Little X was warmer than his current New York base this week while in Jamaica to shoot the video for Mavado's latest single, "Last Night."
One of many hot singles from Mavado's debut album, "Gangsta for Life â the Symphony of David Brooks," "Last Night" had a video shoot shrouded in sentiment and heartfelt love.
Using the Cassava Piece Gully Side where Mavado actually grew up for a location, the Little X headed video crew brought life to the vivid lyrics of "Last Night."
"We wanted the video to be as real as possible," said Mavado. "We... even filmed scenes in the actual house I was raised in to keep it as real as can be. We didn't bring in actors, we used Cubans and other people from the community in all the roles."
Done in "marathon filming" fashion, the shoot lasted 16 hours. Prominent video director, Little X, who graciously provided his services for this low budget shoot for rates below his norm, was happy to participate in the project out of sheer love.
Besides being a huge fan of Mavado since his bursting on the scene; Little X says he was motivated to cutting his current New York University Cinematography classes to do the video shoot, because of his love for Jamaican culture.
"I have Trinidadian roots so I have a natural bond with the Caribbean," he explained. "I love Jamaica, and its biggest export â the music and culture... it was worth every moment! I figured missing film school to shoot a video wasn't so bad anyway!"
There are many unique features to the video like cameo appearances from fellow Alliance colleagues: Bounty Killer, Bling Dawg, Serani, Flex, Anarchy, Kibaki, Advance and Foota Hype. Also stepping out to show support to Mavado was Foota Hype's mother who steals the scene as a grieving mother.
In addition, the high-quality, revolutionary new âRed Cameraâ was used for the shoot that really resembled a movie set - with shoot-outs, crime scenes and bike stunts; giving an exciting backdrop to the song.
Little X had a non stop day, but a satisfying one. Mavado's manager, Julian Jones-Griffith said, "Even though it was a long day and night shoot, the atmosphere on set was great...We truly appreciate the love and effort X put into the project."
A male student of Titchfield High, in Portland, was yesterday suspended for 10 days for allegedly hitting a male teacher with a chair, during an incident on Tuesday at the school.
Four other male students, who were involved in another incident at that school on Tuesday, were taken in for questioning by members of the Island Special Constabulary Force for the alleged beating of an 11th grade student.
Emergency meeting
Acting principal of Titchfield, Richard Thompson, told The Gleaner the student was suspended following an emergency meeting held yesterday at the school.
He also said the incident had emotionally scarred not only students but teachers who were concerned about antisocial behaviour being displayed by students.
"We took the decision to have that student suspended with immediate effect," Thompson said. "Such behaviour or practice is of much concern among my staff, which from all indications is fearful and tentative. It is an unfortunate incident, especially when a student is spoken to by a teacher, and he or she reacts by throwing a chair at a teacher."
According to reports, a group of boys was spotted in an area at the school that is off limits to students, and a male teacher asked them to disperse. It is alleged that the students were reluctant to move and one of them threw a chair at the teacher, injuring one of his arms. He was taken to the nearby Port Antonio Hospital for treatment.
In the second incident, a student was beaten by a group of other students after they claimed his social background and practices were abnormal.
Several pastors outside and within the Corporate Area have raised the concern that greater access to lewd material because of cable television and the internet are key factors behind church members having sex before getting married.
The claim has come following a recent case in court in which a church brother was charged with manslaughter. The man was charged after the police began investigating claims that his church sister died after they had sex.
When contacted yesterday one pastor, Minister Blackman, from one of the Corporate Area's Pentecostal churches said the situation of members having sex before getting married (committing fornication) is one that he is confronted with "from time to time". He also noted that the practice has increased with today's easy access to cable television and the Internet.
"These are definitely factors that influence young people greatly. In addition to the music today, (in) days gone by we did not have them," he said. "As a result, the inflow of young people involved in the act is greater and it is due to these influences."
Another pastor from a church in the Central Village area echoed this point. The pastor, who did not wish to have his name or that of his church mentioned, said members who were more liberal in what they watch on the television or view on the Internet were the ones most prone to indulge in sex before marriage, despite professing Christianity.
Battle of wills"The mind is where the battle is won or lost so you have to be selective in what you feed your mind on. If you feed it on that sort of thing (pornography) your mind will be programmed," the pastor said.
While he was unable to say how many church members have confessed to being involved in sex before marriage in recent times, the pastor observed that according to several persons who have backslidden from the church, fornication was the main factor that lured them from the pews.
A pastor from Portmore concurred with the previous two. In fact, he went further to say that he has seen at least two cases since the start of the year in which members who were involved in premarital sex had stopped coming to the church.
Names changed upon request.A feud between men from Southside and Tel-Aviv in Central Kingston is said to be the cause of a brazen display of terror which started in a section of downtown Kingston, ended on Gold Street and reportedly left 12 persons, including a baby, nursing gunshot wounds.
Reports are that shortly after 4 p.m., gunmen went behind the Pearnel Charles Arcade and opened fire on several persons who were inside.
They then reportedly continued on to Church Street, where they fired shots wildly before heading to Gold Street in Central Kingston where they yet again sprayed bullets.
THE STAR learnt that men from Southside and Tel-Aviv are currently at odds as there is currently a move for both communities to operate under 'one order', a move which is not welcomed by many.A new list of rules announced Thursday aims to prevent soldiers and Defense Ministry employees from revealing classified information on social networking sites.
The officials say some soldiers have uploaded pictures of themselves with classified equipment, inadvertently revealing sensitive information.
The rules allow soldiers to create pages on networking sites as long as they do not identify themselves as soldiers or reveal information about what they do.
They spoke on condition of anonymity because the rules have not been officially published.Platinum selling multiple award singer, Toni Braxton was hospitalized Monday night after suffering from chest pains, according to a report from People.com.
"We wish Toni a quick recovery and would like her to take the time she needs to regain optimal health," said president of
Flamingo Las Vegas, Don Marrandino. "We are looking forward to her return at the end of the week."
Braxton took Tuesday night off, and was not scheduled to perform Sunday or Monday night in her show.
The singer suffers from the heart condition pericarditis, an inflammation of the sac surrounding the heart. This year, Braxton became a spokesperson for the American Heart Association.
YENDI: Rising Stars' new host
Yendi Philipps
Miss Jamaica World 2007, Yendi Philipps, has been announced as the new host of the popular Digicel Rising Stars show.
When the STAR spoke with Yendi yesterday evening, she was delighted to be the new host saying, "I feel very good, fantastic. I was surprised that I got through but it's something I really wanted. I think it's excellent exposure and an excellent opportunity."
Although Yendi still has a few months remaining in her reign as Miss Jamaica, she has vowed to make time for the show after having been called in for casting. This will be Yendi's second time on live television after having done a brief stint on a live show four years ago.
Yendi was one of nine contenders for the coveted spot after the recent departure of long-time host Denise Hunt. Among the persons who were also looked at as possible hosts were Miss Jamaica 2006 winner, Sara Lawrence, and contestant Sanique Vacianna, TV personalities Renée Garel (Lady Renée ) and last year's host for the show's 'Chill Room', Kiki. Performers such as actress Sakina Deer, Guyanese singer Tamika Marshall and the sole male potential actor, Stephen McHew, were also screened.
Digicel's Rising Stars head of corporate affairs, Yvonne Wilks, told the STAR prior to the launch that Yendi was the clear champion at the end of the auditions. "When we reviewed the screening, she was by far the best. She had the most balanced response. It was unanimous she was the best for the programme. Nine people competed for the number-one programme and fair and square she came out on top," Wilks said.
Yendi Philipps rose to popularity in recent months when she won the coveted Miss Jamaica World title and placed in the top 15 at the Miss World finals. Known for her youthful exuberance and caring nature, Yendi will bring a fresh outlook to the popular talent competition.Lil Wayne's Tha Carter III has apparently been delayed yet again.
According to SOHH, the album, which was due out in May, is now slated for a June release.
The New Orlean's rapper hasn't released an album since 2005's Tha Carter II, though he has appeared on a slew of features and remixes, keeping him a fan favorite.
Tha Carter III has gone through numerous delays. Named "the #1 most anticipated album of 2007" by XXL, the release date was changed to 2008 after most of the album leaked in mid-2007. Wayne subsequently put out a release called The Leak, comprised of the most of that music.
Tha Carter
The Williamsfield police in Manchester say they now have in their custody a man who they believe had sex with a pregnant goat.
The suspect was held after some items left at the scene of the molestation were identified as belonging to him. Reports reaching THE STAR are that the suspect's ratchet knife, cellular phone and keys were found at the scene in Belair district, near Bellefield, Manchester.
It is alleged that between 6 p.m. Sunday and 7:30 a.m. Monday, the pregnant goat was assaulted. The animal was found dead by the property owner. The 46-year-old man now in police custody could be charged with bestiality.
The police have so far summoned a veterinarian, who confirmed that the animal had been sexually molested. Following investigations and the discovery of the items at the scene, the suspect was taken into custody.
ShockSeveral residents converged on the scene expressing shock about the incident. One resident who knew the suspect said: "I met it (the news) with a lot of shock. He usually fix ... and things like that, but I don't know him to do these sort of things."
Residents say the suspect was not known to have any mental illness.
What makes the case seem even more perverted is that residents also claim that the animal was found with its eyes dug out and its private parts swollen.BRIEF CASE
Two years ago, I decided to live here in Canada. I am a born Jamaican and really like my culture. I have a two-year-daughter who I love dearly. She is smart and full of fun. My child's father and I are still together, but my heart is not where it should be. I am having an affair with a 39-year-old married man. I am 20, and find this man to be real fun.
The only problem is that his wife is my mom's best friend and also my good friend. Pastor, I try sometimes not to see this man, but I just can't. He is everything a woman dreams of having or hoping to have someday. When we have sex, it's amazing. It's as if all of my problems are long forgotten. He said he loves me and I love him too.
Am i a fool?
Pastor, do you think that I am a fool to fall for this man? He has two kids with his wife. You might think that I am crazy, but trust me, I am not. Do you think this man is taking advantage of me and I am too much of a fool to see it? No one suspect us and I am hoping no one does, even though "what in darkness must come into light". I am confused.
Please, tell me what to do. I am scared for my life or should I say a life I don't have. Thank you for every advice you have to give. I am going to college.
B., Canada
Dear B.,
I have deleted two things from your letter so that no one will be able to identify you easily. I believe that you mean well and I believe that you are caught up in a relationship that you never thought would have happened to you. It is not that you are dumb or unintelligent.
It is just that you yielded to the temptation of the flesh. And this man has treated you with respect and has done things with you that you did not experience with your boyfriend.
No further
However, don't let it go further. You are going to get into serious problems if you do. You can ruin his family life and cause his wife and your mother to turn against you. This man can help you by not coming on to you.
Tell him that you are scared to death that the relationship that both of you are having is going to get both of you into trouble, so it should end.
Don't go on any more dates with him and don't encourage him to come to your house to visit you.
Work on the relationship with your child's father. It may not be the best, but even if it means that the both of you should get professional help, do so.
Pastor
Seven St Elizabeth men to answer gun, drug charges today |
VAUGHN DAVIS, Observer staff reporter davisv@jamaicaobserver.com Thursday, April 10, 2008 |
SEVEN St Elizabeth men, including well known businessman Lumsden Ledgister, are scheduled to appear in the Half-Way-Tree Criminal Court today to answer charges of conspiracy to export ganja, and conspiracy to import guns and ammunition into Jamaica.
The other accused men are Luddy Banton, Felix Dennis, Horace McKenzie, Richard Graham, Kenric Bennett and Andrew Reid.
The men, the police alleged, are believed to be major players in the illegal drugs-for-guns trade between Jamaica and Haiti.
The seven, who were picked up by Operation Kingfish operatives in January, are alleged to have piloted a boat laden with ganja to Haiti in May last year, where they allegedly exchanged the drugs for weapons.
However, during their attempt to travel back to Jamaica in July their boat allegedly developed mechanical problems and went adrift, eventually running into Cuban waters.
While in Cuban waters the men were intercepted by Cuban security officials, who allegedly caught the men trying to dispose of several guns.
The Cuban Government later contacted the local authorities and had the men turned over. They were arrested and charged in January following months of investigations.
SEX POSITIONS
Although we aren't really where the name Butterfly comes from exactly, we do know that this family of sex positions allows for some of the deepest penetration available... while leaving receiving partner fully accessible for some added manual stimulation.
Warring thugs in Cassava Piece and Glen Drive, St Andrew, have created lists with the names of persons they say must die, STAR investigations have revealed.
THE STAR understands that one of the names on the hit list is popular dancehall artiste David 'Mavado' Brooks, among others, who are marked for death by men from Cassava Piece. Mavado is said to be affiliated with a crew which is based on a section of Glen Drive.
Deputy Superintendent Carol McKenzie, head of operations for the St Andrew North police, admitted to THE STAR that the police have heard talk of the hitlists.
"Yes, we have heard of it, there are some names on some lists, but we haven't actually seen it," DSP McKenzie said. He was unable to say which names are on the lists.
Detective Sergeant Michael Greenwood of the Area Five police says the police have received information that Mavado's name was on one of the lists. But, they are unable to prove this as they have not actually seen any of the lists.
"We know there is some conflict between the men and Mavado, as he is said to be affiliated with one side. As a result, he is said to be on the list of the men from the other side ... We hear all sorts of things," Greenwood told THE STAR.
According to DSP McKenzie, the so-called hit lists, or rumours of their existence, surfaced around January.
THE STAR learnt that men from Cassava Piece and the adjoining community of Glen Drive have vowed to get rid of the selected individuals.
The warring factions have been at each other's throats since last September when two well-known men from both communities were shot dead in separate, but related incidents.
Reports reaching The STAR are that on September 4, an individual known as 'Tin Man' from Cassava Piece was shot dead by gunmen as he celebrated the victory of the Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) in the general election a day earlier.
Almost two weeks later, 'Bobby Slew', a high-ranking member of the Glen Drive community, was gunned down in what the police theorised was a reprisal for Tin Man's death.
Recent violent incidents have led the loss of several lives, some said to be innocent, while others were tagged as criminals by police sources.
"In the last flare-up of violence, two-high ranking members of Cassava Piece were killed ... There is a war between the communities," DSP McKenzie confirmed.
As a result, residents of both communities are cowering in fear, noting that not being on the alleged hit lists does not guarantee their safety.
"Di man dem have list weh dem a work wid but a whole heap a innocent people a dead," Mr. Scott, an elderly resident of Glen Drive, said.
Similarly, Mrs Shirley, another elderly Cassava Piece resident, said: "A pure innocent *lo** a shed, wi tired a it now, wi hear seh dem all have down people name who dem want, but people weh nuh involve still a get hurt."
Although both sets of thugs were tight-lipped on the topic of their respective lists, one known 'shotta' from Cassava Piece was adamant, claiming "Da war ya nah go done."
"Dem out fi we and we out fi dem, we always a bleach (stay up late) an a look out fi dem an wi nuh fraid fi tek dem on," he added.
Meanwhile, DSP McKenzie said the police have an interest in some men whom they believe are key players in the feud. He urged residents to assist the police in bringing these men to justice.
"In terms of the conflict, there are some names of men alleged to be key players, but there is no evidence," he told THE STAR.
The police have promised to maintain a presence in the troubled communities.
Name changed to protect identity
hope u like it! |
u can choose more than one |
Morgan Heritage is enjoying a successful stint in Europe as they get ready to wind down the promotions tour for their new album 'Mission in Progress'.
They have also wrapped up the video for the single "Raid Rootz Dance" and the tour is now having a positive effect on it. Since their Europe trek it has been added to video stations across Europe. MTV Base UK, Trace France, MTV Pulse France, MTV Base France, MTV France, All Music Italy, Go TV Austria, and many more are about to do the same.
The song, which is a tribute and cover of a Steele Pulse Classic saw Mr. Mojo from the group making his directorial debut alongside Winston Mayhew, but the video is also a throw back from a Jamaican Classic movie Rockers. A lot of creativity has gone into the making of the video which the group did in tribute to the Jamaican film industry. Among the experts that shared in the directing credits were, Ras Kassa, Jay Will, and co-director Winston Mayhew.
The album will enjoy its official release on April 15.
50 Cent has made it clear about the status of Young Buck, one of his artists who has had a shaky relationship with the company for several months. 50 Cent revealed today that the Tennessee rapper was no longer in G-Unit the group, but would still record for the label.
You can look at it and see thats Game [former G-Unit rapper] all the way. I was giving him a chance, giving him the benefit of the doubt [to remain with the group]. You can take this as an official notice right here pretty much you can say: Young Buck is no longer in the group G-Unit, but signed to G-Unit [Records] as a solo artist, 50 Cent told DJ Envy, a co-host on the Hot 97 Morning Show with Miss Jones.
Most recently, Young Buck revealed that he had not collected any royalty income as an artist on G-Unit Records, a subsidiary of Interscope. Those reports were quickly dispelled by Sha Money XL, manager of Young Buck, who said the rapper was waving the G-Unit flag strong.
There has been a new rumor going around that 50 Cent has not paid Young Buck any royalties," Sha Money XL told AllHipHop.com. "I, as Bucks manager and as former President of G-Unit Records, want to make it clear: that is false. Young Buck has cleared over $10 million dollars working under 50 Cents and my guidance.
Young Buck, born David Darnell Brown, was expected to appear on Shoot to Kill, the follow up to G-Units 2003 debut album titled Beg For Mercy.
Young Buck once was to lead the charge for 50 Cents G-Unit Sout imprint. Instead, the rapper started Cashville Records and signed rap vet C-Bo and The Outlawz, who were a part of Tupacs inner circle of emcees.
But has also started David Brown clothing to supplement his rap offerings.
50 Cent and The Game initially parted ways, because the Compton upstart wouldnt assume beefs with Nas and Fat Joe that the rest of G-Unit had declared.
Inspite of the negativity surrounding Jamaica...there is one more reason to be proud. Dr. Winsome Thompson Clarke was by the American Biographical Institute in the United States as their Woman of the Year in Education.
Dr. Clarke who taught at St Marys High School in Highgate was a past student of St Hugh's High School and received her Bachelors and Masters degrees in music and education at Andrews University in Berrien Springs, Michigan and went to complete her doctorate in educational administration at Ohio University, Athens.
The title of her dissertation was entitled "Legal implications on the high school principalship". At Ohio University, she was an honour student in the College of Education.