Forum: News & Topical Issues

News updates, entertainment, hot topics, gossip | Share and discover what is happening right now.

The fatal shooting of an 11-month-old infant allegedly by the police yesterday afternoon plunged sections of Spanish Town into chaos, as angry residents mounted roadblocks along the March Pen Road to protest against the killing.

According to reports reaching The Gleaner, about 4:00 p.m. yesterday a police party was in pursuit of a motor vehicle that was operating as a taxi in breach of its licence. The police reportedly opened fire on the vehicle as the driver tried to escape. When the smoke cleared, it was discovered that the infant, who was a passenger inside the vehicle, was hit in the head. He died on the spot.

As news of the child's death spread throughout the community, hundreds of residents took to the streets using fire, stones and other debris to block the Spanish Town bypass. This action resulted in traffic coming to a halt in some areas, while other drivers were forced to take other routes. Traffic piled up even where there were no physical blockages.

Commuters flee town

Up to late evening yesterday, hundreds of commuters were seen scurrying to get out of Spanish Town.

A strong detachment of police, drawn from Spanish Town and other stations,was seen in the area and the Bureau of Special Investigations has been called in to probe the matter.

The police have, however, given a different version of the incident. According to the official police report, policemen from the Island Special Constabulary Force spotted a vehicle and signalled the driver to stop.

The driver sped away and the police gave chase. They were subsequently fired on by the occupant/s of the vehicle they were chasing. They returned the fire and the infant was later discovered with gunshot wounds. The driver of the car fled the scene and is being sought by the police.

Grung God & Ms. An Soo!! Linking up again? - - Some Artistes fi stop wuk obeah.

Disclaimer :
The opinion of this writer's article is not necessarily the opinion and views of OutAroad.com

By: Chat Too Much

dangel_andbounty_killer-love.jpg

Light a candle sing a sanky and find your way back home, - wooooh, story come to bump - dat a fi di artistes dem who believe inna a obeah (witch Craft).

Mi fans and haters mi ago share a little story wid uhnu, today, eehhee - mi seh mi blow up over 30, 000 dollars wha day yah a waan obeah man all because mi read it in di paper weh some artistes mentioned dat obeah helped dem career. So, people uhnu nuh know seh mi go try it out, a never feel so confident inna mi life because finally mi find a way fi sort out mi problems them, but when mi reach a di abeah man yard as him si mi him seh.
A disaster is coming your way soon.
So mi asks him wha kind a disaster?
Some artistes have plans fi tek out yuh head back.
Look man a plenty people try dat aready and failed, right now mi just want yuh tell mi how mi can mek some serious money because, this year mi affi be di winna, and mi nah go a mi yard wid out mi youth dem dinna". And uhnu better know seh 'money dont change me - mi a money changer.

Mi know a lot of uhnu want fi know what happened next a di obeah man yard, but mi wi talk bout dat a anodda time because mi have sweeter news than dat fi gi uhnu. Yes mi child, guess who and who mi hear seh a link up again, di first lady of Mafia House and di leader of di Alliance -- Bung Bang!!! An Sooooo!!!.

More time mi a read di paper and dem used this line according to a source, but today mi ago flip it and seh according to a close fleshy (family) Mr. Bung, Bang, Bang and An Sooo!! Still have di link tight to rathid. Mi almost nuh believe but after di fleshy told mi di entire story mi affi mek a prediction today, yeah if di obeah man thing work fi some artistes why mi cant tek on a piece of dat knowledge. Mi ago predict seh Ms. An Sooo who was recently married and Mr. Grung God who once had loving seven years relationship With Ms. An Sooo will fall in love again and uhnu little dutty badmind people please mi a beg uhnu fi nuh fight di thing because Mr. Grung God and Ms. An Sooo ago get married and Grung God his going to get that little baby boy him want from long time.

Hey mi nuh done yet, mi have one more prediction, uhnu rememba last year mi told uhnu about one girl named after di fourth month of the year, check di maths yuh self. Anywayz, a di same girl weh Grung God took from di Doctor AKA Di King of Di Dancehall. Well mi also predicts that she and di King ago chat back.

Irie Awards

Mi went to di Irie FM awards last week and I was so surprised. After mi a hope seh dem woulda messed up so mi can get fi slaughter dem, but that never happened because di ting gwaan good star. Beenie Man and DAngel might nuh get on well in life, but nuh matta wat di two a dem have something in common, dem always nicely dressed, so di of them walked away with the awards for Best Dress Female and Male.

Mi seh people uhnu shoulda si Queen I-Frica face full a smile plus tax. Dem odda award show a bogus event because Queen I-Frica and Mavado never get nothing, but this time shi walked away wid two awards Female Deejay of Di Year and waan next one dat mi cant remember because mi nuh like good news. Anywayz Mavado got two awards, one for Best Dancehall Album and anodda for Singjay of Di Year. Mavado couldnt mek it so him daddy Bounty Killer went and collect it on him behalf. As usual di Killer speak what on him mind. Mi love this award show it nuh buy out like di others dem, di youth deserved this award, him start from di gully side and now him soon join mi pon di hill side, Bung, Bang, Bang!

sony-giga-juke-uk-1.jpg
Sorry Sony, but we saw these coming back in January. Sony just got around to confirming its new line of Giga Juke home audio players -- at least in the UK -- after letting them float around on the internet for a good couple of months. The networked SC55PKE has 80GB of storage, 16x CD ripping, a 4.3-inch LCD and iPod / Walkman support, along with a wireless hookup for beaming to a wireless control unit and five wireless speakers. The E35HD (pictured after the break) keeps it wired and boring, with a less sexy screen, slower CD ripping and the odd replacement of the SC55PKE's ATRAC support for AAC. Yeah, we're not following that one, Sony.

[Via Wired]

sony-giga-juke-uk-2.jpg
hey were nearly done with their meal when the woman started making a scene.

There are worms in my salad, she loudly complained at a crowded Applebee's restaurant in northwest Indiana Tuesday night.

Tiffany Vance and Christopher Egnatz got an apology -- and walked out without paying their $57 tab, according to police.

The couple left the Schererville restaurant. And that might have been that but for one slip: Vance forgot her purse.

A waitress looked inside for her wallet to contact her and found . . . a plastic container of maggot-like bee-moth larvae.

The police were called. As an officer took a report, Egnatz returned, looking for the purse, and he and Vance were arrested.

Caught having sex

March 6, 2008
Started By Major Krazy18 Comments
So what is the worst you've been caught having sex???

I went out with a girl who had a Sicillian father & a scotich mother. They were pretty staight sortta no sex before marridge type.
One day the father walked in on the girl riding me. I remember she jump off & ran out of the room & the father stood there for a minute taking in what he just saw. I rolled over & hide myself under the blankets... I thought I was gonna be watchin my back from Sicillian Mafia but in the end the father neva really said anything to me bout it.
who wud u say is the most outstanding reggae boy out of the 98 france campaign?

i know most ppl wud say either Bibi or tappa or pepe

but weh yu say

Yaad Memories!!

March 5, 2008
Started By SHERRY8 Comments
We dun kno seh no weh no sweet like yaad!!!!! So for all those who are abroad, and those who there (if you should move),

What do you miss most bout Jamaica?
Whats ur best memory of living or even visiting yaad?

3-10-08-tiltstick.jpg
It's not like the modding community at large hasn't shoved accelerometers within vehicles before, but conjuring up projects that utilize acceleration sensing just got a whole lot easier thanks to the USB TiltStick. Reportedly, the minuscule device features a two axis acceleration sensor and emulates a USB joystick in order to play nice with any USB-equipped host. In particular, a standard PC or Nokia's N810 makes for the perfect comrade, and what you do from there is really only limited by your imagination. Granted, only the DIY veterans in attendance should give this one any serious consideration, but feel free to jump on through the break to catch it interfacing with N810.
prnphotos069855-gameloft-plans-to.jpg
While Apple continues to market the iPhone as a 3-in-1 device -- web, phone, and iPod -- it's clear that Jobs has a 4th market clearly in his sights. It's no accident that EA and Sega were both selected to demonstrate their skills with the iPhone SDK during last week's press event. Now Gameloft, the worldwide number one mobile game publisher in terms of revenues -- has committed to developing games for the iPhone. "Over 15 titles" are expected in 2008, in fact. Oh iPhone, is there anything you can't do with your 3D processor, multi-touch display, and 3-axis accelerometer? Oh right, GPS, 3G data, corporate Exchange, A2DP Bluetooth audio, MMS, ... you get the idea.
swt_w100k_001.jpg
I had the chance to get hands-on with Samsung's WiBro-lovin' SWT-W100k back at CES in January. Judging by the arrival of the product waifs, the 4.3-inch, WVGA touchscreen PMP now looks to be getting an official coming-out party in its native S.Korea. 341 pitypitybattenntakes the little all-purpose device with GPS, 2 megapixel camera, Bluetooth, 8GB of internal flash, and DMB mobile television home on a yet to be determined date. VoIP client, personal organizer, and web browser? Sure, that too. No word on the processor choice but it's definitely not running any flavor of Microsoft OS. With any luck, Samsung will bring a US-speced variant capable of running on Sprint's XOHM service later this year. Video refresher posted after the break.
q5w_snes.jpg
If you're an owner or prospective owner of the Cowon Q5W, you're probably impressed with its myriad audio and video playback capabilities -- but did you know it can handle emulation as well? Apparently, since the device is based on Windows CE, it's fairly easy to get game emulators up and running on the 5-inch PMP. In the video you can watch a setup of what appears to be an SNES imitator playing both Donkey Kong Country and Super Mario Kart (two favorites of our SNES fanboy, Paul Miller, we suspect). The games are controlled by a decidedly non-Nintendo accessory -- a PS1 controller connected via USB adapter. With that recent $50 price drop, this may be just the incentive you need to spring for a shiny new edition to your gadget library.
tunetuneclapclap

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wcwDBgBEgII
Jamaica Makes a Move

Watch Ja. hit the world stage.  There are some great things happening in the midst of the negativity. 

Microsoft impressed by Jamaican Computer Programmers!

-- Edited by Jamecho at 22:46, 2008-03-07

-- Edited by STAINLESS at 05:22, 2008-03-10

Barbee Or D'Angel

March 8, 2008
Started By earlezilla16 Comments
What u think about these female artists do u think they are contributing to the business? and if so who u think is putting in more...

Usher loving top spot

March 8, 2008
Started By rrDesignZ 4 Comments

STARRIGHT_1_PAJ7IRFRAGRAM.jpg
file-Usher

Weekly charts for the best-selling recorded music in the United States as they appear in next week's issue of Billboard magazine. Reprinted with permission. (Platinum signifies more than one million copies sold; gold signifies more than 500,000 copies sold.):

Compiled from a national sample of sales reports collected, compiled and provided by SoundScan; radio playlists; and monitored radio by Broadcast Data Systems.

1. Usher Featuring Young Jeezy Love In This Club LaFace | DIGITAL | Z****a

2. Flo Rida Featuring T-Pain Low Poe Boy | Atlantic RIAA

3. Chris Brown With You Jive | DIGITAL | Z****a RIAA

4. Rihanna Don't Stop The Music SRP/Def Jam | DIGITAL | IDJMG

5. Sara Bareilles Love Song Epic | DIGITAL RIAA

6. Jordin Sparks Duet With Chris Brown No Air 19/Jive | DIGITAL | Z****a

7. Timbaland Featuring OneRepublic Apologize Mosley/Blackground | DIGITAL Interscope

8. Alicia Keys No One MBK/J | RMG RIAA2

9. Webbie, Lil' Phat & Lil' Boosie Independent Trill/Asylum | DIGITAL | Atlantic

10. Snoop Dogg Sensual Seduction Doggystyle/Geffen | Interscope

Special Advertisement - "Kadillac Dancers Versus The World"

MTV will be in the building at Club Amazura, when Black Blingaz, Ravers Clavers and many more dancers from Jamaica and all over the world will compete for the grand price of US$5000...plus the chance to battle Kadillac Dancers.For more information call: 646-409-0088.

Mar21kadillac1_edit.jpg

Queen's scrape by José Marti

March 8, 2008
Started By sting 6 Comments
Although giving an uncharacteristic performance which was way below expectations, The Queen's School team managed to survive some "self induced" competition from José Marti to win their matchup 26-22 and advance to round three of this year's TVJ School's Challenge Quiz.

One could not help but notice that the girls' performance warranted some hope for José Marti. At one point during the match, the atmosphere in the studio was so tense that when the final bell sounded, several persons could be heard breathing a sigh of relief.

"They didn't play good at all. They're lucky it was Jose Marti," one spectator told THE STAR.

This statement would be afterwards confirmed by the winning team members as they too admitted to THE STAR that their showing was lucklustre. They, however, noted that they will be looking to prepare themselves better for their next match which is expected to be quite a showdown.

deadlocked

At the end of the first section, both teams were deadlocked on six points with neither gaining any momentum.

The Queen's School would get better in the second section though, as José Marti brought their lukewarm play into the section.

wrong answers

In their first of three separate minute-long segments, they would answer eight questions incorrectly before gaining their first point. That was as far as it would go in that minute, as they gave a string of incorrect answers.

This would continue into the following two minute-long segments, sparking numerous corrections from quiz master Devon Yetman.

José Marti ended the section with 18 points.

The Queen's School, similarly, gave a lukewarm showing. They did, however, manage a four-point lead and ended the section with 22 points.

The final section lacked in buzzer activity from either team.

Both competitors attempted a total of five questions with Queen's accounting for three of those attempts, one of which was incorrect.

Consequently, The Queen's School emerged 26-22 victors.

Members of The Queen's School team: Tameka Wright (captain), Shanice Nettleford, Felicia Francis and Daveda Dixon.

Members of the José Marti team: Jermaine Francis (captain), Clinton Walker, Marlon Brown and O'shane Grant.
SIZZLA AND GENTLEMAN SHOT VIDEO IN AUGUST TOWN
sizzla.jpgMi hear say crazy excitement did gwaan up a August Town couple evenings ago because Gentleman and Sizzla ah shoot video fi dem new song up there. Mi hear say big film camera up there and a big time production wid jib arm and ting. Mi know say Sizzla and Gentleman did have a bad tune together name 'Lack of Love' so mi a wonder if this song ah go harder than that. Big up Kalonji, dem caan violate the ting.

BEENIE AND THE TAX MAN
It looks like the Doctor has a big date with the Tax Man next week. The deejay's big 47 million tax case ah call up pon March 15th (the tax deadline), and we just hope say the man mek him accountant ah deal with the government because dem need money like how Kern Spencer need a pack of Kleenex. Sort out the ting.

THE PEOPLE WAAN FI KNOW
Talking about Kern, how come is Patrick Roberts have to bail him the other day? What about the other PNP officials dem and ministers?

Why Monster Empire bad mind Harry Toddler since him tune ah hit all the charts? Elephant Man and Roundhead and General B dem kick off wicked from wah day so why dem a try draw out the Blond Ras like him is a Nike shoelace? Monster Empire, a wah dat?

Rasbert Turner, Sunday Gleaner Writer

Layout1_1_PAE36BabyBradAM.jpg
Janice Knight and her 11-month-old son Broderick, who was allegedly shot and killed by the police on Thursday. - Contributed

Labour and Social Security Minister Pearnel Charles disclosed yesterday that Government would underwrite the funeral expenses of 11-month-old Broderick 'Farel' Wright, who was allegedly shot by the police at home on Thursday.

During a visit to the infant's home Charles, accompanied by Information Minister Olivia 'Babsy' Grange, told mother Janice Knight that his visit was as a result of Prime Minister Bruce Golding's intervention. Charles commended residents for discontinuing their violent protests and, instead await the completion of a police investigation.

"We want residents to feel that we care and, as such, we will be doing our social part in putting whatever financial assistance we can give at this time," Charles later told The Sunday Gleaner.

Grange, while echoing the views of her colleague, said the incident would put a damper on the good relationship that had been fostered between the police and the residents of March Pen Road. She hoped nothing of this nature would recur.

"I can only express my sympathy on behalf of the Government," she told residents.

Meanwhile, Knight said that she is still to come to grips with the death of her only child, relating: "I was outside and when I went back inside, I realise that Farel was shot."

On Thursday, a shooting incident involving the police and a taxi driver took place in the March Pen area of Spanish Town, and the 11-month-old was killed as a result of the shooting.

Residents staged a violent protest following the incident, which is still being probed by the Bureau of Special Investigation.
Rastafarian firebrand Lutan Fyah, who is presently on a six week tour of Europe, has vowed that he will not "bow to extortion or corruption", and will not allow anyone to force him

Lutan_Fyah.jpg"I did not burn down the houses of those people in Thompson Pen, but the police is attempting to smear my character by locking me up for a crime which they know I had no knowledge of, and was not involved in," he told One876Entertainment.com recently.

"I am innocent of this arson allegation, and I have a team of lawyers fighting this case. I will not give in to extortionists, and I am not going to let this incident stop me from spreading the message in the music."

Lutan Fyah is known for the number one hit, 'Save the Juveniles' as well as his latest chart-burner, 'St. Jago De La Vega' which peaked at #2 on most local reggae charts.
http://jamaicaobserver.com/lifestyle/html/...RACK_OBAMA_.asp

First it was Calypso King, The Mighty Sparrow, now it's reggae singer Coco Tea who has stepped forward in support of US Democratic Party hopeful, Barack Obama.

The singer whose real name is Calvin Scott and hails from Rocky Point in Clarendon, has gone into the studio and has registered his support for Obama. According to Coco Tea, the idea germinated once he realised the calibre of the Illinois senator, and his vision for a new United States of America.

Speaking in a radio interview with Richie 'B' on Hot 102, Coco Tea noted that this project was "inspired by the Most High", as it took just a few minutes to conceptualise and not a single word was written on paper, everything just flowed once he stepped into the studios. Furthermore, Coco Tea believes that in addition to the accomplishments thus far, Obama will go down in history as the first black president of the United States.

He stresses that the motivation to record the tune in support of Obama's bid to win the Democratic Party ticket and have a shot at presidency of the United States, is not driven by issues of race, but rather to support the need for change in Washington. "As the song says, it's not class, race or creed but what the people need," the reggae veteran adds.

Coco Tea further states that his confidence in Obama is further bolstered by the support that the senator is receiving from all groups and classes in the US. "If you notice, Obama is getting a lot of support from the young people, and when the younger generation begin to call for change, it usually comes, as they and the future, and Obama's future is in their hands. Support for Obama is also coming from other quarters including the Kennedy family, as he is seen as the man with a plan, therefore I was guided by Jah on this one."

Obama has been receiving support from the entertainment community in America, with industry heavy-hitters including Oprah and Chris Rock declaring their hand.

Hear the tune here - http://youtube.com/watch?v=XA9i5qFfmSM
Rumours have been circulating that Canada's most celebrated and awarded Reggae singer, Tanya Mullings, has been fatally injured in a car accident.  The rumour, which began circulating early Friday March 7, are absolutely false says Tanya's sister and Manager, Carrie Mullings.

Tanya_Mullings.jpg"I began receiving phone calls as early as 7am EST from concerned producers such as Computer Paul and Steve Locke (of Truck Back Records).  I assure you, Tanya is very much alive.  We had breakfast together this morning!"

Tanya's musical career began at the age of 15 when she took to the stage under the guidance of her father, and pioneer in the Canadian Reggae industry, Karl Mullings.  Under his tutelage, Tanya has worked with industry legends such as Jackie Mittoo, Alton Ellis, Jay Douglas, Leroy Sibbles, Ken Boothe and many other noted performers.

Tanya's musical success continues to blaze around the world!  She recently performed at the Hard Rock Live in Universal Studios in Orlando, and will be headlining the Michigan Reggae Festival, and is scheduled to perform at The Whiskeys in Calgary early April.  She has also been nominated for a Juno (the Canadian equivalent to the Grammy's) for 'Best Reggae Recording'.

To all fans, the singer says "I'm here!  I'm not ready to leave the earth just yet!"

Did cops abuse 'Bushman'?

March 8, 2008
Started By rrDesignZ 6 Comments

STARRIGHT_1_PRMH7TributAM.jpg

Teino Evans, Staff Reporter

Popular reggae singer Dwight 'Bushman' Duncan has been left distraught after claims of being abused by police officers outside of a carnival event in St Thomas last Saturday.

According to Bushman, it was when his wife, Vanessa, went to the venue to round up cheerleaders for a football league they were putting on that the altercation took place.

"After my wife was standing at the gate for a long time and couldn't get in, I then went over and asked the police who was manning the gate to let my wife in because she was going to look about some business. The policeman proceeded to close the gate, but by this time, one of my wife's legs was already inside. So, I stopped the gate and he said 'Bushman, leggo di gate before mi empty mi gun inna yuh f...g face'," Bushman recalled.

He added, "I jus reply, 'Man, yuh cyan empty yuh ... gun inna mi face'. By this time, DJ Squeeze saw what was happening and told them to let me in."

"The police then seh, 'If yuh let in di dread bwoy, mi done work fi di night'. By this, a man in plain clothes grab mi from behind an seh, 'Hey bwoy! A police yuh a dis', an tru reflex, mi grab him an flash him off. Den mi realise seh is a next police. So we were in an altercation for a good while," Bushman said.

multiple charges

Bushman says he was then taken into custody and charged with assault and malicious destruction of property, and his wife charged with resisting arrest and obstruction.

Bushman says he was eventually released about 4:30 a.m. after getting bail amounting to $20,000. He is scheduled to appear in the Yallahs RM Court on March 12 and 13, to answer to separate charges.

When contacted, the Police Public Complaints Authority, an independent body that investigates police excesses, confirmed that they had received a report from Bushman.

Bushman says: "People been saying I left my home to go to carnival to mash it up, but I'm not a mad man. I wouldn't have been there in the first place if I wasn't affiliated with the programme. For the last four years, I've brought my wife to the carnival and pick her up, but I can't take being around so much naked women, it come in like go-go club."

community building

"We have a cheerleading group an' a football team weh wi a try promote a St Thomas. Wi a try fi build a under-15 corner league there, so we had a fund-raiser and it came off well, even though it was our first attempt."

He continued: "The carnival saw the event and loved it and asked for the assistance of our cheerleaders to promote their event on the Saturday. So, all the costumes, I provided for the cheerleaders, and they handed out fliers and stuff. The cheerleaders were given passes to attend the carnival but their parents asked that they (cheerleaders) be home by a certain time."
iphone_calling_unlimited.jpg
Finally, iPhone owners no longer have to mope around with a feeling of shame and embarra**ment in their hearts: AT&T has blessed them with an "unlimited" calling plan. That's right, if you so desire (and you do so desire, don't you?), you can latch a $119.99 all-you-can-eat plan onto your super-device. Sure, it looks peachy, until you notice that despite your "unlimited" status, you still only get a measly 200 text messages, which is like a three-course steak dinner with no dessert. At least you'll never again have to end a conversation with Mom because you're worried about overages -- though you'll want to keep a close watch on those SMSs, since the prices seem to be constantly heading skyward.

Well, there you have it - Apple has made public the iPhone SDK and now developers of all walks of life can hop on and develop native applications for one of the most hyped mobile phones currently. Not so fast though, as while the developing may begin now, all those apps will be pushed to customers no earlier than late June 2008.

The SDK tools and a bunch of tutorials are already available at Apple's developer website. For those of you that have their hands itching - you might just download all the available stuff and have a go for free. You would have all the needed tools and you can run and test your applications on an iPhone simulator.

Developers will have access to the same "Cocoa Touch" framework and all other APIs used by Apple for iPhone software development. Features include hardware-accelerated 3D graphics, location-enabled apps and full access to all the media capabilities of the iPhone. The 3-axis accelerometer is also under your command.

However if you wish to get serious, you might as well join the iPhone Developer Program for a total of USD 99 per year. For that kind of money you would get to test your apps on actual iPhones, you would receive free technical support and you will be able to distribute your apps to the iPhone users around the world once the Apple distribution system is up.

Apple releases iPhone SDK Apple releases iPhone SDK Apple releases iPhone SDK
The spanking new iPhone SDK is finally public and it's free

Now about that distribution system - Apple are in fact calling it AppStore. It would be the exclusive way of delivering your apps to the masses. You as a developer would pick the price for your work and Apple would pay 70% of that price based on your monthly sales through the AppStore. Should you decide that you want to release some of your apps for free - it's all your call, they would be available for free with no charge to the users.

Users will be able to browse, search and install applications either through the iPhone itself (EDGE or Wi-Fi) or through the iTunes software and then load them on the iPhone. Steve Jobs, Apple CEO, also confirmed that Apple will be allowing the development of VoIP applications that work via Wi-Fi - that alone is an awesome feature to have on any mobile phone.

Steve Jobs presenting the new AppStore to be available in June

The iPhone AppStore however will be made available to the masses somewhere in late June 2008 with a new major software update to the iPhone - the 2.0 software version. iPhone users would get the 2.0 update for free, while iPod Touch users will have to again pay a moderate fee for accounting purposes - not really fare, but at least iPod Touch users are guaranteed that all the great features discussed here will apply to their devices also. Chosen developers that join the Apple's iPhone Developer Program will be able to get a beta of the 2.0 software update in question right now so that they can test their apps the way they are meant to be used.

The only downside to it all is that you can unleash your developing frenzy only if you own an Intel-based Mac running Mac OS Leopard. And also, the paid participation to the iPhone Developer program is currently limited to US only at least for several months.

Beside that, Apple are also bringing another major functionality with the iPhone 2.0 software and it's about corporate clients using Microsoft Exchange servers. The new software update will bring the Microsoft ActiveSync protocol that would allow corporate iPhones to sync directly to the company servers allowing features such as:

• Push email
  • Push calendar
  • Push contacts
  • Global address list
  • Cisco IPsec VPN support
  • User Certificates and Identities
  • WPA2/802.1x corporate Wi-Fi security support
  • Remote device configuration
  • Remote device information wipe

Corporate users will benefit by this new connectivity option using the well-known iPhone Calendar, Email client and Contacts list. That's a bit sad since these three core applications really need some polishing up since they lack some vital features such as search, multiple "mark as read", copy/paste and etc.

New Enterprise features will snatch even more market share from Blackberry

All those new changes and possibilities however sound really exciting but for now they are just that - future features put on paper. That's why Apple decided to spice things up a bit with several demos of possible new applications.

First off, it was a showcase of several games. The Touch Fighter is a 3D space shooter developed by Apple itself. Your spaceship is controlled by tilting the iPhone itself thanks to the built-in accelerometer (think Wii). You shoot objects just by tapping on the screen. Electronic Arts have also developed a demo game with the SDK - an iPhone version of their Spore game. You direct the little organism by tilting the iPhone, while customizing of its looks is done with screen taps. Then Sega also showcased a demo - or more of a full-featured console game ported to the iPhone and again putting its accelerometer to good use - it's their Super Monkey Ball.

Touch Fighter, Spore and Super Monkey Ball bring excitement to the iPhone

A working demo of the AIM messenger was also presented at the Apple's press conference. It looks almost like the real thing and would surely be among the most popular downloads.

A working demo of the AIM messanger for iPhone was presented

Now if all that is not enough for you, maybe a little bit of extra motivation would do it. The venture capital company KPCB also announced that they have setup an investment fund, conveniently called the iFund, with a pot of 100 million US dollars.

Apple releases iPhone SDK Apple releases iPhone SDK
KPCB announcing the iFund

That money would be used to fund innovators developing applications, services, and components for Apple's iPhone and iPod touch platform. The initiative will be targeting companies with long-term standalone potential and will focus on areas such as location-based services, social networking, mCommerce (including advertising and payments), communication, and entertainment. The iFund will invest anywhere from $100K of seed capital to $15M of expansion capital in mobile application and services companies that they think are worth it.

Ky-Mani Marley To Appear on Two Nationally Televised Shows

ky-mani-marley-rudeboy-photos.jpgMusical artiste, actor and reality TV star Ky-Mani Marley continues his press campaign for his latest album Radio. Ky-Mani will appear on two nationally televised programs the week of March 10.

On Monday March 10, Ky-Mani will appear on NBC/Telemundo's show called "The Shuffle". The show will air at 5:00 PM (EST). "The Shuffle" is a hip, fresh look what's going on in the world of music and mun2. Hosted by resident VJ Pico, the show is shot from the Telemundo studios in Miami.

On Thursday March 13 Fox's Happy Hour with Cody Willard and Rebecca Gomez welcomes Ky-Mani for a one on one interview. Fox's "Happy Hour" is described as a new breed of news show, where a younger version of "Regis and Kelly" meets "Cheers" with the breeziness of Entourage." "Happy Hour" will air at 5:00 PM (EST) on Thursday, March

Please note: We do not recommend that anyone other than developers and testers download the Firefox 3 Beta 1 milestone release. It is intended for testing purposes only.

Firefox 3 Beta 1 is now available for download. This is the ninth developer milestone focused on testing the core functionality provided by many new features and changes to the platform scheduled for Firefox 3. Ongoing planning for Firefox 3 can be followed at the Firefox 3 Planning Center, as well as in mozilla.dev.planning and on irc.mozilla.org in #granparadiso.

New features and changes in this milestone that require feedback include:

* Improved security features such as: better presentation of website identity and security, malware protection, stricter SSL error pages, anti-virus integration in the download manager, and version checking for insecure plugins.
* Improved ease of use through: better password management, easier add-on installation, new download manager with resumable downloading, full page zoom, animated tab strip, and better integration with Windows Vista and Mac OS X.
* Richer personalization through: one-click bookmarking, smart search bookmark folders, direct typing in location bar searches your history and bookmarks for URLs and page titles, ability to register web applications as protocol handlers, and better customization of download actions for file types.
* Improved platform features such as: new graphics and font rendering architecture, major changes to the HTML rendering engine to provide better CSS, float-, and table layout support, native web page form controls, colour profile management, and offline application support.
* Performance improvements such as: better data reliability for user profiles, architectural improvements to speed up page rendering, over 300 memory leak fixes, and a new XPCOM cycle collector to reduce entire classes of leaks.

(You can find out more about all of these features in the Whats New section of the release notes.)

Testers can download Firefox 3 Beta 1 builds for Windows, Mac OS X and Linux in over 20 different languages. Please be sure to read the full release notes before using this preview release. Developers should look at the Firefox 3 for Developers article on the Mozilla Developer Center.

Note: Please do not link directly to the download site. Instead we strongly encourage you to link to this Firefox 3 Beta 1 milestone announcement so that everyone will know what this milestone is, what they should expect, and who should be downloading to participate in testing at this stage of development.

Calabar vs Titchfield High SCQ

March 8, 2008
Started By sting 9 Comments

mi done know say a clabar a win but mi waan uno predict di school challenge quiz score
mi say 35-20

DEM KILL DON SISTER

December 6, 2007
Started By Devil14 Comments

In St. James an internal gang feud has been identified as the motive behind yesterday's killing of two women in the parish, who were gunned down less than 12 hours apart.

The dead women have been identified as 39-year-old Mauric Davis and Jenice Gordon, 21, both of Bottom Pen in Glendevon, St. James.

They are among four persons who were killed in the parish between Tuesday night and Wednesday morning. Eighteen-year-old Devon Gardener was shot to death by gunmen in Somerton on Tuesday. To date, 173 persons have been killed in St. James since January, five fewer than the total recorded in 2006.

The women are said to be mother and sister for two of St. James' prime crime figures - Anthony 'Bollo' Christie and former Stone Crusher leader, Rohan 'Don' Gordon.

Gordon was fatally shot in a confrontation with the police in the Hendon, Norwood, community back in May.

"This young lady killed here is the sister of Rohan Gordon, who was also a leader of one of the main gangs that operate here in St. James," said Supt. Steve McGregor, head of the St. James Police Division, who was at Jenice Gordon's murder scene.

Gordon was fatally shot in a confrontation with the police in the Hendon, Norwood, community back in May.

"This young lady killed here is the sister of Rohan Gordon, who was also a leader of one of the main gangs that operate here in St. James," said Supt. Steve McGregor, head of the St. James Police Division, who was at Jenice Gordon's murder scene.

EVERT BOMB**CLAAT BODY A DEAD WAH NOO SAY CRUSHER

Two alleged homosexuals yesterday pleaded guilty to a charge of gross indecency when they appeared in the Black River Resident Magistrate's Court.

The two, 44 year-old Joseph Tate of Frome in Westmoreland, and 19 year-old Jason Watson of Waterloo, Santa Cruz, were picked up by the police on Monday night.

The court heard that while on regular patrol in the Santa Cruz area, a white Toyota Corolla motor car was seen parked in a secluded area along Centre Road.

Upon their approach, two men were seen in a compromising position in the back seat of the car.

The police further stated that they had to escort the men from the area when a large crowd converged on the vehicle.

When the men appeared in court, they admitted that they were bisexual. Tate was sentenced to nine months hard labour, while Watson was sentenced to nine months, suspended for two years.

This is the first incident of its kind to appear in St. Elizabeth.

jus FA CUP scores

March 8, 2008
Started By ***DK***5 Comments

Today's result
Barnsley 1 - 0 Chelsea
Man U 0- 1 Portsmouth

tomorrow games----
Middlesborough vs Cardiff City
Bristol Rovers vs West Brom.

In music allegiance is as important as a hit song and as far as Dancehall music is concerned The Alliance represents the best opportunity for a young upcoming artist like Morvin Pennant more popularly known as Badd Cash who is now set to step into the big leagues. At 27 Cash who hails from the Old Harbour community of Water Lane has seen and can attest to the harsh natures of ghetto levity which is primarily fueled by poverty. As a youth he attended the Old Harbour High School this during the mid 1990's where he began creating lyrics and punch-lines before, during and after class. The son of a single mother Cash recalls seeing his father on a few occasions but the bulk on inspiration was always found in the music. "My uncle always use to ask me what tunes were running the dancehall and I could DJ everyone from start to finish for him, thats were the real passion came from". An avid fan of Dancehall culture he soon became well acquainted with one of his most inspiring idols yet the five star general Bounty Killer who after learning of his Baby Cash stage name realigned a few letters and came up with Dirty Money. Accepting the name at first the talented DJ later did his own adjustments and after much thought decided on Badd Cash as the two were basically the same Ť "I do music straight from the heart." - Etana | Main | Tarrus Riley - She's Royal & Lion Paw making waves Internationally ť Badd Cash a member of the Bounty Killer-led Alliance - "I will never give up" In music allegiance is as important as a hit song and as far as Dancehall music is concerned The Alliance represents the best opportunity for a young upcoming artist like Morvin Pennant more popularly known as Badd Cash who is now set to step into the big leagues. At 27 Cash who hails from the Old Harbour community of Water Lane has seen and can attest to the harsh natures of ghetto levity which is primarily fueled by poverty. As a youth he attended the Old Harbour High School this during the mid 1990's where he began creating lyrics and punch-lines before, during and after class. The son of a single mother Cash recalls seeing his father on a few occasions but the bulk on inspiration was always found in the music. "My uncle always use to ask me what tunes were running the dancehall and I could DJ everyone from start to finish for him, thats were the real passion came from". An avid fan of Dancehall culture he soon became well acquainted with one of his most inspiring idols yet the five star general Bounty Killer who after learning of his Baby Cash stage name realigned a few letters and came up with Dirty Money. Accepting the name at first the talented DJ later did his own adjustments and after much thought decided on Badd Cash as the two were basically the same. Despite all the hype Cash was still unknown and soon changed his approach to the music which in-turn translated to the beginning a professional career in 1998 when he recorded his first solo single Can't Stop This for the Sunlight Productions Label. Although the track gave him leverage into the ins and outs of recording a song it never took flight. 10 years later after other recordings a much more mature, more focused Cash has found himself in a good position musically. His current catalog of singles include Great Things on the Gangster Beat Riddim and Vision & Dreams on the Not Out Riddim both for Pay Day Music Productions headed by his now brethren and well accomplished Dancehall Producer / Engineer Kevin. In 2006 he performed on stage with Bounty Killer at Old Harbour Splash which is current on the popular video network YouTube. When its time for recording Cash along with his clique of young Alliance members Lando, Flexx, Di Unusual, Boom Steppa and Nymran who has been friends with since 1996 can be found at the studios of Solid Agency home of other top artists like Wayne Marshall, Aidonia, Etana and Bounty Killer. As far as promotions goes he has been in one video to date, this a collaborative effort between himself and 6 other artists for a song titled "Like Everybody Else" with other avenues ranging form word of mouth credits to Street Marketing. Remember how it all started Cash swears his role as an artist was predetermined. "I think music chose me because even on my off days when I say I'm not going to write a song I'm just going to rest some how I keep getting ideas, and thought for new material so I dont think Ill ever stop doing music even when I get that number 1 single I'm gonna keep going". Now stepping out in the industry he has a debut album project that is going to be release soon on I Tunes, AOL and all the other major web stores like soudquake.com

Bounty Lashes Out At Beenie

March 8, 2008
Started By steppz31 Comments
Last night on the very popular television programme Entertainment Report, the Warlord Bounty Killer had a lot to say about the recent award shows that saw his nemesis the Doctor, Beenie Man collecting several accolades, which Bounty thinks he's not deserving of.

Bounty said him speaking out has nothing to do with badmind, but instead is an attempt to add some clarity and expose the real truth behind the music with all it's bureaucracy.

Last year, into early 2008 saw the Doctor collecting several awards from 'Deejay of the Year' to the 'Most Popular Entertainer' of 2007.

"If yuh look pon di awards dem weh him get, especially di 'Deejay of The Year', him nuh deserve it, wah day yah wen Mavado win Deejay of the Year at Stone Love ting him a cuss, but him nuh seh nutten when a him win it a di odda show dem.

How him fi win dat when him nuh have more hits or more consistent dan Mavado, Busy or Kartel, yes mi seh Kartel, check it nobody nuh have more hits dan Mavado and Busy fi di whole a last year, the real award fi Deejay of The Year shoulda guh to Mavado, Busy next and then Kartel, everybody know seh mi nuh like Kartel but is not about nuh friend ting a music we a deal wid"

When asked what grounds he has to speak on behalf of the industry he responded, "Mi have every right who kno di business more dan mi, memba a mi and Beenie forward inna dis the same time so mi know him from day one, and every night mi deh a some dance or party suh mi kno weh the people dem ah embrace and what dem nah show nuh love, dis a nuh stay behind nuh desk an push pen and paper, a real ting mi a talk and mi kno seh a Busy and Mavado dem lock the whole a last year. So dem fi gweh and stop sell out the business to dem friend".

Bounty staying true to his word was spotted last night at the party dubbed "Wine 4 Me", held at Weekendz on Constant Spring Road, alongside Future Fambo and members of his entourage.

Audiomaxxx Shutdown, 4 Arrested

March 9, 2008
Started By ZJSnyper0 Comments
Following a year-long investigation by the Canadian Recording Industry Association (CRIA), the RCMP has shut down
Audiomaxxx.com Ltd., a major alleged music counterfeiting operation in Winnipeg, and filed criminal charges against four individuals.

Raj Singh Ramgotra, the principal behind Audiomaxxx, was among those arrested during a raid yesterday at the organization, which for three years has allegedly manufactured pirated compact discs and hard core pornographic videos, and distributed them throughout Canada, the U.S., Europe and Jamaica.

More recently, Audiomaxxx's offerings have also included allegedly pirated digital downloads. In addition to the arrests, police seized an enormous volume of suspected counterfeit goods. This includes more than 200,000 music CDs and DVDs, numerous movie DVDs and hundreds of thousands of blank discs. Police also seized five CD/DVD burning towers, each with 12 burners, which together are capable of burning well in excess of 10,000 CDs and DVDs a day. The raid also netted several computers and hard drives, two commercial CD printers, four colour copiers and other office equipment.

In the past 10 years, the raid closest in scale to the action against Audiomaxxx involved the seizure of about 10,000 counterfeit music CDs and DVDs - one-twentieth the volume netted yesterday. More than 10 police officers were involved in yesterday's raid.

"We sincerely thank the RCMP officers who have worked so hard to bring Audiomaxxx to their heels, and to the federal prosecutors who have worked closely with them," said Graham Henderson, President of the Canadian Recording Industry Association.

"Today's arrests send out a clear message that commercial piracy will no longer be tolerated in Canada."

Audiomaxxx is suspected of being one of Canada's leading music counterfeiters. In Toronto alone, approximately 30 percent of the pirated CDs seized allegedly originate from the operation. CRIA estimates that, at minimum, Audiomaxxx has been shipping tens of thousands of allegedly pirated CDs each month.

CRIA has received dozens of complaints concerning the operation from artists, music associations and music labels around the world, including numerous small, independent labels. In the past, when faced with demands by rights holders to cease its activities, Audiomaxxx has consistently ignored the demands or failed to fully comply. The operation appears to be highly developed, with a significant catalogue of allegedly pirated CDs and music downloads offered for sale via the website www.audiomaxxx.com, including copies of tracks by famous artists like Shania Twain, Lionel Richie, Jay-Z, Mary J. Blige and Nelly Furtado.

"The RCMP has again demonstrated that it stands side by side with artists and rights holders in the fight against intellectual property crime," said Randy Lennox, President and CEO of Universal Music Canada Ltd. and Chairman of CRIA. "CRIA has a longstanding partnership with the RCMP and other police forces in fighting piracy, and today we have taken a big step together to stop one of the most flagrant examples of its kind in Canada."

Audiomaxxx's alleged piracy affects not just famous artists, but also new and independent artists - largely in the reggae, soca and hip-hop community who are struggling to build careers. For example, Vancouver's Utopia Records, one of the many independent labels to voice concerns, has seen new artist albums appear on the Audiomaxxx website on the day an album is released in stores or even before the legitimate launch date.

"The harm done by music piracy is especially troubling when it undermines a promising artist's burgeoning career," Henderson said. "We will continue to work with police and lawmakers to give these artists, and the organizations behind them, the opportunity to succeed."

CRIA began investigating Audiomaxxx as part of an ongoing program to deter music counterfeiting and piracy. The operation came to CRIA's attention because of the large volume of suspected counterfeit products openly offered for sale on the Internet and the owner's failure to stop selling these products after the issuance of cease-and-desist orders. Since CRIA began dedicated anti-counterfeiting operations more than a year ago, the association and police have seized more than 400,000 CDs and issued 80 cease-and-desist orders against retailers of illicitly copied music.

The Impact of Piracy and Counterfeiting on Canadian Artists and Rights Holders Piracy and counterfeiting exact a steep toll on artists and rights holders in Canada. This is reflected in significant music sales declines since the advent of widespread unauthorized file-swapping in 1999 and the proliferation of CD and music DVD counterfeiting in recent years.

In that time, retail sales of pre-recorded audio products (CDs, digital tracks, etc.) declined by 47 percent, from $1.3 billion in 1999 to $703.7 million in 2006. For the 11 months ended November 2007, net wholesale shipments of CDs, music DVDs, and other "physical" recorded music formats dropped 16 percent to 37.9 million units from 45.1 million units in the year-earlier period, while the related net wholesale value dropped 20 percent to $382.4 million from $476.3 million.

A 2007 national POLLARA survey found that purchases of counterfeit goods such as music CDs displace legitimate commerce. About half of those who bought counterfeit music, movies or software would have purchased the genuine version had they not purchased a copy (for music, the figure was 43 percent; movies, 45 percent; and software, 44 percent).

Ladies What Would You Prefer?

February 24, 2008
Started By Garrick13 Comments
Ladies i would like to know what would you prefer, a man that is poor and attractive or, ugly and rich.  I say this article in the news paper and i wana get unnu opinion.
ashes-phones.jpg
It's a crazy, mixed-up world we live in. If we aren't worrying about global warming or peace in the middle east, we have to be on the lookout for scorned women setting large quantities of mobile devices on fire. A certain Mrs. Wang is guilty of that latter offense. The 37-year-old Chinese woman wasn't particularly stoked about her husband walking out on their marriage, so she did the only reasonable thing that presented itself: rounded up the entire stock of more than 400 phones the couple had at their joint-owned cellphone shop, and set the entire lot ablaze -- inside her home. The collection was valued at roughly 300,000 yuan, about $42,000 US. You might want to take this time to inform your significant other how sane, rational and sexy he or she is, while simultaneously removing all lighter fluid from your home. No gadget is safe!

AITE THIS SOME SHIIIIIIIITTTTTTbattennbattennbattennlclc

A SERIAL liar walked free from court yesterday after making her FIFTH false rape claim.

Tracy Brooks, 26, accused two friends of sexually assaulting her last summer.

A court heard she had made three similar allegations in the past. In 2001 and 2002 she accused two former boyfriends of rape.

And in 2004 she told police she had been raped by a friends boyfriend. None of the men were arrested and she was not charged or cautioned over the claims.

But she was charged twice with perverting the course of justice over her latest claims.

The court heard that last July 31, she told police she had been attacked by a pal at his home. He was arrested and made to give intimate samples while she was examined by a doctor.

A month later Brooks, of North Shields, North Tyneside, said another friend had raped her at her home.

He was also held.

Advertisement

Allegations against both men were formally withdrawn in September when she was arrested.

Yesterday Brooks admitted perverting justice at Newcastle Crown Court.

Judge David Hodson told her: Two men were subjected to humiliation and anxiety that they were being charged with an offence that could have resulted in imprisonment.

But after hearing that binge drinker Brooks was receiving help for mental health problems, the judge sentenced her to 32 weeks jail, suspended for two years.

He added: You have escaped custody by a hairs breadth.

THE body of a girl found floating in a river estuary in Spain was last night identified as missing Mari Luz Cortes.

The five-year-olds parents feared she had been snatched like Madeleine McCann when she vanished on January 13.

Last night Maddies parents Kate and Gerry were extremely saddened.

Mari had gone to buy crisps from a stall yards from home in Huelva.

Skull

Her decomposed body still in her pink leotard was spotted at 4pm by a security guard at a port near the city. Reports said she had a face wound and fractured skull.

Huelva is less than two hours drive from Praia da Luz where Maddie, four, disappeared on holiday in Portugal last May.

The McCanns, both 39, of Rothley, Leics, said their thoughts and prayers were with parents Juan Jose, 34, and Irene, who had been sure Mari was being held alive.

The McCanns spokesman Clarence Mitchell said: They had developed a sense of unity with Mari Luzs parents. Both families were going through similar agonies.

The iPhone was launched in Germany in early November
The iPhone's network is too slow for streaming video
The BBC has launched a version of its iPlayer video on demand service for the Apple iPhone and iPod touch.

It is the first time the service has been available on portable devices.

The iPhone and iPod touch are able to stream shows from the iPlayer website over wi-fi networks. The iPhone cannot stream BBC video over the cell network. A BBC developer said that the corporation was currently working on other versions of the iPlayer for "many more" devices.

Anthony Rose, writing on the BBC internet blog, said: "We started with iPhone because it is the device most optimised for high quality video currently available.

"It displays the BBCiPlayer site and BBC programmes nicely."

The software currently comes in two versions - a program which allows users to download programmes to their Windows PC and a streaming version on the web available to all users.

The version for iPhone and iPod touch users will allow streaming over a wi-fi connection. However, the EDGE mobile network used by the iPhone is too slow for streaming video.

The corporation has agreed a deal with wi-fi firm The Cloud to provide all BBC online services for free at its 7,500 hotspots.

A version of iPlayer for Virgin Media customers is expected later this month.

Prime Minister Bruce Golding has stated that major plans are being put in place for the redevelopment of downtown Kingston, including the possibility of a cruise shipping port in Port Royal.

"We have some major plans to transform downtown and to link it to Port Royal. We will be looking at the possibility of a cruise shipping port being established there and recreating the tradition of the rich culture of Port Royal. We want that city to come alive again," Mr Golding said.

"We are actually in discussion with a cruise ship company; they were actually here about three weeks ago. They were very impressed, and we are having discussions with them and we are to meet with them the second week of March," he added.

Golding was speaking on his monthly radio call-in programme, 'Jamaica House Live', recently, as he responded to a concern raised by one of the callers on the state of downtown Kingston.

redevelopment

The Prime Minister also noted that other plans for the redevelopment of downtown Kingston include the renovation of Sir William Grant Park and the construction of the new transport centre.

'Jamaica House Live' is aired on 10 radio stations: RJR 94 FM, Nation-wide Radio Digital AM, Love 101 FM, Hot 102, KLAS FM, Power 106 FM, Roots FM, Kool FM, Bess 100 FM and IRIE FM.

The programme is part of the Government's thrust to open the lines of communication and to hear suggestions, comments and receive general feedback from Jamaicans, at home and abroad. It provides the forum for Government to report on its stewardship in implementing policies and programmes to improve the quality of the lives of Jamaican citizens.

It is developed and produced by the Ministry of Information, Culture, Youth and Sports and the Jamaica Information Service (JIS).

Nelson Mandela's 90th birthday will be celebrated with a big shebang at London's Hyde Park and will be hosted by Will Smith.

The 'Gettin Jiggy Wit It' singer and wife Jada Pinkett Smith are fronting the celebrations, which have been organized by the former South African president's AIDS campaign 46664.

According to digitalspy.com acts rumoured to be playing the event on June 27 include Razorlight, Keane, Queen and Annie Lennox.

It is understood that organizers have also asked U2, the Spice Girls and Sir Paul McCartney to play the concert.

It is reported that US rapper Eminem is keen to come out of musical retirement to perform at the show as well.

Houston gospel singer and radio host Yolanda Adams is under investigation by the Internal Revenue Service. The agency has asked a federal judge to force the entertainer to turn over documents after she failed to show up for an appointment last month to explain her financial affairs.

According to Bossip.com the agency is trying to determine her tax liability and how to collect on the debt. According to filings in Houston federal court, the IRS probe stems from two million-dollar mortgage loan applications. A 2005 Ocwen application said Adams earned $40,000 a month and listed $8 million in assets including an $800,000 trust account, $4.9 million in other personal holdings and jewelry worth $1.5 million. That document said she owned a Lexus and a Hummer. A subsequent Chase home loan application listed $3 million in assets, including a business worth $1.5 million, a Mercedes-Benz and a Range Rover. She owns a home worth more than $2 million in Houston's Royal Oaks Country Club subdivision.

Yolanda just remember the lyrics of your song 'Never Give Up' ...that's how these tax people are.

different meaning to 14K

March 8, 2008
Started By ***DK***2 Comments
wah uno seh bt ya gun ya?
Raid uncovers music, movie, porn copy operation

WP_Pembina1_060308.jpg
Pembina Highway building base of piracy op, say cops. MARCEL CRETAIN/SUN MEDIA

A company music industry insiders are calling the "Big Kahuna" of Canadian pirating operations went offline yesterday following an RCMP bust at its Winnipeg-based headquarters.

Officers raided the Pembina Highway offices of Audiomaxxx.com two days ago as part of Project DVD and left with nearly 100,000 ready-to-ship music, movies and pornos allegedly pirated by company owner Raj Ramgotra and just as many blank discs ready to be produced.

RCMP spokeswoman Sgt. Line Karpish said investigators also seized three computers and five burning towers capable of producing upwards of 11,500 units per day if operating on 12-hour intervals, along with two high-end labelling machines, shipping materials and video surveillance equipment.

Graham Henderson, president of the Canadian Recording Industry Association, said the operation is the largest he's seen in his 10 years in the music industry.

"This is the Big Kahuna," said Henderson, whose organization helped investigate Audiomaxx, which RCMP say sent counterfeit product to thousands of international buyers every week.

"Anytime you shut down something as big as this, it has an impact."

'KING RAJ'

Audiomaxxx made its name selling reggae and house-mix CDs and a large catalogue of porn flicks for between US$3 and $6 a pop.

According to domain ownership records, the site was registered to Ramgotra, known as "King Raj" to customers, in 2000.

Sources say Ramgotra was one of four people arrested during the raid and now faces numerous charges.

Karpish confirmed a 31-year-old man faces charges and was released on a promise to appear, while three others were released pending further investigation.

Devin Latimer, bassist for Winnipeg-based and Juno-nominated alt-country act Nathan, said artists are always happy to see companies suspected of stealing copyrighted music taken down because of the way they've changed the industry.

"It's surprising that these kind of things are in your neighbourhood, but it could be anywhere," he said. "It could have just as easily been some northern mining town. That's technology."

OFF THE RACK

According to Audiomaxxx.com charts, these XXX-rated DVDs were some of the the Winnipeg-based company's top-sellers:

- Big Black Racks 3

- Dancehall Reggae Skinout 10

- Heavyweight Honeys

- Big League Booty 3

- Wild and Crazy Girls in Jamaica 2

- 8th Street Latinas 4

- Ooowee 3

- Arab Street Hookers

- Double Bubble White Booty 2

- Ghetto Booty 28
    TORONTO, March 7 /CNW/ - In the CRIA media release of March 6, it was
erroneously reported that RCMP had filed criminal charges against four people
in connection with the RCMP investigation into Audiomaxxx.com Ltd. CRIA has
received information that no one has been charged with an offence in respect
of this matter.
In the same media release, it was also reported that Raj Singh Ramgotra
was among those arrested. CRIA cannot confirm the identities of any of those
arrested and therefore retracts its statement to the effect that Mr. Ramgotra
was arrested. CRIA regrets the error.
who think rd fi get ban ???????

jus lef a comment
To me a big part of the problem is absentee fathers.  If a man is there for his youth he can show them right from wrong.

-- Edited by Garrick at 20:51, 2008-02-22

jamaica vs trinidad and tobago

March 4, 2008
Started By sting 26 Comments
like how argentina match deh far from now mek we predict a match weh soon play. uno tell mi how uno feel di match ago go march 26, 2008

ja mi vote fah fi da match yah
a football peoples
uno predict di score

-- Edited by sting at 21:32, 2008-03-04

-- Edited by sting at 21:33, 2008-03-04
Who will win the Europian Champions League???
findImg.php?pic_size=200&table_name=news_img_tab&table_field=img_id&img_id=1256 The energy god Elephant Man has hit the ground running in the new year with the release of quite a few singles added to his highly anticipated album "Let's Get Physical" to hit the record racks on April 8th 2008.

If that's not enough to keep him in the publics eye the hyperactive deejay just recently teamed up with video director Julia Braham and the talented young editor Troyton for the shoot of his 'Gully Creepa' video on a rhythm of similar name.

The video which was shot at various locations through the urban thoroughfare of Kingston and St. Andrew bears the likeness of Micheal Jackson's multi-platinum seller "Thriller" with a "Freddie Kruger versus Jason" twist to it. This video in the opinion of 876radio.com may be arguably Brahams' best work to date as many industry insiders in the past have critiqued some of her work as being below par.

The star studded project sees several popular faces making cameos some of these include Selector/Producer Fire Links, Harry Toddler, Dancers Mad Michelle, Chi Ching Ching, Ice, Sample 6 just to name a few. What is even more surprising is the Warlord Bounty Killer in one of his rare moment, looking very jovial while learning the 'Gully Creepa' moves alongside the man of the moment Elephant Man.

Elephant who is now a Bad Boy after officially inking a record deal with Rap Mogul Sean 'Diddy' C****s first stormed on the stage back in 1998 under the wings of Bounty Killa and the Scare Dem Crew. The self-proclaimed Energy god is solely responsible for reuniting dancehall music with its fun free-spirited roots.

His debut album, Good 2 Go (VP Records), became a worldwide smash in 2004 with the release of chart topping party tunes like "Signal di Plane" and "Pon di River, Pon di Bank," the single which snagged him a Source Award for "Dancehall/Reggae Artist of the Year" and the MTV2 nomination at the 2004 MTV Video Music Awards.

Since then, Elephant Man has recorded collaborations with Lil' Jon on the "Get Low Remix," R. Kelly on "Reggae Bump Bump," Pitbull and Daddy Yankee on the "Rah-Rah Remix," and Janet Jackson on "All Nite (Dont Stop)."

We have embedded a copy of his 'Gully Creepa' video for your viewing pleasure, this is another exclusive brought to you first by the good folks

On Friday, March 28 at the Paradise Nite Club in Oak Park Plaza, Portmore it will be fun and a lot of excitement when House of Congress in association with Magnum & Monster Tonic Wines present Magnum Congress Fridays First Anniversary.

HOC.jpgPatrons will get the chance to come lyme, enjoy some first class performances and rock to the jugglings of some top class sounds that will be in the house.

After one year of the weekly Magnum Congress Fridays, its time to buss out and teck it to the people dem in a big way, promises Chris Congress.

According to the director of House of Congress, he is already getting a big vibes on the show and from the package he knows the massive will be enjoying themselves.

Slated to perform are Vybz Kartel, Aidonia and Fyakin. And, of course, the House of Congress artistes will be on hand to vibes up the house. They include Hollow Point, ASK, Isamas-Ikushini, Shad Rock and Saddiki.

When it comes to sound systems and selectors, the line up reads like a whos who from the industry. On the playing cards are Swatch International, Cash Money, Nikki Z from Zip FM and Haad Rokk.

To ensure that the high level of excitement is maintained, there will be some top dancing crews in the house, including Sample 6, Black Blingaz, Mad A Road, Teacher Squad and Cadalac.

Magnum & Monster Tonic Wines Congress Fridays first anniversary is expected to be big and should be attracting a lot of the big girls crew from Portmore such as Got It Girls, Summer Body Girls, Sky Grade Girls and much more!
«First  <  1477 478 479 480 481524  >  Last»  | Page of 524  sorted by