Forum: News & Topical Issues

News updates, entertainment, hot topics, gossip | Share and discover what is happening right now.

battybwoy munga

March 20, 2008
Started By UV RAYS47 Comments
Why di fassy ah violate Big Ship den wan record pon all Stephen Riddim dem, while him a diss. Dat man deh ah look hype from his buss, p*u**yywhole bwoy dat.

UK visa fees increase today

April 1, 2008
Started By Crazypickney3 Comments

UK visa fees will increase as of today. The new visa application fees will be as follows:

Handling fee for Commonwealth and Overseas Territories applications - $J6,600
 Forwarding fee for Commonwealth and Overseas Territories UK Overseas Territories - $J8,900
 Direct Airside Transit (DAT)

- Visitors in Transit  

- Join ship or aircraft - $6,800
 Visit - single and multiple visits up to six months - $9,800
 Visit - longer term multiple visits valid for one, two, five or 10 years

- Visa of any length for other purpose, including employment 
 - Highly Skilled Migrant Programme 
 - Working holidaymakers 

- Certificate of Entitlement to right of abode - $30,800

Student 

- Permit free visas for entertainers, voluntary workers and sports persons - $14,800

Settlement; marriage (fiancé(e) - $77,300

Consular rate of exchange: Ł1 = J$150.

Visa applicants will continue to make applications using the Worldbridge Visa Application Centre (VAC) at 34 Trafalgar Road. Payment can be made using cash or bank draft only, bank drafts for the exact fee must be made payable to the 'British High Commission, Kingston'. Applicants should note that personal cheques and credit cards are not accepted. Where the application is for a dependant, the same fee as the fee paid for the main applicant is required, applicants are also being reminded that whether and application is successful or not, visa fees are non-refundable.

There is no charge for family members of an EEA national/Swiss national.

For more information on the new visa fees please visit the Worldbridge website www.visainfoservices.com. or the British High Commission website at www.britishhigh-commission.gov.uk/kingston.

Investors with funds in the once popular alternative investment scheme, Cash Plus, received another blow yesterday with the news that the company had officially gone into receivership.

News that the company had been appointed a receiver manager through the court, was released yesterday. The receiver manager will assess the entity's assets and is to begin working immediately. This new development means the entity is now insolvent, meaning their liabilities now exceed their assets.

One investor, Jenna Morris, who was only able to earn six months worth of returns before the company entered into difficulties, was disappointed with the turn of events. "Its terrible", she said. "I'm going to keel over and die. Things have taken a turn for the worse. We had hopes that we'd be getting back our money and now they're almost dashing everyone's hopes. It's beyond hope. It's getting desperate. Receivership?" she asked.

Though Morris is disappointed, not all investors are saddened by this news. Two other persons with whom THE STAR spoke, said they were still faithful believers in the Cash Plus system and in no way blame the entity or its directors.

Michelle Lindsay, one such investor, who sold one of her houses to invest in the scheme, told THE STAR, "I have not changed my mind. I am still in support of Cash Plus and Carlos Hill. We are big people. We went in there knowing it was a risk. No one asked for their [the FSC's] help. If they are so concerned, why don't they go to the banks that are charging high interests rates? I am so upset. Instead of sticking their noses in people's business, that's what they should do."

In late 2007, the Financial Service Commission (FSC) issued cease and desist orders on Cash Plus, its Chief Executive Officer Carlos Hill and Kahlil Harris. The order asked that "Cash Plus Ltd. et al immediately stop conducting securities business, including soliciting and accepting loans with members of the public until Cash Plus is licensed by the FSC."

Names changed on request
you all saw wat happened in the clash with 50 cent and kanye west for top album sales...interscope has agreed to release G-units album the same day The games album L.A.X and Nelly's album drop, who do u thinkwill win this confrontation, and do u think this is a strategy to counter bootlegging?

remember G-unit, The Game and Nelly, have all gone platinum

which weekly dance a d best??

March 21, 2008
Started By ***DK***12 Comments
i was in a heated discussion n i waan set tings str8!!! which weekly dance uno tink is d best??? i dnt kno evry dance so if i miss 1 uno pm me mek me add it ok!!dwinedwinetekkkpspengu
rahtid mi figet fi put di name a di film.

sorry couldnt help it, it has just been showing.....
mi figet how bad it is
roro

-- Edited by the doc at 21:00, 2008-04-01
The Deadly Alliance tour is struggling under a sustained public relations campaign by highly motivated gay rights organizations targeting Bounty Killer. One876 understands that two of the Warlords concerts in Germany were cancelled this week, bringing to four the number of cancelled shows since the campaign began.

Bounty_Killer.jpgBounty was supposed to play three shows in Germany, but the two in Essen and Berlin were cancelled due to pressure from various gay rights organisations. Only the show in Munich did happen thanks to the local promoters that stood up to the pressure. I know that before he came to Germany, a few shows were cancelled in the UK, I havent heard of any other cancellations of shows in Europe, one journalist based in Germany told One876Entertainment.com this morning.

Another promoter confided that, the tour is losing money, lots of it and other promoters are contemplating pulling out because Germany and the UK are the markets where hardcore dancehall, as opposed to roots reggae, is supposed to be more viable.

By his count, four dates have been cancelled out of a possible six, two in Germany and two in the United Kingdom, an equation that has put promoters on edge.

"Promoters put on shows to make a profit, there is not much sentimentality about it, and if they don't see it is feasible to continue this tour, they would rather swallow their losses now than take a bigger hit later, and it's all about the network. We are going to see just how strong the Killer's network is in Europe," another promoter mused.

Apart from the gay issue, hardcore dancehall is struggling to get into larger, more respectable venues with proper infrastructure, sound and lighting -- a necessary requirement if dancehall is going to emerge from its underground status and claim a bigger slice of the international marketplace.

Some of the venues are pretty scared of hosting 'hard-core' dancehall artistes. Seems the word on the streets is that they tend to attract the 'shottas', who are actually giving the system a run for its money here. The show in Bradford for example, was moved to Huddersfield because it's too near to Leeds, which is very unruly and the police were afraid of 'public order' issues arising from having so many 'yardies' in one place, former manager of the Abyssinians and reggae musicologist in the United Kingdom, D. Phillips told One876via email today.

The unruly aggressive following that dancehall attracts remains a serious problem for local law enforcement authorities and the owners of venues.

The Stratford Rex in London was something else--they actually kicked-off in spite of the massive police presence, and during the show at that. The vibes is not doing reggae any favours, dem a try banton the music awn ya already, this is just providing ammunition for further sanctions, particularly for dancehall. So many venues in London will only host proper reggae eg, Max Romeo/Scratch Perry/Freddie McGregor/Abyssinians etc. But to be honest, other dancehall acts have been through London/UK recently with no problems, Mr. Phillips said

However, he believes that dancehall ought to fare better in Europe which does not have the same concentration of Jamaican immigrants who may be prone to violence and anti-social behaviour.

In Europe there is a different vibes--firstly no heavy concentration of Yardies; the shows are held in venues with proper infrastructure; and audiences are predominantly white, who are just there for the vibes/beats, and do not actually even understand most of the lyrics anyway, he said.

The Hoe Gets A Show

March 31, 2008
Started By Shem115 Comments
donald_trump320.jpg

DONALD TRUMP wants Ashley Dupre for a new REALITY SHOW!!

The show will take a group of 15 hard-partying young women and send them off to a boarding school environment where theyll learn to become more ladylike(biting off BET?sounds like 'Charm School'). The show has not yet heard back from Dupré with any reaction to the offer.

Who's Da Best Jamaican Dancer

February 22, 2008
Started By Shem146 Comments
Mi Seh Black Shelly Belly
and black blingaz

-- Edited by JamaicanShem at 18:07, 2008-04-01

Boycott Jamaica: Is Jamaica really Paradise?

by Wayne Besen - SGN Contributing Writer

Gay bashing in Jamaica is so prevalent that in 2006 Time magazine wrote an article about the island headlined, "The Most Homophobic Place On Earth?" The New York Times this week showed that the anti-Gay climate has only worsened, with the island caught in a downward spiral of outright psychosis. It is time to hand an ultimatum to Jamaica's public officials: Stop allowing rampant abuse of Gay people or your economy will be crippled.

The Times story is downright chilling. It details how last month five Gay men were having a dinner party when a mob appeared at the front door - kicking it in and attacking the men. While screaming homophobic epithets, between 15-20 thugs beat the victims senseless with sticks and cut them with machetes. One man is still missing, but police found *lo** at the mouth of a deep hole near the yard.

This was not an isolated incident. The Times went on to report a shocking attack on a Gay man's funeral last year, where hooligans trashed the church with rocks and bottles as the service was in session. Of course, this unholy barbarism occurred in the name of God. Interestingly, Jamaicans have turned their sex-fueled island into a heterosexual bathhouse and ganja den, but seem to get sanctimonious and discover the Bible when it comes to homosexuality.

Prior to these incidents, two of the island's notable Gay advocates, Steve Harvey and Brian Williamson, were murdered. Time magazine reported that a crowd celebrated over Williamson's disfigured body. Time also recounted an incident in 2004 where a teen was nearly killed when his father learned his son was Gay and urged a mob to lynch the boy at his school. In the same year, it was reported that police heartily cheered on another mob as it stabbed and stoned a Gay man to death in Montego Bay. In 2006, a Kingston man drowned after a horde screaming "batty boy" (a Jamaican slur for Gay people) chased him off a high dock.

On American docks, six hundred miles west of this homophobic hellhole, tourists regularly line up to board massive luxury liners destined for Jamaica. The tropical island earned $2.1 billion from tourism in 2006, an increase of 24 percent over 2005. More than three million people visited Jamaica in 2006, with 1,025,000 arrivals from the United States.

Clearly, the answer to Jamaica 's love affair with lynching is an aggressive campaign designed to put the clamp on tourism - particularly the cruise industry. The goal should be to strangle Jamaica's economy and force the island to change or suffer severe consequences. With tourism Jamaica 's second largest source of revenue, such a campaign could have a powerful impact that achieves tangible results.

It appears that four major cruise lines are the main conduits in which people infuse Jamaica's economy with *lo** money. They are Carnival, Costa, Celebrity and Royal Caribbean. The ports where the ships leave are Miami, Fort Lauderdale, Port Canaveral and Galveston.

It is imperative that one of the GLBT international groups or a major U.S. Gay rights group create a campaign to shame these corporations and the passengers that travel on their ships. With so few ports, it would be relatively simple to call for a boycott and picket, while handing out informational flyers to cruisers. A "Boycott Jamaica" advertising campaign would greatly strengthen these actions. Billboards would need to be strategically placed along I-95 between Miami and Fort Lauderdale with the bold headline: "JA-MURDER."

Undoubtedly, there are many passengers with Gay friends and family members who are unaware of Jamaica 's sickening and immoral violence against GLBT people. Once informed, many individuals would opt to vacation elsewhere. There is no doubt that with a concerted effort, Jamaica could be brought to its knees.

To lift such a boycott, Jamaica would have to abolish its "buggery" law. Public officials would have to undergo sensitivity training. The police would be required to set up daily undercover stings - where officers would dress in stereotypically Gay clothing and arrest would-be attackers. Finally, Jamaica 's public officials would have to openly welcome Gay and Lesbian travelers and offer enthusiastic support for homosexuals living within the country.

It is time we stopped vacationing from our responsibility and started holding Jamaica and its corporate enablers accountable. Until anti-Gay atrocities are no longer the norm, Jamaica must be seen as an international pariah, rather than the faux paradise it presents itself to the world.

Click on the link below see the comments from the gay community or Jamaican who respond.

http://www.waynebesen.com/2008/02/boycott-jamaica.html

Š 2008 Wayne Besen. All rights reserved. Anything But Straight |    www.waynebesen.com  

MZJA - What are your thoughts? How would you respond?

Whos your favorite reggae/dancehall family?
which one a them artust yah buss wid di maddest tune

Kartel - sweet to di belly
movado- we dem a do
busy signal- step out
aidonia- candy shop
Shane o- tunder clap

'Holy ghost HIV'

March 25, 2008
Started By Crazypickney3 Comments

Dear Counsellor:

I read your column in the Star every week. It is a column I really look forward to reading. Now it is my time to write. A few months ago I went to give *lo** for a relative who is pregnant. Last week I was asked to report to the *lo** Bank, when I reported there I was told that HIV was found in my *lo**. This is the worst news I could ever receive. Counsellor, I'm a married man and there is no way I could face my wife with such a horrible news, because I know she is not the one who infected me. Counsellor, let me tell you the truth. I have a little woman on the side, but we all attend the same church and she is a holy ghost person, a Christian woman and moreover she told me she was not having sex with anyone else but me, and I know my wife is a faithful woman also. How could this be? Is it possible for me to be infected and my wife is not?

RTI/ATI??????

March 21, 2008
Started By ***DK***10 Comments

ppl where will yall be spendin emancipation weekend???pengu

best mzja game for now

March 29, 2008
Started By ***DK***16 Comments
ppl votes count so do so plz..........

-- Edited by dainty_kay at 02:27, 2008-03-30

STARRIGHT_1_P2TVQCarnivAM.jpg
The shattered window of a police bus that was stoned after men, believed to be gay, were placed inside when angry spectators attacked them during the Jamaica Carnival road parade yesterday. - Norman Grindley

Though incident-free for the most part, there were at least two major events that marred yesterday's staging of Jamaica Carnival 2008.

Men, believed to be gay, earned the wrath of spectators who attacked them damaging a bus and injuring a police officer.

Superintendent Lenval Hutton, who was on the scene, said the parade was moving along Waterloo Road when, upon reaching the intersection with West Kings House Road, some men joined the parade.

The men were allegedly gyrating and wining on each other and this angered spectators who started to stone them. Police, in an attempt to prevent any further incident, placed four of the men into a police bus which was working at the festivities. However, this did not stop the spectators from continuing to attack the men. Someone threw a stone through the window of the bus, shattering one of the windows and cutting the hand of a corporal who was also in the bus.

One of the men who were attacked was slashed across the forehead. The police did not hold anyone in connection with the incident as the perpetrator ran off. But the Superintendent said a report was made at the Half-Way Tree Police Station and the matter is being investigated.

The men were taken to the police station where they were released.

Later, during the final hurrah at the National Stadium, three young ladies had to be lifted from the crowd after they were doused with pepper spray by unruly members of the crowd.

The women, including one who was said to be asthmatic, were attended to by medical personnel on the scene.

While the performances were under way, a mini-stampede sent some members of the audience scurrying for safety. According to the police, however, this was not a serious matter, merely a "false alarm".

Up to press time, the National Stadium police had received no reports of any major incidents. Similarly, the Constabulary Communication Network said said they had received no reports of serious incidents or injuries.

bwoy AOL worse ting ever, you wouldnt believe how much time i nearly bruk up my computer. even worse mek yuh try call dem, yuh better learn fi speak hindu to B**kside...,.,.,.,
where is everybody from??

i rep for the UK

Bless

13 year old girl pimpin other girls

March 28, 2008
Started By CV32 Comments
A 13 year old female caught pimpin other girls to sell their bodies for sex!

Spoiler
http://www.worldstarhiphop.com/videos/video.php?v=wshh3prG6IJORL51lPa3

Do the 'Papa P'

March 30, 2008
Started By Dj Moet7 Comments

Many are hampered by their disabilities but Papa P is using this shortcoming to his advantage.

The dancer, whose real name is Lloyd Brooks, dances with the popular Mountain View based dance group Ravers Clavers. His nephew Chicken and Beer, who is also a Raver, says Papa P was born with thyroid fever which is the cause of his disability.

He was not always a dancer but by being the maintenance person for Ravers Clavers, he quickly caught on.

"Him jus' watch wi an' learn an den do a ting. Wi treat him as one a wi, Papa P Ravers, part a di group since him start dance," said his nephew.

It was obvious that he loves dancing, as when the Star team arrived in Mountain View, he started with 'Nuh Linga'.

Middle-aged

At 45 years old and much older than the other members, Papa P has no problems doing the latest dances that the group does. He is quite versed on their dances, like the now popular 'Nuh Linga', for which Elephant Man has done a song. He does the dance 'Paper Bag' well but no one can beat him at his dance 'Papa P'.

"Him do a dance name 'Papa P' an' it sell off to the world. Even Vegas do a tune bout it ago an' it big a Montego Bay," Chicken and Beer told The Star.

He explained that Vegas attended a session in their area five months ago and did a song about the dance the following day.

The effect that Papa P had on Vegas is no surprise as he has had a similar impact on others that he has been in contact with. When he showed off a few moves during the interview, the community members cheered him and this made him dance even more.

His efforts might pay off in the long run as his nephew has many plans for him.

"Him can mek 'cause in the dancing thing, yuh haffi have a image. So because him cripple people a go waan si him 'cause him nuh look regular an' people will always waan see him," said Chicken and Beer.

He continued, "A di hottest cripple. Ever fresh, ever clean cologne, roll on an' ting. Papa P to the world."

He said that there are also plans to bring Papa P on a tour with the Ravers Clavers with Ding-Dong at the helm.

"Ding-Dong a mi boss," said Papa P of the leader of Ravers Clavers, but his words were hard to understand as his speech is muffled.

Jason-X, one of di best lyricist?

March 10, 2008
Started By UV RAYS7 Comments
Yow mi tek some time a pree some jason-x freestyle on youtube and mi realize seh him lyrics a dweet. Man have some of di sickest punchline, comparable to kartel. Pree dem link yah and tell me how yuh rate him.

-- Edited by STAINLESS at 02:00, 2008-04-01

MOVADO ON GRAND THEFT AUTO 4

March 31, 2008
Started By tikotee0 Comments
Nuh know if it post already http://www.g4tv.com/trailers/videos/20951/Trailer_Grand_Theft_Auto_IV.html

Killer nuh like mi - Beenie

March 28, 2008
Started By linko65 Comments

Bounty Killer. Just the mention of that name could spell trouble, especially if mentioned to, let's say, Beenie Man.

Well, THE STAR recently had a sit down with 'The Doctor' in a one- and-one interview and we couldn't help but ask how are things between the two deejays.

Bounty Killer and Beenie Man have been arch-rivals in dancehall music for several years and, over time, one would think that the two would have been able to put aside their differences.

Turn for the worst

However, things seem to have only taken a turn for the worst, as Beenie says he is convinced that The Killer really has something against him.

"Mi use to tek it fi joke, sey Killer nuh like mi, but afta suh long, mi a get fi realise sey him really nuh like mi," Beenie Man said.

But according to Beenie, "Mi sorry fi Bounty Killer, a good yute still cause him bring whole heap a people inna di music. But him need fi adjust and change wid di times an stop badmind mi. Why him a guh come pon TV an sey mi nuh deserve fi get artiste a di year? A nuh him sing Back It Up an dem song deh? I think di Range Rover a get inna him head. Memba dat a him an Mavado a drive di same vehicle, but a me buy Range an give Angel, a me sey Humma two time, a red an a black one."

"A nuh my fault"

According to Beenie, Bounty probably dislikes him because he has failed to maintain the presence and popularity that he has managed to maintain until now.

"A nuh my fault that Bounty Killer is not where I'm at. Look at Mavado, him have a song wid Jay Z an di one chance wey Bounty get is a naked man come inna him video."

In terms of his present musical direction, the deejay says that he is planning to build an empire with Barbee.

"Me an Barbee a build a empire a New York, a musical ting. Me in charge of har programme a hundred percent, suh right now she's in studio working on her album, an is from di gym to the studio an back, cause she stay a Jamaica an eat up some yam an dem ting deh, an yuh know how dat guh," Beenie said.

However, with all his projected plans, Beenie hopes, "this year will be a good one, because right now wi a work pon a new record deal, cause mi tired a Virgin an dem odda big company deh. Suh right now wi a look a independent label that's signed with a major company, so that way you can get what you want. Mi nah mek di same mistake wey mi mek wid Virgin."

New movie

In addition to his search for a record deal, Beenie says he also has a movie coming out soon called Kingston. "Inna di show, a me name Jonathon Kingston an is a action movie. No regular Jamaican movie, di same people dem wey produce Rude Bwoy wid me an Ninja Man," he said.

Well, if building an empire with Barbee and making a movie isn't enough, the self-proclaimed King of the Dancehall says his latest album is expected to be ready in time for this summer.

"Mi nuh have no name fi it yet, a di first mi nuh have a name fi mi album, but it a guh be di same kind a vibe like Give It Up. It's a dancehall album," and fans, he says, need not worry, "because when mi drop album a di baddis ting bout yah," Beenie said.

Death Before Dishonor

March 31, 2008
Started By biggaman12111 Comments

mightycrown_champs_08.bmpJapan sound system Mighty Crown, won the annual Death Before Dishonor sound clash beating out selector Tony Matterhorn, Black Kat, Hype Zone and more.

Sammy of Mighty Crown tells Music News that they are elated as it is not easy for a foreign sound to win. The event was held on Easter Monday, March 24 at Pier One in Montego Bay.

Instead of the usual early warm-up juggling there was a 'vintage tribute' with foundation sounds, King Jammys, Black Scorpio, David Rodigan, Downbeat and others.

Rapper The Game has slammed the World Wrestling Entertainment [WWE] star using the same stage name, claiming it was he who first used the moniker.

The Dreams hitmaker - real name Jayceon Taylor - is furious the TV heavyweight has copied his signature, and challenges his namesake to a fight to prove his credentials.

He says, "I'm much stronger than [wrestler The Game] is. I was 'The Game' long before he came about.

"He's on TV wrestling and it's pretend, made up. I wrestle in real life and I win." 

Dat ediat yute yah can find himself inna sum sumn eeh starbiggrin.gifbiggrin.gif

no gay

March 31, 2008
Started By brammo11 Comments
Violence mars carnival celebrations - Cop and reveller injured in anti-gay incident

The shattered window of a police bus that was stoned after men, believed to be gay, were placed inside when angry spectators attacked them during the Jamaica Carnival road parade yesterday. - Norman Grindley

Though incident-free for the most part, there were at least two major events that marred yesterday's staging of Jamaica Carnival 2008.

Men, believed to be gay, earned the wrath of spectators who attacked them damaging a bus and injuring a police officer.

Superintendent Lenval Hutton, who was on the scene, said the parade was moving along Waterloo Road when, upon reaching the intersection with West Kings House Road, some men joined the parade.

The men were allegedly gyrating and wining on each other and this angered spectators who started to stone them. Police, in an attempt to prevent any further incident, placed four of the men into a police bus which was working at the festivities. However, this did not stop the spectators from continuing to attack the men. Someone threw a stone through the window of the bus, shattering one of the windows and cutting the hand of a corporal who was also in the bus.

One of the men who were attacked was slashed across the forehead. The police did not hold anyone in connection with the incident as the perpetrator ran off. But the Superintendent said a report was made at the Half-Way Tree Police Station and the matter is being investigated.

The men were taken to the police station where they were released.

Later, during the final hurrah at the National Stadium, three young ladies had to be lifted from the crowd after they were doused with pepper spray by unruly members of the crowd.

The women, including one who was said to be asthmatic, were attended to by medical personnel on the scene.

While the performances were under way, a mini-stampede sent some members of the audience scurrying for safety. According to the police, however, this was not a serious matter, merely a "false alarm".

Up to press time, the National Stadium police had received no reports of any major incidents. Similarly, the Constabulary Communication Network said said they had received no reports of serious incidents or injuries.

Victim stabs wannabe rapist

March 19, 2008
Started By Crazypickney18 Comments

A 22-year-old man is now in critical condition in hospital after a woman he is alleged to have been attempting to rape stabbed him several times on Monday, THE STAR understands.

Police say the man, for whom they had been searching for in connection with several other cases of rape in the May Pen area, has not been charged because of the seriousness of his condition in the May Pen Hospital, Clarendon.

He had turned up for treatment for stab wounds, but while at the hospital, police say another woman pointed him out as the man who raped her last Saturday. A report given to the police said that the latest person he attempted to rape, a 27-year-old model, was tricked into visiting the man's home after he promised to sponsor her in a beauty contest.

Shortcut

It is reported that when she went to his district, he took her to some bushes, telling her it was a shortcut to his house.

In the bushes she was held at knifepoint after she became suspicious and decided not to go further.

In recalling her ordeal for THE STAR, the young woman said, "He then grabbed my bag after which he hit me in the back with a stone. He then pulled out a ratchet knife and gave me a stab in my right hand. I got very scared at that moment and asked God, what I had got myself into."

Calmed down

She further said, "I, however tried to talk him into not doing anything more foolish. I also told him that I love him, that is why I travel so far to see him, in a bid for him not to hurt me. At that point he calmed down and asked me for sex."

She said she was asked to take off her clothes so she attempted to stall his intentions by requesting that he use a condom. "He said no and I told him I will go to the shop and get one, but he said he does not have sex using condoms.

I got the strength and used my body to push him and he fell between two trees and I jumped down on him and we started to fight. I bit him and managed to get the knife from him and I stabbed him in his belly several times and gave him a cut in his throat."

The victim took out her phone to call the police and the 'wannabe' rapist fled. He was later accosted at the hospital after he was pointed out when he turned up there for treatment.

Mayweather to try wra**lin as part of WWEs WrestleMania

Champion boxer Floyd Mayweather tosses a roll of dollars to fans at a news conference at the Staples Center in Los Angeles Monday, Feb 25, 2008. Mayweather is preparing wrestle as part of WWE's "WrestleMania XXIV" next month in Orlando, Fla.

LOS ANGELES (AP)Floyd Mayweather Jr. is a champion boxer and has tested his moves on Dancing With the Stars. Now the man many consider the best pound-for-pound fighter in the world is preparing to drop the gloves and do some wra**lin.

A $20 million payday awaits the undefeated WBC welterweight champion when he takes on Big Show as part of WWEs WrestleMania XXIV at Citrus Bowl in Orlando, Fla., on March 30.

Its entertainment. You have a chance to just be you and do what you want to do, Mayweather said Monday after a chaotic Staples Center event that masqueraded as a news conference.

The boxer nicknamed Money clearly likes the way WWE does business.

Wrestling takes care of business right on the spot, Mayweather said. Whatever they say theyre going to do, they do it right on the spot. Theres no waiting three, four, five months. Quick results, quick money. Quick big money, too.

His manager Leonard Ellerbee and WWE executive Shane McMahon confirmed Mayweathers eight-figure payday for the outdoor match to be shown on live on pay-per-view.

Mayweather incited the couple hundred of already hyped fans at Staples Center by whipping out a thick wad of cash and repeatedly tossing $100, $50 and $20 bills into the crowd that had nearly as many women as men.

A mad scramble ensued, with a light pole nearly getting knocked over and two small children caught in the chaos. One lucky man emerged from the pileup cl**tching six $100 bills.

Mayweather played to the frenzied crowd after appearing from behind a black curtain wearing a New York Yankees jacket and cap. Fans shouted insults and the name of hometown hero Oscar De La Hoya at Mayweather.

I run Vegas and I run L.A. and I will run the WWE, he boasted.

At 5-foot-8, 150 pounds, Mayweather gives up big numbers to the bald Big Show, who stands 7-feet and weighs 430.

I weigh three times as much as he does, Big Show crowed. Its not fair, but Im a businessman and I see an opportunity for business.

Then he picked up the wooden podium and tossed it to the floor, where it splintered and the attached two mics lay like broken sticks. Clearly, Staples Center officials hadnt expected the move.

Mayweather hopped onto a chair and exchanged glares with Big Show while WWE regulars Randy Orton, John Cena, Triple H and Edge looked on, witnessing a newcomer who clearly understands the theatrics of modern-day wrestling.

WWE is the biggest it gets, Mayweather said. This is going to be an event like none other.

Ellerbee scoffed that hard-core boxing fans wont take Mayweather seriously after his WWE antics.

After March 30, when Floyd goes out and takes care of his business at WrestleMania, hes still going to be the best fighter in the world and the face of boxing, he said. Tell me what changes about that? Nothing changes.

The wrestling gig is another part of Ellerbees carefully crafted plan to expand Mayweathers fan base.

Either Im going to be a genius with this or Im the biggest idiot, he said. Boxers have such a short window of opportunity. He cant become any bigger in boxing.

Floyd Mayweather, left, faces off with Big Show at a news conference at the Staples Center in Los Angeles on Monday, Feb 25, 2008. A $20 million payday awaits Mayweather, the undefeated WBC welterweight champion, when he takes on Big Show as part of WWE's "WrestleMania XXIV" in Orlando, Fla. on March 30.
Floyd Mayweather, left, faces
AP - Feb 25, 7:41 pm EST

Thats why Ellerbee snagged Mayweather a spot on ABCs reality hit Dancing With the Stars. Mayweather didnt win the disco ball trophy, but he wasnt the first one voted off, either.

It crossed him over and took him into the households of many middle-aged Middle Americans and turned him into a mainstream superstar, Ellerbee said. Now when Floyd goes into the grocery store, the first thing 65-year-old ladies say is, `Youre Floyd from `Dancing With the Stars.

Mayweather plans to train with WWE Latino star Ray Mysterio, who wears a mask on his face.

Im outside the box, he said, lapsing into the third person. Floyd Mayweather is not just a fighter, hes an entertainer. Thats what the world must know.

But he hasnt forgotten his night job.

Mayweather alluded to a possible rematch with De La Hoya in September. De La Hoya lost a split decision in their last bout May 5.

which movado do u like the best?

Dancehall Allstars Soccer XI

Ok Soccer fans who would be in your starting 11:

Here is mine, based on career history and overall performance

Formation 4-4-2

Goalkeeper Damien Marley (What stronger foundation than a Marley)

Left Back Cobra (Mr Find & Kill )

Right Back - Sean Paul (The billboard man)

Centre Back Sizzla (Solid As A Rock)

Centre Back Capleton (The Hitmaker)

Central Midfield Beenie man (The Veteran)

Central Midfield Bounty Killer (Him a nuh Wutless Bwoy)

Left Wing Elephant Man (Dung Di Flank)

Right Wing Buju Banton (Stamina Daddy)

Striker  Vybz Kartel (People ago suffer roun here)

Striker Movado (Top Shotta Nuh Miss)

Me daddy pp

-- Edited by dj headz at 12:56, 2008-03-31

-- Edited by pengo at 13:04, 2008-03-31
The "Quantum Sleeper" promises restful protection from "bio-terrorist attack, natural disaster, kidnappers/stalkers" and, of course, it's bulletproof.

If you regularly bed down in a hostile environment, maybe this is the right bed for you. The great thing is that securing yourself inside doesn't mean you're separated from many of the common comforts you would expect. The Quantum Sleeper can be fitted with a CD player, a DVD player with PC hookup, a microwave oven and even a refrigerator. Plus, it has options for cell phones, CB and short-wave radios.

The price tag on this bunk runs about $160 thousand (US). Basic requirements include enough space to install the unit, which weighs about 2000 pounds and expands to 138" wide x 98" high x 150" long when fully open.

Some other characteristics of the bed:
  • The 1.25" thick Polycarbonate plastic plating is constructed of laminated sheets and is capable of stopping a bullet from a hand gun up to a 357 magnum caliber. It has a tensile strength of 9,000 psi with a Specific Gravity of 1.2.
  • The units are designed to 20 percent compression and rated for greater than 7 psi (15' of water static head pressure).
  • The head cover side and front plates will be clear but w/ reflective characteristics that will allow the unit occupants to see out but prevent those on the outside from seeing in. The polycarbonate plating together provides the main attributes of a safe bed, safe room & b**** shelter.

Now who really needs this? $160 thousand (US)
MI SEH AIDONIA KARTEL AND MOVADO

FAVOURITE RIDDIM

March 31, 2008
Started By Pimping4 Comments
What is ur most favourite riddim

Song Of The Year

November 14, 2007
Started By Tommy Didads26 Comments
What would you say was your personal favorite song of the year.
Mine's a toss up between, Amazing Grace - Mavado (Tremor) & The Days - Busy Signal. Dem tune deh nuh normalppp

SHARE YOUR VIEWS ON MURDER

March 31, 2008
Started By verssatyle0 Comments
 me say man fi wise up and just know say, nowadays ah bear love we ah deal wid....and just understand say we nah indulge inna the killin thing nomore...yuzimi?

Face the Facebook facts

March 26, 2008
Started By sting 29 Comments

Face the Facebook facts
TEEN EDITORIAL

Tuesday, March 25, 2008

It is a phenomenon that has taken TEENs by storm. It offers you an opportunity to interact with an extraordinarily expansive universe of new people and even to stay connected or reconnect with old friends. However, this social networking craze has brought on a global problem, and it was only a matter of time before Jamaica felt its effects.

TEENage learnt about a most disturbing incident which occurred after the curtains came down at the 99th GraceKennedy/ISSA Boys' and Girls' Athletics Championship last weekend. After leaving the venue, a 17-year-old female patron was allegedly raped by two men she had met through the popular social networking site Facebook. She had never previously met these young men. But she accepted a 'friend request' on Facebook that subsequently allowed one of the men to access her home address, telephone numbers, and e-mail address, along with a host of other personal information, all available on her profile.

After various interactions on the Net they planned to meet face-to-face after Champs, and it was at this rendezvous that the alleged rape took place. The girl reported that after the Championship the young men called her, inviting her to dinner. After accepting their invitation, she proceeded to the vehicle they had told her to meet them at. When she entered the vehicle the young men took her to a small house where they requested that she perform oral sex on them. She allegedly refused and both young men proceeded to rape her.

TEENage could not help but be outraged by what has transpired. Even though we sincerely sympathise with the victim, TEENs must be aware of the fact that what they place on the Internet is accessible to the wider cyberworld. As a result, we must refrain from placing personal information such as one's telephone number and home address on these sites.
Also, we need to remember that the persons we meet on these social networking sites are not necessarily who they appear to be. We live in a world where paedophiles, murderers, perverts, and criminals on a whole are virtually everywhere. As a result, we need to be more cautious of who we interact with on the Internet.
In this day and age we cannot afford to be gullible. We hear on the news every day stories of TEENs being kidnapped, raped, and murdered by persons they meet online, but we never stop to think that it can happen to us. The reality is that these things are no longer foreign. It is imperative that we use these sites wisely.

TEENage strongly advises that TEENs refrain from giving strangers they meet on these sites their personal information. Don't rush into planning meetings with these persons, particularly if these persons are overly insistent on you meeting them and if they require you meet them alone. Also, if you receive a friend request from someone you don't know, do not be too quick to accept, (you should find out how they know you, first by browsing through their friends' list or looking at your mutual friends), and you should also want to read their profile thoroughly. We often take these things for granted but they are there for our safety.

On another note, TEENs must be mindful of how they present themselves on these sites. Think about not only your marketability today as a cool guy or girl in your high school/college social circle, but who you might want to be in five or 10 years when posting an 'identity' on the Internet. Remember, just because it is a new technology does not absolve you of the responsibility to use it in legal and appropriate ways; including taking into account your obligations regarding proper conduct as a student of the school.

TEENage must concur that there are several benefits with social networking, but there are also the many ills that come with it. As a result, TEENs must be cautious of how they use these sites, who they interact with, how they present themselves, and what information they place on their profile.
Over the next three weeks, TEENage will give you tips on how to better utilise your Net presence. Be sure to look out for the articles. And, as always, think and be safe.

$200,000 bail for Mavado

March 30, 2008
Started By Dj Moet11 Comments

Dancehall artiste David 'Mavado' Brooks, in custody since Wednesday afternoon, took up the bail in the Gun Court yesterday.

The artiste, charged with two counts of shooting with intent and illegal possession of firearm, was granted $200,000 bail with one surety and ordered to surrender his travel documents. He is to report to the Constant Spring police daily.

Brooks was charged in connection with an incident where two persons were shot and injured on July 27 last year.

He reportedly turned himself in to the Major Investigations Task Force on Wednesday and was taken into custody.

Police reports say on the day in question, Mavado and his entourage were allegedly at a bar near the intersection of Whitehall Avenue and Mannings Hill Road, St. Andrew, where his songs were being played.

It was said a certain individual ordered that no songs done by Mavado should be played.

Further reports say an ensuing altercation saw Mavado and his entourage leaving the bar. Several men later returned and proceeded to fire shots, injuring two persons.

Mavado returns to the Gun Court on May 27.

findImg.php?pic_size=200&table_name=news_img_tab&table_field=img_id&img_id=1123 Former secular singer turn Gospel artiste Dawnette Reynolds more popular known has Chrissy D today lost her first child who died due to complications with the pregnancy.

A source close to the family in a telephone conversation with 876radio.com informed us that Chrissy D who gave birth to her daughter Ruth on Friday morning, had serious complications and had to be rushed to the Victoria Jubilee Hospital in Downtown, Kingston to have the child prematurely.

Originally due in March, but due to the complex nature of the pregnancy, the infant had to be delivered 3 months in advance. After the birth it was discovered that baby Ruth needed an incubator in order to survive.

According to the source due to the unavailability of one a public appeal was made and the child was eventually transferred to Childrens Hospital where she died Sunday morning.

Chrissy D is the wife of Gospel singer Ryan Marks Reynolds and the couple is presently trying to cope with their loss.

We the family of 876radio.com would just like to take this opportunity to extend our condolences to them and their families and let them know our prayers are with them.

Ryan is set to release his album Tabernacle in the coming months with an official launch set for Little Theatre on Oxford Road.

http://www.worldstarhiphop.com/videos/video.php?v=wshht5g43mz72397a3rp

CBS reports: "Bernie Garcia has her purse double wound around her arm and even hit the would-be thief with a gas nozzle"

-- Edited by JamaicanShem at 15:55, 2008-03-19

RAMMED

March 18, 2008
Started By rrDesignZ 19 Comments
Dear Pastor,

I have been having sexual relations with someone who I thought cared just a little bit about me although he is married. Oh yes, I continued to see him. This man had a key to my home and I have never even been to his place.

Anyway, he told me about someone who fixed computers and I called him. The computer technician did what was needed to be done and I started feeling him up. Now we are seeing each other. Well, let me put it this way, we are dating and are having a good time.

Tell me, pastor, should I feel bad that I'm now seeing the technician?

S.S., New York, USA

Dear S.S.,

After the technician repaired your computer, you felt that you needed a fix too. So you started 'feeling him up'. Both of you have now become lovers. So in the future, if anything goes wrong again with your computer, you can get it repaired for free.

macho and sexy?

Seriously now, why did you start touching the technician? Was it because he was looking macho and sexy? And now that both of you are going together, do you believe that you have a future together? Evidently you were seeking a man because you were not satisfied with the married man, but now you have a real problem on your hands because he is still in your life and you have a new man dealing with. How should you be feeling? You should know.

Let me hope that this new man doesn't have another woman in is life. And let me also hope that he wont consider you cheap for coming on to him.

To be frank with you, try and get back your house key from the married man and break the news to him that you have another man in your life. I hope that when he realises that it is the computer technician, he wouldn't get crazy.

3-29-08-ryanne.jpg

Hackers embed flashing animations on epilepsy support forum

Shortly after hearing a sad tale of a 7-year old cancer patient having his medication and PSP stolen whilst en route to treatment comes yet another story of the world's meanest preying on the helpless. This go 'round, a group of griefers (assuming to be members of Anonymous) managed to invade a support forum established by the nonprofit Epilepsy Foundation and use JavaScript code and messages littered with flashing animations to effectively assault dozens of visitors who suffer from the disorder. The Foundation managed to catch wind of the problem within 12 hours of the attack, and while the boards were closed down temporarily to purge it of offending messages, many readers (such as RyAnne Fultz, pictured) experienced headaches and seizures before rescue arrived. Let's just say we sincerely hope the culprits get what's comin' to 'em.

lclclcmadmadbrickobricko

-- Edited by selectorbyron at 23:13, 2008-03-29
hp-elite-webcam-3-megapixel.jpg
While it may look like an overhead projector without any hints to the scale, you're actually looking at HP's (relatively) tiny Elite Auto Focus Webcam. Compatible with all the major PC-based, video chat solutions out there (Yahoo, Skype, MS Messenger, AIM), the USB 2.0 cam clips onto your monitor and features a 3 megapixel CMOS camera capable of shooting video ranging from 640 x 480 pixels at 30fps quality on down to 1,600 x 1,200 at a stuttering 5fps. It also brings a built-in stereo microphone, face tracking and Magic-i video effects software, 3 programmable buttons, and a sliding "privacy cover" which lets your date know that the camera really is, off.

cyclapclap

Where do we draw the line ?

March 28, 2008
Started By CALOSS30 Comments
A the fus mi a start one a them ya, but mi fed up.from wah day mi log on pon the zone an see a  bredda have up a white male model picture other man a have up man as them avatar an the man is not them, but recently mi see a next man have up a have naked man as him signature.

PERSONALLY MI TINK SEY A BATTYMAN BEHAVIOUR DEM FI SUCK DEM MADDA AND COME OFFA THE ZONE.

Unu can talk now!

WHO IS THE BEST RAPPER ALIVE

March 11, 2008
Started By dj kaplow50 Comments
partygunn is it lil wayne.................?????????????
ronaldo to di world

best coach soccer coach???

March 29, 2008
Started By ***DK***38 Comments
who uno tink a d best soccer coach???

GREATEST UNDERACHIEVER?

March 30, 2008
Started By Ambassidah4 Comments
who oonuh tink ah di greatest underachiever in football?

best female footballer?

March 30, 2008
Started By ***DK***11 Comments
who uno tink a d best female baller??

Do people overuse autotune?

March 23, 2008
Started By warhawk22 Comments
Do you like listening to computer generated voices? You might as well be listening to a riddim or instrumental with no vocals. Is auto tune the new thing of the future or it will it become the thing of the past? Anyone out there still enjoy raw vocals with some clean reverb?
«First  <  1466 467 468 469 470524  >  Last»  | Page of 524  sorted by