Forum: News & Topical Issues

News updates, entertainment, hot topics, gossip | Share and discover what is happening right now.

EAT WAVE

February 18, 2008
Started By ZJSnyper8 Comments
ear Pastor,
I am a female, 20, living in the States. I am bisexual. The thing is that I like one of my friends and I would like to make out with her, but she doesn't like gay people and I really want to be intimate with her.
Since lately, she has been staying at my house and we share a room because she said the guest room is at the back of the house and for some reason she is scared to look in the pool at nights, so she sleeps with me.
I get so horny
Pastor, I am telling you that at times I get so horny. I just want to open her legs and start eating her out, but I don't know how she would react or if she would enjoy it. And I am most scared that she will tell my other friends and then our friendship will be over.
The other thing is that I am being intimate with another friend and she doesn't want me to be intimate with anybody else, even though she is sleeping around with other people. I really want to stop sleeping with her, but I just can't stop. I don't know if it's what she is doing to me, but I guess she has me hooked to her.
I really don't know what to do right now, so, pastor, I am asking you for your advice.
A.W., Connecticut, USA
Dear A.W.,
You like being gay and I wonder what you are asking me to say. Are you asking me to tell you how to approach your friend who stays at your house sometimes? If that is what you are trying to ask me, I would like to tell you straight up that I cannot sanction your lifestyle at all. I believe that contrary to what lots of people say, that homosexuality in any form, whether man to man or woman to woman, is abominable behaviour. It is against nature. The Bible condemns it and, therefore, I cannot sanction it.
Some folks may say that I am condemning individuals who are gay. I am doing no such thing. What I would like to do is to try to encourage those who engage in such behaviour to desist and to seek professional help. I have had the privilege of counselling many gay people (male and female) and the majority are very unhappy and want to change. Some gays have said that their lives have been transformed after they have had a spiritual experience with their Saviour and have ceased to associate themselves with other gays.
Curse and abuse
On the other hand, there are other gays who curse and abuse counsellors. They say that we are naive and they do not wish to change. However, in the USA there are organisations started by former gays and their main purpose is to help gays who wish to begin a new life and to abandon the gay lifestyle.
Please, dear lady, do not try to introduce your type of sexual behaviour to your friend. I would encourage you to make an appointment with a Christian family counsellor or a psychologist and ask him/her to help you overcome the desire you have to have sex with other women.
Pastor

Rape victim carries baby to term

February 18, 2008
Started By ZJSnyper10 Comments

RAISING a child that is the result of a rape is hard to do, but not impossible. It's the story of Yanique Henry, 20, formerly a resident of Tavares Gardens.

Four years ago, Henry was raped in Falmouth, Trelawny. The result was a daughter.

20080217T210000-0500_132637_OBS_RAPE_VICTIM_CARRIES_BABY_TO_TERM__1.jpg
HENRY... I keep her because she is mine

"I went home and took the pill," she told the Observer, recalling that she had taken the so-called 'morning-after pill' following her rape. "It (the pill) didn't work out. I don't know why it didn't work, but it didn't."

A few months later, with her body beginning to display the tell-tale signs of pregnancy, her condition was confirmed.
By this time, the man who had raped her had been taken before the court, following her having pointed him out at a dance only days after the rape.

The ensuing months of her pregnancy would see people encouraging her to abort the child and later, to abandon her, or give her up for adoption. But the then teenage mother would choose none of those options. Instead, she decided to keep the baby.

"Dem (people) tell me fi give her weh. Dem tell mi fi leave her a rubbish heap, but I keep her because she is mine," Henry said from the balcony of a friend's house in Tavares Gardens, where she grew up.

But as much as she loves her young child, there are days, the mother admits, when she is tempted to hate her.

"The feeling of the man mek mi feel like hate her, so sometimes I rough her. My mother tell me not to do it so I don't and I try to make her happy by taking her to Hope Gardens and so," said Henry, who currently works as an exotic dancer.

She notes that she has little choice but to do her dancing. It's the way she earns an income to provide for herself and her child, while helping her mother who is currently out of work.

"My father is dead and my mother not working. So I mostly work and focus on the child," she told the Observer matter-of-factly.

Henry was quick to add that she has plans to go back to school and made it clear that the sale of sex did not form part of her work.

"I don't do the sex thing. I just do my stage thing and collect my money on Sunday nights," she said.

Henry shares her story at a time when the island is locked in a heated debate over whether or not abortion should be legalised. The church and other interest groups are morally opposed to abortion, while there are others advocating a woman's right to choose, while at the same time noting that there ought to be exceptional cases where a woman should be able to abort a foetus. Among those 'exceptional cases' is when a woman is raped and is impregnated as a result of the assault.

For her part, Henry does not regret having brought her child to term.

"All my friends are proud of me. I just try to keep up myself and stay strong," said the young mother smiling. "I am happy (about her). She is very bright. She asks me a lot of questions. Anything she wants to know, she asks mi."

Talk Back
No comments have been posted
Post your comments
Related Articles
SPEED KILLS.....

JAMAICAN CHURCH leaders stand resolute that despite strong lobbying by international gay rights activists, homo-sexuality will not be accepted as normal.

The Church's rebuke comes in the wake of a recent scathing report from the New York-based Human Rights Watch and protests last week by a Florida church sympathetic to gays.

The Rev Dr Merrick 'Al' Miller, pastor of the Fellowship Taber-nacle in St Andrew, said that Jamaicans generally deem homo-sexuality wrong.

Immoral in every way

He said the demands of gay activists who are attempting to force their beliefs on society will in no way influence Jamaicans to change their views.

"Homosexuality is wrong from every possible angle," said Miller. "It's immoral from a physical, social and spiritual standpoint." He said that despite this, the Church was willing to help and support those homosexuals who are in need of counselling or assistance to change their lifestyle.

"I have no problem in supporting and helping someone who sees that he is going the wrong way and wants help in changing his life, but where I draw the line is when you say that it is OK and want to force others to accept your abnormal behaviour," he added.

It was reported last week that on Valentine's Day, leaders of the Metropolitan Community Church (MCC) in Florida staged a demonstration outside the Jamaican consulate in Miami over what they said was a series of anti-gay murders and gay-bashing incidents in the island.

The MCC, a worldwide assembly of gay, lesbian and transsexual congregants, said they were prepared to push for a boycott of Jamaican tourism if the country fails to deal with reported attacks on gays.

Sensitising police

The church also staged protests at consulates in New York, Toronto and Philadelphia. They reportedly called for a public aware-ness campaign to promote a more "gay-friendly" environment, and called on the Jamaican police to begin sensitivity training regarding the gay and lesbian communities.

The Rev Dr Lloyd Maxwell, of the AGAPE Christian Fellowship in Portmore, said that Scripture takes a very clear stance on the matter of homosexuality and, as such, the Church would not sanction nor encourage the lifestyle.

Rev Maxwell said the idea of conducting a public awareness campaign to sensitise Jamaicans on the issue is ludicrous.

Thursday, 14 February 2008 Image  A 16 year old girl was one of two persons killed in Olympic Gardens on the night of February 13th.

The body of Sasha Gaye Ricketts of Hibiscus Avenue and Alvin Henderson, 40, of Pelican Parade were found in a car on Drumalie Avenue.

It is reported that just before 10 o'clock residents heard explosions and called the police.

The police saw a blue Nissan Sunny motor car parked on the road way.

The car was searched and Sasha Gaye's body was found on the back seat while Mr. Henderson's body was found in the trunk.

The bodies had what appeared to be gunshot wounds.    

The police say they have no idea why they were killed.   
DEVA BRAT LOCKED DOWN TILL AFTER SPRING BREAK
Deva_Brat.jpgWhy Deva Bratt nah touch the road till March 27th? The whole ah Portmore shock 'bout the ting. Mi hear say him neva get bail because of the second charge of carnal abuse wah him de pon, so the judge just remand him inna custody till dem time deh. Look how the man tune Gussie Clarke ah shot pon HYPE TV and the man de a prison and caan see the glory. Mi hear say him ah gwaan hold it inna prison as best as him can, him ah deejay and hold concert and dem tings de and keep him mind sharp and him spirits up. But bwoy, the ting look sticky.

MIA JAE'S $50,000 STROLLER
Mi ah do mi hair last week up a Manor Park inna Sean Paul sister-in-law parlour when Mia Jae start complain how much Liquid cheap because him neva waan buy her the $50,000 stroller she want inna Answer's. Right now, mi affi wonder if Mia Jae no memba say Liquid have other babies on the way, she need fi ease down and slow up her roll and mek the man play him role without the stress. But stick a pin, New York, mi hear say the crib not even cost $50,000, it drop inna the 30 range, heh heh! Is a hustling ting? Why some girl so hype and shallow? Dem give the real woman dem bad name, memba.

DANIELLE FOR LEWD SHOW
What a way Danielle career tek off. Mi hear say she de pon a series of show inna  March, first she ah go Negril on Spring Break on March 8, then she have a show ah James Bond Beach alongside Tessanne Chin called LEWD, and then a final show wid Rik Ross on March 23rd inna Montego Bay. Right now, she de ah England gone look for the love of her life, reggae boyz baller Ricardo Fuller. A wah dis? Dem mussi tink say dem a Beckham and Spice, murda.

LOOK OUT FOR THE....
Reggae Academy awards this Sunday, February 24th, and 'Up Close and Personal' with D'Angel and Friends on February 23.

BIG UPS
Bigup Teflon's birthday party that keep last week inna St.Mary and big up him Yard a Love productions, some new riddim ah roll out this year. Big up Stampede, him a lock the street wid the hottest artiste and him chart inna the XNews sell off. Big up the artiste Rock Supreme, mi hear Boyd pull up yu tune wid Jarvis Church, Just Like That rail up five time inna Asylum last night.

Sandy Bay man hangs self

February 19, 2008
Started By Crazypickney6 Comments
A 45-year-old mason Fitzroy Skeele of Invernes Drive otherwise called 'Hungry Town' in Sandy Bay, Clarendon, hanged himself on Sunday about 12:30 p.m. According to family members Skeele climbed a tree in his yard after which he called out to them and then jumped from the tree. Skeele body was seen hanging from a piece of rope. The police were summoned and his body was removed to the morgue for a post mortem examination. One family member who wishes to remain anonymous told THE STAR that "Skeele was going through a period of depression because he had serious financial problems because he used up the money that his clients whom he does construction for gave him to do their business and he cannot replace it."

*-* Gangster love at Bembe**-*

February 19, 2008
Started By rrDesignZ 3 Comments

STARLEFT_1_P25IRhiteAffAM.jpg
The hotties were out in smokin' red outfits at the party. - Colin Hamilton photos

Although the gangsters got most of the attention, the lovers at Bembe were not neglected at least not in the early part of the night.

However, the 'mushy' music at Weekendz on Constant Spring Road which is home to the weekly party, occurred much earlier before the gangster tribute when Razz and Biggy gave their ode to lovers.

After playing several songs which saw women gyrating wildly, Biggy opened up the lovers' segment by 'bigging up' the cheaters.

"Big up di gal dem weh cheat pon dem man," he said as Timbaland and One Republic's Apologise followed. The half full venue of Weekendz cheered. He then addressed the men.

"Big up all a di man dem wha cheat pon dem girl," he added as J. Holiday's Bed replaced Apologise.

Several R&B hits were to follow as Biggy paid tribute to women who wore large underwear. The persons who came dressed in red and white seemed to be living for the moment as they danced and waved roses apparently given to them earlier.

"Yuh know seh Bembe a fi di gal dem so a pure gal tune mi a play," Biggie continued as the ladies danced to several songs from Akon. He was just warming up as T Pain's Bartender followed.

The homosexuals came in for the dismissive treatment in this segment as a sample of Bartender which stated "bad man nuh watch Bashment Granny" earned huge forwards from the growing crowd.

Big up beenie man

STARLEFT_1_PVLUXhiteAffAM.jpg
Beenie Man was in the house, decked out in his red and white attire.

"Mi nah mek nobody come between me and di business. Beenie Man big up yuhself," said Biggy as 'the doctor's' opening lines "dis whole ting yah start true mi meet Angel" marked a departure from the R&B segment. He followed with "Big up Bounty Killer any weh yuh deh in a di worl," as Bullet Proof Skin blared. The crowd loved it.

He continued with several girl tunes before making way for ZJ Liquid who gave the gangsters treat. Of course, the male dancers seemed in their element during this segment as they traded moves sometimes very close to each other.

Later in the night, he would return to treat the women as most of the men left the venue as the women displayed their B... Riders and took their Positions on the dance floor that were dominated by male dancers for most of the night.

It was this segment that brought an entertaining Bembe to a close at 3:30 a.m.

STARLEFT_1_P3ATFhiteAffAM.jpg
This couple get close at Bembe Valentine party, Red and White Affair held at Weekendz on Thursday, February 14.

STARLEFT_1_P63QJhiteAffAM.jpg
These patrons stuck to the red and white theme of the Valentine event.

WASHINGTON - Barack Obama powered past Hillary Rodham Clinton in the race for Democratic convention delegates Tuesday on a night of triumph sweetened with outsized primary victories in Maryland, Virginia and the District of Columbia.

ADVERTISEMENT

"Tonight we're on our way," Obama told cheering supporters in Madison, Wis. "But we know how much further we have to go," he added, celebrating eight straight victories over Clinton, the former first lady now struggling in a race she once commanded.

The Associated Press count of delegates showed Obama with 1,210. Clinton had 1,188, falling behind for the first time since the campaign began. Neither was close to the 2,025 needed to win the nomination.

His victories were by large margins he was gaining about 75 percent of the vote in the nation's capital and nearly two-thirds in Virginia. In Maryland, he was winning close to 60 percent.

By contrast, Clinton was attempting to retool her campaign in the midst of a losing streak. Her deputy campaign manager resigned, the second high-level departure in as many days.

Campaigning in Texas, where she hopes to triumph on March 4, she said she was looking ahead, not back.

"I'm tested, I'm ready. Now let's make it happen," she said.

Republican front-runner John McCain won all three GOP primaries, adding to his insurmountable lead in delegates for the Republican nomination. He congratulated Mike Huckabee, his sole remaining major rival and a potential vice presidential running mate, then turned his focus on the Democrats.

"We know where either of their candidates will lead this country, and we dare not let them," he told supporters in Alexandria, Va. "They will paint a picture of the world in which America's mistakes are a greater threat to our security than the malevolent intentions of an enemy that despises us and our ideals."

Interviews with voters leaving the polls showed Obama split the white vote with Clinton in Virginia, though she won it by 10 percentage points in Maryland. He won 90 percent of the black vote in Virginia and almost as much in Maryland. She won a majority of white women in both states, though by less than she is accustomed to. He won among white men in Virginia, and they split that vote in Maryland.

In all, there were 168 Democratic delegates at stake Tuesday.

Obama moved past Clinton in the delegate chase on the basis of the day's primaries and newly released results from last Saturday's Washington caucuses. Additional delegates still to be allocated from his new victories were certain to add to his lead.

McCain's victory in Virginia was a relatively close one, the result of an outpouring of religious conservatives who backed Huckabee.

-- Edited by Casino at 00:00, 2008-02-13

FOR PPLE WHO  KNO W PHOTOSHOP ONLY
The seems to be a possible clash between rasta developing again. A major brouhaha is brewing between Determine, Guidance and Capleton because of a song called Science that has been blowing up all over the airwaves.

Regardless of the internal friction between the artistes, the streets are buzzing over Determines song, who just returned home after a three month sabbatical in the United Kingdom. CLICK HERE TO LISTEN TRACKS

Determine.jpgThe song, Science was recorded on the Gal De Ya rhythm produced by Marvin Williams. He lambasts what appears to be the entire industry, then documents the dub plate science, 45 science, stage show science, dancehall science caan buss science and muss buss science. Some of the choice lines go: dem say science rise and fall Elephant Man, anno me say so, ah dem say so, science mek dem find guns pon Sizzla land and if him science neva strong him woulda de jail til 51, and dem shoulda know ah St. Mary mi come from, and yu know that a science land, don.

He tackles relationships, talking the tings dem about the Alliance (nobody caan tell dem say dem no science Alliance) and those broken friendships, and about the breakup of Sasha and Turbulance, and Beenie Man married, that is science. He gets a bit personal with Vegas heart-related sickness saying: Vegas, why the whole heap of sickness? If yu owe the obeah man, I am not the witness. He even disses Chicken for that belt-stealing incident overseas years ago.

Ah just humour, Determine told MZJAEntertainment.com, pointing to the fact that he even makes fun of himself and his inability to find another number one song.

There is a particular line that Guidance of the Love What You Got fametook umbrage with:
A who a talk say dem science Guidance
Tun him inna one hit like a wear out pants

Guidance has since done a counteraction where he lowers the b***b on Determine on the same rhythm. Guidances lyrics go:

Anno me mek destruction tek yu
Yu waan look the boss wife, him dump yu
Call Guidance name just wont help yu
Destruction tek yu
Yu go St. Mary mek the money dem wuk yu
Caan find no hits, the management dem dump yu
How yu say yu loyal and yu live a Palais Royal?
Low the 14 year-old before yu charge fi carnal

Despite the hard-hitting vitriol in the song, Determine welcomes Guidances counteraction.

Ah me draw out Guidance with my song and mi glad say fi him song a gwaan. Me see him and we talk, so we cool  even though him ting sound personal, we know say ah just music, and we glad him no tek it physical, Determine, who scored the monster hit, Kette Drum with Beenie Man, said.

According to Determine, Capleton is also steamed about the references.

Him vex about the St. Mary part, mi hear say him do the counteraction but him nah voice it, him ah go run on pon me on a stage show, so mi no know, Determine said.

He said that he has nothing but respect for Capleton.

When mi just ra**, mi come under some whole heap of pressure, man ah say mi fi trim, and ah him gimme the first strength as a deejay. Capleton ah mi artiste, Determine told MZJAEntertainment.com.

Cemetery firebombed

February 12, 2008
Started By Crazypickney7 Comments

One week after residents forced the cancellation of the first burial at the Royal Rest Cemetery in Burnt Ground, Hanover, arsonists have resorted to more intimidatory tactics by firebombing sections of the property, causing damage in excess of $2 million.

The incident occurred last Saturday at approximately 11:30 p.m., Dale Delapenha of Delapenha Funeral Homes, owners of the cemetery, told The Gleaner.

A storeroom that housed heavy-duty equipment, paints, beds and television sets was burnt beyond recognition, while sections of the fencing and gra**land were badly damaged.

After doing damage on Saturday, the daring perpetrators returned on Sunday morning and padlocked the gates to the property, locking the occupants inside.

"Mayhem and disorder have won, and what this is telling me is that any group can stop the legal operation of any business in this country at will," the frustrated businessman said.

There has been a long-standing dispute between the residents of the area, operators of the funeral home and the National Environment and Planning Agency. The residents are adamant that no one should be buried there, as they believe the chemicals used to preserve bodies will contaminate the water table, thus affecting their water supply.

Toshiba has said it will stop making its high definition DVDs, ending a battle with rival format Blu-ray over which would be the industry standard.

Following a review of its business, Toshiba said it would stop production of HD DVD players and recorders.

The HD DVD format has suffered as major US film studios backed the Blu-ray format, which is being developed by electronics firm Sony and partners.

Analysts said the move would allow Toshiba to focus on other products.

"It was an agonising decision for me, but I thought if we kept running this business it would have grave ramifications for the management of our company," Toshiba president Atsutoshi Nishida said.

"We made a quick decision, judging that there is no way of winning the competition," he said.

Tipping point

There is no way of winning the competition Atsutoshi NishidaToshiba president

Toshiba said the tipping point came last month when Warner Bros' followed a number of other film studios in deciding to release its movies only in the Blu-ray format.

"It shows what a highly competitive market it is. When it comes to video, it is the person with the most content that wins," Gartner analyst Paul O'Donovan said.

Warner Bros' decision means an estimated three quarters of new film releases will be available on Blu-ray discs. Other major studios backing Blu-ray include 20th Century Fox, Walt Disney and MGM.

Last week, Wal-Mart, the world's largest retailer, announced it would sell high-definition discs only in the Blu-ray format at its 4,000 US stores.

FOR BLU-RAY Sony Matsushita (Panasonic) Warner Bros Wal-Mart Walt Disney 20th Century Fox Blockbuster Netflix

Video rental firms Blockbusters and Netflix will also offer customers only Blu-ray.

Universal, Paramount and DreamWorks studios signed up to produce movies in HD DVD, but Toshiba's withdrawal is expected to significantly reduce the number of films available in the format.

Industry boost

The end of the battle is expected to give the industry a boost, as it removes uncertainty for consumers over which format to buy.

"The industry can now focus on getting the right product to the consumer, at the right price and in the volumes required," Paul O'Donovan said.

Toshiba will continue to supply retailers with machines until the end of March this year.

After that, Toshiba will continue to provide technical support to the estimated one million people worldwide who own HD DVD devices.

FOR HD DVD Universal Studios Paramount Pictures DreamWorks Animation Intel Microsoft HP

Toshiba has sold 700,000 HD DVD players worldwide. There are also 300,000 Xbox 360 video game consoles with HD DVD drives.

Toshiba also makes HD DVD drives for PCs and laptop computers.

The HD DVD versus Blu-ray battle has been likened to the VHS versus Betamax war of the 1980s.

Fidel Castro talks to the Brazilian president in a video chat (15 January 2008) Fidel Castro has not been seen in public since his operation in July Castro's career Cuba's ailing leader Fidel Castro has said he will not accept another term as president, ending 49 years in power. "I neither will aspire to, nor will I accept, the position of president of the council of state and commander in chief," he told the newspaper, Granma. The 81-year-old handed over power temporarily to his brother, Raul, in July 2006 when he underwent surgery. US President George W Bush said the news should mark the beginning of a transition towards democracy for Cuba. "The international community should work with the Cuban people to begin to build institutions that are necessary for a democracy, and eventually this transition ought to lead to free and fair elections," he told reporters in Rwanda. This should be a period of democratic transition for the people of Cuba US President George W Bush "And we're going to help. The United States will help the people of Cuba realise the blessings of liberty." Mr Castro has ruled Cuba since leading a communist revolution in 1959. In December, Mr Castro indicated that he might possibly step down in favour of younger leaders, saying "my primary duty is not to cling to any position". Soon afterwards, Raul Castro appeared to suggest that his older brother still had an important political role to play, saying the president still had full use of his mental faculties and was being consulted on all important policy issues. [spoiler][spoiler]_44435940_castro2008afp203b.jpg

I need help please

February 19, 2008
Started By DekaNo 3 Comments
yow everybody unnu know where mi can get photoshop fi download besides rapidshare

GEORGETOWN, Guyana (CMC):

A top security official here has said the gunmen who carried out a mass killing in the small mining town of Bartica, near the Brazilian border, have declared war against Guyana.

Former national security adviser and retired Brigadier David Grangere is blaming the mayhem on the lack of a comprehensive national security plan to address the deteriorating crime situation that started seven years ago.

One-hour assault

Twelve people, including three lawmen, were gunned down Sunday night in the small mining village. The 12 were murdered during a one-hour assault, which forced the Bharrat Jagdeo administration to postpone yesterday's reading of the national budget.

In recent weeks, crime has spiraled out of control in this Caribbean Community country.

Only three weeks ago, a gang of about 25 men launched an attack at Lusignan, a community in East Coast Demerara, where they killed 11 people, including five children.

Many residents have gathered on the streets of Bartica, lamenting the brutish manner in which the 12 people were slaughtered Sunday night. There had been no major statement by the Bharrat Jagdeo administration the Government Information Agency (GINA) has announced that Jagdeo would be meeting with stakeholders today.

At least 20 unidentified gunmen using speedboats first attacked a police outpost Sunday, killing three officers and seriously wounding two others, before taking away various firearms and freeing a number of inmates. Reports said the men then hijacked a police vehicle which they used to run amok, shooting indiscriminately at homes and businesses. Police believe that the gang that carried out the attack was the same group which killed 11 people, including five children at Lusignan three weeks ago.

Linked to wanted man

Police have also since linked that attack to a gang led by the country's most wanted man, Rondel 'Fine Man' Rawlins. Rawlins is reported to have warned law enforcement authorities that there would be mayhem in the country if his reputed pregnant common-law wife was not released by abductors.

The police have offered a G$50 million (US$250,000) reward for Rawlins' capture. He is wanted for several murders, including the April 2006 assassination of Agriculture Minister Satyadeow 'Sash' Sawh, several of his siblings and a bodyguard.

The official rate of annual inflation in Zimbabwe tripled in the space of one month to 66,212 per cent in December, by far the highest in the world, but less than half the rate calculated by independent analysts.

The state Herald newspaper published the figures from the central bank Friday, showing a dramatic escalation from November's already dizzying rate of 24,470 per cent.

The newspaper said inflation for food and non-alcoholic drinks rose to 79,412 per cent during the year, and non-food inflation stood at 58,492 per cent in December.

In early October, the state central statistics office said the official inflation rate was just below 8,000 per cent. It then suspended its monthly updates on inflation because there was not enough in the shortage-stricken shops to calculate a regular basket of goods.

Sharp increases

The National Incomes and Prices Commission, the government's price control body, this week allowed sharp increases in the prices of the corn meal staple, sugar, bread and other basics in a bid to restore viable operations by producers and return the goods to empty shelves.

But the new prices were only about half that demanded for goods sold on the black market and were unlikely to guarantee regular supplies to food stores.

Even the Herald predicted that "in most cases, the products will be available only immediately after the price increases" and would disappear again as production costs rise.

Independent analysts estimate the real annual rate of inflation is closer to 150,000 per cent. They cite supermarket receipts showing the price of chicken rose more than 236,000 per cent to 15 million Zimbabwean dollars, or about US$2.15 a kilogram between January 2007 and January 2008.

The price of eggs rose by 153,000 per cent in the same period. One of the lowest increases, of about 64,000 per cent, was for sugar, bringing independent estimates for overall food inflation to about 164,000 per cent.

School fees increased last month by 600 per cent, and the price of scarce gasolene and rents for housing have soared.

Call charges for fixed lines and mobile phones also rose on Monday by up to 600 per cent.

Zimbabwe, a former regional breadbasket, is facing acute shortages of food, hard currencies, gasolene and most basic goods in an economic meltdown blamed on disruptions in the agriculture-based economy after the often-violent seizures of thousands of white-owned commercial farms began in 2000.

The country has Africa's fastest shrinking economy, with per-capita gross domestic product sinking to less than US$10 last year, down from more than US$200 per head in 1996, according to international financial institutions.

- AP

Nas to drop Nigger album in April

February 18, 2008
Started By Casino5 Comments

After stirring up more controversy during the 50th annual Grammy Awards, it appears Nas and Def Jam may be closer to an actual release date for his Nigger album.

"[It's coming out] April 22," says Nas. "I'm over Black History Month. I think we are part of American History and we should have it all year 'round."

Rumors have been spreading about the album since Nas announced the title during a concert in October of 2007. Proposed release dates have included December 2007, and also February 2008. A single entitled, "What It Is" was leaked, but Nas later stated that the song would not be included on the album.

While the reaction to the album's title has been mixed, Nas remained optimistic, despite all of the delays.

"The timing couldn't be more perfect," Nas tells The Poetess of Sirius Satellite Radio's The Foxxhole [click to listen]. "Nobody's going to tell the truth about race relations if they're not offended or angered. Everybody's just hiding behind the veil of half-truths...They think that if you don't talk about it it'll go away."

As previously mentioned, Salaam Remi, has delivered tracks as well as Jermaine Dupri, DJ Toomp, Diddy and Stargate

Another wanted man killed

February 19, 2008
Started By Crazypickney0 Comments
A 28-year-old St Catherine man who the Linstead police claim was on their most wanted list was shot and killed during a shoot-out with police yesterday. An illegal firearm was allegedly taken from him. Ernie 'Herring' Fisher, of Wakefield in Linstead, St Catherine was shot and killed after he allegedly engaged the police in a shoot-out yesterday. The police said after the incident Fisher was found to have a hand gun with several live rounds and spent shells. According to Detective Inspector Fitz Richards of the St Catherine North Police, Fisher was a very elusive and dangerous criminal who often engaged the police in shoot-outs and that his death has brought closure to a number of shootings in Linstead. The police said Fraser was also wanted for the murder of businessman 65-year-old Roy Lee who was killed in December while he was opening his business place in Linstead. "We believe that the killing of this man will ease the plight of robberies and shootings in the Linstead and surrounding areas as he moved with a vengeance said Inspector Richards.

MAN U CRUSHES ARSENAL>>>>FA CUP

February 17, 2008
Started By ***DK***5 Comments
tdwnMANCHESTER, England (AP) - A week could be a season's worth of difference for Manchester United.

Last Sunday, a flat United side was run ragged by Manchester City. But on Saturday in the fifth round of the English FA Cup, United was nothing like the team that capitulated to its crosstown rival.

A 4-0 thumping of Arsenal, its fiercest Premier League title challenger, was completed with verve and confidence.

.moreTeamsHdr { background-image:url(/fe/img/Story/moreTeamsOn_header.gif); background-repeat:repeat-x; background-position:top; height:35px; color:#000000; font-family:Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; font-size:12px; padding-top:4px; padding-left:4px; font-weight:bold; } .moreTeamsLinks a:link, .moreTeamsLinks a:visited { color:#1266a4; font-family:Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; text-decoration:none; font-size:10px; padding-top:4px; padding-left:4px; padding-right:4px; padding-bottom:4px; } .moreTeamsLinks a:hover { text-decoration:underline; }

"The whole team can be very proud of themselves," United manager Alex Ferguson said. "It was a really fantastic performance and a great way to respond to last Sunday's defeat.

"I think they were all disappointed with themselves."

Not only did the onslaught seal a quarterfinal berth in the FA Cup, but handed United the psychological advantage as it attempts to reduce the Gunners' five-point advantage atop the league.

"I hope this result has an impact on the title race," Ferguson said. "When Arsenal come here in April they know they're in for a really good game.

"Who knows though - it's two months away and both clubs could be in different positions to now. But this result has certainly whetted our appetite for the league game."

Wayne Rooney is pleased that the depth of the squad was evident as Cristiano Ronaldo, Carlos Tevez, Ryan Giggs and Owen Hargreaves were rested with a midweek European Champions League match at Lyon looming.

"That keeps them fresh and could be key come the end of the season," Rooney said. "Last season we had to play all the players in every game."

Without Ronaldo and Tevez in support, Wayne Rooney might have been expected to cut a frustrated figure in a 4-5-1 formation.

Instead, the United striker provided evidence he can operate as a lone striker.

With good supply from midfield and the wings, Rooney - full of energy after being suspended for last week's dismal derby defeat - scored once and was a constant menace.

Now he hopes Man United will get Chelsea in Monday's draw as its quarterfinal opponent.

"I'd like to play them at home and try to knock them out," he said. "After that we'll be through to the semifinal and I'm sure we can take things from there."

Staying faithful

February 10, 2008
Is it easy for you to stay faithful in a relationship?

Lawyer Claims Britney Held Hostage!!!

Britney SpearsThe lawyer who derailed the Britney Spears conservatorship case tells TMZ Britney herself called him and asked him to take the reins. The question: Will a judge be buyin' what he's sellin'?

Attorney John Eardley filed papers in federal court last Thursday, alleging the California courts have railroaded Britney by imposing a conservatorship. Eardley tells us Britney called him, but he would not disclose the circumstances surrounding the alleged call or what she said. We do know that Michael Sands, who used to be the spokesperson for K-daddy's lawyer, Mark Vincent Kaplan, is now the mouthpiece for Eardley. And Sands also reps Sam Lutfi, who is now restrained from all things Britney.

So, are Lutfi and Sands behind the whole magilla with Eardley? Smells like it.

Eardley tells TMZ Britney didn't sign a retainer agreement because she is being "held hostage" in her own home. Ironically, a half hour before he told us this, we looked out our office windows and saw Britney driving through West Hollywood on a shopping spree.

Just by filing the Federal papers, Eardley has paralyzed the California courts from issuing more orders in the conservatorship case unless and until the Federal judge tells Eardley to take a hike.

Going for broke

February 18, 2008
Started By ZJSnyper8 Comments

Dear Pastor,

I am a 19-year-old young lady who just left college and I am confused. Throughout my tenure at college, I met a loving guy who would do anything for me, but the problem was, he is broke. He works, but it's not enough to take care of both of us and I am confused because I am a pretty and sexy young lady who has got many offers from men, but refused because I love this guy. Please, tell me, what to do because I am on the brink of leaving him. T. V., New York, USA Dear T. V., Why do you think that this guy has a right to support you? you know that the money he is earning can hardly meet his obligations. Go get yourself a job and support yourself. Pastor
findImg.php?pic_size=200&table_name=news_img_tab&table_field=img_id&img_id=1211 International Reggae Icon, Luciano is returning to the US for a series of concerts in the West, Midwest, and Northwest Northwest region of the US beginning March 27 and concluding May 4.
Mikey General and Jahmessenjah Band will also join Luciano on this tour. Fans can expect new material from his latest album, Jah Is My Navigator, in stores, as well as classic Luciano songs.

And since the release his landmark CD in 1995, Where There Is Life, succeeded by more than 40 full-length albums that have garnered tremendous acclaim, Jah Is My Navigator, the Rastamans latest release on VP, is arguably the quintessential Culture album for 2008.

Seasoned with the sing-jays everlasting melody of spiritual salvation, repatriation, global harmony and most importantly, saving the battered souls of conscious less youth, Jah Is My Navigator embraces Lucianos powerful baritone over traditional One Drop riddims, accompanied by prophetic lyrics that are both peaceful and nourishing.

Justifiably known to many as The Messenger, Luciano, born Jepther Washington McClymont in Mandeville Jamaica, modestly admits that the key to his continued success is making positive music to inspire other people. "Ive been true to the cause and true to my purpose, using my talent to glorify the almightymaking music is one of my greatest joysas a true Roots singerI feel satisfaction and honestly have to stay on this righteous pathway," says the international reggae phenomenon who recently joined John Legend for a benefit concert in Ghana, to raise money to fight, guinea worm, a waterborne disease.

TOUR DATES AS FOLLOWS:

March 27, 2008 San Juan Capistrano CA The Coach House
March 28, 2008 Los Angeles, CA Crash Mansion
March 29, 2008 San Diego, CA World Beat Center
March 30, 2008 San Luis Obispo, CA The Graduate
April 1, 2008 Portland, Oregon The Crystal Ballroom
April 2, 2008 Seattle, Washington Neumos
April 3, 2008 Eugene, Oregon TBA
April 4, 2008 Santa Cruz, CA Vet Hall
April 5, 2008 Sacramento, CA Harlows
April 6, 2008 Arcata, CA Arcata Community Center
April 7, 2008 San Francisco, CA The Independent
April 8, 2008 Boulder, Colorado Fox Theater
April 9, 2008 Aspen, Colorado Belly UP
April 11, 2008 Santa Fe, New Mexico Sante Fe Brewing Company
April 12, 2008 Denver, Colorado Cervantes
April 13, 2008 Salt Lake City, Utah Palladium
April 16, 2008 Kansas City, M G's Jamaican Quisine
April 18, 2008 Austin, Texas Flamingo Cantina
April 19, 2008 Austin, Texas Austin Reggae Festival
April 20, 2008 Dallas, Texas Palm Beach Reggae Club
April 22, 2008 TBA TBA
April 23, 2008 St Louis, Mo Club Viva
April 24, 2008 Ann Arbor, Michigan Blind Pig
April 25, 2008 Columbus, Ohio Alrosa Villa
April 26, 2008 Cincinnati, Ohio Annies
April 27, 2008 Chicago, Illinois The Wild Hare
April 29, 2008 Baltimore, MD Rams Head Live
April 30, 2008 Manhattan, New York SOBS
May 1, 2008 New Haven, CT Toads Place
May 2, 2008 Boston TBA
May 3, 2008 Poughkeepsie, NY The Chance Theater
May 4, 2008 Norfolk, VA

How was 2008 Grammy????....

February 13, 2008
Started By dj_fraski2 Comments
jus give us ur take on d gammy....hw u think it waS????
WHO WOULD WIN A HAND TO HAND DUEL?????penguEWDPROTEC

losing our internet rights

February 16, 2008
Started By DekaNo 8 Comments
It was recenlty announce that we are slowly losing our internet rights the first blow was struck by youtube when they removed  certain videos  which they say was violating some copyright law which eveybody is saying is a load of crap the second blow was struck by ebay when they said we could no longer leave negitive comments about buyers or sellers which is total foolishness cause what they or saying is that if a buy something an ebay an the seller sells me a broken porduct i can't let other buyers know that hes a con thats just f**ked up and they say to how things or running now in the next couple of years the illegal downloading of contents well soon be stopped so the question comes back or we slowly losing our internet rights.
Woman applying for new ID says she's 120

JERUSALEM - Mariam Amash filled in the routine form with anything but routine information. Amash, who recently applied for a new Israeli identity card, said she was born 120 years ago a claim, if confirmed, that would make her the oldest person in the world. The Guinness Book of Records currently lists 114-year-old Edna Parker of Shelbyville, Indiana, as holding that title.

Sabine Haddad, a spokeswoman for Israel's Interior Ministry, confirmed that Amash, from the Israeli Arab village of Jisr a-Zarka, is listed in the population registry as having been born in 1888. "We're just not sure it's correct," Haddad said.

The listing was based on a birth certificate issued by Turkish authorities who ruled the region at the time, she said. Ministry clerks in an Israeli city near Amash's village found out about her claim this week when she came in to replace an identity card she lost.

Relatives said she has 10 sons and one daughter, her eldest, now in her late 80s. She has about 120 grandchildren, 250 great-grandchildren and 20 great-great grandchildren, they said.

A granddaughter-in-law, Hamda Amash, 40, said Mariam is a "healthy, active woman. She walks each day and makes sure she drinks at least one glass of olive oil." She was a pampered second wife who married relatively late, explaining the ages of her children, Hamda Amash said. "Her house is always full of people," she said. "People like to come to her house. She talks to us about the old days. She knows the history since the Turkish times." Turkish control over the Holy Land ended with World War I.

A devout Muslim, she has made four pilgrimages to Mecca, the last one about 15 years ago, when she would have been over 100, relatives said.

Amarilis Espinoza, a Guinness spokeswoman in London, said she was not familiar with Amash's contention, but said multiple documents would need to be produced to back up a birth certificate, like the birth certificates of a spouse and children, death certificates, school certificates and medical examinations.

"Anything that helps reconstruct the timeline of the person back to that age," Espinoza explained. "There is a lot of documentation that needs to be prepared before we could announce a person is the oldest person."

Code:
http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20080215/ap_on_fe_st/odd_golden_oldie;_ylt=AvIkcxY8ke1jYUTofmGkoc_tiBIF

New sports car creates a splash

February 18, 2008
Started By viper_3kj5 Comments
20080216_i08.jpg A Swiss company says it has invented the worlds first underwater car - and its a convertible.

The Rinspeed sQuba concept car was inspired by James Bonds The Spy Who Loved Me.

sQuba, at the touch of a button, can transform into an amphibious vehicle capable of diving to a depth of about 33 feet.

Rinspeed boss Frank M Rinderknecht admitted it was Bond who gave him the idea for the car. And exactly thirty years later this becomes reality in todays world, he says.

Propulsion on the water is by two propellers in the stern while two powerful jet drives in the bow propel the vehicle while diving underwater.

-- Edited by viper_3kj at 13:26, 2008-02-18

Is beyonce really pregnant???

January 15, 2008
Started By jathugs9 Comments
when was di last time you got a glimps at beyonce??? did she look pregnant???

the UK's second most read newspaper is reporting that Beyonce and Jay Z are married - and that Beyonce may be pregnant.
Here's what they're saying.
Since her secret wedding last month, Beyonce Knowles has been glowing even more than usual.

And friends are suggesting the marriage isn't the only thing she has kept under wraps.

Sources close to the Crazy In Love singer have hinted there could be double celebrations - as she and husband Jay-Z get set to have their first baby.

A friend said: "Beyonce is giving nothing away. She's always been close to her parents and open about wanting a large family of her own one day."

ruder10r11...lol

hype tv top charts!!!!

January 24, 2008
Started By jathugs6 Comments

TW LW WOC Artiste Name - Song Title - Record Label

01 01 11 Demarco-Fallen Soldiers- Star Kutt-4wks@#1
02 03 10 Queen I-Frica- Don't Touch Me There-No Doubt Records
03 03 11 Shaggy feat Rik Rok- Bonafide Girl-Big Yard-Peak@#2
04 07 05 Erup-Click My Finger-Truck Back -Shot to Watch
05 04 19 Assassin-Dem A Sissy-Don Corleon- Peak@#4
06 06 12 Brick & Lace- Love Is Wicked-180 Entertainment
07 11 08 Sean Paul Pick It Up & Drop It -BirchillGreatest Gainer up 4
08 05 18 Movado-Squeeze Har -H2o- Peak@#5
09 08 18 Bugle-What I'm Gonna Do- Daseca-2wks@#1
10 10 18 Busy Signal-Nah Go A Jail-Jam-3wks@#1

11 10 09 Lutan Fyan St. Jago De La Vega-Mac D's Peak@#10
12 12 09 Garrison Hawk Gangsta Roll- Warner Bros
13 13 23 Beenie Man Ft. Bar-Bee -Give It Up-357 Records-3wks@#1
14 16 02 Serani feat.Bugle-DOH-Daseca
15 17 03 Spice Up Inna De Light- Truck Back
16 14 24 Etana- Roots- Free Mind-Peak@#6
17 15 14 Da'Ville- Fling It Up Pon Me-Big Yard-Peak@#10
18 19 02 Bugle-Journey-Daseca
19 NE 01 Deva Bratt-Gussy Clarke-Truck Back-( NE-New Entry)
20 NE 01 Prestige-I'm Bless-Timeless Records-( NE-New Entry)

Deadly Haitians in Hellshire

February 15, 2008
Started By ZJSnyper12 Comments
The middle class community of Hellshire in Portmore, St Catherine, has become a haven for Haitian refugees, most of whom are believed to be involved in the dangerous guns-for-drugs trade, THE STAR has learnt.Residents tell THE STAR that quite a large number of Haitians have been 'hiding' in the seaside community. Most of them stay with residents and play active roles in the illegal firearms and narcotics trade. Police confirmation Assistant Commissioner Glen-more Hinds, head of Operation Kingfish, confirmed the Haitians' presence in the community. "We are aware that they are being accommodated in a number of communities which are bordered by the shore." ACP Hinds said. Acting Crime Chief for the St Catherine South, Detective Inspector Carl Malcolm, said the Hellshire Beach and the community had become an "area of concern". Last month, members of Operation Kingfish combed sections of the community for Haitians suspected in smuggling weapons into the island. During that operation, four men, including two Haitians, were arrested. "We are of the view that they were part of the crew of a boat that made it into Jamaica from Haiti with firearms so the operation is ongoing," says Hinds. "They're here, they know the waters pretty well from here to Haiti." Portmore's Mayor, Keith Hinds, who lives in Hellshire, is also aware of the situation. "I think everyone is aware of the activities...We need intervention from the level of the commissioner of police," Mayor Hinds reveals. He believes the illegal activities of the Haitians will negatively impact the lives of residents. "Yes we are aware of the activities and I am pretty certain that it will spill over to the residents at some point in time," Mayor Hinds who refers to himself as a "very concerned citizen". Other residents told The STAR that the situation has them scared. "Di man dem a gwaan like dem waa mash up di place, yu nuh see dat?" said Nicey, a restaurant worker on the Hellshire Beach. "A crazy things a gwaan roun ya still, pure gun play an ting, gun a sell an dem ting deh, man from yard a and di Haitian dem a run di place a way rasta." The STAR did not locate or any Haitians but residents claim they have come across them. They say they can be differentiated by their accent. "Dat a nuh secret, of course dem deh yah, your timing jus wrong...Anytime yu come back an si a crew a man a chat jus cock yu ears and listen fi who and who jus sound different, a di Haitian dem deh," said Kingman, another restaurant worker and well known individual in Hellshire, explained. "Even though we a seh dem only spell trouble fi di area, yu have other people weh a tek dem inna dem place and a mek dem feel welcome." He suggested that the regular sighting of the Haitians is a clear indication they are being housed in the area. "Yu si dem early a morning and yu see dem late a night, it nuh get more obvious than dat," he surmised. The police's efforts to rid the community of the refugees are being commended but many residents feel they might be unable to cope. "Truth be told, the police are trying to help the situation as we have seen where they have made recent arrests, but as soon as they take them away, more and more of them return." one resident stated. Others say while they are not certain of the exact number of illegal Haitians in their community, the number seems to be rising as time goes by. "One time you could safely count the number of them but now it seems to be getting out of hand...At times you might see all four of them walking together.The number of them seems like it increasing as weeks go by," another resident explained. ACP Hinds notes that the police are working to secure the nation's borders. "We do continuous surveillance of fishing villages, and we have had a number of persons arrested and deported. This is part of an ongoing activity as we look to protect out borders," he said. The sightings of the Haitians make residents fear a recurrence of a situation which last year led to the death of at least five persons in the community. Last September fisherman Mackero Manderson, 18, was shot dead. Police found his lifeless and bullet riddled body on the Hellshire beach. A Haitian 50 dollar bill was taken from his trousers pocket when his body was searched. The teenager's death was the third incident in about three weeks, believed to be linked to the drugs for guns trade. Two weeks after, a 22-year-old fisherman was also killed on the beach. That shooting followed a similar incident two days earlier at a popular seafood restaurant on the beach. Then Robert 'Ninety Nine' Levy, 40, was shot dead and a 32-year-old man injured. A few days prior Gary Cooper of March Pen Road, St. Catherine, was fatally shot when he was chased by two men on the beach. All these incidents were theorised by police to be linked to the illicit trade involving Haitians.

Serial church robber nabbed

February 17, 2008
Started By ZJSnyper3 Comments
A 39-year-old man who constantly stole from churches in Santa Cruz, St Elizabeth, has been nabbed and is to be sentenced on March 3.
Mark 'Timmy' Lewis, a deportee of Brighton district, Santa Cruz, pleaded guilty to sacrilege when he appeared in the Santa Cruz Resident Magistrate's Court on February 14.
It is alleged that on February 9, about 2:15 a.m., the accused was seen with a white plastic bag walking along Institution Drive in Santa Cruz when he was stopped by the police.
The bag was searched and it was found to contain an amplifier and some money.
Following investigations by the Santa Cruz CIB, it was discovered that the amplifier had been stolen from the First Born Grace Chapel in the neighbouring community of Brighton.
The accused man confessed to the court that he broke into the church and stole the item and also confessed stealing from other churches in Santa Cruz.
He begged RM Stanley Clarke to send him to a rehab centre.
"Your Honour, mi a beg yu send mi to rehab because mi no know, the only rehab is under the ground or in prison," he said.

CWJ losing millions

February 17, 2008
Started By ZJSnyper5 Comments
Friday, 15 February 2008 Image  Cable and Wireless Jamaica (CWJ) Limited has continued to rack up huge financial losses.

For the nine months ended December 2007, CWJ suffered $493 million in loss.

This was a reversal from the $1.3 billion in profit recorded during the corresponding period in 2006.

It appeared that increased competition in the telecommunication market was responsible for a $1 billion decline in revenue for the April to December period.

Cable and Wireless earned $17.3 billion down from $18.4 billion in the previous year.

Despite the downturn, the management of CWJ is optimistic of the future.

The company is putting in place revised processes and executing initiatives to among other things, strengthen its market position.

It adds that the senior management team had been further strengthened through the appointment of a new Chief Financial Officer

The Board said it expected the measures would result in improved financial performance in the medium term.

Thieves Rob Cobra

February 18, 2008
Started By UV RAYS11 Comments
Thieves rob Cobra Deejay Mad Cobra is an unhappy man today after thieves broke the rear glass of his BMW X5 at a party in Portmore, St Catherine, yesterday and stole cash as well as thousands of dollars worth of equipment. According to Cobra who is christened Ewart Brown, the incident occurred sometime yesterday morning while his SUV was parked along Port Henderson Road. "Di event ('Full White') a gwaan a La Roose in a Portmore yesterday. Wi go deh go show we respects to di promoter and di light go weh. We neva leave still, cause as we seh, we a sho di promoter respect. When mi come out, mi si di whole a di back glass lick out," Mad Cobra said. Cobra added that the thieves made off with a digital camera, documents, and equipment valued at several hundred thousand dollars. In addition, they stole $215,000 in cash from his vehicle. "All some new projects wha mi did have in deh di man dem gone wid," he added. What has made Cobra even more distressed is the cost of the rear glass which Cobra said is very expensive. "A waan tell yuh seh, di glass value more dan all a di tings dem wha di man dem tief. Right now mi not even badda clean it out. All a di glass deh pon di seat in a di car same way. Mi not even badda trouble it," he said. The deejay said he has not given a written statement to the police but said he told officers who were on the location about the incident. "Di police dem know bout it but mi nuh mek no report yet, but dem know seh it gwaan an' seh mi fi try get it out to the public in case nobody try sell di tings dem," he said. Cobra is known for hits such as Flex, Legacy and Press Trigger and was one of the first dancehall artistes to make the transition to the international market in the early 1990s.

*-*DJs Say They Are Fed Up!*-*

February 18, 2008
Started By rrDesignZ 9 Comments
findImg.php?pic_size=200&table_name=news_img_tab&table_field=img_id&img_id=1210 Since last summer after scouring through a cadre of parties one major issue was observed and it seems to be a re-occurring problem. So the street team of MZJAradio.com thought they would shed some light on the issue in an effort to restore some integrity to some of our local jocks.

After speaking to over 30 DJs who are all presently active on the party circuit, they all seem to have one common problem with most promoters, of course without skipping a beat one would quickly jump to say collecting payment for services rendered, that indeed is an issue but unfortunately not the one we want to address at this time. Instead this case has to do with the provision of proper equipment for disc jocks to showcase their craft.

Too many times we've seen promoters spending a fortune to promote an event and after patrons pay their hard earned cash to attend these events, they end up having a few drinks, while listening to some noise being belted out of a inferior sound system whose sound quality is comparable to that of a transistor radio. When it's not the crappy speakers or some ill fated amplifier it's normally some defective or pre-historic looking players.

Just last weekend at two heavily promoted events we came across the case of the defective sound system, the first was held on Constant Spring road, where the sound engineer was seen literally beating the CD player to restore some functionality to the device, while patron stood there, looking quite frustrated waiting for the music to return. The other party held in the cool confines of Upper St. Andrew saw the case of the pre-historic players, It was a sight for sore eyes as we overheard a popular selector from Coppershot asking "a wha dis ...mi nuh use dem sum'ting yah inna a thousands years" and indeed they looked that old. When we spoke to some other jocks they said they were tired and fed up of going to parties and have to be working miracles with the crap (supposedly CD players) that they are given to play on, because the promoter is cheap and trying to save a buck.

Promoters you need to realise that the times are changing and so is the musical equipment, the new craze is the laptop (notebook) plus Serato setup as most jocks have found this setup to be the easiest to maneuver and extremely lightweight and portable, So therefore you need to have something in place that can accommodate this type of setup. We recommend getting some Pioneer CDJ 800 or higher (all real DJs know how to use those) and rent your equipment from a reputable source. Special mention must be given to Black Chiney, Renaissance, Coppershot and Darkcide International as they were the very first sound systems to don the final scratch setup before eventually switching to a Serato, which has now become the norm amongst DJs.

In closing we would just like to make an appeal to all promoters it's is better to spend money on good sound equipment couple with a great bar, than all these added attractions that sometimes makes no sense. Because at the end of the day the rhythms and booze are what makes and can also break a party. So with that said we look forward to hearing more music and see less disc jocks cussing about inferior equipment at the parties.

The mean ones

February 13, 2008
Started By ZJSnyper11 Comments

Five ways to know when a partner is trying to avoid buying you a Valentine's day present.

1 They pretend that they are sick three days in advance, so that you become sympathetic and not request a gift.

2 The most common is when your Valentine says 'I don't celebrate Valentine's Day' - in other words he/she is saying 'you're just not getting a gift'.

3 Whenever your Valentine gets upset with you for no apparent reason on the week of Valentine's. That just means no present for you.

4 When out of the blue they are going to visit a long-lost relative you knew nothing about until February 13.

5 This last one is for the girls: whenever your partner asks you what you want for Valentine's Day, on Wednesday night, you're definitely not getting a present. TEENage knows the average Jamaican girl could never make up her mind in such a short space of time.

Don't cheat, If   you are honest, this tells the truth. It's pretty good. Write your answers on a piece of paper,
and NO cheating!! The answers are at the bottom.

1. Which is your favourite color out of:
red , black , blue , green , or yellow ?         

2. Your first initial?   

3. Your month of birth?   

4.... Which color do you like more,
black or white?   

5. Name of a person of the same sex as yours.   

6. Your favourite number?  

7. Do you like
Flying or Driving more?   

8. Do you like a
lake or the ocean more?   

9. Write down a wish (a realistic one).    

When you're done, scroll down. (Don't cheat!)

Answers

1. If you choose:
Red - You are alert and your life is full of love.
Black - You are conservative and aggressive.
Green - Your soul is relaxed and you are laid back.
Blue- You are spontaneous and love kisses and affection from the ones you love.
Yellow - You are a very happy person and give good advice to those who are down.

2. If your initial is:
A-K You have a lot of love and friendships in your life.
L-R You try to enjoy your life to the maximum & your love life is soon to blossom.
S-Z You like to help others and your future love life looks very good.

3. If you were born in:
Jan-Mar: The year will go very well for you and you will discover that you fall in love with someone totally unexpected.
April-June: You will have a strong love relationship that will not last long but the memories will last forever.
July-Sep: You will have a great year and will experience a major life-changing experience for the good.
Oct-Dec: Your love life will not be great, but eventually you will find your soul mate.

4. If you chose:
Black: Your life will take on a different direction, it will seem hard at the time but will be the best thing for you, and you will be glad for the change.
White: You will have a friend who completely confides in you and would do anything for you, but you may not realize it.

5. This person is your best friend.

6. This is how many close friends you have in your lifetime.

7. If you chose:
Flying: You like adventure.
Driving: You are a laid back person.

8.. If you chose:
Lake: You are loyal to your friends and your lover and are very reserved.
Ocean: You are spontaneous and like to please people.

9. This wish will come true only if you send this to five people in one hour. Send it to ten people, and it will come true before your next birthday
ARRIGHT PEEPS MEK WE KNO WA UNNU SEH ................N REMEMBER NOT OT B BIAS
text_size.gif
Decrease fontDecrease font
Enlarge fontEnlarge font

PRISTINA, Kosovo (CNN) -- Kosovo has formally declared its independence from Serbia and become the world's newest state in a move opposed by Serbia and Russia but backed by many western governments.

art.kosovo.crowd.afp.gi.jpg

Many ethnic Albanians are waving the U.S. and UK flags, in recognition of NATO's role in the region.

Click to view previous image
1 of 4
Click to view next image
corner_wire_BL.gif

Lawmakers in the legislature of the former Serbian province approved the declaration of independence at an extraordinary session Sunday afternoon. It was read out in Albanian, Serbian and English by prime minister Hashim Thaci before the approval of state symbols including Kosovar's new national flag and anthem.

Thaci said that Kosovo was an "independent and democratic" state, adding: "From this day onwards, Kosovo is proud, independent and free."

CNN's Alessio Vinci, reporting from the Kosovar capital Pristina, said that thousands of Kosovo's Albanian population had braved the freezing wind and cold to sing, dance, wave flags in the streets and light firecrackers ahead of the much anticipated vote. Some revellers were even said to be firing gunshot into the air. "It's been like this for several hours now," he said.

"It's a day they have been waiting for for such a long time that many of them are trying to figure out just how they got to this day."

President George Bush said Sunday that Kosovo's status must be resolved before the Balkans can become stable and that the United States supports the Ahtisaari plan which calls for a form of supervised independence.

The European Union decided Saturday to launch a mission of about 2,000 police and judicial officers to replace the United Nations mission that has been controlling the province since the end of the war with Serbia in 1999.

Kosovo has been under U.N. supervision and patrolled by a NATO-led peacekeeping force since the end of the three-month war, in which NATO warplanes pounded Serbia to roll back a campaign of "ethnic cleansing" of the province's Albanian population under former then-President Slobodan Milosevic.

text_size.gif
Decrease fontDecrease font
Enlarge fontEnlarge font

PRISTINA, Kosovo (CNN) -- Kosovo has formally declared its independence from Serbia and become the world's newest state in a move opposed by Serbia and Russia but backed by many western governments.

art.kosovo.crowd.afp.gi.jpg

Many ethnic Albanians are waving the U.S. and UK flags, in recognition of NATO's role in the region.

Click to view previous image
1 of 4
Click to view next image
corner_wire_BL.gif

Lawmakers in the legislature of the former Serbian province approved the declaration of independence at an extraordinary session Sunday afternoon. It was read out in Albanian, Serbian and English by prime minister Hashim Thaci before the approval of state symbols including Kosovar's new national flag and anthem.

Thaci said that Kosovo was an "independent and democratic" state, adding: "From this day onwards, Kosovo is proud, independent and free."

CNN's Alessio Vinci, reporting from the Kosovar capital Pristina, said that thousands of Kosovo's Albanian population had braved the freezing wind and cold to sing, dance, wave flags in the streets and light firecrackers ahead of the much anticipated vote. Some revellers were even said to be firing gunshot into the air. "It's been like this for several hours now," he said.

"It's a day they have been waiting for for such a long time that many of them are trying to figure out just how they got to this day."

President George Bush said Sunday that Kosovo's status must be resolved before the Balkans can become stable and that the United States supports the Ahtisaari plan which calls for a form of supervised independence.

The European Union decided Saturday to launch a mission of about 2,000 police and judicial officers to replace the United Nations mission that has been controlling the province since the end of the war with Serbia in 1999.

Kosovo has been under U.N. supervision and patrolled by a NATO-led peacekeeping force since the end of the three-month war, in which NATO warplanes pounded Serbia to roll back a campaign of "ethnic cleansing" of the province's Albanian population under former then-President Slobodan Milosevic.

Russia -- Serbia's historic ally -- has remained opposed to Kosovo's independence. Russia, which has fought two wars against separatist rebels in its southwestern republic of Chechnya, has said that U.S. and European support for Kosovo's independence could lead to an "uncontrollable crisis" in the Balkans.

advertisement

The EU said Saturday that "around 1,900 international police officers, judges, prosecutors and customs officials and approximately 1,100 local staff will be based in headquarters in Pristina or located throughout the judicial and police system in Kosovo."

The EU mission's objective is "to support the Kosovo authorities by monitoring, mentoring and advising on all areas related to the rule of law, in particular in the police, judiciary, customs and correctional services," it said.E-mail to a friendE-mail to a friend

Jamaican hit-man nabbed in the US

February 17, 2008
Started By ZJSnyper5 Comments
A 44-year-old Jamaican, who is an alleged hit-man, was on February 15th extradited from New York to Connecticut in the United States to face a murder charge.

Winston 'Mutt' Grant, also known as Winston Watkins has been charged with conspiracy to commit murder and is being held in lieu of a one million dollar bond.

He is scheduled to appear in court on February 19th.

He has been accused of conspiring in the January 31st fatal shooting of fellow Jamaican, Maurice Johnson.

Mr. Johnson was found in a parking lot lying in a pool of *la*hd.

He had multiple gun shot wounds to the head.

Grant was convicted of two counts of murder for the killing of a store-owner and his girlfriend in 1990.   

He was sentenced to two life terms in prison, but his conviction was later overturned on a technicality by the State Supreme Court.

The state was later forced to drop the murder charges against him when its key witness to the murders disappeared.

Grant was subsequently deported to Jamaica.

However, he was picked up by the police last week in Bronx, New York and extradited to Connecticut to face this new charge of murder. 
Machines will achieve human-level artificial intelligence by 2029, a leading US inventor has predicted.

Humanity is on the brink of advances that will see tiny robots implanted in people's brains to make them more intelligent, said Ray Kurzweil.

The engineer believes machines and humans will eventually merge through devices implanted in the body to boost intelligence and health.

"It's really part of our civilisation," Mr Kurzweil explained.

"But that's not going to be an alien invasion of intelligent machines to displace us."

Machines were already doing hundreds of things humans used to do, at human levels of intelligence or better, in many different areas, he said.

Man versus machine

"I've made the case that we will have both the hardware and the software to achieve human level artificial intelligence with the broad suppleness of human intelligence including our emotional intelligence by 2029," he said.

We'll have intelligent nanobots go into our brains... to make us smarter Rohan Roberts

"We're already a human machine civilisation; we use our technology to expand our physical and mental horizons and this will be a further extension of that."

Humans and machines would eventually merge, by means of devices embedded in people's bodies to keep them healthy and improve their intelligence, predicted Mr Kurzweil.

"We'll have intelligent nanobots go into our brains through the capillaries and interact directly with our biological neurons," he told BBC News.

The Marley Adidas link-up

February 18, 2008
Started By jamaicabwoy5 Comments

It's quite interesting that so much 'reggae' news is surfacing in Reggae Month, and, yes, a lot of it has to do with Bob Marley.

We recently heard about the Martin Scorcese film, and there is also news that Adi Dassler's Adidas brand is set to unleash a global campaign that includes reggae music and the late reggae icon. According to Mediapost, the campaign involves some short films, one of which - Sounds of the City - will promote a number of Adidas Originals products.

The first film focuses on Adi Dassler and there is a very short clip of Bob Marley, a fitting tribute to the singer who was well-known for loving football and wearing Adidas. The campaign is the first by Adidas promoting its Originals lifestyle range, which includes retro products similar to that worn by Marley, either casually or when playing football. He is recognised with the Marley Jacket and the Pro Model Tuff Gong Adidas shoes, but there is also the Pro Model Kingston (shoes) and the Kingston zip jacket.

Sportwear giant, Puma's association with Jamaica is well known through its sponsorship of national athletics, and a product range that now stretches to fragrance. Adidas and Puma, two of the world's largest sportswear brands, were founded by German brothers Adi and Rudi Dassler respectively.

tutgoal.png
Tutorial goal:

This is a beginners-tutorial about how to apply an 'old-looking'-effect to a photo. You learn to work with Filters, Layer-styles and Opacity. The tutorial is made in Photoshop CS2 and would take about 30 minutes... Good luck!

step 1

The 'Old-Looking'-Effect

Old%20Effect_step1_47a37052f27b2.jpg

step 2

1. Open a photo

2. Duplicate the main-layer, and call the new layer 'photo'.

(Now you always have a back-up from your original photo)

Old%20Effect_step2_47a3714a9b0a5.jpg

step 3

Add some film-Grain
---------------------------------------

1 - Go to
Filter > Artistic > Film Grain

I have choosen these settings, but you can variate from that.

Old%20Effect_step3_47a3848b63a44.jpg

step 4

1 - Create a new layer and call it 'Stripes'.

2 - Fill the layer with a white color (Paint bucket tool)

3 - Then go to Filter > Texture > Grain

Choose for Grain Type 'Vertical' and click OK

4. Choose layer-style 'Multiply', and change the Opacity to 50%

Old%20Effect_step4_47a38281b6a9c.jpg

step 5

1 - Erase some stripes with the 'Eraser Tool' for some variation.

Old%20Effect_step5_47a375cf83c56.jpg

thumbsupp

step 6

1 - Create a new layer (like step 4) and call it 'Clouds'.

2 - Change your colors into White and Black

3 - Go to Filter >Render >Clouds

4 - Then go to Filter > Render > Difference Clouds

5 - Choose layerstyle 'Overlay' and change the opacity to 40%

Old%20Effect_step6_47a376e4a387b.jpg

step 7

1 - Finally go to Image > Mode > Grayscale

2 - Then go to Image > Mode > Duotone

3 - Give the 2 colors a different name.

4 - Change the colors
Color 1: 5a3811
Color 2: 665838

(You can change the contrast of the color by dubble-clicking on the curve next to the color.)

Old%20Effect_step7_47a377156a013.jpg

step 8

Now you can give the photo some more grain.

1 - Select the 'clouds'-layer.

2 - Filter > Noise > Add Noise

3 - Set the amount to 20% and click OK

Old%20Effect_step8_47a383d3d7833.jpg

step 9

1 - Finally you can merge your layers by

Layer > Flatten Image

-----------

Special thanks to Jack683 for using his image

I Hope you have enjoyd my tutorial, and can use it for you own!

Old%20Effect_step9_47a37787c4714.jpg

this is really kool believe me this one tek mi less than 30mins fi get ds

IS MOVADO THE SAME?

February 9, 2008
Started By Pimping32 Comments
MOVADO STOP WAR WID KARTEL. HIM A BACK AWAY FROM THE WAR TING. HIM A TURN RASTA MAN. HIM DEH PON DI ROCK, WEH THE f**k A GWAAN.

*-*Four Deadly Sins tonight*-*

February 17, 2008
Started By rrDesignZ 1 Comments
MZJAEntertainment.com will be front and centre during tonight's Four Deadly Sins party at the Asylum nightclub. This party caters to anyone that knows how to have pleasurable fun.

This post valentine's theme party will be a red -white affair, following the sexy and seductive theme of its above name. There will be a lingerie fashion show by Clint Smith's Finesse Models.

"Finesse models are known for their beautiful looks and sexy bodies, they have performed on countless shows island wide such as Bounty Killa It's Tha party, Nikki Z birthday bash, Anthony B family day, Lady Saw strip tease, being on Hype TV up on live bout 4 times and many more," G Whizz told MZJAEntertainment.com.

Music will be provided by *la*hd Line Sound, and Chromatic.

RE TV HITS COSTA RICA
RETV is now in Costa Rica via Satellite. Additionally, RETV is currently watched by Caribbean viewers in the following countries; Trinidad and Tobago, St. Maarten, St. Vincent, Antigua and Barbuda , Dominica , St. Lucia, Bahamas,  and Grenada via satellite.

We also provide content to Rockers Island Japan for Website and DVD Magazine; Caribbean Television Network in New York for programming. Additionally, we are seen via internet TV platforms Jump TV (globally); Caribcast in Florida; and Irie TV (Caribbean and USA), the release said.

CARIBBEAN NIGHT AT UTECH
Big up International Cuisine festival's Caribbean night at the Lillian's Restaurant at Utech on March 7. Big up Melissa, ah yuh a the queen of cuisine.
KARTEL GETS DIVORCED
Kartel13.jpgVybz Kartel's lawyers told MZJAEntertainment.com that the deejay's divorce is almost official.

"The divorce is in the decree ni si stage, and is now moving into the final stages. the court has ruled that he has grounds for divorce and so has granted him the divorce, and now he has submitted the final papers so he will be a single man again within the next two months when he gets the absolute," the lawyer said.

A "decree nisi" usually refers to a conditional divorce, becoming absolute upon the expiration of a stipulated period unless cause to the contrary is shown within the time period. The Daily Observer reported today that court documents filed on behalf of Adidjah 'The Teacha' Palmer gave one of the reasons for the divorce as the fact that his wife, Stacey Elliot-Palmer had been impregnated by another man.

PREMIERE RIDDIM ROLLS OUT
Last week, NEERG Music released a new rhythm called 'Premiere' and it features songs like Chuck Fendah's I'm So Hot, X-ALE's X-ALE, Deva Bratt's Wurt It Gal, Future Fambo's Wuk Dem and Mad Cobra featuring Pamputae in A You Sey.

"Right now, we're seeking to get Kartel, Beenie Man, and perhaps even a Shabba on the rhythm, we're going all out," Rock Stone, chief exectutive officer of NEERG Music told MZJAEntertainment.com

QUEEN IFRICA'S 'CHOPPER GRADE' VIDEO
The Nice Time label, riding high on the success of 'No Combo', has released another single on the rhythm, the popular weed-praising 'Chopper Grade' by high-flying female deejay Queen Ifrica.

"We are going to shoot a video for Queen Ifrica's song soon, it is getting great buzz in the marketplace, the disc jocks like Ron, Elize, ZJ Ice love it. Sunshine played it three times the other day so we know that it connect," Gregory McFarlane, publicist for Malijah, said.

WASHINGTON (AP) -- Hispanics are nearly twice as likely as whites to be left without television service following the nationwide transition to digital broadcasting next year, according to a new survey.

Beginning in February 2009, full-power broadcast stations will transmit digital-only signals, meaning people who get their television programming over an antenna and do not have a digital set won't get a picture without a special converter box.

The Nielsen Co. survey released Friday estimates that more than 13 million households in the U.S. receive television programming over the air on non-digital sets, meaning they will need converter boxes. Another 6 million households contain at least one television that fits that description.

Nielsen researchers found that 10.1 percent of all households would have no access to television signals if the transition occurred today. Broken down by race, 8.8 percent of whites would be unready; 11.7 percent of Asians; 12.4 percent of blacks; and 17.3 percent of Hispanics.

By age, of those 35 and younger, 12.3 percent rely solely on over-the-air broadcasts. Of those age 55 and older, 9.4 percent fall into that category.

The survey noted that 16.8 percent of all households have at least one analog television set that would not work after the switch.

The Nielsen survey was done as part of its overall television rankings forecast. The data was gathered by Nielsen staff who visited a national sample of roughly 15,000 homes. The survey took about 18 months to complete, according to the company.

By market, New York is considered the most ready for the transition. Only 3.5 percent of television sets are non-digital and get programming over the air. Portland, Oregon, is at the other end of the list, with 22.4 percent of television sets in that category.

Eric Rossi, leader of Nielsen's digital transition preparedness team, said much of the data fits with existing assumptions about the transition, though the fact that seniors are more ready than the younger people is "maybe one of the slightly unexpected results."

However, Rossi cautions, the age is based on the head of household. The survey does not include group quarters like retirement homes.

Rossi said the results also track closely with cable television penetration rates. People who get cable or satellite service won't be affected by the transition.

The government is accepting requests for coupons to subsidize the cost of converter boxes for those who need them. Each household is eligible for two coupons worth $40 apiece, regardless of whether they have pay-television service or not. To request a coupon, consumers can apply online at www.dtv2009.gov or call the 24-hour hotline, 1-88smile.gifTV-2009 (1-888-388-2009).

The coupons expire three months from issue. Boxes are expected to be available in the next week at Best Buy, Wal-Mart, Radio Shack and other retailers. They are expected to range in price from $40 to $70. E-mail to a friend E-mail to a friend

*-*Gyptian hits #2 in Jamaica*-*

February 17, 2008
Started By rrDesignZ 1 Comments
Gyptian11.jpgReggae sensation Gyptian is tearing up one of the most important charts in Jamaica - the My Video Picks (MVP) TOP 10 countdown on RETV, coming in at #2 this week. Gyptian has been enjoying a new surge in popularity ever since the debut of the video a month ago. This is the first single from his upcoming album on VP Records, titled I Can Feel Your Pain.

The MVP TOP 10 chart is a coveted countdown because video positions are determined solely by viewers' votes, making it similar to the TRL countdown on MTV. The video profiles one day in Gyptian's life as an entertainer, and shows how he can "feel the pain" of his love interest. It was shot in New York and directed by Rhona Fox.

Gyptian now heads to Barbados this week, where he will shoot covers for two Caribbean magazines - Circuit and Shebo, and will meet with local media to premiere the video on that island.
Karen Henry and Nandi Levy, two G.C. Foster College students are the first recipients of bursaries of $35,000 each from the Jamaica Women in Sport Society (JWISS). The presentation was made to the ladies on Wednesday. Henry and Levy were selected on the basis of the overall contribution to sport development at the college while maintaining good academic and disciplinary records. Levy is currently in the second year of a three-year programme. She focuses on netball and volleyball while her colleague Henry is a final-year certificate student with emphasis on netball. Levy credits her award to her commitment to volunteerism and was very grateful for the award. Yvonne Kong, principal of the institution, who is also a member of the advisory team, said G.C. Foster appreciated the gesture to the students. She insisted that the award should be used for personal development. cooyah on board Caymanas Track Limited executive, Millicent Lynch, a member of the advisory team, was also on hand, and she made the presentations to the ladies. They also received a token from Cooyah. JWISS hosted a charity last December and funds from the 'Charity Spin Off' were used to fund the bursaries. The organisation raised $150,000 from that event. JWISS is now planning its second event, Career Options for Women in Sport Seminar, scheduled for May 2008. Along with Lynch and Kong, the other members of the advisory team are Jacqueline Walter, Oberon Pitterson, Suzette Arnold, Stephen Bell and Carole Beckford who is the founder and executive director. JWISS is aimed at improving opportunities for women in sport and physical education. The team is committed to promoting and increasing opportunities and roles for women at all levels. The team campaigns for changes in the approach to how information, education, research and training is viewed. They are also seeking increased opportunities for women in sport.
«First  <  1487 488 489 490 491524  >  Last»  | Page of 524  sorted by