Forum: News & Topical Issues

News updates, entertainment, hot topics, gossip | Share and discover what is happening right now.

Heineken just got colder

Teino Evans, Staff Reporter

STARRIGHT_1_P5JJRnekensAM.jpg
Frederique Asberg the country manager for Heineken dressed for the 'weather' at the Heineken Forecast 4 degrees Celsius launch. - Peta-Gaye Clachar

A new forecast was revealed last Wednesday, when Heineken introduced their new sub-zero coolers in the island.

The launch, which took place at 17 Trinidad Terrace (beside The Quad) officially made Jamaica one of 66 countries that have experienced Heineken served extra cold, with the introduction of the new and innovative sub-zero coolers.

The cooler will chill beer to negative four degrees Celsius, the lowest temperature a beer can reach before freezing.

An islandwide promotion, dubbed 'Club Zero' kicked off at the launch on April 9 and will run until May 31, 2008, during which seven events will be staged over seven weeks.

Heineken has even created 'Club Zero', a mobile 40-foot long icebox designed to give patrons a taste of the sub-zero experience. Club Zero will immediately after around the start morning with the launch.

From the sub-zero road shows to the sub-zero club events and finally culminating with Saint International's FASHIONBLOCK in New Kingston on May 25, Heineken will electrify Jamaicans with their sub-zero parties. This innovative, intriguing move for Heineken certainly drives home the message that Heineken is indeed 'the coldest beer for the hottest occasions'.

The extra cold promotion comes with an additional incentive, consumers can join in a video competition and stand the chance of winning a trip for two to Amsterdam, "the home of Heineken," to experience the famous Heineken Ice Bar.

Frederique Asberg, country manager of Heineken says, "Heineken is the brand that consumers can party with because it gives them the worldly appeal that they are looking for."

Hence, the sub-zero experience is just another way to "enjoy our beer in a fun and exciting way."

She adds, "without a doubt our Heineken Extra Cold is the lightest, most refreshing, intense tasting beer and our consumers will enjoy the experience tremendously, but we remind our patrons to enjoy our products responsibly."

Kingfish seizes rifles

April 12, 2008
Started By asian11 Comments
Four high-powered rifles were among nine illegal weapons and a quantity of ammunition seized by Operation Kingfish yesterday.

Two shotguns, an M-16 Rifle, two 9mm pistols and 383 rounds of assorted ammunition were also reportedly seized.

The discovery was made at the Kingston Wharves, and the weapons reportedly found in the seat of a sofa after the police suspected that something was wrong with the item.

One woman has reportedly been questioned in connection with the find.

The police were reportedly on operation at the wharf from Wednesday.

Spokesman for Operation Kingfish, Inspector Steve Brown, made a special appeal to persons within the tri-state area of North America.

This, after he disclosed that the guns were believed to have been shipped from there.

As he condemned the motives of persons who migrate to North America and send guns back to Jamaica, Inspector Brown asked: "What are you contributing when you send these guns?" He added: "These guns are sent by Jamaicans to kill Jamaicans. Sending guns back to Jamaica doesn't help in anyway."

More trouble for Mavado

April 12, 2008
Started By asian15 Comments
Mavado and his fans may have been rejoicing too soon when he got back his travel documents. mediazone understands from a well placed source that the DJ arrived in New York yesterday on an Air Jamaica flight and was refused entry into the country. He was deemed inadmissible by the immigration authorities. The DJ is now waiting to board Air Jamaica Flight 17 to return to the island. He should have arrived home already, but mediazone understands that the flight was delayed.
mediazone understands that the promoters are in a quandry...stay tuned for more info

CEO of the now defunct Cash Plus Limited in boiling hot water

carlos hill2.jpgCarlos Hill's informal investment scheme Cash Plus - has been under investigation for some time for fraudulent activities and he was arrested along with his brother, Bertram Hill on April 10, following a police raid of his chic St. Andrew residence in Norbrook.

On that day police conducted nine raids in upscale areas of Kingston, in their attempt to glean information needed to lay formal charges on a group that has left its investors high and dry.

A court appointed Receiver General reported that the company was broke on April 9, 2008; triggering the police action.

Hill had been promising to resume payments of monthly returns for some time now and investors who were expecting their payouts on March 31 were again asked to wait until April 14 by the late CEO and suspected swindler.

Held in custody while awaiting questioning by police, a frustrated Hill fought for his immediate release, according to former lawyer Hugh Thompson.

Posted by yardFlex at April 12, 2008 02:33 PM

| Mavado was not deported l

April 12, 2008
Started By rrDesignZ 6 Comments
As promised in our report earlier we have received more information on Mavado being denied entry to the United States of America. One876Entertainment has learnt from someone close to the artiste that David Mavado Brooks and his manager, Julian Jones-Griffith were surprised by the immigration issues he had upon arriving in the U.S. on Thursday night.

Mavado3.jpgAccording to the source, Mavado was deemed "inadmissible" by the U.S. Department of State, who had instructed Homeland Security to return him to Jamaica to face a warrant for his arrest.

Upon checks immediately made in Jamaica we discovered there is no warrant for his arrest in Jamaica so it seems as if the system had not been updated in the US to say he had already been arrested, bailed and rendered free to travel with the return of his travel documents, the source told this One876Entertainment reporter.

The Immigration Officer in JFK airport informed us that David would have to return to Jamaica to clear up the matter due to a (non-existent) warrant for his arrest in his home country and they could not admit him to the U.S. He was not deported and we have already taken steps to rectify the situation, which we are confident will happen in the immediate future, the source disclosed.

Promoters and sound- system operators in western Jamaica will be required to play a new tune if they intend to survive in the entertainment business as the Area One Police High Command, with immediate effect, will enforce the Noise Abatement Act of 1997.

At a meeting at Freeport Police Station, in Montego Bay, on Thursday, St James' commanding officer, Superintendent Steve McGregor, and Area One divisional commander, Assistant Commissioner of Police Clifford Blake, told some 30 sound-system operators, promoters and owners of entertainment venues, that the flexibility they previously enjoyed would be curtailed.

Zero tolerance approach

"We know it is the cultural norm for people to go out to parties at 2:00 a.m., which under the law is supposed to be the cut-off time," said Superintendent McGregor, who initiated the meeting to apprise stakeholders in the entertainment industry of the new zero-tolerance approach.

"As of now, we will be enforcing the requirement that states that events during the week should end at mid-night and those on the weekend should end at 2:00 a.m.," said Superintendent McGregor. "Don't let anybody tell you that every thing criss. A we run here yasso. If you breach the regulation, you will have to face the consequences."

In looking at the current situation, Superintendent McGregor pointed out the following flaws:

Music is being played beyond the cut-off times (12:00 midnight during the week and 2:00 a.m. on weekends). Music causing a nuisance to the public. Musical events being kept in the street impeding vehicular and pedestrian traffic. Use of firearm at these events, resulting in injury or death to patrons. Use of drugs at these musical event. Traffic concerns improper parking which creates congestion. Breach of the NSWMA improper disposal of garbage. Abstraction of electricity illegally Expression of lewd lyrics by disc jockey. Attendance of children at these musical events.While expressing a general understanding of the position taken by the police, some promoters said the prompt enforcement was too harsh, especially with regard to major pre-planned event. In fact, prominent Montego Bay promoter, Sonny Ranking, suggested that the new enforcement should be phased in gradually."This could result in great financial loss to promoters who have invested large sums of money in some of the events that are already planned," said Ranking. Phased-in with events"Those events already planned show be allowed to continue under the previous arrangement and the new situation phased in with the events to come in the future."However, ACP Blake made it clear that the police would be enforcing the law and to back up their position, no police officer would be detailed to provide security beyond the legal cut-off period. He suggested that promoters seek to start their events earlier so that they could meet the cut-off time."There are no regulations to prevent you from starting an event at 6:00 p.m. So, you need to get creative and start your events early so that you can finish on time," said ACP Blake. "If you want the law to change, you will have to form yourselves into an organisation and lobby for that."McGregor, who said he regularly authorised as much as 50 applications for entertainment events in St James per week, said he was rethinking granting permission for some events on weekdays because of the reluctance of some promoters to operate within the law.People taking beds"There are some events that should cut off at 2:00 a.m., which go until even after 8:00 a.m.," said McGregor. "There is now a new phenomenon, where you have people taking beds into the street for some of the dances they are now doing."In response to one promoter, who noted that when the events went on until daybreak, it created a kind of safety net for persons, especially women, who otherwise would have to return to their homes during the hours of darkness, Blake said the police were obligated to protect the rights of those who were being disturbed by the loud music at all hours of the night."If you can find some places that are not in proximity to structured communities, hospitals, hotels, guest houses, nursing homes, you would be helping the situation," said Blake. "If you are operating in these areas, we don't have to get a complaint to act, we can presume that a noise nuisance is being created and either turn down or turnoff the sound system."In outlining what is expected of the police with regard to entertainment events, McGregor outlined the following obligations, among others: Refusal of application where it is deemed that the music will be a source of nuisance. Refusal of application for venues with a history of violence. Place ban on promoters whose events have caused problems in the past. Refusal of application for venues without entertainment licence. Refuse application if artistes with bad reputation/influence are involved with the event.While not expressing a desire to seize sound systems or prosecute promoters, sound-system operators or owners of venues, McGregor said the police were willing and ready to act.Legal action"Although we would like to make it the last resort, if we have to seize the sound system and take legal action against you, we will," McGregor told entertainment stakeholders. "We have some trucks that we have already designated to do so. If we face any resistance, that could lead to additional actions."Quizzed as to whether the new zero-tolerance approach would impact major events such as 'Reggae Sumfest', the 'Air Jamaica Jazz and Blues Festival' and events along Montego Bay's tourism belt the 'Hip Strip', McGregor said all violators would be treated in the same way, which could include the following: Monitoring of areas to prevent the unauthorised staging of musical events. Monitoring of approved musical events. Locking down of music systems being played beyond the cut-off time. Prosecution of violators. Arrest where desirable. Seizure of equipment if necessary.In light of the new situation, Sonny Ranking said he would be initiating the formation of an umbrella organisation for all promoters and sound-system operators so as to bring uniformity to their operations as well as to create a platform from which to negotiate when there is a need to do so."It would not be in our best interest to get into any confrontation with the police, so, as a body, we will have to sit down and come up with creative ways to protect our livelihood," stated Ranking. "The police have a job to do and we have a livelihood to protect, so we will just have to find a way to work together."While the St James police have taken the lead in this new initiative, of ensuring compliance with the Noise Abatement Act, which has never been treated with universal seriousness, Blake said it formed a part of a drive by Police Commissioner Rear Admiral, Hardley Lewin, and would ultimately be enforced islandwide.
By asian, mediazone Reporter

His battle with bladder cancer, made worse by the unpleasant effects of chemotherapy, is not enough to keep 73-year-old soca monarch Byron Lee away from his true love.

Although his doctors encouraged him to rest for a year, Lee simply could not stay away from Jamaica Carnival, and especially not the road march.

"Music is a vitamin," he said, "The doctors say I'm a crazy fellow, but they don't understand what it means to me. The road is my life, so I will treat it that way. If I have to die, what better way than on the band playing Tiney Winey. There's nothing better to me than playing. The adrenaline pumps because I'm doing what I love."

He continued: "This year, I was in the middle of chemo, but when I went on top of the truck and saw the people, I forgot about that until I got home. Now I'm paying for it."

Lee was diagnosed with stage three cancer in November 2006 and did surgery a year later. This caused him to miss a December 2006 performance in China, the land of his forefathers. Lucky to have caught the disease before it got to stage four, Lee immediately underwent chemotherapy. He told mediazone, "We did the chemo, but it didn't work 100 per cent. One or two cells got away."

Although a CAT scan, bone scan and biopsy, told him that the treatment had been successfully completed, a decision to do a PET scan may have been the one that saved his life as this revealed that a few cancer cells had survived. "I'm so lucky. God has blessed me," he said, "There are two little dots that they're trying to eradicate now."

Lee left the island for Miami yesterday, both to work and to seek treatment. He is scheduled to do another PET scan next Tuesday and Wednesday to "see where the cancer is, where it's heading and if the treatment is working." He said doctors have advised him to rest for two consecutive months and although this might seem impossible with so many shows, he has delegated most of the physical work to his 14-member team

Lee, who also suffers from kidney stones, said of his disease: "It is very rare, but it is getting prevalent. A lot of people have it but don't know. I would encourage people to go to the doctor.

It is more prevalent in men and it creeps up on you without warning.

It is an aggressive cancer. My cancer was stage three, but it could have been fatal at stage four. That's why I'm not taking any chances. I've got to take every precaution so no cell gets away." He said in most cases, as with his, the only symptom is *lo** in the urine and problems urinating.

But even while fighting a potentially terminal illness, Lee's main focus is on providing top-quality entertainment for the Jamaican people. He said: "What thrills me is when I look behind the truck and see the people and not one person has a scowl. To see people who don't know each other come together like that is a phenomenon."

Less than a month after Jamaica Carnival 2008, Lee is already planning for the 20th anniversary, which will be celebrated next year. He plans to introduce mini-road marches to all 14 parishes and revive the Kiddies Carnival. Though Jamaica Carnival's main distinguishing factor is the concept of 'Affordable Carnival Attire' (ACA), Lee is planning to introduce a 'pretty mas' aspect as well. This is to accommodate those who appreciate the 'glitz' and 'bling'. Lee was quick to point out, however, that these costumes will still be very affordable. "I don't think you have to tell people to pay $10,000 for costumes," he said, "So, next year, some people will be in pretty mas, but it still won't cost $10,000. I want people to be able to say I played mas with Byron Lee. It is called Jamaica Carnival and that can't be if only a section of the people can participate."

He continued: "I was in Trinidad for 36 years and it was phenomenal. Regardless of their profession, nationality, the people came out as one. I would like to see our motto played out. The rich and poor, boy and master and the maid and her boss can come out as one."

Soca forever

So strong is his love for carnival, that he has made provisions for its continuation in his will. He said: "If tomorrow morning, God forbid, I pass away, carnival will still be there. There are two things that I put in my will. They must never change the route. They must start by Liguanea Prep and then when they get to Andrews Memorial, cut the music so the patients can see it and at least clap their hands. They must never abandon Half-Way Tree as this is the meeting point for uptown, downtown and midtown."

Another of his requests is that carnival never be 'de-Jamaicanised'. He said, "We have to try to make costumes available, so the people are not left out."

He said the support of the Jamaica Tourist Board could do much to push carnival forward. "Jamaica is magic, carnival is magic, both of them together - phenomenal," he said.

He is also confident that his daughters would carry on his legacy. Lee, married for 44 years, said his wife, though she would like to see him rest more, has given in and travels with him. "She makes sure I take my medication."

When not focused on carnival, Lee travels with his band, Byron Lee and the Dragonaires. He told mediazone that the band has about 33 jobs this year. "We've been entertaining people for 50 years and we have another 50 years to go," he said.

Spanish investor eyes airport

April 13, 2008
Started By Ambassidah2 Comments

Satisfied with its US$160 million (J$11.2 billion) investment in the Sangster International Airport, Spanish investor Abertis is now eyeing Kingston's Norman Manley International Airport (NMIA), the company's president Demetrio Ullastres has disclosed.

Abertis owns 74.5 per cent of MBJ Airports Limited, operators of the state-of-the-art airport under expansion in the tourism capital of Montego Bay. The four-year project is scheduled for completion in October.

Already in talks

In an interview with The Sunday Gleaner on Friday, the Abertis official revealed that he was already in talks with Minister of Transport and Works Mike Henry with the hope of establishing an agreement, similar to that with the Sangster International Airport, to enhance NMIA. The company holds the concession to operate and expand the Sangster International Airport for 30 years.

"We are happy working in Jamaica and if there is an opportunity to help the Government, that is what we will do," Ullastres stated, adding that the island's business environment was attractive to his organisation. "There is legal, political and economic stability in Jamaica," he reasoned.

In aggressively courting other areas for development, Ullastres also announced that he was again bidding for the Highway 2000 contract, which his company lost to French construction conglomerate Bouygues Travaux a few years ago. Boasting ownership and operation of 3,300 km of toll roads in Spain and France, Abertis believes its track record will ensure it wins the Highway 2000 contract.

The pronouncements by Abertis' head comes one month after the company completed its purchase from ACS (Actividades de Construcción y Servicios) of 100 per cent of Desarrollo de Concesiones Aeroportuarias, a holding company with stakes in 15 airports in Mexico, Jamaica, Chile and Col****ia.

inna couple of yrs time wi nah guh have ntn leff.  nex ting wi aggo sell ah wata

Cash Plus events in chronological order

cashplus.jpg2002: Cash Plus Ltd opens up in Jamaica with Carlos Hill at the helm.

May 2007: Cash Plus CEO bought the Hilton Kingston Hotel.

July 2007: Purchased Drax Hall Estates, St Ann.

September 2007: Became major supporters of the National Premier League football.

The Financial Services Commission (FSC) issued cease-and-desist orders on Cash Plus and its leaders.

February 2008: Plans announced for Cash Plus to begin payments of monthly returns again by March 31; indicating that this was contingent on approval by the Financial Services Commission.

March 2008: Cash Plus announces inability to resume payments on March 31, giving an April 14 payment date; and the Court appoints a receiver/manager.

April 9: Court-appointed receiver/manager announces that Cash Plus is broke.

April 10: Carlos Hill and brother arrested.

Public notice

The police are requesting that persons who may have been defrauded by Cash Plus; fill out a form that is available at twww.mns.org.jm.

Upon completion the form must be mailed to: The Jamaica Constabulary Force at P.O. Box 462, Kingston.

Posted by yardFlex at April 12, 2008 02:30 PM

Plane Crashes Into California Homes

April 13, 2008
Started By Shem17 Comments

plane.JPG

COMPTON, Calif. (April 13) - Kenneth Wyatt said he was watching TV when he heard an enormous thud that "shook my house."
Running outside, he first noticed debris and smoke. Then he saw what had happened.

"An airplane had come through the roof of my neighbor's home," Wyatt, 48, said.

Five people were injured when a twin-engine Cessna 310 crashed into two homes just before 4 p.m. Saturday near the Compton/Woodley Airport, said Federal Aviation Administration spokesman Ian Gregor.

The plane was carrying two men and both were transported to hospitals in critical condition, Gregor said.

In one house, a woman was critically injured and a man suffered less serious injuries, according to Gregor. In the other home a woman complained of chest pains.

The crash did not result in a fire, according to Downey fire Capt. Lonnie Kroom. Television images showed the plane's fuselage had crashed through one roof and its left wing was lodged in a second home.

Gregor said the flight originated at Montgomery Field in San Diego and was heading for Hawthorne Municipal Airport, about 10 miles away.

The Cessna is owned by Eureka International of Carson City, Nev., Gregor said.

Hawthorne Airport has an air traffic control tower, but it wasn't immediately known if the pilot was in contact with controllers.

Federal investigators are investigating the crash.

Macka gets Royal

April 13, 2008
Started By Keneilb2 Comments

Macka gets Royal

Thursday 3 April 2008 @ 4:46 pm

Macka Diamond

Macka Diamond is one of several dancehall artistes who have added acting to their portfolio. The Money Goddess has landed a role in the 26th season of the Jamaican soap opera Royal Palm Estate.

She started filming for the role on Tuesday. She plays the babymother of the character Gene Parrot, who is a delinquent father. Their child is about to enter high school in the United States. Macka came to Jamaica to get some documents signed and get child support that she has not received over the years.

Mi like mi character. I like how I didnt go on it as Macka Diamond. I was portraying a normal person. But dem neva lef out the money though, said Macka Diamond.

However, she believes it is definitely sad that some men do not support their children. She says, people should encourage these delinquent fathers to take care of their children or offer them some form of counselling.

She says her first day of filming was rather exciting. She says she has always had an interest in acting from as early as her high school years when she participated in drama.

I didnt really study the script, I just went through it one time. It came out natural cause it is things that I would say. I just add in my own natural vibe, she said.

Producer of Royal Palm Estate, Lennie Little-White, agrees that Macka was easy to work with.

She was lively and she came prepared. It was a very good performance and she interpreted the role well. She did it in the Macka Diamond style and she was very convincing, said Little-White. I think the people will like her. She has a certain kind of magnetism and appeal that goes across certain groups.

Other guest stars

She is not the only popular Jamaican who will appear on the show this season. DAngel, Peter Lloyd, Dr Kingsley Ragashanti Stewart, Reneto Adams and Angel Shalome were also confirmed. In season 27, Vybz Kartel, DaVille, CéCile and Danny Champagnie will make appearances.

Little-White says he apologise for the long absence of the show. However, this was out of his control as the station on which the show used to be aired changed ownership.

It took a little while to iron out the new arrangements. We apologise to the public and hopefully we will make up for it, he said.

Akon Goes Country

April 13, 2008
Started By Keneilb2 Comments

Akon Goes Country

Thursday 3 April 2008 @ 4:40 pm

Singer, songwriter, rapper and producer Akon has just about done it all in the music industry. Now, the go-to-guy for hit-making hooks is entering uncharted territory. Country music.

Im bout to break into a genre that no black artist, producer or writer ever broke into, ever, Akon announced excitedly at the BBC radio station 1 Extra in the UK recently. And the funniest part about it is, Im goin in with an alias and I already got my first hit record.

There have been other African-Americans whove tried their hand at country, namely Ray Charles, but Akon said what he plans to do for the genre will set him apart.

Im tryin to break in, Im not just tryin to go in, he said.

But the artist was mum on his country alter ego and wouldnt talk more about that hit record either.

If I tell you, then they gon shut it down, he said. I just gotta go on until I accept that Grammy one day.

In related news, an Akon concert erupted into violence last month after a fire alarm set off panic among thousands of fans at a Danish mall. Eight people were arrested.

50 Cent: Young Buck Is No Longer In G-Unit

Monday 7 April 2008 @ 6:01 pm

50 Cent

50 Cent has made it clear about the status of Young Buck, one of his artists who has had a shaky relationship with the company for several months.

50 Cent revealed today [April 7] that the Tennessee rapper was no longer in G-Unit the group, but would still record for the label.

You can look at it and see thats Game [former G-Unit rapper] all the way. I was giving him a chance, giving him the benefit of the doubt [to remain with the group]. You can take this as an official notice right here pretty much you can say: Young Buck is no longer in the group G-Unit, but signed to G-Unit [Records] as a solo artist, 50 Cent told DJ Envy, a co-host on the Hot 97 Morning Show with Miss Jones.

Most recently, Young Buck revealed that he had not collected any royalty income as an artist on G-Unit Records, a subsidiary of Interscope. Those reports were quickly dispelled by Sha Money XL, manager of Young Buck, who said the rapper was waving the G-Unit flag strong.

There has been a new rumor going around that 50 Cent has not paid Young Buck any royalties, Sha Money XL told AllHipHop.com. I, as Bucks manager and as former President of G-Unit Records, want to make it clear: that is false. Young Buck has cleared over $10 million dollars working under 50 Cents and my guidance.

Young Buck, born David Darnell Brown, was expected to appear on Shoot to Kill, the follow up to G-Units 2003 debut album titled Beg For Mercy.

Young Buck once was to lead the charge for 50 Cents G-Unit Sout imprint. Instead, the rapper started Cashville Records and signed rap vet C-Bo and The Outlawz, who were a part of Tupacs inner circle of emcees.

But has also started David Brown clothing to supplement his rap offerings.

50 Cent and The Game initially parted ways, because the Compton upstart wouldnt assume beefs with Nas and Fat Joe that the rest of G-Unit had declared.

Since the release of his new album, reggae crooner Pressure Buss Pipe has been relentlessly spreading his sounds, in and out of the islands. Aptly titled after his international breakout hit Love and Affection, the album features 16 tracks that are sure to keep ears buzzing for decades to come.

Pressure.jpgHailing from the U.S. Virgin Islands, Pressure records his music in Kingston, Jamaica, under the direction of label head and executive producer Don Corleon. Fusing his American upbringing with island heritage, Pressure presents a fusion of reggae and lover's rock that has many comparing him to reggae great Sizzla Kalonji. He has earned an instant liking from fans by sticking to conscious and romantic tunes, often singing of the plight of the poor, or of lovers.

Pressure now continues album promotion with tours scheduled for Europe and Japan come this summer. He will also be hitting numerous island nations including Trinidad, St. Kitts, the Caymans, and also New York in early May, where he's nominated for "Most Promising Entertainer" in the 2008 International Reggae and World Music Awards, on May 4 at the Apollo Theater.

Last chance for Arsenal

April 12, 2008
Started By asian3 Comments
Only one thing can keep Arsenal in contention for a trophy this season - a victory at Manchester United on Sunday.

After exiting the Champions League to Liverpool on Tuesday, the Gunners need to win at Old Trafford against the Premier League leader if they are to have any realistic chance of wresting the title from United's grip.

But Arsenal have already lost 4-0 at United in the FA Cup this season and needed a last-minute equaliser to salvage a 2-2 draw at Emirates Stadium in November's previous Premier League .

With morale low after a five-point lead turned into a six-point deficit in less than two months, Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger faces one of his toughest ever tasks when he tries to make his players believe they can win.

"He will talk about that for sure,'' Arsenal striker Emmanuel Adebayor said. ''We will meet in the dressing room and he will tell us what to do.

"He has more experience than anyone here, and he knows the words to use so that we can come back on the pitch, be more successful, and want it more.''

Lack of experience

But that reliance on Wenger, who has won three Premier League titles and four FA Cups in 11 years at Arsenal, because of a lack of experience on the field could be what costs Arsenal a shot at success this season.

Wenger has spurned the chance to spend the club's reserves of cash on new players, preferring to rely upon the young talent he has brought through the youth teams.

The move paid dividends for the first six months of the season as the likes of Cesc Fabregas and Adebayor produced some of the most vibrant and penetrating football of the Premier League's 16-year history.

Unbeaten in the league until December, Arsenal's season disintegrated following a pair of cup defeats to two of their fiercest rivals.

Tottenham routed Arsenal 5-1 in a League Cup semi-final in January and United then beat the Gunners 4-0 in the FA Cup less than a month later.

Wenger's decision to field weakened teams in both matches seemed to have backfired because of the hit taken by the squad's confidence. Arsenal, who have not won the league since their unbeaten season of 2003-04, have won just two of their next 11 matches - a run that culminated with Tuesday's loss at Anfield.

"We were so close to the Champions League semi-finals but football decided it the other way,'' Adebayor said. ''As a player, these things are very difficult to take. We scored, it was 2-2 with only a few minutes to go and I do not know how they managed to get a penalty.

"You can imagine it ... within seven minutes we were in the semi-final. Then that all went away.''

And Arsenal's chances looked even slimmer Thursday when key midfielder Mathieu Flamini was ruled out for three weeks because of an ankle injury he sustained against Liverpool.

United, meanwhile, is flying after beating AS Roma 1-0 on Wednesday to reach the Champions League semi-finals.

Cristiano Ronaldo and Wayne Rooney should be fresh after being rested against the Italian league title contender, and United got another boost when captain Gary Neville came on as a late substitute after more than a year out injured.

"Missing the end of last season was bad,'' Neville said. ''So it's good to be back to help the team now. People kept asking me when I was coming back and it was a bit embarra**ing.

"I'd try and give them a date and then it wouldn't materialise. But the fans have always supported me.''

Victory is just as important for United since Chelsea are only three points back in second place and host lowly Wigan on Monday.

Cash Plus gone!!!!!

April 13, 2008
Started By dj_fraski2 Comments

Where all dem people goin 2 get back all dem money frm.....Mr. Hill get frigggg.....e3

Deejay Mavado on Thursday presented $10,000 as a contribution to Sundays Womens Day Mediathon.
The deejay presented the money to committee member Paula-Ann Porter. He was the first male artiste to have made a contribution. Mavado, who currently has a remix single On the Rock with rap superstar Jay-Z, made the donation at the offices of Solid Agency.

The mediathon which will be a live television and radio broadcast that is being done to aid in the building of a shelter for battered women and also to further assist the Womens Centre Foundation of Jamaica with providing continued counselling, skills training and education to pregnant teens.

Among the long list of artistes slated to perform at Sundays event are Marcia Griffiths, Etana, Brick & Lace, Queen Ifrica, Judy Mowatt, Tessanne Chin, Carlene Davis, Nadine Sutherland, CeCile, Stacious, Gem Myers, Sophia Brown, D Angel, Carol Gonzalez, MLonie, Cherine Anderson, Cherry Natural and LaCadco Dancers.

The mediathon is an initiative of the Ministry of Information, Youth, Culture & Sports with responsibility for Womens Affairs and Gender Issues in collaboration with the Bureau of Womens Affairs. clap

MEN READ CAREFULLYYY!!

Do women enjoy being hit on - or do they loathe it? If you know women love it, you're well on your way to experiencing massive success.

If you've got the belief, though, that women find men hitting on them more annoying than nails against a chalk board you're in big trouble. But DON'T worry, my friend, because you're in the same position most men are.

Many a man believes women hate to be hit on - and rightfully so. If you, for example, frequent the bar or club scene you've probably overheard groups of women yapping away about how they fear and loath men hitting on them. But if this were so, women would wear shower curtains to bars and nightclubs. But they don't. They wear skimpy little outfits to maximize the amount of male attention they get.

I'm gonna return to this train of thought in a moment. But before I do, I want to shed some serious light on why believing women don't like to be hit on is akin to sentencing your penis to life in prison with no chance of parole. No hope of him ever vacationing in that warm, cuddly place he enjoys dancing into the wee hours of the morning to that old Digital Underground song "Do The Humpty Hump." The only love he's gonna get is from Bubba's nether regions.

Having this belief will cause a man to fear and loath hitting on women. He'll, for example, think to himself: "If I approach a woman she'll see me as an insidious little vermin she wants shunted from her reality."

If he does get up the gall to approach a woman, he's gonna have scrawled across his forehead in permanent red ink: "I'm so scared you'll reject me, I'm about to poop my pants."

This will communicate to her, he's a consummate gimp. Women feel no attraction for gimps. They feel attraction toward men who are a Prize they've gotta win over.

Okay. I think I've convinced you of how wretched this belief is. How it will pound any future opportunities with beautiful women into jelly.

But you might be having second thoughts. Maybe you're not fully convinced. So I'm gonna rewind and go back to my original train of thought: "The belief that women don't like to be hit on is crap." If this belief ever crossed paths with the Food & Drug Administration they'd stamp it with an official FDA seal saying: "100% Certified B.S."

Why do you think women spend so much time - sometimes hours - primping and preening themselves to go out to nightclubs and bars? Because they want to be hit on.

There's a school of thought, though, that says: "Women don't dress up for men; they do it for other women."

I think there's a grain of truth here but what this means is that women dress up to compete with other women for male attention. For male validation. In other words, one of the reasons women put time into primping and preening themselves is to compete for who gets hit on the most by men.

Many a woman will never explicitly admit she enjoys men hitting on her. If she did, she'd risk other women perceiving her as being at the top of the Slut-O-Meter. Or, even worse, people thinking she's a power hungry rhymes-with-witch. Wanting to be hit on is one of women's dirty little secrets.

Think of those stupid, gossip magazines - such as, Enquire and Star. Almost everyone talks about how stupid these publications are and claims to have never picked one up. This is B.S.

If most people didn't read them, their circulation wouldn't be so widespread.

The lurid reality is this: Most of us can't wait to get our dirty little paws all over these magazines while standing in line at the supermarket. A lot of us have too much pride to admit it. But almost all of us get picked up by our lapels and sucked into the contents of these papers.

Same holds true with women. Most women claim, they hate when guys hit on them. But most women love it. They can't get enough of it. But they'll never admit it. It's their dirty little secret.

When you make no apologies for hitting on a woman and convey the belief that by YOU hitting on her you're doing her a favor, it lets her know she's dealing with a real man who's a Prize she has to win over.

Nikki Z and some tough times

April 13, 2008
Started By UV RAYS3 Comments

Nikki Zs mom battles cancer - Mother and daughter taking it day-by-day

Tuesday 8 April 2008 @ 8:03 pm

Popular radio personality Nikki Z says she is remaining hopeful that her mother can recover from her present battle with cancer.

Carol Duhaney, Nikki Zs mother, was recently diagnosed with the disease and although there is no cure, the disc-jock is hoping that with the right treatment and family support, her life can be sustained.

Right about now were just taking it day by day. They (the doctors) say she has melanoma cancer and there is no cure for it, but there is treatment. She is in high spirits and shes a fighter, Nikki Z said.

Nikki Zs mother, who is originally from St Elizabeth, now lives abroad, but according to Nikki Z, Im trying to get her to move back. Im telling her maybe its the Lords way of telling her to come back home and relax and take some time for herself.

According to Nikki Z, Shes been helping people all her life, she put herself through school, got her CNA (certified nursing assistant) and now I just feel that she needs to take some time out for herself.

My thing is like my mothers thing, Im taking it day by day. She has medicine to take in the morning, so as long as shes coping fine, Im coping fine. Its one of those illnesses that you cant do nothing about, but if you think about it too much, you can get really depressed, Nikki Z said.

She added, Were focussing on getting her better, so we just have to make sure shes happy, keep her in high spirits, call and bother her and remind her that she has something to fight for.

Mom and I

Nikki Z says her relationship with her mom was always like water and vinegar, but at the same time, we are exactly the same. But she is always teaching me little lessons in her own way.

She recalled, one time, I was watching TV and she kept calling me and I kept saying, what. And she kept calling me until she threw a big old corn and it connected me right in the headback and I said, okay, yes mom - so she got the point across -.I never answered her saying what again.

In the meantime, Nikki Z is back in Jamaica, but says, my mom is surrounded by lots of family and when they visit, I always tell them to do an extra one just for me.

Teens and sexuality

April 11, 2008
Started By steppz9 Comments
What in the world has taken over our teenagers...it seems as if, a few years from leaving the w****, their hormones have gone into over drive!

Jamaica is facing a serious problem with teenagers who are now the aggressors in pursuing sexual relationships with bus drivers, taxi men and whoever is willing to fork out the measly sum they are asking for.

YardFlex took to the streets to get more information on this new crisis facing the country. One bus driver related: "Bwoy, nuff time mi haffi remind myself that a have a daughter at home and a wouldn't like nobady fi mess har up. Yuh have some real brazen schoolgirl whey just waan fling it pon yuh suh. It teck a strong heart fi ignore whey some a dem a offer," he said.

One taxi driver was not so conscientious when it came to picking the fruit, "Dat dey cherry pick long time, cause when mi deal wid har, di way how mi go in easy mi couldn't believe. She tell mi fi gi har $500 and she wi let off. If mi a get a bargain mi a guh teck it of course!"

The sad reality though is that these girls need help, but few seem to want to take on that task. The other day a video was circulating on the internet with a student of the Norman Manley High school having sex with a boy on the steps of the building. Another boy could be observed in the video giving directions as he video taped the act.

We need not mention the countless other videos of other school girls caught giving oral sex, having sex on the bus, engaging in no panty Thursdays...it seems everything has gone haywire and both young girls and boys have traded their morals for a few cheap thrills.

One parent told YardFlex that this has arisen because, "A lot of parents just lef up dem children to cable and all odda kinda influence because dem too lazy fi be real parents. What yuh expect?"

Teenage sex is rampant, as is the increasing number of teenaged pregnancies arising out of these activities, one thing is for certain, something needs to be done...before there is no hope for this generation.lc

I LOVE YOU

April 3, 2008
Started By Caramel_Delite33 Comments
blushHOW LONG SHOULD YOU BE IN A RELATIONSHIP BEFORE YOU SEY "I LOVE U"?
The New York Post decided to pull a late April fools joke with this photoshopped image of rapper Remy Ma wearing her nice wedding/inmate outfit as she will prepare to marry rapper Papoose during her current prison sentence.

Remy is currently awaiting sentencing in Rikers Island prison for shooting a woman. Her lawyer Ivan Fisher told Reuters:

Theyre very committed to each other, and had intended to marry one way or another.

Remy Ma, real name Remy Smith, faces a sentence of up to 25 years after she was found guilty of shooting a friend outside a nightclub in July 2007. Reports state that the victim, Makeda Barnes-Joseph stole $3,000 from Remy prior to the shooting.

Remys lawyers and defense team recently said that the shooting was an accident.

remy_ma_prison_040708.jpg

Dancer Kangaroo claims his dance 'Ghetto Prayer' was stolen by the popular dance group Dance Xpressionz and renamed 'Pray fi dem'.

Kangaroo, whose real name is George Robinson, says the group has copied his dance.

"Dem thief mi dance. Dance Xpression change di dance from 'Ghetto Prayer' an' call it 'Pray Fi Dem' but a di same dance. Tyrical do a tune name Ghetto Prayer. Me an' him a deal wid di whole ghetto prayer thing," he said.

He says he created the dance last year to accompany Tyrical's Ghetto Prayer. He says the dance is also being endorsed by popular selectors Tony Matterhorn, DJ Kenny, Fire Gary and Cutty from Coppershot.

Kangaroo says this is not the first time that he has been overlooked by others. His dances have not been endorsed by the media and others. The dances he says he has created are 'Rig Did', 'Kangaroo', 'Snap Huh Finger' and 'Heart of Love'.

Irvine Hall, leader of the group Dance Xpressionz dismissed these accusations as ridiculous. He says his group has created a dance called 'Pray for Peace' as opposed to 'Pray if dem', to which Kangaroo referred.

He says the dance was created almost a year ago and he has been doing it at Bembe Thursdays ever since. However, it started getting decent recognition recently at Fashion Sundays.

"I have never seen his dance. I have never seen him do anything remotely close to 'Praying for Peace'. I have never seen him really dance. Mi jus' see him deh somewhere an' a jump around like a mad man," Hall told The STAR.

He added, "We came up with the dance based on the contention that was in the dancehall. We want to promote a dance to promote peace. We want to pray for peace in Jamaica. We want to pray for peace globally."

Hall, who is also the chief judge of the STAR-sponsored Dancing Dynamites, says he knows very little about his accuser.

"Mi deh a Passa Passa an' mi hear somebody call him name an him run out and sometime ago I saw an article about him in The STAR," said Hall who has been dancing for more than two decades.

Nonetheless, he says he has noticed some level of grudge on Kangaroo's part.

"Mi notice a grudge. I was at Weddi Weddi an' he was standing behind me and him seh him nuh want mi stand up in front of him," he said.

Despite these accusations, Hall says he will continue to perform the dances created by other dancers.

"We try to embrace everybody's dance. If you create a dance you do it for everybody," Hall said.

Hip-Hop mogul 50 Cent emerged victorious yesterday (April 3) in the eviction trial of his ex-girlfriend and their son from his Long Island house. "Today's a good day, I'm a winner," the G-Unit General rejoiced after hearing the verdict. "I always win. The house is mine. She just wants to drag the situation out as long as possible. I think she just wants to see me dragging me back and fourth to court. My time is worth a lot so I'm wasting my time right now."

The rapper (born Curtis Jackson) asked a judge to remove his child's mother Shaniqua Tompkins and the ex-couple's 10-year-old son, Marquise Jaskson, from a Long Island estate he owns.

According to FOX News, Fif paid about $2.4 million for the house, one of the largest in the Long Island town of Dix Hills. Tompkins filed a law suite accusing the rapper of breach of contract and unjust enrichment. Tompkins attorney Paul Catsandonis stated that 50 broke a promise to give Tompkins and their son a home.

"I've been with 50 for a very long time," Tompkins said to the press outside the courtroom, before the verdict was read. "He's a very evil and abusive man and that's why I left him in the first place. Any man that can evict his own child out of a house is evil. After I took care of him and I worked when he wasn't doing anything. He's a very evil and disgruntled man. I just hope God bless him."

Tompkins and Marquis, along with her daughter-from another relationship- were allowed to remain in the rapper's house under the condition that Tompkins use the monthly child support payments of $6,700 to find new residency.

Tompkins contends that the house was bought for her and Marquise. She claimed that Fif changed his mind about putting her name on the lease right before closing. Both parties agreed that the home was bought so Marquise would have access to a quality education.

After a two-and-a-half hour court session yesterday, Tompkins' motion was denied and was ordered to pay $9,000 in fees to 50. She has until the end of the school year to move out of the estate.

"[This is] absolutely not [over]," 50 explained to the press. "She's going to try to do everything she could do. She doesn't have a job. This is her job, chasing me around [and] seeing if she can get a few dollars."

Despite the fact the ruling went in Curtis' favor, Catsandonis plans to appeal.

"Nothing is final yet," he told reporters. "This is just one slight interference in the process. We're going all the way and we have a lot of contradictory testimony from Mr. Jackson. It will be raised again. I assure you...in Manhattan Supreme Court or any other courthouse we have to [go]. I'm a trial attorney, I don't give up!"

A displeased Tompkins left the courthouse with this to say, ""God bless Mr. Jackson," she said. "I hope he gets some help and that's just that. It's not final. We're still working on it."
findImg.php?pic_size=200&table_name=news_img_tab&table_field=img_id&img_id=1358 All system are set to "GO" for the 'Vybz Rum Party' tomorrow night (April 11th) at Weekendz. The event which is billed as the official launch party for Vybz Kartel's Vybz Rum promises to be a sure crowd pleaser and 876radio will be in the house.

According to a member of the deejay's team, one of the main attraction of the night will be the endless supply of FREE Vybz Rum and Pimp Juice mixes all night. This will come at a minimal cost to patrons through admission. However the ladies won't have to dig very deep with only $300 Jamaican dollars while the men have to find J$1000 to enjoy this splendid event.

The night will also feature some live performances from the likes of the Emperor himself alongside members of his Portmore Empire clan plus a cadre of other artiste.

For all the avid drinker and enthusiast, Vybz Rum will be produced in two distinct types: a white rum and a red rum. The white rum is triple distilled and the red rum will be a five years aged product. The product will be available islandwide in a limited quantity, and made available in the UK, US and the rest of the Caribbean on a phased basis. Each bottle will be hand numbered for quality control and accounting purposes.
American company Apple Inc has removed songs from dancehall artistes Buju Banton, T.O.K. and Elephant Man from their iTunes site citing that the songs incite violence against homosexuals. In response to letters written by the pro-homosexual Canadian-based organ-isations Egale and SMM (Stop Murder Music) to iTunes in January, iTunes has removed controversial murder music from Jamaican artistes in its North American markets. Boom Bye Bye from Buju Banton, Chi-Chi Man from T.O.K. and Log On by Elephant Man have all been pulled from iTunes stores and the iTunes website. Apple's iTunes is the leading on line distributor of music in North America through their websites and iTunes stores. Since 2008 over four billion songs have been downloaded since the service first launched on April 28, 2003. When the STAR spoke with Akim Larcher founder of SMM (Canada) he explained that SMM had written to the two biggest record distributing companies in Canada to pull these songs and songs from other artistes. According to Larcher, iTunes gave a positive response and has not only removed the songs, but the albums they were on, as well as any compilation CD that contained the songs. In a release issued Mr Larcher said "this is an historic victory for the LGBT community here in Canada and in the Caribbean. iTunes is exercising its corporate responsibility by pulling this murder music and raising the bar for other retailers and distributors to do the same." Helen Kennedy, executive director of Egale - a national organisation that advances equality and justice for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and trans-identified people and their families across Canada; stated in the release "we are extremely pleased with this decision. We have also contacted HMV, Archambault Inc, and Amazon.ca and we are optimistic that they will follow iTunes lead." When the STAR contacted Flexx of T.O.K. he was unaware of the situation but not worried that the song would no longer be on the website. "That song came out six years ago in 2002 and is still a problem I guess people are just trying to hang on to get publicity. We have matured as artistes and have done so many other songs, I guess people just love that song" he said. The song Chi Chi Man was released on T.O.K.'s first album My Crew, My Dogs which will be pulled from iTunes stores. However, Flexx is unworried stating that the album is a classic and they have tons of other songs on iTunes. "Let them try to stop the album, our songs, people have other means of getting music, iTunes isn't the only thing out there" Flexx said. Stop Murder Music (Canada) advocates against anti-gay lyrics targeting the lesbian, gay, bisexual and trans-identified communities. In 2007 Stop Murder Music successfully launched a campaign to stop concerts in Ontario Canada of artistes such as Sizzla, Capleton, Elephant Man, Baby Cham and Beenie Man.

2face.JPG

SAINI SUNPURA, India (April 8) - A baby with two faces was born in a northern Indian village, where she is doing well and is being worshipped as the reincarnation of a Hindu goddess, her father said Tuesday.The baby, Lali, apparently has an extremely rare condition known as craniofacial duplication, where a single head has two faces. Except for her ears, all of Lali's facial features are duplicated - she has two noses, two pairs of lips and two pairs of eyes.

"My daughter is fine - like any other child," said Vinod Singh, 23, a poor farm worker.

Lali has caused a sensation in the dusty village of Saini Sunpura, 25 miles east of New Delhi. When she left the hospital, eight hours after a normal delivery on March 11, she was swarmed by villagers, said Sabir Ali, the director of Saifi Hospital.

"She drinks milk from her two mouths and opens and shuts all the four eyes at one time," Ali said.

Rural India is deeply superstitious and the little girl is being hailed as a return of the Hindu goddess of valor, Durga, a fiery deity traditionally depicted with three eyes and many arms.

Up to 100 people have been visiting Lali at her home every day to touch her feet out of respect, offer money and receive blessings, Singh told The Associated Press.

"Lali is God's gift to us," said Jaipal Singh, a member of the local village council. "She has brought fame to our village."

Village chief Daulat Ram said he planned to build a temple to Durga in the village.

"I am writing to the state government to provide money to build the temple and help the parents look after their daughter," Ram said.

Lali's condition is often linked to serious health complications, but the doctor said she was doing well.

"She is leading a normal life with no breathing difficulties," said Ali, adding that he saw no need for surgery.

Lali's parents were married in February 2007. Lali is their first child.

Singh said he took his daughter to a hospital in New Delhi where doctors suggested a CT scan to determine whether her internal organs were normal, but Singh said he felt it was unnecessary.

"I don't feel the need of that at this stage as my daughter is behaving like a normal child, posing no problems," he said.
TW LW WC TITLE/ARTISTE/LABEL

01 2 18 Shoot Out-Mykal Rose-John John(1wk@#1) U-1
02 1 17 Don't Run In -Harry Toddler-Truck Back(3wks@#1) D-1
03 3 16 Doh-Serani feat Bugle-Daseca(2wks@#1) NM
04 4 17 Duppy Know Who Fi Frighten-Demarco-John John NM
05 5 17 Pon Di Edge-Busy Signal-Star Kutt (3wks@#1) NM
06 6 6 Money Fi Spend-Vybz Kartel-Big Ship NM
07 8 8 Touch Di Road-Mavado-Foota Hype U-1
08 7 17 Click My Finger-Erup-Truck Back(3wks@#1) D-1
09 11 6 Brown Bottle-Mavado-Big Ship U-2
10 9 12 Bembe-Voicemail-Big Ship (pp#6) D-1
11 13 4 Wine Gal - Beenie Man - TJ Records U-2
12 16 3 The Mission - Damian Marley & Stephen Marley-Tuff Gong U-4
13 14 6 Bag A Talking-Deva Brat-Truck Back U-1
14 15 7 Bad From Long Time-Anthony B-357 Records (pp#13)U-1
15 19 2 On The Rock- Mavado-Baby G U-4
16 10 10 Journey - Bugle - Daseca (pp#8) D-6
17 17 2 Money Changer-Mavado-Juke Boxx NM
18 12 13 Nuff Love/Buddy Buddy-Charly Black-M/Bass Production (pp#6) D-6
19 20 2 Blaze-D'Angel- Fresh Ear U-1
20 18 31 Nah Go A Jail-Busy Signal-Jam 2(4wks@#1) D-2

chek it==>http://profile.imeem.com/2ADnD0/music/_nt0XY-x/dexta_daps_phone_dreamers_riddim_by_mrtoddon_killah_muzi/
Mavado3.jpgOne876Entertainment broke the news that Mavado had received his travel documents and was free to fly but it seems that is as much as he is allowed to do when it includes the United States.

We have received reports that after landing in New York last night immigration officers denied the artiste entry to the country. Reports are that he was to board another flight back to Jamaica but that was delayed.

In our last report we told you that Mavados lawyer Antoinette Haughton-Cardenas made a submission to the courts for her client to receive back his travel documents so he can fulfill his contracted dates. He was booked ot perform in Hartford, Connecticut tonight.

We are currently tying to get more information for you viewers, as we get them we will disseminate them.

iTunes Canada pulls anti-gay dancehall songs

elephantman_beenieman_itunes.jpg

iTunes Canada has removed several songs with anti-gay lyrics from its online store, in response to a campaign led by Egale and Stop Murder Music.

The songs - by Jamaican dancehall artists Buju Banton, Elephant Man and TOK - contain lyrics that advocate the killing of gays.

"iTunes is exercising its corporate responsibility by pulling this murder music and raising the bar for other retailers and distributors to do the same," says Akim Larcher, founder of SMM. He calls iTune's decision a victory for the gay community in Canada and in the Caribbean.

Egale and SMM wrote to iTunes in January, asking for homophobic tracks to be removed from the online store. They noted three songs that promoted violence against gays, and those tracks have now been removed.

On my way to work this morning a cyclist was hit off his bicycle.
I was just in time to see the funeral home drive in to collect his body.
I am not sure what happened but I have captured what I can with my phone.

See video attached. sry no sound :(

Dem Spanish town bus driver ya drive too hard ya man.
The bus was spotted on a wrecker but I had stopped recording.
I think the bus name LOVE (written on the front)

A couple fighting about which gang their 4-year-old toddler should join caused a public disturbance that resulted in the father's arrest, Commerce City police said Thursday.On Saturday, Joseph Manzanares stormed into the Hollywood Video store where his girlfriend worked, threatened to kill her and knocked over several video displays and even a computer, Commerce City police Sgt. Joe Sandoval said.After he ran out of the store, police were called and the 19-year-old was arrested at his home.

His girlfriend told police that they had been arguing about the upbringing of their son and which gang he should belong to. The teen mother, who is black, is a member of the Crips. Manzanares is Hispanic and belongs to the Westside Ballers gang, the woman said."They have different ideas on how the baby should be raised. Basically, she said they cannot agree on which gang the baby would 'claim,'" Sandoval said.Manzanares was charged with disorderly conduct, hara**ment, and domestic violence. He was transported to the Adams County Detention Facility.On Tuesday, he pleaded guilty to disorderly conduct and was sentenced to a year of probation. The misdemeanor hara**ment charge was dropped.

Raid on Cash Plus boss

April 10, 2008
Started By Crazypickney4 Comments

STARCover_1_PGG3BCashPlAM.jpg

Police attached to the Organised Crime Investigation division lead by Superintendent of police, Fitz Bailey, this morning raided the house of Cash Plus chairman Carlos Hill.

THE STAR was unable to confirm if Hill had been arrested and the police on the scene refused to comment on what was taking place.

Traffic to pile up

The raid caused traffic to pile up along Norbrook drive, where Hill lives and for the most part motorist had to resort to using a single lane.

Several persons passing by the home stopped to look at what was happening but uniformed police men instructed them to move along. Inside Hill's property several other uniformed and plain clothes policemen were either sitting down or could be seen pacing in the yard.

Three women and two men who had earlier identified themselves as Hill's employees, stood on the front porch, steering and chatting while the raid was in progress.

At about 8:45, two men who are employed to Quest security, who said that they were on the scene because the property was leased and they were ensuring that the police did not remove anything that belonged to the owners, were seen being prevented from entering the property.

A few minutes later however a wrecker was allowed inside the yard and it later exited, carrying a black Honda Ridgeline van and dark grey Acura RDX SUV that were being seized.

Up to press time the police were still on the scene and Karl Angell, director of communications for the Jamaica Constabulary Force, could not say when information would be made available to the media.

Launching Mavado

April 11, 2008
Started By Ambassidah13 Comments

Before dancehall artiste Mavado was the 'it' singjay of dancehall he was a struggling artiste that needed a helping hand. When Mavado came down to the DASECA studios Mavado got the right push into the business.

Mavado was introduced to the DASECA producers by Foota Hype and Razz and Biggy and from the instance he sang his first note DASECA knew he would be big.

"From me hear him sing mi know he was very talented, he has raw talent," DASECA's Craig Harrisingh told The STAR. "The first time he came with three songs till we told him to go and write more and come back- till he did and now he has like three hundred."

DASECA has produced songs for Mavado such as 'Real McKoy', 'Full Clip' featuring Busy Signal, 'Dreaming', Bad Man Place' featuring Busy Signal, 'Dying' featuring Serani, 'Dem Fear Mi', 'Heartbeat', 'Don't Worry' and a number of the rhythms Mavado has sung on DASECA has helped produce them. Craig said "we turn Mavado into a star, he has grown in terms of his vocal abilities."

According to David Harrisingh, DASECA moulded the artiste vocally and lyrically stating "must of the songs we do wid him people aren't dying in it, we do uplifting songs with him."

Despite the hard times that the artiste experiences in the media such as his recent arrest DASECA still remains good friends with the artiste and takes care of his music to ensure the best productions and not just another song.

Craig told The STAR, "people give him a hard time, but wen your hot that's how it goes and since him buss he has been very consistent and he sings about a lot of things even now with 'On The Rock' which is different."

The lyrical sound of DASECA

The DASECA arsenal of music is a star studded list of hit songs. Having been around in the business for seven years DASECA is one of the most talked about producers in the business at the moment.

Sometimes filled with haunting sounds and conscious lyrics DASECA has a unique sound that varies from sad, happy, upbeat and continues to come up with the hottest rhythms. On the darker side there are songs such as Journeys and Wha You Gonna Do by Bugle and Don't Worry from Mavado but there are also more upbeat DASECA produced songs such as Gully Creeper by Elephant Man, Dutty Wine by Tony Matterhorn and Back It Up by Beenie Man.

According to DASECA producer David Harrisingh "we don't like to repeat things and repeat a sound. There are a lot of songs that we do and people don't know about."

Rhythms that DASECA has helped compose include Build Back, Mad Guitar for Don Corleon, Ice Breaker and Step for Renaissance which had two huge hits for Sean Paul including We Be Burning, Wipe Out for Jigsy and Pennybling, Chakka Chakka for Firelinks, Hundred Watt for Garamel Music songs such as Wha Do Dem Guy Deh and Money Machine for Assassin, Willie Bounce for DJ Kareem among countless others.

Finally respect

While DASECA has never always got their due credit according to Craig Harrisingh, "we have attained a level of ratings and respect in the industry."

Another producer that the group admires is Stephen McGregor as David said, "we love to see when everybody is a hit, good songs are good songs I wouldn't want to go into a club and hear DASECA alone, I like to see others do well."

While Craig said, "Stephen is doing really well. We like how he does his thing."

CRICKET fans taking in the action as the West Indies batted in their first innings in the second Test match at the Queens Park Oval, yesterday rushed to the assistance of an elderly spectator after he collapsed while viewing the match.

The fan, 68-year-old Michael Hosam of Vista Heights in Tacarigua was rushed to Port-of-Spain General Hospital (POSGH) where he died of a suspected heart attack at about 3 pm.

Reports revealed that at about 2 pm, Hosam was at the BG/Scotia Bank stand at the Oval taking in the West Indies response to the visiting Sri Lankan teams first inning score of 278 all out, when he gasped, cl**tched his chest and collapsed.

His relatives and other spectators who saw him fall, rushed to his aid while others raised an alarm. Both fire and police officers who were on duty at the Oval went to Hosams aid and the unconscious man was placed on a stretcher and taken to an ambulance which whisked him away to the city Hospital.

Doctors used the necessary emergency procedures to revive Hosam but he reportedly suffered another massive heart attack and died at the Casualty Department. Hosams relatives, who were in a state of shock over his sudden death, described him as an avid cricket fan and added that he was in good health yesterday.

Three charged with murder of cop again remanded

Thursday, April 10, 2008

THREE men charged with last month's robbery and murder of Constable Andre Chung, whose bullet-riddled body was found in Barbican, St Andrew, were yesterday further remanded when they appeared in the Gun Court section of the Half-Way-Tree Resident Magistrate's Court.

The three - Rasamin Brown, Christopher Thompson and Daniel Powell - who are each charged with murder, conspiracy to commit murder, robbery, conspiracy to commit robbery and illegal possession of a firearm, and who are all from Wilton Gardens, St Andrew, were ordered to return to court on April 23 when a bail application will be heard on their behalf.

The prosecution said, however, that the case file had not yet been completed as a forensic report outlining findings relating to *lo** samples, as well as hair and clothing fragments was outstanding.

Chung's bullet-riddled body was found in the Tavistock area of Barbican on March 5, after residents, who reportedly heard several gunshots in the area the previous night, contacted the police.

The policeman's service firearm was also missing.
Chung, who was the first police officer to be killed in 2008, was reportedly a Chinese language student at the Chinese Benevolent Association and attended classes regularly. It is alleged that Chung attended class before leaving in a taxi on the Tuesday evening he was killed. This, however, was not confirmed by the police.

Austrians are locked in a nationwide debate touched off by the brief display in a prestigious Roman Catholic museum of an etching that depicts Jesus Christ and his disciples having an orgy during the biblical Last Supper.

Alfred Hrdlicka's etching of an orgy at the Last Supper has provoked strong criticism in Austria

corner_wire_BL.gif

A chastened and chagrined Cardinal Christoph Schoenborn, the top churchman in this largely conservative and overwhelmingly Catholic country, has ordered the offending artwork, by sculptor Alfred Hrdlicka, removed.

But the controversy rages on, and some have likened it to the furor triggered by the Prophet Muhammad cartoons.

Exhibition curator Michael Kaufmann says he's even seen Web postings from extremists "who have threatened to come to Vienna and blow up its museums with Molotov cocktails."

A father is now facing the court after he allegedly stabbed a man he found in a compromising position with his daughter, on a sudden visit to his home.

Michael Brown, a 37-year-old Carpenter of Rocky Valley, Stony Hill, appeared in the Corporate Area Resident Magistrate's Court yesterday to answer to charges of wounding with intent.

The court was told that Brown went home to collect a sanding machine and, upon opening the door to a room in the house, he saw the complainant in a compromising position with his daughter - who is a minor. It is alleged that the accused hit the complainant over the head and stabbed him with a knife.

However, Brown's attorney told the court that the accused actually spoke some expletives when he made the discovery, and that the complainant pulled a knife on him and, in a subsequent tussle, the complainant was injured.

He also made a bail application, which was granted by Resident Magistrate Glen Brown. He was granted $50,000 bail with surety and a mention date of May 8 was set in the matter.

naomi-campbell.jpgSuper model Naomi Campbell didn't stop throwing her tantrums until she received her reward - being banned from British Airways! Well that has not been confirmed as yet though.

Her ban resulted from she was arrested on suspicion of assaulting a police officer.

According to a Reuters report, the 37-year-old, released on bail pending an investigation into the incident, said she hoped the row with the airline could be resolved "amicably."

BA said it had not made any announcement regarding Campbell. When asked about a report in the Mirror tabloid saying she had been banned, a spokesman said:

"We don't comment in detail about matters relating to individual passengers.

"All incidents of abuse against passengers or staff are taken extremely seriously by BA and will not be tolerated. We deal with cases on an individual basis and will take whatever action we feel is necessary."

Campbell's spokeswoman in London added: "Naomi has been flying with British Airways for nearly 30 years and has been a good customer. She hopes this can be resolved amicably."

Well from our side, it's time she stopped behaving like a spoilt brat and act her age!

SHE IS ONLY TWO YEARS AND EIGHT MONTHS OLD!
THE SWEETEST THING EVER...LOL

Gays angry with cops for not stopping Bounty Killer's concert in Stratford, East London

By Kon-Vick
OutAroad.com Writer

bounty_killer_deadlyalliance.jpgBounty Killers Deadly Alliance tour has been under heavy attack by gays in Europe. The gays pledged that all his shows in Netherlands, France, Belgium, Italy and Switzerland will be canceled, but despite their Europe-wide spread campaign to stop Bounty Killers Deadly Alliance tour, he managed to get one show off the ground that was recently held in Stratford Rex, east London.

OutAroad.com understands that Peter Tatchell whos also the coordinator of Outrage, expressed his anger at the police for letting this show took place. It was understood that the cops vowed to stop every shows that includes dancehall artistes such as Bounty Killer.

After failing to stop Bounty Killer's Dead Alliance show at Stratford, the gays managed to overcome their defeat and is once again rejoicing after forcing the promoters to postponed another of The Deadly Alliance concerts that was supposed to be held last night (April 10) at Vienna, Volksgarten.

Outrage promised to continue their Stop The Hate Music Campaign against any artistes who had refused to sign the Reggae Compassionate Act. By signing this act it disables dancehall artistes from performing songs that glorify or encourage violence.

Y is he so underrated???

March 28, 2008
Started By Tommy Didads54 Comments
Does any1 hav any idea y Busy Signal is so underrated. Da man surprise me wid his talent sumtyms. But he don't really get da respect of say a Vado.
Wah uno seh?
hh 
Gone are the days when school girls respected themselves and their uniforms. What is happening to our teenage girls? Everyone wants to be in hype. Buses and taxis without music seem to be losing. The buses and taxis have to be blazing the sounds of Vybz Kartel, Beenie Man and Mavado just to name a few. Some can sing the words of these songs without stuttering but try asking some of these girls what they learnt in school and one would think "the cat got their tongue". When will they realize that education is the key to success; education gives us the independence we need as women to survive.

Some girls no longer feel comfortable sitting in their seats but instead have to be positioned in the laps of males. Some even go to the extreme of having sexual intercourse on these buses and taxis. GIRLS - you need to start respecting yourselves and your bodies. If you refuse to respect yourselves how will men respect you and treat you as young ladies. Remember your body is the temple of the living God.

And to the adults in these young girls' lives - don't play the blame game. Instead try reaching out for counselling with them, because in some instances the root of the problem can be traced back to negative experiences.

Abuse and lack of emotional support are two of the causes of such behaviour. So parents, spend time with your children, love them and never abuse them. If you abuse your children they will expect and even accept abuse from others.

Teens, choose your friends wisely. As the saying goes "show me yuh company and mi tell yuh who yuh are." Its okay to say no, never let anyone influence you to do wrong or engage in activities you are not comfortable with. Friends who influence you to do wrong are not your true friends. It's okay to ask for advice and seek counselling. This is not a sign of weakness but a sign of maturity.

Dare to be Different!

Amazing Rock Balancing Skills

December 6, 2007
Started By bLaCkBeatZ6 Comments
Bill Dan from San Francisco has been balancing rocks since 1994 and he does have mad skills. It may look easy but once you try it, youll find out that a whole lot of concentration, balancing skills and talent is needed to do this kind of feat.

stoneskills02.jpg

stoneskills03.jpg

stoneskills04.jpg

stoneskills05.jpg

stoneskills06.jpg

MOTORISTS, CIGARETTE smokers and licensed firearm holders will face new tax measures aimed at drawing an additional $2.98 billion into Government coffers this year.

The "modest" tax package, announced by Finance and Planning Minister Audley Shaw yesterday afternoon, is projected to increase revenue from tobacco to $2.88 billion, of which the Government plans to allocate $538 million to the National Health Fund.

In terms of motor vehicle licence fees, which were last increased in 2003, a 50 per cent hike in the rate will take effect on May 1, 2008.

Motor vehicle examination fees, driver's licence and other related fees have also increased and will take effect next month.

The importation of damaged motor vehicles, an industry that has flourished in the last few years, will now be a thing of the past.

Mr Shaw said yesterday that the Government has placed a ban on the importation of damaged vehicles and those without a certificate of fitness from country of origin. "It is a system that has been abused," Shaw said, noting that this would significantly reduce the leakage of revenue.

In addition to new measures aimed at increasing tax revenue, Shaw, in opening the debate on the first budget crafted by the Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) in 20 years, announced that the income tax threshold is to be increased effective July 1, to $200,304.

This is about a 3.78 per cent increase in the threshold, which currently stands at approximately $193,000.

Another increase will take effect in January 2009, moving the threshold to $220,272.

COMMENTARY

April 11, 2008
Started By steppz5 Comments

gp

school_girls.jpgGone are the days when school girls respected themselves and their uniforms. What is happening to our teenage girls? Everyone wants to be in hype. Buses and taxis without music seem to be losing. The buses and taxis have to be blazing the sounds of Vybz Kartel, Beenie Man and Mavado just to name a few. Some can sing the words of these songs without stuttering but try asking some of these girls what they learnt in school and one would think "the cat got their tongue". When will they realize that education is the key to success; education gives us the independence we need as women to survive.

Some girls no longer feel comfortable sitting in their seats but instead have to be positioned in the laps of males. Some even go to the extreme of having sexual intercourse on these buses and taxis. GIRLS - you need to start respecting yourselves and your bodies. If you refuse to respect yourselves how will men respect you and treat you as young ladies. Remember your body is the temple of the living God.

And to the adults in these young girls' lives - don't play the blame game. Instead try reaching out for counselling with them, because in some instances the root of the problem can be traced back to negative experiences.

Abuse and lack of emotional support are two of the causes of such behaviour. So parents, spend time with your children, love them and never abuse them. If you abuse your children they will expect and even accept abuse from others.

Teens, choose your friends wisely. As the saying goes "show me yuh company and mi tell yuh who yuh are." Its okay to say no, never let anyone influence you to do wrong or engage in activities you are not comfortable with. Friends who influence you to do wrong are not your true friends. It's okay to ask for advice and seek counselling. This is not a sign of weakness but a sign of maturity.

Dare to be Different!

-- Edited by steppz at 22:16, 2008-04-11
Portmore, Spanish Town, New York, this was a weird week for me. Mi de home ah watch the news and mi just feel bummy, ah the first time mi feel so in a long time, mi not even badda go Wayne Marshall birthday party ah Indies. How the country ah run so? Cash Plus Fraud? Man ah have sex wid goat? 13 people get shot downtown Kingston, one dead. Motor vehicle licence gone up by 50 per cent, but mi haffi say big up to the levy on the cigarette smoking, low the cancer stick, oonu ah kill off oonu self and other people wid it.

NIKKI Z HAIRSTYLE STOPS TRAFFIC
Mi hear say Nikki Z have a new hairstyle and it ah come out inna one newspaper today. Mi hear say the style is a...bit unusual. But we nah say nothing bad about it, it just shows that she is a unique individual and she ah mi friend fi life, she no fraid fi talk the tings de, so tek yu forward, Nikki Z, yu hairstyle ah go hard. Unfortunately we don't have any pictures to show our visitors.

CURRY GOAT BAN FOR ABENA
I am taking a break from eating curry goat for now. Mi watch the news the other day , and the story about the yute who run lef him ratchet knife, cellular phone and keys after dem ketch him raping a goat in the Belair district innna Manchester have mi glued to mi TV screen. Wha really happen to the man dem inna the country? Dem sick? Or perverted? Or possessed? Back inna the day, mi know dem used to find condom inna the she-goat dem, but dem yute ya tek it to a new level, the report say him cut out the goat eyes, presumably because him no waan she see who ah rape her, or maybe because him feel she coulda identify him; no witness roun ere. Right now, mi a try out the vegetarian diet and all these things, the goat meat ting, mi de pon THAT!

HARDLY A BREAK
Dancehall cant catch a break since the Rear Admiral Hardley Lewin decide fi pressure the ting. Police officers have been enforcing the 2 a.m shutdown like crazy. But still mi go Weddy Weddy, the place cork, the vibes right, and it neva lock off so me love say the police ah use common sense and do the ting.

MAGNUM KINGS AND QUEENS THIS WEEKEND AGAIN
The big finale ah come up fi the show soon. Mi ah carry Baby Tash and Della and the singer yute, I think him name Singer Jah. Ms. Kitty. Big up yourself, Skatta, yu large, General Degree, yu have the ting dem lock, yu clothing line ah say RRRRRHH

dancing dynamite, rising star

April 10, 2008
Started By jmeil7 Comments
for anyone who watches local telivision, which is better and more entertaining.... iknow its dancing dynamite season... but choose wisely fire
«First  <  1461 462 463 464 465524  >  Last»  | Page of 524  sorted by