Forum: News & Topical Issues

News updates, entertainment, hot topics, gossip | Share and discover what is happening right now.

*-* A dance too far*-*Jah Kno

February 19, 2008
Started By rrDesignZ 16 Comments
Dear counsellor: I had a bad experience recently and I must admit that it is carelessness on my part. Two weeks ago, I visited a nightclub and I took a lap dance from one of the girls. I was also drinking heavily. I ended up having sexual intercourse with this girl. I did not use a condom and I know my behaviour was wrong. I'm now very worried that I may be infected with AIDS. I heard that the girl is a drug addict and this causes me to worry more because I heard that people who do drugs are at higher risk for contracting AIDS. Counsellor, I would like to know if there is a connection between drugs and AIDS. Careless Sport Dear Careless Sport: Yes, indeed there is a connection between drugs and HIV the virus that causes AIDS. Studies have shown that there is a high percentage of HIV the virus that causes AIDS among people who use drugs. This is because: Your sense of reasoning diminishes when you are under the influence of drugs. You might engage in sexual activities, which you might not have done if you were not under the influence of drugs. Sex is one means by which HIV is transmitted. People who become addicted to drugs sometimes sell their bodies/exchange sex in return for money to satisfy their craving for drugs. Using contaminated needles that are used by addicts to inject drugs into their bodies also transmit HIV.

For some reason, there's a common rumor about sugar and gas that's been around for decades. Supposedly, if you pour sugar into someone's gas tank, you will disable the car. The sugar is supposed to react with the gasoline and turn into a semi-solid, gooey substance that totally clogs up the gas tank, the fuel lines, and so on.

Unleaded gasonline
Stockbyte/Getty Images
Pouring sugar into someone's gas tank is rumored to ruin their car. Will it really?

It sounds great, especially if you have a grudge against someone. The problem with this rumor is that it simply isn't true. As it turns out, sugar doesn't dissolve in gasoline. Pouring sand into the gas tank would have about the same effect as pouring in sugar. The sand or sugar might clog up the filter, and that could disable the car, but it's not a sure thing.

So what do you do if you really do want to disable someone's car? Pour in some water. Gasoline floats on top of water, so if you pour in several cups of water, the fuel pump will fill the fuel lines with water instead of gasoline and the car would have some major problems.

Petrol pump nozel
George Doyle/Getty Images
If you really want to disable a car, pour water into the gas tank. That could do some serious damage.
Another option, of course is to drain all of the gasoline out of the tank. Or, if you can get the hood open, you could remove the battery -- that totally disables the electrical system, including the spark plugs and the computer that controls the engine in most modern cars. Or you could light the car on
R. Kelly ''Crossed The Line W/ My Daughter,'' Says Former Publicist's Husband E-mail
Friday, 15 February 2008
After the resignation of Kelly's longtime publicist, Regina Daniels, her husband, music retailer George Daniels, speaks out about Kells' inappropriate relationship with their daughter.

"He crossed the line with my daughter," Daniels told local Los Angeles radio station KJLH. "It didn't get to the extreme of that [sex tape] video or else I wouldn't be here, if you know what I'm talking about."

In November, Regina Daniels released a press release indicating that Kelly "crossed a line that forever altered the scope of our relationship." Now, George Daniels tells KJLH that Kells took advantage of his then 21-year-old daughter.

"When you're 21, and if you've been there already like I've been many years ago, you're still 15 to 16 mentally," Daniels added. "You're vulnerable."

Daniels and his wife ultimately got the truth from their daughter after much hearsay and speculation, but when Daniels questioned Kelly on the issue, he got a different story.

"He denied it," Daniels said. "He lied to me to my face."

Despite the private nature of the issue, Daniels said he has decided to speak out for the sake of other families.

"The reason that I'm talking abut this, it's not just for me, it's not for my wife, it's not for my daughter, but it's for the public," Daniels said. "It's for other fathers and mothers, because it doesn't have to be a superstar, it could be the dude on the corner. There are guys who sit around and give your child a couple of bucks to go to school and then wait until they get a little older, then they set that trap. See, so I'm doing this really for everyone."

Kelly is already feeling the heat because of another alleged inappropriate sexual relationship. The music star has been embroiled in a child pornography case following the appearance of a video tape that allegedly features him engaged in sexual acts with a teenage girl. He was charged with 14 counts of child pornography in 2002 and has pled not guilty.

Donia Versitility

February 20, 2008
Started By Spade7 Comments

-- Edited by pengo at 20:43, 2008-02-20

PHYSICAL FIGHT, WHICH DJ WOULD WIN?

February 14, 2008
Started By XavHew39 Comments
pgunn

-- Edited by XavHew at 13:53, 2008-02-14

Which Artiste Wud win in a clash

February 14, 2008
Started By SLICE BREAD23 Comments
Donia me seh...... wa unnu think?p

bob marley son won grammy

February 13, 2008
Started By bad4life711 Comments

PROTECStephen Marley Wins Grammyagain

By: Secret Agent
OutAroad.com Writer

stevenmarley_grammy_mindcontrolgirls.jpgStephen Marley climbed to a new pinnacle in his far-reaching career last nigStephen Marley climbed to a new pinnacle in his far-reaching career last night, after grabbing the coveted Grammy Award for the best Reggae Album at last nights 50th Grammy Awards. His album, Mind Control beat out some of Reggaes biggest names to take the coveted prize. Theyre Burning Spear with The Burning Experience, Lee Scratch Perry with The End Of An American Dream, Sly and Robbie with Anniversary, and Toots and the Maytals with Light Your Light.

This is not his first award but this may well be the most crowning one for him, as hes
already accomplished a lifetime worth of awards during his dedicated years in music. Starting off as a child vocalist with big brother Ziggy and the Melody Makers Band, he has moved easily from vocalist, to musician, to a Producer with a steady string of hits and Grammy Winners, to vocalist again. He has already won five Grammy awards for his work behind other winning albums as a producer, but this is first Grammy as an artist.
ht, after grabbing the coveted

Former Digicel Rising Stars champs One Third survived a two-valium, white-knuckle flight on Cessna 208 as they headed to the islands of Turks Caicos for two Valentine-themed performances last week.

One_Third1.jpgBy all accounts, the shows were a smashing success.

"The first show in Providentiales was a red and white affair. There was a mixture of races in the audience, the location is a tourist mecca, so there were whites mingling with the natives, and they loved it. We performed for an hour to a whole heap of screams and at the end, they will wanted an encore. One girl exclaimed that during the performance, she came, we don't know how true that is," manager Ray Alexander said.

"The second show was in Grand Turks, several miles away, and it was a larger turnout, with a high concentration of women. Before the show, the promoter called us in a frenzy, he was overly excited about the response. Anyway, we performed the same set we did in Providentiales and it went well, we left them asking for more, they are spending some other dates in the country and they want us to be a part of it," Mr. Alexander told MZJAEntertainment.com.

One Third also showed up at Macka Diamond's show after the first performance on Thursday night, and earned three forwards for the Garrison Anthem a current single that is blowing up all over local FM radio.

Double Trouble ... the two-faced kitten

THIS kitten should have no problem looking both ways as it crosses the road - it was born with two faces.

Shocked owner Rennee Cook found the mite - named Double Trouble - in a litter delivered in her bedroom by her half-Persian, Amber.

Renee, from Amarillo, US, said: "I picked it up and said, 'Oh my goodness, two faces.

"I thought it was dead at first because it was cold.

"But then it started to wiggle and it kept wiggling and wiggling. He has a strong heartbeat and was kind of feisty.

"So now I'm thinking that it's going to live."

Vybz Kartel a.k.a Addi the Teacha thrilled dozens of students from the Edith Dalton James High School who attended an adolescent healthy lifestyle workshop held at the Alhambra Inn in St. Andrew.

The workshop was geared towards in-school adolescents as a means of promoting healthy lifestyles in order to reduce or eliminate risky behaviours associated with HIV/AIDS, Sexual Reproductive Health, Violence Prevention and Substance Abuse. True to his name, Addi played a pivotal role as the Teacha when he engaged the facilitators, teachers and children in a frank and experiential discussion about violence in Jamaica.

Vybz Kartel implored the students to choose their role models carefully, pulling on examples from his own life to drive home his point.

My father worked seven days a week, and he is my role model, he told the gathering.

The person with the most influence on your life cannot be the dads on the corner, it must be your mother, your father, your schoolteacher, someone professional, you cannot aspire to be a badman because that path leads to destruction and death, he said.

Badness lead to destruction and death, you know how many youths I grow up wid over Waterford no mek it, I am in my early 30s, nuff ah dem no live fi see 2310,000 people get murdered in the last seven years in Jamaica, check that. Dont run down anything, dont follow the worst example, dont let your peers influence youtoo much youth inna badness in Jamaica, no space no de de fi yu, he said.

There were moments of humour as well. He sang a snatch of Empire Army and then gave a sobering lesson.

If yuh no join the JDF, dont send fi no army, yuh wi get gunshot, he said to laughs.

Tomorrow when yuh go school, yuh ah go have people ah try draw yuh out, a girl ah go bounce yu, and a man ah go spin him ratchet and pree yuh, but remember that education is the key. Everyone cannot be a badman, everyone cannot be a deejay, he said.

One of the students asked him about the recent picture which appeared on the front pages of the Jamaica Star and the Sunday Herald.

Those pictures were taken in Martinique, and they were props from a music video for Aidonia, and that is why I will be suing those companies because of precisely the kind of negative message that they are sending to the youths. Further, they did not seek to establish the authenticity of the picture before they published it, he said.

One adult sought to examine the role of violent dancehall music as a catalyst for further violence in inner city areas.

90 per cent of the responsibility for raising a child rests on you the parentwhen the system breaks down, that is the breakdown of the family unit and other institutions, the government seeks scapegoats and often times, they choose the artistes as those scapegoats. When a man with a gun is going out there to kill, I dont think he is thinking about Vybz Kartel, he said.

Music is art, it no tek life.

The workshop was held as part of a behaviour change communication strategy with specific focus on edutainment (entertainment-education) - an approach using entertainment to convey educational messages as well as one which uses emotions to appeal to the audiences behavior change.

11 Year-Old hangs self

February 15, 2008
Started By AndrewR22 Comments
According to reports, Natalia Morgan, an 11 year old student who attended the Bethel Primary and Junior High school in Hanover was found hanging from a breadfruit tree. She apparently hanged herself by tying a scarf around her neck. The lifeless body was discovered by her father Noel Morgan. ggooph

By: Kon-Vick
OutAroad.com Writer

beenieman_d%27angel_yardflex_876radiocom_1876.jpgComing March 25 international artiste Moses 'Beenie Man' Davis will know his fate when he will appear in court on several tax evasion charges.

In recent reports it is stated that the controversial deejay owes the country J$47-million (US$ 661, 00) in taxes.

OutAroad.com gets to understand that the King of Dancehall Beenie Man has not yet made any arrangement with the court as to how he will settle his unpaid taxes.

Beenie Man is still protesting his innocence and claimed that his former Manager of Shocking Vibes production to be held responsible for his taxes not being paid as they were the ones who also dealt with all of his other bill payments.

In October last year (2007) a warrant was issued for the arrest of Beenie Man after he failed to appear in court to answer to several tax evasion charges.

feb1408-satellite.jpg

Wednesday February 20, 2008

A Navy heat-seeking missile is getting its first real-world use in an attempt to demolish a crippled U.S. spy satellite before the orbiting craft falls back to Earth.

The targeting of the satellite - which could come Wednesday night - is not the mission for which this piece of the Pentagon's missile defense network was intended, however.

The attempted shootdown, already approved by President Bush out of concern about toxic fuel on board the satellite, is seen by some as blurring the lines between defending against a weapon like a long-range missile and targeting satellites in orbit.

The three-stage Navy missile, designated the SM-3, has chalked up a high rate of success in a series of tests since 2002, in each case targeting a short- or medium-range ballistic missile, never a satellite. A hurry-up program to adapt the missile for this anti-satellite mission was completed in a matter of weeks; Navy officials say the changes will be reversed once this satellite is down.

The government issued notices to aviators and mariners to remain clear of a section of the Pacific Ocean beginning at 10:30pm EST Wednesday, indicating the first window of opportunity to launch an SM-3 missile from a Navy cruiser, the USS Lake Erie, in an effort to hit the wayward satellite.

Having lost power shortly after it reached orbit in late 2006, the satellite is out of control and well below the altitude of a normal satellite. The Pentagon wants to hit it with an SM-3 missile just before it re-enters Earth's atmosphere, in that way minimizing the amount of debris that would remain in space.

Left alone, the satellite would be expected to hit Earth during the first week of March. About half of the 5,000-pound spacecraft would be expected to survive its blazing descent through the atmosphere and would scatter debris over several hundred miles.

Adding to the difficulty of the shootdown mission, the missile will have to do better than just hit the bus-sized satellite, a Navy official said Tuesday. It needs to strike the relatively small fuel tank aboard the spacecraft in order to accomplish the main goal, which is to eliminate the toxic fuel that could injure or even kill people if it reached Earth. The Navy official described technical aspects of the missile's capabilities on condition that he not be identified.

Also complicating the effort will be the fact that the satellite has no heat-generating propulsion system on board. That makes it more difficult for the Navy missile's heat-seeking system to work, although the official said software changes had been made to compensate for the lack of heat.

The Pentagon press secretary, Geoff Morrell, said Defense Secretary Robert Gates was briefed on the shootdown plan Tuesday by the two officers who will advise him on exactly when to launch the missile - Gen. Kevin Chilton, head of Strategic Command, and Gen. James Cartwright, vice chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, who held Chilton's post until last summer.

China and Russia have expressed concern at the planned shootdown, saying it could harm security in outer space. At the State Department on Tuesday, spokesman Sean McCormack told reporters that the U.S. action is meant to protect people from the hazardous fuel and is not a weapons test.

How It Will Happen

A single missile, of a type known as the Standard Missile 3, would be launched from a Navy ship at sea. The missile was originally designed to intercept a ballistic missile in flight, not a spacecraft, so the missile and its associated software have been modified.

- Ideally, the missile will strike the satellite directly just before it re-enters Earth's atmosphere, breaking it into small pieces that will mostly fall through the atmosphere rather than become space debris.

- If the first shot misses, a second attempt may be made.

- The decision to proceed was made by President Bush.

- Diplomatic notice was sent to other countries.

- In 14 test flights, the Standard Missile 3 has achieved 12 intercepts, most recently in December.

- There are three Navy cruisers equipped with the missile.

ARSENAL vs MAN U EPIC BATTLE CL

February 20, 2008
Started By ***DK***1 Comments
LONDON (AP) - AC Milan held Arsenal to a 0-0 draw Wednesday in the first leg of the Champions League's second round.

Arsenal striker Emmanuel Adebayor had the ball in the net in the 53rd, but it was called offside. He also headed a cross from substitute Theo Walcott onto the bar in the final minute of injury time.

The Gunners dominated possession and scoring chances, Emmanuel Eboue and Eduardo da Silva had shots but the Milan defense held firm.

Cesc Fabregas also forced AC Milan goalkeeper Zeljko Kalac into a save into the 75th. Kalac started in goal despite dislocating the index finger on his right hand in a training session on Sunday.

Arsenal, which lost 4-0 to Manchester United in the fifth round of the FA Cup on Saturday, exited the tournament at this stage last season, while Milan beat Liverpool in the final for its seventh European title.

The Jamaica Forum for Lesbians, All-Sexuals and Gays (J-FLAG) has taken a swing at the church community.

Members of the local gay lobby group, in a release to The Gleaner yesterday, said recent comments made by local church leaders give the impression that they have little or no regard for the human rights and protection of individuals within the homosexual community.

"The latest response by the local church community to the issues affecting Jamaica's sexual minority group speaks loudly to the lack of humanity being extended by the Church," the release read.

J-FLAG's response comes just days after Jamaican church leaders rebuked the actions of the Florida-based Metropolitan Community Church (MCC), whose leaders recently staged protests outside several Jamaican consulates, calling for more 'gay-friendly' policies to be adopted by Jamaica.

The church community was, however, adamant that despite the demands made by the MCC, homosexuality would not be accepted as normal. Several church leaders indicated that they were not in support of mob violence against those who practised a gay lifestyle and that the Church was willing to provide counselling for those who wanted to change their ways.

Continued silence

However, when The Gleaner contacted the J-FLAG office, *Jason, who said he was the organisation's programme manager, said the Church's continued silence shows that members approve of such violence against homosexuals.

"The Church has not spoken out against the atrocities faced by the homosexual community and has waited until external forces have called for a more humanitarian approach towards dealing with the issue to come forward," said J-FLAG.

In a previous interview, Bishop Everton Thomas, of the Jamaica Pentecostal Union, told The Gleaner that the Church in no way supported the killing or assault of homosexuals and recognised that they had a right to life, as any other Jamaican.

*Name changed.

findImg.php?pic_size=200&table_name=news_img_tab&table_field=img_id&img_id=1215 What does it take to consistently keep your audience entertained wherever you go? Well if that question is boggling you then ask Mr. Vegas as he just can't seem to do anything wrong where his fans are concerned. Coming fresh from some wild crazy vibes in Trinidad sharing the stage with Machel Montano during the season it was some wild crazy vibes. Returning home the singjay was again off for more action, this time he made a stop in Texas for two shows. The first stop was Keline where he had the crowd on a high rocking away to retro as well as his latest hits. The next stop was Houston. Unfortunately, that show ended prematurely due to an uproar. It was rush, rush, rush to the airport from Houston to Orlando where Vegas had another show sharing the spotlight with Elephant Man, Wayne Wonder, IWayne and Alaine. It was the same story but different venue as the Heads High singjay again went into executing a well delivered performance. He started off with old favorites' and worked his way up into his very hot songs which are dominating the scene now such as 'Tek Whey Yuhelf', 'Hot Wuk', 'Lean Wid It' and so many more. Vegas were easily the top performer of the night as the ladies made no secret of the fact that they not only found his lyrics appealing but his body as well! That's not surprising as Vegas seem to be capturing every corner of the music market. With his successful crossover into soca land with tracks such as 'Genie Wine', Tamborine' , 'Hot Gal Nuh Fight Ova Man' and his latest are 'Pressure' with Rikki P out of St Lucia and 'On Floor' with Destra he is now a favourite on the carnival scene in Trinidad. With his recent remix of the hot 'Tek Whey Yuhself' with Lil Kim and Kat Deluna it has served as a catalyst for the renewed interest in the original in England as the song is now in the 10th position on BBC's 1Xtra chart. As far as the singjay is concerned "it's all good!"
Bangshowbiz Michael Jackson was reportedly axed from the Grammy Awards after making a series of 'diva-like' demands.The 49-year-old singer - who was scheduled to appear at the ceremony earlier this month for a tribute marking the 25th anniversary of his album Thriller - allegedly infuriated event bosses by insisting the whole evening be dedicated to his career. Jackson is believed to have asked the show's presenters to refer to him as 'The King of Pop' at least 30 times throughout the night. He also wanted a new award to be created just for him and presented to him by an honouree of his choice, according to the New York Post newspaper. Grammy producer Ken Ehrlich, who had been desperate to get Jackson to appear at the show, is said to have retracted the invitation when the demands got too out of control. Jackson had been hoping to promote his re-released version of Thriller - entitled Thriller: 25th Anniversary which features collaborations with stars including will.i.am and Kanye West. The album went on sale the day after the Grammy Awards on February 11.
Internet sex auction sparks paternity row
Woman wins court battle to force Web site to reveal names of winners

BERLIN - A woman in Germany who became pregnant after an online sex auction has won a court battle to force the Web site that hosted the sale to reveal the names of the winners, so she can find out who's the father.

Six different men won Internet auctions to have sex with the woman in April and May last year. They were only known to her by their online names, a spokesman for a court in the southwestern city of Stuttgart said on Wednesday.

"The woman wanted to discover which one of the men had made her pregnant," the spokesman said. "So she needed their contact details. Of course, if they're not willing to go along with the gene test, she'll have to take them to court."

The woman asked the site's operator to reveal the true identity of the men, but it refused, citing a confidentiality clause in its terms and conditions.

The court ruled in her favor, saying the child's right to know who its father was took precedence.

The court declined to give the woman's age and nationality.

-- Edited by pengo at 15:30, 2008-02-14
Should Jamaicans with US citizenship be disqualified from sitting in the Jamaican parliament?

C&W hikes landline rental fees

February 20, 2008
Started By Crazypickney2 Comments

Come April 1, Cable and Wireless Jamaica (C&WJ) will hike line rental fees by 40 per cent for residential customers.

The telecommunications firm announced yesterday it would be increasing its line rental fees for both residential and business customers.

This will see residential customers paying $700 a month, $200 more than they previously did. Business line rentals, including PBX trunk lines, national and international toll-free lines and direct inward-dialling lines, will move from $1,250 monthly to $1,600.

"A rate increase of any kind for our customers is regrettable, but in this case, due to inflationary pressures and increasing operational costs, they are inescapable," said Mark Brunwin, chief marketing officer at C&WJ, in a release.

According to Brunwin, this was the first rental increase since March 2004, despite increases in the cost of providing fixed-line services due to high rates of inflation.

Eminem Preps Autobiography

February 20, 2008
Started By Crazypickney0 Comments

Though Eminem is still prepping his fifth studio album tentatively titled King Mathers, he has another current project in store that does not concern the booth; his memoir.

Eminem will share his journal notes, drawings, and other unseen photos in the book Eminem: The Way I Am. He will pen the introduction, along with a narrative for the book that describes the pictures and notes revealed from his personal collection.

The book will be published through Orion Books, a British publishing distributor. Commissioning editor of Orion Books, Ian Preece, spoke of the ordeal with enthusiasm saying it will be one of the better books to come out this year. Not only that, Preece warned of its raw clout. He stated this book cuts through all that and gets to the source. It has an edge, when speaking on Eminem's true demeanor.

Though there have been several books written on him, and even a few with contributions from Eminem himself, this is the first one to come out since his retirement from the rap game.

Scheduled for an October 16th release date, Preece hyped the release of the book explaining this will be a huge literary event.

Will this book pull Ems fans to their local Barnes & Noble? Who knows, but HipHopDX will keep you posted on any up

JAMAICAN CHURCH leaders stand resolute that despite strong lobbying by international gay rights activists, homo-sexuality will not be accepted as normal.

The Church's rebuke comes in the wake of a recent scathing report from the New York-based Human Rights Watch and protests last week by a Florida church sympathetic to gays.

The Rev Dr Merrick 'Al' Miller, pastor of the Fellowship Taber-nacle in St Andrew, said that Jamaicans generally deem homo-sexuality wrong.

Immoral in every way

He said the demands of gay activists who are attempting to force their beliefs on society will in no way influence Jamaicans to change their views.

"Homosexuality is wrong from every possible angle," said Miller. "It's immoral from a physical, social and spiritual standpoint." He said that despite this, the Church was willing to help and support those homosexuals who are in need of counselling or assistance to change their lifestyle.

"I have no problem in supporting and helping someone who sees that he is going the wrong way and wants help in changing his life, but where I draw the line is when you say that it is OK and want to force others to accept your abnormal behaviour," he added.

It was reported last week that on Valentine's Day, leaders of the Metropolitan Community Church (MCC) in Florida staged a demonstration outside the Jamaican consulate in Miami over what they said was a series of anti-gay murders and gay-bashing incidents in the island.

The MCC, a worldwide assembly of gay, lesbian and transsexual congregants, said they were prepared to push for a boycott of Jamaican tourism if the country fails to deal with reported attacks on gays.

Sensitising police

The church also staged protests at consulates in New York, Toronto and Philadelphia. They reportedly called for a public aware-ness campaign to promote a more "gay-friendly" environment, and called on the Jamaican police to begin sensitivity training regarding the gay and lesbian communities.

The Rev Dr Lloyd Maxwell, of the AGAPE Christian Fellowship in Portmore, said that Scripture takes a very clear stance on the matter of homosexuality and, as such, the Church would not sanction nor encourage the lifestyle.

Rev Maxwell said the idea of conducting a public awareness campaign to sensitise Jamaicans on the issue is ludicrous.

In the midst of all the controversy that shrouds her career in Jamaica Barbee has risen triumphantly above it all to walk away with not one, but two awards at the recently held Excellence in Music and Entertainment Awards.

BeenieMan_Barbee.jpgThe Statuesque diva copped the awards for Best New Artiste of the Year (Female) going up against such talents as Natalee, Miss Triniti, Irie Love and Timber-Lee. Her second award came in the Best Collaboration of the Year Dancehall where she edged out the rest of the pack with her Beenie Man combination single Give It Up.  Her clinching the award meant besting Vybz Kartel and D'Angel with Baby Father, Mavado/Sereni with Dying and Gun Rise with Teflon/I-Octane.

Barbee made her presence felt on the scene as a singer with her first single Missing You done in combination done with Junior Kelly. The single received tremendous airplay throughout the Caribbean, the North Eastern United States, South Florida, Canada as well as Nigeria and West Africa.

Now with the EME out of the way Barbee will now be turning her attention to the IRIE FM Awards which is scheduled to be held on Wednesday, February 13.

The sexy singer is nominated in the category Best Collaboration of the Year for Give It Up with Beenie Man. In this category she will be up against Junior Reid, Mims and Baby Cham for the single 'This I Why I'm Hot' Remix'; Beenie Man and Alaine for No One; Bugle and Sereni for Doh and Junior Reid and Alicia Keys for No One Remix.

With the vibes the red-hot single is creating one can only assume that her chance of repeating the victory at Irie FM Awards on Wednesday is in the high percentile?

*-*MediaZone Rum Bar Round Up!*-*

February 13, 2008
Started By rrDesignZ 6 Comments
findImg.php?pic_size=200&table_name=news_img_tab&table_field=img_id&img_id=1199ZJ Liquid On Tour :

Zip Jock liquid may have been suspended for two weeks but he is certainly not at home sobbing, When we spoke with the Jock earlier today, he quickly notified us that he is presently on tour with Alaine and acclaimed Producer Don Corleone. This goes to show when one door closes many others will open. So with that said, 876radio.com would like to wish them all the best and Liquid we can't wait to hear you on the airwaves in the coming week.

Deva Brat Still In Lock Up :

Earlier today the Portmore Empire deejay went before the courts to answer to charges of alleged carnal abuse involving a 14 year old girl that was sexually molested, After the case was heard, unofficial reports reaching the offices of 876adio.com said that Deva is still in lock up as no formal request for bail was made by his legal team.

Cotton Candy A Big Hit :

Over the weekend there were a slew of parties to choose from and Cotton Candy which most thought would have royally flopped turned out to be the biggest hit, honourable mention must be given though to Juice Theory as for the other contenders, all we have to say is stop spreading Rumours and keeping Secrets and promote your event properly next time.

Mr Cross Got Angry :

Just last weekend a love interest of Mr. Cross was spotted inside QUAD nightclub with another male counterpart and upon Mr. Cross's entry, the female love interest in a bid of save herself, hurriedly left the club and the counterpart and Mr Cross got angry and bolted out after her fortunately he was restrained by members of his team. Can you image the onslaught that would have ensued if he was not held back. The love interest however did return to the club acting as if nothing had happened.

Lutan Fyah Granted Bail :

Reggae crooner Lutan Fyah was today granted bail granted bail in the sum of J$250,000 when he appeared at the Spanish Town Resident Magistrate Court for an alleged charge of arson. According to the reports men allegedly aligned to the deejay firebombed a house belonging to some men who allegedly disrespected the deejay at an event held earlier.
Australia apologizes for mistreating Aborigines

CANBERRA (Reuters) - Australia apologized on Wednesday for the historic mistreatment of Aborigines, moving many Aborigines to tears and prompting cheers from huge crowds gathered in cities across the nation.

Prime Minister Kevin Rudd told parliament that past policies of assimilation, under which aboriginal children were taken from their families to be brought up in white households, were a stain on the nation's soul.

"Today, the parliament has come together to right a great wrong," Rudd said.
ADVERTISEMENT

"We apologize for the laws and policies of successive parliaments and governments that have inflicted profound grief, suffering and loss on these our fellow Australians."

The parliamentary apology comes 11 years after a major report into past assimilation policies found between one in three and one in 10 aboriginal children had been taken from their families between 1910 and 1970.

The report urged a national apology to those affected, known as the Stolen Generations, but the then conservative government under prime minister John Howard rejected the finding and offered only a statement of regret.

Rudd made the apology the first item of parliamentary business for centre-left Labor, which won power in November last year, ending almost 12 years of conservative rule.

"It makes the indigenous community feel, for the first time in a real long time, really feel part of Australia, that it's embraced by the whole Australian nation," Stolen Generation elder Mark Bin Bakar told Reuters.

"It's about us coming together as a country, acknowledging our past and moving on, accepting each other as brothers and sisters of this nation," he said.

TOWNS STOP

About 100 members of the Stolen Generations were in parliament to hear the government apologize, some wiping away tears as Rudd spoke, while thousands more gathered from dawn on the lawns outside to watch him speak on giant television screens.

Others paused at city squares, town halls and schools around the country to watch the speech, which Australians expect to open a new era of reconciliation between indigenous and white Australians.

In Sydney's inner-city suburb of Redfern, home to a large aboriginal community, hundreds stood in heavy rain and cheered each of the three times Rudd said "sorry."

"Sorry heals the heart, and it goes deep," said Redfern aboriginal activist Rhonda Dixon-Grovenor.

Australia has about 460,000 indigenous Aborigines and Torres Strait Islanders, who make up about 2 percent of the 21 million population. There are no aboriginal members in the national parliament.

Aborigines are the most disadvantaged group in Australia, with a life expectancy 17 years less than other Australians, and far higher rates of infant mortality, unemployment, imprisonment, alcohol and drug abuse and domestic violence.

Rudd promised to end the gap in life expectancy within a generation, and to work to end aboriginal inequality. He announced a plan on Wednesday to ensure all young aboriginal children are enrolled in pre-school.

Rudd also announced new plans to improve indigenous housing, and give aborigines constitutional recognition as the original owners of Australia, but he has ruled out paying compensation to Stolen Generation victims.

Prominent indigenous leader Pat Dodson, considered the father of the push for reconciliation between Aborigines and non-indigenous Australians, said the government should now look at compensation for the victims of the policy.

"The whole issue of making good for the past, including compensation for the Stolen Generation, should indeed be pursued," Dodson told the National Press Club.

"But let us do it in a considered and negotiated manner as part of a carefully constructed process, aimed at building an Australian nation that recognizes and respects aboriginal history, culture, language and society."

*-* True Rumours*-*

February 12, 2008
Started By rrDesignZ 8 Comments

STARRIGHT_1_P274BmoursPAM.jpg
These patrons got 'down and dirty'.

What a jam. The only rumour over the weekend was that the event, as empty as The Pantry was, was full of excitement. In the earlier parts of the night, the DJ entertained himself since the fewer than 10 patrons present at 12.30 were far less than interested in the soca music he played.

It was only when the real party revellers came out closer to 1:30 a.m. that the gallivanting, that is calypso wining, took off.

All inhibitions were thrown to the wind as couples 'grind' into each other in a way that should only be acceptable behind closed doors. The energy of those who danced was synonymous with what is expected at the yearly street parade, and these performances were fuelled by the presence of The STAR's photographer.

Dancing skills

Patrons went out of their way to 'expose' their dancing skills in the hope of making it onto the pages of the publication, some going as far as balancing on their heads. As much as some will see themselves on the pages, others were disappointed that the camera was not directed at them and soon found other areas to keep up their charade, which got even more daring with the change of the DJ at 2:30 a.m. who quickly realised that he could not get away with playing only calypso music at a Jamaican event.

Jacked up

Dollar Wine, even after so many years, was still a hit, but it was songs like Dutty Wine and Hot Wuk that would prove to be the dancing motivators of the night; who was not being jacked up against a wall, was being hurled around someone's waist or mounted on top of a ground-flattened dance partner.

It would not be wrong to assume that there were not many people over the age of 18 present, but the teeny-boppers in attendance certainly reminded the older folks, how to dance to carnival music, not to mention, the nakedness that is associated with carnival-themed events. Some young folks turned up wearing garments one elastic band short of officially being called underwear.

What was worrying was that even with heavy police security, the alcoholic-drink inclusive party did not request ID from patrons who looked under the legal age. One group of girls had no problem naming the Catholic 'high' school they attend as they sipped on Appleton and Pepsi. If this gets out, there is no doubt that they will try to convince their principal that it is only a 'Rumour'.

STARRIGHT_1_PZX6VmoursPAM.jpg
These patrons get down to the music at the Rumours Party, held at The Pantry, Dumfries Road, New Kingston on Saturday February 9, 2008.

STARRIGHT_1_PY7VKmoursPAM.jpg
This young hottie was also in the house to enjoy the vibe.

STARRIGHT_1_PVEQXmoursPAM.jpg
She's not quite on her head top, but that's some serious acrobatics. - winston sill photos

Radio 1 DJ jailed on drug charge

February 19, 2008
Started By Major Krazy5 Comments

Grooverider
The 40-year-old DJ has been with Radio 1 since 1998
BBC Radio 1 DJ Grooverider has been jailed for four years in Dubai, United Arab Emirates, for cannabis possession.

The DJ - real name Raymond Bingham - was arrested in November 2007 for flying in for a nightclub gig with 2.16g of cannabis in his luggage.

Bingham denied smuggling drugs, claiming he had left the cannabis in a trouser pocket and forgotten about it.

"Grooverider has paid a very high price for a serious mistake," a spokesman for Radio 1 said.

The 40-year-old has been with the station since 1998 and hosted the weekend drum 'n' bass show with fellow DJ Fabio.

'Ridiculous' arrest

The programme, which has broadcast without him since his arrest, will continue under the title Radio 1's Drum 'n' Bass Show With Fabio.

Grooverider had been employed on a freelance basis and has not been paid by the station since November.

Four years is the minimum sentence for drug trafficking in the UAE.

In the last 12 months, 64 British nationals have been arrested in the UAE for drugs offences

The DJ, who called his arrest "ridiculous" in an interview last month, has two weeks to appeal.

"I must have forgotten the spliff," he said in the interview. "It was a small amount. Back home I would not even get prosecuted."
Mom's not dead, she's just passed out from too much meth and sex
From wire reports
Article Launched: 02/13/2008 06:56:41 AM PST

LANCASTER CA- Screams from a 7-year-old girl who thought her passed- out mother was dead brought sheriff's deputies to a Lancaster trailer park, where the woman was arrested on suspicion of possessing methamphetamine and child neglect Tuesday.

Once awakened, a groggy Angela Cleveland, 29, told a deputy that she and her boyfriend had taken methamphetamine and engaged in sex acts involving bondage before passing out, according to a statement from the sheriff's station in Lancaster.

Cleveland's arms and legs had been strapped to the bed, and deputies found some methamphetamine in the trailer, according to deputies.

According to the statement: Neighbors called for help when the girl was heard screaming about 7 a.m. in the 45100 block of 25th Street East. When deputies arrived, they forced their way in when no one would come to the door.

The boyfriend, whose name was withheld, was unresponsive and taken to a hospital.
findImg.php?pic_size=200&table_name=news_img_tab&table_field=img_id&img_id=1200 In tandem with her propelling career success from last year, D'Angel is now embarking on a new venture and she will include some friends along the way. The "Up Close & Personal with D'Angel + Friends Concert" is a live concert on Saturday, February 23rd at the Asylum Night Club in New Kingston.

Come out and be treated to a night of musical pleasure with D'Angel and Friends live in Concert, hosted by Nikki Z from ZIP 103FM and backed by Uprizing Band. Admission for this event is only $700.00; show time will be at 1:00AM sharp and please note that the dress code will be Casually Elegant to compliment the Red Carpet Theme. The main sponsors for the "Up Close & Personal with D'Angel + Friends" are Hypnotic and Magnum.

D'Angel will be performing all the hits from her catalogue including Downtown Girl, Baby Father, One Man, Blaze, Lucky Charm amongst many other favorites. The "Up Close & Personal Concert" will also feature a number of her friends, namely LUST, Aisha and many other special guests.

For additional information on the event keep it lock to 876radio.com your ultimate source for entertainment.
Officer Suspended After Video Shows Him Berating Teen

BALTIMORE -- A Baltimore police officer shown on a YouTube video berating and roughly handling a skateboarder at the Inner Harbor has been suspended.

Sterling Clifford, a spokesman for the Baltimore Police Department and the mayor's office, said the incident involving Officer Salvatore Rivieri, a 17-year veteran, is the subject of an internal affairs investigation.

The video, apparently shot last summer, shows Rivieri putting the youth, 14-year-old Eric Bush, into a headlock and pushing him to the ground.

The boy said he did not hear an order that the officer had given him about skateboarding at the Harbor.

Rivieri repeatedly got upset at being called "dude" in the video. "I'm not 'man.' I'm not 'dude,' I am Officer Rivieri," he told the teen. "The sooner you learn that, the longer you are going to live in this world. Because you go around doing this kind of stuff and somebody is going to kill you."

Rivieri told The Sun on Sunday that he did not know that the incident had been recorded or posted on the Internet. He acknowledged having encounters with skateboarders at the Inner Harbor, where skateboarding is banned, last summer, and told a reporter that he would watch the video on YouTube.

After he was suspended Monday, Rivieri said he had no comment.

Paul Blair, head of the police union, had not seen the video but he warns that videos show only part of a story.

The video came to the attention of police after a Sun reporter e-mailed the 3 1/2 minute link to the police Sunday morning.

Code:
http://www.wbaltv.com/news/15278243/detail.html

or

Video
Code:
http://nothingtoxic.com/media/1202789992/~censored~
Workers responding to neighbours' complaints of a bad smell coming from an apartment in western England discovered a body that lay decomposing on a couch for years while another resident lived there, officials said last Friday. The British Broadcasting Corp (BBC) reported that neighbours of the Bristol, England, apartment had been complaining for years about the stench and cleaning workers found the body. Neighbour Michael Stone told the BBC he assumed the tenant suffered from poor hygiene and even offered him air fresheners. A spokesman for Bristol City Council said the body was thought to have been in the apartment for at least eight years. The identity of the man, who was thought to be in his 70s when he died, has not been released. Police arrested the apartment's tenant after the body was found on January 30, but concluded the death was not suspicious. The occupant, also in his 70s, apparently failed to report the death because he suffers from mental health problems. Bristol Coroner's Court launched an urgent inquiry last Friday to determine how the corpse had gone unnoticed for so long. A local lawmaker expressed disbelief at the find. "How can any of us possibly understand how there could be a dead body in somebody's flat for five years, or maybe even as long as eight years, and nobody knows and nobody notices, and life appears to go on as usual," Labour parliamentarian Dawn Primarolo told BBC television.

Five sex questions with Tunya Campbell Palmer - Formerly Miss Jamaica Petite

Tunya_missjamaica_petite_pics.jpg

OutAroad.com:
Whats the easiest way for you to come?

Tunya:
Easiest way for me to come is when Im on top having sex while kissing him at the same time.

OutAroad.com:
Which do you prefer, having sex on the beach or one late night at your guys work place on his office desk?

Tunya:
I rather have sex on the beach because thats more romantic and comfortable.

OutAroad.com:
Where is the weirdest place you ever had sexual intercourse?

Tunya:
That would be on the deck of a yatch in the middle of the ocean the sun was scorching hot too, lol.

OutAroad.com:
Which actor or superstar you have ever dreamt of having sex with?

Tunya:
Usher, because I love the way how he moves, but now hes married so I will never go there, I think Im gonna have to start scouting somebody new like Chingey.

OutAroad.com:
When was the last time you had sex and how was it?

Tunya:
Last night, (February 7), sex with me is always great.

Jay-Z And Rihanna Feud?

February 12, 2008
Started By UV RAYS20 Comments

Grammy Catfight Between Rihanna And Jay Z

Rihanna and Jay Z being awkward

All of the 2008 Grammys highlights had to do with Rihanna. Her performance of Umbrella/ Dont Stop The Music was hot, but that was nothing compared to the drama she displayed together with Jay Z when they received the Rap Collaboration Award for Umbrella.

When the two got up to accept the award, Rihanna tried to hold Jay Zs hand, but he pulled her hand away. Rihanna then raised her hands as if asking: WTF?! When they were standing on stage, they kept a clear distance from one another and it all seemed very awkward.

I bet Jay Z wasnt acting like such a puritan when Beyonce wasnt around. He was trying to make it look like there was nothing going on between Rihanna and him, but got the exact opposite.

Rihanna and Chris Brown in love!

February 2, 2008
Started By DJ Miggs26 Comments

chris_rihanna.jpgIt was rumoured some time ago that R&B singers Chris Brown and Rihanna had rekindled their romantic relationship, now theres more. According to one of Chris Brown's very close friends, he and Rihanna are IN LOVE.

Chris' pal sent mediatakeout.com a text message last night with new details of the two's relationship. The insider told them, "Rihanna's new "Love" tat is for Chris [Brown]. He's getting a similar one soon. Dem 2 in luv."

And it doesn't stop there. The website has EXCLUSIVELY learned that the two artists may be planning on moving in together. According to a Los Angeles real estate broker, Chris Brown's apartment in the Hollywood Hills is going up for rent. Tells the broker, who's also one of our faithful readers, "I hear [he's] looking for a bigger place for himself and his significant other."

Things seem to be moving pretty fast for these two. All we have to say is that they make a mighty fine couple.

Cops probe teen's death

February 17, 2008
Started By ZJSnyper2 Comments
The Clarendon police have commenced investigations into the circumstances which led to the murder of a 14-year-old boy in May Pen, Clarendon, on Thursday night.

The teen was shot dead by unknown assailant(s) at his home in Caanan Heights in the parish last night.

Dead is 14-year-old Jamar Legg.

Reports from the CCN's liaison officer for Clarendon are that about 10:30 p.m., young Jamar was at the rear of his house when relatives heard several explosions. Upon investigation, he was seen suffering from gunshot wounds. He was taken to the May Pen Hospital where he died while undergoing treatment.

Detectives from the May Pen C.I.B. are investigating.
Two sisters were on February 16th shot, one fatally by gunmen in Gregory Park, St. Catherine.

Dead is 43-year-old Jennifer Bell, while injured is her 38-year-old sister who was admitted to hospital in critical condition. 

Police investigations revealed that the women were on their home from a party in the Gregory Park area when they were pounced upon by men armed with guns.

The men opened fire and Miss Bell died on the spot.

Her sister was later taken to hospital by residents who were alerted by the explosions.

Video game causes divorce..

February 15, 2008
Started By Gucci15 Comments
Wedding Woes: The Dark Side of Warcraft
Feb 13, 2008

Although best-selling online role-playing game World of Warcraft boasts over ten million subscribers, it's also leaving in its wake an increasing list of casualties.

Even though she's never played the game, 28 year-old Jocelyn is one of the fallen. A well-spoken California resident, she divorced her husband of six years after he developed a crippling addiction to the smash online RPG.

"He would get home from work at 6:00, start playing at 6:30, and he'd play until three a.m. Weekends were worse -- it was from morning straight through until the middle of the night. "It took away all of our time that we spent together. I ceased to exist in his life."

world-of-warcraft-20060712043912894_screen001.jpg

Jocelyn had been friends with her ex-husband Peter since the age of 13, but it took only nine months for her marriage to collapse.

"I bought the game for him for Christmas 2004, when it first came out. By May we had our first serious discussion about where our marriage was going, and by September I had moved out," she said.

Jocelyn recalled one particular incident that was typical of Peter's habits. "I had set aside 30 minutes for us to watch a television show together, and he couldn't. He was stuck on a raid, and completely failed to understand why I was upset," she said.

Peter's domestic duties also suffered. He stopped paying bills, she says, and refused to do his share of the housework.

Jocelyn doesn't hesitate to cite Warcraft as the main reason for her divorce and remains emotional about its impact on her marriage. "I'm real, and you're giving me up for a fantasy land. You're destroying your life, your six-year marriage, and you're giving it up for something that isn't even real."

Despite their differences, the couple remains friends, and although Peter still plays World of Warcraft, Jocelyn says he made an effort to cut down after their split.

A gamer herself, Jocelyn briefly worked for World of Warcraft developer Blizzard Entertainment, although not on the title that proved so damaging to her relationship. "I recognized that this was a game that would never end, and that's why I chose not to play it," she said.

"They build it in such a way that you have to keep putting more and more time into it to maintain your status. I remember thinking when I was married that it was downright exploitative to people who couldn't control themselves in that way. It's set up like a drug."

Asked if she would consider marrying another Warcraft player, Jocelyn laughed. "That's actually one of my primary criteria now -- I don't want to marry someone who is a gamer."

tsk.. u men and ur toys.. pc.giffrustrated.gif.,

-- Edited by Gucci at 23:14, 2008-02-15

Woman Caught Beating Grandson

February 18, 2008
Started By ZJSnyper15 Comments
Grandma Beating

Woman Caught Beating Grandson

A local woman is accused of beating her young grandson so badly he lost consciousness, police said.According to police, Delores Henderson, 55, was walking down the street, hitting the two-year-old in the stroller and slamming it into the curb."People driving in the area of Dixon at this boulevard were witnessing this woman hitting this child," Barbara Matthews with Cocoa police said.

The incident occurred at the intersection of Fiske and Dixon Boulevard in Cocoa.Police arrived after being contacted by witnesses. Police said the beatings didn't stop, even after Henderson dumped the boy out of his stroller and on to the concrete."As he drove up, he saw her hitting the child in the head. She was slapping him with her open hand," Matthews said. "The officer described it as looking like a rag doll. She threw him back in the stroller and started to hit him again."An officer was eventually able to wrestle Henderson away from the child. The boy got up after being briefly unconscious."The child was walking toward traffic and the officer was still struggling with her," Matthews said. "He was trying to make the decision to let go of her, grab the child and just then, fortunately for us, a witness came up and grabbed the child before he could get out into traffic."The boy was released from the hospital on Saturday night.The grandmother is charged with aggravated battery and child abuse. She is still in jail. Police did not receive an explanation from her about why she may have done this.

Mother convicted of raping 8 year old daughter

A JURY has found a mother guilty of raping her daughter.

The 41-year-old woman, who cannot be named, was accused of raping her eight-year-old daughter at her home at Donnybrook, north of Brisbane, between November 2005 and February 2006.

The mother pleaded not guilty this week in the Brisbane District Court to one count of ----[I'm going to be banned now----.

During the trial the court was told the child allegedly saw her mother standing in the doorway of her room holding a sex toy, or what the child called a "fake boy thing".

The woman entered the room, pulled down the young girl's pants and inserted something into her vagina, the court heard.

The court was told the girl has been medically examined, but that the examination was inconclusive.

The jury returned a verdict of guilty this afternoon after retiring yesterday.

The woman will be sentenced tomorrow.

Code:

http://www.news.com.au/story/0,23599,23213101-29277,00.html

$1.2M spree on Aunt's ATM card

February 13, 2008
Started By ZJSnyper18 Comments
A man who stole his aunt's ATM card and made several unauthorised transactions amounting to over $1.2 million, pleaded guilty to simple larceny, when he appeared in the Corporate Area Resident Magistrates' Court yesterday.Dennis Moore, 24, of a Torrington Lane, Kingston address, will be sentenced on March 3. The facts are that sometime between November 26 and January 28, Moore stole the ATM card and made more than 90 transactions. His aunt had reportedly left the card, and the PIN number with her daughter. According to the police, Moore bought several items of clothing both for himself and others, rented a car and even spent time in Negril, all at his aunt's expense. The account from which he stole the money was reportedly an account his aunt used to save money for the purchase of a home. She went to the bank on January 19, to make a withdrawal and realised that several transactions, of which she had no knowledge, had been made. Subsequent investigations led to Moore's arrest.
Deadly choking game spreads like bad weed

By CP

TORONTO -- At least 82 children and teens in the United States have died over the past 12 years playing what's known as "the choking game," the U.S. Centers for Disease Control said yesterday as it urged parents to look for telltale signs their adolescents may be participating in the dangerous fad.

Canadian authorities have also been studying the phenomenon, and have data that show 74 hospitalizations of children who survived the game at least long enough to get to hospital. But not all do.

Sharron Grant's son, Jesse, 12, died in April 2005, after choking on a computer cord. He learned the game he called "black out" at summer camp the previous year.

BRIEF HIGH

His family, which lives near Barrie, Ont., started a website called GASP -- Games Adolescents Shouldn't Play -- to gather statistics and get out the word on dangers of the choking game.

"It just keeps going on like a bad weed," Grant said.

The choking game, which goes by a variety of other names, involves intentionally choking oneself or being choked by someone else to the point where the player is on the verge of or loses consciousness. The lack of oxygen induces a brief state of euphoria or a high.

Grant said GASP has received 38 reports of deaths among Canadian children.

Story:
Code:
http://www.winnipegsun.com/News/Canada/2008/02/15/4848144-sun.html

-- Edited by viper_3kj at 11:09, 2008-02-15

Gay man seeks asylum in Canada

February 14, 2008
Started By ZJSnyper21 Comments
Thursday, 14 February 2008 Image Prominent member of gay rights group Jamaica Forum for Lesbians, All-Sexuals and Gays, J-FLAG, Gareth Henry, 22, is trying to claim refugee status in Canada. 

Mr. Henry, who spoke at Pride London last year about the plight of lesbian and gay people in Jamaica, told CBC News that 13 of his friends have been killed in the last four years. 

He claimed he was one of three gay men stoned by a huge mob in a homophobic attack on Valentine's Day last year.

Police eventually escorted the men from a pharmacy in St. Andrew, where they had been hiding for almost an hour. 

An angry crowd had gathered outside the pharmacy, hurling insults and threatening to kill the men.

Officers dispersed the crowd with tear gas.

Mr. Henry told CBC that police officers are leading mob attacks, turning up at people's homes.

He also claimed he had police turn up at his home in the company of civilians and point guns through his window, stating he had to leave the premises or he was going to be killed.

International human rights organisations have described Jamaica as one of the most homophobic places in the world. 

Sex between men in Jamaica is illegal and punishable with up to ten years in jail, usually with hard labour. 

Campus massacre

February 15, 2008
Started By viper_3kj7 Comments
Gunman kills five, self firing shotgun, pistols from lecture hall stage

by CARYN ROUSSEAU, AP

DEKALB, Ill. -- A man dressed in black opened fire with a shotgun and two handguns from the stage of a lecture hall at Northern Illinois University yesterday, killing five students and injuring 16 others before committing suicide, authorities said.

The gunman fatally shot four women and a man in a "brief, rapid-fire assault" that sent terrified students running for cover, university president John Peters said. Four of the six total dead died at the scene and the other two died at a hospital, he said.

Witnesses in the geology class said "someone dressed in black came out from behind a screen in front of the classroom and opened fire with a shotgun," Peters said.

Lauren Carr said she was sitting in the third row of the lecture hall around 3 p.m. local time when she saw the shooter walk through a door on the right-hand side of the stage, pointing a gun straight ahead.

"I personally army-crawled halfway up the aisle," said Carr, a 20-year-old sophomore.

"I said I could get up and run or I could die here."

She said a student in front of her was bleeding "but he just kept running."

"I heard this girl scream: 'Run, he's reloading the gun.'"

Peters said the gunman was a former graduate student in sociology at NIU but was not currently enrolled at the 25,000-student campus about 105 kilometres west of Chicago.

"It appears he may have been a student somewhere else," university police chief Donald Grady said, adding police had no apparent motive.

Seventeen victims were brought to Kishwaukee Community Hospital in DeKalb, said spokeswoman Theresa Komitas. One died, two were admitted and three were discharged; five are being evaluated and six others were transferred to other hospitals in critical condition. At least one male died at OSF St. Anthony Medical Center in Rockford, an official said.

George Gaynor, a senior geography student, who was in Cole Hall when the shooting happened, told the student newspaper the Northern Star the shooter was "a skinny white guy with a stocking cap on."

He described the scene immediately following the incident as terrifying and chaotic.

"Some girl got hit in the eye, a guy got hit in the leg," Gaynor said outside just minutes after the shooting occurred.

Witnesses said the young man carried a shotgun and a pistol.

The shooting was the fourth at a U.S. school within a week.

On Feb. 8, a woman shot two fellow students to death before committing suicide at Louisiana Technical College in Baton Rouge. In Memphis, Tenn., a 17-year-old is accused of shooting and critically wounding a fellow student Monday during a high school gym class and the 15-year-old victim of a shooting at an Oxnard, Calif., junior high school has been declared brain dead.

Code:
http://www.winnipegsun.com/News/World/2008/02/15/4848132-sun.html

At least 3,000 patrons turned up at the Spectrum 08 event at the University of Technology on Friday night. For the most part, the show lacked the cohesiveness and level of professionalism that one would expect from a show that attracted major corporate sponsors. There was no band and all the artistes were forced to work on tracks which led to problems in the fluidity of the show.

Mavado3.jpgBut still, Spectrum was a decent nights diversion for dancehall fans.

The early segment included some good performances from artistes such as Iyah Ingie, however Baby Doll of the Portmore Empire was clapped off after overstaying her welcome by choosing to do four songs. It has become somewhat of a spectator sport, a major diversionary activity for dancehall fans, to just boo DAngel, regardless of whether she is performing well or not.

This trend held true last night as she was booed from the first anso as she did Blaze and even later as she delivered a gospel-tinged Baby Father, the boos seemed to get louder, even though Marco Deans DNA results are common knowledge. After she exited the stage, Danielle a.k.a DI came out and immediately earned a forward with Beat It.

However, when she began to perform Man Weh Mi No Need, a rumbling of boos began from a small segment of DAngel supporters. However, Danielle showed her maturity and plowed on,earning a big forward with the lines she get me cross, angry and miserable too and everywhere she go, she get boo. The majority of the crowd loved it, but DAngels rabid fans continue to register their disgust.

The show had a series of high points. Alliance member Flexx worked well before calling up Mavado, Busy, Einstein and Demarco. Together they bussed the place with hit after hit, albeit with some poor mixing from the selector. The repeated incompetence of the selector forced Mavado to remark: Me will buss a bottle inna one bwoy face.

The Portmore Empire performed next with Aidonia, Deva Bratt, Sean Storm, Earthworm and Blak Ryno combining well together. Bratt did only one song, Bundle a Gal. Earlier, Serani and Bugle got a forward for Doh but not for much else. The crowd clapped off Tyrical. Current dancer-of-the-moment Chi Ching Ching bussed the place with the new sample speehes and dance moves. Selector Biggy of the duo, Razz and Biggy. Nikki Z, who hosted the event, tried to keep the action going but it was so disorganized that the artistes ended up calling up artistes eliminating the need for an emcee.

Vybz Kartel was a no-show because he wasnt not properly booked for the show, his publicity team said. No reasons were given for Jah Cures no-show. Sizzla and Ancient Monarchy closed the show.

The show ended at a few minutes to five in the morning. The patrons exited quietly for the most part, however a few grumbled wha happen to Jah Cure, mi waan back mi money?

Alliance an Sizzla me seh! Big up Donia to. b***booo b***booo a d selector fi d night, reck d place. This report miss out alot of things. Anyway, nuh care who yo b, UTech ppl nuh ramp fi booo an clap off artist. Oh Yeah... babylon lock it off

gf

-- Edited by XavHew at 16:58, 2008-02-02
findImg.php?pic_size=200&table_name=news_img_tab&table_field=img_id&img_id=1212 Reggae songstress Etana will be making her presence felt this year with the release of her highly anticipated debut album "Etana The Strong One" set for release in mid spring. The singer who will be commencing the promotional campaign of her latest single "I'm Not Afraid" in a few weeks was however pleasantly surprise last week when she got word that well known Music Journalist Ellen Koehlings and Photographer Peter Lilly of Riddim Magazine were in the island and wanted to do a photo shoot to support a pre written article for their next issue.

Etana who was given the opportunity to choose location for the shoot, and staying true to herself she decided to stick to her Roots and took the Germans on a tour of her hometown, August Town where she grew up as a child.

The photo shoot which got underway about 11am saw the talented singer smiling and posing in-front her old residence while family and friends gathering around to witness the proceedings.

After a quick wardrobe change Etana along with her Road Manager and Publicist led the visitors down a narrow dirt lane to the banks of a nearby river. Capturing her beauty as she sat on a sea bolder Photographer Peter Lilly gave the strong one more than enough attention, directing her every movement as Koehlings and others watched from a distance with amazement.

The shoot then continued at a third location further along the river bed to a beautiful dry cave on the other side of the river bank. Once again it was Etana in all her glory that stole the spotlight twirling her ankle length yellow skirt.

At the end of the shoot the visitors were treated to a one on one discussion with the "Warrior Love" singer as she detailed the history of her community. Reminiscing on times of war and violence Etana had great hopes that the gang war would one day cease.

"It's silly to see the community fighting against one-another whether it's political violence or gang it dont make any sense, the youth are the ones suffering while the politician uptown living comfortable. I only hope that we as black people will start to see our real purpose and stop the bad-mind and envy".

Riddim Magazine is a German based publication that started in September 2001 with the Judgment Yard ruler Sizzla Kalongi gracing the very first cover. Over the years several top Dancehall & Reggae artistes have been featured on the cover including the Warlord Bounty Killer, Buju Banton, Gentleman, Tanya Stephens, Jah Cure and Peter Tosh. The Magazineto date has published 36 issues and is currently published six times a year with a circulation of over 45,000 copies.

NB. We have embedded snippets from the shoot below for your view pleasure(see images below)
etana_shoot.jpg
Jamaica has had a profound influence in the development of popular culture in the United States. The genres of hip-hop, rap, punk, alternative rock, and some forms of electronic dance music can all trace their influences and origins to Jamaica, and its groundbreaking music studios and producers such as King Tubby and Lee Scratch Perry.

Soul_Rebellion.jpgJamaican music, dance, fashion, and the concept of the sound clash, which gave roots to rap and hip-hop, all have left their mark abroad. Soul Rebellion, the festival with a cause, taps into this legacy imbedded in our cultural landscape by such legendary icons as the world's beloved Bob Marley.

The thousands of visiting spring breakers provide a platform on which to express this legacy, as Soul Rebellion 2008 swings back into action during Spring Break this March in Negril, Jamaica. This charitable event, which stages fundraising shows, distinguishes itself as a concept more than a concert. "Soul Rebellion serves to re-invest Jamaica and her rich and vibrant culture back into the spring break dynamic by tracking, exploring, and illuminating the cultural conversation taking place between Jamaica and American street culture," states event organizer Richard Sloan.

This year's events are slated for every Tuesday during the month of March, with stage shows taking place at the Jungle Nightclub in Negril. This is followed by daytime activities that include visits to local schools where spring breakers can participate in the "Build-A-Brick" program and literally rebuild local schools. One of the shows, slated for March 18, will be headlined by arguably the hottest act in dancehall right now, Mavado.  Soul Rebellion's vision is in sync with Mavado's own initiative to aid education in his homeland, thru his charity "Connect Jamaica" where he donates computers to local schools.

A number of Jamaican entertainment heavyweights are working to help make this year's event a success, including Tony Matterhorn, Julian Jones-Griffith of the Alliance (home to Mavado), Janet Davidson of Madhouse Records (home to Baby Cham), Don Corleon of Don Corleon Records (home to Munga, Pressure and Alaine), and Jerome Hamilton of Headline Entertainment (booking agency for most Jamaican entertainers including Sean Paul). As a result, more additions to the lineup will soon be announced. Soul Rebellion 2008 will also play host to a number of international media houses who will be on hand to witness and provide coverage of this festival that directly aids the local community.

Those wishing to partake in the festivities can book travel packages through studentcity.com, where the mention of "soulrebel1" will provide certain discounts.

Student fights 3 cops

February 19, 2008
Started By Crazypickney13 Comments
A 15-year-old student of a high school in St Elizabeth was arrested and charged on Thursday, after he allegedly fought three police officers, causing one of them to be hospitalised. The Santa Cruz police reported that acting on information, they went to a school in the area where the student was allegedly bullying other students and behaving badly. He was reportedly approached by two of the police officers and spoken to, but he failed to comply to orders given. Reports are that the lawmen were forced to apprehend him and he was taken to the police station. When he arrived there, the student again began behaving badly and allegedly engaged the two men in a fight in an effort to free himself. The officers were joined by one of their colleagues who tried to help to restrain the youngster. During the altercation, the youngster allegedly pushed one of the officers who has a heart condition and he developed a seizure and fainted. He had to be rushed to the Mandeville Hospital where he was treated and released the following day. The youngster was charged with resisting arrest and for being armed with an offensive weapon. He was held overnight in the lock-up and taken to the Juvenile Court the following morning, where the charges were dropped. The matter was dismissed because the investigating officer was absent and the presiding judge said that the police had failed to follow the proper procedure. However, following the court case, the youngster was slapped with a new charge of assault occasioning bodily harm and is booked to reappear in the St Elizabeth Juvenile Court on April 18.
When Sanjay released Man of My Word on the Guardian Angel Riddim for the Fresh Air Label in 2007, it was hailed as one of the top reggae songs of 2007. Man of My Word was a turning point in the career of the artiste who has over the years been known for his thoughtful and lyrical tunes.

Sanjay2.JPGNow, Sanjay is back with a new track that is destined to be a hit and might even eclipse 'Man Of My Word' in popularity. Recorded on the Legal Riddim for the Renaissance label, Sanjay's new song Lonely presents itself as the heartfelt beckon of a lonely man. Lonely manifests some of the best lyrics Sanjay has produced and will definitely appeal to his current fans while winning him some more. Lonely exposes Sanjay's true talent and proves that the sometimes dancehall artistes is immensely versatile and can hold his own on a one drop riddim.

Not only has Sanjay cemented his position as a reggae artiste with the Track Lonely but he has also produced a cutting edge video that compliments the quality of the song. Sanjay premiered the video for Lonely Friday, February 15th 2008 on TVJ's Entertainment Report and based on initial reports the video was of a high quality, rarely seen on the local scene.

Sanjay decides at the end of the video to make a transformation and cuts hair on screen.  In Lonely we watch Sanjay go through a metamorphosis, a rebirth.

Lonely was filmed at various locations in Kingston and mirrors the song perfectly. Directed Kimala 'Lala' Bennet of the Production Lab and produced by Melissa Lewellyn, the Lonely video is a sign of Sanjay's appreciation for the art of music. In the video Sanjay laments his loneliness while constantly and coincidentally running into an attractive young woman but never getting the chance to make her acquaintance. The lonely video is fraught with imagery completed with the ultimate symbol of letting go.

JLo pregnancy power

February 19, 2008
Started By Crazypickney3 Comments
Jennifer Lopez has told hospital staff not to enter the room where she will give birth. The Do It Well singer is set to give birth to twins, her first children with husband Marc Anthony, later this month, and has asked staff at Long Island's North Shore Medical Center not to use the room until she arrives. A source told the New York Post newspaper: "There is a room, which even has a brown leather couch, that has been sitting empty for two weeks now. No-one is even allowed in there until she gets here. It's just sitting there for her." The hospital has reportedly prepared an entire suite for the 38-year-old star, complete with wooden flooring and a giant TV. It was recently revealed the hospital has been put on kidnap alert. Staff have been undertaking specialist 'Code Pink' drills to ensure they are prepared in case anyone attempts to snatch Jennifer's babies. A friend of the Monster-In-Law star said: "Jennifer has spoken so much about how excited she is about the birth that anyone who is considering a kidnapping knows how far she would be willing to go to get her babies back."
«First  <  1486 487 488 489 490524  >  Last»  | Page of 524  sorted by