neighbour, the father of your childs prep school friend seemingly ordinary people like you and me.
 I find a lot of the cases are in the middle-class, and it happens across all sectors of society.

WHAT IS INCEST?

Incest is more about power and less about sex, say the experts.
 Its about how a man can exert total control over someone else, playing upon her needs and wants, threatening to withhold favours from a tender age right up to adulthood, said one counselor.
 Strictly defined, incest is sexual interaction between close relatives: fratrilagnia brother; matrincest mother; patrolagnia father and sororilagnia sister.

But these definitions are too narrow for some people. The psychological definition covers any overtly sexual contact between people who are either closely related or see themselves as such, one psychologist told XtraNews.
 A broader definition of incest is uncles who push their tongues down their nieces throats, grandfathers who fondle their granddaughters breasts, step-parents, step-siblings and even adults who are common-law, once they have assumed a parent role. If a childs boundaries and trust have been violated by anything inappropriate, she continued.

According to experts, father-daughter incest is most common. The interaction usually begins as early as infancy with oral-genital relations, graduating into more hardcore relations and eventually, penetration.
 The Amnesty International report for 2007 stated that sexual violence continued throughout the country, resulting in severe health risks for women and girls. Sexual hara**ment and assault by strangers, friends, family, acquaintances and lovers was widespread but the authorities failed adequately to investigate and punish the perpetrators. Rates of HIV infection among women and girls continued to rise and people living with HIV faced systematic discrimination.

HOW IT AFFECTS THE CHILD

The child usually remains silent about the act, because she is too young to know that such behaviour is prohibited, or because shes afraid of the consequences if she tells anyone about it. Some fathers brainwash their daughters into believing that this is the way to express their love for them. The oldest daughter is usually the target, but others may be abused concurrently, or in sequence, as they grow older.
 Incest often leaves the young child emotionally scarred for life, say psychologists. She is likely to enter into abusive relationships, where the man is the undisputed head; become sexually promiscuous; have an impaired sexual self-esteem resulting in sexual difficulties in relationships; and memories of sexual abuse can lead to universal feelings of depression.
 Psychologists note that the cycle of victimisation and abuse continues far into adulthood, as the woman accepts extreme cases of domestic abuse. She grows embittered and continues to seek male attention in an effort to regain her lost identity.

WHAT THE LAW SAYS

Under the Incest (Punishment) Act 2 (1), any male person who has carnal knowledge of a female person, who is to his knowledge his grand-daughter, daughter, sister or mother, shall be guilty of a misdemeanour, and on conviction thereof before a Circuit Court shall be liable to imprisonment with hard labour for any term not exceeding five years. If it is proven that the female is under 12, imprisonment, a term not exceeding 10 years at hard labour, will apply.

Many stakeholders believe that the law is woefully inadequate. Discussions aimed at reforming the Offences Against the Person Act and the Incest Punishment Act, ongoing since 1995 and 2000, respectively, re-started in a parliamentarian joint committee recently. Proposed amendments to both acts would offer greater legal protection to women and children, including making marital rape a criminal offence and increasing punishments for perpetrators of sexual violence. The Centre for Investigations of Sexual Offences and Child Abuse was improved and given further powers to investigate these crimes.

Kanye good to go for grammys

February 10, 2008
Started By Bucky0 Comments
Kanye West Good To Go For Grammy Performance
Friday, 08 February 2008
ImageGrammy officials have announced that rapper/producer Kanye West is among the artists set to perform at this year's ceremony.

West received the most nominations for the award show with a total of eight nods. Close behind, with six nominations is troubled R&B songstress, Amy Winehouse. Winehouse, who is currently in rehab, is also scheduled to perform but after being denied access into the U.S. will be performing via satellite from the UK.

At the 2006 Grammys, West received six nominations and walked away with three awards including best rap album for Late Registration, as well as best rap song for "Diamonds from Sierra Leone" and rap solo performance for "Gold Digger." He also took home Rap Album of the Year in 2005 for College Dropout.

This year, Ye has a strong hold on the rap field, with nominations for the Best Rap Album and double nominations in the Best Rap Song category - with both "Can't Tell Me Nothing" and "Good Life" vying for the award. Graduation is also in competition with Winehouse's Back To Black in the Album of the Year category.

The 50th annual Grammy awards will be aired live on Sunday (Feb. 10) on CBS at 8 p.m. EST.

Lovelette Brooks, News Editor

Layout1_1_PRGICKnowYourLM.jpg
Layout1_1_PHQXWJoelAndeAM.jpg
Joel Andem, formerly Jamaica's most wanted man, being escorted by a policeman for his appear-ance in the Gun Court in June 2004. - File

A spattering of houses hugs the edge of a steep incline leading to the heartland of Clarksonville, a small farming district in St Ann. All are humble dwellings, with many in various stages of completion. We turn off the main road and start the climb into the hills in search of Joel Andem's house. The road is narrow, unpaved in patches and is not easy to navigate.

Clarksonville featured prom-inently in the news in May 2004 when Joel Andem, branded then as 'Jamaica's most wanted man' for over four years, was captured from within its bowels.

According to police reports, at the time of his capture, "the 40-year-old fugitive was considered to be a very dangerous individual often armed with an AK-47 rifle and a 9-mm pistol." Based on his modus operandi, the police had upgraded his status, months before his capture, from that of a fugitive to terrorist.

Imprisonment

Andem quietly built a house and settled in Clarksonville, before being captured by the security forces and sentenced to 20 years' imprisonment. The police have linked him to a number of crimes in the Corporate Area, including murders, robberies, shootings, extortion and abductions. He was the alleged head of the 'Gideon Warriors' gang, whose members lived in the hilly terrain of Landlease, St Andrew, a community overlooking Hope Gardens.

It is Saturday afternoon and the near setting sun has begun to cast long shadows across the Clarksonville community. Balancing a bucket of water set snugly on her head, a young woman inches towards the vehicle to answer our query.

"Who? Whose house. Me don't know anything. Drive further up the road and ask the people up there," she says, pointing to a group of men in conversation by a gate.

We climb further uphill, and take her advice. The men, eyeing us suspiciously, are more eager to talk about the economy and how bad the market is for their crops.

"Clarksonville is quiet. We just need some help with the farming. Once we get that, we all right, because things rough. You don't hear a gunshot or nothing fire up here. Me don't like town (Kingston), and when me have to go now and then to do business, me 'fraid, man," says the self-appointed spokesman for the group.

"What happened here (the capture of Joel Andem) years ago is history," he reasons. "Me don't think it will happen again. So you don't know where you going?. The house is farther down the road, you pass it. Just drive back down and when you see the house on you right, you will know it."

It is a beautifully constructed two-storey pink and white house which stands back from the road on a small plateau. Although considerably more substantial than the other houses, the contrast is not obvious, because Joel Andem did not have very close neighbours. In this district, the houses appear in clusters, with enough space between clusters to offer some measure of privacy.

We enter the yard, and a young woman with a baby greets us. She informs us that Andem's nephew, Omar Mattis, is inside making sweets and that she is his "babymother."

Andem, who former Commissioner of Police Francis Forbes described as an "urban-type guerrilla," did not interact much with his neighbours.

"I saw him only a couple of times, mostly early morning, and we didn't even say good morning. He was quiet, pleasant, and we all think him just come from foreign," says a resident. "The house was built by builders from Kingston and a lot of work went on at nights."

"People never know him name, so if they even see him, they wouldn't know is him name Joel Andem," Mattis' girlfriend confides.

She continues: "Him did not go on the street; him mostly watch TV and sleep. Everybody think is a foreigner live here."

It was only after his capture, it was reported, that residents of Clarksonville started to speculate and show interest in the house.

It consists of six bedrooms, two bathrooms, a spacious living room and a kitchen. At the time of his capture, all four bedrooms on the upper floor were furnished, including the master bedroom, which was white in decor, complete with a four-post bed, over which hung an elaborate chandelier.

The police had the house under surveillance, relates Mattis' girlfriend, who was taken into custody along with Andem's elderly father. surprise

After manoeuvring through the thick fog and rough terrain, the joint police-military team, led by Senior Superintendent Donald Pusey, took Andem by surprise.

"He did not not attempt to escape. We knocked at the door and he came out. He looked the same but seemed to now weigh more than 200 pounds," SSP Pusey reported.

Four years on, The Sunday Gleaner senses fear as we talk with people in the community about Joel Andem. Many refuse to comment, and Andem's next-door neighbour, leader of a Zionist church, asks the news team to leave her premises.

"Please, I am begging you all to come out of the yard. You putting my life in danger by being here. I can't talk with you, I really can't," she pleads.

Clearly not made complacent by his five Grammy Award nominations, Timbaland will be taking his hitmaking production to a phone near you. The producer announced that he as teamed up with Verizon Wireless to create the first "mobile album."

According to Billboard.com, the album will be made exclusively available to subscribers of V Cast, Verizon's mobile entertainment service.

Timbaland will produce one song a month through 2008, each time working with a different artist. In addition, he will tour the country on the Verizon Mobile Recording Studio Bus. Making-of footage of this process will also be available for V Cast subscribers.

The project, which will be on a dedicated Timbaland channel, was explained by the producer. He reasoned that "every place don't get a CD [but] everybody has a mobile phone. Just producing a mobile album has never been done. I'm the first to ever do it."

Though he is not contractually obligated to Interscope for the mobile album, Timbo will be working with some of the label's artists for the tracks. The tracks will be released days after they are produced in numerous forms: full-length download, ringtone and ringback. Then, at the end of the year a compilation "album" is to be released exclusively through Verizon.

"I'm just going to have fun with it," said Timbaland, pointing out that he would not focus on a particular genre. "I'll just do what comes in mind." Possible artists to be featured on the songs are OneRepublic, Paramore, Flo Rida, Natasha Bedingfield, Taylor Swift and Chris Cornell. Confirmed is Keri Hilson, an artist on Timbaland's Interscope imprint, Mosley Music.

"How I prepare for [the new album] is, I just do it, like any other album," said Timbaland. "The only difference is it's immediate."

2008 Reggae grammy nomination

February 10, 2008
Started By Casino3 Comments

Best Reggae Album
(Vocal or Instrumental.)

• The Burning Spear Experience
    Burning Spear

• Mind Control
    Stephen Marley

• The End Of An American Dream
    Lee "Scratch" Perry
    [Megawave]

• Anniversary
    [Taxi Records]

Light Your Light
    Toots & The Maytals

[Fantasy]

The stars came out in their numbers. Bounty Killer showed up, and later in the night Mavado appeared and then Aidonia arrived after 4 .a.m after mashing up Spectrum 2k8. DAngel, Harry Toddler and Voicemail were also present. Elephant Man, who is Sidonies babyfather, was front and centre, soaking in the aura of his babymother who was glowing and radiant that night. CLICK HERE FOR PICTURES

Sidonie.jpgSidonie greeted her fans and danced with them and was a great hostess for the night. She changed twice and the lace outfit was the talk of the party. The ZIP and IRIE massive was there and in full effect, girls like Zanica, Audra, Sherae, Candy, and hot girls like the Elite models Marsha and Claudia. Music video director Julia Braham seemed to be having ball, posing for pictures. ZIP Boss D. Williams, and radio personality Nikki Z were also present.

Juggling was provided by Sidonies friend Gregory Sinclair in the early runnings.

One question though: why did her friend Bobbie go on the mike and procced to run two girls out of the party? That was slightly embarra**ing. Last question though: Do you think that Elephant Man wants back Sidonie inna him life? He was drooling all over her at the party.

Which Website is Better

January 27, 2008
Started By ANDREDESIGNZ 30 Comments
Which Website is Better ct
Alleged private Bounty Killer conversation becomes public

What is said to be a heated private conversation between a voice that sounded like that of deejay Bounty Killer and a woman said to be his ex-girlfriend, Peaches has hit the entertainment ground running as the CD with the explicit conversation has become the much sought after item in the dancehall world this week.

bounty.jpgMediazonja gained a copy of the CD, which contains snippets of the what appeared to be the voice of the deejay in a heated conversation with a female featuring samples of at least three dancehall songs including the intro to Kartels Nuh Badda Try on the Tremor rhythm and Lady Saws If The Man Lef.

The CD begins with the Lady Saw song just before the voice of Peaches barks in anger:

Dutty, stinking, suck p---y Bounty Killer, weh yuh a call me phone fah?

The voices then exchange insults in an expletive-stained, bitter conversation that lasts several minutes

At the end of the CD, Peaches voice says, every one ah yuh enemy ah get this, mi record that!

Peaches who describes herself as a brown-skinned girl who looks like DAngel. She said she was forced to record the conversation after Bounty Killer threatened her.

It was an actual conversation, he was my man and him start gwaan like him no have no sense, ah talk bout him ah go kick off mi face and kick out mi teeth, so mi record him, and mi copy the threatening text dem to my computer and send it to all my friend dem phone, she said.

Asked what was the source of the argument, she admitted:

LISTEN

-- Edited by ADMIN at 07:00, 2007-05-23

Best Reggae Album
(Vocal or Instrumental.)

• The Burning Spear Experience
    Burning Spear

• Mind Control
    Stephen Marley

• The End Of An American Dream
    Lee "Scratch" Perry
    [Megawave]

• Anniversary
    [Taxi Records]

Light Your Light
    Toots & The Maytals

[Fantasy]

-- Edited by Casino at 12:48, 2008-02-10

High quality MP3 ripping with WMP

January 27, 2008
Started By KLite6 Comments
Windows media player on XP can encode high quality mp3. Here is how: Install a mp3 codec, then make the following registry changes: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\MediaPlayer\Settings\MP3Encoding "LowRate"=dword:0000dac0 "MediumRate"=dword:0001f400 "MediumHighRate"=dword:0003e800 "HighRate"=dword:0004e200 Reboot and changes will be evident in media player options.

Deva Bratt held for carnal abuse - Second such charge for deejay

By Rasbert Turner and Teino Evans, STAR Writers

STARLEFT_1_POQSPHighlanAM.jpg
Deva Bratt - File

Portmore Empire artiste, Deva Bratt, is currently in police custody after he was held last Monday evening on carnal abuse charges. The Waterford police has confirmed that the Portmore-based deejay, whose real name is Sheldon Smith, was taken into custody in connection with an alleged case of carnal abuse, committed against a 14-year-old girl. Reports from the police are that the entertainer was picked up at his home in Westchester, Portmore. According to the investigators, on Monday morning, the 14-year-old victim was walking along a street in the Westchester community when advances were made at her. She was subsequently held by two men and dragged into a room where she was sexually assaulted. The victim then went to school and reported her ordeal to the guidance counsellor, who advised her to seek medical attention. Following the examination, the police was called in and an investigation led to Smith being arrested and charged. However, further checks by THE STAR has revealed that it is not the first time that the entertainer is being accused of committing a sexual offence. He is currently before the Spanish Town Resident Magistrate's Court on a separate carnal abuse charge, involving another 14-year-old girl with whom he is accused of having a relationship. Deva Bratt is to re-appear in court on Monday, February 11, to answer to that charge. Misunderstanding Deva Bratt, who had spoken to THE STAR in an earlier interview about his alleged case of carnal abuse said, "It was all just a misunderstanding between a under age young miss weh did a mention mi name a school seh wi deh an it reach a station. I went to court to really clear up my name, because wah happen, di girl did run weh from har yard an did deh a man yard an suh tru me use to be like a mentor to har, people did get di wrong idea." He also said, "Although mi vex bout di whole ting, a history, tings happen weh mek up yuh history, an tings ago happen but dem tings nah guh stop wi, is always a learning process." Deva Bratt, who was recently in the media spotlight for his ongoing lyrical feud with fellow deejay Munga Honourable, is known for songs like Gussy Clarke, Bungle A Gyal, Wurth It Gyal and Auto Tune.

Luton Fire charged with arson

February 10, 2008
Started By ZJSnyper4 Comments
Another Dancehall artiste has found himself in trouble with the law.

Thirty-one-year-old Anthony Martin otherwise called "Luton Fire" was Friday charged by the police in St. Catherine in connection with a fire which destroyed a house in Thompson Pen in the parish.

The DJ, who was slated to receive an award in Kingston on     Thursday night, is charged with arson.

He is booked to appear in the Spanish Town Resident Magistrate Court on Tuesday.

Luton Fire was arrested on Wednesday while watching a football match at the Prison Oval in Spanish Town.

A police source told RJR News that on December 3 last year, Luton Fire led a group of men to a tenement yard in the community to look for a man.

The DJ claimed the man disrespected him while he was performing at a stage show.

When they did not find the man, they allegedly attacked an occupant of the premises.

Before leaving, Luton Fire and the group of men allegedly fire bombed the house.

This resulted in 16 persons including nine children being left homeless.

*-* Parish status for P'more?*-*

February 9, 2008
Started By rrDesignZ 6 Comments

With the new year upon us, Mayor of the Portmore Keith Hinds says one of the first things he will seek to do is make Portmore Jamaica's 15th parish.

They mayor, speaking recently, says he will be putting plans in place to achieve this and hopes this effort will bear fruit soon. He says he will implement new measures to deal with crime, improve the physical infrastructure and create jobs, but first off, he will clean up the municipality. "Our shrubbery and other unwanted trees must go. We have to replace these with flowers, palms and fruit trees," Mayor Hinds notes. He adds that the Portmore Municipal Council will be seeking ways of creating job opportunities. "With a strong tourism product interlinking the old capital of Spanish Town, downtown Kingston and Port Royal to the east, we have to look at ways of increasing job creation within the municipality itself," he reveals. He says he will also move ahead with plans put in place by the former Mayor, George Lee, to construct an emancipation park and an old age home in the municipality.
findImg.php?pic_size=200&table_name=news_img_tab&table_field=img_id&img_id=1189 Dancehall newcomer and Beenie Man's protégé Barbee, walked away with two awards at the recently concluded Excellence in Music and Entertainment (EME) awards shows held in the Gardens of the Jamaica Pegasus Hotel in New Kingston.

The show which is the brainchild of radio broadcaster Richard Burgess more popularly knows as "Richie B" saw the young singer taking home the coveted awards for Best New Artiste (female) and also Best Collaboration which she shared with Beenie Man for the song 'Give It Up" on Mario C's Revenge riddim.

Some of the other recipients were, Buju Banton for Album of the Year, Dancehall's Bad Boy Mavado, Sinjay of the Year, Tarrus Riley copped two EMEs for Vocalist of the Year and Song of the Year for 'She's Royal'. While Munga was handed the Best New Artiste (male) and the king of the dancehall, Beenie Man took away, Song of the Year (dancehall) and Deejay of the Year.

This was the fourth staging of the EME awards and also the first time the event has been held outside of the Studios of Hot 102 FM.
Man lived in house with dead body on sofa for ten years

The tenant in the Bristol flat where a decomposed body was found told neighbours he "forgot" the corpse was there.

Alan Derek, who is aged in his late 60s, is said to have offered the dead man a place to sleep on his sofa a decade ago.

But the man died after a drinking session - and Alan told neighbours he was "too scared" to inform the council in case they punished him for having a lodger.

Council workmen who found the corpse said it was still in an upright sitting position on the sofa and resembled "a pile of dirt with bones sticking out".

Neighbour Reggie Askins, 76, said: "The pair had met in the local pub. They were around the same age and would have a good laugh.

"I know that the guy was struggling to find somewhere to live and that Alan offered him a place to sleep on his sofa.

"But when they came home one night the other guy died. Alan was too scared to tell anyone about it.

"He knew he shouldn't have had a lodger - he hadn't told the council and was worried they would stop his Giro.

"So he just turned the sofa over and forgot about him. When I was talking to him after the body was found he said 'I can't believe it. I just forgot he was there'."

One official who entered the flat this week said: "It seemed that the man had been sitting on the sofa in an upright position when he died and had just been left there.

"When we went into the lounge the body was totally decomposed. It didn't even look like a human being - it just looked like a pile of earth with bones sticking out.

"The flat was in an absolutely terrible state. It was disgusting." According to the workman, a council clearance team had been sent into the flat in 2002 because neighbours were complaining about the stench.

Tenant Alan, a former council binman, only let them in after they agreed not to touch the sofa.

Yesterday he refused to comment about the body when approached at his local pub nearby.

He said: "I'm not talking about this. I don't know what you're talking about. I didn't know it was there."

Neighbours described Mr Derek as a "down and out" who had lived without electricity for nearly 20 years.

A source at Bristol City Council said: "This is a very peculiar case, possibly the strangest we have ever come across.

"The flat itself is absolutely filthy. The walls were covered with dirt - he's obviously a very disturbed man.

"I'm not sure if he kept the body in the flat for company, but after looking at the state of the property I would say that he obviously struggled to carry out basic daily tasks.

"He doesn't have any friends and we don't know of any family relatives. We were only alerted to the problem by a neighbour who said a smell was coming from the flat.

"I think the worst case of a body being found after it had decomposed was after a year. We can't belive that this poor guy has been dead here for ten years."

Charities today called for the council to explain why it took years to discover the decomposed body.

A spokesman for Help The Aged said: "This is an extremely distressing case and I think the agencies responsible need to ask themselves some serious questions as to how a dead body was lying undiscovered for so long.

"This was an older person, and the local authority who have a duty of case should have responded to concerns from neighbours. "The council has some difficult questions to answer." The Housing charity Shelter said:

"This is a shocking case. This is obviously a very extreme situation but it highlights the need for councils to listen to the concerns of housing tenants.

"The smell of a decomposing body must have been terrible. Tenants have a right to live in a clean environment.

"If tenants had raised concerns about it to the local authority, these concerns should have been responded to."

Code:
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/pages/live/articles/news/news.html?in_article_id=513079&in_page_id=1770
November 10, 2007
Beenie Man Meets Cambridge High School Queen 2007
Story and Photo By: Alan Lewin

Beenie Man and Taurus Riley were on the scene to congratulate Monique Lawson who was crowned Miss Cambridge 2007 Queen at the finals held at the Cambridge High School in Montego Bay on Saturday November 3, 2007.

Competing against five other contestants Lawson, wore the sash Miss Anya's Maternity, was made an early favorite from her introduction. In addition, to winning the crown she won other sectional prizes such as most talented and most congenial.Beenie Man meets Miss Cambridge Queen Monique Lawson.jpg

First runner up was Carla Doeman, Miss Dependable Hardware, who also won prizes for best smile and best figure, with third place going to Shauna Kaye Chin, Miss Sonny Ranking Promotion. The show saw several artistes from Montego Bay appearing on stage doing performances. They were Mikey Ranks, Sheriff, Mixing Lab, T.Q., White Night and Lt. Elmo.

Special guest artistes were Taurus Riley and Beenie Man. After the show which was courtesy of Lagga Promotion, D.J. Beenie Man congratulated the 2007 Queen Monique Lawson and met with his loyal fans and took several photographs with them.

Portmore sus

February 9, 2008
Started By rrDesignZ 2 Comments

STARSP761_1_P62MKPortmoNM.jpg

STARSP761_1_PFLUQXmALE2AM.jpgSTARSP761_1_PWGV5CourtnAM.jpgSTARSP761_1_PWVAFdetermAM.jpgSTARSP761_1_P5GW4ingConAM.jpg
From Left: 'X-ALE, Courtney John, Determine and One Third

Portmore, some gyal waan sun out, yu nuh hear wah Spice say, dem nuh stay good and waan come mix up wid people. Wah happen to some gyal who caan sleep a night because baby duppy ah badda dem? Mi bring mi pickney, and mi rich and happy. Suss time.

FALL OF THE EMPIRE?

People ah rejoice and ah talk say the Empire ah crumble, but mi feel say it will be just like the movie, the Empire ah go rise again. No great dynasty can build without a little *la*hd and tribulation, ah just so the ting set. But tings look 'deva' fi Deva Bratt wid the jail ting, and the Emperor himself look like him inna some trouble because Kingfish waan question him. But ah just so the ting go, sometimes yu up, sometimes yu down. The world is a cycle like how Richie Spice say.

GUIDANCE AND DETERMINE CLASH

Why Guidance and Determine come in like dem a tek dis clash ting between them personal? Mi hear Guidance song the other day pon Hitz and mi impress, the man ah tek it to Determine wicked wid the obeah argument dem. But still, ah Determine start the war when him say Guidance ah one hit wonder, so mi no know. The ting set a way.

POW, POW, POW YOU AGAIN

Ah really can't understand some man when it come to dem youth. Not because di mother 'ave it like dat. Memba yu contribute in bringin him to di world, suh duh yuh ting when him deh yah. 'What 'ave yu done four him lately?' Annsa dat. Yuh nuh affi buy Armani but get him his necessary. A little beach outing nuh really cut it cuz a day lunch nuh tek care a pickney. Wen yuh a guh stop dis 'bout yuh want DNA test di worl know a fi yuh own and yu going to shame like di other wey try dah trick deh fi avoid maintenance.

X-ALE YU GONE A LEAD

Mi hear Nikki Z ah rinse out X-ale new song the other day pon ZIP. The song ah tek the place by storm.Dem youth yah really a sey dem a di baddest. A wanda what One Third goin to sey, dem a di maddest or what. Let's jus' wait and see.

FASHION ERROR FI REAL

Why di angel win the Female Fashion Icon award and she look pap down from di 'doc' drop har like a bad habit? Dem shoulda give it to Ce'Cile. Mi see D'Angel so-called hot clothes dem pon sale pon the streets dem in Manhattan and me is a gyal weh know my fashion and mi travel regula. But stick a pin Portmore, if me a go somewhere and mi know my ex-man ah go de de wid him woman, den me ah go dress fi kill, so how dem sandals de drop in at the people dem Youth View awards? Especially since her foot dem big like Captain Bakery bread.

ONE THIRD GOES GANGSTA

What a way One Third dem gone gangsta wid the song, Garrison Anthem. The man dem use the Timbaland song I Apologize and dun the place the other day over the Vybz Rum party. The lyrics dem a straight gangsta ting and from Little Richie endorse it, the radio man dem start play it, and the group ah party hard ah Dutty Fridaze, Passa Passa, every session. The man dem in the streets, and now dem find the song, nothing caan stop dem. Big up Ray anywhere yu de. Fraction Entertainment fi life.

COURTNEY JOHN GIVES AWAY US$500 AND HOTEL ROOM

What a way Courtney John Valentine's show hype? The man ah giway a hotel room fi two night at the Caves and US$500 in cash as long as you can answer the question dem pon IRIE FM website. The man ting dem always different. Memba when the man have a helicopter a shoot him pon a raft over Blue Lagoon and the helicopter almost tun over the raft? The man ting no normal, memba!

QUESTION TIME

What a way every body ah Waterford happy fi Blak Ryno and how him score him first hit, Mek Di Paper? It de pon RE charts.

What a way Jeffrey Hype Resident Evil sell off?

How Future Fambo Wok Dem a guh suh hard pon 'Premiere' Riddim? Titus memba dem cant stop yuh dis year.

What a way Capleton and Beenie combine well fi mash up Black My Story up a Belvedere last week?

What a go happen a Spring Break between Danielle and D'Angel? Ah pure fireworks gwaan a Spectrum the other day. The two ah dem get boo and forward but Danielle forward bigger.

Mark Messam, yu song, No Politics ah get crazy hits on Youtube. Rhode Island love yu, but when yu a come back a Naggo Head come endorse the place again?

How Central Point Crew in Ochi dem a guh suh hard? CAMPAGIN AGAINST BAD-MINE wit all T-shirt. Uno need fi get one, dem mad. Mi soon get mine.

Who dem two girl weh get run outta Sidonie Purple and White party?

Wha tek Ms. Diva? She need fi save up fi pay fi har breast reduction surgery.

Which big superstar ah drive second hand, hand me down Range Rover?

Why Bar-Bee love wear dem frilly frilly Cinderella outfit de? She need fi grow up.

What a way Rock Supreme song Just Like That with Jarvis Church ah go hard? Mi hear it a rinse out on the radio. Big up Bankazz Entertainment.

Wah Congress Friday ah go do now that Scratchy B start back him Thursday night ting?

Why Alaine always sound the same way no matter what she a sing? Rise In Love and Sacrifice come in like the same song.

What a way Milk ah stare pon Bounty Killer ah Fashion Sundays over Hillview and him nah pay her no mind?

How Ras Kassa get so hype and waan change him name to a symbol? Him tink him a Prince?

Ah true say Heavy D ah bodyguard Danielle now?

Who was that nice browning hanging out with Mavado at Fashion Sundays?

How Nuffy lef Silverstone and gone live inna two bedroom apartment and him just have two song weh start play pon radio? Watch the hype. Mine yu end up like Mega Banton.

How some bwoy a hype and dem no mek money inna the music business like Mad Cobra? The man song wid Rancid sell off all roun' the world, crazy ting.

*-* Bad Fruta recall*-*

February 9, 2008
Started By rrDesignZ 2 Comments
Consumers who may have purchased the 250 ml size 'Fruta' orange juice bearing the expiry date of May 2, 2008 should return the product immediately, warns the Consumer Affairs Commission (CAC). THE STAR was informed that the product was recently recalled by Jamaica Beverages Limited after some irregularities were discovered. After checks with CAC, communication specialist Dorothy Campbell confirmed that the product in question was reportedly ordered to be removed from shelves some two weeks ago. Though that size product is not as popular as those sold in tetra packs and cans, customers who might have bought the product are urged to be careful. "I was informed that two weeks ago steps were taken to recall the product because it was noticed that the product was breaking down," Ms. Campbell said. In explaining the term 'breaking down', Ms. Campbell said that she had heard that there was some discolouration of the product, among other factors. THE STAR was also informed that Jamaica Beverages Limited had embarked on an islandwide operation to collect the product which had already been distributed. According to Ms. Campbell, the CAC sought to ensure that the proper procedure was done during the operation. She went on to add that it was reported that all bottles of the commodity which were collected were destroyed, under supervision. "All bottles were destroyed, they cut each bottle under proper supervision," she said. As such, Ms. Campbell is urging all customers to return the commodity immediately to the location where it was purchased, as measures have been put in place for a refund. "We advise all customers who bought the product to return it to the point of sale and get their money back. Should there be any problems call the CAC," she said. Efforts to contact Paul Shoucair, general manager at Jamaica Beverages Limited were unsuccessful as the number provided went unanswered. A similar situation also occurred in Barbados, THE STAR learnt. A report which was seen on a website (Caribbean360.com), summarised that the product was also recalled by that country's ministry of health. According to the report: "Recent investigations by the ministry had revealed that some of the drinks were contaminated with candida or klebsiella organisms and are therefore considered to be unwholesome." Officials at the local Ministry of Health say they will also be investigating the matter of the recall.

*-*Malijah 'Smoking' for 2008*-*

February 9, 2008
Started By rrDesignZ 3 Comments
Malijah who won hearts with the hit No Combo in 2007, believes that he may already be on the verge of landing his next big hit with his latest single, Smoking which criticizes males who he calls joker smokers.

"The concept came about when a man came to me one day and begged me a spliff and it turn out say me end up haffi give him grabber and lighter, everyting, so him can have a smoke. So mi realize that he is a joker smoker, him have a habit and caan maintain it," Malijah said.

"Even the man himself realize it because we de de a hold a meds and a next man beg another man a spliff and a light and him not get nothing, and him turn to me and say him lucky because him get everything him need fi smoke and feel irie."

The song, produced by Fernando Garcia, on the Nice Time label is already getting excellent rotation in the dancehall. In the meantime, Malijah's No Combo hit with Zenny has been paying dividends, and he performed at most of the major shows in the last few months including Pepsi Teensplash, Trelawny Family Fun Day, March Out 2008, Reggae Fever, a brilliant performance at Rebel Salute 08, and the recent Goodfellas anniversary dance in Naggo Head, Portmore.

"We're making moves, doing what we have to do. The No Combo song is getting great response in the UK, Cayman Islands, disc jockeys from Diverse FM, and Vibes FM in the UK say the tune sell off, so we're going to continue working," he said.

Malijah's upcoming shows include Western Consciousness, Negril Spring Break and a show in Columbia in June.

*-*Lutan Fyah on arson charge*-*

February 9, 2008
Started By rrDesignZ 4 Comments
Maybe Lutan Fyah has taken his deejay name a bit too literally.

The singer, whose real name is Andre Martin, was taken into custody by the Spanish Town police on a charge of suspected arson earlier this week and is expected to appear in the Spanish Town Resident Magistrate Court on Tuesday.

Lutan_fyah.jpgmzjaEntertainment.com understands that the singer, who is known for hits such as St. Jago De La Vega and Save the Juveniles, was involved in a controversial incident last year with men from the Beacon Hill community in Thompson Pen.

A few houses were burnt down allegedly by men aligned with Lutan Fyah after those men had heckled the deejay at a stage show and even suggested that Lutan Fyah had had an intimate relationship with an underage girl in Thompson Pen.

Lutan Fyah's camp has repeatedly denied the allegations.

The situation was successfully mediated in the days following the torching of the house and it was expected that the deejay would have made restitution to the burnt-out families, or at least rebuilt the house. Nothing was done, and Martin, who was a long-time resident of Thompson Pen, had subsequently moved out of the community.

The police then made the arrest after conducting further investigations into the incident.

It is ironic that the deejay was arrested during the same week which he won an EME (Excellence in Music and Entertainment) award for being the Most Cultural artiste.

Traffic Is Such A Drag

February 9, 2008
Started By viper_3kj4 Comments
Traffic Is Such A Drag Well, He Was Wearing a Garter and Boots (02-08) 20:10 PST Portland, Maine (AP) -- The Cumberland County Sheriff's Office is looking for a man with a mustache who is pulling in front of female drivers and then jumping out of his vehicle while wearing women's underwear, a garter belt and black high-heel boots. Since last spring, there have been six reports about the cross-dressing motorist. The most recent incident was last Sunday. The episodes have occurred in the Standish-Buxton area. Sheriff Mark Dion said that while the man's behavior may not be criminal in terms of dress, the fact that he's jumping out in roadways and apparently targeting women who are alone is cause for concern. The sheriff said women have had to swerve to avoid the man. Code: http://www.sfgate.com/cgi-bin/article.cgi?f=/n/a/2008/02/08/international/i131845S36.DTL
«First  <  1491 492 493 494 495524  >  Last»  | Page of 524  sorted by