A wacky songwriter-producer in Maryland says that Kanye West is diggin' his gold, lifting his tune "Volume of Good Life" for the Kanye smash hit "Good Life."
According to TMZ.com In a rambling lawsuit filed in Maryland District Court, Dayna Staggs (aka D'Mystro) is suing Kanye and his record label, Roc-a-Fella for copyright infringement. Staggs says that West "didn't obtain a license to use "Volume of Good Life" for his tune, and points out that Kanye was "only at the age of 6 or 7 years of age [sic]" when his song was written. ??D'Mystro is also peeved because Kanye's song "contains vulgar and offensive" images and "harms the reputation" of his much cleaner song. He wants 85% of all world sales of the proceeds from the music that uses his work, though he doesn't explain how he came up with that number. Kanye's label hasn't returned a message seeking comment.
Can you give us some advice, please.
M.C., St Catherine, Jamaica
Dear M.C.,
Your cousin needs to understand that it is not advisable for a girl to start having sex when she is very young. It has been proven that women who become sexually active at a very tender age often suffer from cancer of the cervix. Secondly, the age of consent is 16, therefore although she is having sex, she cannot consent. I recognise that these guys are also teenagers, but older than her. They can be charged for abusing her.
Your cousin needs counselling. So encourage her to talk to a family counsellor. I have her address and her name. I cannot write to her because you are the person who wrote to me on her behalf. I will drop you a line and suggest to you where you can tell her to go for counselling.
Spinnin', Scratch on the big truck! |
Roland Henry Thursday, March 27, 2008 |
Roland Henry |
Twenty years ago, disc jocks boarding carnival trucks would have to bring along volumes of vinyl records and chunky turntables.
In 2008, technology has put a 'spin' on things, and musical machinery is ever evolving to suit life in the iTunes-always-on-the-download era.
"Right now if you playing on a truck, you don't have to worry about the driver making a sudden stop and disturbing the record," quips ace carnival spin doctor Kurt. 'The Party Animal' Riley, ".dem days deh done, it's all digital now."
Riley - who's in demand this weekend since he's scheduled to play at the official WATA party ahead of a stint on the FAME 95 road truck on Sunday during the road march - further expresses his excitement about Scratch LIVE, a hardware/software system from audio research company Serato.
Thursday Tech online checks reveal that Scratch LIVE is touted as "the ultimate software and hardware solution for bridging the analog world of vinyl and the digital world of computer audio files."
"I no longer have to board the truck with 600 CDs," says Riley, adding too that "playing on the road is easier because the software allows me to organise my music. you can arrange what songs you want played prior to boarding the truck."
The Serato system, Riley informs Thursday Tech, retails for around US$500 - $700 - a small price to pay, he believes, for organisation and lightness.
"The Scratch LIVE package includes an extremely rugged, portable, high-quality, bus-powered USB audio device, featuring two software switchable stereo phono or line inputs, a microphone input, two line outputs and pass-throughs for all inputs," the company's website claims.
"Scratch LIVE interface connects almost any computer to an ordinary pair of turntables or CD players, and the software faithfully tracks every subtle movement of the stylus on the included control records. The same movement is then instantly applied to any digital audio file in the user's collection, producing a sound and feel that is indistinguishable from vinyl."
The Scratch is both Windows XP and Mac Os-X compatible, and is able to do a variety of tasks including beat extraction, real-time tempo metering, waveform colouring based on spectral content, multiple cue points per track, and full iTunes library integration.
Riley endorses, further saying: "Just attach it to your standard laptop and that's it. You can actually walk with all the music you own if you have an external hard drive. With this machine you can store and store music. only playing perhaps a tenth of the music you have on there at any given party."
He believes this technology is cheaper, since jocks who own this system no longer need to burn CDs.
He's mindful, however, that though Serato offers 'sweet technology' the Sratch is not infallible.
"The only concern you should have is if your hard drive crashes, and if that happens you know what you've got to do," Riley says, adding, "that's pretty much it for me, until technology decides to throw something else my way."
Police shooting sparks protest |
Corey Robinson Thursday, March 27, 2008 |
THE fatal shooting of a man by the police along John's Lane in Kingston yesterday sparked demonstrations along several streets in the country's capital by residents of surrounding communities who claimed the man was murdered.
The official police said 24-year-old Sheldon Williams, a resident of Laws Street in Kingston, was cut down when a police patrol engaged a group of gunmen in a pre-dawn gunfight.
Williams' body, the police said, was found near a foot path with gunshot wounds after his cronies fled into nearby buildings, leaving him behind shortly after 3:00 am.
Residents claimed, however, that the police's version of the story was skewed.
"A true them see him have some coke in him hand and when him see them (cops) a come him throw it in him mouth," a male resident claimed yesterday.
The man, who said he had known Williams personally, said that despite several warnings by the police to spit out the drugs, Williams refused and was shot-dead after he allegedly swallowed the contraband.
"Them youth there walk bout the place here all the while; he is no troublemaker, him don't involve in no gun thing," an elderly resident told the Observer.
Yesterday, an officer at the Kingston Central Investigative Branch denied to comment on the residents' allegations.
The demonstrations forced motorists to divert from East Queen Street, the major thoroughfare for persons travelling into Kingston from St Thomas, which was rendered impassable due to debris deposited by the protesters.
Sections of Hanover Street, East Queen Street and Gold Street were also blocked.
The roads were cleared in the afternoon by members of the security forces, who maintained a strong present in the area.
A 31-year-old policeman who has been charged in connection with the June 2007 kidnapping of a 44-year-old man at Bogue Village in Montego Bay, St James, is scheduled to appear in court on Friday.
Const. Omar Gordon was formally charged on Tuesday with conspiracy to kidnap and breaches of the Corruption Prevention Act, following a ruling by the director of public prosecutions.
Constable Gordon reportedly turned himself over to the Montego Freeport Police Station on March 11, after his colleagues expressed an interest in speaking to him in relation to the kidnapping of Howard Timothy Pattico, who has not been seen since.
"He (Gordon) went in with his attorney and at this time he is being held at an undisclosed location," Assistant Commissioner of Police Leslie Green, head of the Organised Crime Unit, told The Gleaner.
Couple robbed
Police reports are that on Wednesday, June 13 last year, Pattico and a woman were at his house in Bogue Village when men armed with guns and wearing bullet-proof vests and caps marked 'POLICE' entered the house and robbed the couple of an undetermined sum of money. They took Pattico with them.
The kidnappers sped away in a getaway car, which was allegedly driven by Constable Gordon.Keep up the wonderful job you are doing. I need some advice. I met and fell in love with a man who I really thought was the one for me. Not long into the relationship I got pregnant. In the beginning everything was going fine. I was happy and he was happy. Now, whenever we have a misunderstanding he keeps saying he is not giving me anything for the child until he does a DNA test and he will not put the child in his name. About five months into the relationship, we broke up because he started to try to have sex with my niece. He would come around now and then to see if I am ok.
When the baby was born, he gave me very little for him. He would say he was not giving me any money because I would spend it on myself and I should go and find a stepfather for the child. He would insult and disrespect me whenever he came around. I couldn't take it anymore so I told him not to come back. I went and registered the baby and gave him my surname. When I told him what I did, he never came back to see the child.
My problem is that sometimes I feel guilty that it is because of me that the baby will not know his father. I am capable of taking care of the baby financially so that's not an issue. I just could not take the verbal abuse from this man anymore.
Please, tell me if I am a bad person.
S.P., Clarendon, Jamaica
Dear S.P.,
You are not a bad person, but I regret that you did not register the child in his father's name. I understand why you got fed up and registered child and did not ask him to accompany you so that his name could have been on the birth certificate. But what you did should not cause him to not support the child and if he has a doubt whether he is the father of the child a paternity test can be done.
Too many men behave as hooligans. They do not have respect for women. Whether you can support the child without his help is not the issue. He has a moral obligation to support his child and you should see that he does so. Even if it means that you will have to take him to court.
As the child grows up, tell him who is his father. He will understand. You don't have to entertain the father at your house, but if he is a good man, he would want to support his child and to be with him from time to time.
Pastor
It is almost impossible to imagine what would lead a person to rape someone. But what is even more inconceivable is thinking about what could drive a man to carry out such an act on a 77-year-old woman.
The Centre for the Investigation of Sexual Offences and Child Abuse (CISOCA) is currently investigating such a case where an elderly woman from east Kingston was raped last Tuesday by someone she cannot identify.
According to police reports, the woman was asleep but was awakened by a man who had entered her home by forcing open the front door.
The CISOCA reported that the woman made a statement which claimed that her room was poorly lit and as such, she could not recognise or identify her attacker.
Nevertheless, residents of the community are fingering a certain individual as the rapist. They claim they know he is responsible for the act against the elderly woman whom they describe as someone who did not deserve to be treated in such a way.
"All now mi cyaa believe seh somebody would really rape di poor ol' woman. A so him heated an horny?" one resident questioned.
According to CISOCA also, the police are acting on information they have been receiving on a possible suspect.
The elderly woman was not hospitalised but has been receiving counselling.Chrysler will begin offering in-car web access by the end of 2008 in their new car models. By using cell phone technology, they will be able to make the car stereo a roaming wi-fi port, and you will be able to get a wireless signal on the road. It will be available as a dealer add-on later this year, and then as a factory option going forward.
Other auto makers, such as Ford, will be doing the same, beginning in 2009, so you can look forward to reading TheFeed on long trips in your car from now on. Won't that be great? We're with you...always.
Jamaica was the topic of hot discussion on doughty.gdbtv.com. Among the topics looked at were, 'Is Jamaica the most homophobic country in the world?', 'Does Jamaican reggae/dancehall murder music contribute to anti-Gay violence?', 'Should concerts by murder music singers be canceled?'
Examining these questions were Stop Murder Music campaigners, Dennis Carney of the Black Gay Men's Advisory Group, and Brett Lock of the Gay human rights group OutRage!
There were eight leading dancehall artistes in the hot seat among them were Buju Banton, Bounty Killer and Beenie Man who the group claimed have released songs openly advocating, encouraging and glorifying the murder of queers. They have never apologized or expressed a word of regret. On the contrary, they have defended their exhortations to "kill queers."
In an article written by Peter Tatchell for gayrepublic.org he didn't hold back any punches as he claimed the issue is not about mere homophobia. According to him it concerns incitement to murder.
"Many Gay and straight Jamaicans argue that lyrics urging the killing of queers may not create homophobia and queer-bashing attacks, but that these lyrics do help legitimate and encourage them. When homophobic violence is extolled by big-name reggae super stars it
fuels and reinforces anti-Gay hatred. This hatred is the precondition of, and the gateway to, homophobic discrimination, harassment and violence. The murder music of these reggae icons leads some young men to believe that it is cool and acceptable to bash Lesbian and Gay people. It gives them license. It feeds their homophobic machismo," Tatchell argued.
Tatchell in his article also lashed out at the government, "The murder music singers are not the only culprits. The Jamaican government and police are notorious for their inaction against homophobic violence. According to Jamaican law, inciting violence and murder is a criminal offense. Why aren't these artists being prosecuted?"
He ended the article by claiming the fight would not stop until gay violence is ended and all gay Jamaicans can walk about in peace.
Posted
Use Facebook to. |
Janelle Nelson Tuesday, March 25, 2008 |
Imagine this, you have applied for the tertiary institution of your dreams, on your application form you've given the institution 'safe' references. After all, you know the people who will give a good report about you. But you could put your acceptance in jeopardy. How? you may ask. Well, everybody now has access to the Internet and how you present yourself on the internet can influence how your interviewer sees you. Always remember first impressions last.
Tips on making your profile 'acceptable':
. Do not put indecent pictures on your profile.
. Only put pictures on your profile that you would not mind your parents or any other adult seeing and copying on your page.
. Do not use curse words while giving information about yourself on your profile.
. Remove any unsightly comments or pictures posted by others on your profile.
It is important for us as TEENs to recognise that we live in a global world. The idea of your future Dean of admission, at your institution of choice, seeing your FacebookŽ profile is not that far-fetched. Before you reject the idea of making your profile on all the internet social networks you are a member of "presentable", think about the recent scandals involving students and making videos. I am sure that you were able to see the videos or know someone who had access to them.
Check your next TEENage for more helpful tips on how to use social networking sites for educational purposes.
Recently, rumours of a fashion feud between both entertainers who are known for their often stylish take on dancehall fashion, have been circulating. It is claimed that hostile words have been exchanged behind the scenes between the two females. The feud reportedly intensified when Macka Diamond won the best dressed female artiste award at one awards event and D'Angel was furious. It is said that Macka Diamond was later upset when D' Angel subsequently won the award for best dressed female at another awards event.
Fuel was added to the rumour mill with the release of Macka Diamond's most recent song titled Best Dressed. In the song Macka deejays, "mi have mi best dress house and mi best dress car, mi best dress man jus fly in from far. Mi best dress fren dem a mi and dem a par, who outa deh so want a best dress war? Di best dress thug dem nuh bus SLR... di best dress wifey dem nuh fight matey war and mi best dress hairdresser mi nuh owe har."
However, when contacted Macka Diamond denied that the song was aimed at D'Angel and denied any reports of a feud.According to Macka she is not aware of any feud and they are friends. She saidthat her song was written about various things that have been occurring at dances. She said "its just a song built from dances. A pure of dat a go on where people a dress up, dress up. It's built for anything and everybody 'cause all people house a get dress up."
According to D'Angel's publicist, Marc Johnson, Macka Diamond is "safe" as there is no feud brewing between the two entertainers. Johnson said that based on the calibre of artiste that D' Angel is, she is only concerned about making positive music. "The artiste is not interested in confrontation, music has never been her way of confronting people. She's not interested in feuding she's always someone to go to the drawing table to offer quality and positive entertainment,"Johnson said.
Johnson emphasised; "there is no rivalry between she and Macka or others who think they can ride on her name. Angel enjoys a good friendship wid Macka."
Last week Hype TV network premiered Mavado's latest scorching video, "Last Night." Hitting the streets 'racing', the Little X masterpiece gives viewers a pulsating stroll through what is seen as one of the roughest spots in Jamaica - his Cassava-Piece 'Gully' hometown.
Little X, who is the mastermind behind, creatively solid video clips like, Sean Paul's "Gimme The Light," Kanye West's "Workout Plan," and Usher's "U Got It Bad," directed this one in marathon style while on a brief 'break' from his film school professional development. The result - a dynamic video, that is reportedly spreading virally throughout major media circuits.
The single, "Last Night" is scorching up clubs and is featured on Mavado's criticallyacclaimed album "Gangsta for Life: Symphony of David Brooks".
Also in the pipeline for Mavado, is the showcasing of his signature 'real raw' vibe on an upcoming official Barack Obama supporting mixtape to be produced by Green latern and Russell Simmons. The 'major league' production team requested Mavado join Lenny Kravitz, Kanye West, Jay-Z, Common and Mos Def; who are all featured on the compilation to be given away as part of the candidate's campaign. Mavado popular, "On the Rock" track was adapted to suit the occasion.
With that new, "On The Rock" re-mix featuring Jay-Z bursting out at number one on airwaves everywhere right now, Mavado has been thrust into the category titled: 'Best of Rock'; and will be featured as such in an upcoming Rolling Stones Magazine issue.
Booorrring!! ...10 ways to beat the Easter slump |
Shawna-Kay Williams Tuesday, March 25, 2008 |
Picnics are a good way to pass the time this Easter break. |
This Easter holiday, however short, could turn out to be quite boring. Sure, you get time to unwind from all the normal everyday hassles and eat the sumptuous bun and cheese, sleep and you name it, but, wouldn't you want a little spice to all this? So what do you do even though you are broke?
Well, here are 10 easy ways in which you can escape from being swallowed up in boredom and boost your energy before school resumes.
1 Go to church. And no it wouldn't be boring if you put on a little Easter concert with drama, singing and dancing. Trust me that could be some real entertainment, especially if you are involved.
2 Rent a movie and invite a couple friends over to watch. You could serve your own popcorn and soda or cook up something really tasty.
3 Go out on the town. Just let your hair down for a while. Even if you are broke, you could do some window shopping or try some clothes and when you get the cash you could always return to purchase them.
4 If you reside in the countryside, where it is cool and tranquil, you could always go to the river and do some fishing and swimming. You could even do some bush cooking with roast fish and yam.
5 If you are in the urban area you could go to the beach to cool off and have a picnic on the beach!
6 If you are more of an introvert you could just stay inside sleep, watch a movie or read that book that you have been too busy studying to read.
7 Go and visit some relatives and friends that you haven't seen for a while now. You might be amazed with the interesting happenings they have to share!
8 Girls you could have a slumber party or a girls night out with ice-cream, candy, you know, just pure fun.
9 If you are on hi5 or any other social networking sites maybe this is a good time to go on Messenger with a friend and you know, get familiar. It's always exciting when you are about to discover one's character.
10 Get a new look, new style (nothing too drastic, since school will resume shortly) and touch the road nuh, maybe a party or just down the road.
I can guarantee you that these workable and cheap suggestions are sure to make you relaxed and revitalised for those CSEC or CAPE exams that will be coming to disturb your peace in the next two months.
Wayne Marshall Lessons on Life and Love |
BY TYRONE S REID Observer staff writer reidt@jamaicaobserver.com Sunday, March 23, 2008 |
With scorching new music blazing the airwaves and several projects in the pipeline, the dancehall star sits down for a Sunday Entertainment exclusive to talk about staying relevant in the biz, his forthcoming album and why Tami is the only one for him.
What Wayne Marshall wants, he gets. A hot new music video ready for release. Check. A smart, healthy son. Check. A gorgeous woman by his side. Check. And when it comes to having a bigger, more successful career in the music industry, he's determined to make room for that too.
Wayne Marshall wants to be perceived as an artiste who's breaking new ground |
For sure, Wayne Marshall is no stranger to hard work. Consider the breakneck pace at which he's been working lately, putting the finishing touches to his upcoming compilation album, True Story (set for an April release), and shooting new music videos. And don't even get me started on the numerous performances he's been doing during his recent tour of the Caribbean and at shows islandwide.
Ever the humble one, the 27-year-old father of one acknowledges that he's become a workaholic. But, of course, the results and the success are well worth it.
And he's not afraid to be himself despite persistent rumours about the romantic life he's leading with one of the hottest chicks in the dancehall game. Understandably, he's very private and protective of that side of his life. But, he will unabashedly tell you this: he's happy and crazy in love. And that's what matters.
In his most personal interview to date, Sunday Entertainment chatted with the artiste about making new music for the fans, love and relationships and why he's okay with fans dubbing him a sex symbol.
Sunday Entertainment (SE): Now that you're hard at work in the studio crafting new music for the fans. What are you most excited about?
Wayne Marshall (WM): Right now for me, it's all about reinventing myself and discovering a new sound. I'm exploring my voice, getting to try new techniques, understanding these techniques and experimenting with new styles of delivery. So I'm excited about finding new ways of delivering my material and new styles of poetic expression.
SE: So what can fans expect as the year progresses?
WM: Fans can expect a lot because we are planning to infiltrate the biz and looking forward to doing a lot more videos. We are trying to create a big bang for the summer. We have the Alliance album coming which we are currently working on, hopefully for a release in the last third of this year. Fans have a lot to look out for. There's so much going on. We really stepping up the game with a whole lot of Wayne Marshall vibes so people are going to feel the impact.
SE: Your debut album, Marshall Law, was released in 2003 and now you're gearing up to drop True Story, a compilation release featuring guest artistes. How much would you say you've grown as an artiste since your debut five years ago?
WM: I am a totally different person physically, emotionally, spiritually. I believe in being a different person this week from last week. And I think my experiences during the five years have helped to make me a better person and build my character.
SE: Having gone through numerous relationships in the past, do you pull from those experiences in crafting your music?
WM: Everything is thrown into the boiling pot. All my experiences: whether it's waking up in the morning or going through a bad relationship. All things in my life serve as inspiration. They give me a vibe whether I'm on the stage or in the studio. My experiences always influence how I express myself through music.
SE: What topics (and issues) appeal to you most to sing or deejay about?
WM: My music is about reality, real-life experiences: struggles, love, lust. Those issues. Mi a conscious yute from long time but dancehall is a hardcore business so you have to keep up that side of your career. My fans that have been supporting me are mostly hardcore and without having that hardcore element, it wouldn't be the same for me. You just have to try and do your best, always, to succeed.
SEt: That's understandable, Let's switch gears a bit and talk a bit about your romantic life. I hear you're in love and in a committed relationship at the moment.
WM: (Laughs) Yes, it's a committed relationship. It's under firm commitment. For now, it's a long distance kind of thing but you just have to take life in stages. There's a time for everything. A time to be together and a time to be apart. But there's no bigger love than this one.
SE: So, what makes her special in your eyes?
WM: That would take up the whole Observer (Laughs). But she is special in every way; special talent, special personality. Everything is just great about her. She's the most beautiful girl in the world.
SE: I see. So, have you ever had your heart broken in past relationships?
WM: Not broken, maybe cracked or chipped. In high school it was puppy love, so that happened quite often.
SE: Do you think your past emotional setbacks have impacted in any way on your subsequent romantic relationships?
WM: I think they have only made me grow as a person and make me understand women more. The past has made me work harder to have better relationships in the future. It's all about the give and take.
SE: Will we ever hear another collaboration with you and Tami Chynn?
WM: We have nuff collaborations with me and Miss Chynn coming up whether through music or otherwise. There's no ending. The world needs to look out for Tami because she is going to take it to them this year.
SE: We can't wait for all that. By the way, how has fatherhood been treating you?
WM: It has definitely made me a more positive man, more focussed and more reliable because I am a direct role model for my son. He looks to me to be that influence and I want to be the best for him and that's what I've been doing. I love my son (Giomar, turns three in September). I adore him. When people see us together, they always tell me that I'm hooked.
SE: Speaking of being a role model, what do you hope fans will appreciate most about Wayne Marshall, the artiste, in the years to come?
WM: I would say my humility because I am not one to let my experiences get the better of me. I want to keep grounded and I want people to see that. Money don't change us, we are money-changers.
SE: What do you think of fans dubbing you a sex symbol?
WM: The way I see it is that the girls love my thing and I love the girls. And I am glad that they can appreciate the image that I bring across. My female fans always tell me that they admire my style and that I have that kind of appeal so, in that case, I guess I am (Laughs).
SE: Very interesting, indeed. I just have one final question: When all is said and done, how do you want to be truly perceived as an artiste? How do you want others to see you as you look to the future?
WM: I want to be perceived as an artiste who breaks new ground. Someone who does new things in dancehall. I want to bring my thing globally. At the end of the day, I just want people to look at Wayne Marshall and see someone who is well-respected and who is respectful. I want to be a corner-post in the history books.
Glenmuir out KC
Kingston College lost the chance to defend their title when they were knocked out of the TVJ Schools' Challenge Quiz by Glenmuir High yesterday.
The second semi-final match was quite exciting. From section one of the match, Kingston College established a lead with six points while Glenmuir was close behind with five.
Section two was also close with both teams trying hard to maximise the minutes. Glenmuir gained 17 points in that segment to put its score at 22, while Kingston College gained 15 to increase their score to 21 points.
As the teams moved into the buzzer round, Glenmuir's lead widened as they received an additional two points for sports and Spanish questions. Section three of the match was equally intense and although Kingston College were within reach of the win, they failed to get enough questions correct and lost valuable points to end the match with 17 points.
Glenmuir, however, remained focused and gained enough points to distance themselves in the match to end the round with 32 points.
Diona Holmes, one of the coaches of the Glenmuir team, said that she was relieved. "I am so relieved. We went in as the underdogs but they have a fighting spirit," she said.
She added that while they will be facing a tough match against St Jago, they will be trying to get as prepared as possible. "You can't really underestimate your opponent so we will be taking a holistic approach," she said.
Christopher Harell, coach of the Kingston College team, said that despite the loss, they are proud of the team members. "We are extremely proud of the boys. We would have loved to go on to the finals, but we are still proud, of their performance," he said.
He added that he was especially proud, given the fact that they had a brand new team this year. He said he expected that with the experience they gained from this year's competition, they will be even stronger next year
Many Digicel customers received free credit yesterday as a result of an apparent glitch in the company's system, THE STAR understands.
Many people revealed that flex cards, from which the credit was already taken, could be used to add credit. It is understood however, that only the $100 cards could be used.
One man said he was called by a friend about 4 a.m. and told about the "credit spree". "Me did have one old phone card bout five months now inna mi wallet so mi just try it and it work," he told THE STAR. "From that me call a bag a people and tell them, some get and some no get."
Patria-Kaye Aarons, public relations executive at Digicel, admitted that persons may have been able to access credits with old phone cards but said it was just a few. "We have a few confirmed instances, but the guys (technicians) caught it really quickly," she said.
Aarons said the system was being updated so that persons who were unable to put credit on their phones over the holiday period could do so, and this may have been what caused the glitch.
Although unable to say how much money the company would have lost as a result of the "free credit", she said it would not have been much. she was also unable to say if the credit would be taken back.
One woman told THE STAR she was able to add up to $900 worth of credit to her phone. "A di same card, me just add and add and add after it reach $900 it couldn't add no more," she said. "Me keep trying and trying and trying until the system tell me it block mi."
Another woman said she was able to get $400 with the same cards and sent $100 each to three different persons.
Aarons apologised for the inconvenience to customers and said the company has decided to extend their extra credit promotions for another three days.'Holy ghost HIV'
Dear Counsellor:
I read your column in the Star every week. It is a column I really look forward to reading. Now it is my time to write. A few months ago I went to give *lo** for a relative who is pregnant. Last week I was asked to report to the *lo** Bank, when I reported there I was told that HIV was found in my *lo**. This is the worst news I could ever receive. Counsellor, I'm a married man and there is no way I could face my wife with such a horrible news, because I know she is not the one who infected me. Counsellor, let me tell you the truth. I have a little woman on the side, but we all attend the same church and she is a holy ghost person, a Christian woman and moreover she told me she was not having sex with anyone else but me, and I know my wife is a faithful woman also. How could this be? Is it possible for me to be infected and my wife is not?
Worried Elder
Dear Worried Elder:
Yes, it is possible for you to test positive for HIV the virus that causes AIDS and your partner test HIV negative even though you both have been having unprotected sex, but this does not happen very often. You should stop having unprotected sex right away because if your partners are not yet infected they could become infected or if they are infected then you could re-infect each other.
Remember that it is not the number of sex partners that you have that will cause you to become infected with HIV, but it is whether or not you or one of your sex partners has sex with someone who is infected. You must know that HIV can infect anyone who has unprotected sex with someone who is infected, it does not matter whether you are a Christian or not. You must also take the personal responsibility of protecting yourself, only you can protect you. I suggest you speak with a HIV knowledgeable counsellor while you await the result of your second HIV test.
For more information on condom use, HIV/AIDS and other sexually transmitted infections call the AIDS/STD Helpline at 967-3830, 967-3764 or toll free at 1888-991-4444 or write to AIDS Affairs c/o the Star, 7 North Street, Kingston.
An argument about a woman, between a high ranking British Link-Up crew member and a well known entertainment figure, is said to be the reason behind the shooting at the British Link-Up dance at La Roose, Portmore, St. Catherine Sunday morning.
One man was shot dead and eight other persons injured after gunshots rang out at the session.
The dead man was identified as Clifton 'Chocutto' Reid, a member of the Arnett Gardens-based Black Roses Crew. Six other persons, including a woman, were shot in the incident, while two others were injured in a stampede which followed.
Patrons who witnessed the incident, told THE STAR that the shooting began following a discussion between the high ranking British Link-Up member and the entertainment figure. "Is like (the British Link-Up member) tell him (entertainment figure) say that a girl say something and him say a lie, so him call Chocutto' and ask him if a nuh so the girl say and Chocutto say 'yeah man a true'. So (entertainment figure) tell Chocutto to .... him madda and (British Link-Up member) tell Chocutto to tell him back and no fraid a him," one witness said.
He said that when Chocutto answered a gun was pulled and he was shot twice in the head. After he fell he is said to have been shot again.
Another witness said that it was following this that several men, all said to be licensed firearm holders pulled guns and began firing at each other and sending the patrons dashing for cover. In the ensuing melee at least two members of the British Link-up crew and the entertainment figure were shot and injured, the witnesses say.
Efforts to speak with Lena British, the promoter of the show, proved futile, but her publicist, Milk, said that she was "very very upset about the shooting incident" and could not talk. Milk said Lena had some very special guests at the event and was very devastated.
Concerning what happened at the incident, she said from what she gathered, there was a dispute between a woman and a man. During the dispute she said, the woman pulled a knife and the man pulled a gun. She said someone approached the man and told him that any shooting would end the show. She said after this guns were drawn and she immediately left the venue.
Police seized the guns of several licensed firearm holders who were at the venue during the shooting. The weapons will be sent for ballistic tests. Up to late yesterday the police said they were still investigating and could not say what caused the shooting.
Dancer, Ice, a member of the Black Roses Crew, said Chocutto was one of the longest serving members of the group. He said he did not know the circumstances surrounding the shooting but his crew member will be greatly missed. "Is not a yute weh inna nuh badness ting, him well 'beknown' and loving," Ice said. "All him do is go work tings fi himself so him can tek care a him two girls and three yute them."
Asked if the crew will be seeking retaliation for Chocutto's death, Ice said; "Roses nuh inna di war ting, love and unity we a deal wid...We a teach the yute them dancing, modelling, safety and love to di worl' we nah teach nutten bad."
A man who was freed of buggery charges on Thursday was given a sound beating a few hours after by a mob who wanted to deliver their own justice.
The 29-year-old man, of a Yallahs address was set free following a no-case submission by his attorney. The court was told that there was no medical report and that the police investigations could not be completed because there are no credible witnesses to the alleged assault of a 10-year-old minor, who is mute.
Allegations that had been brought against the man were that he was observed holding the minor in his lap with the boy's pants halfway down. He was reportedly challenged and he ran and was later arrested when a report was made to the police.
The defence, however, told the court that the allegation was a fabrication and arose out of a deepening family dispute going as far back as 2001.
However, after the court made its ruling, the decision apparently did not go down well with some persons and a few hours later, a mob invaded the acquitted man's home and attacked him. He was beaten and received several bruises all over his body for which he had to seek medical attention.
When THE STAR spoke to the acquitted man he said that despite being beaten he was not interested in filing charges against his attackers.A desire for revenge yesterday left three people, including a policeman, dead and another injured in a daylight shoot-out which began on Mannings Hill Road and ended in a yard on Glen Drive, St Andrew, the neighbouring community to Cassava Piece.
THE STAR learnt that the shoot-out was as a result of the Monday evening killing of Alton Burgess, 27, who was gunned down about 7:30 on Glen Drive in the company of his brother.
Police reports summarise that hours later, the grieving brother, Damion, 28, decided to take matters into his own hands and went to a bar near Big Yard Mews on Mannings Hill Road where he shot two men, one fatally.
In a bid to escape from police officers who were nearby, he ran through a church but was then greeted by a group of lawmen. He opened fire on them before jumping a zinc fence, ending up in a yard where he was eventually cornered and killed.
Lazano McFarlane, 28, a constable attached to the Mobile Reserve, was killed during the shoot-out. The police say a 9mm Caranda pistol with one 9mm cartridge was taken from Burgess.
EXPRESSED DISGUSTWhen THE STAR visited the community yesterday, residents of both Glen Drive and Cassava Piece expressed disgust at a conflict between men from the areas.
Though the dead brothers were not from either Cassava Piece or Glen Drive, statements from residents of Glen Drive depicted that the murder of Alton was as a result of the conflict between the warring men.
"Da war yah, a from long time eno, is jus a new chapter this. Things a go only get even more wicked ya now," a 20-year-old resident said.
THE STAR was informed that after the killing of the first brother, men from Glen Drive went on a rampage in a section of the adjoining Cassava Piece community where they patrolled the streets with guns in hand and continued to fire shots at residents, fireb****ed a house and also used a towel to choke an 18-year-old until he became unconscious.
Operations Officer for St. Andrew North, Deputy Superintendent Carol McKenzie, said that the police are indeed aware of the conflict between the two adjoining communities.
"There is an internal war in the community, they are fighting for control," DSP McKenzie said before noting that two high-ranking men from Cassava Piece were killed in the last flare-up of violence which left some nine persons dead in separate incidents.Shareena Swinscoe, age 16, made her first appearance on the cover of a major publication when she posed for Britain's "PRIDE" magazine.
Winner of Pulse's Caribbean Model Search (CMS) UK, she is being touted as Britain's next top model. Photo shoots were conducted by one of Europe's top photographers, Ayo Banton.
He expressed great optimism while speaking about Shareena's potential. "She's going to be huge! She has a great look and takes direction really well. She's a little shy and still learning how to move, but in a couple of years she will be amazing."
Reminiscing on the experience, Shareena told reporters, "The shoot was so long, it lasted from 10 am until 6 pm., non-stop. I got on really well with all the crew and I think the pictures are great. I definitely want to reach for the stars in modeling. I really enjoyed the professional environment and all the styling and costumes we tried. This has given me so much experience."