The International Trade Committee (ITC) is recommending that Europe should help to put an end to the world's longest-running trade dispute, by giving its final consent to the 2009 Geneva deal on banana trade tariffs.
The ITC said that the European Parliament should approve the accord even though this deal could not fully reconcile all parties' legitimate interests.
Under the 2009 deal on banana import tariffs, the EU will gradually end its preferential treatment of banana exporters in African, Caribbean and Pacific (ACP) countries. In exchange, Latin American countries have agreed to drop their complaints against the EU at the World Trade Organization (WTO) and not to seek further tariff cuts in the Doha round talks.
The deal will see the EU gradually cut its import tariff on bananas from Latin America in eight stages, from EURO 176 (US$241) a tonne at the outset to EURO 114 (US$156) in 2017.
Bananas from the ACP countries will on the other hand continue to enter the EU market duty free. Furthermore, the main ACP banana-producing countries are to receive help from the EU budget, up to EURO 200 million (US$274.1 million) to help them adjust to stiffer competition from Latin America.
The Geneva agreement is expected to bring benefits also to European consumers who should find cheaper bananas in stores thanks to greater competition between producers.
Special financial provisions are also foreseen for the EU's outermost banana-producing regions. These provisions must be now spelled out in a different EU regulation, with Parliament as co-legislator.. Parliament's Agriculture Committee is now studying the proposed support scheme for certain agricultural products in the outermost regions.
The report recommending that Parliament grant its binding consent to the Geneva agreement will be put to plenary vote on February 3.
If the full Parliament consents to the deal, this will mark the end of the 16-year long banana war.
In 1993, the EU established an import regime that allowed ACP bananas to enter the EU market largely duty-free. On the other hand, the regime slapped tariffs on bananas from Latin America which are mainly produced by a handful of big US multinationals.
The EU is the world's largest banana market. More than 70 per cent of bananas sold in the EU come from Latin America with around 20 per cent coming from the ACP States.
There's a lot you can be doing now to reduce the taxes you pay next year, based on tax changes for 2011. But did you know it's not too late to reduce the taxes you pay this year, when you file your 2010 return? Here are five changes affecting exclusions, deductions, credits or other tax breaks to help you slash your tax bill for 2010.
1. Inflation Adjustments. While inflation has been low, there have still been some increases to tax brackets. This means you were able to earn more in 2010 than in 2009 without being pushed into a higher tax bracket for 2010.
There have also been adjustments to various income limits on eligibility to claim certain exclusions, deductions and tax credits. For example, the income limits have been adjusted for the retirement savers credit, the exclusion for interest on U.S. savings bonds redeemed for higher education and the earned income credit. Just because you didn't qualify on last year's return doesn't mean you won't qualify in 2010.
2. Extended Tax Breaks. Dozens of important tax breaks that expired at the end of 2009 have been extended for 2010. These include the above-the-line deductions for tuition and fees and the $250 educator deduction, the option to deduct state and local sales taxes instead of state and local income taxes for those who itemize, and the deduction for mortgage insurance premiums.
Because Congress did not okay these extensions until late in 2010, the IRS needs more time to adapt their systems. Taxpayers claiming these above-the-line deductions or who itemize their personal deductions cannot e-file before February 14.
Note: Not all expired rules were extended. Don't look for these 2009 breaks on your 2010 return: an additional standard deduction for real estate taxes and net disaster losses, an exclusion from income for some unemployment benefits, and a sales tax deduction on new car purchases.
Even though the IRS officially declared tax season open, millions of taxpayers weren't sure when they would be able to file their returns because of the last minute tax deal. Now the IRS has declared Feb. 14 -- Valentine's Day -- as the start date for processing tax returns.
Beginning then, the IRS will begin processing paper and e-filed federal income tax returns for taxpayers claiming itemized deductions on Schedule A, the higher education tuition and fees deduction on federal form 8917, and the educator expenses deduction. Before that date, those taxpayers may prepare their returns, but the IRS will not accept or process them.
Early estimates were that as many as 50 million taxpayers could be affected by the delay, but the IRS now estimates that the number is closer to 9 million. The revised number is based on the timing of similar tax returns filed by mid-February 2010.
Taxpayers who aren't affected by the delay -- largely, those who do not itemize their deductions -- constitute the largest percentage of taxpayers. Those taxpayers may begin filing their returns immediately.
Many tax software packages, including those sold by TurboTax and H&R Block, have announced that they will prepare any affected returns immediately and hold the returns until the Feb. 14 processing date. Many paid preparers will similarly hold your return for you -- be sure to ask upfront if this is something you're concerned about. If your software package or preparer doesn't offer this service, you can still begin preparing your return, but you'll need to wait until Feb. 14 to send your return to the IRS.
The IRS delayed the processing dates because it needed the extra time to update its systems after Congress pushed the Tax Relief, Unemployment Insurance Reauthorization, and Job Creation Act of 2010 through at year's end. As a result of the new law, a number of tax provisions that had previously expired at the end of 2009 were renewed -- in the nick of time -- for 2010. Ultimately, that's a good thing for taxpayers -- even if it does mean a little bit of a wait.
3. Deferral for Roth IRA Conversion Income. If you converted a traditional IRA to a Roth IRA in 2010, you can automatically defer half of the income from the conversion to 2011 and half to 2012 by not reporting the income on your return. However, if you want to include the income in 2010 -- because it can be offset by a net operating loss or for some other reason -- you can choose to do so.
4. No Phase-Outs for High-Income Taxpayers. In the past, if your income exceeded certain limits, your personal exemptions and itemized deductions were reduced. In 2010, there is no such reduction, so you can enjoy all of the write-offs you're entitled to.
5. Alternative Minimum Tax (AMT) Relief. The AMT exemption for 2010 is increased to $72,450 for taxpayers filing jointly, $47,450 for single taxpayers and those filing as head of households, and $36,225 for married couples filing separately; this keeps more taxpayers from having to pay this tax. What's more, nonrefundable personal credits -- such as the dependent care credit, the credit for buying a hybrid car and the home energy property credit -- can be used to offset not only regular tax but also the AMT.
If, for any reason, you can't file your 2010 by April 18, 2011, just ask for a filing extension to avoid late filing penalties. This will give you until Oct. 17, 2011, to file the return and avoid late-filing penalties. Use IRS Form 4868, which can be filed electronically or by paper. But the filing extension does not give you more time to pay your taxes, so pay as much as you think you'll owe.
Barbara Weltman is an attorney and author of books such as J.K. Lasser's 1001 Deductions and Tax Breaks and The Complete Idiot's Guide to Starting a Home-Based Business. She is also the publisher of Idea of the Day®and monthly e-newsletter Big Ideas for Small Business® at www.barbaraweltman.com and host of Build Your Business radio. Follow her on Twitter, @BarbaraWeltman
Maroon 5, the three-time Grammy Award-winning American quintet, made Friday night's edition of the Jamaica jazz and Blues Festival an unforgettable affair, stunning fans at the Trelawny Multi-purpose Stadium with a blazing performance laced with high energy, class and charisma.
Blending their sleek, crisp and engaging style, they simply mesmerised with the pleasing mix of pop, R&B and sometimes 'jazzy' funk, which had their teenage fans and other young-at-heart patrons regally entertained during their impressive 75 minutes of musical blitz, in which very few major hits were spared.
Taking the stage to deafening screams at 12:30 a.m., the group's lead singer, Adam Levine, opened with a dazzling rendition of the song, Misery; and as the screams grew louder and the onstage jamming, which featured impressive instrumental work, got more engaging, songs like, If I Never, Harder to Breathe, The Sun and Won't Go Home, kept driving fresh energy into the performance.
Competitive singalongs
With the fans joining in with rhythmic handclaps, catcalls and bouts of competitive singalongs initiated by Levine, songs such as the soulful classic, Secret, which got incredible instrumental support; She Will, Wake Up Call, Stutter and their closing number, This Love, had the crowd in awe, especially during the segments in which the stirring guitar strains and pulsating drum beats took over from the vocal offerings.
When Maroon 5 initially departed the stage after one hour, the screaming teens, especially some hanging precariously over the security rails, all but forced them back on stage for an encore.
Despite the obvious strain of the performance (perspiration was everywhere), the group obliged in fine style, returning to centre stage to seal their incredible set with extended offerings of, Makes Me Wonder and Sunday Morning.
Prior to the magic of Maroon 5, the performances were generally good, but not compelling.
Regina Belle was quite soulful and engaging as she reminded older patrons of the captivating power of R&B, while the more youthful trio, the energetic SWV (Sisters with Voices) demonstrated that the future of blues was in safe hands.
Belle, looking a picture of elegance in full black, showed why she has won four R&B/pop Grammy awards with a most pleasing performance, in which she wrapped her amazing voice around memorable hits like, Dream in Colour, I Hope He Understands and the super sweet Lazy Afternoon.
The classy American songbird, who took time out of her performance to share her experiences of parenting and motherhood with other mothers, had the fans in her corner all the way. She must have felt quite satisfied with the ovation she got when she sealed her well-received set with Nancy Wilson's If I Could, and her own, thought-provoking Baby.
SWV came chockful of positivity and from their opening number to their blazing encore, Weak, their rich gospel-flavoured styling, which was supported by crisp roots melodies, had the patrons rooting for them. The physical and vocal treatment they gave to a male patron, who they had invited on the stage, added an extra burst of energy to the performance.
It was both sexy and soulful as SWV worked their way through songs such as All about You, Don't Waste Your Time and You Are the One, which clearly set the stage for the encore the patrons later demanded. Earlier, they had elicited generous roars after dedicating the song, The Way You Are, to the memory of the late king of pop, Michael Jackson.
Of the other performances, the group, The Tavares, nattily attired in silver and white, made a bold statement as they combined practice-perfect dance moves with strong vocals and rich melodies.
It was an interesting experience for the fans as the group rolled effortlessly through songs such as Fall in Love, Whose Done It, She is Gone and their first big hit, Check It Out.
The media missed some of the earlier performances, such as Blue G**** and Jimmy Graham, because there were security issues.
About two to four inches of snow and sleet are expected to fall on the city by mid-morning, and then up to two-tenths of an inch of freezing rain will top the snowfall with ice.
Roads and sidewalks are expected to be very slippery and traffic will be slowed down.
Later tonight, a second wave of wintry precipitation will fall on the city. Sleet and freezing rain will fall overnight, followed by almost an inch of rain that will fall by Wednesday evening.
New Yorkers are urged to take mass transit and to avoid driving on roads during and immediately after the snow storm. They should also allow for extra time to get around, take caution on transit platforms and stairs and carefully board trains and buses.
The Metropolitan Transportation Authority prepared for the bad weather by sending de-icing trains to keep the rails in working order.
MTA officials urge New Yorkers to check www.mta.info for the latest transit service changes.
City transportation officials have suspended alternate side parking and parking meter rules for today.
The Department of Sanitation issued a snow alert effective at 1:30 a.m. that makes the agency load salt spreaders and attach plows to vehicles.
Also, the Department of Buildings warned homeowners, contractors and builders to remove ice and snow from roofs and to prepare buildings and construction sites for the upcoming storm.
Veteran calypsonian, Mighty Conqueror (Leroy Paul) was killed last night, a few yards away from the calypso tent In Trinidad where he was due to appear in as part of the 2011 calypso season which opens hereon Friday.
Paul, 71, was hit by a car as he tried to cross the highway near the Calypso Revue Tent that features popular calypsonians such as Sugar Aloes, (Michael Osuna) and Crazy (Edwin Ayoung) Might Chalkdust (Dr. Hollis Liverpool) and Baron (Timothy Watkins Junior).
Colleagues said that Paul, whose popular tunes include Trinidad Dictionary and Fresh Water Yankee, was on his way to rehearsal when the accident occurred.
The calypso season opens here on Friday night as Trinidadians get ready for the annual Carnival celebrations that end on March 8. (CMC)
Kingston, Jamaica: Excellence in Music and Entertainment (EME) Awards Founder and Chairman Richard 'Richie B' Burgess announced recently that the 2011 'International Friend of Reggae Honoree' will be popular American Rapper TRINA. This years seventh annual EME Awards is set to take place on March 12, 2011 at The East Lawn of the historical Devon House site, Hope Road, Kingston.
TRINA, a successful recording artist, songwriter, model and businesswoman announced herself to the music world in 1998 with the single "Nann Nigga" on Trick Daddy's album www.thug.com, and she has continued to push the envelope of Rap and Hip Hop. Her debut album went gold, and her second album 'Diamond Princess,' solidified her reputation as a new queen of hard-core rap. On her latest album 'Amazin,' she collaborated with Dancehall Queen Lady Saw and hip hop queen Nicki Minaj on the song titled 'Dang A Lang.'
Previous International Friend of Reggae Honorees were John Legend, Missy Elliott, Estelle, Jazmin Sullivan, Akon and multiple Grammy award-winning artiste India.Arie who was in attendance last year and gave a most memorable performance.
The 2011 Excellence in Music and Entertainment (EME) Awards will also recognize the top performers within the Jamaican Recording Industry.
Some of the icons of our rich musical heritage as well as the hottest newcomers around will receive the recognition they so rightfully deserve, for providing us with wonderful musical gems throughout their careers, Burgess noted.
There are approximately 30 award categories including DJ of the Year, Best New Artiste, Song of the Year, Vocalist of the year and Producer of the year among others. Winners will be determined based on their performance on The Weekly Jamaica Music Countdown (Charts), votes via texts and votes at the website www.emeawards.com.
This years event will include Road Shows, a Pre-Party, the Awards Ceremony and an After Party. North America's BET Networks was among the international media that covered the spectacular event last year
The entertainment fraternity is now in shock following the killing of one of their own over the weekend, well-known party promoter Roderick Reid.
Several party promoters with whom THE STAR spoke were still in disbelief and were at a loss for words as they came to grips with the news.
Marlon Campbell of D.A.N.C.E. Concept, who knew Reid for over a decade, lauded Reid's contribution to entertainment over the years and explained that he was an exceptional promoter.
"Genius in entertainment, you can't deny that ... the man has been the brain for some of the best parties we have seen. I think entertainment has lost a bright star, Roderick a good yute," Campbell explained.
Campbell also emphasised that, "Anything that is done in his honour will have the full support of D.A.N.C.E Concept."
Likewise, fellow party promoter and friend, Ibrahim Konteh, told THE STAR that the last time he saw Reid alive was Friday of last week and he seemed in high-spirits.
"The last time I did see him was on Friday evening. Him never seem worried at all, him did a look forward fi go back to Barbados to finish off his degree," Konteh recounted.
Konteh also pointed out that Reid was the person who taught him much of what he knows today about the business of entertainment.
"Most of what I know in the business is from dem time deh," Konteh explained.
Similarly, party promoter Gyege Ghartey told THE STAR that the last time he communicated with Reid, "He didn't seem worried. He was only talking about going back to school."
Ghartey also took the opportunity to point out that Reid, "Was a good promoter. Him tend to know what the people dem want."
Reid had a long track record of promoting successful parties and party series, including, Exotic Fridays,Yesterday, Mello Vibes, 11:59, and Club Appleton, among others.
Thirty-one-year-old Reid was found dead in a motor car on Saturday.
Reports from the Elletson Road police are that about 3:45 p.m., residents of Waterloo Road in Rollington Town, Kingston 2, observed a grey Honda Accord motor car abandoned in their community.
The police were summoned and on their arrival, they found Reid's body in the trunk of the motor car.
It had multiple stab wounds.
The crime scene was processed and the body removed.
Reid was also a student of the University of the West Indies, Cave Hill campus, and a resident of Greater Portmore, St Catherine.
A motive for the murder is yet to be established.
Reid's death follows closely on the murders of Copper Cat, just weeks ago, and Voicemail's Oniel Edwards last year.
Last year, popular entertainer Mad Cobra narrowly escaped a similar fate after he was shot in the chest.
The man credited with being The Founding Father of Hip Hop is gravely ill and is reaching out for public assistance to help pay his medical bills.
"Kool Herc is very sick," DJ Premier told listeners on his XM satellite radio show according to AllHipHop. "For those that know about Hip-Hop, who we call the father of Hip-Hop, Kool Herc, is not doing well. It's funny how we have a father of a culture that still lives, where as in some cultures they are dead and gone even though they may still be worshiped or reflected on in some kind of way."
DJ Tony Touch announced via Twitter that Herc will be undergoing surgery tomorrow (Tuesday February 1).
The call for help is because Herc doesn't have health insurance. If you've ever been to the hospital without it, you know how you're treated.
For all donations to Kool Herc, send to: Kool Herc Productions PO Box 20472 Huntington Station, NY 11746
"Being as though he is the man that set this whole culture off, y'all [the fans] should be willing any type of way you can." Premier added
Chelsea have signed Brazil defender David Luiz from Benfica in a five-and-a-half-year deal worth about £21.3m.
Source: BBC Sport
ANDY CARROLL will wear Fernando Torres' No 9 shirt after completing his £35million move to Liverpool.
The England hitman, 22, finalised his switch tonight after Torres joined Chelsea for £50m.
Carroll, who forced through the deal after handing in a transfer request earlier today, has signed a 5½-year contract.
He passed a medical and agreed personal terms just minutes before tonight's 11pm transfer deadline.
The staggering fee is a record for a British player - beating the £29.1m Manchester United paid Leeds for Rio Ferdinand in 2002.
Confirmation of Carroll's signing means the Reds' transfer record has been broken twice in the space of a few hours after a £22.8million deal for Ajax forward Luis Suarez was finalised earlier in the evening.
Source: The Sun
Over the years Sean "Puffy" Combs has seen his share of beefs and crazy situations but this TOPS the CAKE!
time he popped Steve Stoute over the head with a champagne bottle for leaving a scene with Nas being crucified in their 1999 video "Hate Me Now" Then there was the 2005 Hot 97 shouting match with The Lox, where Jadakiss and Styles P were calling Puffy every name in the book, demanding their publishing. Of course last June's bizarre interview with Martin Bashir has to be mentioned, if only for the fact of how confused Diddy looked the entire interview while Bashir "mindf*cked" him.
All of that pales in comparison to the lawsuit that was just filed against the Bad Boy CEO that accuses him of rape, being a deadbeat dad and bringing down the World Trade Center.
Valerie Joyce Wilson Turks, who is obviously off her recommended dose of meds, filed the lawsuit seeking $1 Trillion dollars from Combs reportsRadar Online.
The lawsuit also names Diddy's girlfriend, Kim Porter and L.A. police beating victim Rodney King.
"[Diddy] went through Kim Porter and Rodney King and knocked down the WTC and then they all came and knocked my children down. Set me up to be on disability and disabled my baby. he put my baby in a wheelchair." Turks alleges in the suit.
She claims Diddy fathered her 23-year old son, Cornelius Wilson.
"He date raped me 24 years ago and knocked me down him and Kim Porter and Wallace Wright, then Sean Combs and Kim and Wallace Wright came back 18 years later and raped and sexually abused my children and knocked my children down and crushed me and my children daily.
Plus I won a lot of money at the casino in Mississippi and Sean P. Diddy Combs has my chip to my money. I heard he gave it to Gwen Allen to hold but she can not cash it in. I want my chip please help me. it's well worth over 100 zillions of dollars, and my hospital keys. They put me and my baby in the hospital and broke my baby 2 legs and sexual assaulted my children and crushed us." Turks wrote.
She wants $900 billion dollars in child support, and $100 billion dollars for loss of income.
This isn't the 1st time a crazy woman has bothered Combs. Last year a Florida woman, Cemilia Green was arrested after trying to break into his Hamptons crib. When caught by police Green said she was Diddy's wife.
Cemelia Green
Looks like Diddy might want to up his security detail.
The wife of a senior US military officer shot and killed her 13-year-old son on their way to soccer practice, then returned home and shot her 16-year-old daughter in the head while she studied at her computer, police said.
The woman told detectives she killed the teenagers for being "mouthy".
Julie Powers Schenecker, 50, admitted the killings when officers found her covered in *la*hd at the family home on Friday, a police spokeswoman said.
Ms Schenecker's mother had called police from Texas because she was unable to reach her daughter, whom she said was depressed and had been complaining about her children.
Ms Schenecker's husband, Parker Schenecker, is a US Army intelligence officer stationed at US Central Command headquarters in Tampa, Florida.
Colonel Schenecker was in Qatar at the time, and was told of his children's deaths on Friday, an army spokesman said.
Ms Schenecker left a note detailing plans to kill her disrespectful children and herself.
The note said "they talked back and were mouthy and that she was going to take care of it", a Tampa police spokeswoman said.
"I think we will never understand how or why a mother could take the lives of her children," the spokeswoman said. "That was the only reason she provided to our detectives."
The body of Ms Schenecker's daughter, Calyx Powers Schenecker, was found in an upstairs bedroom. The body of her son, Beau Powers Schenecker, was found in a four-wheel-drive in the garage, police said.
An arrest affidavit said Ms Schenecker shot her son twice in the head "for talking back" while driving him to soccer practice on Thursday night.
She drove home, went inside and shot her daughter in the back of the head while she was doing homework, then shot her in the face, the affidavit said.
Police said investigators believe the children "never saw it coming". Both were killed with a .38-calibre pistol.
Ms Schenecker was arrested on two counts of first-degree murder and remanded in custody.
Her Facebook page says she earned a bachelor's degree in physical education from the University of Northern Iowa.
Sylvia Carroll, who was at high school in Iowa with Ms Schenecker, said she was a popular and athletic girl who starred in basketball in the late 1970s.
They reconnected about a year ago on Facebook. "I'm just in shock," she said. "I can't believe this."
The Schenecker family home is on a cul-de-sac in a gated country club community in north Tampa.
Minister of Arts and Multiculturalism Winston Gypsy Peters was greeted with a short-lived round of booing when it was announced by MC Sprangalang that the minister had just arrived at the opening of the Kalypso Revue 2011 season at the Arima Velodrome last Friday night.
And on the next night, it was veteran calypsonian Edwin Crazy Ayoung,
who felt the displeasure of some members of the audience who booed and walked out on him when the Revue held a show at Palms Club, San Fernando. His offence, wearing a T-shirt with a print of Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar as he sang his song Percy.
The song refers to the symbolic crossed fists which became popular during the Peoples Partnership general election campaign last May, when senior citizen Percy Villafana barred then prime minister and PNM political leader Patrick Manning from entering his home during a walkabout. Crazy also became a front line act on the Peoples Partnership (PP) campaign circuit leading supporters in doing the Percy. His song, however is not about politics but about a woman who rejects a mans advances by keeping him at bay with the Percy sign. Revue head, Michael Sugar Aloes Osuna, said his cast and the audience are free to express themselves and maintain the tent had good shows on Friday and Saturday nights.
Osuna confirmed Crazy wore a T-shirt with a photograph of the Prime Minister on it for the San Fernando show.
Osuna, an open supporter of the PNM, said he was about to leave Palms Club as Crazy went on stage.
People have their preferences. It is their choice. But I work with him (Crazy) on a professional level. People were shocked that he was still in this tent with me. It was a beautiful show and the turnout was large, Osuna said. He said 27 calypsonians, among them five women performed at Saturdays show. Calypsonians and their audiences have been largely pro-PNM, whether the party is in Government or Opposition.
This seemed to be the case at the Revue, where the PP Government did get some licks from the cast although some calypsonians did not spare the PNM.
On Friday, the minister, a former calypso monarch and the 2010 extempo monarch, who arrived shortly before the Revues intermission, was in time to hear some of the bards blasting the PP Government. However Gypsy the calypsonian proved he was boo-proof and was seen joking around with the artistes backstage during the break in the show. As a calypsonian Gypsy is no stranger to boos. Years ago when he joined the UNC and again when he was a Junior Minister in Culture, every calypso tent he opened he was subjected to interludes of booing. At the Calypso Fiesta one year he even received Skinner Parks now famous rejection statement of toilet paper being tossed at him during his performance.
That apart, the Revues traditional Arima opening did not evoke the fireworks as forecast by its organisers. True, there were many songs attacking the performance of the PP Government, but many of these provided good social and political commentary. And while there were some good ones as well as some very good ones, audience reaction was tame when compared to other Arima openings.Two elements which may have contributed to the show not reaching its accustomed high standards were the inclement weather intermittent short-lived drizzles on several occasions sent patrons scampering for shelter or pulling out their umbrellas.
The other is the untimely death of Revue stalwart Conqueror (Leroy Paul) who was killed in a road accident Thursday evening, less than 24 hours before the Velodrome show, as he was crossing Wrightson Road, Port-of-Spain to participate in the last rehearsal before Friday nights opening.The proceedings were opened 15 minutes late by Mayor Gassan Youseph and a minute of silence was observed to mark the passing of Conqueror.
While the Government came in for some heavy lyrical tongue lashing, the Opposition did not escape as Ninja (Kenson Neptune) hit out at former Culture Minister Marlene McDonald with his No respect for Culture. A sore throat afflicted Chalkdust (Hollis Liverpool) was not able to do justice with his Manningitis, but typical of the former Calypso Monarch he will soon find his chords. Bringing down the curtain at the Arima opening was Crazy who followed his daring dial climbing act on Thursday to promote the Revue launch with Percy and his nation-building composition No more we and them.
Herschel Walker continues to defy Father Time. The 48-year-old former NFL and college football star toyed with Scott Carson to pick up his second career mixed martial arts win on the Strikeforce card in San Jose, Calif.
Walker knocked Carson down with a left hook in the opening minute of their fight at the HP Pavilion and brutalized him on the ground for the next two minutes. Referee Dan Stell stepped in to save Carson at 3:13 of the first round. Walker is now 2-0 and said he plans on moving forward with his MMA career.
"MMA is my love," Walker said, when asked about talk of an NFL return.
Walker has been successful in every athletic endeavor he's attempted, so he's very demanding of himself in MMA.
"I was okay. I took a kick where I thought I was getting a little too excited," Walker said. "When you're in MMA, you should be able to take a kick like that."
Walker was a bull from the get-go.
"(My trainer) Javier Mendes told me I have to be on offense. Being a young MMA fighter I gotta control what I'm doing in the cage," said Walker.
The scenario surrounding the first knockdown was like scene out of a movie. Carson grazed Walker's face. The former football star appeared enraged and yelled in the air. He walked straight forward and floored Carson with a left. Carson got to his feet momentarily with 3:50 left in the round, but Walker lifted him in the air and tossed him back down. Walker dominated him on the ground working from hip control and landing punches under Carson's arms. The Californian did little to protect himself.
With two minutes left in the first, Walker backed off for a second to allow Carson to get back to his feet. Carson barely got to his feet, was drilled by a left hook and crumbled against the fence. The referee had to stop it.
For man his age, Walker's energy level was incredible. He threw 58 shots and landed 40 overall. On the ground, he was 36-of-53 (67.9 percent). Walker's combination of stamina and athleticism simply broke Carson's will.
Walker began his MMA journey in 2009 when he began training at a renowned MMA gym, the American Kickboxing Academy in San Jose. That's also the home of UFC heavyweight champion Cain Velasquez and UFC welterweight title contenders Jon Fitch and Josh Koscheck.
Walker made his MMA debut last January. He showed off decent striking and grappling, with his gas tank being his most impressive element. Walker manhandled 26-year-old Greg Nagy for his first professional victory.
Walker's MMA exploits add to an unbelievable athletic resume. After a decorated career at Georgia, Walker earned a home in the college football Hall of Fame. He won the 1982 Heisman trophy as a junior. Walker went on to play 15 seasons in the USFL and NFL, where he rushed for 13,787 yards.
In the middle of his NFL career, he decided that he wanted to be an Olympian and took on the challenge of the bobsled. Walker made the U.S. Olympic team in the two-man bobsled and finished seventh at the 1992 games.
The Popular pastor of a Bronx church was charged with rape Friday for repeatedly having sex with a girl from his flock - starting when she was 12, prosecutors said.
Michael Clare, the 38-year-old married leader of the Harvest Worship Center in Wakefield, allegedly impregnated the girl, who is now 15, court documents said.
Authorities learned of the abuse in June, when the girl told her parents and police that Clare had sexually preyed on her for years. DNA evidence implicated Clare, prosecutors said.
Clare was arrested June 14 on second-degree rape charges, but the grand jury yesterday upped the charges to first-degree rape.
"He betrayed everyone's trust," seethed one congregant who identified herself only as Kimberly. "What he's accused of doing is sick."
The chrome-domed man of God bills himself on his MySpace page as a "man of great integrity" who is "a paragon, a model of excellence and ideal example of living and preaching the Gospel of Christ."
The website features videos of Clare preaching and pictures of him posing along and with his family.
"Dr. Clare is a devoted father and husband and has a compassion for people from all walks of life," his site boasts.
Clare also is the principal of Harvest Prep, a school run out of the tiny storefront church. "I trusted my kids with him," Kimberly said. "A lot of people did."
Born in Jamaica, Clare began preaching when he was 11, and became a pastor at 26, according to his MySpace page.
"Teacher, Organizer, Visionary - some of the words which only begin to describe the character of this humble servant of God," the site says.
Clare was being held last night in lieu of $50,000 bond.
He faces up to 25 years in state prison if convicted of first-degree rape.
A bank robber made a key mistake trying to escape with a hostage in tow and got his brains blown out because of it.
Armed with a handgun and a fake bomb made of a sponge wrapped in foil and duct tape with copper wires sticking out of it. The would be thief entered a Capitol One Bank in Tacoma, Washington.
He was quickly in over his head as one customer tried to wrestle his gun away from, but got pistol whipped instead, while someone else hit the alarm button.
As police surrounded the bank, the suspect comes out with a hostage. Smoke from dye packets could be seen coming out of his bag as he moved towards the parking lot away from police. But then he slips, loses his grip of the hostage who run towards police. Inexplicably the suspect runs in the same direction and gets lit up with bullets.
One Canadian justice found an unusual way to vent. Sick of the shenanigans of a couple from, ironically, the honeymoon capital of Niagara, he ruled that the wife should have full custody of their 13-year-old daughter but that the father should only pay $1 (and that's a Canadian dollar) a month in child support. But it was the way he ruled that has everyone talking.
Ontario Superior Court Judge Joseph Quinn's 31-page December decisionwhich made the local papers and is still doing the rounds of legal circles on the internetis filled with the kind of black humor and derision one would imagine is usually kept for close be-robed colleagues only.
He chided the couple for "marinating in a mutual hatred so intense as to surely amount to a personality disorder," and said the chances of amicable resolution were "laughable."
The wife had poisoned their daughter "irreparably" against the father who, the judge admitted, had "a near-empty parenting tool box."
Quinn mocked the couple's habit of sending abusive, vulgarity-laced texts to each other and their inability to be civil at their children's sporting events.
On one occasion apparently, Catherine, the wife, had tried to run Larry over with her car "always a telltale sign that a husband and wife are drifting apart," the judge noted.
Catherine's relatives, several of whom are Hell's Angels, made death threats against her ex , which the judge mentioned, adding that "on Oct. 18, 2007, a nautical theme was added. According to Larry, 'Catherine's sister-in-law yelled out her window that I was going to be floating in the canal dead.' " That Catherine told her children they'd go to jail if they even called their dad did not help matters.
Larry, meanwhile, was given to flipping the bird every time he drove past his ex-wife's house, leading the justice to observe that "a finger is worth a thousand words and therefore, is particularly useful should one have a vocabulary of less than a thousand words."
Quinn knew his tone was harsh but defended it saying since the parties were "immune to reason" he had used ridicule as a last resort. Is there a standup circuit for the legal set?
Drake appeared on the Canadian network MuchMusic, where he broke the news during an interview with T. RexXx on the Hip-Hop show Rap City.
I wanna do something for Jamaica, because we are supposed to go out there and record after the European tour, Drake said. I was like send me some rhythms that are poppin and Ill see what I can do. He sent me some rhythms that are poppin, so Ill see what I can do. You never know.
Drakes possible Reggae project comes on the heels of reports that he will collaborate with award-winning indie rock band Florence and The Machine, as well as The xx.
Drake is currently in negotiations to star in the financial thriller Arbitrage alongside veteran actor Al Pacino.
The news of a full album could quite possibly draw the wrath of the Jamaican government, who condemned Drakes last collaboration with an artist from Jamaica.
In May of 2010, Jamaicas Minster of Tourism spoke out against the portrayal of the country in Drakes hit song with dancehall artist Mavado titled Find Your Love.
We just have to say that care has to be taken by all, including our creative artistes, in portraying images of our destination and people, Bartlett told the Jamaican Gleaner. Gun culture, while not unique to Jamaica, is not enhancing (the islands image).
A bus transporting University of the West Indies students was involved in a fatal accident in St Ann this morning.
The coaster bus driver was killed and about 25 students are said to be in hospital in serious condition.
The accident occurred along the Steer Town Main Road sometime after 9:00, when the coaster collided with a trailer truck.
The students were on their way to a football match in St James when the accident occurred
source:Observer
CLICK TO SEE PICS OF THE ACCIDENT
Nearly two years after his assault on Rihanna, Chris Brown appeared in a Los Angeles courtroom Friday (Jan. 28) for a progress report where his attorney requested the removal of the restraining order against his client.
The Yeah 3X singer, dressed in a shawl sweater, button-up shirt, and tie, sat before Judge Patricia Schnegg with his lawyer Mark Geragos. After telling the judge that his client had completed his 52-week domestic violence counseling, Geragos asked that she remove the existing restraining order against Brown, reports RadarOnline.com.
It makes it difficult at award shows and such, said Geragos.
Before the request can be granted, Rihannas attorney must approve of the modification from a stay away order to a do not annoy. Brown is scheduled to remain on probation until 2014.
Despite his three nominations, the 21-year-old stars rep recently told the AP that he was not currently scheduled to attend next months Grammy Awards
The Council on Hemispheric Affairs (COHA) says President Bharrat Jagdeo did "terribly" in his two terms in office and leaves stagnation, violence, corruption and unfettered crime in his wake.
GEORGETOWN, Guyana, Friday January 28, 2011 Stagnation, violence, corruption, arch-sectarianism, and unfettered crime this is the heritage that President Bharrat Jagdeo will bequeath to his country.
That was the harsh assessment by the Washington-based Council on Hemispheric Affairs (COHA) Research Associates Robert Cavooris and Elcin Chang, in a statement which gave Jagdeo poor marks for his performance during his two terms in office.
Now that Jagdeo has announced that he will not seek a third term in the upcoming August election he may well ask, as a New York mayor once did, How did I do? The answer, in this instance, must be terribly, the statement said.
Jagdeo could only receive the lowest of marks from any independent evaluation. Through his tolerance of crime, racism, and dismal social progress, President Jagdeo has turned in a fifth-rate performance as president of one of the poorest countries in the hemisphere. As the Guyanese use every strategy, legal and illegal, to flee the dysfunctional country, Jagdeo will go down in history as a man who did almost nothing for his nation while in office.
COHA did have some positive to say of Jagdeo, amidst the scathing criticism.
It gave the Guyanese leader credit for leading the country on a path of considerable economic growth in the last 10 years.
It noted that the Guyanese economy, which is heavily dependent on the export of six main commoditiesrice, timber, gold, bauxite, shrimp and sugarhas expanded at an average rate of three percent over the past decade.
But even in acknowledging that, Cavooris and Chang were critical, saying that despite the improvement in the economy, government officials have been either unwilling or unable to share this modest prosperity with average Guyanese citizens. To support that contention, they pointed out that the allocation for education as a percentage of government spending is significantly lower than it was 10 years ago and warned that there could be pernicious social consequences if education continues to take a back seat on the Guyanese agenda.
On healthcare, COHA said there have been some positive results including an increase in life expectancy and a notable decrease in infant mortality, but it also said that there were still man outstanding issues. For instance, it said, about a fifth of the Guyanese population still lacks access to clean sanitation facilities and the World Health Organization estimated that Guyana has one of the highest prevalence rates of HIV/AIDS in Latin America and the Caribbean.
The COHA release further argued that Jagdeos tenure would also be remembered for the spike in violent crimes and pointed to several high-profile incidents including the Lusignan and Bartica massacres in 2008, in which 23 people were killed, and a bomb attack on the Ministry of Health in 2009. It also made mention of an attack at the Stabroek Market earlier this month, even though police have already said the explosion was caused when a grenade denoted in a mans hand and was not an attack.
Cavooris and Chang also allege that the violence in Guyana has ethnic undertones and party affiliation falls almost directly along ethnic lines, and accused Jagdeo of doing almost nothing to address the racial divisions in the country.
Jagdeo has failed during his presidency to advance the freedom and fairness of Guyanese public life, or the inequities of the Indo-Guyanese dominated society, they said.
Increased economic growth is futile if it does not translate into a greater sense of prosperity within the entirety of society. Jagdeos two-term presidency fell woefully short on that point.
The Research Associates concluded by saying that whoever replaces Jagdeo as President of Guyana must work to tackle these persistent issues, and clear the air of hopelessness when it comes to improving life in that country.
New York, NY: Sunday, February 6, marks what would have been the 66th birthday of the most prolific and beloved figure in reggae music, the legendary Bob Marley, whose music and life struggle against oppression and injustice has inspired millions of fans worldwide.
Marley died in 1981, however 30 years later, his influence is still resonating in a new generation of musicians and fans. In an event that is sure to bring a refreshing twist, yet reminiscent of days of Marley and the Wailers, New Yorks famed Sullivan Hall (formally Lions Den) is back with Reggae Sundays and kicks it off by bringing to its stage a host of New Yorks finest reggae talent to channel the celebrated Marley in honor of his birthday on Sunday, February 6, 2011 at 8pm.
The show billed, New Kingston and Friends, a 'Night of Marley Magic,' will be headlined by New Kingston, who will perform a host of Marley hits, as well as songs from their new album 'In The Streets,' accompanied by Jamaican session guitarist, Andy Bassford, who played and recorded with Marley and other greats such as Dennis Brown, Gregory Isaacs, Sly & Robbie, Toots and the Maytals; Broadways Lion King drummer, Jr. Gabu Wedderburn; and Lady Alexis (Leon & The Peoples) plus special surprise guests adding their names to the roster.
New Kingston has been labeled the band to look out for and is nothing short of amazing. Currently touring the release of their new album, New Kingston has performed all over the world as the opening acts for Stephen & Damian Marley, Shabba Ranks, Maxi Priest, Mr. Vegas, Carl Thomas and Collie Buddz.
New Kingston will make an appearance on PIX11 morning news (channel 11) www.wpix.comtomorrow, Monday, January 31, 2011 between 8:45am & 8:50am.
Detroit police have released incredible footage of a gun battle that took place inside a precinct Sunday (January 23), between Lamar Moore and police.
The gun battle started when the 38-year old Moore, armed with a 20-gauge shotgun walked into the Northwestern District station and started dumping shots at cops for no apparent reason.
Police officers return fire, fatally wounding Moore, but not before he managed to shoot four of them.
In the video below which is shown from two different angles, you will see Moore calmly walk in before the shooting starts. At one point during the gun battle he jumps over the police desk as he and Cmdr. Brian Davis shoot at each other at point blank range.
Lamar Moore
After Davis is shot in the hand and back, he throws a trash can at Moore who is already mortally wounded. He can be seen slumping to the floor as the trash can bounces over a desk.
The four wounded officers survived and are recovering.
So far police haven't discovered a motive for why Moore went on the shooting rampage.
After her much publicised split from the Portmore Empire, Kym, formerly Gaza Kim, has now found a new musical family.
She has joined forces with the Alliance and according to her, she is enjoying the new company.
"Well, after leaving the Portmore Empire I went to a party and saw Bounty Killer and he told me to come and join the Alliance. I'm very comfortable so far, it's a very professional environment. It's all just about music," she said.
She is currently working on her mix tape titled Rebirth of Kym which will be released in February. It is being produced by DJ Purfiya from Miami, Florida, and is just one of the many projects that she has on her agenda.
Her career slowed down significantly after the split but Kym says it is now getting back to where she wants it.
"Well it's not as strong as when I was at the Empire but it's stepping up now since the Alliance. I'm busy writing songs and working in the studio. I have new songs like Haffi Come Back for Payday Music Group and Cotton Candy for Digiplay Records," she said.
Kym boasted of her recent performance in Belize where she did her popular songs Teenage Pregnancy, Amen and Light Bill, among others. She said How Would You Feel, a song she was inspired to write because of the death of her ex-boyfriend's parent, also got a great response from the crowd.
She also mentioned that Amen is extremely popular in Belize as the Notnice-produced track won Song of the Year in 2009 and 2010.
Kym left the Portmore Empire and changed her name from Gaza Kim last January after rumours surfaced that several members of the Vybz Kartel-led Portmore Empire were being beaten.
It was reported that the female artiste was assaulted in the community known as 'Big Yard', off Mannings Hill Road, St Andrew. She later confirmed that she had been assaulted and had to seek medical attention.
After rumours of his involvement, Vybz Kartel proclaimed his innocence in a release condemning the assault on the female artiste.
He said, "I do not condone violence, especially attacks against females and children. Gaza Kim is a young, talented singer who I hope will reach far in her musical endeavours. My deepest sentiments go out to her."
Kym has upcoming performances in Guyana on the 29 and 30 of this month and she will travel to Suriname for another show on February 4.
During Wednesday night's game between the Phoenix Suns and Charlotte Bobcats, the Suns mascot and entertainers performed some wild dunking tricks with the use of a trampoline. Everything went smoothly until one entertained jumped a little too high and lost control. He ended up catching the ball and going head first through the basket, falling on the padding. Fortunately, the Suns entertainer was okay. Scroll down to watch the video.
"I'm my own man, and as such I do my own thing. When black women stop straightening their hair and wearing wigs and weaves, when white women stop getting lip and butt injections and implants, when bald men stop getting hair transplants, and when people stop getting nose jobs and cosmetic surgery then I'll stop using the 'cakesoap' and we'll all live naturally ever after. Until then, f**k you all."
Nicholas Duffy managed to slide out the back door window of a police car travelling about 48km/h, despite his hands being cuffed behind his back.
Duffy told the police officer driving the car he was feeling sick and wanted to vomit, prompting the window to be lowered.
He then managed to unbuckle the seatbelt and slide out the window as it travelled along a freeway in Salt Lake City, Utah.
"The officer noticed he was trying to get out of the window," police lieutenant Victor Quezada told TV station Fox13.
"At that time, he slowed down from freeway speeds to about 30-35 [mp/h] where he then jumped out, still handcuffed.
"It's amazing he didn't get run over or die from the fall."
Duffy was arrested after being suspected of a burglary.
He will likely also face felony charges of attempting to escape from police.
An insurance agent was stabbed to death by intruders who escaped in his newly purchased car on Wednesday night.
Wendell Lewis, 53, was found lying on the floor inside a bedroom at his Edinburgh 500, Chaguanas, home around 11.45 p.m.
Police said Lewis was last seen alive by his two daughters around 9.20 p.m. He was employed at TATIL's Warner Street, Woodbrook, branch.
Investigators believe Lewis went outside to open the front gate for his daughters after they called to say they were on their way home.
The men ambushed Lewis and forced him back into the house, police said.
Police believe the men attempted to rob Lewis who refused to hand over his valuables. He was stabbed in the chest.
The killers drove off in Lewis' silver Subaru sports vehicle. His daughters were too distraught to determine whether anything was missing from the house, police said.
Neighbours described Lewis as hard-working and well-liked.
Officers from the Crime Response Unit, Criminal Intelligence Department, Homicide Bureau and Crime Scene Investigations visited the scene.
Reggae-dancehall artiste Mr Perfect is concerned about a dance move which he describes as a disgrace to the Jamaican male community.
Perfect thinks that the popular dance, called 'Swag', has what he considers to be 'questionable' movements.
He even went as far as to record a song about the dance. In the chorus of the song, Perfect deejays, Swag but nuh shake yuh bottom/Nuh man, nuh man, nuh shake yuh bottom.
He goes on to say in the first verse, Dem seh swag inna di dance now swag inna di ting/But mi wonda weh some young man guh learn swaggering/Dem a swagga like Sunshine, a swagga like Kim/Come a dance inna tight pants an belly skin/ Video man a ketch di movie, a which dancer that a try tek Keiva duty?/ Suh mi seh swag if yuh a swag but jah kno it look bad fi a young man a shake dem booty.
not right
Speaking with THE STAR, Mr Perfect explained the reason behind his thoughts saying: "Mi know the whole swag thing was made by the Yankees and the word meant, like, your personality and such. What you have found now is that it comes to Jamaica and becomes a dance. I've been to various hotspots and see them doing it. It's a movement where a lot of butt shaking is involved, it's not right for a big man to be shaking his butt like that. Leave the butt shaking to the ladies!"
He continued, "I'm not the first person to complain, but I'm the first to put it in a song. Even Keiva a seh Perfect, di man dem a tek ova mi ting. Of course yuh can swag in the dance, but nuh bodda wid the butt shaking."
small meeting
The creators of the 'Swag' dance is the Swag Team which comprises CP Inc, New Kidz, Singer J and Vybrant. Mr Perfect has no grouse with them, however, as he said he had a small meeting with them and they are not the ones with whom he has a problem.
"I've seen the Swag Team on the move before and I didn't see any of them behaving in that manner. I believe it's the other so-called dancers that add their own style to someone's move, that have turned it into that," he said.
When contacted, New Kidz of the Swag Team said, "Perfect know seh that a nuh our style, because we did already talk bout it with him. Swag was not even a dance, is just a boasy stand up weh mi come out wid, and after that wi turn it inna dance. Mr Lexx seh swag dag diggy weh a total different ting from we. Swag is not a thing for a man weh seh swag dag diggy."
Fans can look out for the SubKonshus Music-produced Swag Team Hot This Year from the group.
Mr Perfect recently finished his Chalice Palace Recording Studio in Bam***bo, St Ann.
His latest album, Good Side Of Bad, was recently completed and he is working on a second album to be released in the last quarter of this year, as well.
Amber Van Brunt, a 33-year-old nurse who worked in an Oklahoma hospice program, is being banned from the profession for 20 years after she allegedly had sex with a married terminally ill-patient at his home.
A hearing is set for Wednesday to consider an appeal filed by Van Brunt, who calls the discipline a "miscarriage of justice," according to The Oklahoman.
Van Brunt, of Shawnee, located east of Oklahoma City, worked in a program at Angelic Family Hospice that provided nursing care for patients at their homes.
The patient, who attempted suicide in March, two days after Van Brunt told him in a text message that she was pregnant by another man, died in May.
According to Van Brunt's attorney, she had a consensual relationship with the patient - a 43-year-old terminally ill man suffering from amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, known as ALS or Lou Gehrig's Disease.
The lawyer said that relationship was carried out on the nurse's "own personal time" while she was visiting as a friend, not while she was on duty caring for him.
The nursing board responded that it doesn't matter when it happened, although saying there is evidence of sexual contact during nursing visits.
"The nurse is the professional in this situation. It is the responsibility of the professional to say no to the vulnerable patient," the board's attorney told Oklahoma County District Judge Patricia Parrish. "The rules ...do not mean simply while you are on shift; they mean during the entire time ...you are assigned to the care of that patient, whether that is six days in the hospital or six months in hospice care or six years in a nursing home."
Clay Butler says he plans to supply medical marijuana dispensaries with his soda pot, which contains the psychoactive marijuana ingredient THC.
Marijuana drinks are already showing up here and there, but Butler says he thinks his branding savvy will make his product a hit.
Besides his flagship cola drink, Canna Cola, he will also produce Dr. Pepper-like Doc Weed, lemon-lime Sour Diesel, grape-flavored Grape Ape and orange-flavored Orange Kush.
A 12-ounce bottle will cost $10 to $15.
The Soquel-based commercial artist tells the Santa Cruz Sentinel that he doesn't do drugs or need medical marijuana for any ailments.
According to mediatakeout.com a lovely young hollywood model named Natasha Tajah Burton is writing a Tell-All book. and in it she describes one of her lesbian encounters with the Famous Bajan Beauty Rihanna. Whether it's true or not take a look at the transcript!! Yikes!! Go Rihanna!!
Six people were inside the bank when Takoma Park police arrived at the scene, five of whom escaped.
The suspected robber made his way out of the Takoma Park Capitol One bank with a female hostage as a dye bomb exploded, media helicopter footage showed.
He appeared to slip on the ice, allowing the hostage to run free. Police quickly converged on him and six officers opened fire, killing the unidentified suspect.
A Prince George's County Police officer was grazed by a bulle
Liverpool have agreed a deal worth up to £22.8 million to sign Luis Suarez from Ajax.
Liverpool have been in negotiations with Ajax for some time and, with the last offer said to have been worth just half of Ajax's desired £25.7 million, it was believed the talks may have reached an impasse.
Ajax had set a deadline of Saturday for the deal to be concluded and coach Frank de Boer said he believed the deal had a "50-50 chance" of going through, but the move is now expected to be completed over the weekend.
A statement on the official Ajax website read: "Ajax and Liverpool have reached an agreement over the transfer of Luis Suarez. He will make the move to the English club immediately. The deal is worth up to a total of £22.8 million."
Liverpool will now seek to agree personal terms with Suarez, 24, and the player will undergo a medical.
A Liverpool statement added: "Liverpool Football Club announced this afternoon that they had agreed a fee of up to £22.8 millionwith Ajax for the transfer of Luis Suarez, subject to the completion of a medical.
"The club have now been given permission by Ajax to discuss personal terms with the player and his representatives."
Source: ESPN Soccernet
Whats Walmarts role here?
The retailing giant will be carrying the geoGirl line, which it says was developed in partnership with our customers to give parents a healthier, age-appropriate option for their tween girls who ask about wearing makeup.
Where does the anti-aging part come in?
The lines creators claim its formulated for fresh young skin, with ingredients like willow bark to exfoliate and chamomile to calm, as well as anti-oxidants, which reportedly prevent aging. What next for kids? In-store Botox? asked one well known website, according to the Daily Mail. Prevent aging? says Cindy Kroiss at Gather.com. The only way to do that is to diesurely not what the marketing team has in mind.Fashionistas Cheryl Wischhover finds the concept ludicrous: I was giggling a bit as I was reading about exfoliation, calming, and blush for eight-year-olds. I mean, your skin will never be more flushed and radiant than when you are eight.
Has Walmart carried products like this before?
Yes, the geoGirl line is replacing a defunct cosmetics line for tweens and teens from Mary Kate & Ashley Olsen, though that line wasnt noted for its anti-aging components.
Nicholas Nesbeth, also known as Fire Key, who police say is aleading member of the gang, was captured on Tuesday.
It became known today (January 27) that Nesbeth was no longer in custody although his release had not been ordered.
Irie FM News understands that an error was made and Nesbeth was, in error, released from custody
Head of the Criminal Investigation Branch Assistant CommissionerEalon Powell says a statement would be issued this evening.
Nesbeth was held by police early Tuesday morning in the Kirkland Heights/ Sterling Castle Area of Red Hills, St. Andrew.
Nesbeths capture followed that of alleged leader of the Dog Paw Gang, 21-year-old Christopher Dog Paw Linton.
She was released following a court hearing in London this week.
Ms McNeil was identified as a ringleader at the one of Britains largest Immigration Centre in Bedford.
The Yarls Wood immigration removal centre was the scene of a hunger strike against indefinite imprisonment, abuse and poor living conditions by over 70 black women, which forced the authorities to release many of them.
However, Ms Mcneil and other identified ringleaders Sheree Wilson from Jamaica and Aminata Camara from Guinea, were transferred to Holloway Prison in London since last February without charge.
Wilson and Camara will have their bail hearing on February 1.
McNeil, who has lived in the UK for more than 10 years, was arrested in September 2008 for possession of ganja.
She served a six-month prison sentence and was detained in Yarls Wood upon her release in January 2009.
She still is awaiting the outcome of a judicial review of her case after being refused leave to remain in the UK.