Forum: News & Topical Issues

News updates, entertainment, hot topics, gossip | Share and discover what is happening right now.

EPL standings

March 21, 2008
Started By rrDesignZ 6 Comments
 2007-08 Table
 Team GP W D L Pts GF GA GD  
 Manchester United 30 22 4 4 70 61 15 46  
 Arsenal 30 19 10 1 67 58 22 36  
 Chelsea 30 19 8 3 65 53 22 31  
 Liverpool 30 16 11 3 59 55 21 34  
 Everton 30 17 5 8 56 47 25 22  
 Portsmouth 30 14 8 8 50 44 31 13  
 Aston Villa 30 13 10 7 49 52 39 13  
 Manchester City 30 13 9 8 48 36 34 2  
 Blackburn 30 12 10 8 46 39 37 2  
 West Ham United 30 12 7 11 43 33 36 -3  
 Tottenham 30 9 9 12 36 58 51 7  
 Wigan Athletic FC 30 8 7 15 31 27 42 -15  
 Middlesbrough 30 7 10 13 31 27 44 -17  
 Newcastle United 30 7 8 15 29 31 57 -26  
 Reading 30 8 4 18 28 35 57 -22  
 Birmingham City 30 6 9 15 27 34 46 -12  
 Sunderland 30 7 6 17 27 26 48 -22  
 Bolton 30 6 7 17 25 28 45 -17  
 Fulham 30 4 11 15 23 27 49 -22  
 Derby County 30 1 7 22 10 14 64 -50  

3-21-08-gta_iv_xbox_360.jpg
While folks at the Xbox 360 repair lab know good and well how to strip a console back to its birthday suit, Microsoft is going the opposite direction with its limited run of Grand Theft Auto IV Elites. The console itself is purportedly blasted with automotive quality paint and each one is individually numbered. Apparently, the 500 units -- which look to come with a case full of peripherals -- are only being dished out to press outlets and the like, so it seems your only shot at actually acquiring one is by scouring the second hand market. Or you could just steal one and toss a Molotov cocktail behind as you're getting away -- that'd be fitting, we guess.

cycycycycydueclapclapbattennbattennpengupengu

a who a the biggest galis

February 25, 2008
Started By asian37 Comments
A. kartel B. beenie C.Asian D.bounty E. sizzla F.movado G.munga
?
WHAT GOES AROUND Movie
?
?
SUNRASON FILMS
?

KC Jockey(Jimmy Winchester) & Movado (Gully God)
play major roles in
WHAT GOES AROUND
Indie Movie

Written & Directed By
Steve "Tehut-Nine"
McAlpin
Starring:
Mavado, Nohard Grant (DJ Noah), Flippa Maffia, Sakina Samuda,
Kim Goss, Alton Ashman, KC JOCKEY, Samacon and Super Twitch.

CLICK TO VIEW BEHIND SCENES PICS
www.myspace.com/samacon1

Mad
Bagalagalow!!

Lover emails Ex’s photos

March 21, 2008
Started By xForcex10 Comments
ITALY-A 32-year-old man was jailed for more than two years for putting pornographic pictures of his ex-girlfriend on the Internet and sending them out in more than 15,000 emails. The Web site showed his ex-girlfriend offering sexual favours and erotic games, with her phone number also on display. The man, who also sent threatening text messages to the woman and her parents, was accused of aggravated defamation, threatening and violence. Court sentenced him to 2 years and 4 months in jail.

who is better steven or don corleon

March 21, 2008
Started By jmeil9 Comments
who is better ?.... don corleon or steven mcgregor ... well steven is the young and carry good riddims he is basically at the top now... but don coleon has been at top since ... way back so it veteran versus the bad boy wit the bad riddims ..

Teen shot at sports day

March 21, 2008
Started By steppz13 Comments
A teenager was shot and injured in Maverley shortly after the Pembroke Hall High School's sports day ended yesterday.

The injured man is a 19-year-old resident of the same community.

According to police reports, Morris was walking across the school's playing field shortly after 6p.m., heading in the direction of Maverley when he was approa-ched by a lone gunman who opened fire, hitting him in the chest and limbs. The injured teen was rushed to the Kingston Public Hospital where he was admitted in serious condition.

The Duhaney Park police are investigating.

WASHINGTON - State Department employees snooped through the passport files of three presidential candidates Sens. Barack Obama, Hillary Rodham Clinton and John McCain and the department's inspector general is investigating.

State Department spokesman Sean McCormack said the violations of McCain and Clinton's passport files were not discovered until Friday, after officials were made aware of the unauthorized access of Obama's records and a separate search was conducted.

The incidents raise questions as to whether the information was accessed for political purposes and why two contractors involved in the Obama search were dismissed before investigators had a chance to interview them. It recalled an incident in 1992, when a Republican political appointee at the State Department was demoted over a search of presidential candidate Bill Clinton's passport records. At the time, Clinton was challenging President George H.W. Bush.

ctctctct

Mykal_Rose.jpg One of Jamaica's most distinguished singers and Grammy winner Mykal Rose has found a current hit, Shootout on a bouncy dancehall rhythm that has won him a new generation of music fans in Jamaica.

The brilliantly-produced single has been roaring up local charts and Shootout which appears on the John John label is a juggernaut in local rhythms. It is now #3 on the Jamaica Music Countdown charts, #4 on  Mega Top Ten, #8 on the Stampede Street Vibes chart and #16 on the HYPE TV charts. The singer recently performed a well-received set at the Negril Spring Break show, and was booked on a number of shows over the recent four-day Easter weekend. One of those shows was Easter Boom in St. Anns Bay, St. Ann.

There are tentative plans for an album to be released in May and several tracks, including a much-talked about c****ination with Jah Cure, have already been completed.
Deejay Vybz Kartel aka Addi the Teacha donated a computer and a printer to the Queens High school last week. The equipment which included a Dell computer with a flat screen monitor, was handed over during the schools monthly staff meeting.

Kartel13.jpgThe deejay, whose Money Fi Spend hit is #10 on the Jamaica Music Count down charts, promised the teaching staff that he would be making future contributions to the school.

All high schools must be computer literate in Jamaica, and to this end, you can expect one more soon.

The audience applauded.

We will be donating computers to assist number of institutions all across the island to be computer literate on behalf of Vybz Rum. We will be hosting a couple of entertainment-related   events    towards establishing a fund to make this possiblewe will be doing this all across Jamaica, he said.

Mrs. Carole Jackson, principal of the Queens High school, thanked the deejay for the gift. The deejay, whose real name is Adidjah  Palmer, has established his own education driven organization called the Adidjah Palmer Education Foundation.

-- Edited by Dj Rohan at 10:02, 2008-03-22

Michael Virtue, band member and keyboard player with UB40, has announced today that he is resigning from the band.

I can no longer work with the management team and I am joining Ali Campbell in his investigation into the handling of the bands business affairs. I am very upset to be leaving the band who have been like family for the last 30 years, but feel under the circumstances that this was the only option left open to me.

I have been unhappy with the way things have been run for many years and wanted to get to the bottom of the bands business affairs, which I have been unable to do. Ali has not had contact with the band since the last UB40 concert in Uganda so I called him last week and asked to speak with him.

I have now had a meeting with the same legal team, Hextalls LLP, who are representing Ali and are now also representing me.

It certainly can not be said that I am leaving to pursue a solo career and neither did Ali.

Suffice to say, I am extremely disappointed

Ali Campbell left UB40 in January 2008 citing intolerable management difficulties.

so whos gonna take over...?

Reggae star Maxi Priest is set to become UB40's new front man after the band parted compay with lead singer Ali Campbell.

Maxi Priest

After the acrimonious departure of Campbell, which he claimed was over a disagreement with the band's managemet, the band have decided to carry on with other singers.

The collaboration with Maxi Priest, which is expected to form a more permanent alliance, has already yielded a recording of Bob Marley's I Shot The Sheriff and is expected to form half of a double a-side single soon.

UB40 nah beg no friend the show must go on
lclc
now dem man yah hard and dem a build up dem rep but dem no reach the level where we can compare dem to the greats ,now since most a pepl a jus say lil wayne right out me nah jus talk bout lyrics but me mean who can mek a complete song cah lil wayne most a di time can jus freestyle and few a di lyrics borrwed but yea WHO UNO THINK? who can mek a song bout anything,who can tek any remix who been making hit after hit and plain right out who uno rate as a real artist

Mr Peppa pleads guilty

March 21, 2008
Started By xForcex1 Comments

Mr. Peppa

Popular deejay, Areal Mr Peppa Walters, known for hits such as Talk and Gangsta Guerilla, pleaded guilty to smoking ganja, in the Corporate Area Resident Magistrates Court yesterday.

Resident Magistrate Glen Brown fined Walters, who asked the court to be kind and to keep the conviction off his record. He said, Your Honour, I would like to ask for some lenience in this matter.

I am a recording artiste so Im asking you not to put this on my record. I have shows pending and I wouldnt want to be denied because of this.

RM Brown asked Walters how long he had been smoking marijuana, to which he replied, about 10 years. He was also asked how long he had known that smoking marijuana was illegal and he answered, about the same time, Your Honour.

Before handing down a $1,000 fine or 10 days in jail, the RM told Walters, So if you know it is illegal and you dont want it on your record, you know what to do.

Source: JamaicaStar

Doctors in India have successfully operated on a 2-year-old girl born with four arms, four legs and extra internal organs, doctors said today.

A team of around 30 medics removed what amounted to Lakshmi Tatma's headless identical twin sister who was joined at the pelvis and who did not develop and separate properly in the w**** - an extremely rare case.

"It went very well," said Mamta Patil, a doctor involved in the surgery at Sparsh Hospital in Bangalore in south India. "She'll be in intensive care for the next 48 hours."

Scroll down for more...

Lakshmi1AP_468x473.jpg

Recovering: Lakshmi pictured in intensive care today - with just four limbs instead of eight

twin

Lakshmi: Before the operation

The risky operation began yesterday. Lakshmi, named after the four-armed Hindu goddess of wealth, was expected to be in the operating theatre for 40 hours, but the surgery was over after 27.

But doctors said the surgery was worth the risk, saying that Lakshmi, who could not walk on her deformed limbs, would not otherwise have much chance of living past adolescence.

"We have been told that she can lead a normal life after the operation. I am just praying for her," Poonam, Lakshmi's mother, told reporters.

The headless "twin" was joined to Lakshmi at the pelvis and has its own spinal column and kidney.

Scroll down for more...

LakshmiAP_468x568.jpg

Lakshmi's body after the operation - twin-free

8LimbXrayBARC_468x533.jpg

Fused: Lakshmi's body was joined with the parasitical twin which is attached to her body at her pelvis

Enlarge the image

The extraordinary eight-limbed baby was born in a poverty-stricken region of Bihar, India - on the day devoted to the celebration of the four-armed Hindu deity Vishnu.

Her mother Poonam Tatma said she believed her daughter was "a miracle, a reincarnation" of Vishnu.

2007/11_01/8LimbGirlBARC_800x545.jpg

Torment: Lakshmi could not walk or crawl and was unlikely to survive her teens without surgery

Vishnu

The Hindu god Vishnu is the preserver and protector of creation

Dr Sharan Patil, who led the surgery at the country's Narayana Health City, in Bangalore, said: "Fortunately, Lakshmi has one complete body with a near perfect set of organs.

"Her skeletal system involves two bodies which are fused together at the level of the pelvis.

"The operation itself, although presents several challenges, is not the most complex in the world. What is highly unusual in Lakshmi's case is precisely how her bodies are fused, almost mirroring each other."

Parents Poonam Devi and Shambu Das, who earn about 50p a day as casual labourers, were turned away from several hospitals before her plight was taken up by Dr Patil.

The operation was expected to cost about £100,000 - but the hospital said it was covering the cost of the surgery.

Scroll down for more...

2007/11_01/1GirlMumBARC_800x499.jpg

Hope: Lakshmi and mother Poonam prepare for the operation

Poonam, who gave birth to Lakshmi on the celebration day of the four-armed Hindu goddess of wealth and prosperity after whom the new born was named, said: "She is a miracle, a special blessing from God. But she is my daughter and she cannot live like this."

Laskhmi is the subject of a Channel 4 documentary as part of the Bodyshocks series.

Besides the removal of the extra limbs, Lakshmi's deformed pelvis and spine were corrected, and redundant extra organs removed, doctors said.

SurgeryTeamG_468x326.jpg

Life-savers: Dr Saharan Patil (third left) with his team of surgeons in Bangalore

passa43.jpg
"Whaapen to dem?" - is the question on many lips these days as news of the intended cut down of the regular and internationally popular weekly "ghetto based" dances surfaced in Jamaica.

Reports uncover that the 'powers that be', including Enforcement and The Mayor have been putting serious thought into cutting down the traditional weekly happenings to maybe twice monthly.

The idea of cutting down these dances has members of both communities not only disappointed, but angry. Not only are these parties, that folk look forward to as relaxation and entertainment, an integral part of a growing global dancehall culture, they also serve as a major source of income for a huge sector of the Jamaican society.

Incident free since their inception, both sessions have reputations of bringing all people together in unity and love. Passa Passa even tours the world in the same context of love and harmony.

How can peace and love be wrong? So the people keep asking Whaapen to dem?

-------------------------------
YOUR FRIEND-GIRLFRIEND-BOYFRIEND-PAREE-------- HE - SHE DATING YOUR:- MOTHER/FATHER, BAD OR GOOD FLEX ?
3-20-08-macbook-air.jpg
There's are a lot of reasons to pick another laptop over the MacBook Air -- especially if you're into little things like "useful ports" -- but the comparison to non-Apple hardware isn't even relevant unless you're willing to switch to OS X, right? Well, the crew over at Xbit Labs decided to even the slate and evaluate the MBA solely as a Windows machine, wiping the drive clean of Leopard and installing Vista Ultimate. Although actually getting Vista on the Air was a bit troublesome due to the lack of a built-in optical drive and the Vista installer's refusal to wipe out the OS X partition, once installed the OS performed fine, with Apple-provided drivers activating the media and brightness keys and even the multi-touch trackpad. The only major issues were over-aggressive activation of CPU power-management, which resulted in dramatic slowdowns during some tasks, and the fact that the case got fairly warm during use -- both issues MBA owners using OS X have reported. Overall, while the MBA was a solid if unspectacular Windows machine, the lack of support and nagging issues with running a pure Windows MBA mean you're probably better off going with laptop designed for Vista -- hmm, we can think of one that might spark your interest.

tunetunetunepengupengu
In a news article in the LA Times Chuck Phillips claims P Diddy and Biggie were informed two weeks before Tupac was ambushed during a 1994 attack in New York. The validity of this claim has been denounced by Diddy. This is Diddy's official statement in response to the article:
"This story is beyond ridiculous and is completely false. Neither Biggie nor I had any knowledge of any attack before, during, or after it happened. It is a complete lie to suggest that there was any involvement by Biggie or myself. I am shocked that the Los Angeles Times would be so irresponsible as to publish such a baseless and completely untrue story."
Sean "Diddy" C****s

mr pepper caught wid weed

March 20, 2008
Started By K178 Comments

Popular deejay, Areal 'Mr Peppa' Walters, known for hits such as Talk and Gangsta Guerilla, pleaded guilty to smoking ganja, in the Corporate Area Resident Magistrate's Court yesterday.

Resident Magistrate Glen Brown fined Walters, who asked the court to be kind and to keep the conviction off his record. He said, "Your Honour, I would like to ask for some lenience in this matter.

I am a recording artiste so I'm asking you not to put this on my record. I have shows pending and I wouldn't want to be denied because of this."

RM Brown asked Walters how long he had been smoking marijuana, to which he replied, "about 10 years." He was also asked how long he had known that smoking marijuana was illegal and he answered, "about the same time, Your Honour."

Before handing down a $1,000 fine or 10 days in jail, the RM told Walters, "So if you know it is illegal and you don't want it on your record, you know what to do."

Tested on Windows XP Professional SP2 and Windows Server 2003 R2.

First, click "Run..." on your start menu, type "regedit" and press enter.
The Registry Editor opens up, and you are presented with a long list of keys on the left.
Browse through the list to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\WPAEvents.
(If you can't find this key, you're screwed!)
On the right, you should see a stringz value named OOBETimer.
This is the activation stuff. If you change it, Windows will change it back within a few seconds.
Whatever its value is, change it to FF D5 71 D6 8B 6A 8D 6F D5 33 93 FD.
(At first I thought this was different for each machine/serial number, but it's always the same if windows is activated...LOL)
After you've changed it, right-click WPAEvents and choose "Permissions..."
A little window opens up with a list of user names. Click SYSTEM, and in the list below ("Permissions for SYSTEM") check every box under "Deny". Click OK to own windows. You don't even have to reboot lol.
If you're too slow windows might change it back, so just hit F5 to refresh and make sure it got saved.
If not, just try again. Microsoft owns for making it so easy to hack their software.
So, just keep on enjoying an activated version of windows. swapnil_009 over and out!

The problem most of you are probably having is when you get to the "Permissions" section, so i expand on this tricky area.

Under "Permissions..." for WPAEvents, Go into the Advanced settings.

UNCHECK "Inhereit from parent the permission entries that apply to child objects. Include these with entries explicitly defined here"

When prompted what course of action to take from here, click "COPY"

From there, Highlight the SYSTEM line, and click edit.

Deny all options, apply, and run a free copy of windows.
pengupengu
A 66-year-old woman wrestled a robber to the ground Wednesday, giving police time to arrive at the scene and take him into custody, police said.Mary Chamberlain, of Camas, chased down Joshua Crowley, 22, of Washougal, after a Kentucky Fried Chicken clerk described the suspect after being robbed at knifepoint, said Mitch Lackey of the Camas Police Department.Police said Crowley is accused of displaying a knife and demanding money from a female clerk at 3:12 p.m. Wednesday.

After being given an undisclosed amount of cash, Crowley allegedly fled the store on foot, Lackey said.The clerk who was robbed immediately called 911 to report the robbery and alerted the manager, KPTV in Beaverton reported. The manager ran outside and spotted the robber running away from the restaurant, Lackey said.She then alerted a customer who was in the drive-up lane and a passing car and pointed out the suspect, Lackey said. The manager and other witnesses started to give chase.Chamberlain, who had been driving past the restaurant, and her passenger, Sophia Morrow, followed the robber in their car. Chamberlain let Morrow out on foot and drove around the block, where she spotted Crowley, he said.Chamberlain then got out and began to wrestle on the ground with Crowley as she attempted to detain him. Two Camas officers arrived almost immediately and took the suspect into custody, Lackey said.Officers from Camas Police Department, Washougal Police Department and Clark County Sheriff's Office assisted in the search for the robber, he said.Crowley was arrested on suspicion of armed robbery four minutes after the initial 911 call was placed, he said.Officers recovered the stolen cash and the weapon in Crowley's possession when he was taken into custody, Lackey said. A wig and hat were also recovered in a nearby garbage can.Although officers credited Chamberlain's involvement as key to such a quick arrest, police advised against such actions.No one was injured in the robbery.

-- Edited by Crazypickney at 23:25, 2008-03-20

AIDS deaths decline

March 20, 2008
Started By Crazypickney5 Comments
hief of Epidemiology and AIDS in the Ministry of Health and Environment, Dr Peter Figueroa, says although the prevalence of sexually transmitted infections (STIs) continues to rise, the death rate from these infections, particularly HIV/AIDS, has been declining.

This, he said, was due to the success of the Ministry's national AIDS/STI programme.

Dr Figueroa, who was speaking at the International Conference on Adult Education at the Jamaica Pegasus hotel on Monday, said it is estimated that there are 25,000 to 27,000 people living with HIV in Jamaica, and that as many as 12,000 are not aware that they are living with the virus.

Expand testing

He urged all sexually active persons to get an HIV/AIDS test done in order to adequately tackle the epidemic.

"We need to expand testing. Everyone needs to get tested once you are sexually active, and we're trying to encourage that," he said.

"We estimated adult HIV prevalence of 1.5 per cent for the last 10 years. The prevalence of HIV among pregnant women in public clinics has remained stable at 1.5 per cent. It means that we have been able to put some hold on the spread, but it is not yet adequately going down, but what is encouraging there is that the death rate has come down significantly, and that is due to our antiretroviral treatment programme," Dr Figueroa explained.

He said, however, that the prevalence among those who are most at risk, like homosexuals, is very high and is estimated at 25 per cent. Similarly, among female sex workers, surveys show that the rates are significantly high.

findImg.php?pic_size=200&table_name=news_img_tab&table_field=img_id&img_id=1295 CeCile, Tessanne Chin, Cherine Anderson, Judy Mowatt, Marcia Griffiths and Etana are all part of the Sister to Sister programme. A number of leading female entertainers in Jamaica have taken the charity under their wing.

The islands top female entertainers and personalities have joined hands with the Bureau of Women's Affairs and the Women's Centre Foundation to erect shelters for battered women across the island. Proceeds from a media-thon to be held on Sunday April 13 will go towards building shelters as well as towards the Women's Centre Foundation.

Radio personality Paula Ann Porter is the programme's chairperson; Marcia Griffith and Queen Ifrica are spokespersons while Ce'cile and Etana head the programme's fund raising team.

The event is being held under the banner of International Women's Day (March 8) under the theme: 'Financing for Gender Equality'. The concert will be staged at the studios of CPTC and broadcast live on various television and radio stations with the target goal being $10 million.

These entertainers have come on board not only to perform but also to provide motivational speeches on issues that affect young women and men of today.

The top global technology brand for 2007 is (drum roll, please) ... um, I'm not sure. One market research firm says Google, the other says Microsoft. This is embarra**ing.

How about this: you're the tie-breaker. You're all buyers of technology products and services; which do you think is the better brand? Which one commands your loyalty and recurring business? I hear so much admiration for Google and so much vitriol toward Microsoft, it's hard to believe there's even a question here. But still, the question remains. Which one is it going to be?

Bragging rights aside, you can learn a lot from these reports. Trends are important to understand. Trends are the leading edge of change. Brand trends point to changes in consumer and corporate buying behavior.

Picture2_270x289.jpg

Although the research firms had completely different criteria and methods, eight companies--Cisco Systems, Google, Hewlett-Packard, IBM, Intel, Microsoft, Nokia, and Oracle--made the top 10 on both lists. Samsung Electronics and Sony rounded out Interbrand's top ten, while Apple and SAP adorned Millward Brown's.

Both reports cited Google and Apple as tech firms gaining the most ground. The reasons for that should be obvious to all.

Intel and Dell, on the other hand, were both seen heading in the wrong direction. Dell's decline reflects market-share losses to rivals HP and Apple, as well as a well-publicized accounting scandal and abrupt management change. As for Intel, we've definitely seen chinks in the chip giant's once-impenetrable competitive armor. Archrival AMD has gained market-share and Intel's Viiv entertainment PC brand failed to excite consumers.

Also notable was a slight reversal of Sony's multiyear brand plunge, although both reports show Samsung is now ahead of its Japanese rival.

The most revealing change, however, is all about Google. Whether you believe the Internet search advertising giant belongs in the No. 1 spot or not, just a few short years ago that name wasn't on anyone's list, long or short.

The technology world changes fast. When we see obvious signs that rapid change is afoot, it's a good idea to pay attention. I don't think any of us needed a report to tell us about this one. But it does make you wonder what name we might see in the 2010 brand repor
new_windows.preview.jpg
And you thought Microsoft had trouble with piracy in Asia. Just look at what Egypt is doing to the new Windows... potato chips. Now with real Ballmer batter!

lollol
This week Erup hangs on to the #1 spot with "Click Mi Finger". "Forever" by Jah Cure on the "No C****o/Breakfast In Bed" riddim enters the charts at #3. Other new entries include two hits on the "Shoot Out" riddim: Mykal Rose ft. Damian Marley with the "Shoot Out Remix" at #7 and Demarco with "Duppy" at #10. Beenie Man is new this week with "Wine Gal" at #8 and Busy Signal at #9 with "Pon Di Edge". The video for Duane Stephenson's "August Town" (at #5) has been added.

Check out http://ukcharts.blogspot.com for the full chart including MP3s and videos.

-DRC

Cumming on Airplane

March 19, 2008
Started By Crazypickney25 Comments
Woman Sues American Airlines for X-Rated Incident
Lawsuit: Staff Did Not Help Woman After Man Ejaculated On Her
MyFoxHouston.com
photo_servlet?contentId=946164&version=1&locale=EN-US&subtype=MIMG&siteId=1013&isP16=true
Detail?contentId=6056906&version=2&locale=EN-US&layoutCode=TSTY&pageId=3.2.1

FOX 26 News

HOUSTON -- A 21-year-old Harris County woman filed a lawsuit against American Airlines Monday, alleging her trip to visit family and friends in Los Angeles last spring break turned X-rated.

The $200,000 suit claims a passenger masturbated in the seat next to Centava Dozier on a flight from DFW International Airport to Los Angeles during Dozier's spring break in 2007.

Dozier said she was sitting on an unoccupied row of the plane when it took off and fell asleep. When she woke up, she found a stuck substance in her hair and a man masturbating in the seat next to her.

In the lawsuit, Dozier said she asked airline workers for help and asked that the man, who was not sitting in his assigned seat, be removed, but did not receive any help from the staff aboard the plane.

Officials with American Airlines have maintained that their employees took appropriate action.

The man was arrested when the plane landed.

Ardenne spike Wolmer's Boys

March 20, 2008
Started By sting 2 Comments
After staving off some very serious competition from the Wolmer's Boys School, Ardenne High yesterday made it through to the semi-finals of Television Jamaica's Schools' Challenge Quiz. Though the final score of 41- 35 would suggest that Wolmer's was not up to par, this was not so. In fact, this was perhaps one of their best games. In the first section of the match, both teams seemed to be nervous, and so were not playing at their optimum level. At the end of this section, Ardenne was ahead on 10 points, while Wolmer's was on 6. The second section of the match was the strongest for Wolmer's as they outperformed their opponents in all of the 'individual minutes'. They earned 23 points in this section, while Ardenne earned just 15. At the end of this segment, Ardenne was on 25, while Wolmer's had moved ahead on 30 points, or so everyone thought. After a series of queries from Ardenne's coach, the Rev Glen Archer, Ardenne gained four additional points, while Wolmer's lost one, bringing the score to a tie. Though both teams were now on a level playing field, Ardenne was the first to get out of the blocks in the third section. From there, they did not look back and racked up a total of 14 points. Wolmer's Boys, on the other hand, took a while to warm up, and only managed to earn eight points. Coach of the Wolmer's team, Dorian Beckford, told THE WEEKEND STAR, "The guys played at their optimum. I couldn't ask for anything better than what they did. Hopefully, next year the title will be ours." The Rev Glen Archer said of the match, "It's a quarter-final, so we expected heavy competition. Wolmer's had some good coaching and they will do well next year. We did some immense work and we have an experienced team. We retained three of our members from last year. We give God thanks for the coaches' work and for the team's work." The Wolmer's team: Daryl Rowe, Wade Brown, Javoy Sawyers, Tariq Parker. The Ardenne team: Dujon Dunn, Travis Townsend, Janiel Williams, Anthony Williams.
Jamaica, New York, Miami, U.K., Canada wake up, wake up, too much dead people ting de pon the site, mi come fi lively up tings, RIP Mikey Dread. But mi ready fi mud up some people and all these things. How some ah dem gal ah gwaan like dem hot and when yu go inna dem house, all yu can hear ah echo? Dem house empty like dem bank account. Comma! Abena to the Universe! Weh dem feel like? Anywayz, time fi talk di ting.

BEENIE BOOED AT UP TO THE LINE
Beenie_Man111.jpgMi surprise how Beenie get boo up ah the show last Saturday at Up to the Line. Him hit the stage and did a gwaan bad, crazy forward and ting for Back It Up and ting and then mi no know if him overstay him welcome, but mi hear him say, mek mi see the man dem who love kiss and mi just hear some crazy boo start reach him, ah something Beenie always do, say some weird ting like him a live inna lue and forget where him de, young people quick fi pick up the waste talk dem. Still, ah just Beenie that, one boo caan stop him, ah still mi deejay.

SHOCKING VIBES DEAD AND BURIED?
The word on the street is that Shocking Vibes Production is dead and buried. All that is left are the final rites. All the staff has been laid off. The telephone lines have been cut off, there is no AC, nothing, just tumbleweed blowing in the yard like in one of those Westerns my father likes to watch. What a ting, eh?

NO MAVADO, NO GOVERNMENT MEETING
We heard on the streets yesterday that Christopher Campbell has not yet met with the industry stakeholders and the Minister because one of the principals, Mavado, was not in the island at the time and could not attend.

AKA LOVES SIMONE CLARKE IN THE MORNING
Stick a pin, people. Mi good friend A.K.A ah beg me fi send a special big up to Simone Clarke from RJR who has been filling up his big screen Plasma TV nicely on the TVJ Smile Jamaica show in the mornings. He said, and I quote I love me some Simone Clarke in the morning, she is so dreamy, the first thing I do when I tumble out of bed is grab my remote, flip on the TV and see those luscious lips Alrighty then, AKA. Whatever. Lets not overdo it now.
Bin Laden slams EU over prophet cartoons

CAIRO, Egypt - Osama bin Laden warned in a new audiotape of a "severe" reaction for Europeans' publication of cartoons of Islam's Prophet Muhammad in what experts saw as a direct threat of a new attack in Europe.

The message, posted late Wednesday on a militant Web site that has carried al-Qaida statements in the past and bore the logo of the extremist group's media wing al-Sahab, showed a still image of bin Laden aiming with an assault rifle.

"The response will be what you see and not what you hear and let our mothers bereave us if we do not make victorious our messenger of God," said a voice believed to be bin Laden's, without specifying what action would be taken.

Ben Venzke, the head of IntelCenter, a U.S. group that monitors militant messages, called Wednesday's video a "clear threat against EU member countries and an indicator of a possible upcoming significant attack."

The five-minute message, bin Laden's first this year, made no mention of the fifth anniversary Wednesday of the U.S.-led invasion in Iraq.

It came as the Muslim world marks the Prophet Muhammad's birthday Thursday and amid the reigniting of a two-year-old controversy over Danish cartoons deemed by Muslims to be insulting.

On Feb. 13, Danish newspapers republished one of the cartoons, which shows Muhammad wearing a b****-shaped turban, to illustrate their commitment to freedom of speech after police said they had uncovered a plot to kill the artist.

Danish intelligence service said the reprinting of the cartoon had brought "negative attention" to Denmark and may have increased the risk to Danes at home and abroad.

The original 12 cartoons first published in a Danish newspaper triggered major protests in Muslim countries in 2006. There have been renewed protests in the last month. Muslims widely saw the cartoons as an insult, depicting the prophet as violent. Islamic law generally opposes any depiction of the prophet, even favorable, for fear it could lead to idolatry.

In the message, bin Laden described the cartoons as taking place in the framework of a "new Crusade" against Islam, in which he said the pope has played a "large and lengthy role."

"You went overboard in your unbelief and freed yourselves of the etiquettes of dispute and fighting and went to the extent of publishing these insulting drawings," he said, according to a transcript released by the SITE Institute, another U.S. group that monitors terror messages. "This is the greater and more serious tragedy, and reckoning for it will be more severe."

Bin Laden dismissed as "excuses" Europe's citing of freedom of expression to justify the publishing of the cartoons.

"If there is no check on the freedom of your words, then let your hearts be open to the freedom of our actions," according to a transcript released by the SITE Institute, another U.S. group that monitors terror messages.

Adam Raisman, senior analyst at the SITE Institute, said that the tape's release coincides with an increased buzz in online jihadi forums calling for revenge against Europe over the cartoons.

The tape appeared to have been recorded since December because bin laden refers to revelations made that month by the British press that former Prime Minister Tony Blair pushed to halt a fraud investigation against aerospace company BAE Systems PLC in part because he feared it would jeopardize an arms deal with Saudi Arabia.

In the message addressed to "the intelligent ones in the European Union," bin Laden also criticized the "aggressive policies" of President Bush.

"How it saddens us that you target our villages with your b****ing: those modest mud villages which have collapsed onto our women and children. You do that intentionally, and I am witness to that," he said, according to SITE. "All of this (you do) without right and in conformity with your oppressive ally who along with his aggressive policies is about to depart the White House."

On Wednesday, Bush praised Sunni tribal leaders for rising up against al-Qaida in Iraq and said that has led to similar uprising across the country. All that, c****ined with a strategic influx of U.S. troops last year, has "opened the door to a major victory in the broader war on terror," Bush said.

"Iraq was supposed to be the place where al-Qaida rallied Arab masses to drive America out," Bush said. "Instead, Iraq has become the place where Arabs joined with Americans to drive al-Qaida out. In Iraq, we are witnessing the first large-scale Arab uprising against Osama bin Laden, his grim ideology."

In Wednesday's message, bin Laden also attacked his long-time nemesis, King Abdullah of Saudi Arabia, whom he described as the "crownless king in Riyadh" and said he could have ended the entire dispute over the cartoons if he had wanted because of his influence with European governments.

Bin Laden, who hails from a powerful Saudi family, was stripped of his citizenship in 1994 after criticizing Saudi Arabia for allowing U.S. troops on its soil.

Wednesday's message, which featured English subtitles, follows up an hour-long, audio missive from Dec. 29 in which he warned Iraq's Sunni Arabs against fighting Al-Qaida in Iraq and vowed new attacks on Israel.

___

666-phone.jpg
Ugh, what have we started? After showing you that Chinese cellphone with a reported 1-year standby, Solomobi returns with yet another dubious discovery from China. How does 666 days of standby tickle your noxious, soul-eating fancy? This dual-SIM, GSM900 / DCS1800 candybar with 3.0-inch display is said to achieve that milestone with the help of a 32,800mAh "super battery." Yours now for $128 and the *lo** of one fetal goat. We've got the phone on order and will get back to you in 616 665 666 two years with the results... right. Picture of the 87 x 51 x 10-mm / 0.12-kg lithium battery and the devil's own credit card after the break.

Teacher on rape charge

March 20, 2008
Started By Crazypickney5 Comments

A 26-year-old teacher, Andre McLean, of a Portland address, was yesterday offered $250,000 bail when he appeared in the Buff Bay Resident Magistrate's Court on charges of rape and abduction involving a 12-year-old student.

The teacher was taken into custody on Monday night but was only charged yesterday morning, just hours before going to court.

According to Corporal Dwayne Campbell of the Port Antonio police, the matter, which is said to have taken place in October last year, was only just brought to the attention of the police.

While there was enough evidence to have taken the teacher into custody on Monday, the police have indicated that they wanted to make sure of the evidence before charging McLean.

On the day of McLean's arrest, the police indicated they had received reports that the student was walking home from school when McLean, driving a van, pulled up beside her and offered her a ride, which she refused.

"He reportedly came out of the vehicle, lifted her up and dumped her in the back of the van," said a police source.

She was taken to his house, where he allegedly raped her.
Kingston, JAMAICA: Dancehall artiste David Brooks, popularly known in the entertainment circle as Mavado, has issued a threat to OutARoad.com photographer Carlington Wilmot. Mr. Wilmot received a call from upcoming dancehall artiste Einstein, christened Jermaine Show, at 2:30 p.m. today (March 13, 2008) who engaged him in a disgruntled conversation before putting Mavado on the phone. Mr. Brooks threatened Mr. Wilmot and even mentioned that not even dancehall artiste Vybz Kartel cannot save him from what he is prepared to do to him. Baffled by Mavados comment Mr. Wilmot rang back Einsteins phone and was told by Einstein that: things ago happen to yuh. A former OutARoad.com freelance writer was reportedly hospitalized after being beaten by members of Mavados entourage at his office, located at Merryvale Close. The outrage began after Mr. Wilmot, who is affiliated with OutARoad.com, was accused of posting a story online which showed a partially naked Mavado and a female cuddling in a room. A statement of the incident has been collected by the New Kingston Police where Mr. Wilmot reported the threat. N.B. - OutARoad.com would like to publicize the fact that Vybz Kartel is not affiliated with the website in anyway. EEEEEEH BWOY, DE MAN GET SCARED LOL
dis a my story again...mi deh ya inna barbados and mi seh mek mi cut mi hair like a mohawk caw nuh gyal did wa fawud and treat it lolololol......so now mi seh mek mi cut it inna one mohawk...nuff gyall like it and ting u zimmie seh it look cool and ting but sum bwoy wa seh how it look gay ....but how dat look gay now dat mi wa know ...and wen sum man a say it gay di same time nuff gyall want me and ting...but wa get mi vex a wen one bwoy seh how mi look like forener and how nuh bajan woulda do dat "cunt like hairstyle"...so mi wa know wa wrong wid it suh ...but mi nuh care cause mi look like real european balla..di gyal dem love it and jamaicans set trends and fashion u zimmie jus now di whole a dem ago get mohawk it did al pon news ova ya seh bwoy who a 6 get send home fi a mohawk but di madda seh she nah cut it cause she son like it and it look cool straight.!!!!!!!!!!!!bang bang!!!!!!!!!PROTEC

playing rar files

March 20, 2008
Started By djsupatek3 Comments
when i download a riddim on here i cant play it. can someone help.
it says rar file or somthing

Munga and Don fall out??????????

March 16, 2008
Started By Casino28 Comments
Munga link up back wid casper an deh pon him new riddim, an pon top a dat Don no voice munga pon him last 2 projects. me nuh sure wa gwaan still jus a talk wa me kno, giv unu feedbac

-- Edited by Casino at 20:01, 2008-03-16

The World’s Largest Photograph

August 19, 2007
Started By Glitch13 Comments

The Worlds Largest Photograph

worlds biggest photo.jpg

I know some people like to enlarge photos of themselves and their cherished offspring to fill a few feet on a wall but what if the photograph was bigger than your entire house, and maybe the ones on either side too?

This is the worlds largest photograph, measuring 28-ft tall and 108-ft wide. Its of the 5,000-acre Marine Corps Station El Toro, a decommissioned military base that is being converted into hundreds of acres of parkland, museum district, sports complex and thousands of suburban homes in Orange County, California.

To take the worlds biggest photo required the worlds biggest camera a disused airplane hangar. The team created a massive camera obscura by hanging the canvas - covered in 80-litres of silver halide solution - in the darkened hangar. They then exposed it through an aperture just 1in wide, 15-ft above the ground for 10-days. When done, they developed it in an Olympic sized swimming pool with 600 gallons of developer.

The result: an ancient-looking blurry shot of the airfield and control tower

Through a Rapist's Eyes

March 7, 2008
Started By Jamecho15 Comments

Through a Rapist's Eyes
This is important information for females of ALL ages .
When this was sent to me, I was told to forward it to my lady friends, but I forwarded it to most everyone in my address book. My men friends have female friends and this information is too important to miss someone.  Please pass it along .A group of rapists and date rapists in prison were interviewed on what they look for in a potential victim and here are some interesting facts:
1) The first thing men look for in a potential victim is hairstyle. They are most likely to go after a woman with a ponytail, bun, braid or other hairstyle that can easily be grabbed . They are also likely to go after a woman with long hair. Women with short hair are not common targets.
2) The second thing men look for is clothing. They will look for women who's clothing is easy to remove quickly. Many of them carry scissors around specifically to cut clothing.
3) They also look for women on their cell phone, searching through their purse, or doing other activities while walking because they are off-guard and can be easily overpowered.
4) Men are most likely to attack & rape in the early morning, between 5:00a.m. and 8:30a.m.
5) The number one place women are abducted from/attacked is grocery store parking lots. Number two: is office parking lots/garages. Number three: is public restrooms.
6) The thing about these men is that they are looking to grab a woman and quickly move her to another location where they don't have to worry about getting caught.
7) Only 2% said they carried weapons because rape carries a 3-5 year sentence but rape with a weapon is 15-20 years.
8) If you put up any kind of a fight at all, they get discouraged because it only takes a minute or two for them to realize that going after you isn't worth it because it will be time-consuming.
9) These men said they would not pick on women who have umbrellas , or other similar objects that can be used from a distance, in their hands. Keys are not a deterrent because you have to get really close to the attacker to use them as a weapon. So, the idea is to convince these guys you're not worth it.
10) Several defense mechanisms he taught us are: If someone is following behind you on a street or in a garage or with you in an elevator or stairwell, look them in the face and ask them a question, like what time is it, or make general small talk: 'I can't believe it is so cold out here,' 'we're in for a bad winter.' Now you've seen their face and could identify them in a line-up; you lose appeal as a target.
11) If someone is coming toward you , hold out your hands in front of you and yell STOP or STAY BACK ! Most of the rapists this man talked to said they'd leave a woman alone if she yelled or showed that she would not be afraid to fight back . Again, they are looking for an EASY target.
12) If you carry pepper spray (this instructor was a huge advocate of it and carries it with him wherever he goes), yell I HAVE PEPPER SPRAY and holding it out will be a deterrent.
13) If someone grabs you , you can't beat them with strength but you can by outsmarting them If you are grabbed around the waist from behind, pinch the attacker either under thearm (between the elbow and armpit) OR in the upper inner thigh VERY VERY HARD . One woman in a class this guy taught told him she used the underarm pinch on a guy who was trying to date rape her and was so upset she broke through the skin and tore out muscle strands - the guy needed stitches. Try pinching yourself in those places as hard as you can stand it - it hurts.
14) After the initial hit, always GO for the GROIN . I know from a particularly unfortunate experience that if you slap a guy's parts it is extremely painful. You might think that you'll anger the guy and make him want to hurt you more, but the thing these rapists told our instructor is that they want a woman who will not cause a lot of trouble. Start causing trouble and he's out of there.
15) When the guy puts his hands up to you, grab his first two fingers and bend them back as far as possible with as much pressure pushing down on them as possible . The instructor did it to me without using much pressure, and I ended up on my knees and both knuckles cracked audibly.
16) Of course the things we always hear still apply. Always be aware of your surroundings, take someone with you if you can and if you see any odd behavior, don't dismiss it, go with your instincts!!! You may feel a little silly at the time, but you'd feel much worse if the guy really was trouble.
Tip from Tae Kwon Do:
1) The elbow is the strongest point on your body.  If you are close enough to use it, do!
 2) Learned this from a tourist guide in New Orleans . If a robber asks for your wallet and/or purse, DO NOT HAND IT TO HIM . Toss it away from you....chances are that he is more interested in your wallet and/or purse than you, and he will go for the wallet/purse. RUN LIKE MAD IN THE OTHER DIRECTION!
 3) If you are ever thrown into the trunk of a car, kick out the back tail lights and stick your arm out the hole and start waving like crazy. The driver won't see you, but everybody else will. This has saved lives.
 4) Women have a tendency to get into their cars after shopping, eating, working, etc., and just sit (doing their checkbook, or making a list, etc.) DON'T DO THIS! The predator will be watching you, and this is the perfect opportunity for him to get in on the passenger side, put a gun to your head, and tell you where to go. AS SOON AS YOU GET INTO YOUR CAR, LOCK THE DOORS AND LEAVE.
a. If someone is in the car with a gun to your head DO NOT DRIVE OFF, repeat: DO NOT DRIVE OFF! Instead gun the engine and speed into anything, wrecking the car. Your Air Bag will save you. If the person is in the back seat they will get the worst of it. As soon as the car crashes bail out and run. It is better than having them find your body in a remote location
 5) A few notes about getting into your car in a parking lot or parking garage:
a.) Be aware: look around you, look into your car, at the passenger side floor, and in the back seat.
b.) If you are parked next to a big van, enter your car from the passenger door. Most serial killers attack their victims by pulling them into their vans while the women are attempting to get into their cars.
c.) Look at the car parked on the driver's side of your vehicle, and the passenger side. If a male is sitting alone in the seat nearest your car, you may want to walk back into the mall, or work, and get a guard/policeman to walk you back out. IT IS ALWAYS BETTER TO BE SAFE THAN SORRY. (And better paranoid than dead.)
 6) ALWAYS take the elevator instead of the stairs. (Stairwells are horrible places to be alone and the perfect crime spot. This is especially true at NIGHT!)
 7) If the predator has a gun and you are not under his control, ALWAYS RUN! The predator will only hit you (a running target) 4 in 100 times. And even then, it most likely WILL NOT be a vital organ. RUN, preferably in a zigzag pattern!
 8) As women, we are always trying to be sympathetic: STOP! It may get you raped or killed. Ted Bundy, the serial killer, was a good-looking, well-educated man, who ALWAYS played on the sympathies of unsuspecting women. He walked with a cane, or a limp, and often asked 'for help' into his vehicle or with his vehicle, which is when he abducted his next victim.
 9) Another Safety Point: Someone just told me that her friend heard a crying baby on her porch the night before last, and she called the police because it was late and she thought it was weird. The police told her 'Whatever you do, DO NOT open the door.' The lady then said that it sounded like the baby had crawled near a window, and she was worried that it would crawl to the street and get run over. The policeman said, 'We already have a unit on the way, whatever you do, DO NOT open the door.' He told her that they think a serial killer has a baby's cry recorded and uses it to coax women out of their homes thinking that someone dropped off a baby. He said they have not verified it , but have had several calls by women saying that they hear baby's cries outside their doors when they're home alone at night. Please pass this on and DO NOT open the door for a crying baby ----This should be taken seriously because the Crying Baby theory was mentioned on America's Most Wanted this past Saturday when they profiled the serial killer in Louisiana.

I'd like you to forward this to all the women you know. It may save a life.
A candle is not dimmed by lighting another candle.
I was going to send this to the ladies only, but guys, if you love your mothers, wives, sisters, daughters, etc., you may want to pass it onto them, as well.

Kingston, Jamaica

February 3, 2008
Started By ZJSnyper3 Comments

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Jump to: navigation, search
Kingston and St. Andrew Corporation
Kingston skyline, circa 2003
Motto: A City That Hath Foundations
Location of Kingston shown within Jamaica
Coordinates: 18px-Erioll_world.svg.png17°59N 76°48W / 17.983, -76.8
CountryFlag of Jamaica Jamaica
CountySurrey
ParishKingston
St. Andrew
Established1693
Government
 - MayorDesmond McKenzie
Area
 - Total453 km² (174.9 sq mi)
Elevationm (30 ft)
Population (2001)
 - Total651,880
 - Density1,439/km² (3,727/sq mi)
 - Kingston Parish96,052
 - St. Andrew Parish555,828
Time zoneEST (UTC-5)

The City of Kingston is the capital and largest city of Jamaica. It is located on the southeastern coast of the island country. It faces a natural harbour protected by the Palisadoes, a long sand spit which connects Port Royal and the Norman Manley International Airport to the rest of the island. In the Western Hemisphere, Kingston is the largest predominantly English-speaking city south of the United States, with a population of 651,880 (2001 census).[1]

The local government bodies of the parishes of Kingston and St. Andrew were amalgamated by the Kingston and St. Andrew Corporation Act of 1923, to form the Kingston and St. Andrew Corporation (KSAC). Greater Kingston, or the "Corporate Area" refers to the KSAC; however, it does not refer to Kingston Parish, which only consists of the old downtown and Port Royal. Kingston Parish had a population of 96,052, and St. Andrew had a population of 555,82

March 18, 2008
The Canadian Press
ST. JOHN'S, N.L. -The government of Newfoundland and Labrador says that 108 patients whose breast cancer tests were misread have died.

It's the first time the province has disclosed how many people who were given an inaccurate result on their breast cancer test have died.

But provincial health minister Ross Wiseman says that a changed test result doesn't necessarily mean that appropriate cancer treatment was delayed.

In a statement issued today, Wiseman says the breast cancer test was only one factor among many that help determine a patient's course of treatment.

Wiseman also says the database used to compile the death toll doesn't specify the cause of death.

The revelation comes one day before a public inquiry is set to begin probing how more than 300 patients were given erroneous results on their breast cancer test.

lclclclclc
DENVER (AP)Kenyon Martin couldnt believe the box score, so he doesnt expect anybody else to, either. A lot of people are going to think its a misprint, Martin said. A lot of people will think theres no way they scored that many points. Its unbelievable. There are no words for it. The Nuggets set NBA season highs for points in a half with 84 and points in a game with a 168-116 rout of the Seattle SuperSonics on Sunday night. Denver set a franchise record for most points in a regulation game and fell just 16 points shy of the franchise record for points in a game. There was no way that I couldnt enjoy the game, not from the way we played offensively, Nuggets coach George Karl said. The Nuggets had eight players score in double figures, led by Carmelo Anthonys 26 and Allen Iversons 24. Martin had 23 points and Marcus Camby had a triple-double with 13 points, 15 rebounds and a career-high 10 assists. ADVERTISEMENT Still, the only thing the players could talk about was the 168 points they scored in a franchise-record 52-point win. Ive never been a part of a game like this where we won by so many points and scored so many points, Camby said. This is definitely a game Im going to keep in my archives. Seattle would rather forget this one. After giving up 138 points to Denver in a 42-point loss on Feb. 27which was also the previous high for points in the NBA this seasonthe SuperSonics had no chance to redeem themselves Sunday. They gave up an NBA season-high 48 points in the first quarter and trailed by 19 after the first 12 minutes. It didnt get any better in the second. Denver eclipsed Phoenixs record of 80 points in a half with 1:31 left before the break, and at halftime the Nuggets led by 26. They led by as many as 55 in the fourth quarter. We just lost tonight. We lost by a lot, said Seattle forward Chris Wilcox, who had 17 points. Thats just something youre going to have to look back on. Its just something youre going to have to live with. Seattle isnt the only team that has been routed by Denver this week. The Nuggets finished this homestand with three blowout victories. They beat Memphis by 22 Wednesday night and the Raptors by 32 Friday night. Sunday, they used the same formula to rout the Sonics. They shared the ball and hit open shots, and for the second straight game the starters were on the bench in the fourth quarter and let the reserves play mop-up time. Its hard to beat a team when you get 44 assists and making the extra pass, Martin said. Its tough to beat a team when you play like we did tonight. Now the trick for Denver is to keep it going. The Nuggets are 40-26 but trail Golden State by 1 1/2 games for the eighth and final playoff spot in the Western Conference. They start a five-game road trip in Detroit on Tuesday and hope to continue their strong play against the defensive-minded Pistons while trying to comprehend Sundays win. Like the Rockets winning 22 straight, its unheard of on this level, Martin said. Scoring 168 points in regulation is unheard of. Hopefully we can take what we did these last three games at home onto the road trip. Seattle has to regroup after suffering its 51st loss of the season in an embarra**ing fashion. We get beat that badly, theres no excuse for that, Sonics coach P.J. Carlesimo said. It matters a lot because were professionals and were trying to competeand we didnt compete tonight. Notes The Nuggets franchise record for points came in a 186-184 triple-overtime loss to Detroit on Dec. 13, 1983. The previous team record for regulation points was 163 against San Antonio on Jan. 11, 1984. The Nuggets are tied for the fourth-best start in franchise history and their best start since 1987-88. The Nuggets set an NBA record with 49 fast-break points, breaking the previous mark of 48 set by Toronto on Jan. 12, 2003. Kevin Durant led the Sonics with 23 points.

| 8.47 MB

Laptops--call them notebooks, portable computers, or whatever else you like--are tightly engineered items.

It's hard to get all the required components to obey stringent performance and power-management requirements, and still fit into a small case. The job usually requires a custom motherboard and other specialized components, and so the laptop owner who wants to upgrade his or her machine faces a much more difficult task than the owner of a desktop machine with a similar wish. One can swap out the hard drive, add more RAM, and make tweaks in software, but almost everything else requires the addition of external components, which kind of defeat the purpose of a laptop. That's the message the reader takes away from Scott Mueller's Upgrading and Repairing Laptops. It's not Mueller's fault that such computers are hard to do much with, and that your best upgrade procedure is often a visit to an auction site.

That said, Mueller does a great job of explaining how laptops work--how the engineers went about cramming all those heat-generating components into those miniature chassis in the first place. He also explains a lot of interesting component theory, such as how magnetic hard drives store data and how various DVD standards differ. The information makes for good reading, and comes in handy when you're shopping. He also demonstrates his skill--long well-reputed among builders and repairers of desktop machines--in teaching diagnostics. He explains, for example, how to test a laptop power supply, and why you should consider it a prime suspect in a malfunctioning computer even if the LEDs come on and the cooling fan spins. A CD-ROM features videos that show disassembly procedures--a strategy that works better than photographs and numbered steps.

Topics covered:
How portable computers work (and sometimes fail to work), and how to diagnose their woes. Sections address general troubleshooting concepts, system disassembly, and various subsystems such as memory, CPU, storage, and video. Coverage of PCMCIA (PC Card) is particularly good.

Book Description:
Beyond cutting edge, Scott Mueller goes where no computer book author has gone before--right past all the warranty stickers, the hidden screws, and the fear factor to produce a real owner's manual that every laptop owner should have on his desk. This book shows the upgrades users can perform, the ones that are better left to the manufacturer, and how to use add-on peripherals to make the most of a laptop. The CD contains one-of-a-kind video showing just what's inside a portable PC. For readers who have ever wondered what goes on inside their portable PC, how to upgrade/repair the portable PC or how to live on the road with it, this is the one must-have book of the year!

http://depositfiles.com/files/1892991

Residents of Galloway Road off Waltham Park Road in Kingston hit the road today with placards as rain drizzled down from a gunmetal sky protesting the severe beating of a dancer from their community last Saturday at Mas Camp in Kingston.

Mavado_Synergy.jpgThe placards had derogatory slogans such as Breaking NewsMavados bodyguards bad for society, Mavado must pay for damage to fans and Dont Start War If Yu Nuh Mean ItJustice.

The dancer, Andre Beep Beep Dawson was hit with a bottle by members of Mavados entourage after he lost his platinum chain in the crowd during the Heineken Green Synergy competition last Saturday forcing a premature end to the event.

Beep_Beep.jpgBeep Beep who says he is a big Alliance fan said that members of Mavados entourage hit him in the face with a bottle, spilling his blood, and requiring him to get ten stitches from a medical doctor.

But what caused the uproar and why was he get hit?

Is a girl tek off his chain and his crew run down from off the stage and push my friend, Felisha, and me step into it and say yu caan push her, and one of the bredrin dem fling a bottle and lick me inna mi face, the 21 year-old dancer said.

Another one thump Badda in her face. That never necessary, me say Alliance, the whole ah Galloway Road say Alliance and we nah change, but the man dem over-react, even the girl who tek off the chain get cut inna her chest and get 32 stitches, Beep Beep said.
Some residents claimed that they were robbed in the subsequent stampede that began after the brawl, and lost articles of clothing, jewellery and cellphones.

Ah man inna blue jeans and green ganzie rob me of my Sliver, and mi tell the man say me have four pickney and him still rob me, a girl named Stacey said while another shouted mi waan back mi slippers.

According to eyewitness reports, Busy and Mavado had been performing, when Mavado decided to perform a few girl songs for his female fans who he had invited over the barricade. The girls dragged him into the crowd. One girl took off his chain, and members of his entourage ran towards him and a tussle developed between a few of them and members of the crowd. A bottle was thrown and some patrons 'roughed up' by the entourage. When patrons realized that there was a brawl taking place, they began to flee in all directions, triggering a number of mini-stampedes. Eventually, the crowd began to exit the venue.

For his part, Mavado seemed ticked off that his entourage had caused a premature end to the event. He insisted that the dancer be carried to the hospital, and berated his entourage.

Oonu come offa the stage, look ho yu mash the people dem show, he said, angrily.

Efforts to contact Mavado and his management team proved futile.

Cocoa Tea for Barack Obama

March 19, 2008
Started By MasSicker0 Comments

Krista Henry, Staff Reporter

STARLEFT_1_PK2SIExplosiAM.jpg

Cocoa Tea

Veteran reggae singer Cocoa
Tea believes that his new song Barack Obama may impact positively on
the Democrat candidate's chance of winning the United States 2008
presidential election.

Cocoa
Tea, aka Calvin Scott, recently recorded the song showing his support
for the junior United States Senator from Illinois, Barack Obama. The
song, which was released by New York's VP Records, may be used in
Obama's campaign, Cocoa Tea said.

He
said the response to the song has been "overwhelming". "The song has
had write ups everywhere, I was even interviewed by the associate
press. The song was even played on CNN and BBC. They said that that's
the song Obama is supposed to use in his campaign. A radio disc jockey in New York called me and told me Obama's people called saying they need the song."

Trendsetter

The song entitled Barack Obama hails Obama as a trendsetter and urges Americans to unite as one behind him to "paint all di white house black."

According
to Cocoa Tea, he made the song because he was impressed by Obama's
message. "Di reason I record di song is because of what 's going on in
the election, young people running round him, resounding his message,
his message of change. Is a long time di White House run between
Clinton and Bush, dem need a change," he said.

Cocoa Tea emphasised to the STAR
that he is not supporting Obama because he is a black man, and pointed
out that blacks and whites, no matter their circumstances, were also
supporting the presidential candidate.

The
song states "Well dis is not class nor colour, race nor creed/ Make no
mistake, it's about the changes, what the Americans need/ dem a shout
out Barrack Obama, Barack Obama."

STARLEFT_1_PQDUZbarack2AM.jpg

Barack Obama and Cocoa Tea (above). - file photos

The
song continues: "Black man and white woman shouting (Obama) Yuh can
hear dem saying Barack Obama (repeat) ...Di momentum is hot and no one
can't stop dat...All some of dem dat was racist a jump and shout out in
di streets Barack Obama."

Cocoa
Tea goes on to announce that the winner is not the other candidates as
he sings "Its not Hilary Clinton (Obama), its not John McCain, it is
not Chuck Norris and I know is not John Wayne (Obama)... Its not di
terminator"

Cocoa
Tea became the second major Caribbean musician to endorse Obama in
song, joining Trinidadian calypso star, Mighty Sparrow, who recently
recorded a track titled Barack the Magnificent.

You can listen di tune deh. Seem like Obama is really gaining some serious backative from all over. I like his chances...tune

Nokia N95 WITH 8GB WOOOO...!

March 6, 2008
Started By xForcex13 Comments
nokia-us-n95-8gb-hands-on-00.jpg
I Got a an from a friend in Japan local Nokia flagship store, and lo, it seems the mythical N95 8GB with HSDPA 850 / 1900 is now in stock. The all-black monster of Nokia's current Nseries lineup will run you a stiff $799 -- so get your credit card out, get your 3G on, and find out exactly what 8GB of music you want to carry with you. clapclap

Sikh loses helmet fight

March 6, 2008
Started By RiddimRyder6 Comments
March 06, 2008
Canadian Press

4d6fd4e74a3dbbb8d58ac68df34b.jpeg

A judge has ruled Ontario's helmet law does not discriminate against a turban-wearing Sikh motorcyclist.

Baljinder Badesha's fight against a $110 fine for not wearing a helmet took on the character of a constitutional challenge, with the Ontario Human Rights Commission intervening on his behalf.

The commission argued the provincial helmet law discriminates against Badesha because it violates his constitutional rights.

Ontario Court Justice James Blacklock ruled against that argument today.

Blacklock says allowing Badesha and other Sikh motorcyclists to ride without helmets would put "undue hardship" on the province because of safety concerns.

Similar challenges have seen exemptions made for Sikh motorcyclists in British Columbia and Manitoba. The United Kingdom, Hong Kong and India also allow devout Sikhs to forego the helmet.

Wednesday, 05 March 2008 Image  Britain has increased the sum they are willing to pay Jamaicans and other non-European prisoners in the UK to leave Britain.

The offer, part of the UK's drive to tackle prison overcrowding, now exceeds 3,000 pounds.

This is up from a figure of over 2,000 pounds offered in October last year.

The enhanced "financial reintegration package" is being offered until the end of next month as the Prison Service struggles with a record jail population.

Foreign criminals from outside the European Economic Area are able to apply for help with education, training, housing and resettlement of up to three thousand pounds until the end of next month.

There are an estimated 11,000 foreign prisoners in jails in England and Wales.  

An estimated 3,000 are Jamaicans.

Only last month the British government announced that thousands of foreign prisoners would be deported almost a year early as part of its efforts to relieve overcrowding.                

hursday March 6, 2008

Looking forward to a nice leisurely weekend?

Don't count on it. At least part of it will see you outside in your driveway shoveling another large dumping of snow.

Just two days after the city weathered yet another big storm that dropped up to 15 centimetres of flakes across the GTA and made for a miserable morning commute, comes the latest sequel in the unpopular series.

A oncoming low from Texas will gathering moisture as it slowly seeps its way towards Ontario. Exactly how it tracks will determine how much snow we'll get, but this unwanted guest is expected to arrive at the worst time - just as the Friday afternoon rush heats up.

The storm has the potential to bring about 5-10cm to the city, with some forecast models showing up to 20 by the time it all ends late Saturday. About 5cm could fall Friday night and that's just the appetizer. The full course meal of this latest offering will be served up the next day, with another 10-15cm more.

Only a high pushing out of the priaries could prevent it from becoming a major event, but it's too soon to say if that will rescue us.

Whatever happens, this latest disturbance could mean your drive home will be a real mess, and some are suggesting you make plans to leave early, just in case.

Bad as things are, southern Ontario could get off easy. Environment Canada has issued a special weather statement, noting that this storm has the potential to be "one of the biggest snow makers of the winter" for the eastern part of the province. So if you have any travel plans, you might want to reconsider them.

It's just the latest big blow to a city that was winter weary before the season even began, after snow first started falling back in November. And while this one won't be a record breaker for us, it could come close. The all-time snowfall for March 8th came back in 1980, when 17.8cm hit the ground.

And after a difficult and impossible winter, this won't surprise you: there's more snow in the forecast for the early part of next week, with another period of flakes expected on Tuesday.

The good news is there's more precipitation in the long range outlook for next Thursday. How can that be good news? This time, it appears that temperatures will stay well above freezing, and whatever comes down will fall as rain.

What are the all-time winter snowfall records for Toronto?

Check the 7-day forecast

Read meteorologist Michael Kuss's blog on the approaching storm
March 06, 2008

The Canadian Press, 2008

346ce58840ddad916d34e4e9defc.jpeg

NEW YORK - A small b**** caused minor damage to an empty military recruiting station in Times Square early Thursday, shaking guests in hotel rooms high above "the crossroads of the world."

Police blocked off the area to investigate the explosion, which occurred at about 3:45 a.m. No one was injured. The blast left a gaping hole in the front window and shattered a glass door, twisting and blackening its metal frame.

Authorities said at a news conference that a witness saw a person on a bicycle wearing a backpack and acting suspiciously, but that no one saw a person place the device in front of the recruiting centre.

"If it is something that's directed toward American troops then it's something that's taken very seriously and is pretty unfortunate," said Army Capt. Charlie Jaquillard, commander of Army recruiting in Manhattan.

He said no one was inside the station, where the Marines, Air Force and Navy also recruit.

Witnesses staying at a Marriott hotel four blocks away said they could feel the building shake with the blast.

"I was up on the 44th floor and I could feel it. It was a big bang," said Darla Peck, 25, of Portland, Oregon.

"It shook the building. I thought it could have been thunder, but I looked down and there was a massive plume of smoke so I knew it was an explosion," said Terry Leighton, 48, of London, who was staying on the 21st floor of the Marriott.

Though subway cars passed through the Times Square station without stopping in the early hours of the investigation, normal service was soon restored, with some delays.

The recruiting station, located on a traffic island surrounded by Broadway theatres and restaurants, has occasionally been the site of anti-war demonstrations, ranging from silent vigils to loud rallies.

In October 2005, a group of activists who call themselves the Granny Peace Brigade rallied there against the Iraq war. Eighteen activists, most of them grandmothers with several in their 80s and 90s, were later acquitted of disorderly conduct.

The recruiting station was renovated in 1999 to better fit into the flashy ambiance of Times Square, using neon tubing to give the glass and steel office a patriotic American flag motif.

Police said it was too early to say if the blast may have been related to two other minor explosions in the city.

In October, two small explosive devices were tossed over a fence at the Mexican consulate, shattering three windows but causing no injuries. No threats had been made against the consulate, and no one took responsibility for the explosion, police said.

At the time, police said they were investigating whether it was connected to a similar incident at the British consulate on May 5, 2005.

In that incident, the explosions took place in the early morning hours, when Britons were going to the polls in an election that returned Prime Minister Tony Blair to power.

In both cases, the instruments were fake grenades sometimes sold as novelty items. They were packed with black power and detonated with fuses, but incapable of causing serious harm, police said.

«First  <  1472 473 474 475 476524  >  Last»  | Page of 524  sorted by