Forum: News & Topical Issues

News updates, entertainment, hot topics, gossip | Share and discover what is happening right now.
At least 80 people have been killed in a suicide bombing outside the Afghan city of Kandahar - in what appears to be the deadliest attack since 2001.

The massive blast hit a crowd of people watching a dog-fighting contest.

"This suicide attack was the work of the Taleban," said Governor Assadullah Khalid, adding the death toll may rise.

Southern Afghanistan is a Taleban stronghold and last week the Kandahar governor himself was the target of an attempt on his life.

The Taleban have not claimed responsibility for the blast, but it bears all their hallmarks, says the BBC's Jon Brain in the Afghan capital.

Among those killed was Abdul Hakim, a local police chief fiercely opposed to the Taleban who is thought to have been the target of the attack.

Body parts

Excitement was mounting among the 500-strong, male-only crowd when the huge blast struck.

I counted over 40 people on the ground dead Abdul Karim,Dog-fight spectator

Dog-fighting competitions, which were banned under the Taleban regime, are a popular pastime in Afghanistan.

"Fighting had just started between two dogs," said one spectator, Abdul Karim.

"Suddenly I heard a huge explosion next to a police vehicle. Then I saw lots of people dead and wounded.

"I counted over 40 people on the ground dead," Mr Karim, 53, told the AFP news agency.

Twisted car and bicycle parts littered the ground as shawls and shoes lay scattered among the bodies of the dead and wounded.

Injured spectators staggered through the carnage searching for relatives.

Scores of wounded were packed into civilian cars and rushed to hospitals in the city centre, some 15km (nine miles) away.

US internet company AOL has become the latest firm to hold talks with Yahoo about a possible deal to fend off an approach from Microsoft, a report says.

Advisers from Time Warner-owned AOL have held talks with representatives of Yahoo to see if a deal is workable, the Sunday Telegraph reported.

Microsoft has offered to buy Yahoo for more than $40bn (Ł20.5bn).

But AOL is thought to be keen on being the firm that helps Yahoo avoid falling into Microsoft's cl**tches.

Last week Rupert Murdoch's News Corporation was said to have taken an interest in merging its online interests - which include MySpace - with Yahoo.

'Walk away'

Yahoo has dismissed Microsoft's $31-a-share offer as undervaluing its brand, audience, investments in advertising platforms and future growth prospects, free cash flow and earnings potential.

And according to a separate report, an influential Microsoft investor has called on the software giant to walk away from the Yahoo offer.

Robert Olstein, a fund manager with about one million Microsoft shares has written to the firm saying that it should "in no circumstances" raise its offer.

He, like many other investors, believes that buying Yahoo would prove a distraction to Microsoft, the Observer said.

Microsoft shares have fallen by about 10% since it made the Yahoo offer - wiping almost $35bn from its share value.

Microsoft wants to merge with Yahoo to increase its online presence and enable it to better compete with industry leader Google.

American dies after fall

February 17, 2008
Started By ZJSnyper6 Comments

An American national was pronounced dead at the Savanna-la-Mar Hospital from injuries he sustained when he fell over a cliff at West End, Negril, Westmoreland on Thursday night.

Dead is 57-year-old Peter McIntosh of South Street, West Allis, Wisconsin, USA.
Reports from the CCN's liaison officer for Westmoreland are that about 9 p.m., McIntosh was sitting on a wall near the cliff when he lost his balance and fell over, landing some 40 ft below. He sustained head injuries and was taken to the Savanna-la-Mar Hospital where he was pronounced dead.
The Negril Police are investigating.

Doctors group backs medical marijuana

American College of Physicians urges government to rethink prohibition

sourceReuters2.gif
updated 4:10 p.m. PT, Fri., Feb. 15, 2008

WASHINGTON - A leading U.S. doctors group has endorsed using marijuana for medical purposes, urging the government to roll back a prohibition on using it to treat patients and supporting studies into its medical applications.

The American College of Physicians, the second-largest doctors group in the United States, issued a policy statement on medical marijuana this week after it was approved by its governing body, the group said on Friday.

The group cited evidence that marijuana is valuable in treating severe weight loss associated with AIDS, and nausea and vomiting associated with chemotherapy in cancer patients.

"Additional research is needed to clarify marijuana's therapeutic properties and determine standard and optimal doses and routes of delivery. Unfortunately, research expansion has been hindered by a complicated federal approval process, limited availability of research-grade marijuana and the debate over legalization," the group said.

The Philadelphia-based group, founded in 1915, is made up of 124,000 doctors who treat adults.

"The richness of modern medicine is to carefully evaluate new treatments. Marijuana has been in a special category because of, I suppose, its abuses and other concerns," Dr. David Dale, the group's president and a University of Washington professor of medicine, said in a phone interview.

David Murray, the White House Office of National Drug Control Policy's chief scientist, said, "The science should be kept open. There should be more research. We should continue to investigate."

The policy statement said, "ACP encourages the use of nonsmoked forms of THC (the main psychoactive element in marijuana) that have proven therapeutic value." It also backed research into additional therapeutic uses of marijuana.

The government should review marijuana's status as a so-called schedule I controlled substance, alongside such drugs as LSD and heroin, given scientific evidence of its safety and efficacy for some medical conditions, the doctors group said.

It called for exempting doctors who prescribe or dispense medical marijuana in accordance with state law from federal criminal prosecution and other actions. It also urged protection from criminal penalties for patients who use medical marijuana as permitted under state laws.

DAWN OF DESTINY

February 17, 2008
Started By dj gerba0 Comments
wineyo shockwave entertainment presents dawn of destiny, june 13th 2k8, village cafe', zj chrome, ali patch and arif cooper.....aslo shockwave entertainment....

it ago maad!!!!

special guest dj.....nico bam bam......a crazy ting......

nuff liqure....nuff girlzz.....mad music....crazy vibes

$1200 entrance feebee3cyweedPROTECtunemad

-- Edited by dj gerba at 21:04, 2008-02-17

-- Edited by dj gerba at 21:07, 2008-02-17

Two men were arrested and three guns seized in separate incidents between Wednesday and Thursday, police are reporting.

An illegal firearm was seized at Tanzania Pathway in Tavares Gardens, Kingston 13 on Thursday.

9mm found

Police reports are that between 10 a.m. and 12:30 p.m., an operation was carried out in Tavares Gardens and surrounding areas. During the exercise, a premises was searched and a Ruger 9mm pistol with serial number 30274777, as well as a magazine containing 10 9mm cartridges were seized. No one was arrested in connection with the seizure. The Hunts Bay Police are investigating.
The Half-Way Tree police arrested a man for breaches of the Firearms Act following the seizure of an illegal gun at Liguanea Avenue in the Kingston 6 area on Wednesday.
Charged with illegal possession of firearm and ammunition is Rohan Malcolm 37, of Plantain Way, Kingston 11.
The CCN's Metro Officer reported that about 11:15 a.m., a police operation was carried out in the Liguanea area. During the exercise, Malcolm was seen at a premises, acting suspiciously. He was accosted and searched and a loaded .38 revolver serial number YM1270 found in his possession. He was subsequently arrested and charged and is scheduled to appear in the Corporate Area Criminal Court on Friday, February 22.
The Portmore police have once again removed another weapon from the streets and arrested a 31-year-old man was who was found in possession of an illegal gun at his home at 3 East, Greater Portmore, St Catherine, on Wednesday.

'Killdead' charged

Charged with illegal possession of firearm and ammunition is Kevin Walters, otherwise called 'Killdead'.
The CCN's St Catherine South liaison officer reported that about 3:10 p.m., members of a police team carried out an operation in the Greater Portmore area. During the operation, Walters was seen in his yard acting in a suspicious manner. He was accosted and searched and a Ruger 9mm pistol with two magazines containing 23 9mm cartridges found in his possession. He was subsequently arrested and charged.

DOES PATOIS JUSTIFY REGGAE MUSIC??

February 10, 2008
Started By Major Krazy5 Comments

So I found this question on another forum & am interested in peoples opinions here?

DOES PATOIS JUSTIFY REGGAE MUSIC??
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
WHY IS IT THAT ANY COUNTRY OTHER THAN THE CARRIBEAN COUNTRIES HAVE TO LEARN OR SPEAK PATOIS IN ORDER TO DO REGGAE MUSIC? I THOUGHT REGGAE MUSIC WAS ABOUT A MESSAGE HALF THE DAMN WORLD CANT SPEAK OR UNDERSTAND PATOIS SO HOW CAN THEY UNDERSTAND YOUR MESSAGE? RASTAFARIANS ARE ABOUT NATURALITY SO IF I SPEAK PATOIS THATS NATURAL CUZ I WAS BORN SPEAKING IT BUT IF SOME ONE FROM AMERICA, RUSSIA, ASIA ETC SPEAK IT AND IS RASTAFARIAN OR JUST A GENERAL REGGAE ARTIST AND SPEAKS PATOIS IN THERE MUSIC IS THAT NATURAL? SO IF AUSTRALIA HAD THERE OWN CULTURE OF MUSIC DO I HAVE TO SPEAK LIKE THEM IN ORDER TO BE AN AUSTRALIAN ARTIST? PLZ PEOPLE I WANT ALLYUHZ OPINION

eight days

STARRIGHT_1_PKEZAuseHarAM.jpg
file photos - Waterhouse's Jonathan Williams

by Ainsley Walters, Freelance Writer

WATERHOUSE are hunting their second piece of silverware in eight days and intend to strike early against defending champions Harbour View in tomorrow's Jackie Bell Knockout final, which starts 5:00 p.m. at Compound.
"It's a one-off match and we're looking to score early," said Waterhouse coach, Wayne Fairclough, whose team lifted the Cash Plus Premier League second-round final with a 1-0 win over Tivoli Gardens last Sunday.
"There won't be a return game and we want to put it away from the first half. We've been scoring, our last four to five games, in the second-half," Fairclough noted, no doubt referring to Wednesday's semi-final when his team had to wait until the 90th minute for a 1-0 victory over Arnett Gardens.
"We've been creating the opportunities but not scoring in the first half. If we put them away, we can win the game from early," the Waterhouse coach added.

tough match-up

It will be another tough match-up for both teams, considering how their Premier League clashes have gone this season.
Harbour View scored a remarkable come-from-behind 3-2 win at home in the first round, rallying from two goals down to beat eventual nine-man Waterhouse at Compound.
The Corporate Area and Premier League champions led in the return game at Drewsland but Waterhouse got their equaliser from Jonathan Williams for a 1-1 draw.
Harbour View coach Lenny Hyde yesterday said he expects the usual rough stuff from the no-frills Waterhouse but was confident his side would be able to defend their title.
"I always anticipate a tough game from Waterhouse but we always have a good game against them.
"We beat them 3-2 at home and gave up the lead in the second match. I am pretty confident we can go out and get a good result. It's a final and we're going guns out to win this one.
"They play hard and aggressive but we just have to keep possession of the football. We have to dictate the pace and possession," Hyde added.
Harbour View advanced from the semi-finals with a 2-0 stroll over Super League side Duhaney Park off goals from Clifton Waugh, a sixth minute penalty, and a strike in the 65th from Kemar Petrekin.
Striker Fabian Taylor remains on Harbour View's injury list but Hyde has loads of faith in the speedy Kavin Bryan and Petrekin, who both scored in their 3-2 quarter-final win over Boys' Town.

vulnerable formation

Waterhouse have been playing a vulnerable 3-5-2 formation under Fairclough, void of dedicated wing-backs as English and Jonathan Williams, the flank players, have been thrust high in attack to support their strikers.
Harbour View could exploit the wings especially with pin-point passes out of midfield from Jermaine Hue to the likes of Lovel Palmer streaking in on the right side.
Hyde is wary of English on the left side of Waterhouse's midfield.
"Our defence had to be disciplined," he said. "They play a lot of long balls and our goalkeeper will have to have the back post covered. The dead ball, especially, English kicks a lot of those," he pointed out.
Waterhouse's perennial scorer, Kevin Lamey, who has been on the injury list in recent games, could see action.
"Lamey has a slight injury and has been training," said Fairclough. "We didn't want to risk him because there is a third and crucial round to be played in the Premier League but there is a possibility he could play tomorrow."

Games on
Jackie Bell KnockOut
Harbour View vs Waterhouse at 5:00 p.m.

Premier League
Portmore vs Sporting Central 6:30 p.m.
Village vs Tivoli 3:30 p.m.

Snapshot: 2009 Acura TSX

February 12, 2008
Started By ZJSnyper2 Comments

Acura has begun to drip-feed us information about its updated TSX sedan, which will be formally unveiled at this year's New York auto show. Based on the single beauty show we got today, the styling of the 2009 TSX departs from that of the current model in several significant ways. The front end has the same beak-shaped arrangement that many of Acura's newer models, including the 2009 RL, which was unveiled last week. At the stern, the new TSX appears to have more of a raked rear windshield than the current model. It also appears to forgo the horizontal decklid of the current generation car, in favor of a smoother, more bulbous rear profile.

Diesel08_440_270x202.jpg

The new TSX is expected to be the first diesel-powered Honda in the United States

The new TSX is expected to get Honda's new 2.2-liter i-DTEC diesel engine when it goes on sale later this year, making it the first diesel-powered car from Honda Motor to reach the United States. There is currently no information available on Interior upgrades of the new model, but don't be surprised to see it equipped with Acura's version of XM NavWeather, which has already been announced for the 2009 RL.

Bad vibes kill Kartel's marriage

February 16, 2008
Started By Ryan15 Comments
POPULAR dancehall deejay Vybz Kartel, who tied the knot just two years ago with New York bank supervisor, Stacy Elliott, wants out of their marriage.

In papers filed with the Jamaican Supreme Court, Kartel, whose real name is Adidjah Palmer, alleged that his 31-year-old bride had given birth to a son who was fathered by another man.

He said he had never lived with his wife since the January 9, 2006 private wedding, pictures of which are posted on the Internet. Kartel also provided for the court a copy of the child's birth certificate.

Kartel said also that his wife never visited him in Jamaica after the US revoked his visa to that country some time after the wedding.

The two met at a stage show in Brooklyn, New York and had been dating four years prior to tying the knot in a private ceremony before a marriage officer at the Registrar General Department branch on Trevennion Park Road in Cross Roads, Kingston.

The website yardflex.com on which the wedding photos were posted, quoted the artiste on his big day as saying, "... Mi just get up mad and decide fi do it, is like mi get a wedding fever from wha day because my babymother's mother got married recently, and I was the best man for the groom, so I just decided to do it. I flew her in from New York for the wedding, and it's all good, I am in love, I am happy, this is just glorious.

"From the first time I met her, I knew she was special. So we talked a couple of times on the phone, it wasn't a groupie thing, and we just fell in love little by little."

Elliott, who was born in Jamaica, is also quoted in the same story as saying that she too was deeply in love.

"I love his personality, he is fun-loving, and very smart, and I believe he is misunderstood, he has good qualities. From the moment I met him, I fell in love with him...," she added.
February 14th, 2008 | Author: Omar Burgess

Eminem has battled pneumonia and obesity rumors during the two year hiatus since he's released any new material, and now it appears copyright infringement can be added to the list. Belgian violinist Raymond Vincent claims that Eminem's 2001 single "Cleanin' Out My Closet" either copied or interpolated 160 measures of a song from 1968 entitled "Daydream." Billboard reports that in 2003 Vincent appealed to the Belgian Society of Authors Composers and Publishers (SABAM) to have royalties blocked from the song's composers, Eminem and producer Jeff Bass.

A SABAM judgment in favor of Vincent was overturned by the Brussels Court of Appeals in December of 2007, but due to the initial ruling, some international publishing societies still continue to withhold royalties from both Eminem and Bass. The international royalties from "Cleanin' Out My Closet" could add up to a substantial amount, since the single was released from The Eminem Show, which has certified sales of over 8 million domestically.

Two key issues lie at the heart of the matter. Experts who have analyzed Vincent's work agree that his composition borrows heavily from Russian Classical composer Tchaikovsky. This would make it virtually impossible for Vincient to claim someone sampled from his work, when it is not entirely original either. SABAM is also controlled by the Belgian Ministry of Economics. This legal loophole would allow SABAM to continue to suggest that other international publishing societies withhold Eminem's royalties, despite the case being reversed last year. Both issues could tie up millions of dollars in international royalties, in what is essentially an international case of one artist's word against another's.

"I was in the studio with Jeff and Marshall," says Joel Martin, who handles Eminem's domestic publishing. "It was absurd that they used any portion of an obscure Belgian song [written] before Marshall was born. And if rappers were to use old records, they would use the records. They don't steal a melody."

findImg.php?pic_size=200&table_name=news_img_tab&table_field=img_id&img_id=1193 Stephen Marley, the son of Reggae great Bob Marley surprised audiences with his debut album 'Mind Control' by winning the 2008 Grammy for Best Reggae Album over reggae veterans such as Toots & The Maytals 'Light Your Light'. Stephen's win comes on the heels of his father's 63rd Birthday.

Mind Control was released by Tuff Gong/Ghetto Youths/Universal Republic. It is not Stephen's first foray into the international world of reggae as he has written and produced numerous tracks for his Grammy award winning brother Damian.

Some of the other nominees in the Reggae category included, Lee Scratch Perry with 'The End of an American Dream', Burning Spear with 'The Burning Spear Experience', and 'Anniversary' by Sly and Robbie.

The 2008 Grammy awards aired last night (Sunday), February 10th. Reggae Grammys have been awarded since 1985: and Black Uhuru won the first award with 'Anthem'. This year marks the 50th anniversary of the Grammy awards.

During the intervening years, the reggae album has gone to artists from around the world, including South Africa's late Lucky Dube. The Best Reggae Album category is not currently aired in the show on CBS. Put there is a petition out lobbying or it to be carried on the mainstream broadcast.

MAJOR traffic changes along Marcus Garvey Drive in Kingston are set to come into effect by the end of next week to facilitate the US$9-million road rehabilitation work by French construction company, Bouygues.

But chief executive officer of the National Road Operating and Constructing Company (NROCC), Ivan Anderson, could not give details on the changes to be made saying that they had not yet been finalised.

He, however, assured that the public would be given adequate notice of the changes once the agreement with the National Works Agency (NWA) is finalised.

In the meantime, Jean-Noel Foulard, project director of Bouygues, said it was important that the traffic changes be made to facilitate the smooth running of the project, which he said was on target for completion in July.

He said work was being done to shift the traffic, which he said would be completely different "although we will still maintain the two lanes on both sides".

Further work, he added, was being done on the median path, after which the traffic would be shifted to that section for work to be completed on either side of the roadway.

Marcus Garvey Drive, one of the city's major thoroughfares, is being upgraded from four to six lanes, which the Government expects will ease the congestion of traffic exiting the Portmore toll road.

Major drainage work is also to be done along the corridor.

February 12, 2008. There were fireworks at the Grammy's afterparty at Los Angeles steakhouse STK. According to one of MediaTakeOut.com's spies Jay Z confronted Rihanna about the infamous hug - and then all hell broke loose. Here is our insider's eyewitness account:
I saw Jay Z and Rihanna arguing. I couldn't hear what it was about, but it must have had something to do with her hugging him when she won [the Grammy}.

Jay Z was trying to be really cool about it, but Rihanna got all loud and dramatic. She was like, "I didn't mean to embarra** you ... Why are you saying that to me." And she said it so loud that people around could hear.

Everyone went over to see what was going on and the paparazzi started taking pics of the two of them. All I saw was Jay Z putting his head down and looking like "What is this [EXPLETIVE] doing to me.'

I didn't see Jay Z say another word to her all night. And believe me, I was watching them. I bet you Jay Z wished he never made Rihanna his jump off.

Oh and BTW you were right about Rihanna and Chris Brown they are definitely dating. They even left together.

The above photo was reportedly taken during the argument. And check out the below video of Rihanna winning the Grammy - and hugging incident that caused all the problems.
A BABY-SITTER who killed a four-week-old boy by slamming him against a bed and shaking him because he was crying was jailed for just three years yesterday.

Uproar broke out as John Jeacock, 24, who admitted the manslaughter of tot Harvey Jackson, was told he would be free in less than 15 months.

Judge Gerald Gordon QC said: It is inevitable that any sentence will be seen by the family as grossly inadequate to reflect the young life that has been lost.

However difficult it may be for the family to accept it, I am just not here to reflect that loss in years. It is not possible. I have to pass sentence according to law.

The judge ordered the public gallery at the Old Bailey in London to be cleared after shouts and screams of protest.

One man yelled: You call that justice justice for who? Harveys dad Darren Jackson, 23, shouted: You scum, Jeacock.

Judge Gordon ... cleared court

The babys mother Maxine McInerney, 23, said later that Jeacock father of her sister Amandas child Jessica had betrayed her.

Jeacock was left to care for Harvey and Jessica while Maxine and Amanda enjoyed a Mothers Day treat at a health spa. But Harvey began to cry and Jeacock had a sudden loss of temper.

Zoe Johnson, prosecuting, said he picked up the tot by gripping him violently under the armpits leaving bruised imprints of his fingers. Then he slammed Harvey down on to a bed causing the head to lurch backwards.

Jeacock grabbed the baby again and roughly shook him like a rag doll. Bruises were found on Harveys buttocks and several areas around the trunk area.

The fatal injury was due to the brain coming into contact with the skull, causing swelling and brain damage.

Jeacock dialled 999 and told paramedics he had bathed Harvey and fed him half an hour earlier and gone to look after Jessica but then found Harvey with breathing problems.

When Harvey arrived at hospital he was unable to breathe on his own. He died four days later.

In a statement read out in court Mr Jackson said the birth of Harvey, his first child, had been the happiest day of his life.

He added: I envisaged all the things I would do with my son. Little did I know that in a month I would be asked my permission to turn off his life-support machine.

Jeacock admitted the killing at an earlier hearing.

He cl**tched a bible and wore an NSPCC Stop Child Cruelty badge on his lapel as he was given bail so he could attend Christmas parties.

Yesterday Jeacock, of Rainham, Essex, was told he will serve half of his sentence, minus 101 days already spent in prison.
He is banned from working with children.

Portmore Suss

February 16, 2008
Started By XavHew3 Comments
MODELLING A GWAAN Wha dis mi a hear? Shaggy ah shoot MTV Cribs episode up a Big Yard, and somebody go invite the Allliance and ah so the modeling start. Bounty drive in the big white Range Rover and step out inna full black, and little after that, Mavado drive up inna fi him black Range Rover and step out inna full suit of white. Heh heh! Ah wah tek dem artistes ya? If me laugh, mi pap up, how dem so hype and Shaggy money taller than the Empire building before Bin Laden bomb it! DOZA MEDICINE SO SICK How Doza Medicine ah go so hard? The man song pon the Resident Evil; seriously sick. Different from the average. The streets dem love the flavour weh him a talk 'bout the yute dem who send him threat, the man rhyming scheme no normal, memba. Garveymeade and Westchester love the way him ah lock the ting. CABLE BLACKOUT OVER PORTMORE What a way Flow just cut off the cable flow to all the delinquent people dem over Greater Portmore? Ah nuff weeping and wailing and gnashing of teeth since people caan get fi watch dem soap opera and dem USA, since Flow decide fi get tough and cut off all who naah pay. Mi hear some people not even can watch TVJ or CVM because dem no have no outside antennae. But me? Right now, ah Cable Vision mi a work wid, fi now till mi DSS install, mi caan tek the eediat ting. TOYA'S POSTER AH GO HARD

How Toya poster ah go so hard? She inna one little g-string with no top pon the poster and it ah go up all over the Corporate Area. Crazy people ah talk 'bout it, plus she have

Liquid, Matterhorn, Stone Love and Rebel T and an ex-rated fashion show fi the man dem, the ting sell off. Right now, yu PT Cruiser still ah mad dem.

MUMMA LATTY AH TEK IT TO DEM Who is this girl name Mumma Latty who ah explode pon the scene so like a stick a dynamite? Everybody ah talk how she come a Passion Sundays ah HWT come turn the deejay dem head like wow and den forward go Bounty Sundays ova Seaview and tek the place. She ah spar wid har girlfriend dem, Selena and Sydian and dem just look good, dem can dress. When the dance done the other day, the way she tek the place, ah Bounty Killer white Range Rover me see her ah drive home inna. A wah really a gwaan inna the business? REGGAE ACADEMY SET TO SHINE The music industry ah look forward to the Reggae Academy awards this month. Akon ah forward, crazy artistes ah perform, the Marley dem, Shaggy, maybe even Sean Paul. We love how we ah step up and show the world say reggae and dancehall ah our ting and we can judge what is excellent and what is not, we don't need no foreign people fi tell we say we good, and is time we show that we can do our own ting. So we ah support the Reggae Academy all the way. BABY CHRIS TO DO SONG WITH LIL WAYNE Yo people, Baby Chris Ring Ding Part Twice song ah go hard till even Lil Wayne ah tink 'bout do a remix wid it, so it look like Baby Chris set fi blow up big time. Him mash up Dancing Dynamites wah day ya, and come pon the RJR country show dem, and him new song Madagascar ah create a vibe, so it look like say 2008 ah fi him year. I like it, I like it. DJ FLAMES AH GO HARD

What a way Flames ah tek it to dem. She do a road show at azan's Santa Cruz as part of the RJR Cross Country Invasion, and the response to

her was phenomenal. The show dem a run in hard, she will be emceeing Red Rose Affair inna Mobay tonight wid Gregory Isaacs, Ken

Boothe and dem man de, and then she back inna Burger King Sav on Monday fi do her show live from 1p.m. - 5 p.m. Gwaan Flames, mi love the new look too, it sell off. Mi love how she a buss di new X-ALE song pon di Premiere riddim.

QUESTION TIME

How Keisha Cramp Dem come back and ah go so hard? Mi see her pon the beach last Sunday and ah just crazy flossing. How she so hype?

How suh much dutty badmind people live a Westchester suh? Why unno nuh watch fi unno life and lef people own. Unno know unno self.

How dem fi stop yuh Shaddu? A di big man 'Titus' a govern yuh career and dem man deh ave di golden touch. Wey mi sey, NEERG fi life. And di Killer done endorse da youth yah already sey a buss year fi him.

How Beenie Man so disgusting? Yu nuh hear wah him say, ah long time Beenie Tuesdays supposed to keep but because him so busy, that's why Bounty Sundays start first. So wah him a try say? Bounty nah travel as often as him.

What a way Demarco gwaan disgraceful over Black My Story?

How Bounty Sundays so hype? Tour of the Corporate Area. Hype.

Pinky Star from Portmore Lane, why the man dem over Newlands just ah mad over yu so?

What a way Earthworm control Montego Bay? Norwood, Flankers, Canterbury, Granville, North Gully, everybody ah sing She's My Baby.

How Trilla Kid sister so lucky? She run offa one precipice ah come from country, ribs bruk and ting, but she alright. The whole ah Independence City community come out to support her up ah UWI. Big up singer.

How One Third a guh suh hard? Dem plan fi touch di Premiere riddim fi annsa back X-ALE and a know dem goin to kill dem lyrically.

How Ghetto Face new tune, World Cup, ah go so hard? Him plan fi buss it over Kirkvine on the RJR Cross Country invasion? Ah mad ting.

Which big artiste ah sprinkle oil ah other artiste foot fi stop dem progress and slow dem down?

Why the girls dem go Congress Fridays late every week? Ah true dem no waan buy no liquor? A wah?

What a way Rihanna hug up Jay Z when she win the Grammy? Wonder how Beyoncé did feel bout that?

How Benzly Hype come from farin and decide fi tek up the producing so hard? Him new video, Jasmine Jones, ready fi drop and the women's groups who ah campaign against domestic violence, love it. Plus, him have a portion ah hot riddim rounda him studio, 2 Hype Records the ting de.

What a way Blue haffi go hide inna one lightbulb after the Backto people dem start look fi him because him go bring in this Beenie Tuesdays idea? The people dem anxious fi see him bad, mi no know.

mi a tell u  mi need fi kn wah unno tink cuz a him second accusiations and it looks to me its tru so tell mi wah unno tink

I need help please

February 14, 2008
Started By DekaNo 5 Comments
How do i create and use sigs on mediazone
Are you a person that hates to download a track only to find out that its name track04.mp3? Is it just me or is it very easy to rename a file last time I check it was...
Me nuh live ah U.S.A but mi think there's a good chance Obama can be di next President. Wah unu think?

Top High School inna Jamaica

February 14, 2008
Started By SLICE BREAD12 Comments
Kingston College
Fortis 4 eva

SCHOOLAZ SEX TAPE

February 14, 2008
Started By Krazily Insane22 Comments
MZJA...DIS YA VIDEO YA FUNNY BUT IT SERIOUS NO HELL...
IF A MY PICKNEY DIS ME KILL HAR R-A-S-S!!!

-- Edited by postinor at 14:29, 2008-02-14

-- Edited by postinor at 15:26, 2008-02-14
Island/Dej Jam Rec. the biggest record label in the world was found in JA with artist such as Toots, Jimmy Cliff, Nancy an Bob Marley by Chris Blackwel

Man hid wife's body in barrel

February 14, 2008
Started By littlemisslinkz8 Comments

Unaware ... the guests partied next to the barrel
THESE pictures show how party guests were blissfully unaware of the grim contents hidden in the green barrel next to them.

As they ate and drank, they could never have guessed that the body of their host's missing wife was just metres away.

The guests were marking the 21st birthday of Michael Hegarty, whose former father-in-law, Frederick Boyle, was found guilty last week of shooting wife Edwina Boyle and hiding her remains in the drum for 23 years.

Mrs Boyle went missing in October 1983 and her husband told family and friends she had left him to start a new life with a truck driver named Ray.

Nearly 10 years later, on February 19, 1993, Mrs Boyle's relatives were among guests at the Boyle family home in Carrum Downs, Victoria, Australia to celebrate Mr Hegarty's 21st birthday.

Recalling his 21st birthday to the jury, Mr Hegarty became emotional.

Snapshots showed guests partying underneath the carport, which was decorated with balloons and streamers.

And Mr Hegarty identified his cousin and her boyfriend posing in one image and a friend and his uncle in another.

The green drum can be seen in each picture.

During a clean-up of the family property Mr Hegarty cut open the drum and made the grim discovery.

Last week a jury found Boyle guilty of shooting his wife.

Boyle, 58, awaits sentencing.

curve.gif

title.gif
Man on most wanted list turns self in

Wednesday, February 13, 2008

A mere 24 hours after the police released a refreshed list of the island's 11 most wanted men, one of the fugitives, Christopher 'Chicken Back' Barrett, yesterday heeded the police's call to take the peaceful option of surrender.

Barrett, who hails from Gregory Park in St Catherine, was wanted for last month's murder of Kevin Bryan at Cottage Lane in the community.

Yesterday, he was taken to the police by members of his family and handed himself over to Senior Superintendent Devon Watkiss of Area Four and officers from the Major Investigation Team (MIT) who took him into custody.

He is the sixth fugitive whose name has so far been deleted from the 'most wanted' list, which was first issued in September last year.

At a press conference on Monday, MIT head Assistant Commissioner Les Green appealed to the fugitives to take the peaceful option and surrender with their lawyers.

Yesterday, head of Operation Kingfish, ssistant Commissioner Glenmore Hinds, repeated the call.

"We are appealing to them to turn themselves in so they can at least be interviewed with their lawyers," Hinds said.

Barrett's surrender came only three days after the capture of another fugitive, Robert 'Dinero' Brown, and 17 days after the capture of alleged boss of the Stone Crusher gang, Eldon Calvert. Three others - Dryden brothers Deon and Wayne and Gerald Taylor - were killed.

Brown, who is wanted for five murders and five shootings, was held with 26 rounds of ammunition in the rural St Andrew district of Lawrence Tavern last Saturday evening while Calvert was taken from a posh residence at Wood Grove in Trelawny on January 27.

The police also report that they have seized 73 guns since the start of this year. They say without the public's help, their work would be in vain and encouraged others to exercise vigilance in their communities.

"The informer label is one of those myths and stories passed on by criminals. We need to drop those myths. We can and we do protect these individuals," Green said. "The gunmen live in these communities and extort these communities. They do not protect these communities."

Is there a dancehall intelligence unit in the Jamaica Constabulary Force?

Industry insiders have been postulating that there is a special Dancehall Intelligence Unit, a specialized task force that's been targeting bad-behaving dancehall deejays since the summer of 2007.

Police2.jpgThe DIU has been hunting the deejays at night. They know who runs with what crew; they're always waiting at certain clubs, and if they see you get in a car with an entourage, they pull you over. Theyre trying to set up lower ranking members of certain crews because theyre looking to get someone to switch, and bring down the big fish; they know who they are targeting, the source said.

In recent times, a number of deejays have been parading through the courts: Sizzla on a weed charge, Kartel on a indecent language charge, Aidonia on a wounding with intent charge, Bascom X on a possession of gun charge, Lutan Fyah on a charge of arson, and Deva Brat on a carnal abuse charge.

What is really going on in dancehall? Have the artistes lost their way? Are they making it easier for the authorities to target them and get rid of them?

HAPPENINGS
Tomorrow, the University of the West Indies Mona will commemorate their 60th Anniversary with the passing of a symbolic torch during the Herb McKenley UWI Run relay, the Jamaican leg of the regional Run UWI Run relay, with events also taking place in Trinidad and Tobago , Barbados , Grenada , Antigua , Bahamas , Jamaica and other related territories of the University.
Lenn Hammond is in the news again! This time its his recent nomination from the Canadian Reggae Music Awards (C.R.M.A.) that has radio jocks in the Netherlands going gaga for the sultry crooner. Lenn spoke candidly about the nomination with The Good Morning Show on Razo Radio in lower Amsterdam during the week and the interview repeated over the weekend.

Lenn_Hammond.jpgNominated for Top Male Reggae Singer, Hammond has already won this award twice. Although Lenn Hammond is currently working in Jamaica, the C.R.M.A. recognizes that the artist still keeps close ties to Canada. As explained by the awards founder and C.E.O. Winston Hewitt, the Canadian Reggae Music Awards recognizes Canadian artists who are also making strides outside of Canada. Fans at home and abroad can now vote online at www.canadianreggaemusicawards.com.

Hammonds single Not Far From Sunshine remained in the SuperJams Top 10 on CHOICE FM in the UK for months and the video was supported in Europe, Asia, North America and the Caribbean, including Jamaicas Hit List Top 20 Countdown. Meanwhile his most recent single, How Am I Suppose To Live Without You on Jah Births Three Wise Mice Riddim received a 5 star review on Reggae-Vibes.com in the Netherlands and is in the process of being released world-wide.
Friday February 15, 2008

Florida authorities and a university official have identified the gunman in the Northern Illinois University slayings as 27-year-old former student Steven Kazmierczak, though police have yet to release a name. 

Seven people have died following Thursday's massacre at Northern Illinois University.

Police are still trying to determine a motive after a sociology student who graduated last spring returned to the school, entered a lecture hall with a shotgun and two handguns and opened fire at about 3pm. He killed five people and wounded 16 others, some critically, before fatally shooting himself. One of those critically injured victims succumbed to their wounds overnight.

According to school officials the gunman, who hasn't been identified, didn't have a criminal record. Polk County, Florida sheriff's officials said they were asked to speak with "the father of the shooting suspect," a man who lives in Lakeland, Fla., and was identified as Robert Kazmierczack.

"I kept thinking, 'Oh God, he's going to shoot me. Oh God, I'm dead. I'm dead. I'm dead,'" said Desiree Smith, a senior journalism major who dropped to the floor near the back of the auditorium.

"People were crawling on each other, trampling each other," she said. "As I got near the door, I got up and I started running."

University President John Peters said four people died at the scene including three students and the gunman, while three more have since died in hospital. The teacher, a graduate student, was hurt but expected to recover. The gunman, dressed in black and wearing a stocking cap, wasn't currently enrolled at the school, which has 25,000 students and is located 65 miles west of Chicago.

"It appears he may have been a student somewhere else," University Police Chief Donald Grady said.

No other details have been released about the gunman or the victims.

Student Lauren Carr was sitting in the third row of the lecture hall when she saw the shooter walk through a door by the stage.

"I personally Army-crawled halfway up the aisle," the 20-year-old sophomore recalled. "I said I could get up and run or I could die here."

The school was locked down within 20 minutes of the shots, part of a security plan created after a student at Virginia Tech killed 32 people last year.

Classes were cancelled Thursday night and the campus was closed Friday. It's the fourth school shooting in the U.S. within a week.

On Feb. 8 a woman shot two fellow pupils to death before killing herself at Louisiana Technical College in Baton Rouge. This past Monday a 17-year-old was accused of shooting and critically wounding a fellow student in gym class at a Memphis, Tenn. high school. And a 15-year-old has been declared brain dead after being shot at a junior high school in Oxnard, Calif.

With files from Associated Press

WTF IS WRONG WITH YOU AMERICANS?????????

Baby Chris to do remix with Lil Wayne

February 14, 2008
Started By ZJSnyper5 Comments
One876Entertainment.com understands that Baby Chris, known for the hit single, Ring Ding, is on the verge of scoring a big collaboration with major rap star Lil Wayne that could catapult him into the international spotlight.

Baby_Chris.jpgLil Wayne wants to do a remix collaboration with Ring Ding Part two, and a company called Avarex in Japan has expressed an interest in giving me an album deal. They want 12 tracks, and mi have everything put together, so me send two tracks, the Ring Ding and the Madagascar, so it is on the verge of happening, he said.

The Madagascar is new song is inspired by the Reel 2 Reals Billboard hit featuring T & T rapper Mad Stuntman, I Like to Move It which appeared in the film Madagascar in 2005.

It ah create a nice little vibe, because I make it into a dance, and dip with it and crazy tings. Dem love it overseas. I plan to do a video while I am in Jamaica for it and me have the dancers dem line up already, he said.

He has been making big strides in recent weeks, popping up in North America for a couple of performances.  He performed alongside Bling Dawg, Serani and Bounty Killer in Miami during a Renaissance party held there. He also performed at Club Amazura in New York alongside Beenie Man, Tarrus Riley, Lutan Fyah and Richie Spice in January and followed that up with a performance in Philadelpha as a special guest at an event endorsed by Flippa Mafia.
February 15th, 2008 | Author: Omar Burgess

Clothing retailer Gap completed their "Sound of Color" campaign today. The ad was conceived by assigning five artists a color and having them create an original song based upon the prearranged color. Rapper, producer and Full Surface Records founder Swizz Beatz teamed up with up-and-coming director Tom Gatsoulis on the song "Candy Green." Swizz has previously appeared in Gap advertisements, and will have the benefit of retaining the rights to his music after the month-long viral campaign is finished for Gap.

"I didn't want to do a song I wasn't comfortable giving to the DJs," Swizz tells Billboard. "I took the approach of, 'How would I use green in a painting without making green the main ingredient, and use it in the slickest way?'"

Gap director of advertising Jamie Gersch says the goal of the campaign is to connect with people via digital media and convey the emotion of the company's new spring line. Swizz is the sole Hip Hop artist featured in the campaign, which also includes the Ravonettes, Dntel, the Blakes and Marie Digby. The "Sound of Color" campaign isn't the first foray into the fashion world for Swizz Beatz, he also serves as a partner for Kid Robot.

MY LOVE DIED ON VALENTINE'S DAY

February 14, 2008
Started By ZJSnyper7 Comments
Pauline Williams does not think about chocolates and roses on Valentine's Day. Instead, the memory of her 34-year-old son, who was shot dead three years ago, comes alive and she is taken back to the day when her youngest child was taken away.Williams' son, Oneil Robinson, was killed in Connecticut, after he attempted to intervene in a fight his friend was involved in. Williams told THE STAR, "He was parting a fight in Connecticut and him get one shot inna him head. Him neva get fi seh another word. That was my baby. 'Im brother used to trouble him an' call him mama's boy. An 'im dead lef' 13 kids. Mi really hate fi know seh it happen, but mi haffi live wid it." Birth and death The day is especially difficult for Williams because it is also the birthday of her very first grandchild. She, therefore, cannot escape the memories. "My first grandchild born that day and my last child died that day. Is a day dat di family can't forget. It is so devastating. Sometimes when a mi granddaughter birthday, mi can't even call her. But a jus' God work. Him have a reason and Him know why," she said. She told THE STAR, "Mi see man weh kill people an' do all kinda tings still a live. My child whe neva give mi no trouble, an whe police neva even know him, God tek him. I wonder if it's for a reason. I can't understand, but mi haffi jus' accept it." Williams places a memorial in the newspaper every year "to keep his name alive", and said "We go as far as to mek a little house for him ova May Pen [cemetery]. Mostly wi tek it quiet, an' sometimes wi go ova there on di anniversary. Mi usually put on a memorial too, like a fish fry." Broken heart Today will be Joyce Marks'first Valentine's Day without her husband of 47 years. Like Williams, the day brings back memories of her husband's death, an event which the family was not really prepared for. Mark's husband died on Valentine's Day last year after an operation in the hospital. She told THE STAR, "He did the operation and he was doing fine, and then all of a sudden, he jus' died. Even now we're not sure what happened." She said as the day draws closer, she starts reliving everything. Though she admits that they were not a 'fussy' couple, Valentine's Day was often spent having dinner together. "As the days move on, we remember what happened. I guess that's what usually happens at anniversaries. It's the decision of the 'man upstairs', so I can't really question it," she said. She told THE STAR that her husband was not a lover of hospitals and that the last thing he told her before he died, after noticing that more doctors and nurses were surrounding him, was "I don't like this at all. This thing is making me uncomfortable." While most of us spend today being concerned about love and gifts, there are a number of other persons who will spend today mourning. One family in Glengoffe, St Catherine, knows all too well what it feels like to endure grief on Valentine's Day. Seven children were left orphaned last year after their mother was murdered by their father on Valentine's Day. Their father committed suicide a day later. Clinical psychologist, Dr Asquith Reid, told THE STAR that while grief is a normal emotion, "overmourning" can be dangerous. He said, "The flip side of love is really sorrow, so people will grieve. But over an extended period, this can start to do harm to the mourner and distract them from regular life." He suggested that persons in grief undertake various activities to help them celebrate the lives of their loved ones. Participating in activities that the deceased person enjoyed, hosting celebrations in honour of the deceased and making contributions to organisations that meant something to the deceased, are ways

International Newss

February 14, 2008
Started By XavHew6 Comments
Arnold finally lost his virginity!

gary&wife.jpg, when I watched the '40-year-old Virgin' I never thought I would be reading about a real life case. You remember that cute little guy from 'Diff'rent Strokes' Gary Coleman well he says he has finally found true love with his red head Shannon Price and finally lost his virginity. The 40-year-old, 4-foot-8 Coleman secretly wed the Utah woman, who's 22 and 5-foot-7.

According to bossip.com Gary said all that mattered to him was "I never got the opportunity to be romantic or feel romantic with anyone. I don't have issues with age, I have issues with intelligence. She's more intelligent than I am, and that's what matters to me."

And as for Gary's wife Shannon here's her view, "He was 10 feet tall to me because he was sweet. He lets his anger conquer him sometimes. He throws things around, and sometimes he throws it in my direction."

Mmm, wonder what the wedding night was like!

--------------------------------------------

50 Cent's baby mama got a pay cut

50&son.jpg
Curtis Jackson aka 50 Cent took Shaniqua Tomkins to court after refusing to agree to her requests for more money for the upkeep of the 10-year-old.

Tomkins previously asked for $50,000 a month but was granted just half of that sum - $25,000 a month - when the court viewed her and her son's expenses. But that figure was reduced further earlier this week, and Tomkins will now only receive $6,700 a month, this according to bossip.com.

Well...at least the court smiled on a celebrity for a change.

-------------------------------------------

OJ in the news again

oj&christine.jpgOJ's trailer chick Christine Prody was rushed to Baptist Memorial Hospital in Miami Feb 11 after she collapsed at a local gas station. Police were alerted by hospital authorities after doctors found she was bleeding from her brain and also had numerous large bruises and abrasions on her face, arms, legs and buttocks. O.J. says Christine's injuries are self-inflicted and explained that the 32-year-old woman went on a drunken binge and fell down. Investigators said from the damage to Christines's body, they believe she was beaten. One detective said he has never seen such severe bruises on a woman before. Police detectives questioned OJ at his home, and are conducting an ongoing investigation into what happened to Christine.

Oh boy, I really hope she fell and that OJ would not be crazy enough to land himself in trouble again!
feb1508-car.jpg

ou already know about taking your car out for a drive. But how about taking it out for a dive? No, that's not a typo. A Swiss inventor has realized a long cherished dream, and created the world's first truly submersible sports car.

There have been attempts to put out a vehicle that can run on land and sea before, but there's never been anything quite like this one. Because the 'sQuba', as it's called, is a convertible.

Why would anyone make a car that goes underwater open to all that liquid? It turns out there's method to the madness. The creator loved the James Bond movies and decided to spare no expense in bringing a true submarine car to fruition. As to why he left the top down: "For safety reasons, we have built the vehicle as an open car so that the occupants can get out quickly in an emergency," explains 52-year-old Frank Rinderknecht of Rinspeed Inc., which designed the unusual auto.

It means passengers have to wear a form of modified scuba gear as they maneuver along the lake bottom. The air tanks are built into the car.

The sports car boasts sleek lines and designs, and goes up to 123 kilometres an hour on land. Hit the deck - and then drive off it - and you'll be slowing down considerably. The sQuba will only go about 4 kilometres an hour on top of the water and just 2.8 k/ph once it's completely below the surface. It can reach as low as 30 feet deep.

The car runs on state of the art lithium ion batteries and boasts three electrical motors, each one designed for a different surface. One provides propulsion on land, while the other two drive the screw that makes it possible to move on or under water. It's also salt resistant, so you can take your time while sight-'sea'-ing.

But if you want one, you'll be spending money like water. The experimental craft costs more than a $400,000 Rolls Royce. And only a few will ever be made.

Most remain skeptical that they'll ever be anything more than just a one-off curiosity - although they admit it's an interesting curiosity.

"Other than some kind of a movie situation, for Bond-like stuff with lots of gimmicks, I can't imagine it will have any practical value," assess John Cabaniss of the Association of International Automobile Manufacturers. "Maybe people will need to go from land to water, and traverse a body of water, but underwater? Especially as it gets your suit wet."

Even its creator, who's spent 30 years tinkering with the idea, knows it's of limited practical use. "They might sell as toys for rich people, perhaps," Rinderknecht agrees. "I don't see mass transportation switching to cars that dive."

But just think about how much money you'd save at the car wash.

For more on this incredible car, click here.

And to see an amazing video of the vehicle in action, click here.

Jamaican artistes Beenie Man and Junior Reid won the most awards at the recently staged IRIE FM Awards. Beenie Man was nominated for five awards and he copped three, Best Dressed Male, Listeners Choice Award and Male Deejay of the Year while Junior Reid won Comeback Artiste of The Year, Reggae Ambassador of the Year, and Best Collaboration of the Year (with Mims and Baby Cham).

Juniorr_reid.jpgSingjay Mavado walked away with two awards for Singjay of the Year and Album of the Year. Here are the winners:

IRIE FM AWARDS WINNERS
COMEBACK ARTISTE OF THE YEAR:
JUNIOR REID

NEW ARTISTE OF THE YEAR:
MUNGA HONOURABLE

SINGER OF THE YEAR - FEMALE:
ETANA

DUO/GROUP/BAND OF THE YEAR:
VOICE MAIL

REGGAE AMBASSADOR AWARD:
JUNIOR REID

STAGE SHOW/CONCERT OF THE YEAR:
GT TAYLOR'S MAGNUM CHRISTMAS EXTRAVAGANZA

SLANG OF THE YEAR:
TO DI WORLD - ROUND HEAD &
BUNG BANG - BOUNTY KILLER

PRODUCER OF THE YEAR:
DON CORLEON

RHYTHM OF THE YEAR:
GUARDIAN ANGEL - ARIF COOPER

BEST DRESSED FEMALE:
D'ANGEL

BEST DRESSED MALE:
BEENIE MAN

FEMALE DJ OF THE YEAR:
QUEEN IFRIKA

DANCE OF THE YEAR:
TEK WHEY YUHSELF - VEGAS

GOSPEL ARTISTE OF THE YEAR:
PRODIGAL SON

HUMANITARIAN AWARD:
CAPLETON

SINGER OF THE YEAR - MALE:
TARRUS RILEY

SINGJAY OF THE YEAR - MALE:
MAVADO

LISTENERS' CHOICE AWARD:
BEENIE MAN

ALBUM OF THE YEAR:
GANGSTER FOR LIFE; THE SYMPHONY OF DAVID BROOKS - MAVADO

SONG OF THE YEAR:
SHE'S ROYAL - TARRUS RILEY

MALE DJ OF THE YEAR:
BEENIE MAN

BEST COLLABORATION OF THE YEAR:
THIS IS WHY I'M HOT - REMIX .... JUNIOR REID, MIMS & BABY CHAM

Beenie fi artiste of the year!!!!

February 13, 2008
Started By bLaCkBeatZ33 Comments
mi jus hear it pon irie!!!

.ENJOY

A Beckham kiss for the faint-hearted

February 12, 2008
Started By XavHew14 Comments

STARLEFT_1_PELAZ12m29T0AM.jpg
David Beckham

Bangshowbiz

David Beckham made a female fan faint when he kissed her on the cheek.

The soccer star was at Jermaine Dupri's pre-Grammys party in Hollywood's Club Central when he was approached by the admirer who asked for a kiss. A source said: "When the girl came up to him and he kissed her on the cheek she just passed clean out! But David looked like it was an ordinary everyday thing. He just said, 'Get her some water. She'll be OK.'" David chatted to producer Jermaine and his girlfriend Janet Jackson at the event, but was not accompanied by his wife, Victoria. One partygoer said: "Beckham rolled in at about 1 a.m. He looked like he was having a great time hanging out, talking and dancing with Jermaine and Janet." Meanwhile, Victoria isn't looking forward to Valentine's Day, because she and David will be on opposite sides of the world. The star, who is currently on tour with the Spice Girls, said: "This is the first time since we got married in 1999 that we haven't been together on Valentine's Day. It will be very sad."
http://www.wired.com/politics/law/multimedia/2001/09/46570brickop
new gun maddddddddddd

Photoshop Evil Eye

February 15, 2008
Started By ANDREDESIGNZ 0 Comments

step 1

Here is the original photo we will change into a night scene. select the window's with marquee or pen tool, Ctrl J to make a copy.

Turning%20day%20into%20night_step1_47a87de90338d.jpg

step 2

With the layer beneath selected go to layer - new adjustment layer - hue / saturation - (check the use previous layer box, select hue saturation and get a color with the sliders that looks like night. kinda grayish/blue.

Turning%20day%20into%20night_step2_47a87e29b8fb4.jpg

step 3

Select the inner frame of the window with pen tool or marquee, make a copy then change layer blend mode to multiply. adjust the opacity for transparency"

Turning%20day%20into%20night_step3_47a87e4ed465a.jpg

step 4

I added a moon here and using a 2 pixel hard brush I erased the parts of the moon so the window screen and bar shows through.

Turning%20day%20into%20night_step4_47a87e76c6cc4.jpg

step 5

This technique is a very good way to get a non destructive means to create shadows and highlight with the dodge and burn tools that are not permanent" Create a new layer, then while holding down the Shift press F5 - now you want to click the arrow, select contents, then select select the 50% gray feature. after that, use the soft light blend mode. next hit D to get black and white colors. now you can use the burn tool with black for shadows, and the dodge tool with white selected for hilights. to undo the effect, fill with 50% gray again or paint over the area you want to erase with a #666666 typed into the color box at bottom that will make a 50% gray color and you can use that color to erase the dodge and burn tool effect. then hit D again to bring up black and white again.

Turning%20day%20into%20night_step5_47a87e8857808.jpg

step 6

I'm using the previous technique here but with varying the brush opacity for different strengths of hilights and shading. after you merge all the layers, Ctrl E - you can use another layer to bring out more details" add some stars, I created a custom star brush for that. also you can do a (Image - Adjusments - Photo filter to get a hue you like. Enjoy! smile.gif

Turning%20day%20into%20night_step6_47a87e99d96a0.jpg

step 7

Final result. ~ the shadows of the screen I did with a layer mask (Q) then brushed over the screen, right click, make selection, Ctrl J - then move the layer to where you want the shadow to fall. do a slight guassian blur and you could warp and distort the shadow too for perspective.

Turning%20day%20into%20night_step7_47a87f207ddd2.jpg

Dont worry about the images that i have used u can use u'r own images... ok ds

Cucumber flower in photoshop

February 14, 2008

step 1

hai everybody.. here i explain how to make beautiful flower from the cucumber.
I used the source image from "Cucumbers" contest.

Cucumber%20flower_step1_4794b6e40c92b.jpg

step 2

First remove the background use pen or lasso tool..

Cucumber%20flower_step2_4794b891058ca.jpg

step 3

Then go to Edit->transform->Distort and distort this image slightly..

Cucumber%20flower_step3_4794bb0cba683.jpg

step 4

Duplicate the layer and rotate the duplicate layer like this..

Cucumber%20flower_step4_4794bc1d13e9a.jpg

step 5

Then cut out the cucumber like this then duplicate it one more time and rotate it..

Cucumber%20flower_step5_4794be2910f7b.jpg

step 6

use this source..

Cucumber%20flower_step6_4794bea3393cb.jpg

step 7

Then combine this two images like this..

Cucumber%20flower_step7_4794bf3b57c88.jpg

step 8

copy the paste this part and change this color use Hue->saturation.

Cucumber%20flower_step8_4794c106f3e6b.jpg

step 9

Then duplicate this whole part then reduce the size one by one randomly then blur the flower..

Cucumber%20flower_step9_4794c320d8913.jpg

step 10

use this image to the background.

Cucumber%20flower_step10_4794c3e990ac3.jpg

step 11

blur the background source..

Cucumber%20flower_step11_4794c4959bbb9.jpg

step 12

then add some butterflies..hope u enjoy this tutorial.thanks to all..take care..

Cucumber%20flower_step12_4794c555e16bb.jpg

thumbsupp enjoy

Applying Shadow in photoshop

February 14, 2008
tutgoal.png
Tutorial goal:

In this tutorial u see how to apply shadow on a image with displacment map

step 1

Take the background and the guy photo in different layer

Applying%20Shadow_step1_4796be4fd4c12.jpg

step 2

Create new layer and using rectangular marquee tool create a bold line across the image

Applying%20Shadow_step2_4796bf0d4b682.jpg

step 3

Press alt and copy the lines for more than 6 or 7 times and take the layer below the 2nd layer..

Applying%20Shadow_step3_4796bf9d5c45e.jpg

step 4

creat new layer and press ctrl+alt+shift+E to create the combined image of all layers then go to image>adjustment>desaturation

Applying%20Shadow_step4_4796c24af1f99.jpg

step 5

after desaturated the layer go filter>blur>gussianblur and the value about 1 and save the file as psd and then delete that layer...

Applying%20Shadow_step5_4796c3244c5af.jpg

step 6

now duplicate the lines layer and place one of them in the topmost layer

Applying%20Shadow_step6_4796c3ba239cc.jpg

step 7

select the front layer and by holding ctrl click the photo layer u get the out line of the guy.. then u pres ctrl+shift+I to invert the selection the press delete

Applying%20Shadow_step7_4796c5ac2e4b0.jpg

step 8

now by selecting the front layer go to filter>distort>displacement horizontal 10 and vertical 10 click ok the select the file we saved before in step 5.. u see the lines near the face disturbed ..

Applying%20Shadow_step8_4796c6b0983ef.jpg

step 9

now apply gaussian blur both the lines layer around 30..

Applying%20Shadow_step9_4796c70702fd0.jpg

step 10

this is the final output.. have fun..

Applying%20Shadow_step10_4796c7483eac6.jpg

Hey i didn't do this one this was done by one of my friend in the states it mad still........

wc

Tutorial goal:

This tutorial shows you how to make a userbar for forums in Photoshop. You can make this Userbar in Photshop CS3, CS2, CS, 7 and Photshop Elements 6, 5, 4, 3 and 2.

step 1

First you have to make a pattern you will use later.
Make a new layer (3x3 px) and zoom in. Use the pencil tool to make 3 dots.
After that, you selects Edit -> Define Pattern.

Userbar%20in%20Photoshop_step1_479767f8aab61.jpg

step 2

Close the Pattern image, and create a new image. Use these settings.

Userbar%20in%20Photoshop_step2_4797692f48a4c.jpg

step 3

Now chose your background colors. I chosed "#009fff" and "#60e7ff" . Make a gradient background like this.

Userbar%20in%20Photoshop_step3_47976a6d3f763.jpg

step 4

Now you have to find a logo or a picture you wants to have on the userbar. I used the "Sheep alert" photo from a PST Contest.
Press Ctrl+T to transform it to the size you want. Place the picture or logo on the left side of the userbar. You can rotate it a bit if you want or change the Opacity.

Userbar%20in%20Photoshop_step4_47976f7770b4a.jpg

step 5

Now you have to write a text. Use the font "Visitor TT1 (BRK)". Set the font size to 10 pt and the color to white. I wrote "Sheep protector".

Userbar%20in%20Photoshop_step5_479770953a8c6.jpg

step 6

Now double click on the text-layer and select "Stroke". Set the Size to 1 px. and the color to Black.

Userbar%20in%20Photoshop_step6_4797711289e13.jpg

step 7

Now it should look like this.

Userbar%20in%20Photoshop_step7_479771578cf0f.jpg

step 8

Now select the Ellipse Tool and draw a white one like this.

Userbar%20in%20Photoshop_step8_4797726d9e0c8.jpg

step 9

Set the Opacity to 50%. The userbar should now look like this.

Userbar%20in%20Photoshop_step9_479783546c9ac.jpg

step 10

Now you have to use your pattern. Create a new "Fill or adjustments layer" and use the "Pattern" Style. Select your pattern and press OK. Set the opacity to 30%. .

Userbar%20in%20Photoshop_step10_47978a6260105.jpg

step 11

The userbar is almost finished. Make sure the text layer is the upper-layer.
Now it is finished. You can add a black border around the userbar if you wants. The finished Userbar should look like this.

Userbar%20in%20Photoshop_step11_47978bb8e67b5.jpg

thumbsupp

tutgoal.png
Tutorial goal:

Here I'll explain how to work as a Pro with shadow. It`s impossible to show all different skills here, but I suggest you to try and experiment.

step 1

Think that the black block is the image that you want to apply shadow...

Pro%20work%20with%20shadows_step1_47a060669e734.jpg

step 2

Dragging the image...

Pro%20work%20with%20shadows_step2_47a0609865e7f.jpg

step 3

Ease way to use drop shadow, using the mouse...

Pro%20work%20with%20shadows_step3_47a06130345f4.jpg

step 4

point the mouse at the image and drag...

Pro%20work%20with%20shadows_step4_47a0615fd78c0.jpg

step 5

NOW, WILL START THE PRO WAY TO WORK WITH SHADOWS.

At the layer 2, right click the mouse at the letter fx, and choose create layer...

Pro%20work%20with%20shadows_step5_47a06201d8d1f.jpg

step 6

Click at the layer 2`s drop shadow.

PLEASE DON`T FORGET TO CLICK!!!!

Pro%20work%20with%20shadows_step6_47a062658311f.jpg

step 7

CTRL + T (transform) at the layer 2`s Drop Shadow.

Here, you can make simple ajustment using Free Transform...

Pro%20work%20with%20shadows_step7_47a062df3c000.jpg

step 8

Rotate the transform...

Here, you can decrease the size too, using shit key to keep the proportion

important: shift key keep the proportion

Pro%20work%20with%20shadows_step8_47a06354cfaed.jpg

step 9

Start using transform distort...

Pro%20work%20with%20shadows_step9_47a063e40ca0d.jpg

step 10

Here, I have used transform distort with screw...

Pro%20work%20with%20shadows_step10_47a0644e7b2d0.jpg

step 11

You can erase part of the shadow...

Pro%20work%20with%20shadows_step11_47a0647277563.jpg

step 12

You can use gradient tool, at the shadow...

Pro%20work%20with%20shadows_step12_47a064adab34c.jpg

step 13

you can use Hue/Saturation at the shadow... but in that case you need the clipping mask.

AFTER THAT STEP, I SUGGEST YOU TO TRY OTHER WAYS. BECAUSE AS I KNOW HAVE A LOT OF THEM, IMPOSSIBLE TO SHOW ALL HERE.
If you have questions,please send me a PM or email.

Good Luck

Pro%20work%20with%20shadows_step13_47a0655030740.jpg

THE HISTORY OF VALENTINE'S DAY

February 14, 2008
Started By ZJSnyper1 Comments

Valentine's Day started in the time of the Roman Empire. In ancient Rome, February 14th was a holiday to honor Juno. Juno was the Queen of the Roman Gods and Goddesses. The Romans also knew her as the Goddess of women and marriage. The following day, February 15th, began the Feast of Lupercalia.

The lives of young boys and girls were strictly separate. However, one of the customs of the young people was name drawing. On the eve of the festival of Lupercalia, the names of Roman girls were written on slips of paper and placed into jars. Each young man would draw a girl's name from the jar and would then be partners for the duration of the festival with the girl whom he chose. Sometimes the pairing of the children lasted an entire year, and often, they would fall in love and would later marry.

Under the rule of Emperor Claudius II, Rome was involved in many *la*hdy and unpopular campaigns. Claudius the Cruel was having a difficult time getting soldiers to join his military leagues. He believed that the reason was that Roman men did not want to leave their loves or families. As a result, Claudius canceled all marriages and engagements in Rome.

The good Saint Valentine was a priest at Rome in the days of Claudius II. He and Saint Marius aided the Christian martyrs and secretly married couples, and for this kind deed Saint Valentine was apprehended and dragged before the Prefect of Rome, who condemned him to be beaten to death with clubs and to have his head cut off. He suffered martyrdom on the 14th day of February, about the year 270. At that time it was the custom in Rome, a very ancient custom, indeed, to celebrate in the month of February the Lupercalia feasts in honor of a heathen god. On these occasions, amidst a variety of pagan ceremonies, the names of young women were placed in a box, from which they were drawn by the men as chance directed.

The pastors of the early Christian Church in Rome endeavored to do away with the pagan element in these feasts by substituting the names of saints for those of maidens. And as the Lupercalia began about the middle of February, the pastors appear to have chosen Saint Valentine's Day for the celebration of this new feast. So it seems that the custom of young men choosing maidens for valentines, or saints as patrons for the coming year, arose in this way.

Believing that Valentine's Day exists to celebrate the memory of a saint who valued love and romance, many exchange love notes or Valentines. Others believe that Valentine was later confused with the Norman French word 'galantin' meaning "lover of women". Through the passage of time, the two have merged with the result of St. Valentine being remembered as the patron saint of lovers.

«First  <  1488 489 490 491 492524  >  Last»  | Page of 524  sorted by